Summerkin (Winterling, #2)
"Down through the Way she fell, feeling the wind and the pressing darkness, the dizzy thump when she landed on the bank. She was through. The air felt softer here, the shadows deeper—and the pull of her connection to the land settled into her bones."In the Summerlands, time moves slowly, roots grow deeply, and change is not welcomed. But change is needed.After defeating the wicked Mor and freeing her kin from deadly oaths made to this false ruler, Fer is now the rightful Lady of the land. Yet her people don't know what to make of their new Lady's strange ways, and neither do the High Ones, the rulers of the magical realm, for Fer is an outsider—half human.To prove herself worthy of the Summerlands crown, Fer is summoned to compete in an epic contest where her strengths and skills will be tested and her loyalties challenged. Can she trust Rook, the puck she calls friend? Can she trust herself? If Fer fails, she will lose her land and the Way will be closed to her forever.

Summerkin (Winterling, #2) Details

TitleSummerkin (Winterling, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 23rd, 2013
PublisherHarperCollins
ISBN0061921068
ISBN-139780061921063
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade, Magic, Adventure, Young Adult, Animals, Fiction, Juvenile, Mythology

Summerkin (Winterling, #2) Review

  • Ahmed Ejaz
    November 5, 2016
    Full stars
  • colleen the convivial curmudgeon
    December 5, 2014
    My review of the first book in the series was a bit middling - 2.5 bumped to 3 - and for the first part of this book I feared the second would be the same.But at some point it started to click for me, and I didn't want to put the book down - so this is more a solid 3, maybe a 3.5.The biggest plus is the characters. I had mentioned that the characters were a bit of a weakness and rather thin in the first book, but they felt more flushed out in this one - at least Fer and Rook did. And I was glad My review of the first book in the series was a bit middling - 2.5 bumped to 3 - and for the first part of this book I feared the second would be the same.But at some point it started to click for me, and I didn't want to put the book down - so this is more a solid 3, maybe a 3.5.The biggest plus is the characters. I had mentioned that the characters were a bit of a weakness and rather thin in the first book, but they felt more flushed out in this one - at least Fer and Rook did. And I was glad that some of the other competitors - Gnar and Lich - also ended up having a bit more depth to them that I suspected they would at first blush.The story, itself, is a bit predictable, but I think it would be a lot less so for kids. And, even so, not everything went quite the way I expected it would, though most of the main parts did.Overall, though, I liked the world and the story and characters more for this second installment, and I'm keen to read the last book and see how it all pans out.
    more
  • Kathryn
    July 7, 2014
    4.5 STARSThe sequel to Winterling is not only worthy, I actually enjoyed it more! The story feels more original here, the characters develop even greater depth. I love that Fer (view spoiler)[takes her role as Lady with such grace and intelligence, while also still needing to learn a thing or two. (hide spoiler)] Prineas creates a wonderful sense of place with the Summerlands and the other lands Fer and Co travel to, and the new characters felt very fresh and interesting. Though I had a few quib 4.5 STARSThe sequel to Winterling is not only worthy, I actually enjoyed it more! The story feels more original here, the characters develop even greater depth. I love that Fer (view spoiler)[takes her role as Lady with such grace and intelligence, while also still needing to learn a thing or two. (hide spoiler)] Prineas creates a wonderful sense of place with the Summerlands and the other lands Fer and Co travel to, and the new characters felt very fresh and interesting. Though I had a few quibbles and unanswered questions about a few aspects of the book (view spoiler)[namely, the use (or lack of use) of oaths as well as the questionable-at-times "wisdom" of the High Ones (hide spoiler)], overall I thoroughly enjoyed it and really loved Fer's epiphany (view spoiler)[swearing the oath to her people (hide spoiler)] It was also great fun, and captivating, to learn more about the pucks. I look forward to the third book!
    more
  • K
    September 20, 2012
    I love the self-loathing antihero as much as the next person, but it's refreshing sometimes to read books about characters who are good and heroic and, yes, fallible, but ultimately strong and kind. Fer is a wonderful character in that regard; she can be childish and naive (which is totally fair because she's, what, like thirteen?) and she can be stubborn and foolish, but she's ultimately driven by empathy, fairness, and a drive to be kind to everyone.Summerkin is a good book. It's better than W I love the self-loathing antihero as much as the next person, but it's refreshing sometimes to read books about characters who are good and heroic and, yes, fallible, but ultimately strong and kind. Fer is a wonderful character in that regard; she can be childish and naive (which is totally fair because she's, what, like thirteen?) and she can be stubborn and foolish, but she's ultimately driven by empathy, fairness, and a drive to be kind to everyone.Summerkin is a good book. It's better than Winterling in that the action flows more evenly, and Fer is given more room to shine. I generally dislike books that involve a contest of sorts, mostly because it causes the action to drag and the plot to become predictable -- contests usually only go two ways: they win (less often) or they fail (usually due to circumstances outside their control) only to triumph later through some deux ex machina loophole (more often). That said, the contests in Summerkin work, and the plot threaded between the contests keeps the action moving.That said, and I have no idea if this is the case, it feels like Winterling was a stand alone with Summerkin and Moonkind appended on. Some of the information we're granted in Summerkin seems almost directly contradictory to what we found out in Winterling. In Winterling it sounded like the glamorie was something kind of specific to the Lady of the Summerlands? Because we meet the Huldre and she is described as having a sort-of glamorie that works entirely unlike any other glamorie seen in the series. It feels like, especially because I am most of the way through Moonkind now, that Prineas had one idea of the glamorie in Winterling and then had to tweak it to make it a plot in Summerkin and Moonkind.Also Arenthiel??? Was talking about defeating the Mor to claim the Summerlands but like ... when was he going to get around to doing that????? Because, again, in Winterling it seemed like the Mor had been doing her thing for at least a while (judging from how long Fer's parent's didn't return for her; like time obviously passes differently in the human world but that'd still be at least a couple years). Was Arenthiel just too busy primping or something? He couldn't have wanted the Summerlands that badly.Also, and I'm not really sure this is any flaw of the book's or just my preference, but I always find Rook's POVs much more boring than Fer's. I mean, I like Rook, but I think he's (a) a better supporting character and (b) far less irritating when we can't see into his mind. I would have liked to see more interaction with Fer and Twig, and Fer and Gnar. I love the driving relationships of the books, but I wish there was more female friendship.I'm not going to talk much about Rook's puck-brothers other than to say they're fucking dicks. Also Rook seems to be the most un-mischievous mischief-maker ever. "Yes, I suppose I'll do this tricky thing I guess if I have to" *long sigh*. Still, I do enjoy Rook; I just enjoy laughing at him more.I feel like I've talked about all the negative in this book, but I really liked it! It was fun to read and hard to put down and Fer is just a fantastic protagonist. I felt good after reading her story in Summerkin. The plot was quick-moving and engaging, and Prineas is a fantastic writer who uses humor deftly -- both to build relationships and to lighten the mood when the book becomes a touch dark. I'm loving Moonkind right now too, and I'm very happy I bought this series.
    more
  • Brandy Painter
    January 12, 2012
    Originally posted here at Random Musings of a Bibliophile.Last year I completely fell for a surly, mischievous, puck named Rook and a strong, kind-hearted, girl named Fer when I read Winterling by Sarah Prineas (my thoughts). When my copy of Summerkin, the sequel, arrived it was no surprise that I lost interest in everything else in my TBR pile and had to read it right away. I am happy to say that I adored it and am more in love with the characters than ever.Fer, who defeated the evil usurper wh Originally posted here at Random Musings of a Bibliophile.Last year I completely fell for a surly, mischievous, puck named Rook and a strong, kind-hearted, girl named Fer when I read Winterling by Sarah Prineas (my thoughts). When my copy of Summerkin, the sequel, arrived it was no surprise that I lost interest in everything else in my TBR pile and had to read it right away. I am happy to say that I adored it and am more in love with the characters than ever.Fer, who defeated the evil usurper who had murdered her parents and taken over the Summerland, now must come to terms with what it means to be the ruler. She is fiercely determined not to take oaths from her people knowing how they were abused when they did that before. Her refusal to do this has put her right to rule in question. The High Ones have requested that she come to compete in a competition. The winner will win the right to rule the Summerlands. Rook, now freed from his oaths to the evil Mor, has returned to his Puck brothers. They are determined to create mischief and what better place to create mischief than at a competition the High Ones have organized at the nave? And what better puck to send than Rook, who the Lady Gwynnefar foolishly trusts and calls friend? But there is a sinister presence at the nave ready to challenge Geynnefar and Rook finds himself torn between his duty as a puck and the strange bond that keeps forming between him and Fer.Fer's journey to learn what sort of leader she wants to be and how to implement that proves how perfect she is for the job. Her strength under pressure, her compassion for all, and her ability to empathize make her a great leader. She wants to see the good in every one, but isn't afraid of standing up to those she sees as threatening her people. Yet she is so lonely because she is seen as the Lady by her people and as a half-human usurper by most of her peers. It is heart wrenching the ways she wants to trust Rook, but can't help doubting. Particularly when he keeps telling her not to trust him. At the same time it is heart wrenching to see Rook wanting to be what she needs but fighting it at the same time. He doesn't know how, it's against his nature. As much as I want to smack him sometimes I can't help but love him. He is obnoxious but endearing, because he is also noble and upstanding in his own way. I really love how the books in this trilogy are focusing on both of their character arcs and their relationship. It was lovely to see Fer's relationship with Fray and Twig growing as well.There are some great new characters added to the story this time too. Two of Fer's competitors, Gnar and Lich, are fascinating and I would love to see more of them. Arenthiel makes the perfect villain, smarmy and insidious in all the right ways. All the other pucks in the story are a marvelous additon as well.The competition aspect of the story kept the pacing moving quickly and makes for a riveting read. There is always something going on, something to discover, something to think about. All this builds up to intense moments. I continue to appreciate what Prineas is doing with faerie-lore in these books.I'm ecstatic that we only have months to wait for Moonkind, which will release in January.
    more
  • Leah Thomas
    February 8, 2016
    Fer. Actually Lady Fer, ever since she defeated the Mór, the powerful, corrupt ruler of the lands on the other side of the Way. For the longest time, Fer felt like she didn't belong in the normal, human world. All her life she was lonely, that is, ever since she came to the Summerlands. The land lies across the human world, through a series of portals, and now, Fer has been crowned the Queen of the ever-changing land.One fine day, Fer's assistant and best friend, Rook, delivers a letter to Fer. Fer. Actually Lady Fer, ever since she defeated the Mór, the powerful, corrupt ruler of the lands on the other side of the Way. For the longest time, Fer felt like she didn't belong in the normal, human world. All her life she was lonely, that is, ever since she came to the Summerlands. The land lies across the human world, through a series of portals, and now, Fer has been crowned the Queen of the ever-changing land.One fine day, Fer's assistant and best friend, Rook, delivers a letter to Fer. It is from the High Ones, and it states that she must prove herself worthy of the Summerlands through a competition. When Fer travels to the nathe palace, she must find out her true heart, make new friends, compete with tricksters, and retrieve old friends in order to keep control of the new home she is meant to love and her peoples' fate.
    more
  • Charlie
    May 31, 2013
    I might've enjoyed it more if I'd read the first one first. But I didn't know it was a sequel when I started to read.It was rather boring at the start (most likely because i couldn't understand stuff they would've mentioned in the first book), but I made myself finish it, hoping it would get better. And did it? Certainly. I enjoyed the last half. And so you might ask why I have it only 3 stars? Well, 3 and a half, actually. I did enjoy it, yes, but I have enjoyed books a lot better before, so I I might've enjoyed it more if I'd read the first one first. But I didn't know it was a sequel when I started to read.It was rather boring at the start (most likely because i couldn't understand stuff they would've mentioned in the first book), but I made myself finish it, hoping it would get better. And did it? Certainly. I enjoyed the last half. And so you might ask why I have it only 3 stars? Well, 3 and a half, actually. I did enjoy it, yes, but I have enjoyed books a lot better before, so I think 3 and a half stars is a fair call.
    more
  • Marissa
    February 22, 2017
    Another book by Sarah Prineas that has an intriguing plot that kept me reading. A bit predictable at times (spoiler: it was easy to see Fer would save Gnar and Lich at least once over the course of the book) but the plot did deviate from what I thought would happen regarding Rook, the summer crown, and Arenthial. The puck characters are a delight and the plot was original enough and intriguing enough that I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read. For older readers, it may be Another book by Sarah Prineas that has an intriguing plot that kept me reading. A bit predictable at times (spoiler: it was easy to see Fer would save Gnar and Lich at least once over the course of the book) but the plot did deviate from what I thought would happen regarding Rook, the summer crown, and Arenthial. The puck characters are a delight and the plot was original enough and intriguing enough that I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read. For older readers, it may be a bit of a quick, light read but again Fer is a beautiful heroine and the plot is good enough to keep you entertained regardless of it being written for a younger audience. I love what Fer represents.
    more
  • Karissa
    March 9, 2013
    This book is the second in the Winterling series. The series will continue in Moonkind which is scheduled for a Jan 2014 release date. I enjoyed this book just as much as the first one, it was a wonderful middle grade fantasy involving fey. I would definitely recommend reading Winterling before reading this book.In the last book Fer defeated the evil Mor making her the Lady of the Summerlands. Now Fer is back in the human lands and longs to return to the Summerlands. When she returns her people This book is the second in the Winterling series. The series will continue in Moonkind which is scheduled for a Jan 2014 release date. I enjoyed this book just as much as the first one, it was a wonderful middle grade fantasy involving fey. I would definitely recommend reading Winterling before reading this book.In the last book Fer defeated the evil Mor making her the Lady of the Summerlands. Now Fer is back in the human lands and longs to return to the Summerlands. When she returns her people don’t know what to make of her and her unique way of doing things. This includes the High Ones who request that Fer journey to their lands to compete in a contest that will prove whether or not she is the true Lady of Summerlands. This is a magical story full of adventure and intrigue with enough twists and turns to keep the reader engaged and entertained. It’s appropriate for all ages as well, although one of Fer’s competitors is very cruel to those around him.I love Fer as a character. She has times when she is uncertain of her actions but always decides to stay true to what she thinks is right. Everyone is telling her she is ruling the Summerland in the wrong way, but she sticks with what she believes to be right. I also loved her kindness and her loyalty to those she considered friends.Rook plays a large part in the story as well. As a pouka his loyalty to Fer is constantly called into question. He himself struggles with the call to be true to his family of poukas and his yearning to help out Fer as a friend.A good portion of the novel is spent with Fer in competition with some other competitors. They were all interesting characters and these scenes were action-packed and engaging. Going on along with this storyline there is the mystery of a missing crown. My favorite part of this book is the world. The descriptions are incredibly well done and create excellent imagery for the reader. There are new creative and magical things around every corner so you never know what to expect. The book is well written and a fairly easy read. The plot isn’t incredibly complex (it’s written for young readers) but it is complex enough to keep an adult interested and engaged. Overall I enjoyed this book a lot. I love the magical world and the wonderful creative descriptions throughout. Fer is an excellent example of a growing girl who is trying to do what she believes in, even if doing what everyone else thinks is right would be the easier path. This is an absolutely wonderfully creative and engaging fantasy, I highly recommend it to all ages of readers who love fantasy. I can’t wait to read Moonkind when it releases.
    more
  • Pamela
    July 14, 2012
    I've been waiting for this sequel to Winterling in a quiet, happy way--not the rabid GIVE IT TO ME NOW that I hear from many people regarding books in a series. So, I don't feel completely saddened that this didn't live up to what I wanted it to be, but it's still a bit hard to swallow.I had been hoping for a more thorough exploration of Fer (short for Jennifer)'s past, her new role as Lady (ruler) of the Summerlands, and more character development of her friends. Instead, we are treated to a so I've been waiting for this sequel to Winterling in a quiet, happy way--not the rabid GIVE IT TO ME NOW that I hear from many people regarding books in a series. So, I don't feel completely saddened that this didn't live up to what I wanted it to be, but it's still a bit hard to swallow.I had been hoping for a more thorough exploration of Fer (short for Jennifer)'s past, her new role as Lady (ruler) of the Summerlands, and more character development of her friends. Instead, we are treated to a sort of Hunger-Games-Lite competition, and one of those Ancient Evil baddies who just wants it all (he just wants it all! and he wants it now!). Fer wants to be friends with Rook, who is a puck. Pucks can shapeshift into dogs, horses, or goats, and they have no allegiance but to themselves. It's a given that they are tricky and love messing with people. Fer has this sort of deluded belief that her will can make Rook her friend, and I guess he's kind of her friend, but he's also a puck. What with all the themes of finding yourself and self-acceptance here, I would have preferred it if Rook had said something like, "Fer, thanks for saving my life. But I'm a puck, and I can't be your friend. It's not in my nature." and run off into the sunset at the beginning of the book, instead of this weird back-and-forth is-he-or-isn't-he-her-friend thing that goes on the whole time. His puck-brothers didn't feel very dimensional, and the threat that Fer faces--that of being declared unfit to rule because she is half-human--doesn't really seem that, well, threatening. It's just an excuse to do a competition scene (with archery, no less--sigh) and have Fer show the fae how awesome being human is, because you actually care about other people. Actually, that quality of humanity is in question for me right now, but hey, let's be optimistic here. I did like the lesson that Fer learned, and then taught, about being a leader versus being a ruler, and it was rather eloquently put. I do think Sarah Prineas is a very good writer--you can tell, especially, that she loves to write about nature and about a person's connection to nature. However, Summerking felt rather rushed. I wished we had more time to get to know the characters and the lay of the fae-land. I also wish that there was more interaction with Phouka, Fer's formerly puck-formed horse (he's a perma-horse now). I love horse characters!
    more
  • Aelvana
    October 8, 2014
    Fer is restless back home with Grand-Jane. She can't forget the Way she crossed or the people she saved or the land that is so much more to her than the place where she's grown up. With Grand-Jane's reluctant blessing, she heads back to take her place as the Lady of the Summerlands. Only to find the High Lords have issued her a challenge, contesting her right to rule, and have opened a competition with the prize as her beloved Summerlands. She can't refuse---but she's nothing like them, nor does Fer is restless back home with Grand-Jane. She can't forget the Way she crossed or the people she saved or the land that is so much more to her than the place where she's grown up. With Grand-Jane's reluctant blessing, she heads back to take her place as the Lady of the Summerlands. Only to find the High Lords have issued her a challenge, contesting her right to rule, and have opened a competition with the prize as her beloved Summerlands. She can't refuse---but she's nothing like them, nor does she know what the testing might involve.It doesn't take long for Fer to plunge right back into the world she left, and despite her dual heritage it's obvious which side of the Way she belongs. But, frustratingly, she makes little effort to figure out the rules of the particular world she's entered, and when she refuses her subject's oaths (for fear of being too like her predecessor) she sets off a chain of events that could tear the Summerlands from her forever.Fer's determination to play by her own rules finds its match again in Rook. The puck is no longer bound to be near her, but he can't seem to tear himself away. Rook struggles to figure out what she is to him, even as he feels he must prove himself again to his brother pucks. And if that sounds terribly romantic, it really isn't---Rook has never had a friend, apart from other pucks. He doesn't trust Fer actually means friendship and not some tricky form of servitude, and especially now that she's more or less a Lady he's careful to stay away from anything that could be considered binding. Rook wants freedom more than anything.Once again, the relationship between Rook and Fer is the heart of the story. Trust is a tricky thing, as Rook, no longer bound to obey anything, is free to make as much trouble as he desires. Pucks do love trouble . . .I liked how Fer's kindness continues to be one of her defining traits. She's willing to be good, not just look good, even when it costs her dearly. And I like how the contest is as "tricksy" as it is, because as Fer is finding out, being straightforward can be itself a deception when dealing with the natives. It's probably one reason why they're so big on oaths, as an oath is sure in a way most things aren't.Overall this is a good adventure. I liked it better than the previous because it was harder to tell exactly where things were going. I rate this book Recommended.
    more
  • Sophia
    January 9, 2014
    I really, really love this series. It's got the characters of a children's novel (young, not involved in romance, and preferring adventure over teenage wangsting) and the worldbuilding of an accomplished YA fantasy. The world is enchanting, the creatures are wonderful. (The pucks. THE PUCKS. Shapeshifting men who have a pack-of-wolves mentality, and are direct decedents of Loki - or if they aren't, they should be seeing as their entire reason for existing is causing Mischief.) And the characters I really, really love this series. It's got the characters of a children's novel (young, not involved in romance, and preferring adventure over teenage wangsting) and the worldbuilding of an accomplished YA fantasy. The world is enchanting, the creatures are wonderful. (The pucks. THE PUCKS. Shapeshifting men who have a pack-of-wolves mentality, and are direct decedents of Loki - or if they aren't, they should be seeing as their entire reason for existing is causing Mischief.) And the characters are charming (Fer is an agreeable YA heroine who sometimes makes really stupid decisions but can also be a bit of a badass, Rook is this fabulous ball of angst and rage and I love him to pieces and I'm do glad the book is told in dual perspectives because it wouldn't be half as enjoyable without my favorite mischief making puck having a say) Even the side characters in this one were great, the dragon girl and the swamp boy - I want to know more about them and their stories. I really, really cannot wait for the next one. This series reminds me how great fantasy can be when you're not caught up in an awful teenage romance (and how nice it is to wish for two characters to be together, instead of getting it right off the bat.) Four stars.
    more
  • Mothwing
    December 31, 2014
    Fer goes and takes part in the Triwizard Tournament to prove that she's indeed the Faerie Queene, meets several contestants from different parts of fairyland who might use trickery to get their own way. Rook reconnects with his puck brothers and is on a quest of his own. Will Fer come out on top, will Rook have to decide between being a puck and the friendship he so clearly feels uncomfortable with? Fer's grandmother still wants to get rid of her or at least doesn't kick up much of a fuss when F Fer goes and takes part in the Triwizard Tournament to prove that she's indeed the Faerie Queene, meets several contestants from different parts of fairyland who might use trickery to get their own way. Rook reconnects with his puck brothers and is on a quest of his own. Will Fer come out on top, will Rook have to decide between being a puck and the friendship he so clearly feels uncomfortable with? Fer's grandmother still wants to get rid of her or at least doesn't kick up much of a fuss when Fer jaunts off to fairyland. Half the problems that Fer gets into with Rook would have been resolved by sitting down and talking to each other. I'm also confused at Fer's poor respect for what Rook has repeatedly told her - that he'd prefer not to be tied to her. He acknowledges that she considers him her friend and does act like a decent person, but he also makes it abundantly clear where his boundaries are and that he does not want the responsibility of her trust. And she constantly ignores him. As someone who on several occasions had people think they were friends with me whom I've never really connected to on any level I am not sympathetic to her doing this. I remain grateful for the lack of love plot and rapiness.
    more
  • Christina D.
    January 12, 2017
    There is more beautiful imagery and adventure in this 2nd story of the Winterling series. The land here had once been wild, and not even that long ago. Just over a hundred years before, it had been prairies full of wildflowers and grasses and buzzing insects, with patches of oak woodlands, and streams winding their way to the river. Lightning-lit wildfires would race through the dry prairie, leaving it blackened, and in the spring new green would sprout up.We spend time with some characters from There is more beautiful imagery and adventure in this 2nd story of the Winterling series. The land here had once been wild, and not even that long ago. Just over a hundred years before, it had been prairies full of wildflowers and grasses and buzzing insects, with patches of oak woodlands, and streams winding their way to the river. Lightning-lit wildfires would race through the dry prairie, leaving it blackened, and in the spring new green would sprout up.We spend time with some characters from the first book, and get to know them better. I still think this series will keep kids turning the pages, even if adults like me find flaws. Fer is a character children can look up to. She has a heart of gold and is willing to fight for what's right.I had an issue (since book 1) with Fer insisting that Rook is her friend, when he's mostly been grumpy and snarky and saying he's NOT her friend. Yes, Fer sees the gold under the dust of his persona, but kids should be careful to distinguish believing the best of others and insisting someone who's mean to you is your friend. Actions do speak louder than words, in the end.Don't worry, Rook does pretty much come through for her. But if you want to know how or when you'll have to read!
    more
  • Ashley
    March 20, 2016
    This was a great sequel to Winterling. We meet Fer as she is finishing spending her last days with Grand-Jane and as she accepts the role of being the Lady of the Summerlands. But there is unexpected resistance to her presence when she goes back, and the story takes us through to new places and adventures that culminate in Fer realizing what it truly means to be the Lady of the Summerlands. I loved the juxtapositions between the wild lands and the strict ideas of "rule". And while the story is v This was a great sequel to Winterling. We meet Fer as she is finishing spending her last days with Grand-Jane and as she accepts the role of being the Lady of the Summerlands. But there is unexpected resistance to her presence when she goes back, and the story takes us through to new places and adventures that culminate in Fer realizing what it truly means to be the Lady of the Summerlands. I loved the juxtapositions between the wild lands and the strict ideas of "rule". And while the story is very black and white, I think that doesn't detract from the enjoyment of reading it. I guess I've just become a little too grown-up in my thinking, and have become used to seeing more moral grey zones in my protagonists. We also get to see some of my favorite side characters get a little more development in this book, and of course the incorrigible Rook returns to his role as a wildcard (I couldn't stop myself sorry). I'm a little unsatisfied at how his story arc ended, but it leaves a lot of room for development in the third book. Final thoughts: this is a great book and a solid series that I'd definitely want in any school library. As an adult, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it too so A++ do recommend!
    more
  • Lara
    April 11, 2013
    I loved this. While there were a couple things in Winterling that got in the way of my absolute adoration of the story, there was nothing like that for me here. I love Fer's determination, and her sense of what's right and what's wrong (even if that means helping her enemies), and her devotion to her people. And I especially love her insistence on calling Rook her best friend and standing up for him, even when he continuously pushes her away and seems to only just barely be beginning to realize I loved this. While there were a couple things in Winterling that got in the way of my absolute adoration of the story, there was nothing like that for me here. I love Fer's determination, and her sense of what's right and what's wrong (even if that means helping her enemies), and her devotion to her people. And I especially love her insistence on calling Rook her best friend and standing up for him, even when he continuously pushes her away and seems to only just barely be beginning to realize that maybe he isn't as wild as he thinks he is. I like Rook's relationship with his brother pucks too. I just...really enjoy this world that Prineas has built, and its people, and I can't wait for the third book to come out next year!To me, there's nothing mind-blowing about this series, but it's comfortable and magical in exactly the same way that so many childhood favorites that I still absolutely love as an adult are, and I can see myself rereading this one over and over again someday. :)
    more
  • Phoebe
    March 8, 2013
    Since learning that her mother was the Lady of the Summerlands, Fer has discovered that she feels "right" when she is in Faerie, and not so right at her grandmother's house in the human world. She feels a bone-deep connection to every being in the Summerlands, and she knows that she is truly home where she belongs. The magical creatures and ancient beings that surround her know that they should take an oath for her, swear fealty to their Lady, but Fer doesn't feel right about this. She doesn't w Since learning that her mother was the Lady of the Summerlands, Fer has discovered that she feels "right" when she is in Faerie, and not so right at her grandmother's house in the human world. She feels a bone-deep connection to every being in the Summerlands, and she knows that she is truly home where she belongs. The magical creatures and ancient beings that surround her know that they should take an oath for her, swear fealty to their Lady, but Fer doesn't feel right about this. She doesn't want anyone bound to her, after her terrible experience with the Mor. But does this reluctance mean she can never be the true Lady? Her doubts increase when she receives a summons to the nathe to compete in a contest of skill: the winner will be declared Lady or Lord of the Summerlands. Replete with marvelous creatures, such as magical bees, a whole community of pucks, and an ancient evil in disguise, this book is completely delightful. Very fine writing and plotting make this a strong sequel to Winterling. 4th-6th grade.
    more
  • Brenan
    May 3, 2013
    I am in love with this series! It's fantastic! I love the characters, the plot is exciting, the world is fascinating; all in all I love everything about it.The more I read the more faerie folklore I see. Prineas has woven traditional faerie folklore throughout the series, but it's so unique that unless you were familiar with the folklore you'd probably never realize it was a part of the story. It was unique and fascinating, and it really brought her world to life.There's a possible romance as we I am in love with this series! It's fantastic! I love the characters, the plot is exciting, the world is fascinating; all in all I love everything about it.The more I read the more faerie folklore I see. Prineas has woven traditional faerie folklore throughout the series, but it's so unique that unless you were familiar with the folklore you'd probably never realize it was a part of the story. It was unique and fascinating, and it really brought her world to life.There's a possible romance as well that I'm definitely hoping for, and as far as the romance goes Summerkin finished with a bit of a cliffhanger. Prineas pulled it off perfectly though, it's left me hungry for more. I can't wait for the next novel to see what happens! =DMy favorite of the many people and creatures in this series is the Pucks. They're fun and unique, and I loved what they added to the series, and hope to see more of them in the next book.
    more
  • Boyanna
    January 29, 2012
    From an Interview with Sarah Prineas on the blog "The Enchanted Inkpott"There are two big plot/character arcs in SUMMERKIN. One is that Fer has to prove herself as the true Lady of her land, which involves some rigorous testing and some revolutionary moves on her part. The other big arc is that of Fer and Rook's friendship. (view spoiler)[Rook is a much bigger character in this book--more of a co-protagonist--and he's pulled one way by his loyalty to his brother-pucks, and the other by his ties From an Interview with Sarah Prineas on the blog "The Enchanted Inkpott"There are two big plot/character arcs in SUMMERKIN. One is that Fer has to prove herself as the true Lady of her land, which involves some rigorous testing and some revolutionary moves on her part. The other big arc is that of Fer and Rook's friendship. (view spoiler)[Rook is a much bigger character in this book--more of a co-protagonist--and he's pulled one way by his loyalty to his brother-pucks, and the other by his ties to Fer. His capacity for true friendship is really tested. (hide spoiler)] Fer also makes some new friends. One of them is named Gnar and is a fire-girl who rides a dragon and is ridiculously fun to write.
    more
  • Kathryn Mueller
    July 20, 2013
    Fer (short for Jennifer in the human world and Gwyneffar in the faerie world) has defeated the evil Mor and is the accepted Lady of the Summerlands. Or is she? She receives a note from the “Old Ones” who demand her presence in their stronghold in order to compete in a competition which will determine who will rule over the Summerlands. One small hitch—Fer has a problem with “ruling” in the traditional way, with the land's inhabitants all swearing oaths of fealty to the Lady of the land. “It’s wr Fer (short for Jennifer in the human world and Gwyneffar in the faerie world) has defeated the evil Mor and is the accepted Lady of the Summerlands. Or is she? She receives a note from the “Old Ones” who demand her presence in their stronghold in order to compete in a competition which will determine who will rule over the Summerlands. One small hitch—Fer has a problem with “ruling” in the traditional way, with the land's inhabitants all swearing oaths of fealty to the Lady of the land. “It’s wrong,” she insists. To which most other people in the land respond, “It’s the way things are done.” Will she be able to be a true Lady and not “rule” the way they want her to?For the complete review, visit my blog! http://skippingbarefoot.blogspot.com/...
    more
  • Samantha
    November 5, 2016
    Okay, this was still good - but it actually got a little too cliché and cheesy for me at times. I know, I know, I love cliché and cheesy normally. But this was like...too much. It was...boring. That what it was. Not all the time, of course - but still, it was there. Does this mean anything? Not really. I'll still read the next one, and I'd still read this one again. But it won't be my favorite. But...I officially love Rook. Lovable but grumpy pup that he is. He's not like the tortured YA heroes Okay, this was still good - but it actually got a little too cliché and cheesy for me at times. I know, I know, I love cliché and cheesy normally. But this was like...too much. It was...boring. That what it was. Not all the time, of course - but still, it was there. Does this mean anything? Not really. I'll still read the next one, and I'd still read this one again. But it won't be my favorite. But...I officially love Rook. Lovable but grumpy pup that he is. He's not like the tortured YA heroes - he's just a trickster who's torn between his home and the chance of something new. He's realistic and relate-able, and I love him. Can I have him as my friend, please?And with that, I'd say that this book was solidly good, but not quite great.
    more
  • Mandy
    April 2, 2013
    In the continuing adventures of Fer, she is summoned to the nathe of the High Ones where she is put under the test to prove she can rule the Summerlands. Only there is more to the tests and the contests that meet the eye.Rook makes an appearance again. Now he is free to make mischief for Fer, but somehow his heart isn't always in it. He is reunited with his puck-brothers and they plan to use Fer.Something goes wrong and Rook and Fer find themselves neck deep in trouble.I really love this series. In the continuing adventures of Fer, she is summoned to the nathe of the High Ones where she is put under the test to prove she can rule the Summerlands. Only there is more to the tests and the contests that meet the eye.Rook makes an appearance again. Now he is free to make mischief for Fer, but somehow his heart isn't always in it. He is reunited with his puck-brothers and they plan to use Fer.Something goes wrong and Rook and Fer find themselves neck deep in trouble.I really love this series. It's fun to read. The storyline is fast paced. It has intrigue, adventure, betrayal, sacrifice, friendship, and so many other qualities that make it special. Want Moonkind now! Publish faster!!
    more
  • Mel Raschke
    December 2, 2013
    Fer discovers that being the daughter of the deceased Lady of the Summerlands and vanquishing an evil usurper isn't enough to live happily ever after. Now Fer is back in the human lands and longs to return to the Summerlands. When she returns her people don't know what to make of her and her unique way of doing things. This includes the High Ones who request that Fer journey to their lands to compete in a contest that will prove whether or not she is the true Lady of Summerlands. This is a magi Fer discovers that being the daughter of the deceased Lady of the Summerlands and vanquishing an evil usurper isn't enough to live happily ever after. Now Fer is back in the human lands and longs to return to the Summerlands. When she returns her people don't know what to make of her and her unique way of doing things. This includes the High Ones who request that Fer journey to their lands to compete in a contest that will prove whether or not she is the true Lady of Summerlands. This is a magical story full of adventure and intrigue with enough twists and turns to keep the reader engaged and entertained. It's appropriate for all ages as well, although one of Fer's competitors is very cruel to those around him.
    more
  • Elevetha
    August 19, 2012
    In order to claim her right as Lady of the Summerlands, Fer must compete -and win- a nathe competition under the judgement of the High Lords. Rook, the puck, is part of a puck-plan to steal the Summerlands crown. Pucks are wild and free, friends with no one outside of their brother-pucks, so why does Rook feel so guilty about betraying Fer's trust and offered friendship? And as for Fer, as the rightful Lady of the Summerlands, she isn't about to let anyone, competitor or puck-thief, steal her la In order to claim her right as Lady of the Summerlands, Fer must compete -and win- a nathe competition under the judgement of the High Lords. Rook, the puck, is part of a puck-plan to steal the Summerlands crown. Pucks are wild and free, friends with no one outside of their brother-pucks, so why does Rook feel so guilty about betraying Fer's trust and offered friendship? And as for Fer, as the rightful Lady of the Summerlands, she isn't about to let anyone, competitor or puck-thief, steal her land and crown.Throw in a villain, a decoy theft, glamories, and a rescue for some fun.WHAT ABOUT PHOUKA(view spoiler)[Finn (hide spoiler)]??!! I really desperately want need more on him and his backstory.
    more
  • Thanh Ho
    December 8, 2014
    Do you want to be a princess or a queen or a king someday? Well, being royal is not easy at all. All those lesson for how to be a perfect princess or queen, how to be a great ruler for king. That's not all, how do you know for certain that you will be the ruler one day? Fer is the princess of Summerland, daughter of the latest queen yet she still have to fight to keep her place even though she is the right full heir to the throne. She didn't make her people as her slave, she becomes friend with Do you want to be a princess or a queen or a king someday? Well, being royal is not easy at all. All those lesson for how to be a perfect princess or queen, how to be a great ruler for king. That's not all, how do you know for certain that you will be the ruler one day? Fer is the princess of Summerland, daughter of the latest queen yet she still have to fight to keep her place even though she is the right full heir to the throne. She didn't make her people as her slave, she becomes friend with them. She also befriended with a the most dangerous and unstable specie in all the land, wolves. Sarah Prineas shows how friendship can connect people regardless from race, species and even origin. It's a short story but it is really good.
    more
  • Nichole Dawn Romero
    July 2, 2014
    This is the second book and in the series and it was a good follow -up. Fer the main character in the first book defeats the Mor the evil Crow-oath-breaking huntress and takes her rightful place as Lady of the Summerlands. But...Fer is half human and she has her own ideas about what being a Lady means. So she is summoned by the High Ones (rulers over all Lords, Ladies, and lands)to see if she is truly worthy of being the Lady of the Summerlands. Along for the ride and causing some very serious t This is the second book and in the series and it was a good follow -up. Fer the main character in the first book defeats the Mor the evil Crow-oath-breaking huntress and takes her rightful place as Lady of the Summerlands. But...Fer is half human and she has her own ideas about what being a Lady means. So she is summoned by the High Ones (rulers over all Lords, Ladies, and lands)to see if she is truly worthy of being the Lady of the Summerlands. Along for the ride and causing some very serious trouble along the way is her friend the Puck Rook. Now Fer must prove that she really is The Lady of the Summerland's and keep Rook safe and out of trouble as much as possible. She must also stay true ot herself and learn what it means to really be connected to her people and her land!
    more
  • Shirley Lee
    July 13, 2013
    I actually finished this book months ago, a couple weeks after i finished the first book of the series (Winterling). Honestly, this was not a book that i REALLY loved but it was a book that i enjoyed reading. I liked the fact that it was set in a world that was completely different from ours and that the story plot was somewhat interesting. During the process of reading this book, i felt that something just didn't make sense in the middle. The story plot wasn't as good as the first book but it i I actually finished this book months ago, a couple weeks after i finished the first book of the series (Winterling). Honestly, this was not a book that i REALLY loved but it was a book that i enjoyed reading. I liked the fact that it was set in a world that was completely different from ours and that the story plot was somewhat interesting. During the process of reading this book, i felt that something just didn't make sense in the middle. The story plot wasn't as good as the first book but it is worth a go if you are looking for easy reads. Anyways, this is a review based on my own experience, my feelings toward this book might differ from other readers. Happy reading! :D
    more
  • John
    February 6, 2014
    Far is summoned to a sort of higher level world to prove that she deserves to be Lady of the Summerlands, and acquits herself quite well in a series of tests of character. I think this is a first rate fantasy of the uncomplicated sort---uncomplicated plot, uncomplicated characters---and my only real reservation is that the characters just didn't seem sufficiently smart/clever (for example, the main bad guy keeps revealing his intentions). But I love the way that both Far's insistence on caring f Far is summoned to a sort of higher level world to prove that she deserves to be Lady of the Summerlands, and acquits herself quite well in a series of tests of character. I think this is a first rate fantasy of the uncomplicated sort---uncomplicated plot, uncomplicated characters---and my only real reservation is that the characters just didn't seem sufficiently smart/clever (for example, the main bad guy keeps revealing his intentions). But I love the way that both Far's insistence on caring for others and also her refusal to accept oaths of loyalty confounds her allies and her adversaries alike.
    more
  • Laura
    March 27, 2016
    This was way better than the first (which I also enjoyed), the pacing and length of the story were just right, there was an interesting "hurdle" to overcome, the characters were interesting and the overall plot was quite original too. It took a few turns I hadn't expected, as well as a few I had, and the moral of the story was a great one. Often times in children's books there is a hero and a villain, a clear right and wrong. It's a lot rarer to find a character that has to question her own acti This was way better than the first (which I also enjoyed), the pacing and length of the story were just right, there was an interesting "hurdle" to overcome, the characters were interesting and the overall plot was quite original too. It took a few turns I hadn't expected, as well as a few I had, and the moral of the story was a great one. Often times in children's books there is a hero and a villain, a clear right and wrong. It's a lot rarer to find a character that has to question her own actions and beliefs, let alone one that realizes that if you love something you let it be.Anyway, I'm very much looking forward to starting the last book in this trilogy!
    more
  • LaSibila
    March 11, 2015
    Fer regresa a la tierra encantada para encontrarse obligada a participar en una competencia para ser aprobada como Reina, mientras Rook lucha entre su fidelidad a sus hermanos y su raza y la amistad que le ofrece Fer. Adoro la sencillez de la narración y la trama, porque tiene un profundo sentido de tomar decisiones que son las correctas, pero desafían lo preestablecido en este mundo. Creo que es una excelente lectura para los chicos, para poder considerar que ayudar a los demás debería ser el p Fer regresa a la tierra encantada para encontrarse obligada a participar en una competencia para ser aprobada como Reina, mientras Rook lucha entre su fidelidad a sus hermanos y su raza y la amistad que le ofrece Fer. Adoro la sencillez de la narración y la trama, porque tiene un profundo sentido de tomar decisiones que son las correctas, pero desafían lo preestablecido en este mundo. Creo que es una excelente lectura para los chicos, para poder considerar que ayudar a los demás debería ser el principal objetivo de cualquiera que se considere líder de cualquier grupo, en cualquier mundo.
    more
Write a review