Tokyo on Foot
Florent Chavouet, a young graphic artist, spent six months exploring Tokyo while his girlfriend interned at a company there. Each day he would set forth, with a pouch full of colored pencils and a sketchpad, to visit different neighborhoods. This stunning book records the city that he got to know during his adventures, a gritty, vibrant place, full of ordinary people going about their daily lives. Realistically rendered city views or posters of pop stars contrast with cartoon sketches of iconic objects or droll vignettes, like a housewife walking her pet pig and a Godzilla statue in a local park.With wit, a playful sense of humor, and the colored pencils of his kit, Florent Chavouet sets aside the question of urban ugliness or beauty and captures the Japanese essence of a great city.

Tokyo on Foot Details

TitleTokyo on Foot
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 10th, 2011
PublisherTuttle Publishing
ISBN4805311371
ISBN-139784805311370
Number of pages206 pages
Rating
GenreTravel, Cultural, Japan, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Nonfiction, Art

Tokyo on Foot Review

  • Roya
    March 26, 2016
    I honestly was going to skip reviewing this. I haven't been very keen on writing reviews these days, but I decided I might as well do it now when I'm less worried about how it'll turn out. Considering this is a review by me, a seventeen year old, I will of course go so far as to say that 2006 (the year Chavouet visited Japan for six months), is ages and ages ago and nearly irrelevant. Still, information is information, so I'll try not to act so young for the sake of this review.I did take some p I honestly was going to skip reviewing this. I haven't been very keen on writing reviews these days, but I decided I might as well do it now when I'm less worried about how it'll turn out. Considering this is a review by me, a seventeen year old, I will of course go so far as to say that 2006 (the year Chavouet visited Japan for six months), is ages and ages ago and nearly irrelevant. Still, information is information, so I'll try not to act so young for the sake of this review.I did take some pictures, but the lighting wasn't to my liking. I found a couple of images, but none that made fun of Kim Jong-un or the horrible bug infestation in Japan. Chavouet's sarcasm is awesome, but so is his art.The maps are lovely too, but I could only read them for so long. The text in this book tends to be on the tiny side.This book did make me put aside my obsession with going to Japan, but it's a lovely book all the same. I was hoping to read it in one sitting, but it took me a bit longer. Also, before I forget, thanks to my mom for surprising me with this. Hopefully she'll like this as well.
    more
  • Eve
    April 30, 2014
    “Cup noodles are like party favor bags: so many goodies inside.” Chavouet leaves his native France in 2006 to live in Japan for six months during his girlfriend’s work internship in Tokyo. Instead of lying around their 300 sq ft apartment with nothing to do, he “borrows” a sunny, yellow bike and pedals his way through every neighborhood in the vicinity of Tokyo. In tow are his trusty colored pencils and sketchpad, which he uses to capture the essence of the busy city and its inhabitants. Taking “Cup noodles are like party favor bags: so many goodies inside.” Chavouet leaves his native France in 2006 to live in Japan for six months during his girlfriend’s work internship in Tokyo. Instead of lying around their 300 sq ft apartment with nothing to do, he “borrows” a sunny, yellow bike and pedals his way through every neighborhood in the vicinity of Tokyo. In tow are his trusty colored pencils and sketchpad, which he uses to capture the essence of the busy city and its inhabitants. Taking a cue from Harriet the Spy, no one gets past his keen, observant eye. Commenting on everything from fashions, to food, and his hilarious encounters with the “koban”, or local police, it’s easy to feel like you’re a tourist yourself. Using the distinctive neighborhoods as chapters, Chavouet points out local attractions and off-the-wall factoids. For example, while pedaling through West Shinjuku, he matter of factly points out that the remains of a human torso were found in a trash can across the way from Freshness Burger. Good to know! Also, just in case you were wondering, there are more than 30,000 suicides a year in Japan (of course, not usually by way of train…duh!). Cynical, much? Ah, the French. Gotta love them! As his time in Tokyo comes to an end, it’s no wonder Chavouet was sad. I was too upon turning the last page! You can tell that the way of life and culture really had a profound and positive effect on him. I’ve already mentally added Japan to the places I hope to visit in my lifetime. This travelogue put me in mind of French Milk, another favorite travelogue type graphic novel. I just love this concept of relating travel adventures!
    more
  • Tosh
    February 18, 2014
    I've been coming back and forth to and from Tokyo for the past 25 years, and it is without a doubt an amazing city on so many levels. It has been said before, but Tokyo is sort of like numerous layers of an onion. Each layer is a unique taste, and I often feel Tokyo is sort of a city with many dimensions - in sort of a Philip K. Dick way of looking at a landscape or even JG Ballard. Also for the past 25 years I have been trying to write a long prose piece about the city, but it never came out go I've been coming back and forth to and from Tokyo for the past 25 years, and it is without a doubt an amazing city on so many levels. It has been said before, but Tokyo is sort of like numerous layers of an onion. Each layer is a unique taste, and I often feel Tokyo is sort of a city with many dimensions - in sort of a Philip K. Dick way of looking at a landscape or even JG Ballard. Also for the past 25 years I have been trying to write a long prose piece about the city, but it never came out good in my opinion. I think my problem is that I am trying to locate a position to write from - and Tokyo is very much like a devilishly tasty ice cream cone. There are so many ways to eat that cone, all of it pleasant, but never the essential all-over experience. After so many years, I am still acquiring new things about the city. Florent Chavouet, is a French artist/illustrator who stayed in Tokyo for a bit, and this is his visual journal of sorts. He wisely divides the book into different sections of the city, and gives a very subjective, yet I think the popular view of each area of the city. Which means the iconic as well as something personal. There have been a few books I have read by foreigners (either British or American) that strikes me as either just plain wrong or naive at its worst, but here Chavouet goes into each area and just draws various people and buildings, but he adds details either through his illustration or minimal text. It's not a right or wrong approach to the city, but it is own approach and it is highly personal and quirky in a very good way. Also his map drawings are very good. You can use it if you wish to take this book with you. On the other hand it is a large book, so it is not made for a tourist, but perhaps for someone who either lives in Tokyo, and is either a foreigner or a Tokyo-citizen who is curious how a Frenchman looks at his or her's culture. My favorite little part is when he gets arrested for a stolen bike (he's innocent) and was taken to the local police station. His observations are never mean - spirited, but also quite informative. A wonderful book.
    more
  • Raina
    June 9, 2011
    This is SO PRETTY. Totally full-color pencil drawings, printed on larger-that-you're-expecting pages. The guy can draw.And for people who are Japanamaniacs, who might even want to visit Tokyo themselves at some point, I could see how this would be super helpful for preparing for a trip. I just missed having a story.My favorite parts of the book were the gorgeous full-color spreads of buildings (he introduces every chapter with an illustration of the police station in the concerned neighborhood), This is SO PRETTY. Totally full-color pencil drawings, printed on larger-that-you're-expecting pages. The guy can draw.And for people who are Japanamaniacs, who might even want to visit Tokyo themselves at some point, I could see how this would be super helpful for preparing for a trip. I just missed having a story.My favorite parts of the book were the gorgeous full-color spreads of buildings (he introduces every chapter with an illustration of the police station in the concerned neighborhood), the pages full of people (with captions), and the Sociology Made Easy sections. The parts where the author's ideas came out. You never learn exactly what the girlfriend was doing in Japan. You never get to know any roommates. You never get to know the guy himself, besides what you can infer by how he chose to spend his time in Tokyo.I feel like the project could have used more editing to get it into a more cohesive form. Personally, I found the detailed maps more overwhelming than useful - maybe if the author had marked a path through the maps that might have helped me weed through all the info he packs in.The pictures really are stunning, though. It's a really lovely example of one of my GNTravelogue project titles. I just wanted it to be THAT much better.
    more
  • Opat
    January 13, 2017
    Aww finally I had the chance to read this book. My bad for not reading the title thoroughly as this is (actually) a graphic memoir and sketchbook with hand-drawn maps (written on the front cover, doh!). I am not familier with Tokyo tho but Japan (or maybe Tokyo?) is still old fashioned as it always be. It was made in 2006 but last time I visited there is on 2015 and it's basically still the same.The drawings are sooo much detailed. And so my kind favorite style. I also love how Florent Chavouet Aww finally I had the chance to read this book. My bad for not reading the title thoroughly as this is (actually) a graphic memoir and sketchbook with hand-drawn maps (written on the front cover, doh!). I am not familier with Tokyo tho but Japan (or maybe Tokyo?) is still old fashioned as it always be. It was made in 2006 but last time I visited there is on 2015 and it's basically still the same.The drawings are sooo much detailed. And so my kind favorite style. I also love how Florent Chavouet amazingly succeeded showing the people's expression. I understand "the sarcasm" which in some points are quite true. But also understand why some might think that this guy is just annoying because he complained a lot lol.The title itself is a little bit incorrect. Because he pedaled his bicycle and not walking on foot! And the fonts of the description mostly made me dizzy.Overall it's a fun read. また日本行きたいなー
    more
  • Lisa
    October 21, 2011
    A really great book in the style of a sketchbook recounting Chavouet's extended trip to Tokyo, where-in he basically just plopped himself down at any old cafe and started drawing the cool stuff he would see. I loved it. It's so cool to think that someone can achieve this level of art with just a bunch of colored pencils.
    more
  • Arminzerella
    January 28, 2012
    Florent Chavouet spent several months living and drawing in various parts of Tokyo, while his partner, Claire, completed an internship. His sketchbook shares some of the people, sights, and areas he visited. Detailed maps and notes help frame his explorations. Florent’s choices of what to sketch were, perhaps, limited by where he could park his bike and sit (he was ticketed multiple times by Japanese police for parking his bike illegally), so what he captured is more of a snapshot of where he ha Florent Chavouet spent several months living and drawing in various parts of Tokyo, while his partner, Claire, completed an internship. His sketchbook shares some of the people, sights, and areas he visited. Detailed maps and notes help frame his explorations. Florent’s choices of what to sketch were, perhaps, limited by where he could park his bike and sit (he was ticketed multiple times by Japanese police for parking his bike illegally), so what he captured is more of a snapshot of where he happened to be, than a premeditated tour of the best places – if that’s what you’re looking for, you’re better off finding another book. I found the maps almost too detailed – they had to be turned every which way to read all of the tiny print – and although there were page notations (referring to where you could find the drawings he did in that area), the drawings lacked a satisfying narrative that would have pulled everything together. More interesting than just *what* he saw, would have been more information about what he was experiencing while he was in Japan and what he thought about it. We don’t even really get to find out what Claire’s internship was all about. This was visually stimulating as an artistic, eclectic representation of Tokyo, but it doesn’t really tell any kind of story. More story, please. I was particularly curious about what a French person would think about Japan, and whether he chose to annotate his sketchbook in English, or if it was originally written in French and then translated. Perhaps the French are not interested in Japan? “On my return to France, people asked me if China was nice. To which I responded that, in any case, the Japanese there were very friendly.”
    more
  • umberto
    April 6, 2013
    Handsomely-published by Tuttle, presumably in 2011, this seemingly manga-like book entitled “Tokyo on foot: travels in the city’s most colorful neighborhoods/text and illustrations” by Florent Chavouet would hypnotize its readers from its dazzling, beautiful and realistic drawings since it is “a graphic memoir and sketchbook with hand-drawn maps” (front cover). From its 206 pages, I think, most of us cannot help wondering how this graphic artist could make it; all texts/illustrations are wonderf Handsomely-published by Tuttle, presumably in 2011, this seemingly manga-like book entitled “Tokyo on foot: travels in the city’s most colorful neighborhoods/text and illustrations” by Florent Chavouet would hypnotize its readers from its dazzling, beautiful and realistic drawings since it is “a graphic memoir and sketchbook with hand-drawn maps” (front cover). From its 206 pages, I think, most of us cannot help wondering how this graphic artist could make it; all texts/illustrations are wonderful to see and read because he has included interesting people, things or places for those hoping to visit there soon or those (who visited Tokyo once or more) browsing the pages with fond memories.I think we may find this book via Amazon.com, please go to: http://www.amazon.com/Tokyo-Foot-Trav...then, we are allowed to browse some of its inside pages since it is more convenient than reading in a review like this and you would see what I mean. For instance, on pages 12-13, Chavouet has drawn a Tokyo map (unthinkable, isn’t it?), the whole railway, street and port systems with 22 stations/places with pagination. For example, if we want to know about Temple, Ueno or Shibuya, we are to turn to page 47, 81 or 169 respectively.
    more
  • Hollowspine
    August 11, 2011
    I could have spent much longer with this graphic novel. Although there was no set story line or plot or even a timeline to the book it was so chock full of interesting details, drawings, maps and every sort of fruit and veg sticker you could imagine it was easy to forget time and become completely absorbed in a page.I loved the drawings and watching the slight changes as he got different supplies or moved to different surroundings. As I said, I don't think I've even fully read the book yet, I'm I could have spent much longer with this graphic novel. Although there was no set story line or plot or even a timeline to the book it was so chock full of interesting details, drawings, maps and every sort of fruit and veg sticker you could imagine it was easy to forget time and become completely absorbed in a page.I loved the drawings and watching the slight changes as he got different supplies or moved to different surroundings. As I said, I don't think I've even fully read the book yet, I'm sure that I've missed some tiny restaurant or park that was pointed out in one of the maps or a character on one of the pages that I just didn't get enough time to notice the detail on her shirt or some other aspect that I know I'll have to go back and read the book again.It was a pleasure and one I'm sure I'll indulge in (and get even more out of) in the future.
    more
  • Leah Webber
    January 27, 2012
    This is kind of a snobby look at a foreigner's life in Tokyo. The author draws well, but doesn't make much of an effort to learn or immerse himself in the culture. That, and there is a large chunk of the book dedicated to how much he dislikes the police. Wow. Um, lived there for some time...did not have a single problem. Sounds to me like this person was a poor ex-pat.
    more
  • Laroussebouquine
    June 18, 2016
    Un gros coup de coeur pour cette BD originale, véritable invitation au voyage pleine de petites anecdotes, bien dessinée, pleine de migonnerie et d'humour. Je recommande à tous ceux qui ont voyagé au Japon ou non, et à ceux qui voudraient y aller ou non. Bref, une BD charmante à lire de ce pas !
    more
  • Sabrina
    November 20, 2016
    I want to go back to Tokyo right now ;-;
  • Beth
    March 18, 2012
    There were things I enjoyed about this graphic journal and things I didn't enjoy.What I liked:* The whimsical, colorful illustrations.* How the "chapters" were divided by neighborhoods in Tokyo. * The chapter title pages that divided the neighborhoods were quite humorous with the police station and officers doing something comical in the foreground.*The complex nature of the text and drawings would allow for multiple viewings and always finding something new.What I didn't like:* The font was so There were things I enjoyed about this graphic journal and things I didn't enjoy.What I liked:* The whimsical, colorful illustrations.* How the "chapters" were divided by neighborhoods in Tokyo. * The chapter title pages that divided the neighborhoods were quite humorous with the police station and officers doing something comical in the foreground.*The complex nature of the text and drawings would allow for multiple viewings and always finding something new.What I didn't like:* The font was so small and difficult to read that on many pages (the maps in particular) I just gave up and didn't bother reading. * While the point of this book was more for the drawings than verbal explanations, I felt myself wanting to know more about their reasons for their trip to Japan and also more than just a shallow (and sometimes mean-spirited) observation of the people Chavouet drew. * Despite being divided logically by neighborhoods, the book still had a disorganized chaos about it that made me wish for more narrative between the collages and drawings. I still enjoyed this book and would recommend it for anyone who loves Japan, sequential art, or travel memoirs.
    more
  • Nisah Haron
    June 14, 2013
    I already know the existence of this book for quite sometime, but because of the price (RM75 at Kinokuniya KLCC), I decided to wait. Then, when my sister-in-law gave me RM100 worth of book voucher, plus I am currently contemplating of going to Tokyo soon, so the timing couldn't be better. This is not your average guidebook on Tokyo. The book is about the artists saw and drew. But his artwork is simple yet wonderful. He made me feel that I should bring a box of pencil colors on my next trip to Ja I already know the existence of this book for quite sometime, but because of the price (RM75 at Kinokuniya KLCC), I decided to wait. Then, when my sister-in-law gave me RM100 worth of book voucher, plus I am currently contemplating of going to Tokyo soon, so the timing couldn't be better. This is not your average guidebook on Tokyo. The book is about the artists saw and drew. But his artwork is simple yet wonderful. He made me feel that I should bring a box of pencil colors on my next trip to Japan. Though, the result of my artwork is very much to be desired! He covered Tokyo mostly. Tokyo is a huge metropolitan city. But he did most if his travels on bike/foot (hence, the title). So, you can't get much tip nor view of the Japanese Rail service. But, since he went on foot and bike, I get to see the details and micro perspective of Tokyo - things you rarely see in a normal guidebook. On top of that, Chavouet is funny and witty. You will enjoy the journey with him!
    more
  • Emily
    February 14, 2013
    Gorgeous colored pencil sketches of Tokyo's buildings, fruit, people, police stations, harajuku culture, and other memories from the author's six month stay. I enjoyed pouring over the hand-drawn maps and beautifully detailed sketches. Many reviewers lament the lack of narrative arc. While this too bothered me, I realize after finishing the book that the author's lack of presence allows the city to capture the reader's attention, rather than the city in relation to the author's personal life. Wo Gorgeous colored pencil sketches of Tokyo's buildings, fruit, people, police stations, harajuku culture, and other memories from the author's six month stay. I enjoyed pouring over the hand-drawn maps and beautifully detailed sketches. Many reviewers lament the lack of narrative arc. While this too bothered me, I realize after finishing the book that the author's lack of presence allows the city to capture the reader's attention, rather than the city in relation to the author's personal life. Would I have preferred a storyline: yes. At the very least, as one reviewer notes, it would have helped to have a marked path through the maps to help the reader navigate the numerous notations and markings. But it was also refreshing to be free from the naval gazing and personality fatigue that can occur in travel memoirs. Take it as a slice of life sketchbook and enjoy the beautiful illustrations.
    more
  • Marina Zala
    July 4, 2014
    ** Books 259 - 2014 **tidak sia-sia menanti kurang lebih 2 minggu dari The Booksdepository demi mendapatkan buku ini!Sangat bagus isinya berupa ilustrasi-ilustrasi tentang daerah2 di Tokyo. Isinya sangat mendetail mulai dari kebiasan sehari2, tempat-tempat yang terkenal di Tokyo dan masih banyak lainnya. Sekilas mengingatkan saya dengan karya Benny & mice cuma kalo buku ini hanya full ilustrasi yang membuat saya tersenyum sendiri karena mengingatkan betapa inginnya saya ke negeri sakura itu ** Books 259 - 2014 **tidak sia-sia menanti kurang lebih 2 minggu dari The Booksdepository demi mendapatkan buku ini!Sangat bagus isinya berupa ilustrasi-ilustrasi tentang daerah2 di Tokyo. Isinya sangat mendetail mulai dari kebiasan sehari2, tempat-tempat yang terkenal di Tokyo dan masih banyak lainnya. Sekilas mengingatkan saya dengan karya Benny & mice cuma kalo buku ini hanya full ilustrasi yang membuat saya tersenyum sendiri karena mengingatkan betapa inginnya saya ke negeri sakura itu suatu saat nanti. saya berikan 4 dari 5 bintang untuk buku ini! puas banget pokoknya mulai dari kertasnya yang tebal ada kali ya 90 gram perhalamannya soalnya dan berhardcover.. oke banget ini buat dikoleksi dan saya rekomendasikan kepada teman2 yang menyukai tentang all about japan dan juga senang mengoleksi buku2 ilustrasi yang digambar tangan.. Ini bagi teman2 yang mau melihat bagaimana isi bukunya (ada videonya di Youtube):https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjoot...
    more
  • Moby F.
    June 19, 2011
    I love the way Florent draw all the things he saw on the street. It feels like I am actually on my way to discover the city of Tokyo - although just by reading and staring at all of his colorful graphic art for hours. Hilarious, somehow - especially pages with his drawings on the people he met and saw on the street with witty comment about their looks and dressings. Oh how I love the kobans' (local police branch station) design and structure. A very nice drawings of those - well presented I may I love the way Florent draw all the things he saw on the street. It feels like I am actually on my way to discover the city of Tokyo - although just by reading and staring at all of his colorful graphic art for hours. Hilarious, somehow - especially pages with his drawings on the people he met and saw on the street with witty comment about their looks and dressings. Oh how I love the kobans' (local police branch station) design and structure. A very nice drawings of those - well presented I may say. (And of course the cute and funny faces of policemen at each koban - very amusing!) Love the detailed explanation about the city and the Tokyo maps - I wonder how many hours does he spent to draw each maps!! Excerpts from page 48 - "Someone told me that a few years ago, Ringo Starr appeared in an ad for apples in Japan. Thanks to that I can always remember that Ringo means 'apple' in Japanese." Rated 5 stars - Wanna read it again!
    more
  • Emilia P
    January 1, 2013
    Errol got this for me way back in April. It comes down to being a better way of seeing Japan for what it is - not all Hello Kitties, Manneki neko and Studio Ghibli, or even Lost In Translation. More like semi-weirdos wandering around, expensive fruit, strange little bugs, coffee shops and salarymen, shabby but comfortable little houses, and lots of Moms. Beautifully illustrated and richly colored, it works as both a coffee table book where you can just open to any particular page and take it in, Errol got this for me way back in April. It comes down to being a better way of seeing Japan for what it is - not all Hello Kitties, Manneki neko and Studio Ghibli, or even Lost In Translation. More like semi-weirdos wandering around, expensive fruit, strange little bugs, coffee shops and salarymen, shabby but comfortable little houses, and lots of Moms. Beautifully illustrated and richly colored, it works as both a coffee table book where you can just open to any particular page and take it in, or as a graphic-novelish travelogue. Done by a french dude -- you can tell, he has a sort of French attitude and eye to the whole thing. Not too stereotypically Japanese in aesthetic, but incredibly observant of Japanese aesthetics nonetheless. I think I wish it was twice as long. :)Now to go see for myself! Thank you Errol!
    more
  • Meaghan Steeves
    July 19, 2015
    I was not very happy with this book. The art style (and by that I mean the fully rendered drawings and not his quick cartoony sketches) was quite beautiful, especially given that it was done in the sometimes restrictive pencil crayon. I felt that he was complaining too much for my liking, to the point where I didn't understand why he said that he still liked Japan. On nearly every page he either mocked or made fun of the people he drew through how he depicted them or what he perceived they were I was not very happy with this book. The art style (and by that I mean the fully rendered drawings and not his quick cartoony sketches) was quite beautiful, especially given that it was done in the sometimes restrictive pencil crayon. I felt that he was complaining too much for my liking, to the point where I didn't understand why he said that he still liked Japan. On nearly every page he either mocked or made fun of the people he drew through how he depicted them or what he perceived they were thinking about. I did not find his sense of humor to be funny at all and I wondered how many other people would perceive it as being insulting.
    more
  • Allison
    March 5, 2012
    I love books like this-- illustrated travel journals. I especially love them if they're about a place I know well. Since I lived in Japan for a year after college and have visited Tokyo more than a few times, the illustrations in this book felt like old friends. Chavouet's whimsical captions and illustrations of people and places around the city might not hold as much appeal for those who have never been to Japan, but they made me sigh with nostalgia. I love the way he captures little details th I love books like this-- illustrated travel journals. I especially love them if they're about a place I know well. Since I lived in Japan for a year after college and have visited Tokyo more than a few times, the illustrations in this book felt like old friends. Chavouet's whimsical captions and illustrations of people and places around the city might not hold as much appeal for those who have never been to Japan, but they made me sigh with nostalgia. I love the way he captures little details that make up everyday life in Japan. An enjoyable read for Japanophiles.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 8, 2017
    I love reading about Japan so it's no surprise that I loved reading this book. A truly unique take on Tokyo, it requires a bit of effort to make all the connections drawn by the author-artist. Some of the maps were hard to read due to the small print (I almost used a magnifying glass!) but once I developed a system it became easier. Any effort expended resulted in a great reward- the charm of the text and images themselves.
    more
  • Nazmi Yaakub
    July 10, 2013
    Tokyo lewat pensel warna artis Perancis dengan lakaran dan warna-warni yang memikat dengan ketajaman pemerhatian yang diasah-asah oleh sifat sarkastik. Perlu dibelek (dengan perkataan yang minimal untuk menggunakan 'membaca') oleh mereka yang bakal menjejakkan kaki ke Tokyo dengan penguasaan bahasa Jepun dan not Yen yang minimum - untuk mendapatkan pengalaman kembara yang optimum.Saya selalu mencemburui mereka yang memiliki pensel warna dan berus yang hebat!
    more
  • lucy by the sea
    March 5, 2013
    I think I would have liked this more if it was drawn by someone else. That sounds kind of harsh but I found the author zooming in on boring stuff I wasn't interested in and missing out on some of the stuff I wanted to see. By the end of it I got a bit bored of his silly jokes and stoner ness. I did like it overall tho, the drawing is great and I'll read pretty much anything bout Japan.
    more
  • Mindy Reads
    May 14, 2014
    I really liked the sociology made easy and the varies types of people in Japan pages. I thought it was entertaining and funny at times, but probably would be best suited for someone who has been to or who really loves Japan. As I don't know much about Tokyo, some of it was lost to me.
    more
  • Loren
    August 12, 2014
    I loved this book! I thought the artwork was so cool and detailed. It's definitely not a travel guide to Tokyo, like some people might have expected, but having been there recently, I say he did a great job of capturing the city and the people. It made me want to go back!
    more
  • Edwina
    January 16, 2016
    It is such a pretty book! He did a really good job in sketching the map too! I had a really pleasant time in reminiscing my time back in japan last summer
  • Louise
    February 21, 2012
    Loved it! Full of whimsical, color-pencil drawn characters and settings. I especially liked all the rooftop pictures.
  • Massimiliano
    April 18, 2015
    Enjoyable, funny, quirky. A refreshing look at a city I've been to twice, but one that I never stopped wanting to return to.
  • Charlotte Marillet
    February 3, 2016
    It's a beautiful book full of great drawings of real Japanese stuff! Took a lot of time to enjoy each page and each drawing. It made me remember my first experiences of Tokyo... Recommend it!
  • Kate McCarthy
    March 4, 2017
    This book was not what I thought it was: an illustrated guide of walking tours. Instead it was the sketchbook of a not-very-sympathetic French tourist living for 6 months abroad while his partner had an internship. His beautiful drawings are this book's saving grace...otherwise it's just a cranky tourist's perspective of Tokyo.
    more
Write a review