Dark Guardian (Dark, #8)
They were masters of the darkness, searching through eternity for a mistress of the light....He ran with the wolves...materialized from the mists...hijacked the very heavens to his whims.He was the dark guardian of his people. So how, after centuries of a bleak, soulless existence had he, Lucian Daratrazanoff, suddenly come to crave petite, curvy, colorful lady cop Jaxon Montgomery, who foolishly made it her life's work to protect others from harm?Fiercely daring, Jaxx would sacrifice anything to shield others-- particularly since a deadly menace dogged her every footstep, threatening all who got close to her. And strangely seductive, piercingly erotic Lucian was no exception. Lucian was powerfully, perilously mesmerizing--oddly gentle yet clearly a born predator. He had vowed to possess her, to guard her for all time. Yet with his every thirsty kiss, was he drawing Jaxon more deeply into danger . . . and his dark, mysterious desires?

Dark Guardian (Dark, #8) Details

TitleDark Guardian (Dark, #8)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 24th, 2002
PublisherLeisure Books
ISBN-139780843949940
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Vampires

Dark Guardian (Dark, #8) Review

  • Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession
    January 1, 1970
    5 Dark Angel StarsFirst read July 2012 Reread January 26, 2016Reread Feb 3, 2017*Spoilers* "I am your lifemate, young one. You have no idea what that means, and you are not Carpathian, so I expect a certain amount of resistance from you." Lucian rubbed his chin over the top of her head. "I promise you I will be as gentle and as patient as I can, but I cannot wait long for you. The emotions I am feeling do not tame the wild beast within me."-LucianDark Guardian is the 9th book in the Dark series 5 Dark Angel StarsFirst read July 2012 Reread January 26, 2016Reread Feb 3, 2017*Spoilers* "I am your lifemate, young one. You have no idea what that means, and you are not Carpathian, so I expect a certain amount of resistance from you." Lucian rubbed his chin over the top of her head. "I promise you I will be as gentle and as patient as I can, but I cannot wait long for you. The emotions I am feeling do not tame the wild beast within me."-LucianDark Guardian is the 9th book in the Dark series by Christine Feehan. This is Lucian Daratrazanoff and Jaxon Montgomery's book. Lucian is the older, darker one of the legendary twins, his people call him the Dark Angel. This book has an amazing prologue that gave an in depth look into both Lucian and Jaxon's history. The Prologue for Jaxon is just heartbreaking. It gave a good base for understanding all the pain and suffering Jaxon endured her whole life. It helped me to connect and sympathize with her. "You are bad, Lucian. What am I going to do about you?" "Be with me. Live with me. Learn to love me. Accept me as I am," -Jaxon and Lucian "You have a complete arsenal upstairs in your bedroom. I never saw so many weapons. It made me wonder just what type of woman I was getting myself involved with. There will be no shooting me when I come home this night, no unfortunate accidents, I trust,"-LucianLet me just say that there is just something about the Daratrazanoff brothers that just drives me wild. Every single one of them Gregori, Lucian , Darius, and Gabriel. They are so yummy I just want to lick them all. All kickass, arrogant, and dark mmm dayum they just do it for me. So every time I get a book with them in it, it puts me in my happy zone. In my mind I know they are fictional characters, but in my heart they are real and I wanna collect them all."That's it! I've had it with you. You don't even seem to know what you've done. You show no remorse at all. I'm the one who has to do all the compromising, except there is no compromise. You simply decide I'm going to do something, and then I do it. And it hurt like hell!"-Jaxon "I know everything about you, and I am madly in love with you. Love is not even a strong enough word for the way I feel about you. Take the time to get to know me, Jaxon. Try for me, angel. Just try."-LucianLucian is everything I wanted and more. He is charming, sexy, smart, sweet, and totally badass. Lucian takes his time to get to know his lifemate, and does everything he can to make her happy. Lucian accepts Jaxon for the fighter she is and doesn't try to change her and I love that. Jaxon has had one hell of a life. She wants Lucian but she is scared to lose him the way she has lost everyone she has ever gotten closed to. Jaxon is a fighter, but she has an emotional vulnerability that is endearing. Jaxon is very protective, and uses humor to help when she fears, or can't deal with something. Jaxon also kicks some major ass. I love that Jaxon and Lucian are a true team. I think all the female lifemates should know how to fight even if they never use it, just in case. Lucian and Jaxon's relationship is a slow burn because Lucian gives Jaxon time, but when it catches fire it's an inferno. "They call you that? The dark angel of death'? How can they be so terrible when you've given them so much? What right do they have to judge you?"-Jaxon A vampire would never expect a woman to participate in a battle, angel. It is not done. Our women are filled with compassion, not with a penchant for violence. She wanted to stay irritated but found herself laughing instead. Then he 's in for a surprise, huh? But you think I have a penchant for violence? I've been incredibly sweet natured, while you've been arrogant and impossible . You do not understand the difference between arrogance and confidence, but I will teach it to you. I can't wait for the lesson.-Lucian and JaxonI love this book. The ending is so sweet. Although I would have like to have got to see Lucian meet his brothers, and sister. I mean I am glad it says that they are meeting up and all but I would have like to read the family reunion. Great read I can't wait to read the next one! "I love this, Lucian. I really do. Every single moment with you."-Jaxon
    more
  • Sophia Triad
    January 1, 1970
    Lucian Daratrazanoff and Jaxx  “Your mind knows me. Your heart and soul recognize me." His thumb caressed the perfect line of her cheekbone tenderly just because he loved the feel of her skin beneath his. "I must bind us together, Jaxon, I have no other choice. It would be dangerous to wait. I am sorry that I cannot give you more time.” Lucian is one of the legendary Daratrazanoff twins, the darkest one. When his brother Gabriel found his lifemate, Lucian was finally ready to face the dawn and Lucian Daratrazanoff and Jaxx  “Your mind knows me. Your heart and soul recognize me." His thumb caressed the perfect line of her cheekbone tenderly just because he loved the feel of her skin beneath his. "I must bind us together, Jaxon, I have no other choice. It would be dangerous to wait. I am sorry that I cannot give you more time.” Lucian is one of the legendary Daratrazanoff twins, the darkest one. When his brother Gabriel found his lifemate, Lucian was finally ready to face the dawn and die. He was so lonely, tired and he was scared that he would turn soon into a vampire. But he was told that his lifemate is human and that she will need him soon. He could not die and let her suffer.Thus, he leaves Europe and goes to USA and soon he will meet and save Jaxon. Jaxon is a tough cop but she hasn't had an easy life so far. She has a stalker running after her and killing the ones that she loves since she was a child. As result and in order to protect everyone by this serial killer, she doesn't allow herself to be close to anybody. Until she meets Lucian who does not leave her alone and she has now a protector. Jaxon was pretty annoying actually in several occasions because she didn't want to let Lucian helping her. “Our fate is sealed, honey," he said as gently as he could. "There is no Lucian without Jaxon, and there is no Jaxon without Lucian. We must find a way to merge our two worlds together. We have no choice. It was written long before either of us was sent to this earth. We are fortunate that we were able to find each other, when there are so many who have been unable to remain hopeful.” This is a very interesting story because besides the fated lovestory between Lucian and Jaxon, there is also the mystery with her dangerous clever obsessive stalker and how he will be found and eliminated.
    more
  • Penny
    January 1, 1970
    DNFI didn't like it. After 70% of the audiobook I couldn't keep listening. So boring, uninteresting and repetitive. The whole time, the story went around in circles with barely any evolution. The main characters are brainless and very simple minded. It was painful to me how Jaxx couldn't make a logical or rational decision. I have read several books of this series by now, and although I enjoyed the first ones back when I started reading romance, right now I have more experience and thus I have s DNFI didn't like it. After 70% of the audiobook I couldn't keep listening. So boring, uninteresting and repetitive. The whole time, the story went around in circles with barely any evolution. The main characters are brainless and very simple minded. It was painful to me how Jaxx couldn't make a logical or rational decision. I have read several books of this series by now, and although I enjoyed the first ones back when I started reading romance, right now I have more experience and thus I have started to see the stories in these books differently. They have become more blah in my mind, kind of tiresome and quite chauvinistic. Hence, I have decided to stop reading this series and Christine Feehan altogether.
    more
  •  Danielle The Book Huntress (Back to the Books)
    January 1, 1970
    One thing I love about these Carpathian books is they prove the adage: There is someone for everyone. Feehan sets the stage by showing Lucian as a young fledgling, seeing the devastation that his people face, and realizing his duty to his people. Then she shows Jaxon growing up and the beginning of a horrible obsession that her father's friend develops for her. Those parts were really shocking and I was surprised that Feehan didn't hesitate to show how truly crazy Drake was. My heart bled for po One thing I love about these Carpathian books is they prove the adage: There is someone for everyone. Feehan sets the stage by showing Lucian as a young fledgling, seeing the devastation that his people face, and realizing his duty to his people. Then she shows Jaxon growing up and the beginning of a horrible obsession that her father's friend develops for her. Those parts were really shocking and I was surprised that Feehan didn't hesitate to show how truly crazy Drake was. My heart bled for poor Jaxon. At the same time, I deeply admired the woman she grew into. It was great that she had her own guardian to watch out for her. Although being a strong woman, she fully intended to do the same for him.Jaxon was a pretty level-headed heroine, and she had the knack for saying things that had me laughing. She totally kept Lucian on his toes. He didn't quite know what to do with her, but was deeply in love with her from the beginning.In Jaxon, I can see the seeds for the heroines in the Ghostwalker books. She reminded me favorably of Mari from Deadly Game, who is one of my favorite heroines. Just like Mari was a perfect match for Ken, so is Jaxon for Lucian. She is gutsy and self-sacrificing, and a true survivor despite the horror she has endured. I enjoyed the part when she gets dressed and puts on her whole arsenal of weapons. I couldn't help but love her.Lucian is just as irresistible as all the Carpathians are. He's very much larger than life, with this irresistibly seductive voice that he can use as a deadly weapon. Jaxon doesn't quite know what to make of him, but she isn't about to throw him back, although she doesn't quite believe in all the vampire stuff initally. Lucian is a very good person although he thinks he's bad because of all of the vampires he had to kill over the years. He always puts others before himself, and was even willing to sacrifice his soul to keep his brother from turning into a vampire. He is very caring and considerate of Jaxon, really working hard to help her to adjust to her new life as his lifemate. I appreciate the fact that although he didn't like her putting her life in danger as a police officer, he doesn't try to force her to quit. Pretty forward thinking for a man who is about 2000 years old. So I have to say it was nice that Jaxon was trying to watch out for him, and helped him kill vampires.Although the Carpathian books definitely have a certain formula, there are gems of uniqueness in each book that make them irresistible to this romance fan. Although I said I would take a break before reading the next Carpathian book, I'm wishing I brought another one on the road with me.
    more
  • CC
    January 1, 1970
    Caution there will be mild spoilers...and cursing - A LOT more than normal! Sweet baby Jesus I finally finished this fucking story! (I really wish I knew how to add pictures because I could express my feelings better!)Anyway, now I will explain my ridiculous statement above.This book was cruising along at a 3 star because the heroine was so annoying and I was bored silly with her antics. She never admitted to feelings for Lucian until the last 5-10%. She pushed him away and even went so far as t Caution there will be mild spoilers...and cursing - A LOT more than normal! Sweet baby Jesus I finally finished this fucking story! (I really wish I knew how to add pictures because I could express my feelings better!)Anyway, now I will explain my ridiculous statement above.This book was cruising along at a 3 star because the heroine was so annoying and I was bored silly with her antics. She never admitted to feelings for Lucian until the last 5-10%. She pushed him away and even went so far as to try to kill herself! Fucking BITCH! I wanted to push her off the cliff myself! I found nothing redeeming in her as a lifemate for Lucian. She was whiney, self absorbed and in denial the entire book. Lucian deserved SO much better! He must have been blinded by the mythical lifemate pussy to put up with her sorry ass. I think he would have been better in the afterlife without having to drag her around as a dead weight into every battle and confrontation. The stupid idiot thinks she can battle vampires?! Made him work doubly hard battling and protecting her selfish stupid ass. Can you feel the love I have for this heroine? But I was STILL willing to give it 3 stars.Then the author did something that I will call "jumping the shark". For those of you too young to remember Happy Days, the episode in which Fonzie jumps a shark is the precursor to the downfall of the show. If you give a shit...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4ZGK...So what did Feehan do? She brought Jesus into play. Maybe I am overreacting, but I was livid. Jesus? Really? In a VAMPIRE book?! First, I do not need religion in my vampire novels. Second, this is a VAMPIRE book! Come on! She has run out of all ideas that she now needs to bring Jesus to the table? And the conversation that Lucian had with Jesus prevented him form seeking the dark or turning vampire. Really? Because I read the last book where he tried to get his brother to kill him because he could go on no more and Jesus was never mentioned. At this point I was going to DNF, but I refused to let this book be my Waterloo, my Alamo. So I read on. The ending was ass. Like Lucian, or any Carpathian male, would let a woman participate in a battle with vampires. Bitch, please! I did learn something in the previous 8 books. And it would NEVER happen! Then Lucian, the most powerful Carpathian hunter ever, gets shot by a lowly human that he never even senses? An obvious plot device to try to make the bitch out to be a heroine. Way too late for that shit! Clearly I need another break from these books. I am very upset that the author could not come up with a better story for Lucian. It was an abomination. Why in the hell am I giving it 2 stars? I guess because I finished it and I liked Lucian when he was not being pussy whipped? At this point I do not know.
    more
  • Janeen
    January 1, 1970
    Did not care for this one. I didn't like the way the pov switched around. I didn't like that the millenia old European hero called the heroine "honey" even though he was European and really old. There was too much telling for my taste. I also didn't like that the tough as nails heroine almost cries because the hero is kind to a wolf. And I didn't like the parts that read along the lines of "The wedding really was like a fairy tale" or "She realized she trusted him completely because he loved her Did not care for this one. I didn't like the way the pov switched around. I didn't like that the millenia old European hero called the heroine "honey" even though he was European and really old. There was too much telling for my taste. I also didn't like that the tough as nails heroine almost cries because the hero is kind to a wolf. And I didn't like the parts that read along the lines of "The wedding really was like a fairy tale" or "She realized she trusted him completely because he loved her and would protect her as his woman forever."
    more
  • Candace
    January 1, 1970
    << Lucian Daratrazanoff, France, Present Day Lucian threatens Francesca, Gabriel's lifemate. Gabriel strikes a deadly injury. At the time of the attack, he realizes Lucian is not a vampire. When Lucian's powers weaken, Gabriel rushes to close the wound he inflicted on his brother. Francesca tells Lucian he has a lifemate. She tells him he must find his lifemate and remove her from danger. << Jaxon Montgomery, Present Day Jaxon and her partner, Barry Radcliff, are police officers. Th << Lucian Daratrazanoff, France, Present Day Lucian threatens Francesca, Gabriel's lifemate. Gabriel strikes a deadly injury. At the time of the attack, he realizes Lucian is not a vampire. When Lucian's powers weaken, Gabriel rushes to close the wound he inflicted on his brother. Francesca tells Lucian he has a lifemate. She tells him he must find his lifemate and remove her from danger. << Jaxon Montgomery, Present Day Jaxon and her partner, Barry Radcliff, are police officers. They are on a sting. Jaxon is sure it's an ambush. She calls her team back, but the new guy, Craig Benton, does not follow orders and gets shot. Jaxon and Barry rush in to help Benton. They are all shot. Jaxon is ready to give up. She's ready to die. Barry says, "No!"A wolf then an owl attack the criminals. The wolf comes to Barry and stares him in the eyes. Barry believes he is hallucinating. He swears he sees the wolf become a man. Lucian picks up Jaxon and takes her to his home, where he binds her to him through two blood exchanges and the ritual words. He not about to let his lifemate slip away from him. Jaxon comes to and realizes she is not in a hospital. There is a man in Jaxon's life that has caused her all sorts of heartache and pain. He has killed everyone who has gotten close to her. Because of his fixation, Jaxon has not gotten close to anyone. She lives her life in fear of others' safety. >> Thoughts << This novel had all the normal villains, plus a sociopath. The characters are well developed. The first part of the novel brings the reader up-to-date with their histories. The plot is well thought out, with the major subplots being resolved. Now onto novel number nine, Dark Symphony.
    more
  • Chitra *CJ*
    January 1, 1970
    "Dark Guardian" is the story of Lucian and Jackson.Lucian is the twin of Gabriel, who we learned from the last book is not yet a vampire and is actively looking for his lifemate, his redemption.He finds it in Jaxon, the police officer with a tragic past and a psychotic step father, who puts everyone near her in danger.From there it follows the regular Carpathian path of mating, conflicts, bad guys, realizations, love and HFNs.I was quite excited to get a kickass strong heroine,fearing it will go "Dark Guardian" is the story of Lucian and Jackson.Lucian is the twin of Gabriel, who we learned from the last book is not yet a vampire and is actively looking for his lifemate, his redemption.He finds it in Jaxon, the police officer with a tragic past and a psychotic step father, who puts everyone near her in danger.From there it follows the regular Carpathian path of mating, conflicts, bad guys, realizations, love and HFNs.I was quite excited to get a kickass strong heroine,fearing it will go in the same way the previous books had gone. I'm however glad she questioned all his decisions and fought along with him.Lucian was OTT protective, kind and cherishing. I liked his "small and tiny mate" banter with her.Sex scenes were well written too. I adore that he gave her the wedding!! Overall a great read.Safe4.25/5
    more
  • Andrea
    January 1, 1970
    This was the 3rd book I read in the series and after reading Gregori’s and Julian’s stories, this was a MAJOR disappointment. I can safely conclude that this series is going down the drain, because this was seriously shoddy work.Having heard about the legendary hunter Lucian, with this amazing hero status as being one of the two most powerful Carpathian males, I was expecting so much. And boy did my expectations get shot all to crap. His lifemate is a human, which I still don’t understand how/wh This was the 3rd book I read in the series and after reading Gregori’s and Julian’s stories, this was a MAJOR disappointment. I can safely conclude that this series is going down the drain, because this was seriously shoddy work.Having heard about the legendary hunter Lucian, with this amazing hero status as being one of the two most powerful Carpathian males, I was expecting so much. And boy did my expectations get shot all to crap. His lifemate is a human, which I still don’t understand how/why that happened because Carpathians should only be able to get with another Carpathian. That’s just how it works, or so I thought, until Feehan said that males could make human women go through the change to a Carpathian, which shouldn’t be allowed to happen in my opinion. Humans are just so stupid compared to Carpathians, and Jaxon was no different.She is quite possible THE most annoying female character I’ve come across. She thought she was so capable and that she could protect him from vampires with a gun. She’s constantly going on and on about protecting him, when her gun won’t do a dang thing against a vampire. And Lucian keeps telling her she can’t protect him, it’s the other way around, but she just doesn’t listen.I wanted to pull my hair out and scream in frustration. I was so completely aggravated by her. I think Feehan was trying to have her come across as caring and compassionate with the need to protect him and all, but it wasn’t, at all. I didn’t like her name, I didn’t like ANYTHING about her. She was so unworthy to get with Lucian it wasn’t even funny. I just can’t believe Feehan paired the legendary Lucian with this piece of crap.I didn’t like the fact that her colleague Barry, or w/e his name was, was in love with her, because I felt bad for him that she didn’t feel the same way. It was unnecessary and just sad when he respected Lucian even though he had to be hurt. It was just supposed to boost her worth, like guys found her attractive despite what she thought.There’s really no plot to any of these books, and that’s what I hate, that she wasn’t able to come up with a more exciting story to her amazing creativity with the whole lifemate concept. The stories just fall so flat, and this was the worst.There’s a crazy uncle that’s really obsessive of Jaxon and doesn’t want her with anyone. He kills everyone she comes into contact with, and I had to read through all these disturbing details of the people who were killed. What with the eyeballs missing and all the other gory signature marks of his killing I was ready to lose my meal. But I guess it wouldn’t be a Christine Feehan book if someone wasn’t getting tortured/killed. I seriously wonder at this lady’s psyche.
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    Dark Guardian is the story of legendary Carpathian hunter Lucian and his lifemate Jaxon.I really liked this story. Jaxon (Jax for short) is a tough-as-nails, driven cop, and Lucian is the twin brother of Gabriel from book 8.I really enjoyed the human element in this book. The human predator that has stalked Jax her entire life long is a former Navy SEAL. He is well-trained and fixated on Jax, and has dispatched everyone close to her. His threat is very real and continues throughout the the entir Dark Guardian is the story of legendary Carpathian hunter Lucian and his lifemate Jaxon.I really liked this story. Jaxon (Jax for short) is a tough-as-nails, driven cop, and Lucian is the twin brother of Gabriel from book 8.I really enjoyed the human element in this book. The human predator that has stalked Jax her entire life long is a former Navy SEAL. He is well-trained and fixated on Jax, and has dispatched everyone close to her. His threat is very real and continues throughout the the entire book.Of course, the intense emotions between Jax and Lucian are as good as they get. Feehan has hit another homerun with this one!
    more
  • Delta
    January 1, 1970
    Dark Guardian is my least favorite of the Dark series, which overall is quite good. Most of my GR friends rated this as 4 or 5 stars, so keep that in mind. I just did not feel a lot of chemistry between Jaxon and Lucian. The plot was tremendously slow getting off the ground. The first time that I attempted the book (>1 year ago) I stopped at about 50%, a point at which Jaxon was still denying that Lucian could possibly have supernatural abilities or that she could be his lifemate—even though Dark Guardian is my least favorite of the Dark series, which overall is quite good. Most of my GR friends rated this as 4 or 5 stars, so keep that in mind. I just did not feel a lot of chemistry between Jaxon and Lucian. The plot was tremendously slow getting off the ground. The first time that I attempted the book (>1 year ago) I stopped at about 50%, a point at which Jaxon was still denying that Lucian could possibly have supernatural abilities or that she could be his lifemate—even though she had by then witnessed countless demonstrations of his abilities and had already become a Carpathian herself.Even though Lucian was amazing in his strength, abilities, and his long history of loyalty and self-sacrifice, his constant, seemingly emotionless and effortless way of speaking his desires into being (like destroying enemies by merely telling them they would cease breathing) made him appear a somewhat flat character with whom I could not relate much. Jaxon’s constant denial of what she witnessed and experienced (fully 75-to-80% of the book) was annoying to me.All of that said, I am clearly in the minority, so if you enjoy Feehan’s protective, lonely, Carpathian heroes, you may love Dark Guardian.
    more
  • Carinae L'etoile
    January 1, 1970
    Old world? Yet kept calling her honey on every other page?!I shouldn't have re-read this book. It pissed me off. The heroine's name alone was jarring and irritating - almost like she was deliberately given a masculine name to offset the ridiculously stupid abuse Feehan subjected her to.I don't know where to begin with Lucian. It is almost like she wiped the slate clean with his character from Book 8. She completely made him modern but wanted to feel old fashioned by merely using the words "old w Old world? Yet kept calling her honey on every other page?!I shouldn't have re-read this book. It pissed me off. The heroine's name alone was jarring and irritating - almost like she was deliberately given a masculine name to offset the ridiculously stupid abuse Feehan subjected her to.I don't know where to begin with Lucian. It is almost like she wiped the slate clean with his character from Book 8. She completely made him modern but wanted to feel old fashioned by merely using the words "old world" and "old fashioned" in describing him to offset the sudden change in his speech pattern from the previous book. All she's succeeded in doing was confuse me and make me think she is schizo while she writes. She is consistently inconsistent. Two years ago I thought was story was merely ok. Now I think it is just one big schizophrenic clusterfuck.
    more
  • Minx
    January 1, 1970
    Loved Lucian's story! He deserved some happiness. This was a great read!!
  • Malinda
    January 1, 1970
    4.5-5 starsThis was a great story and addition to the series. I liked both Jaxon and Lucian very much and enjoyed seeing them become a couple as well as partners.Jaxon was born to a father that was special forces and he taught her those skills from a very young (almost as soon as she could walk) age. She took to it naturally and liked training better than anything else. Jaxon's father was killed early in her life and she lost the rest of her family and then her foster family. All this was becaus 4.5-5 starsThis was a great story and addition to the series. I liked both Jaxon and Lucian very much and enjoyed seeing them become a couple as well as partners.Jaxon was born to a father that was special forces and he taught her those skills from a very young (almost as soon as she could walk) age. She took to it naturally and liked training better than anything else. Jaxon's father was killed early in her life and she lost the rest of her family and then her foster family. All this was because of a psycho that fixated on her and she ended up having to live her life pretty much alone outside of work because anyone she became friends with got killed horribly. Jaxon could never use her training in the special forces so she became an excellent police officer who's known to have uncanny instincts.Lucian is an ancient Carpathian male; Carpathians are born vampires with abilities like shape shifting (to any form, even mist), magic spells and psychic powers. The males of the Carpathians have a darkness in them and if they don't find their lifemates, they can lose their souls and become evil. Lucian has a twin, Gabriel, and they hunted vampires together for centuries together but when Gabriel seemed in danger of losing his soul, Lucian faked turning vampire for centuries so that Gabriel would have something to focus on until he found his lifemate. Lucian had planned to let Gabriel kill him once he'd found his lifemate and it almost worked but Gabriel and his lifemate convinced Lucian to live and that he had a lifemate out there now that needed him. Lucian believed them and held on for a while longer until he found her, Jaxon. Jaxon first meets Lucian when a police raid she's participating in goes bad. Jaxon and her partner are shot and Lucian comes in a saves them, sweeping her away to his home where he heals her. When Jaxon wakes up, she's actually a bit sad that she's still alive because she's just had such a trying life and it's hard for her to be the focus of so much death (from her psycho) and loneliness. When Lucian and Jaxon are first getting to know each other, she's attracted to him but wants to leave because she's afraid any connection could cause her psycho to kill again. Lucian wont be deterred though and makes it clear he wont be pushed out of her life.Jaxon does try to push Lucian away, fearing an emotional connection. She actually found out what he was pretty early into things but had some trouble accepting everything, insisting on thinking of Lucian as human and trying to wish away the strange things that happen around her. Thankfully, that doesn't last although she does still go off at times but it seems more like Jaxon is the type to blow up about the impossibility of things just because her brain is having trouble dealing with it. After the initial blow up, Jaxon usually settled down pretty quickly and moved forward. I really liked that Jaxon had been tough all her life and wasn't about to be benched by Lucian and I loved that Lucian realized this and actually allowed her to help him when they ran into danger. In the end, they became a very good team and ended the story cementing their HEA.I greatly enjoyed this story. I will admit that although her back story was compelling, I wasn't sure about Jaxon at first. However, as I got to see more of her and how she dealt with her transition and all, I found that I really liked her. She's a smart cookie with a lot of willpower and courage behind her. Lucian was a very unusual Carpathian male...they all want to make their lifemates happy but I'm not sure how many others would actually willingly work with her to fight vampires. Color me impressed. Overall, that story was really good and things stayed interesting enough that once I really got started, I didn't stop until I'd finished. I'd recommend this story. :D* note - I listened to the audio version of this book that is done by Books In Motion and the narrator was Juanita Parker. Parker did a very good job with the narration.
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    The power that Lucian Daratrazanoff could wield was immense, but the power he came by naturally did not help him find the one thing that could make is existence more tolerable. Finding a lifemate was not the difficult part of his newest challenge, it was to convince a human women to become a part of a new existence. Running most of her life from a monster, Jaxon Montgomery was not prepared to find out just what kind of evil creatures really were a part of her world, she had the street smart and The power that Lucian Daratrazanoff could wield was immense, but the power he came by naturally did not help him find the one thing that could make is existence more tolerable. Finding a lifemate was not the difficult part of his newest challenge, it was to convince a human women to become a part of a new existence. Running most of her life from a monster, Jaxon Montgomery was not prepared to find out just what kind of evil creatures really were a part of her world, she had the street smart and special training to survive on her own, she would never be able to really depend on someone else for her safety, or let them try to take care of themselves without her help. Finding that each had a special gift for seeking out the monsters (human and vampire alike), they might be able to strike a balance between the two that allows Jaxx her own way to protect and serve while Lucian still follows his way of dispensing justice.Book 9.…. Amazing how a cookie-cutter series can have such diversity. These stories have given us several powerful ancient Carpathian men and a few human women, all have been the same basic concept that she needs to be converted. The how is the fun part, this one is no different in the story, but the most powerful (to date) ended up being the most gentle, the most compassionate and the most accommodating to his lifemates feelings and wishes. I liked that Lucian had worries of her recriminations over what he had done, but I also liked that he admitted his error in judgment, had to be tough on his ego. These are all such fabulous characters and as always it was nice to hear of some of the others, Gabriel and Francesca, even the Savage twins are mentioned several times. I would have enjoyed more interaction between Jaxx and Gabriel, just because they are the two most important people in Lucian’s life.
    more
  • Shannon (Giraffe Days)
    January 1, 1970
    It's important to read Dark Legend before reading this book, as this one is about Lucian and follows on more or less directly from the previous book.Lucian's only reason for staying alive is Francesca's assurance that his lifemate exists in the world and needs him. He spends the next couple of years looking for her and finds her in America (surprise surprise), a police officer called Jaxson with a tragic past: her family was all murdered by her father's best friend, Tyler Drake, a fellow SEAL wh It's important to read Dark Legend before reading this book, as this one is about Lucian and follows on more or less directly from the previous book.Lucian's only reason for staying alive is Francesca's assurance that his lifemate exists in the world and needs him. He spends the next couple of years looking for her and finds her in America (surprise surprise), a police officer called Jaxson with a tragic past: her family was all murdered by her father's best friend, Tyler Drake, a fellow SEAL who trained Jaxx as a child and teen, who then murdered her foster family and even a wheel-chair-bound woman Jaxx befriended. He is twisted and thinks he's protecting her, but will harm anyone she gets close to. As a result, she's isolated herself. Until Lucian comes into her life, takes over and doesn't listen to her warnings. Vampires have come to the city too, drawn by the promise of a lifemate, and it's in Jaxson's nature to protect everyone, including Lucian.This one reminded me of Dark Magic in that Lucian is a typical Carpathian male, and a rather condescending one too - he's impressed by Jaxson's ability to figure things out, as if all women are stupid. Jaxx isn't a very convincing character, but her horrific past is all too real. There are some intense scenes here that I loved, which have given it a boost in star ratings, but the flowery prose and constant hit-me-over-the-head repetition (of descriptions, themes, adjectives, feelings etc.) gets really wearying. And why do all the women have to be so tiny? Seriously. How realistic is that? And Feehan really needs to learn - or at least picture - how bodies come together, because some of their feats are impossible, even for Carpathians.
    more
  • T.J. Shaw
    January 1, 1970
    Ahhhh, this was such a great read! Lucian is a fantastic hero and virtually unstoppable. He’s an ancient protector of his race who sacrificed the latter part of his existence to save his brother, Gabriel. I also read, DARK LEGEND, the previous book in the Carpathian series, which is mainly about Gabriel. But Ms. Feehan devoted so much attention to Lucian that by the time I finished it, I couldn’t wait to read Lucian’s story in DARK GUARDIAN. Lucian is probably one of my favorite Carpathians, alt Ahhhh, this was such a great read! Lucian is a fantastic hero and virtually unstoppable. He’s an ancient protector of his race who sacrificed the latter part of his existence to save his brother, Gabriel. I also read, DARK LEGEND, the previous book in the Carpathian series, which is mainly about Gabriel. But Ms. Feehan devoted so much attention to Lucian that by the time I finished it, I couldn’t wait to read Lucian’s story in DARK GUARDIAN. Lucian is probably one of my favorite Carpathians, although I really liked Mikhail in DARK PRINCE. Jax, our heroine, is one tough nut! You don’t mess with her and don’t call her small! Initially, she has a hard time accepting Lucian and who he is (and who wouldn’t), but she comes around in the end. Through Ms. Feehan’s flowing and descriptive style, she eloquently illustrates that there’s a lifemate out there for everyone, some just might have to wait a bit longer than others. I really enjoyed this one.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    Book 9. Online library MP3 download to my cellphone. This book is Part 2 (after Book 8) and involves the other twin, Lucian Daratrazanoff (brother of Gabriel). I really liked this one! Of course that means a more complicated plot, character development and of course, moral dilemmas! Lucian and Jaxon Montgomery are the main characters. Jaxon is haunted by a sick and abusive stepfather who has killed everyone close to Jaxon. Lucian has had to convince his twin that he had 'turned.' It was all a ru Book 9. Online library MP3 download to my cellphone. This book is Part 2 (after Book 8) and involves the other twin, Lucian Daratrazanoff (brother of Gabriel). I really liked this one! Of course that means a more complicated plot, character development and of course, moral dilemmas! Lucian and Jaxon Montgomery are the main characters. Jaxon is haunted by a sick and abusive stepfather who has killed everyone close to Jaxon. Lucian has had to convince his twin that he had 'turned.' It was all a ruse to keep Gabriel safe.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    For the first time in a Carpathian book the heroine got on my nerves. I'm not sure it is actually the character or the way the narrator portrayed her but she is so WHINY!!!! Yes she could be brave when it came to fighting but the rest of the time whine, whine, whine. I understand she had a lot of changes to make and they are by no means easy but she really was getting on my nerves when coming to grips with it. Oh and I did not care for the outcome with Drake, I agree with Jaxon, "That's it?". Al For the first time in a Carpathian book the heroine got on my nerves. I'm not sure it is actually the character or the way the narrator portrayed her but she is so WHINY!!!! Yes she could be brave when it came to fighting but the rest of the time whine, whine, whine. I understand she had a lot of changes to make and they are by no means easy but she really was getting on my nerves when coming to grips with it. Oh and I did not care for the outcome with Drake, I agree with Jaxon, "That's it?". Alas I must have to say this has been my least favorite of the series.
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    Love Carpathians :)amazing how they can shape shift & almost seem invincible at times.
  • iamGamz
    January 1, 1970
    I love Lucian and Jaxon!Badass hunter finds his lifemate, who turns out to be a badass cop. A perfect match. I loved how he helped her through the challenges she faced. I loved that she was so sweet and didn’t let that monster make her hard and cold. This is my favorite book so far. But I’m pretty sure I’ve said that quite a few times already. :DI am so loving this series and question my sanity in waiting so long to read it!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    I get my cop!!!Remember way back in Dark Prince I gave some things I wanted to see? I think I listed 4 separate things, but they were kind of a conglomerate. I wanted a Carpathian woman, and I've gotten that in Francesca - though I had more intended a woman converting a male.Another thing I wanted was a cop. I had imagined it as part of this really vivacious woman, and Jaxon is definitely all that. She's spunky and driven, and mother fucking cop!!Not at all the wait at home kinda gal that puts C I get my cop!!!Remember way back in Dark Prince I gave some things I wanted to see? I think I listed 4 separate things, but they were kind of a conglomerate. I wanted a Carpathian woman, and I've gotten that in Francesca - though I had more intended a woman converting a male.Another thing I wanted was a cop. I had imagined it as part of this really vivacious woman, and Jaxon is definitely all that. She's spunky and driven, and mother fucking cop!!Not at all the wait at home kinda gal that puts Carpathian men at ease.Which is why she's pretty awesome for Lucian.So, we know a bit about Lucian from Dark Legend when we meet his twin, Gabriel. We learn a bit more about him here, but the main character is really Jaxon.In Legend, when they're trying to save Lucian, Francesca tells him he has to live for his lifemate, that she's out there and that she needs him. That he might be the only one who can help her.That's true and it's not.See, Jaxon is the daughter of a Navy SEAL. Her father died on a mission and her mother, who was always a bit...delicate, became increasingly depressed. She had a younger brother who she cared for in place of her mother. When she was a kid, her father's best friend asked if she wanted him to marry her mother and be her father. Help take care of her. She loved him, and she was young so she said yes.Only, the guy was a complete and total psycho!He ends up abusing the mom and brother. The only one who can try to control him is Jaxon. She tells others, but no one believes her. Until one day she comes home and he's murdered her family. She's taken in by another family friend who try to adopt her. Until the stepfather kills them.So, Jaxon spends her whole life trying to to be too friendly with people. Trying never to be seen with people in public. Cause every time she does, he shows up and kills them.Jaxon is of course psychic, she knows when things are going to go bad - a really helpful talent for a cop. She ends up in a shootout and almost dies.Lucian saves her, of course.The stepfather obviously doesn't take kindly to Jaxons rich fiancee, and comes after them. One of my favorite things about this one is that the stepfather succeeds! He shoots Lucian and nearly kills him. Jaxon gives him enough blood to save him and he finishes off the psycho stalker.That's what being arrogant gets you. Which is why he is and is not the only one who can save her.She kept telling him the stepdad as a SEAL and no joke.I found this one to be very sweet. I liked that we had a human monster, though the vamps made their appearance, too. I like Jaxon. I like that a Carpathian male has to deal with a woman comfortable with danger.So, what's next?No freakin' clue.
    more
  • Farah
    January 1, 1970
    Will the real Lucian please stand up It was a somewhat disappointing read , Lucian's character in the last book was much more compelling and had an air of menace and darkness not to mention he was incredibly smart , in this book he completely changed 180 degrees to something much more tame and different , he didn't seem like the same character that was in Dark Legend , yes I realize that in Dark legend there was a lot of pretense from his part but that doesn't mean he'd be completely different Will the real Lucian please stand up It was a somewhat disappointing read , Lucian's character in the last book was much more compelling and had an air of menace and darkness not to mention he was incredibly smart , in this book he completely changed 180 degrees to something much more tame and different , he didn't seem like the same character that was in Dark Legend , yes I realize that in Dark legend there was a lot of pretense from his part but that doesn't mean he'd be completely different to the point where he becomes someone else , I'm not saying the character was bad on the contrary I liked Lucian in this book but I liked him a lot more in the book before and was expecting so much more from his character.The heroine Jaxon "I still giggle when I say her name" is a cop with a traumatic past .. she avoids any kind of relationships whether it's friendship or love due to the fact that the villain her stepfather Drake murdered her family and murders anyone she cares about or even interacts with on a friendly basis. There's also Barry who is Jaxon's partner and is also in love with her , Barry was kinda of adorable.The story itself was good and the human villain was twisted , scary and threatening but this is where it all fell apart , through out the entire book we have Jaxon hunted and terrified that her stepfather would hurt Lucian or Barry , he controls the story , he is always there , a threat hidden in a corner somewhere , watching and planning , he was an obstacle in jaxon and Lucian's relationship , he was a threat , a human who was able to remain hidden from Lucian but then the ending came and it was completely anti climatic (view spoiler)[ just like that Drake her stepfather manages to shoot Lucian and almost kills him and just like that Lucian kills Drake and it's over , there was absolutely no confrontation of any type, Drake didn't even utter a word , it was over before we knew it. Firstly for Lucian the legendary hunter to be shot by Drake and almost dies was completely ridiculous , I mean if he is that vulnerable I think vampires should stop trying to kill him in person and just send a human assassin cause it's that easy and Secondly Drake just died so easily and so simply without even a scene between him and Jaxon , something I was dying to read but instead nothing happened , he just dropped dead the second Lucian compelled him to and then it was all over , maybe if the author didn't focus on Drake that much and make him a focal point in the story she could have gotten away with this but because he haunted both the main characters it should have been an explosive ending not the lame tranquil one we got (hide spoiler)]Overall it was a nice read but it still disappointed me and it was such a shame because Lucian had the potential to be a much more than that.
    more
  • Rae
    January 1, 1970
    I'm simply glad that my neighbor lent this series to me--because I had such a difficult time connecting to the author's writing style when I read "Dark Prince". Thusfar, I've read 13 of the 15 Dark books...I can honestly say I enjoyed 4 of them. Next time someone that lives very close to me gives me books that come highly recommended, I'm going to remember this experience and just say "no thanks".I find Mrs. Feehan's writing style difficult to embrace and extremely inconsistant. It's almost as t I'm simply glad that my neighbor lent this series to me--because I had such a difficult time connecting to the author's writing style when I read "Dark Prince". Thusfar, I've read 13 of the 15 Dark books...I can honestly say I enjoyed 4 of them. Next time someone that lives very close to me gives me books that come highly recommended, I'm going to remember this experience and just say "no thanks".I find Mrs. Feehan's writing style difficult to embrace and extremely inconsistant. It's almost as though she never read her previous books when she's writing.I didn't like this book a great deal; there was nothing in the story that showed that Jaxon was as tough as she thought she was. I was disappointed to see how easily Drake took down Lucian. The previous books wanted the readers to believe that Gabriel and Lucian were the strongest and most knowledgable being in existence, yet one shot almost killed Lucian in this book while Jaxon shot one ghoul 3 times in the heart, twice in the head and her co-worker shot that same ghoul two additional times...and seven bullets later...it still kept coming. Come on! Vikirnoff and Rafael both had fight scenes in which they continued to fight even when a vampire had their hearts semi torn from their bodies. I was expecting their STRONGEST hunter to be more...This book was a booby-prize.
    more
  • Pat Cromwell
    January 1, 1970
    What I loved most about this book and what makes it the best so far for the emotional impact. This is the book with the emotional tug to your heart. Both Lucian and especially Jaxon had such sad beginnings. Knowing their toubled history made their coming together so much more exciting and heart warming. Yes, I am a whimp and I cried because of Jaxon's troubles as a young girl and the sacrifice that that Lucian made for what he remembered to be LOVE for his brother ... OMG I love Lucian and Jaxon What I loved most about this book and what makes it the best so far for the emotional impact. This is the book with the emotional tug to your heart. Both Lucian and especially Jaxon had such sad beginnings. Knowing their toubled history made their coming together so much more exciting and heart warming. Yes, I am a whimp and I cried because of Jaxon's troubles as a young girl and the sacrifice that that Lucian made for what he remembered to be LOVE for his brother ... OMG I love Lucian and Jaxon!This is yet another book where I wish I didn't have my "Only God is a 5 Star Rule". I LOVED the chemistry between Lucian (have to write his name again ... LUCIAN) and my girl Jaxon! Perfect! Jaxon was strong willed, fault him every step of the way the 1st 2/3rds of the book but my favorite Daratrazanoff shrugged it off and still did what he wanted to do. He gave her time on his time table. He was so laid back cocky! Loved it when she pulled the gun out on him and threaten to shoot him. He didn;t even blink. No he was way before alpha with his ego and soimehow remained sweet (egads a Sweet Carpathian -- Yeah, Lucian was the man and Jaxon was perfect therefore I feel really bad lusting after her man (LOL)!The only thing I hated about this book was the cover.
    more
  • Megan
    January 1, 1970
    I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked Lucian a lot more than I have liked most of the other males from this series. Yes he was all caveman and forced his will but thats just what they do. It's a story not real life. And he seemed to feel guilty when he did it and the only times I remember him doing it was when he wanted Jax to drink from him. Is that right? maybe thats wrong. But if thats the case then he's better than the rest of them. Plus he was kinda funny and I liked that about him I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked Lucian a lot more than I have liked most of the other males from this series. Yes he was all caveman and forced his will but thats just what they do. It's a story not real life. And he seemed to feel guilty when he did it and the only times I remember him doing it was when he wanted Jax to drink from him. Is that right? maybe thats wrong. But if thats the case then he's better than the rest of them. Plus he was kinda funny and I liked that about him. Jaxon I didn't really care for. She has a shitty childhood. Alright. That sucks. But her way of coping with everything was so freaking annoying. The whole denial thing. I hate that. She was suppose to be this bad ass cop and her way of dealing with everything was to pretend it wasn't there or that she didn't hear it.. That just annoys me. Honestly Lucian kind of got stuck with a shitty life mate. And can I just say really, one shot took him down? COME ON! thats just embarrassing.
    more
  • Alex is The Romance Fox
    January 1, 1970
    This is the story of the legendary ancient Carpathian Lucian, twin brother to Gabriel (whose story was book 8) who had given up ever finding his lifemate. Last minute hope given by his brother’s wife Francesca, who tells him that his lifemate exists and he will find her, he goes to America where he meets her…Jaxon Montgomery, a hard working, tough cop with a traumatic child and is now being stalked by an evil serial killerLucian, gorgeous and seductive begins helping her overcome her trauma and This is the story of the legendary ancient Carpathian Lucian, twin brother to Gabriel (whose story was book 8) who had given up ever finding his lifemate. Last minute hope given by his brother’s wife Francesca, who tells him that his lifemate exists and he will find her, he goes to America where he meets her…Jaxon Montgomery, a hard working, tough cop with a traumatic child and is now being stalked by an evil serial killerLucian, gorgeous and seductive begins helping her overcome her trauma and loneliness. She is afraid that she will be a danger to him and tries to resist even though having deep feelings for him. He promises to protect her.He shows incredible gentleness and patience as he tries to bring her over to the Carpathian world. The sex scenes are hot and fabulous….when are they not in this series!!!!!Another great book in this series. I love the interaction between each book’s characters. It’s like you keep meeting more members of this incredible Carpathian family.
    more
  • Lyndi W.
    January 1, 1970
    This was a torturous 29%, man. Jaxx is an idiot. A total, complete, TSTL idiot. She refuses to listen to the answers to the questions she asks. She refuses to believe what she's seeing with her very own eyes. She refuses to accept logic. Oh but wait, she does accept responsibility for all the awful things that happen to other people, things she had zero control over. And she does accept the fact that Lucian is a two thousand year old non-human vampire hunter. But she refuses to believe he could This was a torturous 29%, man. Jaxx is an idiot. A total, complete, TSTL idiot. She refuses to listen to the answers to the questions she asks. She refuses to believe what she's seeing with her very own eyes. She refuses to accept logic. Oh but wait, she does accept responsibility for all the awful things that happen to other people, things she had zero control over. And she does accept the fact that Lucian is a two thousand year old non-human vampire hunter. But she refuses to believe he could take out a nutty bonkers Navy SEAL? Yup, she's an idiot.I don't like one single thing about this story or the characters by 29% and the last 10% was spent praying it would get better so I wouldn't have to give up at 1:30am. So color me done. And it's extra disappointing because I know this author is capable of amazing things. Totally dropped the ball on this one. Dropped it on a sharp metal spike. And then poured acid on it.
    more
  • Oleta Blaylock
    January 1, 1970
    Lucian has always been one of my favorite Carpathians. He is the first that lets his lifemate take on a vampire which is a huge jump for this bunch of very protective, alpha males. He has also hung on for so long and worked so hard to save his brother that I was really hoping that he would find someone that would respect him and love him as much as he deserved. Jaxon is that woman. She has had so much death, misery and betrayal in her life I am surprised that she has stayed sane. While she hides Lucian has always been one of my favorite Carpathians. He is the first that lets his lifemate take on a vampire which is a huge jump for this bunch of very protective, alpha males. He has also hung on for so long and worked so hard to save his brother that I was really hoping that he would find someone that would respect him and love him as much as he deserved. Jaxon is that woman. She has had so much death, misery and betrayal in her life I am surprised that she has stayed sane. While she hides from things that she finds hard to believe Jaxon doesn't really stay hidden. She just needs time to for her mind to accept the unbelievable. This story is really about two people that have had to be alone all their lives finally finding someone that understands them and keeps them from the dark place in all of our souls. I also loved that Jaxon and Lucian get married in a church at the end of the story. I thought that was a very sweet and beautiful ending.
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Okay. I am now officially stating my intent to stop reading the Carpathians series. By declaring it like this, I hope to finally give up all hope on the series.I believe I enjoyed the first book, but the rest, not so much. I get so tired of the "he could do no other" phrase. It is in every book on just about every 10 pages.Those Carpathians have so much power and few limitations. It makes it hard for them to find any enemies that can best them which is kinda boring. The struggle in each book is Okay. I am now officially stating my intent to stop reading the Carpathians series. By declaring it like this, I hope to finally give up all hope on the series.I believe I enjoyed the first book, but the rest, not so much. I get so tired of the "he could do no other" phrase. It is in every book on just about every 10 pages.Those Carpathians have so much power and few limitations. It makes it hard for them to find any enemies that can best them which is kinda boring. The struggle in each book is more about convincing a human woman to submit to them. I'm not sure why she even throws enemies in the books too.My new mantra: "Just because a book is part of a series, does not mean I must finish the series." Let us see how well I do with that.
    more
Write a review