Scenes from an Impending Marriage
MAKING LIGHT OF NUPTIAL NARCISSM At the behest of his soon-to-be wife, Adrian Tomine set out to create a wedding favor for their guests that would be funnier and more personal than the typical chocolate bars and picture frames. What started out as a simple illustrated card soon grew into a full-fledged comic book: a collection of short strips chronicling the often absurd process of getting married. A loose, cartoony departure from Tomine’s previous work, Scenes from an Impending Marriage is a sweet-natured, laugh out-loud skewering of the modern marriage process, including hiring a DJ, location scouting, trips to the salon, suit fittings, dance lessons, registering for gifts, and managing familial demands. The most personal and autobiographical work of Tomine’s career, Scenes from an Impending Marriage is a charming, delightful token of love.

Scenes from an Impending Marriage Details

TitleScenes from an Impending Marriage
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 1st, 2011
PublisherDrawn and Quarterly
ISBN1770460349
ISBN-139781770460348
Number of pages54 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Autobiography, Memoir, Humor, Nonfiction, Marriage

Scenes from an Impending Marriage Review

  • Jan Philipzig
    May 9, 2016
    Well, that was nice. Tiny and short and maybe a little "sketchy" (at least by Tomine's own standards, as Liam tells me - thanks!), but nice. It's a collection of short strips that humorously depict the road to Tomine's own real-life wedding: "We're getting sucked into a black hole of nuptial narcissism!" "If anyone could hear our whining, they'd hate us." "I hate us." And best of all, it served as an actual memento for the wedding guests to take home - certainly a 5-star read for them.For me, it Well, that was nice. Tiny and short and maybe a little "sketchy" (at least by Tomine's own standards, as Liam tells me - thanks!), but nice. It's a collection of short strips that humorously depict the road to Tomine's own real-life wedding: "We're getting sucked into a black hole of nuptial narcissism!" "If anyone could hear our whining, they'd hate us." "I hate us." And best of all, it served as an actual memento for the wedding guests to take home - certainly a 5-star read for them.For me, it also comes pretty close. It's fascinating to read an actual memoir by Tomine - I mean, his material always feels like a memoir, but for the most part it isn't. And it's interesting to see how closely related his memoir material is to that by cartoonists such as Seth (though not as nostalgic), Joe Matt (though not as crass), or Chester Brown (though more "human"). Kinda what you would expect from Tomine for the occasion, but very charming nonetheless. Recommended!
    more
  • Anya
    January 31, 2016
    Have you any idea about what terrible monstrosities Indian weddings are? They are huge. Like, Indian elephant huge. And they aren’t even a one-day affair; oh no, they drag on and on for days and while they are fun for most of the people, sadly, my anti –social proclivities beg to differ (gasp, shock, horror etc).My cold, cold heart notwithstanding, I found this graphic novelette to be incredibly adorable. This little comic was created by Adrian Tomine as a wedding favour for their guests because Have you any idea about what terrible monstrosities Indian weddings are? They are huge. Like, Indian elephant huge. And they aren’t even a one-day affair; oh no, they drag on and on for days and while they are fun for most of the people, sadly, my anti –social proclivities beg to differ (gasp, shock, horror etc).My cold, cold heart notwithstanding, I found this graphic novelette to be incredibly adorable. This little comic was created by Adrian Tomine as a wedding favour for their guests because of a request from his bride to be. (“If you really, really, really loved me, you’d do this.”) It chronicles the little snippets of life two people suffer experience while planning a wedding. Which looked so stressful that it made me wince.As if I wasn’t convinced already. I am so going to elope/have a courthouse wedding.What made me love the book was the epilogue. Admittedly, I enjoyed the scenes; they made me laugh but the epilogue- it was so stark in its bathos that it made my heart flutter. This is the stuff what dreams are made of. <3BONUS TIME- City Hall Weddings for the win, yay! I barfed rainbows all over my keyboard. :')
    more
  • Seth T.
    July 25, 2011
    When I was in the midst of my own ridiculously long engagement to Michelle, I was something of a stick in the mud. I complained about a lot of the irrational things that we were for some reason expected to do as part of the social ritual. Unity candle. Bouquet toss. White wedding dress. Bridesmaids and groomsmen. Inviting people. The usual.I’ve never been big on traditions and have always done what I could to pare down the detritus that’s accumulated over the decades and centuries on the shores When I was in the midst of my own ridiculously long engagement to Michelle, I was something of a stick in the mud. I complained about a lot of the irrational things that we were for some reason expected to do as part of the social ritual. Unity candle. Bouquet toss. White wedding dress. Bridesmaids and groomsmen. Inviting people. The usual.I’ve never been big on traditions and have always done what I could to pare down the detritus that’s accumulated over the decades and centuries on the shores of our celebrations. Like most people, I like the things I like and don’t like the things I don’t. Unlike some, however, I’m enough not a fan of tradition for tradition’s sake that I bridle under its yoke. In short, tradition makes me grumpy.In a lot of ways then, Adrian Tomine and I are pretty much the same person. I mean, I’m probably taller than him and am much more blonde. And have different personal ideologies and tastes and everything, sure. But in this one area, in answering the question of How to Throw a Wedding, we might be twins.Scenes from an Impending Marriage, as every review will mention (because it’s a neat detail!), was prepared by Tomine as a wedding favour for guests. This is hardly fair. We had handmade origami boxes filled with Starburst Jelly Beans at our wedding. Another guy I know had music boxes. Another friend made the mistake of doing goldfish (turned out a bit morbid for a celebration of love). Tomine’s favors make ours look like we were not even trying and I’ll forever loathe and love him for that. Still, having spent about a hundred hours designing our own wedding invitation (and another fifty building an artsy website), you probably couldn’t have paid me to put together something that guests might have actually kept… Danggit.*sigh*Scenes is slight (at only fifty-six pages) and can easily be finished in under fifteen minutes. Tomine uses his page-space to chart the decision-making process of the newly engaged couple. As non-fiction, the book specifies Tomine and his fiancée’s experience, but really Scenes plays pretty close to universal in the struggles it represents. Nearly all couples probably experience these same struggles as they work to plan a wedding, even if the details vary.There is the question of the invitation list, whom to add and whom to cull—and you don’t even know these people your parents want included. There is the struggle of finding a place for the reception that at all fits the couple’s perception of what is acceptable, trying to balance taste, class, cost, style, and convenience, all while not lording their celebration over the less fortunate (a criterion which, to be fair, is probably not a bugbear glowering at too many engaged couples). Then there’s homemade invites vs. those professionally prepared, live music vs. a DJ vs. an iPod, and hairstyles and florists and favours. It’s a pretty rapid fire tour of what awaits those who will soon be engaged, but for those who have been through it (or at least have good enough imaginations), Scenes rings true and the humourous look at wedding prep is a happy diversion.As always, it’s all about the finger-waves.Still, Tomine’s wedding favour threatens at becoming more than just a chronicle of engagement gags. It explores Interpersonal Interaction, that thing that makes relationships work or fall apart. We get insight into how at least one person views the dynamics of his particular experience of the boy-girl lego. And because of our sense of Tomine’s honesty in his depiction, it comes off as probably being a fair indicator of how their relationship gears mesh. Scenes, then, is a historical document that chronicles not just the events as they have taken place, but of the interrelationship of the two human persons who are the central figures of these events.And in comparison with other examples of intrusive entertainment that our voyeuristic culture produces, Scenes of an Impending Marriage is an actual joy to take in. (Only I’m not certain that it’s ten dollars worth of joy.)[review courtesy of Good Ok Bad]
    more
  • orsodimondo
    August 30, 2016
    UNA LIEVE IMPERFEZIONECredo non sia l’opera migliore da cui iniziare a conoscere Adrian Tomine, apprezzato illustratore del New York Times e del New Yorker (ah, le mitiche vignette del New Yorker…).È un po’ troppo ‘carina’, il che non è certo un grande complimento. Levigata.È anche un pochino scontata, oserei dire banalotta. Vignette umoristiche con dettagli ridotti all’osso che vivono essenzialmente per i balloon e le didascalie.Solo poche pagine si salvano dallo stereotipo matrimoniale ed è il UNA LIEVE IMPERFEZIONECredo non sia l’opera migliore da cui iniziare a conoscere Adrian Tomine, apprezzato illustratore del New York Times e del New Yorker (ah, le mitiche vignette del New Yorker…).È un po’ troppo ‘carina’, il che non è certo un grande complimento. Levigata.È anche un pochino scontata, oserei dire banalotta. Vignette umoristiche con dettagli ridotti all’osso che vivono essenzialmente per i balloon e le didascalie.Solo poche pagine si salvano dallo stereotipo matrimoniale ed è il capitoletto dedicato alle bomboniere : per il resto è esattamente quello che ci aspetterebbe.E soprattutto, ahinoi, quello che succede preparando un matrimonio e poi portandolo a termine.So che per te è difficile da credere, ma a un sacco di gente piace andare ai matrimoni.Sì, è davvero difficile da credere: andare ai matrimoni è una gran palla. Un po’ meglio è andata ai miei, lì qualche volta mi sono divertito.Ma la preparazione…?! Insopportabile. Quella escludo possa piacere a qualcuno. La scelta delle bomboniere?! Esiste qualcosa di più assurdo?
    more
  • Malbadeen
    March 1, 2011
    I have a highly sophisticated starring system. If I get a feel-goody-feel-good-feeling about something - FIVE STARS! Here are my reasons for the feel-goody-feel-goodness:#1. Look at that little stubby legged couple on the cover, doesn't that make you kind of sort of think Marriage might not be such a ludicrous idea after all?#2. I REALLY admire people that can laugh at themselves, and this book does that.#3. I read this in between "Lint" http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/... and "Essex County I have a highly sophisticated starring system. If I get a feel-goody-feel-good-feeling about something - FIVE STARS! Here are my reasons for the feel-goody-feel-goodness:#1. Look at that little stubby legged couple on the cover, doesn't that make you kind of sort of think Marriage might not be such a ludicrous idea after all?#2. I REALLY admire people that can laugh at themselves, and this book does that.#3. I read this in between "Lint" http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/... and "Essex County" http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/60... and it was a nice reprieve from the gut sinking reminder that life is reeeeeeeaaallllly awful sometimes.and also, thanks Sarah for this fun filled interview that I've not yet listened to but look forward to:http://www.npr.org/2011/02/15/1336883...
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    July 15, 2011
    This short comic book is made up of brief comic strips Adrian Tomine wrote/drew about his upcoming marriage to his wife Sarah. They take in things like planning for a wedding DJ, sorting out the wedding invites, worrying about what to wear, etc. In short the banal details of planning for such an event. I love Tomine's work usually but this book (originally done as a party favour for the wedding guests) isn't as interesting as he and his nearest and dearest would like you to think. It's the usual This short comic book is made up of brief comic strips Adrian Tomine wrote/drew about his upcoming marriage to his wife Sarah. They take in things like planning for a wedding DJ, sorting out the wedding invites, worrying about what to wear, etc. In short the banal details of planning for such an event. I love Tomine's work usually but this book (originally done as a party favour for the wedding guests) isn't as interesting as he and his nearest and dearest would like you to think. It's the usual stuff people who are planning a wedding go through and nothing more. The book is also a really small hardback with about 48 pages. Cute and dinky, it's a great little gift if you were going to Tomine's wedding but as a comic book it's ordinary and unimpressive compared to his usual work.
    more
  • Lindsay
    May 3, 2011
    One of the strips in this graphic novel suggests this may actually be Tomine's wedding favor, and I think friends and family of Tomine probably enjoyed this more than I did. Having just gone through the wedding rigamarole myself, I can relate to many aspects of this little tome but none of them were especially hilarious, poignant or encapsulating to me. I liked the format and at 50 pages, I was a (mostly) satisfied reader.
    more
  • Shruthi Mudireddy
    November 5, 2015
    A very cute, short and funny memoir. The art is nothing phenomenal, but it is endearingly reminiscent of the ups and downs of the times before a wedding.
  • Eva Nickelson
    December 10, 2011
    It's cute, it's short, it is probably magnitudes better if you know the couple. Most books that deal with the "trials" of getting married (finding a venue, making a guest list, etc.) seem to run on and on, so by the end of the book, I am happy that the couple is getting married, mainly so I can stop reading about their quibbles. The brevity of the book kept me interested and invested in seeing the couple make it down the aisle. I loved the art work and simplicity of the style used to illustrate It's cute, it's short, it is probably magnitudes better if you know the couple. Most books that deal with the "trials" of getting married (finding a venue, making a guest list, etc.) seem to run on and on, so by the end of the book, I am happy that the couple is getting married, mainly so I can stop reading about their quibbles. The brevity of the book kept me interested and invested in seeing the couple make it down the aisle. I loved the art work and simplicity of the style used to illustrate these scenes. It is the first thing I read by Tomine, and I am definitely interested in his other works. That said, I borrowed this book from the library. I would have disliked the book if I had paid $10.00 for the 54 pages.
    more
  • Raina
    January 11, 2011
    So cute. It's totally a minicomic Tomine made as the favor for his wedding. Depicts the various trials and tribulations of a slightly progressive young couple preparing for the wedding. He uses Charles Schulz style imagery and they are appropriately apologetic about their level of privelege. Sweet, and I would choose to be friends with them, but there's no greater story, we don't get to know the characters very well, not a lot of depth. Which is the only reason why it's not a four star piece - T So cute. It's totally a minicomic Tomine made as the favor for his wedding. Depicts the various trials and tribulations of a slightly progressive young couple preparing for the wedding. He uses Charles Schulz style imagery and they are appropriately apologetic about their level of privelege. Sweet, and I would choose to be friends with them, but there's no greater story, we don't get to know the characters very well, not a lot of depth. Which is the only reason why it's not a four star piece - Tomine pretty consistently is for me.
    more
  • Hannah Messler
    March 30, 2011
    I almost forgot I read this. And I just read it like two days ago or something. Basically this book shows you how Adrian Tomine is kind of a jerk, and then punctures all the romance you might have been clinging to about what it would be like to marry that jerk you've always loved so much, even though he is a *jerk*. No sir, jerks of America, you look like you would absolutely suck to get married to. ***I keep trying to cuss less in these reviews for my Mom & Mrs. Holt but it is HARD NOT TO C I almost forgot I read this. And I just read it like two days ago or something. Basically this book shows you how Adrian Tomine is kind of a jerk, and then punctures all the romance you might have been clinging to about what it would be like to marry that jerk you've always loved so much, even though he is a *jerk*. No sir, jerks of America, you look like you would absolutely suck to get married to. ***I keep trying to cuss less in these reviews for my Mom & Mrs. Holt but it is HARD NOT TO CUSS. Mom & Shara please note that while at first I said "dick" about five times, I edited to "jerk." Nice!
    more
  • Sara
    December 28, 2014
    Raina gave this to me for Chrismas, and it made me very happy. I wish I had a talent that was actually useful for planning my wedding and making it super personalized and adorable...I wanna draw everyone a comic book as a wedding favor...Since I am in the midst of planning a wedding, this was a charming, lovely book to read to remind me that really the whole point of married is...well...getting married. And all the other stuff will happen, and I shouldn't stress out too much over it.A fun, light Raina gave this to me for Chrismas, and it made me very happy. I wish I had a talent that was actually useful for planning my wedding and making it super personalized and adorable...I wanna draw everyone a comic book as a wedding favor...Since I am in the midst of planning a wedding, this was a charming, lovely book to read to remind me that really the whole point of married is...well...getting married. And all the other stuff will happen, and I shouldn't stress out too much over it.A fun, light, timely thing to read from one of the best comic artists around.
    more
  • Jeffrey
    September 16, 2011
    Like the new (Sep. 14 2011) Optic Nerve #12, this book showcases some of Tomine's humor, which is easier to miss in his tighter and more dramatic stories. It's not a profound statement on the subject of marriage and wedding preparations, but it doesn't need to be, it's enough that it's a funny book that'll make you think about your own weddings and relationships.
    more
  • Olivia
    June 29, 2015
    This is a cute, honest, and incredibly fast read. If you see this in a store, you could probably stand there and read it in 30 minutes.Clearly the people getting married wanted to do all the work that goes into a big wedding, but I can't see how anyone would actually want that after reading this. To each their own! This would make a cute wedding/engagement present.
    more
  • Brian
    November 26, 2013
    My wife plopped this book down on my desk with a note that said, "Is cute+hert[sic] warming. read! :)" With an intro like that, how could I refuse?And having read it, I can see why. The two of us were really similar to Adrian Tomine and his fiancée when we were planning our own wedding--or at least, to how they are depicted in the pages of Scenes from an Impending Marriage, though I like to think that I was slightly less cantankerous. Maybe it's just because she did almost all of the planning an My wife plopped this book down on my desk with a note that said, "Is cute+hert[sic] warming. read! :)" With an intro like that, how could I refuse?And having read it, I can see why. The two of us were really similar to Adrian Tomine and his fiancée when we were planning our own wedding--or at least, to how they are depicted in the pages of Scenes from an Impending Marriage, though I like to think that I was slightly less cantankerous. Maybe it's just because she did almost all of the planning and I occasionally nodded my head and provided a bit of sage advice. Note: Advice may not be accepted as sage in all jurisdictions.We also had one side of the family that was more reserved and one side that was more expressive, one side that was content to stand back and one side that wanted more input, worries over how much things were going to cost, a desire to avoid anyone playing the damn Chicken Dance, and pretty much all the other things that make this book so cute. It's kind of the ur-engagement, chronicling the events that everyone either went through, knows someone who went through, or went through something similar enough that they can empathize with it.Also, the art is really cute, and it's only ~50 pages. It takes maybe 10 minutes to read and it's definitely a worthwhile ten minutes.
    more
  • Matt Graupman
    February 28, 2015
    With his "Optic Nerve" comics and his illustration work for The New Yorker, Adrian Tomine is known for his restrained storytelling and precise drawing style. "Scenes From An Impending Marriage" is a welcome change of pace for him. The comics in this book began as a mini-comic that served as his wedding favors and they've been expanded slightly with a prologue and epilogue. It's short, charming, a tad sloppy, and honest about the stresses that go along with planning a wedding.Drawn in a much sket With his "Optic Nerve" comics and his illustration work for The New Yorker, Adrian Tomine is known for his restrained storytelling and precise drawing style. "Scenes From An Impending Marriage" is a welcome change of pace for him. The comics in this book began as a mini-comic that served as his wedding favors and they've been expanded slightly with a prologue and epilogue. It's short, charming, a tad sloppy, and honest about the stresses that go along with planning a wedding.Drawn in a much sketchier style than his "proper" comics, Tomine's art here reminds me more of James Kochalka or Jeffrey Brown than his cleaner, Dan Clowes-esque work. He reveals a kind of good-cop/bad-cop dynamic between himself and his fiancé, where he comes off as a grump and his soon-to-be wife is much more patient and sweet; a few times I even found myself wondering why she'd bother trying to please him. Overall, though, the book is light and humorous. Anyone who has been through the nuptial process will identify with the absurdities and frustrations of throwing such a large party and not having everything run as smoothly as expected."Scenes From An Impending Marriage" is everything that Tomine's comics usually aren't: cute, unfussy, and even somewhat joyous. I still sort of prefer his more polished work but it's nice to see what else he's capable of. I wish him a long and happy marriage.
    more
  • Lauren
    April 8, 2016
    I loooooved this book!!! Honestly, it made me smile and laugh out loud so much - I received quite a few strange looks on the train to work! The characters are Adrian (author) and Sarah (his fiancé) and follows all of the mini dilemmas they have to endure before the big day arrives including deciding on a guest list, invitations, venue, music and florist. I particularly loved the sections 'D.J. (part one)' and 'Florist'. The book captures the varied emotions couples often experience beforehand an I loooooved this book!!! Honestly, it made me smile and laugh out loud so much - I received quite a few strange looks on the train to work! The characters are Adrian (author) and Sarah (his fiancé) and follows all of the mini dilemmas they have to endure before the big day arrives including deciding on a guest list, invitations, venue, music and florist. I particularly loved the sections 'D.J. (part one)' and 'Florist'. The book captures the varied emotions couples often experience beforehand and even though there are a few arguments, the reader can tell that nothing is going to stop the couple enjoying a wonderful and very special day! Scenes from an Impending Marriage is a witty and extremely intimate account offered by Tomine and beautifully conveys his relationship with Sarah. There are lots of cute pictures ('Exercise' and 'Eyebrow Tweezing') accompanied by amazing and realistic dialogue which made me feel part of their preparations, and what a lovely memento to have for what clearly was a very special day. I just hope that if I ever get married, I will get the same treatment! :)
    more
  • Kerri De
    November 15, 2013
    Scenes from an Impending Marriage is a graphic novel which follows Adrian and Sarah as they transition from dating to being engaged. Sarah is organized and begins to plan right away while Adrian relaxes with no intention of helping. The plot develops as they begin to plan their wedding from invitations to the reception. As Sarah begins to plan an over the top wedding Adrian is along for the ride looking to down the plans at every step. This creates tension and stress as they both start to realiz Scenes from an Impending Marriage is a graphic novel which follows Adrian and Sarah as they transition from dating to being engaged. Sarah is organized and begins to plan right away while Adrian relaxes with no intention of helping. The plot develops as they begin to plan their wedding from invitations to the reception. As Sarah begins to plan an over the top wedding Adrian is along for the ride looking to down the plans at every step. This creates tension and stress as they both start to realize they are becoming just like everyone else. A major turning point comes when the couple tries to find a DJ for the reception. After several duds Adrian and Sarah begin to rethink their process for selecting wedding staff. In the end Sarah asks Adrian to contribute to a major part of the wedding festivities in which he simply states, “Let me think about it” as the overwhelming list of to dos is in the distant future.
    more
  • Liam
    June 17, 2016
    Perhaps this is only worth reading if you really like Tomine &/or wedding planning.I do.Stuck at a 'not-so-academic' science conference I suggested my friend whom had recently married read this to introduce her to indie comics. She asked for another after she was done.This is a wedding memoir so it is sort of silly to 'rate' this as if it were a fiction intended to entertain me. Made using earlier techniques and setups than his real fiction during the busy days before the wedding, it is not Perhaps this is only worth reading if you really like Tomine &/or wedding planning.I do.Stuck at a 'not-so-academic' science conference I suggested my friend whom had recently married read this to introduce her to indie comics. She asked for another after she was done.This is a wedding memoir so it is sort of silly to 'rate' this as if it were a fiction intended to entertain me. Made using earlier techniques and setups than his real fiction during the busy days before the wedding, it is not as polished as other works. But then again, this was just intended to be a small wedding gift. This is cute, short and realistic. The drawings and content have the pace and dialogue but not the distinctive 'dark/heavy' tone of Tomine's other work. This is probably the coolest gift to wedding guests, ever. The events and were told by the only true witnesses of the events, so I'm unsure of how to be of more critical than this.
    more
  • C.J. Cummings
    January 12, 2016
    I'm a fan of Adrian Tomine, have been since being sucked into Killing & Dying and loving my experience. This is an observational and biographical account of the planning, realisation and aftermath of his marriage. We follow him and his wife as they go about the decision making process that come with a wedding, the day itself and the arrival at the hotel for the honeymoon. Having just recently been through this whole thing with my better half I thoroughly enjoyed this. It had the low-key humo I'm a fan of Adrian Tomine, have been since being sucked into Killing & Dying and loving my experience. This is an observational and biographical account of the planning, realisation and aftermath of his marriage. We follow him and his wife as they go about the decision making process that come with a wedding, the day itself and the arrival at the hotel for the honeymoon. Having just recently been through this whole thing with my better half I thoroughly enjoyed this. It had the low-key humour of Tomine's work and points at things that many of us will have been through if we've dealt with the good and the bad parts of planning the big day. I connected with this story and really enjoyed the book. It was short, but just great. Excited to read more Tomine soon.
    more
  • Lena Tumasyan
    August 18, 2011
    I have read ALL of Adrian Tomine's graphic novels. I borrowed this one to add to my collection yet I had NO IDEA that it would be so personal. And I LOVED IT.Adrian is funny, sincere, sweet, and honest. You can see not only the turmoil that planning a wedding puts a couple through but also his response and his fiancee's response. I was literally LAUGHING OUT LOUD through half of it. That was GREAT bc most of Adrian's stuff is serious, or only slightly funny in a dark sort of way, like "for bette I have read ALL of Adrian Tomine's graphic novels. I borrowed this one to add to my collection yet I had NO IDEA that it would be so personal. And I LOVED IT.Adrian is funny, sincere, sweet, and honest. You can see not only the turmoil that planning a wedding puts a couple through but also his response and his fiancee's response. I was literally LAUGHING OUT LOUD through half of it. That was GREAT bc most of Adrian's stuff is serious, or only slightly funny in a dark sort of way, like "for better or for worse". This was such a nice change!It is short so I can say I'm looking forward to MORE Adrian Tomine stuff.
    more
  • David Schaafsma
    September 9, 2012
    Just read it and enjoyed it as I do all of Tomine's stuff... though it is obviously less edgy than earlier material... and softened by the presence of the betrothed... who undermines the narrator's humorously bleak cynicism...This was worked up as a wedding favor for those who attended Tomine's wedding, so it is actual memoir, and is a little cute, and almost completely mundane, more cartoony than any of his other work, so maybe more likable for most (and the guests, of course!), but for me,okay Just read it and enjoyed it as I do all of Tomine's stuff... though it is obviously less edgy than earlier material... and softened by the presence of the betrothed... who undermines the narrator's humorously bleak cynicism...This was worked up as a wedding favor for those who attended Tomine's wedding, so it is actual memoir, and is a little cute, and almost completely mundane, more cartoony than any of his other work, so maybe more likable for most (and the guests, of course!), but for me,okay. But he's such a good artist, bending his art to the occasion. Kind of like "occasional" (i.e., wedding, or Valentine's Day) poetry, not your best stuff, but nice.
    more
  • Lydia
    September 22, 2013
    A gift from a lovely friend, Scenes came at the right time: just before my very own wedding. This sweet little book chronicles the inevitable, mundane and often unnecessary tasks to be completed before any wedding. The awkward making of the guest list, the impossibly boring process of choosing florists, venues and attire, often paired with a bout of existential angst and panic attacks. It is all very much bitter sweetly familiar to me. Sarah and Adrian are relatable and their nuptial sorrows are A gift from a lovely friend, Scenes came at the right time: just before my very own wedding. This sweet little book chronicles the inevitable, mundane and often unnecessary tasks to be completed before any wedding. The awkward making of the guest list, the impossibly boring process of choosing florists, venues and attire, often paired with a bout of existential angst and panic attacks. It is all very much bitter sweetly familiar to me. Sarah and Adrian are relatable and their nuptial sorrows are painfully real. I smiled, saw myself and the mister in it more than once, laughed out loud and genuinely enjoyed it.
    more
  • Marc
    February 7, 2017
    Brief, charming, and personal look at the lead up to Adrian Tomine's own wedding told through his sketches comprising a series of vignettes covering pretty standard wedding prep (the invite, the DJ, seating arrangements, etc.).
  • Emilia P
    December 3, 2010
    How awesome is this? So awesome. Ok... maybe not utterly perfect, but still, bite-sized, real, universal, get a fantastic sense of the relationship between these two crazy kids -- the reasons they're getting married evident in their comfortable bickering, their Wire-watching/multi-tasking, their personal attachment to different parts of the process, and definitely, especially, their hamburgers at the end of it all.If it's anything like this (and it is, actually), it's gonna be great. Furthermore How awesome is this? So awesome. Ok... maybe not utterly perfect, but still, bite-sized, real, universal, get a fantastic sense of the relationship between these two crazy kids -- the reasons they're getting married evident in their comfortable bickering, their Wire-watching/multi-tasking, their personal attachment to different parts of the process, and definitely, especially, their hamburgers at the end of it all.If it's anything like this (and it is, actually), it's gonna be great. Furthermore, you're good at this mode, Tomine. Stop the mopey shit and stay with this, plz. :)
    more
  • Inna Komarovsky
    May 14, 2016
    This book is small and very sweet and light-hearted. It's made up of short stories and instances, and the best part is how precisely Tomine depicts the characters' expressions and body language within each tiny frame.
  • Malia
    June 23, 2014
    This book does imply it was the wedding favor at the author's own wedding, which is pretty cute. I have long been a big fan of Tomine's work, and I love how well he captures dailiness and intimacy. This one naturally has less bite to it than his other work, but it's a lovely and funny confection.
    more
  • Emily
    May 28, 2016
    Made me so glad that most of this doesn't apply to me. But does capture many of the universally unavoidable issues that come up if you're planning any sort of wedding-type event. Eek!
  • Belinda
    November 21, 2015
    This is just plain out-and-out cute and funny.Adrian captures all the miseries of planning a big wedding in a few pages.I think it's brilliant.
  • Elizabeth
    January 24, 2016
    This is absolutely everything about getting engaged, being engaged, and getting married. Hilarious and grounding all at the same time. Just perfect.
Write a review