Layout Workbook
New in Paperback! An inspired resource for creating excellent layouts Layout Workbook is one of five volumes in Rockport's series of practical and inspirational workbooks that cover the fundamental areas of the graphic design business. In this edition, author Kristin Cullen tackles the often perplexing job of nailing down a layout that works.More than a collection of great examples of layout, this book is an invaluable resource for students, designers, and creative professionals who seek design understanding and inspiration. The book illuminates the broad category of layout, communicating specifically what it takes to design with excellence. It also addresses the heart of design-the how and why of the creative process.Cullen approaches layout with a series of step-by-step fundamental chapters (a "how-to" of layout) addressing topics such as The Function of Design, Inspiration, The Design Process, Intuition, Structure and Organization, The Interaction of Visual Elements, Typography, and Design Analysis. The book offers inspirational quotations and a unique, progressive design that truly reflects its content.

Layout Workbook Details

TitleLayout Workbook
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 1st, 2007
PublisherRockport Publishers
ISBN1592533523
ISBN-139781592533527
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Nonfiction, Reference, Art

Layout Workbook Review

  • Jessica
    September 26, 2011
    I am still reading this; if I mark it read, I will complete it much more quickly, however.I very much like how it is written and the inspiration-compiling arrangement of information with visual examples, industry takes strewn throughout - never too forcefully and as if for taking or leaving. The opening quote by Degas, "Art is not what you see, but what you make others see" is an especially fantastic intention-setter, and the author follows through with that purposing very extensively. I read a I am still reading this; if I mark it read, I will complete it much more quickly, however.I very much like how it is written and the inspiration-compiling arrangement of information with visual examples, industry takes strewn throughout - never too forcefully and as if for taking or leaving. The opening quote by Degas, "Art is not what you see, but what you make others see" is an especially fantastic intention-setter, and the author follows through with that purposing very extensively. I read a review dismayed about the lack of a literal workbook in this selection, and so, I'm not disappointed by its absence. Again, the work examples augment the book's points of discussion very well.
    more
  • R.Friend
    August 22, 2007
    At first glance, I wasn't that impressed; in fact, I'd passed it over several times on the bookshelf in favor of something else... But being a fan of just about everything Rockport publishes in their design series, I finally looked at this one more closely--and needless to say, I bought it. I think what had initially turned me off was the page design itself. Some of the graphic devices and type choices used in the book's narrative still feel dated to me, but the work presented within is well wor At first glance, I wasn't that impressed; in fact, I'd passed it over several times on the bookshelf in favor of something else... But being a fan of just about everything Rockport publishes in their design series, I finally looked at this one more closely--and needless to say, I bought it. I think what had initially turned me off was the page design itself. Some of the graphic devices and type choices used in the book's narrative still feel dated to me, but the work presented within is well worth it.
    more
  • Riitta Toivonen
    February 26, 2011
    Inspiring and competent - every page presents beautiful and well-functioning examples to explain the principles that underlie outstanding graphical design. Includes sets of questions to assess your own design: does it fulfill every requirement an excellent design should? Clearly written and insightful, this book gives guidance on everything from the design process through selecting typefaces to nurturing your inspiration.
    more
  • Whitney
    March 21, 2010
    A decent book for design fundamentals, but analysis-wise... I felt it was lacking in vocabulary. It was as if Cullen didn't know how to expand on the second half of the book, which she had decided to dedicate entirely to analysis. I wanted to know what really made those designs have their own pulse.
    more
  • Jenn
    February 23, 2012
    obviously written by a graphic designer, this book is heavy on visuals and low on text. very basic information, good for someone who has never had any sort of introduction to the basics of graphic design.
  • Black Elephants
    May 5, 2010
    The Layout Workbook is really just a fun and pretty book to flip through. The writing can be inspirational but it doesn't really go into depth. There are great examples of beautiful layout design.
  • Katie
    July 14, 2012
    Ironically, I wasn't a fan of the layout of this book. I did enjoy the examples, and the educational sections were very informative.
  • Christine Røde
    April 7, 2016
    This was the first book I ever bought about design. It was a huge inspiration for 17 year old me.
  • Alyssa
    March 20, 2008
    The workbook collection is a golden tool for designers and marketers alike. It has definitely spurred my imagination.
  • Pelly Sianova
    July 25, 2007
    Another Rockport's Workbook series that I like.
  • Emily
    February 26, 2012
    Great explanations and the book provides many great portfolios of work to reference in future design projects.
Write a review