Logo Design Love
There are a lot of books out there that show collections of logos. But David Airey’s “Logo Design Love” is something different: it’s a guide for designers (and clients) who want to understand what this mysterious business is all about. Written in reader-friendly, concise language, with a minimum of designer jargon, Airey gives a surprisingly clear explanation of the process, using a wide assortment of real-life examples to support his points. Anyone involved in creating visual identities, or wanting to learn how to go about it, will find this book invaluable. - Tom Geismar, Chermayeff & GeismarIn Logo Design Love, Irish graphic designer David Airey brings the best parts of his wildly popular blog of the same name to the printed page. Just as in the blog, David fills each page of this simple, modern-looking book with gorgeous logos and real world anecdotes that illustrate best practices for designing brand identity systems that last. David not only shares his experiences working with clients, including sketches and final results of his successful designs, but uses the work of many well-known designers to explain why well-crafted brand identity systems are important, how to create iconic logos, and how to best work with clients to achieve success as a designer. Contributors include Gerard Huerta, who designed the logos for Time magazine and Waldenbooks; Lindon Leader, who created the current FedEx brand identity system as well as the CIGNA logo; and many more. Readers will learn:• Why one logo is more effective than another• How to create their own iconic designs• What sets some designers above the rest• Best practices for working with clients• 25 practical design tips for creating logos that last

Logo Design Love Details

TitleLogo Design Love
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2011
PublisherAdams Media
ISBN0321660765
ISBN-139780321660763
Number of pages216 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Nonfiction, Art, Art Design, Business

Logo Design Love Review

  • Ahmad Aljazzar
    May 21, 2015
    بداية من المحادثات الأولية مع الزبون وصولا إلى عرض العمل النهائي، يستعرض الكتاب جميع المراحل التي تمر بها عملية صناعة علامة تجارية ، مناقشا أغلب الحالات والسيناريوهات التي قد تعترضك.بشكل مختصر وبسيط يشرح الكتاب العناصر الأساسية في صناعة العلامة التجارية ، وكيف يمكن للعلامة التجارية أن تصمد لسنوات طويلة دون الحاجة إلى تغيرها - بشكل جذري - ، ويناقش كذلك أهمية وخطورة - على حد سواء - إعادة صناعة الهوية التجارية - خاصة للمؤسسات المتوسطة والكبرى.يستهدف الكتاب الشريحة المبتدئة ، آخذا في الاعتبار عدم ال بداية من المحادثات الأولية مع الزبون وصولا إلى عرض العمل النهائي، يستعرض الكتاب جميع المراحل التي تمر بها عملية صناعة علامة تجارية ، مناقشا أغلب الحالات والسيناريوهات التي قد تعترضك.بشكل مختصر وبسيط يشرح الكتاب العناصر الأساسية في صناعة العلامة التجارية ، وكيف يمكن للعلامة التجارية أن تصمد لسنوات طويلة دون الحاجة إلى تغيرها - بشكل جذري - ، ويناقش كذلك أهمية وخطورة - على حد سواء - إعادة صناعة الهوية التجارية - خاصة للمؤسسات المتوسطة والكبرى.يستهدف الكتاب الشريحة المبتدئة ، آخذا في الاعتبار عدم المعرفة المسبقة بهذا المجال، لذا فهو مفيد كذلك لرواد الأعمال ممن يرغبون في صناعة - أو إعادة صناعة - علامتهم التجارية.
    more
  • Morgane
    August 25, 2014
    As someone with no logo-making experience, I found this book to be tremendously helpful. It's succinct, with plenty of examples and clear explanations, and it also provides career advice for all designers. Glad I read it!
  • Denise
    December 18, 2011
    This is a great book to have in your collection if you are a designer or illustrator. David gives great advice on designing logos for clients, as well as good pointers that I had not thought of before. It's a quick read but perfect to have as a reference. I highly recommend!
    more
  • Juvoni
    June 4, 2012
    Brilliant logo design demonstrations and excellent outline using fundamental techniques and processes to craft great works of art. Simplicity as often the most difficult thing to accomplish learning from the masters can help you get there!
  • J. Pedro Ribeiro
    August 31, 2011
    If you are into branding and logos then you probably know David Airey. His knowledge in the graphic design field has generated two well known and popular blogs. In the book Logo Design Love, David covers brand indentity and logo design in an exciting and comprehensive way.The BookThe book is divided into 3 main groups: Brand Identity, Process of Design and Tips, Advices and Resources. The text is easy to read and is beautifully illustrated. Throughout the pages we see examples and showcases of l If you are into branding and logos then you probably know David Airey. His knowledge in the graphic design field has generated two well known and popular blogs. In the book Logo Design Love, David covers brand indentity and logo design in an exciting and comprehensive way.The BookThe book is divided into 3 main groups: Brand Identity, Process of Design and Tips, Advices and Resources. The text is easy to read and is beautifully illustrated. Throughout the pages we see examples and showcases of logos designed by the author and other designers. All aligned and related to the content.The highlightsIf you are familiar with the work of David Airey and his style of writing you will feel at home reading this book. Differently from other authors, who usually just say what you should be doing, David goes through the book content by sharing his own experiences, the good and the bad ones and everything in between. Personally, this is the highlight of the book.ObservationsOn the other side, if you have read most of David’s posts and texts, you might find that some of the content is being repeated. Which is understandable – the book is aimed to a beginning / intermediate audience and there are some parts that you just cannot leave behind.ConclusionI definitely recommend Logo Design Love, no matter what level you consider yourself being. Knowing the creative process of another designer is always a good thing as it makes you think about your own.[Visit my website and read the book review.]
    more
  • Yassine Tetbirt
    December 16, 2015
    Brilliant!When I downloaded this book, yesterday with a series of Graphic Design books, I wasn't expecting a lot. At least not the much that would make me think that this it is going to change my way of 1- seeing logos and 2- My process of making a logo.If you're a Logos Designer, it's a must read book for you, if you're a Graphic designer it's a must read book for you. Even if you're not a designer at all, you are still going to love the parts in which the writer speaks about what makes the log Brilliant!When I downloaded this book, yesterday with a series of Graphic Design books, I wasn't expecting a lot. At least not the much that would make me think that this it is going to change my way of 1- seeing logos and 2- My process of making a logo.If you're a Logos Designer, it's a must read book for you, if you're a Graphic designer it's a must read book for you. Even if you're not a designer at all, you are still going to love the parts in which the writer speaks about what makes the logo good or bad .. My favourite book for this year, brilliantly written that I read it in a continuing FIVE hours. And it's not even a philosophical book :D
    more
  • Tushar Deb Chaudhary
    July 4, 2015
    It can't get any better.Logo Design Love is full of knowledge, inspiration and motivation. Not only does it teach you Logo Design but Brand Identity too.You just won't want to skip a single page.Nowhere was David tired or lazy to share the knowledge with you. He also tells you the story, mistake, greatness of other designs and designers as well. That once David started teaching you from the first page kept going until the last. You can only stop learning from the book if you close it.
    more
  • Kayla Marie
    May 20, 2012
    Besides the outlandish price, this book was a fabulous find! David Airey does a fantastic job of clearly articulating the process of creating brand identity. Everything from the design process to teaching you the best practices for working with clients. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the graphic arts or brand identity business. The art of making effective logo's has never been more exposed.
    more
  • William Moses Jr.
    March 26, 2014
    I have never really understood what makes a logo good or bad. My hope was that this book would help me understand. My main take away is this: an image can mean anything, but it's how you project it and tie it into the philosophy of your business that matters. Once you've figured out what you want, there are a few guidelines that can help you get the correct representation from whatever image or symbol you choose.A fairly easy book to read and a pretty informative one. I liked it.
    more
  • 水色書庫
    September 9, 2011
    Logo Design Love is a practical example of the various quality works put out by veteran designers into this world, as well as an excellent testimonial to the design community's willingness to share creative ideas and best practices among peers. As a regular follower of David's inspirational blog entries, I would say that while I feel I've done myself a big favor professionally by taking extra effort going through the detailed thought process of fellow designers in this book, I believe the true g Logo Design Love is a practical example of the various quality works put out by veteran designers into this world, as well as an excellent testimonial to the design community's willingness to share creative ideas and best practices among peers. As a regular follower of David's inspirational blog entries, I would say that while I feel I've done myself a big favor professionally by taking extra effort going through the detailed thought process of fellow designers in this book, I believe the true gold of Logo Design Love lies within David's expertise as a businessman--an area many of us in the creative industry must take more heart to learn before we can effectively communicate the true value of our works to our clients and convince them that designers play a function just as essential as generators of direct revenue in today's business world. Next step: revisit Part 3 of this book every time I feel creative juices are running low at work, all fingers crossed.
    more
  • gone-plaid
    November 2, 2013
    One thing I really liked about this book was that it is absolutely obvious that a designer wrote and created it. As a book layout design piece, it is beautiful, simple, effective, and easily understood.As far as the content, it has a great amount of key points that any designer (beginner or guru) can apply to their daily life, as well as their business practices. If not for educational purposes and self improvement, than for at least reassurance that you're doing things the right way.It has a gr One thing I really liked about this book was that it is absolutely obvious that a designer wrote and created it. As a book layout design piece, it is beautiful, simple, effective, and easily understood.As far as the content, it has a great amount of key points that any designer (beginner or guru) can apply to their daily life, as well as their business practices. If not for educational purposes and self improvement, than for at least reassurance that you're doing things the right way.It has a great deal of context to projects by David Aiery which give a glimpse into how great design happens, and not just the end result. His tips and techniques on prototyping and brainstorming are invaluable and very reassuring.He also gives great resources for furthering design education.I love this book.
    more
  • Ian
    January 18, 2016
    Lots of Insight for the Student of DesignThis book fills many blanks that might have been left during a formal art education. This book provides several examples of professional logos, and includes rough sketches that demonstrate the design process. There is other insight provided as well, such as dealing with clients, negotiating price, dealing with pitfalls. I recommend this book for anyone considering a career in the design industry. If you're a student and are considering design as a career Lots of Insight for the Student of DesignThis book fills many blanks that might have been left during a formal art education. This book provides several examples of professional logos, and includes rough sketches that demonstrate the design process. There is other insight provided as well, such as dealing with clients, negotiating price, dealing with pitfalls. I recommend this book for anyone considering a career in the design industry. If you're a student and are considering design as a career path, then I highly recommend adding this to your reading material. It'll be worth the extra time. Be sure to have a notebook handy; you'll need it!
    more
  • Rebecca
    September 13, 2010
    Even though it's a fairly light book, I think I will be revisiting this one often. I've had a couple of inquiries about logos so I thought I'd at least read up on them. This is a good overview of what makes a good logo as well as an outline of the design process. Overall, I found the business tips to be most helpful as they can be extrapolated over a wider variety of freelancing. It's making me rethink the way I handle my own projects.
    more
  • Anisha808
    November 8, 2012
    One of the best I've read recently.David Airey's well structured chapters, written in an easy to understand manner, takes you through the entire design process involved in logo creation. The book showcases and explains many successful examples, offers tips for working smart and also has a Q&A section that addresses many problems faced by designers these days and how to overcome them in a practical and clever way.The book is invaluable for any graphic designer and is a must-have.
    more
  • Christoph
    May 8, 2015
    Loved this book (as someone who's still working towards their undergrad degree it answered a lot of my questions). Definitely heaps of great insight into the process of designing an identity for (or rather " together with") a client based on their needs. Also covers a lot of ground in regards to general topics like pricing a design, how to properly communicate with clients and presentation of ideas.
    more
  • Ralph Clouden
    January 12, 2014
    I thought the book was highly insightful for anyone interested in starting a brand. It offers up many stories that pull back the curtain on many brands and logos that may or may not be in the public eye. It's a great reference for designers and beginners alike. I'e gone back to the book on several accounts when thinking about building a brand or questions about identity.
    more
  • Wessam Khalil
    April 11, 2013
    This book is a great deal in logo design learning process. I have learned a lot of this book. I have added a lot to my experience and knowledge, and added a lot of logo designs to my inspiration library.At the end of the book, the author advises you what books to read next, which is something a lot of authors are missing.
    more
  • Samanta
    December 30, 2014
    "Having nothing before and having something afterwards, I can distinctly remember that thrill, that moment when I was a kid, and thinking, 'Oh my god, if I was able to do this over and over I'd be the happiest person on earth.'" - That's my favourite quote of this book. Amazing examples, practical tips and inspiring ideas. Loved every page!
    more
  • Ramy
    December 7, 2014
    This books gives many tips and important things to keep in mind when creating any brand identity. I think the author successfully managed to combine all the major point in one place and did that in a very interesting way too. This book is a great reference, from where you can start digging deeper into the process of creating identity designs.
    more
  • Luz Costa
    April 27, 2011
    As much about branding as it is about typography, design, and logo creation, this book is a winner for any designer looking to think long and hard about what logos do--and how you can make them do that.Great examples, too.
  • Katherine
    February 25, 2014
    I wrote a review here:http://www.katherinepe.com/2014/02/lo...He is so right about logo design contests. We tried that and it didn't work.
  • Duong Vu
    December 1, 2014
    The very first design book I've read. Succinct, personal, lively, suitable for readers familiar or not with design. It gives you the hang of what brand design is all about.
  • Jahanzeb Khan
    May 20, 2013
    Best book on logo design presently in the market.
  • Simon
    April 16, 2013
    A brief and vital introduction to the world of logo design.
  • Milos Radmilac
    January 4, 2015
    An excellent book. Gives designers a good starting point and advice. I recommend this book t everyone who is intereseted in identity design.
  • Yong-Gu Bae
    August 6, 2012
    Not only the book is about logos and brands, the information that David shares is applicable to many different fields. The references in the back are also useful. Highly recommended!
  • Kawai
    December 6, 2014
    A killer foundational book in the field of graphic design, particularly with respect to logo design and brand identity. The author's passion, experience, and knowledge suffuse every page.
  • Kahlil Angeles
    June 5, 2011
    Great Book with good examples and the process of designing, from sketch to a finished logo. David Airey also answers frequently asked questions about working with clients.
  • Spandan Sinha
    December 24, 2016
    i've started my graphic design business ( https://m.facebook.com/firstbracketst... ) and this book helps to get a realistic approach to the whole thing, including multiple references to the use of a drawing pad to get the ideas out. also has detailed framework for dealing with clients.
    more
  • Jeridel Banks
    December 5, 2016
    This book is really great for beginners and designers starting out freelance. It has a step-by-step process of logo design from imagination to finalization.
Write a review