Black Butler, Vol. 1 (Black Butler, #1)
In the Victorian ages of London The Earl of the Phantomhive house, Ciel Phantomhive, needs to get his revenge on those who had humiliated him and destroyed what he loved. Not being able to do it alone he sells his soul to a demon he names Sebastian Michaelis. Now working as his butler, Sebastian must help the Earl Phantomhive in this suspenseful, exciting, thriller manga.

Black Butler, Vol. 1 (Black Butler, #1) Details

TitleBlack Butler, Vol. 1 (Black Butler, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 26th, 2010
PublisherYen Press
ISBN-139780316080842
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Manga, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Comics

Black Butler, Vol. 1 (Black Butler, #1) Review

  • Despair Speaking
    January 1, 1970
    I watched Kuroshitsuji first, that's why I'm so late in reading it. I liked it so much that's why I picked this out even though I finished both seasons. I thought the series was over.How wrong I was.Apparently, the anime industry has once again decided to end a series before the manga counterpart ended. I suppose I could understand WHY they'd do that but they should have stopped at a point where they could pick off again once the manga is far enough. Like Naruto! And Kuroshitsuji is surely popul I watched Kuroshitsuji first, that's why I'm so late in reading it. I liked it so much that's why I picked this out even though I finished both seasons. I thought the series was over.How wrong I was.Apparently, the anime industry has once again decided to end a series before the manga counterpart ended. I suppose I could understand WHY they'd do that but they should have stopped at a point where they could pick off again once the manga is far enough. Like Naruto! And Kuroshitsuji is surely popular enough that fans are willing to wait! Cheez. But enough of that.Kurshitsuji introduces the young Earl Phantomhive, Ciel, who inherited his title and his job as the Queen's dog from his deceased father. Forced to grow up faster than he has to, he juggles many responsibilities as the head of a house and the prefect of the underworld. Thankfully, he has his amazing butler, Sebastian, by his side. Sebastian can do and WILL do everything Ciel tells him. From cleaning up spectacular messes to performing superhuman feats, this butler is perfect in almost every way. Too perfect. Apparently, Sebastian is a demon Ciel made a contract with. He will stand by Ciel's side until Ciel finds the people behind his torture and his parents' deaths and exact revenge. And then eat Ciel's soul of course.I LOVE Kuroshitsuji. Not only is it set in the Victorian era (yep, Ciel is Queen Victoria's "dog"), it has a unique plot and such a loveable set of characters. I URGE you to read this awesome manga.
    more
  • Kit
    January 1, 1970
    It was readable and nicely drawn, and that's pretty much all the nice things I have to say about Black Butler. Here are all the not-so-nice things instead.Firstly, the content itself was shabby. The overarching plot seems to be that Ciel wants revenge for the death of his parents, and for help with this he has sold his soul to the demon Sebastian. This seems to be forgotten almost instantly, as all we see Ciel actually do is bicker with his demon servant, bully people and get kidnapped. And as i It was readable and nicely drawn, and that's pretty much all the nice things I have to say about Black Butler. Here are all the not-so-nice things instead.Firstly, the content itself was shabby. The overarching plot seems to be that Ciel wants revenge for the death of his parents, and for help with this he has sold his soul to the demon Sebastian. This seems to be forgotten almost instantly, as all we see Ciel actually do is bicker with his demon servant, bully people and get kidnapped. And as if to overcompensate, Sebastian is the perfect Mary Sue: attractive, unflappable, invincible and deadly, single-handedly resolving all conflict. The clothing is detailed and consistent, but anachronisms are rife and at times even the setting is forgotten as aspects of Japanese culture, unheard of in Victorian England, make their way in.Secondly, I tired very quickly of the characters. Ciel is a brat, no two ways about it. I know his parents are dead, so it's understandable that he's not the most loving of people, but literally all he does is lash out. There is no emotional vulnerability and very little dwelling on his actual parents. Instead we assume he must be dwelling on his parents, because he sold his soul to avenge them, which would be fine except for the fact that he doesn't really seem to be getting on with it...Sebastian, as mentioned above, is perfect. Enough said. The other four household staff are at best two-dimensional (I'll refer to them as the maid, cook and gardener, since spelling varies) and at worst entirely flat: Tanaka is permanently an anachronically-green-tea-drinking chibi, and what is his job, anyway? They are completely incompetent and serve only as an excuse for Sebastian to show off how impossibly capable he is, whilst patronising them and gaining their undying respect, because that's how people feel when they're patronised. I understand that later they show their worth as guards of the Phantomhive mansion, but if this is the case, why do they even bother attempting other jobs when all the effect they have is counterproductive? Ciel doesn't strike me as the type to put up with wasting money just because it keeps his staff happy.Thirdly, I have no interest in fanservice and so do not enjoy wasting my time flipping through pages and pages of Sebastial hitting on Ciel. There are sexual undertones between the ageless demon and the twelve-year-old child and nobody seems to find this disturbing. Sebastian on his own is bad enough. We get it: he's tall, hot, dangerous and damn, does he take his gloves off in a pointless way. He has a pointed tongue (sexy?) and does a lot of acrobatics and strange things with cultery. And that's when he's not rescuing his poor vulnerable master from being tied up with belts and beaten up by big burly men. This isn't even the volume with the paedophile. Or rather, with one of the paedophiles.I'm going to stop now. I'm going to stop, and I'm going to put down the book. And then I'm going to do what I should have done in the first place, and read something else.
    more
  • Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》
    January 1, 1970
    I am strangely obsessed with the name Sebastian. No one in my fimily would be surprised if one day I decided to adopt a kid just so I can name him Sebastian! Maybe I should go for a cat or something smaller first. What's wrong with me?
  • Jody Mena
    January 1, 1970
    What can I say about this first volume in the Black Butler series? I absolutely LOVED it! It manages to be cute, suspenseful, funny and chilling all the way through. Ciel is intriguingly deep for a child, and Sebastian is both wonderfully complex and extraordinarily simple in the end - and one hell of a butler! Finny, Meirin and Bard are great as comic relief, but surprisingly they also serve to offset the scenes in which Sebastian is slaughtering the criminals, making the bloodshed both borderl What can I say about this first volume in the Black Butler series? I absolutely LOVED it! It manages to be cute, suspenseful, funny and chilling all the way through. Ciel is intriguingly deep for a child, and Sebastian is both wonderfully complex and extraordinarily simple in the end - and one hell of a butler! Finny, Meirin and Bard are great as comic relief, but surprisingly they also serve to offset the scenes in which Sebastian is slaughtering the criminals, making the bloodshed both borderline comical (with a slight edge of hysteria, I thought) and also more disturbing next to the relatively innocent misadventures and shenanigans of the trio. But my very favorite part was the last couple frames of the manga, in which Sebastian turns to exit, but then pauses, turns to make eye contact with the reader, and raises his finger to his lips in the 'shhh' gesture. It was hair-raising, because Sebastian is so perfect at everything he does - when you're drawn into the story, its easy to let yourself believe that he knows you've been watching. I have many favorite manga series, but can honestly say that I was more drawn into this one any other I've read. It was really great, I am so excited to read the next volume!
    more
  • Miss Ryoko
    January 1, 1970
    Okay, first, no surprise, Sebastian (the Black Butler) is a sexy, sexy bitch! So I was looking forward to reading this series!It's pretty interesting! Mysterious with beautiful illustrations. The clothing, the people, they're all good looking and well dressed. And Sebastian is a stud. Nearly every picture of him made me swoon :-p I'm excited to see what other secrets will be revealed as the series goes on! (soooooo sexy!)
    more
  • Erin Dunn
    January 1, 1970
    Sebas-chan! Just recently I watched all of the Black Butler anime series and upon finishing the show I knew I had to read the manga. It ended up being perfect timing since I am participating in a genre challenge through my local library. This week is the last week of the challenge and the theme was "choose your own genre." What better genre challenge for me than a manga? I've never read one before and previously I was put off by the fact that you have to read a manga from right to left. I mean s Sebas-chan! Just recently I watched all of the Black Butler anime series and upon finishing the show I knew I had to read the manga. It ended up being perfect timing since I am participating in a genre challenge through my local library. This week is the last week of the challenge and the theme was "choose your own genre." What better genre challenge for me than a manga? I've never read one before and previously I was put off by the fact that you have to read a manga from right to left. I mean seriously, what? How confusing! I'm glad I watched all of the show first, because that really helped me to try harder to understand how to read the manga. Luckily I was able to adjust to the reading style more quickly than I thought I would and now I'm confident about reading mangas! Hooray! To anyone out there who is put off by having to read a manga from right to left like I was, it's not so bad! Try it. I'm so glad I gave it a shot.In this first volume of Black Butler we meet Earl Ciel Phantomhive who is 12 years old and he is the last remaining member of his family. Being the only Phantomhive family member left Ciel is already the head of his household as well as a toy/candy making company that he inherited. We are also introduced to Sebastian Michaelis, a demon that Ciel has entered into a contract with and who acts as his butler. There isn't a whole lot of information on how the contract came to be in this volume, but I do know from the show that we get more information later. All of Ciel's other household servants are an entertaining group, especially with all their mishaps. Ho ho ho. This is an exciting, mysterious, and hilarious story set in Victorian London with lots of paranormal fun thrown in. Here are a few things I like best about Black Butler:1.) It's set in Victorian London. Oh how I love this era! It's so perfect for a darker setting too. 2.) Demons. Paranormal things! I just love all that. 3.) This may be THE most perfect Gothic thing ever. 4.) I love stories where a character has a tragic back story 5.) HUMOR!! How a story can be so dark and so comedic at the same time is a mystery to me, but I love it. 6.) Uniqueness. Let's face it in the world of paranormal books (movies, shows, etc.), anything different is a diamond in the rough. Black Butler certainly has that uniqueness.Okay, so some of those may not be specifically about THIS volume but about the manga series/anime altogether. I've also read the second book in the series already. I was going to review that separately, but I decided not to. Pretty much that one adds in the Jack the Ripper case along with the introduction of Madam Red, Grell, and the Undertaker. Grell and the Undertaker are definitely two of my favorite characters, so if you liked this one then you definitely need to read that one! Black Butler Volume 2 was just as good, if not better, than the first volume. Black Butler is perfection for fans of the paranormal, horror, demons, historical fiction about Victorian London, dark stories, and gothic reads. I can't wait to read more of the books in the series. http://angelerin.blogspot.com/
    more
  • E.J. Stevens
    January 1, 1970
    The anime is fabulous...I *need* to read the manga.
  • Zuleeza
    January 1, 1970
    Bite me, but I do have a maaaaaaaajor crush on Sebastian. Oh wait, he's a demon? But he can cook and he fights with silverware. Can we just forget that he is...ermmm...a demon? I always wondering, wouldn't it be better if Ciel is not a boy but is a 18 years old girl. That would save me some sanity. Honestly, somehow by watching this series, being a gay pedophile doesn't seem like a distant idea.Anyway, back to the series, I can hardly believe my luck, stumbled across this manga. 19th century Lon Bite me, but I do have a maaaaaaaajor crush on Sebastian. Oh wait, he's a demon? But he can cook and he fights with silverware. Can we just forget that he is...ermmm...a demon? I always wondering, wouldn't it be better if Ciel is not a boy but is a 18 years old girl. That would save me some sanity. Honestly, somehow by watching this series, being a gay pedophile doesn't seem like a distant idea.Anyway, back to the series, I can hardly believe my luck, stumbled across this manga. 19th century London setting? Check! Epic wardrobe collection? Check! Paranormal twist? Check! Flawed, revengeful yet cute Ciel? Check! In short, it's hard not to be a fangirl when you constantly having nosebleed throughout the series. Beware of Grell Sutcliff, even he certainly not going to cause you a nosebleed, you'll adore him...or her? Nevermind!And I started drinking the exotic Earl Grey tea because of the series! Now, it's my favorite flavour!
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, I think I have a crush on the Black Butler. . . how did that happen? He's not real!This was weird and quirky and took awhile to get into, but I liked it.It's about - well, a butler. A larger than life, kick-ass butler who surely can't be human, can he? He fought off gun-toting Italian gangsters with forks and table knives while hanging from the chandelier. . . . His young master is the head of the Phantomhive family and it takes place in an alternate Victorian England that seems to be mixin Wow, I think I have a crush on the Black Butler. . . how did that happen? He's not real!This was weird and quirky and took awhile to get into, but I liked it.It's about - well, a butler. A larger than life, kick-ass butler who surely can't be human, can he? He fought off gun-toting Italian gangsters with forks and table knives while hanging from the chandelier. . . . His young master is the head of the Phantomhive family and it takes place in an alternate Victorian England that seems to be mixing up the timeline a little bit.The rest of the staff provides the comic relief but that was the only thing I found a bit distracting.Definitely reading on in this series!
    more
  • Negar
    January 1, 1970
    وایییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییی *.*من به طور کلی زیاد نمی تونم مانگا و کمیک بخونم، برای همین با انیمه راحت ترم. انیمه ش هم خیلی قشنگ و خوش ساخت بود :)داستانش... شخصیت ها... کلا عالیه 3> فوق العاده :)انیمه ش رو با نگین که می دیدیم هر دو دقیقه یه بار غش و ضعف می رفتیم برای اینا شخصیت هاش=)) سباستین یه نمونه ی خوب برای شیطان های بی تفاوت و خونسرده و شیل هم به عنوان یه بچه که داره نقش بزرگ تر از خودشو ایفا می کنه واقعا عالی پردازش شده. در کل در مقایسه ها انیمه ها و مانگا های معمول ژاپنی وایییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییییی *.*من به طور کلی زیاد نمی تونم مانگا و کمیک بخونم، برای همین با انیمه راحت ترم. انیمه ش هم خیلی قشنگ و خوش ساخت بود :)داستانش... شخصیت ها... کلا عالیه 3> فوق العاده :)انیمه ش رو با نگین که می دیدیم هر دو دقیقه یه بار غش و ضعف می رفتیم برای اینا شخصیت هاش=)) سباستین یه نمونه ی خوب برای شیطان های بی تفاوت و خونسرده و شیل هم به عنوان یه بچه که داره نقش بزرگ تر از خودشو ایفا می کنه واقعا عالی پردازش شده. در کل در مقایسه ها انیمه ها و مانگا های معمول ژاپنی خیلی خوبه :)
    more
  • Helna
    January 1, 1970
    Black Butler (黒執事, Kuroshitsuji?) is a manga written and illustrated by Yana Toboso. Since its debut on September 16, 2006, it has been serialized in Square Enix's shōnen manga magazine Monthly GFantasy. The series follows Sebastian Michaelis, a demonic butler who is obligated to serve Ciel Phantomhive, the twelve-year-old head of the Phantomhive noble family, due to a contract he made with Ciel. It was announced in July 2008 that an anime adaption, directed by Shinohara Toshiya and produced by Black Butler (黒執事, Kuroshitsuji?) is a manga written and illustrated by Yana Toboso. Since its debut on September 16, 2006, it has been serialized in Square Enix's shōnen manga magazine Monthly GFantasy. The series follows Sebastian Michaelis, a demonic butler who is obligated to serve Ciel Phantomhive, the twelve-year-old head of the Phantomhive noble family, due to a contract he made with Ciel. It was announced in July 2008 that an anime adaption, directed by Shinohara Toshiya and produced by A-1 Pictures, was expected. It premiered in October 2008, and has since ended with 24 episodes. However, at the Sono Shitsuji, Shūshō: Saigo no Bansan o Anata to Tomo ni (黒執事『その執事、終章 ~最後の晩餐を貴方と共に~?, "That Butler, Last Chapter ~a last supper with you~") event on June 14, 2009, it was announced that the anime will be returning for a second series. Seiyū Junichi Suwabe confirmed this news on his official blog later that day. The series has been licensed for an English release by Yen Press and will be published in Yen Plus' August 2009 issue for the magazine's first anniversary.Contents[hide:]
    more
  • Calista
    January 1, 1970
    My biggest gripe: The book is set up backwards and you have to read it right to left from the back to the front of the book. Why? Annoying.This is my first Manga and I don't understand the fuss. The extra staff were stupid in the background and very cartoon-y. Why? The rest was so serious, why the stupid characters who are obviously incompetent. The story - was good. I actually really loved Sebastian and of course, you are supposed too. I thought the serious characters were good. The last chapte My biggest gripe: The book is set up backwards and you have to read it right to left from the back to the front of the book. Why? Annoying.This is my first Manga and I don't understand the fuss. The extra staff were stupid in the background and very cartoon-y. Why? The rest was so serious, why the stupid characters who are obviously incompetent. The story - was good. I actually really loved Sebastian and of course, you are supposed too. I thought the serious characters were good. The last chapter where the action was, you could tell nothing of what was happening - useless.I don't believe I will go on with this series unless I get bored. It looks like there is a cartoon of this. If you saw that first, I get why this could work for you, but as a stand alone, this has a lot to be desired. Sebastian does have me curious and wanting to know more and the book is such a mess I don't care to do so.
    more
  • Rebecca McNutt
    January 1, 1970
    I've never been much of an anime/manga fan (with the exception of Akira, Vol. 1), but several people recommended that I read Black Butler so I ordered a copy.I honestly didn't get it. Sure, I understood the story, I understood what was going on, but I didn't get the point! Nothing made this book stand out for me; it was your run-of-the-mill manga novel. It got rather boring, to be frank.My sister cautioned me that there's incest and pedophilia as the series goes on, and that the animated series I've never been much of an anime/manga fan (with the exception of Akira, Vol. 1), but several people recommended that I read Black Butler so I ordered a copy.I honestly didn't get it. Sure, I understood the story, I understood what was going on, but I didn't get the point! Nothing made this book stand out for me; it was your run-of-the-mill manga novel. It got rather boring, to be frank.My sister cautioned me that there's incest and pedophilia as the series goes on, and that the animated series is the same, so I don't think I'll be one of those teenage fangirls who indulge in that sort of thing. I'm sure that there's an audience for books like this... and I'd be very afraid of bumping into them in dark streets and deserted alleys. O_o
    more
  • Roxanne
    January 1, 1970
    Just a big ol' nope on this one.
  • Bookaholic (reads every mortal thing)
    January 1, 1970
    Meh.Meeeeeeeeeeh.I will admit, manga and comics in general are a hit or miss for me and I vastly prefer it's motion counterparts, but I have also never watched the anime of Black Butler.And it's not for lack of encouragement. One of my close friends watches about 2 animes a day and desperately tries to bring of us (the rest of our friends) over to the dark side. While she convinced the others to watch atleast 3 shows, I stuck with the one show I still have to finish. Somehow, I have a feeling th Meh.Meeeeeeeeeeh.I will admit, manga and comics in general are a hit or miss for me and I vastly prefer it's motion counterparts, but I have also never watched the anime of Black Butler.And it's not for lack of encouragement. One of my close friends watches about 2 animes a day and desperately tries to bring of us (the rest of our friends) over to the dark side. While she convinced the others to watch atleast 3 shows, I stuck with the one show I still have to finish. Somehow, I have a feeling that watching all the events in the manga unfold in motion in the anime would be much more interesting than just reading it. Concerning the drawings, though, I have no complaints. Detailed and well drawn and not messy at all. Overall, graphics and events are good, but essentially, quite boring.
    more
  • Linda ✿
    January 1, 1970
    Black Butler is such a beautiful manga not only in terms of drawing style and covers but also in the design and matching personalities of the characters.🖤 It is set in Victorian London (!) and follows the story of the young Earl Ciel Phantomhive and his mysterious butler on their way solving riddles, receiving missions and getting revenge. ( ᐛ )و
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsManga has been a longtime nemesis of mine. We have duels and stare-downs a couple of times a year actually. But I was determined to conquer this intimidating and mysteriously, beautiful art form. I just needed to find a story that caught my eye and mind. I’ve tried and tried! My reading attempts have always ended in frustration and confusion though. Until now….I believe I found my Manga! Black Butler by Yana Toboso is dark, mysterious, action packed, and fun. Everything I needed to lure 4.5 StarsManga has been a longtime nemesis of mine. We have duels and stare-downs a couple of times a year actually. But I was determined to conquer this intimidating and mysteriously, beautiful art form. I just needed to find a story that caught my eye and mind. I’ve tried and tried! My reading attempts have always ended in frustration and confusion though. Until now….I believe I found my Manga! Black Butler by Yana Toboso is dark, mysterious, action packed, and fun. Everything I needed to lure me in. Young Ciel Phantomhive and his ever present butler, Sebastian, made me smile, smirk and wonder. I need more, more, more! What is Sebastian’s story? He seems to do it all from tea to gardening to killing! You’ve got to meet this deadly “silverware-slinging” butler with a “Do forgive me…But as I’m rather pressed for time” air about him. There is so little time for massacres and rescues, when he has dinner to prepare for his young Master. :D I can’t wait to learn more about Ciel and Sebastian.Off to find Book 2…..
    more
  • Ady Weasley
    January 1, 1970
    Es más un 4.5 ⭐Me pareció un poco flojo el inicio porque como que tarda un poco en entrar en acción la historia, pero al final me gusto.La trama se ve interesante , la relación entre Sebastián y Ciel es interesante y te deja con la intriga de saber cómo comenzó su historia.Yo soy de las que se ríen con las caras chibi de los personajes y en este tomo hay muchas de este tipo, así mismo la actitud "juguetona" de Sebastián me gusto.Parece ser que es una gran historia y que con el tiempo mejorará, s Es más un 4.5 ⭐️Me pareció un poco flojo el inicio porque como que tarda un poco en entrar en acción la historia, pero al final me gusto.La trama se ve interesante , la relación entre Sebastián y Ciel es interesante y te deja con la intriga de saber cómo comenzó su historia.Yo soy de las que se ríen con las caras chibi de los personajes y en este tomo hay muchas de este tipo, así mismo la actitud "juguetona" de Sebastián me gusto.Parece ser que es una gran historia y que con el tiempo mejorará, sin embargo no sé si la seguiré, ya que soy pobre y Tío Panini saca cada vez más historias y no son baratas😭. Y la verdad estoy esperando una de las que van a estrenarse el próximo año. Así que .... La recomiendo? Claro que si se ve que seguirá mejorando, así que quien lo desee y le guste ...adelante 👍🏽
    more
  • dani! ❀
    January 1, 1970
    I did not intend to enjoy this series. At all. It was something I reluctantly considered reading or watching, and didn't really have any expectations for it. The blurb sounds like Twilight except with gay demons, for one. In the end, though... after flicking through a friend's volume and trying to comprehend what was going on, while simultaneously falling in love with Ciel within two pages, I ended up watching both seasons of the anime within four days and buying ten volumes. Yep. It's actually I did not intend to enjoy this series. At all. It was something I reluctantly considered reading or watching, and didn't really have any expectations for it. The blurb sounds like Twilight except with gay demons, for one. In the end, though... after flicking through a friend's volume and trying to comprehend what was going on, while simultaneously falling in love with Ciel within two pages, I ended up watching both seasons of the anime within four days and buying ten volumes. Yep. It's actually pretty good.I'm just going to start with Ciel, because have you seen him?! I have never seen a more gorgeous twelve year old in my life, all respects to Killua. He's insanely pretty. He's also really selfish and can be a bit of a prick, but even though I know I should, I can't hate him! He's just so... loveable. Any sign of vulnerability peeking through has me squeaking "aww" and nuzzling the page, seriously. This is the kid who I felt scared for after two minutes of skimming through the pages, scared for over and over again. I love him, okay. It's irrational but who even cares, he's just perfect. Sebastian is really the only other notable character to mention, apart from Finny who's just adorable. I can't really comment on him because I find him hard to understand even after watching both seasons! He's impressive, that's for sure. Also, he really wants to eat Ciel's soul.The plot is very well done. The suspense is a lot better executed than the anime and even the humour seems better. I love how exposition is done gradually, with Sebastian's true nature slowly becoming clearer until the details of the contract are revealed in the final pages. The entire last scenes were very creepy and well done, it was really great. I love the kidnap scenes though my heart hurt. Did I mention Ciel yet?Finally, the art is just... so... gorgeous! I cannot say enough about it, I swear, it's perfect! I'd eat it if it could. It's even worse with the beautiful drawings of food. Ciel in particular is stunning but that's just me! Everyone is well drawn, I love the Victorian settings and clothes, it looks so detailed. Everything's just so beautifully drawn. I cannot stress this enough. The chapter cover pages are especially nice.In conclusion... what the hell is this and why is it so good?!
    more
  • Lilith
    January 1, 1970
    The art sold me for this one, it was perfect for this particular manga.The story is about a rich young orphan named Cial who had made a pact with a demon named Sebastian who then became his magical butler than can do pretty much anything (No really, I bet if Cial wanted him to pull elephants out of his arse he would do it.). The dynamic between these two characters really makes the series as you get engrossed in their banter and their strange Master/butler relationship. Theres even a good amount The art sold me for this one, it was perfect for this particular manga.The story is about a rich young orphan named Cial who had made a pact with a demon named Sebastian who then became his magical butler than can do pretty much anything (No really, I bet if Cial wanted him to pull elephants out of his arse he would do it.). The dynamic between these two characters really makes the series as you get engrossed in their banter and their strange Master/butler relationship. Theres even a good amount of sexual tension in there as well, which keeps you on your toes.Cial is a nice character who embodies the whole adult child trope while having a good dose of both childlike and adult like traits. Sebastian is funny sometimes and just an overall incredible demon who is part sexy and part scary. The side characters are unique though you don't see too much of them and this volume touches upon Cials backstory, a very tragic one , that is later expanded upon.This is a good start for this series and I liked seeing where the author took it.
    more
  • Asma
    January 1, 1970
    * Pants * Omg Omg Omg Where should I even bloody start ? This book , this friggin amazing fabulous book , will break your heart and then fixes it and then breaks it and then fixes it and then ..... You get my point right ? I don't care whether you like anime or manga but you must watch this anime or read the book ( if you're new to anime /manga , I advise to watch the anime because I think you're going to enjoy it more . The soundtrack is just gorgeous ) . Everything is just so perfect and whene * Pants * Omg Omg Omg Where should I even bloody start ? This book , this friggin amazing fabulous book , will break your heart and then fixes it and then breaks it and then fixes it and then ..... You get my point right ? I don't care whether you like anime or manga but you must watch this anime or read the book ( if you're new to anime /manga , I advise to watch the anime because I think you're going to enjoy it more . The soundtrack is just gorgeous ) . Everything is just so perfect and whenever I read this book , I look at my surroundings and think " why the hades don't I have a butler !? " but then I remember that I can't even friggin afford buying my own books so that thought shuts me up but STILL ! Must read this book . So beautiful . So elegant . So PERFECT IT HURTSSS . If you're new to this entire thing , maybe you won't like it immediately but you will like it once you get used to it . I should stop . This is hurting me physically and mentally. { 5 stars without even a second thought } ( ღ'ᴗ'ღ )
    more
  • J
    January 1, 1970
    Ehhhhh... I expected more from this because it's one of the incredibly popular mangas/animes. But it fell flat for me. Sometimes manga paneling and dialogue can be very cluttered and confusing for me and this was one of the more confusing ones. I didn't really feel that any of the characters were compelling and the lesser characters were cliché for this type of media. The plot didn't feel very original either. I may decide to watch the anime one day and see how far that goes, but this just didn' Ehhhhh... I expected more from this because it's one of the incredibly popular mangas/animes. But it fell flat for me. Sometimes manga paneling and dialogue can be very cluttered and confusing for me and this was one of the more confusing ones. I didn't really feel that any of the characters were compelling and the lesser characters were cliché for this type of media. The plot didn't feel very original either. I may decide to watch the anime one day and see how far that goes, but this just didn't do it for me. I won't continue this series.
    more
  • Carla Dente
    January 1, 1970
    ¡Me pone tan feliz que hayan empezado a publicar este manga en Argentina! FAN, FAN jajajaMe gustó muchísimo, pero me guardo las 5 estrellas para cuando aparezca Grell(? (todavía no leí tantos mangas como para saber cómo reseñarlos/calificarlos... Ténganme paciencia, con el tiempo voy a ser más confiable)
    more
  • Anusha Narasimhan
    January 1, 1970
    Picked this up because the anime is super popular and I had to read the manga before watching the anime. I'm not very impressed by this volume. Hopefully, the next volumes will be good.
  • Ana Fernández
    January 1, 1970
    Muuuuy interesante. Aunque si al principio estaba súper perdida, porque no captaba del todo de que iba y hacia donde va pero oh Dios necesito máásss!
  • Agnė
    January 1, 1970
    First of all, you have to know that I haven't watched the Black Butler anime series and thus don't know anything about the storyline beyond this first manga volume. So maybe it gets better later (and I assume it does because I know plenty of people who LOVE this series), but Black Butler I seems kind of plotless and pointless to me.In general, Black Butler I is pretty boring: not much is going on. Also, some of the events don't make much sense (view spoiler)[for example, the conversation over a First of all, you have to know that I haven't watched the Black Butler anime series and thus don't know anything about the storyline beyond this first manga volume. So maybe it gets better later (and I assume it does because I know plenty of people who LOVE this series), but Black Butler I seems kind of plotless and pointless to me.In general, Black Butler I is pretty boring: not much is going on. Also, some of the events don't make much sense (view spoiler)[for example, the conversation over a game of pool (hide spoiler)]. As a result, after reading this volume, I still feel like I know close to nothing about what's going on in the series, which is kind of frustrating and doesn't make me want to pick up the second volume.What is more, the characters are super flat and I don't like or care about them AT ALL.To make matters worse, the humor in Black Butler I doesn't work for me. Maybe there is a better word for it, but I think of it as a melodramatic comedy. Whatever you call it, it's kind of lame.Finally, although the artwork is beautiful (one thing I really liked about this book), it can be quite cluttered and confusing at times. Also, it contains a lot of manga-specific visual stereotypes and conventions, which might be unfamiliar and thus rather confusing for manga newbies (me included).Therefore, if you are new to manga, I would suggest trying more beginner-friendly manga instead, such as Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom or PLUTO: Naoki Urasawa x Ozamu Tezuka, Band 001, both of which also have much more compelling storyline and characterization.
    more
  • James Vandervest
    January 1, 1970
    I will keep try to keep this as short as I can. It is the tale of a creepy ass butler who I swear is supposed to be a pedophile and the little boy he serves. Sadly I am not kidding and that is not the worst of it. This garbage feels exactly like reading the fanfiction of some creepy ass sexually repressed girl in her early teens. Seriously I have never felt so uncomfortable reading something since that one part of Sleepers (if you read that book I am sure you know exactly what part I am talking I will keep try to keep this as short as I can. It is the tale of a creepy ass butler who I swear is supposed to be a pedophile and the little boy he serves. Sadly I am not kidding and that is not the worst of it. This garbage feels exactly like reading the fanfiction of some creepy ass sexually repressed girl in her early teens. Seriously I have never felt so uncomfortable reading something since that one part of Sleepers (if you read that book I am sure you know exactly what part I am talking about) I tried to find something positive to say about Black Butler but honestly there is nothing. It is one of the worst things I have ever read and I honestly wish I could sue the writer for the time back that I spent reading this crap. The art is not terrible but by no means is it fantastic or anything. That is actually the nicest thing I can say about this mind rapingly awful crap. I think I should end the review here since even just talking about that fucking awful piece of vaguely pedo garbage is bringing me close to white hot rage.
    more
  • Julia
    January 1, 1970
    Second read. I'm currently obsessed with the anime and had to give the manga another chance. Basically it was me fangirling over Ciel, Sebastian and the servants this time around xD13. März: ***
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    Opinión completa--- http://bit.ly/2AfMoscDebo admitir que la historia de este manga no me es desconocida, hace unos cuantos años conocí el Anime y aunque la primera vez no me gustó mucho ni me enganchó rápidamente, fue hasta hace unos cuantos meses que decidí volver a darle la oportunidad y termine encantada, una vez terminada la primera temporada, continúe con la segunda, la tercera, Ovas y más y obviamente el siguiente paso era leerme el manga, así que imaginen mi felicidad cuando Panini Manga Opinión completa--- http://bit.ly/2AfMoscDebo admitir que la historia de este manga no me es desconocida, hace unos cuantos años conocí el Anime y aunque la primera vez no me gustó mucho ni me enganchó rápidamente, fue hasta hace unos cuantos meses que decidí volver a darle la oportunidad y termine encantada, una vez terminada la primera temporada, continúe con la segunda, la tercera, Ovas y más y obviamente el siguiente paso era leerme el manga, así que imaginen mi felicidad cuando Panini Manga anunció que traería esta maravillosa historia a México, se supone que me había prometido a mi misma ya no comprar más mangas (en estos momentos solo estoy siguiendo Black Bird, Uzumaki y Kimi Ni Todoke) pero una vez que vi lo hermoso de las portadas ya no me pude resistir y aquí sigo enganchada al vicio del manga (si alguien más está en mi situación podemos abrir un club de #AdictosAnónimosalManga o algo así). Volviendo al punto, si conocen la adaptación Anime pues no hay mucha novedad en el Manga, básicamente los primeros capítulos son lo mismo (creo que es a partir del 10-12 que las historias se separan y van por sus caminos) así que para los fans este primer tomo no plantea nada nuevo pero es una misteriosa y excelente introducción para aquellos que apenas se acercan a la obra, el ritmo comienza lento, con toques de humor, misterio por saber quién es en realidad Sebastián y porque le sirve a un chiquillo caprichoso como Ciel, poco a poco la historia comienza a despegar y nos muestra unas escenas de fangirleo intenso para todas las fans del demonio más guapo. Otro punto que quiero tocar es la belleza de la estética de los dibujos de este manga, cada trazo tiene elegancia, los personajes tienen porte y toda la ambientación es un conjunto ideal que nos sumerge en la historia de un manga que dará mucho de que hablar.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    Kuroshitsuji, or Black Butler, is composed of one part serious historical fiction, one part supernatural horror, one part fanservice, and five parts uncut crack.Twelve-year-old Ciel Phantomhive is the last of his line, and the Earl of Phantomhive, following the death of his parents in the fire that claimed the family mansion. He lives alone, but for his servants: one whom doesn't do much of anything, three whom fail at everything they attempt, and the titular butler, Sebastian. In his own words, Kuroshitsuji, or Black Butler, is composed of one part serious historical fiction, one part supernatural horror, one part fanservice, and five parts uncut crack.Twelve-year-old Ciel Phantomhive is the last of his line, and the Earl of Phantomhive, following the death of his parents in the fire that claimed the family mansion. He lives alone, but for his servants: one whom doesn't do much of anything, three whom fail at everything they attempt, and the titular butler, Sebastian. In his own words, Sebastian is "one hell of a butler."Literally. Sebastian is a demon, contracted to Ciel to serve him until Ciel meets his goal: the death of all who conspired to kidnap him and murder his family. Until that time, Sebastian is happy to serve his master in any manner required, whether it be shining the tea service, hunting down murder suspects, or ever-so-politely eliminating all threats to Ciel...other than himself.The art can be gorgeous, even if it occasionally descends into chibi, the relationship between Sebastian and Ciel is a beautiful study of loyalty and sadism in equal measures, and the plots careen wildly between deadly serious (like a Jack the Ripper arc) and dreadfully frivolous (pretty much anything to do with Ciel's cousin/fiancée, Elizabeth), and occasionally both at the same time.If you don't mind mental whiplash and a few gratuitous art pieces of Ciel and Sebastian in...suggestive poses and attire, this is definitely a series worth trying.
    more
Write a review