Mr. Putter & Tabby Row the Boat
It is HOT. Mr. Putter and his fine cat, Tabby, are sweating. Their neighbors Mrs. Teaberry and her good dog, Zeke, are sweating, too. Looks like the perfect day for a trip to the big pond!

Mr. Putter & Tabby Row the Boat Details

TitleMr. Putter & Tabby Row the Boat
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 15th, 1997
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN0152562575
ISBN-139780152562571
Number of pages48 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Animals, Cats, Fiction, Chapter Books, Academic, School, Kids, Humor, Funny

Mr. Putter & Tabby Row the Boat Review

  • Jennifer
    December 29, 2016
    very cute short summer read.
  • Maggie Sideris
    June 2, 2016
    Title: Mr. Putter and Tabby Row the BoatGrade Level: 1st-4th Summary: This book is about a man named Mr. Putter and his cat Tabby. It is a very hot summer day and Mur. Putter and Tabby are sweating, so they decide to ask Mrs. Teaberry and her dog Zeke if they want to go to the pond. So the four of them go to the pond and have lunch, and have a great time.Review: This was one of my books from when I was a little girl, and I love it. The illustrations are so cute. Children are able to relate to th Title: Mr. Putter and Tabby Row the BoatGrade Level: 1st-4th Summary: This book is about a man named Mr. Putter and his cat Tabby. It is a very hot summer day and Mur. Putter and Tabby are sweating, so they decide to ask Mrs. Teaberry and her dog Zeke if they want to go to the pond. So the four of them go to the pond and have lunch, and have a great time.Review: This was one of my books from when I was a little girl, and I love it. The illustrations are so cute. Children are able to relate to this book, because we have all experienced a day where it was super hot out.In Class Uses: 1. This book can be used as a writing assignment, where the children described what they do on a very hot day. 2. This book can be used to teach children to be safe outside when it is extremely hot outside.
    more
  • Chantelle
    May 11, 2015
    My son and I both thoroughly enjoyed every book in this series (through #18; the rest weren't published / available at our library yet). Mrs. Rylant's sentence structure is simple enough for beginning readers to enjoy but don't let that fool you! Each book contains an engaging plot, clever & silly humor, and underlying themes of friendship, thoughtfulness, and responsibility. We spent many hours laughing together at the (mis)adventures of Mr. Putter, Tabby, and their friends. We were excited My son and I both thoroughly enjoyed every book in this series (through #18; the rest weren't published / available at our library yet). Mrs. Rylant's sentence structure is simple enough for beginning readers to enjoy but don't let that fool you! Each book contains an engaging plot, clever & silly humor, and underlying themes of friendship, thoughtfulness, and responsibility. We spent many hours laughing together at the (mis)adventures of Mr. Putter, Tabby, and their friends. We were excited to find out what would happen as we started each book. HIGHLY recommend!!!
    more
  • Dolly
    February 3, 2011
    This is a fun book in the Mr. Putter and Tabby series. We have really enjoyed reading these stories and I love that they depict active and fun-loving senior citizens. We loved how it describes a hot summer day, especially while we are in the middle of the cold winter.
    more
  • Logan
    June 28, 2009
    Logan loves cats, so he's a fan of the Mr Putter and Tabby books. I like them because they're gentle, funny, and appealing to both adults and children. Cynthia Rylant is almost always a winner for us. This one was nice, although not as funny as Mr. Putter and Tabby Paint the Porch, which is our favorite. Update: Read this aloud to me 12/14
    more
  • The Reading Countess
    February 2, 2011
    Ah, Cynthia Rylant. If only I could channel you. Youngest and I predicted wrong how the plot of this one would go.Youngest: I think the boat is going to turn over and Mr. Putter, Tabby, Mrs. Teaberry and Zeke will all get wet.Me: Like when you, Brother and Papa overturned YOUR canoe?Text to Self. It doesn't get better than that.
    more
  • Kristine Hansen
    September 7, 2013
    I love how well the author and illustrator both capture the personalities of all the characters - animals included. In this summertime story, I feel the heat of the day as I read it, and can't help but laugh at the conclusion. Fun story!
  • Dree
    February 1, 2010
    Excellent series, fabulous illustrations. More under Mr. Putter & Tabby Pour the Tea.
  • Karen
    July 13, 2015
    Jacob read for the LQ Library summer reading program 7/13/15
  • WSL Library
    May 19, 2014
    x3
  • Karen
    July 16, 2016
    In this Mr. Putter outing, the weather is oppressively hot -- just like it is here in Charleston every Summer. So he and the charming Mrs. Teaberry find a little relief in a boat trip.
  • Horace Mann Family Reading Challenge
    February 20, 2012
    Alessio & Jackson
  • Kay
    November 16, 2015
    one of my niece's school books that I picked up to kill time. Very well written with wonderful illustrations. This book would be a good book for anytime or bedtime.
  • Hillvan
    October 17, 2012
    440L
  • Cherietta Swar
    June 28, 2013
    What a fun book for a hot summer day! it makes me want to go on a picnic by a pond too.
  • Henry
    May 6, 2014
    MCL. The boat ride they went on wasn't any use because they were still hot and sweaty when they got back.
  • Maddie
    October 16, 2014
    This book is one of my all time favorites. It's a hot day so Mr Putter, Zeke, Tabby and Mrs. Teaberry all go to the lake to cool off. I would read this to my students.
  • Betsy
    April 10, 2012
    From the Elf (age 6): It's funny because Tabby tries to get a water bug and she falls in!
  • Ash
    July 26, 2010
    Perfect story to read during such a hot summer.
  • Alaina Sloo
    May 15, 2013
    One of my favorite Mr Putter and Tabby books. Early readers with sweet, gentle stories that many kids love, perfect for kindergarten through 2d grade.
  • Deanna
    December 19, 2013
    These books are so adorable! I remember Natalie reading them...now I'm reading them to Miranda!
  • Shannon
    January 16, 2016
    #6 in the Series09/12: Again, read the series ages ago. Revisiting. This one introduces Mrs. Teaberry and her good dog Zeke. This is an excellent summer read.
  • Sydney McClure
    January 30, 2013
    This could probably be used as early as third grade. It has very Short chapters with short sentences that have some repetition. Also, the pictures are great for scaffolding.
  • Kara
    December 2, 2012
    This story is very fun; it's about two neighbors and they love each other so much and they row a boat to a shady place on a very hot day.
  • Cat
    August 28, 2010
    So cute and funny once again. My daughter laughed out loud and let's face it , there's a sound worth hearing over and over again. I cracked up too and we will add this one to our to buy list .
  • Susan Katz
    June 10, 2011
    Not the best book in this series, but Mr. Putter and Tabby are always welcome guests in this house, no matter what adventure they're up to.
  • Carolynne
    October 8, 2009
    Mr. Putter and Tabby combat the sweltering heat by renting a boat. This easy reader is surprisingly effective at conveying the feeling of extreme heat.
Write a review