Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)
Complete with stunning new movie art for the cover, and an eight-page full-color insert of stills from director Tim Burton's new adaptation, Dahl's treasured novel appears unabridged in this tie-in edition.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1) Details

TitleCharlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 2nd, 2005
PublisherPuffin
ISBN0142403881
ISBN-139780142403884
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Childrens, Young Adult, Classics

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1) Review

  • Patrick
    January 13, 2014
    Tonight I just finished reading Charlie and the Chocolate factory with my son. This is the first chapter book I've read all the way through with him. And it was a ton of fun. First off, I'll admit that I love the movie. I grew up with it. (I'm talking about the Gene Wilder version, of course.)I'll even admit to liking the movie better than the book. Which is something that doesn't happen very often with me. That said, the book is really, really good. It held my four-year old's attention. It's si Tonight I just finished reading Charlie and the Chocolate factory with my son. This is the first chapter book I've read all the way through with him. And it was a ton of fun. First off, I'll admit that I love the movie. I grew up with it. (I'm talking about the Gene Wilder version, of course.)I'll even admit to liking the movie better than the book. Which is something that doesn't happen very often with me. That said, the book is really, really good. It held my four-year old's attention. It's silly, and it's fun. And it's DARK. For those of you who haven't read the book, let me underline this fact for you. Dahl takes pains to really detail the fact that Charlie and his family aren't just hungry and poor. They're destitute. Charlie sleeps on a mattress on the floor. In the winter they are cold, and they're starving to death. And if you think I'm exaggerating on that last point, I'm not. One of the chapters is titled: The Family Begins to Starve. But you know what? I like this book better because of that. It's not sanitized pablum written by committee to be inoffensive. It's the story of a little boy who is in a fucking awful situation, but he is still good and kind and polite and then something really nice happens to him. That's a trope I can get behind. Its it a good book to read with your kids? Absolutely. That said, allow me to tangent off and share my thoughts as a total bastard:If Willie Wonka actually hired workers and paid them a living wage, maybe Charlie Bucket wouldn't be starving to death in the first place. Follow me here. Wonka is effectively running a company where everyone is paid in scrip. The Oompa Loompas are paid, quite literally, in beans. Beans that I'm guessing he has the Oompa Loompas themselves growing in some huge underground cavern. Let's not even get into the ethical tarpit of the fact that Wonka uproots an entire indigenous culture and enslaves them. Let's just look at this from a raw numbers point of view. Pure economics. The Oompa Loompas work in the factory. They are not paid. They never leave the factory. That means they don't pay rent. They don't buy groceries. They don't go to the movies, or take taxis ,or buy clothes. But *everyone* buys Wonka's chocolate. That means that money goes into the factory, but it doesn't come back out into the town. As a result, the local economy is crap. And it's because of this that Charlie's dad can't get a decent job. What's more, it's because of this that his dad *loses* his shitty job, and his family is starving to death. Willie Wonka isn't a childlike magic maker. He's a billionaire corporate fuckwit. He's the candy equivalent of Monsanto. There's no government oversight there. Osha would never have approved that bullshit boiled sweet boat and chocolate river. No. Dude is untouchable. And don't tell me he isn't. That shit that goes on with the other kids? Nobody even *thinks* of suing him. None of the parents even *hint* at it. He probably owns half the judges in the state, and a handful of senators, too. He's a fucking supervillian. And I would paid serious money to see a story where Batman kicks his ass. *End Rant* In closing, let me share something that Oot said while I was reading him this book: "Dad, Willie Wonka is just a regular human, but he *is* a little bit of a wizard like you."
    more
  • Grace Tjan
    July 11, 2010
    Jess, my 7 year old little girl, gives it 5 stars.Comments while reading:“How come someone is called ‘Gloop’? And ‘Salt’? Isn’t that the thing that we use for cooking?”“What is ‘spoiled’? Oh, okay, I’m NOT spoiled.”“Huh, Grandpa Joe is 96 years old?! How come that he’s even older than my grandpa?”“How come Charlie’s dad can’t work at the toothpaste factory anymore? What does ‘bankrupt’ mean?”“Will Charlie ever get the golden ticket?”“Yes! Charlie found it!”“Mr. Wonka looks like a clown!”“How com Jess, my 7 year old little girl, gives it 5 stars.Comments while reading:“How come someone is called ‘Gloop’? And ‘Salt’? Isn’t that the thing that we use for cooking?”“What is ‘spoiled’? Oh, okay, I’m NOT spoiled.”“Huh, Grandpa Joe is 96 years old?! How come that he’s even older than my grandpa?”“How come Charlie’s dad can’t work at the toothpaste factory anymore? What does ‘bankrupt’ mean?”“Will Charlie ever get the golden ticket?”“Yes! Charlie found it!”“Mr. Wonka looks like a clown!”“How come Oompa-Loompas only eat mashed up caterpillars? EEW!”“Augustus Gloop got sucked up into the pipe because he was GREEDY.”“Will Violet ever be all right again or will she always be a blueberry?”“I want these: EATABLE MARSHMALLOW PILLOWSSo I can sleep on it and eat it little by little. LICKABLE WALLPAPERIt would be great if I can have it in my room, so every time I want an orange or banana, I can just lick it.LUMINOUS LOLLIES FOR EATING IN BED AT NIGHTSo that I don’t have to use my night light anymore. But what happens when it’s finished?INVISIBLE CHOCOLATE BARS FOR EATING IN CLASSSo that I can eat it in class! But I don’t think Miss Ayu will like it if I do that.”“These are just silly! Mr. Wonka likes to invent strange things! HOT ICE CUBES THAT MAKES HOT DRINKS HOTTERWho wants to have their hot drinks even hotter?FIZZY LEMONADE SWIMMING POOLWon’t your body be tingling and itchy all over if you swim in there? It’s fizzy like Coca Cola, right?”“But the funniest thing is that SQUARE CANDY THAT LOOKS ROUND! I’m going to tell dad about it and then all my friends at school!”“I like it when Mr. Wonka says to Mrs. Salt, “My dear old fish, go boil your head!” Mr. Wonka used to be more polite and now he is getting rude.”“Mike Teavee got very small because he is sent through the TV. No, I don’t watch too much TV like him.”“This song about watching too much TV is too LONG. Just skip it.”“I don’t think anything bad will happen to Charlie, because he’s good. Also, it is written in the front of the book that he is THE HERO.”“What? Charlie got the whole factory? That’s because he’s GOOD.”“I want a chocolate candy and I want more books by Roald Dahl!”
    more
  • Lyn
    November 17, 2014
    Gene Wilder June 11, 1933 - August 29, 2016 - Goodbye Gene, you'll always be Willy Wonka to me.Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl first published in 1964 was an immediate children’s classic and has inspired two film versions.I was surprised to see that neither of the films came close to Dahl’s text. Dahl’s Willy Wonka is a dark creature who killed children, crushed their bones and baked them into the candy bars.Just kidding.This is of course a delightful children’s / young adult fan Gene Wilder June 11, 1933 - August 29, 2016 - Goodbye Gene, you'll always be Willy Wonka to me.Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl first published in 1964 was an immediate children’s classic and has inspired two film versions.I was surprised to see that neither of the films came close to Dahl’s text. Dahl’s Willy Wonka is a dark creature who killed children, crushed their bones and baked them into the candy bars.Just kidding.This is of course a delightful children’s / young adult fantasy featuring the inimitable Willy Wonka. The 1971 musical film directed by Mel Stuart and featuring Gene Wilder and Jack Albertson has long been a family favorite and I grew up loving the songs and Wilder’s performance. (Interestingly, according to IMDB – so you know its true – Peter Ostrum, the child actor who portrayed Charlie Bucket, only ever appeared in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, it was his only film credit. He is now a veterinarian).Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Tim Burton’s 2005 adaptation starring Johnny Depp and Christopher Lee was also very entertaining and I have enjoyed watching it as well. So it was no surprise that I finally got around to reading Dahl’s original novel. I was curious to see which film version came closest to Dahl’s vision, and I can surprisingly report that though they both come close to the original text, both rely heavily on artistic license and the kind of freedoms a director will often take when translating a literary work into film.Brilliant, quirky, and original this is a short work that a fan of the films, or of children’s fantasy literature should take the time to thoroughly enjoy.
    more
  • Bookdragon Sean
    July 27, 2016
    I was planning on writing an extremely argumentative review explaining how sadistically vile Willie Wonka is, and how his god-like complex ruined the lives of four flawed children. But that seems insensitive at the moment. Instead I shall simply say that Gene Wilder dominated his performance as Willie Wonka. He carried all the outward charm, the charisma and the playfulness, but still managed to portray the suggestions of darkness that permeate this character’s heart. Wonka is far from a good ma I was planning on writing an extremely argumentative review explaining how sadistically vile Willie Wonka is, and how his god-like complex ruined the lives of four flawed children. But that seems insensitive at the moment. Instead I shall simply say that Gene Wilder dominated his performance as Willie Wonka. He carried all the outward charm, the charisma and the playfulness, but still managed to portray the suggestions of darkness that permeate this character’s heart. Wonka is far from a good man, though this book remains excellent and an extended allegory for many things. Full review to come.
    more
  • Jan-Maat
    November 8, 2012
    Slightly odd story of virtuous poverty rewarded by evil capitalist who caused the poverty by firing all his workers in favour of employing non-human immigrants.Unemployment from the chocolate factory, apparently the only consumer of labour in the otherwise stagnant economy of Charlie's home town, (proving I suppose that an excess of chocolate is really bad for you both economically and physically) requires that all of his grandparents have to live and sleep in one bed while the family slowly sta Slightly odd story of virtuous poverty rewarded by evil capitalist who caused the poverty by firing all his workers in favour of employing non-human immigrants.Unemployment from the chocolate factory, apparently the only consumer of labour in the otherwise stagnant economy of Charlie's home town, (proving I suppose that an excess of chocolate is really bad for you both economically and physically) requires that all of his grandparents have to live and sleep in one bed while the family slowly starves. Evidently the social contract is relentlessly one-sided in Charlie's country.Willy Wonka, the owner of the chocolate factory, a man who makes Charles Montgomery Burns look reasonable, holds a competition to allow a small number of children into his factory to select one of them to be his successor.Charlie wins one of the tickets. The hard school of his poverty having made him virtuous, he manages to survive all the other children whose gross moral turpitudes cause them to be eliminated.Having won the right to become Willy Wonka's successor he wins himself a sequel adventure but this involves travelling to the moon in an elevator rather than changing the employment practises of the factory and the introduction of a living wage. Proving, I suppose, there is a limit to the amount of fantasy you can fed a child before it becomes completely unbelievable.
    more
  • Jason Koivu
    November 23, 2008
    I was ten years old and already the magic was gone from the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, leprechauns, Santa Claus and his buddy the Krampus. All was stripped of its power to enthrall. Heck, even sex had been demystified years prior. Then along came Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It gloried in candy, my number one passion of the day. But not only that, eating candy was the means to getting even MORE candy! Ah, the golden ticket. How, oh, how I longed for it to be a real thing! I would've tr I was ten years old and already the magic was gone from the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, leprechauns, Santa Claus and his buddy the Krampus. All was stripped of its power to enthrall. Heck, even sex had been demystified years prior. Then along came Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It gloried in candy, my number one passion of the day. But not only that, eating candy was the means to getting even MORE candy! Ah, the golden ticket. How, oh, how I longed for it to be a real thing! I would've traded in a half dozen Christmasses for that.For those few who haven't read the book or seen one of the movies, finding a golden ticket in a candy bar meant you got to visit Willy Wonka's mysterious chocolate factory, which had been closed to the public and rumored to be run by a madman. Once poor-and-ever-so-grateful Charlie makes it inside the factory everything comes alive! The amazing sights, sounds, smells and tastes! The sky's the limit (quite literally we discover in the second book). Wonka's childlike imagination seems to know no bounds!But then things turn a bit queer. One by one, the children invited into the factory start dropping off and in the most interesting of ways. This is a fight to the finish and it becomes clear that there can be only one!I don't know what was better, the candy or the killing off of brats. Ah but to be serious, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory brought back the wonder and excitement of my earliest memories. Thank you Roald Dahl for giving me back magic, the sweetest gift of all.
    more
  • James
    January 7, 2012
    One of the first books I ever read. I wanted to watch the movie, but wasn't allowed to until I read the book. And so I did. And now, every few years, I want to again. It's been a long time. But who doesn't love chocolate and dreams and wishes and gifts? I think I may read this series... only looked at the first one.
    more
  • Jeanette
    February 28, 2008
    If you ever want to cheer yourself up, go back and read a book you loved and read over and over as a child. For me, this is one book that will always be better than any movie they make from it. Nothing Hollywood does with special effects will ever be as magical as what Roald Dahl did with just plain old words. It has been MANY long years since I last looked at this book, but it all came back to me as soon as I turned to the first page and saw the illustrations. I was immediately carried away by If you ever want to cheer yourself up, go back and read a book you loved and read over and over as a child. For me, this is one book that will always be better than any movie they make from it. Nothing Hollywood does with special effects will ever be as magical as what Roald Dahl did with just plain old words. It has been MANY long years since I last looked at this book, but it all came back to me as soon as I turned to the first page and saw the illustrations. I was immediately carried away by the story. Even though I already knew how everything would turn out, I found myself rooting for Charlie Bucket to find one of the five Golden Tickets. And yes, I watched gleefully as the naughty kids paid for their bad behavior. I love the chants the Oompa-Loompas do after each bad kid gets his or her comeuppance. These guys are the original rappers! My mind was showing me hundreds of itty-bitty Oompa-Loompas in the background doing wild synchronized hip-hop moves while chanting to a rapper rhythm: "Augustus Gloop! Augustus Gloop!The great big greedy nincompoop! How long could we allow this beastTo gorge and guzzle, feed and feastOn everything he wanted to?Great Scott! It simply wouldn't do!"I've always loved to play with our English words that have more than one meaning, so passages like the one below tickle me pink (or pickle me tink, if you are The BFG):They streaked past a black door. STOREROOM NUMBER 71, it said on it. WHIPS--ALL SHAPES AND SIZES."Whips!" cried Veruca Salt. "What on earth do you use whips for?" "For whipping cream, of course," said Mr. Wonka. "How can you whip cream without whips? Whipped cream isn't whipped cream at all unless it's been whipped with whips. Just as a poached egg isn't a poached egg unless it's been stolen from the woods in the dead of night!" There's a sinister undercurrent in the book that I missed completely when I was a kid. I can just see Mr. Dahl chortling to himself when he wrote some of this stuff. Heh heh, that little bit about the whips oughta give the grownups a little hitch in their ho-hum. But everything comes out happy in the end. Even the naughty kids still get their lifetime supply of Willy Wonka's DELICIOUS EATABLES. Not to mention a nasty case of diabetes after a few years of indulgence.
    more
  • Manny
    September 20, 2016
    "And now," said Willy Wonka, "we're going to see something extra special... my Metaphorical Candy Room!" He flung open the doors, and the five children peeked inside. Augustus Gloop beamed with delight."That's the BIGGEST BOWL OF SKITTLES I'VE EVER SEEN!" he yelled."Indeed it is, indeed it is," said Willy Wonka proudly. "Three point three million of them! One for every Muslim in the United States! But, before you eat any, I must warn you... some of them are POISONED!""How many?" asked Violet Bea "And now," said Willy Wonka, "we're going to see something extra special... my Metaphorical Candy Room!" He flung open the doors, and the five children peeked inside. Augustus Gloop beamed with delight."That's the BIGGEST BOWL OF SKITTLES I'VE EVER SEEN!" he yelled."Indeed it is, indeed it is," said Willy Wonka proudly. "Three point three million of them! One for every Muslim in the United States! But, before you eat any, I must warn you... some of them are POISONED!""How many?" asked Violet Beauregarde."Only three," said Willy Wonka. "But you wouldn't want to take chances, would you?"Augustus, who had been on the point of helping himself to some skittles, pulled his hand back."What's that over there?" asked Charlie. The children turned round. Behind them was an even bigger bowl of candy!"Ah, those are my Deplorable Mints," said Willy Wonka. "One for every racist, bigot, white supremacist and neo-Nazi in the country! Don't they look delicious!"They certainly did. Augustus reached out his hand again."Unfortunately," said Willy Wonka, "I have to admit that some of THEM are poisoned too. Very few of course. But we can't be too careful, can we?""So we aren't getting any candy?" asked Augustus. He looked terribly disappointed."Not until you understand p-values," said Willy Wonka. "Hurry up! We'll be late for the Statistical Sweets!"
    more
  • Manny
    April 21, 2011
    Since the Swiss make the best chocolate figures in the world, I thought I would pick up a few to take with me to England. I was originally only intending to buy a couple of chocolate rabbits, engagingly goofy-looking with big buck teeth and natty bow-ties, but the selection was so enticing that I eventually walked out with four rabbits, a chicken with a marzipan waistcoat and a chocolate chalet. I explained to the nice assistant that they would be accompanying me to London later that day, and sh Since the Swiss make the best chocolate figures in the world, I thought I would pick up a few to take with me to England. I was originally only intending to buy a couple of chocolate rabbits, engagingly goofy-looking with big buck teeth and natty bow-ties, but the selection was so enticing that I eventually walked out with four rabbits, a chicken with a marzipan waistcoat and a chocolate chalet. I explained to the nice assistant that they would be accompanying me to London later that day, and she spent ages wrapping them up in individual boxes. But, when we opened them yesterday, catastrophe! She evidently hadn't used enough tissue paper. Not a single figure was whole: two rabbits had lost their ears and two their heads, the chicken's wings were broken, and the roof had come off the chalet. It seemed like a very poor return on 116 Swiss Francs. On closer examination, though, the breaks looked fairly clean. We wondered if surgery was possible.David and I went to the shop around the corner, bought a substantial bar of Cadbury's milk chocolate, and melted it carefully in a double-boiler. Our first plan was to use the chocolate as glue - we have a lot of experience with building gingerbread houses. But it turns out that melted chocolate makes very poor glue; it isn't sticky enough. The operation was also complicated by the fact that it was impossible to hold the pieces directly, since they immediately started melting in our hands (it was a hot day). We decided that we had to hold them using kitchen roll, which was anything but convenient. Things looked hopeless for a moment.And then, breakthrough! Maybe it was a good thing that the chocolate melted so easily, and we could exploit that? We'd already determined that gluing didn't work. How about welding? And, with some care, it turned out that it was possible. The new technique consisted of dipping the edge of the piece in the melted chocolate to soften it and then pushing it into place so that it fused, making a solid join, and we successfully used it to mend all six figures. The first two looked a little messy, but the final ones were so good that you actually couldn't tell they'd been broken. It was almost beyond belief.Please, Mr. Wonka, can I come and work for you? As you see, I'm really into chocolate technology.
    more
  • Matt
    November 24, 2016
    Before there were amorous zombies, sleuthing twelve year-olds, or even a teacher who traipsed around in his underwear, children turned to Roald Dahl for their literary entertainment. I thought it the perfect time to zip through time and relive one of my childhood favourites, in hopes that I might soon introduce my son to the wonders of Willy Wonka and his glorious factory. Dahl opens by presenting the reader with Charlie Bucket and his family, confined to a small cottage on the outskirts of town Before there were amorous zombies, sleuthing twelve year-olds, or even a teacher who traipsed around in his underwear, children turned to Roald Dahl for their literary entertainment. I thought it the perfect time to zip through time and relive one of my childhood favourites, in hopes that I might soon introduce my son to the wonders of Willy Wonka and his glorious factory. Dahl opens by presenting the reader with Charlie Bucket and his family, confined to a small cottage on the outskirts of town and as poor as can be. Charlie's one true love is to receive a bar of Wonka's chocolate on his birthday, which he savours for a month. When news comes that the famous Willy Wonka will open his factory up for five children to tour, the world goes mad. Five golden tickets have been placed in random bars of chocolate, leaving everyone to buy and tear through the wrapping in hopes of finding that glistening entry pass. One by one, tickets emerge when children purchase bars upon bars: first Augustus Gloop, then Veruca Salt, Violet Beauregarde, and Mike Teavee. Much press coverage is made of these four, though there remains a single ticket left out there, waiting for a pair of grubby hands to grip it by the corner. On a gamble, Charlie uses a coin his discovers and purchases a bar of chocolate that does, miraculously, hold the final ticket. After choosing to attend the factory with his Grandpa Joe, they set off. Arriving at Wonka's delectable abode, all the children and their chaperones enter and begin learning of the wonders of chocolate making, from the rivers of chocolate to the rooms filled with nut-cracking squirrels, through to experimental chewing gums that will replace the need for meals. All this is overseen by a collection of small people, the Oompa Loompas, whose poetic verses are as exciting as their appearance. One by one, the children flock to something they cannot do without, slowing falling prey to the machinations of the tubes, trapdoors, temptations, and televisions within the factory, leaving Charlie and Grandpa Joe alone as the tour comes to a close. Wonka's revelation of this fact leads him to make an offer to Charlie that is more than any child might dream and turns the future of Wonka's factory on its head. Surely, Dahl will expound on that in the sequel, on which I will firmly place my hands like a gluttonous child looking for a golden ticket. Oh, to be a child again!I will never forget growing up with Roald Dahl's books around me. Many of his stories are household classics for me, as is the 1971 movie of this book, where Gene Wilder brought Willy Wonka to life. As an adult, I can see some of the themes that Dahl seeks to instil in his readers, about fate, greed, gluttony, and patience. Told in such a fabulous manner as to entertain rather than inculcate, Dahl does not go for the pizzazz and hoopla of some drivel authors use now to lure readers into their novels. I am quite sure everyone wonders about an Oompa Loompa on occasion, which is enough to make me want to return to these books on a regular basis. One cannot criticize Dahl's work without upsetting a generation or two of readers, in its simplicity and complex themes offered up simultaneously. I would venture to say, the reader and listener (adult and child, alike) will take something from this book and find magic in the formulation. Brilliant in its crafting and heart-warming in the delivery. Kudos, Mr. Dahl for touching so many lives with your creativity and awesomeness.Like/hate the review? An ever-growing collection of others appears at: http://pecheyponderings.wordpress.com/
    more
  • midnightfaerie
    February 7, 2012
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl is an obvious classic in my book. Besides the fact its been around for awhile already, it definitely has that magic factor that pulls you in. Anyone with even a remnant left of their kid's heart in them, will love this book. I believe this story, not the book, but at least the story has a huge following, due in part to the movie starring Gene Wilder. I love Johnny Depp, but he lacks the whimsical weirdness of the previous Wonka and is just weird. H Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl is an obvious classic in my book. Besides the fact its been around for awhile already, it definitely has that magic factor that pulls you in. Anyone with even a remnant left of their kid's heart in them, will love this book. I believe this story, not the book, but at least the story has a huge following, due in part to the movie starring Gene Wilder. I love Johnny Depp, but he lacks the whimsical weirdness of the previous Wonka and is just weird. However, the Depp version is a little more book accurate, but not by much. Once again I'm amazed at how much liberty the writers took with the book, and wonder why? No Slugworth, except a brief mention, and Charlie wins at the end only because he's the last kid standing. Some extra rooms and candy are in the book that were never mentioned in the movie like the "Square candy that looks round". And it's a shame, but I understand that they can't put everything into the movies. I'm not sure if the everything's edible scenery is an original concept or not, but it is surely the most well known of children's stories. I was also impressed with the similarity between the book and movie on the poem in the boat, which is probably the most celebrated part of the story. I must also mention here the book is absolutely worth reading even if you've seen the movie mostly because I think the movie glossed over the main theme of the book. Obviously there's the imagination aspect but in the book, the Oompa Loompa's sing a song that is three pages long when little Mike Teavee gets sucked into the TV. It's all about how TV will rot your brain and if you take away the blasted contraption, and replace it with books, within a few weeks, the child will be reading and loving the books. I whole heartedly agree, and find the "irony" funny that a book about getting kids to read more was made into a movie that is better known than the book. I put irony in quotes here, because lately a vast majority of literary figures have debated the incorrect use of the word, ever since Alanis Morisette's song came out. I think it applies here, but I could be wrong. In any case, the book is a classic, and highly recommended. I also recommend the Wilder version of the movie, but not in place of the book. I also think this is a great story to read to children, as my 5 yr old can attest. ClassicsDefined.com
    more
  • Ariel
    February 3, 2014
    THIS WAS GREAT! I've never read any Roald Dahl before, but of course I've heard of the legend and so when I was assigned to read this for my Children's Lit class I was super pumped. And best of all, I enjoyed it! There's always the fear that books won't live up to the hype, but I think this did.I loved Charlie and his Grandpa as the main protagonists: they were humble, and sweet, and smart. I loved Willy Wonka: he was energetic and excited and brilliant and sarcastic as all hell. And I loved how THIS WAS GREAT! I've never read any Roald Dahl before, but of course I've heard of the legend and so when I was assigned to read this for my Children's Lit class I was super pumped. And best of all, I enjoyed it! There's always the fear that books won't live up to the hype, but I think this did.I loved Charlie and his Grandpa as the main protagonists: they were humble, and sweet, and smart. I loved Willy Wonka: he was energetic and excited and brilliant and sarcastic as all hell. And I loved how the positive characters really hated the negative characters! I like that the bad kids all got in trouble, and that the oompa loompas sang songs full of awesome morals. I saw the original movie when I was really young so I don't remember it and I haven't seen the newer Johnny Depp movie, but I plan on watching both of them soon and I'll come back here and let you know what I think of them! :D
    more
  • Heba
    January 19, 2016
    يكفي إن الابتسامة لم تفارقني طوال قراءتها :)وعليك ألا تشعر بالخيبة ..فلا تدري ما الذي يُخبئه لك القدر :)
  • Vitor Martins
    April 29, 2015
    Demorei bastante pra pegar esse livro pra ler achando que, por já ter visto os filmes e o musical muitas vezes, eu não encontraria nada de novo nessa história. Mas como eu estava enganado!Nenhuma adaptação, por mais fiel que ela seja, poderia substituir a escrita gostosa e brilhante do Roald Dahl. Mesmo sabendo tudo que ia acontecer na história, cada capítulo era uma surpresa muito gostosa. O livro me deu uma visão muito diferente a respeito do Charlie e do Willy Wonka. Descobri um Charlie muito Demorei bastante pra pegar esse livro pra ler achando que, por já ter visto os filmes e o musical muitas vezes, eu não encontraria nada de novo nessa história. Mas como eu estava enganado!Nenhuma adaptação, por mais fiel que ela seja, poderia substituir a escrita gostosa e brilhante do Roald Dahl. Mesmo sabendo tudo que ia acontecer na história, cada capítulo era uma surpresa muito gostosa. O livro me deu uma visão muito diferente a respeito do Charlie e do Willy Wonka. Descobri um Charlie muito mais doce, inteligente e apaixonado por sua família. Que criança maravilhosa <3E sobre o dono da Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolate, acho que nenhum dos dois filmes conseguiu acertar 100% na personalidade do Willy Wonka. Ele não é o personagem bizarro, assustador e deprimido que eu achei que seria. Ele é tão gente boa e tão divertido! Me encantei por esse personagem de um jeito completamente novo. Esse é um livro que eu recomendo pra todos, adultos e crianças! Uma história pra guardar no coração, com certeza <3
    more
  • Becky
    June 19, 2014
    This book was quite disturbing. I mean Augustus Gloop, who apparently had a nasty cold, completely contaminated the entire chocolate river, and then Wonka scoops out cup-fulls for Charlie and Grandpa Joe to drink, and they do. Nasty! You just know that Augustus peed himself from fear when he fell in, too! I really enjoyed this, with the exception of the insanely long Oompa-Loompa songs. I just don't like reading verse, no matter how clever it is, so I skimmed these sections. Sometimes pages of t This book was quite disturbing. I mean Augustus Gloop, who apparently had a nasty cold, completely contaminated the entire chocolate river, and then Wonka scoops out cup-fulls for Charlie and Grandpa Joe to drink, and they do. Nasty! You just know that Augustus peed himself from fear when he fell in, too! I really enjoyed this, with the exception of the insanely long Oompa-Loompa songs. I just don't like reading verse, no matter how clever it is, so I skimmed these sections. Sometimes pages of them. :/Otherwise, I liked it a lot, though I actually expected it to be darker than it was. This is my first time reading Dahl, despite owning a handful of his books, and I'd always heard that he wrote darker stuff for kids, which is awesome. I loved the adult humor. It allows people of all ages to m enjoy the book. Especially the puns. Square candy that looks round indeed! Cute. :)
    more
  • Adita ✨The Slumbering Insomniac✨
    February 8, 2016
    Harry's tormentor? Or, Charlie's mother? Or, Marla Sanger?
  • emily
    March 28, 2016
    I can't decide what to rate this!!! It seems odd rating it, because even though I didn't read it as a child I still know the story so well since the movies (well, the first one) is adapted so nicely. It's a great story. Really dark, actually, darker when you read it, but it still feels weird rating a story I already know so well. It didn't feel new, just nice and comforting because it was familiar. I had this as 3 stars when I was writing but now I'm changing to 4, I don't know why, they aren't I can't decide what to rate this!!! It seems odd rating it, because even though I didn't read it as a child I still know the story so well since the movies (well, the first one) is adapted so nicely. It's a great story. Really dark, actually, darker when you read it, but it still feels weird rating a story I already know so well. It didn't feel new, just nice and comforting because it was familiar. I had this as 3 stars when I was writing but now I'm changing to 4, I don't know why, they aren't that important, but it feels better.
    more
  • Ali
    December 23, 2015
    This one has to be one of my favorite stories. Such a fun, quick and easy read. Roald Dahl's writing style is super entertaining. Can't wait to read more by him.
  • Duane
    November 2, 2016
    If you don't already know that Charlie inherits Willy Wonka's chocolate factory, then this review contains a spoiler."The meek shall inherit the earth". That biblical phrase certainly applies to this story. Charlie Bucket is the epitome of meek. But he is also serious, polite, kind, and...well, he is just the perfect kid. In this story he doesn't inherit the earth but he does inherit Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory. Ah! What a chocolate factory. The inside kind of reminded me of the Land of Oz. If you don't already know that Charlie inherits Willy Wonka's chocolate factory, then this review contains a spoiler."The meek shall inherit the earth". That biblical phrase certainly applies to this story. Charlie Bucket is the epitome of meek. But he is also serious, polite, kind, and...well, he is just the perfect kid. In this story he doesn't inherit the earth but he does inherit Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory. Ah! What a chocolate factory. The inside kind of reminded me of the Land of Oz. Being in the business myself, I've toured a few candy factories in my day. Believe me, none of them are even close to Willy Wonka's. I've only read two Dahl books, Matilda and now this one. I've also seen the movies. I like this book better than either of the Willy Wonka movies. I give it 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Amin
    February 22, 2017
    خلاقیت رولد دال توی این کتاب واقعا مثالزدنیه. به نظرم اگه کسی دور و برش بچهای میشناسه که اندک علاقهای به کتاب داره، حتما باید این کتاب رو براش بخره و بهش بده که مطالعه کنه. البته نسل اینجور بچهها تقریبا منقرض شده و اکثر بچهها یه جورایی تبدیل به "مایک تیوی" شدن. اینکه این کتاب مناسب بچههاست، به این معنی نیست که افراد بزرگسال نمیتونن ازش لذت ببرن؛ من خودم از این کتاب خیلی لذت بردم.شوخطبعی آقای ونکا هم واقعا جالب بود. خلاقیت رولد دال توی این کتاب واقعا مثال‌زدنیه. به نظرم اگه کسی دور و برش بچه‌ای میشناسه که اندک علاقه‌ای به کتاب داره، حتما باید این کتاب رو براش بخره و بهش بده که مطالعه کنه. البته نسل اینجور بچه‌ها تقریبا منقرض شده و اکثر بچه‌ها یه جورایی تبدیل به "مایک تی‌وی" شدن. اینکه این کتاب مناسب بچه‌هاست، به این معنی نیست که افراد بزرگسال نمیتونن ازش لذت ببرن؛ من خودم از این کتاب خیلی لذت بردم.شوخ‌طبعی آقای ونکا هم واقعا جالب بود.
    more
  • Nicay │ The Nerdy side of a Queen
    January 12, 2016
    I am a grown up woman yet I prefer reading middle grade books. Why I am reading this kind of genre? Am I crazy? Am I not in the mood to read deeper books? My answer was NO. Simply because, reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory doesn’t give not only light read but it gives lessons that sometimes adult like us seems to forget.It was really fascinating and somehow hilarious that this kind of children books were the one gave me realizations that I admittedly forget of how important great values I am a grown up woman yet I prefer reading middle grade books. Why I am reading this kind of genre? Am I crazy? Am I not in the mood to read deeper books? My answer was NO. Simply because, reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory doesn’t give not only light read but it gives lessons that sometimes adult like us seems to forget.It was really fascinating and somehow hilarious that this kind of children books were the one gave me realizations that I admittedly forget of how important great values are. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl was not just a light, sometimes funny read but it has a secret message that was waiting for us to reveal.And after reading this, middle grade books are in my list of my favorites.
    more
  • Eslam Ahmed
    February 9, 2016
    جميلة جداً :))نفسي ف الشوكولاتة :D
  • Islam Salem
    May 18, 2016
    بأنصح أي واحد أو واحدة بيفكروا يعملوا رچيم ، لا يتفرجوا على الفيلم ولا يقرأوا الرواية :)
  • إلِــيْ
    February 14, 2017
    هو أنا عامةً مبحبّش الشوكولاتة :'D وبكده نكسر قاعدة إنها عشق البنات*بس حبّيت القصة ديمن أجمل القصص اللي ممكن تقرأها لطفل، هتمتعه وفي نفس الوقت فيها شيء من الحكمة، البهجة،الأملحبّيت جدًا أسلوبها، الكاريكاتير، والغلافوهشوف الفيلم علشان المتعة تكمل*_*
    more
  • Carmine
    January 10, 2016
    Come non dare 5 stelle ad un capolavoro della narrativa per ragazzi? Dahl esalta i valori di altruismo e generosità, condannando i vizi dei figli, spesso corroborati dal permissivismo di genitori sempre più assenti nell'ambito familiare. L'idea della fabbrica è un pretesto, incredibilmente suggestivo, sulla quale l'autore costruisce la semplice ed importante morale di fondo.
    more
  • Miss Cathy Winter
    December 15, 2016
    ¡Me ha gustado mucho! No me suele entusiasmar el género infantil o middle grade pero este libro (y el autor) han sido todo un descubrimiento.Eso sí, no me esperaba que fuera tan deprimente al principio...
  • Klinta
    August 18, 2016
    Full Review.I'm not entirely sure, if I have read it before or my only encounter with the story has been the film (2005), but nevertheless, this exceeded my expectations. I could see the lessons author tried to give, I could see the pain and poorness and almost started to cry. The unjust world and how things are run in it. And well honestly my only objection was 'winning' the unknown competition. You can't win, if everyone except you were tested, that usually means cheating. I loved Oompa-Loompa Full Review.I'm not entirely sure, if I have read it before or my only encounter with the story has been the film (2005), but nevertheless, this exceeded my expectations. I could see the lessons author tried to give, I could see the pain and poorness and almost started to cry. The unjust world and how things are run in it. And well honestly my only objection was 'winning' the unknown competition. You can't win, if everyone except you were tested, that usually means cheating. I loved Oompa-Loompa's songs a lot and thought that they were written brilliantly, which is kind of really cool, because I hated them in the film. I could also see similarities with the BFG and well... simply genuinely liked the book. Think Wonka dropped the 50 pence in the snow?
    more
  • Mohammed Orabi
    February 14, 2017
    كل ما بها جميل ،، من رسوماتها البسيطة الطفولية .. لشخصياتها الكبير منها والصغير والتى تجمع بينهم البراءة .. هي قد تناسب الاطفال بشكل اكبر ولكنها لم تكتفي بقصة صغيرة عن الشوكولاتة معشوقتهم الاولي من اجل ان توفر لهم وقتا ممتعا فحسب ، بل اهتمت ايضا بطرح الكثير من القيم والمعاني الجميلة فى عدد من المواقف سواء تمسك عائلة تشارلى بامل ان يكسب صغيرهم بطاقة ذهبية لزيارة مصنع الشوكولاتة وان يمنح كمية كبيرة منها تكفيه طوال حياته .. رغبة تشارلي الصغير فى تقاسم لوح الشكولاتة الخاص به والذي كان هدية اسرته له كل ما بها جميل ،، من رسوماتها البسيطة الطفولية .. لشخصياتها الكبير منها والصغير والتى تجمع بينهم البراءة .. هي قد تناسب الاطفال بشكل اكبر ولكنها لم تكتفي بقصة صغيرة عن الشوكولاتة معشوقتهم الاولي من اجل ان توفر لهم وقتا ممتعا فحسب ، بل اهتمت ايضا بطرح الكثير من القيم والمعاني الجميلة فى عدد من المواقف سواء تمسك عائلة تشارلى بامل ان يكسب صغيرهم بطاقة ذهبية لزيارة مصنع الشوكولاتة وان يمنح كمية كبيرة منها تكفيه طوال حياته .. رغبة تشارلي الصغير فى تقاسم لوح الشكولاتة الخاص به والذي كان هدية اسرته له معهم .. تضحية جد تشارلى باخر ست بنسات معه من اجل ان يمنح الصغير لوح شوكولاتة اخير وفرصة اخري للفوز حتى ولو كانت ضئيلة .. هي باختصار مبهجة للغاية وينصح بها وبشدة ..
    more
  • Trish
    January 1, 2016
    As with all of Roald Dahl's stories so far, I've seen the movie before I've read the book.After catching up on the stories I already knew (Matilda and The Witches) it was now time to also read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory of course.And what a delight! Roald Dahl really is a masterful storyteller! He makes one dive deep into the story and experience everything as if the reader was actually there.This is the almost heartbreaking story of a boy growing up in a poor family, who therefore is ver As with all of Roald Dahl's stories so far, I've seen the movie before I've read the book.After catching up on the stories I already knew (Matilda and The Witches) it was now time to also read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory of course.And what a delight! Roald Dahl really is a masterful storyteller! He makes one dive deep into the story and experience everything as if the reader was actually there.This is the almost heartbreaking story of a boy growing up in a poor family, who therefore is very nice and considerate in everything he does. I found myself almost crying when Charlie's situation was described and we learnt of all the hardship his family had to go through - and how they still tried to make the best of it! It really lets one contemplate one's own situation and it made me feel very grateful.Charlie's counterpart are 4 children of the worst sort. And it's the story about luck (that still doesn't come too easily), justice and lots and lots of mischief and fun.The story is written simple enough for small children to follow the events while simultaneously having great puns and jokes in it as well. And, naturally, Roald Dahl's magnificent sense of very black humour!In this case, that humour struck in form of 4 very nasty children and the "lessons" they were taught. We have one boy who won't stop eating, one girl who is spoilt by her parents and simply behaves like a depraved brat, one girl who chews chewing gum like a cow eats grass (and is very rude to her mother) and a boy who loves nothing beside television. Especially the last one shows how old the story is, what with the author demonizing television. However, he was differentiating, letting Willy Wonka say that television itself wasn't bad as long as it was just small doses. And the Oompa-Loompas and their songs - just marvellously funny, emphazising each point about bad behaviour (not just by children)!I must say that the movie (please note that I can only speak for the new version with Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka) did catch the spirit of things. The factory with all the fantastic rooms and clever ways of making sweets, the craziness of Mr. Wonka, the awfulness of the 4 children, nice little Charlie and the sarcastically funny and mischievious Oompa-Loompas!However, considering Dahl's aversion towards television, I wonder what his opinion of the movie adaptation(s) would be!Anyway I wanted to show the movie version with regard to the book illustrations because I was quite pleased with the movie (which is not every day), except for some details in between that led to the almost completely different ending (and I'm not sure that it was different in a good way).This book, like the others by Roald Dahl, has the original illustrations by Quentin Blake and I am very glad that the author seems to have had only this one illustrator. The pictures / style of the pictures are like a trademark and complete the little books.There is a saying in Germany, coming from a TV ad for sweets (!) that says "What's good for children can't be bad for adults!" and especially in case of Roald Dahl's books that's true! The stories all resound with truth, social criticism, warmth and the best of black humour. They make me reflect on a lot of important issues and I always enjoy them tremendously!
    more
Write a review