Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
Harry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn't happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he's not normal - even by wizarding standards.And in his case, different can be deadly.-From the back cover

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4) Details

TitleHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 28th, 2002
PublisherScholastic Inc.
ISBN0439139600
ISBN-139780439139601
Number of pages734 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Magic, Childrens, Adventure, Science Fiction Fantasy, Classics, Audiobook, Middle Grade

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4) Review

  • Zoë
    June 9, 2012
    Don't mind me, just crying my eyes out. This was WAY better than I remember it being, and I remember it being pretty darn good. J.K. Rowling is a writing goddess and I can't believe how much foresight and planning went into this series. She already hints at the horcruxes and many other things in this book that don't show up until much later. Definitely one of my favorites in the series (but I say that about all of them)!
    more
  • Sasha Alsberg
    September 9, 2015
    Um. Wow. Yeah. That was freaking FANTASTIC!!!! Probably my favorite so far, just wow oh my gosh......WHAT EVEN!! I feel empowered and sad at the same time (sad because...you know). 5/5 stars of course!
  • Hira
    March 31, 2013
    *To read more reviews by me visit Views & Reviews *I seriously have no idea why I still review these books when I have nothing new to say. I mean... J.K. Rowling is perfect. This series is perfect. And I dream day & night of going to Hogwarts. So what I'm going to do is, I'm going to show you how I felt about this book:When I started the book:During the book:At the end: Umm.. Mam Rowling..All in allSorry for the lame review, readers. I just really don't know what to say..
    more
  • Stephen
    August 25, 2009
    This was the beginning of my addiction to POTter. I had previously experimented with and enjoyed POTter on 3 different occasions, but could easily have walked away and never touched the stuff again. Then, under some pressure from some POTterHEAD peers of mine, I tried the newest blend called the Goblet...and everything changed. As the warm, easy, potato chip prose crossed my blood-brain barrier, euphoria ensued. My inner child was smitten. I...was...hooked and I...was...happy. Ignore the so-call This was the beginning of my addiction to POTter. I had previously experimented with and enjoyed POTter on 3 different occasions, but could easily have walked away and never touched the stuff again. Then, under some pressure from some POTterHEAD peers of mine, I tried the newest blend called the Goblet...and everything changed. As the warm, easy, potato chip prose crossed my blood-brain barrier, euphoria ensued. My inner child was smitten. I...was...hooked and I...was...happy. Ignore the so-called "experts" who say POTter is brain cell killing pap. Don’t listen to those jaded, book snobby squares. Most of them are wound so tight they wouldn’t know a good book if it sat on their face and wriggled. POTter makes you feel good. POTter makes you smile. POTter makes you joyous and giggly. Hell, POTter makes you want to use the word giggly. POTter is enjoyable and fun. That's enough for me. So what made the Goblet so much more addicting than the rest of the POTter I had tried. Part of it was that I had already seen the movies (up through Order of the Phoenix) before I got my hands on genuine POTter. The first 3 were fun but I felt like I had already "been there done that" as they were pretty faithfully adaptated for the screen. Still enjoyable, but not enough to put the POTter monkey on my back. Then came the Goblet of POTter and it was a big, huge, tightly-rolled fatty at 750 pages. The cut, diluted movie strain couldn’t hope to be as potent as the primo original and the story was finally given the room to breathe and take on an epic feel. It was completely addictive. The world-building details started coming fast and furious and the characters were given considerably increased depth. Add that to Rowling’s breezy, “ear friendly” prose and I found myself spaced out for hours turning the pages and still hungering for more. It’s high praise indeed when I say that 750 pages did not contain a single dull, ploddy moment. This was fun and wonderful and a pleasure to experience. It deserves to be recognized for the iconic work that it is in the realm of YA fantasy. Is it popcorn? Certainly. Is it a joy to read? Definitely. Is it one I HIGHLY RECOMMEND to all lovers of feel good, comfort food? YES. 5.0 stars. Winner: Hugo Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (2001) Nominee: Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel (2001) Nominee: Bram Stoker Award (YA) for Best Novel (2001)
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    June 26, 2010
    Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas To You SO I HAVE A FEW NOTES ON THIS ONE:-at the beginning, Voldemort says to Wormtail, "I will allow you to perform an essential task for me, one that many of my followers would give their right hands to perform..." OMG J.K. ROWLING FORESHADOWS EVERYTHINGGGG-when the Weasley men come to Privet Drive through the Dursleys' fireplace is just.... priceless. Yet ANOTHER scene that I wish had made it into the movie.-We get to meet Bill in this book (way e Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas To You SO I HAVE A FEW NOTES ON THIS ONE:-at the beginning, Voldemort says to Wormtail, "I will allow you to perform an essential task for me, one that many of my followers would give their right hands to perform..." OMG J.K. ROWLING FORESHADOWS EVERYTHINGGGG-when the Weasley men come to Privet Drive through the Dursleys' fireplace is just.... priceless. Yet ANOTHER scene that I wish had made it into the movie.-We get to meet Bill in this book (way earlier than in the movies, I might add), and Mrs. Weasley is very disapproving of how Bill looks. I love that Bill stood up for himself and was like NOBODY GIVE AN F HOW I LOOK, AND NEITHER DO IIIIII. It was a nice thing to throw in there.-Dobby is also in this book more, and seeing how different he is was really fun.-Harry and Ron fighting made my heart hurt so much.-All of the drama at the Yule Ball just made me SQUEEE because it's so obvious that Ron and Hermione like each other and they just don't want to admit it and GAH. THE FEELS.-I also love how much Hermione stands up for what she believes in, which you can particularly see in this book. She wants justice for the house-elves, she won't let Ron get away with being an idiot (like when he says he just wants a pretty girl to go to the ball with), and she is especially confident in this book as well. Malfoy and many other people are constantly teasing her, but she is completely above it, and for that I admire her.-WHEN HARRY IS LISTENING TO HAGRID AND MADAME MAXIME AND HE SEES THE BEETLE? IMAGINE IF HE HAD JUST STEPPED ON IT? WOULDN'T THAT HAVE BEEN GREAT?-I completely forgot about the part where Harry sees Barty Crouch on the Marauders Map! He was so close to finding out something big, but then things got crazy and he didn't, but WHOA. SO CLOSE. -Cedric's death hit me a lot harder than it ever has before... He was such an amazing person, and I wish that he could have survived so him and Harry could have been buddies.-VOLDEMORT FORESHADOWS HORCRUXES IN THIS BOOK. TWO MORE BOOKS UNTIL HARRY ACTUALLY LEARNS THOUGH.ok so I think it's safe to say that this is one of my favorites in the series for sure. Probably in the top 3.
    more
  • Riley
    August 17, 2013
    This one is still my favorite!
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    December 5, 2016
    Best one so far! "Remember, if the time should come when you have to make a choice between what is right and what is easy, remember what happened to the boy who was good, was kind, and brave, because he strayed across the path of Lord Voldemort. Remember Cedric Diggory."
    more
  • Kai
    April 2, 2015
    “Differences of habit and language are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open.”There are so many chapters and characters and details that make this book special. Here are some of my favourites:1. S.P.E.W.2. Hermione in every scene ever3. The house elves and the kitchen scenes (I'm honestly so in love with the kitchens. Every time they tickle the pear in the portrait I get all excited)4. Durmstrang and Beauxbatons5. The Yule Ball and the fact that Harry thinks Hermione i “Differences of habit and language are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open.”There are so many chapters and characters and details that make this book special. Here are some of my favourites:1. S.P.E.W.2. Hermione in every scene ever3. The house elves and the kitchen scenes (I'm honestly so in love with the kitchens. Every time they tickle the pear in the portrait I get all excited)4. Durmstrang and Beauxbatons5. The Yule Ball and the fact that Harry thinks Hermione is a girl he's never seen before6. The fact that Ron has a huge crush on Krum while Hermione stays utterly unimpressed and as soon as Krum takes her to the ball the situation changes, Hermione likes Krum and Ron rips him (well, miniature him) apart7. Harry's fight with Ron. Not because I enjoy them fighting but because Jo perfectly captures the feeling of anger and frustration that I have everytime I'm in a similiar situation.8. The Wonky Feint. I'm still laughing.9. Rita Skeeter's reports. I love to hate her.10. Severus Snape cold bloodedly claiming he can't see a difference when Hermione's teeth are half a metre longer than usual. This incredible man.11. Molly Weasley being such a good mom to Harry. Got tears in my eyes just thinking about it.12. Hermione's triumph over a vicious beetle.Still, the book is not my favourite in the series, the reason being the horrible graveyard scene in the end. It's just a little too much to take for my poor Potter heart.
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    October 27, 2012
    في سوريا والعراق ظهر قادة الدولة الإسلامية "داعش" يغزون مدنهما يخرجون من ليس منهم,من ليس "إسلاميا" مثلهم من بيوتهم ومدنهم… يقتلون وينحرون رأس من يقف أمامهم, من يختلف عنهم في الدين أو المذهب وحتي الرأي أحيانا..من ليس مثلهم لا يحق له العيش في الدول التي يفتحونها أو ينتووا فتحهاوعلي مقربة منهم ,مكانيا, في فلسطين هناك الصهاينة ,يتغلغلون بأراضيها يخرجون من ليس منهم, من ليس يهوديا صهيونيا من بيوتهم واراضيهم..يقتلون ويقصفون بيوت من يقف أمامهم ,من ليس صهيونيا أو يهوديا هو أقل منهم شئنا...هم الساميون أسم في سوريا والعراق ظهر قادة الدولة الإسلامية "داعش" يغزون مدنهما يخرجون من ليس منهم,من ليس "إسلاميا" مثلهم من بيوتهم ومدنهم… يقتلون وينحرون رأس من يقف أمامهم, من يختلف عنهم في الدين أو المذهب وحتي الرأي أحيانا..من ليس مثلهم لا يحق له العيش في الدول التي يفتحونها أو ينتووا فتحهاوعلي مقربة منهم ,مكانيا, في فلسطين هناك الصهاينة ,يتغلغلون بأراضيها يخرجون من ليس منهم, من ليس يهوديا صهيونيا من بيوتهم واراضيهم..يقتلون ويقصفون بيوت من يقف أمامهم ,من ليس صهيونيا أو يهوديا هو أقل منهم شئنا...هم الساميون أسما وصفا والباقي مجرد حقارة لا يحق لهم العيش في الأراضي التي يحتلوهاوعلي مقربة منهم,زمنيا, بأقل من قرنا من الزمان كان الفوهرر الالماني هتلر النازي يحاول بيد اليهود كلهم...فهو يراهم بشرا دمهم أقل أهمية من دماءه النازية الطاهرة...ويريد القضاء علي وجودهم في أوروبا كلها يقصف بيوتهم ومدنهم...ليفرض سيطرة الدماء النازية بأوروباوفي أرض أخري أبعد شيئا ما, وزمنا يعود حوالي 3 قرون الي الوراء...كان الرجل الأبيض يقتل الرجل الأحمر, يخرجه من بيوته واراضيه لأنه أقل منه...لأنه لا يعرف رب الرجل الأبيض وبالتالي لا يحق له العيش..في القارة التي اكتشفها الرجل الأبيض ...الرجل الأبيض الذي سيستعين لاحقا بالرجل الأسود لمساعدة في بناء قارة كاملة ولكنه ايضا يحتقره ويسئ معاملته, فالملونون ليسوا بنقاء الرجل الأبيض..فلا يحق لهم العيشونعود للأراضي المقدسة مرة أخري,وبضع قرون أخري للوراء..حيث الحملة الصليبية تقتل أي مخالف لهم في الدين والعقيدة لتطهر الأراضي المقدسة من "الدنس"...فهؤلاء الكفار من المسلمين واليهود لا مكان لهم بها, يجب تطهير القدس منهمالأمر قد يأخذ مننا قرون لحكي كل هذا...ولكن لننهي هذا الحديث بأقدم قصة موثقة ..في مصر الفرعونية حيث الفرعون يري هو وسحرته والفراعنة القدماء أنقي دماءا من بني إسرائيل ويعاملهم كالعبيد ليس لهم حق الحرية..إما عبيدا له او ليرحلوا عن البلاد,او يقتلواولكن ما دخل كل هذا بهاري بوتر؟ وبالأخص هذا الجزء؟حسنا لمعرفة الأجابة واكثر بمقال هذه كانت مقدمته، هوأخترنا لك 8 - الولد الذي واجهه العنصريةوهي أستكمال للمقال الأولأخترنا لك 7 - الولد الذي قام بأنقلاب في تاريخ الأدبأتمني أن يحوز علي أعجابكم أن شاء اللهمحمد العربيفي 25 نوفمبر 2014ساقوم بتفريغ المقالات هنا بشكل مختلف تباعا
    more
  • Aj the Ravenous Reader
    February 13, 2016
    Normally, I congratulate myself for finishing a 500 + page novel but after reading 734 pages of this book, my only reaction was “How could it already be over?”The more I read Harry Potter, the harder I fall in love with J.K. Rowling. I couldn’t grasp how she could make this most fantastic series with the most complex and most expertly planned out plot, you could tell she was so sure of the story the moment she started writing the first book. Her attention to detail is more than impressive and th Normally, I congratulate myself for finishing a 500 + page novel but after reading 734 pages of this book, my only reaction was “How could it already be over?”The more I read Harry Potter, the harder I fall in love with J.K. Rowling. I couldn’t grasp how she could make this most fantastic series with the most complex and most expertly planned out plot, you could tell she was so sure of the story the moment she started writing the first book. Her attention to detail is more than impressive and the diversity and the realness of her characters are just unbelievable. Every single character (even inanimate ones) is fully developed. I am just absolutely, completely, astonished! ONTO THE RANDOM STUFF Lol higlights1. George and Fred and their skiving snack boxes. These boys are just too funny. “Maybe Harry’s next task is to attack Percy while he’s in the shower.” 2. Professor Dumbledore and his twinkling eyes.3. Hagrid and Madam Maxine- a match made in er…the mountains?4. When is Vicky short for Viktor? When Ron’s jealous. Lol.5. “Herm-own-ninny” says Krum. (Bahahaha!)6. Socks that screamed loudly when they became too smelly-Harry’s sweetest gift to Dobby.^^7. Dobby calling Ron “Wheezy!”8. Super cute Pigwidgeon being called “Pig” (Bahaha!) Grrr inducing moments/characters 1. Fleur Delacour, I am not very fond of ze way you act although I find ze way you talk fab.2. Ron, you could really be an idiot sometimes. “Caught on, have you? Took you long enough.”3. Draco, you foul creature! Don’t worry, Harry. I’ll make you a personal badge I’d wear all the time saying Harry Potter is the best. Rub the badge and it’ll change into “Harry Potter is the bestest!”4. THAT RITA SKEETER!5. He who must not be named is officially back! *shivers*6. Harry, you could be a pain sometimes, you know? All the danger signs are there. Your dreams, your scar, your name out of the goblet. Why won’t you listen to Hermione? Woah moments 1. Harry against the Horntail: Way to go, Harry!2. The triwizard tournament of course3. Basically all the tasks! Harry is awesome! 50 points to Gryffindor for answering the Sphinx’ question. Hermione moments 1. Hermione, her big heart and brain for the SPEW, I mean S.P.E.W.2. ”So basically, you’re going to take the best-looking girl who’ll have you, even if she’s completely horrible?”3. Her relentless support to Harry.4. Hermione and the Yule Ball. Sherlock thought 1. I was almost sure it’s (view spoiler)[Mr. Bagman (hide spoiler)] who was the culprit. I was terribly wrong. I’m no Sherlock after all. Crying moments1. Ron and Harry made up. (I was positively howling right along with Hermione)2. J.K. Rowling says “let the killing of noble characters begin” (view spoiler)[ Cedrick! (hide spoiler)] *wails*3. Harry and his big heart. (view spoiler)[ The twins really deserve the bag of galleons. (hide spoiler)] Let me give you a Mrs. Weasley signature rib crushing hug. A few of the many things the movie got wrong or missed to include:1. Winky & Dobby & Mr. Bagman.2. Went on ruining the mystery of the story right from the beginning. Ugh!3. Rita Skeeter’s most well deserved punishment.^^ All thanks to Hermione.^^4. Wormtail being all smug.5. Hermione’s ball dress should have been periwinkle blue! P.S. Harry's first attempt at romance happened here so it makes perfect sense that I'm posting this review on Love Day. What's more perfect is I get to greet my smart and sexy French Friend, Anna a HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope you're having the best day, my awesome friend! I was going to read something else for you but I can't keep my hands off Harry Potter. I am positively hexed. Lol.
    more
  • Darth J
    April 1, 2013
    Death had always been a major theme of these books, but Goblet of Fire was really the turning point of the whole series. Not only did Voldemort return, but we found out that the Wizarding World is much larger, and (view spoiler)[ Cedric is killed (hide spoiler)].The characters become more real yet are still stuck in flux between child and adult, which is apropos seeing as how this book is literally in the middle of the series.
    more
  • Emily Fox
    January 28, 2017
    One of my favorites!
  • Wendy Darling
    October 23, 2015
    I'm apparently the crankiest person on earth, because this was my least favorite Potter book yet. (AZKABAN being my favorite!) It's mostly because:1. There is too much tournamenting for my taste. 2. I hate the house elves. :O3. The word "quietly" is egregiously overused. It loses its effectiveness because it appears so often.4. There are moments when Harry and Ron behave like stereotypical stupid boys (I know, I know, they're 14...doesn't mean I can't be annoyed with them.)The book gets an extra I'm apparently the crankiest person on earth, because this was my least favorite Potter book yet. (AZKABAN being my favorite!) It's mostly because:1. There is too much tournamenting for my taste. 2. I hate the house elves. :O3. The word "quietly" is egregiously overused. It loses its effectiveness because it appears so often.4. There are moments when Harry and Ron behave like stereotypical stupid boys (I know, I know, they're 14...doesn't mean I can't be annoyed with them.)The book gets an extra star because the last 10 chapters were very good, though, and I loved:1. that Hermione gets a makeover, but then matter-of-factly says it's too much trouble to straighten her hair every day.2. the creepy thing in the blanket 3. Cedric! Poor brave boy. (view spoiler)[WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Maureen
    July 9, 2012
    Reread in December 2015 for #HarryXmasToYouSeriously so many things I forgot because it's so different from book to movie! It's so good still though. I loved Dobby in this book.Reread in December 2014 for #HarryXmasToYouAgain, so great. Lots of things I forgot! Like Ludo Bagman as a character, the Weasley's coming to be Harry's family for the third task, and just how things actually happen in the book since it varies in the movie. Things start to get dark after this book!
    more
  • P
    June 13, 2015
    “It is my belief... that the truth is generally preferable to lies.” Re-read - Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps up from the previous ones very well, it's the darkest book I've ever read since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Who knows ? Harry Potter grows up and becomes a boy who has to take the responsibility on his shoulders, he never wants to be selected, he never wants glory and prestige, yet the world turns against him anyway.I love that this book isn't a children's book any “It is my belief... that the truth is generally preferable to lies.” Re-read - Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps up from the previous ones very well, it's the darkest book I've ever read since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Who knows ? Harry Potter grows up and becomes a boy who has to take the responsibility on his shoulders, he never wants to be selected, he never wants glory and prestige, yet the world turns against him anyway.I love that this book isn't a children's book anymore, in my opinion, it becomes hastily intense and has more dimensions than J.K. Rowling had ever intended. She did a great job when she wrote this book, I could see her intention for the book to be a mature one and she made the right decision for doing that. I'm so pround of her and so she becomes my favorire author EVER ! “If you want to know what a man's like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” “It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.” Not only this book is full of adventures, but it hides some messages for you to discover. Isn't it the best way to teach our children via books ? Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire has everything I've asked for since the first time I read. Until now, the book is like a gem and I think of it as my treasure because it's so precious my eyes hurt to look at.Many things happen in this book such as a tragedy and deprecation, but it's the way our lives go on, right ? So I embraced this book like a teddy bear and told myself that perhaps something really bad would happen, but it's just mishaps and it would pass like a rainy day. “Remember, if the time should come when you have to make a choice between what is right and what is easy, remember what happened to a boy who was good, and kind, and brave, because he strayed across the path of Lord Voldemort. Remember Cedric Diggory.” #TeamKrumioneMore at http://goo.gl/kNcx2n
    more
  • Brina
    February 25, 2016
    This is at least the 10th time I have read Harry Potter. I feel like I am doing a disservice writing a review of this book. That being said, I usually reread the entire series around this time of year when I am waiting for spring to start. It is like revisiting an old friend and brings a warm feeling to my heart. In my last review, I equated reading Potter to warm apple pie with vanilla ice cream on top, basically the ultimate comfort read. My favorite section in this book occurs in the last 150 This is at least the 10th time I have read Harry Potter. I feel like I am doing a disservice writing a review of this book. That being said, I usually reread the entire series around this time of year when I am waiting for spring to start. It is like revisiting an old friend and brings a warm feeling to my heart. In my last review, I equated reading Potter to warm apple pie with vanilla ice cream on top, basically the ultimate comfort read. My favorite section in this book occurs in the last 150 pages. The first time I read the series it was my favorite book because of all the action and new characters. Digging deeper, I have come to love book 3 more but value book 4 as it acts like a segue to years 5-7. Harry comes face to face with Voldemort at last and leaves behind the rest of his childhood innocence. Dark times await in the near future, and Harry must keep his friends close at hand. As the Hogwarts Express leaves Hogsmeade station, we grow apprehensive of the journey that Harry has just embarked upon and look forward with excitedly to the next installment of J. K. Rowling's magical world.
    more
  • Christy
    October 8, 2016
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was my most anticipated read of the series… It’s my favorite movie (I KNOW I KNOW- the books are SO MUCH BETTER) and it’s where the books really start to get intense. Even though there was a part that brought tears to my eyes, its not as sad as whats yet to come… I feel like this book is the book of transitioning for Harry, Ron and Hermione. This is the last book of their childhood. If the movies follow the books as well as I hope, shit really starts to get r Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was my most anticipated read of the series… It’s my favorite movie (I KNOW I KNOW- the books are SO MUCH BETTER) and it’s where the books really start to get intense. Even though there was a part that brought tears to my eyes, its not as sad as whats yet to come… I feel like this book is the book of transitioning for Harry, Ron and Hermione. This is the last book of their childhood. If the movies follow the books as well as I hope, shit really starts to get real after this one. There is a lot of depth to this story, the characters and it gets a bit darker than the first three. I love the Tri-Wizard Tournament aspect and the new characters we meet. Once again, I listened to the audio book and the narration was fantastic. If you’ve never read the books before, or your a long time fan- I highly recommend these audio books. The narrator does a fantastic job. I love getting lost in the world of Harry Potter and can’t wait to read more <3
    more
  • Andie
    July 8, 2014
    I've read this series more times than I can even remember. But every time it feels like the first time all over again. There's always certain details that I forget between my re-reads and movie watching and it's great to revisit and remember why this is one of my favorites of the series. I loved how much foreshadowing is in it and knowing what's coming, certain parts just break my heart. I decided to do the audio book by Jim Dale for the first time ever. Oh my was it great! Definitely recommend I've read this series more times than I can even remember. But every time it feels like the first time all over again. There's always certain details that I forget between my re-reads and movie watching and it's great to revisit and remember why this is one of my favorites of the series. I loved how much foreshadowing is in it and knowing what's coming, certain parts just break my heart. I decided to do the audio book by Jim Dale for the first time ever. Oh my was it great! Definitely recommend it! So much love for this series!!
    more
  • emma
    January 5, 2017
    An extended version of this is up NOW at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! God, rereading this when I'm no longer post-wisdom teeth removal is wild. Who is the version of me who wrote this??-----------------------------------------4.85/5 starsAct 4 of 7, gents! And I’m stuck somewhere betwixt 4 and 5 stars for this one, so I’ll just write this review, pop on back to the beginning and smack a rating on this bad boy. (Disclaimer: I am on Hour 26 post-wisdom teeth surgery, on some painkille An extended version of this is up NOW at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! God, rereading this when I'm no longer post-wisdom teeth removal is wild. Who is the version of me who wrote this??-----------------------------------------4.85/5 starsAct 4 of 7, gents! And I’m stuck somewhere betwixt 4 and 5 stars for this one, so I’ll just write this review, pop on back to the beginning and smack a rating on this bad boy. (Disclaimer: I am on Hour 26 post-wisdom teeth surgery, on some painkillers no one should turn their nose up at, and desperate for solid food and human interaction. So in other words, bear with me, because this may be...somethin’.)Okay, let’s start with our characters. I always gotta discuss the same collection of several. Both Harry and Ron are pretty consistently eh characters for me (except in the first book, in which I really enjoyed Harry). Here, instead of being eh, I found them...annoying? It drove me absolutely insane that Harry kept procrastinating his clues - like no yeah, do your Divination homework the night it’s assigned, but please put the life-or-death clue off to the side for now. And don’t even get me started on their constant, needless bickering. Ugh. HOW ARE YOU BOTH SOMEHOW EQUALLY ANNOYING HERE?Neville, on the other hand? Cemented his status as a fave o’ mine. His backstory is great. He really deserves to be in Gryffindor, the brave li’l guy, and I just want to give him a big hug. Snape, meanwhile....Well, somehow he outdoes himself here. I just don’t know how I’m going to hold onto this rant until book 7. God, you guys, get ready for a tsunami of anger, I guess.And let’s discuss that feminist message, shall we? I, first off, love that my perhaps-all-time-favorite character Hermione gets political as hell in this one. Mad respect, girl. And for a cause that she’s laughed at for, even one that would make her life far, far easier in every means if she just backed off it! (I’m seeing some parallels to feminism here….) Plus, her defeat of Rita Skeeter, who taunted her for her appearance and reduced her meaning as a person to the boys she spent time with, is just amazing.And don’t even get me started on the representation of women in professional sports in this book! Fabulous enough that almost half of the Gryffindor quidditch team is female, but the fact that there are women competitors in the Quidditch World Cup? Amazing! There’s no underestimating the empowerment that representation lent to young, female readers who dreamed of being athletes.If only this wonderful treatment of women - and we know that Rowling is a tried-and-true feminist - extended to the Triwizard Tournament. But alas, all we get is...Fleur. Fleur’s only trait is her beauty (cough cough, reminds me of someone we know, cough cough, CHO F*CKING CHANG), she (like Rita Skeeter to Hermione) is reduced to the boys she spends time with/thereby must be flirting with (Cedric, the Ravenclaw quidditch captain), and, worst of all, she’s not a good competitor. She gives an eh performance in the first task, receives pity-points in the second, and is ignored and eliminated in the third. Ms. Rowling, my love, couldn’t she at least use her looks cunningly to distract her opponent? If you were only going to give us one girl competitor out of four, couldn’t she at least be, well, good?There were fewer stupid mistakes in this one, but there were still some. One being that somehow magic-less mermaids painted pictures of themselves on a rock...underwater. Unless they’re sourcing that fancy schmancy under-da-sea paint, they should not be able to do that. Also, the search for Sirius is never mentioned by the many (many, many, many, MANY) members of the Ministry of Magic we are CONSTANTLY seeing in this book. Or by Rita Skeeter. Which doesn’t make sense, because that search was a big f*cking deal. (And don’t you think ol’ Skeeter would want to bring up that failing when she’s writing inflammatory articles about Hogwarts and/or the Ministry?)But this comes down to the same thing all these reviews come down to: the world. Goblet of Fire gives us the biggest look into the Wizarding World since Sorcerer’s Stone (Quidditch World Cup! Triwizard Tournament! The operations of the Ministry of Magic!), and because I love looking at this world so flippin’ much (plus fewer teeny errors) I have to give this a high rating.Bottom line: definitely better than the second and third, and maybe (MAYBE!) an almost-tie for favorite-so-far with the first one. The feminism contains some mixed messages, there are a couple things that don’t make sense, and I still haven’t found a way to kill a fictional character (but when I do, watch your back, Severus). But the world, Hermione, Neville’s story, and a couple other great things overcome all that. This book rocks! Hurray!
    more
  • Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★
    September 13, 2016
    REVIEW TO COME ON SATURDAY ^^4.8 Stars " Lord Voldemort's gift for spreading discord and enmity is very great. We can fight it only by showing an equally strong bond of friendship and trust, Differences of habit and languages are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open. " My Opinion OMG!! This book! lot of things happened and I'm still in shocked. okay let's begin with Cedric Diggory. My Most Saddest Scene Cedric was a nice guy and he was really sweet and I liked him. REVIEW TO COME ON SATURDAY ^^4.8 Stars " Lord Voldemort's gift for spreading discord and enmity is very great. We can fight it only by showing an equally strong bond of friendship and trust, Differences of habit and languages are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open. " My Opinion OMG!! This book! lot of things happened and I'm still in shocked. okay let's begin with Cedric Diggory. My Most Saddest Scene Cedric was a nice guy and he was really sweet and I liked him. I was so shocked when he died because I thought he would be alive until the last book and he died so fast that I just sat on my bed and I was like " What did just happen? " I still can't believe he died in such a young age and it was all because of Voldemort. Oh! and I was so proud of Harry too! he's so kind that he suggested Cedric to hold the cup with him, So there would be two winners not only Harry or Cedric and I was so confused who I wanted to get the cup first, I liked Cedric but I also liked Harry. So I was very happy when Harry suggested that but that happiness vanished as fast as it came. The cup was a portkey and the cup transported them to Voldemort and Cedric died so fast that I didn't even cry. I was just so shocked.because what would Harry say to his parents?! and I was so worried what about if they blamed Harry for this ?!? but thankfully that didn't happen. Cedric's parents were very sad but they didn't blame Harry. They even thanked him for returning Cedric's body to them. My Favotite Scenes I think there is something change between Hermione and Ron.Ron was so mad when Hermione went to the ball with Viktor. He said it was because Viktor was from Drumstrang and he said Hermione was fraternizing with the enemy. But I still don't believe this at all. Before Hermione went to the ball with Viktor, Ron liked Viktor so much that he even wanted to get his autograph and I think he acted like that because he was jealous. hahaha. it was so funny and sweet to see Ron got jealous and there's also this scene : 'Known what?' said Ron quickly. 'You haven't been mixing up Love Potions, have you?''Don't be stupid,' Hermione snapped, starting to pound up her beetles again. ' No, it's just ... how did she know Viktor asked me to visit him over the summer?'Hermione blushed scarlet as she said this and determinedly avoided Ron's eyes. 'What?' said Ron, dropping his pestle with a loud clunk.'He asked me right after he'd pulled me out of the lake,' Hermione muttered. 'After he'd got rid of his shark's head. Madam Pomfrey gave us both blankets and then he sort of pulled me away from the judges so they wouldn't hear, and he said, if I wasn't doing anything over the summer, would I like to -''And what did you say?' said Ron, who had picked up his pestle and was grinding it on the desk, a good six inches from his bowl, because he was looking at Hermione. 'and he did say he'd never felt the same way about anyone else,'Hermione went on, going so red now that Harry could almost feel the heat coming from her, 'but how could Rita Skeeter have heard him? She wasn't there ... or was she? Maybe she has got an invisibility Cloak, maybe she sneaked into the grounds to watch the second task ...' 'And what did you say?' Ron repeated, pounding his pestle down so hard it dented the desk. 'Well, I was too busy seeing whether you and Harry were OK to -'but before she could finish that sentence Snape came. Ugh. why did he have to come when she hadn't finish it!?!? but that scene was sweet and funny wasn't it?! AHH MY HEART!! The Plot Twist The plot twist in this book was better than the plot twist in first book, second book and third book. I swear I didn't expect that at all! I thought the bad guy was Ludo Bagman because he acted so strange. He asked Harry whether he wanted his help or not and so I thought he was the bad guy. then there was a scene where Moody was the bad guy but he wasn't Moody. he was the imposter of Moody and the real Moody was imprisoned in his own trunk and this imposter was Barty Crouch's son. Thank you for reading and liking this review, guys! hope you all have a great weekend! ❤❤❤
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads
    August 27, 2012
    FINALLY ready to get back to this. I actually listened to the first 150ish pages last weekend when I was on the road, and I didn't kneel over. Of course, Snape's not been mentioned yet, so we'll see . . . *crosses fingers*
  • Susan
    September 1, 2007
    Now THAT'S a book! The groove that J.K. Rowling starts to find in HP 3 is fully realized in 4. Partly it's that the kids (and therefore the readers) are getting older so she can delve into more adult, complex themes and situations, and partly it's that I think she's really finding her voice. We finally got our very own HP's, I am happy to report, and it's so funny to look at them all side by side b/c of the HUGE leap in size between 3 and 4. Then they get a little tricky b/c while 4 and 5 look t Now THAT'S a book! The groove that J.K. Rowling starts to find in HP 3 is fully realized in 4. Partly it's that the kids (and therefore the readers) are getting older so she can delve into more adult, complex themes and situations, and partly it's that I think she's really finding her voice. We finally got our very own HP's, I am happy to report, and it's so funny to look at them all side by side b/c of the HUGE leap in size between 3 and 4. Then they get a little tricky b/c while 4 and 5 look to be about the same length, the font in Order of the Phoenix is much smaller, hence a longer book. I just started that one and it honestly feels longer already. More of a book book and less of a fun afternoon's diversion. But I like these books as they get both darker and longer.But to focus on Goblet of Fire specifically for a moment...again, not that I think I can bring anything new to the table in discussing these books. Nevertheless, I'll throw a few ideas out there just for your reading pleasure. One thing that struck me, as I mentioned before, was the increasing maturity and complexity of situations and themes. Clearly having someone die is a huge deal and I found that whole series of events really moving this time around. I may have last time as well, but I don't remember. In a way, though, some of the more complex issues feel jarring next to the goofy concepts she originally created. Calling non-magical people "Muggles," for instance. It's just a stupid word and yes, it sounds funny and makes kids laugh, but sometimes it's hard to take all these people seriously. "Mud-bloods" on the other hand is vicious and definitely drives the point home. I just wonder if she was to do it over again if some of those terms or ideas would change a bit. Yes, we'd all like to revisit what we did/wrote when we were less sure of ourselves and our voices and ideas, but of course we can't and neither can she. And what do I know? She claims she always knew what would happen to Harry, so maybe for her "Muggle" is the ideal word.Since, as usual, I find it impossible to discuss the books without referencing the films, let me just say that although I hated Dobby in the movie (2?) and was glad to see him mostly cut from subsequent screen incarnations, I really loved him in this one. The dialogue is actually quite funny and Hermione's whole S.P.E.W. thing just cracks me up. Yes, I know a lot of people hate it and find it annoying and whatever, but I love it. Of course she would have a cause like that. That's who she is! And poor Winky. They're weird creatures (and OH how I love Kreacher in the next one!) and I can't decide whether I am with Hermione or everyone else on their "plight." Either way, I like that they exist; they provide a bit of moral ambiguity in a world that is mostly cleanly divided between good and evil. You might wonder about people, but for the most part they end up squarely one or the other. Other than Snape - another great piece of moral ambiguity whose complexity grows from book to book.I also continue to marvel at Rowling's ability to write about the teenage mind. Ron and Harry's fight is spot on, as are Hermione's various reactions to it. And oh these poor boys having to ask the girls to the feast. I wish I had known when I was in middle school how truly hard it was for boys to talk to girls like that. Although I probably wouldn't have cared, being the good self-involved teenger that I was. I still want to go to Hogwarts.
    more
  • Kristina Horner
    August 17, 2016
    This book was so much darker and sadder than I remembered - the crazy thing is, Goblet of Fire was always my least favorite as a kid because between the Qudditch World Cup and the Twiwizard Tournament, I just associated it with being the "sports one". But this book has SO MUCH GOING ON and it made me feel way more feels than I remembered, and it all really hit me in ways I hadnt expected. I'm so glad Harry has Molly Weasley, and Hagrid, and so many other wonderful people in his life. I couldn't This book was so much darker and sadder than I remembered - the crazy thing is, Goblet of Fire was always my least favorite as a kid because between the Qudditch World Cup and the Twiwizard Tournament, I just associated it with being the "sports one". But this book has SO MUCH GOING ON and it made me feel way more feels than I remembered, and it all really hit me in ways I hadnt expected. I'm so glad Harry has Molly Weasley, and Hagrid, and so many other wonderful people in his life. I couldn't believe how real the argument between Dumbledore and Cornelius Fudge felt at the end, when Fudge refused to believe Voldemort was back. I had forgotten so many details about Winky's part in the book, and Rita Skeeter, and the overall delightfulness of Hermione's weird relationship with Victor. I enjoyed this reread immensely. Favorite book so far of my adult reread of Harry Potter.
    more
  • Juliana Zapata
    May 8, 2015
    Como todo el mundo me advirtió este libro estuvo más oscuro y la historia se complicó bastante. Ame leer como empieza la adolescencia de los personajes, los celos de cada uno en determinadas situaciones y la forma en que afrontaban estas situaciones.Amando profundamente la historia y a todos sus personajes, leerlos crecer ha sido maravilloso Reseña Completa: http://bastvilard.blogspot.com/2015/0...
    more
  • (9 3/4) Gerasimos
    August 10, 2012
    Harry Potter changed my life. If I hadn’t read Harry Potter when I did I would not be the same person today. What I am today, in a part is due to Harry. I cannot really say enough to make you understand how much Harry Potter means to me.
  • Katya
    October 27, 2010
    Here be warned: This review contains cursing. Greetings, loved ones, and let us talk of a young witch named Hermione Granger.Hermione is, and always has been, a delight to read. Not necessarily because she's a girl, but because she is the only character amongst those 14 year olds who actually has a good head on her shoulders. When I was young and gullible, I hated this book. Hated how it killed off Cedric and how bloody the series got afterwards. I hated it enough to renounce the franchize. Now Here be warned: This review contains cursing. Greetings, loved ones, and let us talk of a young witch named Hermione Granger.Hermione is, and always has been, a delight to read. Not necessarily because she's a girl, but because she is the only character amongst those 14 year olds who actually has a good head on her shoulders. When I was young and gullible, I hated this book. Hated how it killed off Cedric and how bloody the series got afterwards. I hated it enough to renounce the franchize. Now that I re-read it, I still hate it, but for all different reasons. Cedric, on second reading, is as dull as toast (so I guess the movie casting must have been really spot-on). Harry has finally started to shed his unnatural maturity, and has turned just as obnoxious as most boys at 13. Ron is a wanker. So it's beyond me why Hermione hasn't stolen the spotlight here, as she is easily the most relatable character of them all.Let's look at her character - she is from a muggle family, but through hard work she has become the best student in the school. She studies hard, follows the rules, but makes exceptions when the circumstances are right. She comes off as stuck-up at first, but looks after her friends. She keeps her promises, even though she barely has time to take care of herself. And yet Ron is Harry's best friend, not her.Why?Harry and Ron are much closer than Harry and Hermione. In the previous book, Hermione was at odds with the boys not one, but twice, and that put a serious hinge on their friendship. Even so, that doesn't nearly come close to the drama that follows Harry and Ron's falling out in this book. And then, when they do make up, Hermione is once again pushed back as a tercery best friend, even though she sacrificed her efforts and sleep in order to help Harry learn a spell that would save his skinny ass.Hermione is defined by her intelligence. It falls squarely on her shoulders to help the guys when they're in a pickle - whenever they discover that rushing at an obstackle headfirst isn't going to cut it, they turn to her for advice, and she's also acutely aware of issues of inequality. In this book, she actually starts an organisation to help house elves! She stands up for Hagrid when Rita Skeeter takes a sling at him, and she kept Lupin's secret for months in book three simply because she believed he was a good guy! And where do her efforts to promote equality lead to? They're used for comedic relief.It's equally disgusting how little the boys seem to appreciate her. Not only do they refuse to take her seriously, they consider she's for granted. I mean, sure, Harry has lived with his relatives as an upper middle class brat (a much abused middle class brat), but Hermione's parents are dentists and yet she has a better awareness of social issues than he does! Is Rowling trying to suggest that young activism is only for women, because only women seem aware of these issues?But that's not even the worst this book gets. On the Yule Ball, Harry and Ron take ages before they realize Hermione is a girl, and thus, qualified to be a dance partner (obiously, they can't go with each other, altough it would be most logical, what with all the sparks flying among them). Hermione, though, refuses to be taken for granted. She knows she deserves better than to be a go-to girl, and she does - she gets to be Viktor Krum's date, and she damn well got someone who appreciates her! But are her friends happy for her? No, they're shocked, and in Ron's case, offended, that she dared *gasp* make plans without them! Ron goes as far as to make a scene - in which he (not for the first time) makes Hermione cry. This was supposed to establish some beginnings of the love between Hermione and Ron, but, quite frankly, it just makes Ron look like a wanker. After Rita Skeeter's article, Hermione becomes the target for bullying which, in some cases, turns rather dangerous. Grown-up witches send her hate mail packed with all sorts of deadly stuff, one of which makes the skin of her hands fall off. Ron's commentary? She should have seen it coming, messing around with the paparazzi like that. I bet the bumrag was happy she got punished for liking Krum. But that's not even what's most disturbing about this thing - it's that witches who have never even met Hermione before are willing to take Skeeter's word for it, even if the woman's as trustworthy as a snake. Even Mrs. Weasley, whose own husband got blackened twice in "The Daily Prophet", believes her! Nice message for female solidarity, Ms Rowling, real subtle.Again, I ask, why can't Hermione be the hero of these series? I don't think I'm alone in thinking it could be so much better.
    more
  • Inge
    September 12, 2011
    Could you be any more perfect?
  • Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!*
    February 18, 2011
    7/1/16:Finished my re-read! .... God this one really took me forever. It's so long. But it's still one of my favorites! Might write a better review at some point. Old review under the cut. -------(view spoiler)[Original review (4/9/11):Ack! I am hopelessly behind on book reviews. I read this, like, two weeks ago and I've read four other books since then. I am a bad little book reviewer *bashes head against wall* Although, it's not like a ton of people read my reviews, I guess. I just like writin 7/1/16:Finished my re-read! .... God this one really took me forever. It's so long. But it's still one of my favorites! Might write a better review at some point. Old review under the cut. -------(view spoiler)[Original review (4/9/11):Ack! I am hopelessly behind on book reviews. I read this, like, two weeks ago and I've read four other books since then. I am a bad little book reviewer *bashes head against wall* Although, it's not like a ton of people read my reviews, I guess. I just like writing them because it makes me feel smarter-er. :)So yeah, HARRY FREAKING POTTER. If you haven't been reading my reviews of the past three books––yes, I'm reading them for the first time. I know, shocking. Whenever people see me reading them at school they're like, "Haha, reading Harry Potter again?" and I'm like "Meep … This is the first time." And everyone's like, "WHAAAAAAAAT?!" *cowers* I know, I know. I'm terribly behind on the times.Well, anyway. As for actually reviewing this thing.This was definitely my favorite so far. Without a doubt. I liked the first three, but not as much. In the first three, I had some issues with pacing and the writing style, etc. The first was really rushed, the second was better, the third was good but only really addicting toward the end ... But this one, I was hooked pretty much the entire time. I tend to be skeptical of chunky books, but I think this one benefited from being long––and the first two definitely could have benefited from being longer, since they both involved a lot of events in rapid succession that could have used some down-time in between.So yeah, this one was epic. The plot was fast-paced but not confusing-fast as it was in the earlier books. There was more action, the characters were developed a lot more (I like them waaaay better now), and the over-all mood was darker and more intriguing. Kind of exhausting to read, being so long, but after taking a short break I'm eager to keep reading. :) I guess the only small issue I still have is that there's always some kind of "BWA HAHA!" speech at the end of every book. That is, there's a lot of mystery in each book and lots of little clues, and at the end someone has to bother explaining how it all worked out for, like, ten pages ... It's like one of those action movies where the villain ties down the hero and says, "I BET YOU'LL NEVER GUESS HOW I MANAGED TO ACCOMPLISH ALL THIS. MWA HA HA!" And it's like ... Yes, you're very clever. But I think in reality you'd just kill him ... Ah, well. It all has to get explained somehow.Anyway, I LURVE IT. Time to read the next three. :) (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kiki
    July 12, 2015
    I feel like I've been stabbed. Right in the feels. There are tear stains all over the last 60 pages.Jesus, I need to take a nap for a year after that.
  • Evgeny
    July 31, 2012
    Harry Potter's fourth year at Hogwarts. His enemies still want to kill him (what else is new?) and this time they use a very elaborate scheme to do just that. Poor Boy Who Lived have to fight ever more difficult challenges on the top of his ever more difficult classes.In case somebody still did not get a clue that the series left children book territory in the end of the previous book, this one begins with a chapter seemingly taken straight from an adult horror story instead of showing Harry's m Harry Potter's fourth year at Hogwarts. His enemies still want to kill him (what else is new?) and this time they use a very elaborate scheme to do just that. Poor Boy Who Lived have to fight ever more difficult challenges on the top of his ever more difficult classes.In case somebody still did not get a clue that the series left children book territory in the end of the previous book, this one begins with a chapter seemingly taken straight from an adult horror story instead of showing Harry's misery with his life with his adoptive parents as was always the case before. The said misery starts in the second chapter. This novel is also practically as big as the first three put together.The structure of the book looks strange if you stop the (exciting) read and think about it. The beginning and the end of it are quite gloomy and contain some horror elements while the middle part is actually quite humorous and lighthearted at times. Surprisingly it actually works. We finally got to see other schools of wizardry, their headmasters and some of their pupils. Some new fascinating (both in good and bad sense) and important people are introduced. Some interesting people/creatures are back (go Dobby!!!). Good people die. No resolution is in sight by the end and the situation became much worth than it was in the beginning. Somebody mentioned that in this book the reader gets to live in Hogwarts; I missed this the first time around rushing through all the excitement of the events, but I noticed this during the reread. The freaking School of Wizardry feels alive and real! This is not a small feat of the author. This is also the reason I gave the higher rating this time. Harry Potter: read it; experience it; live it.
    more
Write a review