Make It Bigger
An outspoken voice in the world of graphic design for more than twenty years, Paul Scher has developed a worldwide reputation for her bold, modern graphics and her incisive critiques of the design profession.

Make It Bigger Details

TitleMake It Bigger
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 8th, 2005
PublisherPrinceton Architectural Press
ISBN1568985487
ISBN-139781568985480
Number of pages272 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Nonfiction, Art, Biography, Art Design

Make It Bigger Review

  • Leslie
    April 2, 2008
    I was expecting just a monograph (lots of pictures of design projects) and was surprised but happy to find a great deal of very blunt writing about the ups and downs of working for difficult clients and in power-struggle-ridden corporate hierarchies. Good read so far, and very surprising design work.
    more
  • Lori
    March 31, 2008
    I love it when famous designers share their stories, including bad moments. It makes me feel less lonely ;-)
  • Jenna
    July 15, 2015
    An inspiring collection of anecdotes and artwork from the career of an innovative designer. As design student, you don't often get to learn about famous female designers. This was such a treat! I am so glad that I took the time to get to know Scher's work. This book was a joy to read and will serve as a reminder to reinvigorate and reinvent my own designs as I enter the workforce.
    more
  • Iancu Barbarasa
    December 28, 2010
    One of the best books to read if you're new in the field or just want to learn how a designer's career feels like.
  • Viktoriya Tsoy
    October 1, 2014
    It was a terrific read. It truly makes Paula more human and not just a praised design celebrity. There's some great advice about the business part of the design world that many don't see until getting there. Paula has an interesting story to tell which many can learn from. It was a surprisingly fast read with beautiful reproductions of Paula's work along with some fun diagrams which Paula uses to describe structural aspects of design.
    more
  • Nicoleta
    August 2, 2016
    Brilliant book which lets you take a peak at Paula Scher's thinking and activity throughout the years. Has lots of examples of her work as well as practical advice on how to deal with the politics of being a graphic designer. Absolutely love it!
  • R.Friend
    August 20, 2007
    Terrific overview of work from one of the most influential and respected designers in the business. My only complaint? It wasn't big enough. ;) Scher's wonderful work easily could have warranted a larger volume.
  • Katie
    March 5, 2008
    i honestly think that paula scher (maybe along with tibor kalman for colors) is the first designer i was ever enamored with. when her public theater and stomp posters went up in the 90s, that might have been a seminal moment.
  • Meiqimichelle
    November 1, 2012
    Loved it loved it loved it (and, naturally, while reading did actually have a client as me to 'make it bigger'). Great insight into what it is like to work in the design field, and in particular how to manage office politics. Full of quotes and kindness.
    more
  • Ellen
    June 2, 2008
    Paula Scher is the most influential woman designer on earth. This book shows why. It's a designer's monograph with real content and purpose.
  • Sarah
    June 3, 2008
    Eye-opening look at design. Records to posters to environmental.
  • Wendi
    December 25, 2008
    My favorite designer!
  • Taylor Palmer
    September 19, 2014
    There is some good career advice contained herein, but I got a bit bored with it.
  • Lisa
    June 26, 2007
    it's nice to know that the most successful female gd-er the us has yet to produce hate her job at the begining...
  • Keight
    November 8, 2008
    Link to booklog
  • Tony
    May 25, 2008
    This book made me quit my corporate job because it was impossible to get through the layers. Ironically, I checked the book out from that same corporation’s library. Awesome.
Write a review