What Lies Between Us
Nina can never forgive Maggie for what she did. And she can never let her leave.They say every house has its secrets, and the house that Maggie and Nina have shared for so long is no different. Except that these secrets are not buried in the past.Every other night, Maggie and Nina have dinner together. When they are finished, Nina helps Maggie back to her room in the attic, and into the heavy chain that keeps her there. Because Maggie has done things to Nina that can’t ever be forgiven, and now she is paying the price.But there are many things about the past that Nina doesn’t know, and Maggie is going to keep it that way—even if it kills her.Because in this house, the truth is more dangerous than lies.

What Lies Between Us Details

TitleWhat Lies Between Us
Author
ReleaseMay 15th, 2020
PublisherThomas & Mercer
ISBN-139781542017022
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Fiction, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Adult, Adult Fiction, Crime, Contemporary

What Lies Between Us Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT THE HELL I JUST READ!??HOLY COW(thats me!) News flash: Renee Zellwegers Big Picture Co/ MGM TV production company bought the movie rights of the book! OMG I cannot wait to watch this batshit crazy train ride on big screen!What a breath taking, captivating, pitch black dark, dazzling, devious and intense, soul crushing mother and daughter story!I havent read something so scary, disturbing for so long! The growing tension from the beginning, those sick and shocking twists and revelation you WHAT THE HELL I JUST READ!??HOLY COW(that’s me!) News flash: Renee Zellweger’s Big Picture Co/ MGM TV production company bought the movie rights of the book! OMG I cannot wait to watch this batshit crazy train ride on big screen!🥳🥳🥳What a breath taking, captivating, pitch black dark, dazzling, devious and intense, soul crushing mother and daughter story!I haven’t read something so scary, disturbing for so long! The growing tension from the beginning, those sick and shocking twists and revelation you find out at each chapter and that epic ending made me get an urgent appointment from hospital. My grey cells burned after over usage so I need an urgent transplant now! Yes, Mr. Marrs, my chin dropped! My eyes popped out of my sockets, my hands are shaky, actually my entire body was shaky and everybody is taking I’m the worse break-dancer. And something smells so bad! No, it’s coming from me. Oh no! Nooooo!!!It can’t be! What have I done!!!OMG! In the middle of my reading I found myself acting like Regan from Exorcist making spider walk, climbing backwards from the stairs and my head spinning. (Thankfully my vomit color is not green. Not yet! I hate kale and spinach!)That was true expression and quiet real reflection of my feelings: I was terrified! And you know what I’m not easily scared of anything instead of my image in the morning and my husband’s snoring sound louder than cumulative ten T-rex screaming! But let me tell you something, when I reach the end, my spine was already tingling and there were at least 15 teeth bites on my arm (nope, my dogs are innocent, I did to myself because I have no longer nails which is more disgusting image you may ever imagine.) I was so close to scream for help but I also lost my voice (Yes, in the beginning of the book I already used my right to screaming louder till my sister in-law shoved a sock into my mouth (And it was my husband dirty sock! So yes there are things in the world scarier than waterboarding.)Without giving too much spoilers I may only say this book’s story is definition of borderline personality disorder and unfortunately Maggie (mother) who is chained at the attic of her own house to pay for her sins and things she’s done to her daughter. (As Chris Isaak sings baby did a bad bad thing! Oh actually she did too many bad things! But I have to stop there not to ruin the surprises and bombs the author leaves into our laps and runs away!) And sweet Nina, at the end of her thirties, librarian is guardian and judge of her own mother’s slow punishment and execution.Do you want to know why they built this sick relationship? Why Nina’s father leave without saying goodbye? Why Nina is so fragile around little children? Is Maggie innocent victim or pure evil needs to be behind the bars? Can she escape and save herself from captivation?There are so many twists, so many revelations you cannot foresee their coming! You feel like punching several times from supernatural forces and crying like a baby to make it stop! Sorry our author is evil genius and he keeps sending more bombs and destroys your safe space.Overall: Sometimes I felt suffocated from tension so I cut only half star but it is still 4.5 rounded up to 5 stars reading for me. I adore this author’s riveting, captivating style. He never ever disappoints me!Special thanks to NetGalley and Amazon Publishing UK for sharing this special ARC for me in exchange my honest review. So cheers my friends!bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    John Marrs has done it again! Holy cow, has he done it again.Maggie and Nina are co-dependent, co-habitating and co-existing but the hatred between them throbs like a pulse. What terrible history has led Nina to chain Maggie up in her attic??More twisted than my hair in the morning, this book is SO good that I simply could not adult until I had finished it. This book is all anyone will be talking about in May!!Thank you to John Marrs, Amazon Publishing UK and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in John Marrs has done it again! Holy cow, has he done it again.Maggie and Nina are co-dependent, co-habitating and co-existing but the hatred between them throbs like a pulse. What terrible history has led Nina to chain Maggie up in her attic??More twisted than my hair in the morning, this book is SO good that I simply could not adult until I had finished it. This book is all anyone will be talking about in May!!Thank you to John Marrs, Amazon Publishing UK and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Everybody hop aboard the crazy train! First stop: Dysfunction Junction! Oh my, I'm not sure what to say about this one. This book is so bonkers and so entertaining that it was hard to look away from my kindle. I'm not going to discuss the plot because there is a minefield of spoilers to tip toe around if I do. I loved The Good Samaritan by this author but Her Last Move was a DNF for me and Passengers I didn't bother to request because I just knew it wasn't my jam. But this one! Oh yes, this one Everybody hop aboard the crazy train! First stop: Dysfunction Junction! Oh my, I'm not sure what to say about this one. This book is so bonkers and so entertaining that it was hard to look away from my kindle. I'm not going to discuss the plot because there is a minefield of spoilers to tip toe around if I do. I loved The Good Samaritan by this author but Her Last Move was a DNF for me and Passengers I didn't bother to request because I just knew it wasn't my jam. But this one! Oh yes, this one is on par with The Good Samaritan and a reminder as to why I love these twisty psych thrillers. Well done! 4 *You can't pick your family* Stars! Thank you to NetGalley and Amazon Publishing UK for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • preoccupiedbybooks
    January 1, 1970
    Update 25/2/20:Renee Zellweger acquires TV rightsA dark, twisty tale of two women with secrets and a very complicated relationship! Why is Nina keeping her mother in the attic? Why does she hate her so much?Gosh this book was dark! Maybe a little too dark for me? John Marrs you have a twisted mind 😂Filled with unlikeable, dysfunctional characters, secrets, lies and disturbing choices, 'What Lies Between Us' had a malevolent feel to it, which chilled me. The characters, with their co-dependency, Update 25/2/20:Renee Zellweger acquires TV rightsA dark, twisty tale of two women with secrets and a very complicated relationship! Why is Nina keeping her mother in the attic? Why does she hate her so much?Gosh this book was dark! Maybe a little too dark for me? John Marrs you have a twisted mind 😂Filled with unlikeable, dysfunctional characters, secrets, lies and disturbing choices, 'What Lies Between Us' had a malevolent feel to it, which chilled me. The characters, with their co-dependency, got under my skin, and left me feeling anxious and quite sad. Told from two character's pov, Maggie, and her daughter Nina in flashbacks over the last 25 years, and in the present, this story was so addictive, I just couldn't look away! I was a little disappointed that I predicted some of the major plot twists, they felt a bit obvious to me?! I also had some issues with the police or lack of.. But the writing was strong enough to make me read on, to see if was correct! I definitely prefer John Marrs's more sci-fi books like 'The One' and 'The Passengers' but this book undoubtedly had me on edge! Also the cover is hauntingly good! Recommended if you want a dark, crazy read! I now need a light fluffy book and a hug please! --------------------------------------------------------------------Yesssss! Thank you so much to Netgalley UK and Amazon Publishing UK for my digital ARC! I can't wait to see what John Marrs comes up with now! *fist pumps and dances around*
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    4.5*Over the course of my reading career, (passion, hobby!) Ive come across some seriously bizarre characters. Folks, these two take home the grand prize!💁♀John Marrs is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. You just cant predict what youre in for when cracking open up one of his books. But what you will be guaranteed is one doozy of a thriller that will seriously mess with your mind! And in John Marrs latest, he brings that same magic again! Mother and daughter. There is no other 4.5*Over the course of my reading career, (passion, hobby!) I’ve come across some seriously bizarre characters. Folks, these two take home the grand prize!💁🏻♀️John Marrs is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. You just can’t predict what you’re in for when cracking open up one of his books. But what you will be guaranteed is one doozy of a thriller that will seriously mess with your mind! And in John Marrs latest, he brings that same magic again! Mother and daughter. There is no other relationship like it on the planet. At times it can be a fine line between love and hate. John Marrs molds this relationship, twists and weaves it into something that will positively leave you reeling! As the perspectives and timelines shift between the mother and daughter, so did my sympathies! Like watching a tennis match! To the point where I felt I was in jeopardy of getting whiplash. Relentlessly stubborn, neither woman letting up for even a moment!If you are a fan of John Marrs...and seriously, how can you not be!? Don’t miss this latest release! Everyone will be chatting this one up over the summer! They already are! A fabulous buddy read with Susanne that we both loved!Thank you to NetGalley, Amazon Publishing UK and John Marrs.
    more
  • Peter
    January 1, 1970
    VengeanceWhat Lies Between Us is a dark psychological thriller that will disturb your concept of a mother and daughter relationship. What has happened to have caused such a lingering hatred? To smile and engage with light conversation while underneath scheming with violent thoughts that will shock to the core.Maggie is an elderly woman who spends her days in an attic bedroom and through a shuttered window she has a limited view of the outside world. For over two and a half years she has lived VengeanceWhat Lies Between Us is a dark psychological thriller that will disturb your concept of a mother and daughter relationship. What has happened to have caused such a lingering hatred? To smile and engage with light conversation while underneath scheming with violent thoughts that will shock to the core.Maggie is an elderly woman who spends her days in an attic bedroom and through a shuttered window she has a limited view of the outside world. For over two and a half years she has lived like this. “The longer I spend at this window, the more I realise I’m becoming like Jeff, the wheelchair-bound character James Stewart plays in the film Rear Window. Like him, I have little choice but to spend my days spying on my neighbours. Jeff thinks he has witnessed the murder of one of his neighbours. But the only thing dying in this street is me. And nobody knows that but my daughter.” Maggie is chained to a spike in the floor that enables her to access everything in her bedroom but not beyond. Every second evening she gets chained to a longer chain that allows her down one flight of stairs to the bathroom and dinner with her daughter Nina. John Marrs creates two protagonists that he develops with skill throughout the novel and each tells the story from their perspective. The family background with Maggie and Nina, and the incidents which led to this highly caustic situation are slowly revealed. The suspense of the unknown and which character is the most dangerous and cruel is maintained with wonderful complex switching of suspicion between the two. “But I no longer allow her to witness how her cruelty upsets me. Maybe I’ve been taking the wrong approach.”Marrs does captivate with his threads of action, drama and manipulation. This is a page-turner with a wonderful pace set throughout the novel. The biggest issue for me was the believability on how this scenario developed. I can normally suspend belief when the thriller suspense is as riveting as this, but this issue constantly nagged at the back of my mind. This was a buddy read with Beata and this issue became our main discussion area. At this stage with Beata, we both know each other so well that we wait with a smile knowing how the other is going to react to the author’s intent and their delivery with possible plot holes. I need to try more John Marrs because he certainly knows how to hook a reader and I appreciate how he enthrals his readers. I would recommend this book and I would like to thank Amazon Publishing and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC copy in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 StarsWoah! Talk about Nuts.. or rather Dysfunction!! And I mean Family Dysfunction! John Marrs knows how to grab the readers attention:A mother and daughter, whose relationship is well... absolutely Bonkers! Thats a nice way of saying it, if Im being completely honest. Its so dysfunctional that you cant tear your eyes away. A myriad of thoughts went through my head while reading What Lies Between Us by John Marrs and I desperately want to spill all, yet that would spoil the surprise. I will 4.25 StarsWoah! Talk about Nuts.. or rather Dysfunction!! And I mean Family Dysfunction! John Marrs knows how to grab the reader’s attention:A mother and daughter, whose relationship is well... absolutely Bonkers! That’s a nice way of saying it, if I’m being completely honest. It’s so dysfunctional that you can’t tear your eye’s away. A myriad of thoughts went through my head while reading “What Lies Between Us” by John Marrs and I desperately want to spill all, yet that would spoil the surprise. I will say that I read this and I felt, shock, awe and disgust and yet, I kept reading. This is dark, demented and so twisted that it’s utterly fantastic. For those of you that are looking to be entertained for a few hours, this is a must read.This was another fabulous buddy read with Kaceey! SO glad we read this one together.Thanks to Amazon Publishing UK and John Marrs for the arc.Published on NetGalley and Goodreads on 2.29.20.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsHoly Hell in a Handbag! Crazy, but that's how it goesMillions of people living as foesMaybe it's not too lateTo learn how to love and forget how to hateMental wounds not healingLife's a bitter shameI'm going off the rails on a crazy trainI'm going off the rails on a crazy train - Ozzy OsbourneFirst off, I think Nina should have been listening to Ozzy instead of ABBA. But that's a whole other crazy train.Home. It should be a safe place, a place of tranquility, for family time, for rest, 4.5 starsHoly Hell in a Handbag! Crazy, but that's how it goesMillions of people living as foesMaybe it's not too lateTo learn how to love and forget how to hateMental wounds not healingLife's a bitter shameI'm going off the rails on a crazy trainI'm going off the rails on a crazy train - Ozzy OsbourneFirst off, I think Nina should have been listening to Ozzy instead of ABBA. But that's a whole other crazy train.Home. It should be a safe place, a place of tranquility, for family time, for rest, for love, for nurturing. But it can also be a prison, just ask Maggie. Maggie and her daughter Nina live together in their family home. Every other night they have dinner together. While Nina bee bops around to ABBA, Maggie has a chain around her ankle. Nina keeps Maggie chained up in the attic, but why? This was on whacked out thoroughly enjoyable tale about secrets, lies and the unforgivable.This was a fun page turner for me and although, I figured out one thing, it still shocked me with others. This has some twists, turns and revelations that kept me completely glued to the pages. This was a crazy ride and I loved every inch of it. I can't wait to see what John Mars thinks up next.Thank you to Amazon Publishing UK and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Brenda -Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Alright, Friends, you know I am going to say it! Hot Diggity Dang, that was good!!! This is one page-turner and I flew through it so fast it's surprising that my Kobo didn't need some cooling downtime. John Marrs joined us in the Behind the Pages group to answer our spoiler-free questions about What Lies Between Us, his books and his writing process. You can find the thread to the Q&A here https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...My reviewWhat Lies Between Us is an exciting original, Alright, Friends, you know I am going to say it! Hot Diggity Dang, that was good!!! This is one page-turner and I flew through it so fast it's surprising that my Kobo didn't need some cooling downtime. John Marrs joined us in the Behind the Pages group to answer our spoiler-free questions about What Lies Between Us, his books and his writing process. You can find the thread to the Q&A here https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...My reviewWhat Lies Between Us is an exciting original, entertaining read with one fascinatingly dark warped and twisted relationship here, between Mother and Daughter Maggie and Nina. John Marrs creates an intriguing and terrifying situation here for Maggie, who is chained and hidden in the house she shared with Nina. It's not only the lies and secrets between them that are intriguing; it's also the truths they are hiding. Through Maggie and Nina's POV, each tells their side of the story in two timelines creating suspense and tension here that kept me turning the pages. With each side of the story, something new is revealed and I went back and forth, questioning who was the cruel one is. Things get darker as the story goes and I was on the edge of seat anticipating how this one was going to wrap up, but really I had no idea. Well, I have to say it wrapped up brilliantly and I loved everything about this one! I highly recommend it! I received a copy from John Marrs on NetGalley
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    John Marrs has done it again - a five star read all the way! This is the story of Maggie and Nina, mother and daughter, a terrifying and intriguing tale of the totally unexpected. This story yanks you in immediately and fills you with so many questions, the answers to which gradually emerge through the storytelling. Maggie is watching and waiting - but for what opportunity? Why is Nina hurting Maggie? The twisty, dark black story is told in alternating storylines by Maggie and Nina in the John Marrs has done it again - a five star read all the way! This is the story of Maggie and Nina, mother and daughter, a terrifying and intriguing tale of the totally unexpected. This story yanks you in immediately and fills you with so many questions, the answers to which gradually emerge through the storytelling. Maggie is watching and waiting - but for what opportunity? Why is Nina hurting Maggie? The twisty, dark black story is told in alternating storylines by Maggie and Nina in the present day and backtracks to 25 years ago. This is where the origins are of the trauma that lies between them that evolves into the most dysfunctional relationship, if indeed you can call it that, as it’s more like the worst definition of the film Wars of the Roses. The storytelling is fantastic. It’s like a game of malevolent tennis as each retaliates to the actions of the other. The tension between the main characters is palpable and you feel like you are treading on the most delicate of eggshells. The secrets that Maggie and Nina are hiding are jaw dropping, eye popping, brain numbing, mind blowing and breath taking in their magnitude. You are not sure whose perspective is the truth and who is the deluded liar but that become clearer towards the end where we see just how huge a maternal sacrifice Maggie has made. It is terrifying in its power and we learn that one character has anger that is so intense it goes beyond blind rage. There is mystery and intrigue throughout and we gradually learn the horrors of what has been covered up and the lengths that some people will go to to exact mistaken revenge. The story unfolds really well and is full of twists and as revelation piles on top of mountainous revelation you find yourself utterly incapable of putting the book down. The conclusion is excellent and you feel like you’ve been through the wringer with these characters but at least you can breathe again!! Overall, brilliant, brilliant, brilliant and I think this will be in my top ten reads of 2020. John Marrs is incredibly talented and he is one of my favourite authors as I know he always delivers a terrific read. Highly recommended especially to fans of a twisty thriller. Huge thanks to NetGalley and Amazon Publishing UK for the ARC.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    This is a tough review to write, because I adore John Marrs, and many of his books are among my list of favorites. While this was an easy palate cleanser, I didn't feel like there was anything unique or groundbreaking here. Perhaps it's due to reading so many thrillers, but I found this one to be fairly predictable and a bit underwhelming near the end, as I kept waiting for that big twist that I didn't see coming. I'm 100% in the minority with my thoughts here, so I encourage you to pick this This is a tough review to write, because I adore John Marrs, and many of his books are among my list of favorites. While this was an easy palate cleanser, I didn't feel like there was anything unique or groundbreaking here. Perhaps it's due to reading so many thrillers, but I found this one to be fairly predictable and a bit underwhelming near the end, as I kept waiting for that big twist that I didn't see coming. I'm 100% in the minority with my thoughts here, so I encourage you to pick this one up and experience it for yourself, as it is guaranteed to hold your attention with it's small cast of extremely unlikable characters. Content Warning: (view spoiler)[Murder, pedophilia, rape, kidnapping, mental health issues. (hide spoiler)]*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    What Lies Between Us is incredible! Seriously twisted and crazy but addictive and not easy to put down. Are you sold yet? I had heard alot of good things about this book and after reading The Passengers by this author last year I knew that I had to pick it up. Make sure that when you start it that you have nothing planned in your life (so iso is a great time!!). You will not want to stop reading it.Where do you start with a book like this, and not spoil anything? What you need to know about this What Lies Between Us is incredible! Seriously twisted and crazy but addictive and not easy to put down. Are you sold yet? I had heard alot of good things about this book and after reading The Passengers by this author last year I knew that I had to pick it up. Make sure that when you start it that you have nothing planned in your life (so iso is a great time!!). You will not want to stop reading it.Where do you start with a book like this, and not spoil anything? What you need to know about this book is this:Nina lives with her mother Maggie in her childhood home. They have dinner together and then Maggie is returned to her room in the attic, a room that she is chained to by her daughter. Yes you read that correctly. Nina has found out things from her past and cannot forgive her mother for them. Only she doesn't know the half of it. We learn what has happened between these two in alternate chapters, voiced by each character. We jump from the present to points in the past that changed everything. Do not even try to guess what is going to happen in this one - you will be wrong. This book twists and turns so often you will be dizzy - in a good way! Absolutely loved it John Marrs. All the stars from me. Out May 15thThanks to Amazon Publishing UK and Netgalley for my advanced copy of this book to read. All opinions are my own and are in no way biased.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Maggie has only ever wanted to protect her daughter, Nina, but doing so has cost so very much. And for all she has done, her daughter hates her. Nina keeps her mother locked up in the attic, with a chain attached to her ankle. She's punishing her mother for all that she has taken from her. As we read the alternating views of Maggie and Nina, spreading over various timelines, it's hard to know who is the craziest, Maggie or Nina. This is one fiendish read and the more we know, the worse things Maggie has only ever wanted to protect her daughter, Nina, but doing so has cost so very much. And for all she has done, her daughter hates her. Nina keeps her mother locked up in the attic, with a chain attached to her ankle. She's punishing her mother for all that she has taken from her. As we read the alternating views of Maggie and Nina, spreading over various timelines, it's hard to know who is the craziest, Maggie or Nina. This is one fiendish read and the more we know, the worse things get. I couldn't put this one down and it made for a fantastic buddy read. Thank you to Thomas & Mercer/Amazon Publishing UK and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Take a good look at that gorgeous book cover....You can see a woman gazing out of the attic window-but you cannot see the chains which keep Maggie a prisoner there. You can see Nina, downstairs...perhaps preparing one of the dinners that she and Maggie share, every other night, before she locks her up again. Nina cannot forgive Maggie for the things she did. And, she can never let her leave...Told from the alternating voices of Nina and Maggie, (past and present)- you will discover how and why Take a good look at that gorgeous book cover....You can see a woman gazing out of the attic window-but you cannot see the chains which keep Maggie a prisoner there. You can see Nina, downstairs...perhaps preparing one of the dinners that she and Maggie share, every other night, before she locks her up again. Nina cannot forgive Maggie for the things she did. And, she can never let her leave...Told from the alternating voices of Nina and Maggie, (past and present)- you will discover how and why this happened. You won’t know which woman is reliable or who is more wicked....till the very end. And, what an end it is....It’s another book by John Marrs who has not disappointed me yet, and who will continue to be an auto-request author who makes me giddy when I see that he has a new book available! Thank You to Netgalley, Thomas and Mercer, and John Marrs for allowing me to read a digital ARC in exchange for a candid review! Available May 15, 2020...pre-order now!! And, read his other books until this is out, if you haven’t already done so!
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    Whew!! This would have to be one of the most toxic dysfunctional mother-daughter relationships in fiction! Nina can't forgive her mother Maggie for the things she has done to destroy her life and chance of ever having a happy family. But Maggie only wanted to protect her daughter so does she deserve the revenge that Nina serves up in return?This is a fantastic, disturbing, intense and warped thriller, told in the voices of mother and daughter in the present time and going back twenty five years Whew!! This would have to be one of the most toxic dysfunctional mother-daughter relationships in fiction! Nina can't forgive her mother Maggie for the things she has done to destroy her life and chance of ever having a happy family. But Maggie only wanted to protect her daughter so does she deserve the revenge that Nina serves up in return?This is a fantastic, disturbing, intense and warped thriller, told in the voices of mother and daughter in the present time and going back twenty five years to when all the trouble started. Compelling story telling with excellent characters and dark and twisty secrets and lies.With many thanks to Amazon Publishing and Netgalley for a digital copy to read
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Amazon publishing, Mr. Marrs and Netgalley. I have this friend on Goodreads, "Dita, Dita, hey Dita! and she has nothing but good things to say about this author. I don't know John Marrs from a hole in the ground. This story is unlike anything I've read before. This isn't something that should bother me, yet it does. I will admit that I had an idea of what was going on. I wish I could say it's because of my superior mind." Hyuk, hyuk! " Unfortunately, it's only because sometimes I My thanks to Amazon publishing, Mr. Marrs and Netgalley. I have this friend on Goodreads, "Dita, Dita, hey Dita! and she has nothing but good things to say about this author. I don't know John Marrs from a hole in the ground. This story is unlike anything I've read before. This isn't something that should bother me, yet it does. I will admit that I had an idea of what was going on. I wish I could say it's because of my superior mind." Hyuk, hyuk! " Unfortunately, it's only because sometimes I think the same as the author! Bummer, dude! So, much as I loved this book..and believe me this is some crazy shit that needs to be gobbled up. It's that good! The intricacies, and the subtleties in the last 35%. ....,........not to be missed
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 1, 1970
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/Boy oh boy was I looking forward to this one. I mean first HOUSE COVER = Second SOMEONE CHAINED UP IN THE MUTHAFUCKING ATTIC! Um yes and you might receive automatic 5 Stars. Third, I read The Passengers not that long ago and that dang thing was about autonomous cars murdering people so at this point all I can say is John Marrs you are a freaking T.R.E.A.S.U.R.E.I will say due to the fact that I watch only reality housewives and Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/Boy oh boy was I looking forward to this one. I mean first – HOUSE COVER = Second – SOMEONE CHAINED UP IN THE MUTHAFUCKING ATTIC! Um yes and you might receive automatic 5 Stars. Third, I read The Passengers not that long ago and that dang thing was about autonomous cars murdering people so at this point all I can say is John Marrs – you are a freaking T.R.E.A.S.U.R.E.I will say due to the fact that I watch only reality housewives and things on the Lifetime Stabby Stabs for Women I was a bit scared I was going to find this . . . . I mean my level of crazy isn’t exactly the same as most people’s level of crazy (except for my Goodreads friends – they all batshit too). But great news! I haven’t had this much fun with someone locked up in a house since . . . . That being said, I could absolutely see every single one of the big reveals coming well beforehand. Luckily it didn’t diminish my enjoyment at all. Read this when you are looking for an escape. I picked it up after having a couple of real butthole days at work and it totally turned my frown upside down. Yes, it’s 100% farfetched and ridiculous and whatever else Ron 2.0 might say about it, but hey . . . . Thank you NetGalley for the advanced copy in exchange for my review. This was a fun time.
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    They say a mother daughter relationship can be one of the strongest bonds between two people. These relationships are complex and can go from each being each other's best friend to one of animosity and hate. So, when John Marrs decided to take on this time honored relationship, his view turned a bit to the dark side. Having read, loved, and been majorly spooked by John Marrs's The Passengers, I was quite anxious to experience those very same feelings once again, and once again I can gladly say I They say a mother daughter relationship can be one of the strongest bonds between two people. These relationships are complex and can go from each being each other's best friend to one of animosity and hate. So, when John Marrs decided to take on this time honored relationship, his view turned a bit to the dark side. Having read, loved, and been majorly spooked by John Marrs's The Passengers, I was quite anxious to experience those very same feelings once again, and once again I can gladly say I was not disappointed. His books encompass that feeling of well this would probably never happen, but what if it did question that rolls around in your head and takes hold.Maggie and Nina are a mother daughter duo living in the same house, eating the same food, passing each and every day together, and best of all seeming to exist in a world of hate and animosity. One lives in an attic plotting her escape while the other lives in a world of hate, vitriol, and somewhat cloudy remembrances of the past. So much has gone on between these two ladies that as the story is masterfully developed, we learn the many facets of each of these women's personalities and behaviors. Maggie, the mother, expresses her overwhelming, undying love for her daughter, Nina. She has in the past and continues to be a protector, carrying this protectiveness into zones that are both bizarre and dangerous. Maggie is the consummate mother, a manipulator, and will never let anyone or anything come in the way of her daughter's life. However, where Nina is concerned, Maggie has stars in her eyes and becomes a captive of everything that Nina is and has beenNina hates her mother. She blames her for all the ills of her life of thirty-seven years. Forgive and forget are not on her play list and yet Nina does seem to have times where her forgetfulness has played out with devastating results. She is a sad adult, a troubled adult, an adult keeping secrets that are destroying her. She will seek revenge to her dying days and her focus of that revenge is a mother who seemed to have only her daughter's best interest at heart...or did she?This was an exciting heart pounding thriller that kept the focus squarely on the relationships that can develop when one is in a constant state of denial, of over protectiveness, and fear. Mr Marrs is a superstar in fessing out the story in slowly dripping details and makes each revelation one that is shocking and ghastly. This is one not to miss if you so enjoy a tale of horrifying, dreadful, and distressing proportions. Thank you to John Marrs, Thomas & Mercer, and NetGalley for a copy of this chilling tale due out on May 15, 2020.
    more
  • EmBibliophile
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsNo, I dont know why I would read a book about a woman whose keeping her mother chained in the attic when Im being on a quarantine for ten days now. Yes, I know, probably not my smartest move.This was such an intense, dark, and disturbing book with two dysfunctional characters that completely messed with my mind. They drove me crazy when they start acting so chilly like nothing is wrong. Like YOU GUYS ARE FREAKIN INSANE! I loved how fast paced this book was and how it was filled with 4.5 starsNo, I don’t know why I would read a book about a woman whose keeping her mother chained in the attic when I’m being on a quarantine for ten days now. Yes, I know, probably not my smartest move.This was such an intense, dark, and disturbing book with two dysfunctional characters that completely messed with my mind. They drove me crazy when they start acting so chilly like nothing is wrong. Like “YOU GUYS ARE FREAKIN INSANE!” I loved how fast paced this book was and how it was filled with twists and turns. The book doesn’t give you a time to take a break. The storytelling is amazing. I loved the writing style and how it got my complete attention. It definitely got me glued to my seat nervous as hell while waiting for what’s going to happen next. It felt like you find out a new revelation by the end of each chapter. And while some things weren’t completely surprising to me for I’ve guessed it already, it surprisingly didn’t affect my enjoyment for this book. It was a good book. A really good book.Special thanks to Netgalley and Amazon Publishing UK for sharing this copy with me in exchange for an honest review. Honestly, I was so surprised and excited when I got an early copy for this book.
    more
  • NAT.orious reads ☽
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 traumatised stars ★★★★✩ This book is for all of you who thrive in violent, sociopathic environments that leave no space for calmness. At one point I didn't know who to trust and what to think, much less was I brave enough to not read on. ⤐ Overall.Well, this was intense. Considered me damaged. Long-term.This is my second John Marrs book ( The One was my first), nonetheless I've come to value him for his ability to make sure you're sure that nothing's what it seems in the stories he 4.25 traumatised stars ★★★★✩ This book is for all of you… who thrive in violent, sociopathic environments that leave no space for calmness. At one point I didn't know who to trust and what to think, much less was I brave enough to not read on. ⤐ Overall.Well, this was intense. Considered me damaged. Long-term.This is my second John Marrs book ( The One was my first), nonetheless I've come to value him for his ability to make sure you're sure that nothing's what it seems in the stories he presents to you. What Lies Between Us has proven just that.I'm in awe over the way John captures the readers' attention and makes us tip around our guesses on light and careful feet, inviting us to speculate and deem nothing too unlikely. His way of telling stories is also full of determination: every sentence serves a purpose, every twisted detail makes us recoil and cling to the pages at the same time.What Lies Between Us is not for the fainthearted. It shows how misinterpretations and actions that seek to protect a loved one can make reality become a nightmare. Even the best intentions have outcomes that make you doubt whether they were a good motivator in the first place.⤐ What’s happening. ‘The next time we are together, I want one of us to be lying stiff in a coffin wearing rags that no longer fit our dead, shrunken frames.’ Nina and Maggie have a difficult daughter-mother-relationship. Lot's of triggering memories, very intense past. But does it justify Nina keeping her mother prisoner in the attic of their house? And if so, what did Maggie do? Or not do?_____________________ writing quality + easy of reading = 4* pace = 4* plot/story in general = 5* plot development = 4* characters = 5* enjoyability = 4* insightfulness = 3*_____________________Many thanks to the author John Marrs and Amazon Publishing UK, who provided me with this eArc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Helga
    January 1, 1970
    As one of my friends on Goodreads said about this book, Holy Cow! And I say, double Holy Cow with cherries on top!Brilliant and ingenious!One more chapter. One more chapter. Just one more. This is what I was saying while reading the book. Please baby dont start crying, just one more chapter. Please eyes dont close, just one more chapter. I promise I will get up, just one more chapterSharing a house with a twisted spirit is better than being alone.This book is about Maggie and Nina who live As one of my friends on Goodreads said about this book, “Holy Cow”! And I say, double Holy Cow with cherries on top!Brilliant and ingenious!One more chapter. One more chapter. Just one more. This is what I was saying while reading the book. Please baby don’t start crying, just one more chapter. Please eyes don’t close, just one more chapter. I promise I will get up, just one more chapter…“Sharing a house with a twisted spirit is better than being alone.”This book is about Maggie and Nina who live together. Nina is a librarian and also the “primary carer” for Maggie. Maggie was working at a GP’s office once upon a time but now she stays at home. She lives in the attic, more like she is held against her will there. But what has Maggie done to deserve this treatment? Why does Nina keep her a prisoner? Sometimes appearances can be deceptive.Thanks to John Marrs, Amazon Publishing UK and the NetGalley for the advanced copy of the book.
    more
  • Arna
    January 1, 1970
    What a beautifully written dark, twisty book! This is the first John Marrs book Ive read and Im so glad I finally have. Written from both Maggie and Ninas point of view, we learn why Nina has gone to great lengths to keep Maggie prisoner in their own home and why some things can never be forgiven..This book is full of twists and turns, each more shocking than the one before, I was on the edge of my seat the whole way through! My thoughts and feelings on Maggie and Nina were changing constantly, What a beautifully written dark, twisty book! This is the first John Marrs book I’ve read and I’m so glad I finally have. Written from both Maggie and Nina’s point of view, we learn why Nina has gone to great lengths to keep Maggie prisoner in their own home and why some things can never be forgiven..This book is full of twists and turns, each more shocking than the one before, I was on the edge of my seat the whole way through! My thoughts and feelings on Maggie and Nina were changing constantly, who really is the victim here? I couldn’t put this book down, I needed to know how it was all going to end!Available May 15 2020, this is definitely one to add to your TBR list. Big thank you to Netgalley and Amazon Publishing UK for allowing me an ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mark
    January 1, 1970
    There is no secret that John Marrs is one of my favourite authors, every book is guaranteed to be very different and a major talking point with readersThis book is chilling, you will not be able to read the book without being a bit shocked, a tad ruffled and majorly wowed by this storyNina lives with Maggie, Maggie is older so Nina cooks for her and keeps house, she virtually controls her life, in fact she 100% controls every aspect of it....and when you find out how, where and why you will, There is no secret that John Marrs is one of my favourite authors, every book is guaranteed to be very different and a major ‘talking point’ with readersThis book is chilling, you will not be able to read the book without being a bit shocked, a tad ruffled and majorly wowed by this storyNina lives with Maggie, Maggie is older so Nina cooks for her and ‘keeps house’, she virtually controls her life, in fact she 100% controls every aspect of it....and when you find out how, where and why you will, like me be in for one of those ‘book shock’ moments that when they hit,they hit hard ,in fact I had to re read to make sure I had it right.....But why is Nina doing this? What could Maggie have done in the past to warrant such behaviour and how can Nina continue a ‘normal’ life knowing what is happening at her home?,and more to the point how on earth does Maggie cope with it, the indignity, the worry and the punishments she randomly faces?This book is intense, scarily real and totally addictive, flawless story telling and though a term easily used it really was ‘unputdownable’, John Marrs always manages to shock and surprise in his books and this does both, over and over!Superb10/105 Stars
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    No doubt about it, John Marrs has delivered another spectacular, gut-punch of a novel.This was an incredible read filled with complicated, engaging characters, and an utterly unique plot. Told from two perspectives, those of Maggie and her daughter, Nina, both in present time and in flashback, I was wholeheartedly engaged from the very first page to the final gasp-worthy sentence. You're probably wondering, if I think so highly of this book, why I only gave it 4 stars. And to be honest, I've No doubt about it, John Marrs has delivered another spectacular, gut-punch of a novel.This was an incredible read filled with complicated, engaging characters, and an utterly unique plot. Told from two perspectives, those of Maggie and her daughter, Nina, both in present time and in flashback, I was wholeheartedly engaged from the very first page to the final gasp-worthy sentence. You're probably wondering, if I think so highly of this book, why I only gave it 4 stars. And to be honest, I've debated about my rating now for more than an hour. This is a tough one for me because the story is so evocative, and so unlike anything I've read previously. But...(You were waiting for that "but" weren't you?) It's not my favorite Marrs book. When I read a story like What Lies Between Us, I need it to be clean; for the puzzle pieces to match up precisely. For this to work completely for me, the characters can't rely on good fortune to get them through two decades of bad behavior. I'm willing to overlook a total lack of police procedural once, but when it happens over and over again, I begin feeling a bit let-down. I know this isn't typical of John Marrs because I've read (and loved) all his other novels, but by the end, I was frustrated. (view spoiler)[Did Nina's father have no family? No friends? No co-workers? NOBODY was looking for the poor bastard? Did he not have retirement or a pension that needed to be dealt with? Also, if Nina was in a fugue state when she killed Sally Anne, I'm sure she wasn't aware enough to wear gloves or prevent her DNA from being all over the Hunter home. And don't even get me started on Maggie puking all over Sally Anne's crime scene. Pretty sure cops would notice that smell, even if it was cleaned up. And yes, there is DNA in vomit.And come on, even if Bobby's phone was smashed, they'd still be able to get records of his calls, meaning Nina's number would have shown up as one of the final calls he received, and his cell would have been pinging off towers all the way to her house. Pair that with the video they had of his car heading toward Nina's house, and there is no way she'd get away with abducting and imprisoning him. Too.Many.Plot.Holes. (hide spoiler)]This is also an instance in which I was reading, and literally within the first 15 to 20%, I'd figured out a couple of the major plot twists. Sadly, I wasn't even trying to...there were simply some clues which really stood out to me. Thankfully, the story is so captivating, I didn't feel it took anything away, but these are the reasons I ultimately decided on a 4 star rating. And yes, John Marrs is still one of my favorite authors. 5 stars for plot and characterization + 3 stars for believability = 4 stars overallDespite my minute gripes, I 100% recommend this book to every reader I know. It's a fun ride. And that book cover-perfection! Be sure to pick up your own copy on May 15, 2020. **Many thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Danielle (The Blonde Likes Books)
    January 1, 1970
    John Marrs is one of my favorite authors, and I will read anything he writes, so I was so excited to get my hands on What Lies Between Us! We immediately meet Maggie and her daughter Nina. It's clear that their relationship is strained, and very quickly, the reader discovers that Nina keeps Maggie chained up in the attic of the house they share. I was dying to know what type of events played out in their past that caused such a crazy thing to happen in their relationship! We get chapters in both John Marrs is one of my favorite authors, and I will read anything he writes, so I was so excited to get my hands on What Lies Between Us! We immediately meet Maggie and her daughter Nina. It's clear that their relationship is strained, and very quickly, the reader discovers that Nina keeps Maggie chained up in the attic of the house they share. I was dying to know what type of events played out in their past that caused such a crazy thing to happen in their relationship! We get chapters in both Nina and Maggie's point of view, and both also have chapters told from their past, so we gradually see what happened to cause their relationship to shift from mother and daughter to guard and prisoner. I don't want to give too much away, but I will say that every time a piece of information was revealed from either Maggie or Nina, it made me hate the other person, so I was in a constant state of whiplash trying to decide whose side I was on (or if I was on no ones side all together!)John Marrs has a rare talent where he can write so many different books that are all SO different from each other, but that are each amazing and twisty in their own right! He doesn't rely on cliches or overdone genre themes, and I really appreciate that all of his books have fresh ideas. I absolutely recommend picking up any one of his books, and this one is no exception. If you haven't read any of his books yet, what are you waiting for?! Go, NOW, and pick one up! You won't regret it! I'd like to thank Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for my copy of the book. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review. What Lies Between Us is out May 15, 2020, so be sure to mark your calendars! 
    more
  • Lia (booksnpenguins)
    January 1, 1970
    What the fresh frak was this???? An actual representation of me during this book What Lies Between Us might seem like your ordinary domestic thriller, but be careful, because it's way more controversial and way darker than that. The story, the writing, the everything about it is terribly difficult to swallow but at the same time, infinitely addictive.You won't find yourself rooting for the characters nor you'll feel any (and when I say any, I mean ANY) particular emotion except disbelief, What the fresh frak was this???? An actual representation of me during this book What Lies Between Us might seem like your ordinary domestic thriller, but be careful, because it's way more controversial and way darker than that. The story, the writing, the everything about it is terribly difficult to swallow but at the same time, infinitely addictive.You won't find yourself rooting for the characters nor you'll feel any (and when I say any, I mean ANY) particular emotion except disbelief, shame, rage, sadness and an infinite frustration while reading it, but if you're not too sensitive and don't mind your brain bein shaken by a very twisted story, this book is for you and it waits to be read.I must point out that it comes with a huge amount and all sorts of trigger warnings {that you'll find at the end of the page under the spoiler tag} so don't jump into it unprepared. I had a bit of a problem with them too, to be honest and that's why I'm rounding this down instead of up. Yes, because even if I don't think of myself as a sensible reader, there were parts that made me a bit nauseated and I had to remind myself it was fiction I was reading to detach from the story and clear my head.That's just how good the writing is. But that's also how fucked up the whole book is. Anyway, you've been warned.Get this book only if you don't have a weak heart and if you're not afraid of being shocked. In case you do, you'll definitely be rewarded by a story that'll stay with you for a very long, long, long time. (an inside joke about the book, you'll get there) Many thanks to NetGalley and Amazon Publishing UK for the opportunity(view spoiler)[trigger warnings: child emotional abuse, teenage pregnancies/miscarriages, gore, mental illness, violence, murder, awful parenting, pedophilia, substance and alcohol abuse, torture (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • NZLisaM
    January 1, 1970
    What Lies Between Us was unhinged, insane, screwed-up, and crazy good!Maggie hasn't left her house since the day her daughter Nina confined her to the attic bedroom. She wears an ankle cuff attached to a chain, affixed to a metal spike in the centre of the room, and the door to the third floor is locked, and the area soundproofed. She is only ever permitted downstairs every second evening when she joins her daughter for dinner. Maggie hopes that one day Nina will forgive her for her past What Lies Between Us was unhinged, insane, screwed-up, and crazy good!Maggie hasn't left her house since the day her daughter Nina confined her to the attic bedroom. She wears an ankle cuff attached to a chain, affixed to a metal spike in the centre of the room, and the door to the third floor is locked, and the area soundproofed. She is only ever permitted downstairs every second evening when she joins her daughter for dinner. Maggie hope’s that one day Nina will forgive her for her past actions, and set her free, but in Nina's eyes her mother is evil to the core, and deserving of everything she gets.Gee Willikers, this gripping, addicting psychological thriller has left me reeling. A truckload of twists came at me, and every eureka moment I experienced then saw the author dropping another shocker of a bombshell, utterly ruining my theory, and sending me back to square one. I couldn't have asked for more. Be advised though, it was very dark. These sure were some damaged, disturbed and despicable characters, and the mother/daughter relationship was about as toxic as you could possibly get. But for those who relish sinking their teeth into disturbing, taboo domestic suspense, this work of fiction will satisfy you to no end. If you've read The Good Samaritan, you’ll have a pretty good idea what you’re in for.Chapters alternate between Maggie and Nina with flashbacks beginning twenty-five years beforehand, and working forward. Parts of it had an Alfred Hitchcock – Rear Window feel, which as a fan of his genius and that movie I was delighted by. I guarantee this is going to be the thriller on everyone's minds from mid-May. I'll still be thinking about What Lies Between Us then.I'd like to thank Netgalley, Amazon Publishing UK, and John Marrs for the e-ARC.Publication date: May 15th, 2020.
    more
  • Gloria Arthur
    January 1, 1970
    Holey Moley this was utterly brilliant!What Lies Between Us is sooo unputdownable, I almost finished it in one sitting!What an intense, addictive and terrifying mother daughter relationship this story tells. Revenge is sweet but what takes place here is pure evil.What is the terrible history that exists between Librarian Nina and her mother Maggie who live together in Maggies house that brings out this saga of horror?For those of you that love an entertaining and dark suspense thriller, this is Holey Moley this was utterly brilliant!What Lies Between Us is sooo unputdownable, I almost finished it in one sitting!What an intense, addictive and terrifying mother daughter relationship this story tells. Revenge is sweet but what takes place here is pure evil.What is the terrible history that exists between Librarian Nina and her mother Maggie who live together in Maggie’s house that brings out this saga of horror?For those of you that love an entertaining and dark suspense thriller, this is one you cannot miss. The author John Marrs really knows how to capture his audience and shock them.I wish to thank NetGalley & Amazon Publishing UK, for generously providing me with an advanced copy of the book to read in return for an honest review
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Another unputdownable book by John Marrs.I always get excited when I see that John Marrs has written a new book and I was delighted to receive an advanced copy of What Lies Between Us.I devoured this book in two sittings, it had me hooked from the first page.Maggie and Nina share a house. Nina looks after Maggies every need but they dont get on very well because of secrets they share that cause bitter resentments.Secrets that need to kept hidden from the word outside.Thank you to NetGalley and Another unputdownable book by John Marrs.I always get excited when I see that John Marrs has written a new book and I was delighted to receive an advanced copy of What Lies Between Us.I devoured this book in two sittings, it had me hooked from the first page.Maggie and Nina share a house. Nina looks after Maggie’s every need but they don’t get on very well because of secrets they share that cause bitter resentments.Secrets that need to kept hidden from the word outside.Thank you to NetGalley and Amazon Publishing UK for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 twist and turn starsThis is a tale of a tortured family mother Maggie and daughter Nina live together, but neither is honest with the other about a whole host of life secrets. Nina has taken the extreme step of imprisoning her mother in the house to punish her and we slowly learn about the events that led to this state.Author John Marrs is a master of creating a tense and disturbing tale that kept me turning the pages and scratching my head. Will Maggie find a way to escape or will Nina 4.5 twist and turn starsThis is a tale of a tortured family – mother Maggie and daughter Nina live together, but neither is honest with the other about a whole host of life secrets. Nina has taken the extreme step of imprisoning her mother in the house to punish her and we slowly learn about the events that led to this state.Author John Marrs is a master of creating a tense and disturbing tale that kept me turning the pages and scratching my head. Will Maggie find a way to escape or will Nina decide she’s “served her time” and release her? My sympathies toggled back and forth between the women as we hear from each of them in alternating chapters and just when I thought I had a few things figured out, there was a new twist to ponder. I do give it one half star deduction for plausibility about some of the events, but I’ll let you decide when you read this one for yourself!Thank you to NetGalley, John Marrs, and Amazon Publishing UK for an early copy of this one to read in return for an honest review. This one is out 5.15.2020 and I predict it will make many top thrillers of 2020 lists.
    more
Write a review