Dance Away with Me
At long last, the legendary New York Times bestselling author returns with a heartfelt novel of womanhood, a wild heart, and the healing power of love.Run, run, as fast as you can!When life throws her one setback too many, midwife and young widow Tess Hartsong takes off for Runaway Mountain. In this small town high in the Tennessee mountains, surrounded by nature, she hopes to outrun her heartbreak and find the solace she needs to heal.But instead of peace and quiet, she encounters an enigmatic artist with a craving for solitude, a fairy-tale sprite with too many secrets, a helpless infant, a passel of curious teens, and a town suspicious of outsiders, especially one as headstrong as Tess. Just as headstrong, is Ian North, a difficult, gifted man with a tortured soul—a man who makes Tess question everything.In running away to this new life, Tess wonders— Has she lost herself . . . or has she found her future?

Dance Away with Me Details

TitleDance Away with Me
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 9th, 2020
PublisherWilliam Morrow
ISBN-139780062973054
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Dance Away with Me Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    No! Nooooo! What the heck! I needed to read something sweet, smart, sassy, entertaining like usual SEP style. I naturally adored Chicago Stars series! They are special books to reread when you feel depressed, stressful, needing something to cure your soul and warm your heart. So as soon as I saw my favorite feel good books queen released a new book, I wore my dusty dance shoes to celebrate this special occasion but as soon as I open the book.... yes choo choo sounds of disappointment train was t No! Nooooo! What the heck! I needed to read something sweet, smart, sassy, entertaining like usual SEP style. I naturally adored Chicago Stars series! They are special books to reread when you feel depressed, stressful, needing something to cure your soul and warm your heart. So as soon as I saw my favorite feel good books queen released a new book, I wore my dusty dance shoes to celebrate this special occasion but as soon as I open the book.... yes choo choo sounds of disappointment train was the first warning to inform me this was not the book I wished to read.Problems:Romance is overshadowed by too much drama! This book is about the grief, sadness, second chances but I have to admit it has way too much dark, depressing and suffocating tone that we have never read from her. It gave me so much negative vibes and instead of clearing my mind with a promising read, I got more agitated and exhausted. I couldn’t connect with both protagonists. They were so troubled and I think both of them have to spend so much time with their shrinks to function normally. They’re not in a right mood to start a healthy relationship. Too much unnecessary angst, drama, repetitive inner and outer arguments exhaust the hell of me! Of course SEP is a great author and but even her well crafted writing skills couldn’t save the story for me. After finishing it, I felt sad! Mostly I’m energized, cheery person who tries to write encouraging reviews but unfortunately this book created a big heavy black above my head which follows me everywhere I walk. I am still rounding up 2.5 stars to 3 because I’m die hard fan of the author and I already read more than 10 books of hers. But this is not my cup of Chardonnay. I wish I would reread Natural born charmer, instead of choosing to read this one😫🥺😣bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Madison Warner Fairbanks
    January 1, 1970
    Dance Away With Me by Susan Elizabeth PhillipsThere’s a reason this author is continually on The NY Times bestseller lists. It includes phenomenal writing, multi-dimensional characters and a story to invest your emotions and time in reading. This story includes a street artist learning to let go of his anger, a widow learning to live with her grief and learning to live and love again. And a small town learning to encompass change.Overly dramatic? I will admit to shedding some tears in a couple o Dance Away With Me by Susan Elizabeth PhillipsThere’s a reason this author is continually on The NY Times bestseller lists. It includes phenomenal writing, multi-dimensional characters and a story to invest your emotions and time in reading. This story includes a street artist learning to let go of his anger, a widow learning to live with her grief and learning to live and love again. And a small town learning to encompass change.Overly dramatic? I will admit to shedding some tears in a couple of the emotional scenes. A story of family, renewal, and accepting change. I loved it. It is darker than the usual by this author. I won an early copy of this book from the publisher through a reader conference. 4.5 rounded up.
    more
  • A.
    January 1, 1970
    Perfection.
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    5 STARSI finished this book late last night, so my thoughts are still a little jumbled. What I will say is that this author never fails to impress me. And I must also add that this book was not at all what I expected from her. In fact, throughout the first half of the book, I was sorely disappointed. It was heart wrenching and painful to read, but worst of all, the characters were doing nothing for me. Hardly a redeeming quality among the lot of them. But as the book evolved, so did the characte 5 STARSI finished this book late last night, so my thoughts are still a little jumbled. What I will say is that this author never fails to impress me. And I must also add that this book was not at all what I expected from her. In fact, throughout the first half of the book, I was sorely disappointed. It was heart wrenching and painful to read, but worst of all, the characters were doing nothing for me. Hardly a redeeming quality among the lot of them. But as the book evolved, so did the characters. And by some miracle, the story started to get to me. It was sort of like staring at one of those 3-D paintings call autostereograms, that you have to stare at a while to see the hidden picture beneath. And once it pops out at you, you can't unsee it. One of the things that struck me about this book, was the author's complete departure from her earlier writing style. In particular, the lack of humor. There were a few minor attempts at throwing it in, but there wasn't enough to quash the unsettling vibe that permeated throughout the book. Now towards the end, that started to change. Which was where I feel the book was brought back into focus. Had she not accomplished this with pure SEP sparkle, I might not have felt the same about it all in the end. Was it possible if, instead of feeling too little, he felt too much? If you've not read any of SEP's other books, this review is going to sound confusing and vague. But for those of you who know her books well, I think it will make more sense. I wasn't entirely sure how to rate the book at first, considering how I'd felt in the beginning. But then, like I said, once it all made sense to me, I couldn't un-love it. Would I read it again... absolutely. And the more time I spend thinking about it, the more I love it. I know this book is going to inspire mixed reviews from faithful SEP fans, simply because of it's departure from the grid... but what I say to that is look deeper, it's all there, you just have to let the picture come to you.
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.This book didn't read like the sassy, energetic romances that I've come to expect from SEP. It was slow and sad and a little unnerving at times. The heroine was... different. A little annoying, exasperating, and troubled, but expectedly so. The hero was... the same. Believe it or not. I felt like one or the other needed to be grounded for this relationship to really function effectively and, even by the end of the book, I didn't fee I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.This book didn't read like the sassy, energetic romances that I've come to expect from SEP. It was slow and sad and a little unnerving at times. The heroine was... different. A little annoying, exasperating, and troubled, but expectedly so. The hero was... the same. Believe it or not. I felt like one or the other needed to be grounded for this relationship to really function effectively and, even by the end of the book, I didn't feel that the two of them were in any sort of condition to be in a relationship with one another without some serious therapy.The heroine preached the importance of therapy and getting help, but didn't appear to have sought any herself. She was a busybody (yes, she was in the right most of the time, but damn girl... pick one battle to fight and stick with it, rather than trying to be the moral compass for an entire town).In the end, I was pretty disappointed. It was a deeper, darker read than I'm used to with SEP, so if you're looking for something similar to the Chicago Stars or her more light-hearted reads with powerful heroines and dickish heroes, you're probably going to be let down by this.Still, if angst and anger and sadness and two characters who can hardly survive on their own but somehow are going to function together are your thing then you might light it. At least the writing was good.
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Understanding What You Need Stars* * * * Spoiler FreeWhen I started reading romance, I discovered SEP. To this day, I will never forget the joy and want I had when reading her. She opened my eyes to how a romance novel could capture and take me away from the day to day while still presenting real-life traumas and challenges. I was lucky to be able to binge read almost all of her books due to an amazing dollar bookstore, sadly no longer around. Her writing held my hand during very difficult h 4.5 Understanding What You Need Stars* * * * Spoiler FreeWhen I started reading romance, I discovered SEP. To this day, I will never forget the joy and want I had when reading her. She opened my eyes to how a romance novel could capture and take me away from the day to day while still presenting real-life traumas and challenges. I was lucky to be able to binge read almost all of her books due to an amazing dollar bookstore, sadly no longer around. Her writing held my hand during very difficult health and career times. Her Chicago Stars and Wynette, Texas series, plus all the others published meant the world to me. So any time SEP graced us with a new book, I scooped it up. Dance Away with Me is something very different than the Chicago or Wynette series. If you are looking for light-hearted, funny, blatantly sexy stories like those, this is not it. That is not to say it is less than...NOT AT ALL. That is to say, just don't go into this with that mindset. This is a study of life, how it shapes people, talents, economics, traumas, and strength impacts us all. We are with two main characters who are going through self-discovery that has been thrust on them. They have chosen a small town in the Tennessee mountains to do it. It is there they are confronted with Life's Challenges disguised as their own actions. SEP is a wordsmith, a master in crafting and drawing emotions. She creates full-fledged characters whether they are secondary or main. This book gave us many and through their arcs, much was expressed. It is the talent she has to educate and entertain her readers. This is consistent with all of her works. For those hardcore romance readers, this is a slow burn. I am will to share that. Anything else is not going to come from me, for I went into this blind, and I highly suggest you do as well. ~~~~~ Before Reading ~~~~~ Oh, How SEP Has Given Me Joy...Binge Reading of All Of Them...The Chicago Stars Series...The Wynette, Texas, Series...And All The Wonders Written In Between...Always Smart, Strong Women...Men Who May Need an Attitude Adjustment...But When Push Came To Shove...Both Worked Through and Made It Happen...When Susan Elizabeth Phillips...Puts Out A New Book...She Can Totally Be Sure...She Can... Dance Away with Me-June 9, 2020(view spoiler)[ My Sweet Friends, Mo, Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ and ♥Sharon♥ seemed to be loving it, so I owe it all to them, hahahahahaha (hide spoiler)] Dance Away with Mehttps://www.goodreads.com/review/show...For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳
    January 1, 1970
    There are a few things I’ve come to expect when I crack open a SEP book.A gruff hero, a spirited heroine, humor and enough conflict to build some angst—usually brought by the hero acting like a total jerk, all of it packaged in a heartwarming romance.Dance Away With Me offers all of the above and more, however it was positively different from what I’m used to from this author. For instance, I didn’t expect the story to hit me in the feels and make me cry ugly tears 15% in. It's a definite somber There are a few things I’ve come to expect when I crack open a SEP book.A gruff hero, a spirited heroine, humor and enough conflict to build some angst—usually brought by the hero acting like a total jerk, all of it packaged in a heartwarming romance.Dance Away With Me offers all of the above and more, however it was positively different from what I’m used to from this author. For instance, I didn’t expect the story to hit me in the feels and make me cry ugly tears 15% in. It's a definite somber take, some could even describe one particular scene gruesome, especially coming from SEP. It’s downright tragic, but trust Susan Elizabeth Phillips to balance heartbreak with heartfelt and heartwarming feels. She does it brilliantly.(I can’t help but feel some readers would need a content warning, so I’ll drop a spoiler at the end of this review, be aware that this is also a huge spoiler for the rest of the story.)I’m sure some reviews will let you in about what links the character together, but my advice is that you’re better off discovering this for yourself. It's a real challenge not to tell about it in this review, considering how such a MAJOR factor it plays in the book. Please forgive me for this vague review but I don't want to spoil the book!Let me tell you a little bit more about the characters then!You like your heroes toeing the line of assholes? You’ll be in fine company with Ian North. It took me a good quart of the book to determine if he was worth redeeming, fortunately he does. The jerk. Still, I was now counting on some major growth of character from him, hoping for a nice good grovel even—which he kinda delivers. His level of irascibility was intense, he sure owned his role of tortured hero! “You don't strike me as a callous heartbreaker. You're fairly decent. when you're not being a jerk.” Tess made the book for me. She’s a lot to take in, presented as a broken woman, a widow, I wasn’t expecting her to be the image of fierceness and resilience. She has the distinct trademark personality all SEP heroines share: temper, snark, stubborness and a little bit of crazy. Tess Hartsong was fanciful alright! “-Do you have any personality—other than the dark and mysterious part?-I have lots of personality.-Aloof? Foreboding?” Along the way, Tess uplifting snark helping, SEP guides us into more familiar territory, humor and banter break through, the grouchy hero reveals cracks in his armor and all pieces of this incredible puzzle SEP has laid out for us start to come together. The somber feels from the beginning recedes only to let room for the most excruciating slow burn between Tess and Ian.Or should I say Tess, Ian... and the rest of the town.I love a small town setting so I wasn’t disappointed by all the side characters popping in here and there but I would have loved to see more development in the romance between Tess and Ian. ALONE. It needs acknowledging that this wasn’t a lovestory about two characters. The whole town is in on it!The many intrusions from side characters played a good part in the almost intolerable tension growing between Tess and Ian, so when they finally get TOGETHER… the sense of gratification and the feeling of urgency that comes alive on the pages is reward enough.I adored seeing the teens dropping by the house for their sex-ed talks with Tess, Ian in the background trying not to laugh. I loved how Tess, retired midwife was such a disturbance in this secluded small town, especially at her job at the Broken Chimney, serving coffees, ice cream, pies, refusing to sell cigarettes but advocating for condoms on the counter to the folklore of people of Tempest, Tennessee.I absolutely loved Dance Away With Me, Susan Elizabeth Phillips offers here what every romance reader want: Laughter, tears and love... only a little backward. ;) “Tess Hartsong was a woman who offered her heart too freely. The worst thing she could do would be to give it away to a man who couldn't treasure it.He intended to make sure that didn't happen.” Content Warning : (view spoiler)[grief, death, childbirth death. (hide spoiler)]I received an advance review copy from the publisher. More reviews and book talk at : You can find me here too ☞
    more
  • Antonella
    January 1, 1970
    Some of SEP's books are my comfort read and I love to reread them. If you haven't definitely check her books out!!This is definitely a book where romance doesn't play the central part. Sure, it is a part of this book, but not in the way I expected. Also, their connection is not believable. This small town is filled with pregnant women! There is a lot of condoms talk. Tess, the leading lady, is some kind of savior giving the kids the TED talks about safe sex. When she is not doing that she is pla Some of SEP's books are my comfort read and I love to reread them. If you haven't definitely check her books out!!This is definitely a book where romance doesn't play the central part. Sure, it is a part of this book, but not in the way I expected. Also, their connection is not believable. This small town is filled with pregnant women! There is a lot of condoms talk. Tess, the leading lady, is some kind of savior giving the kids the TED talks about safe sex. When she is not doing that she is playing doctor or dancing in the rain. Well, playing doctor is not hard she is midwife/nurse and dancing is a theme of this book- so yeah understandable!! I don't want to give spoilers about other things that happen because discovering them is a fun part of this book. Plus, my reviews are not book reports...Only know that there is a lot of grief/dealing with a loss so if that is not something you want to read about..stay away..I am not sure how to rate this book!!??!! I didn't love it, but I didn't hate it... I am sure I will not read it again... 2,5 stars
    more
  • Anne OK
    January 1, 1970
    FULL REVIEW POSTED - 6/16/2020After a lengthy hiatus, Susan Elizabeth Phillips has returned with a solid and well-written standalone novel that has caused a stir among her many fans. It has no connection to any of her other books and introduces readers to Ian and Tess, who aren't cookie cutter characters. They aren't warm and fuzzy, nor are they lively and humorous. But they're entertaining and certainly both bring a well-thought-out message to the pages. No, I’ll admit that it didn’t read like FULL REVIEW POSTED - 6/16/2020After a lengthy hiatus, Susan Elizabeth Phillips has returned with a solid and well-written standalone novel that has caused a stir among her many fans. It has no connection to any of her other books and introduces readers to Ian and Tess, who aren't cookie cutter characters. They aren't warm and fuzzy, nor are they lively and humorous. But they're entertaining and certainly both bring a well-thought-out message to the pages. No, I’ll admit that it didn’t read like some of my favorites from SEP’s light-hearted and uproariously funny books – but sometimes that’s a good thing. I don’t want the same ole/same ole – and I love seeing a seasoned author show a different side while offering readers something fresh and vibrant and meaningful, as well. SEP is one of those amazingly talented authors who is able to bring her talents to the pages no matter the setting or message. The small town setting of Tempest, Tennessee comes to life on the pages with priceless descriptions. The town’s name made me pause and wonder if our clever author might have shared a tango or two with Shakespeare in preparation for this latest release?Different – yes. Not as playful or full of frolicking sprites or the uproarious and hilarious missteps of past books. And these characters, Ian and Tess, weren’t quite as alluring as Phoebe and Dan (who started my love affair with SEP’s stories), Gracie and Bobby Tom (awful name, but oh how it fit his character), Francesca and Dallie (their long road to HEA and two of my top favs), Blue and Dean (both of whom I adored and laughed and cried with) and then there’s Molly, Kevin, Daphne and Benny and a summer at a magical place called Wind Lake (my most favorite of all – and the one that stole THIS HEART OF MINE!). I might have wished that Daphne and Benny would make an appearance once or twice to do a little happy dancing to add a little of their extra-special comfort and wisdom in Tempest. I think little Wren would have been especially appreciative!Anyhoo -- if the music is good, you dance – and dance I did through each and every page.Would I have liked to have experienced a little more depth in building the romantic involvement between the Ian and Tess – of course! I always want more!! Mostly their interaction remained a sparring match and then fleeing from the scene. And then in a wink, they are in love even when it feels a little rushed and dare I say cold and calculated? There were certainly a lot of building blocks to explore on the rocky road to this unlikely match-up that didn’t seem to make the cut. The cover was one item I wished had gotten more attention. Although nice – that was it, just nice. But I wished for a more reflective view of Ian’s art – I feel like that would have been the ultimate addition to this book’s release. His painting was such an important factor in this story and the cover just doesn’t capture or reflect the depth of its purpose – or anything related to Tess’s personality -- especially as these characters are written on the pages within.I held my breath all the way through the book hoping SEP would give readers an Epilogue that would leave them with sparkling feel-goods and charmed and dazzled by the sweetest of happily-ever-afters -- and she didn’t disappoint!Dancing with the feet is one thing, but dancing with the heart is another.
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsI generally have some strong love for SEP, and this was enjoyable by normal book reading standards for this genre - I read it over the course of just 24 hours! But it's not necessarily this author's best (which is a high standard!). If you have read other SEP books then you will know that this book will feature A) a 'quirky' (in some small way) female MC that is usually kind of poor and almost everyone likes her except for a couple of people who REALLY don't like her and B) a male MC th 3.5 starsI generally have some strong love for SEP, and this was enjoyable by normal book reading standards for this genre - I read it over the course of just 24 hours! But it's not necessarily this author's best (which is a high standard!). If you have read other SEP books then you will know that this book will feature A) a 'quirky' (in some small way) female MC that is usually kind of poor and almost everyone likes her except for a couple of people who REALLY don't like her and B) a male MC that will be 'gruff' and also really wealthy. This book is no different in that regard, it check marks both of those boxes. However, what this book *IS* missing is C) SEP's signature light-hearted/combative banter. Well, it's there, but it just doesn't hit as strongly as it has in other books. The closest it got for me was when all the people kept showing up at her door unannounced. Also, the epiphany at the end felt a little forced. This review is kind of terrible because it makes the book sound bad, and it's not. It's just not as 'fun' as her other books. I would recommend reading a different book by this author if you have never read anything by her before. (May I suggest my personal favorites: Dream a Little Dream and Natural Born Charmer?) And if you have read this author before, then maybe lower expectations a smidge, but you'll probably still enjoy this too.
    more
  • ♥Sharon♥
    January 1, 1970
    "As you can see, I am in the tree house....." WOW! I just finished this one and I have to say it was not what I was expecting. I loved it though. I’m keeping my review vague as I think the best way to go into this one is blind. Truly. Keep an open mind and heart. ❤ Dance Away with Me took me on the latest creative journey of Susan Elizabeth Phillips. She has written so many wonderful stories that I have read and loved and read again. This book was different from those. And frankly I wasn’t "As you can see, I am in the tree house....." WOW! I just finished this one and I have to say it was not what I was expecting. I loved it though. I’m keeping my review vague as I think the best way to go into this one is blind. Truly. Keep an open mind and heart. ❤ Dance Away with Me took me on the latest creative journey of Susan Elizabeth Phillips. She has written so many wonderful stories that I have read and loved and read again. This book was different from those. And frankly I wasn’t sure I would end up loving it. It was a rollercoaster ride where I found myself loving the beginning as I got to know Tess Hartsong and Ian North. Tess was a strong independent woman who was determine to start her life over again. Ian was the caregiver. He may have been a bastard at times but he took care of those he loved or those who needed taken care of. It was something that had been missing in his life.Then I reached the middle. A lot happens. The reader had a lot to sift through. My feelings and emotions were all over the place. I would read a chapter or two and have to set the book down. I had to process things. And I am glad I did. It was the last 30% that sealed the 5 stars. Life between Tess, Ian and Wren was messy and it probably always will be. Emotional boundaries would be tested. Both Tess and Ian had to figure out what they wanted and what they needed. It wouldn’t be as simple as just loving each other. I loved watching them find their way. Things may not have been perfect and I'm okay with that because real life never is.And I loved the epilogue. It was perfection!!
    more
  • Carol (StarAngel's Reviews) Allen
    January 1, 1970
    I am trying to process all of my emotions after reading the last page and since there are so many of them...it's hard for me to write a decent review right now. More to come....
  • Mo
    January 1, 1970
    I am torn! I wanted to LOVE this book. I love SEP - she is one of my favourite authors ... ever! I have read and re-read and listened and re-listened to many of her books over the years. But, this one fell a bit flat for me. While reading it, I was enjoying it but I kept comparing it to the brilliance of some of her other books (It Had to Be You, Dream a Little Dream, Nobody's Baby But Mine ... and more). I have rated 99% of her books 5 stars - one book I did not enjoy at all - gave it 2 stars a I am torn! I wanted to LOVE this book. I love SEP - she is one of my favourite authors ... ever! I have read and re-read and listened and re-listened to many of her books over the years. But, this one fell a bit flat for me. While reading it, I was enjoying it but I kept comparing it to the brilliance of some of her other books (It Had to Be You, Dream a Little Dream, Nobody's Baby But Mine ... and more). I have rated 99% of her books 5 stars - one book I did not enjoy at all - gave it 2 stars and another book got a 4 star from me. So the pressure was on. I am hovering here over the three and four star buttons = give us that fecking "half star" for our reviews, Goodreads ... "three" = I liked it (which I did)."four" = I really liked it (which I kinda did too) but I didn't love it! ********************************Added day after doing review ... I woke up thinking about his book ... I am going to downgrade it to 3. I liked it so, let's be honest about it then. Remember that book WE all read some years ago and something shocking happened and a lot of us swore we would never read the author again - well, I wouldn't go that far about SEP. I will read her again but this book was too far removed from her usual witty work, the work that made me love her, for me to rate it in the same way as I would her books that I ABSOLUTELY LIKED/LOVED. I know authors have to branch out and try new things but, to me, this book did not really encapsulate ANY of subtleties/humour/joy of her older books so, therefore, I just cannot hand out a solid four stars for it. This is my personal opinion ... I know that loads of my friends will absolutely love it.I could say more and nitpick more but I am not going to ...**********************************Granted the last few books I read were duds so I had high, high hopes for this one... maybe my expectations were way too high. As soon as I finished one of her other books in the past, I literally could have re-started it again that same day. Not this one - I honestly am not sure if it is one I will ever re-read! That does not bode well for a great book review from me! The book kept me interested and I did stay glued to it and finished it in 2 days but where was the humour? Where was the sassy lead female character I am used to? Where was the hero that I usually fall in love with? I know it was a sombre subject matter at times (which is unlike SEP). And, honestly, she maybe should have a spoiler or a "trigger warning" at the beginning of the book or in the book synopsis. I am now wondering did I read it too quickly and should I have savoured it a bit more and taken my time ... even the townspeople didn't have the usual snarky grit that she usually portrays. I just don't know. It is probably me... being picky! Ian "Don't mind him. He's being a prick." Tess Wren was cute (... "cute" - jeez, if that is the best I can come up with, things are looking bad ...) "Draw something for me." Visual descriptions were great, her portrayal of life in the Tennessee mountains came through. Small town life was portrayed (but I was left wanting a bit more) (I came from a small village myself and yes, everyone seems to know everyone's business). I did like Tess and Ian but felt their character development could have been a bit more intense ... we were in Runaway Mountain and I wanted to 'run away' and go to Heartache Mountain (I know, I know - get over it, Mo)! The hills and mountains that looked as though they'd been drizzled in watercolours ... I could give this five stars and pretend I loved it (so as not to offend a favourite author (as I know she is sitting there waiting to read my review, with bated breath))... but I always try to be honest in my reviews, even though I hate doing so in this case.I did get a sweet epilogue and you know how much I love my epilogues.
    more
  • Silver
    January 1, 1970
    I don't even care if it's a four star or not, I'm here for it. Susan has given us so much!
  • Mirjana **DTR - Down to Read**
    January 1, 1970
    ***2 Stars***WARNING: Rant review ahead. First off, let me start off by saying that this book is WAY TOO DAMN LONG. You ever have one of those dreams where you're running towards something, and the faster and harder you run, the further and further away your destination gets? Yeah, that's this book. It's the book that doesn't end. It goes on and on my friend...Second, the first 70(ish) pages of this book were terrific. I was sucked in from the beginning and invested in the story. I was whacked w ***2 Stars***WARNING: Rant review ahead. First off, let me start off by saying that this book is WAY TOO DAMN LONG. You ever have one of those dreams where you're running towards something, and the faster and harder you run, the further and further away your destination gets? Yeah, that's this book. It's the book that doesn't end. It goes on and on my friend...Second, the first 70(ish) pages of this book were terrific. I was sucked in from the beginning and invested in the story. I was whacked with an emotional punch right from the first chapter and the author kept the feels going for the first quarter of the book. I was glued to the pages. That's where any stars come from (that’s the only part of this book that I liked and enjoyed reading)...because the rest of the book gets negative 486 stars for the steaming pile of crap that it turned into. After a heartbreakingly pivotal moment in this book, it proceeded to turn into total trash. I raged with how the MCs behaved, the decisions they made, and the pure selfishness that the heroine exhibited. I crumpled corners of my paperback from holding on so tight because my hands were fisted in anger. And frankly, now that I'm done reading, I'm contemplating setting the book on fire to get some sort of satisfaction from having spent my time reading it.Let's start with the non-spoiler thoughts:** Ian is one dimensional and lacks any real depth. I don't think the author has any clue about street artists. He felt like a character based off of a Wikipedia search, sprinkled with your typical romance hero tortured backstory. ** Tess is a meddling and sanctimonious bitch. She was all up in people's business telling them what to do, what was right, etc. She knew what was best. She judged the shit out of people's circumstances, decisions, lifestyles, etc. Yet she was absolutely selfish in her decisions and behavior and found no fault with it. She was also constantly putting herself down when it came to her body image. And yet again, we have another book where the hero is trying to boost a heroine's self-esteem. Enough already. ** I felt zero chemistry between Tess and Ian. While I did enjoy their ribs and banter, they felt more like friends constantly giving each other shit and occasionally having sex than a romantic couple who had strong feelings for each other. I've been more emotionally invested picking out notebooks and pens than I was in their relationship. ** This book is preachy as hell. Smoking is bad! Practice safe sex! Don't ignore depression! Therapists and medication are okay! Why did I need to read dozens and dozens and dozens of pages about Tess preaching about condoms, and educating teenagers, and how parents should be open to answering questions, and how schools should teach sex education and not just abstinence, and on and on and on and on and on. I picked up a romance, not a Sex Ed pamphlet. ** Obviously we know from the blurb that Tess is still grieving the loss of her husband. That loss happened two years ago. It's no one's job to say how long a person should/can grieve. We all grieve differently and for different lengths of time, it's a personal and individual process. Tess may have been two years out from the initial loss, but she was still wandering. Trying to figure out how to have a life where Trav wasn't around anymore. He was the love of her life, she expected to spend the whole of it with him. Laughing, having adventures, starting a family. My heart broke for the future Tess felt she lost. For half this book we're given glimpses into what kind of a life they had, what their relationship was like, the love they shared, all the great memories...BUT, as soon as Tess started lusting after Ian and developing some feelings for him....OH, OH, OH....HERE COME ALL OF TRAV'S FAULTS. And of course, his biggest one being that he couldn't satisfy her sexually. I don’t know why the author decided she needed to start putting down the dead husband in order to make it okay for Tess to move on?! Has anyone seen my eyes? They seem to have rolled right out of my head...**The inhabitants of this small Tennessee town were painted as ignorant, back road hicks. Except for the one family with the politician patriarch...obviously. And oh, wait. The town did have one token black family. Their daughter Imani was the politician's daughter's token black BFF. She even called herself that. Oh and Gabby...who in a whispered sentence we were told that she's on the spectrum. Diversity folks! Now for the spoiler(ish) part: Click at your own risk. (view spoiler)[Right at the beginning we're introduced to Bianca, Ian's pregnant friend (though Tess believes in the beginning that she's his wife). Bianca is a former model and free-spirit that makes you smile. I loved her. She's full of joy, and wonder, and immediately Tess is drawn to her. They become fast friends. Bianca goes into premature labor, and Tess being a former midwife, steps in to deliver. But the birth goes very bad shortly after Bianca delivers her daughter. She makes Tess promise that she'll take care of her daughter, which she reluctantly promises. Bianca dies in a pool of blood in a darkened bedroom. The scene is gut wrenching. Very quickly Tess becomes attached to Wren (Tess named the baby). I mean, who wouldn't? Have you ever smelled a newborn? Ian has put his name as the father on the birth certificate, but he tells Tess that he's not the father. Bianca saved him from the streets, and from himself, but they were only friends. He also tells her about all of Bianca's bad decisions, flighty relationships, poor life choices, etc. That's okay. It's not like Bianca is around to explain or defend herself. Let's crap all over the dead woman. Moving on. The cabin where Tess lives is basically in shambles and falling apart, so Ian recommends she stay with him where it's better for both her and the baby. She agrees. As days go by, Tess continues to grow more attached to Wren. Ian goes to find Wren's father because she should be with her family now that her mother is dead. Ian finds out that Wren's father is out of the country but he talks to the father's parents (Wren's grandparents) and of course they want to meet their possible granddaughter. They're disappointed in their son, but want to do what's best. They say they'll submit to a paternity test just to make sure. Tess is super attached and can't imagine giving Wren to anyone. SHE'S HERS! When the grandparents come to get Wren, Tess runs away with the child. Ian finds her quickly, and brings them both back home. The grandparents, while loving and understanding how hard this must be for Tess, make an argument that they think Wren deserves a family and not to be raised by a single mother. The grandmother explains what her childhood was like being raised by a frazzled single mother and she doesn't want that for Wren. But Tess is hearing none of it."Look at her. She's thriving. Can't you see? I know her in a way nobody else does. I know what her cries mean - whether she's hungry, or sleepy, or mad at the world. I know how she likes to be held and - ""Tess. This isn't fair to Diane and Jeff.""I don't care about Diane and Jeff!" Jeff's head came up, and Diane looked wounded. Tess softened. "I don't mean that. It's obvious you're good people, and Wren couldn't have better grandparents. But you're grandparents! She's mine! You can see her anytime you want, but she's mine. You can be the grandparents you've always wanted to be. I'll send her to you for the holidays. For summer vacations. I'll sign anything you want to protect your rights. But she belongs with me.""Oh, Tess. We can see how hard this is for you. But Wren is ours."Tess's lips thinned into a snarl. "Why? Because your son knocked up her mother?"These people were nice and kind and compassionate..and in great health, I might add. They were only in their 60's, not some couple with one foot in the grave!I understand Tess's feelings, but her actions and words enraged me. How dare she? She felt the same way about the baby's father potentially wanted to take Wren. She automatically assumes that NO ONE will be better for Wren than her. NO ONE! I won't go on to spoil anything about what happens in this situation, but obviously Wren stays with Tess in the end. And for the rest of the book, Wren is HER child, HER daughter, HER baby. She's the mother, and calls herself Mommy. Bianca is rarely ever mentioned for the rest of the book. A fart in the wind. There and potent one moment, and gone in the next. I mean, she's dead...and really not as awesome as you may have thought when she was alive, soooooo you know...why add any unnecessary mention of her in this overly long book when the author can fill the pages with other unnecessary stuff. There's so much more I could rant about, but I'm pretty sure I'll be reaching my Goodreads word count limit soon, and there's absolutely one more thing I have to mention.The epilogue is told from Wren's point of view years down the line. It was kind of cute. I thought, okay...maybe my final moments with this book will cool some of the rage inside of me, and it'll redeem itself a little bit. And then I read this passage and started looking around the room for my matches..."Another thing that's getting annoying...You know how Mom and Dad like to talk to me about Bianca, my birth mother, so I don't forget her? They're always saying how much she wanted me, and how artistic she was, and all that kind of stuff, blah blah blah. But I'm not stupid, and I can sort of tell she might have been kind of a loser, too. Maybe you could find out more about that next time you're here. Still, I definitely hope I look like her someday!" SERIOUSLY?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! (hide spoiler)]In conclusion...BOOK CONTENT WARNING: This book has an on page death scene, remembered death of another person, and a secondary character recovering physically and emotionally from a miscarriage.
    more
  • Jessi
    January 1, 1970
    If you like a Man Who Steps Up, this might be a book for you. It takes awhile but Ian North eventually falls in line. Tess Hartsong is emotionally brittle. Her husband died young and, two years later, she is still working through her grief (because grief really, really sucks.) But she decides that a rural area is going to be the place to heal. Also healing? 2 am dance parties. But her neighbor isn't into that. At least the male half isn't. But he ends up as a single father and Tess steps in. Wel If you like a Man Who Steps Up, this might be a book for you. It takes awhile but Ian North eventually falls in line. Tess Hartsong is emotionally brittle. Her husband died young and, two years later, she is still working through her grief (because grief really, really sucks.) But she decides that a rural area is going to be the place to heal. Also healing? 2 am dance parties. But her neighbor isn't into that. At least the male half isn't. But he ends up as a single father and Tess steps in. Well, "steps" might be a soft word for it. She is sort of barreling her way through life, undirected and decides to take on an orphan as well as teaching all of the teens in an abstinence only town all about prophylactics. I have to admit, I was hoping for another Natural Born Charmer or Breathing Room. Both start with female characters on a journey (okay, it's a common plot device,) and we get to see them move through the book. And it took me several days to figure out why this book didn't quite hit that button for me and I finally figured out that the amount of resolution nowhere nears the amount of angst. Tess is so bottled up for most of the book, then sort of nuts, but then, poof!, she's all good. In both of the other books I mentioned, we get to see more healing and getting to see that depth of character is part of what makes those books so good. Also missing in this book? Relationship development. At least between Tess and Ian. It all felt so surface and SEP is usually so good at creating the kind of relationship that I sigh over.
    more
  • Eve
    January 1, 1970
    New York Times bestselling author Susan Elizabeth Phillips is excited to announce DANCE AWAY WITH ME, a heartfelt novel of womanhood, a wild heart, and the healing power of love, coming June 9, 2020. When life throws her one setback too many, young widow Tess Hartsong heads to the Tennessee mountains. Surrounded by nature, she hopes to escape her heartbreak and find the solace she needs to heal. But instead of peace and quiet, she encounters a town suspicious of outsiders, especially one as h New York Times bestselling author Susan Elizabeth Phillips is excited to announce DANCE AWAY WITH ME, a heartfelt novel of womanhood, a wild heart, and the healing power of love, coming June 9, 2020. When life throws her one setback too many, young widow Tess Hartsong heads to the Tennessee mountains. Surrounded by nature, she hopes to escape her heartbreak and find the solace she needs to heal. But instead of peace and quiet, she encounters a town suspicious of outsiders, especially one as headstrong as Tess. Just as headstrong, is Ian North, a difficult, gifted man with a tortured soul---a man who makes Tess question everything. In running away to this new life, Tess wonders---Has she lost herself . . . or has she found her future? June 2020...ahhh, so long time to wait!!!!! But I'm sure it will be worth this long wait!
    more
  • Ingie
    January 1, 1970
    3.7 STARS - Demanding, some tough parts, but finally good enough🧸🧸🧸🧸A new Susan Elizabeth Phillips novel to read don’t happens that often and her admirers expectations are probably huge. I must admit I was a bit disappointed halfway trough. But as some GR friends already said and written; Dance Away with Me gets better and better ... and when you reach the beautiful end you just smile a brilliant big happy smile. These main characters Tess Hartsong and Ian North and their grand story (and romanc 3.7 STARS - Demanding, some tough parts, but finally good enough🧸🧸🧸🧸A new Susan Elizabeth Phillips novel to read don’t happens that often and her admirers expectations are probably huge. I must admit I was a bit disappointed halfway trough. But as some GR friends already said and written; Dance Away with Me gets better and better ... and when you reach the beautiful end you just smile a brilliant big happy smile. These main characters Tess Hartsong and Ian North and their grand story (and romance) was kind of struggling, slow and pretty hard to really get that right wonderful feeling for. Luckily it turned out good. The new for me audiobook narrator Nicole Poole did a okay job as well. Read June 15, 2020******************************... Just three more unread SEP romances to read (ordered all three as paperbacks for some sunny lazy summer days in a comfy deck chair). Then? Afterwards? — 😳🥺😢 — Maybe I need to start it all over again and reread because Susan Elizabeth Phillips’s books (especially when narrated by Anna Fields) are always touching, heartwarming and the very best kind of good romance reading for me.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Susan Elizabeth Phillips's new release came at just the right time. Her books are a sure thing when it comes to adult romance lovers, and this one was no exception. Dance Away with Me features Phillips' classic leading lady, strong and resilient, and adds complex backstories and the rural, medical backdrop reminiscent of Robyn Carr's Virgin River. Bonus: My favorite pretend relationship trope is included ... well kinda. You'll just have to read it. Overall, it's a bit heavier than her usual, but Susan Elizabeth Phillips's new release came at just the right time. Her books are a sure thing when it comes to adult romance lovers, and this one was no exception. Dance Away with Me features Phillips' classic leading lady, strong and resilient, and adds complex backstories and the rural, medical backdrop reminiscent of Robyn Carr's Virgin River. Bonus: My favorite pretend relationship trope is included ... well kinda. You'll just have to read it. Overall, it's a bit heavier than her usual, but it still satisfies. Check it out.My favorite quote:"I hate hearing that word used against women. If she's a slut that means he is too."
    more
  • Smitten
    January 1, 1970
    Dance Away With Me is the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Susan Elizabeth Phillips. Tess Hartsong has escaped to Runaway Mountain to forget the pain and heartache of her past. Once settled in her remote cottage she meets several characters that also inhabit the mountain including a famous model, a family of survivalist preppers, a coffee shop owning Dead Head, and the famous artist Ian North. Ian has come to the mountain to escape his own issues and create in peace. When circ Dance Away With Me is the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Susan Elizabeth Phillips. Tess Hartsong has escaped to Runaway Mountain to forget the pain and heartache of her past. Once settled in her remote cottage she meets several characters that also inhabit the mountain including a famous model, a family of survivalist preppers, a coffee shop owning Dead Head, and the famous artist Ian North. Ian has come to the mountain to escape his own issues and create in peace. When circumstances throw Tess and Ian together can they heal themselves and each other?This book, the first from Phillips in four years, is an excellent example of why her work is so popular with readers. Phillips is a master at creating characters that make us think, feel, and laugh in stories that not only are romantic but tackle difficult subjects. Tucking into this book was like getting a letter from a much loved friend. Phillips’ characters, plot, and pacing were so good that I read over half the novel before noticing.Tess is the quintessential Phillips heroine, maybe a bit battered and bruised, but definitely stronger than she realizes. She’s mourning the loss of her husband and unsure how she can move on. All she knows is that she’s isolated in the mountains and that’s exactly what she needs. She doesn’t intend to make friends, but suddenly gathers around her a community of misfits and outcasts that are so well written they feel real.The hero Ian reminded me of some of my favorite Phillips heroes, his gruffness and secret inner softness will be very familiar to any fan of the author’s previous works. The chemistry between the two is some of the best Phillips has written. I love that Phillips can give us such an excellent hero that is not entirely perfect, but exactly what the heroine needs. One of the best things about this book was how both Tess and Ian silently and vocally supported each other through difficult times.Dance Aways With Me showcases one of Phillips’ greatest strengths, which is the ability to tack the story to a very dark place before bringing it back out in a most spectacular way. She uses her incredible talent to tackle several difficult topics in this book including: miscarriages, teen pregnancy, death, grief, and small town prejudices. Yet, through all these difficult topics we get a passionate love story between Ian and Tess, funny small town antics, and beautiful friendships. I think some readers may be cautious of the topics in this book, but I can assure you Phillips handles everything with grace and tact that makes even the hardest topics enjoyable to read.Overall, I loved this book, and was pleased to see that even though it had been several years since the last book Phillips has not lost her touch. This book reminded me of her previous works This Heart of Mine and Nobody’s Baby But Mine, which both handle similar topics to Dance Away With Me. Any fans of Phillips will be happy with her latest entry, and I’d highly recommend this novel to any new readers that are looking for a romance with a lot of passion and heart.~ LindseyWill post review week of release
    more
  • Anita
    January 1, 1970
    You need to be forewarned that this is not a light, happy SEP book, but a darker, more broody and complex SEP that most of her fans are used to. SEP doesn't always write light and happy and if that is what you want you need, reread the Chicago Stars Series. This is a complex book with several dark themes: grief, loss, PTSD, complex love, complex people and the wonderful journey life can take you on.In Runaway Mountain, TN Tess Hartsong, a young widow who has lost both her love and her best frien You need to be forewarned that this is not a light, happy SEP book, but a darker, more broody and complex SEP that most of her fans are used to. SEP doesn't always write light and happy and if that is what you want you need, reread the Chicago Stars Series. This is a complex book with several dark themes: grief, loss, PTSD, complex love, complex people and the wonderful journey life can take you on.In Runaway Mountain, TN Tess Hartsong, a young widow who has lost both her love and her best friend, can't seem to get it together, so she dances. She dances to loud music at all times of the day and night.A famous street artist, Ian Hamilton North IV, has run to Runaway Mountain, or rather away from Manhattan, for the peace, quiet and nature. And, to find out who he is as an artist when he can no longer be the angry street artist of his youth. His enigmatic, pregnant muse followed him leading to all kinds of complications. As Tess finds her heart healing, Ian is still searching for the something that seems lost to him. They butt heads and find themselves in situations neither of them could have ever imagined.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Pub date: Jun 2020 (tried to wait, but could. not. even.)SEP has never failed me before and after a bit of a wait for this new romance, she hits it out of the park again! This story of Tess, a widow coming to terms with her loss and Ian, a famous artist struggling with his work, is wonderful! They are fully fleshed out characters, who do everything backward(view spoiler)[: become parents to an infant, then get married, then fall in love. (hide spoiler)] The romance is a slow and steady burn, an Pub date: Jun 2020 (tried to wait, but could. not. even.)SEP has never failed me before and after a bit of a wait for this new romance, she hits it out of the park again! This story of Tess, a widow coming to terms with her loss and Ian, a famous artist struggling with his work, is wonderful! They are fully fleshed out characters, who do everything backward(view spoiler)[: become parents to an infant, then get married, then fall in love. (hide spoiler)] The romance is a slow and steady burn, and man does it burn! Their banter and Tess's testy interactions with the folks of the Broken Chimney made me laugh and then I cried about Sophie and when Tess freaks the f-out when confronted with a difficult choice. Highly recommended to those who love good, deep characters in their romances, which would include all SEP and Julie Anne Long fans.
    more
  • Jasmine
    January 1, 1970
    Tess, a widowed midwife, escapes to Runaway Mountain and is caught dancing in the rain by Ian, a broody (and grumpy) artist.It's been a while since I read anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, so I forgot how tough Phillips is on her characters, literally to the point of insanity. But I also forgot how seamlessly Phillips tailors a story, allowing her characters to transfigure in ways that are so natural--when I loved Tess and felt her redemption, I forgot there was a time when I thought she had Tess, a widowed midwife, escapes to Runaway Mountain and is caught dancing in the rain by Ian, a broody (and grumpy) artist.It's been a while since I read anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, so I forgot how tough Phillips is on her characters, literally to the point of insanity. But I also forgot how seamlessly Phillips tailors a story, allowing her characters to transfigure in ways that are so natural--when I loved Tess and felt her redemption, I forgot there was a time when I thought she had completely lost her marbles. This story really is like a fairy tale, evident in the way Tess transforms from a grieving widow into a fierce mother and how Ian's grouchy and beast-like demeanor melts away to reveal a man tortured by past abandonment and abuse. Even the community which treats Tess like a pariah drastically changes from Tess' impact alone--her attitude, her femininity, and combination of her own morals and sense of duty with regards to her philosophies as a medical professional. A gorgeous, gorgeous story that had me gasping, sighing, and laughing throughout.C/W: death post-birth, mentions of past child abuse (physical and sexual).
    more
  • Cubby
    January 1, 1970
    Imagine two of the most random folks meet in rural Tennessee and immediately clash. I mean oil and water, can't stand each other. He's a jerk, and she's so tied up in her grief that she's barely able to take care of her basic needs. Well, it turns out these two are soulmates. Stop right there....this isn't the plot of the latest rom-com with the cutesy comic book cover. These are fully developed characters dealing with a lifetime of hurts. This is the magic of Susan Elizabeth Phillips. She someh Imagine two of the most random folks meet in rural Tennessee and immediately clash. I mean oil and water, can't stand each other. He's a jerk, and she's so tied up in her grief that she's barely able to take care of her basic needs. Well, it turns out these two are soulmates. Stop right there....this isn't the plot of the latest rom-com with the cutesy comic book cover. These are fully developed characters dealing with a lifetime of hurts. This is the magic of Susan Elizabeth Phillips. She somehow weaves realistic, flawed characters and tough situations with a good dose of humor to create a love that leaves you cheering in the end.
    more
  • Tiffany Foskey
    January 1, 1970
    Wow is the first thing I can say about this book!! I loved every minute of reading this story. I even kept stopping because I didn't want it to end. This isn't a typical lovey romance novel which I would say are Susan Elizabeth Phillips norm. Which isn't a bad thing. I'm just saying this book is sooo much more than that. It had twists(not a thriller though), just twists you didn't expect but it also has characters that you feel all the feels with. This story sucks you in and doesn't let go until Wow is the first thing I can say about this book!! I loved every minute of reading this story. I even kept stopping because I didn't want it to end. This isn't a typical lovey romance novel which I would say are Susan Elizabeth Phillips norm. Which isn't a bad thing. I'm just saying this book is sooo much more than that. It had twists(not a thriller though), just twists you didn't expect but it also has characters that you feel all the feels with. This story sucks you in and doesn't let go until you are through reading. Even then it might stay with you awhile.
    more
  • Rose Miller
    January 1, 1970
    Everything about this book drew me in and kept me reading non-stop until the end. Tess, a widow, expressing her grief through her outside dances, is heartbreaking and empowering at the same time. The emotions came through so clearly that I could feel them. When she meets grouchy Ian, a frustrated artist, and is drawn into his life through his wife, and then by a terrible tragedy, the book takes an even darker turn. However, there is a lot of humor in the story, as Tess deals with the locals, tha Everything about this book drew me in and kept me reading non-stop until the end. Tess, a widow, expressing her grief through her outside dances, is heartbreaking and empowering at the same time. The emotions came through so clearly that I could feel them. When she meets grouchy Ian, a frustrated artist, and is drawn into his life through his wife, and then by a terrible tragedy, the book takes an even darker turn. However, there is a lot of humor in the story, as Tess deals with the locals, that provides some lightness to the characters. Ian and Tess's relationship is slow to develop but worth it. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Deborah
    January 1, 1970
    So many layers in this book! Nobody does romance like SEP! I want to move to this small town in Tennessee and to share a stool at the counter where Grateful Dead is playing and the townsfolk are learning how to accept a grieving widow and a Yankee street artist. I haven’t read a book in a long time that I wanted to read late into the night, but didn’t want to finish it because I wanted to have something to wake up to in the morning. This book has filled my heart with JOY! Thank you Susan Elizabe So many layers in this book! Nobody does romance like SEP! I want to move to this small town in Tennessee and to share a stool at the counter where Grateful Dead is playing and the townsfolk are learning how to accept a grieving widow and a Yankee street artist. I haven’t read a book in a long time that I wanted to read late into the night, but didn’t want to finish it because I wanted to have something to wake up to in the morning. This book has filled my heart with JOY! Thank you Susan Elizabeth Phillips and May I ask...When is your next book being released???
    more
  • Chris Conley
    January 1, 1970
    There is no one who writes the kind of books Susan Elizabeth Phillips does. Her stories are intense, romantic and funny. Her characters always are complex and delightful. The only problem for me is that they are so good that I read them way too fast!!! Now I have to wait for the next book.
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    review to come
  • Michele
    January 1, 1970
    See the full review at HarlequinJunkieQuirky small-town charm and an intense relationship between two grief-stricken individuals made Dance Away with Me a unique reading experience from perennial favorite Susan Elizabeth Phillips.I’m going to be completely honest about Dance Away with Me: I have mixed feelings. And I waffled between giving this a 3.5 or a 4 star rating because of it. I generally love anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and will simply devour her books in one day. But I actually See the full review at HarlequinJunkieQuirky small-town charm and an intense relationship between two grief-stricken individuals made Dance Away with Me a unique reading experience from perennial favorite Susan Elizabeth Phillips.I’m going to be completely honest about Dance Away with Me: I have mixed feelings. And I waffled between giving this a 3.5 or a 4 star rating because of it. I generally love anything by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and will simply devour her books in one day. But I actually found myself putting this story aside a few times. It’s not that I didn’t like the plot or the characters. I definitely did. It was that the quick-witted humor I’m used to seemed a little…awkward here... Read More
    more
Write a review