The Change Up
BREAKING NEWS: The Bad Boy of Baseball, Maddox Paige, is totally and utterly whipped. Okay, that might not be the headlines in the newspaper this morning, but it's the reality of my current situation. It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend, Kinsley. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Ha! Total disaster. Now instead of going out every night with my teammates, I'm couch surfing and sketching endless photos of my best friend . . . but that's the least of my concerns. The disaster, you ask? I'm rapidly falling head over cleats in love with my best friend, my roommate, and my number one fan. And she has no idea . . .

The Change Up Details

TitleThe Change Up
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 11th, 2020
PublisherHot-Lanta Publishing, LLC
Rating
GenreSports, Romance, Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance, Contemporary

The Change Up Review

  • Meghan Quinn
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Bibi
    January 1, 1970
    Kingsley wasn’t funny or quirky or whatever the author imagined she was. I wanted to throw her in the recycling bin along with the trash she stashed on the balcony. Terrible character. It’s a no for me.
  • Elle's Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: June 11, 2020 Actual Rating: 5+ stars Sports (baseball) | Friends to Lovers Romance I never thought I would use this word in a review but WOWZER! This book is insanely hot!!! I think its Meghan’s sexiest book yet! Gosh, I felt like I was MELTING while reading it!!!! Ladies be prepared because Maddox is going to STEAL YOUR HEART. I am not even exaggerating in the slightest either. This man is pure ALPHA GOODNESS! He’s a broody bad boy who likes to fight, but also a caring bear of Release Date: June 11, 2020 Actual Rating: 5+ stars Sports (baseball) | Friends to Lovers Romance I never thought I would use this word in a review but WOWZER! This book is insanely hot!!! I think its Meghan’s sexiest book yet! Gosh, I felt like I was MELTING while reading it!!!! Ladies be prepared because Maddox is going to STEAL YOUR HEART. I am not even exaggerating in the slightest either. This man is pure ALPHA GOODNESS! He’s a broody bad boy who likes to fight, but also a caring bear of a man who just wants to love with all his heart! I wanted to cuddle him myself and found that I was a little jealous of Kinsley because she GOT my man! I’ll admit though, it is hard to stay mad at her though because she is the sweetest heroine I have come across in a long time. I love when characters have a heart of gold and oh man did she EVER! I saw a little of me in her too (not the vegan part though). She’s such a kind soul and loves animals just as much as I do. I don’t know if I could work in a shelter and not take every single animal home, but people like her are wonderful! We need more Kinsley’s in the world that’s for sure. Anyway (I’m still fanning myself) this is a FANTASTIC friends to lover’s romance with enough spice to excite even the biggest prude. Maddox and Kinsley have a great friendship and turning that into something more was breathtaking to watch. Meghan does spin it a little towards the end with a jaw dropping fight that has the potential to cancel out all the good progress these two made, but the makeup and how it happens was MAGICAL. If you’re read Meghan’s books, you’ll know she has some pretty epic breakups and makeups, and this is one you won’t forget for a long time! My review is clearly all full of excitement because of how much I LOVED this book! It’s going down into one of my all-time favorites of the author and HIGHLY recommend it to all romance readers! This is one of the BEST friends to lover’s romances I have ever read!!!!
    more
  • Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    *****FIVE STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author}She’s my person.My everything. My heart and soul. And I will do just about anything to keep her as mine…anything.Maddox Paige is the notorious bad boy pitcher of the Chicago Rebels. We only started to get a glimpse into this tender soul in the previous book, ”The Trade”. Maddox grew up in a toxic environment, thanks to his abusive alcoholic father. Having endured his father’s rage for so many years has left an imprint on him. It’s why Madd *****FIVE STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author}She’s my person.My everything. My heart and soul. And I will do just about anything to keep her as mine…anything.Maddox Paige is the notorious bad boy pitcher of the Chicago Rebels. We only started to get a glimpse into this tender soul in the previous book, ”The Trade”. Maddox grew up in a toxic environment, thanks to his abusive alcoholic father. Having endured his father’s rage for so many years has left an imprint on him. It’s why Maddox has such a short fuse and is often the first to be throwing fists during a brawl on the playing field. He keeps his personal life private and only a few people know that a true artist and gentle soul lay hidden beneath the rough & tatted exterior. One of those people, is his best friend from childhood, Kinsley. She has been there for him through thick and thin. Has always provided a safe haven for Maddox when he needed an escape from his tyrannical father. It’s been years since he left their hometown and made a name for himself in the major leagues, but through it all, they’ve managed to hold on to their strong connection.Maddox invites Kinsley to move in with him when she lands her dream job working for an animal shelter in Chicago. He never knew that having Kinsley in his home would flip his world on its axis. She’s an unstoppable force of nature, but Maddox, while utterly clueless to his emotions, is completely enamored with her, and would do anything to make her happy. It seems these best-friends are both unaware of how the other feels, but they also fear the possibility of losing their friendship if they attempt to reveal what’s really in their hearts.Maddox and Kinsley will eventually give in to their attraction and these two have the spiciest sexy scenes out of all the couples in this series. I loved their easy connection and found the angsty moments completely unbearable. Who knew Maddox would end up being a true swoon-worthy Hero??!!Here are my overall ratings:Hero: 4.5Heroine: 5Plot: 5Angst: 4.5Steam: 5++++Chemistry Between Hero & Heroine: 5++++”THE CHANGE UP” is currently available.Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2Mz8kpkAmazon UK: https://amzn.to/2zVyT5pAmazon CA: https://amzn.to/2A2SbWgAmazon AU: https://amzn.to/2AH5dJ4
    more
  • Tijuana *Book Twins Reviews*
    January 1, 1970
    Maddox Paige can get it!! He’s ruined me for all other book boyfriends in this series!Gahhhhh! I’d been waiting, hoping, praying, and begging for Maddox’s story since we first met him. I knew it’d be something special and Meghan Quinn did not disappoint!! From this smoking hot cover to the amazingly touching story inside, The Change Up was a surefire winner! Meghan Quinn hits another home run!Here’s what I loved:There’s so much depth to Maddox Paige. His character caught me off guard in the very Maddox Paige can get it!! He’s ruined me for all other book boyfriends in this series!Gahhhhh! I’d been waiting, hoping, praying, and begging for Maddox’s story since we first met him. I knew it’d be something special and Meghan Quinn did not disappoint!! From this smoking hot cover to the amazingly touching story inside, The Change Up was a surefire winner! Meghan Quinn hits another home run!Here’s what I loved:There’s so much depth to Maddox Paige. His character caught me off guard in the very best ways. He’s the bad boy with a heart of gold and I couldn’t resist him even if I tried. He’s haunted by his past in way that he’s never really addressed. A creature of habit who Craves his privacy and routine. Not very much unlike myself. lolol When his bestie moves in, all bets are off and his carefully managed routine is turned on its head. It was so fun to witness. He was so sweet and broken. I just want to cuddle and snuggle him for eternity. I’ve loved all the guys in this series and never thought anyone would overthrow Carson as my fave, but Maddox is my new fave!!This story combines humor, emotional storytelling, and complex real life scenarios perfectly! The history between these two characters allow for some cute moments that fans of this author will thoroughly enjoy.Like the previous books in the series, this was a slow burn romance that burned bright once the spark was lit. Steamy and oh so sexy. The chemistry between these two was off the charts!I really enjoyed Kinsley’s unique personality and quirky behavior, but the “Old Man” sort of stole the show. So much cuteness! The writing, pacing, and plot are all very well executed and this book features some of the best grovel you may ever read. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Dali
    January 1, 1970
    HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY Meghan Quinn always delivers and with The Change Up, she continues her sports romance series with a sweet, sexy and heartfelt read. “I’m in this for the good, the bad, and the naughty.” ➵ The Plot: In The Change Up, we get to meet Kinsley, Maddox Paige’s best friend. Maddox Paige is known as the bad boy of baseball with his dark, brooding persona and willingness to throw a punch on the field. When his best friend is offered her dream job and the only obstacle is a HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY Meghan Quinn always delivers and with The Change Up, she continues her sports romance series with a sweet, sexy and heartfelt read. “I’m in this for the good, the bad, and the naughty.” ➵ The Plot: In The Change Up, we get to meet Kinsley, Maddox Paige’s best friend. Maddox Paige is known as the bad boy of baseball with his dark, brooding persona and willingness to throw a punch on the field. When his best friend is offered her dream job and the only obstacle is an affordable living space, the solution is obvious: “Maddie” offers his childhood best friend to stay with him. He never imagined that she’d break all his rules starting with bringing home a three legged dog, nor that she would turn his world upside down will all her eco-friendly changes, much less the fact that he’d fall irrevocably in love with her. I fell completely and absolutely head over heels in love with Maddox and Kinsley. They’re completely opposite. He was a neat freak, she was a slob. He didn’t like animals, her mission in life is to save them all. But together they make the perfect couple because they had known, supported and loved each other through thick and thin since they were kids. They were each other’s person. She’s light on a rainy day, and she’s joy in a dark moment. She’s my person. My everything. ➵ The Hero: I’ve said this once and I’ll say it again. Meghan Quinn knows how to write book boyfriends. Maddox Paige is a total sweetheart who hides behind his rebel persona and only lets his patient, thoughtful, and loving side out around Kinsley. Yes he’s a bit broken and he had his slip ups but overall he had no qualms about letting her know how much she meant to him. Her confidence in me, her strength she instilled when I was feeling my lowers, her love… f*ck, her love got me through so much. She’s my person. ➵ The Heroine:Being a tree huger myself, I absolutely loved Kinsley Howard and kudos to Meghan for creating her. But what I liked most was that she wasn’t afraid to put Maddox in his place. Their transition from friends to lovers was delightfully to watch. ➵ The Feels: “He’s hitting me precisely in the feels, and he knows it.”The help and interventions from teammates Jason, Cory, and Linc were spot on. I loved everything from funny start to sweet double epilogue finish. The Change Up is a standalone contemporary romance by Meghan Quinn. It is a sexy standalone romance, told from both points of view with a happy ending.* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author. The excerpts are from that copy. I am voluntarily reviewing this title. *Stalk me on FaceBook * Instagram * More reviews
    more
  • Steph's Romance Book Talk
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars / 4 Steam Fans Video review available in Week 24: Jun 7 – 13 weekly book reviews. For other video book reviews, check out my YouTube Channel: Steph's Romance Book Talk.
  • Seline
    January 1, 1970
    DNF 44% I WAS SO EXCITED TO READ THIS I KNEW MADDOX WOULD HAVE HIS OWN BOOK!! However, I couldn’t quite connect to the characters and I didn’t feel the connection between Maddox and Kinsley which was disappointing. I might give this book another chance at a later date.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Meghan Quinn hits another home run with this one. The The Change Up is Maddox Paige’s story and I fell for him hook, line and sinker. I’ve been waiting for Maddox’s book since he was first introduced. This brooding bad boy of baseball has been on my list of anticipated reads and I could not be happier with this story. This is a friends to lovers story that ticked the boxes for me. The friendship between Kinsley and Maddox was one of my favorite parts of this book and watching it progress was a w Meghan Quinn hits another home run with this one. The The Change Up is Maddox Paige’s story and I fell for him hook, line and sinker. I’ve been waiting for Maddox’s book since he was first introduced. This brooding bad boy of baseball has been on my list of anticipated reads and I could not be happier with this story. This is a friends to lovers story that ticked the boxes for me. The friendship between Kinsley and Maddox was one of my favorite parts of this book and watching it progress was a wonderful sweet slow burn. I was so invested in their relationship from the get go. There is so much chemistry between them and so much history. These two are total opposites yet so perfect for each other. Kinsley is free spirited and a wonderful mess while Maddox is organized and likes to follow a routine. It was so easy to root for these two and fall in love with them both. They are beyond relationship goals.The side characters of course played a huge part as ever. From the crazy hilarious bromancing to the ridiculous advice and outrageous shenanigans (unsurprisingly mainly from Jason!) They just added so much character to this book.This book evokes all the emotions. One minute you’ll be smiling and laughing, then THAT moment will come and Meghan will rip your heart out for a little while and you’ll scream! But in typical fashion she will fix it in a way only Meghan Quinn can. With each book in this series, I fall deeper in love with all of the boys of baseball. I for one hope it’s a long, long time before Meghan Quinn runs out of these sexy, amazing players’ stories to tell, because I am LOVING this series!
    more
  • ♛ Mademoiselle Smut ♛
    January 1, 1970
    5 Stars Meghan Quinn has never disappointed, and always delivers a book packed with steaminess and comedy. ➖ Bad boy hero, check ➖ An awesome heroine with a big heart, check ➖ Roommates, check ➖ Best-friends turned lovers, check check check Maddox, the bad boy of baseball, and Kinsley have been best friends since they were five. And when Kinsley gets a job in Chicago, Maddox offers her his home until she gets her feet on the ground. Only he has a few ground rules:No bringing over strangers.No 5 Stars Meghan Quinn has never disappointed, and always delivers a book packed with steaminess and comedy. ➖ Bad boy hero, check ➖ An awesome heroine with a big heart, check ➖ Roommates, check ➖ Best-friends turned lovers, check check check Maddox, the bad boy of baseball, and Kinsley have been best friends since they were five. And when Kinsley gets a job in Chicago, Maddox offers her his home until she gets her feet on the ground. Only he has a few ground rules:No bringing over strangers.No mess-making. And NO four-legged friends. What could possibly go wrong? With one of the hottest men in baseball and a woman to die for. Yeah, what could go wrong? “Ahhh, Maddox.” Before I can even ask her why she brought Clyde with her, she throws her arms around me and pulls me into a hug. “Oh my God, did you make more muscles?” Make more muscles. Only Kinsley would phrase it that way. I'm a fan of best friends to lovers romance but only if they're done right. I hate when two people have been friends for so long and then one day, BAM, they're in love. Meghan Quinn, however, knows just how to write friends to lovers. Nothing felt forced or uncomfortable between these characters. Their love for each other was so unique and had me turning the pages with a fucking smile on my face. Cory just laughs, a good hearty laugh while he stares at me in disbelief. “What?” I ask. “Never in a million years would I have guessed that Maddox Paige, the bad boy of baseball, is a fucking softy with a heart. Nor would I have ever bet that you would come to me for girl advice.” I loved Kinsley's, big heart. Her love for animals and the world was amazing. The steam in this book is not what we've read in Meghan Quinn's previous books. I will not spoil anything, but you'll know when you read that one particular scene. I had to pick my jaw off the floor. The side characters were great, especially Linc, Maddox's friend. He had me laughing my ass off with his dialogue. I loved the friendship between all the guys and how they would give Maddox advice on how to win over Kinsley. This book is one of Meghan Quinn's best work. If you're looking for steamy friends to lovers romance with great characters, this is it for you!
    more
  • Willow Winters
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. BOOKBUB: https://www.bookbub.com/books/the-cha...Steamy, funny, romantic, page-turner, original Th THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. BOOKBUB: https://www.bookbub.com/books/the-cha...Steamy, funny, romantic, page-turner, original The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Ilsa Madden-Mills
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. BOOKBUB: https://www.bookbub.com/books/the-cha...Steamy, funny, romantic, page-turner, original Th THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. BOOKBUB: https://www.bookbub.com/books/the-cha...Steamy, funny, romantic, page-turner, original The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Rachel Dyken
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Sarah - Musings of the Modern Belle
    January 1, 1970
    ****AVAILABLE NOW - FULL REVIEW****5+ REBEL CROWNSOmg! Without a doubt my favorite Meghan Quinn book and my favorite hero. My heart belongs to Maddox, and I don’t ever want it back. Maddox. Slayer of hearts. Rebel pitcher. Too hot to touch. Lord, I couldn’t help but fall in love with this man. His love of Kinsley and all her parts just made me swoon. He accepts, appreciates and cherished her, and I couldn’t help but love him. Kinsley was such a great heroine. I love her infectious and lovable at ****AVAILABLE NOW - FULL REVIEW****5+ REBEL CROWNSOmg! Without a doubt my favorite Meghan Quinn book and my favorite hero. My heart belongs to Maddox, and I don’t ever want it back. Maddox. Slayer of hearts. Rebel pitcher. Too hot to touch. Lord, I couldn’t help but fall in love with this man. His love of Kinsley and all her parts just made me swoon. He accepts, appreciates and cherished her, and I couldn’t help but love him. Kinsley was such a great heroine. I love her infectious and lovable attitude, her need to save the earth, and her love of animals. She was irresistible and completely charming. These two together are too cute. From the moment they are together, there is immediate chemistry and connection because they have been best friends their whole lives. And while I thought Meghan would kill me slowly with anticipation, the pay off was worth it. I’m not going to lie and any that the crash and burn didn’t hurt. That climax and the falling action shattered my heart into one million pieces, but my man Maddox knows how to grovel, and grovel he did. The epilogue has me grinning so hard. My heart was so full and happy. This standalone series just gets better and better! I seriously cannot get enough of this world, and it has officially become my favorite Quinn standalone world. This will be a favorite of 2020 for sure. ARC review
    more
  • K. Bromberg
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Auntee
    January 1, 1970
    God I want to review this because somehow it made me cry.....maybe when I have more time.
  • Carmen Rae
    January 1, 1970
    Damn that was awesome. Since I picked up the first book in this series I have been a huge fan. They just have everything I personally could want in a sports romance. And every single one of them has added to my overall love of the series. Now i know i keep saying series and these are all written as stand alones and aren't linked as a series but they all interconnect. And even with my goldfish memory each one builds a little more on the overall story and adds extra dimensions to each couple and i Damn that was awesome. Since I picked up the first book in this series I have been a huge fan. They just have everything I personally could want in a sports romance. And every single one of them has added to my overall love of the series. Now i know i keep saying series and these are all written as stand alones and aren't linked as a series but they all interconnect. And even with my goldfish memory each one builds a little more on the overall story and adds extra dimensions to each couple and individual.In regards to this story and this relationship, it was an emotional read for me. Whenever I'm reading a book and everything is perfect and the couples together and I realise we're only 50% into the book, the nerves start. And I could see that train off in the distance, heading our way I just wasn't sure when it was going to connect or how much baggage it was carrying.Kinsley was an easy character to love. She wore her heart on her sleeve and she was so determined to make the world a better place. Even when I rolled my eyes at her craziness I still giggled and would have gone right along with her. And holy shit 500 years for a toothpaste tube to break down. My whole family is switching toothpaste next time I go shopping.Maddox was a character whose broken parts I recognize. Which is why I found this story so emotional. But damn did he love Kinsley hard. And once he stopped self sabotaging he gave such a great chase I was immediately back on team Maddox.The two of them together made the perfect couple. And I really loved that this book was so damn hot. Like seriously read it with a fan on. While also giving me all the feels. I laughed out loud so many times reading this book. The background characters were awesome, I'm madly in love with Lincoln and I'm praying his story is next.There were a few unresolved issues that I would have loved to see tied off. But they aren't necessary to the story, just my personal nitpicking. And the men needed to apologise and grovel a little but again that's just my opinion. Hopefully Meghan is busy writing madly so I can get more of these great couples because I am really loving this series hard.
    more
  • jos (sportschicreads) Ochoa
    January 1, 1970
    “𝙈𝙖𝙙𝙙𝙤𝙭 𝙢𝙞𝙜𝙝𝙩 𝙡𝙤𝙤𝙠 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙖 𝙧𝙚𝙗𝙚𝙡 𝙤𝙣 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙤𝙪𝙩𝙨𝙞𝙙𝙚, 𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙝𝙚 𝙢𝙞𝙜𝙝𝙩 𝙖𝙘𝙩 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙤𝙣𝙚 𝙤𝙣 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙗𝙖𝙨𝙚𝙗𝙖𝙡𝙡 𝙛𝙞𝙚𝙡𝙙, 𝙗𝙪𝙩 𝙞𝙣 𝙧𝙚𝙖𝙡 𝙡𝙞𝙛𝙚, 𝙬𝙝𝙚𝙣 𝙝𝙚’𝙨 𝙬𝙞𝙩𝙝 𝙢𝙚, 𝙝𝙚’𝙨 𝙣𝙤𝙩𝙝𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙗𝙪𝙩 𝙡𝙤𝙫𝙞𝙣𝙜, 𝙥𝙧𝙤𝙩𝙚𝙘𝙩𝙞𝙫𝙚 . . . 𝙖 𝙗𝙧𝙤𝙠𝙚𝙣 𝙢𝙖𝙣 𝙡𝙤𝙤𝙠𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙛𝙤𝙧 𝙨𝙤𝙢𝙚𝙤𝙣𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙡𝙤𝙫𝙚 𝙝𝙞𝙢.”Meghan Quinn is one of those stop and drop what you’re reading authors for me. This best friend romance captured my attention immediately. I was cackling with laughter in the prologue 😅Best friends, baseball, and bromances. This book has all that and more.Maddox and Kinsley cou “𝙈𝙖𝙙𝙙𝙤𝙭 𝙢𝙞𝙜𝙝𝙩 𝙡𝙤𝙤𝙠 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙖 𝙧𝙚𝙗𝙚𝙡 𝙤𝙣 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙤𝙪𝙩𝙨𝙞𝙙𝙚, 𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙝𝙚 𝙢𝙞𝙜𝙝𝙩 𝙖𝙘𝙩 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙤𝙣𝙚 𝙤𝙣 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙗𝙖𝙨𝙚𝙗𝙖𝙡𝙡 𝙛𝙞𝙚𝙡𝙙, 𝙗𝙪𝙩 𝙞𝙣 𝙧𝙚𝙖𝙡 𝙡𝙞𝙛𝙚, 𝙬𝙝𝙚𝙣 𝙝𝙚’𝙨 𝙬𝙞𝙩𝙝 𝙢𝙚, 𝙝𝙚’𝙨 𝙣𝙤𝙩𝙝𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙗𝙪𝙩 𝙡𝙤𝙫𝙞𝙣𝙜, 𝙥𝙧𝙤𝙩𝙚𝙘𝙩𝙞𝙫𝙚 . . . 𝙖 𝙗𝙧𝙤𝙠𝙚𝙣 𝙢𝙖𝙣 𝙡𝙤𝙤𝙠𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙛𝙤𝙧 𝙨𝙤𝙢𝙚𝙤𝙣𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙡𝙤𝙫𝙚 𝙝𝙞𝙢.”Meghan Quinn is one of those stop and drop what you’re reading authors for me. This best friend romance captured my attention immediately. I was cackling with laughter in the prologue 😅Best friends, baseball, and bromances. This book has all that and more.Maddox and Kinsley could not be more opposite. This book is the definition of opposites attract. Kinsley is lowkey the female version of Jason and is so eccentric and comfortable in her skin. She also has ZERO FILTER. Maddox’s exterior is rough, edgy, and screams F off. Kinsley is the only person who really gets the true Maddox. He even lets her call him Maddie 🥰.This was a slow and torturous burn. Every little touch burned and sizzled. This is easily Meghan’s sexiest book. She wasn’t joking when she said Maddox was baseball’s baaaaaaaad boy. She truly made us fall in love with Maddox.The Rebels have really become a beautiful brotherhood. Maddox, Lincoln, Cory, and Jason are one rowdy bunch. I will never get enough of Jason in these books. He is a fan of friends to lovers like me and really adds such a playful aspect to each book he comes out in. I’m literally going to cry when he stops popping out and making appearances. Rating: 4.75 StarsSports Rating: ⚾️⚾️/⚾️⚾️⚾️Read an arc in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Bibliophile Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    I'll be the first to admit that I am not a baseball fan, but I sure am a fan of the Rebels!Ms. Quinn brings the team back in this story of all-star pitcher Maddox and his life-long best friend Kinsley.Kinsley has been Maddox's best friend since they were five! That's a long time and even when distance and life have separated them, they both are still are each other's rock and safe place to fall.Maddox's image is the bad boy of baseball, but Kinsley knows his true self. I was so invested in their I'll be the first to admit that I am not a baseball fan, but I sure am a fan of the Rebels!Ms. Quinn brings the team back in this story of all-star pitcher Maddox and his life-long best friend Kinsley.Kinsley has been Maddox's best friend since they were five! That's a long time and even when distance and life have separated them, they both are still are each other's rock and safe place to fall.Maddox's image is the bad boy of baseball, but Kinsley knows his true self. I was so invested in their relationship.  The trepidation of the both of them wanting more, the desperation and feelings of vulnerability on both.  To read Kinsely and Maddox navigate through their feelings was both beautiful and sometimes heartbreaking.Now don't be scared, there is also the fantastic humor and laugh out loud moments you come to expect from Ms. Quinn.  You won't be disappointed!Now like all her other stories, this can totally be read as a stand-alone, but as a superfan, like I am, I have read them all and it was so much fun to "see" past characters make appearances and love the team family come together to help a fellow out when it's needed.Like I said at the beginning, I am not a baseball fan. However, Meghan Quinn has made me a Rebels fan for life!
    more
  • Nerdy Dirty & Flirty
    January 1, 1970
    The Change Up just started off hilarious. I love when a story grabs my attention right away and this one definitely did that.Maddox was super funny. And who can resist a a guy who would do anything for his female best friend? Not this girl that's for sure. And Kinsley was the kind of girl I could see myself being friends with. She hates mornings and thinks it's totally acceptable for coffee to be hooked up with an IV. So with all that going for it, I read and smiled and laughed out loud. Meghan The Change Up just started off hilarious. I love when a story grabs my attention right away and this one definitely did that.Maddox was super funny. And who can resist a a guy who would do anything for his female best friend? Not this girl that's for sure. And Kinsley was the kind of girl I could see myself being friends with. She hates mornings and thinks it's totally acceptable for coffee to be hooked up with an IV. So with all that going for it, I read and smiled and laughed out loud. Meghan Quinn is one of my favorite authors for a reason. The Change Up is a great example of that reason and a story I would highly recommend.
    more
  • Penny Reid
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Kennedy Ryan
    January 1, 1970
    THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend. THE CHANGE UP is LIVE: mybook.to/TheChangeUp The bad boy of baseball is whipped!It all started a month ago when I received a call from my best friend. She got a new job in Chicago and needed a place to stay. I've known the girl since I was five, what harm would it be to have her stay at my place for a while?Can you guess? Total disaster. This is the story of how I fell in love with my best friend.
    more
  • Taryn
    January 1, 1970
    ****PLEASE SEE BOTTOM FOR MY RANT ON HOLT ****Ok. So here's the thing. I DO NOT like the friend-to-lovers trope. In fact, I refuse to read them. This book is an exception, I obviously knew that going in. The only reason I read it, is because I am invested in this series, and author. If one of my top-ten authors writes something, I read it.That said, I am NOT one of those reviewers that goes all crazy googly eyed when my favorite authors release something and give it 5 🌟 no matter what. BUT, I HA ****PLEASE SEE BOTTOM FOR MY RANT ON HOLT ****Ok. So here's the thing. I DO NOT like the friend-to-lovers trope. In fact, I refuse to read them. This book is an exception, I obviously knew that going in. The only reason I read it, is because I am invested in this series, and author. If one of my top-ten authors writes something, I read it.That said, I am NOT one of those reviewers that goes all crazy googly eyed when my favorite authors release something and give it 5 🌟 no matter what. BUT, I HAVE given 5 🌟 to a F2L before... I am stuck at home, not currently working, and reading A LOT. I just finished a series reread by another author in prep for a new release next week, and have had some crappy luck with new books in the days leading up to reading this.So I feel like I'm a little jaded going in. I like the series, but hate the trope. Excited about a different book, but reading some trash lately. I'm frustrated. I'm angry.So this story... I feel like..it just happened? They were friends. Then bam, they were more. But yet it wasn't fast. They were kinky, yet both concerned the other didn't feel the same way or see themselves long term. I didn't like the back and forth. I got annoyed. Maddox was great, yet he wasn't. Kinsley was over the top with the greenlife and pushy... Yet it worked?!I don't know. I'm just. Ugh. And Meh. And Blah. So I guess that equals 3 stars. This was definitely my LEAST favorite of the series unfortunately. I loved me a tattooed alpha, but this just didn't do it for me.********RANT*********NOW..... According to FB comment per Meghan Quinn, Lincoln's book is next..... UGH!! OFYYIDHDDHDHDH!!! THAT'S How I FEEL! While I DO want Lincoln's book...WTF happened to Holts book?! We got the first few chapters in Team Player 2 anthology FOREVER AGO and every teaser for a new book in this series I think it's going to be his. Now he isn't even mentioned in the new books and they are all out of college! Is his book cancelled? I can never get a reply when I bring him up..... 😭😭😭😭😭I love this series, obviously felt this book was meh... But the setup for HOLT was the best in the series and now nothing?! I almost want to just give up on this series from the lack of communication on it.
    more
  • Wendy ⏃: ✦Cheeky Chicks Blogger✦
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 STARS The Change Up by Meghan Quinn is another great edition to an already epic series! The cover captured me alone, but this super sweet and sexy friend-to-lovers romance was a home run!!Maddox Paige takes it out of the field!! He's best known as the Rebels brawler. Tatted and one h*ll of a pitcher. But he's such a dark and brooding man who lives with the demons of his past. Kinsley Howard as a heroine is fun and completely sassy. She has been Maddox's number one fan for the longest time 4.5 STARS The Change Up by Meghan Quinn is another great edition to an already epic series! The cover captured me alone, but this super sweet and sexy friend-to-lovers romance was a home run!!Maddox Paige takes it out of the field!! He's best known as the Rebels brawler. Tatted and one h*ll of a pitcher. But he's such a dark and brooding man who lives with the demons of his past. Kinsley Howard as a heroine is fun and completely sassy. She has been Maddox's number one fan for the longest time and his constant supporter. I loved her spirit and kindness. She was truly special and quirky, keeping me giggling with her antics. With Kinsley, you see another side to Maddox; he smiles and laughs. She is Maddox's soulmate. There wasn't anyone more perfect for him. Their history and their friendship is beautiful; and watching them realize they loved each other was truly wonderful. But, oh the sweet slow burn! Lots of off-the-charts chemistry and steam. Some drama but the groveling rectified that! I said it, the grovel is well worth it!Enough said about Herman the bloodhound; he is a loyal companion. Some of the sweetest moments in this novel was those where Kinsley and Maddox bonded with the "old man". Also, I loved getting lots of bromance moments between Jason, Cory, and Lincoln (I want his book!). These boys are wild, rowdy, and pure entertainment! Lastly, the epilogue warmed my heart and had me grinning like the Grinch.Once again Meghan has written a story filled with laughter, angst, love, family and friendship. I absolutely loved it!!*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*
    more
  • TheGuideToRomanceNovels
    January 1, 1970
    One of my favorite rom-com's and hero's!! Check out my review on my BLOG -> CLICK HERE One of my favorite rom-com's and hero's!! Check out my review on my BLOG -> CLICK HERE
  • Escape into a Booksite
    January 1, 1970
    *5 Stars* ARC kindly received in exchange for an honest review. This has to be one of my new fave Meghan Quinn books. Within this baseball series, its right up there next to Milly and Carson as my favourite. I'm a sucker for friends to lovers books, so there was no way I wasn't going to enjoy this.Maddox and Kinsley are so different from each other, but they've been there for each other their whole lives and have such a strong bond and knowledge of each other, that as a reader it really makes s *5 Stars* ARC kindly received in exchange for an honest review. This has to be one of my new fave Meghan Quinn books. Within this baseball series, its right up there next to Milly and Carson as my favourite. I'm a sucker for friends to lovers books, so there was no way I wasn't going to enjoy this.Maddox and Kinsley are so different from each other, but they've been there for each other their whole lives and have such a strong bond and knowledge of each other, that as a reader it really makes sense for them to develop feelings for each other.They're great together even with all their differences. And the fact that they know each other so well really lends a hand to things. I just loved these two, even though there are some things they inevitable need to work through. I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll just tell you to go out and grab this book. You won't regret it! Easily one of my favourites for 2020.Review also on my blog - The Change Up by Meghan Quinn Follow me on:FacebookTwitterInstagram
    more
  • gretareadsromance
    January 1, 1970
    Oh Maddox Paige I think I love you! The Change Up brings us back to The Rebels baseball team and to its star pitcher. Maddox is everything a bad boy should be; tattooed, ready to fight, sexy with a heart of gold. Maddox and Kinsley have been friends since they were young and when a job opportunity brings her to Chicago the ultimate sparks fly. This book is the absolute perfect friends to lovers read. I laughed. I cried. I want to immediately reread this book. Loved it!
    more
  • Stacie R.
    January 1, 1970
    Who would have ever thought all it would take to take down the bad boy of baseball would be his childhood best friend?Maddox is known around the world as the Bad Boy of Baseball and he wears that badge proudly. He’s not afraid to throw punches to protect his team. He’s got a slew of willing females at his beck and call. That all changes when his best friend, Kinsley, calls to let him know she got a job in Chicago, the only hiccup, she needs a place to stay. Maddox has never been able to tell Kin Who would have ever thought all it would take to take down the bad boy of baseball would be his childhood best friend?Maddox is known around the world as the Bad Boy of Baseball and he wears that badge proudly. He’s not afraid to throw punches to protect his team. He’s got a slew of willing females at his beck and call. That all changes when his best friend, Kinsley, calls to let him know she got a job in Chicago, the only hiccup, she needs a place to stay. Maddox has never been able to tell Kinsley no, so he offers for her to stay with him. When Kinsley arrives and flips his world upside down, he finds that the girl he thought was meant to only be his best friend is quickly turning into more. The only problem….Kinsley has no idea.Meghan Quinn has done it again. Seriously, she has written such an amazing story for Maddox and Kinsley. We get to see a different side of Maddox in The Change Up than in previous books. He’s always been a mystery, and we get to see who Maddox Paige really is in this story. I also loved Kinsley and all of her quirks. She’s not afraid to tell Maddox what she thinks or put him in his place and I think that’s exactly what Maddox needed. I think with every book in this series, I fall deeper in love with all of the boys of baseball. We got to see more of Jason and Cory in this book and I freaking love their back and forth. This series continues to get better and better with each book that releases. Please keep the boys of baseball coming Meghan!!
    more
  • Amy [Book Addict Reviews]
    January 1, 1970
    Maddox Paige may look like the bad boy of baseball and may act like it to the public eye, but when it comes to his best friend Kinsley he is one giant softie who will do anything for the girl who has been his rock since they were five. I LOVED this book and it quickly became my favorite of the entire series. I love Kinsley, she has a quirkiness about her that makes her likeable. She isn’t the typical heroine and I love that. She is passionate about what she does in life and she will do anything Maddox Paige may look like the bad boy of baseball and may act like it to the public eye, but when it comes to his best friend Kinsley he is one giant softie who will do anything for the girl who has been his rock since they were five. I LOVED this book and it quickly became my favorite of the entire series. I love Kinsley, she has a quirkiness about her that makes her likeable. She isn’t the typical heroine and I love that. She is passionate about what she does in life and she will do anything to support her best friend. Maddox is loveable. His past broke my heart, but I loved that he wasn’t they stereotypical jerk of a bad boy, but there is so much more to him and a lightness to him that I wasn’t expecting. Plus, he’d do anything for Kinsley and I love how he easily goes along with all her ideas. The friendship between Kinsley and Maddox is one of my favorites and watching it progress was a sweet slow burn. There is so much chemistry between them and so much history. These two are total opposites, Kinsley is a free spirit and a little messy, while Maddox is organized and likes to follow a routine. It’s so easy to root for these two and fall in love with them both. The Chane Up is full of steam (grab your fan), laughs (including many including Jason and Cory, plus Maddox’s friend and teammate Lincoln) and plenty of emotions throughout. A MUST READ, a TOP READ of 2020 and my favorite book of this series!
    more
  • Lisa Mandina
    January 1, 1970
    Now, normally you’d see me immediately gushing about how much I loved a book by Meghan Quinn. And don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, I just feel like I expected more of an edge from Maddox, the player we loved to hate because of what a jerk he really was, or seemed to be. But this book unfortunately really didn’t show much of that. I get that we needed to fall in love with him, but I still needed that hard, acerbic man we had met, and without it, I just felt something was missing. Honestly he did Now, normally you’d see me immediately gushing about how much I loved a book by Meghan Quinn. And don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, I just feel like I expected more of an edge from Maddox, the player we loved to hate because of what a jerk he really was, or seemed to be. But this book unfortunately really didn’t show much of that. I get that we needed to fall in love with him, but I still needed that hard, acerbic man we had met, and without it, I just felt something was missing. Honestly he didn’t seem to have that much to change in order to win the girl in the end for me. Yeah, we got how his childhood had been and how much he had dealt with, and that was really the great connection between him and Kinsley.Of course the story had a lot of the fun pop culture moments that I love, like a reference to the movie The Money Pit, one of my all time favorite movies, and there was a lot of humorous banter between the characters as usual from this author. And the steaminess of it was top level, I mean when nothing was actually even happening, just all talk, well I was fanning myself for sure! Then, the piercing, yes! The relationship seemed just a little bit too easy at first, and then when the big fight or dramatic moment came, I also felt that the two characters gave up too quickly, it wasn’t something I am used to from this author. I usually can totally understand why her characters do what they do and don’t think it’s drama for drama’s sake. Now, again, don’t get me wrong, I still had tears running down my face after the big showdown though. And I loved the dog, Herman, I wanted to cuddle him myself! So while I recommend reading this if you’re already involved with the rest of the Brentwood Baseball series, I’d say don’t start with this one. Although once again, Jason, my favorite, steals the show at times.Review first appeared on Lisa Loves Literature.
    more
Write a review