Incendiary (Hollow Crown, #1)
I am Renata Convida.I have lived a hundred stolen lives.Now I live my own.Renata Convida was only a child when she was kidnapped by the King's Justice and brought to the luxurious palace of Andalucia. As a Robari, the rarest and most feared of the magical Moria, Renata's ability to steal memories from royal enemies enabled the King's Wrath, a siege that resulted in the deaths of thousands of her own people.Now Renata is one of the Whispers, rebel spies working against the crown and helping the remaining Moria escape the kingdom bent on their destruction. The Whispers may have rescued Renata from the palace years ago, but she cannot escape their mistrust and hatred--or the overpowering memories of the hundreds of souls she turned "hollow" during her time in the palace.When Dez, the commander of her unit, is taken captive by the notorious Sangrado Prince, Renata will do anything to save the boy whose love makes her place among the Whispers bearable. But a disastrous rescue attempt means Renata must return to the palace under cover and complete Dez's top secret mission. Can Renata convince her former captors that she remains loyal, even as she burns for vengeance against the brutal, enigmatic prince? Her life and the fate of the Moria depend on it.But returning to the palace stirs childhood memories long locked away. As Renata grows more deeply embedded in the politics of the royal court, she uncovers a secret in her past that could change the entire fate of the kingdom--and end the war that has cost her everything.

Incendiary (Hollow Crown, #1) Details

TitleIncendiary (Hollow Crown, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 28th, 2020
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN-139781368023801
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

Incendiary (Hollow Crown, #1) Review

  • Zoraida
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE 3/18/20After much deliberation, we have decided to cancel the tour. Due to the CDC's recommendation to cancel or postpone events for 8 weeks, we don't want to risk the public safety of any reader. I'm so heartbroken to have to do this, but I hope that you still pre-order the book and share it! The book will still be published April 28th.Love, Zoraida ______UPDATE 3/5/20 I'M GOING ON TOUR! I hope I get to see you at one of the stops._______UPDATE 11/27/19: We have ARCs! If you've like a UPDATE 3/18/20After much deliberation, we have decided to cancel the tour. Due to the CDC's recommendation to cancel or postpone events for 8 weeks, we don't want to risk the public safety of any reader. I'm so heartbroken to have to do this, but I hope that you still pre-order the book and share it! The book will still be published April 28th.Love, Zoraida ______UPDATE 3/5/20 I'M GOING ON TOUR! I hope I get to see you at one of the stops._______UPDATE 11/27/19: We have ARCs! If you've like a chance at a copy request via Netgalley or Edelweiss if you're a librarian/bookseller. ________ UPDATE 9/8/19: The cover will be revealed 9/9/19 on B&N teen blog!_____I haven't talked about this book enough. We now have an official date April 28th, 2020! A *fiery* cover is coming soon ;) If you've been waiting and watching, just know that I've been working on it for the last two years. We sold it in 2017 and it has been a journey in the best way. Sometimes when you start with one idea, it evolves and changes until you have something you're completely proud of. This is definitely more violent than any of the books you might be used to from me, so if you're sensitive to that, heads up! The violence reflects the world Ren grew up in. While it's a departure from my Brooklyn Bruja books, I hope you recognize my voice. Ren and the Kingdom of Puerto Leones are in my heart now and I can't wait for you to meet her.
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    Renata Convida has a special type of magic. The kind that can rip your memories away. She can take a little: your first kiss, your biggest loss, the secret codes of a rebel army Or she can take it all. Make you a hollow, nothing more than a shell of who you used to be. Ren is everyones nightmare. But now she works for the Whispers, renegades fighting against the persecution of those with magic, the Moria. Not an easy task when it emanates from the highest echelons of society. When her commander Renata Convida has a special type of magic. The kind that can rip your memories away. She can take a little: your first kiss, your biggest loss, the secret codes of a rebel army… Or she can take it all. Make you a ‘hollow’, nothing more than a shell of who you used to be. Ren is everyone’s nightmare. But now she works for the Whispers, renegades fighting against the persecution of those with magic, the Moria. Not an easy task when it emanates from the highest echelons of society. When her commander and lover is captured by the Prince, she vows to rescue him. But things are not quite as they seem and Renata is going to have to find the answers in herself before she can truly help anyone else.This a deceptive, thoughtful read. One that morphs from one thing to another, moulded by the protagonist’s path of discovery. It gives the book its own kind of investigative momentum, with the reader learning at her pace. Ren might hold the memories of hundreds of others, but she has lost so many of her own, hidden within the Grey that blocks her from her past. Her remembering is the story. The narrative changes, she changes, as this process unfolds, as she evolves from what others tell her she is, to who she really is… and who she wants to be. It’s for this reason that the point of view is, and has to be, determinedly hers, a perspective characterised by her position as perpetual outsider. She has never been trusted, never been truly safe. Both her usefulness a weapon and as an inescapable danger to others shapes their every interaction with her. That, plus her lack of ability to recall her own story, makes her a volatile character, often reactionary and emotional. In seeing her flawed and floundering, it is impossible not to think about how the choices we make are based on what we know, what we’ve learned. Take that personal journey away and it would be like trying build our identity, our very selves, out of rumour and dreams. There’d be nothing solid to hold on to. It's an idea, a feeling, communicated in the book's opener, set up like you’re starting in the middle of something. Though there was a moment of disconnection, when I just had to quickly check that I hadn’t missed a book, the author’s reasoning became ever more clear as I read further. It makes sense to give the reader a taste of what Ren feels: the challenge of not knowing what came before. It creates a shared experience. The blanks are filled in for reader and Renata together, finding out that way brings us closer.This structure gives the plot a somewhat uneven pacing, but the battery of revelations during the finale was perfectly pitched. There was so much awesome in this last bit. My heart nearly couldn’t take it. While the hints had probably been clearer to the reader than the main character, the way the reveals were piled on each other in the final section gave it a punchy feeling. The new direction offers a real freshness and a much more interesting cast list. There's no doubt I'll be reading what comes next.ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Sabrina
    January 1, 1970
    ...loosely based on the Spain of the 15th century, reimagining the Inquisition... Assassins Creed anyone? “...loosely based on the Spain of the 15th century, reimagining the Inquisition...” Assassin’s Creed anyone?
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    I already gave my votive offerings to the Ancient Gods and performed ritual dances when I lost my hope of request's acceptance from my Fairy God Mother NetGalley and Goodreads Giveaway campaigns! It's torturous to wait for the normal release date. I wish I had a soul to sale for early reading chance of this book!And last minute update: I got rejection 🤦♀😰😰I should cancel my Disney Plus membership!! Oh, I am not member! Yes, thats a relief!!!😂😂😂 I already gave my votive offerings to the Ancient Gods and performed ritual dances when I lost my hope of request's acceptance from my Fairy God Mother NetGalley and Goodreads Giveaway campaigns! It's torturous to wait for the normal release date. I wish I had a soul to sale for early reading chance of this book!And last minute update: I got rejection 🤦🏻‍♀️😰😰I should cancel my Disney Plus membership!! Oh, I am not member! Yes, that’s a relief!!!😂😂😂
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the publishers for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.It took me a while to get into the book because not a lot was going on but the end is so fast paced that I burned through it. There were a lot of twists and while I was able to guess most of them, I stayed entertained. I also thought the magic with the use of memories and how that played out with the story was cool. That being said, I wish that the magic and world had been better Thank you to the publishers for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.It took me a while to get into the book because not a lot was going on but the end is so fast paced that I burned through it. There were a lot of twists and while I was able to guess most of them, I stayed entertained. I also thought the magic with the use of memories and how that played out with the story was cool. That being said, I wish that the magic and world had been better explained. So much of the story seemed dependent on drama. It almost felt like this was book 2 of a story rather than book 1. I love a good slow burn but that's not even what this was, it just felt underdeveloped. I also thought that the characters weren't very memorable. I will probably check out book 2 because I am curious where the story is going to go, but this isn't something I'd probably reread.
    more
  • Kate (GirlReading)
    January 1, 1970
    3.75* Of course the first fantasy I've read in months that's left me desperately needing more , is the one fantasy I have to wait over a year to even get close to getting my hands on book two but THAT ENDING. I just... AHH.This book took me a while to get through (as per usual with me and fantasy) and I did find it to be a little too lengthy (again, probably just because as much as I love the genre, I find fantasy hard work). However, the story intrigued me from the get go and honestly, after 3.75* Of course the first fantasy I've read in months that's left me desperately needing more , is the one fantasy I have to wait over a year to even get close to getting my hands on book two but THAT ENDING. I just... AHH.This book took me a while to get through (as per usual with me and fantasy) and I did find it to be a little too lengthy (again, probably just because as much as I love the genre, I find fantasy hard work). However, the story intrigued me from the get go and honestly, after the way it ended and some major revelations, I have a feeling book two is going to take us on a wild ride and I for one am ready for it.
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    THAT ENDING, NOOOOOOOOOOO
  • Ellie (faerieontheshelf)
    January 1, 1970
    this sounds wicked af and Im so excited because inspired by Inquisition-era Spain HELLO TAKE MY MONEY??? Also Ive been dying to start reading something by this author for agessss so Im v excited this sounds wicked af and I’m so excited because “inspired by Inquisition-era Spain” HELLO TAKE MY MONEY??? Also I’ve been dying to start reading something by this author for agessss so I’m v excited
    more
  • Fanna
    January 1, 1970
    April 11, 2020: Sometimes you anticipate a book so much, you're sure it'll get all your stars but then you read it and unfortunately, it gets the most average rating so now you simply wanna die cry. I won't say this doesn't have an interesting world or magics or a great writing but it definitely did not bring any character to life, for me, and that's a sure disappointment. The only two characters I found interesting got the least screen page time and I'll be reading the sequel for them. Full April 11, 2020: Sometimes you anticipate a book so much, you're sure it'll get all your stars but then you read it and unfortunately, it gets the most average rating so now you simply wanna die cry. I won't say this doesn't have an interesting world or magics or a great writing but it definitely did not bring any character to life, for me, and that's a sure disappointment. The only two characters I found interesting got the least screen page time and I'll be reading the sequel for them. Full review to come!April 2, 2020: Began reading and super excited to buddy read with Lili from Utopia State of Mind!March 20, 2020: This has a 15th century Spanish-inspired world, a complex heroine who is twined in love and revenge, and mental powers. Super excited especially since I'm currently enjoying House of Earth and Blood and this is said to be perfect for fans of Sarah J. Mass. Thank you, Hodder & Stoughton for a digital review copy via Netgalley!
    more
  • Tomes And Textiles
    January 1, 1970
    Hello! I loved this book and will write a full review as soon as my brain is able. However, most importantly, I have an ARC GIVEAWAY going on over on TOMES AND TEXTILES right now! It ends March 22nd, so HURRY! GO FORTH! AND ENTER!!!!
  • Kat Cho
    January 1, 1970
    A book filled with intrigue, secrets, spies and complicated relationships. With a memory thief at the center you know it's going to be a lot of secrets and twists and turns! Add in Zoraida Cordova's beautiful writing and ability to give us a gorgeous slow burn romance, and this will be one of your favorite new YA fantasies for sure!
    more
  • Shelley
    January 1, 1970
    *Source* Publisher*Genre* Young Adult / Fantasy*Rating* 4.0*Thoughts*Incendiary is the first installment in author Zoraida Córdova's Hollow Crown series. Set in a lushly drawn world inspired by Inquisition Spain, (Kingdom of Puerto Leones) Zoraida Córdova's anticipated new fantasy is an epic tale of love and revenge. Protagonist Renata Convida has spent a lifetime dealing with her gift - or curse, depending on who you ask. As a member of a dying, oppressed people - the Moria - Ren has the rarest *Source* Publisher*Genre* Young Adult / Fantasy*Rating* 4.0*Thoughts*Incendiary is the first installment in author Zoraida Córdova's Hollow Crown series. Set in a lushly drawn world inspired by Inquisition Spain, (Kingdom of Puerto Leones) Zoraida Córdova's anticipated new fantasy is an epic tale of love and revenge. Protagonist Renata Convida has spent a lifetime dealing with her gift - or curse, depending on who you ask. As a member of a dying, oppressed people - the Moria - Ren has the rarest gift of all: the ability to read and steal memories aka Robari. *Full Review @ Gizmos Reviews*https://gizmosreviews.blogspot.com/20...
    more
  • Jenny (Bookbookowl)
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you so much to Hodder & Stoughton for providing me with a copy of Incendiary, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review!Ren is a Robari, a Moira with the power to steal other peoples' memories.  Held by the King since she was a child, as a weapon for her powers, she now lives with the other Moira who helped her escape.  But the Robari are the most feared of all the Moira, for their ability to hollow people out of all of their memories, leaving them a shell of themselves, so Thank you so much to Hodder & Stoughton for providing me with a copy of Incendiary, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review!Ren is a Robari, a Moira with the power to steal other peoples' memories.  Held by the King since she was a child, as a weapon for her powers, she now lives with the other Moira who helped her escape.  But the Robari are the most feared of all the Moira, for their ability to hollow people out of all of their memories, leaving them a shell of themselves, so no-one quite trusts her, including the other Moira.  When her commander and best friend are taken captive by the king, Ren is determined to save him, but she ends up with a mission far more dangerous than she could have imagined.Incendiary was full of magic and heart stopping action.  I was absolutely captivated from the first page and barely paused for breath while reading.  The Moira magic system is both interesting and fairly easy to understand.  I was so intrigued learning about each different type of Moira and hope they are even further explored in the next book.  I loved Ren as a main character.  The author did such a wonderful job of portraying her different emotions, both in her current life and her own lost memories, that she slowly re-discovers throughout the story.  I really love books that revolve around spies and betrayal at the moment and Incendiary definitely fit the bill!MY BLOG ~ INSTAGRAM
    more
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    a thief getting revenge on the royal family. 15th Century Spain and the inquisition. guys, holy crap.
  • Holden
    January 1, 1970
    15th century Spain??? Sign me up!
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Fairyloot April 2020 book of the month
  • Umairah | Sereadipity
    January 1, 1970
    This was so good!- inspired by 15th century Spain and the Inquisition - rebels and espionage- a unique magic system- a memory thief who can't remember their own memories - plot twists galoreFull review to come closer to the release!
  • Tilly
    January 1, 1970
    4 starsIn my mind, Incendiary is a book of two halves. The first half is quite a slow build (which I don't mind) and the second half is all action.I really enjoyed the worldbuilding and magic system, although I wish there had been slightly more explanation of the magic types at the beginning of the book. That being said, it was really interesting to meet new characters along the way with different magical skills. The idea of the non magical population versus the magical population is not new but 4 starsIn my mind, Incendiary is a book of two halves. The first half is quite a slow build (which I don't mind) and the second half is all action.I really enjoyed the worldbuilding and magic system, although I wish there had been slightly more explanation of the magic types at the beginning of the book. That being said, it was really interesting to meet new characters along the way with different magical skills. The idea of the non magical population versus the magical population is not new but it was done in such a unique way.I really liked the main character Ren. She had a strength to her but she was also incredibly vulnerable which was really refreshing as many lead females in fantasy don't have that.Side characters such as Leo really made the book by giving lots of personality, which Ren lacked at times.Overall the storyline was really good, plus I did not see the twist coming and the ending surprised me. I would really recommend it to lovers of YA Fantasy.Please note that I received this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars! It was fun to read a new to me YA fantasy series starter. I enjoyed the magic set-up, liked the plot (though I may have read one too many YA fantasies in general which is how I ended up guessing a lot of the details) and I actually particularly enjoyed the last 100 pages or so of the book (where a lot of action takes place). Im curious to see where book two will take us! 3.5 stars! It was fun to read a new to me YA fantasy series starter. I enjoyed the magic set-up, liked the plot (though I may have read one too many YA fantasies in general which is how I ended up guessing a lot of the details) and I actually particularly enjoyed the last 100 pages or so of the book (where a lot of action takes place). I’m curious to see where book two will take us!
    more
  • ♠ TABI ♠
    January 1, 1970
    all right, while I wasn't a fan of the author's previous works . . . THIS LOOKS HELLA FINE OKAY??
  • Bria
    January 1, 1970
    I was so excited to get my hands on an ARC of this book and I was not disappointed! I love Ren as a main character and the world building is aces. I also always really love it when an author seeds just enough hints about the twist throughout the story that I figure it out a little before the reveal (but I wont say more than that!) Definitely make sure this book is on your radar for April when it comes out. I was so excited to get my hands on an ARC of this book and I was not disappointed! I love Ren as a main character and the world building is aces. I also always really love it when an author seeds just enough hints about the twist throughout the story that I figure it out a little before the reveal (but I won’t say more than that!) Definitely make sure this book is on your radar for April when it comes out.
    more
  • Adriana Martinez Figueroa
    January 1, 1970
    *screams into the void*I am speechless.
  • Nat ⭐️
    January 1, 1970
    This book isnt even out yet and I already need the sequel. ZORAIDA, HOW COULD YOU????TW: [fade-to-black and passing mentions of] sex; graphic depictions of violence, murder, and torture. This book isn’t even out yet and I already need the sequel. ZORAIDA, HOW COULD YOU????TW: [fade-to-black and passing mentions of] sex; graphic depictions of violence, murder, and torture.
    more
  • Nicole N. (A Myriad of Books)
    January 1, 1970
    Actual rating: 4.5 starsI picked up an early copy of this book at my local indie bookstore.Hello, what are you DOING with your life if you havent put this book on your TBR? Be a dear and pick this book up when it releases. This is the first book Ive read by Córdova and Im regretting not discovering her earlier or reading her earlier work. Like hello, what was I thinking?INCENDIARY is incredibly unique. I love the world-building, the writing, these characters! I made some predictions midway Actual rating: 4.5 starsI picked up an early copy of this book at my local indie bookstore.Hello, what are you DOING with your life if you haven’t put this book on your TBR? Be a dear and pick this book up when it releases. This is the first book I’ve read by Córdova and I’m regretting not discovering her earlier or reading her earlier work. Like hello, what was I thinking?INCENDIARY is incredibly unique. I love the world-building, the writing, these characters! I made some predictions midway through the book and (shocker!) was right about one major one. The other ones really blew me out of the water. I love Ren because while she has such a powerful and scary gift, she remains incredibly unsure of herself. She has not had a kind life and the small kindnesses shown to her when she was younger twist her current reality into something she can’t quite discern if it’s true or not. Really such a clever way to muddle memories of her past and have her struggle to believe all the revelations throughout the book.We see Ren’s internal struggle, knowing that while her childhood was filled with taking people’s memories she also had a safe place to live. The case wasn’t so when she was with the Whispers, who disliked her because of her magic. It was really interesting to see how Ren reacted when she returned to the palace and isn’t sure who to trust or what to believe. I think she resorts a bit to how she felt and acted as a child in order to survive her current situation. Also, I felt like the friends she thought were her friends may not have been at all. I’m still hesitant to believe some of the events that took place toward the last few chapters.The ending as a whole felt a bit rushed. I’m glad there was some explanation regarding a certain character but I still have a lot of questions! Hopefully they’ll be answered in book 2!
    more
  • Monogamist
    January 1, 1970
    This is going to be another of my unpopular opinions (may contain spoilers).I was really looking forward to reading this book, but I was really underwhelmed. First 20% of the book, I found myself looking up on Goodreads and online if this was a sequel. I felt I could not really understand the world building and what was going on. Rather, Renata, the protagonist, spoke like she took it for granted that the reader was able to understand certain references. And I was like: "Wait, what?". That's why This is going to be another of my unpopular opinions (may contain spoilers).I was really looking forward to reading this book, but I was really underwhelmed. First 20% of the book, I found myself looking up on Goodreads and online if this was a sequel. I felt I could not really understand the world building and what was going on. Rather, Renata, the protagonist, spoke like she took it for granted that the reader was able to understand certain references. And I was like: "Wait, what?". That's why I felt like I was reading a sequel, or like it was a continuation of something. Did I miss any other series based in the same world?When I read a story, I love reading the unpredictable. For this one, I kind of figured out half way through where the plot was going... Like you know... the evil person was not so evil and so on... Also, those revelations in the last pages, I saw those coming as well. While I can see how the writer was building up the tension to the big reveal, for me it felt more like dragging it to the end. Finally... I couldn't connect with Renata. She was too unstable as a character. Sometimes she would be strong, sometimes she would just be too dramatic.Sorry Incendiary, it's not you, it's me. We are not meant for each other.I received a free e-copy via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my, would you look at that cover 😍
  • Shealea
    January 1, 1970
    * I received a digital ARC of this book (via NetGalley) from its publisher in exchange for an honest review.
  • Shorouk Abd Elhamed
    January 1, 1970
    Pre reading:Spain + Royal =Add on my most anticipated TBR
  • Cindy ✩☽♔
    January 1, 1970
    Ooo I much prefer the burgundy cover to the one being used for the US publication, so I hope Bookdepository will have it available for purchase
  • Justine
    January 1, 1970
    An okay read, but with a really fun endingFull RTC!
Write a review