Star Daughter
This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be "normal." But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star's help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.Sheetal's quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens--and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor.

Star Daughter Details

TitleStar Daughter
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 11th, 2020
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN-139780062894625
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

Star Daughter Review

  • Shveta Thakrar
    January 1, 1970
    20 Dec. 2019: I just finished my final read-through, and while there's no book more perfectly designed for giving stars to (✨✨✨✨✨), I believe reviews are for readers, not authors. So I'll leave that up to all of you--but I will say I adore this book and am so, so, so proud of it. It is the magical fairy tale of my heart, my love letter to everyone who yearns for more and has always wished to go shopping at a magical Night Market and wants to find their place in the world(s). I hope if you read i 20 Dec. 2019: I just finished my final read-through, and while there's no book more perfectly designed for giving stars to (✨✨✨✨✨), I believe reviews are for readers, not authors. So I'll leave that up to all of you--but I will say I adore this book and am so, so, so proud of it. It is the magical fairy tale of my heart, my love letter to everyone who yearns for more and has always wished to go shopping at a magical Night Market and wants to find their place in the world(s). I hope if you read it, you love it, too.___________________________________I see someone updated this listing, and MY GORGEOUS COVER IS LIVE! AHHHHHHHHHH! :D :D :D I hope you love it as much as I do!
    more
  • alana ♡
    January 1, 1970
    Don't get me wrong the blurb of this sounds good, but I'd be 100% lying if I said I didn't add this to my TBR because of the cover.Blog | Twitter Don't get me wrong the blurb of this sounds good, but I'd be 100% lying if I said I didn't add this to my TBR because of the cover.Blog | Twitter
    more
  • destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    This is honestly one of most beautiful covers I've ever seen in my entire life and, even if I wasn't so stoked by the entire premise of this story, you can bet your ass I'd still buy it just to frame this cover like a damn piece of art 😍
  • sarah xoxo
    January 1, 1970
    If this book is even a fraction as beautiful as this cover- I'm not ready.
  • Diana
    January 1, 1970
    EDIT:I have read this multiple times now and it gets more gorgeous each time. How is that possible? Each time I read it, I find new moments and lines to love. Honestly, it's a gorgeous story about what it means to be human, the brilliance and pain of it, with magic and music and heart, so much heart, and how destinies do not define you, you define your destiny. I JUST REALLY LOVE IT, OKAY? I can't wait to have my physical copy when it comes out next year.I was lucky enough to read an early draft EDIT:I have read this multiple times now and it gets more gorgeous each time. How is that possible? Each time I read it, I find new moments and lines to love. Honestly, it's a gorgeous story about what it means to be human, the brilliance and pain of it, with magic and music and heart, so much heart, and how destinies do not define you, you define your destiny. I JUST REALLY LOVE IT, OKAY? I can't wait to have my physical copy when it comes out next year.I was lucky enough to read an early draft of this and I have to say it's one of the most magical things I've ever read. The prose is lyrical and mesmerizing. The characters rendered with heart and a strange, vulnerable honesty that makes it really easy to relate to and understand them on an all too human level. AND THE STAR COURT IS SO BEAUTIFUL AND INTERESTING AND MUSICAL. I love love love it. I can't wait for everyone to get to experience this brilliant, thrumming, song of a book. You're all in for such a treat.
    more
  • ʙᴇʟʟᴀ.: ☾**:.☆*.:。.
    January 1, 1970
    Update 07/01/2020: ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review (Thank you!)Hindu Mythology, Half-Star girl & Celestial competition...and that amazing cover? I'M READY. :DSome Starry gifs to express my starry excitement Update 07/01/2020: ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review (Thank you!)Hindu Mythology, Half-Star girl & Celestial competition...and that amazing cover? I'M READY. :DSome Starry gifs to express my starry excitement
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    You had me at Star and Hindu Mythology! Ah, & Neil Gaiman!Give me some shiny things and a downpour of mythology, and I’m here for it- all the time, every time. A girl likes what she likes. 🤷🏼‍♀️ You had me at Star and Hindu Mythology! Ah, & Neil Gaiman!Give me some shiny things and a downpour of mythology, and I’m here for it- all the time, every time. A girl likes what she likes. 🤷🏼‍♀️
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽♔
    January 1, 1970
    This year's cover models are clearly looking to destroy my aversion to them. So far, many of them have been so on point. I can't even really say I dislike them anymore.
  • jess ✨
    January 1, 1970
    this is honestly one of the most stunning covers i've seen in my life. i hope this is as amazing as its cover. so excited!
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    I couldn't describe to you the excitement I felt when I mashed up my love for that cover with the realization that this was a STARDUST-inspired fantasy set alongside Hindu mythology. Except that I was, y'know, excited. But maybe my expectations were just too high?This definitely reads like a debut but there are some lovely shining bits that make me think this is going to be an author to watch. I enjoyed what she took from her insipration of Gaiman's story and how she built on it, changed it, and I couldn't describe to you the excitement I felt when I mashed up my love for that cover with the realization that this was a STARDUST-inspired fantasy set alongside Hindu mythology. Except that I was, y'know, excited. But maybe my expectations were just too high?This definitely reads like a debut but there are some lovely shining bits that make me think this is going to be an author to watch. I enjoyed what she took from her insipration of Gaiman's story and how she built on it, changed it, and made it very original. I really liked some of her prose. I loved the mythology and the culture of the setting. But I found some of the conflicts very typically YA, a little tired, and didn't enjoy -- any of -- the characters. So this is obviously a disapointment, because I was so excited for this, but again, I hope to love her next release. Full review to come.** I received an ARC from Edelweiss and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • ♠ TABI ♠
    January 1, 1970
    was gonna pass this when I saw "contemporary" but smashed the tbr button at lightspeed when I saw "fantasy"ALSO HI HI HI HELLO YOU BEAUTIFUL COVER was gonna pass this when I saw "contemporary" but smashed the tbr button at lightspeed when I saw "fantasy"ALSO HI HI HI HELLO YOU BEAUTIFUL COVER
    more
  • Kilikina
    January 1, 1970
    I have such high hopes, I hope this is as fantastic as it sounds!!!!
  • Fanna
    January 1, 1970
    || Hindu mythology|| Desi on the cover|| Celestial competition|| Daughter saves dad
  • Jacqueline Koyanagi
    January 1, 1970
    A stunning tale of self-acceptance, family, and liminal spaces.
  • Rec-It Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    hi this was perfect
  • Tova
    January 1, 1970
    This cover is the most beautiful thing I've seen in a long time. I want to marry it.
  • shre ♡
    January 1, 1970
    "The contemporary YA fantasy inspired by Hindu mythology follows a half-mortal/half-star girl who must win a celestial competition to save her human father's life."SAY LESS, I'M THERE. also that mf cover....charlie bowater can do no wrong in my eyes.
    more
  • Dia
    January 1, 1970
    look at me, getting ready for 2020 when 2019 is nowhere in sight
  • Maraya21 (The Reading Dragon)
    January 1, 1970
    Look at that cover!LOOK. AT. IT!
  • Brooke
    January 1, 1970
    This eARC was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review.Star Daughter entices readers with an incredibly unique premise; a young adult fantasy book centered upon the celestial journey towards self-discovery of a half-mortal, half-star teenage girl. At the beginning of this book, I was immediately drawn into the story and was convinced I would adore Shveta Thakrar’s tale of cosmic intrigue and adventure. However, as I further delved into Star Daughter, I kept findi This eARC was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review.Star Daughter entices readers with an incredibly unique premise; a young adult fantasy book centered upon the celestial journey towards self-discovery of a half-mortal, half-star teenage girl. At the beginning of this book, I was immediately drawn into the story and was convinced I would adore Shveta Thakrar’s tale of cosmic intrigue and adventure. However, as I further delved into Star Daughter, I kept finding myself anxiously waiting for the story to take off and truly come into its own. There were elements that absolutely dazzled, such as the breathtaking scenes in the Night Market and Svargalok’s library of the stars, yet Star Daughter ultimately fell flat for me and seemingly did not reach its full potential.Star Daughter follows Sheetal Mistry, who is struggling to keep her half-star identity and emerging starlike powers suppressed to maintain a normal life on Earth. However, when Sheetal accidentally loses control and critically injures her mortal father, she must travel to her star mother’s celestial world to save him. As Star Daughter’s foundation lies with Sheetal’s journey to the stars, the possibilities seemed endless as to what Shveta Thakrar could achieve in terms of crafting this fantastical, cosmic world. Although Thakrar was able to imaginatively infuse notes of Hindu mythology and real-world astronomy, the magic unfortunately was missing for me. Therein lies the problem; the majority of Star Daughter was so wrought with tension and conflict that there was little room to enjoy the more magical elements of this fictional world. Furthermore, as Star Daughter inched towards its conclusion, the storyline unfortunately began to feel disjointed and rushed, leaving me unsatisfied. I wanted this book to sweep me off my feet and transport me to the stars, yet I continually found myself wanting more.
    more
  • rachel ☾
    January 1, 1970
    ◯ Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Blog • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram • The Book Depository ◯ Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Blog • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram • The Book Depository
    more
  • Tanaz
    January 1, 1970
    My official blurb says it all: "Star Daughter is a love letter to every desi girl wanting to believe in her own magic."
  • Aila
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars -> 4 starsFull review to be posted on One Way Or An Author!While not perfect, STAR DAUGHTER was enjoyable due to the fact that it was MAGICAL and BEAUTIFUL and, in general, a GRAND ADVENTURE that warmed my heart. Don't look too deep though, because you'll find some logistics called into question. Instead, enjoy this book for the star-filled, enchanting fantasy that it is. STAR DAUGHTER pays tribute to the gorgeous world of Gaiman's STARDUST, while weaving in the author's own twists on 3.5 stars -> 4 starsFull review to be posted on One Way Or An Author!While not perfect, STAR DAUGHTER was enjoyable due to the fact that it was MAGICAL and BEAUTIFUL and, in general, a GRAND ADVENTURE that warmed my heart. Don't look too deep though, because you'll find some logistics called into question. Instead, enjoy this book for the star-filled, enchanting fantasy that it is. STAR DAUGHTER pays tribute to the gorgeous world of Gaiman's STARDUST, while weaving in the author's own twists on Hindu astrology. It features a magical Night Market, glowing star families based on the nakshatras that make up our night sky, and a girl who's stuck between two worlds. It's prettily written and captures Sheetal's balance between her mortal dad's world and her star mother's legacy of star royalty. Trigger/Content Warnings: panic attack, prejudice/discriminationThank you Harper Collins and Edelweiss for the review copy!
    more
  • Victoria Booklover
    January 1, 1970
    I wanted to loooooooove this. So freaking bad. The writing was so magical, so glittery. The prose were full of moonlight and stars that I was so invested...but after about 100 pages in, I stopped caring as much.Ugh.I hate that. Sheetal wasn’t a character that I resonated with, sadly. As a protagonist I found her lacking in depth and personality. I think it was because the world-building overshadowed her and the rest of the cast. We were so focused on what she was, and the courts and the competit I wanted to loooooooove this. So freaking bad. The writing was so magical, so glittery. The prose were full of moonlight and stars that I was so invested...but after about 100 pages in, I stopped caring as much.Ugh.I hate that. Sheetal wasn’t a character that I resonated with, sadly. As a protagonist I found her lacking in depth and personality. I think it was because the world-building overshadowed her and the rest of the cast. We were so focused on what she was, and the courts and the competition that I felt like she just fell off for me. Dev, while still lacking depth, felt more alive to me than anyone else in the book. I loved loved loved the world-building. The courts were so sparkly and luminescent that I was struck with a sense of tranquility. I felt as though I had been looking up at the night sky the entire time I was reading, and THAT made me so ecstatic. The world-building was phenomenal and it gave me such Strange vibes. All in all this is the type of world I want to live in! The contemporary setting was odd, too. I should mention. I wasn’t the hugest fan of that aspect but it quelled as the story progressed and I was so hopeful for it to only get better but....oh well. I will say that the plot was not really...a plot just one big long family disagreement. That really took away from what this book could have been...sad to say.I gave it three stars because that’s how much I enjoyed the world-building and the magical aspect of the book.
    more
  • The Candid Cover (Olivia & Lori)
    January 1, 1970
    I was pulled in by Neil Gaiman and Hindu mythology when I read the synopsis for this book. Doesn’t it sound like an epic fantasy? The cover is all sorts of amazing as well.
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    This is not the exciting adventure I thought I was going to get.Yes, the worldbuilding is great. The concept is also great. Thakrar says in her author's note that she read Neil Gaiman's Stardust and wanted to write about stars from a different perspective. Yes! Love it! Also, there's a big, fat Holly Black blurb on the cover that caught my eye. Roshani Chokshi also recommended it, so I had some REALLY high expectations.In short, I didn't know you could write a book with such small stakes and so This is not the exciting adventure I thought I was going to get.Yes, the worldbuilding is great. The concept is also great. Thakrar says in her author's note that she read Neil Gaiman's Stardust and wanted to write about stars from a different perspective. Yes! Love it! Also, there's a big, fat Holly Black blurb on the cover that caught my eye. Roshani Chokshi also recommended it, so I had some REALLY high expectations.In short, I didn't know you could write a book with such small stakes and so little tension. Although the world here is big and intricate, the actual story is INCREDIBLY small. The entire plot is a family drama, set amongst the actual stars.The magical competition? A literal talent show.Competitor betrayal? Something is stolen - and eventually returned.Ambition and scheming? Our MC doesn't even want to be there.The thrilling climax? It's a literal conversation.That blurb promises excitement and and action. There is none.BUT if you're looking for an intimate story about a girl who feels abandoned by her mother and is trying to come to terms with who she is (and also happens to be about stars), then this is the book for you. Unfortunately, I'm just not the right reader for that type of book.Thakrar's writing is refined, and as I mentioned, the worldbuilding is very cool. But the story itself isn't immersive. I was never swept away. You can give different writers the same concept, and they'll produce totally different texts. I bought into the concept here; I just didn't like the story Thakrar chose. Bummer.
    more
  • Isabella (The Feminist Bookworm)
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely LOVED this book: it was soooooo good!The author says this book is partly a response to Neil Gaiman's Stardust, but with brown girls and Hindu mythology and diversity, and I definitely agree with that. I also think fans of Laini Taylor and Margaret Rogerson will love this. The prose is just gorgeous, and it did remind me of Laini Taylor at times.Star Daughter follows Sheetal, who is half mortal and half star. Her mom is a star who returned to the heavens many years ago. Sheetal accid I absolutely LOVED this book: it was soooooo good!The author says this book is partly a response to Neil Gaiman's Stardust, but with brown girls and Hindu mythology and diversity, and I definitely agree with that. I also think fans of Laini Taylor and Margaret Rogerson will love this. The prose is just gorgeous, and it did remind me of Laini Taylor at times.Star Daughter follows Sheetal, who is half mortal and half star. Her mom is a star who returned to the heavens many years ago. Sheetal accidentally injures her mortal father with her starlight, and she needs the help of a full star, like her mother, in order to save his life. So, Sheetal goes to the celestial court in the heavens, but she discovers that if she is to receive the help she needs to save her father, she must serve as her family's champion in a competition that will determine which ruling family will be the next ruler of the heavens.This book was so beautiful and so engaging. It's also a stand-alone fantasy, which is really refreshing. I loved the Hindu mythology and stories that were woven throughout the novel. The prose was also GORGEOUS, in the vein of Stephanie Garber and Laini Taylor. I was sent a copy for review/consideration by the book's editor. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • The Artisan Geek
    January 1, 1970
    30/11/19First of all, HINDU MYTHOLOGY?! And then the cover, my dear gosh!! STUNNING!!You can find me onYoutube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Website 30/11/19First of all, HINDU MYTHOLOGY?! And then the cover, my dear gosh!! STUNNING!!You can find me onYoutube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Website
    more
  • Tanya Tate
    January 1, 1970
    Two Things 1. I requested the arc of it yesterday and was approved. (Harper Collins is the love of my life.lol)2. I found the author twitter page to see who did the cover... I had a huge hunch who it was and my hunch was right. Charlie Bowater lol
  • sureena
    January 1, 1970
    !!! I read till Hindu mythology and hit "want to read". There are more books with Indian rep coming and I've never been happier!!
Write a review