Dear Emmie Blue
In this charming and poignant novel, teenager Emmie Blue releases a balloon with her email address and a big secret into the sky, only to fall head-over-heels for the boy who finds it; now, fourteen years later, the one thing Emmie has been counting on is gone for good, and everything she planned is up in the air. At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached addressed, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens. Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it? Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

Dear Emmie Blue Details

TitleDear Emmie Blue
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 14th, 2020
PublisherAtria/Emily Bestler Books
ISBN-139781982135911
Rating
GenreContemporary, Romance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Dear Emmie Blue Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    I am emotional wreck! I felt like my throat not only filled with cotton balls, but it seemed like at least 3000 acres cotton land invaded my entire body! Eyes are red-rimmed, nose is like tomato juice ( bloody red and runny) and my cruel heart is broken into pieces! Dear Lia Louis, what have you done to me? I loved this story so much and I wish it could be adapted into screen. I can already visualize the billboards at the streets chanting for “Team Lucas” or “Team Eliot”! This is one of the be I am emotional wreck! I felt like my throat not only filled with cotton balls, but it seemed like at least 3000 acres cotton land invaded my entire body! Eyes are red-rimmed, nose is like tomato juice ( bloody red and runny) and my cruel heart is broken into pieces! Dear Lia Louis, what have you done to me? I loved this story so much and I wish it could be adapted into screen. I can already visualize the billboards at the streets chanting for “Team Lucas” or “Team Eliot”! This is one of the best second changes, facing with your past to reborn from your ashes and searching for happiness book! There are so many great Brat Pack movies vibes (from “Say Anything” to “Sixteen Candles”), weird movie references mashes with brave #metoo movement representation.This book is sweet, swoony and cute but it also moving, heart wrenching, soul-crushing, tear jerking. Normally I hate love triangles and characters’ indecisiveness about their own feelings, that’s why this book starts like a three stars –I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it, too- story for me but as I start moving back and forth between past and present, seeing those beautiful messages at the mixed tapes, slow burn romantic moments, past regrets, future’s stumbling, present’s struggles, the characters’ flaws, their heartfelt story start growing on me! I couldn’t put it down and I let myself get lost in their beautiful, complex relationship. Emmie looks for a real family, neglected by her mother throughout her teenage years, abandoned by her father, outcast of her school, being judged by her friends for something she didn’t do. She really needs someone stand by her and hold her hand as a confidante, a real, honest friend. And she is only 16. It is not fair to be in some much pain in those ages, forced to face the shitty hand life had dealt you. So Emmie Blue releases a balloon with her email address and her big secret into the sky and Lucas finds her balloon. That’s the part their 14 years long friendship started. Now Emmie thinks she’s head over heels in love with Lucas and he meets with her to ask one of his most important questions of his life. But no: he didn’t ask to be his wife, he asks her to be his best man and Emmie accepts it. Whattttt!!! Yes, this is big mistake and I want to kidnap Emmie to prevent her obvious heartbreak and suffer! You may think this is angsty, edgy and irritatingly torturous story and you ask yourself why Emmie accepts his offer (that was the moment I thought I should have given three stars ) but don’t you dare to stop reading till meeting with Lucas’ half-brother Eliot, always protective, kind, but also witty, sarcastic with amazing taste in music. Emmie has always complex feelings about Eliot and she still resents him what he’s done when she was 19! But nothing as it seems! Emmie should change the way to look at you’re her life because sometimes people may be blind enough to see things in front of them. Emmie slowly understands she is not lonely. She is loved and she is cared deeply and now it’s time to get her head out of her ass (I think this book could be named like this, because most of the characters are acting like blind, especially at some parts I wanted to scream at Emmie to open her eyes because some clues were so obvious and she was so stubborn to believe in wrong things about herself and people who deeply cared for her.) And I adored the supporting characters, especially Rosie Kalwar needs her own book, her witty comments, carefree, artistic, genuine attitude and her honest sense of humor made me laugh and love her more. And let’s not forget the sweetpie Louise. There are two heroes and it is obvious who I’m rooting for! Especially chapter 41 made me cry out loud! I’m not giving you the spoilers but that character I rooted for passed the best book-boyfriend exam with flying colors!And ending was also sweet, emotional, inspiring, promising. Overall: I’m still cutting off half star because of the characters’ obnoxious actions but this book already stole my heart so let’s round up 4.5 stars to 5 and keep smiling for the heart melting story the author created for us!Special thanks to NetGalley and double special thanks to Atria Books/Emily Bestler Books (because I got both digital and hardcover copies) for sharing this amazing ARC with me in exchange my honest review. It melt my heart and healed my soul!bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    4.5*This is one of those reads that sneaks up on you and when you least expect it…wraps itself around your heart.❤️Emmie Blue just turned thirty. A birthday she gladly shares with her dearest friend Lucas. Tonight, she’s wishing on a star, with all her heart that Lucas opens his eyes and sees what she believes. That the two of them could have a wonderful future together, far beyond the “friend zone.” Well, all you hopeless romantics…let’s just say things don’t always turn out as we hope. Emmie B 4.5*This is one of those reads that sneaks up on you and when you least expect it…wraps itself around your heart.❤️Emmie Blue just turned thirty. A birthday she gladly shares with her dearest friend Lucas. Tonight, she’s wishing on a star, with all her heart that Lucas opens his eyes and sees what she believes. That the two of them could have a wonderful future together, far beyond the “friend zone.” Well, all you hopeless romantics…let’s just say things don’t always turn out as we hope. Emmie Blue is a tragically sad character simply searching for happiness. To be loved. Isn’t that what we all look for in life.💁🏻‍♀️ Poor Emmie has had more than her fair-share of misfortune in her thirty short years.I absolutely felt for Emmie. Her pain and discomfort were palpable. The author did a masterful job bringing her to life.For me the book was a slow starter. Until I hit the half way mark, when I found it quite impossible to put down. I wanted so much for Emmie to finally discover her peace and happiness and couldn’t, wouldn’t stop until I saw her journey through to the end! I laughed, I cheered and I cried! A superbly written story of love and friendship.Thank you to Milena Brown at Atria books via NetGalley for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    It was SERENDIPITY! 🎈It had to be! How else could you explain how an insecure, slightly awkward sixteen year old girl, can release a balloon 🎈 into the sky, with her big secret and her email address and have it be found by a boy, an ocean away who is the same age, with the same birthday, and the same obsession with Marmite and “Footballers Wives”? So, Emmie just KNOWS what Lucas is about to propose, on their mutual 30th birthday...it has to be the day that their 14 year friendship, will be defin It was SERENDIPITY! 🎈It had to be! How else could you explain how an insecure, slightly awkward sixteen year old girl, can release a balloon 🎈 into the sky, with her big secret and her email address and have it be found by a boy, an ocean away who is the same age, with the same birthday, and the same obsession with Marmite and “Footballers Wives”? So, Emmie just KNOWS what Lucas is about to propose, on their mutual 30th birthday...it has to be the day that their 14 year friendship, will be defined as something else...So begins a charming, uplifting tale of “love redefined” that I am so glad that I was invited to read, by the publisher. I had to set the book down at the end of Chapter 39, as my eyes blurred with happy tears, even though I guessed what was coming! And, they blurred with happy tears again, when I read the epilogue, and the story of Emmie Blue and Balloon Boy, revealed just ONE LAST SURPRISE! 🎈Another fun buddy read with DeAnn! Thank You to Atria/ Emily Bestler books, Netgalley and Lia Louis for the digital ARC I was provided in exchange for a candid review! Available July 14, 2020
    more
  • Kim ~ It’s All About the Thrill
    January 1, 1970
    OMG I LOVE this book! Okay this book was nowhere to be found on my radar. I am so thankful that the publisher suggested I read this because it blew me away. No kidding, Emmie Blue stole my heart. What did I love? Every single word of this story. I loved the characters, the premise.......everything.You know when you crack open a book hoping for the best...then you get that feeling from the very first chapter...that this is it...this is going to be a book that you are going to love? That was Emmie OMG I LOVE this book! Okay this book was nowhere to be found on my radar. I am so thankful that the publisher suggested I read this because it blew me away. No kidding, Emmie Blue stole my heart. What did I love? Every single word of this story. I loved the characters, the premise.......everything.You know when you crack open a book hoping for the best...then you get that feeling from the very first chapter...that this is it...this is going to be a book that you are going to love? That was Emmie Blue for me. Right from the very first page. Then ...it just got better and better. The characters were so well developed that I felt Emmie was my BFF. I wanted to laugh, cry, hug her and drink lots of wine with her. This girl was so likeable. It felt like when I watch a Meg Ryan movie and you can't help but cheer her on the whole way...yep Emmie again.My heart broke many times over with this book, yet it was such a feel good book. Does that make sense? I have been on the struggle bus lately with finding a book I can click with ( as much of us at this weird time). This book just blew me away...this is defiantly making it to my top 10 of the year and being adding to my shelf of favorites. Why you ask? It was a book that I spent all day looking forward to when I could get the chance to pick it up again. A book that I will not soon forget. A book that I connected with right from the start. If this is not on your radar, well it should be. I highly suggest you need to meet Emmie Blue if you get the chance. She is a pretty special girl!Thank you so very much to Atria Books for my ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Sheyla ✎
    January 1, 1970
    " I tend to only fancy one person at a time." Guys, This is my favorite book so far this year!Oh, the feels! So many feels. It was everything I wanted it to be. There were tears, sad moments, happy moments, don't-leave types of moments, and ecstatic moments. As a lover of romance, Dear Emmie Blue melted my heart. My kindle is full of highlights. So many favorite one-liners So what's the book about?I almost don't want to tell you. I want you to experience it yourself.But in case you're " I tend to only fancy one person at a time." Guys, This is my favorite book so far this year!Oh, the feels! So many feels. It was everything I wanted it to be. There were tears, sad moments, happy moments, don't-leave types of moments, and ecstatic moments. As a lover of romance, Dear Emmie Blue melted my heart. My kindle is full of highlights. So many favorite one-liners <3.So what's the book about?I almost don't want to tell you. I want you to experience it yourself.But in case you're wondering......Emmie Blue is turning thirty. Her life is not where she envisioned it. Far from it. She is living in Louise's house. An older lady, who rents a room and is as quiet as Emmie. She's working at a hotel instead of working at a high school. She never met her father and her mother is as warm as a cactus (please forgive me cactuses for the comparison). Emmie's mother has been in and out of Emmie's life as far as she can remember.Emmie's best friend is Lucas. The boy who found her balloon all those years back. The boy who knows her secret. The boy who is now a man and whom Emmie has fallen in love with without telling him. The man who shares her own birthday. The man she's waiting for him to notice he loves her back.When Lucas asks Emmie to meet him in France (he lives there, she lives in the UK) for a special dinner, Emmie thinks this is it. He's finally going to pop the question. Yet, this is not what happens. Instead, her heart is broken. With the news he gives her, she knows things will change between them. Dear Emmie Blue was a charming, endearing story with lovable characters. Ballon Boy stole my heart. At the 53% mark, I hit my forehead when I finally realized what my heart was telling me to be true.The secondary characters were so well done. Rosie was the best girlfriend someone could have. Her sincerity, no-nonsense personality and her humor made her stellar. Fox's company complimented the trio well. Louise also found a place in my heart. She was a quiet presence until she wasn't anymore. "I support you and accept you, even though you're a wreck." Dear Emmie Blue is a road to self-discovery for our main character, Emmie... A time to grow and do some needed soul-searching. To stand up and become stronger. To learn that despite adversity and a lousy past, you can be better. You can be happy ❤️❤️❤️Thank you, thank you, Atria for sending me this book!Cliffhanger: No5/5 FangsA complimentary copy was provided by Atria via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    4. 5 stars rounded to 4 starsWhat a great debut novel this is. Being in the midst of two “once-in-a-lifetime” crises in our country, plus having a sick kitty, and also undergoing a complicated prosthetic hip revision all at once, I chose something a bit lighter to distract me from life. This one fit the bill perfectly.Emmie is 30 years old and is basically lost in terms of where her life is going. She has a crappy mother, an unknown father, a low-level job, a rented room with a cold landlady, an 4. 5 stars rounded to 4 starsWhat a great debut novel this is. Being in the midst of two “once-in-a-lifetime” crises in our country, plus having a sick kitty, and also undergoing a complicated prosthetic hip revision all at once, I chose something a bit lighter to distract me from life. This one fit the bill perfectly.Emmie is 30 years old and is basically lost in terms of where her life is going. She has a crappy mother, an unknown father, a low-level job, a rented room with a cold landlady, and some nasty baggage from the past. Not only that, her best of a very few friends, who she loves, is marrying another woman. Well, blah, right? Her best friend, Lucas, is a great guy. He has even asked her to be his “best woman” at his wedding. Emmie met him after she had launched a balloon with a sad message off the British coast, and Lucas found it an ocean away in France. They were both 16 years old at the time. Lucas emailed Emmie, they got together and became very close. Lucas is all Emmie believes she has. Could things be any worse now that he has asked someone else to marry him? This storyline may sound kind of chick-litty, but I thought this was actully a wonderful character study of Miss Emmie Blue.Ms. Louis does a great job developing the story of Emmie and Lucas with the aid of flashbacks that nicely complement what is going on in present time. Emmie and Lucas are both extremely likeable, and it’s heartbreaking that they are not apparently headed to the alter together. But then there are other characters in this story who are out to help Emmie. I especially loved her only girlfriend, Rosie, her distant landlady, Lousie, and Lucas’ older brother Eliot. The narrative starts off a bit slowly, which cost ½ star, but it gained momentum quickly thereafter. The book is telling us that no matter how lousy life gets, it can get better, much better, if you don’t give up. And don’t forget the good things that can be sitting there right in front of you, which can help you move forward. I think this is a really important takeaway, especially in the times we are living in today. It’s so easy to toss in the towel when things look hopeless, but hard as it is, you have to keep going. And sometimes you are richly rewarded for doing so.I found Dear Emmie Blue a comforting and inspiring read. If that description interests you, please give this one a try. I am already on the lookout for whatever Ms. Louis comes up with next.I would like to thank Atria Books, Net Galley, and Ms. Lia Louis for offering me an ARC of this book. Opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    AWWWWW Dear Emmie Blue was overload with sweetness and cuteness!!I was seeing so many high stars for this one and was terrified that I would be another outlier. But, ladies and gents I also really enjoyed it yay! When I was younger, in my early twenties funny story. I actually always on and off fooled around with sending a balloon in the sky with a letter attached to find the love of my life haha. I never ended up doing it but I fell in love with the premise.What more could you ask for in a roma AWWWWW Dear Emmie Blue was overload with sweetness and cuteness!!I was seeing so many high stars for this one and was terrified that I would be another outlier. But, ladies and gents I also really enjoyed it yay! When I was younger, in my early twenties funny story. I actually always on and off fooled around with sending a balloon in the sky with a letter attached to find the love of my life haha. I never ended up doing it but I fell in love with the premise.What more could you ask for in a romance? Charming, uplifting and pure raw beautiful love.And that ending?! Oh my goodness it was pure bliss. I loved this one! 4 stars! So cute!!Thank you so much to Netgalley and Atria for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Pub date: 7/14/20Published to GR: 6/14/20
    more
  • Susan's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.I really enjoyed all the characters in this delightful novel. Emmie has had a rough "teen-hood" and her absentee, atrocious parents were only a small part of her issues (no spoilers here!) After Lucas finds the message attached to her balloon, Lucas and Eliot become her surrogate family. As most readers will guess, Emmie falls in love with Lucas, but Fate has a different plan in store fo My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.I really enjoyed all the characters in this delightful novel. Emmie has had a rough "teen-hood" and her absentee, atrocious parents were only a small part of her issues (no spoilers here!) After Lucas finds the message attached to her balloon, Lucas and Eliot become her surrogate family. As most readers will guess, Emmie falls in love with Lucas, but Fate has a different plan in store for Emmie Blue. Things are not as they seem, and everyone seems afraid to come out and declare themselves. There is a lot of longing and yearning in this story. I agree with another Goodreads reviewer that the story was slow going at times, but the writing was really top notch. I loved Eliot, but I'm a big fan of plain speaking. (It hasn't always worked out in my favour, but it has saved me a lot of time and heartache over the years.) Lucas, Emmie and Eliot all needed a good dose of plain speaking, but, alas, everyone was tiptoeing around Emmie's feelings and past hurts, and their own agendas.. And, of course, if all these misunderstandings and noble little sacrifices hadn't been there to begin with, we would have had a very short and bland novel!I had a hard time putting this book down. The writing was witty and engaging, and the characters were all people I enjoyed spending time with. This is the author's second published novel. I suspect she will get better with each new publication. Her voice is so distinctive and charming. I'm going to rate this a 4.8 out of 5!
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    4 sentimental starsEmmie has just turned 30 and she’s so disappointed – her best friend (and whom she secretly loves) since age 16 has just told her that he’s marrying someone else. Can she tell him the truth and then they live happily ever after?Emmie Blue is a sweet woman who has worked hard to overcome a traumatic high school event. She’s working at a dead-end job, she lives in a small over-heated room, her mom is distant, and she doesn’t know her Dad. Now that Lucas is engaged, she’s really 4 sentimental starsEmmie has just turned 30 and she’s so disappointed – her best friend (and whom she secretly loves) since age 16 has just told her that he’s marrying someone else. Can she tell him the truth and then they live happily ever after?Emmie Blue is a sweet woman who has worked hard to overcome a traumatic high school event. She’s working at a dead-end job, she lives in a small over-heated room, her mom is distant, and she doesn’t know her Dad. Now that Lucas is engaged, she’s really down on life. She and Lucas met by sheer luck, a balloon and note (detailing that traumatic event) that she released in England was found by Lucas on a beach in France. They share a birthday and have become fast friends over the years along with Lucas’ older brother Eliot.As the wedding plans commence, Emmie realizes the depths of her loneliness. She finally starts talking to her landlord, reaches out to her mother, and begins to look for her father again. Eliot (Lucas’ brother) has even stepped in to be a strong source of support. I found Emmie to be an endearing character and I rooted for her to find happiness and love. She’s got a few good friends and once she opens her heart, more people learn to love her as well. Though a bit predictable, I really enjoyed this one and shed a few tears at the end. This is my first read from this author and I would definitely read other books by her. This was a fun buddy read with Jayme and we both agreed that it finished strong!Thank you to Atria for the invitation to read this one. It's out 7.14.2020 - a perfect summer read.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    I wouldn’t change a thing about this book. Not a single thing. Absolutely loved it!Full review coming soon.
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    While this is definitely a poignant read about growing up and doing what is right for you, regardless of what the rest of the world thinks, for some reason, I just didn't connect to the story or the characters. It was an emotional story that I can see a lot of people loving and enjoying and I did like it and the writing was great, I just don't think it quite hit me in all the feels I was hoping it would. Still a beautiful story about growing up, friendship, love, and life. *ARC provided by the p While this is definitely a poignant read about growing up and doing what is right for you, regardless of what the rest of the world thinks, for some reason, I just didn't connect to the story or the characters. It was an emotional story that I can see a lot of people loving and enjoying and I did like it and the writing was great, I just don't think it quite hit me in all the feels I was hoping it would. Still a beautiful story about growing up, friendship, love, and life. *ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Lacey
    January 1, 1970
    Dear Emmie Blue is far and away one of the best books I've read this year. I doubt it'll be winning a Pulitzer anytime soon, but it does what all great fiction is supposed to do: it captures the human experience at its highs, lows, and in-betweens. It makes you feel everything all at once, and other times it makes you feel void of any feeling at all. It leaves you wanting more. It's funny and it's poignant and it's unbelievably sad. Hopeful, and also painful. There's joy, longing, jealousy, wist Dear Emmie Blue is far and away one of the best books I've read this year. I doubt it'll be winning a Pulitzer anytime soon, but it does what all great fiction is supposed to do: it captures the human experience at its highs, lows, and in-betweens. It makes you feel everything all at once, and other times it makes you feel void of any feeling at all. It leaves you wanting more. It's funny and it's poignant and it's unbelievably sad. Hopeful, and also painful. There's joy, longing, jealousy, wistfulness, bitterness, regret, laughter, anger, heartbreak, and everything in between. It shatters the heart into a million tiny pieces and then glues it back together again.I don't want to say too much about the plot because I don't wanna give too much away, and I think it's probably best to go into the story knowing as little as possible. In essence, the story is about Emmie Blue, who is about 30 years old when the story begins. At age 16, she is sexually assaulted by her best friend's dad while trying to learn more about her birth father, who abandoned her and her mother before she was born. She reports the assault anonymously, but her identity gets revealed and no one, not even her own mom (who's neglectful and mostly absent from her life), believes her. Devastated and completely friendless, she sends up a balloon that has a message inside telling her story and giving her email address. The balloon is found in France by Lucas who reaches out to Emmie, and they quickly strike up a friendship that has lasted ever since.This is a story about friendship, family, love, loss, hope, and dealing with change. Emmie has seen and experienced some of the worst of what the world has to offer, but she doesn't let that change her. She never gives up; she perseveres and continues to hope and to believe and to see the positive. I think that we could all benefit from being a little more like Emmie, just as I think that Dear Emmie Blue is a testament to resilience in the face of adversity and the tenacity of the human spirit, reminding us that when we're going through hell to keep going.
    more
  • Jenny - TotallybookedBlog
    January 1, 1970
    “Everything is changing. Except for me.” Beautiful! Absolutely breathtaking! Our hearts are bursting, and we can’t stop thinking about the wonderful reading experience afforded to us by Lia Louis. We weren’t sure what to expect from Dear Emmie Blue, but whatever those expectations were, this incredibly emotional, witty and sentimental story of life, love and relationships exceeded them all! An absolute 5 star favourite for 2020!If you’re in need of a tender-hearted journey that hits every emo “Everything is changing. Except for me.” Beautiful! Absolutely breathtaking! Our hearts are bursting, and we can’t stop thinking about the wonderful reading experience afforded to us by Lia Louis. We weren’t sure what to expect from Dear Emmie Blue, but whatever those expectations were, this incredibly emotional, witty and sentimental story of life, love and relationships exceeded them all! An absolute 5 star favourite for 2020!If you’re in need of a tender-hearted journey that hits every emotion, be it laughing, crying, swooning or simply filling your heart with engaging characters, we urge you to pick up this book and fall completely in love with every aspect of the exquisite romantic journey, just as we did. One thing; – Expect the unexpected and devour the surprises along the way! Dear Emmie Blue made us forget everything around us while we lost ourselves in this charming and beautifully woven story. “Where you at, Emmie Blue?” This isn’t merely a love story, it’s so much more. An aching story of unrequited love, of friendships, hurt, life experiences and the ways in which they mould us. Emmie Blue’s story was like opening a present with every flip of the page –eager for more and loving every surprise the author delivered. Oh, our hearts!!! They were broken, fulfilled, and overflowing in so many ways!‘I knew I loved him; had always loved him. And there was no way I could tell him.’Emmeline (Emmie) Blue is now thirty years old and reflecting on her life, especially now her best friend Lucas Moreau has dropped the bombshell that he is getting married and wants Emmie to be his best woman. The problem being, Emmie has been in love with Lucas for the last six years of their fourteen-year friendship. It’s a friendship that began when 16-year-old Emmie set a balloon off into the sky in England, to be discovered by 16-year-old Lucas on a beach in Boulogne-sur-Mes near his hometown of Le Touquet, France. It was the beginning of a friendship that would endure the years, surviving hope and heartache, tragedy and triumphs.‘…it happened. It was real. The man I love told me he wanted to spend forever with someone else and wanted me to be there, right next to him, in the spotlight, as he told the world.’Emmie, Lucas and Lucas’s older brother, Eliot were the three musketeers living and loving one another’s company until a tragic event and an act of betrayal at nineteen would see Emmie ostracise Eliot and further forge her deep friendship with Lucas. It was a friendship that would see them through many relationships, many heartbreaks and lead to Emmie’s feelings being intensified, while Lucas gave his heart to his fiancé Marie. But….there are many underlying factors to experience here!‘Even though I know it wasn’t, the sky is always blue, the sun always shining, in those memories.’Now, we could go into more detail but honestly, it would ruin it. To allude to anything further would impede on your enjoyment of the story. Trust us on this. We will say that the cast of characters will own your heart! Emmie’s workmates and best friends Rosie and Fox will have you giggling like crazy. The gregarious, outspoken Rosie was a delight! The setting of the seaside town in England and France added a vivid ambience to the story, with the secondary characters adding layers to this well-crafted and unforgettable experience. “I’m made of strong stuff,” I say, and Lucas says, “Always have been.” We must make mention of the formatting in the way the text messages were delivered. It was the best formatting of this aspect we’ve ever seen. The messages were easy to read and made you feel as though you were participating in reading the exchanges between the characters.There isn’t anything we didn’t love about this story! Every thread woven felt magical and beautiful, the way it played out was perfection! Perfection! The whole book from start to finish enthralled us and captivated us. One for the 2020 favourite list, that’s for sure! Do not miss Dear Emmie Blue! We can’t wait to discuss it with you!Available to purchase belowAmazon USAmazon UKCome and say hi, at:✲ TotallyBookedBlog✲ TBB on Facebook✲ TBB on Instagram✲ TBB on Twitter✲ TBB on Pinterest
    more
  • Fiction Addition Angela
    January 1, 1970
    Most nights I read. I prefer books to TV and only occasionally do I get lured into the world of movies and dramas. Having just finished another book - one that was quite a tough, a sad historical fiction, I opened Dear Emmie Blue thinking I will just start this book and read a few pages, something to brighten and lift my heavy thoughts. This book has 300 pages plus and it took me five hours to read it. How do I know that? because I started to read it at 10pm and didn't finish it until 3am. Oh ye Most nights I read. I prefer books to TV and only occasionally do I get lured into the world of movies and dramas. Having just finished another book - one that was quite a tough, a sad historical fiction, I opened Dear Emmie Blue thinking I will just start this book and read a few pages, something to brighten and lift my heavy thoughts. This book has 300 pages plus and it took me five hours to read it. How do I know that? because I started to read it at 10pm and didn't finish it until 3am. Oh yes. Eyes sore, legs cramped and the dogs looking at me, imploring me to turn of that bloody light and go to bed. Lia Louis you've made me read this in one sitting, something I rarely never do and its all your clever wonderful words that made me do it.Emmie Blue is thirty years old and shares her birthday with her best friend Lucas and has been his best friends since she released a balloon as a teenager and it floated all the way to France and Lucas found it, they have been inseperable since. Her relationship is made special as Emmie grows up neglected by her mother, abandoned by her father and judged at school for something she didn't do.Lucas is a boy who has everything that life can offer a brother, a loving set of parents and a family home and when he finds that balloon, he finds a friend and shares his family with her. Great secondary characters adding to the mix, especially Rosie and Fox whose honest humour made me laugh and read about her exploits with a huge grin on my face. Slow and gentle Louise who makes Emmie believe she's loved and cared about. A couple of characters that were a pain in the ass but thats life.This book felt like a good movie in your hand that one minute makes you laugh, the next sad, the next you want to scream and say open your eyes... fool.I'm not giving away any more about it as it's a pure gem, just get all your chores done before you start it and get comfy because I suggest you sit down with Emmie Blue and discover just what happened with balloon girl and balloon boy. For such a predictable set up this book was written in a way that is so relatable. It's going on my list of highly recommended books for 2020.Special thanks to Atria Books and Netgalley for sharing this book for me to read and review.4.5 Stars
    more
  • Aga Durka
    January 1, 1970
    Dear Emmie Blue is a heartwarming and emotional tale of love, loss, and finding yourself. The characters are likable, the plot is interesting, and the little twist and turns in this story kept me glued to its pages. Emmie Blue is a sweet and loveable heroine, and her journey to self-discovery, even though it was heartbreaking at times, gave me joy and made my heart full.I highly recommend this quick, easy, and emotional read to anyone that enjoys friends-to-enemy-to-lovers stories that bring del Dear Emmie Blue is a heartwarming and emotional tale of love, loss, and finding yourself. The characters are likable, the plot is interesting, and the little twist and turns in this story kept me glued to its pages. Emmie Blue is a sweet and loveable heroine, and her journey to self-discovery, even though it was heartbreaking at times, gave me joy and made my heart full.I highly recommend this quick, easy, and emotional read to anyone that enjoys friends-to-enemy-to-lovers stories that bring delight and quiet satisfaction to one’s heart.Thank you NetGalley, Atria publisher, and the author for providing me with an ARC copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Maria
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars Dear Emmie Blue how I adored you! 16 year Emmie released a 🎈 and 16 year old birthday twin Lucas finds it. The two begin emailing and become the best of friends. Aww that sounds really cute, most definitely a fluff read. I just wasn't feeling it and almost passed up my opportunity to read this. Luckily I came to my senses. You know what? It was more complex than I thought. This absolutely beautiful story had some deeper life issues, yet sweet Emmie was such a positive soul. Go ahead, t 4.5 stars Dear Emmie Blue how I adored you! 16 year Emmie released a 🎈 and 16 year old birthday twin Lucas finds it. The two begin emailing and become the best of friends. Aww that sounds really cute, most definitely a fluff read. I just wasn't feeling it and almost passed up my opportunity to read this. Luckily I came to my senses. You know what? It was more complex than I thought. This absolutely beautiful story had some deeper life issues, yet sweet Emmie was such a positive soul. Go ahead, take a chance on Dear Emmie Blue!Many thanks to Milena Brown (for offering me an advanced copy), Netgalley, Atria Books, and Lia Louis.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/ 5 starsWhat a charming book! Dear Emmie Blue is a touching and beautiful story. I would categorize it as a cross between Women's Fiction and Chick Lit.The story takes place in the UK and France. But Emmie is British.The narrator is 30 year old Emmie Blue. When she was 16 she released a balloon with a message in it. Someone found it and that person has been an integral part of her life ever since.This book has romance. But it is really so much more than that. Something happened to Emmie when 4.5/ 5 starsWhat a charming book! Dear Emmie Blue is a touching and beautiful story. I would categorize it as a cross between Women's Fiction and Chick Lit.The story takes place in the UK and France. But Emmie is British.The narrator is 30 year old Emmie Blue. When she was 16 she released a balloon with a message in it. Someone found it and that person has been an integral part of her life ever since.This book has romance. But it is really so much more than that. Something happened to Emmie when she was a teenager. And it is such an important part of the book.I felt so bad for Emmie for so many reasons. Her mom was so uncaring. And it made my heart break for Emmie.For a while I actually had no idea which direction the story was going to take. But I think that the author did a perfect job of choosing exactly the right way for the story to go.The book had some really crazy reveals that I loved. And there were some great characters. I adored Louise. And I loved Rosie.The more I read the more I liked this book. The end is everything to me. And the end of this book was extremely strong. The book made me feel good.Emmie was a wonderful narrator. And the epilogue was brilliant. This is my favorite type of epilogue. It is rare that the author uses the epilogue to add something so critical to the story... that you jump for joy that the author thought of it and included it. Overall, this was a really great book.Thanks to netgalley and Simon & Schuster Canada for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Thelma
    January 1, 1970
    Dear Emmie Blue was a story that I didn't expect to hit me as it did, it is a story of second chances, hope, and friendship. It's about acceptance, about being true to yourself no matter how much the world is trying to tell you a different story.Dear Emmie Blue made me feel, joy and sadness but at the same time made me feel hopeful that there still love and wonderful friendships out there. Emmie, a beautiful character trying to find herself in a world so cold, full of lies and a gossiping "town" Dear Emmie Blue was a story that I didn't expect to hit me as it did, it is a story of second chances, hope, and friendship. It's about acceptance, about being true to yourself no matter how much the world is trying to tell you a different story.Dear Emmie Blue made me feel, joy and sadness but at the same time made me feel hopeful that there still love and wonderful friendships out there. Emmie, a beautiful character trying to find herself in a world so cold, full of lies and a gossiping "town" that keeps breaking her heart over and over again. She only wants to have a home, a family, someone to hold her and make her feel loved, it was her dream and only dream. Sending her balloon away, she didn't expect that her life was about to change bringing everything she ever wanted and wish for.Lucas, a boy that has everything in life, a beautiful family, a warm house, and a brother that made his life easier. until the day, a balloon showed up, bringing a new friend into his life and family.I really felt in love with Lucas, Emmie and Eliot their friendship was very beautiful, something so rare to find nowadays, they protect her so much no matter where she was, she was their everything, they will keep her safe and shield her from anything or anybody who tries to hurt her. The secondary characters were amazing, they gave so much depth to Emmie's story. Louise was a blessing balm in her life, someone who gave her love and hope when she needed the most. Rosie and Fox those two made me laugh at every turn with their shenanigans. All the people that never left Emmie and were always a constant support for her. Always seeing her for whom she was, an empathic, sensible girl who only wanted love and the warmth of a family.A rollercoaster of emotions, many situations that you won't see them coming and will make your journey even more enjoyable, I truly believe, it is best if you read this book without reading any reviews and going in blind, you will experience the story better.This book is going to stay in my heart for a long time, the story really hit close to home, I identify so much with Emmie, I cried, I laugh and felt so much loved reading her story.I'm looking forward to reading more books and stories by Lia Louis.
    more
  • Andrea Pole
    January 1, 1970
    Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis is a charming read that contains far more emotional depth than I had initially expected based on the sweetly innocent cover and accompanying synopsis. What a pleasant surprise to find such a heartwarming story within, one that touches on the many relatable themes of loss, isolation, longing, unrequited love, and the search for that one person who will make your heart sing unlike any other.Emmie Blue is a sad sixteen year old when she releases a red balloon into the s Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis is a charming read that contains far more emotional depth than I had initially expected based on the sweetly innocent cover and accompanying synopsis. What a pleasant surprise to find such a heartwarming story within, one that touches on the many relatable themes of loss, isolation, longing, unrequited love, and the search for that one person who will make your heart sing unlike any other.Emmie Blue is a sad sixteen year old when she releases a red balloon into the sky from the grounds of her English school with only her name, email address and deepest secret contained within. The balloon is discovered by Lucas Moreau in France, and he responds to Emmie, thus beginning an intense friendship that will last for decades. When Lucas invites Emmie to meet, she is certain that her closest friend is ready to take the next step. Will her 'balloon boy' finally cement his place as the love of her life?This is a story that draws the reader in with rich characterization, and it is certainly quite easy to empathize with the long suffering Emmie. This is a fresh take on a familiar premise and, as such, it will keep you guessing until the very end,Many thanks to NetGalley and Atria Books for the opportunity to read this ARC.
    more
  • Sheena ☆ Oh, the Sheenanigans!
    January 1, 1970
    ‘Dear Emmie Blue’ completely blew me away with it's captivating writing style that pulled and tugged at my heartstrings, vibrant and real characters readers are able to relate and sympathize with and an engaging drama that makes you want to root for the heroine and her happily ever after. It was an unforgettable story that left me an emotional wreck. It’s been a long time since a book hit close to home, driving me to ugly cry so hard you would’ve thought someone died. It’s not to ‘Dear Emmie Blue’ completely blew me away with it's captivating writing style that pulled and tugged at my heartstrings, vibrant and real characters readers are able to relate and sympathize with and an engaging drama that makes you want to root for the heroine and her happily ever after. It was an unforgettable story that left me an emotional wreck. It’s been a long time since a book hit close to home, driving me to ugly cry so hard you would’ve thought someone died. It’s not to say this book was perfect. There were a few questionable scenes and actions that made me want to wring the neck out of Emmie, Lucas and Eliot. Moreso, when reaching the conclusion of the story and how a particular life changing incident from Emmie's past came to light, I was more than frustrated with the heroine's reaction to this character's deed and how easily it was pushed aside and not really addressed. Despite the long history between them, forgiveness came too easily and I wished their actions would have had repercussions. Vague, I know. But going further into would only spoil what transpires. In the face of those underlying issues that I was able to push aside because it made the characters far more real and raw, ‘Dear Emmie Blue’ kept me spellbound and I was so compelled to read this, I finished it in one sitting with frequent breaks to wipe my tears and to reflect on the magic of the story. It’s evident that I'll be thinking about 'Dear Emmie Blue' for a long time to come.
    more
  • Kari | Books For The Living
    January 1, 1970
    Have you ever started a book and realized you have picked it up at just the right time? This happened to me with DEAR EMMIE BLUE. I was in quite a bit of a book slump, feeling down about the extended social-distancing orders, and was finding it extremely difficult to focus on reading. Nothing was holding my attention. Everything I picked up seemed kind of pointless.Then I decided to give DEAR EMMIE BLUE a try. I don’t think I could have picked a better read. Not only did it pull me out of a slum Have you ever started a book and realized you have picked it up at just the right time? This happened to me with DEAR EMMIE BLUE. I was in quite a bit of a book slump, feeling down about the extended social-distancing orders, and was finding it extremely difficult to focus on reading. Nothing was holding my attention. Everything I picked up seemed kind of pointless.Then I decided to give DEAR EMMIE BLUE a try. I don’t think I could have picked a better read. Not only did it pull me out of a slump and grab my attention right away, but I also connected with the main character so much. I couldn’t have planned the timing better if I had tried.Emmie Blue is 16 when she releases a balloon in England into the sky with a secret and her email address. It travels hundreds of miles to a beach in France where 16-year-old Lucas finds it. Through that connection, the two form a strong and close friendship. Now 14 years later, Emmie Blue is hiding the fact that she’s in love with Lucas. When he tells her he has something big to tell her, Emmie is certain that he is going to reveal his feelings for her. But things don’t always go according to one’s plans, do they?I loved this story so. much. The book starts off with a bang and draws you in right away. Emmie’s backstory was quite heartbreaking, but I loved how she found support in Lucas and Lucas’s brother Eliot. The story progression felt natural and real. Emmie thinks her life is meant to go in a certain direction, but when reality has different plans, she has to figure out what she really wants in life, and what she wants her life to look like. I found her struggles completely relatable and I empathized with her and her feelings of loneliness.I really liked how the story unfolded. I realized a few things before Emmie did, but that made the story both sweeter and perhaps a bit more heart-wrenching while I waited for her to figure it out and for things to be revealed.At its heart, this story is about family and friendship and also love. It’s about learning that family should not be regulated to just those who happen to share your genes. We shouldn’t limit family by such a narrow definition because love and family mean so much more than that. I also loved the love story (not a surprise there!). It was incredibly lovely and sweet and just absolutely heartwarming.Put this one on your summer reading list (out July 14th!). You do not want to miss it.CW: sexual assault (off-page in the past, but there is some (relatively vague) description of what happened)I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Devon
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars rounded upDear Emmie Blue was just the book I needed right now. On the heels of finishing the award winning Pachinko and Janelle Brown’s new release Pretty Things, both of which were close to 500 pages long, and the constant barrage of news being thrown at me I craved something light and uplifting. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot here because I believe this story sort of relies on the reader not knowing too much going in. The publishers synopsis says: “DEAR EMMIE BLUE s 4.5 Stars rounded upDear Emmie Blue was just the book I needed right now. On the heels of finishing the award winning Pachinko and Janelle Brown’s new release Pretty Things, both of which were close to 500 pages long, and the constant barrage of news being thrown at me I craved something light and uplifting. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot here because I believe this story sort of relies on the reader not knowing too much going in. The publishers synopsis says: “DEAR EMMIE BLUE starts with a teenage Emmie Blue releasing a balloon with a message inside which also includes her email address and a dark secret she finally wants to be free of. Lucas finds the balloon and messages her, which starts a cherished friendship. Fourteen years later, Emmie is sure Lucas is the one, but is devastated when he tells her that he’s getting married. Emmie suddenly realizes that life is not quite going as planned.”Dear Emmie Blue started off well enough and kept me engaged, but, for me, it took a little while to really find its groove but once it did I couldn’t put it down. I found myself falling for the entire cast of charming characters. There was so much to love here from Emmie’s relationships with her friends, to her finding family in places and people she least expected, to the beautiful romance that blossomed throughout the story. I’ve never read anything by Lia Louis before, in fact if it weren’t for Milena from Atria books and Netgalley kindly sending me an ARC I probably never would have even heard of Lia Louis. However, now that she is on my radar I am excited to read her first book Somewhere Close To Happy and then her next book and then the one after that...If you are in search of a charming romance to keep your mind off of the worries of the world this is exactly the book you’re looking for. 🎈**Thank you to Netgalley for proving an ARC in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Katharine
    January 1, 1970
    I was having a VERY hard time focusing on any books, until Atria sent this one to me. It was exactly what I needed during this strange, uncertain season. With compelling, empathetic, quirky characters and a story with a LOT of heart, this book made me smile and cry the whole way through. By the time it was over I didn't want to let Emmie Blue go, but loved seeing how things turned out for her. If you're looking for a heartwarming story or are a fan of Jenny Colgan, Kerry Winfrey, or Abbi Waxman, I was having a VERY hard time focusing on any books, until Atria sent this one to me. It was exactly what I needed during this strange, uncertain season. With compelling, empathetic, quirky characters and a story with a LOT of heart, this book made me smile and cry the whole way through. By the time it was over I didn't want to let Emmie Blue go, but loved seeing how things turned out for her. If you're looking for a heartwarming story or are a fan of Jenny Colgan, Kerry Winfrey, or Abbi Waxman, give this one a try and I don't think you'll be disappointed.Thank you to Atria for providing me with a free review copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Fiction Addition Angela
    January 1, 1970
    Most nights I read. I prefer books to TV and only occasionally do I get lured into the world of movies and dramas. Having just finished another book - one that was quite a tough, a sad historical fiction, I opened Dear Emmie Blue thinking I will just start this book and read a few pages, something to brighten and lift my heavy thoughts. This book has 300 pages plus and it took me five hours to read it. How do I know that? because I started to read it at 10pm and didn't finish it until 3am. Oh ye Most nights I read. I prefer books to TV and only occasionally do I get lured into the world of movies and dramas. Having just finished another book - one that was quite a tough, a sad historical fiction, I opened Dear Emmie Blue thinking I will just start this book and read a few pages, something to brighten and lift my heavy thoughts. This book has 300 pages plus and it took me five hours to read it. How do I know that? because I started to read it at 10pm and didn't finish it until 3am. Oh yes. Eyes sore, legs cramped and the dogs looking at me, imploring me to turn of that bloody light and go to bed. Lia Louis you've made me read this in one sitting, something I rarely never do and its all your clever wonderful words that made me do it.Emmie Blue is thirty years old and shares her birthday with her best friend Lucas and has been his best friends since she released a balloon as a teenager and it floated all the way to France and Lucas found it, they have been inseperable since. Her relationship is made special as Emmie grows up neglected by her mother, abandoned by her father and judged at school for something she didn't do.Lucas is a boy who has everything that life can offer a brother, a loving set of parents and a family home and when he finds that balloon, he finds a friend and shares his family with her. Great secondary characters adding to the mix, especially Rosie and Fox whose honest humour made me laugh and read about her exploits with a huge grin on my face. Slow and gentle Louise who makes Emmie believe she's loved and cared about. A couple of characters that were a pain in the ass but thats life.This book felt like a good movie in your hand that one minute makes you laugh, the next sad, the next you want to scream and say open your eyes... fool.I'm not giving away any more about it as it's a pure gem, just get all your chores done before you start it and get comfy because I suggest you sit down with Emmie Blue and discover just what happened with balloon girl and balloon boy. For such a predictable set up this book was written in a way that is so relatable. It's going on my list of highly recommended books for 2020.Special thanks to Atria Books and Netgalley for sharing this book for me to read and review.
    more
  • Rachel Calunan-Chiu
    January 1, 1970
    I had the privilege of reading this book, thanks to Atria books and Netgalley. This was such a sweet love story that you can really relate to. Lia Louis’ style of writing has me feeling what Emmie is going through, the lack of relationship with her mother, the loss of a friendship with Georgia- the only family you had considered- because of what her father did to her- and the person who you thought you were in love with.. falls in love and is about to marry someone else. You walk with Emmie thro I had the privilege of reading this book, thanks to Atria books and Netgalley. This was such a sweet love story that you can really relate to. Lia Louis’ style of writing has me feeling what Emmie is going through, the lack of relationship with her mother, the loss of a friendship with Georgia- the only family you had considered- because of what her father did to her- and the person who you thought you were in love with.. falls in love and is about to marry someone else. You walk with Emmie through these trials and all these emotions, but as you get further into her story, it’s quite beautiful. How this one person who was haunted by her past and had a hard time moving on, finally finds herself. I loved how Emmie found herself. I loved how she found true relationships with her existing friends Fox and Rosie, Louise her housemate and ultimately found herself not giving in to the demands of being someone’s beck and call. I like how she allowed herself to find love from someone she knew has always been there from the beginning, and I love how Eliot took himself out of the equation to allow Emmie to hang on to what she thought was her only friend.One of my favorite sayings in the book was when she was talking to Louise during the thunderstorm. Louise says “Do you know why I like the storm?... They are a little reminder that We’re not at all in charge, but Mother Nature is..and while the world may not look exactly how we’d prefer it to, it is enough, if we just stop and look. The whole sky lit up, The smell of the rain. Safe inside. What more could you need?”I give this book 4/5 stars. It is such a cute love story, but it was slow going for me at first until things started to actually happen. I felt that the beginning of the book was more of a pity party for her, and I kept thinking.. what the hell are you being so naive and gullible around Lucas? And the part when Ana found Lucas and Emmie on her balcony kissing.. it was so predictable what was going to happen. Definitely a very cute book to read- especially with Valentine’s Day right around the corner. Book reminds us that true love could still be found after so many years.
    more
  • MichellemyBelle
    January 1, 1970
    ***ARC provided by Atria Books in exchange for an honest review**🚨Release Date: July 14, 2020🚨I can 100% re-read this again. Just heartmelting.I think what makes this so appealing is that every reader will find a little piece of themselves in Emmie. This is what makes her so endearing. At 14 years old Emmie forged this incredible relationship with Lucas and his family. They are exactly what she needs, at exactly the right time. Yet, she deserves more. She knows it, we the reader know it. Collect ***ARC provided by Atria Books in exchange for an honest review**🚨Release Date: July 14, 2020🚨I can 100% re-read this again. Just heartmelting.I think what makes this so appealing is that every reader will find a little piece of themselves in Emmie. This is what makes her so endearing. At 14 years old Emmie forged this incredible relationship with Lucas and his family. They are exactly what she needs, at exactly the right time. Yet, she deserves more. She knows it, we the reader know it. Collectively Emmie's story becomes a heartwarming, romantic call to arms for all the pushovers, the taken for granted reliables, those of us who always take the high road for peace for the other and rarely that of ourselves. Those of us who offer a shrug and smile when we can't have our cake and eat it too. One of my favorite reads so far this year.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Oh, I just loved this one!! Dear Emmie Blue was a delight. I really loved all the characters in the story, and was sad for it to end. Although it was somewhat predictable, I didn’t care for one minute - the book was well written and I couldn’t wait to see what happened to Emmie at the conclusion. This will definitely be another one of my favorite reads for 2020! A must read. Thank you to netgalley and the publisher (Atria/Emily Bestler books) for this eARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Gitte TotallyBookedBlog
    January 1, 1970
    “Everything is changing. Except for me.” Beautiful! Absolutely breathtaking! Our hearts are bursting, and we can’t stop thinking about the wonderful reading experience afforded to us by Lia Louis. We weren’t sure what to expect from Dear Emmie Blue, but whatever those expectations were, this incredibly emotional, witty and sentimental story of life, love and relationships exceeded them all! An absolute 5 star favourite for 2020!If you’re in need of a tender-hearted journey that hits every emo “Everything is changing. Except for me.” Beautiful! Absolutely breathtaking! Our hearts are bursting, and we can’t stop thinking about the wonderful reading experience afforded to us by Lia Louis. We weren’t sure what to expect from Dear Emmie Blue, but whatever those expectations were, this incredibly emotional, witty and sentimental story of life, love and relationships exceeded them all! An absolute 5 star favourite for 2020!If you’re in need of a tender-hearted journey that hits every emotion, be it laughing, crying, swooning or simply filling your heart with engaging characters, we urge you to pick up this book and fall completely in love with every aspect of the exquisite romantic journey, just as we did. One thing; – Expect the unexpected and devour the surprises along the way! Dear Emmie Blue made us forget everything around us while we lost ourselves in this charming and beautifully woven story. “Where you at, Emmie Blue?” This isn’t merely a love story, it’s so much more. An aching story of unrequited love, of friendships, hurt, life experiences and the ways in which they mould us. Emmie Blue’s story was like opening a present with every flip of the page –eager for more and loving every surprise the author delivered. Oh, our hearts!!! They were broken, fulfilled, and overflowing in so many ways!‘I knew I loved him; had always loved him. And there was no way I could tell him.’Emmeline (Emmie) Blue is now thirty years old and reflecting on her life, especially now her best friend Lucas Moreau has dropped the bombshell that he is getting married and wants Emmie to be his best woman. The problem being, Emmie has been in love with Lucas for the last six years of their fourteen-year friendship. It’s a friendship that began when 16-year-old Emmie set a balloon off into the sky in England, to be discovered by 16-year-old Lucas on a beach in Boulogne-sur-Mes near his hometown of Le Touquet, France. It was the beginning of a friendship that would endure the years, surviving hope and heartache, tragedy and triumphs.‘…it happened. It was real. The man I love told me he wanted to spend forever with someone else and wanted me to be there, right next to him, in the spotlight, as he told the world.’Emmie, Lucas and Lucas’s older brother, Eliot were the three musketeers living and loving one another’s company until a tragic event and an act of betrayal at nineteen would see Emmie ostracise Eliot and further forge her deep friendship with Lucas. It was a friendship that would see them through many relationships, many heartbreaks and lead to Emmie’s feelings being intensified, while Lucas gave his heart to his fiancé Marie. But….there are many underlying factors to experience here!‘Even though I know it wasn’t, the sky is always blue, the sun always shining, in those memories.’Now, we could go into more detail but honestly, it would ruin it. To allude to anything further would impede on your enjoyment of the story. Trust us on this. We will say that the cast of characters will own your heart! Emmie’s workmates and best friends Rosie and Fox will have you giggling like crazy. The gregarious, outspoken Rosie was a delight! The setting of the seaside town in England and France added a vivid ambience to the story, with the secondary characters adding layers to this well-crafted and unforgettable experience. “I’m made of strong stuff,” I say, and Lucas says, “Always have been.” We must make mention of the formatting in the way the text messages were delivered. It was the best formatting of this aspect we’ve ever seen. The messages were easy to read and made you feel as though you were participating in reading the exchanges between the characters.There isn’t anything we didn’t love about this story! Every thread woven felt magical and beautiful, the way it played out was perfection! Perfection! The whole book from start to finish enthralled us and captivated us. One for the 2020 favourite list, that’s for sure! Do not miss Dear Emmie Blue! We can’t wait to discuss it with you!Available to purchase belowAmazon USAmazon UKCome and say hi, at:✲ TotallyBookedBlog✲ TBB on Facebook✲ TBB on Instagram✲ TBB on Twitter✲ TBB on Pinterest
    more
  • Dayle (the literary llama)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars.DEAR EMMIE BLUE sort of sneaks up on you. It’s a little slow to start and the set-up is basically what you expect... until you turn a page and suddenly realize you’re so emotionally invested that you just can’t stop. It’s not perfect, and there are some obvious things you surmise, but as you read more and more you just don’t care because it’s written so wonderfully. Perfectly poignant.•I loved all the characters, except the ones you’re obviously supposed to dislike and even then the wa 4.5 stars.DEAR EMMIE BLUE sort of sneaks up on you. It’s a little slow to start and the set-up is basically what you expect... until you turn a page and suddenly realize you’re so emotionally invested that you just can’t stop. It’s not perfect, and there are some obvious things you surmise, but as you read more and more you just don’t care because it’s written so wonderfully. Perfectly poignant.•I loved all the characters, except the ones you’re obviously supposed to dislike and even then the way they’re written makes them bearably unlikeable as opposed to I-can’t-even-stand-to-read-them-they’re-so-mfing-awful (know what I mean?). The mix of characters and when and where they popped in was like a perfect recipe. Just enough and never too much.•And I was so in love with Emmie’s journey and awakening. You understand her so well. There wasn’t a single time when I wanted to chastise her or felt frustrated with her or her decisions. Even when you the reader think she’s made the obvious wrong choice, you know it was the choice she had to make.•I loved the various friendships and the serendipitous setup of balloon girl and balloon boy... and all the things that come to pass. That Emmie is 30 and so lost but there’s that kernel of gumption that’s growing. That everything is changing but it’s all so realistically done. For such a fictitious setup as the balloon is, everything else is written in such a real and relatable way. It’s beautiful.•Basically, I definitely recommend DEAR EMMIE BLUE. Add it to your list. Hitting shelves July 14th, 2020. 🎈* I received a free advance copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    An ARC was provided to me for free by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This is such a heartwarming, sweet, and occasionally infuriating book. (Infuriating because I wanted the characters to hurry up and be happy together LOL.)But seriously, this was definitely not what I expected, in all the right ways. It's a very sweet, sometimes heartbreaking book that explores the shared past of Emmie and brothers Lucas and Eliot--three friends bound together after Lucas found Emm An ARC was provided to me for free by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This is such a heartwarming, sweet, and occasionally infuriating book. (Infuriating because I wanted the characters to hurry up and be happy together LOL.)But seriously, this was definitely not what I expected, in all the right ways. It's a very sweet, sometimes heartbreaking book that explores the shared past of Emmie and brothers Lucas and Eliot--three friends bound together after Lucas found Emmie's balloon fourteen years ago--and their future after a major life upheaval that will change their dynamic forever. I've come to love books about women in their 20s or 30s who either feel like they have everything *except* for that one thing, or women who have pinned their whole lives on something that never happened. Emmie is one of those characters who builds up a fantasy future on someone she's loved for years, only for him to announce his engagement to someone else--and then she has to deal with the fallout. It's so easy to feel for her and want her to get her happy ending. And all the supporting characters--Rosie, Fox, Louise, and of course Eliot--were my absolute favourites.At the core, the story about relationships--how we build love up in our heads, how we might neglect everything else for that love, and how maybe what we're looking for is actually right in front of us the entire time. Highly recommend!
    more
Write a review