Battle Luna
AN EPIC FIGHT FOR INDEPENDENCE ON OUR MOONSomething has been uncovered on the Moon that might have great scientific and economic importance. The Lunar colony is a mining colony with only internal security capabilities. Nobody had even considered that there might someday arise a need to defend the colony from the Earth! But that day has come. The Lunar colonists made this great discovery and perceive it as their own. Finders keepers and possession being nine tenths of the law is how things are seen on the Moon. But the governments of the Earth don’t quite see eye-to-eye with the Lunarian’s philosophy. As far as the Earth is concerned, they paid for everything on the Moon, so it belongs to them. There is only one solution: Battle Luna! About Travis S. Taylor: “[E]xplodes with inventive action."—Publishers Weekly on Travis S. Taylor’s The Quantum Connection “[Warp Speed] reads like Doc Smith writing Robert Ludlum. . .You won’t want to put it down.”—John Ringo About Timothy Zahn: “Zahn keeps the story moving at a breakneck pace, maintaining excitement.”—Publishers Weekly “[Y]ou can count on Timothy Zahn for three things: clean, sparse prose; good pacing; and great action scenes. The first book in the Cobra War series hits all those marks in admirable style and makes for a quick, entertaining sci-fi novel.”—Blogcritics “[Conqueror’s Heritage] is another finely wrought space adventure . . . [with] social, political and emotional complications, all of which Zahn treats with his usual skill.”—Booklist “Zahn paints every detail [in Angelmass] with gleamy realism . . . scientific dialogue that streams with starship hardware and military trooper talk . . . immensely appealing.”—Kirkus Review About Michael Z. Williamson: “A fast-paced, compulsive read . . . will appeal to fans of John Ringo, David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, and David Weber.”—Kliatt “Williamson's military expertise is impressive.”—SF Reviews

Battle Luna Details

TitleBattle Luna
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 7th, 2020
PublisherBaen
ISBN-139781982124687
Rating
GenreScience Fiction

Battle Luna Review

  • Michael
    January 1, 1970
    Battle Luna is seven short stories by five different authors all with one theme and a connected story-line, that Luna will no longer be controlled by Earth! The inhabitants of Luna have found an ancient alien artifact and have decided it belongs to Luna. But as far as the governments of the Earth are concerned—they paid for everything on the Moon, so it belongs to them and they aim to take it by force if necessary. These stories describe the many and varied methods used by the various colonies o Battle Luna is seven short stories by five different authors all with one theme and a connected story-line, that Luna will no longer be controlled by Earth! The inhabitants of Luna have found an ancient alien artifact and have decided it belongs to Luna. But as far as the governments of the Earth are concerned—they paid for everything on the Moon, so it belongs to them and they aim to take it by force if necessary. These stories describe the many and varied methods used by the various colonies on the Moon to defend themselves. These stories are written by five of today's top writers in the Military Science Fiction genre. This book is a great collaboration and a great, fun read.
    more
  • Ernest
    January 1, 1970
    Battle Luna by Travis S. Taylor, Timothy Zahn, et al. 07/7/2020 Baen BooksHere's an interesting and unusual approach to both moonwar and writing. Born on a panel at Libertcon (you may remember Libertycon from an anthology in last month's column (Give Me LibertyCon) it's a series of stories by different authors that all move the overall arc forward, sort of tag-team writing.The subject is a high stakes game of "Steal the Flag" where lunar colonists have found a cool thing and the Earthers want to Battle Luna by Travis S. Taylor, Timothy Zahn, et al. 07/7/2020 Baen BooksHere's an interesting and unusual approach to both moonwar and writing. Born on a panel at Libertcon (you may remember Libertycon from an anthology in last month's column (Give Me LibertyCon) it's a series of stories by different authors that all move the overall arc forward, sort of tag-team writing.The subject is a high stakes game of "Steal the Flag" where lunar colonists have found a cool thing and the Earthers want to take it away from them. The thing is a piece of cool alien tech, but that's not really important. What's important is the rules of the writing game, which is set up to be a serious look at how a conflict might be handled. No superweapons, allowed, just lunies cobbling together whatever regolith miners can find and weather troops not quite used to working on the surface of the moon.The classic Moon versus Earth has to be Heinlein's The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, where the lunies wind up throwing magnetically launched cargo cans at the Earth. Some of that spirit is here, but all in all, it's much closer to Myke Cole's Sixteenth Watch (3/10/2020 Angry Robot). Battle Luna isn't so much about a colony breaking away from it's parent as it is about the mechanics of resistance. A fond saying about conflicts is that amateurs discuss tactics and professionals talk logistics, and the very well informed trio of authors here are definitely professionals, lending credence to their tales, though somewhat at the cost of daring-do.In space/moonwar, you usually get seasoned troops with overwhelming firepower, or neutronium space axes or something, but here you get professional troops with real constraints on their supply lines and rules of engagement facing off against engineer astronauts and miners who know the terrain. To a degree, there ain't no good guys (except of course the lunies are), there ain't no bad guys, there's only us and them and Battle Luna!
    more
  • George
    January 1, 1970
    Outstanding Collection!Every story adds to a plausible tale of what would look like on the moon. It's also nice to see the clever engineer as the hero again!
  • Jeff Crosby
    January 1, 1970
    July 7
  • Cordelia
    January 1, 1970
    This book is an interesting concept. A group of eminent and renowned science fiction writers make up a plot for a military SF novel - a mining colony on the moon and its epic fight for independence. The day has come when they must defend the colony from an invasion by Earth.This book is an anthology. Each writer writes their own version of the battle that follows. They each write a 20,000 word short story of their own take on Battle Luna.Maybe a bit too military for my taste, but certainly a lot This book is an interesting concept. A group of eminent and renowned science fiction writers make up a plot for a military SF novel - a mining colony on the moon and its epic fight for independence. The day has come when they must defend the colony from an invasion by Earth.This book is an anthology. Each writer writes their own version of the battle that follows. They each write a 20,000 word short story of their own take on Battle Luna.Maybe a bit too military for my taste, but certainly a lot of fun. Varying degrees of seriousness, snarkiness and irreverance. The stories are all different. Some are really silly - almost Monty Pythonish. Some more serious. The most unlikely weapons. The stories are all fast paced and well written.I would recommend this to all fans of military Science Fiction - you will love it. A whole lot of FUN!!!Thank you to Edelweiss, the publisher and the authors for sending me this ARC.
    more
Write a review