The Highlander's English Bride (Clan Kendrick, #3)
In this dazzling new novel from bestselling author Vanessa Kelly, the wildest member of Clan Kendrick has found his purpose as a government agent. Now he must also meet his match... Lady Sabrina Bell has never been so embarrassed in her life. Not only did her new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but a thief pushed her into the Serpentine. Being rescued by a burly Highlander just adds to her humiliation. Nor is he content with rescuing her just once. Even when Sabrina travels to Edinburgh as part of King George's entourage, Graeme Kendrick is there, interfering, exasperating, and so very tempting... Once notorious for being the most unruly Kendrick brother, Graeme now runs dangerous missions for the King's spymaster. Yet nothing has prepared him for Sabrina. The only child of a wealthy earl, and the pampered goddaughter of the king himself, she is stubborn, impetuous, and far too good for him. He doesn't deserve her, but he can protect her and then send her safely back home. But the bonny Sassenach has her own ideas—and a plan for seduction that no red-blooded Highlander could resist...

The Highlander's English Bride (Clan Kendrick, #3) Details

TitleThe Highlander's English Bride (Clan Kendrick, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 26th, 2020
PublisherZebra
ISBN-139781420147056
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical Romance, Historical, Humor

The Highlander's English Bride (Clan Kendrick, #3) Review

  • eyes.2c
    January 1, 1970
    Those captivating Kendricks!“Och, don’t fash yourself," those Kendrick lads and their lasses are back! This time it's twin Graeme who meets his match. Such a simple thing really. Singularly pursuing a band of organized robbers, Graeme is tracking down his mark along the banks of the Serpentine River, in the rain. Naturally! Sighting a lady in the early morning, seemingly waiting for someone, Graeme's further discomposed when his mark veers off and attempts to grab the lady's reticule. His mark's Those captivating Kendricks!“Och, don’t fash yourself," those Kendrick lads and their lasses are back! This time it's twin Graeme who meets his match. Such a simple thing really. Singularly pursuing a band of organized robbers, Graeme is tracking down his mark along the banks of the Serpentine River, in the rain. Naturally! Sighting a lady in the early morning, seemingly waiting for someone, Graeme's further discomposed when his mark veers off and attempts to grab the lady's reticule. His mark's quarry is made of sterner stuff and fights back. Unfortunately during the melee she falls into the river. (Melee appears to be a key word for all that follows with this delightful, snippety female. She never goes quietly! Mmm! a match made in heaven?)What's Graeme to do but leave off with the pursuit and rescue the tiresome female who's interfered with his plans.Needless to say upon confronting Lady Sabrina Bell, Graeme is lost. Captive to a female who looks like a harmless kitten, but is as stubborn as he is with the claws to match.The despicable Lord Cringlewood makes an appearance once again. This time Lady Sabrina is his quarry. She thinks she can handle him. I'm struck time and time again by Sabrina's belief in herself (a good thing) which sometimes hampers her ability to see the truth (a conundrum) and how she so often completely foils the best laid plans of mice and men (a problem). Cringlewood's disposed of once again but I'm sure he's evilly waiting in the wings to make a grand appearance in a future novel. Meantime Lady Sabrina unknowingly prevents the Crown's operative (i.e. Graeme) from carrying out his orders. Still her grand plans always seem to make things turn about, even if there's a few scares enroute. Methinks Graeme visibly ages before our eyes, or at least it sometimes seems like that.There's so much more going on here including threats against the King, whiskey smuggling, absentee landowners, and forced enclosures.Angus is once again his normal rapscallion self, who goes his own way and confounds everyone when more often than not he "comes home with the bacon."I love Graeme's return to his Scots accent when disturbed. As one lady says, ..."that brogue. So delicious."An amusing, witty Highlander novel that thoroughly engaged me.A Kensington Books ARC via NetGalley
    more
  • Barbara Rogers
    January 1, 1970
    Series: Clan Kendrick #3Publication Date: 5/26/20Number of Pages: 448Oh! Graeme Kendrick, the brother who is always in or causing trouble, has grown up and makes the most marvelous hero. I loved him – and Sabrina Bell made the perfect heroine for him. She calmed the restless energy within him, steadied him, while he brought out her courage and spirit of adventure. Add in marvelous visits with most of the other members of the Kendrick clan and you have a wonderful, exciting, romantic adventure. I Series: Clan Kendrick #3Publication Date: 5/26/20Number of Pages: 448Oh! Graeme Kendrick, the brother who is always in or causing trouble, has grown up and makes the most marvelous hero. I loved him – and Sabrina Bell made the perfect heroine for him. She calmed the restless energy within him, steadied him, while he brought out her courage and spirit of adventure. Add in marvelous visits with most of the other members of the Kendrick clan and you have a wonderful, exciting, romantic adventure. It was particularly fun to see the heroine pursuing the hero – until he caught her. Remember Graeme’s affliction with breaking furniture – not on purpose – he’s just a big fellow? Well, there is a wonderful furniture breaking scene included – just to make you smile – and wonder. We first met the Kendrick family in The Highlander's Princess Bride, Improper Princesses series #3. In that book, we met Nicholas Kendrick, Earl of Arnprior, and his six very unruly siblings – Logan, Royal, Graeme & Grant (twins), Braeden, and Kade plus their irascible grandfather Angus. We’ve already had Royal’s story (The Highlander Who Protected Me) and Logan’s story (The Highlander's Christmas Bride) and now we finally get to Graeme. I had wondered how the author was finally going to mature Graeme and make him into a believable and admirable hero – and now I know. She did it very well!The Kendrick’s are a very close-knit family, but Graeme has somewhat separated himself from them for the last couple of years. He loves them, but he carries a lot of guilt and blames himself for a number of things that are not his fault – but his biggest secret is the one that makes him feel unworthy. Unworthy of their love or anyone else’s. When he rescues a beautiful young lady in Hyde Park – early one morning – he is immediately drawn to her. When she stands up to him and holds her own with him, he is even more drawn to her. Except he knows he doesn’t deserve her and walks away – all the way back to Scotland. He needs the distance and he has a mission to perform for the Crown.Lady Sabrina Bell is a wealthy heiress and is totally accustomed to having men pursue her for her fortune. She’s quite sanguine about it and just marches along with her life – and she’s very happy that way. She does need to marry though and has met a newcomer to town who she thinks might be a candidate. Against all propriety, she even agrees to meet him very early in the morning – in Hyde Park. What an ordeal of a morning it turned out to be! It was raining, her assignation didn’t show up, she was wet, she was robbed and pushed into the Serpentine, and then she was rescued by a beast of a Highlander when she didn’t even need rescuing. He is certainly an intriguing man though.As Graeme and Sabrina come into contact more and more often, both are thoroughly smitten. She freely admits it to herself – and he denies it totally. When he leaves London and heads to Scotland, she finds a way to get herself to Scotland. She’s a determined lass and has decided Graeme is the one for her. He doesn’t make it easy on her – and she almost gives up. He fights it with every fiber of his being, but poor Graeme just isn’t a match for Sabrina and his entire family. Then, add in kidnappings, smugglers, bootleggers, plots against the king and you have a rollercoaster ride of a story.I hope you enjoy this story as much as I did – even though it does have some very modern situations and conversational styles. You’ll love both Graeme and Sabrina as well as visiting with most of his brothers and their wives.I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    'Lady Sabrina Bell has never been so embarrassed in her life. Not only did her new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but a thief pushed her into the Serpentine. Being rescued by a burly Highlander just adds to her humiliation. Nor is he content with rescuing her just once. Even when Sabrina travels to Edinburgh as part of King George's entourage, Graeme Kendrick is there, interfering, exasperating, and so very tempting...Once notorious for being the most unruly Ken 'Lady Sabrina Bell has never been so embarrassed in her life. Not only did her new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but a thief pushed her into the Serpentine. Being rescued by a burly Highlander just adds to her humiliation. Nor is he content with rescuing her just once. Even when Sabrina travels to Edinburgh as part of King George's entourage, Graeme Kendrick is there, interfering, exasperating, and so very tempting...Once notorious for being the most unruly Kendrick brother, Graeme now runs dangerous missions for the King's spymaster. Yet nothing has prepared him for Sabrina. The only child of a wealthy earl, and the pampered goddaughter of the king himself, she is stubborn, impetuous, and far too good for him. He doesn't deserve her, but he can protect her and then send her safely back home. But the bonny Sassenach has her own ideas—and a plan for seduction that no red-blooded Highlander could resist...'__________________________________The Highlander's English Bride is the third book in Vanessa Kelly's Clan Kendrick series and focuses on the unruliest member of the Kendrick brothers.I have loved this series so far and love getting to know more about the many members of this large family with each book. Thus far what we had seen of the twins only really portrayed them as trouble-makers but were now mellowing out a bit. So it was nice to be able to learn more about them(mainly Graeme) in this book because I felt like we knew the least about these two.I felt really bad for Graeme that people always jumped to the conclusion that he had caused it or things had not gone to plan because he had screwed up in some way. Without giving anything away, I want to say that I was a bit disappointed by the level of danger in this book. He is working as a spy, but yet they seem to quite easily evade or thwart danger. The two big risks moments in this book followed the same structure and were resolved in much the same fashion, which I wasn't thrilled about. I wish there had been more variation here and maybe a bit more danger, while still with in the realm of plausibility.I love how independent and determined Sabrina is. Despite living quite a sheltered life, she isn't afraid to move out of her comfort zone and do what needs to be done or what she thinks is right, even if this does often land her in some trouble and danger. I like Graeme's character, he makes a lot of mistakes along the way, but that doesn't stop him from trying and he is very loyal. I will admit though that he is too heavy-handed in bossing Sabrina around and becoming upset with her when she be comes associated with any form of danger. He realizes this about himself, but it seems to be his default and he makes this mistake many times in this book.You don't necessarily need to read these books in order and they could each serve as a stand-alone, but I do believe they're much more enjoyable when you already have a connection to all the charcaters by meeting them in the previous books(some of which you actually meet in books to a previous series). I will admit that The Highlander's English Bride hasn't been my favorite in the series, but it is a lovely addition and I recommend it and this series to all. I am looking forward to the next in the series, but while I wait I am going to go back and read the book from the previous series in which we first met the Kendrick family, The Highlander's Princess Bride._____I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books, Zebra for sharing an eARC copy of The Highlander's English Bride by Vanessa Kelly. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Sophie Barnes
    January 1, 1970
    Lady Sabrina Bell meets Graeme Kendrick when he fishes her out of the Serpentine one morning in Hyde Park. He's supposed to be catching a thief - in fact, he has very specific orders to do just that. Instead he's getting distracted by a very stubborn, daring, and oftentimes too brave for her own good woman. Getting involved with her is bound to lead to trouble, but what choice does he have when she obviously needs protecting, if only from herself? What follows involves a series of villains, a tr Lady Sabrina Bell meets Graeme Kendrick when he fishes her out of the Serpentine one morning in Hyde Park. He's supposed to be catching a thief - in fact, he has very specific orders to do just that. Instead he's getting distracted by a very stubborn, daring, and oftentimes too brave for her own good woman. Getting involved with her is bound to lead to trouble, but what choice does he have when she obviously needs protecting, if only from herself? What follows involves a series of villains, a trip to Scotland, and so many sparks it's a wonder these two don't catch fire. And while Graeme doesn't think he's deserving of Lady Sabrina's affection, guarding his heart against her becomes a difficult matter once she decides to win it.Having the heroine put her herself out there by going after the man she wants is a wonderfully refreshing theme in this story. Once Lady Sabrina knows how she feels about Graeme, she's open and honest about it, not only with herself but with him as well. There's no beating about the bush with her and rather than letting him push her away, she decides to convince him that they're meant to be together, which makes her deserving of a very big cheer. All in all, I found this romance highly enjoyable and would definitely recommend it!
    more
  • Pelusa Rivera
    January 1, 1970
    Have you ever read a story that it was too much? well that is what I found in this one. We had to much going on, we had thieves, murder, rape, kidnapping, children in danger and lets not forget the main characters seem to always find themselves in trouble too. Then we have Sabrina I am all for a tough woman but this was not realistic to the time, and yes I know I am reading fiction however you still have to think about the era it was captured in and Sabrina would not be that type of character. G Have you ever read a story that it was too much? well that is what I found in this one. We had to much going on, we had thieves, murder, rape, kidnapping, children in danger and lets not forget the main characters seem to always find themselves in trouble too. Then we have Sabrina I am all for a tough woman but this was not realistic to the time, and yes I know I am reading fiction however you still have to think about the era it was captured in and Sabrina would not be that type of character. Graeme was also getting into things that then he would need help extracting himself from..I got tired, it was just a lot. .doesn't deserve a 2 but definately did not deserve morercvd an ARC at no cost to author..(netgalley) voluntarily reviewed with my own thoughts and opinions
    more
  • Elodie
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander's English Bride Clan Kendrick Series #3Vanessa Kelly https://www.facebook.com/vanessakelly...Release date 05/26/2020Publisher Kensington Blurb :Lady Sabrina Bell has never been so embarrassed in her life. Not only did her new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but a thief pushed her into the Serpentine. Being rescued by a burly Highlander just adds to her humiliation. Nor is he content with rescuing her just once. Even when Sabrina travels to Edinburg The Highlander's English Bride Clan Kendrick Series #3Vanessa Kelly https://www.facebook.com/vanessakelly...Release date 05/26/2020Publisher Kensington Blurb :Lady Sabrina Bell has never been so embarrassed in her life. Not only did her new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but a thief pushed her into the Serpentine. Being rescued by a burly Highlander just adds to her humiliation. Nor is he content with rescuing her just once. Even when Sabrina travels to Edinburgh as part of King George’s entourage, Graeme Kendrick is there, interfering, exasperating, and so very tempting . . . Once notorious for being the most unruly Kendrick brother, Graeme now runs dangerous missions for the King’s spymaster. Yet nothing has prepared him for Sabrina. The only child of a wealthy earl, and the pampered goddaughter of the king himself, she is stubborn, impetuous, and far too good for him. He doesn’t deserve her, but he can protect her and then send her safely back home. But the bonny Sassenach has her own ideas—and a plan for seduction that no red-blooded Highlander could resist . . .My review :Will a determined Lady be able to change a stubborn Scot’s mind ...What a fun and lovely read it was.Mrs Vanessa Kelly delivers a lively, full of sass and hot Scots and as much tempered Sassenachs read.I had a smile on my face for most of my reading time, from the incongruous situations to the funny banters, it was quite an entertaining story.Lady Sabrina is what can be called a disaster in waiting. From their first encounter, misfortunes seem to follow her every step, and it makes Graeme’s life quite more complicated. She is the managing sort, having ran her father’s household for year. She is also intrepid and not one to be shaken even when danger lurks around.She also takes a lot of risk and raises Graeme’s ire when she steps right in perilous situation.Graeme is burly man hiding a heart of gold, why he diverts from his path each time she endangers herself.And while chemistry arises between them, he holds back feeling he does not deserve her. His past actions and childhood wounds refrain him to act on his emerging sentiments.Their romance is one of two determined persons, she for not giving up on him and thus going against him at time and him by accepting that his flaws do not make him unworthy of love.It was also a great pleasure to see again the lot of Kendricks, from their antics to silly banters.This 4.5 stars read brightened my day with this bunch of gregarious but quite extrovert and noisy characters.I was granted an advance copy by the publisher Kensington, here is my true and unbiased opinion.https://www.facebook.com/429830134272...
    more
  • Alyce Caswell
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.How have I never heard of Vanessa Kelly before? This Highlander romance was amazing. When I was only 20% of the way in, I knew I just had to buy the rest of the books in the series. The Kendrick clan is so easy to love and Kelly's characters are so real - I want to spend more time with them. As for Graeme and Sabrina, their romance felt natural from the very moment the spy "saved" the lady from the Serpentine.
    more
  • Molly
    January 1, 1970
    I love this series by Vanessa Kelly. I hope there is more books in this series to come. This book is about Lady Sabrina Bell whose new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but instead a thief pushes her into the Serpentine. She is rescued by a Highlander named Graeme Kendrick She has to travel to Edinburgh as part of King George's entourage. Graeme is running dangerous missions for the King's spymaster. This story was amazing and I loved the characters so much.
    more
  • Becky
    January 1, 1970
    First sentence: Graeme Kendrick lurked beneath the giant elm, keeping his prey within sight. After losing the slippery Sassenach a few hours ago, he’d spotted the bastard climbing over the wall that separated Kensington Gardens from Hyde Park. Premise/plot: Graeme Kendrick stars as the hero in Vanessa Kelly's newest romance novel--the third in the series. (I have not read the previous books in the series. All books star the Kendrick family, I believe. And their presence as a family is HUGE throu First sentence: Graeme Kendrick lurked beneath the giant elm, keeping his prey within sight. After losing the slippery Sassenach a few hours ago, he’d spotted the bastard climbing over the wall that separated Kensington Gardens from Hyde Park. Premise/plot: Graeme Kendrick stars as the hero in Vanessa Kelly's newest romance novel--the third in the series. (I have not read the previous books in the series. All books star the Kendrick family, I believe. And their presence as a family is HUGE throughout this one. So perhaps fans of the other books will love this one more.)He works as a spy for the King. Most of the time he tends to like things just the way they are--his love life uncomplicated. But. After "rescuing" a young woman from a thief, the lovely heroine, Sabrina, he finds it impossible for life to return to normal.No matter his current mission, his current task, his focus is divided. She is always, always, always on his mind in an infuriating, captivating, charming way. And it is mutual. Sabrina may be protesting a bit too much about how frustrating Graeme is! She sure seeks out his company and all but chases him around. My thoughts: I knew accepting this review copy that it might not be my cup of tea. On the one hand, I have a weakness for the Scottish accent/dialect. I also love Regency Romances. The setting being in Scotland itself and him being a spy--I thought it might lean a bit more towards mystery and action than bodice ripper. On the other hand, I am not a big fan of adult romances aka smut, aka bodice rippers, aka books where 90% of the plot focuses on the lusty desires of the characters and the obstacles that stand in their way. I wouldn't go so far as to say this one is 90% inclined that way--it's not quite that bad. But it didn't have enough history to be historical--none of the historical details actually felt historically right or appropriate. Sabrina might as well have been born in the year 2000. In fact, I would say most of the characters felt disconnected from the Regency time period. It had plenty of mystery intrigue--but in a clumsy sort of way where the focus was always not so subtly in how can this move the hero and heroine closer to each other. Can this dangerous moment bring them closer together in a physical way? So even though there was an attempt to keep throwing mystery and dangerous intrigues and fiendish plots at the hero in a juggling type fashion, it felt a bit off balance. It wasn't enough to shift focus off of the inevitably destined to be together forever couple. As far as smutty romance goes, it's been a good while since I last read one cover to cover. (I rarely read this type of fiction on purpose.) I don't think it's worse than any other of its genre or sub-genre. Way, way, way, way back in the day I loved the Bridgerton romance series by Julia Quinn. I wouldn't say this one was as good as some of my favorites from that series. But as I said, it's probably been decades since I read this type of fiction for fun or review.
    more
  • Lindsay S
    January 1, 1970
    Graeme Kendrick has reformed his trouble maker ways as a youth and not is paying it forward as a inquisition officer working for King and country. He is on the case when a lady gets in the way… forcing to abandoned his pursuit and jump into the Serpentine to rescue this damsel in distress!Lady Sabrina Bell is no damsel in distress! She ha shad the run of her fathers estate since she was barely out of the schoolroom. She can handle herself in any situation… unless that situation includes grumpy, Graeme Kendrick has reformed his trouble maker ways as a youth and not is paying it forward as a inquisition officer working for King and country. He is on the case when a lady gets in the way… forcing to abandoned his pursuit and jump into the Serpentine to rescue this damsel in distress!Lady Sabrina Bell is no damsel in distress! She ha shad the run of her fathers estate since she was barely out of the schoolroom. She can handle herself in any situation… unless that situation includes grumpy, handsome highlanders! Now that Lady Sabrina and Graeme’s paths hav crossed they have become as drawn to each other as the trouble that follows them! This was a fun read with both the hero and the heroine presenting independent, strong willed personalities that are better working together than apart. Lady Sabrina was a treat, she starts off strong and only gets better as she learns to ask for help and lean on her new family and people.The Kendrick family shows up in force to support the unusual courtship between these two with hilarious results! As the third book in the series, this book could easily be read on its own, but is all the more fun with the the rest of the Kendrick history behind you. The Highlander’s English Bride by Vanessa Kelly was release May 26th, 2020.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zebra, Kensington Books through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.Blog: https://pinkcowlandreads.blogspot.com... #TheHighlandersEnglishBride #VanessaKelly #NetGalley #pinkcowlandreads
    more
  • Lail
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander's English Bride (Clan Kendrick Book 3) by Vanessa Kelly 3.5 StarsThis historical romance is a humorous spymaster drama. The characters are all well fitted to each other in similarities of being irreverent, light hearted, with loads of sarcastic humor. The storyline and plot do contain content is of a serious and complex nature however, everyone has a sarcastic and humorous dialogue that left me conflicted. I love witty and sarcastic banter, but I like it in good measure with a bal The Highlander's English Bride (Clan Kendrick Book 3) by Vanessa Kelly 3.5 StarsThis historical romance is a humorous spymaster drama. The characters are all well fitted to each other in similarities of being irreverent, light hearted, with loads of sarcastic humor. The storyline and plot do contain content is of a serious and complex nature however, everyone has a sarcastic and humorous dialogue that left me conflicted. I love witty and sarcastic banter, but I like it in good measure with a balance between the proper time for lightheartedness and the proper and appropriate time to be respectively serious. For instance, the bad guy was exiled for rape, kidnapping, and attempted murder, now he is back and in town and interacting with people at a ball where he’s attempting to kidnap again, but the story doesn’t take on a seriousness note that you would expect. And, the spies “run dangerous missions for the King’s spymaster” however, they, their spouses, and children all have loose lips admitting they are spies in mixed company and talking business in public. I prefer realistic stories that I can believe and get lost in the story. Too much sarcastic banter made it hard for me to get through some of the content. This review is my own opinion. If you love humorous and sarcastic banter in your historical spy novels then this is your book.
    more
  • Carole Burant
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely delightful!!! How I adore the Kendricks and what a hoot it would be to be part of that clan:) Vanessa Kelly creates characters that come to life and the humour that comes along with them is priceless. I giggled so much throughout the story and could just picture all the scenes in my mind, especially the ones with Grandda Angus, omigosh, I loved him to bits! Book 3 of Clan Kendrick is Sabrina and Graeme's story. Between bouts of rescuing each other, love and passion springs but Graeme Absolutely delightful!!! How I adore the Kendricks and what a hoot it would be to be part of that clan:) Vanessa Kelly creates characters that come to life and the humour that comes along with them is priceless. I giggled so much throughout the story and could just picture all the scenes in my mind, especially the ones with Grandda Angus, omigosh, I loved him to bits! Book 3 of Clan Kendrick is Sabrina and Graeme's story. Between bouts of rescuing each other, love and passion springs but Graeme doesn't believe he's good enough for Sabrina, so he fights the attraction! He soon learns how very stubborn Sabrina can be!! Danger abounds around them and he vows to protect her....or is she protecting him?! Be prepared to be fully entertained by all the characters, there is never a dull moment where Clan Kendrick is concerned!!I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley and am voluntarily leaving an honest review.
    more
  • Lindsey Mae
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander's English Bride by Vanessa Kelly is about Graeme Kendrick an inquiry agent for the crown and Lady Sabrina Bell a headstrong young miss. The two meet through the course of one of Graeme's cases when he's forced to abandon his quarry to save Sabrina. I was excited to pick up this book from NetGalley since I am such a large fan of Scottish heroes. The blurb on the back and the cover art also sold me on this new to me author. Unfortunately, I found myself becoming bored with the story The Highlander's English Bride by Vanessa Kelly is about Graeme Kendrick an inquiry agent for the crown and Lady Sabrina Bell a headstrong young miss. The two meet through the course of one of Graeme's cases when he's forced to abandon his quarry to save Sabrina. I was excited to pick up this book from NetGalley since I am such a large fan of Scottish heroes. The blurb on the back and the cover art also sold me on this new to me author. Unfortunately, I found myself becoming bored with the story very early in the novel. Through Graeme is pursuing a well known thief the action was sadly lacking for me. Much of the story was spent in ballrooms or drawing rooms discussing family members or previous events. There were so many characters introduced within the first few chapters that I was easily confusing who was married to whom and what their importance was to the ongoing story.I found both Graeme and Sabrina to be flat and uninteresting. Additionally, Sabrina kept making decisions that felt needlessly reckless and only written to current "tension" in the story. Graeme had hints of being a much more interesting character, but the information was doled out so slowly that by the time we get anything of interest I didn't care anymore.Overall this gets a 2 from me since I skimmed most of the book and stopped reading at 85%. I think the writing was technically good, the story just needed a huge injection of action to save it. Perhaps fans of the series will enjoy this entry, but it didn't work for me.ARC received in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Patricia Wissore
    January 1, 1970
    I love this family! We got a little bit about most of the boys and what they're up to as we watched Sabrina and Graeme falling in love. I enjoyed the fact that Sabrina isn't one to sit back and watch life pass her by, she wants to be a part of the adventure so badly! Graeme is busy trying to do his job and make up to the family for what he sees has his "mistakes". My favorite kinds of romances are where the hero/heroine end up saving each other, but in this case they're keeping score! The story I love this family! We got a little bit about most of the boys and what they're up to as we watched Sabrina and Graeme falling in love. I enjoyed the fact that Sabrina isn't one to sit back and watch life pass her by, she wants to be a part of the adventure so badly! Graeme is busy trying to do his job and make up to the family for what he sees has his "mistakes". My favorite kinds of romances are where the hero/heroine end up saving each other, but in this case they're keeping score! The story was a combination of funny, gripping, romantic, and entertainment all rolled into an amazing adventure! Thank you for the advanced copy from NetGalley! (And thank my husband for not yelling when he woke up at 430am and found me sitting in my chair, reading!)
    more
  • Heather andrews
    January 1, 1970
    Graeme is often in wonder with the reactions his lady has "Graeme had the sense he was staring at her like a dumb ox. She truly didn’t seem the least bit disconcerted by their passionate kiss. “Er, fine?” The man is truly daft "he looked more puzzled than anything else. “I see. And just how do you expect me to respond to that?” Graeme takes things a little too seriously, “ there’s no need to grope me,” she breathlessly said. “I’m uninjured.” I liked this book, I loved Graeme.
    more
  • Barbee
    January 1, 1970
    📚📚📚BOOK📚REVIEW📚📚📚By Vanessa KellyDue to his father being a bit of an alcoholic after his mum died, as a boy or seven he would mentally abuse him with words! Then due to some other things in his past, where he was actually being a hero. He does not see himself in that way, he only feels he is not good enough. Especially for the perfect Sassenach angel, Lady Sabrina Bell!Book: The Highlander’s English BrideBy Vanessa KellySeries: Clan Kendrick, Book #3Release Day: May 26, 2020 Reviewed by: Barb Ma 📚📚📚BOOK📚REVIEW📚📚📚By Vanessa KellyDue to his father being a bit of an alcoholic after his mum died, as a boy or seven he would mentally abuse him with words! Then due to some other things in his past, where he was actually being a hero. He does not see himself in that way, he only feels he is not good enough. Especially for the perfect Sassenach angel, Lady Sabrina Bell!Book: The Highlander’s English BrideBy Vanessa KellySeries: Clan Kendrick, Book #3Release Day: May 26, 2020 Reviewed by: Barb Massabrook of1. Tartan Book Reviews2. Purple Tulip Book Reviews3. Celtic World of Historical Book Reviews4.Celtic Barb’s Tartan Book Review Blog Heat Rating: 🔥Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️London, EnglandEdinburgh, Scotland1822Lady Sabrina Bell feels ashamed and stupid when her admirer does not show for a tryst at Hyde Park as planned. Then she is horrified when she is robbed and thrown into the Serpentine! Yet she is especially mortified when she is rescued by a gorgeous strapping Scot, Graeme Kendrick. Could her day get any worse? Graeme who has been trying to find this gang of thieves who pray on the wealthy and royal Sassenachs of the ton. He is a government agent or as some would call a spy. His employers aren’t too thrilled with him as he seems to be losing his touch lately. Now he was tracking down one of the notorious thieves of the gang and is about to apprehend him. Then he sees the bloody black guard is charging for this wealthy dressed woman! Graeme sure wasn’t expecting this beauty in this horrible weather and member of the possible gentry or ton so early in the morning! Unfortunately she seems to be the thief’s next target! He is filled with fear when he sees she was pushed into the Serpentine he could not let this beauty drown! Once again he lost his prey but sparks fly for him immediately seeing this beautiful woman who he knows is Lady Sabrina Bell, though they had never officially met before. Yet attraction sparkles on both sides for this new acquaintance for both of them.Later Graeme finds out the man she was to meet is a big enemy of his family. He had been exiled into the continent but now the villain was back and Graeme was furious and ready to break furniture! Anyone who read the previous books in this series will know what crimes this horrible vile, exiled Marquess of Cringlewood did! Unfortunately with nobility now he has the King’s mistress and other members of nobility backing him up. Lady Sabrina was a wealthy heiress a daughter of a wealthy English Earl who hated everything Scottish since his Scottish wife died of illness there! Sabrina is also the Kings’s Goddaughter! Finally when others made Sabrina aware this Marquess was a cruel penniless fortune hunter but very bad cruel person as well. When Lady Sabrina questioned Graeme about the type of person the Marquess really is, he allowed her to know he is untrustworthy, abusive to women, besides being in financial debt. He warns her never to be alone with him. She just now remembered the scandal involving Graeme’s sister-in-law and his brother Royal, Sabrina had been out of town when this occurred. She was not shocked of he being a fortune hunter, as most men pursuing her were. Now Sabrina was no shrinking violet and planned to interrogate him and have him admit his crimes putting herself in danger again! She didn’t want him to hurt other young wealthy women. As the Marquess shows his true colors and the ugliness inside him. So she puts herself in another situation where Graeme saves her again! Now Graeme had a new assignment to go back to Scotland something he hadn’t done in two years. As Graeme has many self esteem issues, never feeling good enough and filled with guilt and remorse. In addition for his own health and for Sabrina,he had to get away from Sabrina Bell. He knew he was not good enough to even lick her boots. Graeme had many skeletons he needed to get rid of in his closet, his father had been mentally abusive to him as a young boy. He turned to the spirits after his wife died blaming his children for her death, this filled Graeme with so much guilt and hatred for himself. Luckily the grandfather took care of them once he saw the cruelty of their father!Now Lady Sabrina’s father hated everything Scottish, so he ignored everything Scottish even his own properties and estates, which he let others run. Graeme was also a younger son and her father would never allow something to develop between his Sassenach angel and himself. His new assignment was to guard the King but he was surprised when he see’s that Lady Sabrina came with the King to celebrate in Scotland’s capitol! The feelings between these two just get stronger and love is in the Scotland air. Plus now his crazy family was doing everything to make a match between them with their crazy antics! They wanted Graeme and Sabrina to be happy and together, yetthis is also is an adventure, filled with danger and heroism! Soon they trade places and Sabrina saves Graeme in some very dangerous situations. Though he is spitting bullets she is putting herself in danger for him. He sees Sabrina as this perfect woman who wants to make the world a better place and safer place for women and children or any person who suffers. She had always been hidden from the realities of the world but when she befriends some young pick pockets and tries to B them she sees the cruelties of the world. She also wants to save everyone it nearly breaks Graemes heart yet during this scuffle he finds out the person with a target on their back is the woman he loves as many are blaming her for her fathers mistakes. Will Graeme ever feel he is good enough for Sabrina? Will Sabrina ever be able to catch the one man who owns her heart? The one man who doesn’t care about her wealth. Will she be able to prove he is good enough for her, a true hero, the bravest, kindest, and most stubborn man she has ever met! Will they ever be able to get her Scottish hating father to accept their love? What will the King do? Will the Kendrick family be overjoyed? Will this couple ever come together and find a happily ever after? A book readers definitely don’t want to miss! Read and find out much more! This book made me laugh and made me cry. The matchmaking Grandfather and all the Kendricks and all their antics is absolutely hilarious! Even the flirtation of Royal and Ainsley, and other married characters is hilarious. The children in this novel are absolute scene stealers no matter if it was hilarity of the wealthy children or orphans pulling your heart strings. I found this book a wonderful escape that I did not want to end besides it is absolutely brilliant! This is my favorite of the series as Ms. Kelly write another winner. This is my favorite Vanessa Kelly novel though I love them all. “The Highlander’s English Bride” is a book you can read as a stand-alone. I personally think you will get more out of the background if you read all three books. As you will understand more about the family, brothers and the matchmaking grandfather Angus too. Kind of like connecting the dots. It’s the readers decision, this is just my humble opinion. The Highlander’s English Bride was pure joy I can’t recommend it enough! Clan Kendrick Series1)The Highlander Who Protected Me2)The Highlander’s Christmas Bride3)The Highlander’s English BrideDisclaimer: I received a complimentary copy and an advance reader copy from the publisher. I voluntarily agreed to do a fair review and blog through netgalley. All thoughts, ideas and words are my own.Buy Links:https://www.amazon.com/Highlanders-En...https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-...https://www.kobo.com/us/en/search?que...+https://www.kensingtonbooks.com/book....https://books.google.com/books/about/...https://play.google.com/store/books/d...
    more
  • Candace N
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in the Clan Kendrick series by Vanessa Kelly. I was really excited to read this story because I loved the previous books and I absolutely adore all the characters. This book proved to be just as good as the others! I am going to try really hard not to give spoilers but some things deserve mention. First being that I love how the heroine is completely competent and no shrinking damsel in distress. Sabrina proves to be quite up to the challenge of d The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in the Clan Kendrick series by Vanessa Kelly. I was really excited to read this story because I loved the previous books and I absolutely adore all the characters. This book proved to be just as good as the others! I am going to try really hard not to give spoilers but some things deserve mention. First being that I love how the heroine is completely competent and no shrinking damsel in distress. Sabrina proves to be quite up to the challenge of doing the rescuing herself. I love that Graeme wasn't even phased by it and didn't feel emasculated by the reverse of roles. I think this particular part was extremely well done! The characters really are amazing and I love their story. Graeme Kendrick, in typical Kendrick fashion is a very alluring hero and I couldn’t get enough! The writing was heartfelt and beautiful with lots of humorous scenes . I’m not saying the book was perfect but it was pretty close! There were a few things that were a little far fetched or really just seemed unnecessary to the story but overall it’s a pretty wonderful book. 4.5 stars ⭐️
    more
  • Julie - One Book More
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in the Clan Kendrick Series. Though it is part of a series, the book can be read as a standalone. The story focuses on Graeme and Sabrina.Lady Sabrina Bell is a fiercely independent only child of a wealthy Earl and a favored goddaughter of the king. Sabrina is also a trouble magnet. An astute and intelligent woman who is also quite naive, Sabrina’s staunch belief in justice and honor, at times, puts her in potentially dangerous, and socially inapp The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in the Clan Kendrick Series. Though it is part of a series, the book can be read as a standalone. The story focuses on Graeme and Sabrina.Lady Sabrina Bell is a fiercely independent only child of a wealthy Earl and a favored goddaughter of the king. Sabrina is also a trouble magnet. An astute and intelligent woman who is also quite naive, Sabrina’s staunch belief in justice and honor, at times, puts her in potentially dangerous, and socially inappropriate, situations. Luckily, Graeme Kendrick is used to trouble.As a spy, Greame’s been in all kinds of perilous situations. Of course, none come close to the danger he has of losing his heart to the feisty and intelligent Sabrina. As Graeme works to expose a criminal, he quickly realizes that Sabrina complicates his work. As he is trying to prove himself to his family (and to himself), he tries to fight his feelings for the beautiful and frustrating Sabrina.The couple has fabulous chemistry from the start. They challenge each other in the best possible ways. Graeme, a serious man, is continually exasperated with Sabrina, much to her interest and occasional delight. I love their quick and humorous banter, their developing romance, and all of their sexual chemistry!This is a great historical romance with an interesting plot and well-developed characters. A combination of romance, suspense, action, and humor, this story is entertaining from start to finish. Thanks to Netgalley for an ARC of the book in exchange for an honest review.https://onebookmore.com/2020/05/16/ar...
    more
  • SusieQ_Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    The lovable Kendrick family is back in The Highlanders English Bride. This is book three of the Clan Kendrick series by Vanessa Kelly. I am a huge fan of this series. It’s written in a way that makes you feel as if you are right in the middle of all the family’s shenanigans. The love and support this family has for each other jumps right off the page, from the wee members on up to Grandda Angus.Graeme Kendrick, while close to his twin brother Grant, has a tendency to distance himself from the re The lovable Kendrick family is back in The Highlanders English Bride. This is book three of the Clan Kendrick series by Vanessa Kelly. I am a huge fan of this series. It’s written in a way that makes you feel as if you are right in the middle of all the family’s shenanigans. The love and support this family has for each other jumps right off the page, from the wee members on up to Grandda Angus.Graeme Kendrick, while close to his twin brother Grant, has a tendency to distance himself from the rest of his family. He considers himself the “black sheep” and has some guilt that weighs heavily on him. He comes across Lady Sabrina during one of his spy missions. Lady Sabrina Bell was brought up having been mostly sheltered by her father. She unfortunately lost her mother when she was very young. An extremely capable woman, she has been running her father’s household since the age of fifteen. She longs for some excitement in her life. Both H/h are courageous with a tendency to be impetuous. This combination usually results in someone being in need of rescue. Graeme stubbornly fights his growing feelings, as he does not think he is good enough for Sabrina. Lady Sabrina sees the goodness in Graeme and is determined to fight for him, even when he won’t fight for himself. Those that enjoy well written characters, a bit of mystery, well-meaning, meddling family members and of course a well-deserved HEA will not be disappointed. I’m already impatiently waiting for the next installment in this series!I received an ARC from NetGalley and Kensington Books and this is my voluntary honest review.
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    Very good romance between two very independent and strong-willed characters. Graeme was well-known as a troublemaker when he was younger, but has tried to put his wayward past behind him. Now he works as an investigator for one of England's spymasters and has played a significant role in bringing several wrongdoers to justice. When this book opens, Graeme is working undercover to catch a gang of thieves preying on noble houses. The investigation hasn't gone well, but he finally has one in his si Very good romance between two very independent and strong-willed characters. Graeme was well-known as a troublemaker when he was younger, but has tried to put his wayward past behind him. Now he works as an investigator for one of England's spymasters and has played a significant role in bringing several wrongdoers to justice. When this book opens, Graeme is working undercover to catch a gang of thieves preying on noble houses. The investigation hasn't gone well, but he finally has one in his sights as he pursues the thief through Hyde Park. But when the thief knocks a young woman into the water, Graeme gives up his pursuit to fish her out.Lady Sabrina is the only child of her overprotective father. She rashly made plans to meet a gentleman in the park, but her plans were rudely interrupted when she was shoved into the water. Furious and embarrassed, she just wanted the Scotsman who rescued her to leave her alone.I loved the first meeting between Graeme and Sabrina. He's angry about losing his quarry and not especially pleasant to Sabrina because of it. Sabrina is quite independent and would prefer to take care of her problem herself, but Graeme won't hear of it. Their clash creates some sparks, but Graeme has no time for distractions of the female variety. Unfortunately for him, Sabrina pops up again in the middle of another pursuit, this time finding herself in imminent danger. I felt bad for Graeme, who lost yet another chance to apprehend the thief because of her. His frustration was evident and vocal.I enjoyed the development of the relationship between Sabrina and Graeme. From London to Edinburgh, Graeme seemingly can't turn around without stumbling over her. Sabrina is independent, stubborn, and impetuous, which gets her into some tight spots, and it seems that Graeme is always there to rescue her. Their clashes are intense, as Graeme is loud and blunt in his disapproval of her actions. Sabrina is just as candid about her intention to do things her way. And underneath the fiery words is a fire of a different sort, as the attraction between them grows. Sabrina quickly realizes that Graeme is the man she wants, and aided and abetted by his family, sets out to convince him. Graeme's feelings for Sabrina are just as strong, but he feels that the things he has done in the past make him unworthy of her. Sabrina has her work cut out for her, but she is determined to show him that they belong together. There are some interesting twists and turns to their journey, including a marriage proposal that had me laughing out loud.Graeme's work creates quite a few exciting situations for the couple. I found it interesting that Graeme is supposed to be so good at what he does, but in this book, nothing seems to go right for him. Some of it he lays at Sabrina's door because she is in the wrong place at the wrong time, usually because she doesn't listen to him. There are other times that he ends up in trouble himself because he is distracted by thoughts of her. It was fun to see Sabrina turn the tables and rescue him now and then.I liked seeing the changes that both Graeme and Sabrina underwent. Sabrina learns that she doesn't have to have all the answers or do everything herself. With the help of Graeme and his family, she learns that it is okay to ask for and accept help. I loved her determination to fix the problems at her father's Scottish property. Graeme has spent so long believing that he was the black sheep of his family that it took a concerted effort from Sabrina and his brothers to get him to let go of his guilt. Once he finally believed, the change in him was fantastic.I enjoyed seeing more of the Kendrick family. The married brothers and their wives play significant parts in getting Graeme and Sabrina together. Their matchmaking efforts were obvious but effective. Their grandfather, Angus, is still outspoken, interfering, and incorrigible. There were some hilarious scenes with him during the king's visit to Edinburgh. Graeme's twin brother, Grant, made a few appearances, also. I got the feeling that something is going on with him, and hope that his story is up next.
    more
  • Becky
    January 1, 1970
    I am going to recommend this series gets read in order. I think it would improve the story. I did read book 2, but not book 1. And in book 2 I was so overwhelmed with all the characters and who was who and what happened when. I didn't know what was review or what was new tidbits of character stories you were just getting to see...Anyway this one isn't as bad as I remember book 2 being. It's pretty easy to figure out who is who and what is going on. Still. A LOT of characters. Sabrina meets Graem I am going to recommend this series gets read in order. I think it would improve the story. I did read book 2, but not book 1. And in book 2 I was so overwhelmed with all the characters and who was who and what happened when. I didn't know what was review or what was new tidbits of character stories you were just getting to see...Anyway this one isn't as bad as I remember book 2 being. It's pretty easy to figure out who is who and what is going on. Still. A LOT of characters. Sabrina meets Graeme while waiting for her newest suitor in Hyde Park. This initial meeting was embarrassing enough for her and she'd be happy to not see him again. But she does, repeatedly. Not only around London society, but even all the way in Scotland. These two each have a lot going on. Graeme being a spy and also not being able to stay away from her and wanting to protect her, and Sabrina with trying to keep King George happy and check on her ancestral home and solve the problems there. If you are intrigued/turned off by the fact that he is a spy, know that it doesn't take over a huge part of the book. It's similar to the usual amount of sleuthing a hero might do if they are trying to solve some sort of problem, mystery, or murder.Give this book a try if you like-Large, involved families. Many characters in the book, from previous stories, from future stories, it's a huge family that you are getting to know better with each story in the series.-Multiple locations – this one starts in London then heads to Scotland-You like some humor. I laughed out loud a few times in this book. Definitely enjoyed the laughs.-A bit of banter – it's a bit like enemies to lovers, yet it's not. It's more like light annoyance and Graeme desperately tries to avoid Sabrina once he feels the attraction and so they snip back and forth at each other.-Plenty to keep the plot busy – multiple different adventures and mysteries togetherI want to say this is a light, fun, and humorous book, yet it did have some darker issues running through it. These are not in your face throughout the story though. One is mentioned as happening to another character in the story. But overall this feels on the lighter side. A bit of adventure, a bit of danger. It's not overly steamy but not clean. A few kisses and 1 full scene.I did like this book more than book 2. But I only mildly liked it. I liked the heroine, yet she made a lot of choices that irritated me. But I just liked her personality so much I kept forgiving her haha. I liked Graeme but he didn't grip my heart. The character development was good, I think part of it was more I found the tension lacking a bit. And I think that was because they were always going somewhere, doing something, other people were there, Graeme was running from Sabrina because of his feelings, Sabrina was running from Graeme because she was about to make another bad decision...I just wanted them to be together a bit more, (even though they spent most of the book together, except 2 chapters they were separated) but I wanted them actually focused on each other. I wanted more feelings between them, more wanting.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    This book is absolutely incredible. It is romantic, witty, funny, and sweet, mixed in with a little bit of mystery (there are quite a few steamy moments as well!). Every time I picked up “The Highlander’s English Bride”, I felt like I traveled back in time to the Regency Era, and could not wait to go on an adventure in the beautiful Scottish Highlands with all of the characters. This is the third book in Vanessa Kelly’s “Clan Kendrick” series, but I believe can be read as a stand-alone as well ( This book is absolutely incredible. It is romantic, witty, funny, and sweet, mixed in with a little bit of mystery (there are quite a few steamy moments as well!). Every time I picked up “The Highlander’s English Bride”, I felt like I traveled back in time to the Regency Era, and could not wait to go on an adventure in the beautiful Scottish Highlands with all of the characters. This is the third book in Vanessa Kelly’s “Clan Kendrick” series, but I believe can be read as a stand-alone as well (this is the first book I have read in this particular series, and I can’t wait to go back and read the previous two). Ms. Kelly makes England and Scotland (I want to visit both even more now!) jump vividly off the page, and her characters spring to life. Their interactions with one another felt so authentic, real, and were beautifully written. It is so clear to me that Ms. Kelly put great thought into her characters, their personalities, wants, fears, and desires, and I truly feel like I got to know them. I found myself rooting for Graeme and Sabrina from the first couple of pages. Their spitfire reactions to each other are just perfect, and they really balance each other out and bring out the best in one another. Some of their interactions had me laughing out loud, others had me near tears, and others had me squealing! I also enjoyed getting to hear some of their inner monologues as well. They truly do rescue one another in many ways. Also, I absolutely LOVE the Kendrick family. Their banter and support for one another is absolutely charming, and you can tell how much they love and value each other. I adored how they take Lady Sabrina in right away, and treat her like family from the very beginning. If you enjoy historical romance and / or historical fiction novels, I HIGHLY, HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this book! I could not wait to see what happened page after page, and did not want the book to end! I would love to see this story continue as well. Furthermore, this cover is beyond gorgeous and romantic! I would also totally wear this dress! Thank you so much to NetGalley and Kensington Books for the ARC of this novel, I loved it! All opinions expressed in this review are my own. I hope their are many more books to come in this amazing series!
    more
  • Smitten
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsThe Highlander’s English Bride is the third installment of the Clan Kendrick series by Vanessa Kelly. The story begins with Lady Sabrina and Graeme Kendrick meeting while he’s on assignment and she is meeting up with a potential suitor which Graeme and his family have a history with. I found the opening charming as they both have witty personalities. However, as the story continues Lady Sabrina seems to always be there to interrupt Graeme from completing his mission. Which quite frankly 3.5 StarsThe Highlander’s English Bride is the third installment of the Clan Kendrick series by Vanessa Kelly. The story begins with Lady Sabrina and Graeme Kendrick meeting while he’s on assignment and she is meeting up with a potential suitor which Graeme and his family have a history with. I found the opening charming as they both have witty personalities. However, as the story continues Lady Sabrina seems to always be there to interrupt Graeme from completing his mission. Which quite frankly gets predictable and dull after a few incidents.As the story continues Lady Sabrina and Graeme profess their love for each other but Graeme doesn’t think he is worthy of Lady Sabrina. He is after all the unruliest Kendrick brother and the one his father blames for the death of his mother. However, Lady Sabrina thinks otherwise and is stubborn enough for the both of them to make her chosen Highlander change his mind.“Pulling you out of the lake was the best thing I ever did, ye ken.” “I ken very well. It was the luckiest day of my life, because I met you.”This book has a lot going on, thieves, spies, rape, shots and the main characters involved in the mist of it all from beginning to end. I would have liked the story to have been more about them and their love story, to have seen more romantic encounters between them. Lady Sabrina also doesn’t seem to fit in with the era of the book, she is strong, outspoken and not timid at all. I do enjoy an independent woman but felt that she was too strong for the times.There are so many characters mentioned that are related someway somehow that it may be difficult to keep up. Not having read the previous two books in the series I’m sure plays a huge factor in this. However, I do love series books that give you reference to past or upcoming main characters. I also enjoyed that all supporting characters humor were witty and uncensored.Overall, this book did not capture my attention as many others have. I found myself missing that unpredictability of what will happen next and the helplessness of the heroine. Nonetheless, while this book may not be on my top favorite it does have some nice context for those who enjoy a heroine that does as much rescuing as the hero tends to do.~ Leticia
    more
  • Stephanie Panach
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander's English Bride - otherwise known as the battle of who could be in danger more often. Throughout this story both Graeme and Sabrina are pretty much taking turns being in danger. While I always support the female in the equation having a right to do what she wants and protect herself. But there is a line where Sabrina dangerously approaches a TSTL status. We are also perpetually told that Graeme is quite skilled at tracking down and doing investigative work, but he seems to spend a The Highlander's English Bride - otherwise known as the battle of who could be in danger more often. Throughout this story both Graeme and Sabrina are pretty much taking turns being in danger. While I always support the female in the equation having a right to do what she wants and protect herself. But there is a line where Sabrina dangerously approaches a TSTL status. We are also perpetually told that Graeme is quite skilled at tracking down and doing investigative work, but he seems to spend a lot of time being kidnapped and having the presumably less skilled women in his life get the jump on him in terms of finding information out. Both Graeme and Sabrina seem to battle who gets to be in control more than just about anything else. Overall - more than anything else this book functions as a battle of the sexes. With neither being really on the better side. The women seems to treat the men with exasperation and a lot of what can you do with these silly men. The men act over protective and exasperate that the women might want to be involved in their important men only things. In the end, I'm not sure how much of this is actually resolved. Sabrina and Graeme seem to come to the conclusion that working together is better than being at odds - but there is no real resolution. In essence, love conquers all. I enjoyed the story - but found that the amount of side plots overwhelmed the main story. There was just too much going on. I also had forgotten the somewhat convoluted family relationships - so the refresher was much needed for me. Although, this book did make me forget what I had liked about Ainsley in prior books. Overall this was a good adventure story - but I think could have used some judicious editing to keep it more focused. For fans of the Kendrick family - you will enjoy this and be interested to see where the family goes from here.I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, but these opinions are all my own.
    more
  • Sue Galuska
    January 1, 1970
    We finally get twin, Graeme Kendrick's story. Who is the perfect lass for this highlander? Why Lady Sabrina Bell, the only child of a wealthy English earl, and the goddaughter of the King....and boy is she a spitfire! While Graeme is working undercover for King’s spymaster early one morning, he witnesses someone attacking a woman and pushing her into the Serpentine. Graeme really wants to chase after the assailant, but ends up rescuing the woman out of the water instead. Of course said woman is We finally get twin, Graeme Kendrick's story. Who is the perfect lass for this highlander? Why Lady Sabrina Bell, the only child of a wealthy English earl, and the goddaughter of the King....and boy is she a spitfire! While Graeme is working undercover for King’s spymaster early one morning, he witnesses someone attacking a woman and pushing her into the Serpentine. Graeme really wants to chase after the assailant, but ends up rescuing the woman out of the water instead. Of course said woman is Lady Sabrina Bell. Graeme finds it curious that Lady Sabrina is out and about unescorted that early in the morning but still ends up helping her out. This starts their war of wills. Both of these two are stubborn and passionate about everything in their lives....which of course always makes for a good match! ;)When Graeme is tasked with providing security for the King for his trip to Scotland, he is completely thrown when Lady Sabrina shows up getting off the ship. Of course the Kendrick's clan find this new turn of events amusing! As Graeme and Lady Sabrina spend more time together, feelings toward each other start to change and before they know it, they find themselves yearning for the other. When it appears that someone is out to harm Lady Sabrina, Graeme's alpha protective ways start to show and these two have a fun showdown! Of course it also causes them to profess their love for each other too! It was so fun watching these two stubborn, headstrong individuals fall hard! I just adored Lady Sabrina. She is a great, kick butt, take no prisoners type of person and putting her up against a redheaded alpha male highlander provided for some great moments. Together they brought us a great story and a perfect happy ending!
    more
  • ChasingLeslie
    January 1, 1970
    This is the third book in the Clan Kendrick series. It is best read as part of the series, along with book one of Kelly’s Renegade Royals series, as those characters play a role in this book.Graeme Kendrick is working jobs for a British spymaster when Lady Sabrina Bell splashes into his path. Graeme is attracted to (but annoyed by) Sabrina, the pampered only daughter of an Earl and goddaughter to the king. During a royal visit to Scotland, multiple mishaps have Graeme and Sabrina rescuing each o This is the third book in the Clan Kendrick series. It is best read as part of the series, along with book one of Kelly’s Renegade Royals series, as those characters play a role in this book.Graeme Kendrick is working jobs for a British spymaster when Lady Sabrina Bell splashes into his path. Graeme is attracted to (but annoyed by) Sabrina, the pampered only daughter of an Earl and goddaughter to the king. During a royal visit to Scotland, multiple mishaps have Graeme and Sabrina rescuing each other and growing closer.This book suffers from too much going on, and it was difficult to boil the story down to that quick synopsis. Kelly brings back a villain from a previous book in what felt like an unnecessary side plot. Graeme is involved in spy business, but everyone around him seems to know what’s going on and talks openly about it. Sabrina is completely impetuous and stubborn, but the perils that surround her throughout the book seem too easily resolved/set aside. None of the “dangers” feel serious and, as I reader, I felt disconnected. If the book had centered around protecting Sabrina on the trip to Lochnagar, the book could have been much more successful.Also, the romance takes a major backseat here. There is an attraction between the characters, but I didn’t feel a genuine bond. It takes three-quarters of the book before the characters are engaging together instead of around shared circumstances. They talk about their feelings, but I want to be shown not told.I’d like to say it was an enjoyable book, but if I was reading it as a standalone without a connection to the other Kendrick family members then I might have had trouble getting through it. * I received an ARC and this is my honest review. #TheHighlandersEnglishBride #NetGalley
    more
  • Mary Gallo
    January 1, 1970
    This was not my type of story. This was a very well written tale, but it lacked strength and direction. The heroine was a party girl (fashion, dancing, parties) and the hero was a spy who was supposed to be trying to catch a gang of jewelry thieves or watch the King. The heroine was the God-daughter of the King and the hero's sister in law was the King'd bastard daughter, I think. It was very hard to determine e who was who and how everybody was related. But the heroine and hero did not share bl This was not my type of story. This was a very well written tale, but it lacked strength and direction. The heroine was a party girl (fashion, dancing, parties) and the hero was a spy who was supposed to be trying to catch a gang of jewelry thieves or watch the King. The heroine was the God-daughter of the King and the hero's sister in law was the King'd bastard daughter, I think. It was very hard to determine e who was who and how everybody was related. But the heroine and hero did not share blood, I know that much. The way the two kept meeting was not believable at all. The heroine's father didn't like the hero, but the hero kept getting assigned to watch her and he really didn't seem to like her, only think she was a pretty party girl. The way they met was very suspect. The heroine was trying to meet a beau after 1 in the morning, in a park. The hero is chasing the thief, who runs by the heroine, the turns around and tries to steal her purse. She ends up in a stream and the hero jumps in after her. Totally unbelievable. No decent lady would be sneaking out to see a man after 1 am. Can you say where? And the the man she was supposed to meet is, of course, the blood-enemy of the hero who had raped his sister-in-law, a different one, and had been banished from England, but came back, even though everyone in the hero's family was out to kill him. As in, literally kill the man. It goes down hill from there. I like a well written story that makes sense. Proper spelling and grammar will not make a good story, but are appreciated. Characters who make sense and are at least believable are necessary to an engaging story. I do not recommend this book.
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in author Vanessa Kelly’s “Clan Kendrick” series. Although third in the series, I do believe this book could easily stand alone. This is actually the first book I’ve had the pleasure of reading from Ms. Kelly. I was impressed with Ms. Kelly’s writing style and adored the characters so I will definitely be going back to read the entire series! So happy to have finally read Ms. Kelly’s work and can’t wait to catch up with her backlist!Graeme Kendric The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in author Vanessa Kelly’s “Clan Kendrick” series. Although third in the series, I do believe this book could easily stand alone. This is actually the first book I’ve had the pleasure of reading from Ms. Kelly. I was impressed with Ms. Kelly’s writing style and adored the characters so I will definitely be going back to read the entire series! So happy to have finally read Ms. Kelly’s work and can’t wait to catch up with her backlist!Graeme Kendrick is on a mission to capture a gang of thieves. Just when he has one of the thieves in his reach, a young lady gets in the way and is thrown into the Serpentine. Lady Sabrina Bell is not your typical simpering miss.  She’s a wealthy heiress who is stubborn, strong-willed & impetuous. From the moment these two meet, you know there is going to be plenty of action and fireworks! I loved the interaction between Graeme and Sabrina and watching these two extremely stubborn people get to know each other and eventually start to care about each other. But the road to their happily ever after is not completely smooth. Graeme struggles with feelings that he’s not good enough for Sabrina and Sabrina is determined to convince him that he is. With villains, meddling family members, and a trip to Scotland, this was an action-packed and exciting story. Graeme’s family all played a role in this story and I must say I adored them all. I must go back and read the previous stories in this series to catch up and get to know the Kendrick family better. Overall a fantastic read from a new to me author and a book I would highly recommend!
    more
  • Norah Gibbons
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of this book to read through NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. The Highlander’s English Bride by Vanessa Kelly is the third book in her delightful Clan Kendrick series. It can be read as a stand-alone, but I think after reading this one, you will be intrigued enough to go back and read the first two, and also her Improper Princesses and Renegade Royals series as this book takes place in the world of and includes characters from both those series. Graeme Kendrick is worki I received an ARC of this book to read through NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. The Highlander’s English Bride by Vanessa Kelly is the third book in her delightful Clan Kendrick series. It can be read as a stand-alone, but I think after reading this one, you will be intrigued enough to go back and read the first two, and also her Improper Princesses and Renegade Royals series as this book takes place in the world of and includes characters from both those series. Graeme Kendrick is working for the home office trying to solve the mystery of a series of thefts in Mayfair and is just about to arrest a suspect when Lady Sabrina Bell gets caught up in the action and falls into the Serpentine. Forced to let the suspect escape in order to rescue Sabrina leaves Graeme in a surly mood and when she is more annoyed than grateful sparks fly and not the romantic kind just yet. I have to say that at first, I found Sabrina to be just a bit bothersome but she grew on me and her kindness, her willingness to do what is right no matter the cost to her, and that she’s willing to fight for and go after the man she loves even though he’s sure he’s not good enough for her endeared her to me, and she ended up being one of my favourite heroines. I do recommend not only this book but the other books in the series highly.Medium Steam. Publishing Date May 26, 2020. #TheHighlandersEnglishBride #VanessaKelly #NetGalley #HistoricalRomance #RegencyRomance #bookstagram #KensingtonBooks #ZebraRomanceNovels
    more
  • Zoe L.
    January 1, 1970
    You ever have one of those days where you have SO MUCH you need to get done, you have it all planned out, and you’re ready to conquer, but then the day comes and it just needs to end? Yeah, that’s been my day. NOTHING has gone right today (asides from finding a really cool bowl) and I’m just ready to move on with my life. BUT, nothing can stop my excitement for finally being able to share this book with you! Because, I mean, you know me and my obsession with all things Scottish! And just, this b You ever have one of those days where you have SO MUCH you need to get done, you have it all planned out, and you’re ready to conquer, but then the day comes and it just needs to end? Yeah, that’s been my day. NOTHING has gone right today (asides from finding a really cool bowl) and I’m just ready to move on with my life. BUT, nothing can stop my excitement for finally being able to share this book with you! Because, I mean, you know me and my obsession with all things Scottish! And just, this book, muah, perfection!There’s something so perfect about a brutish wild Scottish man in books. I dunno, they’re just so swoon worthy. But this book was a wild ride from start to finish. It was truly just such an engaging read and I am not ashamed to say I most definitely binged it. It was a typical brutish Scottish highlander story, which even through the dark parts are always so intriguing.This book is really just such an enjoyable read. It’s one of those books that you can easily sit down and curl up with to read in one sitting. It’s also going to really appeal to all of my Outlander fans out there. It’s got the brutish men and the stubborn women that make these stories.You can view my full review & giveaway on my blog! I also post about a lot of different types of books!Reader | Bookstagrammer | Blogger | [email protected] - https://www.instagram.com/ya.its.lit/Blog - https://yaitslitblog.wordpress.com/
    more
Write a review