28 Summers
By the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Summer of '69: Their secret love affair has lasted for decades -- but this could be the summer that changes everything.When Mallory Blessing's son, Link, receives deathbed instructions from his mother to call a number on a slip of paper in her desk drawer, he's not sure what to expect. But he certainly does not expect Jake McCloud to answer. It's the late spring of 2020 and Jake's wife, Ursula DeGournsey, is the frontrunner in the upcoming Presidential election.There must be a mistake, Link thinks. How do Mallory and Jake know each other?Flash back to the sweet summer of 1993: Mallory has just inherited a beachfront cottage on Nantucket from her aunt, and she agrees to host her brother's bachelor party. Cooper's friend from college, Jake McCloud, attends, and Jake and Mallory form a bond that will persevere -- through marriage, children, and Ursula's stratospheric political rise -- until Mallory learns she's dying.Based on the classic film Same Time Next Year (which Mallory and Jake watch every summer), 28 Summers explores the agony and romance of a one-weekend-per-year affair and the dramatic ways this relationship complicates and enriches their lives, and the lives of the people they love.

28 Summers Details

Title28 Summers
Author
ReleaseJun 16th, 2020
PublisherLittle, Brown and Company
ISBN-139780316420044
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

28 Summers Review

  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    “This is for you, Mal. My hardheaded woman.” Captivating and poignant, 28 Summers provides a thought-provoking look at what happens when the heart’s desires are given free rein for three glorious days a year. No matter what. A storyline this longtime Elin Hilderbrand fan found to be an emotional powerhouse, stacking up as one of her best yet. I smiled, I cried, I swooned, I dared to hope. My adoration accompanied by one little caveat; this book decimated my heart. Hilderbrand continues her un “This is for you, Mal. My hardheaded woman.” Captivating and poignant, 28 Summers provides a thought-provoking look at what happens when the heart’s desires are given free rein for three glorious days a year. No matter what. A storyline this longtime Elin Hilderbrand fan found to be an emotional powerhouse, stacking up as one of her best yet. I smiled, I cried, I swooned, I dared to hope. My adoration accompanied by one little caveat; this book decimated my heart. Hilderbrand continues her unwavering love letter to Nantucket between these pages, transporting readers to a cottage set amongst the dunes, on a no-name road, where the Atlantic Ocean serves as the front yard. The beachfront cottage bequeathed to Mallory upon her Aunt Greta’s passing provides the perfect opportunity to escape the grime and disappointment that’s been her life in New York City.Mallory’s first Labor Day on the island brings guests: her older brother Cooper (love him!) and his two best friends, Fray and Jake, for a bachelor weekend. A few mini-disasters and a host of selfish behavior find Jake and Mallory finishing off the weekend alone. There’s no denying their chemistry or that their newfound feelings will extend beyond the long weekend. Yet, neither Mallory or Jake is willing to make the compromises necessary to explore the possibility of a relationship. Promising instead, same time, next year, no matter what. On ode to the film Same Time, Next Year, which becomes a part of their annual tradition. “Can’t we just pretend that we’re the only two people in the world and that this weekend is going to last forever?” What makes Mallory and Jake’s journey, spanning 28 summers, problematic is the central question it poses—is deceit, or going against what’s right, acceptable for love’s sake? Compounding the moral ambiguity is watching Mallory and Jake make one decision after another that pushes the possibility of something more than one meaningful weekend a year further from fruition. Which means watching as their daily lives unfold with what feels like the wrong people. There’s a heart-wrenching yearning threaded throughout and a desire for the couple to say the hell with it, and really give it go. And yet, you have to wonder if the natural ebb and flow that accompanies any relationship would eventually dull Mallory and Jake’s shine.It never ceases to surprise my husband what a complete and utter crybaby I am when it comes to movies, news stories, or heck, even commercials. Although, I’ve found it takes a lot for a book to move me to tears. An occurrence I can count on one hand. And, I’m not sure if pregnancy hormones also played a role here, but I BALLED my eyes out for the entirety of the last chapter. I’m talking couldn’t see, had to stop and blow my nose, sobbing. The farewell to these characters proves to be a shattering, although moving, conclusion. At the end of the day, 28 Summers is about a couple who finds lasting love on their terms.*THANK YOU to Little, Brown and Company for providing a review copy in exchange for sharing my honest thoughts. I loved this book so much, I’ll be adding a personalized copy to my Hilderbrand collection. If you’re interested in doing the same, they’re available here through Nantucket Book Partners.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    What will I be talking about during the Summer of 2020? How in her twenty-fifth novel, Elin Hilderbrand once again takes me to Nantucket and leaves me an emotional wreck. Inspired by the film Same Time, Next Year, 28 Summers tells the tale of Mallory Blessing and Jake McCloud who meet one Labor Day weekend in Nantucket, the chemistry is instantaneous but each person recognizes they are different places in their lives and agree that each year they will reunite in that last week of August. As What will I be talking about during the Summer of 2020? How in her twenty-fifth novel, Elin Hilderbrand once again takes me to Nantucket and leaves me an emotional wreck. Inspired by the film Same Time, Next Year, 28 Summers tells the tale of Mallory Blessing and Jake McCloud who meet one Labor Day weekend in Nantucket, the chemistry is instantaneous but each person recognizes they are different places in their lives and agree that each year they will reunite in that last week of August. As each year passes, their love survives amidst all the changes that life throws in their way. I wouldn't have thought this book would have created such tumultuous feelings within but it did. A story about an affair between two people shouldn't make me cry but it has. I couldn't help but be pulled into Mallory and Jake's lives and I did want them to finally be together. As each year passes and Hilderbrand relates the news events that had us talking each of those 28 years, it seemed like time had stopped itself. Make sure to use lots of sunscreen because this beach read is going to keep you glued to your towel! Thanks to Netgalley and Little, Brown and Company for an egalley in exchange for an honest review. Goodreads review published 17/05/20Expected Publication Date. 16/06/20
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.So many thanks to Libro.fm for allowing me to listen to the advance audio!I seriously love Elin Hilderbrand's books on audio! This was my third book of hers to listen to -- in fact, I've never read one of her books in print. There is something so comforting about coming back to Nantucket each summer, a place I've never actually visited myself, but feel as if I know so well from Elin's books alone. During this crazy time in our world it was great to feel as if I wa Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.So many thanks to Libro.fm for allowing me to listen to the advance audio!I seriously love Elin Hilderbrand's books on audio! This was my third book of hers to listen to -- in fact, I've never read one of her books in print. There is something so comforting about coming back to Nantucket each summer, a place I've never actually visited myself, but feel as if I know so well from Elin's books alone. During this crazy time in our world it was great to feel as if I was actually able to vacation somewhere, just through listening to this story. Not to mention, 28 Summers is ultramodern, starting off with things we're talking about in 2020 and even mentioning the Coronavirus.This was quite a complex book for me! It featured a few aspects I wasn't too keen on, but the characters were deep enough to allow me to be openminded and experience the difficulties they were facing without the judgment I'd normally hold. Essentially the characters were cheating nearly every summer of their relationship, yet somehow their love story seemed to make it ... I hesitate to use the word acceptable, but it's the most fitting word. I absolutely loathe when characters (and real people) can't find it in themselves to be loyal to one person, yet I was completely invested in this story and Mallory and Jake's relationship.My favorite thing about this book were the flashbacks to years gone by, with references to all the important headlines and pop culture events from the nineties to today. There were certain things I hadn't thought about in ages and it was fun to imagine the events that happened in my own life during these times. It made me look forward to each year in Mallory or Jake's life as the chapters changed.I could have done without the parallel Kavanaugh case from a couple of years ago making an appearance in this story, along with some of the political fodder. I wish the author would have chosen to create fictional issues in the story for Ursula's growing political fame, rather than ones we've recently been hearing about to the point of being bashed over the head by them. I think many of us use fiction as a way to escape from real-world issues, so it can become tiresome when we have them in our books as well.Nevertheless, this was an intensely evocative novel that had me reeled in from the get-go. I knew it was going to leave me feeling incredibly heartbroken, but it wasn't quite as bitter as I expected the story to be. The morally ambiguous story was actually quite bittersweet and thought-provoking.
    more
  • Katrina
    January 1, 1970
    The quintessential summer read. Each summer was quite the trip down memory lane. I especially enjoyed the full circle moment.
  • Kari Ann Sweeney
    January 1, 1970
    This is a quintessential summer read. A little sudsy and scandalous. The story takes place primarily on Nantucket and follows an unconventional love story that spans 3 days each year over 28 summers. Each chapter/summer started with a short recap of what the world was doing in (insert year here). I loved listening to what Hilderbrand chose to include as I reflected on my personal highlights of each year. It was a smart way to show the passing of time and keep moving the story forward. This was p This is a quintessential summer read. A little sudsy and scandalous. The story takes place primarily on Nantucket and follows an unconventional love story that spans 3 days each year over 28 summers. Each chapter/summer started with a short recap of what the world was doing in (insert year here). I loved listening to what Hilderbrand chose to include as I reflected on my personal highlights of each year. It was a smart way to show the passing of time and keep moving the story forward. This was pure escapism and I was here for all the ups and downs. Right up until the very end when I had to grab a tissue. Worth it. A tactful word of caution- infidelity is unavoidable in this book. No one digs infidelity. But if that is a deal breaker for your reading- skip this one. Thank you to Libro.fm for an advanced audio copy.
    more
  • Toni
    January 1, 1970
    Elin opens her book with what seem like “spoilers” leering at us while we scratch our heads saying, “whoa, how the hell did we get here?!” Exactly! For the next 28 chapters or summers, we try to figure that out as read.Open Scene: Link (Lincoln), Mallory Blessing’s son, calls a phone number his mother had hidden away for such a time as this, an emergency, her deathbed. Link does not know who he’s calling until the phone is answered: “Jake McCloud,” he says. Link recognizes the names and hangs up Elin opens her book with what seem like “spoilers” leering at us while we scratch our heads saying, “whoa, how the hell did we get here?!” Exactly! For the next 28 chapters or summers, we try to figure that out as read.Open Scene: Link (Lincoln), Mallory Blessing’s son, calls a phone number his mother had hidden away for such a time as this, an emergency, her deathbed. Link does not know who he’s calling until the phone is answered: “Jake McCloud,” he says. Link recognizes the names and hangs up. Flustered, he thinks, ‘why would his mother have him call some famous Charity Spokesperson, who’s married to a more famous State Senator, that may be running for President in the next election?’The phone rings, it’s him, calling back! “Is Mallory all right, has something happened?” Link tries to explain Mallory’s grave condition to Jake. “Please, tell her I’m coming. I’ll be there as soon as I can.”From this opening scene, we the reader have to start from the beginning and roll back to 1993 when Mallory Blessing, her brother Cooper, and their friends were all twenty-somethings. Mallory was living in New York City sharing a tiny apartment with her childhood friend from Baltimore, Leland Gladstone. This situation was testing every last fiber of that friendship, as roommates do. Fortunately, or say conveniently, Mallory’s old Aunt Greta dies and leaves Mallory one hundred thousand dollars, and her cottage on the island of Nantucket. Bye-bye tiny NYC apartment. Mallory loves the pace of Nantucket and the cottage.Meanwhile, her brother Cooper has been working and living in Washington, DC, and announces he’s getting married for the first time. (yes, there will be more.) to Krystal (save it), who he’s met in DC. He’s asked Mallory if he, and his two, close friends, Fray (Frazier Dooley) and Jake (Jake McCloud) could come up to Nantucket for Labor Day weekend for a small bachelor party of sorts. Mallory has known Cooper’s friends since college, so she thinks, why not, and says, “sure.”The small group had fun to start but as the friends partied and drank more, stuff happens. Leland shows up with her ‘City friends’ and toys with Fray’s emotions, (they used to have a thing); Fray gets drunker and disappears for a while. Cooper has multiple drunken phone fights with Krystal and agrees to fly back to DC in the morning. That leaves Mallory and Jake alone, with two days to go. And we are only in Chapter One!Jake and Mallory have a delightful time together so that something has changed in them both. Jake did admit he was happy the way things worked out with just the two of them left. “And I’m coming back next year; ‘same time, next year.’” Mallory says, “No matter what?” “No matter what!” Jake said.So begins the first of 28 summers that Mallory and Jake continue to meet every Labor Day weekend, once a year, from 1993 to 2020. And they live their own lives, different lives, the rest of the time. At that first weekend, when Jake fell in love with Mallory, he was technically a single man, since he and his girlfriend, Ursula, an intelligent ambitious lawyer, were on a break; a trial separation. When he gets back to DC Ursula sets things in motion towards marriage and Jake does not know how to stop it.Mallory loves Jake, but accepts her fate and remains on Nantucket, and occasionally dates other guys. Over the course of several years, Cooper gets divorced and remarried, Ursula gets pregnant and has a daughter, Mallory gets pregnant and has a son. No spoilers here; just a lot of life going on amongst friends while the Labor Day weekends continue.The story and writing are top-notch, as only Elin could deliver this type of novel without us screaming at the characters and/or throwing the book across the room. Of course, we will judge every one of them, it’s what we do. Or, we think about if we were in their place. Could I last 28 summers like Mallory did? Right now, knowing what I know at my mature, experienced age, I say probably not. But what would my twenty-two-year-old self, have said? What would you say or have said?Book clubs will have fun with this discussion! Make sure you schedule at least two hours and have plenty of wine on hand, and other drivers on call. Remember, only judge the characters, not each other; and have fun!And of course, meet again to watch the film, “Same Time, Next Year,” the original with Alan Alda and Ellen Burstyn, 1978. Enjoy. Cheers!Thank you Netgalley, Little Brown and Co. and Elin Hilderbrand
    more
  • Annissa Joy Armstrong
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this story!! It might be Hilderbrand’s best book to date!!I enjoyed this book right from the beginning. There are quite a few characters but it is developed so well that it makes for a very enjoyable read. This is a story about family, friendships, deception, not being able to commit and so much more. The descriptions of the area makes you feel like you are right there in Nantucket.I highly recommend this book to everyone looking for that great summer read! This book come out June 16, 20 I loved this story!! It might be Hilderbrand’s best book to date!!I enjoyed this book right from the beginning. There are quite a few characters but it is developed so well that it makes for a very enjoyable read. This is a story about family, friendships, deception, not being able to commit and so much more. The descriptions of the area makes you feel like you are right there in Nantucket.I highly recommend this book to everyone looking for that great summer read! This book come out June 16, 2020.Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the advanced copy.
    more
  • Jules Buono
    January 1, 1970
    When I saw Elin Hilderbrand new book 28 Summers available through the ARC program on Libro.fm, I downloaded it IMMEDIATELY! Her last book, Summer of '69 was one of my fave reads of last Summer, and I loved her Winter series around Christmastime as well.28 Summers lived up to all my expectations of a classic Elin book -- preppy Nantucket setting, light but still has substance, well drawn out characters, realistic but still clever dialogue, compulsively readable ... I feel like I can go on forever When I saw Elin Hilderbrand new book 28 Summers available through the ARC program on Libro.fm, I downloaded it IMMEDIATELY! Her last book, Summer of '69 was one of my fave reads of last Summer, and I loved her Winter series around Christmastime as well.28 Summers lived up to all my expectations of a classic Elin book -- preppy Nantucket setting, light but still has substance, well drawn out characters, realistic but still clever dialogue, compulsively readable ... I feel like I can go on forever!It's about two people who decide to have a "same time next year" meeting that lasts each Labor Day weekend over the course of ... you guessed it ... 28 Summers. Naturally, this becomes more complicated with age, marriage and kids.While I can normally be critical about books glamorizing affairs, I thought this book did it in a really smart way that made sense and showed that all relationships are different and complex. I can also be critical of books dealing with 9/11 (sometimes it feels wrongly used for the sake of drama to me), but I thought this one handled it well.And I would be remiss not to mention my favorite part -- each "year" came with a rundown of all the pop culture items we were talking about at the time -- including some of my personal faves: Dunder Mifflin in 2008, the Villanova Wildcats in 2016 and the Philadelphia Eagles in 2018! It was just a really fun addition to a book taking place over a few decades.This was a 5 STAR read for me (but if you still haven't read Summer of '69, I did like that a bit better.) The cover reminded me of my engagement in Martha’s Vineyard so I had to post my post-engagement pic on Instagram. Even my cover up has sailboats on it! You can see it here: https://www.instagram.com/p/CALFQYhA6gr/
    more
  • Kristen Doyle
    January 1, 1970
    Review coming soon but this was her best book yet! I loved everything about it.
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    This is an unconventional love story. It’s spicy. It’s scandalous. Sometimes it’s hard to read. And at the end, you better be prepared with tissues. I ugly cried!But the journey was so good and so worth it. I will read anything Elin Hilderbrand writes, and rarely does she disappoint. 28 Summers certainly does not. And I’m already looking forward to the sweet romance that I’m sure will follow.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    Mallory is on her death bed and her wish is to have her son Link call Jake (whose married) to Ursula?!Why/How do they know one another?It turns out they have a deep seated history together from their first date in 1994 to the time Jake's twin sis died from cystic fibrosis at just thirteen years of age.Whether it was a pregnancy, an affair, a confession of love, or the truth about dying from melanoma -one thing was certain- be with the one you love."Fill the cup" - How will you be remembered? Rem Mallory is on her death bed and her wish is to have her son Link call Jake (whose married) to Ursula?!Why/How do they know one another?It turns out they have a deep seated history together from their first date in 1994 to the time Jake's twin sis died from cystic fibrosis at just thirteen years of age.Whether it was a pregnancy, an affair, a confession of love, or the truth about dying from melanoma -one thing was certain- be with the one you love."Fill the cup" - How will you be remembered? Remember the poem- "The Dash?" - It's time to get moving and make a life - one that you'll be proud to partake in.Life is short and nobody knows when our time is up.Go, Live, Love, Learn!Thank you to Elin, the pub, NetGalley, and Kindle for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Lacey
    January 1, 1970
    It’s like a fairy tale. It’s like a game of Would You Rather? Would you rather have perfect bliss for only three days or a solid but dull relationship all year long? Mallory would choose Jake every time.Okay. WELL. Somehow I managed not to cry, even though that 100%-predictable ending absolutely GUTTED me. And, Christ, do I need a comedy now. My heart hurts too much to dissect my feelings about the book anymore right now, except to say that cancer sucks and so does people not acting on—or at the It’s like a fairy tale. It’s like a game of Would You Rather? Would you rather have perfect bliss for only three days or a solid but dull relationship all year long? Mallory would choose Jake every time.Okay. WELL. Somehow I managed not to cry, even though that 100%-predictable ending absolutely GUTTED me. And, Christ, do I need a comedy now. My heart hurts too much to dissect my feelings about the book anymore right now, except to say that cancer sucks and so does people not acting on—or at the very least, expressing—their feelings. Life is too goddamn short as it is. I feel as empty as I did after finishing this as I did after The Kremlin's Candidate. I need a drink. Or five.
    more
  • Marisa
    January 1, 1970
    I just finished this story and I loved every page. I fell in love, hoped , laughed, remembered and cried. Elin Hilderbrand’s books get better and better but I am not sure if she will ever too this one. I loved the intertwining stories, I fell in love with Jake and want to be friends with Mallory. I loved how each chapter/summer story provided a memory and glimpse back to that year. This was so creative and a great way to move the story forward. Coming June 2020 I can’t wait to share this with so I just finished this story and I loved every page. I fell in love, hoped , laughed, remembered and cried. Elin Hilderbrand’s books get better and better but I am not sure if she will ever too this one. I loved the intertwining stories, I fell in love with Jake and want to be friends with Mallory. I loved how each chapter/summer story provided a memory and glimpse back to that year. This was so creative and a great way to move the story forward. Coming June 2020 I can’t wait to share this with so many people! Absolutely wonderful!! Thank you to Elin, netgalley and the publisher for an early read.
    more
  • Erica (sand_between_pages)
    January 1, 1970
    28 SUMMERS! A must read this summer! Thank you so much to Libro FM for the ALC of this audiobook, I am in love!.Folks, our girl Elin (and she IS out girl) wrote such a charming, heartbreaking, lovely story. I sobbed the last 30 minutes and at various times throughout the book. The story centers around Jake and Mallory who meet when they are young and quickly fall for each other. Because of life and the circumstances that surround them, they agree to be each other's "same time next year" meaning 28 SUMMERS! A must read this summer! Thank you so much to Libro FM for the ALC of this audiobook, I am in love!.Folks, our girl Elin (and she IS out girl) wrote such a charming, heartbreaking, lovely story. I sobbed the last 30 minutes and at various times throughout the book. The story centers around Jake and Mallory who meet when they are young and quickly fall for each other. Because of life and the circumstances that surround them, they agree to be each other's "same time next year" meaning that one weekend per year, they will get together on Nantucket for sand dollars, fortune cookies, and love. This quickly becomes the main thing that Jack and Mallory look forward to each year and nothing will stop them from their weekend - they will get together no matter what. How long can they do this? And why not just be together?.This book evoked a lot of nostalgia as Elin guided us through the past 28 years, referencing several historical events and pop culture happenings along the way. Even though what Jake and Mallory are doing is somewhat wrong, you cheer for them and you are endeared to their story. .I rec this book to EVERYONE.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    The perfect summer read that will have you feeling all sorts of emotions. This one reminded me that even when we are quarantined, life still flies by and to hold on to what makes it worth while
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    This is the perfect backyard read of the summer. Inspired by the movie (and play) Same Time, Next year, this is a captivating story of a couple who can't be together full time so they commit to meeting once a year over Labor Day no matter what comes along. This latest is one of Hilderbrand's best novels to date with a complex plot and intricate characterizations with a poignancy that brought me to a few tears at the end. And, of course, Hilderbrand's beloved Nantucket is featured although it's n This is the perfect backyard read of the summer. Inspired by the movie (and play) Same Time, Next year, this is a captivating story of a couple who can't be together full time so they commit to meeting once a year over Labor Day no matter what comes along. This latest is one of Hilderbrand's best novels to date with a complex plot and intricate characterizations with a poignancy that brought me to a few tears at the end. And, of course, Hilderbrand's beloved Nantucket is featured although it's not as central to the story as many of her previous novels have been. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Dorothea Benton Frank, Nancy Thayer, and Mary Kay Andrews.Thanks to the publisher for the advance reading copy.
    more
  • Melanie Sligh
    January 1, 1970
    Okay, serious question: Do all Elin’s books have infidelity? I’ve read two and they both do. 😂 28 Summers was a great one! If I focused on this being a love story between two people and not a love story between a married man and another woman, it was great! Mallory is on her deathbed. She gives instructions to her son to call one person: Jake, presidential hopeful Ursula’s husband Jake. Is this right? Flashback to 1993. Their first summer. Each year they spend Labor Day weekend together, each ye Okay, serious question: Do all Elin’s books have infidelity? I’ve read two and they both do. 😂 28 Summers was a great one! If I focused on this being a love story between two people and not a love story between a married man and another woman, it was great! Mallory is on her deathbed. She gives instructions to her son to call one person: Jake, presidential hopeful Ursula’s husband Jake. Is this right? Flashback to 1993. Their first summer. Each year they spend Labor Day weekend together, each year finding love all over again. My favorite part is how each year started. Elin gives us a “What are we talking about” for each year. It did bring back nostalgia for me. I found myself watching old movies, listening to old songs, etc. This does have 9/11 included so I did have a panic attack. I absolutely loved seeing these characters change over 28 years. I got to see Cooper evolve and his wives, it was so fun to see little college students turn into now husbands, parents, etc. I could not stand Ursula until 2018. Then she was my girl. The character development was top notch. I also love how many of the previous minor characters come back in the end. It really made me feel like I was one of their friends as well. It all came back full circle. Fair warning, the ending.. Holy crap, the tears came flowing! Get some tissues, fill your cup. Minus the lying and cheating, this was a beautiful love story. I had to keep reminding myself that to enjoy it. This comes out Tuesday (the 16th) and if you love Elin, you will truly love this. Thank you to Libro.fm, Elin Hilderbrand, Hachette Audio, & Little Brown for the ALC. Y’all had me reminiscing on the good times!
    more
  • Crazy
    January 1, 1970
    I don't remember why I started reading Hildebrand. I remember being a snob about the covers and thinking I was too good for summer chick lit, but this book made me really happy. Perfect quarantine reading.
  • Tina
    January 1, 1970
    Out 6.16.20 | Free from Netgalley/Little, Brown and Company | Finally, a 5 star read! I was absolutely enchanted by 28 Summers, and although I’m still fairly new to Hilderbrand I think this is her best one yet. Mallory is a young 20-something trying to find her way after college when she inherits a cottage in Nantucket from her beloved aunt. Her move from Manhattan changes her life, and her first Labor Day weekend there she falls in love with her brother’s friend, Jake McCloud. The two embark on Out 6.16.20 | Free from Netgalley/Little, Brown and Company | Finally, a 5 star read! I was absolutely enchanted by 28 Summers, and although I’m still fairly new to Hilderbrand I think this is her best one yet. Mallory is a young 20-something trying to find her way after college when she inherits a cottage in Nantucket from her beloved aunt. Her move from Manhattan changes her life, and her first Labor Day weekend there she falls in love with her brother’s friend, Jake McCloud. The two embark on a relationship that lasts for 3 days and 3 days only every Labor Day weekend for 28 years- no matter what. The story was sweet and filled with longing. It really made me think about the little choices that we make everyday that can completely change the course of our lives. I adored Jake and Mallory and really appreciated the exploration of nontraditional love and family. This would be a fabulous book club pick, especially for women in their 30s and above. A surprising 5 stars!
    more
  • Angie
    January 1, 1970
    Elin Hilderbrand never disappoints when it comes to a beachy summer read. This book was no exception.The book follows flashbacks from summers in the past, and a romance that spanned one weekend per year. The author is so descriptive in setting the location that it makes me feel like I can feel the wind in my hair and toes in the sand of Nantucket. For readers that struggle with reading about infidelity, this book might not be for you. That is one of the reasons I marked it lower starred rating.. Elin Hilderbrand never disappoints when it comes to a beachy summer read. This book was no exception.The book follows flashbacks from summers in the past, and a romance that spanned one weekend per year. The author is so descriptive in setting the location that it makes me feel like I can feel the wind in my hair and toes in the sand of Nantucket. For readers that struggle with reading about infidelity, this book might not be for you. That is one of the reasons I marked it lower starred rating...
    more
  • Anna
    January 1, 1970
    I've read almost all of Hilderbrand's books. That being said, I feel like I know enough of Hilderbrand's repertoire to say that this is not like her other books. Her last "summer" read, Summer of '69, I felt was a stretch from her typical Nantucket Drama/Romance, as it moved from Women's Fiction to Historical Fiction quite nicely. 28 Summers felt like it had more depth as well. It takes me a lot to cry in a book--it doesn't happen often. I can probably count on one hand the times I've cried whil I've read almost all of Hilderbrand's books. That being said, I feel like I know enough of Hilderbrand's repertoire to say that this is not like her other books. Her last "summer" read, Summer of '69, I felt was a stretch from her typical Nantucket Drama/Romance, as it moved from Women's Fiction to Historical Fiction quite nicely. 28 Summers felt like it had more depth as well. It takes me a lot to cry in a book--it doesn't happen often. I can probably count on one hand the times I've cried while reading. (If you're curious, I'll share one: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah). I won't say I outright cried in this book, but had my reading circumstances been different (no screaming kids next to me, no blaring TV in the same room--we work with what we have), I would have. I choked back tears in this book, and I will be the first to say that I haven't EVER been close to tears in Hilderbrand's books; what they really make me want to do is take the next ferry over to Nantucket and enjoy some lobster bisque and some ocean views. Mallory's story was...inspiring? Yes, it was. I fell in love with Mallory, and reading about Mallory and Link's relationship will make any mama swoon. I fell in love with Jake, and I felt myself reminiscing about every single one of the 28 summers because I, too, can remember my memories from my summers in the 90s, the 2000s, the 2010s, and now. Hilderbrand crafted a story that spanned 1993 to today, and so seamlessly moved from year to year, only including the necessary points, that by the next year, it was like visiting a friend after a long hiatus: it was like not missing a beat. I'm going to go on record and say this is my favorite Hilderbrand--for a lot of reasons. Hilderbrand wove current political issues into a text with lovable characters, and she did so in an inspiring manner. Since I've read so many Hilderbrand texts, I was expecting the same as I always get: a nice, nostalgic trip down memory lane since my own vacation to Nantucket in 2016. This was so much more: there was love, and then there was true love, but it came in so many different forms: what really is true love? How do we determine what true love really is? I highly, highly recommend this one, and not just because of the setting: I'm a setting person, but the setting took a back seat here. The characters, the history, how history molds us, how love molds us, and how we change with the times were some of the key factors that kept me involved. I will also say that I don't hand out 5 stars easily. This evoked emotion, and for that reason alone, as I held back tears, I'm giving it 5 stars. An ecstatic thank you to Netgalley & Little, Brown, & Company for the ARC.
    more
  • LoneStarWords Deb Coco
    January 1, 1970
    My first Elin Hilderbrand was a doozy; just shy of 15 hours long and chronicling almost 3 decades of one woman’s life. First, let me say that much of my love for this book rested in my personal connection to Nantucket. Listening to this took me back to familiar spots, dear friends, places I’d worked and lived. The entire novel was like one big walk down memory lane, so I felt very invested from Chapter 1. Since finishing it I’ve asked myself if I would have felt the same way if the setting meant My first Elin Hilderbrand was a doozy; just shy of 15 hours long and chronicling almost 3 decades of one woman’s life. First, let me say that much of my love for this book rested in my personal connection to Nantucket. Listening to this took me back to familiar spots, dear friends, places I’d worked and lived. The entire novel was like one big walk down memory lane, so I felt very invested from Chapter 1. Since finishing it I’ve asked myself if I would have felt the same way if the setting meant nothing . . .The structure of the book is very interesting. Each chapter represents one year (through 28 Summers) and they open with “What are we talking about in…” It was a fun and fresh style, although the 9/11/ chapter was incredibly was hard to listen to. Going year by year and remembering the events that shaped them made me realize just how quickly time passes. I don’t ever post spoilers, but a few people have mentioned they don’t want to read this because infidelity is part of the plot. Yes, it is and if that is a trigger for you, maybe look elsewhere. We meander through Mallory Blessing’s life very slowly - I think some readers might find this book too long and quiet. I was totally invested and didn’t feel that way until the last 2 hours or so. I do feel that could have been tightened up and got a little off track but I do love a deep dive family saga, which this ultimately is. My fear with Hilderbrand’s writing was that it would be “fluff” and I was pleasantly surprised. I’ve said before that I always search for authors who can provide lighter reading fare without totally sacrificing plot and prose and she struck a nice balance. Don’t get me wrong - there are some cheesy sections that made me eye-roll a tiny bit, but nothing unbearable. I don’t know about jumping into another of her summer books right now, but I may try the winter series next Christmas so I can revisit a place I loved. If 3.5 stars were possible I'd be there. If you’re looking for a book that feels “summery” read or listen and don’t mind a long read, this releases June 16th! And thank you Libro.fm for the ALC.
    more
  • rachnreads
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely adored this book. I give it 4.5 stars but am rounding it up to 5.What I loved: - Hilderbrand does an amazing job of making the setting its own character. Her descriptions of Nantucket are so vivid and beautiful I felt like I was there.- At the beginning of every year, she starts the chapter with "what are we talking about that year?", and it was such a cool way to set the scene, take you back and make you feel nostalgic!- I loved the little political bits in the book as well. This i I absolutely adored this book. I give it 4.5 stars but am rounding it up to 5.What I loved: - Hilderbrand does an amazing job of making the setting its own character. Her descriptions of Nantucket are so vivid and beautiful I felt like I was there.- At the beginning of every year, she starts the chapter with "what are we talking about that year?", and it was such a cool way to set the scene, take you back and make you feel nostalgic!- I loved the little political bits in the book as well. This is in no way a political book, but because one of the secondary characters is very active in Washington I loved following along her career and seeing the slimey world of politics.What I didn't love:- Of course, the cheating aspect isn't great, but I wouldn't have listened to this one if I thought it would be a dealbreaker. I honestly felt less bothered with it at the beginning, but towards the halfway point I was like really guys? I feel like if you're committed to a 28 year affair and you both believed that you were meant for each other, you would have made it work. But that begs the question, would their relationship work outside of their 'same time last year' set up, or would their passion for each other be the same if they were in a long term monogamous relationship?Since I listened to the audiobook, I find that narration can always make or break the book. This narrator was fantastic and I was in such an audiobook rut, this one had me doing extra cleaning, going for more long walks, and just laying in bed listening to this book.Thank you to Libro.fm, Hachette Audio, and Elin Hilderbrand for the advanced listener's copy of 28 summers. This one comes out on June 16 2020, and I highly recommend you pick it up!
    more
  • Permanently_Booked
    January 1, 1970
    My first Hilderbrand audiobook. I can see why everyone enjoys these novels. It's real and poignant and leaves a sense of hope and love curtailing the underlying dilemmas. What I thought would be a happy summer type read was anything but. It was sad watching two people who truly loved each other live and carry on loveless relationships miles apart. I don't think I could only see the man I love once a year for a weekend. I just can't fathom that. I have to agree with my reading buddy that this was My first Hilderbrand audiobook. I can see why everyone enjoys these novels. It's real and poignant and leaves a sense of hope and love curtailing the underlying dilemmas. What I thought would be a happy summer type read was anything but. It was sad watching two people who truly loved each other live and carry on loveless relationships miles apart. I don't think I could only see the man I love once a year for a weekend. I just can't fathom that. I have to agree with my reading buddy that this was a highly frustrating read because you just want to transport yourself to their island and smack sense into them. Hard! Life is never really fair and I think this book plays on that thought really well. Especially at the end. Can I say I hated the ending?! Ok, I hated the ending. Not in the sense that its a bad ending I just did not go how I wanted it to go. You'll see when you snag this one. I can honestly say there wasn't much of a downside to this novel outside of the sad feelings I had. Though this isn't the cutesy summer read I was thinking it would be, it was still a great audiobook and I'd place it beside In Five Years .Thank you to Libro.fm and Little Brown and Company for the advanced listening copy and the opportunity to review this audiobook for an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Christine Savukinas
    January 1, 1970
    Four and a half stars! I loved it! It was everything I expect from a Elin Hilderbrand novel. There was love, romance, definitely scandal, heartbreak and loss. It all takes place on the island of Nantucket which is perfect! Throw in some politics and gossip - it’s a juicy one! I look forward to a new Elin book every summer - I hope she doesn’t stop writing for a long tine! Thank you to Netgalley for the E-ARC and to Elin for writing another summer must read!!
    more
  • Caroline Craig David
    January 1, 1970
    I have so many thoughts and feelings. Of course, this book was written so wonderfully, each chapter being a new summer with a list of important things that happened in that year. It was such a great way of bringing me back to that time and being able to remember the styles, lingo, and music of that time. I absolutely loved Mallory, Link, and Jake. I loved getting to get a peek back at the Winter Street Inn which was such a fun tie in. The story was so wonderful and hit upon many topics that are I have so many thoughts and feelings. Of course, this book was written so wonderfully, each chapter being a new summer with a list of important things that happened in that year. It was such a great way of bringing me back to that time and being able to remember the styles, lingo, and music of that time. I absolutely loved Mallory, Link, and Jake. I loved getting to get a peek back at the Winter Street Inn which was such a fun tie in. The story was so wonderful and hit upon many topics that are prevalent to our times and are even drawn off of historical events that were going on at the time but with fictional names. My only real qualm is with the ending. I wanted more and I feel like it left me with so many unanswered questions that I wanted answers to. However, there is something to be said about a book that leaves you wanting more.
    more
  • Dawn
    January 1, 1970
    Elin Hilderbrand books are escapist in so many ways: gorgeous people, gorgeous houses, beautiful settings, and so much more, and the fact she writes well means her books are always in my beach bag. This is not a disappointment, but not my favorite of her books. This book tells the story of a couple who meet one weekend a year over 28 summers. I do not want to say more as some of the twist and turns are unexpected but deftly handled.That said, I did not like the character arc of the female main c Elin Hilderbrand books are escapist in so many ways: gorgeous people, gorgeous houses, beautiful settings, and so much more, and the fact she writes well means her books are always in my beach bag. This is not a disappointment, but not my favorite of her books. This book tells the story of a couple who meet one weekend a year over 28 summers. I do not want to say more as some of the twist and turns are unexpected but deftly handled.That said, I did not like the character arc of the female main character. I feel like she learned little throughout the book, and while realistic, it was not my favorite main character. I am looking so forward to the end of her Virgin Islands trilogy this year. If you have not started on those (the Paradise trilogy) you need to get on board. Overall, a good read as she's a good author, but not my personal favorite.
    more
  • Arin
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you @elinhilderbrand for yet another great read! This is my 7th quarantine book and like all of her other books I was immediately drawn into the characters and their stories. Even her dedication at the beginning is touching. It's a crazy time right now so it always feels good to get lost in a story and ignore the negative chatter.Thanks to #edelweiss for an advanced copy. #28summers coming soon!!
    more
  • Brittany
    January 1, 1970
    Each new Elin Hilderbrand book feels like a gift, and a new Nantucket saga is exactly what I needed right now! There is a certain magic about Hilderbrand's writing that makes each story so easy to consume--she has such a gift for bringing a place and a time period to life, all without taxing the reader. 28 Summers spans decades, and I enjoyed the trip down memory lane (especially the "peek into the past" at the beginning of each chapter). The novel begins in 1993 when Mallory Blessing is 24, and Each new Elin Hilderbrand book feels like a gift, and a new Nantucket saga is exactly what I needed right now! There is a certain magic about Hilderbrand's writing that makes each story so easy to consume--she has such a gift for bringing a place and a time period to life, all without taxing the reader. 28 Summers spans decades, and I enjoyed the trip down memory lane (especially the "peek into the past" at the beginning of each chapter). The novel begins in 1993 when Mallory Blessing is 24, and she inherits her aunt's Nantucket cottage. She hosts her brother Cooper's bachelor party, and she shares a life-changing weekend with her brother's best friend, Jake McCloud. Over the course of 27 subsequent summers, Mallory and Jake meet every Labor Day for a weekend together. All of the wonderful beach details, food descriptions, and familiar characters from the Hilderbrand universe (Ava Quinn of the Winter Street series appears!) that make these books so enjoyable are included. The only aspect I didn't enjoy was the premise: 20-plus years of infidelity feels both unrealistic and unromantic. Recommended for long-time fans and lovers of beach books--just be sure to bring the tissues. Many thanks to NetGalley and Little, Brown and Company for the librarian preview!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Here comes another good beach read by Elin Hilderbrand. I know when I sit down with a Hilderbrand book, I will always enjoy it. Hilderbrand transports you to Nantucket and brings the island to life with her descriptions of the town, the food and the people. Her characters are engaging and likeable. Although this was a terrific beach read that I read quickly, I have to admit the premise slightly bothered me. Jake and Mallory spend one weekend a year for 28 summers at her Nantucket cottage. Thats Here comes another good beach read by Elin Hilderbrand. I know when I sit down with a Hilderbrand book, I will always enjoy it. Hilderbrand transports you to Nantucket and brings the island to life with her descriptions of the town, the food and the people. Her characters are engaging and likeable. Although this was a terrific beach read that I read quickly, I have to admit the premise slightly bothered me. Jake and Mallory spend one weekend a year for 28 summers at her Nantucket cottage. Thats it, just one weekend, then they both go back to their daily lives. This just struck me as slightly unbelievable,, but it still was a good read..
    more
Write a review