The June Boys
The Gemini Thief could be anyone. Your father, your mother, your best friend’s crazy uncle. Some country music star’s deranged sister. Anyone.The Gemini Thief is a serial kidnapper, who takes three boys and holds them captive from June 1st to June 30th of the following year. The June Boys endure thirteen months of being stolen, hidden, observed, and fed before they are released, unharmed, by their masked captor. The Thief is a pro, having eluded authorities for nearly a decade and taken at least twelve boys.Now Thea Delacroix has reason to believe the Gemini Thief took a thirteenth victim: her cousin, Aulus McClaghen.But the game changes when one of the kidnapped boys turns up dead. Together with her boyfriend Nick and her best friends, Thea is determined to find the Gemini Thief and the remaining boys before it’s too late. Only she’s beginning to wonder something sinister, something repulsive, something unbelievable, and yet, not impossible:What if her father is the Gemini Thief?

The June Boys Details

TitleThe June Boys
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 3rd, 2020
PublisherThomas Nelson
ISBN-139780785221906
Rating
GenreMystery, Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery Thriller

The June Boys Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    What an astonishing, captivating, complex, dark, dazzling, deep, dreary story!After you read its blurb you may imagine how a books story can affect you so deeply and put your emotions everywhere. Not easy to read, absorb for every reader! There is a Gemini thief out there taking three boys and holding them as his captivates from June 1st to the June 31th of the following year. He can be anyone. He can be she. Your pervert uncle, your lovely father, your talkative mother, your creepy teacher or What an astonishing, captivating, complex, dark, dazzling, deep, dreary story!After you read its blurb you may imagine how a book’s story can affect you so deeply and put your emotions everywhere. Not easy to read, absorb for every reader! There is a Gemini thief out there taking three boys and holding them as his captivates from June 1st to the June 31th of the following year. He can be anyone. He can be she. Your pervert uncle, your lovely father, your talkative mother, your creepy teacher or the salesman who tried to convince you buy bibles. The thief is smart, never leaving traces, keeping his identity disguised.I loved balanced, honest, genuine relationships and deep bond between the characters. All of them were well-rounded and relatable characters. I loved Thea, Nick, Aulus, Gladys and Tank.At some parts the story moved back and forth too many times which was a little confusing so I went back to read some pages again to make sure I didn’t get any wrong assumptions. But this is brave, dark, unique, gripping book questioning everyone’s motives and confuses the hell of you. This one also killed my spider senses and I couldn’t find the identity of this vicious, terrifying thief.It was fresh, brand new, different approach, I love YA thrillers. And this book is one of the best examples of them.Special thanks to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for sharing this incredible book’s ARC COPY in exchange my honest review. For a long time this brilliant author’s “Four Three Two One” is on my tbr list and I should get this book into my hands sooner because I enjoyed her creative writing.bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    January 1, 1970
    I have read and loved a few Courtney Stevens books in the past so I expected to feel the same about this one, but that was so not the case. This was.. extremely disappointing :( The story was SO hard to follow and I kept tripping myself up because it is told in a somewhat nonlinear format but I didn't realize that until right at the very end and it was so damn confusing. I also feel like the ending had no grounding in the plot and came completely out of nowhere (not in a good way). Honestly I have read and loved a few Courtney Stevens books in the past so I expected to feel the same about this one, but that was so not the case. This was.. extremely disappointing :( The story was SO hard to follow and I kept tripping myself up because it is told in a somewhat nonlinear format but I didn't realize that until right at the very end and it was so damn confusing. I also feel like the ending had no grounding in the plot and came completely out of nowhere (not in a good way). Honestly y'all I desperately wanted to love this one but so much of it just.. didn't make sense and I am SAD.
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    **3.5-stars**The Gemini Thief is a serial kidnapper who has haunted the state of Tennessee for the past decade. Every year, without an apparent pattern, three boys are taken, kept for a year and then released.When the body of one of the missing boys is discovered, however, it is assumed that the Thief has escalated. He has never killed before. Was it an accident? Either way, authorities and citizens alike become desperate to get the bottom of the mystery.Thea Delacroix has been seriously hunting **3.5-stars**The Gemini Thief is a serial kidnapper who has haunted the state of Tennessee for the past decade. Every year, without an apparent pattern, three boys are taken, kept for a year and then released.When the body of one of the missing boys is discovered, however, it is assumed that the Thief has escalated. He has never killed before. Was it an accident? Either way, authorities and citizens alike become desperate to get the bottom of the mystery.Thea Delacroix has been seriously hunting the Thief ever since her cousin, Aulus, disappeared. Not everyone believes she is correct that he is one of the Thief's victims, but she knows in her heart it's true. Aulus would not have left of his own volition. Unfortunately for Thea, she begins to suspect her own father may be the one responsible. His eccentricities definitely make it possible for him to be the culprit everyone is searching for.What should she do?The story follows Thea and her closest friends as they investigate her father and follow leads in an effort to find the missing boys.Interspersed throughout the narrative are letters written from her cousin, Aulus, during his captivity. These are penned, The Elizabeth Letters.Through the letters we get a glimpse of how dire the situation is for the boys remaining in the Thief's grasp.A couple of things to note: there were some pretty series formatting issues with the e-ARC that I read. Particularly during The Elizabeth Letters, text was so jumbled, it was hard to tell what was supposed to go where.With this being said, it made this one a little hard to rate. I am sure those issues have been cleared up in the final copy, but I personally haven't actually read a final copy.Therefore, I am basing my rating on what I know this story to be: well written and intense.I thought the writing was very good and the intensity was high throughout. There are aspects that are hard to read. It is dark and the author doesn't shy away from showing how desperate the boys in captivity are.I also wouldn't say it is uplifting, however, there is a message of hope, higher power and meaning. In my opinion, it was a solid YA Mystery/Thriller, best enjoyed by individuals who like their stories to go dark and stay there.While not for everyone, I personally enjoyed this. I have a feeling if I would have read a finished copy, as opposed to the ARC, I would have ended up giving this a solid 4-stars.Thank you so much to the publisher, Thomas Nelson, for providing me with a copy to read and review. Regardless of the formatting issues, I did have a good time reading The June Boys.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Well, that's disappointing.Part of the reason this was so difficult to read is because of the same issue that multiple other readers stated in their reviews-the formatting of this e-arc is almost unreadable. There are random pictures inserted in the middle of words, creating a jumbled mess and disrupted flow. The story itself started out strongly, but proceeded to slog in the middle, with an ending that left too many unanswered questions and seemed to pull a reveal out of thin air. I think the Well, that's disappointing.Part of the reason this was so difficult to read is because of the same issue that multiple other readers stated in their reviews-the formatting of this e-arc is almost unreadable. There are random pictures inserted in the middle of words, creating a jumbled mess and disrupted flow. The story itself started out strongly, but proceeded to slog in the middle, with an ending that left too many unanswered questions and seemed to pull a reveal out of thin air. I think the idea behind this story is stellar, and I would happily try another book by this author, but I think overall this one just wasn't for me. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy via NetGalley.
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    Many thanks to Allison at Thomas Nelson for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest reviewNo rating because I just wasn't feeling this one right now. I probably will pick it up again at some point.-------------[10/17/2019] - thank all that is good and holy. they changed the cover------------- omgomgomgomgomgomgomgomgomg| Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | LinkedIn | YouTube | Instagram
    more
  • Mara YA Mood Reader
    January 1, 1970
    01/18/2020 Im here because Nilufer said dark and dreary and other beautiful dark describing words and Im just*gothic heart eyes* 01/18/2020 I’m here because Nilufer said dark and dreary and other beautiful dark describing words and I’m just—*gothic heart eyes*
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    January 1, 1970
    The Gemini Thief could be anyone. representation: black side characters, ermmm i think that's it[trigger warnings are listed at the bottom of this review and may contain spoilers]✧゚: ✧゚: 2 . 5 s t a r s :゚✧:゚✧I received an e-arc from netgalley, but since hearing that the arc is quite different to the finished copy, I decided to wait and listen to the audiobook and I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed the female narrator, but the male narrator who was supposed to be narrating a teenagers voice “The Gemini Thief could be anyone.” representation: black side characters, ermmm i think that's it[trigger warnings are listed at the bottom of this review and may contain spoilers]✧·゚: ✧·゚: 2 . 5 s t a r s :·゚✧:·゚✧I received an e-arc from netgalley, but since hearing that the arc is quite different to the finished copy, I decided to wait and listen to the audiobook and I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed the female narrator, but the male narrator who was supposed to be narrating a teenagers voice sounded like a 45 year old man, which was weird. I also can't imagine how reading the ARC would have gone, seeing people having so many issues with the formatting of it and how jumbled the content seemed to be, however, the finished copy was still super confusing because of one main thing. There's two parts to the story, the first part being the main character Thea's narration of what happens when her and her friends try to investigate the kidnappings and find her missing cousin, and then there's letters placed sporadically throughout the novel from the perspective of her missing cousin, and in these letters, a character called Tank appears and he's also in the main story as well, so it seems that he's in two places at once which is impossible and hard to comprehend. Basically, even though we see letters throughout the entire book, these letters only take place towards the end of the main story, if that makes sense. So Tank isn't actually in two places at once. He's in the main story in the beginning, and then involved in the letters towards the end of the story. I have no idea if what I just wrote made any sense at all haha but hopefully that clears things up for some readers who are currently super confused like I was! The mystery itself of who the Gemini Thief actually was, I thought was done really well! It had me on the edge of my seat and constantly guessing and I kept changing my mind on who I thought it was! Buuuuuut that's where the positives end for me unfortunately. I didn't really enjoy any other aspect of it. It was confusing, the characters overall seemed quite flat and one-dimensional and I found myself not really connecting to any aspect of the story. Quite disappointing, but A+ for the mystery aspect! trigger warnings: captivity, starvation, kidnapping, guns, gunshot wounds, blood, family members being imprisoned. Thank you to NetGalley & Thomas Nelson for the review copy!
    more
  • Melanie (mells_view)
    January 1, 1970
    Careful with that hope, he said.Careful with that doubt, I retorted.I was worried about this one after reading reviews, but I actually ended up enjoying The June Boys. The story is like a darker Nancy Drew. A large cast of characters with a few main ones. One being a victim whose POV is shown mostly through letters, and the other being the one trying to solve the Gemini kidnapping whodunit. The start is a bit of an info dump, and the middle is a bit of a drag, but the last third of the book is ”Careful with that hope,” he said.“Careful with that doubt,” I retorted.I was worried about this one after reading reviews, but I actually ended up enjoying The June Boys. The story is like a darker Nancy Drew. A large cast of characters with a few main ones. One being a victim whose POV is shown mostly through letters, and the other being the one trying to solve the Gemini kidnapping whodunit. The start is a bit of an info dump, and the middle is a bit of a drag, but the last third of the book is entertaining and it outweighs any of the negatives for me. It’s real life scary and emotional and I loved that.While I do agree with other reviewers of the ebook copy, the formatting was quite a bit distracting. I think certain parts of this story were confusing and less impactful because you’re distracted by images of paper. I’d love to see what these notes actually look like in the final book, because I think they will be a cool addition and have the intended effect!Monsters don’t always look like monsters on the outside, and maybe they’re not always monsters,...If you’re looking for a YA thriller that’s like a Nancy Drew and Criminal Minds love child, then I highly recommend this story.Available March 3rd!*ARC
    more
  • Fiona
    January 1, 1970
    The June Boys is simultaneously devastating, captivating, and edge-of-my-seat thrilling; I read it on the heels of a book I absolutely loved, and not only did it not disappoint, it held it's own.So the blurb pretty much captures what's going on here - every year (mostly), three boys are taken from rural areas in the Southern US, held for a year by the anonymous Gemini Thief (minor quibble; he changes about halfway through the book to Welder but apparently has also been that all along), and then The June Boys is simultaneously devastating, captivating, and edge-of-my-seat thrilling; I read it on the heels of a book I absolutely loved, and not only did it not disappoint, it held it's own.So the blurb pretty much captures what's going on here - every year (mostly), three boys are taken from rural areas in the Southern US, held for a year by the anonymous Gemini Thief (minor quibble; he changes about halfway through the book to Welder but apparently has also been that all along), and then returned. Thea's cousin has been taken, but as a fourth; and she's doing her best to both find him and prove he's another victim. First and foremost, the writing is just delicious. I read maybe a sentence of this book before requesting the galley, and I'm happy to report the quality is consistently fantastic throughout. Each word feels well-chosen, polished and placed in order, but so organic that when the whole thing comes together it feels like it's found the place it was always meant to be. There's a really luscious quality to this book, and I could happily re-read it right now just for the pleasure of those beautiful sentences.The story itself captured me too, it's not just a work of art with beautiful sentences saying nothing that ever matters; no, the emotional factors at play here feel real and raw, people bouncing off each other and finding comfort in turns. This is a fantastic book, and I had a wonderful time. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher, I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Alaina
    January 1, 1970
    I have received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.The June Boys was a wild ass ride. Beyond crazy and I honestly didn't know who was the actual suspect until the very end. Heck, my mind is still blown from it all. The Gemini Thief definitely kept my on my freaking toes/sitting on the edge of my seat throughout the entire thing.Ugh, it was so freaking good. I loved getting to meet all the characters throughout this book. Then there's the twists and turns in each chapter. I have received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.The June Boys was a wild ass ride. Beyond crazy and I honestly didn't know who was the actual suspect until the very end. Heck, my mind is still blown from it all. The Gemini Thief definitely kept my on my freaking toes/sitting on the edge of my seat throughout the entire thing.Ugh, it was so freaking good. I loved getting to meet all the characters throughout this book. Then there's the twists and turns in each chapter. Seriously, don't fall into the convenient trap because I almost did multiple times. It was slowly starting to kill me because I was second guessing myself and everyone in this damn book.In the end, definitely enjoyed everything about this! So happy I got the opportunity to read this book and I look forward to another book by this author!
    more
  • Mandi1082
    January 1, 1970
    When Thea's cousin Aulus comes up missing she wonders if he is part of the June Boys who the Gemini Thief has taken captured. As the mystery starts unfolding Thea starts to feel like maybe her dad has something to do with it. Thea will do anything to find out who has taken her cousin. The story was a good concept. I liked the beginning but I felt like I never connected with any of the characters and I felt the story start to drag for me. It took me a little longer to get through the book. I just When Thea's cousin Aulus comes up missing she wonders if he is part of the June Boys who the Gemini Thief has taken captured. As the mystery starts unfolding Thea starts to feel like maybe her dad has something to do with it. Thea will do anything to find out who has taken her cousin. The story was a good concept. I liked the beginning but I felt like I never connected with any of the characters and I felt the story start to drag for me. It took me a little longer to get through the book. I just want to say thank you Netgalley and Thomas Nelson for a copy of this ARC for an honest review.
    more
  • Museofnyxmares
    January 1, 1970
    *I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.I was really looking forward to this book, because the synopsis sounded so amazing. Therefore, I was extremely disappointed when I found myself struggling. It wasn't that far in when I realised, that this wasn't going to be the book I thought it was going to be. One of the most off putting things, was that there was actual formatting issues with the book. There were some pages with *I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.I was really looking forward to this book, because the synopsis sounded so amazing. Therefore, I was extremely disappointed when I found myself struggling. It wasn't that far in when I realised, that this wasn't going to be the book I thought it was going to be. One of the most off putting things, was that there was actual formatting issues with the book. There were some pages with illustrations inserted into the story, but they didn't show properly, with bits cut off or in random places. I think that I would of enjoyed the book more if these images had been displayed properly.Another issue I had in regards to formatting, was that there were sections in the novel that consisted of letters that a character had written. I did enjoy some of the letters, however, a lot of writing in the letters were in a jumbled order and it was extremely hard to read them. There were also gaps in the writing and sentences talking about one thing, would suddenly start talking about something else. It was extremely distracting and snapped me out of the story. It was very difficult to get through the whole book.A big part of whether I enjoy a book or not, depends on the characters. The characters in this were quite disappointing, they didn't really have anything unique about them or have any likeable qualities. I didn't form any attachment to any character, which is quite unusual for me. The only character that really stood out to me was Tank, I liked him the most, as he seemed to have a bit more about him compare to the others. Another reason Tank stood out though, was because he was a poc, and while I love diversity, it didn't really work for me here. It just felt really forced every time it was pointed out how he's viewed differently because of his race. Like when something happens and Tank begins to get angry in front of a room of white officers and his friend reminds him to keep a lid on his anger because he's black. And then it makes a point of saying that he doesn't ever need reminding of this fact. And then later on, someone basically compares people coming to terms with someone they know being accused of being a murderer, to those same people coming to terms with Tank being black because they live in the South.The story itself wasn't as entertaining as I thought it would be and didn't have me hooked like most thrillers do. There was a lack of build up and suspense, so in the end I wanted to just hurry up and find out who the Gemini Thief was, because I wasn't enjoying it. It all felt very anticlimactic and I wasn't really that impressed with who the thief turned out to be, it was just quite underwhelming. And once I found out who it was, there were certain things that didn't make sense. The Gemini Thief was such a great idea, but it wasn't executed that well unfortunately.
    more
  •  Amelia
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds like something straight out of a Criminal Minds episode and I'm digging it
  • Gerardine Betancourt
    January 1, 1970
    This is my first book by Courtney Stevens so I didn't know what to expect. The Gemini Thief is a person who has been kidnapping young boys in the state of Tennessee for the past 10 years.Thea's cousin, Aulus is missing and all clues start to feel that her dad has to do with the disappearances. Thea with the help of her friends will try to discover who is the Gemini thief before it's too late for the boys.I must start by saying that it was super difficult for me to read this e-arc because of the This is my first book by Courtney Stevens so I didn't know what to expect. The Gemini Thief is a person who has been kidnapping young boys in the state of Tennessee for the past 10 years.Thea's cousin, Aulus is missing and all clues start to feel that her dad has to do with the disappearances. Thea with the help of her friends will try to discover who is the Gemini thief before it's too late for the boys.I must start by saying that it was super difficult for me to read this e-arc because of the format. In my opinion, the story seemed a bit slow to me. Halfway through the book I only cared about Aulus and his friends. The main characters were disappointing as I never felt a connection to them.The best and strong part of the book was the ending, it was unexpected and entertaining with a lot of plot twist that made me cry at 3 a.m. in the morning. 3.5 starsThanks to Netgalley and Thomas Nelson for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bridgette
    January 1, 1970
    I think I have unexpectedly found one of my favorite books of the year! The June Boys took me by surprise. When I was reading The June Boys, I didnt feel like a reader: I felt like Theas friend. When I wasnt reading it, I was thinking about it. The Gemini Thief kidnaps young boys on June 1st and returns them alive on June 30th of the following year. This has been going on for a quite a while in the Tennessee and Kentucky area. This year, Theas cousin Aulus was kidnapped. Thea is understandably I think I have unexpectedly found one of my favorite books of the year! The June Boys took me by surprise. When I was reading The June Boys, I didn’t feel like a reader: I felt like Thea’s friend. When I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it. The Gemini Thief kidnaps young boys on June 1st and returns them alive on June 30th of the following year. This has been going on for a quite a while in the Tennessee and Kentucky area. This year, Thea’s cousin Aulus was kidnapped. Thea is understandably devastated. She and her group of friends spend their senior year of high school trying to figure out The Gemini Thief’s identity in an effort to get their friend back. By the time May arrives, Thea is beginning to suspect her father is The Gemini Thief. All mystery/thriller fans need to have The June Boys on their radar. I am usually able to guess the culprit well before the big reveal. Not in this case! That’s not to say the author didn’t lead a trail of breadcrumbs, so to speak. She did, but she was very clever about it. The book is also narrated in first person by two different adolescent narrators, Thea and Aulus, which was a great choice for this story. Instead of exhibiting overblown teenage angst, it instead enhanced the narrative by filtering events through the eyes of two young, inexperienced people. It was so refreshing! The June Boys would not have been the same if Ms. Stevens had chosen a detective to be the narrator. I felt like I was part of Thea’s gang of friends, sifting through information and trying to separate the wheat from the chaff. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started The June Boys, but now Court Stevens is on my radar. I will be reading more of her work!*Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Courtney Stevens
    January 1, 1970
    It is my privilege and pleasure to welcome you to The June Boys. I hope you wreck your brains wondering Who is the Gemini Thief? and Will Thea find the boys before they die? and when you reach the end, I hope you are deeply satisfied by the answers Ive written for you. Books are supposed to be entertaining. But sometimes books are more than just entertainment. They certainly were for me. Theres no good reason for a middle class white kid who grew up in rural Kentucky to have been lonelybut I It is my privilege and pleasure to welcome you to The June Boys. I hope you wreck your brains wondering “Who is the Gemini Thief?” and “Will Thea find the boys before they die?” and when you reach the end, I hope you are deeply satisfied by the answers I’ve written for you. Books are supposed to be entertaining. But sometimes books are more than just entertainment. They certainly were for me. There’s no good reason for a middle class white kid who grew up in rural Kentucky to have been lonely—but I was. Books helped me reconcile my identity and loneliness. I can’t tell you my relief to discover I was 1/3 Anne Shirley, 1/3 Jo March, and 1/3 Iggie Threadgoode. I needed those girls, those characters, and I never forget them when I set out to write.In The June Boys, you’ll meet characters experiencing various types of captivity. They’re stuck. Some because they’re grieving. Some because they’re obsessed. Some because of abuse. Some because they desperately need to know “Why bad things happen?” Some are physically trapped. Unfortunately, that reality extends beyond fiction. Readers, some of you feel stuck in your houses, your relationships, your futures, your finances, your loneliness, your jobs, your spinning brains and wild emotions. You want something to change or maybe even someone to rescue you. As these characters go to war with their captivity, I hope and pray that you might also do battle with yours.I brought my stakes to The June Boys. You’ll bring yours. Reading is a collaboration of our imaginations. And whether you’re reading for entertainment or answers, I hope you understand your existence in the world makes my world better. If no one else thanks you for that today, I will. Thank you for being you.Now, go be kind, loving, revolutionary humans who change the world!
    more
  • Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsThe June Boys captivated me until the end. Once I was hooked to the story and mystery, I couldn't put it down! I needed to know what was going on. And now that I've finished it, I can't say the "who did it" really surprised me but this book was one wild journey and I just loved it.If you're wondering, The June Boys is a story about three boys being kidnapped on June 1st every year (or every couple of years) and are being released after a year of captivity by "the Gemina thief". We don't 4.5 starsThe June Boys captivated me until the end. Once I was hooked to the story and mystery, I couldn't put it down! I needed to know what was going on. And now that I've finished it, I can't say the "who did it" really surprised me but this book was one wild journey and I just loved it.If you're wondering, The June Boys is a story about three boys being kidnapped on June 1st every year (or every couple of years) and are being released after a year of captivity by "the Gemina thief". We don't know who is doing it or why but after the abduction of her cousin, Thea is determined to get to the bottom of it. When all proof is pointing toward people she loves, she doesn't know who to trust. I cried toward the end and the twist revealed concerning Aulus was heartbreaking and I just wanted to take him in my arms to give him a hug. The poor guy clearly needed one after everything that happened. (Thank you for letting me read and review an ARC via Netgalley)
    more
  • Shannon (It Starts At Midnight)
    January 1, 1970
    You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight 4.5*True story, I have never read a Courtney Stevens book I didn't love. That's it, that's the review.I jest. Seriously though, this was another hit in a long line of fabulous books. The June Boys is a gripping mystery, but it's also a lot more. It's such a love letter to friendship and family bonds, and asks the really hard questions. Like what would you do if you thought your family You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight 4.5*True story, I have never read a Courtney Stevens book I didn't love. That's it, that's the review.I jest. Seriously though, this was another hit in a long line of fabulous books. The June Boys is a gripping mystery, but it's also a lot more. It's such a love letter to friendship and family bonds, and asks the really hard questions. Like what would you do if you thought your family member might be capable of kidnapping boys every few Junes?This, along with her own cousin/close friend Aulus being potentially one of the kidnapped, has Thea in a real bad spot. Not only is she absolutely freaking out over her missing cousin, but her own father has been listed as a suspect. And there's the rub: He has been lying to Thea all over the place, so she has no idea who she can trust at this point.So this book was, like I said, far more than just a whodunit. Thea has such a deep and complex story to tell, and we get to see her story develop with her best friends and boyfriend, too. They support her so much through this, and are great characters in their own right.There were a few points in the middle that seemed maybe a little long? But for the most part, it moved along nicely, and I was constantly trying to guess who the baddie was. For a few minutes, I was sure I had the culprit. (Spoiler: I was wrong. So wrong.) But I was engaged throughout, and couldn't wait to read the outcome.We even get little glimpses into Aulus's traumatic time in captivity, as he writes letters to Elizabeth Smart. Now, if you are reading an eARC like I was, these will look like mushy rubbish that you cannot decipher. Good news, when I got a physical ARC, they are readable, and I definitely think they add something to the story- especially if you know Elizabeth's story, as Aulus does, and commiserates with. (I assume that obviously finished copies will be fine, I don't know about finished ebooks though?) Bottom Line: The June Boys is thought provoking, full of love and mystery and intrigue, full of what we lose and what we have yet to find.
    more
  • Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
    January 1, 1970
    Thea's cousin, Aulus, disappeared a year ago. The police said runaway, but Thea knew better. Aul was take by the Gemini Thief/Welder. Thea, her boyfriend, Nick, her best friend, Gladys, and friend, Tank, decided that they would study the case and find Aul. The Gemini Thief started taking boys in 2001. One June 1st, three boys disappear. They're kept in an underground bunker until June 30th of the following year and then released. The boys didn't see their captor's face because they wore a Thea's cousin, Aulus, disappeared a year ago. The police said runaway, but Thea knew better. Aul was take by the Gemini Thief/Welder. Thea, her boyfriend, Nick, her best friend, Gladys, and friend, Tank, decided that they would study the case and find Aul. The Gemini Thief started taking boys in 2001. One June 1st, three boys disappear. They're kept in an underground bunker until June 30th of the following year and then released. The boys didn't see their captor's face because they wore a welders mask. There is a dormant year or two and then it starts over. The boys taken became known as June Boys. Things change that year when a child was found dead and dumped off the road. This boy had a key chain in his mouth. There were only two keys like that made. Thea had one. Aul had the other. Thea's father had given them the keys. This changes everything and Thea needs to start looking into her dad and everyone around her."The Gemini Thief could be anyone. Your father, your mother, your best friend's crazy uncle."Thea's father had been going to Canada for the past ten years. But that was a lie. He was actually building a castle after being told by a higher power that he needed to. None of it made sense and he became obsessive about finishing it. He makes a good suspect, especially when Thea and Nick find a receipt from the night the boy was dumped. Nick's sister, Dana, is an FBI agent and she's involved in the case. While she doesn't tell the kids everything, she does share some details with them. She sees all the research they've done and they know the case well. The book takes place late May into June. Some chapters are "Dear Elizabeth" letters that Aul is writing. The Welder left them and the boys have no food or water. They realized that the Welder isn't coming back and they are going to die underground somewhere and never be found. The June Boys is a pretty dark book that makes you realize that you don't know everyone around you. Who can you trust? People aren't all good or all bad. I gave this book 4 stars. Thank you to the publisher for my copy for review.Warnings for kidnapping, death of a child, absent parents, mental issues, starving and dehydration, talk of suicide.
    more
  • lena ☀️
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing me with this ARC for review!If you're looking for a mystery that won't scare you and leave you afraid in your own home then this is a perfect pick! Typically that is just what I need, I need an interesting twist and low scare factor bc I ~have an anxiety disorder~ already and don't need more reasons to be scared every second. This didn't have that interesting twist for me though, there wasn't space for us to guess who it could have been because the Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing me with this ARC for review!If you're looking for a mystery that won't scare you and leave you afraid in your own home then this is a perfect pick! Typically that is just what I need, I need an interesting twist and low scare factor bc I ~have an anxiety disorder~ already and don't need more reasons to be scared every second. This didn't have that interesting twist for me though, there wasn't space for us to guess who it could have been because the narrative dragged us from suspect to suspect without giving us enough information about the other people. I'm sure you could have guessed the twist but it would have been just that, a guess. If you're looking for something not too hard to get through, pick this up. Maybe listen to the audiobook!
    more
  • Greyson | Use Your Words
    January 1, 1970
    Content Warnings: Abuse: kidnapping, neglect, death of a minor.Representation: African-American side characterYoure telling me that its not every teen girls dream of having her own castle??? Sounds fake. Dad called after me, Youre missing the point. We own a castle. And then another time with joyful oomph. We own a castle. Okay so maybe that intro is burying the lead a little.Someone is stealing boys in Tennessee only to give them back after a year.Except this time one of the boys has been Content Warnings: Abuse: kidnapping, neglect, death of a minor.Representation: African-American side characterYou’re telling me that it’s not every teen girl’s dream of having her own castle??? Sounds fake. Dad called after me, “You’re missing the point. We own a castle.” And then another time with joyful oomph. “We own a castle.” Okay so maybe that intro is burying the lead a little.Someone is stealing boys in Tennessee only to give them back after a year.Except this time one of the boys has been found dead and Thea is determined to find out who it is and get her cousin Aulus back before it’s too late, even if the thief turns out to be her own father. Who, by the way, happens to have been building a castle and keeping it a secret for the past 10 years. Basically every father figure in Thea’s life—and there are many—has been lying to her. For someone with a castle, Thea’s got it pretty rough. The Gemini Thief could be anyone.Your father, your mother, your best friend’s crazy uncle.Some country music star’s deranged sister. Anyone.Someone is stealing Tennesse’s boys.Report suspicious behavior. Wildwood is filled with a whole lot of suspicious af uncles and exhausted feds. And somewhere, possibly nearby, somebody is holding three boys in a basement against their will.It’s like every other small town you read in a contemporary novel: People aren’t very progressive in their beliefs, and they’ll quickly paint whoever they deem weird as the monster behind the kidnappings. If you’re different than you’re the dangerous one. Have you noticed hates often easy when it should be hard and hard when it should be easy? I thoroughly enjoyed the way this book was told. I love getting multiple perspectives, especially ones provided in a different format. In The June Boys, the story is mostly told from Thea’s POV in the normal first-person style but then we get the other perspective from Aulus in letter’s he writes to Elizabeth Smart—a real-life kidnapping survivor who has gone on to become a child safety activist. But that wasn’t even my favourite part of these letters. Out there, you lose someone and life slips into your empty places the way rain fills low places in the yard. Down here, four people are the whole world. You lose one and it’s a hole in the dam, water flooding in all the time. They’re so raw and true to Aulus’s experiences and what I imagine it would be like if these were real-life circumstances. Aulus has been cut off from the world for a long time and left to be a big brother/parental figure to these kids he’s living in isolation with. That’s a whole world of weight on a teenage boys shoulders in an environment that would break anyone down.My heart broke with every letter, reading how much worse things are getting for these boys while Aulus still tried to remain hopeful for the sake of others.Be warned though, the letters are kind of non-linear with Thea’s POV so it takes a little while to get a handle on when it’s all happening but I enjoyed that. If you struggle or straight-up dislike/hate non-linear story-telling then this book probably isn’t for you. Luckily for me, I love that kind of story-telling so it was one of my favourite parts of this book! None of those stories told me there’d come a day when I’d count the lock on my door as a cruel irony. Because here’s the real truth: you can’t keep darkness out if he has a key. I know that for some people reading the digital ARC the formatting of the letters was really bad and made it hard to follow but I think that comes down to whatever program/app you’re using to read it. I tried Kindle first but it was a mess, as it usually is with any book that isn’t traditionally formatted (its awful with poetry ARCs too) so then I gave Digital Editions a try and it was perfect. If you put this down because the formatting made it too hard to read I want to let you know that you still have time! It won’t be archived from Netgalley until May so download the protected PDF and open it on Digital Editions! “When you’re eighteen, love is starlight in your pocket. For some people starlight’s a gift, and for others it’s a fire that needs putting out.” I do think the story needed a little more??? Something?It wasn’t as fast-paced as I would have liked. While I looked forward to my bus rides where I got time to read The June Boys, I didn’t feel compelled to read it outside of that time I have set aside because I wasn’t as desperate to know what would happen next. For me, that’s the best indicator of if a great book is a 4 or 5 star read. I mean I definitely did read it outside of my bus trips but that was more because I was reading this book as part of a readathon and I wanted to finish it before it came to an end. I don’t have room for . . . I don’t know what it is I don’t have room for. Sometimes I’m afraid it’s happiness. 🔖 If you would like a free phone wallpaper created by yours truly, stay till the end of this post where you’ll find a link to download TWO!I’ve already gushed about Aulus, so what about Thea?She also felt very real to me. The kind of paranoia that would build up when the people you love keep disappearing on you—and for Thea that is quite literal—is overwhelming to say the least. She starts to question if she can trust her dad, her uncles, her godparents, her boyfriend’s fed sister… Those are pretty much all the adults in her life who she no longer trusts.But she is determined and incredibly loyal to Aulus. She can’t even picture living a normal life with Aulus gone.She’s willing to give up any resemblance of a future she might have dreamed for herself before his disappearance, in pursuit of getting her cousin back.But Thea and Aulus aren’t the only characters I fell in love within this book. “I know that look.” He tucks a wet rope of hair around my ear. “You’ve got Joan of Arc in your eyes. You need to be careful.” Thea’s boyfriend Nick is pragmatic and logical but is always willing to suspend his belief to listen to whatever wild theory Thea has cooked up in her paranoid brain.More importantly, he encourages her to break down her theories to the facts so she can more clearly analyse if her theories hold weight.While being logical in a challenging situation is incredibly useful, Nick is also empathetic and always does his best to make sure Thea is looking after herself. He tries to look out for her without stomping all over her independence, which I appreciate. I am thinking about the question she asked—Will you hold me for a second?—the ease with which she asked for help and the ease with which I not only could do what she asked, but also needed what she asked for. I hope no one ever tells Gladys about basements and keys. Gladys is just the sweetest, most precious friend a girl could have. But she’s also sharp and fiercely protective too.It would have been so easy to make her one or the other, but instead, we get a well rounded snarky, soft best friend who is trying her best to support and help Thea while also being heartbroken at losing her friend too. “Swear,” he says. “Swear to me right now that your dad never hurt you. That you’re telling us the whole truth. Swear you won’t protect him over yourself.”I am careful not to blink. “Never, Tank. Never.” Tank is kind of guy you want in your corner. He’s all emotion and he just gets it.He feels everything Thea is feeling with her and I can guarantee he would burn the whole world down if it meant protecting the people he loves. He knows what his friends need in the moment and gives it to them no matter how crazy it might seem.Other than Aulus, I think I have the biggest soft spot for Tank. He’s so endearing and passionate and protective that it’s hard not to love him. In a way, he reminded me of Ronan from The Raven Cycle, ya know, if Ronan wasn’t an asshole and let himself show how much he actually gives a shit. Say what you want about my dad, he’s got vision and tenacity. I’ve loved those qualities, coveted them, but now . . . they feel like shadows on a moonlit walk. Maybe nothing. Maybe wolves. One last character I want to focus on is Don, Thea’s father.He’s set up as the town’s ‘crazy guy’ and for the longest time, I was wondering why everyone is always labelling him crazy??? I didn’t get it.So he decided to build a castle? If you have the means why the fuck not??? Is he super focused on it and in turn neglecting his daughter? Sure! But that doesn’t make him crazy, that just makes him a bad parent.Uhhh…. Raise your hand if you have issues with hyper fixation.I mean, I still wouldn’t call him crazy, he’s simply a man with a vision, hyperfixation and terrible parenting instincts. It’s always this way for me: class five emotions followed by deep cravings for intimacy followed by fear. I don’t know if it’s that way for everyone else or if I just have a talent for whiplash. On top of some great, dynamic characters, The June Boys builds incredibly intricate friendships and family dynamics.The relationships between all these characters were complex and fascinating and felt incredibly real.The details of each relationship aren’t handed to us on a silver platter, they’re slowly threaded through the story with fine silk, weaving a spiderweb-like blanket of connections between the people of Wildwood. Does it really matter which of my father figures is the Thief? I’m fatherless anyway. Something I really appreciated was how The June Boys highlights issues surrounding neglect.A lot of people fail to see just how damaging neglect can be on the lowest end of the scale. Sure Thea is fed and clothed and has a roof over her head but she doesn’t have a father or mother to run to when she’s struggling and hurting and that’s been the case for her for a long time.Aulus spent his life missing a father who didn’t deserve him, clinging to any father figure he could find to fill the gap.These kinds of cases of neglect are often forgotten and brushed off. A lot of the times they’re not recognised as abuse at all and I appreciate The June Boys for shining a light on that.(view spoiler)[Monsters don’t always look like monsters on the outside, and maybe they’re not always monsters, but this is a horrific thing Ruby has done, and done, and done, and done. Boys are dead. On the other end of the spectrum, the boys who are kidnapped are kidnapped because they’re being neglected and Ruby, as someone who’s experienced the worst type of abuse and neglect, sees what’s happening to them and wants to fix it.She’s taking these boys away from parents she feels don’t deserve them so that they’ll appreciate their sons and treat them well once they get them back. Even if it means risking having to severely neglect them, worse than their parents did, in the process of trying not to get caught.It’s super fucked up but I get the logic behind it. And The June Boys does a great job of showing why that would make sense to Ruby and at the same time not at all supporting her actions. (hide spoiler)] “You’re the daughter of the prime suspect. Nothing good will come from other victims’ families laying eyes on you.”I hold in the building scream: I am a victim’s family member! The only reason this book isn’t 5 stars for me is because it didn’t give me that unstoppable drive to find out what happens next. I still was anxious to know but I didn’t have that hunger for it like I have with other thrillers. But despite that, this book had a lot of stand-outs and for me the ones I’ll remember most are the characters, their relationships with each other and the way it handled neglect and abuse.Each character was so fleshed out and real that I never questioned if there were people like them that existed in the real world. The relationships were fascinating and I loved slowly discovering each connection. And The June Boys really highlighted how damaging all levels of neglect can be for a person. My dad has two children: me and this castle.And maybe three more in a basement and another nine he cast aside in Tennessee? 🔖 If you would like a FREE Phone Wallpaper that I created with quotes from this book you can find two here.— Thank you to Netgalley for providing me an advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest review.___│Blog│Instagram│Twitter│Tumblr│
    more
  • Andria Sedig
    January 1, 1970
    This book had such a strong start. As a fan of criminal minds, I loved the mental aspects of this thriller. I really enjoyed the concept of this book and was really enjoying this. However, the middle section of this book felt like a bit of a slog and was pretty slow. Not a whole lot happened. I also felt like the big reveal of who had done it felt almost too surprising, like there weren't enough clues to help the ending make sense. I found it a bit hard to connect with the characters which This book had such a strong start. As a fan of criminal minds, I loved the mental aspects of this thriller. I really enjoyed the concept of this book and was really enjoying this. However, the middle section of this book felt like a bit of a slog and was pretty slow. Not a whole lot happened. I also felt like the big reveal of who had done it felt almost too surprising, like there weren't enough clues to help the ending make sense. I found it a bit hard to connect with the characters which didn't help with that slower middle part as well.. It wasn't a terrible book, but it wasn't my favorite either.
    more
  • Sheila Goicea
    January 1, 1970
    I'm excited to be a part of the THE JUNE BOYS blog tour with The Fantastic Flying Book Club from March 3rd - March 9th, 2020!I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! In no way does this affect my rating or review.All included quotes have been taken from an ARC and may not match the finished publication. Content Warning: Kidnapping, Death of a minor, Imprisonment, Abandonment, Shooting by gun, Survival We live in a strange I'm excited to be a part of the THE JUNE BOYS blog tour with The Fantastic Flying Book Club from March 3rd - March 9th, 2020!I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! In no way does this affect my rating or review.All included quotes have been taken from an ARC and may not match the finished publication. Content Warning: Kidnapping, Death of a minor, Imprisonment, Abandonment, Shooting by gun, Survival We live in a strange world where women walk men to their vehicles, where we are worried their safety might be compromised before our own. June 1st is a feared date for young men. The Gemini Thief has kidnapped boys for a decade--always on June 1st. After his disappearance, Thea believes that her cousin, Aulus McClaghen, had become one of the Thief’s captives. The boys are always returned home the following year on June 31st. That is, until one of the kidnapped boy’s body is found along the notorious highway where the kidnappings take place.The Gemini Thief is very good at what they do. They never leave tracks. They kidnap without a hitch. They do it all for…? Why would someone kidnap boys only to return them thirteen months later, for the most-part, unharmed? This mystery employs all matters of investigation when it comes down to uncovering the truth of their identity. Unfortunately for Thea Delacroix, she believes the kidnapper may be her father. You meet Noah after the flood, you think, That brave, faith-filled, visionary man. You meet him before and you’re like, What a nut job. Perspective and timing matter. Sometimes you have to accept that you might not be able to see the truth from here. As Thea partners up with her boyfriend Nick to uncover the truth behind the kidnappings, they also uncover strange secrets that Thea’s father has been keeping from Thea for years. Abandoned by her mother long ago, Thea’s father and his eccentricities has left her somewhat abandoned by him as well. The secrets and obsessions all begin to point to the true question, could he be the kidnapper?The June Boys reads like one big conversation--but not a pleasant one due to the content discussed. In truth, the e-ARC was not very reader-friendly, which hopefully won’t be the case with the completed Ebook (which I can’t imagine that won’t be formatted differently). The story is written in third person and alternates between the main character Thea, and “Dear Elizabeth” letters written by Aulus, Thea’s kidnapped cousin. The June Boys ultimately touches on several important aspects, but focuses on desires that emerge from past hurts combined with mental health, and how those desires can turn into something dangerous. Several important discussion starters are brought up throughout the entire investigation of this story, that I wish overall were delved into more deeply. When the kidnapper is revealed, the motivation behind the kidnapping is heart-wrenching and much more complex than someone looking for a twisted “thrill.” The discussion questions at the conclusion do offer the opportunity for deeper personal examination on some of the points touched on throughout the story. Overall, this riveting read offers a complex look at some of the most difficult scenarios life can throw at unsuspecting individuals.Vulgarity: None.Sexual content: Kissing.Violence: Minimal to Moderate considering the nature of the story.My Rating: ★★★My Blog ¦ Bookstagram ¦ Twitter ¦ Pinterest ¦ Facebook
    more
  • Fazila
    January 1, 1970
    Check out my blog for a full review. CLICK HEREFBRC REVIEW :DISCLAIMER : Thank you Netgalley and FFBC tours for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.The June Boys was an emotional rollercoaster for me. The book was masterfully crafted keeping you at the edge of your seats. It was a fantastic thriller with the mystery of the identity of the kidnapper a secret until the end. The book is in a non-linear format with the POVs of Thea and Aulus mixed together. It is Check out my blog for a full review. CLICK HEREFBRC REVIEW :DISCLAIMER : Thank you Netgalley and FFBC tours for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.The June Boys was an emotional rollercoaster for me. The book was masterfully crafted keeping you at the edge of your seats. It was a fantastic thriller with the mystery of the identity of the kidnapper a secret until the end. The book is in a non-linear format with the POVs of Thea and Aulus mixed together. It is confusing in the beginning but after continuing for a while it started making more sense. I was hooked from the beginning, a lot of strange characters who all are likely candidates for the kidnapper. The story is fascinating and heartbreaking at the same time. Aulus broke my heart, his letters were sad and sometimes hopeless. It makes you wonder how he managed to survive the ordeals. The twists and turns will keep you hooked and surprise you when the climax happens. I was unable to figure out who the kidnapper was and there were a lot of choices that were possible. Overall I think readers should give it a chance and once you get past the format you will be intrigued by the story. The characters were interesting mix and the way Thea dedicated her life and how she put on hold her dreams to find Aulus is truly admirable. Her doubts and questions regarding the people around her make things even more interesting. I gave the book 5 stars. I think the mystery and the thriller aspect of the book were on point. The writing is good, keeps you guessing till the end. The psychological impact of the kidnapping of the victims and the family were well described. The dark and twisted nature of the crime is so well crafted. I definitely recommend checking the book out and give the book a chance to tell you the story with its unconventional format. I enjoyed the format immensely and I think it makes the story stand out more.
    more
  • Taylor Bain
    January 1, 1970
    The formatting for the Elizabeth letters were messed up while reading on my iphone but my kindle was fine!WOW. i havent teared up to a book in a while. this one was good. This book was heavy but very easy to read and kept me guessing. I wasnt sure if I was going to enjoy it but im so glad i gave it a chance! Something that i really liked about this was that it wasnt violent, it didnt have all the gruesome things most kidnapping thrillers have. The twist caught me by surprise and i was happy with The formatting for the Elizabeth letters were messed up while reading on my iphone but my kindle was fine!WOW. i haven’t teared up to a book in a while. this one was good. This book was heavy but very easy to read and kept me guessing. I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy it but i’m so glad i gave it a chance! Something that i really liked about this was that it wasn’t violent, it didn’t have all the gruesome things most kidnapping thrillers have. The twist caught me by surprise and i was happy with the ending, it warmed my little quarantined heart!since the majority of books i “read” are audiobooks i gave myself an A-Z challenge to physically read at least one book for each letter in the alphabet.... this is J. and of course... quotes! -“you need people in your life who breathe the same way you do.”“honey sometimes you can’t tell a monsters a monster until it’s too late. and sometimes you will love a monster, and sometimes you’ll be related to a monster, and if that happens to you, you’re not stupid; you’re human, and love is still a good thing”“truth is spandex, facts are metal”
    more
  • Kelly Winters
    January 1, 1970
    I had received an e-arc of this from Netgalley (thank you!), but the format of the ebook was very poor and I was not able to finish it in that format. Once the book came out, I listened to the audiobook and ended up enjoying it.I liked how the mystery of the identity of the Gemini Thief was not easy to figure out. There were several suspects and all seemed possible. I also liked hearing from the perspective of the boys in captivity through letters. It added to the urgency and gave us a view of I had received an e-arc of this from Netgalley (thank you!), but the format of the ebook was very poor and I was not able to finish it in that format. Once the book came out, I listened to the audiobook and ended up enjoying it.I liked how the mystery of the identity of the Gemini Thief was not easy to figure out. There were several suspects and all seemed possible. I also liked hearing from the perspective of the boys in captivity through letters. It added to the urgency and gave us a view of how they were surviving.The only thing that brought the story down a little for me was that the main characters seemed to fall a bit flat. I didn't really feel anything for Thea, and I think that was because there was not much to her character other than the search for her cousin.
    more
  • Aly
    January 1, 1970
    This was so twisty and kept me wondering until the end! I loved that there were several suspects and misdirection. The letters Aulus wrote were a great insight into what was going on with the boys being held and how it affected their psyches. Thea was a good main character, she wasn't perfect but she cared about Aulus and dedicated herself to finding him. Having someone close to you be accused of something horrible and a lot of evidence against them was a great plot point. You think you know This was so twisty and kept me wondering until the end! I loved that there were several suspects and misdirection. The letters Aulus wrote were a great insight into what was going on with the boys being held and how it affected their psyches. Thea was a good main character, she wasn't perfect but she cared about Aulus and dedicated herself to finding him. Having someone close to you be accused of something horrible and a lot of evidence against them was a great plot point. You think you know someone and that they would never do that, but it can be hard to keep defending them and eventually you begin to question things. Fun, intriguing story with a couple great surprises!I received a complementary copy of this book. Opinions in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Katharina || traumrealistin
    January 1, 1970
    3,5⭐I was a little bit confused with the way this was told and I don't know if this was because I listend to the audiobook or if it just was confusing, so... But I still really liked the story itself, especially because I wasn't trusting anyone in this book which is always something I love and the ending was also pretty great. Maybe I would have liked it more if I've read it with my eyes and not listend to it but who knows. 3,5⭐️I was a little bit confused with the way this was told and I don't know if this was because I listend to the audiobook or if it just was confusing, so... But I still really liked the story itself, especially because I wasn't trusting anyone in this book which is always something I love and the ending was also pretty great. Maybe I would have liked it more if I've read it with my eyes and not listend to it but who knows.
    more
  • The Candid Cover (Olivia & Lori)
    January 1, 1970
    This synopsis sends shivers up my spine. I really love a great thriller and this one sets up an intriguing plot. I look forward to finding out what really happened to these boys.
  • Mark
    January 1, 1970
    I was looking forward to this book, and was slightly disappointed in it after reading it. The author's style of writing seemed rather disjointed to me, and I had trouble following it at some points. I liked the plot and some of the characters, but it was kind of a letdown This book is intended for young adult, so I was disappointed and disgusted at the use of hell for a curse word at least once, and at least one use of "pissed". These aren't the worst words to use, but are words Christians I was looking forward to this book, and was slightly disappointed in it after reading it. The author's style of writing seemed rather disjointed to me, and I had trouble following it at some points. I liked the plot and some of the characters, but it was kind of a letdown This book is intended for young adult, so I was disappointed and disgusted at the use of hell for a curse word at least once, and at least one use of "pissed". These aren't the worst words to use, but are words Christians shouldn't use, and definitely don't belong in a Christian novel for youth....but than Thomas Nelson has liked to push the envelope on language for several years now. I did like the climatic moment of the book - I won't do any spoilers......but it was very emotional.Will I read another book by this author? I doubt it.
    more
Write a review