Stranger in the Lake
Charlotte didn’t know her greatest risk was saying, “I do.”When Charlotte married the wealthy widower Paul, it caused a ripple of gossip in their small lakeside town. They have a charmed life together, despite the cruel whispers about her humble past and his first marriage. But everything starts to unravel when she discovers a young woman’s body floating in the exact same spot where Paul’s first wife tragically drowned.At first, it seems like a horrific coincidence, but the stranger in the lake is no stranger. Charlotte saw Paul talking to her the day before, even though Paul tells the police he’s never met the woman. His lie exposes cracks in their fragile new marriage, cracks Charlotte is determined to keep from breaking them in two. As Charlotte uncovers dark mysteries about the man she married, she doesn’t know what to trust—her heart, which knows Paul to be a good man, or her growing suspicion that there’s something he’s hiding in the water.

Stranger in the Lake Details

TitleStranger in the Lake
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 9th, 2020
PublisherPark Row
ISBN-139781488056314
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

Stranger in the Lake Review

  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    Kimberly Belle just never, ever disappoints.Jam packed with secrets, lies, misdirection and surprises this one had me literally dropping my jaw in a room by myself, looking around to see who else was shocked.The pacing was perfect, the characterizations were outstanding and the story was original, vibrant, and utterly gripping.I loved this one as much as Dear Wife and that is some seriously high praise.Thank you to Kimberly Belle, Park Row and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an Kimberly Belle just never, ever disappoints.Jam packed with secrets, lies, misdirection and surprises this one had me literally dropping my jaw in a room by myself, looking around to see who else was shocked.The pacing was perfect, the characterizations were outstanding and the story was original, vibrant, and utterly gripping.I loved this one as much as Dear Wife and that is some seriously high praise.Thank you to Kimberly Belle, Park Row and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Meh.Stranger in the Lake is a psychological thriller about a mysterious murder in a small town.Charlotte, a twenty-something gas station attendant from the wrong side of the tracks, finds her prince charming in Paul, a 37-year-old wealthy architect, whose first wife happened to die in a tragic accident. Some think Paul murdered his first wife, but Charlotte ignored the rumors and fell in love with her dream man. The age difference and Charlotte's upbringing fuel the gossip mill of their small to Meh.Stranger in the Lake is a psychological thriller about a mysterious murder in a small town.Charlotte, a twenty-something gas station attendant from the wrong side of the tracks, finds her prince charming in Paul, a 37-year-old wealthy architect, whose first wife happened to die in a tragic accident. Some think Paul murdered his first wife, but Charlotte ignored the rumors and fell in love with her dream man. The age difference and Charlotte's upbringing fuel the gossip mill of their small town. When another woman winds up dead in the same spot Paul’s first wife was found, questions about Paul’s role in the murder have Charlotte questioning the man she thought she loved.Told from Charlotte’s POV, combined with flashbacks from the past, this book never grabbed me. I kept waiting to be captivated, and sadly it never happened. I hate to say this because I have loved Kimberly Belle’s other books, but I was bored. This book dragged and dragged. There was little action and a lot of waiting, which I usually don’t mind, but I wasn’t connecting with the plot or the main character. I never got a full feel for Charlotte's character; I couldn't picture her and wasn’t able to get a full sense of her childhood suffering, outside of maybe one scene. She said all the right things, but they didn’t resonate.I also didn’t feel the tension or suspense that has played such a heavy role in Belle’s other books. The plot reminded me of a few other thrillers I have read over the past year, which might be why I was able to identify the murderer and figure out some of the plot twists early on. I had high expectations and was expecting something a little more original and intriguing. This in no way is a bad thriller-- it just didn't reel me in.I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim ~ It’s All About the Thrill
    January 1, 1970
    So that was..........fantastic!!! Yes, Kimberly Belle managed to pull it off again. I literally couldn't put this book down. I flew through this in just one day.Charlotte or Charlie- depending on who you ask...has found the man of her dreams. A small town girl that was raised by a drug addict in a trailer park that was under deplorable conditions- marries the town millionaire....hmm this is going to be interesting.When Charlotte marries Paul.... well people are going to talk. Gold digger anyone? So that was..........fantastic!!! Yes, Kimberly Belle managed to pull it off again. I literally couldn't put this book down. I flew through this in just one day.Charlotte or Charlie- depending on who you ask...has found the man of her dreams. A small town girl that was raised by a drug addict in a trailer park that was under deplorable conditions- marries the town millionaire....hmm this is going to be interesting.When Charlotte marries Paul.... well people are going to talk. Gold digger anyone?? You be the judge..but the town has branded her as a gold digger as well Paul's wonderful mother. I mean couldn't it just be love? Paul is not only a millionaire, he is "the man" of the tiny town. Everyone knows Keller Architecture and everyone knows of Paul. See Paul lost his wife to a drowning accident, even though she was an excellent swimmer. She was also more loaded than Paul. Soooo you do the math.I loved this book! It was mysterious from start to finish. I didn't know if I should love Charlotte or hate her. Am I #teamcharlotte? Read for yourself and I think you will figure it out. I especially loved the whole secluded lake environment. It gave the story a creepy vibe. The Kellers had a gorgeous home that Paul had designed, with huge windows that faced the lake. Which was fantastic during the day, but at night...well night is a different story. The windows are so huge they don't have window dressings, what is the need anyway, they have no immediate neighbors. Yet as a murder happens right in front of their windows, unbeknownst to them...well it got a bit creepy. Who is out there and who is looking in? I am getting goosebumps thinking about it!One dead body in the lake, well ok...two dead bodies in the lake...umm ok...three dead...Houston we have a problem! Mysterious, creepy, page-turner! This book had it all for me. Add it to the list of all the other books I love by this author!Loved it ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ 5 big hearts for this one!!!!!
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Hmm, okay, images of Lind Chocolate boxes, fondues, Swiss Army knives, Rolexes, Alps start to appear on my mind which means a Switzerland kind of I’m in the middle, I don’t like it and I also don’t hate it, I’m just dumb cow, three solid starred book review is coming up!Oh, it is already here. My fingers are moving faster than my mind, what do you think my friends?I lately read so many dark, intriguing, stressful stories so I think I already exceeded my pain tolerance level. And I also read prev Hmm, okay, images of Lind Chocolate boxes, fondues, Swiss Army knives, Rolexes, Alps start to appear on my mind which means a Switzerland kind of I’m in the middle, I don’t like it and I also don’t hate it, I’m just dumb cow, three solid starred book review is coming up!Oh, it is already here. My fingers are moving faster than my mind, what do you think my friends?I lately read so many dark, intriguing, stressful stories so I think I already exceeded my pain tolerance level. And I also read previous works of Kimberly Belle including “Marriage Lie” and “Dear Wife” which I highly recommend you to read but when it comes to this book’s story, something was missing.I think Ms. Belle a little failed to build the mystery between the characters. The chapters mostly ended abruptly and haphazardly. The story has two timelines and told by two narrators: Young pregnant wife who thinks her husband might be killer and husband’s old friend Jax who turns himself into caveman meets wolfman hiding in the woods, losing the last traces of his humanity. Maybe because of the word choices, slow pacing or uninteresting characterization or all of them made me lose my interest and I continue to read it like an obligation or task because something could change at some part and maybe I can get some surprising ending.So let’s talk more about the plot:We’re introduced to Charlotte, new, young, called “trophy wife” by her old acquaintances, pregnant, finds a dead woman at the lake, the very exact spot her husband’s ex had been drowned and her husband Paul lies to the officers that he’s never seen her before. But actually Charlotte saw them talking animatedly one day ago and Paul disappears to find Jax, leaving his wife alone with suspicious officers and talkative, irritating mother.Then we’re going back 21 years ago, young Paul, Jax and police officer Micah’s storyline: Three young kids get bored, jumping into their car, hitting the road but their night ends with an unexpected event.And yes, ending was predictable which kills my last hopes so I finished the last page and wiped the disappointment from my face. So this is not so thrilling, shaking, solid, mediocre thriller for me. I actually enjoyed author’s previous works more. Of course it was not bad, boring or pointless reading. Especially I enjoyed the flashback parts about Jax more than Charlotte supports her brother’s culinary skills storyline. So I’m giving 3, not bored me to death but also not excited me stars!Special thanks to NetGalley and HARLEQUIN/Park Row for sharing this ARC with me in exchange my honest review.bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    3-3.5 STARS"People say that I married Paul for the money, but that's just not true. I married him because I love him, and I love him for all the things he provides. A mortgage-free roof over my head and a belly stuffed with nutritious, organic food. Health insurance and car insurance and cellphone and internet. The freedom of never having to choose between going cold or going hungry again. A life that is safe and stable and secure. And really, when you think about it, isn't security just another 3-3.5 STARS"People say that I married Paul for the money, but that's just not true. I married him because I love him, and I love him for all the things he provides. A mortgage-free roof over my head and a belly stuffed with nutritious, organic food. Health insurance and car insurance and cellphone and internet. The freedom of never having to choose between going cold or going hungry again. A life that is safe and stable and secure. And really, when you think about it, isn't security just another word for love?"I'm so torn on how to rate this one, because I did find the ending to be a little underwhelming, but the atmospheric setting was incredible, and made Stranger in the Lake an engaging read for me. I will always be a sucker for Appalachian fiction, and the lake was truly an insidious presence along the journey. The author does a fine job of dissecting the motivation behind basic human nature, and the moral at the end of this story was difficult to swallow, yet a timely, encouraging message. I would have liked to have see a little more development in a few aspects of the story, like Sam and Charlotte's relationship, the summer after the boys graduated high school, and a bit more of Charlie and Chet's childhood, instead of the repetition regarding pieces of the investigation, but overall this was an enjoyable read from an author that I admire and respect. If you've enjoyed Belle's previous novels, do yourself a favor and give Stranger in the Lake a try!*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    First, let me say this. Nothing is more scary to me than the idea of walking around in a brightly lit house, when it's dark outside, and to have no curtains or blinds on the huge windows of my "rich people" house. Of course, that would never happen because I'm not "rich people", so I don't have one of those fancy, glass walled houses, with no curtains or blinds. I just can't imagine that though, when there has been a body or two found down at the dock that the rich people house overlooks. Charlo First, let me say this. Nothing is more scary to me than the idea of walking around in a brightly lit house, when it's dark outside, and to have no curtains or blinds on the huge windows of my "rich people" house. Of course, that would never happen because I'm not "rich people", so I don't have one of those fancy, glass walled houses, with no curtains or blinds. I just can't imagine that though, when there has been a body or two found down at the dock that the rich people house overlooks. Charlotte, used to not be "rich people" either, but then she married Paul, eleven years older than her, who had lost his first wife when she downed in the lake below the house. His first wife was a champion swimmer and still swam every morning and it's hard to believe she could drown in the lake. Paul is accused of killing her by folks in the town but in the end, the death is legally labeled accidental. When Charlotte and Paul fall in love after a whirlwind romance, she is warned off of Paul by her good friend Sam, a local policeman who thinks that Paul killed his wife. But Charlotte doesn't think Paul is capable of hurting anyone and she loses her friendship with Sam, when she marries Paul. Then Charlotte sees her husband talking to a strange woman in town and the next day that woman's body is found under the same dock where Paul's first wife's body was found. Paul begs Charlotte to lie about him talking to the woman, packs a backpack and runs out the door, leaving Charlotte to deal with all the mess that a murder investigation involves. As Charlotte tells one lie for Paul, more lies must be piled on the first lie, and Charlotte begins to doubt her husband's innocence in either women's death. There is also Jax, who along with Paul and their friend Micah, seem to have a strange bond...Micah and Jax don't like each other but Paul is the glue that keeps them tied to each other. Something might have happened long ago, another mystery that might involve all three men. The more Charlotte discovers about Paul, the less she trusts him but she doesn't know who to turn to..Sam is already wanting Paul's head and Micah's police chief father is a violent, loose cannon, not to be trusted treat anyone fairly, especially Jax, who Paul wants to protect at all costs. During all of this, Charlotte leans on her flaky younger brother, Chet, the brother she had to raise herself, from the time she was six years old. They've been through hell already, being neglected by a drug using, alcoholic mother and their bond is as strong as that of Paul, Jax, and Micah. So many lies, so many mysteries and Charlotte is scrambling to figure out what is going on. Thank you to HARLEQUIN – Trade Publishing/Park Row and NetGalley, for this ARC.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    3.25*After last year's fantastic read of Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle, I was anxious to get my hands on her latest release. But.... agghhh! As it so often seems to happen when my hopes are set high, it didn’t quite hit the mark. Charlie, now known as Charlotte was born on the other side of the tracks. Growing up in a trailer park, she also had to assume responsibility for raising her younger brother. She had no choice. Her own mother was mostly absent...or worse. Fast forward several years. And w 3.25*After last year's fantastic read of Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle, I was anxious to get my hands on her latest release. But.... agghhh! As it so often seems to happen when my hopes are set high, it didn’t quite hit the mark. Charlie, now known as Charlotte was born on the other side of the tracks. Growing up in a trailer park, she also had to assume responsibility for raising her younger brother. She had no choice. Her own mother was mostly absent...or worse. Fast forward several years. And what a difference a few years can make! Charlotte finds herself married to one of the most successful, wealthiest men in their lakeside town. A life she could have only dreamed of. She never has to worry about money or having enough food on the table again Her husband Paul lost his first wife to a tragic accident he refuses to discuss. Other than... she was found floating under their private dock!! Now a second woman has been found drowned under the same dock. Hmmm... The premise of this book was so tantalizing but unfortunately failed to hold me. The suspense I was hoping for was just lacking. And even though my detectives’ cap🕵🏻♀️ has been collecting dust lately, I had most of this plot figured out early on. I just had higher hopes for this book than what it delivered. That said…you know this won’t stop me from reading her next release! I know Kimberly Belle writes amazing suspenseful thrillers! A buddy read with Susanne Thank you to NetGalley, Harlequin Trade Publishing - Park Row and Kimberly Belle for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3 Stars I Know All of Your SecretsI Know All of Your LiesI Know Where You Keep ‘EmBuried Deep Inside Ruelle, 2017 Charlotte (fka Charlie), new wife to her husband Paul, (a former widow) feels extremely happy in her surroundings. Why wouldn’t she? Paul is EXTREMELY wealthy and the two live in a gorgeous home overlooking Lake Crosby. So what if the home is in Paul’s name and everything is technically his since Charlotte grew up in a trailer home.Everything is absolutely perfect.. until Charlotte g 3 Stars I Know All of Your SecretsI Know All of Your LiesI Know Where You Keep ‘EmBuried Deep Inside Ruelle, 2017 Charlotte (fka Charlie), new wife to her husband Paul, (a former widow) feels extremely happy in her surroundings. Why wouldn’t she? Paul is EXTREMELY wealthy and the two live in a gorgeous home overlooking Lake Crosby. So what if the home is in Paul’s name and everything is technically his since Charlotte grew up in a trailer home.Everything is absolutely perfect.. until Charlotte goes out to the lake to check the boat early one morning while Paul is out for a run. There, she discovers the body of a woman in the lake. Then of course, all h3ll breaks loose! Secrets and lies. So many, they were enough to make your head spin. I’m surprised the Exorcist didn’t make an appearance!Going back and forth in time from the present to 1999, when Paul and his best friends Jax and Micah were teenagers and Charlie and her brother Chet were children, “Stranger in the Lake” started out strong and then kind of petered out. For me, there were a few items that just didn’t quite ring true and that had my eyes rolling, which disappointed me a tad. Like a few other reviewers, I too wish that some other avenues had been explored in this novel that were not, but alas, such is life. Kimberly Belle’s writing style is however totally engaging and she had me glued to the storyline throughout. I am a true fan of hers and will be anxiously awaiting her next release.This was another buddy read with Kaceey!Thanks to NetGalley, Harlequin - Park Row, and Kimberly Belle for the arc.Published on Goodreads on 4.26.20.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up! “A LIE AND AN ALIBI, WRAPPED INTO ONE”Charlotte ignored the rumors when she married the wealthy, widower, Paul. After all, despite her being a strong swimmer, the drowning death of Paul’s first wife, Katherine, WAS deemed an accident. But, when a second woman also drowns, in the same exact spot under Paul’s dock, SECRETS which began in 1999, begin to SURFACE...WHO IS THE STRANGER IN THE LAKE, AND WHY DID SHE COME TO TOWN?”Something happened in 1999 to bind childhood friends 3.5 stars rounded up! “A LIE AND AN ALIBI, WRAPPED INTO ONE”Charlotte ignored the rumors when she married the wealthy, widower, Paul. After all, despite her being a strong swimmer, the drowning death of Paul’s first wife, Katherine, WAS deemed an accident. But, when a second woman also drowns, in the same exact spot under Paul’s dock, SECRETS which began in 1999, begin to SURFACE...WHO IS THE STRANGER IN THE LAKE, AND WHY DID SHE COME TO TOWN?”Something happened in 1999 to bind childhood friends, Paul, Micah, and Jax together. Could their SECRETS have anything to do with the drownings? The mystery started out strong but it stalled a bit just after the 50% point for me, when the flashback chapters took me out of the present, and the story lost some of its tension. This story began to focus on the SECRETS from 1999, and those chapters were my least favorite part. I would’ve preferred the story have remained focused on the relationships in the present day, and on the drowning victims. I wanted the other relationships to be as fleshed out as the one between Charlotte and her brother Chet. WHY the second woman came to town, WHAT she was looking for, and WHO wanted her to remain silent, DID surprise me...but, again, I wanted MORE of this part of the story! I wanted to get to know her!! Although I didn’t enjoy this one as much as “The Marriage Lie” or my personal favorite “Dear Wife”, Kimberley Belle will ALWAYS be an AUTO-READ author for me! Thank You to Netgalley, Harlequin, and the author for the digital ARC, I received in exchange for a candid review! This title will be available on June 9, 2020!Posted to Goodreads and Netgalley on Feb. 23rdWill post to Amazon and “theblondelikesbooks.wordpress.com closer to publication date.
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    Paul Keller had been married before. His wife died a little over four years ago.... in a drowning accident. ‘Surprise’, Charlotte was pregnant - not planned- with Paul’s baby - her new husband - eleven years older than she was. Charlotte had only known Paul for about a year. Everyone from their town said it would never work. We will soon discover much more of what will never work. Paul was 37 years old, a wealthy widower, who owned Keller Architecture. His clients were privileged, demanding, and Paul Keller had been married before. His wife died a little over four years ago.... in a drowning accident. ‘Surprise’, Charlotte was pregnant - not planned- with Paul’s baby - her new husband - eleven years older than she was. Charlotte had only known Paul for about a year. Everyone from their town said it would never work. We will soon discover much more of what will never work. Paul was 37 years old, a wealthy widower, who owned Keller Architecture. His clients were privileged, demanding, and entitled. His clients liked Paul because he was one of them. Charlotte had been a gas station clerk... ( a trailer-park girl), from the poor side of town of Lake Cosby, North Carolina. She now worked part-time for Paul.....( her role was client relations), and Charlotte’s most important role was being Paul’s new young pregnant wife. Paul’s mother and town folks won’t believe Charlotte’s pregnancy was an accident. They’ll say that Paul was trapped.“Sugar daddy, sugar baby, baby daddy”.The people in town think that Charlotte married Paul for his money. She didn’t. Charlotte married Paul for love— and she loved all the things he could provide. We get back story not only on Charlotte and Paul, but also on Jax Edwards, and Micah Hunt, ( friend/ connections to Paul), “Jax Edwards — was the local town loon, a “raggedy bearded boogeyman”, who lived in the woods. Most people turned away from him, either out of pity or fear, but not Charlotte. “Micah Hunt - was the best underwater criminal investigator and hundreds of miles”.....but he’ll never be good enough for his father- Chief Hunt.Charlotte liked Micah - he never made her feel Paul was slumming by choosing her - ( gas station attendant girl from a trailer park)....and he had more daddy issues than she did. For Paul,......Jax was a painful subject, he didn’t like to talk about. “Once upon a time, Jax had everything going for him. High school prom king and star quarterback, the golden boy with a golden future, and one of Paul’s two best friends”. Paul, Jax, and Micah....were all close buddies in High School. We will soon see just how complicated those relationships were. Other relationships- people in this town complicate things also. At the center of the story…a woman, “Sienna’, was found dead in the lake. Presumably.... whoever killed her lived in this town of Crosby Lake. Kimberly Belle has a talent for intertwisted - tangly - mussed up storytelling. She’s becoming a psychological thriller-household name for readers who indulge pleasure into this genre. Not sure this was Belle’s top rated book.... but we are drawn into a web of intrigue — with interesting characters: Paul.....was out running all the time - Jax....found solace in the woods - Micah....wanted to be his own man- not have his father- Chief Hunt- dictate his life.Sam Kincaid.... was a cop from Charlotte’s side of town....the ‘poor’ side of the mountain. He had been friends with Charlotte before she married Paul. Chet was Charlotte’s - often needy - brother. But ...Charlotte loved him. He moved in with a woman named Annalee. They were constantly breaking up and getting back together again. Lake Cosby was the only town in the southern Appalachians perched at the edge of the water, which made it a popular tourist spot. Most of the businesses were pretentious… Farm-to-table restaurants, a specialty fudge shop, and specialty boutiques.I enjoyed the setting-landscape descriptions as much as the mystery thriller story itself. This psychological mystery murder thriller had plenty to chew on...Lots of gossip, secrets, lies, and rumors about who- what- and why Sienna was killed - how her death connected to Paul’s first wife’s death ...Who liedWho cheatedWho had an alibi and who didn’t “Extenuating circumstance”.....are words you’ll find in this novel to explain why the past - and secrets - were not understood. Great beach pick or ‘middle-of-the-night’ read for insomnia folks. Thank you Harlequin Trade Publishing, Netgalley, and Kimberly Belle
    more
  • Brenda -Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Kimberly Belle will be joining us for Q & A June 11You can find the thread here https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...Yahoo! I am excited to say Kimberly Belle has me back in my groove, and I flew through this one like a wakeboarder hydroplaning through the wake! This is one wild ride, and I felt like I was weaving in and out those waves with those twists and turns. Just when I thought I was heading in one direction when I least expected it, I was heading outside the wake and then back again. Kimberly Belle will be joining us for Q & A June 11You can find the thread here https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...Yahoo! I am excited to say Kimberly Belle has me back in my groove, and I flew through this one like a wakeboarder hydroplaning through the wake! This is one wild ride, and I felt like I was weaving in and out those waves with those twists and turns. Just when I thought I was heading in one direction when I least expected it, I was heading outside the wake and then back again. Stranger in the Lake is one chilly atmospheric domestic thriller that had me feeling chilled to the bone on the beautiful sunny day I was tapping my fingers as fast as I could on my Kindle. The magic here is all in the setting for me, and Kimberly Belle sure knows how to set the scene in more ways than one. The chilly lake with its deadly secrets, the small town where everyone knows everyone but their dangerous secrets that the lake holds. The house surrounded in the snow looking over the lake watching everything and knowing what happened to the stranger in the lake was a character in itself. I just want to say Brilliant, I love it! There are a couple of dark mysteries here with the bodies found in the lake here, opening up questions of whodunnit, why and who is hiding want secrets from the past. Our main character Charlotte finds one body, and she starts to question her relationship with her husband. I loved Charlotte, she is a likable, strong, relatable character. At times I wanted to mistrust her, but her flawed and vulnerable side to her had me rooting for her. The characters here are exciting, and I questioned each one from start to that exciting final reveal, of course, I didn't see coming.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    I never in a million years thought I'd say this about a Kimberly Belle novel, but I was underwhelmed. In fact, I'll dare say I was legit bored through the entirety of the story. Unlike her two previous works, Dear Wife and The Marriage Lie, both of which I absolutely LOVED, Stranger in the Lake felt slow and humdrum. Even worse, I figured out WAY, WAY early how the book was going to end...every.single.twist. The bulk of the book takes place in a lakeside mansion inhabited by Charlotte and her br I never in a million years thought I'd say this about a Kimberly Belle novel, but I was underwhelmed. In fact, I'll dare say I was legit bored through the entirety of the story. Unlike her two previous works, Dear Wife and The Marriage Lie, both of which I absolutely LOVED, Stranger in the Lake felt slow and humdrum. Even worse, I figured out WAY, WAY early how the book was going to end...every.single.twist. The bulk of the book takes place in a lakeside mansion inhabited by Charlotte and her brother, Chet. Am I the only one who thinks of the movie 'Weird Science,' and a big pile of poo, when I hear that name? Charlotte's husband, Paul, is never around, as he's avoiding her. Chet cooks, Charlotte eats, then brags about his cooking. During the times she's not eating, she's trying to figure out what's going on with Paul and his two friends, Micah and Jax. The timeline jumps from the present to the year 1999, when Paul, Jax, and Micah are partying their summer away before leaving for college. Please don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad book...it simply doesn't stand up to the awesomeness of Ms. Belle's previous works. Not even close. This book will be available for purchase June 9, 2020. **My sincere thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Mary Kubica
    January 1, 1970
    Kimberly Belle explores the shocking depths people will go to keep their secrets buried in her latest slow burn thriller STRANGER IN THE LAKE, before building to an explosive and unexpected finale. Belle delivers with lyric prose and an atmospheric, moody mystery that will have her fans begging for more. Must read!
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    Charlotte is married to wealthy architect Paul and they live in a gorgeous home overlooking Lake Crosby. Charlotte has come from a more humble background, being bought up in a trailer. Paul has recently lost his first wife in a suspicious drowning incident, but the couple have moved on and are excited to find out that they are going to have a baby.All is well until Charlotte goes to their boat to retrieve her phone and sees a dead woman in the lake. Who is she and is it a coincidence that this i Charlotte is married to wealthy architect Paul and they live in a gorgeous home overlooking Lake Crosby. Charlotte has come from a more humble background, being bought up in a trailer. Paul has recently lost his first wife in a suspicious drowning incident, but the couple have moved on and are excited to find out that they are going to have a baby.All is well until Charlotte goes to their boat to retrieve her phone and sees a dead woman in the lake. Who is she and is it a coincidence that this is the second drowning.The story goes back to 1999. Teenager Paul is friends with Jax and Micah. Something happened that night which affected all their lives! The secret is revealed in tantalising bite sized pieces!!This is such a gripping book that kept me guessing until the end, I really didn’t know who to trust!!Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars! Loved this!A thrilling, atmospheric, suspenseful journey from start to finish!Charlotte has everything she ever wanted. Paul, her handsome, successful husband. A state of the art mansion on the water. No financial worries. Her current life is millions of miles away from where she came from. A trailer park childhood full of painful memories of hunger, fright and uncertainty, she has made her way out of her troubled past. One morning Charlotte discovers a woman’s dead body floating in the 5 stars! Loved this!A thrilling, atmospheric, suspenseful journey from start to finish!Charlotte has everything she ever wanted. Paul, her handsome, successful husband. A state of the art mansion on the water. No financial worries. Her current life is millions of miles away from where she came from. A trailer park childhood full of painful memories of hunger, fright and uncertainty, she has made her way out of her troubled past. One morning Charlotte discovers a woman’s dead body floating in the water under their dock, coincidentally the same death Paul’s first wife faced. As the investigation into the dead woman’s body starts, suspicions arise.This novel is thick with palpable atmosphere, suspense and tension that gripped me immediately and didn’t let up until I read the last page. I was completely consumed by this story. The setting felt like a character in itself which I loved. I adored Charlotte. I felt for her childhood situation. The author, Kimberly Belle, did an outstanding job building up Charlottes’ backstory. I felt like I was right there in the trailer park chaos with her. I loved this authors last book, Dear Wife. It remains my favourite by this author, but this comes in a very close second. I highly recommend!This was a Traveling Sisters read that I enjoyed discussing. Thank you to Edelweiss for my review copy! Expected date of publication is June 9th.
    more
  • Julie (JuJu)
    January 1, 1970
    This thriller/mystery will instantly suck you in with it’s long-held secrets and battle-scarred characters! And if that doesn’t grab your attention, there is the mysterious dead body in the lake. ”In the end, we all reap what we sow.” Kimberly Belle shot to the top of my fav author list after I read the phenomenal “Dear Wife”! This one was so close to a 5-star read, but unfortunately, I couldn’t help but compare it to her previous work.Lake Crosby is very rich vs. poor, with well-thought-out c This thriller/mystery will instantly suck you in with it’s long-held secrets and battle-scarred characters! And if that doesn’t grab your attention, there is the mysterious dead body in the lake. ”In the end, we all reap what we sow.” Kimberly Belle shot to the top of my fav author list after I read the phenomenal “Dear Wife”! This one was so close to a 5-star read, but unfortunately, I couldn’t help but compare it to her previous work.Lake Crosby is very rich vs. poor, with well-thought-out characters you will love and hate. Charlotte was one of the characters I loved! Easy to underestimate at the beginning, but she developed into a first-rate heroine. Thank you NetGalley, Park Row and Kimberly Belle, for this free digital ARC, in exchange for my honest review!My Rating: 4 ⭐️’sPublished: June 9th 2020 by Park RowPages: 352Recommend: [email protected] @parkrowbooks#NetGalley #MustRead
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    Kimberly Belle just never, ever disappoints.Jam packed with secrets, lies, misdirection and surprises this one had me literally dropping my jaw in a room by myself, looking around to see who else was shocked.The pacing was perfect, the characterizations were outstanding and the story was original, vibrant, and utterly gripping.I loved this one as much as Dear Wife and that is some seriously high praise.Thank you to Kimberly Belle, Park Row and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an Kimberly Belle just never, ever disappoints.Jam packed with secrets, lies, misdirection and surprises this one had me literally dropping my jaw in a room by myself, looking around to see who else was shocked.The pacing was perfect, the characterizations were outstanding and the story was original, vibrant, and utterly gripping.I loved this one as much as Dear Wife and that is some seriously high praise.Thank you to Kimberly Belle, Park Row and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    A NEW Kimberly Belle book!!!
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    I never in a million years thought I'd say this about a Kimberly Belle novel, but I was underwhelmed. In fact, I'll dare say I was legit bored through the entirety of the story.Unlike her two previous works, Dear Wife and The Marriage Lie, both of which I absolutely LOVED, Stranger in the Lake felt slow and a little humdrum. Even worse, I figured out WAY, WAY early how the book was going to end...every.single.twist.The bulk of the book takes place in a lakeside mansion inhabited by Charlotte and I never in a million years thought I'd say this about a Kimberly Belle novel, but I was underwhelmed. In fact, I'll dare say I was legit bored through the entirety of the story.Unlike her two previous works, Dear Wife and The Marriage Lie, both of which I absolutely LOVED, Stranger in the Lake felt slow and a little humdrum. Even worse, I figured out WAY, WAY early how the book was going to end...every.single.twist.The bulk of the book takes place in a lakeside mansion inhabited by Charlotte and her brother, Chet.Am I the only one who thinks of the movie 'Weird Science,' and a big pile of poo, when I hear the name Chet?Charlotte's husband, Paul, is never around, as he's avoiding her...for good reason. Chet cooks, Charlotte eats, then brags about his cooking. During the times she's not eating, she's trying to figure out what's going on with Paul and this two friends, Micah and Jax.The timeline jumps from the present to the year 1999, when Paul, Jax, and Micah were partying their summer away before leaving for college. Neither timeline is particularly riveting. Please don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad book...it simply doesn't stand up to the awesomeness of Ms. Belle's previous works. Not even close.This book will be available for purchase June 9, 2020.**My sincere thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    4 town secret starsCharlie grew up on the “wrong” side of the tracks in town with a terrible home life. As an adult, Charlotte meets and marries the wealthy widow and architect Paul. You can guess what her childhood friends thought of that! Not only that there are mysterious circumstances surrounding the drowning death of his first wife. Charlotte and Paul live in a gorgeous lake house that Paul designed, and Charlotte is living a dream life. All that is shattered when another body is found in t 4 town secret starsCharlie grew up on the “wrong” side of the tracks in town with a terrible home life. As an adult, Charlotte meets and marries the wealthy widow and architect Paul. You can guess what her childhood friends thought of that! Not only that there are mysterious circumstances surrounding the drowning death of his first wife. Charlotte and Paul live in a gorgeous lake house that Paul designed, and Charlotte is living a dream life. All that is shattered when another body is found in the lake and the questions and doubts creep in. Throw in Paul’s mysterious childhood friend Jax who now lives in the woods and you’ve got a delicious creepy recipe!Who can Charlotte trust and just who is the mysterious stranger who has washed up under their dock? This Kimberly Belle tale is full of secrets and lies and I never quite knew who to trust.There are flashbacks to Paul’s high school days with Jax and neighbor Micah, but I preferred the modern-day story much better. My favorite part of the book was Charlotte’s relationship with her brother Chet. With their terrible childhood, the two are quite close and I always felt that Chet had her back. We need more strong brother-sister relationships in books!This one was a quick read and Kimberly Belle crafted another good thriller here!Thank you NetGalley, Kimberly Belle, and Harlequin/Park Row for an early copy to read. This one publishes 6.9.2020.
    more
  • Diana
    January 1, 1970
    Charlotte had a difficult trailer park lifestyle and upbringing but finds love when she marries millionaire architect Paul Keller and moves into his remote lakeside home. Charlotte ignores people telling her about the problems with being married Paul. His first wife, Katherine, drown over four years ago even though she was known to be a strong swimmer. It was ruled an accident. When a second woman drowns in the same place under Paul's dock, the secrets and story starts to unfold which started ba Charlotte had a difficult trailer park lifestyle and upbringing but finds love when she marries millionaire architect Paul Keller and moves into his remote lakeside home. Charlotte ignores people telling her about the problems with being married Paul. His first wife, Katherine, drown over four years ago even though she was known to be a strong swimmer. It was ruled an accident. When a second woman drowns in the same place under Paul's dock, the secrets and story starts to unfold which started back in 1999. The story now jumps to that time when Paul, Micah and Jax are partying all summer before they take off for college. Who is the woman that drown in the lake this time? Who can Charlotte trust and believe? Who lied and who cheated? Whoever killed her lives in the town of Lake Crosby. The entire town thinks that Charlotte married Paul for his money even though she married him for love. Charlotte puts her life on hold and at risk as she puts together some tough clues to figure it all out.Kimberly Belle unloaded a psychological thriller with an intriguing twist that can draw you in with gossip, lies, secrets and many rumors about what really happened. Definitely a slow burn and surprise ending that Kimberly Belle does so well. Not her best work, but definitely an entertaining read.Thank you Kimberly Belle, Harlequin Trade Publishing, and NetGalley for an ARC to enjoy and review!
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    A moody, mesmerizing mystery that smolders with a brooding, slow-burn tension. Kimberly Belle has done it again! Stranger In The Lake is that perfect balance between plot and character, in which a girl from the wrong side of the tracks marries a rich older man, only to find out he’s carrying a few too many secrets for comfort.I loved Charlotte, our protagonist, so much--a small town girl raised by a neglectful mother--and rooted for her throughout the entire book as she explores the shocking dep A moody, mesmerizing mystery that smolders with a brooding, slow-burn tension. Kimberly Belle has done it again! Stranger In The Lake is that perfect balance between plot and character, in which a girl from the wrong side of the tracks marries a rich older man, only to find out he’s carrying a few too many secrets for comfort.I loved Charlotte, our protagonist, so much--a small town girl raised by a neglectful mother--and rooted for her throughout the entire book as she explores the shocking depths people will go to keep their secrets buried.With a stunning, atmospheric lakeside setting, a creepy, mysterious vibe, a bevy of secrets and lies, and a couple of dead bodies that all wound cleverly into the plot, this thriller was exactly what I needed. I highly recommend!
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    I became a Kimberly Belle fan last year with her amazing cat-and-mouse thriller, Dear Wife, so it was a no brainer that I'd pick up her upcoming release, Stranger in the Lake . Set in a tight-knit coastal lakeside town, the main character Charlotte is newly married to successful businessman Paul who is over a decade older. Charlotte loves the life Paul has been able to provide for her and the family is basically local celebrities around town. One morning, Charlotte finds a dead body of a woma I became a Kimberly Belle fan last year with her amazing cat-and-mouse thriller, Dear Wife, so it was a no brainer that I'd pick up her upcoming release, Stranger in the Lake . Set in a tight-knit coastal lakeside town, the main character Charlotte is newly married to successful businessman Paul who is over a decade older. Charlotte loves the life Paul has been able to provide for her and the family is basically local celebrities around town. One morning, Charlotte finds a dead body of a woman that she's met the day prior having a conversation with her husband. Does this dead woman have any connections to Charlotte or Paul? I was slightly disappointed by Stranger in the Lake because I felt that the narrative was drawn out. It's definitely a slower-paced novel, but the storyline unfolds very obviously. While the writing and dynamic between Charlotte and the characters in the story, I just felt a bit underwhelmed after completing. If you are interested in slow burning straightforward "whodunnit" mysteries, Stranger in the Lake is definitely your bet. This book will either be a hit or miss with readers, but sadly I am straight down the middle with my opinion. While I didn't love the narrative, I also felt that there's definitely a reader out there that will enjoy this story.
    more
  • Dana
    January 1, 1970
    Flew through this book in ONE sitting! I love Kimberlys writing style! She sets the perfect scene, creates great characters and keeps her readers guessing. I enjoyed the creepy vibes and twisty plot. Plus we are served with not just one ... but THREE mysterious deaths! Um, yes please! (No I'm not morbid, ha ha!)Huge thank you to Park Row and Netgalley for my review copy!
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Another great thriller by Kimberly Belle which I quickly devoured in 2 days. Full of suspense with old secrets and new secrets from the very first page. Did not want to put it down and I found myself sneaking around to read it. And the twist at the end was the “icing on the cake” that I did not see coming. Very well done Kimberly Belle! Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this early release in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    A murder mystery close to the home of Paul and his new wife, Charlotte. It happens to be the second murder near Paul's home.I had this one figured out early, but wasn't sure I was right. I was!I liked the premise, but wanted more suspense and parts of the story dragged as the plot played out. I was hoping for more oomph from this author. If you're looking for a slow burn mystery with a bit of a detective feel, this might be one for your shelf!! Thanks to Netgalley and Park Row for my advanced A murder mystery close to the home of Paul and his new wife, Charlotte. It happens to be the second murder near Paul's home.I had this one figured out early, but wasn't sure I was right. I was!I liked the premise, but wanted more suspense and parts of the story dragged as the plot played out. I was hoping for more oomph from this author. If you're looking for a slow burn mystery with a bit of a detective feel, this might be one for your shelf!! Thanks to Netgalley and Park Row for my advanced copy! OUT on June 9, 2020
    more
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    FULL REVIEW ON JUNE 11.A new husband, Paul, a dead body in the lake, and Paul leaving on a hiking trip?What should Charlotte think about all of this especially since she saw her husband talking to the dead woman yesterday, and he denies he knows her?  And to top it all off, Paul tells her to lie to the police about where he went.Hang onto your hats - Ms. Belle has done it again!!You won’t be able to put down this twisty, surprise-filled, keeping-you-guessing-until-the-end book.ENJOY!!  5/5This b FULL REVIEW ON JUNE 11.A new husband, Paul, a dead body in the lake, and Paul leaving on a hiking trip?What should Charlotte think about all of this especially since she saw her husband talking to the dead woman yesterday, and he denies he knows her?  And to top it all off, Paul tells her to lie to the police about where he went.Hang onto your hats - Ms. Belle has done it again!!You won’t be able to put down this twisty, surprise-filled, keeping-you-guessing-until-the-end book.ENJOY!!  5/5This book was given to me by the publisher via NETGALLEY in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • tamar
    January 1, 1970
    Kimberly Belle is one of my favorite authors. Last year I read both The Marriage Lie and Dear Wife and, since I loved them both, I was thrilled to receive an ARC of KB’s upcoming novel, Stranger in the Lake, from Edelweiss and Harper Collins. I was disappointed that this book did not live up to my previous experiences. Don’t get me wrong – it is a good read, with some twists and maybe one surprise at the end, but, my overall impression was that it felt a little half-baked. The novel centers arou Kimberly Belle is one of my favorite authors. Last year I read both The Marriage Lie and Dear Wife and, since I loved them both, I was thrilled to receive an ARC of KB’s upcoming novel, Stranger in the Lake, from Edelweiss and Harper Collins. I was disappointed that this book did not live up to my previous experiences. Don’t get me wrong – it is a good read, with some twists and maybe one surprise at the end, but, my overall impression was that it felt a little half-baked. The novel centers around the complicated relationship between three men, who have been friends since childhood, and three deaths by drowning spanning a period of about 20 years – whether by murder or by accident remains to be seen. One of the men, Paul, is now remarried to Charlotte/Charlie after losing his first wife under mysterious circumstances four years earlier; one of the men, Jax, is emotionally troubled, living as a hermit in the wooded area surrounding the town, and; the third man, Micah, is son of the town Sheriff. None of the characters were particularly engaging, the dialog between them was banal, Charlie/Charlotte was a bit of a whiner and for someone who supposedly had “street-smarts”, she was pretty dumb and made a lot of mistakes (speaking before thinking and putting her foot in her mouth). There was no point where I furiously flipped the pages to reach the climax. The story is told from the POV of Charlie. I would have had to settle for a three-star rating, but there were some well-written interesting scenes reminding me why I love this author. Among these scenes were the descriptions of Charlie’s difficult upbringing – which were much more interesting than her life with Paul and her interaction with the hoity toity (basically Paul’s mother) up on the bluff; the meeting with one of the victim’s (Bobby’s) mother, her living conditions and the dialog were interesting, and; the scene that took place in the trailer park twenty years earlier, prior to Bobby’s death.Thank you, Edelweiss and Harper Collins, for the ARC of Someone in the Lake. The opinions in this review are my own.3½ rounded up to 4
    more
  • Yvonne (It's All About Books)
    January 1, 1970
    Look out for my review during my stop of the blog tour on June 8th!
  • Vonda
    January 1, 1970
    This book was good, not great but good enough if you want a mindless read. It's an extremely simplistic whodunit. The characters needed more developing, some relationships need background and the conversations are merely...flippant. It certainly doesn't draw you in.
    more
Write a review