The Sinner (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #18)
A sinner’s only hope is true love in this passionate new novel in J.R. Ward’s #1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood series.Syn has kept his side hustle as a mercenary a secret from the Black Dagger Brotherhood. When he takes another hit job, he not only crosses the path of the vampire race’s new enemy, but also that of a half-breed in danger of dying during her transition. Jo Early has no idea what her true nature is, and when a mysterious man appears out of the darkness, she is torn between their erotic connection and the sense that something is very wrong. Fate anointed Butch O’Neal as the Dhestroyer, the fulfiller of the prophecy that foresees the end of the Omega. As the war with the Lessening Society comes to a head, Butch gets an unexpected ally in Syn. But can he trust the male—or is the warrior with the bad past a deadly complication? With time running out, Jo gets swept up in the fighting and must join with Syn and the Brotherhood against true evil. In the end, will love true prevail...or was the prophecy wrong all along?

The Sinner (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #18) Details

TitleThe Sinner (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #18)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 24th, 2020
PublisherGallery Books
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Vampires, Paranormal Romance

The Sinner (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #18) Review

  • Sophia Triad
    January 1, 1970
    At Cincinnati Q&A event (6 April 2019)Four books announcement!:1) 2020 BD : The Sinner (Syn, Jo Early, Butch and Lassiter) 2) December 2019: Where Winter Finds You (Trez/Selena) 3) August 2019: Blood Truth (BDB Legacy - Boone)4) BDB legacy 2020: The Jackal about Rhage's half brotherIn more details:From J.R. Ward's Facebook page:The full transcript of the 2019 event for The Savior in Cincinnati, Ohio.Abbreviations that may be used:HEA: Happily Ever AfterSV: Scribe Virgin***WARNING****Numerous At Cincinnati Q&A event (6 April 2019)Four books announcement!:1) 2020 BD : The Sinner (Syn, Jo Early, Butch and Lassiter) 2) December 2019: Where Winter Finds You (Trez/Selena) 3) August 2019: Blood Truth (BDB Legacy - Boone)4) BDB legacy 2020: The Jackal about Rhage's half brotherIn more details:From J.R. Ward's Facebook page:The full transcript of the 2019 event for The Savior in Cincinnati, Ohio.Abbreviations that may be used:HEA: Happily Ever AfterSV: Scribe Virgin***WARNING****Numerous SPOILERS ahead!!!*Q: What is the next BDB hardcover book?A: The 2020 hardcover BDB book is………The Sinner, featuring Sin and Jo Early.**Q: What was the hardest book for you to write?A: The hardest story was Zsadist. Emotionally, it was tough. I’ve always said that I’d never re-read Zsadist’s book. The other one was Blay and Qhuinn, but because it was a clusterf*ck of what could go wrong, did. Computers broke, files were lost. I had to spend a lot of money on getting an expert to recover the lost files…it just went on, and on. **Q: What inspired you to write this series?A: I got fired from my first publisher. I started by thinking, I’d write like Nora Roberts, but the problem is, Nora Roberts writes like Nora Roberts already. So, after I was fired, I had to reinvent myself. Then after two weeks of thinking, I was out of the job I love and would maybe never get to do again, I tried writing some romantic suspense. All of a sudden, there was this huge presence in my head, and he was like, “My name is Wroth….” Which made no sense. Then, there were all these people in my head, and I have no explanation for why they chose me, but, here we are.**Q: When are we getting Adrian and Eddie (from the Fallen Angels series) back?A: So, in the last book (of the Fallen Angels series) they were sent off, by Lassiter, and I keep thinking, they’re going to show up. I’ve been waiting for them. But I think it’s going to be in The Sinner.**Q: Is the Fallen Angels series complete? Is there any chance they’ll be in the BDB series?A: Yes, they’ll definitely be in the BDB world once Adrian and Eddie come.**Q: At the end of The Savior, we saw JM and Zsadist eating the apple…is it important that they shared the apple with Nalla?A: Yes, that is definitely significant, and also a Keep Reading. **Q: There is a balance in the BDB world. What does Lassiter have to give up to save Sarah?A: The true answer to that is, Lassiter ain’t giving up sh*t. You know how the SV was all, “There must be balance….” And all that sh*t, but Lassiter doesn’t give a sh*t. He wears leopard print tights, FFS. (general nods and agreement from everyone present.)**Q: On the back of Phury’s neck, there’s a symbol. What does it look like?A: I don’t think I can describe, and I don’t have the talent necessary to draw it. Maybe I’ll have to get someone artistic to draw it. **Q: Does Devina show up in the next book? (Devina was originally in the Fallen Angels series.)A: Yes, Devina definitely shows up in The Sinner. We know that the Omega has to end. We know that Butch is the Dhestroyer. Soooooo…..you are not ready for this…she falls in love with Butch. Yes, that’s a big reveal, but I want to make it worth your time to come to this sh*t.**Q: There’s images of the Old Language, but what does it sound like?A: Hmmmm. That would be interesting. I’d like to do that for people who are interested in hearing it, but that’s going to take some time….**Q: I read Prisoner of Night, and I don’t understand. Do the BDB not know the others (at the penal colony) exist?A: The reason I want to write books like Dearest Ivy and Prisoner of Night is so I can focus the world. I can’t fit it all in the BDB books, so I’m happy to write those e-books so I can write more details outside of the larger BDB books. But, that means that sometimes, the timeline seems disjointed, or like things don’t fit the bigger world. **Q: Who is talking to Jane and Hannah on the other side of the Ouija board?A: It was the Scribe Virgin.**Q: Is Jose de la Cruz (Butch’s police partner) a wolfen?A: No, he’s just a regular guy, a good Catholic boy. But I’d like to see him back in the BDB world. Wouldn’t you love to see what he thinks of it?**Q: Have you been approached for a movie or TV? Would you have control over casting?A: I get approached for movies and specials. But, the writing is it for me. So, as long as I could keep doing the books and the characters, I would do it. **Q: Will we ever get more of Butch and Manny’s dad?A: In The Sinner, we will see more of Butch, Manny, and Jo Early’s father, Robert Brook, the douche.**Q: Will JM ever find out that he was Darius?A: The Scribe Virgin had an agreement with Darius, that he gave a token of conscience. Even though Lassiter is now in charge, the magic that rules the agreements is still in force. And, that knowledge would destabilize the entire BDB world. So, no, I don’t think so.**Q: When the Omega was speaking to Butch, and he says, “Find your family” was he talking about Manny and Jo?A: I don’t think he was talking about Jo, Manny, and Robert Brook. He was trying to get Butch to come over to the dark side, like Darth Vader to Luke in Star Wars. **Q: Would you ever consider writing Darius’ backstory?A: I would, but you have to realize, that would only be for fans that are really invested in the world. It wouldn’t appeal to new readers. So, yes, I’d like to but I’m not sure if I’ll get to.**Q: Will we see more of Assail’s cousins?A: Yes, I love those ghost-pepper eating *$.**Q: I’m confused because Phury was asking if someone could imagine Cormia abandoning her child, if she had one. But, didn’t we see them have Ahgony, and Zsadist showed up and sang for the baby?A: Yeah, but that was a flash-forward about five years. That question would be asked before they had Aghony. The time line just hasn’t caught up yet.**Q: I cheered out loud when Sarah knew sign language. When Butch was inducted, his name was Dehstroyer on the wall in the BDB cavern. But when JM was inducted, his name, Tehrror, was not on the wall.A: I think the thing to remember is that the BDB is evolving. When Butch was inducted, that was a million years ago. And, even though Dehstroyer isn’t Butch’s name, that he uses, that was what they did at the time. They used the warrior name. But now, they’ve changed, and JM is also on the wall as Darius. So, it seems like they used JM because that’s who he is.**Q: Was the raid on the Sanctuary 35 years ago or 75 years ago? (It appears in different books as 35 or 75 years)A: That was a copy-editing error. There are different places we could go after The Sinner, so, maybe there needs to be a past-cannon, like the Insider’s Guide, so we could clarify this stuff. Things like, the relationship between Darius and Beth’s mom. But, it would be for hardcore readers, and they’d have to understand that that doesn’t end well. But, yes, it was 75 years ago, not 35.**Q: With Sarah’s background in immunology, could she solve the disease killing the Chosen?A: Yeah, I think that’s a distinct possibility. And maybe she could solve the blood issue, the one that Havers was never able to solve.**Q: What’s the hierarchy of the deities?A: Devina, Lassiter, SV, and the Omega. Two good, two bad. The question for me, since I think the Creator prefers balance, is what role is the Creator playing in the demise of the Omega? With the SV out of it, will he have a hand in the exit of the Omega? What’s interesting to me, is that, at the end of the FA series, Devina was down and out. She’s smart. And, she’s had time to plan. Because remember, time isn’t the same for the deities. It’s going to be interesting to watch.**Q: Do you know how the penal colony is going to be introduced?A: There’s going to be another BDB Legacy book, called The Jackal. It will feature Rhage’s half-brother and the penal colony, and will be out in August 2020.**Q: (This question was hard to hear, but it sounded like they were asking why JR listens to rap vs. other types of music.)A: The music helps me see the books and the scenes. I’m a runner, and I love rap, and it really helps me focus. **Q: Do we see Nate or any of the others in future books? A: Nate, Markcus, and Luchas all get books.**Q: Why couldn’t Nate tell that Lassiter’s not a vampire? Is there another connection we don’t know about?A: Yes, and Keep Reading.**Q: We get references to a lot of the fathers (of the Brothers.) Why don’t we hear about the warriors’ moms?A: One of the hard things is that the world is so large, it’s challenging to tailor the stories and keep the books tight and focused. I want to keep the focus back on the couple, so it’s not so sprawling. But that also means that other details get sacrificed. **Q: Why did Devina leave those glowing footprints?A: The reason why she leaves the footprints, because as Throe gets sucked down into the hole, he gets stripped of all of his energy. Devina needs to follow a trail up. So what was glowing, and then faded, was the residue of the trail she followed up the hole. **Q: With the scene with the apple, did you plan that it for it all to come full circle? (this references the original scene when Zsadist shares an apple with JM when he’s new to the Brotherhood compound and then the newest scene in The Savior, where they offer the apple to Nalla.)A: There have been several scenes and details that I didn’t understand the importance of. The damn coffins in the garage. I mean, there’s three John Deeres and some fertilizer and a stack of *&%$ coffins. Vishous kept talking about the chained dogs. That moment when Zsadist was on the bus, and pared that apple. What I know to be true, is that if something keeps showing up, it must be important. As I was getting ready to outline The Savior, I saw JM with a black dagger, peal that apple. And it was crystal clear. I don’t like profound moments, I get tetchy at tender moments. So, I’m watching him pealing this apple, and I’m like, what’s he doing. And then I realized, no, what’s important is who is he giving it to.**Q: When Vishous got scratched, and realized that the water helps that? Why? Is that important for later?A: I don’t know.**Q: I don’t like the ebooks. I prefer a book in my hand. Is there any chance of a collection of those e-books?A: The thing I’m very cognizant of is the pricing of the books. But, once I write the book, the rest is up to the publisher. I’d like to get things into the hands of the readers, but more hard cover books gets expensive. So, the e-books lets me get the stories into the hands of the reader at a lower cost. But, Simon & Schuster is aware that people would love to have a compendium of those e-books and they’re working with me to make that happen.**Q: Will there be more firefighters?A: We’re trying to fit it into the schedule, and we’re hoping to announce something soon, perhaps for 2020.**Q: Xhex said that JM’s grid is similar to Darius. What does she think about that?A: There was a part where I felt like she was coaching JM, and I thought he was going to get it, but no, she didn’t get him there.**Q: I’m confused by the names like Xhex, and s’Ex. I never know how to pronounce them, unless I hear you say them. A: Yeah, I think we need a pronunciation guide. **Q: I love that the Brothers aren’t perfect. Are you ever going to stop writing them?A: Have you ever known a man that was perfect? And, one of the things I was worried about was, what if they stop talking to me. So, as long as they keep talking, I’ll keep writing.**Q: Who will be the first trainee to be inducted in the Brotherhood?A: That’s a Keep Reading, because I don’t know yet. We’re going to find out together.**Q: Are the diamonds Lassiter gave to Mary and Sarah significant?A: Remember when Lassiter gave the diamonds to Mary, and he said a mother’s tears are precious? He has the ability to turn tears into diamonds. Diamonds are forever, so the diamonds he gave to Sarah were a promise that she would live forever.**Q: When will we get the hardcovers for the first books re-released?A: I get a lot of people who ask that. The thing is, there’s a certain threshold that a book has to pass, in sales, for the publisher to consider re-releasing a hardcover book. All folks can do is keep asking. And, I’ll keep telling them folks are asking. **Q: Pre-trans are able to go out in the light. Do the kids go to school?A: Not a traditional school. You have to think about how kids were educated in the 1800s. There’s some things about the BDB world that haven’t evolved. So, they don’t attend schools.**Q: Is Fritz getting a book?A: No, that just wouldn’t be interesting.**Q: I want Lassiter to have his own, whole book. (Not just pieces of his story in other books.)A: He does get a book, but it’s going to be awhile.**Q: Does your mom read your books? And if so, which is her favorite book?A: I want you to know, my mom has never had biblical knowledge of a man. I showed up in her mailbox…but she loves the first one, she liked Dark Lover.**Q: Have you ever considered posters, with models? (So we can really see what the Brothers look like)A: I have an idea. I’m thinking of commissioning a series of illustrations, of what the Brothers look like. **Q: (This is another question that was difficult to discern, but it seemed that the questioner was asking why the book covers don’t always match the description of the character.)A: The publisher has control of the covers, and they can get close, but they can’t get the exact match. Like, hair styles, or tattoos. So they do their best. **Q: Throughout the books, there’s a theme of the humans being ‘rats without tails’. But, they’re getting together with humans, and the Queen was human. Why are they still being disrespectful of the humans?A: You know, a lot of people have asked that question. And I just don’t have a good answer.**********FIN***********
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    1.) Dark Lover ★★★★★2.) Lover Eternal ★★★★★3.) Lover Awakened ★★★★★4.) Lover Revealed ★★★★★5.) Lover Unbound ★★★★★6.) Lover Enshrined ★★★★7.) Lover Avenged ★★★8.) Lover Mine ★★★★9.) Lover Unleashed ★★★10.) Lover Reborn ★★★★11.) Lover at Last ★★★★★12.) The King ★★★★★13.) The Shadows ★★★★★14.) The Beast ★★★★15.) The Chosen ★★★★16.) The Thief ★★★★17.) The Savior ★★★The devil works hard, by my nostalgia works harder. Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | Twitch
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    Syn & Jo Early's book... I'M SO HERE FOR IT!!!!!
  • Scholar inArmor
    January 1, 1970
    AFTER READING:SPOILERS AHEAD, BE WARNED!It finally came to an end. The war with Omega. Everything.I did not expect Devina to be Omega's undoing. Honestly, I didn't. So she is the new enemy in Caldwell. I can't wait for it. Especially her storyline, it's so good. If she is back that means that Eddie and Adrian, from the Fallen Angels series, are here around the corner. I liked scenes with the Scribe Virgin and Omega. It was nice to see their dynamic and Omega's statement that he would never harm AFTER READING:SPOILERS AHEAD, BE WARNED!It finally came to an end. The war with Omega. Everything.I did not expect Devina to be Omega's undoing. Honestly, I didn't. So she is the new enemy in Caldwell. I can't wait for it. Especially her storyline, it's so good. If she is back that means that Eddie and Adrian, from the Fallen Angels series, are here around the corner. I liked scenes with the Scribe Virgin and Omega. It was nice to see their dynamic and Omega's statement that he would never harm Vishous even though he knew that Vishous presents a great danger for him. I just hope that Scribe Virgin remembers that and tries to help and/or redeem Lash. The scene with SV, Wrath, Beth, and LW was, also, very emotional. SV even stated that she was with his Queen from the beginning. And if you think about, she herself said that she does not know the future, so she couldn't know that Beth will become the Queen. But she knew that her father was Darius, and she respected him a lot. It is a nice homage to their friendship.It's revealed that Devina is SV's and Omega's sister, which means that she is by extent an aunt to Lash. I remember Ward saying during one of the signings that they are going to become a pair. Uhm, how is that going to work?The main characters, Syn and Jo were interesting but at the same time, they felt like a secondary character. At this point, I am sick of Butch and V and Rhage even. Rhage was not featured a lot but still, he got the first book, then the second one, and then the continuation of the second one in the Legacy series, and now his half-brother is getting a book with The Jackal. Don't even get me started on Butch and V... I just hope that their storylines are over for good. On the other hand, I am okay with Qhuinn, Blay, Xcor, Layla, John Matthew, and Xhex being featured a lot. Syn's talhman problem got resolved like it was nothing, which I didn't like. It could be explained a little. The parentage of Jo, Butch and Manny finally got explained. They all have the same father and it is Robert Bluff (he is dead) and different mothers so that basically makes all of them half-siblings and at the same time - Wrath's cousins. A side character who shined the brightest in this book was definitely Balthazar. He is nice. Regarding the next book, I honestly don't know. I hope that it will be about Phury x Cormia having little Ahgony and it can be called The Primale. Let's be honest, that is probably not happening. For the end, I want to address just one more thing. I read some questions which were answered by Ward herself about Ehric and Evale sharing a mate. I have read about polyamorous relationships between 2 guys and 1 girl, and to be honest, I did not have any complaints about it. They are Cristina Rosales x Mark Blackthorn X Kieren from The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare. What is worth mentioning, none of them is related. Ehric and Evale are fucking twins. The idea of them sharing a mate, just because they are fucking twins is abhorrent. I adore Ward, I do. She is one of the most consistent authors in this genre IMO, but this I just can't fathom. I hope that she/or her Rice Krispies change her mind. BEFORE RELEASE:Jo Early & Syn from the Band of Bastards...Black Dagger Brotherhood, Black Dagger Legacy & Fallen Angels series reading order: - novella + Fallen Angels book = Black Dagger Legacy book Dark Lover (BDB #1) [Wrath & Beth Pt. 1]Lover Eternal (BDB #2) [Rhage & Mary Pt. 1]Lover Awakened (BDB #3) [Zsadist & Bella Pt. 1, Butch & Marissa Pt. 1]Lover Revealed (BDB #4) [Butch & Marissa Pt. 2, Vishous Pt. 1]Lover Unbound (BDB #5) [Vishous & Jane Pt. 1]Lover Enshrined (BDB #6) [Phury & Cormia; Qhuinn & Blay Pt. 1] - Father Mine (BDB #6.5) [Zsadist & Bella Pt. 2] - The Story of Son (BDB #6.6)Lover Avenged (BDB #7) [Rehvenge & Ehlena; Wrath] + Covet (Fallen Angels #1)Lover Mine (BDB #8) [John Matthew & Xhex Pt. 1; Tohrment & No'One Pt. 1] + Crave (Fallen Angels #2)Lover Unleashed (BDB #9) [Payne & Manny; Visous & Jane Pt. 2; Xcor] + Envy (Fallen Angels #3)Lover Reborn (BDB #10) [Tohrment & No'One/Autumn Pt 2; John Matthew & Xhex Pt. 2; Qhuinn & Blay Pt. 2; Xcor & Layla Pt. 1] + Rapture (Fallen Angels #4)Lover at Last (BDB #11) [Qhuinn & Blay Pt. 3; Xcor & Layla Pt. 2; Trez & Selena Pt. 1; Assail & Sola Pt. 1] + Possession (Fallen Angels #5)The King (BDB #12) [Wrath & Beth Pt. 2; Trez & Selena Pt. 2; Xcor & Layla Pt. 3; Assail & Sola Pt. 2] + Immortal (Fallen Angels #6)The Shadows (BDB #13) [iAm & Catra; Trez & Selena Pt. 3; Xcor & Layla Pt. 4; Assail Pt. 1]= Blood Kiss (Legacy #1) [Paradise & Craeg; Butch & Marissa Pt. 3]The Beast (BDB #14) [Rhage & Mary Pt. 2; Xcor & Layla Pt. 5; Assail Pt. 2; Jo Pt. 1]= Blood Vow (Legacy #2) [Axe & Elise; Rhage & Mary Pt. 3]The Chosen (BDB #15) [Xcor & Layla Pt. 6; Qhuinn & Blay Pt. 4; Trez & Tres/Selena Pt. 4; Vishous Pt. 2]= Blood Fury (Legacy #3) [Peyton & Novo; Saxton & Ruhn] - Dearest Ivie (BDB# 15.5)The Thief (BDB #16) [Assail & Sola Pt. 3; Vishous & Jane Pt. 3, Jo Pt. 2] - Prisoner of Night (BDB 16.5)The Savior (BDB #17) [Murhder & Sarah; JM & Xhex Pt. 3]= Blood Truth (Legacy #4) [Boone & Helania; Syn; Butch] - Where Winter Finds You: A Caldwell Christmas (BDB #17.5) [Trez & Tres/Selena Pt. 5]The Sinner (BDB #18) [Jo & Syn]
    more
  • Kat
    January 1, 1970
    This one is going to be hard to discuss without giving things away, so Im going to put everything in spoiler tags 😊.(view spoiler)[ This was an installment to the BDB series that changed the game in a lot of ways. Devina from the Fallen Angels series has appeared and is now a major player. Her scenes were some of my absolute favorite. The vibe between her and Butch (while in disguise) were creepy and gave me the shivers. Our main romance in this book is between Jo Early (who I LOVED) and Syn. It This one is going to be hard to discuss without giving things away, so I’m going to put everything in spoiler tags 😊.(view spoiler)[ This was an installment to the BDB series that changed the game in a lot of ways. Devina from the Fallen Angels series has appeared and is now a major player. Her scenes were some of my absolute favorite. The vibe between her and Butch (while in disguise) were creepy and gave me the shivers. Our main romance in this book is between Jo Early (who I LOVED) and Syn. It took me a little while to warm up to Syn. I’ll freely admit that his murder-y fantasies while giving himself pleasure were not especially endearing him to me as a romance hero. I was glad when things turned around and he and Jo developed more of a “come with me if you want to live” Terminator-style vibe partway through the book, which I LOVED. Then, they had a great, surprisingly sweet dynamic, and the relationship really started to work for me. This was a book where Jo Early the half-breed human/vampire doesn’t know she’s with a vampire thanks to the memory wiping trick. We made it through 70% of the book before she pieced it back together, and nearly to the end before she went through her transition into vampirism, which felt a little long while reading, but in the end I enjoyed the way it played out. And again, the Jo/Syn scenes once they got going were really one of the best things about the book and took me by surprise in a great way.But the biggest development by far was the resolution of the Omega/Deshstroyer prophecy storyline that has been promised for so many books I can’t remember. I wasn’t expecting the way it resolved, TBH. Big surprise with Devina being the little sister of the Omega? And I guess also of the Scribe Virgin? This should be an interesting development in future books.I think my favorite part of the book was the final scenes with Wrath, Beth, LW, and the Scribe Virgin. Those are the moments I love in the books! Also the great scene in the dining room. The last one between Lassiter and Devina… interesting! (hide spoiler)]Please excuse typos/name misspellings. Entered on screen reader.
    more
  • Bev
    January 1, 1970
    I'm going with a generous 3 stars because the parts with Jo and Syn, the little we got, were really good. The rest, not so much. There was so little interaction between Jo and Syn, given that this was a fairly long book it really left the relationship building lacking and anti-climatic. Sadly there was SO much other crapola wedged in instead, it was ridiculous! 🤦♀We got, ad nauseum:Butch (which I shouldn't mind because I adore Butch but this is NOT his book dammit!)Butch and VA Fallen Angels I'm going with a generous 3 stars because the parts with Jo and Syn, the little we got, were really good. The rest, not so much. There was so little interaction between Jo and Syn, given that this was a fairly long book it really left the relationship building lacking and anti-climatic. Sadly there was SO much other crapola wedged in instead, it was ridiculous! 🤦‍♀️We got, ad nauseum:Butch (which I shouldn't mind because I adore Butch but this is NOT his book dammit!)Butch and VA Fallen Angels crossoverMr FThe OmegaThe lessersThe human mafia/mobThe CCJ newspaper bossDevinaAnd on, and on, and on.And the final nail in the coffin - the last chapter wasn't even about Jo and Syn, ooooh no! Instead we get more Devina, Lovely .... not! 🙄
    more
  • Chris C - A Midlife Wife
    January 1, 1970
    Amazing book and story! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~This is the story of Syn and Jo. Its also a story of war and despair. And a story of hope and love.Its hard to dive into the review and only tell you bits and pieces of the story. So let me just say that this is yet one more piece of the entire series that makes it so freaking addictive!Syn is a soft hearted guy deep down. He has not always been a good person and he recognizes his faults. But when he and Jo meet, he recognizes something inside. Some thing Amazing book and story! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~This is the story of Syn and Jo. It’s also a story of war and despair. And a story of hope and love.It’s hard to dive into the review and only tell you bits and pieces of the story. So let me just say that this is yet one more piece of the entire series that makes it so freaking addictive!Syn is a soft hearted guy deep down. He has not always been a good person and he recognizes his faults. But when he and Jo meet, he recognizes something inside. Some thing pure and wholesome that makes him look at the world differently. Yearning for something more he doesn’t believe he deserves.I don’t want to spoil this awesome read for you. What I will say is that Ward has an amazing imagination and a talent beyond anyone in this genre.The Sinner is gruesome but very bad ass at the same time. Full of love and appreciation for each other, these characters are just a perfect example of true friendship. They truly are brothers and a wonderful blend of family.An amazing story of caring, compassion, and a deep connected love. An explosive story you simply cannot miss!!5 Fabulous Hot Stars!* copy received for review considerationfull review - https://amidlifewife.com/the-sinner-b...
    more
  • R Y A N ⚡️
    January 1, 1970
    3/5 - OK I didnt hate this book but I still havent received make up sex for the last two bombs...BDB is somewhat on the path to recovery, hopefully? This would have been a 4-star rating but I cant excuse the final scene with Butch and Vishous. Words and phrases that need to be retired: ⚡Hello. Just stop. Its not a good look.⚡Well what do you know this was over used in Blood Truth and its even more annoying now.⚡R8. Just say your car after its established that Butch is driving Vs car. 3/5 - OK I didn’t hate this book but I still haven’t received make up sex for the last two bombs...BDB is somewhat on the path to recovery, hopefully? This would have been a 4-star rating but I can’t excuse the final scene with Butch and Vishous. Words and phrases that need to be retired: ⚡️Hello. Just stop. It’s not a good look.⚡️“Well what do you know” this was over used in Blood Truth and it’s even more annoying now.⚡️R8. Just say “your car” after it’s established that Butch is driving V’s car. Furthermore, why is Butch driving V’s car? He has at least 2 of his own. And what happened to the Escalade? Fritz finally couldn’t get all the cum stains out? We get JRW loves cars but I mean when does it stop?💥💥Spoilers below, I’m not hiding my review. 💥💥First off, a message to every single reader that continues to complain about Butch and Vishous claiming the storyline in every book. 1. That is not true. Neither of them were in The Savior but for V written as an unprovoked asshole for like four sentences. And Butch was referred to as “the stocky one next to V” 2. Butch had a limited role in Blood Truth. But let’s not forget he’s in charge of the Training Program and Black Dagger Legacy books are completely focused on the trainees.3. In The Sinner, the newest book, in this lukewarm version of BDB (thanks a bunch Gallery Books!), Butch and Vishous are maybe 30% of the storyline. The rest of the book is 50% Syn & Jo; 14% the Omega; 5% Devina; and, 1% the Dhestroyer Prophecy *manifested* So why are Butch and V part of the subplot? Well this book was supposed to be DEHSTROYER PROPHECY MANIFESTED. Butch is the DHESTROYER. Vishous is Butch’s healer. Remember Light and Dark/ Savior and Sinner?? Go back and reread Lover Revealed. This wasn’t just another Butch and Vishous book. And don’t worry if you hate them, they won’t be around for a while, if ever again. JRW writes what the majority wants and there be a lot of V haters out there — This should have been Butch’s book or better yet, this should have been the 900 page BDB book (Don’t try and tell me, JRW, it is the price point... Nopers many books are that long and the price stays the same. And all your loyal readers that are still following through the molasses of vague romances and ghostwritten submissions would all pay more for a brick!)... Readers have been waiting 12 years for this showdown between Butch and the Omega. We have been waiting at least 5 years for Jo to come around and finally learn how she, Butch, and Manny are all related. All of it fell flat. There was no tension, besides Vishous being told to take a seat and drink orange juice. The Fallen Angels/ BDB crossover has been teased for 6 years. Devina does show up. But why? Here’s what’s crackin with this book: First and foremost this was a missed opportunity of magnanimous proportions. At least it reads like JRW actually wrote the book and gave the ghostwriters some time off. But honestly, the readers deserved way better. This was a series. Each book built upon the next. Everything was interconnected. Now we are in the generation of standalone editions. They fit with the series but, meh, you don’t have to be a real fan to know what’s going. I love info-dumps for the new readers 😑Syn and Jo. Was this insta-love? It was the slowest one if it was... but who cares! This is PARANORMAL ROMANCE! Mating bonds are a trope! That’s why they are insta-loves and why I love them. Had this been a true insta-love we would have had way more development between them. Remember the OG BDB days when couples were really fleshed out in one book? It’s because they got together fast. Syn and Jo spend ALOT of time doing the same things over and over: Run from the police. Eat. Have vague random sex. Keep secrets. It was tedious. They don’t even “bond” for real until she transitions which was a hot mess. She goes full on change in the middle of the street. Then Syn fucks her in the back of the mobile clinic while Manny drives!Also. Did we need an almost verbatim Twilight scene? “Say it” ... “Vampire” I was waiting for Syn to sparkle.Jo. This bitch doesn’t find out she’s a half vamp until page 380/500!!! She doesn’t transition until page 450/500!!! Syn: Ok here we go again... The Curious Case of Murhder, this time it’s Syn. JRW kept telling the fans how she needed a trigger warning for this book. Syn had such a horrible life and it was awful to write. Really? Did you accidentally delete that whole part of the story and forget? Just like the timeline is forgotten and Lyft’s are a thing even though it’s 2011?? in BDB land... Ok so yeah Syn’s tiny flashbacks were weak. We were told his backstory was worse than Z and Vishous. Nope. It’s like JRW chickened out AGAIN. She did it with V and his kink, Murhder and his crazy, and Syn and his we-dont-know-why-his-eyes-glow-red. Syn even tried to tell V that he had a horrible father growing up. 🌟All the damn stars to Vishous🌟. He straight up tells Syn “Bloodletter, try again.” One last WTH with Syn. Homeboy can’t get off but as soon as Jo becomes vamp he can blow his load? That’s like the virgin heroine rockin her mans world the first time she has sex.Butch and Manny. They’ve known that they are brothers for at least two years more like three. They don’t act like they are really friends. But they are both HYPER ASS PROTECTIVE of Jo after meeting her for like five minutes?? Okkkkk. And after all this waiting to find out who their dad is we are told he died 10 years ago?!!!! WHAT?Butch and Vishous. Butch has this “bad feeling” that V is the one the Omega wants to kill so V is forced to stay on lockdown at the mansion. Like he’s in time out with the babies. He’s not even allowed to go out for the final showdown when Butch has to take on the Omega. What?!Scribe Virgin and Omega. What the hell are we even doing? Now they are twins? Like real brother and sister? First we are told that she will die when the Omega does, wrong. Then the Omega says “well V is my blood and your children were never to be harmed, I’m not that evil.” Ergo, V didn’t need to be on lockdown. Devina. She started off good ol’ Devina. Violent and beautiful. Props for getting to Butch the way she did. But at the end of the book... WTF Ward?! The prophecy wasn’t fulfilled IMO. Remember that riddle we’ve all had to read over and over and scratch our head about, clearly it was a red herring. The Demon Queen became a soft marshmallow by the time she intervened. And that stupid ending with her and Lassiter. Whatever. Wrath. Such a cornball scene. Just give the dude his eyesight back all ready. SEX: sex in BDB isn’t the same. It’s vague. We were given graphic sex scenes back in the day. We know what each of the OG Brothers dicks looks, feels, and tastes like. Now we get more info about Jo’s socks than what Syn is doing to her. Smut is reduced to a lot of oral sex and finger banging but my definition is far more explicit than the acts in the books. Again, thank you Gallery Books. Butch and Marissa had a perfect opportunity for a great blow job scene yet it was fade to black. I know I’m missing some other stuff that bugged me. I was at least entertained with this book. Prob had to do with Butch and V having page time. Although I am pissed that JRW promised a shower scene, again nope. It’s so obvious Butch wants a piece of V. He’s constantly referring to his roommate at home and brings up V’s kinks whenever he can.
    more
  • Sandra
    January 1, 1970
    There's always something a little magical when I crack open a new book in JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Recently we've been blessed with extra little peeks into Caldwell and the BDB with the Legacy books and a sweet bonus book at Christmas. But there's nothing better than 500 pages of solid BDB time.Anyone that's stayed current knows that The Sinner is the book where the war with the Omega and the Lessening Society comes to a head. Its also brings to the forefront one of the Band of There's always something a little magical when I crack open a new book in JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Recently we've been blessed with extra little peeks into Caldwell and the BDB with the Legacy books and a sweet bonus book at Christmas. But there's nothing better than 500 pages of solid BDB time.Anyone that's stayed current knows that The Sinner is the book where the war with the Omega and the Lessening Society comes to a head. It’s also brings to the forefront one of the Band of Bastards, Syn, and a character that’s been on the periphery for quite a while, Jo Early. Jo’s family history has been the source of endless conversations between BDB fans and the payoff in The Sinner for them is one of the things that I loved about the book. We also know that Butch-The Dhestroyer-is the key to taking down the Omega. And, in case you’re thinking the title is self-explanatory, you’ll find that it’s much bigger than one character, with a handful of people taking center stage, making the book (for me) more an Urban Fantasy novel rather than pure paranormal romance-which I’ve always loved about this series. Butch's story arc has been racing towards its end for a while. He's been around a lot lately, featuring prominently in a couple of the Legacy books. He's my favorite character, so no complaints from me. I loved his banter with V and, more importantly, how easy it was for him to express how much he loves his BFF. That really stood out in The Sinner because Butch, who knows he’s vital to destroying the Omega, is in the dark on how his confrontation with the with the Scribe Virgin’s evil twin will play out. I loved seeing him so emotionally vulnerable as it's such a contradiction when compared with his strong, warrior persona.Jo Early barged right in and became my favorite female character. It's so weird when we consider that chronologically Jo is just a few years younger than Beth. With their shared background-given away at birth, journalism, isolation from most people-you’d think they’d be so similar. But Ward introduced us to Beth over 15 years ago and, naturally, she's a representation of that time. Since then, women have really risen up and confronted the misogyny that we face day to day. Jo is written with that in mind, in a subtle way, leaving me cheering for her on every time she took a male to task. She’s strong, funny, and sure of herself. I loved everything about her. Then, we have Syn. We last saw him in Blood Truth and he scared the bejesus out of lots of people. I didn't find him as scary in The Sinner, which is good because he’s meant to be the romantic "hero". We get a brief look into his formative years (compared to others like Xcor and Zsadist whose backstory filled the pages of their books), and some understanding of who Syn is. While Jo was wonderfully written, Syn felt a little underdeveloped for me. There are things about him that didn't feel fully explained, which left me with questions. That said, I loved his romance with Jo and how his love for her made him take a hard look at how he was living his life. Sharing the pages of The Sinner are two other characters: the woman who lured Throe into the “book” in The Savior (I won’t give her name in case you don’t know) and Mr. F, a newly inducted Lesser. Surprisingly, Mr. F’s POV stands out as a unique voice compared to the other Lessers we’ve heard from in the past. He shows readers what it’s like to be a new inductee, unsure of his role after the abusive initiation ceremony. I thought that was a brilliant way to end wrap up the Lessers role in the series. As for the “woman”, she’s a welcome new adversary, bringing a touch of humanity and vulnerability to her evilness. As for the overall story it's a welcome addition to the series and a turning point. The romance arc was much sweeter than I expected and totally realistic in the BDB world (quick bonding, etc.). There's an incredibly slow build up of the overall plot - which I think is Ward’s signature - but it doesn’t work as well in The Sinner compared to other books in the series. There were parts of the story that dragged and while I didn’t skip over anything, it frequently took me out of the book. Questions we've all had for a while are answered without too much fanfare and, the like many of the recent books in the series, the ending is explosive and, for me, quite surprising. I loved getting to know the Band of Bastards a little more and I’m definitely stoked to see where the series goes from here.Thank you to Gallery Books for an advanced copy in exchange for honest feedback.
    more
  • Tanja ~ T's Book ~ KT Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I just finished The Sinner and I found it to be a fresh yet an incredibly nostalgic throwback to the writing and feel of the very first books of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books. I am finding it almost an impossibility to write a spoiler-free review and still being able to covey just how much I know fans are going to love this.So, a few bullets points will be shared instead. Butch & V = Perfection with a few tears.Syn & Jo = a slow burn with an unexpected innocence.An alliance that I just finished The Sinner and I found it to be a fresh yet an incredibly nostalgic throwback to the writing and feel of the very first books of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books. I am finding it almost an impossibility to write a spoiler-free review and still being able to covey just how much I know fans are going to love this.So, a few bullets points will be shared instead. Butch & V = Perfection with a few tears.Syn & Jo = a slow burn with an unexpected innocence.An alliance that confuses and amazes.A glimpse at love.Out with the old and in with the new!!I used a ton of post-it notes to mark pages and highlight quotes, but after I went back and read the passages... well, guys... I would never rob anyone of the pleasure of experiencing The Sinner for the first time. I will end in saying I am more in love with this series than ever before and I can't wait to see what comes next in the BDB world. A new dawn is coming and I am ready for it.5 STARS~TanjaReleases March 24th - https://amzn.to/3dalYv1*ARC provided by the publisher. Follow me on Twitter✿Facebook✿Pinterest✿BookBabblers✿Instagram
    more
  • Catrin
    January 1, 1970
    Holy shit balls!! That was bloody brilliant 😀
  • Kristie
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 StarsI've been waiting for what happens in this book for what feels like... decades. And now that it has happened, I'm pissed. I'm not happy how it went down, not at all. Like, really? This is how it's going to go? And now a new threat because what, the old one was lame? I just don't understand what Ward was thinking. I don't get it and I'm not happy. And I really hated Devina in the Fallen Angels books, so much so, I didn't even finish them. I think I read the first two... When she started 2.5 StarsI've been waiting for what happens in this book for what feels like... decades. And now that it has happened, I'm pissed. I'm not happy how it went down, not at all. Like, really? This is how it's going to go? And now a new threat because what, the old one was lame? I just don't understand what Ward was thinking. I don't get it and I'm not happy. And I really hated Devina in the Fallen Angels books, so much so, I didn't even finish them. I think I read the first two... When she started showing up in this series, I'd really hoped she was only here for a minute. I guess not. BUTI kind of liked the story with Syn and Jo. Manny and Butch. V... A lot of things were good here. Truly. The emotional ties between the Brothers and their families is so strong and beautiful. I love that so much. But there wan't enough of all the other Brothers. There was not enough of a climax in the huge fight that I was looking for. There was not enough of so so many things, and too much of other stuff that is really inconsequential and boring. The amount of stuff I skimmed over... it was a lot. I'm disappointed and angry. Mostly because I know that when the next book comes out, I'm going to buy it because I can't not do it. I can't not read more. I can't bail on years of reading and years of getting to know the main characters of this series and caring about them to just give up. I wish I could quit you, Ward. I really do.
    more
  • Angelika
    January 1, 1970
    3,5 ★My review in Hugarian.
  • ❤️ Dorsey aka Wrath Lover Reviews ❤️
    January 1, 1970
    ⚔ 4.5 Hitman Stars!! ⚔ This book is really reminiscent of JRWs early BDB books and I couldnt be more thrilled!! JRW said several times this book was pivotal to the series and it definitely is! Syn is a fighter and assassin with the Band of Bastards who falls for pre-trans newspaper reporter Jo Early (who weve gotten snippets of in the last few books). Syn likes his job as a assassin and when he takes a hit job, his victim is none other than Jo who is investigating the gruesome death of a ⚔️ 4.5 Hitman Stars!! ⚔️ This book is really reminiscent of JRW’s early BDB books and I couldn’t be more thrilled!! JRW said several times this book was pivotal to the series and it definitely is! Syn is a fighter and assassin with the Band of Bastards who falls for pre-trans newspaper reporter Jo Early (who we’ve gotten snippets of in the last few books). Syn likes his job as a assassin and when he takes a hit job, his victim is none other than Jo who is investigating the gruesome death of a crime family member. Syn scents Jo as a pre trans and he spares her, now he’ll do whatever it takes to protect her. For the first time in his long life he feels something for a female.Be Prepared for: 🖤 The Destroyer prophecy coming to it’s end with the Omega. There was a twist that totally caught me off guard....just wow! The ending sets up what’s to come in the next book Lover Unveiled (coming March 2021) in which JRW revealed she will be introducing a new female vampire!🖤 The Scribe Virgin returns and we definitely see a different side to her!! Don’t despair our favorite fallen angel Lassiter still has his job. 🖤 The Brothers now have a new enemy.....Davina!! Those of you who read JRW’s Fallen Angels series know who she is. We get a shocking revelation about Davina....again wow!🖤 Jo has familial ties within the BDB, which really is no big surprise if you’ve been reading the series. We get plenty of V, Butch, Marissa, and naturally Lassiter (LOVE him!) it’s always nice catching up with some of our favorites and enjoying their banter. Their characters definitely have a pivotal role here. For those of you dislike multiple storylines you’ll be happy to know this book centers around Syn & Jo and the Destroyer & Omega finale...and that’s it! Two storylines! I totally want to say more about the battle, Davina, The Scribe Virgin, and The Omega but I can’t without major spoilers! The Sinner is a great addition to the series, I throughly enjoyed my read.....now the countdown begins as we wait a whole year for the next BDB book.However; don’t dispare we’ll be getting book one for her new spin-off series Black Dagger Brotherhood: Prison Camp. The first book is The Jackal featuring Rhage’s unknown to him half-brotherthis coming August!
    more
  • Sandy S
    January 1, 1970
    THE SINNER is the nineteenth instalment in JR Wards contemporary, adult BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD paranormal, romance series. This is mercenary and vampire Syn, and journalist Jo Earlys story line. THE SINNER can be read as a stand alone but I recommend reading the series in order for back story and history as THE SINNER ends this particular arc of the series.Told from several third person perspectives including but not limited to Syn, Jo, Butch and Devina, THE SINNER follows several paths -the THE SINNER is the nineteenth instalment in JR Ward’s contemporary, adult BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD paranormal, romance series. This is mercenary and vampire Syn, and journalist Jo Early’s story line. THE SINNER can be read as a stand alone but I recommend reading the series in order for back story and history as THE SINNER ends this particular arc of the series.Told from several third person perspectives including but not limited to Syn, Jo, Butch and Devina, THE SINNER follows several paths -the building relationship between Syn and Jo; Butch’s destiny as The Dhestroyer; the reappearance of Devina and the revelation of her true identiy, and the inevitable end of the war with the Omega but the beginning of another. Journalist Jo Early has been investigating the paranormal including the possibility of dragons and vampires but our heroine never expected to come face to face with a man who may or may not have been sent to kill her. As well as investigating the supernatural, Jo begins looking into a series of brutal killings that are linked to the mob, an investigation that places Jo in the direct line of fire. Syn considers himself a mercenary for hire. Working with the Brotherhood, as well as taking side jobs in an effort to quell his need to kill, Syn finds himself facing his future when a half-breed vampire, just entering her transition, is Syn’s fated mate. What ensues is the building but heart breaking relationship between Jo and Syn, and the potential fall-out when secrets and lies are revealed.Meanwhile, Brian ‘Butch’ O’Neal aka the Dhestroyer knows his destiny to take down the Omega is about to come to fruition. Believing he will meet his maker, Butch struggles knowing he may not survive the upcoming battle, a battle meant to end the war. The relationship between Jo and Syn struggles in the face of preconceived notions and Syn’s battle with the demons from his past. Jo suspects Syn is one of the mythical vampires but has no idea that her fate is in the hands of the BDB.THE SINNER is a detailed and complex story line that ends this particular arc of the series, and sets the stage for the next. As the Band of Bastards begin to find their own happily ever afters, a promise of war is on the horizon, a promise that comes with a surprising revelation. The reader learns about Jo Early’s heritage and her connections to the BDB. We are witness to the Dhestroyer’s purpose, and the end of the Omega. The premise is entertaining and edgy; the characters are broken but spirited; the romance is tense and not without some issues including secrets and lies.copy supplied by the publisherwww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Michele
    January 1, 1970
    See the full review at HarlequinJunkieAn HJ Top Pick!!Mind. Blown. The Sinner was a high octane novel that answered a *lot* of questions and saw some things finally come full circle. Romance, deceit, power games, and friendship, J.R. Ward pulled out all the stops in this thrilling installment.Oh my goodness, what an incredible story! I loved that The Sinner read like an old school Black Dagger Brotherhood book, with everything coming down to the friendships and alliances the Brothers have formed See the full review at HarlequinJunkieAn HJ Top Pick!!Mind. Blown. The Sinner was a high octane novel that answered a *lot* of questions and saw some things finally come full circle. Romance, deceit, power games, and friendship, J.R. Ward pulled out all the stops in this thrilling installment.Oh my goodness, what an incredible story! I loved that The Sinner read like an old school Black Dagger Brotherhood book, with everything coming down to the friendships and alliances the Brothers have formed over the years. I can’t divulge too much about what happened as it would ruin the epic plot twists and events that took place. I should probably mention two things, though. First, you can actually read The Sinner even if you haven’t kept up with the series where Ward gave just enough background on the characters and previous happenings for it to all make sense... Read More
    more
  • Pam Nelson
    January 1, 1970
    This book overall was good, I am glad the Destroyer prophecy finally comes into play. It feels like we have been waiting forever for it. Normally I cant get enough of the BDB book and I finish it the day of release but this book dragged for me. I loved the story but it took a long time to get to the point. I missed some of our favorite characters from the series, we had so much blank space I wished we could have had a scene or two with them so it didn't feel so empty.I loved the Jo and Syn This book overall was good, I am glad the Destroyer prophecy finally comes into play. It feels like we have been waiting forever for it. Normally I can’t get enough of the BDB book and I finish it the day of release but this book dragged for me. I loved the story but it took a long time to get to the point. I missed some of our favorite characters from the series, we had so much blank space I wished we could have had a scene or two with them so it didn't feel so empty.I loved the Jo and Syn relationship but again so much space was taken up before we get to the meat of it all. That ending though I swear to god, instant tears and because of the ending I am bumping up my rating to a 4. Again no one could be the brothers but Jim, he is the Brothers in my book.
    more
  • Fatlazicat
    January 1, 1970
    Next year cannot come quickly enough, true?! And gimme some of that Butch! He is so my fav Brother and cannot wait to see the Dhestroyer prophecy come into play. Syn and Butch will work great together.
  • Books and Coffee
    January 1, 1970
    Now this cover i like!
  • Yours Truly, Diana *The Evil Witch*
    January 1, 1970
    Never Has It Felt Better To Sin*self-purchased. No need of sugar daddies called promo teams*Whats this book about? (I'm trying to give as little spoilers as possible)This is Syn and Jo Earlys book. Butch and Vishous make a lot of cameos. Something happens with the Omega prophecy. Just Another regular BDB book.I dont like paranormal romance anymore; I only read my yearly dose of it when J. R. Ward publishes her Black Dagger Brotherhood book. Ive loved and cherished most; Ive only hated two. Here, Never Has It Felt Better To Sin…*self-purchased. No need of sugar daddies called promo teams*What’s this book about? (I'm trying to give as little spoilers as possible)This is Syn and Jo Early’s book. Butch and Vishous make a lot of cameos. Something happens with the Omega prophecy. Just… Another regular BDB book.I don’t like paranormal romance anymore; I only read my yearly dose of it when J. R. Ward publishes her Black Dagger Brotherhood book. I’ve loved and cherished most; I’ve only hated two. Here, I find myself loving it. Every year, I start my new BDB book and I finish it within hours. Poor choice since I have to live with the fact that I need to wait another year for the next one. Every year, I vow to re-read all the books. This year, I didn’t. HOWEVER, this year is the year that I truly should have. Dealing with the omega prophecy and all, things went down. I was more curious about Syn and Jo than I was about Butch and Vishous’ shenanigans and that says something because I really like V and Butch. Jo was laid out splendidly; her backstory was admirable. I liked her sass and tenacity. She didn’t take sh*t from anyone. She had great chemistry with Syn. I enjoyed reading about him and I wish that certain aspects of him had been dealt with in even more detail. He was a lovely guy; I don’t know why everyone was out to get him so hard, spoken like a true bibliophile. I confess that I usually skip all the italic and Lesser parts of the BDB books. Here, I’ve confessed it. JUDGE ME. LOL. Syn had me reading the italic parts! What a wonder. I still skipped the lesser parts LOL. I recommend this read to the day one BDB readers since here we get one of the major plot lines resolved, Butch & V lovers and rare strong heroine in the Black Dagger Brotherhood universe admirers. Jo Early is unlike the other ladies!InstagramFacebookGoodreadsBookbubAmazon
    more
  • Olga Lis
    January 1, 1970
    I am sorry but I absolutely hated this book with all myself.This is not what I have been looking for at all. It was horrible the way she wrote Syn; him not caring about the other Bastards but Balthazar?? Where is his loyalty to Xcor?? Where is the Band of Bastards I so much loved? They were not mentioned at all, except in few moments but other than that? It's always about the love couple V+B and the other things around them.I felt so terribly disappointed of how the storyline went, nothing I am sorry but I absolutely hated this book with all myself.This is not what I have been looking for at all. It was horrible the way she wrote Syn; him not caring about the other Bastards but Balthazar?? Where is his loyalty to Xcor?? Where is the Band of Bastards I so much loved? They were not mentioned at all, except in few moments but other than that? It's always about the love couple V+B and the other things around them.I felt so terribly disappointed of how the storyline went, nothing mentioned about the BoB, but always about the same people. And at the end the fact that he doesnt give his loyalty anymore to Xcor?? Wtf is that??? Wtf is him leaving the only family he had and that was the BAND OF BASTARDS??? And Xcor not caring and not saying much about him leaving??? Are you f*cking kidding me???! This is not the Bastards I loved! This is not the Bastards I want to read! I am so damn angry at all this sh*t that I couldn't really focus on this stupid Destroyer story because honestly, I dont care! I don't care anymore if they all die or not honestly. I am over with the Bdb. Those were the mostly wasted money in my life. And I loved this series. I loved it with all my heart. But of course Warden and her editors had to ruin it. Had to make in incoherent with the behaviours of the characters I loved, especially Xcor and the Bastards. It was amazing the fact that the Bastards had their loyalty to Xcor, but now with this book everything had to be changed OF COURSE. Because the hungry fanatics want always the same people around! : Wrath, V and Butch!
    more
  • AlwaysV
    January 1, 1970
    The first 90% of the story was surprisingly boring. But I persevered and was rewarded. The final 10% easily earned Five-Super-Twisted Stars. Sharing one of my favorite scenes: "So you're not completely gone, then. The cat, though? Really." "I have been with your Queen since day one." He had to laugh. "That makes me happy." "You are a fine King. You have done your father proud." . . . "Don't say shit like that. You'll melt me." "And as for your son, he looks like you." "Does he?" He ran a The first 90% of the story was surprisingly boring. But I persevered and was rewarded. The final 10% easily earned Five-Super-Twisted Stars. Sharing one of my favorite scenes: "So you're not completely gone, then. The cat, though? Really." "I have been with your Queen since day one." He had to laugh. "That makes me happy." "You are a fine King. You have done your father proud." . . . "Don't say shit like that. You'll melt me." "And as for your son, he looks like you." "Does he?" He ran a fingertip over L. W.'s soft hair. "You know, his eyes have changed. They were blue. But now they're green. Beth doesn't want me to know. She's kept it a secret—but I overheard her talking to Doc Jane about it. I don't care. He's prefect the way he is." "Yes, he is." There was a pause. "Here. See for yourself, my old friend." All at once, his vision opened up . . . providing him with a crystal clear vision of Little Wrath. . . beheld his blessed born son, from the face that was a carbon copy of Wrath's own, to the jet-black hair that was growing in thick and healthy, to the limbs and torso that, even in this still nascent stage, promised to be powerful and strong.And then there were the eyes. Clear . . . and icy green just like Wrath's own. And they stared back at him with a gravity that made no sense. How could the young know how important this moment was?
    more
  • HeatherP
    January 1, 1970
    I love diving into a new Black Dagger Brotherhood book, it's always like coming home. Paranormal romance is one of my favorite genres, but it's hard to find a good solid series from it lately. I love that J.R. Ward is a consistent one for me. I really enjoy these books no matter what the story line is, main characters are, side characters, etc. I love reading, and these books here, they are always worth the time. Would I enjoy seeing some of the other brothers featured besides Butch, V, Rhage? I love diving into a new Black Dagger Brotherhood book, it's always like coming home. Paranormal romance is one of my favorite genres, but it's hard to find a good solid series from it lately. I love that J.R. Ward is a consistent one for me. I really enjoy these books no matter what the story line is, main characters are, side characters, etc. I love reading, and these books here, they are always worth the time. Would I enjoy seeing some of the other brothers featured besides Butch, V, Rhage? Sure, I can't deny that. That doesn't take any ratings away for me just because of this. The reason I did mark it down was because I miss the work, the angst, the CHASE of the romance. I miss gasping when they bond with their mate. We all know it's coming, but the way that it does or the when is the surprise. I miss the surprise. The bonding is coming to easy, and a bit to insta love for me. I can not stand insta love. It takes away from my favorite part of romance books - the chase. I love reading about them falling, there is no falling when it is insta love. Do we all remember how long Blay and Quinn's story arc took? That was perfection. That was everything. I'm not saying each couple needs their story to take several books, but it could take longer than the insta love aspect does. Besides all of that, I enjoy these books. I'll be anticipating the next one as much as I always do. This series is still something that I enjoy, even all these books later.  ARC in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Phrankie Willson
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this series! More than any other but I find myself disappointed. Disappointed doesnt even cover it. I think I cant read any further. The characters are being butchered and the new ones are no where near as developed and thought out as they were in past books. And dont even get me stared on her plots lately. Everything seems so forced, so rushed and not well thought out. There are so many mistakes, or random changes that dont make sense. Also where did the erotica go? What has happened?? I loved this series! More than any other but I find myself disappointed. Disappointed doesn’t even cover it. I think I can’t read any further. The characters are being butchered and the new ones are no where near as developed and thought out as they were in past books. And don’t even get me stared on her plots lately. Everything seems so forced, so rushed and not well thought out. There are so many mistakes, or random changes that don’t make sense. Also where did the erotica go? What has happened?? The love, the sex, everything seems so tame. So lame, so boring!Why did her writing style change so much?? I wonder if she had too much on the go, or maybe sheMs taking too many people’s ideas and opinions on board or maybe there really is ghost writing happening here. Might be dramatic but it’s heartbreaking being so disappointed by her latest books.
    more
  • Alexandra
    January 1, 1970
    Oh how the game has changed! Devina is BACK!And she mentioned...wolven!?AS IN FREAKING WEREWOLVES!?
  • Hedy Moberley
    January 1, 1970
    Amazing. I loved it
  • Jenn
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come. But I liked it.
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    I cant find the words....just wow! Tears of happiness I can’t find the words....just wow! Tears of happiness
  • Marielle Authier
    January 1, 1970
    expected publication 2020Change toExpected publication: March 24th 2020 by Gallery Books
  • Becca H
    January 1, 1970
    Honestly I wasn't expecting much given the last few books in this series have disappointed me. In the end the book was decent but nothing special.The romance: As usual with Ward lately it was just insta-love. She had the opportunity to do a real slow burn with these characters especially when they literally just met in this book, but no, despite Syn's evilness he falls head over heels in love with Jo the second he meets her. I'm not going to lie, the romance was cute at times but not what I Honestly I wasn't expecting much given the last few books in this series have disappointed me. In the end the book was decent but nothing special.The romance: As usual with Ward lately it was just insta-love. She had the opportunity to do a real slow burn with these characters especially when they literally just met in this book, but no, despite Syn's evilness he falls head over heels in love with Jo the second he meets her. I'm not going to lie, the romance was cute at times but not what I expected. Is someone who spent hundreds of years killing females really going to magically fall in love two seconds after meeting someone?The characters: I swear I can't differentiate between her characters anymore, they all speak exactly the same. The Bastards always spoke in an old-fashioned dialect, not anymore they don't, they now sound exactly like the Brothers. Her characters are just copies of one another at this point. Jo was likeable if not particularly memorable. I actually found her really annoying in The Beast, so I'm happy to say I liked her here. As for Syn, he's supposed to be this evil, messed up guy but the second he meets Jo, he turns into a pussycat. What the hell? Where was the character development? The redemption arc? The characters seemed so one-dimensional. Remember Xcor and Z? Huge effort was put into their character development. She didn't even bother here, she just did a complete 180 and contradicted the way she previously built up his character.The backstory: So Syn is supposed to have had this really tragic past, but J R Ward basically glossed over all of it. It was alluded to at best. Again, compared to Z, V, Xcor, there was no effort put into it at all. I know Ward was talking about using trigger warnings. I really wish she had instead of watering it down. I expected to get some explanation on how Syn ended up evil or how he ended up in the war camp, no such luck. Virtually no scenes of his past at all.The villain: I think the Dhestroyer Prophecy tied up too neatly and easily. It didn't need to be dragged out for so long. We waited 18 books for this and in the end it fell completely flat. The way Ward wrote the plot, the whole concept of the Dhestroyer Prophecy was made redundant. Seriously, it was pointless. If you're expecting loads of fighting and battles with the Brotherhood against the Lessers and for Butch to complete the Prophecy, you're going to be sorely disappointed. It couldn't have been more anti-climatic if she tried. I think the way the Omega was dealt with made absolutely no sense and was completely contrived. I actually found the scenes at the end of this book with Devina really cheesy. She comes across as some kind of cartoon villain rather than someone I can take seriously. Her interaction with Butch and Lassiter was just ridiculous. I expected a lot more input from other Brothers and the Bastards when it came to the end result and we really didn't get that. It became too centred on Butch and V as usual. Not enough urban fantasy aspects in my eyes.The other characters: Just the usual Butch, V and the odd appearance from Tohr and Qhuinn. Other characters like Z and Phury never seem to get a look in anymore. As for the Bastards, she's completely ruined them for me. They're supposed to be these badass warriors, now they just come across as cheesy and like some sort of big boy's club. I actually feel like she's castrated all her males. Like I said earlier, they sound nothing like the Bastards, their way of speaking having been completely changed out of the blue. I was also expecting to see Xcor in this book and more interaction between Syn and the others which we didn't get. Jo is also the only female character in this book with any real role which is kind of sad.The whole thing just came across as cheesy. Syn can't ejaculate but guess what? As soon as he's with Jo, he can. Apparently his body was subconsciously waiting for his mate before he could cum. Like I said, very cheesy. She manages to give the guy a personality transplant. Evil to good in the blink of an eye. Again, no explanation. What is Syn? Why do his eyes glow red? What's his real name? None of these questions were answered. The book felt pretty half-arsed and the overall series plot seems to be virtually non-existent these days.Also, I'm sick and tired of all the continuity errors lately. Ward specifically said, I believe in The King, that L.W. would have vivid green eyes, in this book his eyes are ice green. We were told in Blood Truth that Syn developed his issues because of physical trauma from his father hitting him. In this book she basically tells us that Syn's behaviour is genetic, his father behaved the same way. Which is it Ward? And what is his father? Syn's also gone from having black eyes to having pale irises.Look, it's a decent book if you just want a cutesy love story. If you want a book with some depth to it, look elsewhere. She had the opportunity for some amazing character development and a really tragic backstory and like with the previous book The Savior, she chickened out of it. Her stories feel really shallow lately. Too much filler and not enough story. No build-up for the next books either, it's seriously like reading a bunch of standalones at this point. I'm sure the next book will be more of the same: flat characters and insta-love. I don't think she has a clue where the story is headed lately and she can't even get basic facts about her characters right anymore. If you've read one you've read them all.
    more
Write a review