Brave Girl, Quiet Girl
From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde comes a gripping and emotional novel about friendship, motherhood, and the journey toward finding a place to call home.Brooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing that matters most: her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Then, in a matter of seconds, Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as Etta, still strapped in her seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Miles away, Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen who is all too used to darkness. Thrown away by her parents, and with a future as stable as the wooden crate she calls home, Molly survives day to day by her wits. As unpredictable as her life is, she’s stunned to find Etta, abandoned and alone. Shielding the little girl from more than the elements, Molly must put herself in harm’s way to protect a child as lost as she is.Out of one terrible moment, Brooke’s and Molly’s desperate paths converge and an unlikely friendship across generations and circumstances is formed. With it, Brooke and Molly will come to discover that what’s lost—and what’s found—can change in a heartbeat.

Brave Girl, Quiet Girl Details

TitleBrave Girl, Quiet Girl
Author
ReleaseMay 19th, 2020
PublisherBrilliance Audio
ISBN-139781799744573
Rating
GenreFiction, Contemporary

Brave Girl, Quiet Girl Review

  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    This is my third book by Catherine Ryan Hyde and the third that earns 5 stars from me. This author really knows how to push my reading buttons! I am thrilled that I have so many more of her books to read, not to mention she puts out at least one new book every year. I have been slumpish in my reading the last several months, taking 10-17 days to read one book instead of the usual 4-5 days. It seems all the info out there on the Trump impeachment and the COVID-19 pandemic has drawn me in more This is my third book by Catherine Ryan Hyde and the third that earns 5 stars from me. This author really knows how to push my reading buttons! I am thrilled that I have so many more of her books to read, not to mention she puts out at least one new book every year. I have been slumpish in my reading the last several months, taking 10-17 days to read one book instead of the usual 4-5 days. It seems all the info out there on the Trump impeachment and the COVID-19 pandemic has drawn me in more than my books, which is a pretty sad statement. This one though took me only 3 days to read. It provided me with a most welcome three-day escape to all of the depressing news out there.I am really tired of the stolen kid theme. When Brave Girl, Quiet Girl became available on Net Galley, I was excited. I then read the blurb and was disappointed to see the plot involved a stolen child. For a second I considered passing, but gosh, this was Catherine Ryan Hyde so I took a chance she would make it good. She succeeded with flying colors. I do want to say for the benefit of readers that are also tired of this theme, the abduction of the child is not the thrust, but just the ignitor of the story.Ms. Hyde’s books (so far in my experience) profile people who are struggling with issues that seem insurmountable. A really strong feature of her writing is that her characters are so realistic. Their speech, their thoughts, their mistakes, their actions. They all seem believable. Unlike some writers, who make use of coincidences or somewhat over the top or implausible events to propel the story, I have seen none of that in Ms. Hyde’s novels. Her books also generally feature only a very few main characters, which is a relief in regard to keeping everyone straight. These few characters also get all the attention, so the reader really gets to know them—a real plus in my book. In my experience she always writes in one timeline, another positive in my opinion.The thing I like most about Ryan books, however, is the way they make me feel. I become ferociously attached to the main players and suffer right along with them until Ms. Ryan leads us all out of the woods, always towards a positive/uplifting ending. It’s the journey that is so captivating. I am never sure where she will lead us next. Brave Girl, Quiet Girl (such a wonderful title, btw) is the story of how strangers sometimes hold the key to the salvation of each other. Things are not always perfect, just like in real life, but one does get the gist that we don’t always have to be alone in our struggles even if we think we are.I strongly recommend this book for all readers of contemporary fiction. As of this writing, the novel is still available as a READ NOW on Net Galley. Publication date is May 19, 2020.Thank you Net Galley, Lake Union Publishing, and Catherine Ryan Hyde for the privilege of an advanced copy. Opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    This is a really lovely novel about the complex relationships between mothers and daughters, and learning to look beyond your prejudices to see the good in people.Homeless teenager Molly is living in a crate on the streets of LA after being thrown out of home by her religious family in Utah. Her world collides with that of single mother Brooke when she finds Brooke's two year old daughter Etta dumped on the street after Brooke's car was stolen with Etta inside. Brooke is recently divorced and This is a really lovely novel about the complex relationships between mothers and daughters, and learning to look beyond your prejudices to see the good in people.Homeless teenager Molly is living in a crate on the streets of LA after being thrown out of home by her religious family in Utah. Her world collides with that of single mother Brooke when she finds Brooke's two year old daughter Etta dumped on the street after Brooke's car was stolen with Etta inside. Brooke is recently divorced and back living with her negative, overly critical mother while she tries to get her life back on track and is totally distraught at the possibility that she may never see Etta alive again. When she first meets Molly all she sees is the dirty, disheveled street kid, not the brave and kind hearted girl underneath.Catherine Ryan Hyde is especially talented at creating realistic characters complete with very human flaws and foibles and also in making us think about how we would react in the same circumstances. Neither Brooke nor Molly's mothers are very nice people, both prejudiced and judgmental about things they don't try to understand. Fortunately Brooke is more compassionate, although she has trouble believing Molly's story of how she became homeless and it takes a while for both Brooke and Molly to trust one another. This was a very engaging read with a hearwarming ending - highly recommended.With many thanks to Lake Union Publishing and Netgalley for a digital ARC to read
    more
  • Sharon Metcalf
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI'm rapidly learning there's something truly lovely about Catherine Ryan Hyde's novels, and Brave Girl, Quiet Girl was no exception.    Since discovering her work I've noticed she doesn't shy away from contentious issues but she takes them on in an expert and engaging manner.   Her characters are so very realistic and I love the way she uses them to make me question my own morals and behaviours. The two main characters are Brooke and Molly and their  alternating perspectives bring the 4.5 starsI'm rapidly learning there's something truly lovely about Catherine Ryan Hyde's novels, and Brave Girl, Quiet Girl was no exception.    Since discovering her work I've noticed she doesn't shy away from contentious issues but she takes them on in an expert and engaging manner.   Her characters are so very realistic and I love the way she uses them to make me question my own morals and behaviours. The two main characters are Brooke and Molly and their  alternating perspectives bring the story to life.   Brooke is in her late 30's and is a divorced single mum who has returned to live with her aging & highly critical mother whilst she gets her finances under control.    Molly is a 16 year old homeless girl living on the streets because she was unwelcome at her parents home.     At first glance these two have nothing in common but their lives are thrust together in the most bizarre of circumstances.     The beauty of the writing is that although I've never been in either of their situations I felt such strong compassion and empathy for each of them.    Brave Girl, Quite Girl focuses heavily on mother/daughter relationships with three such relationships going under the spotlight.   Brooke has a strained relationship with her own mother and because of this she desperately wants the exact opposite for her relationship with 2 year old daughter Etta.   The third is between Molly and her mother as we gradually uncover the reasons she ended up living on the streets. Molly was a beautifully natured character and the author used her homelessness to make readers aware of how easy it is to fall into the trap of judging a person by their appearances.   In one scene Molly was desperately seeking help from passers-by and, as a reader knowing why she needed help, I was aghast it wasn't forthcoming simply because she was so clearly homeless, unkempt and dirty.    How critical of these people I was for their unwillingness to assist but then I tried to place myself in their shoes and wondered if indeed I would have behaved any differently?  I'd like to  think I would have helped but perhaps fear or other factors would have played into my response and I might have fallen short too.      And whilst Molly had proven herself to be completely protective and nurturing of Etta when they were together, Brooke found it difficult to entirely trust her.   Brooke harbored doubts about Molly's version of the story of how and why she's currently living on the streets, imagining she must have done something to contribute to her homelessness, and finding herself all too ready to apportion blame for the situation she found herself in.       Again Hyde cleverly introduced scenarios  forcing readers to evaluate their own hidden prejudices and attitudes. With multiple themes running throughout including love and loss, trust, judgement, family, and homelessness this was a delightful read and I feel Catherine Ryan Hyde just might be my new go-to author when I feel the need for a sensitive and caring novel.Thanks to the author, Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley for the opportunity of reading this digital ARC in exchange for an honest review which it was my absolute pleasure to provide.
    more
  • Jan Crossen
    January 1, 1970
    I read an ARC of this book and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! I have read all 35+ published books and numerous short stories, by Catherine Ryan Hyde, and this next release is my absolute ALL TIME FAVORITE! Catherine had me holding my breath with suspense, and sitting very still... trying to be a brave girl, quiet girl, too. Catherine's stories always shine a spotlight on important human issues, and the messages in this book are vital! Thank you, Ms Hyde, for your continued efforts towards making our world I read an ARC of this book and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! I have read all 35+ published books and numerous short stories, by Catherine Ryan Hyde, and this next release is my absolute ALL TIME FAVORITE! Catherine had me holding my breath with suspense, and sitting very still... trying to be a brave girl, quiet girl, too. Catherine's stories always shine a spotlight on important human issues, and the messages in this book are vital! Thank you, Ms Hyde, for your continued efforts towards making our world a kinder, better place for ALL people! Brave Girl, Quiet Girl, is available on May 19, 2020. Be sure to grab a copy for yourself and share this story with family and friends.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A tender and triumphant story of friendships and doing the right thing.SUMMARYBrooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her unhappy and very negative mother. Brookes life is shattered when shes carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as her two year old daughter, Etta, still strapped in her car seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Molly had been kick out of her parents home and has barely surviving on the street of LA She is stunned to find A tender and triumphant story of friendships and doing the right thing.SUMMARYBrooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her unhappy and very negative mother. Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as her two year old daughter, Etta, still strapped in her car seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Molly had been kick out of her parents home and has barely surviving on the street of LA She is stunned to find Etta, abandoned on a sidewalk in her car seat. Shielding the little girl from more than the elements, Molly must put herself in harm’s way to protect the brave and quiet little girl. Out of one terrible moment, Brooke’s and Molly’s desperate paths converge and an unlikely friendship across generations and circumstances is formed.REVIEWBRAVE GIRL, QUIET GIRL is a touching chronicle of a sixteen year old girl living on the streets of LA trying to do the right thing. Molly, thrown out on the streets by her mother, is a courageous, determined and delightful character. The story is thought-provoking as well as entertaining. CATHERINE RYAN HYDE’s has a way of writing with her heart, and particularly making her young characters come alive on the pages of her novels. Hyde’s characters alway rise to the occasion of resolving an untenable situation. In this case, it’s an abandon baby. Despite her own desperate situation, Molly cares for and ultimately is able to safely return Etta to Brooke. The story not only explores teen homelessness, but it’s main focus is of friendships and mother-daughter relationships. Why did Molly‘s mother put her out on the streets in the first place? Why is Brooke’s relationship with her own mother just as difficult as Molly’s? Is there anything Brooke can do to help Molly? My favorite part of the book was that both Molly and Brooke realize that they have no choice but to live through the stressfull situation they find themselves in. Neither had the time nor inclination to just give up or fall apart. Both were strong and determined. Like her other recent novels: STAY and What HAPPENED TO LUIS VELEZ Hyde has given us another tender and triumphant story. Thanks to Netgalley and Lake Union for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.Publisher Lake UnionPublished May 19, 2020Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Such sadness and heartbreak throughout this book and sadly, this goes on all throughout the world. Whenever Catherine Ryan Hyde comes out with a new book, I gotta read it. They are all great! Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this early release in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    I picked up this book when I saw the author's name. I recently read her book 'Stay' and just loved it and wanted to read more by Catherine Ryan Hyde. I was not disappointed.In this book a single mother, Brooke takes her daughter, Etta, to the movies and she was the victim of a carjacking. Brooke was thrown from the car, but the attacker drove off with Etta still strapped in her carseat. Brooke is shattered as she watches the car drive away with her baby. Molly, a homeless teenager, finds the I picked up this book when I saw the author's name. I recently read her book 'Stay' and just loved it and wanted to read more by Catherine Ryan Hyde. I was not disappointed.In this book a single mother, Brooke takes her daughter, Etta, to the movies and she was the victim of a carjacking. Brooke was thrown from the car, but the attacker drove off with Etta still strapped in her carseat. Brooke is shattered as she watches the car drive away with her baby. Molly, a homeless teenager, finds the carseat with the baby strapped in, quite a distance away from where the incident happened. Although Molly lives in a crate, her protective instincts kick in and she takes the baby with her to her crate and shelters her while she figures out how to get her home to whoever she belongs to.Thsi is a complex book that is not just about a stolen child, but the relationships between mothers and daughters, overcoming prejudices, doing the right thing, love and loss, and about trust. I found the story touching and developed an emotional attachment to the characters, both Brooke and Molly. The plot was believable and kept my attention. I really like the author's writing style and the themes she wrapped into the story.Thanks to Lake Union Publishing through Netgalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Tonya
    January 1, 1970
    Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a touching story about two very different, strong women. If I were to classify this novel, I would explain that it is partly a coming of age book combined with a light thriller or suspense novel. Truly though, it is much more than that. Two characters who each share their own point of view that are connected from one senseless night. Brooke is a single mom running an errand with her cute little daughter, Etta. Her car is taken along with her child and her world will Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a touching story about two very different, strong women. If I were to classify this novel, I would explain that it is partly a coming of age book combined with a light thriller or suspense novel. Truly though, it is much more than that. Two characters who each share their own point of view that are connected from one senseless night. Brooke is a single mom running an errand with her cute little daughter, Etta. Her car is taken along with her child and her world will never be the same again. Molly is a teenager who also happens to be homeless and she is the one who finds Etta, abandoned on the side of the road in a bad area of town in her car seat. The book begins with the desperation that Brooke feels and the care that Molly takes for someone's little girl but it winds up spotlighting deep issues including how we treat the homeless. There are other issues that author Catherine Ryan Hyde handles with skill and grace as we get to know Molly, Etta, and Brooke better. I will say that Hyde has a way of drawing characters that are visible to the naked eye through the words and paragraphs on the pages of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl. I was not ready for the novel to be over or to say goodbye to these lovely women (and little Etta too). Why? Because somehow I wound up drawn into their imperfect world with all their mistakes and insecurities...into the hearts deep within. Truly a touching book!! So Highly recommend!!!Thank you to NetGalley, Catherine Ryan Hyde, and Lake Union Publishing for this temporary, digital advance review copy for me to read and enjoy. As always, my opinions are my own.
    more
  • Betül
    January 1, 1970
    Review will be posted closer to release date.
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: May 19, 2020Brooke is recently divorced, and has moved back in with her mother and her two year old daughter, Etta. Although the relationship with her mother is strained at best, Brooke is doing the best she can to ensure her beloved daughter has a stable life. One day Brooke is carjacked, and she watches the carjacker drive awaywith Etta Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: May 19, 2020Brooke is recently divorced, and has moved back in with her mother and her two year old daughter, Etta. Although the relationship with her mother is strained at best, Brooke is doing the best she can to ensure her beloved daughter has a stable life. One day Brooke is carjacked, and she watches the carjacker drive away—with Etta in the backseat. Miles away, homeless teen Molly finds the toddler strapped into a carseat and abandoned on the side of the road. Unable to call for help, she takes Etta with her to her homeless camp, where they live together for several days before Molly is finally able to reach out to a policeman who return Etta to an ecstatic Brooke. During the next weeks, Molly and Brooke bond over their broken relationships with their mothers, and their love and adoration of Etta. As their lives continue to intertwine, both women find friendship and forgiveness in the most unexpected of places. Catherine Ryan Hyde is the author of over thirty-five books, and I am embarrassed to say I have only read two (Stay and Have You Seen Luis Velez?) but both of those novels left such an impression on me, that I was thrilled to be able to experience this new story. Hyde has a way of writing novels that uplift you and that renew your faith in humanity and, let’s face it, we all need a little of that these days. Brooke and Molly are from two different worlds, but they both find and bond over similar life experiences, and the love of a little girl. Although tragic in parts, this novel is also full of joy and hope, which is how Hyde portrays life and the human spirit in all of her novels, and it is the part that I feel, everyone can relate to- finding light in any darkness, and finding family in unexpected places.The ending of this novel was predictable, as novels of this genre usually are, but that does not make it any less enjoyable. I loved learning about Brooke and Molly, and enjoyed watching them bond and form a relationship, moving beyond their biases and judgments and growing as people. This novel is easy to read, but the subject matter is deep and thought-provoking. The paths our lives could take as the result of one simple choice, is reflected in Hyde’s newest work. I thoroughly enjoyed “Brave Girl, Quiet Girl” and I will make it a personal mission to read the remainder of Hyde’s novels that I have not yet experienced.
    more
  • ☕️Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    Wonderful story. Full RTC 4.5 stars
  • Judy Christiana
    January 1, 1970
    I have become a huge fan of Catherine Ryan Hyde in the past year after I read Have You Seen Luis Velez? I then began a goal to read her new and previous books. Her book to be released on May 19, 2020, Brave Girl, Quiet Girl (which, by the way, I love that title!), I believe is my new favorite. I have been immensely touched by Ms Hydes previous stories, but this one found a place that was so deep within me. By one-third of the book I was crying. That became the norm off and on for the rest of the I have become a huge fan of Catherine Ryan Hyde in the past year after I read Have You Seen Luis Velez? I then began a goal to read her new and previous books. Her book to be released on May 19, 2020, Brave Girl, Quiet Girl (which, by the way, I love that title!), I believe is my new favorite. I have been immensely touched by Ms Hyde’s previous stories, but this one found a place that was so deep within me. By one-third of the book I was crying. That became the norm off and on for the rest of the book.This author creates characters that become real to me. I care deeply about them. I am invested in their lives. Her characters are far from perfect. She makes you love them with all their flaws.I will not write about the plot itself. A potential reader can find that easily. I will say that although the world she writes about in this book is foreign to me, I believe she captured it well. People are judged by their image, by their possessions and by their actions. Sometimes these are not a true judge of the person. Sometimes a person’s actions speak more for them than anything else. The world of the book is told with two different perspectives. One view is from Molly a 16 year old, which I found totally captivating and genuine. The other view is from Brooke who is 39 and is more worldly, yet almost as lost as Molly. Reading the two views of situations that occur brought so much to the understanding and immersion into the story.This book will make you think about your interactions with strangers and with difficult people in your life. Themes of forgiveness, gratitude and trust are constantly interwoven in the plot.I recommend this heart-touching book so very highly. I believe it will be on many book club reading lists and will be a much talked about book after it is released in May 2020.I want to thank NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for giving me the wonderful gift of allowing me to read the ARC of Brave Girl, Queit Girl. My review is my own opinion not influenced by receiving the Advance Reader Copy.
    more
  • R
    January 1, 1970
    Some of the previous books I read by this author dealt with realistic issues. This book also dealt with such realistic problems as carjacking and homelessness. It was told in alternating chapters by the main characters. After enjoying a movie with her 2 year old daughter, Brooke suddenly found herself the victim of a carjacking. She was thrown from her mothers Mercedes, but unbeknownst to the carjacker, her sleeping daughter Etta was still strapped in her car seat. Molly, 16, recently came out Some of the previous books I read by this author dealt with realistic issues. This book also dealt with such realistic problems as carjacking and homelessness. It was told in alternating chapters by the main characters. After enjoying a movie with her 2 year old daughter, Brooke suddenly found herself the victim of a carjacking. She was thrown from her mother’s Mercedes, but unbeknownst to the carjacker, her sleeping daughter Etta was still strapped in her car seat. Molly, 16, recently came out to her strict religious family and was immediately thrown out of her house. She struggled to survive the streets of LA and was always vigilant of the dangers surrounding her.When Molly was returning “home” to her small wooden crate located in an isolated industrial area, she spotted Etta, still in her car seat, alone and scared. Caring for Etta until she could call the police was harder and more dangerous than Molly thought it would be…and they especially needed to be brave and quiet. This was a fast paced emotionally driven storyline. The characters were well developed and the interactions between Molly and Etta and Molly and Brooke were at times heartwarming and heartbreaking. From start to finish it was an engaging read. If you enjoyed other works by this author, you’ll enjoy this latest novel as well.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a masterpiece dealing with some horrific issues but ending on a powerful note of love!As a single mom of 3 teens I know the personal struggles of being on constant watch and never looking away for even a second as it only takes a SECOND!This was the nightmare that happened to this divorced single mom in which her two yo was gone in a flash!Now she spends all her time thinking of ETTA and where she might be and whether or not she's still alive.HOPE is all she's holding on too when a This book is a masterpiece dealing with some horrific issues but ending on a powerful note of love!As a single mom of 3 teens I know the personal struggles of being on constant watch and never looking away for even a second as it only takes a SECOND!This was the nightmare that happened to this divorced single mom in which her two yo was gone in a flash!Now she spends all her time thinking of ETTA and where she might be and whether or not she's still alive.HOPE is all she's holding on too when a break comes in the case with Molly a homeless teen struggling with her own issues.Perhaps if Brooke never listened to her mother whom she shares residency things would've been different. After all a BMW is eye candy for these types of carjackers...However, in hardships we find strengths and this may have actually been an eye opener for both ladies.Loving something bigger than oneself...tending to the needs of a child...being a mother is more than just blood it's dedication, sacrifice, love...There is so much I love about this book that I don't think my words can ever do it justice yet I'm proud that this author showed the depths of despair and how we can all rise above.An amazing read through and through!
    more
  • Bookworm LLC
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I have read by this author and I must say it was not my favorite.It starts out pretty exciting with a child abduction, rescue, and reunion. That is where is starts to just drag. It seems like it takes a really long time for anything to happen and when it does it is very predictable. It was a book that I just wanted to get done with so I could go on to another one.
    more
  • Lynne
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher, author and NetGalley for the review copy. Brook is trying to make a good life for her daughter Etta. She is divorced and living with her mother who is always getting on her case. Her mother told her she needs to spend more time with her daughter. So Brook takes Etta to the movies and they both enjoy their time together. On her way back a guy with a ski mask threw some stones through her window and it smashed the glass. He reached in and took hold of the steering wheel. Thanks to the publisher, author and NetGalley for the review copy. Brook is trying to make a good life for her daughter Etta. She is divorced and living with her mother who is always getting on her case. Her mother told her she needs to spend more time with her daughter. So Brook takes Etta to the movies and they both enjoy their time together. On her way back a guy with a ski mask threw some stones through her window and it smashed the glass. He reached in and took hold of the steering wheel. She wasn’t wearing her seat belt so it was easy to fling her out of the car. He took off with Etta. He drove to a convenient store and went inside leaving her alone. Molly a homeless girl who lives outside in a crate notices Etta is all by herself. I really enjoyed this story and her interaction with a homeless girl.
    more
  • Kathy
    January 1, 1970
    Brooke is a single mother living with her difficult mother and her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Whatever Brooke does somehow never measures up to what her mother thinks should be done. "Buckle your seatbelt" "take Etta out more" Brooke and her mother are constantly arguing over Etta's care and whose car is safer. Her mother sees the whole world as being dangerous even though they live in a nice part of West LA. One night Brooke buckles Etta securely into her car seat but leaves her own seat belt Brooke is a single mother living with her difficult mother and her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Whatever Brooke does somehow never measures up to what her mother thinks should be done. "Buckle your seatbelt" "take Etta out more" Brooke and her mother are constantly arguing over Etta's care and whose car is safer. Her mother sees the whole world as being dangerous even though they live in a nice part of West LA. One night Brooke buckles Etta securely into her car seat but leaves her own seat belt undone because she was wearing a big, long sweater, and it kept getting caught. Brooke stopped at a red light when it happened. A man moved fast towards her side of the car and before she could react, her window shattered. A hand opened her car door and pulled her from the car. Brooke sat in the middle of the highway and watched her mother's car drive away with Etta in her car seat in the backseat. Every mother's nightmare!Later that night, Molly, a teen estranged from her family, living on the streets, sees a baby in a carseat on the sidewalk. Molly can't believe her eyes and her first thought is to find a phone and call the police. Not as easy as it seems, markets are closed, no pay phones anymore and people living on the street don't have cell phones. Molly realizes that she is now responsible for the baby and must keep her safe. Reviewed at http://pennyformythoughts-nona.blogsp...Brooke and Molly's lives are totally different but the one thing that they have in common, they are both looking for a home and family where they belong and are accepted. Drawn together by this horrific act, Hyde has created a heart-stopping story of love, acceptance, and friendship. I am not a crier and do not cry easily, but this story really touched my heart. Hyde portrays the good in people even in the midst of evil. Mr. Rogers once said" When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” Catherine Ryan Hyde shows us the helpers and inspires us to be the good.Catherine Ryan Hyde is one of my favorite "go to" authors. I know when I sit down to read one of her books, I am going to love it! Each one of her books is distinctly different from the other and a treat in itself. Make sure you add this one to your TBR list and preorder it so you don't miss it!
    more
  • Annette
    January 1, 1970
    This story was so good! I felt such sadness for both characters and their relationship with their mothers. Both basically thrown away by the one person who should have always been there. It was a quick story, kept me turning the pages! Thanks to Netgalley for the early copy
    more
  • Gail
    January 1, 1970
    I read one of Catherine Ryan Hydes most famous books, Pay It Forward, years ago. I really enjoyed it and dont really know why I didnt check out any of her other books. Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is my third book of hers that Ive read in the past year or so. All three of them are very good. Hyde has a way of writing a story that pulls you all the way in, heart and all! Her latest, Brave Girl, Quiet Girl, is a story about a young homeless girl, and a single mother struggling to make an independent I read one of Catherine Ryan Hyde’s most famous books, Pay It Forward, years ago. I really enjoyed it and don’t really know why I didn’t check out any of her other books. Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is my third book of hers that I’ve read in the past year or so. All three of them are very good. Hyde has a way of writing a story that pulls you all the way in, heart and all! Her latest, Brave Girl, Quiet Girl, is a story about a young homeless girl, and a single mother struggling to make an independent life for herself and her two year old daughter. You learn a bit about what life is like for a person on the streets, but, I think more importantly, this book is about relationships. Mother/daughter relationships play an important role. Both characters have troubled relationships with their mothers. Can they work through their feelings about their mothers and form a new family to support each other? You’ll have to read for yourself to find out!
    more
  • Joanne
    January 1, 1970
    Brave Girl, Quiet Girl by Catherine Ryan Hyde was emotional and fascinating novel.I have read everything Catherine Ryan Hyde has written and this novel did not disappoint. Written from the views of Brooke, a struggling single mom and Molly, a homeless teenager, the novel explores friendships, homelessness, motherhood and what family really means.I highly recommend Brave Girl, Quiet Girl.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    I discovered Catherine Ryan Hyde years ago through Kindle Unlimited and she quickly became a go to author. When I found her newest book through @netgalley I was excited dive in. Fortunately it didn't disappoint. Brooke is a single mother just doing her best for her young daughter, Etta. She has a complicated relationship with her own mom only made worse when she is forced to move back in with her. Molly is a homeless teenager (later in the book you learn because of her mother's poor parenting I discovered Catherine Ryan Hyde years ago through Kindle Unlimited and she quickly became a go to author. When I found her newest book through @netgalley I was excited dive in. Fortunately it didn't disappoint. Brooke is a single mother just doing her best for her young daughter, Etta. She has a complicated relationship with her own mom only made worse when she is forced to move back in with her. Molly is a homeless teenager (later in the book you learn because of her mother's poor parenting but I don't want to give too much away.) It explores the complexity of mother daughter relationships. Their lives are crossed when Brooke's car is jacked with her baby in the backseat. By some miracle Molly thinks it's her lucky day that she has a car seat to sell, but instead finds a scared and afraid baby strapped into the seat. I was smitten by the relationship these young girls quickly developed. Chapter by chapter is bounces between each woman's point of view. While Hyde's writing is simple and good for a quick read, she does a good job at making me feel. I felt a mother's fear and pain, I felt a teens helplessness and eventual hope.
    more
  • ROBIN RUIZ
    January 1, 1970
    Oh Catherine Ryan Hyde you always make me dig deep within myself to see that not everything is black and white, and how our interactions with people shape and affect them and ourselves.Brave Girl, Quiet Girl took everything I thought I knew and showed me I didnt .Brooke is carjacked, while her baby daughter is in the backseat in her car seat.Molly is the homeless teen living on the street who finds baby Etta, this begins the story of Molly and Brooke and how they interact and how the world see Oh Catherine Ryan Hyde you always make me dig deep within myself to see that not everything is black and white, and how our interactions with people shape and affect them and ourselves.Brave Girl, Quiet Girl took everything I thought I knew and showed me I didn’t .Brooke is carjacked, while her baby daughter is in the backseat in her car seat.Molly is the homeless teen living on the street who finds baby Etta, this begins the story of Molly and Brooke and how they interact and how the world see things.An amazing book with such important issues being brought into the light I fully recommend this book and I think it may be my favorite book of this author ( I think I say that about every new release)
    more
  • David
    January 1, 1970
    Another compelling story by Catherine Ryan Hyde. This novel has many themes: the plight of homeless teens, the failure of our child protective services, the relationship between mothers and daughters, judgmental attitudes and grace that overcomes all of those problems.As usual, CRH has a young protagonist who shows more bravery and wisdom than the adults. The book takes many surprising turns but comes to a satisfying ending.Highly recommended.Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing Another compelling story by Catherine Ryan Hyde. This novel has many themes: the plight of homeless teens, the failure of our child protective services, the relationship between mothers and daughters, judgmental attitudes and grace that overcomes all of those problems.As usual, CRH has a young protagonist who shows more bravery and wisdom than the adults. The book takes many surprising turns but comes to a satisfying ending.Highly recommended.Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Patti
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I have read by this author and I must say it was not my favorite.It starts out pretty exciting with a child abduction, rescue, and reunion. That is where is starts to just drag. It seems like it takes a really long time for anything to happen and when it does it is very predictable. It was a book that I just wanted to get done with so I could go on to another one.
    more
  • Carolyn Stumpf
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl by Catherine Ryan Hyde, all opinions expressed in the review are my own. Brooke, a divorcee and mother to baby Etta, has moved back in with her overbearing mother. One evening she takes her daughter to the movies and a freak accident occurs, separating Mother and daughter.Enter Molly, a teenager living in the streets of LA, who finds young Etta and takes care of her for the evening. The bond they form in such a short Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl by Catherine Ryan Hyde, all opinions expressed in the review are my own. Brooke, a divorcee and mother to baby Etta, has moved back in with her overbearing mother. One evening she takes her daughter to the movies and a freak accident occurs, separating Mother and daughter.Enter Molly, a teenager living in the streets of LA, who finds young Etta and takes care of her for the evening. The bond they form in such a short time was so sweet. I also loved seeing Brooke come into her own and become an independent woman. Overall, I am rating this book 4 stars!
    more
  • Nicola Short
    January 1, 1970
    An interesting story about how complex mother and daughter relationships can be. Certainly makes you think about your own relationship with daughter. The story covers not only covers the relationship between mother and daughter but also the flaws in the child protective services and the plight of homeless teens.Many thanks to NetGalley, the publisher and author, Catherine Ryan Hyde, for providing me with an advanced reader copy of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Wendi Lee
    January 1, 1970
    Brooke's life shatters after she is carjacked and the criminal takes off with her toddler in the backseat. Brooke is recently divorced, without a stable job, living at home with her unpleasant mother. Little Etta is the only good thing in her life, and Brooke doesn't want to think about what will happen if she's never found again. Molly is a runaway teenager, living on the streets because homelessness is better than her family back in Utah. She stumbles upon Etta, and Molly's kind, maternal Brooke's life shatters after she is carjacked and the criminal takes off with her toddler in the backseat. Brooke is recently divorced, without a stable job, living at home with her unpleasant mother. Little Etta is the only good thing in her life, and Brooke doesn't want to think about what will happen if she's never found again. Molly is a runaway teenager, living on the streets because homelessness is better than her family back in Utah. She stumbles upon Etta, and Molly's kind, maternal heart leads her into Brooke's life instead. This is less a story about a crime (thankfully, I never really felt that Etta was in much danger, especially after Molly finds her), and more about people, reaching out and taking chances with another. Molly and Etta are both strong characters, but I was often frustrated with Brooke, who lacks empathy during most of the book. I also wanted more about the relationship between Brooke and her mother, as it was held up as a better example than Molly and her mother's relationship. All in all, however, I enjoyed this novel.
    more
  • Linda Leone
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Catherine Ryan Hyde, Lake Union Publishing and netgalley for the arc of the book in exchange for my honest opinion. Catherine's books always suck me in. She writes about real life issues and real life people. Not all characters are likeable. So many thought provoking subjects in this book. It challenges you to really think about your own views on homelessness, family relationships and so much more. Another winner by Catherine Ryan Hyde.
    more
  • Joyce Stewart Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Brave Girl, Quiet Girl: A NovelCatherine Ryan Hyde300 pages 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐Description: Brooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing that matters most: her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Then, in a matter of seconds, Brookes life is shattered when shes carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as Etta, still strapped in her seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night. Miles away, Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen Brave Girl, Quiet Girl: A NovelCatherine Ryan Hyde300 pages 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐Description: Brooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing that matters most: her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Then, in a matter of seconds, Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as Etta, still strapped in her seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night. Miles away, Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen who is all too used to darkness. Thrown away by her parents, and with a future as stable as the wooden crate she calls home, Molly survives day to day by her wits. As unpredictable as her life is, she’s stunned to find Etta, abandoned and alone. Shielding the little girl from more than the elements, Molly must put herself in harm’s way to protect a child as lost as she is. Out of one terrible moment, Brooke’s and Molly’s desperate paths converge and an unlikely friendship across generations and circumstances is formed. With it, Brooke and Molly will come to discover that what’s lost—and what’s found—can change in a heartbeat. 📘{My thoughts}📘This story is told from alternating points of view from the two main characters, Brooke and Molly. The author writes in such a way that you feel like you are there. It was well written with such great characters. I loved Molly and Etta. I didn't care much for Brooke. You feel every emotion of the characters as you turn the pages. All of the scenes were perfectly described. It was easy to feel as if you were right there in the middle of all of it. The one thing that did get on my nerves was the authors need to keep telling us over and over just how fat Brooke mother was. Other than that the book was pretty good and kelpt my attention for the most part . There was a few times it would drag . I want to say Thank you to author, publisher, and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this story . I truly appreciate it! *******Disclosure*******I received a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family.************************* As always if you like the book you read please take the time to leave a review for the author in places like goodreads & Amazon. It does not have to be long. Just a few sentences saying you liked the book will do. Authors really appreciate every review they get !
    more
  • Energy
    January 1, 1970
    I read "Have You Seen Luis Velez?" in January, so when I saw this one available for request from Lake Union, I was excited to put in for an ARC. Catherine Ryan Hyde sucks her readers in from the very start with the perfect setup of a missing toddler, and the desperation of a mother when their child goes missing. I was anxious to find out if Brooke would get her daughter Etta back. Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen stuck in a rough situation, that wants to take care of Etta until she can I read "Have You Seen Luis Velez?" in January, so when I saw this one available for request from Lake Union, I was excited to put in for an ARC. Catherine Ryan Hyde sucks her readers in from the very start with the perfect setup of a missing toddler, and the desperation of a mother when their child goes missing. I was anxious to find out if Brooke would get her daughter Etta back. Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen stuck in a rough situation, that wants to take care of Etta until she can get ahold of the police. But when you're homeless and broke, getting to a phone isn't an easy task. We watch the story unfold from both Brooke and Molly's perspective.Not only was this a great storyline, but I appreciated the inclusion of the real-world issue regarding homeless teens. Specifically, those that fall into the LGBTQ category and the struggles they face at home regarding their sexuality, especially in religious households. I found myself drawn into Molly and her struggle, and I cheered her on from the start. Molly and Brooke were wonderful characters, there was a lot they learned from each other. I liked how well the author wrote Brooke's mother, who was less than stellar. This was such a thoughtful read about healing and forgiveness, about finding light where the dark seems overpowering. A heartwarming read.
    more
Write a review