The Guest List
The bride ‧ The plus one ‧ The best man ‧ The wedding planner ‧ The bridesmaid ‧ The body On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It’s a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed.But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride’s oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast.And then someone turns up dead. Who didn’t wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?

The Guest List Details

TitleThe Guest List
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 2nd, 2020
PublisherWilliam Morrow
ISBN-139780062868930
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

The Guest List Review

  • Regan
    January 1, 1970
    solidly entertaining 3.75
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a rule breaker for me because I hate two things throughout my readings: 1) Too many POVS: I got confused easily and I don’t like to go back to remember which character was the post man rang twice or which character had some irrelevant back story, blablas, unnecessary yadayadas2) Slow burning story telling: I’m impatient person, I like to go straight and cut to the chase. So I don’t like stalling around facts, I just like to dive in! BUT… this book is an exception. I loved its slow b This book is a rule breaker for me because I hate two things throughout my readings: 1) Too many POVS: I got confused easily and I don’t like to go back to remember which character was the post man rang twice or which character had some irrelevant back story, blablas, unnecessary yadayadas2) Slow burning story telling: I’m impatient person, I like to go straight and cut to the chase. So I don’t like stalling around facts, I just like to dive in! BUT… this book is an exception. I loved its slow building tension, I loved the notorious, immature, childish boys club (I’m talking about groom’s friends who are acting like wedding crashers and stayed in their teenage years), I loved variety of interesting, rich, attention taker characterization. And wonderful part is till the end of the book we are left in the dark and we have no idea who is death or the identity of perpetrator. You have to focus so carefully when you read the chapters because any small detail turns out a big clue for you to solve the puzzle and not to get shocked when you face the surprising, twisty revelations and the connections between the characters. Yes, I have to stop that but I have to admit, at the end of the book my mouth was wide open, my eyes popped out and I stayed like this position for one hour. The neighborhood kids thought their dreams finally came true and I turned into a sculpture. Even the crows thought I was not a human and they left some gifts to my head( Yes, I washed ten times)But when I got rid of my first shock and started to move, they screamed and cried in pain. Yes, the witch was back! Let’s talk about the blurb a little bit: Jules, successful, glamorous and too ambitious magazine publisher, suffering from her anger management issues, selfish, focusing on perfection, giving orders, controlling the people, the worst bridezilla marries with charming, rising star of television, cocky, flirting Will at an island off the coast of Ireland, in the middle of nowhere, limited phone reception, giving you nightmarish vibes, with dark woods, caves, making you feel like somebody sneaking behind you. (Perfect place to low budget independent horror movie but not so preferable wedding place. Bridezilla doesn’t care, she knows the best!) Our other characters: Helen (plus 1) married with bride’s oldest and best male friend Charlie, having doubts about their so intense and secluded relationship, mother, graphic designer at long maternity leave, suffering from traumatic family drama, having her own secrets, befriending bridesmaid Olivia. Yes Olivia is 19 years old bridesmaid, half-sister of bridezilla, suffering from a big secret makes her lose weight, cutting herself. The secret is gnawing her. She needs to talk someone before she gets hurt herself. Could Helen be her confidante? Best man Johnno, seems confused what he’s doing about his life, sharing a really big secret with Will from their high school times, giving him nightmares and making him fell like chasing by the past time ghosts. And he learns something crucial to change his life forever and gives him a motive to do something dangerous… ' Let’s not forget Aoife, wedding planner, working her ass off to organize the entire ceremony, achieving a complex and challenging job but she observes everyone, looking agitated, seems like waiting for the shoe drop. Why is she so frustrated? What is she worried about? The lies, secrets, resentments and big revelations start to fall into her laps like bombs over and over again. And during the ceremony lights go out, screams, pitch black, lights come out, somebody is death….na na na… Welcome to the bridezilla zone! Do you want to know who killed who? Guess what, I already told you so much, you gotta read the rest of it. I hate to admit, I am not fan of Hunting Party. That book disappointed me a lot. But this one is surprisingly good, I couldn’t’ decide if I gave 4 or 5 stars. I decided 4 slow burn, intriguing, smart, entertaining, riveting stars! OVERALL: SURPRISINGLY ENJOYABLE!bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Kim ~ It’s All About the Thrill
    January 1, 1970
    Hells to the yes!! This is the thriller I have been waiting for! Lately I admit, thrillers have not been..well thrilling me. I have had a problem with them all being, meh...They either are one of these three things...1. not really a thriller...2. Start out with a bang and then the ending is just..plain ridiculous...3. super boring until the last couple of chapters. Not this one! This one delivered from page one! Jules and Will are the couple I love to hate. They are gorgeous and they know it. No Hells to the yes!! This is the thriller I have been waiting for! Lately I admit, thrillers have not been..well thrilling me. I have had a problem with them all being, meh...They either are one of these three things...1. not really a thriller...2. Start out with a bang and then the ending is just..plain ridiculous...3. super boring until the last couple of chapters. Not this one! This one delivered from page one! Jules and Will are the couple I love to hate. They are gorgeous and they know it. Nobody loves Jules and Will more than- you guessed it Jules and Will. Leave it to Jules to insist on dragging her entire wedding party to a remote island. She claims it is for privacy, I though wondered if it were some publicity stunt. The island has a wicked reputation and sketchy past. Umm...sounds like a fantastic place for a wedding, right??!!I absolutely loved the creepy atmosphere, I wouldn't have spent one night there no matter how much Jules insisted- because she would insist. Everything is all about Jules. The book revolves around multiple POV's which all are members of the wedding party. Yet the author did a superb job of making it really easy to follow along. The chapters were clearly labeled for each POV and if you didn't get it, she even had a description- wedding planner, etc...Yesss! I loved it! Although admittedly I wasn't a huge fan of The Hunting Party, that is clearly not the case here. Her previous novel was a bit too slow of a burn for me. This one was ON FIRE. This book was a super quick read, with short chapters that I flew through in less than 24 hours. That is my kind of thriller. There were several big twists that I never in a million years saw coming. Yet, they weren't insane. I knew something was off with each of the characters, yet for the life of me I couldn't figure out what they were hiding. Trust me- they were hiding alot!
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    The Guest List BOTM April 2020 SelectionIn a sea of mediocre mysteries and thrillers, this one caught my attention and held it through to the explosive ending. Lucy Foley writes psychological fiction that isn't flashy, but focuses a quiet power to envelop the reader with strong writing and plotting. In my opinion, a good thriller isn't one that has to pull a twist out of somewhere the reader wouldn't expect, but takes the entire cast of characters and makes each look as guilty as the rest, so th The Guest List BOTM April 2020 SelectionIn a sea of mediocre mysteries and thrillers, this one caught my attention and held it through to the explosive ending. Lucy Foley writes psychological fiction that isn't flashy, but focuses a quiet power to envelop the reader with strong writing and plotting. In my opinion, a good thriller isn't one that has to pull a twist out of somewhere the reader wouldn't expect, but takes the entire cast of characters and makes each look as guilty as the rest, so that by the time the reader reaches the end, it doesn't really matter whodunnit as much as how the author has kept you floundering around for 300+ pages in search of the reveal. This is precisely what Foley has done with The Guest List, and while it was difficult at first to keep up with the numerous POVs we receive, I was able to keep them straight once the story was going. Part Agatha Christie mystery, part Big Little Lies, The Guest List is a book that I felt lightened the burden of current world issues and allowed me to slip into a place that was filled with murder and mayhem instead of viruses and homeschooling. Disclaimer: I also received a review copy via the publisher.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    Lucy Foley follows The Hunting Party with this even more hugely entertaining atmospheric murder mystery, a modern take on Agatha Christie, set on the wild and isolated Cormorant Island, off the west coast of Ireland. The golden celebrity couple, Julia 'Jules' Keegan, publisher of a successful online magazine, and the handsome Will Slater, rising star of TV show Survival, are getting married in style in front of their friends and family, an exclusive event being organised by wedding planner, Aoif Lucy Foley follows The Hunting Party with this even more hugely entertaining atmospheric murder mystery, a modern take on Agatha Christie, set on the wild and isolated Cormorant Island, off the west coast of Ireland. The golden celebrity couple, Julia 'Jules' Keegan, publisher of a successful online magazine, and the handsome Will Slater, rising star of TV show Survival, are getting married in style in front of their friends and family, an exclusive event being organised by wedding planner, Aoife and catered for by her husband, Freddy. However, it immediately becomes clear on a dark, wild and stormy wedding night of power cuts that something has gone desperately wrong, and in a narrative that goes back and forth in time, a distraught waitress speaks of seeing a body outside, which has the ushers setting out into the night to find out what has happened.Foley provides the perspectives of a wide host of diverse characters, with their fears, secrets, lies and silences amidst the drink and drug fuelled wedding celebrations over which hang an ominous air of upcoming disaster, a feeling that is enhanced further by the island location with its haunted history, its ghosts of the dead, its treacherous terrain and the approaching storm. Jules is worrying about a anonymous note that warns her not to marry Will, her bridesmaid, her sister Olivia, is a fragile self harming wreck. The best man, Johnno, is desperate not to lose touch with Will, they have a shared past history that goes back to their school days. Hannah is the plus one, married to Charlie, the MC and best friend of the bride, they are a cash strapped couple, determined to make the most of their first opportunity for a long time to be away from their children and their humdrum lives. The ushers are a bunch of sneering, entitled, bullying and malicious ex-public schoolboys who have never grown up.Foley skilfully reveals the past history of the characters, the grief, the losses, the simmering resentments and jealousies, the guilt, the secrets, the lies, a past that adds up to a bubbling cauldron full of motives to kill, and a present where the chickens of the past have finally come home to roost. Foley excels in writing a riveting murder mystery, with the vibrant creation and development of larger than life characters, attending a strife ridden wedding in a location that is just perfect for the darkest of deeds to take place. A fabulous crime read that I recommend highly. Many thanks to HarperCollins for an ARC.
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    Ahhhh, I had so much fun reading this thriller. This is a classic who-dunnit mystery, and it all takes place during a wedding on an island in Ireland. I love everything about this book: the slow burn mystery, the isolated spooky island, and reading form several different POV’s.I found this book to be impossible to put down. Right away, it creates this creepy spooky eerie vibe on this island, and I was pretty obsessed with the atmosphere of this book. This entire book takes place within two days, Ahhhh, I had so much fun reading this thriller. This is a classic who-dunnit mystery, and it all takes place during a wedding on an island in Ireland. I love everything about this book: the slow burn mystery, the isolated spooky island, and reading form several different POV’s.I found this book to be impossible to put down. Right away, it creates this creepy spooky eerie vibe on this island, and I was pretty obsessed with the atmosphere of this book. This entire book takes place within two days, during a wedding. The story mainly takes place the day before the wedding and then it flash forwards we see what happened the night of the wedding - when someone is murdered. I like that we don’t find out who it is that is murdered until nearly the end, I was trying to figure it out the entire book. And I love that we follow from the POV from six different characters. You’d think it would be confusing but it was actually really easy after a while, and I loved all the storylines happening. I love that everyone had a motive so you are still trying to figure out who did it. There’s a storm happening on the island and there are high winds and crashing waves and the power goes in and out, and it just makes for the perfect spooky setting. This book honestly kind of reminds me of the movie Knives Out because of how clever and smart and atmospheric it is.I just loved it a whole lot. It takes a lot for me to give a thriller five stars but I just had so much fun reading this and I didn’t have any issues with it and I devoured this book in less than 24 hours. Thanks to Book of the Month for sending this early copy my way!
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    4-5 stars. You are cordially invited to the wedding of Julia Keegan, owner of a lifestyle magazine and Will Slater, TV star. The wedding of the year will take place on Inis Amploir (Cormorant Island) off the Irish coast. A boat will be provided to ferry you to and from the island, though the main wedding party will stay in the luxuriously refurbished Folly. It would be wise to take a motion sickness pill prior to boarding the boat as Irish seas can be er ....... unpredictable, so probably best n 4-5 stars. You are cordially invited to the wedding of Julia Keegan, owner of a lifestyle magazine and Will Slater, TV star. The wedding of the year will take place on Inis Amploir (Cormorant Island) off the Irish coast. A boat will be provided to ferry you to and from the island, though the main wedding party will stay in the luxuriously refurbished Folly. It would be wise to take a motion sickness pill prior to boarding the boat as Irish seas can be er ....... unpredictable, so probably best not to wear green or wear vertiginous heels as they could sink into the many peat bogs. So a disparate bunch of invitees make their way to the island and despite the intentions of Aoife, the wedding planner and owner of the island, what develops is a nightmarish gathering from hell. The pair duly marry but a storm is raging outside and inside, a waitress screams, the lights go out, a few of the guests stumble drunkenly outside to work out what’s happening. There’s the danger of the cliff edge and peat bogs to swallow you up. Is someone dead? Who? What unravels is very atmospheric and tense and towards the end you find you are holding your breathe as you could cut the atmosphere with a knife. Literally. This slow burning psychological thriller is very well written. The account of the events includes five perspectives, Aoife, Jules the bride, Olivia her half sister and bridesmaid, Johnno the best man and Hannah the plus one, married to Charlie the MC. The characters are well depicted, some are despicable, there’s the odd diva (there always is as a wedding), a few botoxed beauties, some likeable characters and the ushers who are a bunch of arrogant, entitled privately educated men who are still school boys, act like pack animals and I want to punch their lights out!! Which is entirely the point! The stand out thing for me is the island and the weather which provides a magnificent, atmospheric backdrop and mirrors the storm brewing among the guests. The island has a ghostly feel and has legends which adds an extra dimension and there are some really creepy scenes to match the folklore, not least around the screeching cormorants which are seen as harbingers of death and evil which adds another layer of tension. Lucy Foley captures so well how strangers meet at a wedding, all bringing their stories and their baggage and as the night progresses with increased drunkenness, the frenzy of the band, tension rises and erupts volcanically in this wild location. The book has everything fans of this genre like - tension, revenge, secrets, lies, cowardice, grief, cruelty, the list goes on making this the guest list from Hades. Overall, a really well executed, atmospheric, slow burner of a novel. At times I felt the pace a little too slow and I couldn’t get past my dislike of the ushers so hence 4 - 5 stars. There is a great deal to admire in the writing of this clever novel and I would recommend it to fans of the genre. There are things you definitely don’t see coming and the end is a genuine surprise which I really like. Many thanks to NetGalley and Harper Collins for the ARC.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Atmospheric, locked room (remote island), extravagant wedding What else could you ask for? This one has the Agatha Christie vibes that mystery lovers crave and I enjoyed every minute reading it! My first by this author.The writing, the characters, and the suspense kept me guessing and I was all over the place trying to pinpoint the murderer. The wildness of this island was getting under everyone's skin. The cliffs, the waves, the sea, that moment.One night, the bride is afraid she won't sleep Atmospheric, locked room (remote island), extravagant wedding What else could you ask for? This one has the Agatha Christie vibes that mystery lovers crave and I enjoyed every minute reading it! My first by this author.The writing, the characters, and the suspense kept me guessing and I was all over the place trying to pinpoint the murderer. The wildness of this island was getting under everyone's skin. The cliffs, the waves, the sea, that moment.One night, the bride is afraid she won't sleep a wink. Is it the upcoming wedding or something else?I was on pins and needles more than once.  Characters to love and hate. I love a good mystery and this one wowed me!Thanks to my Goodreads friend for sharing! Highly entertaining.Out May 2020. 
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 stars“I have raised hell.”The Guest List a whodunnit about a glamorous wedding. The guests are out for revenge, leading them to “raise hell.”The wedding of the year is about to take place on an exclusive island. Bridezilla is about to marry a smarmy D list celebrity who has many skeletons in his closet. The members of the Wedding Party hold the cards that could destroy their marriage and their lives. The narrative alternates between many POV’s: The Bride, the Groom, the Best Man, The Plus O 3.75 stars“I have raised hell.”The Guest List a whodunnit about a glamorous wedding. The guests are out for revenge, leading them to “raise hell.”The wedding of the year is about to take place on an exclusive island. Bridezilla is about to marry a smarmy D list celebrity who has many skeletons in his closet. The members of the Wedding Party hold the cards that could destroy their marriage and their lives. The narrative alternates between many POV’s: The Bride, the Groom, the Best Man, The Plus One, The Wedding Planner, and The Bridesmaid. While it seems a lot to keep up with, the structure of the book makes it easy to keep track of who is who. The timeline flips back and forth between the past, two days before the wedding, to the chaotic wedding in the present. The reader is taunted throughout about what might have happened. We know that something bad has happened from the start, but we don’t know quite what or who might have been hurt. Details are slowly revealed leading to a bloody and dramatic ending.The structure and style of this book are similar to The Hunting Party, but the characters are more likable (well, some of them are). The setting was my favorite element. The story takes place on a secluded, remote island off the coast of Ireland. The island, rumored to be haunted, is dark and sinister. It is just as dangerous as the people staying on it, and the atmosphere adds an additional layer of menace.This is fast-paced and easy to read. I figured out the murderer early on, but I didn’t know who had been murdered or why. There are a lot of red herrings thrown in to make one question their arm-chair detective skills. Some elements of the plot came together with a little too easily--it just so happened that one person in attendance had a link to another in a way that was just way too convenient. However, this connection did add another potential candidate as the murderer.Overall, I enjoyed this for the entertainment value and for keeping me guessing! I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Frank Phillips
    January 1, 1970
    I was torn between 4 & 5 Stars for this fantastic thriller!! I enjoyed the number of perspectives and how much there was to be told with each perspective, making these characters much more complex then I initially thought they would be. I've noticed Foley has the tendency to do this with her characters, which means you either love them or hate them by the end of the novel. Plenty of unlikable characters here, and actually some really likable characters as well. I loved all of the twists and turn I was torn between 4 & 5 Stars for this fantastic thriller!! I enjoyed the number of perspectives and how much there was to be told with each perspective, making these characters much more complex then I initially thought they would be. I've noticed Foley has the tendency to do this with her characters, which means you either love them or hate them by the end of the novel. Plenty of unlikable characters here, and actually some really likable characters as well. I loved all of the twists and turns this book provided, being fully captivated and engaged with the story the entire time. Just like with Hunting Party, this book was richly atmospheric, and I felt as if I was there on that remote island off the coast of Ireland, feeling the stiff breeze and hearing the roar of the water below the cliff edge. I also felt an overall sense of tight, almost unbearable tension among some of the guests. I imagine this would be normal at a wedding with family and old Friends present, but it gave me a sense of unease as I read on, feeling that something horrible would happen at any minute. Unlike with the Hunting party, the Guest List doesn't start off telling us which crime has been committed, so you don't really know which horrible deed took place until the very end, which I thought was a smart play on her part, otherwise this would have read almost exactly like her previous novel. I did have a suspicion of how one of the plot lines would end and I was actually correct.. for a change! If I had to give any critique on this book it would be that I felt like the ending was all wrapped up rather quickly and I had a few more questions about how a few of the characters resolved their particular conflicts and moved forward, but other than that this was pure gold!!! I would definitely recommend going out and buying this if you enjoyed her first novel as I would say this one's even a little bit better!
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    A destination wedding....On a tiny, remote island off the coast of Ireland a very posh, over-the-top wedding is about to take place. The groom...a reality TV star. The bride, running her own highly successful business. Though they’ve only known each other for a short time, it’s evident the sparks were flying from first glance. Soooo…without further ado they’re ready to take the plunge with their closest family and friends. Hey, it’s only a lifetime commitment. What’s the big deal?! So what happe A destination wedding....On a tiny, remote island off the coast of Ireland a very posh, over-the-top wedding is about to take place. The groom...a reality TV star. The bride, running her own highly successful business. Though they’ve only known each other for a short time, it’s evident the sparks were flying from first glance. Soooo…without further ado they’re ready to take the plunge with their closest family and friends. Hey, it’s only a lifetime commitment. What’s the big deal?! So what happens when on the wedding night a dead body is found? That’ll put a big damper on the ole honeymoon! How could anyone commit murder in the middle of a joyful occasion like a wedding? And is this maniac still lurking at the reception?Told from multiple points of view from the bride and groom as well as guests and family. Listening to the audio version, to my delight every character was narrated by different voice actors. I love when an audio has multiple narrators. For me, it adds so much more depth and believability to the characters. I’d wanted this book this since reading the first review for it. I’m so glad I didn’t rush in as the audio was worth the wait! A buddy 🎧 with Susanne!Thank you to libro.fm.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    If I can't move heaven, than I shall raise hell. Let me tell you, hell was indeed raised throughout The Guest List. Many, many times. And with that, allow me to introduce my second 5-star stunner of 2020! This is my first Lucy Foley novel, and I'm now convinced the girl is a phenom. I've had The Hunting Party on my Kindle for probably a year now, and haven't made time to dive in...what was I thinking? This story is told over a 48-hour period by several narrators. The chapters are short an If I can't move heaven, than I shall raise hell. Let me tell you, hell was indeed raised throughout The Guest List. Many, many times. And with that, allow me to introduce my second 5-star stunner of 2020! This is my first Lucy Foley novel, and I'm now convinced the girl is a phenom. I've had The Hunting Party on my Kindle for probably a year now, and haven't made time to dive in...what was I thinking? This story is told over a 48-hour period by several narrators. The chapters are short and precise, making for a very quick, engrossing read. The characters are superbly fleshed out and real. The setting is so creepy and atmospheric, it's practically a character in it's own right. But the very best thing about this novel? The red herrings.Foley doesn't reveal the killer or the victim until the conclusion. While the victim is fairly easy to guess, the killer most certainly isn't. I'd constructed an elaborate ending in my head, one I was sure was right, only to find out I was completely and thoroughly wrong. I can't tell you how ecstatic I was to be dead wrong!It's the reason I've elected to give this book 5 clever stars! If I've caught your interest with this review, I highly suggest you get a copy and lose yourself in the genius that is this story. Available in the U.S. on June 2, 2020.My heartfelt thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Val ⚓️ Shameless Non-Snowflake ⚓️
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 StarsThis was a fun whodunit that keeps you guessing the identity of the killer - and the victim - until the very end. It's told in very easily digestible micro-chapters from multiple POVs and I thought the author did a great job giving each character solid footing in a short span of page time. I also really enjoyed the remote Irish isle setting. It was almost a character unto itself. That said, I feel like I must also say that I don't read a lot of whodunit mysteries/thrillers in general.. 3.75 StarsThis was a fun whodunit that keeps you guessing the identity of the killer - and the victim - until the very end. It's told in very easily digestible micro-chapters from multiple POVs and I thought the author did a great job giving each character solid footing in a short span of page time. I also really enjoyed the remote Irish isle setting. It was almost a character unto itself. That said, I feel like I must also say that I don't read a lot of whodunit mysteries/thrillers in general...so I can't speak to how this book would pan out for someone who does...all I can say is that I enjoyed it a lot and will will look for more from this author in the future.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    A celebrity wedding between a magazine publisher and a popular TV action man, a best man who knows dark secrets about the groom’s past, a fragile bridesmaid, a group of odious ushers who went to private school with the groom and act as if they never left, all on a small windswept island off the Irish coast. What could possibly go wrong? The Guest List is a suspenseful thriller, starting the day before the wedding as the various members of the wedding party arrive at a newly established resort. T A celebrity wedding between a magazine publisher and a popular TV action man, a best man who knows dark secrets about the groom’s past, a fragile bridesmaid, a group of odious ushers who went to private school with the groom and act as if they never left, all on a small windswept island off the Irish coast. What could possibly go wrong? The Guest List is a suspenseful thriller, starting the day before the wedding as the various members of the wedding party arrive at a newly established resort. This is the first wedding for owner and wedding planner, Aoife and her husband Freddy and they are hoping for a successful spread in the bride Julia Keegan’s magazine if all goes well. The venue, the chapel, the flowers, the music and the catering are all perfect and the bride and groom make a glamorous couple. However, they didn’t count on the guest list. As the night goes on and a massive storm rolls in, long held resentments and tensions build until somebody is killed. Who will it be and who did it?Told from various points of view of key members of the wedding party, Lucy Foley gradually and skilfully ramps up the tension as long held secrets are revealed. The characters are all well depicted with a number of possible suspects. The island is also a wonderful creation with it’s murderous bogs and deadly cliffs adding to it’s gothic charm, making it the perfect location for a wedding that was always going to end badly. All making for a deliciously dark thriller!With many thanks to Netgalley and Harper Collins Australia for a digital copy to read.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars.Completely unlike any Wedding I’ve ever been to, that’s for sure!A Wedding.A Remote Island in the Middle of Nowhere.A Dark and Stormy Night. Sounds Like a Recipe for the Perfect Evening. ***The Guests: Jules, the Bride (who is very excited to be marrying Will even though she hardly knows him); Aoife, the Wedding Planner; Hannah, the Plus One (her husband Charlie is the Bride’s Best Friend); Johnno, the Best Man (who has been friends with the groom since boarding school and who has never 4 Stars.Completely unlike any Wedding I’ve ever been to, that’s for sure!A Wedding.A Remote Island in the Middle of Nowhere.A Dark and Stormy Night. Sounds Like a Recipe for the Perfect Evening. ***The Guests: Jules, the Bride (who is very excited to be marrying Will even though she hardly knows him); Aoife, the Wedding Planner; Hannah, the Plus One (her husband Charlie is the Bride’s Best Friend); Johnno, the Best Man (who has been friends with the groom since boarding school and who has never felt good enough), Olivia, the Bride’s Half-Sister (who has never been all that friendly with sister dear and who is full of secrets these days).***The Night of the Wedding. Something has happened. Something bad. Yet no one knows what. From the days leading up to the wedding until the hours after, we see the guests secrets unfold. Turns out everyone has something to hide. Who knew?! Cue the alcohol. This crowd clearly needs lots of it.To think they’d all go to a deserted island where no one is safe! Dark, Ominous and Foreboding, “The Guest List” is quite the thriller and it hit almost every mark. There was only one tiny little thing that bugged me. That aside, this was completely compelling and highly entertaining, Well done Ms. Foley, I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.This was a buddy read/listen with Kaceey.Thank you to Libro.FM and Lucy Foley for the arc.Published on Goodreads on 5.22.20.
    more
  • Julie (JuJu)
    January 1, 1970
    Everyone has secrets in this who-dunnit mystery/suspense!I read “The Hunting Party” and loved it, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Foley’s newest thriller. There is definitely a similarity between the two and I’m not sure which one I liked better. Foley is wonderful at transforming a remote setting into the perfect murder site...very chilling and eerie. She also likes to keep it interesting by gathering an ill-matched group. Like her previous book, this one slowly builds up tension, so by t Everyone has secrets in this who-dunnit mystery/suspense!I read “The Hunting Party” and loved it, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Foley’s newest thriller. There is definitely a similarity between the two and I’m not sure which one I liked better. Foley is wonderful at transforming a remote setting into the perfect murder site...very chilling and eerie. She also likes to keep it interesting by gathering an ill-matched group. Like her previous book, this one slowly builds up tension, so by the time you get to the last 10%, you can’t read fast enough! The secrets and twists that come out in that last bit make the book worth reading.It’s narrated in various POV’s - the main characters in the wedding party. Each chapter builds up suspense and leaves you hanging, then goes on to another narrator. There were many times when I stayed up reading too late because it was hard to find a good stopping point!I won’t go into too many specifics. You can find those in the book description or other reviews. I will say that I found Will’s ushers and best man, who were old school mates, to be an interesting bunch. Just add a little liquor (and drugs) and these “adult, professional men” returned to their boyish antics and shenanigans...so typical and realistic 😂.“The rituals, the male bonding. When we get together there’s this kind of pack mentality. We get carried away.” My Rating: 4 ⭐️’sPublished: May 5th 2020 by William Morrow Pages: 320Thank you to Edelweiss, William Morrow and Lucy Foley for this digital ARC, in exchange for my honest [email protected] @WmMorrowBooks @weiss_squad#MysteryThriller #TheGuestList #May2020
    more
  • Alan Cotterell
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC from Netgalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. I normally would of said Thank you at the start of that sentence. But on this occasion, the only thing to say thank you for was that it was reasonably short.I requested this, as from the blurb it had great promise. Boy was I wrong. The first chapter was quite good. After that each chapter was written from a different guests pov. Jumping all over the place. None of the characters were likeable at all. It sound I received this ARC from Netgalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. I normally would of said Thank you at the start of that sentence. But on this occasion, the only thing to say thank you for was that it was reasonably short.I requested this, as from the blurb it had great promise. Boy was I wrong. The first chapter was quite good. After that each chapter was written from a different guests pov. Jumping all over the place. None of the characters were likeable at all. It sounded like the wedding from Hell, and not for the reason the author intended.At times felt like the author had dropped the chapters, and picked up quickly, getting them out of order. I didmanage to finish this, which was mainly because it was an ARC, and I felt obligated to finish it. Also because I kept thinking it would improve.. it didn't.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    If I can't move heaven, than I shall raise hell.Let me tell you, hell was indeed raised throughout The Guest List. Many, many times.And with that, allow me to introduce my second 5-star stunner of 2020!This is my first Lucy Foley novel, and I'm now convinced the girl is a phenom. I've had The Hunting Party on my Kindle for probably a year now, and haven't made time to dive in...what was I thinking?This story is told over a 48-hour period by several narrators. The chapters are short and precise, If I can't move heaven, than I shall raise hell.Let me tell you, hell was indeed raised throughout The Guest List. Many, many times.And with that, allow me to introduce my second 5-star stunner of 2020!This is my first Lucy Foley novel, and I'm now convinced the girl is a phenom. I've had The Hunting Party on my Kindle for probably a year now, and haven't made time to dive in...what was I thinking?This story is told over a 48-hour period by several narrators. The chapters are short and precise, making for a very quick, engrossing read. The characters are superbly fleshed out and real. The setting is so creepy and atmospheric, it's practically a character in it's own right. But the very best thing about this novel? The red herrings.Foley doesn't reveal the killer or the victim until the conclusion. While the victim is fairly easy to guess, the killer most certainly isn't. I'd constructed an elaborate ending in my head, one I was sure was right, only to find out I was completely and thoroughly wrong.I can't tell you how ecstatic I was to be dead wrong!It's the reason I've elected to give this book 5 clever stars!If I've caught your interest with this review, I highly suggest you get a copy and lose yourself in the genius that is this story.Available in the U.S. on June 2, 2020.My heartfelt thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
    January 1, 1970
    EXCERPT: NOW - The Wedding Night The lights go out. In an instant, everything is in darkness. The band stop their playing. Inside the marquee the wedding guests squeal and clutch at one another. The light from the candles on the tables only adds to the confusion, sends shadows racing up the canvas walls. It's impossible to see where anyone is or hear what anyone is saying: above the guests voices the wind rises in a frenzy. Outside a storm is raging. It shrieks around them, it batters the marque EXCERPT: NOW - The Wedding Night The lights go out. In an instant, everything is in darkness. The band stop their playing. Inside the marquee the wedding guests squeal and clutch at one another. The light from the candles on the tables only adds to the confusion, sends shadows racing up the canvas walls. It's impossible to see where anyone is or hear what anyone is saying: above the guests voices the wind rises in a frenzy. Outside a storm is raging. It shrieks around them, it batters the marquee. At each assault the whole structure seems to flex and shudder with a loud groaning of metal; the guests cower in alarm. The doors have come free of their ties and flap at the entrance. The flames of the paraffin torches that illuminate the doorway snicker. It feels personal, this storm. It feels as though it has saved all its fury for them. This isn't the first time the electrics have shorted. But the last time the lights snapped back on again within minutes. The guests returned to their dancing, their drinking, their pill-popping, their screwing, their eating, their laughing...and forgot it ever happened. How long has it been now? In the dark it's difficult to tell. A few minutes? Fifteen? Twenty?They're beginning to feel afraid. This darkness feels somehow ominous, intense. As though anything could be happening beneath its cover. ABOUT THIS BOOK: On an island off the windswept Irish coast, guests gather for the wedding of the year – the marriage of Jules Keegan and Will Slater. Old friends.Past grudges. Happy families.Hidden jealousies. Thirteen guests.One body. The wedding cake has barely been cut when one of the guests is found dead. And as a storm unleashes its fury on the island, everyone is trapped.All have a secret. All have a motive.One guest won’t leave this wedding alive . . .MY THOUGHTS: The air of menace is palpable from the outset, but we don't find out at whom it is directed until almost the end. There is no shortage of possibilities. It seems that all the main characters bear a grudge against someone, and all have secrets to hide and protect. Most of the characters aren't at all likeable, but the cast is an interesting one. The story is told from multiple points of view: Jules, the bride, a success in her own right, who is marrying Will, star of a TV 'survival' show; Olivia, the bride's sister and only bridesmaid, fragile following her own failed romance;Johno, best man, odd man out, serial failure, and friend of the groom from their boarding school days;Hannah, the plus one, mother of two and wife of the bride's best friend, Charlie; Aoife, wedding planner and venue owner with her partner Freddie. Add to this mix the ushers, also Will's friends from boarding school, and the combination becomes even more volatile.The story is told over two days, that of the wedding, and the preceding day as the wedding party arrives on the island. Lucy Foley has created an incredibly atmospheric setting for her novel. There is a whispering cave, a graveyard, a crumbling castle edifice, and a wedding party trapped on an island during a violent storm. The secrets are slowly revealed, the suspense teased out as we await the inevitable. But who will be the victim? And who is the killer? A surprising and inventive novel. 🍾🍾🍾🍾.5#TheGuestList #NetGalley THE AUTHOR: Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities and worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry, before leaving to write full-time. The Hunting Party is her debut crime novel, inspired by a particularly remote spot in Scotland that fired her imagination.Lucy is also the author of three historical novels, which have been translated into sixteen languages.DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Harper Collins Australia via Netgalley for providing a digital ARC of The Guest List by Lucy Foley for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions. For an explanation of my rating system please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the about page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com This review and others are also published on Twitter, Amazon and my webpage https://sandysbookaday.wordpress.com/...
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    After reading The Hunting Party and being totally hooked, I was very excited to get my hands on The Guest List and escape for a few hours!!!Julie a magazine publisher is marrying television star & celebrity Will Slater, the star of the show Survival. The location of their wedding is on an Island off the coast of Ireland. The guests will come over on a boat and a select few will be staying at the refurbished Folly, which is run by couple Aoife and Freddie, the wedding planner and the caterer. Thi After reading The Hunting Party and being totally hooked, I was very excited to get my hands on The Guest List and escape for a few hours!!!Julie a magazine publisher is marrying television star & celebrity Will Slater, the star of the show Survival. The location of their wedding is on an Island off the coast of Ireland. The guests will come over on a boat and a select few will be staying at the refurbished Folly, which is run by couple Aoife and Freddie, the wedding planner and the caterer. This is the first wedding for Aofie and Freddie, so they want everything to be perfect and hopefully they will get a good review from Julia in her magazine. But one thing they couldn’t control is the weather, oh and the guests!!At the beginning of the book we know something has gone wrong, the storm has caused the lights to go out, a terrified waitress has seen a body outside and guests are soon rushing out into the dark stormy night.The story is told from several key characters point of view, leading up to the wedding day and the wedding night. We get to know the characters and their pasts and how they are connected to the bride and groom. I loved this book and how each person has a different perspective of the wedding night. The wedding guests each have their own secrets, fears and lies. The storm is raging outside but inside there is a different type of storm brewing, that will have its own fatal outcome and affect all of them.I loved this book and found myself engrossed from the first page. The spooky location with the deadly bogs and treacherous cliffs makes this a thrilling read where you cannot trust anyone. Everyone is a suspect!!Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • EmBibliophile
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsThis was a typical whodunit story that gave me that ‘Big little lies’ vibe but with a more spooky setting. It was a kinda slowly moving book. The first two hundred pages were more focused on the characters and there wasn’t anything that was really thrilling, but a group of characters who aren’t really trustworthy. I’ll admit that the concentration on the character, who were really annoying and too childish to be considered adults, dragged a bit, I was getting impatient and I was like “c 3.5 starsThis was a typical whodunit story that gave me that ‘Big little lies’ vibe but with a more spooky setting. It was a kinda slowly moving book. The first two hundred pages were more focused on the characters and there wasn’t anything that was really thrilling, but a group of characters who aren’t really trustworthy. I’ll admit that the concentration on the character, who were really annoying and too childish to be considered adults, dragged a bit, I was getting impatient and I was like “can someone just die already?!”Anyway, I loved the setting for this one; it takes place during a weeding on a spooky Irish island. I always enjoy it when there’s a murder in books, but we don’t really know who died in the beginning. It just keeps you guessing who killed who, not just who did it! Overall this was an enjoyable book to read, kinda predictable if you concentrated on those little things and believed in “convenience”, with a satisfying ending even if it couldn’t be considered a closure completely, but still satisfying. It was an average book, but still enjoyable to read.
    more
  • Arna
    January 1, 1970
    First of all, can I just say that this book is an excellent audiobook! I enjoyed it so much, each POV has a different narrator so I could tell who was who by the voice and LOVED it. After reading The Hunting Party earlier in the year, reading the Guest List felt cozy and familiar as I knew how it would all play out and was I was constantly trying to guess the who and the why. My only issue is how far into the book you have to get before anything really starts happening and then it’s just a spira First of all, can I just say that this book is an excellent audiobook! I enjoyed it so much, each POV has a different narrator so I could tell who was who by the voice and LOVED it. After reading The Hunting Party earlier in the year, reading the Guest List felt cozy and familiar as I knew how it would all play out and was I was constantly trying to guess the who and the why. My only issue is how far into the book you have to get before anything really starts happening and then it’s just a spiral of twist after twist. Good fun though. If you have this on your TBR and enjoy audiobooks, I highly recommend reading this one that way! I devoured the Guest List over a few days!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    ***Updated Publication Date of August 4, 2020***4 stars!As anyone following me knows, I love a good thriller, but I have trouble finding them. I didn't read the author's first book, The Hunting Party and now I definitely plan on going back. I thought reading The Guest List now would be perfect since BOTM chose it as an April pick and I've been reading so many heavy books I needed a break. I couldn't have been more pleased! You've read the synopsis, a very hot and in the headlines couple, (Jules ***Updated Publication Date of August 4, 2020***4 stars!As anyone following me knows, I love a good thriller, but I have trouble finding them. I didn't read the author's first book, The Hunting Party and now I definitely plan on going back. I thought reading The Guest List now would be perfect since BOTM chose it as an April pick and I've been reading so many heavy books I needed a break. I couldn't have been more pleased! You've read the synopsis, a very hot and in the headlines couple, (Jules and Will) are getting married on a remote island. Yet appearances aren't what they seem and there are some very dark secrets that follow many people in the wedding party. It's creepy, sexy and sinister in all the right ways. Who is the guest that travels to the island, but won't make it back? Who commits the crime? I live for these stories and this one didn't disappoint. It vaguely reminds me of Agatha Christie's, And Then There Were None, where you learn a little bit more about people as each chapter goes by. Pretty soon, you're suspecting everyone. THAT is something that is hard to pull off. How do you make it believeable? Well, I'm glad to say that Ms. Foley succeeded. I thought this book was superb and I enjoyed the surprises. Just when I was starting to get a little antsy, the book really picked up in pace and I couldn't have been happier with how it ended. I think one of the best parts about the book is that anyone could have committed the crime. Each time I caught myself thinking that I knew who it was, I'd read another chapter and be convinced it was another character. Lastly, I really enjoyed the writing. It was atmospheric and full of depth for how short the chapters were. In fact, the closer to the end we got, the shorter the chapters became and I thought this was a clever plot device. I definitely plan to add Lucy Foley to my list of must read authors. I can't wait for her next book!Thank you to Brittani Hilles at William Morrow for providing me an egalley to read and provide an honest review. Review Date: 04/07/2020Publication Date: 08/04/2020
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    Taking a similar pathway to Big Little Lies, this book teases a murder in the prologue and spends the rest of the time working through multiple POVs to reveal who wants the victim dead. The dependence on this interweaving of personalities for suspense and plot momentum is problematic because none of the characters have their own voice, they're all written exactly alike. Mannequins dressed in different motives. This feeds into the unsatisfying pacing, with too long spent trying (and failing) to g Taking a similar pathway to Big Little Lies, this book teases a murder in the prologue and spends the rest of the time working through multiple POVs to reveal who wants the victim dead. The dependence on this interweaving of personalities for suspense and plot momentum is problematic because none of the characters have their own voice, they're all written exactly alike. Mannequins dressed in different motives. This feeds into the unsatisfying pacing, with too long spent trying (and failing) to give each person an impactful stint on the page, followed by a rushed finale which stretched the bounds of believability way beyond the acceptable.It's a decent enough paint-by-numbers read, but there's nothing memorable here.ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Oscar
    January 1, 1970
    People were gushing so much about this book that I gave in and read it. Personally, I think the book focused more on the characters themselves than the plot. For the first 200 pages, I wasn’t thrilled nor excited. The last 100 pages was a different story. It went crazy and got more twisted.
    more
  • ABookwormWithWine
    January 1, 1970
    Oh what a tangled web we weave. THIS BOOK GUYS! The Guest List by Lucy Foley was phenomenal. I really enjoyed The Hunting Party, but I loved this one. When I got towards the end I couldn't put the book down and I HAD to know what happened.Just like in The Hunting Party, the pinnacle of The Guest List takes place during a crazy storm in an isolated location. This was a super atmospheric, slow burn and it does have quite a few characters. I really loved how Foley labeled each chapter, and it made Oh what a tangled web we weave. THIS BOOK GUYS! The Guest List by Lucy Foley was phenomenal. I really enjoyed The Hunting Party, but I loved this one. When I got towards the end I couldn't put the book down and I HAD to know what happened.Just like in The Hunting Party, the pinnacle of The Guest List takes place during a crazy storm in an isolated location. This was a super atmospheric, slow burn and it does have quite a few characters. I really loved how Foley labeled each chapter, and it made it so things weren't confusing for me. I thought I was going to have to keep a list of characters but luckily I ended up being ok. If you want a book with likable characters this definitely isn't it, there were about 2 people in the whole book that I actually really liked. So in short, brace yourself for lots of people to hate!I can't say much without giving the book away, but I would definitely consider The Guest List a must read for thriller loves that enjoy a slow burn. It was so gripping and suspenseful, and I never guessed the ending. So many jaw-dropping moments, and I was literally yelling at my book almost the whole time I was reading thanks to a lot of douchy characters. But don't let that scare you! The Guest List may be full of unlikable characters but it is super addicting and will keep you guessing until the end. I read this as a buddy read which I highly recommend as there will be lots to discuss and people to complain about!If I could give The Guest List 100 stars I would, and I have a feeling it is going to make my top 10 for the year as well. If you like thrillers, read this book.
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    The invitations are out, the date is set, and all the guests have assembled for the wedding of Will and Jules. Except this wedding will be remembered for all the wrong reasons. The Guest List feels like a typical murder mystery with a modern twist. We have a host of unlikeable characters set around the traditional trope of a remote and atmospheric location, and the discovery of a body. The identity of the murder victim and also who the killer is are not unveiled until the end, with multiple secr The invitations are out, the date is set, and all the guests have assembled for the wedding of Will and Jules. Except this wedding will be remembered for all the wrong reasons. The Guest List feels like a typical murder mystery with a modern twist. We have a host of unlikeable characters set around the traditional trope of a remote and atmospheric location, and the discovery of a body. The identity of the murder victim and also who the killer is are not unveiled until the end, with multiple secrets being slowly unraveled as the list of suspects increases.I'll say straight off the bat that I loved the set up for this. It feels atmospheric and gloomy, set against a backdrop of harsh Irish weather and stormy scenery in a haunted house known as 'The Folley'. This helped to really set the scene and mood of the book, increasing the tension that seems to permeate the story throughout.I did guess a number of the reveals, but you can really tell that the author thought a lot about the overall plot and ending, scattering a number of hints and ideas throughout the text which allowed me to subtlety form my own opinions and ideas about everyone's secrets. I think if I wasn't in such a murder mystery mood, and hadn't just read a number of Agatha Christine's, I might not have guessed the main twists. That said, I actually didn't mind figuring the plot out ahead of the characters. I found myself just enjoying the story, and seeing how these various characters would react to the reveals. Call me a masochist.As I've mentioned, most of the characters are deeply unlikeable - especially Will's group of public school mates. They're the typical gung ho, smarmy 'I'm better than everyone else' group of men who have no respect for anyone or anything, and spend their weekends snorting coke and chugging back bottles of Bollinger. They're awful, but Foley writes them in such a way that although I hated them, I wasn't turned off enough to stop reading. I needed to know what happened to them. The same can be said for the other characters too, from prickly bride Jules, to the seemingly perfect groom Will, devoted best friend Johnny and 'troubled' bridesmaid Liv. They all have secrets, and I needed to know them all. I did find the very end of this a little bit abrupt, with an epilogue that didn't answer all of my questions or really finish the story to such a degree that I was satisfied. However, overall this was a thrilling ride and one that I happily binged in less than a day. I need more modern day murder mysteries in my life.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    This is an Agatha Christie inspired mystery in a modern setting combined with a psychological thriller. Like the author’s Hunting Party, its formula revolves around a mismatched group of people in a remote setting. The location is a windswept island off the Irish coast. Near the beginning, we learn that one of the group has been murdered. What we don’t know is the identity of the person killed, who did it, or the motivation. Guests are arriving at this almost deserted island said to be haunted This is an Agatha Christie inspired mystery in a modern setting combined with a psychological thriller. Like the author’s Hunting Party, its formula revolves around a mismatched group of people in a remote setting. The location is a windswept island off the Irish coast. Near the beginning, we learn that one of the group has been murdered. What we don’t know is the identity of the person killed, who did it, or the motivation. Guests are arriving at this almost deserted island said to be haunted by ghosts. The occasion is a very lavish wedding. The setting with its peat bogs, cliffs, caves, and the changeable cool and damp weather is vividly described. I was not immediately gripped by the story. It starts out slowly and the narrative alternates in short chapters from the perspective of five different characters. Each chapter often ends with a reference or hint at dark secrets or a past event that compelled me to keep reading and learn what mysteries would be revealed. The characters were often twisted and despicable. Up to a point, I felt this would be a 2 to 3 Star read for me. In the final chapters, there were some brilliant revelations and stunning surprises that raised the book to a higher level. The story touches on themes of elitism, feelings of entitlement, jealousy, low self-esteem, resentment, celebrity status, lack of success, heartbreak, long-held anger, deceit, betrayal and inappropriate sexual liaisons. Aoife is an efficient wedding planner. She and her husband, the caterer, are the islands’ only inhabitants. They have renovated property in hopes that this wedding would give them publicity to operate a successful business at this site. Jules is the bride-to-be. She is the publisher of a popular online magazine. She feels she is entitled to the best things in life, both in her career and marriage. She intends to have a beautiful, spectacular wedding. She is marrying Will, the man of her dreams. He stars in a survivalist TV series and is handsome, charming, and popular with viewers of the show. Hannah is attending because her husband, Charlie, has been Jules's best friend for many years. Charlie teaches school, and they are uncomfortable among wealthy guests. Hannah feels out of place around the women in their fashionable designer outfits and knows no one there. Charlie does not connect with the other men who talk about their schooldays at an elite, expensive private school. Olivia is the bridesmaid and Jules’ younger sister. She is fragile and a recent trauma has left her in emotional distress. She has dropped out of University and it is apparent she does not want to be at the wedding. Johnno, the best man, attended the same posh private school as Will. The two men seem connected by something that happened back in their school days. Johnno resents that he has not been successful like Will and the other guests from their school. He drinks to excess and uses cocaine and other illegal drugs. There are four professional men acting as ushers who were friends with Will and Johnno at school. Their behaviour is loud, immature, and obnoxious. Their dialogue makes them sound like rude teenagers. These rambunctious men reminisce about the pranks they played at school, drink and take drugs. The mixture of guests does not bode well for a pleasant wedding party. The lights go out while the cake is being cut. A waitress is heard outside screaming in the rain. She tells them she saw a body. Who has been murdered and why? Everyone has a motive! Recommended. I can’t wait to read what Lucy Foley writes next.
    more
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    I was not the biggest fan of The Hunting Party last year but I was certainly in the minority. I wanted to give the author another go and I am happy to say that The Guest List exceeded my expectations and I read most it this afternoon. A great psychological thriller with a cast of truly despicable characters. It was clever and with its creepy setting great rainy Sunday afternoon read.It is the first wedding to be held on this small island off the coast of Ireland, an island stepped in gothic hist I was not the biggest fan of The Hunting Party last year but I was certainly in the minority. I wanted to give the author another go and I am happy to say that The Guest List exceeded my expectations and I read most it this afternoon. A great psychological thriller with a cast of truly despicable characters. It was clever and with its creepy setting great rainy Sunday afternoon read.It is the first wedding to be held on this small island off the coast of Ireland, an island stepped in gothic history. The star couple of Will, a TV star and Julia, the publisher of an online magazine. It is to be a glamorous and lavish affair in a beautiful yet remote location. There is much drinking and secrets are spilled. Pieces of puzzles are put together and somebody ends up dead. And there are a number of people that wanted them dead.Thanks to NetGalley and Harper Collins Australia for my advanced copy of this book to read. All opinions are my own and are in no way biased
    more
  • sarah xoxo
    January 1, 1970
    The Guest List was my first thriller by Lucy Foley, but I will be sure to keep an eye out for anything she writes in the future!This book was the perfect amount of mystery, atmosphere and thrilling that hooked me from the very beginning and had me engrossed until the last page. The Guest List follows an exclusive wedding on an island off the Irish coast, but beneath the glamour and spectacle hides secrets that threaten to escape. By the end of the wedding, someone will be dead. We follow many PO The Guest List was my first thriller by Lucy Foley, but I will be sure to keep an eye out for anything she writes in the future!This book was the perfect amount of mystery, atmosphere and thrilling that hooked me from the very beginning and had me engrossed until the last page. The Guest List follows an exclusive wedding on an island off the Irish coast, but beneath the glamour and spectacle hides secrets that threaten to escape. By the end of the wedding, someone will be dead. We follow many POVs at the wedding from the bride to the wedding planner. I love stories told in this way, and The Guest List was no exception. I enjoyed seeing all the storylines slowly weave together and had fun trying to guess at how everyone was connected. The atmosphere was one of the strongest points of the book, amplified for me by the audiobook. I would really recommend trying out the audiobook, as it is narrated by a different person for each character and helped me keep them all straight. It also really added to the intoxicating nature of plot, the feeling that I HAD to keep reading. In terms of the actual mystery, I guessed a few things- but some others really shocked me. I spent the whole book with a slightly unsettled feeling, knowing that something was wrong about each of the characters, trying to guess their secrets. Most of the time, it left me with that feeling of having a word on the tip of my tongue- so close to the truth, but not quite putting the pieces together. That is the sign of a really good mystery to me, as it shows that clues were planted throughout but not enough to completely give away the twists. The victim was relatively easy to predict, but I never saw the killer coming. That being said, mystery/thrillers are not my typical reads, so to those more experienced in the genre it might be more predictable. I am not entirely sure what made me hesitate to give this book 5 stars, but I think it has to do with the characters. I am quite a character driven reader, and I felt like I didn't get to see enough depth in these ones. They felt like caricatures at times and didn't fully become their own person. I also felt like some issues were thrown in with not enough care or effort, particularly to do with Olivia. These issues weren't addressed and left me without complete closure after finishing the story. That being said, in terms of pure enjoyment I would rate this book 5 stars. It was an engaging, tense and twisty read that I would undoubtably recommend. Thank you to HarperAudio and Libro.fm for this ALCRelease Date: 2 June 2020
    more
Write a review