More Than Maybe
Growing up under his punk rocker dad's spotlight, eighteen-year-old Luke Greenly knows fame and wants nothing to do with it. His real love isn't in front of a crowd, it's on the page. Hiding his gift and secretly hoarding songs in his bedroom at night, he prefers the anonymous comfort of the locally popular podcast he co-hosts with his outgoing and meddling, far-too-jealousy-inspiringly-happy-with-his-long-term-boyfriend twin brother, Cullen. But that’s not Luke’s only secret. He also has a major un-requited crush on music blogger, Vada Carsewell.Vada's got a five year plan: secure a job at the Loud Lizard to learn from local legend (and her mom's boyfriend) Phil Josephs (check), take over Phil's music blog (double check), get accepted into Berkeley's prestigious music journalism program (check, check, check), manage Ann Arbor's summer concert series and secure a Rolling Stone internship. Luke Greenly is most definitely NOT on the list. So what if his self-deprecating charm and out-of-this-world music knowledge makes her dizzy? Or his brother just released a bootleg recording of Luke singing about some mystery girl on their podcast and she really, really wishes it was her?

More Than Maybe Details

TitleMore Than Maybe
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 21st, 2020
PublisherWednesday Books
ISBN-139781250231642
Rating
GenreRomance, Young Adult, Contemporary

More Than Maybe Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Another limbo read and I need immediate help! I’m moving back and forth between 3 and 4 stars! My head starts spinning to take the fair decision. I loved the writing style, smart musical knowledge and intellectual references, I loved supporting characters and it was fast, easy, mostly sweet reading but I’m reading “You’d Be Mine” at the same time and that really confused the hell of me (By the way: there was nothing wrong about the book) I could give this one four solid stars even though I could Another limbo read and I need immediate help! I’m moving back and forth between 3 and 4 stars! My head starts spinning to take the fair decision. I loved the writing style, smart musical knowledge and intellectual references, I loved supporting characters and it was fast, easy, mostly sweet reading but I’m reading “You’d Be Mine” at the same time and that really confused the hell of me (By the way: there was nothing wrong about the book) I could give this one four solid stars even though I couldn’t connect with the protagonists and their insta romance. But “You’d be mine” was so sweet, swoony, emotional book and comparison part failed me a little. So I guess, I’m unfortunately stuck with my 3.25 stars and I’m feeling pretty bad about it. Especially after taking a quick look at the lovely cover and sighed for two minutes ( I think I held my breath too long from the look of my purplish face! My husband already start to apply hemlich maneuver to me and I spitted out half bottle of Chardonnay, damn it! Why didn’t he let me choke in peace?)Here are the things I loved so much about the book:Vada is not my favorite kind of heroine but I have to admit I loved to read her parts of narration more than Luke. And I also loved Vada’s family parts ( I actually loved Phil and Vada’s mom’s romance parts more reliable and entertaining. I root for them even though they’re supporting characters of the book and I wish they have their own sequel at some parts)Of course it’s so obvious to visualize my vindictive mind hated passionately from Vada’s father ( yes, my ascendant Scorpio takes over control and keeps on typing the letters)But let’s turn back to the part why I became tough grader and lower my brownie points about this book. Well, my main reason is only one word: LUKE! Sorry pal, the hero I dreamed to resonate cannot be found at this moment. I didn’t find anything interesting about him. Only great things he is a British boy with charming accent. ( I think the author emphasized his charm more than ten times at the book. I found him a little artificial, spoiled, acting like the life dealt him the worst hand and he’s whining about his supportive family and insists that they never understand him. Look at this lovely drama king!Romance parts of the book a little haphazard and I craved for more tension, angst, some obstacles, nonsense drama scenes. Maybe I have distorted opinions and I don’t get used to read easy HEAs.Overall: Of course I loved to read more books of Erin Hahn. I’m already working on “You’d mine” with a big smile on my face and butterflies twisting in my stomach. This story was okay, too but I think I was expected more. I don’t love it too much but I also don’t have any negative opinions, either. Special thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press/Wednesday Books for sharing this ARC COPY in exchange my honest reviews.
    more
  • Karen McManus
    January 1, 1970
    Just you wait, guys. JUST. YOU. WAIT.
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars, rounded up. More Than Maybe , Erin Hahn's upcoming book, is a terrific story about music, love, family, and the freedom to follow—or not follow—your passions.Vada has had a crush on Luke Greenly for a while. It’s not just his accent (his family moved to Michigan from the UK when he was younger) or his looks; it’s his soulfulness, his personality, and of course, the passion for music they share.Luke has always been partial to gingers so of course Vada catches his eye every time he an 4.5 stars, rounded up. More Than Maybe , Erin Hahn's upcoming book, is a terrific story about music, love, family, and the freedom to follow—or not follow—your passions.Vada has had a crush on Luke Greenly for a while. It’s not just his accent (his family moved to Michigan from the UK when he was younger) or his looks; it’s his soulfulness, his personality, and of course, the passion for music they share.Luke has always been partial to gingers so of course Vada catches his eye every time he and his brother record their podcast at the bar where she works. But Vada’s passion for music—her music blog is one of Luke’s obsessions—fuels his crush on her.The two pair up for a senior assignment and they learn more about each other’s vulnerabilities and ambitions, and try to fight the undeniable chemistry between them. Vada wants to be a music journalist and Luke wants to write music—but not sing it—despite his musician father’s desire that Luke pursue stardom he could so obviously achieve.When Luke’s brother secretly releases a recording of Luke singing a love song he wrote, it sets off a ton of ripples that affect everyone. And Vada isn’t (too) embarrassed to admit she wishes he was singing to her.While the book took a little bit to hit its groove, I really loved it. These characters were just so appealing and weren’t overly erudite or sarcastic so they felt very real to me. I read this until late the other night and was totally choking up in the dark. (I'm a sap, so whatever.)I love the way Erin Hahn writes. Her first book, You’d Be Mine , was amazing, too. (Loved the mentions of that book in this one!) If you love books about music and love, here’s one for you!!NetGalley and Wednesday Books provided me with an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making it available!!The book publishes July 21.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2019 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2020/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2019.html. Check out my list of the best books of the decade at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2020/01/my-favorite-books-of-decade.html.See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    This book is perfect for any music enthusiast.This is a kind of confession, but I’m the worst when it comes to music. I can’t carry a tune, and can’t for the life of me remember lyrics. I’m the WORST!! So, much of the music related stuff in this novel, the YouTube references, singers, songs, etc went a bit over my head.But what I enjoyed the most about this book were the characters.Luke and Vada had such similar backstories, and complimented each other in a genuine way. Also the supporting chara This book is perfect for any music enthusiast.This is a kind of confession, but I’m the worst when it comes to music. I can’t carry a tune, and can’t for the life of me remember lyrics. I’m the WORST!! So, much of the music related stuff in this novel, the YouTube references, singers, songs, etc went a bit over my head.But what I enjoyed the most about this book were the characters.Luke and Vada had such similar backstories, and complimented each other in a genuine way. Also the supporting characters, Luke’s family, his brother Cullen and best friend Zack, Vada’s family, and especially Phil, made this novel full of likable and interesting characters. There was no limit to how wonderful they all played off each other. It was fun to see them interact with each other, and the many different dynamics that were part of each group.Overall, the writing was as wonderful as I remember in the author’s debut novel. Maybe some paragraphs felt more like fillers, they dragged a little and weren’t actually needed in the overall storyline, but besides that I just love the author’s writing style. She describes things so authentic and with such an eye to detail that scenes are easily pictured in my mind.All in all More Than Maybe is a novel that will be a hit with many YA readers and especially music lovers.___________________________________I received a copy of this book from the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review. My opinions have not been influenced by the publisher or the author.Find more reviews and book recommendations on my blogFollow me on Bookstagram
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsI appreciate how this book was more than just a typical young adult romance. The characters were well-developed and weren't primarily focused on their love lives all the time. And I enjoyed how the author used music in the story as the characters would go back and forth sharing different songs that were relevant in certain situations. Luke Greenly has seen what life is like under the spotlight as his dad is a famous punk rock musician. While Luke enjoys making music, he has no interest 3.5 starsI appreciate how this book was more than just a typical young adult romance. The characters were well-developed and weren't primarily focused on their love lives all the time. And I enjoyed how the author used music in the story as the characters would go back and forth sharing different songs that were relevant in certain situations. Luke Greenly has seen what life is like under the spotlight as his dad is a famous punk rock musician. While Luke enjoys making music, he has no interest in performing in front of a crowd. He does however like co-hosting a locally popular podcast with his brother. Vada Carsewell is a music blogger and is hoping to attend college out west after she graduates high school. She works at Loud Lizard, a club that is owned by her mother's boyfriend, Phil. Guess who records his podcast at the Loud Lizard? Why Luke of course. And Vada has a bit of a crush on Luke, and Luke has a bit of a crush on Vada. Hmm.. what's going to happen?Vada and Luke had good chemistry which is always a huge plus. The role music played in how they got to know each other enhanced the story. (Although boo to their opinions on Stevie Nicks) One of the strengths of the novel was the story wasn't so dependent on romance instead the characters also had other things going on in their lives. The author set up two interesting story lines involving Vada's relationship with her father and Luke's relationship with his dad. It helped contribute to this being a cute story but with some substance.Thank you to Wednesday Books for providing me with an advance copy in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    This was a super cute read and this is seriously one of my favorite contemporary covers ever!
  • NAT.orious reads ☾
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 generous STARS ★★★✬✩ This book is for… music enthusiasts who enjoy good song and genre references in their YA reads. Be ready for a lot of adorkable teenage angst and overthinking. ⤐ Overall.That's it, I'm making it official: I'm in a bloody reading slump.I'm not gonna lie to you, folks. I feel like an utter tosser not adoring this book. Honestly, what is wrong with me. It features angsty teenagers, a pure gay love, family relationships, personal emotional growth and an awful lot of b 3.5 generous STARS ★★★✬✩ This book is for… music enthusiasts who enjoy good song and genre references in their YA reads. Be ready for a lot of adorkable teenage angst and overthinking. ⤐ Overall.That's it, I'm making it official: I'm in a bloody reading slump.I'm not gonna lie to you, folks. I feel like an utter tosser not adoring this book. Honestly, what is wrong with me. It features angsty teenagers, a pure gay love, family relationships, personal emotional growth and an awful lot of bloody good music.I have a distinct feeling this book is phenomenal but my reading slump just wasn't having it. The vibes that came off More Than Maybe were incredible but overall couldn't add to my enjoyment of the book. The chemistry between vada and luke was about the cutest thing since Roomies or even Love Lettering . The fact that they've adored each other for three fudging years was literally everything it took for me to finally read this. At last, we have a propper and relatable romance, where we can actually understand the infatuation with each other. [every average romance out there, cough cough, I'm eying you]⤐ What’s happening. ‘Be cool, hormones.’ ...a brief summary of the cuteness that is More Than Maybe, in which you can accompany two older teenagers balancing family life and self-discovery while also trying to not act like total doofuses in front of each other. If you don't want this, just think about your priorities for a hot minute, aight?_____________________ writing quality + easy of reading = 5* pace = 2* plot/story in general = 5* plot development = 3* characters = 3* enjoyability = 3* insightfulness = *_____________________Many thanks to Erin Hahn, Wednesday Books and NetGalley, who provided me with this eArc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Emma☀️
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsThis was a cute, sweet read! The characters were what made the story for me and I enjoyed their dynamics immensely!More Than Maybe is more than a love story, it’s about family and friendship. Luke and Vada are likable protagonists with amazing banter. The side characters were also very fun to read about. Cullen and Phil were my favorites and I enjoyed their interactions with the protagonists.Luke and Vada are so cute together. I found it so sweet that they already had crushes on each ot 3.5 starsThis was a cute, sweet read! The characters were what made the story for me and I enjoyed their dynamics immensely!More Than Maybe is more than a love story, it’s about family and friendship. Luke and Vada are likable protagonists with amazing banter. The side characters were also very fun to read about. Cullen and Phil were my favorites and I enjoyed their interactions with the protagonists.Luke and Vada are so cute together. I found it so sweet that they already had crushes on each other from the beginning of the book. However, I found their love story to be a bit mellow. There wasn’t enough tension and drama. This is purely subjective because I am not used to reading cute love stories without drama.Now, let’s talk about the protagonists: Luke and Vada!I loved Vada! She reminded me of myself sometimes; ambitious and awkward around their crush. I felt that I could connect to her - her experiences and worries. Luke, on the other hand, I hoped he was a bit more fleshed out. I did not really find him that interesting because I did not get to know him on a personal level as I did with Vada.I love the music references and could connect to the book as I am a music lover myself, however, I felt that the music/pop references were a bit too overwhelming as it occurred on almost every single page.The reason why this book did not get the full 4 stars is that the plot was a bit lacking. Nothing really happens throughout the book until the last three quarters. But the ending was satisfying and made my heart burst with joy.Overall, I enjoyed this but I had expected more.ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely LOVED! Full review to come.*EDITED TO ADD REVIEW*I expected to love More Than Maybe, I did not expect it to steal my heart. The characters, the story, the music, the sheer friendship and love. This is by far the first YA book in a really long time I can say completely swept me a way in just about every way a girl, a reader, can be swept away. And yes, dear author, I want a Phil! And a Cullen, and a Zach, and a Mia, and yes, especially a Luke! This was so much more than I was expecting Absolutely LOVED! Full review to come.*EDITED TO ADD REVIEW*I expected to love More Than Maybe, I did not expect it to steal my heart. The characters, the story, the music, the sheer friendship and love. This is by far the first YA book in a really long time I can say completely swept me a way in just about every way a girl, a reader, can be swept away. And yes, dear author, I want a Phil! And a Cullen, and a Zach, and a Mia, and yes, especially a Luke! This was so much more than I was expecting and everything I needed, when I needed it, without even realizing it. Such a sweet story that will stick with me long after the book has been read, and the review has been submitted. *ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Tucker (TuckerTheReader)
    January 1, 1970
    [11/01/2019] - A title and a cover! I kind of wish it wasn't illustrated and kind of fit with the style of You'd Be Mine... Oh, well--------------I just finished You'd Be Mine a few weeks ago... But I am so ready for this book.| Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | LinkedIn | YouTube | Instagram [11/01/2019] - A title and a cover! I kind of wish it wasn't illustrated and kind of fit with the style of You'd Be Mine... Oh, well--------------I just finished You'd Be Mine a few weeks ago... But I am so ready for this book.| Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | LinkedIn | YouTube | Instagram
    more
  • Vanessa ♛Queen Alchemy ϟ Novel Nerd Faction♛
    January 1, 1970
    Disclaimer: I received an Advance Reader Copy at no cost from the publisher/author. All opinions in my review are my own. This book was such a delightful little gem. I have such a soft spot for YA books that feature characters that have a passion and love for music. When I was in high school, music was my everything. It was my ultimate passion and what I lived for day to day. Reading this book was really nostalgic for me. I really felt every moment of this book so ardently. These characters were Disclaimer: I received an Advance Reader Copy at no cost from the publisher/author. All opinions in my review are my own. This book was such a delightful little gem. I have such a soft spot for YA books that feature characters that have a passion and love for music. When I was in high school, music was my everything. It was my ultimate passion and what I lived for day to day. Reading this book was really nostalgic for me. I really felt every moment of this book so ardently. These characters were truly something special. To say that they spoke to me would be a bit of an understatement. I was so wrapped up in these characters and I loved them so much. I loved that these characters had plenty of depth. They have so many layers and the author really brings out their complexity. I loved that the main characters had such tremendous growth in the story. This book also has an array of secondary characters that really made things interesting. I adored all the friendships and relationships in this book. The romance in the story was very touching to me because the two main characters were so obviously perfect for each other. The romantic gesture in this book by one of the characters is just so damn romantic that it makes my heart want to burst. The two main characters are very attuned to one another. They have such beautiful chemistry and the reader can't help but root for them. The plot of the story really came together nicely. All the ducks were lined up nicely and everything was executed perfectly in the story. The story was very addicting. I was so entranced that I read the entire book in a single sitting. I couldn't get enough. The storytelling was such a pleasure to read. I love the writing style and the author's voice. Overall, this is an atmospheric story that was a pleasure to get lost in. I was very much impressed with this book and I cannot wait to read more from this author!More reviews on my blog: Novel Nerd Faction
    more
  • Irena BookDustMagic
    January 1, 1970
    More Than Maybe is ya contemporary that showed up in my life just when I needed one.I was craving for a story like this, and am so grateful it was in my hands in the exactly right time.Therefore, because I enjoyed every single page of this book (the bitter and the sweet) I had to rate it so high.Music (or songs to be particular) plays big role in both Vada's and Luke's life which, as a result, has that it has big role in this story too.They send music links to each other through the story, and I More Than Maybe is ya contemporary that showed up in my life just when I needed one.I was craving for a story like this, and am so grateful it was in my hands in the exactly right time.Therefore, because I enjoyed every single page of this book (the bitter and the sweet) I had to rate it so high.Music (or songs to be particular) plays big role in both Vada's and Luke's life which, as a result, has that it has big role in this story too.They send music links to each other through the story, and I imagine if a reader goes and listen to them while reading, it makes the reading experience so much richer.I haven't played all the songs, but some I have.I have to mention here that one particular song (Anna Begins by Counting Crows) was triggering for me, as it puts me in the dark place, and I couldn't help myself, I had to listen to it again and again.However, it is important to emphasize that it is purely, 100% personal.The novel is written in first person, from two perspectives: Vada's and Luke's.I enjoyed Luke's POV little more, as he was more interesting to me as a character.This was really good coming of age ya romance, and I would recommend it to ya contemporary lovers out there.
    more
  • Tina
    January 1, 1970
    This is a young adult/romance. I just could not get into this book. I read the whole book, and the whole time I was wishing it was going to get better. I think it was just not the book for me. The writing style was just one I come not get into. I have seen some really good reviews about this book, so some people really loved it. I hope the book finds the people that love it. I was kindly provided an e-copy of this book by the publisher or author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, an This is a young adult/romance. I just could not get into this book. I read the whole book, and the whole time I was wishing it was going to get better. I think it was just not the book for me. The writing style was just one I come not get into. I have seen some really good reviews about this book, so some people really loved it. I hope the book finds the people that love it. I was kindly provided an e-copy of this book by the publisher or author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, and I want to send a big Thank you to them for that.
    more
  • Jessica Jeffers
    January 1, 1970
    I can't decide how I felt about this one. On the one hand, it's a sweet romance and I love that the female lead is not a Manic Pixie, but it took more than half the book for her voice to feel even a little different from the male lead's and the pacing frequently felt clunky. Also, I can not get over the fact that a character is twice described as a "high-functioning introvert" which... introversion isn't a dysfunction, Erin.
    more
  • book bruin
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsMore Than Maybe was so adorkably sweet and cute. I'm pretty sure I got at least a dozen cavities while reading it and there were so many times that I couldn't wipe the dopey grin off my face. I fell in love with all the characters (well, besides Marcus), and it made my music loving heart rejoice. I don't need to rehash the synopsis because there are plenty of wonderful reviews out there for that. I want to talk about how this book made me feel. I admit that if you aren't familiar with t 4.5 starsMore Than Maybe was so adorkably sweet and cute. I'm pretty sure I got at least a dozen cavities while reading it and there were so many times that I couldn't wipe the dopey grin off my face. I fell in love with all the characters (well, besides Marcus), and it made my music loving heart rejoice. I don't need to rehash the synopsis because there are plenty of wonderful reviews out there for that. I want to talk about how this book made me feel. I admit that if you aren't familiar with the songs referenced or mentioned in the book, it might be overwhelming. Music obviously plays a huge part in this novel and many times it is how our characters communicate with each other. I thought this added another wonderful layer to the feelings and moments Luke and Vada shared. Their sweet romance was captured so perfectly and Luke couldn't have been more adorable.There have been many times in my life that a song, or even a single line in a song, has hit me square in the chest. Songs that have burrowed so deep inside me that they are forever tied to moments in my life. Just hearing them brings all the emotions rushing back to me - for better or for worse. That's how More Than Maybe made me feel. It reminded me of all the butterflies and wonder of young love. It reminded me of the uncertainty and fear that comes with making yourself vulnerable. It reminded me of the hope and excitement of possibility.It's rare for me to enjoy a cast of characters as much as I did in this book. Every single one of them shined and added to the story. Yes, the story centers around Luke and Vada and is told through their POV's, but I loved how all these characters came together to create a family. They push when they need to, but they also steady and support. Meg, Phil, and Zack were particular favorites for me and I'm over the moon that Meg is getting her own book. Erin Hahn's writing was amazing and I loved all the witty banter and hilarious inner monologues. This is my first book by the author, but I can't wait to read more.*I voluntarily read an advance review copy of this book*
    more
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    We want to be moved and changed and knocked over and pieced back together. We want to swoon and taste and cry and scream to the sky, Yes, this. We want ninety minute relationships encompassing a lifetime of feels. We want the fantasy, the reality, the immortality, the salvation ... we want to be seen. This was such a great story with a cute romance, and strong family moments. More Than Maybe follows Luke Greenly as he struggles behind the shadow of his punk rock father and keeping his We want to be moved and changed and knocked over and pieced back together. We want to swoon and taste and cry and scream to the sky, Yes, this. We want ninety minute relationships encompassing a lifetime of feels. We want the fantasy, the reality, the immortality, the salvation ... we want to be seen. This was such a great story with a cute romance, and strong family moments. More Than Maybe follows Luke Greenly as he struggles behind the shadow of his punk rock father and keeping his love of composing a secret because his love of music doesn't translate to a love of the stage. Vada Carsewell has grown up appreciating music, working as a music blogger she has earned a respectful followling. After Luke's brother Cullen releases one of Luke's songs on their podcast, Luke's not so secret crush on Vada will become public knowledge if anyone can connect her as the mystery girl he's singing about. I wasn't expecting Luke and Vada to be friendly before the romance developed, but I thought it made the story all the more satisfying. You really get to see them interact a lot and build a relationship that turns into a romance. I appreciated how connected to music both were, the story demands a playlist and Vada and Luke sharing special songs with each other to convey feelings feels very them. The religious undertones connected to Vada's best friends faith was probably my least favorite part because it's just not my thing, but it was never over the top or preachy so I could still appreciate it. And the end conflict was telegraphed from a mile away, but predictability isn't a big issue with me for romances, because I expect certain tropes and formulas in the story. Ultimately this was a satisfying story with a lot of heart and charm. I always love a story with music in it - it adds a freshness that makes the story one I can't put down. And while the romance was adorable and I appreciated the strong family moments that were at the core of the story from Luke's relationship with his twin brother Cullen and dad, to Vada's tumultuous relationship with her own father and her growing one with Phil, her boss at the Leaping Lizard and her soon-to-be-step dad there's so much here to love!I received a copy of the arc from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • human
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.I'm stuck between rating this a 3 or a 4, so 3.5 I suppose it is!More Than Maybe was an adorable contemporary romance about two teens (young adults, really) that are brought together by their shared love and passion for music, despite all the problems they face in their day-to-day lives. On the one hand, there's Vada, an aspiring music journalist who has a solid plan for accomplishing her dream Thank you to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.I'm stuck between rating this a 3 or a 4, so 3.5 I suppose it is!More Than Maybe was an adorable contemporary romance about two teens (young adults, really) that are brought together by their shared love and passion for music, despite all the problems they face in their day-to-day lives. On the one hand, there's Vada, an aspiring music journalist who has a solid plan for accomplishing her dreams without the support of her absentee father. On the other hand, there's Luke, who's long since buried his talent for singing and songwriting. The book mainly focuses on how their relationship grows, stemming from the pair's similar tastes in music. I found this book and it's characters sweet, if a little 2-D. The romance is built well, although the storyline itself is quite predictable at times. There were also many, many pop culture references, not all being music-related either, which I wasn't all that fond of.Additionally, Cullen, Luke's twin brother, and his relationship with his boyfriend, Zach, was cute, even if it wasn't focused on much. The issues that Luke faced with his father seemed very abruptly solved, in an unrealistic "change of heart" kind of way.I think my favorite character was Meg, Vada's close friend, due to her blunt way of speaking and effervescent personality. I would recommend this book to all who enjoy a (relatively) short, casual contemporary romance, and of course, music fans.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~That was adorable.Forking cliche and predictable, but still adorable.
    more
  • ✨Brithanie Faith✨
    January 1, 1970
    5/5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. So- it's been a few days (and I'm still in denial), because I convinced myself that I was done with YA Contemporary/Romance, but APPARENTLY I'M NOT. Apparently I just hadn't been reading anything that worked for me, because this was SO GOOD- and I'm already dying to read Erin Hahn's next book. I know, I know- this one isn't out yet, so I'll be waiting a while, but I AM READY FOR IT! Who knew that all I needed to reki 5/5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. So- it's been a few days (and I'm still in denial), because I convinced myself that I was done with YA Contemporary/Romance, but APPARENTLY I'M NOT. Apparently I just hadn't been reading anything that worked for me, because this was SO GOOD- and I'm already dying to read Erin Hahn's next book. I know, I know- this one isn't out yet, so I'll be waiting a while, but I AM READY FOR IT! Who knew that all I needed to rekindle my love for the genre was the underappreciated trope of two hopeless dorks being into each other without realizing that they're into each other? Not me. This has to be my most surprising read of the year so far, and I cannot wait until I'm able to talk about this with more people!
    more
  • Susan's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.Well!!! I just finished More Than Maybe and I have to say, that was one long, drawn out, slow sizzle of a romance between two totally likeable young adults: Vada Careswell and Luke Greenly. Would they or wouldn't they?! The suspense was killing me. Then..... the KISS! Picture a big smile on my face! Etta Jame's At Last is playing in the background (- or Beyonce's version, if you prefer i My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.Well!!! I just finished More Than Maybe and I have to say, that was one long, drawn out, slow sizzle of a romance between two totally likeable young adults: Vada Careswell and Luke Greenly. Would they or wouldn't they?! The suspense was killing me. Then..... the KISS! Picture a big smile on my face! Etta Jame's At Last is playing in the background (- or Beyonce's version, if you prefer it.) Hey! I couldn't resist my own song reference! This story is full of them. The various songs were woven into the story line and had me running to Vevo or Youtube more than once! Vada writes a blog focusing on live music performances, and Luke has a beautiful voice and can be counted on to compose a swoony lyric. Shy Luke likes to stay under the radar, and does not want to follow in his rock star father's footsteps. When Luke's brother sneakily releases a song Luke created while pining for Vada, and it becomes a huge internet success, the action and the romance - thankfully - move along more quickly.I didn't agree with all of Vada's negative opinions about certain artists. Sorry Vada, but Kurt Cobain snuck into my heart with Teen Spirit and Where did you Sleep Last Night. And unlike Vada, I never had any time for the Rolling Stones, especially after their horrific treatment of Richard Ashcroft, of The Verve, when they claimed the rights to (and the award for) Bittersweet Symphony, despite a verbal agreement allowing Ashcroft to use that hypnotic melody. Totally uncool! I was disappointed that someone as musically astute and informed, as Vada was supposed to be, would support a group that took the royalties and the credit for another artist's creation. I loved the references to Kodaline and Panic at the Disco, but, sorry, Durritz doesn't send my soul up to the rafters. I just wasn't "feeling it." Luckily, there is enough musical diversity to keep almost every reader happy, and I reluctantly decided to forgive Vada's negative comments about dance music. I know this book is aimed at young adults, but Hahn has inadvertently alienated an entire cross-section of my generation (who haunted discos and pled allegiance to the incomparable Donna Summers!) by that ill-advised comment. I ultimately enjoyed this story about two emotionally cautious young lovers who finally find the courage to reach out to one another, and pursue their dreams. I rate this a 4.7 rounded up to a 5 because the whole kissing in the street scene was epic!
    more
  • Erin Hahn
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE: (3.27.20) MORE THAN MAYBE's release date, along with the release of the paperback of YOU'D BE MINE has been postponed to July 21, 2020. I am sad that I have to wait a bit longer to share Luke and Vada with you all, but I definitely think that my publisher, Wednesday Books, made the right decision and I'm so grateful to them for wanting both the book and the readers to have the best chance at a Happy Ending. :)UPDATE: THE MORE THAN MAYBE SPOTIFY PLAYLIST IS UP. There are a few to choose f UPDATE: (3.27.20) MORE THAN MAYBE's release date, along with the release of the paperback of YOU'D BE MINE has been postponed to July 21, 2020. I am sad that I have to wait a bit longer to share Luke and Vada with you all, but I definitely think that my publisher, Wednesday Books, made the right decision and I'm so grateful to them for wanting both the book and the readers to have the best chance at a Happy Ending. :)UPDATE: THE MORE THAN MAYBE SPOTIFY PLAYLIST IS UP. There are a few to choose from because my awesome early readers have made their own! But the official, official one is under EPHahn and is titled "MORE THAN MAYBE" Novel by Erin Hahn or something like that. :) ENJOY!! Also, see below for book three details! If you loved Meg, she's coming back in NEVER SAW YOU COMING out in 2021! -ErinLord knows I won't rate my own book here... even though I *do* happen to think it's worth the five stars, I learned my lesson last time. :) But I just wanted to offer an update and answer a few questions... YES, there is a playlist for "More Than Maybe". I will be opening it up on Spotify just as I did with "You'd Be Mine"'s. In fact, I'll post a song a day over on Twitter and IG if you want to follow along. A little "Behind the Music", Vada style. Also, YES there is a spin off in the works for this story. In my third book, currently titled NEVER SAW YOU COMING, Vada's best friend Meg Hennessey gets to tell the story of her unexpected gap year in Marquette, MI. Thanks for reading and rating! -erin
    more
  • Erin A. Craig
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my heart, my heart! MORE THAN MAYBE had me cheering and dancing right along with the characters and left the biggest trail of happy tears down my face. I didn't think it was possible to top YOU'D BE MINE, but Hahn's sophomore book has me longing for my days in Ann Arbor and super upset I never met my Luke there!
    more
  • Kelly Coon
    January 1, 1970
    Reader, you're in for a treat. I read an early version of MORE THAN MAYBE by the splendid Erin Hahn, and it was an absolute delight. There are twists you don't see coming, and more good music than you can possibly handle. PLUS, did I mention that the illustrious Hahn has once again graced us with her lyrical talent? I didn't?????? SHAME ON ME. Filled with longing and so much hope, this YA rom-com is more than maybe for me. It's a loud and resounding YES!
    more
  • Dahlia
    January 1, 1970
    The romance was adorable and the music stuff was really fun, but readers be warned that both MCs think Adam Duritz is more brilliant than Kurt Cobain and I honestly just have no idea what to do with that. But I'm very proud of myself for not DNFing. (If the romance weren't so good, and the characters so compelling otherwise, I totally would have. *spraypaints "Kurdt 4eva" and runs away*)
    more
  • m
    January 1, 1970
    dnf @ 7%there were a lot of annoying popular culture references in the first couple of chapters, but i drew the line at a game of fuck marry kill about the characters from teen wolf. just... why?
  • Leah
    January 1, 1970
    I may sound like a broken record at this point, but YA contemporary is such a hard-sell for me. So when I find one I enjoy ... you better believe I'm going to shove it in your face! Full Review at Write Read RepeatAm I ever glad I didn't give up on this author. I received a digital ARC of Hahn's debut novel last year and was not a fan. This was another music based contemporary romance, but it was everything I hoped You'd Be Mine would be. Set mainly in an Ann Arbor dive bar, this felt grounde I may sound like a broken record at this point, but YA contemporary is such a hard-sell for me. So when I find one I enjoy ... you better believe I'm going to shove it in your face! Full Review at Write Read RepeatAm I ever glad I didn't give up on this author. I received a digital ARC of Hahn's debut novel last year and was not a fan. This was another music based contemporary romance, but it was everything I hoped You'd Be Mine would be. Set mainly in an Ann Arbor dive bar, this felt grounded and real. It was a scene and an industry that I could believe. The characters were far more relatable and so very likeable. I nearly couldn't put it down half the time because I was so sucked into this world, these characters and their wonderful budding romance. Also a huge shoutout to Wednesday Books for sending me a copy!This book contains a dual narrative that follows Vada Carsewell and Luke Greenly.🎶VADA is a girl with a plan. A five-year plan, to be precise. (1) job at the local dive bar owned by her mom's awesome boyfriend, (2) take over said man's music blog, (3) get accepted at Berkley for music journalism, and (4) manage a summer concert series. Gotta love an ambitious girl, especially when she's already working on step 4 when we first meet her. I always admire a teenager who knows what she wants and goes for it. I flip flopped so much that I can admire Vada's drive wholeheartedly. She struggles a bit with her father, in that he chooses when he can claim her as a daughter, but still treats her like she isn't. It was really sad to see someone that awesome be beat down by such an empty-hearted man, but readers will enjoy how things get ... handled.🎤LUKE is our British cinammon roll of a boy. It's very rare that I enjoy the male POV more than the female's, and Luke eked it out by the slimmest of margins. Luke is struggling to hold his ground in what he wants to do with his life, and that involves keeping his biggest talent—composing and writing songs—a secret, especially from his dad. His dad is an old punk rock artist who keeps trying to get Luke signed to an agent and a label to record his music, but that's hard to do when you have stage fright. He's forced to deal with fame anyway when his twin takes things into his own hands and posts a secret recording of Luke on their shared podcast. The romance in this was exactly what I hoped it be, sweet and swoony. It would be considered a slow burn with the best kind of unrequited love. It felt like any kind of high school crush where you actually get to be with this person and you get to know them instead of pining from a distance. I have to admit that I was over the music references pretty quick. And there is a copious amount of them. I love that it's their cute love language but I don't listen to any of these artists. 99% of the songs were completely lost on me without context. But I think that's my only complaint about this book!Loved the Annie Mathers shoutout, by the way! So cheeky.There looks to be a spin off novel coming about Vada's delightful friend, Meg! After falling in love with this book and meeting Meg, you best believe I'll be checking it out!
    more
  • Rebeca
    January 1, 1970
    I received an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.5 stars🥰 I’m giving this book all the stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Ok, you all need to add More Than Maybe to your TBRs right now! Seriously, this book was A M A Z I N G😍 And yes, it totally deserves capital letters🌚 I haven’t read Erin’s debut yet but after reading and loving More Than Maybe I’m definitely going to read it💛More Than Maybe stirred my heart. There are two POVs, Luke and Vada’s, and they are perfect. I loved to read about th I received an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.5 stars🥰 I’m giving this book all the stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Ok, you all need to add More Than Maybe to your TBRs right now! Seriously, this book was A M A Z I N G😍 And yes, it totally deserves capital letters🌚 I haven’t read Erin’s debut yet but after reading and loving More Than Maybe I’m definitely going to read it💛More Than Maybe stirred my heart. There are two POVs, Luke and Vada’s, and they are perfect. I loved to read about their love for music, their dreams, hopes and their feelings for each other *swoons* 🥰Luke and Vada are the best💛 I loved how they could easily be themselves around each other and above else, I loved their text messages! Lots of songs were mentioned and in the most amazing way ever, ver unique, I must say😍I’m planning on writing down and listen to every song mentioned in this book💁🏻‍♀️More Than Maybe is a book you won’t want to miss💛 I loved that it made me laugh,I loved the banter and flirting and the swoons🌚 ALL THE HEART EYES😍😍😍 It’s definitely one of my new favorite Contemporary books and I really can’t wait to read more books by this author.
    more
  • Stacy Fetters
    January 1, 1970
    "Love is the lyrics to someone be else’s melody."You’d Be Mine was one of my favorite contemporaries of last year. It hit me deep in my soul and I couldn’t get enough of it. The story of Clay and Annie was messy, adorable, and just plain chaotic. That’s the type of story I was waiting for with this one and it just didn’t happen. From the start you know that it’s a pretty clean cut straight line contemporary. You can’t get any more plain than this one. The ideas surrounding the story was done bef "Love is the lyrics to someone be else’s melody."You’d Be Mine was one of my favorite contemporaries of last year. It hit me deep in my soul and I couldn’t get enough of it. The story of Clay and Annie was messy, adorable, and just plain chaotic. That’s the type of story I was waiting for with this one and it just didn’t happen. From the start you know that it’s a pretty clean cut straight line contemporary. You can’t get any more plain than this one. The ideas surrounding the story was done before, hell, that’s why we love them but there’s always that hook that gets us to fall in love but it still wasn’t there. The romance was super cute and Lukas knew how to sweep a girl off of her feet. Parts were very swoony but I didn’t feel any connection to them. I felt like they overused the English accent as a tool. *eye roll*I did enjoy the musical aspect of the story. The podcasts, the blog reviews, and even the ups and down of owning a dive bar. It brought back some fond memories of the nineties and early two thousands. It made me miss the simpler times. What annoyed me the most was the taste in musicians. Yes, I know, I know people have their own tastes and are entitled to our own opinions but some of these in the book were just wrong. Who shits on one of the largest grunge bands from the nineties? And then praises Adam Duritz? Umm wtf is that? That was something I couldn’t handle. More Than Maybe was a miss for me. The romance was adorable but it didn’t woo me as a whole. I needed something more like her first book and we actually get less here. Actual rating 2.5 but rounded up
    more
  • Jen Ryland
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved Erin Hahn's debut and was excited that her next book, More Than Maybe, also featured themes of music, family and romance. This book had a very different vibe, though. It felt edgier and more humorous than You'd Be Mine. The story is set in Michigan and featured two main characters who are each the child of a former musicians. Luke is a talented musician himself but prefers to stay behind the scenes and write songs, much to his father's disappointment. Vada is hoping for a care I absolutely loved Erin Hahn's debut and was excited that her next book, More Than Maybe, also featured themes of music, family and romance. This book had a very different vibe, though. It felt edgier and more humorous than You'd Be Mine. The story is set in Michigan and featured two main characters who are each the child of a former musicians. Luke is a talented musician himself but prefers to stay behind the scenes and write songs, much to his father's disappointment. Vada is hoping for a career in music journalism ... if her father can cough up money for college.In some ways I felt these two were way too cool for me, with their extensive music knowledge, music jokes and habits of texting each other YouTube videos of songs. And this was the second book in a row I've read that felt a little "talky" (dialogue heavy) to me. (Maybe it's just that I'm on vacation and like to read books that I can savor more slowly.)Bu Hahn is a really wonderful writer - this book reminded me a lot of one of my other favorite writers, Emma Mills - and I remain a huge fan.Read more of my reviews on JenRyland.com! Let's be friends on Bookstagram! Thanks to the publisher for providing an advance copy for review!
    more
  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥
    January 1, 1970
    A sweet, low-angst teenage crush that slowly turns to love through music. 3.5 stars Full review coming prior to July 21 release.I'm participating in a blog tour for More Than Maybe. My blog stop is July 24, 2020.Cross My Heart Reviews A sweet, low-angst teenage crush that slowly turns to love through music. 3.5 stars Full review coming prior to July 21 release.I'm participating in a blog tour for More Than Maybe. My blog stop is July 24, 2020.Cross My Heart Reviews
    more
  • Martina Primerano
    January 1, 1970
    BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR SO FAR! Full review to come.
Write a review