The Night Swim
In this new thriller from the author of The Escape Room, a podcast host covering a controversial trial in a small town becomes obsessed with a brutal crime that took place there years before.After the first season of her true crime podcast became an overnight sensation and set an innocent man free, Rachel Krall is now a household name―and the last hope for thousands of people seeking justice. But she’s used to being recognized for her voice, not her face. Which makes it all the more unsettling when she finds a note on her car windshield, addressed to her, begging for help.The small town of Neapolis is being torn apart by a devastating rape trial. The town’s golden boy, a swimmer destined for Olympic greatness, has been accused of raping a high school student, the beloved granddaughter of the police chief. Under pressure to make Season Three a success, Rachel throws herself into interviewing and investigating―but the mysterious letters keep showing up in unexpected places. Someone is following her, and she won’t stop until Rachel finds out what happened to her sister twenty-five years ago. Officially, Jenny Stills tragically drowned, but the letters insists she was murdered―and when Rachel starts asking questions, nobody seems to want to answer. The past and present start to collide as Rachel uncovers startling connections between the two cases that will change the course of the trial and the lives of everyone involved.Electrifying and propulsive, The Night Swim asks: What is the price of a reputation? Can a small town ever right the wrongs of its past? And what really happened to Jenny?

The Night Swim Details

TitleThe Night Swim
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 4th, 2020
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250219688
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller

The Night Swim Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Wow! Agghhjjkd ! Oh sorry I just blabbered meaningless letters because Im shaken to the core, carrying my stupid face looked like suffering from 30 botox syringe injections. If I was a real celebrity, they can carry me to the Wax Museum and position me next to Queen Elizabeth. I looked like a statue with no facial expression (My face looks like Nicole Kidman right now! And I always told no to esthetic surgeries! Now I'm reminding you daughter of a cyborg. Dammit!)Of course Im giving five Wow! Agghhjjkd ! Oh sorry I just blabbered meaningless letters because I’m shaken to the core, carrying my stupid face looked like suffering from 30 botox syringe injections. If I was a real celebrity, they can carry me to the Wax Museum and position me next to Queen Elizabeth. I looked like a statue with no facial expression (My face looks like Nicole Kidman right now! And I always told no to esthetic surgeries! Now I'm reminding you daughter of a cyborg. Dammit!)Of course I’m giving five gazillion stars ! This is kind of book steals your heart, pulling your hands like a magnet and as soon as you grab it into your hands, you never want to put it down even though it’s doomsday and zombies from World War Z knocking out your door!What should I tell the brilliant author of Escape Room? ( Thanks to her, I had grey cells transplant operation after reading that book because I killed the old ones to solve the mystery! You know how it feels there is a smoke coming from your head. Thankfully Megan Godin taught me by writing mind bending, crazy train riding story) I could say: Brava! Congratulations! Felicidades! Congratulazioni! Toutes nos felicitations! Herzliche glückwünsche!I reset my brain by restarting it and fixed my language settings. Oh yes! I can write in English again! No more Gibberish!The things I have to emphasize about this book: Author’s dual POVED writing was amazing. Rachel and Hannah’s narrations are captivating. Especially the podcast parts of the book make you devour all those pages, cancel your entire schedule, call sick, go to your home and finish this book under your duvet which I already did!!!!! I loved Rachel and I wish she would be real podcast host. ( I’m already addictive to Serial, Criminal, Up and Vanished. If you’re die-hard fans like me and haven’t listened to them before, I highly recommend to you.) As a host Rachel is brave, curious, a workaholic, exactly married with her job, analytic, doing her best to stay objective. We only learned she was divorced but as far as we see, she is only connection in the real world is her producer. She is tough, strong, smart heroine we’re looking for and I’m so sure after reading this book, you’re gonna want her back, chasing new crime stories.She comes the small town of Neapolis to dig more about town’s golden boy, Olympic swimmer Scott Blair ‘s rape case. He is accused of raping 16 year old girl who is also the granddaughter of police chief. (If she wasn’t police chief’s granddaughter, maybe there won’t be any trial because town’s people are real good to bury the facts and reject to talk about them.) When Rachel finishes her lunch break at a random diner, she finds an envelope on her car. A girl named Hannah who insists that her sister Jenny Stills (even though the police reports show she’s been drowned) has been murdered 25 years ago at the very same time and she needs help of Rachel.At first Rachel has no intention to take the case but she feels Hannah’s existence like a shadow following her everywhere, living more notes. She is intrigued. She cannot help herself. That’s her in blood. And she realizes there are so many inconsistencies about dead sister’s case. So Hannah might be right. And guess what: both cases could be connected. Now I’m stopping and let you read this book! I have to tell there is stunning, heart wrenching, soul shaking ending is coming up!!!!I think there will be sequels ( at least ending gave me this impression and interestiny I wanted to know Mitch Alkins’ back story and what kind of case forced him to come back to his hometown and change his profession.)Overall: I. LOVED.IT. SO.SO.SO.MUCH.Special thanks to NetGalley and St.Martin’s Press for sending me the ARC COPY of best thriller of 2020 in exchange my honest review. And Megan Godin, I fell in love with two of your books. Please keep on creating!bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    RAW AND REALThe Night Swim is an emotional and unsettling psychological thriller about a rape trial in a small town. On her way to Neapolis, North Carolina; podcast host Rachel Krall, finds a note on the dashboard of her car pleading for help. The writer of the note, Hannah, believes her sister was murdered 25 years ago and needs Rachels help to identify the murderer(s). Rachel is wary of helping Hannah, but soon gets pulled in to her story as she leaves more and more letters for Rachel to read RAW AND REALThe Night Swim is an emotional and unsettling psychological thriller about a rape trial in a small town. On her way to Neapolis, North Carolina; podcast host Rachel Krall, finds a note on the dashboard of her car pleading for help. The writer of the note, Hannah, believes her sister was murdered 25 years ago and needs Rachel’s help to identify the murderer(s). Rachel is wary of helping Hannah, but soon gets pulled in to her story as she leaves more and more letters for Rachel to read about what happened to her sister, Jenny. At the same time, Rachel begins attending the trial of a famous swimmer accused of raping a 16-year-old girl. The two cases converge, leading to a sickening and sad revelation. The Night Swim isn’t easy to read. Goldin spends a good deal of time examining how a rape trial plays out in the courtroom, including jury games and victim shaming. The rapes of two female characters are also shared. It is heavy, dark, and emotional to read. There were several times that I had to put this book down to take a mental health break. At the same time, I was completely captivated and appalled by Jenny and Kelly’s stories. Goldin handles the harsh topic of rape with sensitivity and honesty. While reading The Night Swim I had to keep reminding myself that this is the author who wrote The Escape Room--this book is the complete opposite of that one. For me, The Escape Room was pure entertainment; whereas, The Night Swim serves as a strong message for how society treats rape victims. There were a few flaws, but I am not going to get into them. I was pleased with the ending and hope to see another installment of Rachel in the future.I received an ARC of this book from Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    This book will haunt me for a long time.A tale of two rapes, 25 years apart, handled expertly and sensitively. This book so captivated me that I am at loss to describe my feelings.I was bereft.I was furious.I was hopeless.I found vindication.I cannot recommend it enough.I need to go lay down.Thank you to the BRILLIANT Megan Goldin, St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for sending me a widget for this book. I am honored and grateful.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsRachel Krall is known for her voice. She has a true crime podcast with a wide following. People know her voice- not her face, so when she finds a note under her windshield wiper, she is a little unsettled. The note is asking Rachel to investigate a listener's older sister's death twenty-five years earlier. Not an easy feat, as Rachel is in the small town of Neapolis , to cover a rape trial. A local swimmer bound for Olympic greatness has been accused of raping a local high school 4.5 StarsRachel Krall is known for her voice. She has a true crime podcast with a wide following. People know her voice- not her face, so when she finds a note under her windshield wiper, she is a little unsettled. The note is asking Rachel to investigate a listener's older sister's death twenty-five years earlier. Not an easy feat, as Rachel is in the small town of Neapolis , to cover a rape trial. A local swimmer bound for Olympic greatness has been accused of raping a local high school student. Rachel throws herself into covering the trial and sets about interviewing as many people as she can on both sides of the trial, all the while receiving letters about Jenny Stiles death years earlier. Jenny Stiles was believed to have drowned but her younger sister, Hannah is determined that the truth come out. She knows that her sister was murdered and wants the truth to be known. Intrigued Rachel begins to ask some questions and learns that small towns have secrets, secrets and long memories, and there are still some around who would prefer that the past remain in the past.Whew! Another solid book by Megan Goldin. I loved the Author's previous book, The Escape Room and had to read this one right away. It did not disappoint. I was hooked from page one. I loved how this book was about reputation - how they are formed, how people can make them for you and the damaging consequences when people begin to become identified by their "reputation". This book also shows the divide between the haves and have-nots, how money and influence also affect and can pre-determine how you are viewed in society. But in the end, this book comes down to the brutality of rape.There are two mysteries in this book and the Author blended their stories beautifully. The transitions between the past and present were flawless. Both stories were interesting, gut wrenching and intriguing. There is a lot to discuss with this book - rape, how blame is assigned, the treatment of rape survivors, court testimony, pod casts, reputations, guilt, silence, etc.I found this book to be captivating, hard to put down, intriguing and thought provoking. Plus, I am really hoping that this will become a series - don't know if it will but would love if it was. Either way, this was a fabulous book and I look forward to more books by this author in the future. I received a copy of this book from St. Martin's Press and Edelweiss in exchange for and honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Once again I'm finding myself frustrated at the way that any book with a lick of mystery is automatically dubbed a nail-biting thriller. If this book had been marketed as general crime fiction, or a character driven mystery, then I would have saved it for the appropriate mood, but alas, I picked this up expecting a fast paced, twisty read, much like The Escape Room. The Night Swim is an important read, one that delves into the heavy topic of rape culture and what that means for our generation Once again I'm finding myself frustrated at the way that any book with a lick of mystery is automatically dubbed a nail-biting thriller. If this book had been marketed as general crime fiction, or a character driven mystery, then I would have saved it for the appropriate mood, but alas, I picked this up expecting a fast paced, twisty read, much like The Escape Room. The Night Swim is an important read, one that delves into the heavy topic of rape culture and what that means for our generation versus previous ones. It's a courtroom drama mixed with pod cast media which equals heavy emotions and disturbing content. If rape is something that triggers you, then I would give this one a hard pass. For me, I felt like the author handled the subject with care and really explored the subject in respectful form. Overall, if you enjoy slow burning mysteries with dual POVs and timelines, and can handle graphic, disturbing content, give The Night Swim a try for yourself. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    This was not an easy read as it deals with rape, reputations, and influence. There are two mysteries to follow that are twenty five years apart and come together through the producer of a crime podcast, Rachel Krall.Rachel's current crime podcast involves a small town and the rape of a high school student. While covering this trial, Rachel starts receiving mysterious letters from a sister seeking justice. These two mysteries will begin to evolve, connect, and shock.The courtroom scenes were my This was not an easy read as it deals with rape, reputations, and influence. There are two mysteries to follow that are twenty five years apart and come together through the producer of a crime podcast, Rachel Krall.Rachel's current crime podcast involves a small town and the rape of a high school student. While covering this trial, Rachel starts receiving mysterious letters from a sister seeking justice. These two mysteries will begin to evolve, connect, and shock.The courtroom scenes were my favorite part of the book. All the drama, calling witnesses and intense moments. The author does a great job weaving the two mysteries together. Thought provoking and emotional story. Thanks to NG and the publisher for my review copy. OUT August 2020
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Two girls, twenty five years apart. Raped and beaten by a group of guys or one guy, their reputations, spirits, lives destroyed by being blamed for what was done to them. The first girl ended up dead, unable to defend herself in public, from the rumors. The second girl speaks out about what was done to her and her torment continues, as public blame turns towards her.Rachel Krall's popular podcast "Guilty or Not Guilty" is beginning it's third year by featuring the trial of a college swimmer who Two girls, twenty five years apart. Raped and beaten by a group of guys or one guy, their reputations, spirits, lives destroyed by being blamed for what was done to them. The first girl ended up dead, unable to defend herself in public, from the rumors. The second girl speaks out about what was done to her and her torment continues, as public blame turns towards her.Rachel Krall's popular podcast "Guilty or Not Guilty" is beginning it's third year by featuring the trial of a college swimmer who is accused of raping "K". The town is divided as the young man is from the most prominent family in town while the girl is the granddaughter of the former police chief. Many blame the girl for ruining the future of the young man, with her accusations. The girl's life is forever changed because she can never be the same person after being allegedly brutally raped over and over and then publicly brutalized again, for speaking out. Before Rachel arrives in town she is getting notes from Hannah, the sister of Jenny, who was raped and drowned twenty five years ago. Hannah's sister never got to fight back but instead, the guys who attacked her spread vicious stories about her and her virtue, all lies, but because Jenny was from a very poor family, the rumors were treated as truth. Hannah is sure that Jenny was murdered and she needs Rachel's help to prove it. The stories intertwine in this quick and easy read. Then you to St. Martin's Press/Macmillan and Edelweiss for this ARC. 
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    This is Rachel Krall on Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts YOU in the jury box.Known for her sultry voice, but not her face, Rachel is troubled when she finds a handwritten letter on her windshield, outside a diner at a remote stop, as she is on her way to Neapolis, the town of her season three podcast. The letter is written intimately, and is asking for help in solving the case of a sixteen year old girl named Jenny Stills, who died in Neapolis decades earlier, and is signed by her “This is Rachel Krall on Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts YOU in the jury box.”Known for her sultry voice, but not her face, Rachel is troubled when she finds a handwritten letter on her windshield, outside a diner at a remote stop, as she is on her way to Neapolis, the town of her season three podcast. The letter is written intimately, and is asking for help in solving the case of a sixteen year old girl named Jenny Stills, who died in Neapolis decades earlier, and is signed by her sister Hannah, who believes the “drowning” was actually a murder...But, Rachel gets requests from desperate people all the time. She needs to focus on the current case. For the first time her Podcast is following a trial LIVE, and it is the first RAPE she is covering- A Future Olympian, and the town’s golden boy has been accused of raping a high school student, referred to as “K”. But, Hannah does not give up easily. Told from the alternating perspectives of Hannah, Rachel, and the Season Three Podcast episode transcripts, the three narratives, and the two cases, will eventually intersect in many unexpected ways. I love when a suspense story can surprise me, while remaining plausible, and this one managed to do just that, with the short chapters I love which allow you to say “just one more chapter”...I am hoping that Rachel Krall, and her podcast may make another appearance in a future book...any chance of that happening, Ms. Goldin?? Thank you to Edelweiss, St. Martin’s Press and Megan Goldin for the digital ARC I received in exchange for a candid review! This book will be released Aug 4, 2020!
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsThere are some mystery thriller books that set themselves above others, not only for the excellent writing, but also because they deal with a topic that is abhorrent and has people divided as to where the blame belongs and who is the guilty one. This book which dealt with the topic of rape was one of those special mysteries that presented well the sides of the story and made me once again realize why this topic is one that engenders so much controversy and hurt.Rachel Krall is making a 4.5 starsThere are some mystery thriller books that set themselves above others, not only for the excellent writing, but also because they deal with a topic that is abhorrent and has people divided as to where the blame belongs and who is the guilty one. This book which dealt with the topic of rape was one of those special mysteries that presented well the sides of the story and made me once again realize why this topic is one that engenders so much controversy and hurt.Rachel Krall is making a name for herself. She is a producer of podcasts, ones that focus on crimes committed where the accused and the victim seemed not to have received justice. She is now into season three of her successful series, and comes to the small town of Neapolis which is devastated by the purported rape of a young girl, the granddaughter of the police chief. The accused is a young man, a shinning star athlete swimmer, who is slated to eventually compete in the Olympics. As Rachel becomes involved in following this trial, she is also confronted by mysterious letters written by the younger sister of a girl, Jenny Sills who supposedly drowned many years ago. Jenny's sister is the author of these mysterious letters and as Rachel digs further into this death of years ago, she discovers things that are sketchy, alleging that Jenny led a wild life. Was this true, or was Jenny Sills's death one that was never truly solved and one that was left for time to forget?The two cases, separated by twenty five years seem to have elements in common and as the trial continues, Rachel is drawn into hopes and dreams for justice to be served in both these cases.I was definitely intrigued by this story, as it so pointed out that rape is a crime for which there are no winners, only victims who continue to be haunted forever by the memories and trauma of what has occurred. It is also always, unless witnesses are present, a case of he said she said. How can one sustain the belief of innocent until proven guilty when guilt or innocence is often determined by reasonable doubt? Ms Golden has certainly presented the constant issues and plight of those who have been violated and those who have been accused. It's a quandary that seems to have no answer.Thank you to Megan Goldin, St Martin's Press, and Edelweiss for a copy of this book due out on August 4, 2020.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    'This is Rachel Krall on Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts YOU in the jury box.' Two rapes, decades apart...yet somehow disturbingly connected. The Night Swim is an addictive, yet powerfully heartbreaking and timely story. The chapters were short and engrossing--some told as podcasts, others as letters, and some were simply Rachel's personal observations. It was all so beautifully written, I simply hated to put down. Megan Goldin is rapidly becoming one of my must-read authors, as I 'This is Rachel Krall on Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts YOU in the jury box.' Two rapes, decades apart...yet somehow disturbingly connected. The Night Swim is an addictive, yet powerfully heartbreaking and timely story. The chapters were short and engrossing--some told as podcasts, others as letters, and some were simply Rachel's personal observations. It was all so beautifully written, I simply hated to put down. Megan Goldin is rapidly becoming one of my must-read authors, as I also thoroughly enjoyed her previous novel, The Escape Room. This one will stay with me for a long, long time. Recommended to one and all. Available in the United States on August 4th. **Many thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to St. Martin's Press, and Netgalley.I don't know what I'm Earth possesses me to request things like this.Maybe, the reviews of my Goodreads friend's? Maybe the popularity of the author? I haven't a clue.So really, take this piffling review with a grain of salt.I didn't like it. Obviously. That's all I'm going to say. I never should have even tried to read this. I'll give it 3 stars, because many liked it. Just know that some stories should come with trigger warnings. This is one of My thanks to St. Martin's Press, and Netgalley.I don't know what I'm Earth possesses me to request things like this.Maybe, the reviews of my Goodreads friend's? Maybe the popularity of the author? I haven't a clue.So really, take this piffling review with a grain of salt.I didn't like it. Obviously. That's all I'm going to say. I never should have even tried to read this. I'll give it 3 stars, because many liked it. Just know that some stories should come with trigger warnings. This is one of them.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsThis was a tough read because it deals with the subject of rape. The book explores in depth how society tends to view rape and quite frankly it's depressing. But that's also why I think it is a worthwhile read. This book is going to get labeled as a mystery or a thriller and while it certainly has those elements, there's substance here so it might be best to just want to read a story that addresses an important topic rather than just expect a page turning novel full of twists and turns 4.5 starsThis was a tough read because it deals with the subject of rape. The book explores in depth how society tends to view rape and quite frankly it's depressing. But that's also why I think it is a worthwhile read. This book is going to get labeled as a mystery or a thriller and while it certainly has those elements, there's substance here so it might be best to just want to read a story that addresses an important topic rather than just expect a page turning novel full of twists and turns to keep you entertained.Rachel Krall hosts a successful true crime podcast and for the current season she will be covering a rape trial in the small town of Neapolis. A college swimmer from a prominent family has been accused of raping a female high school student. Rachel will spend each day in court and reporting back to her listeners everything going on in the trial. After receiving some mysterious letters from a woman wanting justice for the death of her sister in Neapolis twenty five years ago, Rachel starts digging into that case as well. This town is full of secrets. One of the things the author explores is how accused rapists are viewed by society when they fit the so-called "golden boy" criteria. And I liked how it was addressed in the story that everyone can agree murder is wrong but yet when it comes to rape it is such a controversial topic. My blood was boiling as I read this book and that's a compliment to the writer. In my opinion it was a spot on depiction of what happens when a person accuses someone of rape. Because much of the story was told through courtroom testimony and interviews Rachel was conducting with key people in the case, you got a lot of different opinions. And while you might not agree with everyone's viewpoint, it felt realistic. That's why this is an uncomfortable read, it hits too close to home.So there's basically two things going on in the story. There's the rape trial, but also you have Rachel slowly learning the details about the death of the sister so many years ago. Both cases added value to the story and I found at times getting emotional while reading. By the time I got to the end, I found the story to have some elements of predictability but also some stuff that was a bit surprising. But again, don't go into this one wanting some type of popcorn read as this is a story dealing with a heavy subject.This is the second book I have read by the author and I'm once again I am impressed that she is able to incorporate relevant issues into her stories. I'm anxious to read more from her in the future. Highly recommending reading this one if you think you can handle the subject matter.I received a free advance copy of this book by Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    5 stunning and all the starsThis book was a nearly perfect read for me great writing, excellent pacing, interesting characters, stories I could really get invested in, and a huge payout at the end.The premise involves a true-crime podcast writer (Rachel Krall) on her third season and the trial shes about to attend. She aims to put her listeners in the jury box to make up their own minds about guilt or innocence. Its an unfortunately classic tale of rape of a young woman and the young man who 5 stunning and all the starsThis book was a nearly perfect read for me – great writing, excellent pacing, interesting characters, stories I could really get invested in, and a huge payout at the end.The premise involves a true-crime podcast writer (Rachel Krall) on her third season and the trial she’s about to attend. She aims to put her listeners “in the jury box” to make up their own minds about guilt or innocence. It’s an unfortunately classic tale of rape of a young woman and the young man who claims it was consensual. I felt the writer handled all of these details very well, they made me uncomfortable, but it wasn’t gratuitous violence. The courtroom scenes are gripping and the anguish for the rape victim was apparent. However, the young man is a promising swimmer from a prominent family in town and this trial is a controversial one where minds seem to be made up before any evidence is presented. I was reminded how difficult it is to show incontrovertible evidence that convinces people – expert witnesses argue for both sides and the attorneys are very clever at what they do. Along the way, Rachel is communicating with someone else about an earlier crime in the town. This dual storyline was compelling as well, and I eagerly read along to find out what deep secrets this town and its residents were keeping. There were a few surprises at the end and I found the power-packed conclusion mostly satisfying.I highly recommend this one!Thank you to Megan Goldin, St. Martin's Press, and Edelweiss for an early copy of this one to read and review. Add this one to your TBR, it's out 8.4.2020
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    Hello, friends...This is Rachel Krall on GUILTY or NOTGUILTY, the podcast that puts you in the jury box. Ill spare you the gory details. Other than to say that it was awful watching a 16-year-old girl get tortured in the name of justice. Rape cases can be more traumatic to try than murder cases because the brutalized victim is there to describe what happened to her. More than that. She lives with the nightmare every single...day of life life. I dont get how we can almost unanimously agree that Hello, friends...This is Rachel Krall on ‘GUILTY’ or ‘NOTGUILTY’, the podcast that puts you in the jury box”. “I’ll spare you the gory details. Other than to say that it was awful watching a 16-year-old girl get tortured in the name of justice”. “Rape cases can be more traumatic to try than murder cases because the brutalized victim is there to describe what happened to her. More than that. She lives with the nightmare every… single...day … of life life”. “I don’t get how we can almost unanimously agree that murder is wrong, but when it comes to rape somepeople still see shades of gray”. “I am sitting here on the jetty at Morrison‘s Point. My feet are hanging over the edge. The water is rough. The wind is wild. The light is fading. I can’t believe that it’s been 25 years since Jenny died”. A community in the small North Carolina coastal town - Neapolis- is divided about who they think is guilty.The accuser, or the victim? Through, letters, investigation, podcasts, alternating perspectives, past and present, with two separate cases separated by 25 years, .... the story unravels ( a little repetitive), to the ends closing. A quick read with a simple plot...not nail biting, ( which is fine).... and I appreciate the relevancy of the topic, but I wasn’t overly enthralled either. It simply felt very ordinary to me. But I probably need to be honest here… I read this book after reading “A Long Petal of the Sea”, by Isabel Allende. ....a literary historical fiction novel, that haven’t come down from the ‘wow’ factor yet.3 stars - readable - liked it - didn’t love it.
    more
  • Tina
    January 1, 1970
    I found this book to move very slow for the first 200 pages, but then the last 150 pages had so much going on and fast moving. I did not see it ending like it did. It is a great thriller, and I really liked it. I won an arc of this book from a goodreads giveaway, but this review is 100% my own opinion. The book is to come out in August 4-2020.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of those well-written novels that is not enjoyable to read. Even if you havent lived through it, you definitely have friends and acquaintances and family members who have. Not just the rape but the not being believed by cops and members of the community. Slut shamed because the girl was obviously asking for it. Therefore, you spend the whole book being pissed off that, thirty years after Thelma and Louise came out, nothing has changed except the style of jeans and the way we wear our This is one of those well-written novels that is not enjoyable to read. Even if you haven’t lived through it, you definitely have friends and acquaintances and family members who have. Not just the rape but the not being believed by cops and members of the community. Slut shamed because the girl was obviously asking for it. Therefore, you spend the whole book being pissed off that, thirty years after Thelma and Louise came out, nothing has changed except the style of jeans and the way we wear our hair. Rachel is on her third season of a true crime podcast. Her first two seasons she dealt with cold cases, but this season she’s covering a rape trial live. Rachel wonders why everyone agrees that murder is bad but somehow when it comes to rape, suddenly there are sides to take. The alleged rape is between a wealthy young man with potential as an Olympic swimmer and a sixteen-year-old girl who is the granddaughter of the former police chief of town. When Rachel gets to town before the trial starts, she gets letters on her car and in her hotel room about a murder that happened years earlier. So, we the readers are turning pages to find out how the current case turns out and also whether Rachel can dig up clues that Jenny, years earlier, didn’t drown like all the records say, but was murdered as her younger sister, who keeps writing letters and emails rather than meeting with Rachel in person, contends. Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to review this novel, which RELEASES AUGUST 4, 2020.
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    4+ Stars. Megan Goldin is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. THE ESCAPE ROOM was a winner for me as is THE NIGHT SWIM....such completely diverse reads.First off, love the main protagonist, Rachel Kralls, her intuitive investigative skills and especially what she does at the end! THE NIGHT SWIM has a fresh delivery with its true-crime podcast format that pulled me right in......"I'm Rachel and this is Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts you in the jury box." There's two 4+ Stars. Megan Goldin is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. THE ESCAPE ROOM was a winner for me as is THE NIGHT SWIM....such completely diverse reads.First off, love the main protagonist, Rachel Kralls, her intuitive investigative skills and especially what she does at the end! THE NIGHT SWIM has a fresh delivery with its true-crime podcast format that pulled me right in......"I'm Rachel and this is Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts you in the jury box." There's two interweaving stories of brutality against young women here....so beware, one past and one present time amidst a rape trial. (Oh the horrid treatment of rape victims!) There's a mystery character who wants help and some satisfaction, some really bad dudes, violence, a cover-up....and a nightingale all set in small town USA. "Curiosity was Rachel's kryptonite." (Love it!) Intriguing and thought-provoking crime mystery.Many thanks to St. Martin's Press via NetGalley for the arc in exchange for review.
    more
  • Tammie
    January 1, 1970
    The Night Swim, a mystery/thriller was a solid 4 stars. The book centers around Rachel Krall-a popular podcast host that is visiting Neapolis to cover a rape trial that has divided the small town. Krall, while covering the trial for her podcast, becomes entangled in an unsolved murder that happened 25 years earlier. I throughly enjoyed The Night Swim- it was a fast paced and intriguing book that was full of drama. Highly recommend to adult readers that enjoy mystery/thriller and crime books. The Night Swim, a mystery/thriller was a solid 4 stars. The book centers around Rachel Krall-a popular podcast host that is visiting Neapolis to cover a rape trial that has divided the small town. Krall, while covering the trial for her podcast, becomes entangled in an unsolved murder that happened 25 years earlier. I throughly enjoyed The Night Swim- it was a fast paced and intriguing book that was full of drama. Highly recommend to adult readers that enjoy mystery/thriller and crime books. Thank you NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Denise
    January 1, 1970
    As it is not due to be published until late summer, I do not want to give too much away in my review. All I can say is DO NOT MISS THIS ONE!! I think this is my favorite thriller of 2020 (although in fairness, it is only February!) I was not a huge fan of The Escape Room for some reason, so I was a bit uncertain as to how I would feel about The Night Swim; however, Goldin seriously knocked it out of the park!In The Night Swim, a podcast host, Rachel Krall, has become the voice of true crime As it is not due to be published until late summer, I do not want to give too much away in my review. All I can say is DO NOT MISS THIS ONE!! I think this is my favorite thriller of 2020 (although in fairness, it is only February!) I was not a huge fan of The Escape Room for some reason, so I was a bit uncertain as to how I would feel about The Night Swim; however, Goldin seriously knocked it out of the park!In The Night Swim, a podcast host, Rachel Krall, has become the voice of true crime throughout the country after her first hugely successful season. Her next endeavor is covering a controversial rape trial in a small town that is divided over the guilt of the accused, as he is the "golden boy," a swimmer training for the Olympics with a well-to-do family, and the alleged victim is the granddaughter of the former police chief. While covering the trial, Rachel also becomes obsessed with a mysterious death of a teen girl, Jenny Stills, that took place years before. On the record, Jenny drowned, but her younger sister insists that she was murdered, and oddly, no one in the town seems to want to discuss the Stills case. The past and present collide in crazy ways as Rachel uncovers the connections between the two, and the ending is a stunner.This book has it all - fresh perspective on a controversial event, captivating characters, and a moving ending that made me think long and hard about how I view alleged perpetrators, victims, and their families. If I could give this book 10 stars, I would!
    more
  • Ash
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martins Press for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.I, like many other people, love true crime podcasts. They make my one-and-a-half-hour commute (yes, you read that right, and yes, it sucks as much as you think it does) bearable. So when I saw that The Night Swim was a mystery/thriller about a true crime podcast host, I requested it immediately. Unfortunately, I think my experience with true crime podcasts made this book less enjoyable, not Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.I, like many other people, love true crime podcasts. They make my one-and-a-half-hour commute (yes, you read that right, and yes, it sucks as much as you think it does) bearable. So when I saw that The Night Swim was a mystery/thriller about a true crime podcast host, I requested it immediately. Unfortunately, I think my experience with true crime podcasts made this book less enjoyable, not more.There were a lot of little inaccuracies that bothered me. Rachel Krall’s podcast episodes are very short and contain far more speculation than fact, and she doesn’t have that natural, conversational way of speaking that podcast listeners enjoy; her words read as very obviously scripted. She’s the only host, which I can only imagine is very boring to listen to and is certainly boring to read (there’s a reason most podcasts have at least two hosts). She records one of her episodes outside, while walking, which would be an audio nightmare. And her podcast is supposedly so universally popular that Rachel is a “household name.” The only podcast hosts I know of who are household names are celebrities who were already famous for something else.There were even more details that damaged the book’s realism. Everyone Rachel speaks to is conveniently quick to open up and share plot-relevant details that most people wouldn’t give up so easily to a stranger. The wrongly convicted man who was the subject of the first season of Rachel’s podcast is released in short order after she reveals new evidence that exonerates him, which I find hard to believe; the American justice system will do anything in its power to keep people in prison even if it’s obvious that they’re innocent. And Hannah’s notes to Rachel are so riddled with flowery, unnecessary detail that I spent the whole time I was reading them rolling my eyes and thinking, “Who writes like this?”I fully realize that I am being incredibly nitpicky and that most of these details may not even faze the average reader, but each one took me out of the story and prevented me from immersing myself. An even bigger issue was Rachel herself. I had no sense of her personality, unless you count “true crime podcast host” as a personality trait (I don’t). What little I learned about her was told, not shown. She was flat and lifeless. And I hated Hannah. You want justice for your sister, so you stalk a true crime podcast host who’s just trying to do her job? Even more frustrating, Rachel does exactly what Hannah wants and investigates her sister’s case, and even lets it distract her from her work.I did like that Megan Goldin seemed to draw from real-life cases to inspire the ones she mentions or focuses on in The Night Swim, which added back some of the realism the book lost. As far as I know, neither the Jenny Stills case nor the Kelly Moore case were direct copies of any real case, though, so there was still room for creativity. I liked the trial scenes. I appreciated the commentary on rape and victim blaming that we got from the Kelly case, and I enjoyed slowly discovering the details of the Jenny case. And the ending was decent, though not unexpected.I have to stress that I really don’t think Goldin is a bad writer, or that this is a bad book. I’m clearly in the minority here. I’m between two and three stars, but because there were so many instances when I wanted to put the book down and give up on reading it, I have to go with two.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to St. Martins Press for providing an ecopy via edelweiss for a honest review. This was my first time reading one of Megan Goldins books and I was not disappointed. I have come to realize that I am a big fan of stories that have a podcast within them. Rachel Krall hosts the Guilty or Not Guilty podcast and shes starting season three. The first two seasons were a big hit so she knows season three needs to be just as successful. Instead of talking about an old case this time, Rachel decides Thanks to St. Martin’s Press for providing an ecopy via edelweiss for a honest review. This was my first time reading one of Megan Goldin’s books and I was not disappointed. I have come to realize that I am a big fan of stories that have a podcast within them. Rachel Krall hosts the Guilty or Not Guilty podcast and she’s starting season three. The first two seasons were a big hit so she knows season three needs to be just as successful. Instead of talking about an old case this time, Rachel decides to talk about an on going case that’s headed to trial that will have the listeners feel like their inside the courtroom.I really enjoyed this. There are short chapters and multiple POVs, including the podcast. Also, we don’t just get one mystery we get two 😱👏🏼. I definitely recommend this one. 4.5 ⭐️Trigger: rape
    more
  • Andrea Pole
    January 1, 1970
    The Night Swim by Megan Goldin is the third outing for this relatively new author and, as such, following rave reviews for her second, The Escape Room, came with high expectations attached. Although I have not read this author's first novel, I am now racing to add it to my TBR list. What an exciting new voice we have found in Megan Goldin!Rachel Krall operates a successful true crime podcast that puts listeners 'in the jury box'. Arriving in small town Neapolis to cover the trial of an Olympic The Night Swim by Megan Goldin is the third outing for this relatively new author and, as such, following rave reviews for her second, The Escape Room, came with high expectations attached. Although I have not read this author's first novel, I am now racing to add it to my TBR list. What an exciting new voice we have found in Megan Goldin!Rachel Krall operates a successful true crime podcast that puts listeners 'in the jury box'. Arriving in small town Neapolis to cover the trial of an Olympic hopeful who is accused of the rape of a high school student, Rachel is surprised when a fan from town reaches out, begging for her help in solving the twenty-five year old cold case of her sister's murder. Two cases of rape, over two decades apart. Could there possibly be a connection between the two in the seemingly sleepy town of Neapolis?This is a novel that will pull you in from the start and it does not relent, even for a moment.Many thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for this ARC.
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    I loved Goldin's 2019 release, The Escape Room, so am very happy we are getting a new book from her in 2020!!Thank you for the ARC, St. Martin's Press!I can't wait to get started!!
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    after The Escape Room, i'm ready for anything from this author
  • Blaine
    January 1, 1970
    Thats the thing about mistakes. Not all of them can be fixed.Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martins Press for sending me an ARC of The Night Swim in exchange for an honest review.I greatly enjoyed last years The Escape Room. It was an unserious romp of a thriller, predictable but entertaining. When I read the plot of The Night Swimessentially Sarah Koenig from the Serial podcast covering the Brock Turner rape trial, but with the added twist of also investigating a maybe murder from 25 years agoI That’s the thing about mistakes. Not all of them can be fixed.Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for sending me an ARC of The Night Swim in exchange for an honest review.I greatly enjoyed last year’s The Escape Room. It was an unserious romp of a thriller, predictable but entertaining. When I read the plot of The Night Swim—essentially Sarah Koenig from the Serial podcast covering the Brock Turner rape trial, but with the added twist of also investigating a maybe murder from 25 years ago—I mistakenly expected another twisty fun ride.However, this book is relentlessly serious. The plot line from the past is difficult to read, as the abuse heaped upon teenager Jenny Stills is simply brutal and monstrous. The plot line from the present is a small improvement, as teenager Kelly Moore at least gets to see her alleged rapist tried for the crime, but the emotional toll on her is not much better. And the message of the book could be read as emphasizing that there’s not much hope for rape victims to get justice through the court system unless they’re lucky enough to somehow have a witness who can break the he said, she said dynamic.It’s not a bad book by any means. The writing is solid, and the shifting presentations—Rachel’s first-person narrative, Hannah’s letters to Rachel, and Rachel’s podcast episodes—keep the story moving. Just go in with eyes wide open that you’ll likely be a bit sadder and/or madder at the end of this book than you were when you started. 3.5 stars rounded up to 4.
    more
  • Diana
    January 1, 1970
    "This is Rachel Krall of Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts you in the jury box."Get prepared for an emotional psychological mystery that isn't easy to read and will leave you deep in thought for a very long time. Two rapes 25 years apart ... two very different teenage girls ... raped and severally beaten by several boys multiple times that destroy their reputations and lives. Everyone blames the girls. One girl ends up dead -- and the second girl finds the courage to speak out about "This is Rachel Krall of Guilty or Not Guilty, the podcast that puts you in the jury box."Get prepared for an emotional psychological mystery that isn't easy to read and will leave you deep in thought for a very long time. Two rapes 25 years apart ... two very different teenage girls ... raped and severally beaten by several boys multiple times that destroy their reputations and lives. Everyone blames the girls. One girl ends up dead -- and the second girl finds the courage to speak out about what happened to her.Rachel Krall is a true crime podcast with a huge audience that listens to her show. People know her voice sultry voice. When she finds a note on her windshield wiper while heading to the small town of Neapolis to cover the rape trial of the second girl, she becomes alarmed. The note asks her to investigate the first girl's older sister's death from twenty-five years back in the same town. With not much to go on, Rachel sets out to discover what happened to both girls. Rachel soon finds out that she is up against popular entitled high school boys, police, families with money, and the entire town. It will be an uphill battle to find answers. So many prefer the past stay that way and they have reasons why. The courtroom drama scenes were really intense. The witnesses called all had different versions of what happened. I also enjoyed following Rachel’s podcast throughout the book.Megan Goldin did an amazing job pulling two mysteries together. A solid book about reputations, money, futures of students. A MUST READ that covers a very sensitive subject!Special thank you to Megan Goldin, St. Martin's Press, and NetGalley for an early copy of this one to read and review.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for an egalley in exchange for an honest review. Fantastic! This one had me riveted from the beginning. Full Review to Follow Soon
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    This novel follows the trial about the rape of a sixteen years-old girl. The accused is a young athlete and son of a well-known local business man.  The novel is narrated by Rachel Krall, the producer of a popular crime podcast. She visits the town where the trial is taking place to produce a series of podcasts about the case.While in town, she starts receiving letters from Hannah, who believes her sister Jenny was murdered 25 years ago in the same town but that her crime was never This novel follows the trial about the rape of a sixteen years-old girl. The accused is a young athlete and son of a well-known local business man.  The novel is narrated by Rachel Krall, the producer of a popular crime podcast. She visits the town where the trial is taking place to produce a series of podcasts about the case.While in town, she starts receiving letters from Hannah, who believes her sister Jenny was murdered 25 years ago in the same town but that her crime was never investigated. This novel was very different from the author's previous novel The Escape Room (which I loved). While the previous novel was a fast-paced, entertaining thriller, this book was more of an exploration of the legal and emotional consequences of rape in the victims and their family's lives as well as those of the accused.The novel is well written and the characters are compelling, I liked it and recommend it but it was not an easy read.ARC provided by Publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    Wow - What a blockbuster of a book!From the first paragraph It caught my attention. I could not put this one down.Author Megan Goldin wrote a powerful book. A storyline that is not all that unique however told with great pathos and description. Characters that the reader would really care about, as well as wanting to know how it all would turn out.This is the first book I have read by the author, and will not be the lastThanks to Author Megan Goldin and The NetGalley team at St. Martin's Press
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free e-copy of The Night Swim by Megan Goldin from NetGalley for my honest review.Wow, what a crazy and twisted read! A Podcaster, Rachel Krall, brings true crime to her listeners and the listeners are the jury. Covering a rape case for her next season, Rachel is dragged into another, very similar crime from twenty-five years ago. Two young girls, who were both raped and they were also shamed by their own town. Rachel is determined to uncover the truth and won't still until she I received a free e-copy of The Night Swim by Megan Goldin from NetGalley for my honest review.Wow, what a crazy and twisted read! A Podcaster, Rachel Krall, brings true crime to her listeners and the listeners are the jury. Covering a rape case for her next season, Rachel is dragged into another, very similar crime from twenty-five years ago. Two young girls, who were both raped and they were also shamed by their own town. Rachel is determined to uncover the truth and won't still until she discovers it. Although it is a difficult subject to read, the writing was astounding and absolutely loved how the book shifted from victim to victim.
    more
Write a review