Until I Find You
In Until I Find You, celebrated author Rea Frey brings you her most explosive, emotional, taut domestic drama yet about the powerful bond between mothers and children...and how far one woman will go to bring her son home.The Set-UpSoon, Rebecca Gray won't be able to see. Diagnosed in her twenties with a degenerative eye disease, each day her world grows a little darker. She's moved to the suburbs to raise her son, Jackson. In the wake of her husband's death, it should be a quieter, easier way of life.It won't be.The Moment That Changes EverythingWhen Bec awakes after fainting in the park, she makes promises to start taking better care of herself. When her son begins to cry, she approaches the crib.Reaches in.Picks him up.But he's not her son.The SearchThere's nothing Bec won't do to find Jackson. But she's a blind woman in a world where seeing is believing. The police think she's confused. Her friends don't see any differences. Relying on the conviction of her instinct and the power of a mother's love, Bec must push the limits of her world to uncover what happened to her baby boy...and bring him home for good.

Until I Find You Details

TitleUntil I Find You
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 11th, 2020
PublisherSt. Martin's Griffin
ISBN-139781250241580
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction

Until I Find You Review

  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    I'm definitely in the minority with my rating of Until I Find You, so I encourage readers of this review to check out more reviews before they make a decision on whether or not to read this book. I think it wasn't right for me. I couldn't turn off my critical mind and go with the story. Rebecca Gray slowly went blind in her mid twenties. About twelve years later, she is a new widow, whose mom has just died, and the mother of a three month old baby boy. The book opens with Bec making her daily tr I'm definitely in the minority with my rating of Until I Find You, so I encourage readers of this review to check out more reviews before they make a decision on whether or not to read this book. I think it wasn't right for me. I couldn't turn off my critical mind and go with the story. Rebecca Gray slowly went blind in her mid twenties. About twelve years later, she is a new widow, whose mom has just died, and the mother of a three month old baby boy. The book opens with Bec making her daily trek to the park where she meets with other mothers and babies. She knows that someone is stalking her, she can feel it. Luckily she has a photographic memory, which serves her well, making every path she has traveled a memory that she can follow, the next time she covers that ground. Once Bec gets home, she knows that someone is or has been in her house. Later she bumps into things, in her house, that have been moved from the place she had put them. Is extreme grief and sleep deprivations causing Bec to experience out of control paranoia? Despite her fears and certainty that things are not right, that someone is following her and entering her home, Bec refuses anything but token help. Rather than let others check out her house, she does it herself, sticking her cane in closets and calling out to the stalker. When friends offer to walk her home or give her a ride, she refuses. Finally, after an outing in the park, when she faints, and later recovers, she is sure that her three month old son has been swapped with another baby.Throughout the next few days, when Bec gets frustrated, angry, tired of waiting for the police to practice the protocol for this type of incident, Bec will grab the baby (or not) and her cane and stomp out of the house, night or day. She stomps to the park to "search" for clues, or around the neighborhood, or sometimes even just stomps out of the house and gets no farther. Bec is a strong woman to have navigated the troublesome events of her life so well, to this point, but I think her acts of stubborness and impetuousness didn't sit well with me. It's one thing to go charging (literally) blindly around town, but she doesn't seem to have the immediate welfare of the baby that is with her, in mind. As I said, this book has had rave reviews, so it'd be a good idea to see what others have to say about the book. Expected publication date: August 11, 2020. Thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Bring out your tissues and get ready to be highly tensed! This book may rock your world and break your heart at the same time!This story wrenched, ached and hurt my heart deeply. Rebecca (Bec) Gray, widowed mother suffers from degenerative disease and loses her vision, and the darkness grows and seeps through her life, slowly destroys everything she worked on. And she has responsibility of her three month old baby Jackson. She needs to accept more help! How can she handle all those burdens and m Bring out your tissues and get ready to be highly tensed! This book may rock your world and break your heart at the same time!This story wrenched, ached and hurt my heart deeply. Rebecca (Bec) Gray, widowed mother suffers from degenerative disease and loses her vision, and the darkness grows and seeps through her life, slowly destroys everything she worked on. And she has responsibility of her three month old baby Jackson. She needs to accept more help! How can she handle all those burdens and move on her life? And the worst part starts one day at the park, she thinks her baby replaced with other one but when she informs the authorities, nobody believes her. But a mother always knows. This is instinctive! When you give birth to a child you share a sacred place from your soul and your heart with him/her. This unique bond will always stay between a mother and child. Does Bec suffer from another psychological illness called Capgras delusion (Cotard’s syndrome): people who experience it will have an irrational belief that someone they know or recognize has been replaced by an imposter. It can be associated with brain injury, schizophrenia and Alzheimer. But Rebecca only loses her vision not also her mind! At least we want to believe in her story and root for her from the beginning. We’re also introduced with Crystal who lives a few blocks away, recently widowed, raising her ten year old daughter Savi and their nanny Pam. She and Bec form a genuine friendship at their grief support meetings. She is the other narrator of the story, suffering from depression and loss. She and daughter try to help Rebecca, supporting her even though they seem suspicious about her declarations about her replaced son story.I liked the idea of the plot and gripping, depressing, dark atmosphere of the story but there are so much repeating which ruined the building mystery a little. The ending was still great but some parts are predictable. It was still emotional, terrifying, tear jerking, provocative and effective story about grief, friendship, loneliness, motherhood, depression. The conclusion was satisfying and writing was riveting.I cut some points for plot holes and illogical parts (Forensics may solve the problem by blood test to make sure Rebecca was not delusional.) and repeating drama. But I’m still rounding up 3.5 stars to 4 because of the promising plot and great outcome of the story.I’m looking forward to read more books of the author.Special thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for sharing this heart wrenching ARC with me in exchange my honest review.
    more
  • Dorie - Cats&Books :)
    January 1, 1970
    The premise of a baby being switched and a mother believing that this is not her child, is not a new one. In this novel, what makes it unique, is that the mother in question is blind.Rebecca has certainly been through a lot. Her husband died before Jackson was born and she was relying heavily on support from her mother. A few months later, her mother passes away. So we have a mother who is losing her vision, is almost totally blind, and is trying to care for a newborn by herself. Rebecca has bee The premise of a baby being switched and a mother believing that this is not her child, is not a new one. In this novel, what makes it unique, is that the mother in question is blind.Rebecca has certainly been through a lot. Her husband died before Jackson was born and she was relying heavily on support from her mother. A few months later, her mother passes away. So we have a mother who is losing her vision, is almost totally blind, and is trying to care for a newborn by herself. Rebecca has been struggling but because she is living in her mother’s house, she knows her way around quite well. She has even been going to a mother’s support group in a nearby park. On one such meeting Bec has a fainting spell, falls and hits her head. She is hurt, bleeding, but refuses to go to the hospital. Her friend Crystal insists that she stay at her home for a few hours and get some sleep.O.K., that is the primary set up. What happens after is the main storyline. When she goes to pick up Jackson from his crib, she knows it is not her baby. Of course any mother would know her own baby, even one who is blind. We know every inch of our baby’s body even though he may look similar to another baby. Each baby’s cry is unique, their smell, their feel!From here we follow Bec’s efforts to get someone to believe her that her baby has been swapped for another. Even her friends doubt her because they aren’t quite sure that the baby isn’t Jackson.(Quite hard to believe that these friends can’t tell the difference in her baby??) She finally gets support from her ex boyfriend who is a homicide detective. I’m not going to go through the story because that would be a spoiler.I didn't feel the empathy, etc that I should have felt for Bec. Her constantly resisting help when she so obviously needed it didn't make sense. I would think in real life there would have been social workers involved and help would have been recommended. Her ex boyfriend suddenly is around to help her identify the baby who is not Jackson using the newest technology, he is a homicide detective. I think a simple blood test would have given her the proof that she needed.The ending was too perfect and didn’t tie up a lot of loose threads that were introduced. Examples, her fainting spells, because there was more than one; the fact that she thought she was being followed; the over the top actions of a troubled child.This novel is a quick read and I would almost categorize it more as chick-lit than mystery/thriller. There is a mystery but the main focus of the story is, can a blind mother care for her newborn alone with no help?I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss. The novel is set to publish on August 11, 2020
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    Rebecca (Bec) Gray, mother of three month old Jackson is doing it really tough. Once an accomplished musician she has gradually been losing her sight and is now almost blind. To make matters worse she lost her husband almost a year ago and then her mother a few weeks ago. Still grieving both of them, she is slowly adapting to life on her own back in her mother's house, where she grew up, in suburban Chicago. She has made friends with other women with babies in the neighborhood park and another s Rebecca (Bec) Gray, mother of three month old Jackson is doing it really tough. Once an accomplished musician she has gradually been losing her sight and is now almost blind. To make matters worse she lost her husband almost a year ago and then her mother a few weeks ago. Still grieving both of them, she is slowly adapting to life on her own back in her mother's house, where she grew up, in suburban Chicago. She has made friends with other women with babies in the neighborhood park and another single mother who recently lost her husband has been helping her update the interior of her house. However, life is about to get worse for Bec after she falls and bumps her head in the park, she finds herself in a living nightmare, convinced the baby in her stroller is not her son. None of her friends or the police believe her, after all the baby looks like Jackson as far as her friends can tell, and think she's just confused and needs a good night's sleep.This is a tense and emotionally charged read that's hard to put down as Bec struggles to get someone to listen to her. Rea Frey has artfully described the challenges that come with being blind and learning to not only navigate the streets and city on your own but to also look after a baby you can barely see. Then there is the question of whether Bec is delusional and suffering from a psychological syndrome or why anyone would want to swap a perfectly healthy baby for another. With thanks to St Martin's Press and Netgalley for a digital copy to read
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsSometimes the implausible becomes plausible given the times we live in.This was quite the tale about a young mother who faces insurmountable obstacles, for you see, she is blind, has recently lost both her husband and mother, and has a new baby to care for. Rebecca Gray, has certainly had a lot stacked against her, but through a group of wealthy neighborhood friends she seems to have formed friendship alliances which are helping her through this tough time.Then the unthinkable happens a 3.5 starsSometimes the implausible becomes plausible given the times we live in.This was quite the tale about a young mother who faces insurmountable obstacles, for you see, she is blind, has recently lost both her husband and mother, and has a new baby to care for. Rebecca Gray, has certainly had a lot stacked against her, but through a group of wealthy neighborhood friends she seems to have formed friendship alliances which are helping her through this tough time.Then the unthinkable happens and brings into question whether Rebecca is competent and whether a mother really does know her child. Up against those who disbelieve her, Rebecca seems to wage a one woman war against what she holds in her heart to be true. Then an old flame shows up and the struggle is to get him to believe that what Rebecca is experiencing isn't the result of trauma, but one of truth.This was an interesting tale, one which had many of those needed twists and turns we all seem to expect in our thrillers. There were some slightly farfetched occurrences, but overall this story held my attention and made for a fine escapism book from the trials of today.Thank you to Rea Frey, St Martin's Griffin, and NetGalley for a copy of this book to be released in August of 2020.
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    A beautifully, poignant, emotional story, Until I Find You examines what it means to trust yourself, even in a world where seeing is believing, and you can’t see to believe.Recently widowed and now blind, Rebecca is finding raising her new baby challenging, to say the least. But one day she faints and when she wakes up she finds that the baby in her arms isn’t her own. Nobody believes her, but Bec knows her baby. And she’ll stop at nothing to find him.With well-written characters and suffused wi A beautifully, poignant, emotional story, Until I Find You examines what it means to trust yourself, even in a world where seeing is believing, and you can’t see to believe.Recently widowed and now blind, Rebecca is finding raising her new baby challenging, to say the least. But one day she faints and when she wakes up she finds that the baby in her arms isn’t her own. Nobody believes her, but Bec knows her baby. And she’ll stop at nothing to find him.With well-written characters and suffused with emotion, Until I Find You is a riveting story about the power of a mother’s love.
    more
  • Mary Jackson _TheMaryReader
    January 1, 1970
    This book was slow to start and middle ways it picked up and I could not turn the pages fast enough. This is my third book by Frey and she gets better with every book. I loved the twists and my heart pounded so hard many times while reading this book.I highly recommend this 4 star book.The Mary Reader received this book from the publisher for review. A favorable review was not required and all views expressed are our own.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley and St Martin's Press for an egalley in exchange for an honest review. Dear Rea Frey, how is it that you manage year after year to put your characters and me in such tense situations and I always come back for another? All I can say is keeping waving that magic spell because I fell for this one instantly. We have widow Rebecca(Bec) who is raising her infant son all by herself after losing her husband and mother. If that's not enough heartache for one person to go through, Re Thanks to NetGalley and St Martin's Press for an egalley in exchange for an honest review. Dear Rea Frey, how is it that you manage year after year to put your characters and me in such tense situations and I always come back for another? All I can say is keeping waving that magic spell because I fell for this one instantly. We have widow Rebecca(Bec) who is raising her infant son all by herself after losing her husband and mother. If that's not enough heartache for one person to go through, Rebecca is also blind and has a very stubborn streak in allowing others to help her. However, Rebecca's life is about to be turned upside down, even more, when something happens to her son.Then we have Rebecca's friend Crystal, also a widow, raising a tween daughter on her own, dealing with friction from her daughter's nanny and having a difficult time fitting in with the other moms in the neighborhood( except for Rebecca). But will Crystal be there in Rebecca's time of need? My thoughts: Although I had a sensation that I knew where this story was headed, I still enjoyed it enough to linger on my balcony this afternoon. I will leave it to other readers to raise doubts as to the plausibility of the storyline, but I was happy to bask in the fictional world of Rea Frey once again.Goodreads review published 21/07/20Expected publication 11/08/20
    more
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON AUGUST 11.How can she cope with so many losses in her life?Rebecca lost her sight, her husband, her mother, and now the nightmare of losing her son seems to have come true. UNTIL I FIND YOU has a slow, tension-filled build up, but you can feel the dread and fear Rebecca has. The ending is a big surprise.Those readers who enjoy thrillers and solving mysteries, will not be disappointed. 5/5This book was given to me by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest rev FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON AUGUST 11.How can she cope with so many losses in her life?Rebecca lost her sight, her husband, her mother, and now the nightmare of losing her son seems to have come true. UNTIL I FIND YOU has a slow, tension-filled build up, but you can feel the dread and fear Rebecca has. The ending is a big surprise.Those readers who enjoy thrillers and solving mysteries, will not be disappointed. 5/5This book was given to me by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
    January 1, 1970
    ***Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of UNTIL I FIND YOU by Rea Frey in exchange for my honest review.***Recently widowed and recently blind, Rebecca faces challenges raising three-month-old Jackson. One day she believes Jackson has been replaced by a different baby. No one believes her. Not her friends. Not her former lover. Not the police. Bec knows her son and he is not the baby in Jackson’s crib. She’ll stop at nothing to find him.A few streets away, Crystal, also rec ***Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of UNTIL I FIND YOU by Rea Frey in exchange for my honest review.***Recently widowed and recently blind, Rebecca faces challenges raising three-month-old Jackson. One day she believes Jackson has been replaced by a different baby. No one believes her. Not her friends. Not her former lover. Not the police. Bec knows her son and he is not the baby in Jackson’s crib. She’ll stop at nothing to find him.A few streets away, Crystal, also recently lost her husband unexpectedly. She bonds with Rebecca in a grief support group and tries to help the new mom while managing her difficult ten-year-old daughter.I couldn’t imagine going blind and having to protect myself when out in public, let alone be responsible for a newborn. More than once I was curious why Bec didn’t put her son’s welfare ahead of her desire for independence when she thought she was being followed or that her house had been breached. I had a hard time putting myself in her shoes because I’d accept all the help offered.Capgras syndrome is a psychological/neurological disorder where people believed a loved one has been replaced with an imposter. Though relatively rare and most often occurring in dementia patients, I wondered if the syndromes causing Bec’s blindness could have affected the neuropathways that can sometimes cause the disorder. I was surprised none of the professionals suggested that. I also wondered why professionals didn’t do a blood test for DNA, these days DNA doesn’t take long to process. Additionally, certain blood types can’t produce other blood types, so in some cases maternity could have been quickly dismissed. UNTIL I FIND YOU starts slowly and feels a bit repetitive until Jackson’s (possible) disappearance. I was initially more interested in Crystal’s chapters, curious why she employed a nanny who seemed to triangulate mom and daughter. Young Savi ran that household, which was never addressed. Crystal chalked the behavior up to grief, but never set limits. Rea Frey created lots of red herrings, very possible suspects if Jackson had been switched. I assumed he had been, as the book would probably be less interesting in the end, but I was never really sure until the end of the book.UNTIL I FIND YOU is a great choice for mystery, thriller and women’s fiction readers and would also make a good beach read.
    more
  • Erin Stetler
    January 1, 1970
    Rea is amazing at what she does. This one really pulled me in and I felt as if I was right there with the characters. I couldn't out it down and couldn't wit to find out what happened. Well written.
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars! Review to come...
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Rebecca is a blind 20 something woman who recently is widowed trying to raise her 3 month old son. He suddenly goes missing but this isn’t a ordinary kidnapping, he was switched with another baby. No one believes her and she’s on a mission to find her “Jackson”. I couldn’t put this book down! This is my 3rd book by this author and i recommend all her books!! Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this early release in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: August 11, 2020Rebecca Gray has suffered immeasurable lost in the last year. After her husband, Chris, passed away, Rebecca started to lose her sight, thanks to a degenerative eye disease. Almost totally blind, Rebecca is hit with another loss when her beloved mother passes away. Left with only the house she grew up with, and her three m Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: August 11, 2020Rebecca Gray has suffered immeasurable lost in the last year. After her husband, Chris, passed away, Rebecca started to lose her sight, thanks to a degenerative eye disease. Almost totally blind, Rebecca is hit with another loss when her beloved mother passes away. Left with only the house she grew up with, and her three month old son, Jackson, Rebecca is slowly learning how to rebuild her life. While spending time with her son and her “Mom group” friends at an outdoor park, Rebecca passes out. When she wakes up, she is embarrassed and ashamed but on top of that she notices one thing- Jackson’s stroller is there, and there is a baby in it, but it isn’t Jackson. Due to her limited sight, Rebecca cannot get anyone to believe that the baby was switched out of his stroller. Finally, with the help of her detective ex-boyfriend, Jake, Rebecca begins to unravel what really happened to her son. “Until I Find You” is the third book by Rea Frey that I have read. All of her novels have been pulse-pounding, gripping suspense novels full of family drama and powerful relationships. This one is no different and in fact, Rebecca’s near-blindness helps a reader bond with her even more. Starting completely over, Rebecca must face the challenges of first-time motherhood in a world that she can no longer see. Her bravery and dedication to her son is admirable, and highlights the bonds of a mother-child relationship. This novel started off slow, with a lot of characters thrown at you all at once (all the females in the Mom group were difficult to differentiate at first, as they all had similar personalities and common enough names), but once the story got rolling, and every character find the right slot, something clicked. The plot became un-put-downable and absolutely gripping. As the ending drew near, I was able to guess the “who” but when the “why” came, it completely knocked me off my feet. I did not expect the final twist in this plot, and I really appreciated how Frey builds up to it, making the ending unpredictable yet still believable. Well told and high intensity, Frey delivers with “Until I Find You”. It’s a novel that has a unique plot in an over-done genre, and I’m happy to see it. I look forward to Frey’s next work with anticipation.
    more
  • Judy D Collins
    January 1, 1970
    UNTIL I FIND YOU is another slam dunk by the amazing Rea Frey. I will read anything she writes. The minute you start it is a rare treat, and you know you will be hooked. It is impossible to put her books down and this one is no exception.Heart rendering, I loved everything about this book. Unpredictable. It is suspenseful, mysterious, plot, and character-driven. It is hypotonic, atmospheric, and absorbing. Can you imagine being blind and raising a baby alone? More coming closer to pub day. I wan UNTIL I FIND YOU is another slam dunk by the amazing Rea Frey. I will read anything she writes. The minute you start it is a rare treat, and you know you will be hooked. It is impossible to put her books down and this one is no exception.Heart rendering, I loved everything about this book. Unpredictable. It is suspenseful, mysterious, plot, and character-driven. It is hypotonic, atmospheric, and absorbing. Can you imagine being blind and raising a baby alone? More coming closer to pub day. I wanted to give you a quick heads up to get this one on your list as well as all her books. She is a master storyteller and writes with ease and precision and gets into the hearts and minds of her characters like no other. I loved the ending! FIVE GLOWING STARS and Top Books of 2020. #JDCMustReadBooksA special thank you to St Martin's Press and Netgalley for an advanced reading copy.
    more
  • Di
    January 1, 1970
    I cannot imagine being a new mom, new widow and blind. The only way it can get worse is if you think someone swapped out your baby for another and no one believes you. Everyone thinks you are losing it.This is the basic plot line for this story. I could feel the frustration of Rebecca, the main character. Definitely plot driven. Lots of foreshadowing if you can pick up on it. But, the ending is still a surprise.Entertaining and fast paced!(Thank you to NetGalley for providing an ARC for this rev I cannot imagine being a new mom, new widow and blind. The only way it can get worse is if you think someone swapped out your baby for another and no one believes you. Everyone thinks you are losing it.This is the basic plot line for this story. I could feel the frustration of Rebecca, the main character. Definitely plot driven. Lots of foreshadowing if you can pick up on it. But, the ending is still a surprise.Entertaining and fast paced!(Thank you to NetGalley for providing an ARC for this review.)
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my goodness, this book! I've loved Frey's others but this one was so powerful! Imagine being a new mother with a degenerative eye disease whose husband died prematurely. And now imagine finding a different 3-month-old infant in your son's stroller and no one will believe you! Strap yourself in for a mother's worst nightmare as Bec attempts to find her own son even as she's dealing with the grief of her husband's death. Enter friends, one of whom is dealing with her own grief as well, and even Oh my goodness, this book! I've loved Frey's others but this one was so powerful! Imagine being a new mother with a degenerative eye disease whose husband died prematurely. And now imagine finding a different 3-month-old infant in your son's stroller and no one will believe you! Strap yourself in for a mother's worst nightmare as Bec attempts to find her own son even as she's dealing with the grief of her husband's death. Enter friends, one of whom is dealing with her own grief as well, and even as all are attempting to help, Bec feels no one really believes her. My heart was in my throat the entire book. I vacillated between wanting to read faster and wanting to put it down to prolong the suspense. But wow, what an ending! Just read it (but kiss and cuddle your babies first)!Thanks to NetGalley for this ARC!
    more
  • Kayla TM
    January 1, 1970
    Rebecca “Bec” Grey has recently lost more than most people lose in a lifetime: her husband, her mother, her career, and her sight. The bright spot in her life is her three month old son, Jackson. One morning, Bec picks the baby up out of his crib only to notice something is wrong: he isn’t her son. Despite her disability, Bec is determined to prove that her son has been switched, and bring Jackson home, because even her closest friends don’t believe her.The beginning of this book is slow. It lay Rebecca “Bec” Grey has recently lost more than most people lose in a lifetime: her husband, her mother, her career, and her sight. The bright spot in her life is her three month old son, Jackson. One morning, Bec picks the baby up out of his crib only to notice something is wrong: he isn’t her son. Despite her disability, Bec is determined to prove that her son has been switched, and bring Jackson home, because even her closest friends don’t believe her.The beginning of this book is slow. It lays the foundations so you understand the world that Bec lives in after losing her husband Chris and her sight. There aren’t many thriller books with main characters with disabilities, and that in itself makes this book rather remarkable. Bec is a very strong, determined person despite everything which makes her very likable. The story as a whole is great, though I feel like there are a few things that do stick out as bothersome in the long run. Those things aren’t necessarily important to the story as a whole, so it barely impacts my rating. This is a book that can play with your emotions, especially if you’re a parent. It makes you want to hold your child close and never let go. I have to say, I didn’t like the ending. Not really the who did it reveal but the parts following that, especially the epilogue part. A solid four stars: a good read.
    more
  • Sonica
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsThank you St. Martin's Press for my advanced copy of Until I Find You by Rea Frey in exchange for my honest review.  This title publishes August 11, 2020.Another great read by one of my favourite domestic drama authors, whom I have been a big fan of since she dazzled me as a reader with her debut, Not Her Daughter, two years ago.Frey has mastered writing such well-developed characters that are infused with emotion so strong you can't help but feel it too while you're reading.  The main 4.5 starsThank you St. Martin's Press for my advanced copy of Until I Find You by Rea Frey in exchange for my honest review.  This title publishes August 11, 2020.Another great read by one of my favourite domestic drama authors, whom I have been a big fan of since she dazzled me as a reader with her debut, Not Her Daughter, two years ago.Frey has mastered writing such well-developed characters that are infused with emotion so strong you can't help but feel it too while you're reading.  The main female lead protagonist, Rebecca Gray (Bec) has lost her vision after battling a degenerative eye disease, she has recently lost her mother and husband leaving her alone with her new baby to navigate this world as a new mother without her husband.One afternoon, Bec faints and when she wakes up, she discovers that someone swapped her baby.  Of course no one believes her and thinks that she is just under tremendous stress with all that has gone on recently but Bec is adamant that her son has been swapped and she will stop at nothing to find him.I love how Frey developed Rebecca's character to what she was and I applaud her on the research she must have done to trust perfect this character, which she did.  I love her writing and her ability to create very real characters with real emotion.  This was an easy read for me because I am a big fan of Frey's writing and already look forward to reading what she comes out with next.If you are a fan of domestic drama and are looking for a quick read then pick up a copy of this book when it releases on August 11, you will not be disappointed.
    more
  • Amber Hyde
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/5 Stars.Wow, this was yet another Rea Frey book that I had a difficult time putting down. All of the novels that I have read by her have revolved around children and the scary thoughts that all of us as mothers have thought about at one point or another. I really enjoy how Rea Frey brings these stories to life, all while making me think it's real and keeping me on the edge of my seat.This story is about our main character, Rebecca (Bec) who is a recently blind and widowed new mother. Because 4.5/5 Stars.Wow, this was yet another Rea Frey book that I had a difficult time putting down. All of the novels that I have read by her have revolved around children and the scary thoughts that all of us as mothers have thought about at one point or another. I really enjoy how Rea Frey brings these stories to life, all while making me think it's real and keeping me on the edge of my seat.This story is about our main character, Rebecca (Bec) who is a recently blind and widowed new mother. Because she is so exhausted we are easily led to believe that her feelings of paranoia might be her own imaginings. So when Bec believes her son is switched with another baby the same age and nearly identical to her own, we are lead down a wild road of figuring out what happened and who really is to blame. (view spoiler)[ I felt like some points in the middle of the book were a bit repetitive. I was quickly able to guess that the person at fault was indeed her best friend, Crystal, as she was the last one alone with Bec before her baby went missing and also gave her a sleeping pill. I was also quickly lead to the conclusion that Crystal's daughter Savi (age 10) had something to do with it since she was very unstable after her own father had died and was known to be a thief. Another area that kind of disappointed me, was when Bec didn't press charges on Crystal and Savi. If my supposed "Best Friend" stole/switched my baby, I couldn't let that just slide. But that is only my own opionion. (hide spoiler)]Overall, a solid read and I would highly recommend. Adult and up.
    more
  • Andrea Pole
    January 1, 1970
    Until I Find You by Rea Frey is a compelling domestic drama that will tug at the heartstrings of any mother. This was my first foray into the writing of Ms Frey, and I am certainly anxious to explore more in the future.Rebecca Gray is steadily losing her sight to the point of almost complete blindness. As a recent widow who is mother to a three month old son, while also grieving the loss of her own mother, Bec has much to contend with as she adjusts to her new reality. During an outing at the pa Until I Find You by Rea Frey is a compelling domestic drama that will tug at the heartstrings of any mother. This was my first foray into the writing of Ms Frey, and I am certainly anxious to explore more in the future.Rebecca Gray is steadily losing her sight to the point of almost complete blindness. As a recent widow who is mother to a three month old son, while also grieving the loss of her own mother, Bec has much to contend with as she adjusts to her new reality. During an outing at the park with her young son, Bec suffers a fainting episode, and when she resumes consciousness it is to the discovery that the baby placed in her arms is not, in fact, her own son, but another child. So begins a search that will find a mother in a desperate plea to reunite with the only family that she has left in the world, her beloved son Jackson.While I did find the beginning of the novel difficult to engage with, the momentum picks up steadily, as does the emotional investment of the reader. I will certainly be seeking out more from this author.Many thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for this ARC.
    more
  • ReadingTilTheBreakOfDawn
    January 1, 1970
    I read a Rea Frey book last year and immediately was hooked with what this author wrote. SO, when I was given the chance to read an early copy of Until I Find You, I was all in.AND what an interesting premise for this story! A woman that was born with her vision intact is slowly losing her site due to a disease. But how much tragedy can befall a woman before she breaks??Rebecca Gray has a 3 month old baby boy named Jackson. She lost her very caring husband a year ago due to a tragic accident and I read a Rea Frey book last year and immediately was hooked with what this author wrote. SO, when I was given the chance to read an early copy of Until I Find You, I was all in.AND what an interesting premise for this story! A woman that was born with her vision intact is slowly losing her site due to a disease. But how much tragedy can befall a woman before she breaks??Rebecca Gray has a 3 month old baby boy named Jackson. She lost her very caring husband a year ago due to a tragic accident and then she moved to the suburbs of Chicago to live with her mother. She was going to need all the help she could get. But her mother soon passes and Bec is left with a child and not much of her vision. Luckily, this upscale neighborhood has a lot of parents and mothers with children and Bec forms friendships with these women and meeting them in the park for playdates with their strollers and infants attached. One particular mother she becomes more close to than the others. Crystal. They form a bond over their grief of losing their husbands. She has an older child named Savi that ends up taking music lessons with Bec. Then the story alternates POVs from Crystal and Bec throughout.Rea Frey wrote Bec's character as a very capable woman and right from the get go, I never saw her with a disability. She was a mom first that could do anything. I was surprised with how much she could do with her lack of vision. It was actually quite amazing. Besides her photographic memory, the way she navigated around her neighborhood and getting to appointments, checking Facebook and even cooking and such, blew me away. I liked seeing a "different" protagonist than what has become the norm. So while Bec may seem like she has it together, we don't know what to believe. She is coming undone and thinks someone is following her and she just can't sleep. How can a blind person know someone is following if they can't see? The law enforcement doesn't take her seriously and her friends question everything. She becomes a character that we aren't sure we can depend on. When Bec believes her son has been switched and the real Jackson has gone missing, she resorts to contacting an ex that always had her back. But what would you do when no one believes you? You have no proof and you can't see. Who will be the one to believe you??This book was high tension. I was continuously waiting for the ball to drop. And when it did, I didn't know if it was even true or not. It was like I couldn't breathe until I got answers and could figure out who was the right person to believe? Should I believe Bec without any solid evidence? Should I take the side of her friends that even questioned her? It honestly was stressing me out.Overall, the book was original and had me questioning a few people. The story flowed well and the characters fit the story told. There were a few little plot holes along the way, but nothing that took me out of the journey that Bec was taking me on. It was like a game of cat and mouse since we really didn't know what the heck who or what we were chasing since Bec couldn't tell us. I enjoyed this book and the originality of it and would recommend it for the suspense.
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    When it is snowy and cold outside, superspeed readers like me can read 250+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOLI requested and received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸.In Until I Find You, celebrated author Rea Frey brings you her most When it is snowy and cold outside, superspeed readers like me can read 250+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOLI requested and received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸.In Until I Find You, celebrated author Rea Frey brings you her most explosive, emotional, taut domestic drama yet about the powerful bond between mothers and children…and how far one woman will go to bring her son home.The Set-UpSoon, Rebecca Gray won’t be able to see. Diagnosed in her twenties with a degenerative eye disease, each day her world grows a little darker. She’s moved to the suburbs to raise her son, Jackson. In the wake of her husband's death, it should be a quieter, easier way of life. It won’t be.The Moment That Changes EverythingWhen Bec awakes after fainting in the park, she makes promises to start taking better care of herself. When her son begins to cry, she approaches the crib.Reaches in. Picks him up. But he’s not her son.The SearchThere’s nothing Bec won’t do to find Jackson. But she’s a blind woman in a world where seeing is believing. The police think she’s confused. Her friends don’t see any differences. Relying on the conviction of her instinct and the power of a mother’s love, Bec must push the limits of her world to uncover what happened to her baby boy…and bring him home for good.Miss Frey is such a good writer, I was delighted to see another book to review! The characters are well written and the story was a master-class in fiction writing: suspense, wonder and a great ending. It is tense - so much that I kept having to remind myself to breathe and it was a very quick read as I could not wait for a satisfying end to the book. (I was not disappointed)Take this book to the beach with a tonne of SPF1000 sunscreen as you will lose track of time and end up fried to a crisp as a result. (or better yet, read it on the porch!) And while you are at it, take all of her other books with you to read!As always, I try to find a reason to not rate with stars as I love emojis (outside of their incessant use by "🙏-ed Social Influencer Millennials/#BachelorNation survivors/Tik-Tok and YouTube Millionaires/etc. " on Instagram and Twitter... Get a real job, people!) so let's give it 🏖️ 🏖️ 🏖️ 🏖️ 🏖️
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/ 5 starsUntil I Find You is my third book by this author. I would categorize it as a mystery/thrillerI went into this book completely blind, which is what I would recommend. There are quite a few things that are mentioned in the book blurb that were surprising. And honestly I don't know if I would have been on the edge of my seat like I was if I had already known about these things beforehand.The main narrator is Rebecca/Bec (1st person POV). She has a disability. And I found that part of th 4.5/ 5 starsUntil I Find You is my third book by this author. I would categorize it as a mystery/thrillerI went into this book completely blind, which is what I would recommend. There are quite a few things that are mentioned in the book blurb that were surprising. And honestly I don't know if I would have been on the edge of my seat like I was if I had already known about these things beforehand.The main narrator is Rebecca/Bec (1st person POV). She has a disability. And I found that part of the book to be outstanding. It added so much to the story. And made everything about this book so much more powerful.The story takes place in a suburb outside of Chicago. Bec plays the cello and is a music teacher. She has a 3 month old son, Jackson.The second narrator is Crystal (3rd person POV). Even though Crystal is written in the 3rd person I think that the author did an amazing job. The POV is written so seamlessly that the reader does not even notice that some of the chapters are not in 1st person.Crystal is an interior designer and has a young daughter.There are things happening to Bec. And honestly I was scared and terrified. And I was wondering what was happening to her.The author manages to take some things that would be hard to read ... but she makes the story absolutely riveting. For most of this book I could not turn the pages fast enough.The book has some romance. Although it's not the main focus of the book.The ending is everything, especially in a thriller. And that is the only part of the book that I am not sure about. It wasn't a bad ending. But I think that I would have preferred something different. I was mesmerized by much of this book. And the reveal was interesting. But I just wanted more.But overall this was a really good thriller and I could not put this book down. Thanks to netgalley and St. Martin's Press for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    The author is an auto-read for me so I was ecstatic to get my hands on her newest book. This was another emotional tale that pulls on a mama’s heartstrings! I sat in rapt attention throughout the book and read this in one sitting. The author is a phenomenal author and this is exceptionally written. She is adept at putting the reader in the characters mindset, this time a blind woman. I could feel all of the emotions that the mother was feeling as she struggles with the belief that her baby has b The author is an auto-read for me so I was ecstatic to get my hands on her newest book. This was another emotional tale that pulls on a mama’s heartstrings! I sat in rapt attention throughout the book and read this in one sitting. The author is a phenomenal author and this is exceptionally written. She is adept at putting the reader in the characters mindset, this time a blind woman. I could feel all of the emotions that the mother was feeling as she struggles with the belief that her baby has been swapped with another, even as others don’t believe her. The author did a fabulous job representing the blind and the obstacles they face. I learned a lot about being a blind person and keenly felt the desperation of the mother as she fought to find out the truth and have others believe her. The end was a bit of a let down for me, as the truth wasn’t what I was expecting (and not in a good way). Overall, this was an enjoyable read. My thanks to the publisher for the advance reader in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Cyndi
    January 1, 1970
    Another page-turner from one of my favorite authors. The premise of this was enticing: a mother, Rebecca, who is losing her vision discovers that her baby has been switched with another. She struggles to hold onto her sanity when the rest of the world thinks she’s going crazy.I devoured this. I was completely engaged with the subject matter and the psychological insight. The descriptions of Rebecca’s blindness were intense and revealed how much sighted people, especially mothers, take their sigh Another page-turner from one of my favorite authors. The premise of this was enticing: a mother, Rebecca, who is losing her vision discovers that her baby has been switched with another. She struggles to hold onto her sanity when the rest of the world thinks she’s going crazy.I devoured this. I was completely engaged with the subject matter and the psychological insight. The descriptions of Rebecca’s blindness were intense and revealed how much sighted people, especially mothers, take their sighted worlds for granted. The nightmare of knowing that she had the wrong baby but not being believed was heartbreaking and I could feel her anxiety and aloneness through the pages. The ending was surprising and satisfying. Many thanks to Netgalley, Edelweiss, St. Matin’s Griffin and Rea Frey for my complimentary e-copy ARC in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Liz Fenton
    January 1, 1970
    Have the tissues handy—and be prepared to be hit with an avalanche of emotion while reading Until I Find You, an absorbing story of a mother desperate to bring her son home. Completely captivating, utterly compelling—a must read!
  • Marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Until I Find You by Rea Frey was a book that really tugged at my heartstrings. I quickly became engrossed in the story and wanted to keep turning the pages to find out what would happen. It definitely made me think about how well new mothers know every part of their children when they are babies. What distinguishing traits did their babies possess that were different from other children especially when they were young babies? Would a degenerative disease, like Stargardt disease, where for all in Until I Find You by Rea Frey was a book that really tugged at my heartstrings. I quickly became engrossed in the story and wanted to keep turning the pages to find out what would happen. It definitely made me think about how well new mothers know every part of their children when they are babies. What distinguishing traits did their babies possess that were different from other children especially when they were young babies? Would a degenerative disease, like Stargardt disease, where for all intents and purposes, the outcome meant almost complete blindness, impact a mother’s natural instinct and ability to be able to distinguish her baby from another? That was what some of the people in Rebecca Gray’s life questioned.Rebecca Gray ( or Bec, as she liked to called) lived in the safe suburb of Elmhurst outside of the city of Chicago. Within a very short time frame, Bec lost her long time boyfriend, eye sight, her career, her husband and her mother. She was pregnant with her son Jackson when her husband Chris was killed in a horrific accident. Chris was waiting at the bus stop for his bus to get to work. He called Bec while he waited for his bus and a car struck and killed him. Chris never got to meet his son Jackson. After his death, Bec moved into her childhood home with her mother. Her mother helped Bec handle her grief and helped her take care of Jackson. Bec’s mother had a heart condition and it soon became her cause of death. Rather than move, Bec decided to stay and live in the house she grew up in. She was comfortable here and knew every square inch of it. Bec had a photographic mind. She knew exactly how many steps she needed to take to get from one place to another. Perhaps the most important reason that she decided to stay in her childhood home was that it was located in one of the safest neighborhoods.At about this time, Bec started feeling like she was being followed,. She was becoming afraid to be in her own home alone and she was experiencing insomnia. The deaths of her husband and her mother weighed heavily upon her. Her friends thought she was being paranoid and that she was not grieving properly. They all contributed her concerns and doubts to not getting enough sleep. Her friends thought that Bec could easily help her situation by hiring a nanny.Despite everything, Bec settled into a routine of taking care of Jackson’s needs and meeting some of the neighborhood young mothers at the local park where she could easily walk Jackson to in his stroller. She had recently put a ring of bells on each of Jackson’s little ankles so Bec would be able to hear him if not see him. One day, Bec had just arrived at the park and was listening to the conversations of her friends when she got up to throw a wet wipe away she suddenly fainted. Her best friend Crystal and her daughter Savi had seen her go down and along with Jess and Beth they all ran to help her. Crystal insisted that Bec come back to her house. Bec had a nasty cut on her cheek and everyone was so worried about her. Jess offered to push Jackson in his stroller and they all went to Crystal and Savi’s house. After Bec was cleaned up and she refused to go to the hospital or doctor Jess offered to take her back to her own home where she could rest. Jess offered to watch Jackson and stay at Bec’s house for as long as she slept. She insisted that Bec take some sleeping pills to help her sleep. Bec succumbed to taking the pills and woke to Jess’s gentle prodding many hours later. Shortly after Jess left, Bec heard a cry from the nursery. Bec reached for Jackson and sat with him on the rocking chair. She ran her fingers over his face as she felt for the shape of his chin, his chapped lips, his smooth ears and his hair. She felt and searched for the notch in his collarbone and his eczema. The eczema was not there. It had been replaced by smooth skin. Bec knew this baby did not smell like her baby. He felt like Jackson and even probably looked like Jackson but she knew that this baby was not Jackson. Where was Jackson and who was this baby? Did someone swap this baby for Jackson?Bec fought an uphill battle as she searched for Jackson and the identity of this other baby. She had to overcome the stereotypes people placed on non-seeing individuals and convince everyone that her instincts were right. She knew her child better than anyone else. I really enjoyed reading Until I Find You by Rea Frey and I would recommend it very highly. I won an advanced copy of Until I Find You in a goodreads give away. Thank you to St. Martin’s Griffin, Rea Frey and goodreads for allowing me to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Renee
    January 1, 1970
    Rebecca has been dealt a rough hand. She is recently widowed, has lost her mother, her career, her sight, and is a new mother. It is terrifying to contemplate all the things that could go wrong taking care of herself and her son. Rebecca is a fighter and she shows extraordinary strength in wanting the best life possible for her child. She knows exactly how many steps it takes to maneuver around her house and neighborhood. She also knows every inch, every sound, and every smell associated with he Rebecca has been dealt a rough hand. She is recently widowed, has lost her mother, her career, her sight, and is a new mother. It is terrifying to contemplate all the things that could go wrong taking care of herself and her son. Rebecca is a fighter and she shows extraordinary strength in wanting the best life possible for her child. She knows exactly how many steps it takes to maneuver around her house and neighborhood. She also knows every inch, every sound, and every smell associated with her baby. When she believes she is being followed or when objects she knows she has placed in certain positions in her house are moved, she starts to panic. The more things go wrong, the more fearful Rebecca becomes. Her friends are sympathetic, but believe Rebecca is overwrought and exhausted. When Rebecca claims that her son has been replaced with another baby, the police, as well as her friends, don't know what to think. Why would someone switch babies? Has Rebecca suffered a breakdown or is someone determined to wreck her life? Was there one character in Until I Find You that I didn't suspect? Nope. Was the ending what my spidey amateur detective sense guessed. Nope. A fast-paced read that had me changing my mind again and again about Rebecca.Another emotional read from Rea Frey who has become one of myfavorite authors.
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    Being a mother to a newborn is difficult. You are tired and moody most of the time. Now imagine that you are also blind and recently widowed. Motherhood would be much more difficult. Rea Frey shows us just how difficult and frightening it could be in her new book. Bec just lost her husband and her mother and now is paranoid about losing her son. Is it the lack of sleep or the grief that is leading to her thoughts? Perhaps it is a combination of the two. Her friends and neighbors are noticing tha Being a mother to a newborn is difficult. You are tired and moody most of the time. Now imagine that you are also blind and recently widowed. Motherhood would be much more difficult. Rea Frey shows us just how difficult and frightening it could be in her new book. Bec just lost her husband and her mother and now is paranoid about losing her son. Is it the lack of sleep or the grief that is leading to her thoughts? Perhaps it is a combination of the two. Her friends and neighbors are noticing that Bec is not herself. So when she claims that her son has been swapped with a different child, they aren't sure whether she is telling the truth or whether she has lost her mind. The police thinks she is confused. Being left on her own, Bec decides to find her son herself and to figure out whose child she now has living in her home. This story touches on every feeling that you have. You feel Bec's grief, her confusion, her frustration, and her love for her son. You feel the horror that she feels when she first thinks that her son is not her own. Rea Frey brings the characters to life in such a way that you feel like you are walking beside them, living their lives. Everyone is suspect. The twists in this book will keep you guessing to the end. You'll want to keep reading because you need to know what actually is going on with Bec and her community of friends. Thanks to Netgalley and St Martin's publishing for the advanced copy of the book. The opinions are my own.
    more
Write a review