You Can't Catch Me
A riveting new novel of suspense about a disgraced young journalist caught up in a grifter’s game, and the trail of identically named victims she uncovers, from the instant bestselling author of I’ll Never Tell and The Good Liar. Assumed identities. A con game. Unwitting victims.After being fired from her investigative journalism job for plagiarism, Jessica Williams is looking for a break from the constant press coverage. She decides to escape for a week to a resort in Mexico boasting no connections to the outside world. While waiting at the airport for her flight, she encounters a woman with the exact same name, who she dubs Jessica Two. Drawn together by the coincidence, they play a game of twenty questions to see what other similarities they share, and exchange contact information.A week later, Jessica returns home and discover that large cash withdrawals have been made from her bank account. Security footage from the bank confirms her suspicions—Jessica Two has stolen her money. She goes to the police, only to be told that the crime is a low priority. Frustrated, she meets up with a trusted old friend, Liam, who is an investigator. When the two Google “Jessica Williams,” they get thousands of hits—Jessica was the most popular girl’s name in 1990 and Williams is almost as ubiquitous as Smith. Convinced that this isn’t the first time this scam has been run, Jessica is determined to catch the imposter, and writes a Facebook post hoping to chase down some of Jessica Two’s other victims. When she gets a number of responses, she sets a plan in motion to catch the thief, encountering a string of identically named victims along the way.Then, the threatening messages start arriving.Filled with incredible twists and turns, You Can’t Catch Me is a tantalizing, character-driven exploration of how far people will go to get revenge.

You Can't Catch Me Details

TitleYou Can't Catch Me
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 9th, 2020
PublisherLake Union
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Mystery

You Can't Catch Me Review

  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    Parts of this story were excellent and some of it really dragged....a lot.The culmination of the story was interesting and nicely buttoned things up but it was also but very far-fetched. I was entertained by this book but didn't feel the storyline lived up to its potential.I am, however, very grateful to have received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for this honest review!
    more
  • Catherine McKenzie
    January 1, 1970
    Readers! YOU CAN'T CATCH ME will be my 10th novel in 10 years, which is so crazy to think about I need to put that aside. Anywho! I'm so excited for you to meet Jessica Williams, and ... Jessica Williams, and Jessica, you guessed it, Williams! That's right, there's a lot of Jessicas in this book! Several years ago, a friend of mine kept getting stopped at the border. She has a common name, and there was an APB out for someone with a similar name and the same birthday. Over time, we realized that Readers! YOU CAN'T CATCH ME will be my 10th novel in 10 years, which is so crazy to think about I need to put that aside. Anywho! I'm so excited for you to meet Jessica Williams, and ... Jessica Williams, and Jessica, you guessed it, Williams! That's right, there's a lot of Jessicas in this book! Several years ago, a friend of mine kept getting stopped at the border. She has a common name, and there was an APB out for someone with a similar name and the same birthday. Over time, we realized that they were looking for a man, but it got me thinking: if you did have the same name and birthday as someone, wouldn't it be the perfect way to steal all their money? I'm sure that's what you were thinking too! So that was the genesis of YOU CAN'T CATCH ME ... a book about a woman who meets another woman with the same name and has all her money stolen. It was an amazing challenge to write this book and I hope you enjoy it! Coming June 9, 2020!
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    One of the things I really like about Catherine McKenzies novels is that each one is unique. In this one, Jessica has escaped a cult and tried to put her life back together again, earning a college degree in journalism. She writes about the cult, but parts are plagiarized. When she gets caught, she gets fired, but not before receiving a big payoff thanks to the carefully documented sexual harassment she faced by one of her colleagues. However, when she meets another Jessica Williams with the One of the things I really like about Catherine McKenzie’s novels is that each one is unique. In this one, Jessica has escaped a cult and tried to put her life back together again, earning a college degree in journalism. She writes about the cult, but parts are plagiarized. When she gets caught, she gets fired, but not before receiving a big payoff thanks to the carefully documented sexual harassment she faced by one of her colleagues. However, when she meets another Jessica Williams with the same birthday as hers in an airport, she befriends this woman and they exchange contact information by touching phones together (this is beyond my understanding of how to use cell phones in what is obviously some magical newfangled technology). Jessica Two as the first Jessica comes to think of her, steals all of her money because Two was able to get Jessica One’s banking information off her phone. The police can’t help at all because the money was transferred to offshore accounts they can’t follow.So the first Jessica begins a crusade to track down Jessica Two and all of her money, a journey with a lot of twists and turns.Some things felt like they happened too fast and needed to be fleshed out more. It’s a very quick read for that same reason. Thanks for NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book, which RELEASES JUNE 9, 2020 by Lake Union Publishing.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Two women named Jessica Williams walk into a bar. Sitting beside each other is not an accident. One was once a child, rescued from a CULT. She is not willing to be anyones VICTIM again...especially not a grifters. I am a huge fan of this author having read almost every one of her ten books, but I was not a fan of this book. Perhaps this time its a case of Its me, not you ! I dont enjoy stories about CULTS, or GRIFTERS, so, this book probably did not stand a chance with me! If you enjoy these Two women named Jessica Williams walk into a bar. Sitting beside each other is not an accident. One was once a child, rescued from a CULT. She is not willing to be anyone’s VICTIM again...especially not a grifter’s. I am a huge fan of this author having read almost every one of her ten books, but I was not a fan of this book. Perhaps this time it’s a case of “It’s me, not you” ! I don’t enjoy stories about CULTS, or GRIFTERS, so, this book probably did not stand a chance with me! If you enjoy these subjects, it just may work for you, as other reviewers have given this 5 stars, and I can admit the ending was CLEVER and SURPRISING!Unfortunately though, I just didn’t enjoy getting there, as I didn’t connect with our protagonist, or care about the outcome at all. Glad we read it together DeAnn, but wish it had been as fabulous as “The Good Liar” was! Thank you to NetGalley, Lake Union Publishing, and the talented Catherine McKenzie for the digital ARC, I received in exchange for a candid review! This title will be released on June 9, 2020.
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    Jessica Williams is a journalist who makes a career bombing mistake when she plagiarises an article which results in losing her job though she manages to negotiate a payoff. Whilst waiting for a flight to Mexico for a holiday she meets another Jessica Williams. What a coincidence!!?? Except its not. Jessica Two is a hustler and she manages to elicit sufficient information from Jessica One to steal all her settlement money. Thus starts the twistiest of twisty tales that leaves you dizzy as your Jessica Williams is a journalist who makes a career bombing mistake when she plagiarises an article which results in losing her job though she manages to negotiate a payoff. Whilst waiting for a flight to Mexico for a holiday she meets another Jessica Williams. What a coincidence!!?? Except it’s not. Jessica Two is a hustler and she manages to elicit sufficient information from Jessica One to steal all her settlement money. Thus starts the twistiest of twisty tales that leaves you dizzy as your head spins and your brain tries to keep up with the pace but you are most certainly entertained as you follow Jessica One as she enacts revenge on Jessica Two. Jessica One has a fascinating story as interspersed with her exploits with Jessica Two we learn about her life up to the age of eighteen in a cult known as Land of Todd. This works really well in the storytelling as it flows effortlessly and the two stories do eventually connect together extremely cleverly. The portrayal of cult life is very sobering and deeply scary as it shows the depth of the control and Jessica also tells the sad story of her cousin Kiki both inside the cult and afterwards. The novel is well written, the style is lively and engaging. I love the chapter headings! The characters though not all likeable are well portrayed. There are some good descriptions especially the part of the story which takes Jessica to Jackson, Wyoming which sounds breathtaking though remind me NOT to fly into Jackson 🤢! Here there are some very dramatic scenes with that glorious backdrop which I think adds an extra dimension. The end is terrific and I genuinely didn’t see that one coming! Kudos, Catherine McKenzie! Overall, a really good novel of deception and revenge with grifters, hustlers, escapees from a cult and several interesting characters. It’s full of twists and turns and most importantly is very entertaining! Many thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing.
    more
  • Mary Kubica
    January 1, 1970
    Catherine McKenzie is at the top of her game when a former cult member finds herself mixed up in a dangerous, high-stakes case of identity theft. Addictive and fast-paced, YOU CANT CATCH ME proves that sometimes revenge is sweet. McKenzie best book yet! Catherine McKenzie is at the top of her game when a former cult member finds herself mixed up in a dangerous, high-stakes case of identity theft. Addictive and fast-paced, YOU CAN’T CATCH ME proves that sometimes revenge is sweet. McKenzie best book yet!
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsAlas!!! another book for the "wish I had liked it more" file. While I so enjoyed this author's The Good Liar, this one just didn't give me the thrills I was hoping to find.It has lots going on and perhaps it was that issue that kept me from enjoying this story as much as I hoped I would. The story line, that of a woman named Jessica Williams, who has had her fair share of troubles in the past, being an unwilling member of a cult. being caught plagiarizing and losing her job, and then 2.5 starsAlas!!! another book for the "wish I had liked it more" file. While I so enjoyed this author's The Good Liar, this one just didn't give me the thrills I was hoping to find.It has lots going on and perhaps it was that issue that kept me from enjoying this story as much as I hoped I would. The story line, that of a woman named Jessica Williams, who has had her fair share of troubles in the past, being an unwilling member of a cult. being caught plagiarizing and losing her job, and then being taken over by a con artist were just a few things that had poor Jessica going round the bend.But, for me, the story was convoluted with a plethora of Jessica Williams running amuck and a story that seemed at times to meander along. It was hard for me to build up any kind of link with the characters. They all seemed shoddy and lacked a sense of right and wrong. After awhile the plot became somewhat farfetched as a trap is laid for one of the Jessicas, the one who had plotted and schemed to cheat the rest of the Jessicas.However, please do look at other reviews and many have truly enjoyed this story. Thank you to NetGalley for a copy of this story.
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    3.5★Twelve years ago Jessica Williams escaped from a cult she was involved in. All she wanted to do was leave that portion of her life behind her, but that was easier said than done. The day Jessica crosses paths with a woman at an airport bar of the exact name and birth date as hers is the day her life will alter forever. You Cant Catch Me by Catherine McKenzie was a book with many twists and turns that kept the reader turning the pages. I enjoyed this book, but I didnt love it because I felt a 3.5★Twelve years ago Jessica Williams escaped from a cult she was involved in. All she wanted to do was leave that portion of her life behind her, but that was easier said than done. The day Jessica crosses paths with a woman at an airport bar of the exact name and birth date as hers is the day her life will alter forever. You Can’t Catch Me by Catherine McKenzie was a book with many twists and turns that kept the reader turning the pages. I enjoyed this book, but I didn’t love it because I felt a few times the story was a little slow and it dragged a bit for me. In saying that I feel a bit of it was me and not entirely the book, so please don’t allow my opinion to put you off from reading this book. I look forward to reading more by this author. Recommended.With thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for my digital copy to read and review.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley, the publisher and the author for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected pub date: June 9, 2020 I am so excited to be chosen as one of McKenzies early readers, once again. I have read most of McKenzies later works, and was impressed by her creativity and skill, so taking the plunge into You Cant Catch Me had me overcome with all the feels. Jessica Williams has spent the last twelve years trying to rebuild her Special thanks to NetGalley, the publisher and the author for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected pub date: June 9, 2020 I am so excited to be chosen as one of McKenzie’s early readers, once again. I have read most of McKenzie’s later works, and was impressed by her creativity and skill, so taking the plunge into “You Can’t Catch Me” had me overcome with all the feels. Jessica Williams has spent the last twelve years trying to rebuild her life, after escaping from a cult. Now, as she starts a new job and a new relationship with the private investigator who helped free her, she is finally making some gains. When she meets another woman named “Jessica Williams” in an airport bar, things soon go from good to very, very bad. Jessica Two has used her identity and stolen the majority of the settlement money Jessica won in a lawsuit against her old cult leader. In order to regain her money, Jessica teams up with others who have also been a target of Jessica Two, and they band together with a plan to take Jessica Two down. “You Can’t Catch Me” has a unique Charlie’s Angel’s feel, with bad-ass lead female characters banding together to take down another (just plain bad) female who has managed to use her smarts and charm to swindle them out of money. All of the “good” Jessica’s in this novel are easy to root for, and they aren’t portrayed as naïve somehow, as the swindler Jessica has very strong game, making it believable that she could abscond with someone’s money. I thoroughly enjoyed the cult segment of this novel and wanted more of it. At first, it didn’t seem to tie into the plot (outside of being the protagonists’ Jessica’s back story) , but in true McKenzie fashion, it plays a very important part toward the end of the novel. The twist was impressive, although a lot of convenient coincidences were at play in order to make it work. Cleverly told, I am a fan of McKenzie’s new novel. After ten novels, McKenzie shows no signs of slowing down, and I will gladly devour any story she wishes to put to paper.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    3 coincidence or not starsHow far would you go to get revenge? This tale digs into just that thought as one woman chases another who coincidentally shares the same name. How common is that? After a chance meeting at a bar, Jessica discovers that her bank account has been drained and theres not much the police can do to help her. So the chase is on to catch the "other" Jessica and get her money back!This was my first read by Catherine McKenzie although I have several of her earlier books on my to 3 coincidence or not starsHow far would you go to get revenge? This tale digs into just that thought as one woman chases another who coincidentally shares the same name. How common is that? After a chance meeting at a bar, Jessica discovers that her bank account has been drained and there’s not much the police can do to help her. So the chase is on to catch the "other" Jessica and get her money back!This was my first read by Catherine McKenzie although I have several of her earlier books on my to be read shelf. There were quite a few twists, but I really wasn’t invested in the characters and the romance that crops up. The ending was a surprise to me and even though I didn’t love this one, I will still read future books by this author.This was another fun buddy read with Jayme. Always good to share thoughts with another reader!Thanks to NetGalley, Catherine McKenzie, and Lake Union Publishing for an early copy to read. This one releases June 9, 2020.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 Stars. Thanks to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the ARC in return for an honest review. This psychological thriller has an intriguing and original premise, but I failed to become engaged in the story and wasnt feeling any emotions or suspense. There are two main storylines; identity and money theft and growing up in a secretive cult. I found the switching back and forth jumbled the pacing. The plotting was clever with some appealing twists, but I thought it was lacking a moral centre 2.5 Stars. Thanks to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the ARC in return for an honest review. This psychological thriller has an intriguing and original premise, but I failed to become engaged in the story and wasn’t feeling any emotions or suspense. There are two main storylines; identity and money theft and growing up in a secretive cult. I found the switching back and forth jumbled the pacing. The plotting was clever with some appealing twists, but I thought it was lacking a moral centre and was dependent on coincidences which lacked credibility. Jessica’s behaviour and life choices were certainly influenced by growing up in a cult, and later her striving for independence. Unfortunately, I did not like her role as protagonist and disliked other members of the cast. Because I did not connect with the characters, I was unable to care how the plot turned out, and it became tedious and far fetched for me. The romance story did not appeal to me. I regret this book just wasn’t for me. From the positive reviews I have seen, I think it will appeal to many readers.
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    A fun, twisty story about a former cult member who falls victim to identity theft after making a career-ending mistake. Dazzling, intriguing, and just good old-fashioned fun! This wildly entertaining thriller is chock full of impressive twists and a plot you'll get utterly caught up in.Jessica Williams high tails it to Mexico but meets another Jessica Williams at the airport before her flight leaves. The second Jessica is a hustler who extracts vital information from her and swindles her out of A fun, twisty story about a former cult member who falls victim to identity theft after making a career-ending mistake. Dazzling, intriguing, and just good old-fashioned fun! This wildly entertaining thriller is chock full of impressive twists and a plot you'll get utterly caught up in.Jessica Williams high tails it to Mexico but meets another Jessica Williams at the airport before her flight leaves. The second Jessica is a hustler who extracts vital information from her and swindles her out of the bulk of her money. But Jessica one isn’t about to roll over and take it. Thus ensues a cleverly plotted cat-and-mouse story in which our protagonist must determine how far she’ll go to get revenge.A quick, fun read that will entertain and engross you. I highly recommend!
    more
  • Kimberly Belle
    January 1, 1970
    Catherine McKenzie gets better and better with every book. This one is a gem of a story, a suspenseful tale of a former cult member at the receiving end of identity theft. A fresh breath of sneaky, twisty air I couldn't put down.
  • Toni Osborne
    January 1, 1970
    If you were caught up in a con game and lost all of your money, how far would you go to get revenge on the person who did this to you? Investigative journalist, Jessica Williams, becomes an unwitting victim of identity theft after being caught in a grifters game. Her instinct kicks in and she soon discovers there are other victims with the identical names and birthday that also have fallen into the scammers paws. In number, it is time for gather strength and fight. The crusade begins.I have If you were caught up in a con game and lost all of your money, how far would you go to get revenge on the person who did this to you? Investigative journalist, Jessica Williams, becomes an unwitting victim of identity theft after being caught in a grifter’s game. Her instinct kicks in and she soon discovers there are other victims with the identical names and birthday that also have fallen into the scammer’s paws. In number, it is time for gather strength and fight. The crusade begins….I have mixed feeling about this story although original in parts it is so farfetched and unrealistic that it was hard to be invested in such a plotline. Yes, there’s a lot of Jessica (2,3,4) all of them with the same twisted story. While we follow them in their quest, we have the hunt being intercepted with Jessica‘s reliving her life as a cult member in the Land of Todd. The portrayal of the cult life, although sobering is the most interesting part in this novel. Back and forth we go from memory to plotting revenge and the drama flows this way till the two threads come together and we reach the climax. A plus for this story: I really didn’t see the ending coming… The characters are definitely not likeable but they are well portrayed in their roles. As the pacing drags a lot, it was easy for my mind to wander but thank goodness for the dramatic scenes in Jackson, Wyoming and the description of the beautiful landscape of Grand Teton that added another dimension to what could have been a bummer read. This story has great parts but in some way too stretched out to have made it a terrific read. Good but I read better stories from Ms. McKenzieThank you Simon& Schuster and Netgalleys for this ARC
    more
  • Di
    January 1, 1970
    Will the real Jessica Williams please stand up? (for those who remember To TellThe Truth)Fast paced, convoluted story about a bizarre identity theft. Actually, multiple identity thefts of women named Jessica Williams.A few have said that the story is a little far fetched. It may well be but the entertainment factor makes up for that in my mind. I read to be entertained. This book is definitely entertaining.Interesting back story about a cult and how one of the Jessica's escaped from it. And, it Will the real Jessica Williams please stand up? (for those who remember To TellThe Truth)Fast paced, convoluted story about a bizarre identity theft. Actually, multiple identity thefts of women named Jessica Williams.A few have said that the story is a little far fetched. It may well be but the entertainment factor makes up for that in my mind. I read to be entertained. This book is definitely entertaining.Interesting back story about a cult and how one of the Jessica's escaped from it. And, it actually all comes together.I truly admire someone who can dream up such a twisted plot and keep it all logical in their mind. This book is definitely plot driven.Easy, fast and enjoyable!Thank you to Net Galley and Simon and Shuster for the ARC in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    To catch a swindler you need to play the game! But that game could be deadly! YIKES....Deception is the name of the game. A con artists dream. Victim's nightmares.So many unwitting individuals all with one thing in common a name.Ex journalist Jessica Williams seems unable to catch a break. She decides a trip to Mexico is a dream and heads off for Rest and Relaxation.Upon boarding she meets Jessica 2 and they strike up a conversation to find more similarities.Roughly a week later Jessica's To catch a swindler you need to play the game! But that game could be deadly! YIKES....Deception is the name of the game. A con artists dream. Victim's nightmares.So many unwitting individuals all with one thing in common a name.Ex journalist Jessica Williams seems unable to catch a break. She decides a trip to Mexico is a dream and heads off for Rest and Relaxation.Upon boarding she meets Jessica 2 and they strike up a conversation to find more similarities.Roughly a week later Jessica's informed her bank account funds are gone and she's downright pissed seeking answers where they might not be any.Even the police didn't seem interested in such a low level crime so she turns to her friend Liam an investigator and therein begins the madness.It turns out there's plenty of action behind this one name and social media is a treasure trove of information to uncovering the past and the truths.Wow!With a string of victims the only thing left to do is catch a thief in the making....Can she succeed?A beautiful mix of twist, turns, chaos, chills, and thrills at the finest level of craftsmanship.Loved it!
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    Note: I am reviewing two editions of this book which I will identify by their ISBNS: 9781542019033 and 9781982137526. (I read one of them yesterday and was just approved for the other, so I am going to cut and paste this review to the other book.)They are the same book, just different covers - I like one of them, and I do not like the otherr.. why? I am SICK OF BOOKS THAT HAVE A WOMAN'S BACK ON THEM AS THEY WALK OR LOOK INTO THE WAY AHEAD...GET MORE CREATIVE, PUBLISHERS!!!!!When life for the Note: I am reviewing two editions of this book which I will identify by their ISBNS: 9781542019033 and 9781982137526. (I read one of them yesterday and was just approved for the other, so I am going to cut and paste this review to the other book.)They are the same book, just different covers - I like one of them, and I do not like the otherr.. why? I am SICK OF BOOKS THAT HAVE A WOMAN'S BACK ON THEM AS THEY WALK OR LOOK INTO THE WAY AHEAD...GET MORE CREATIVE, PUBLISHERS!!!!!When life for the entire universe and planet turns on its end and like everyone else you "have nothing to do" while your place of work is closed, superspeed readers like me can read 250+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today.I requested and received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸. (this is the "better" description IMHO)A riveting new novel of suspense about a disgraced young journalist caught up in a grifter’s game, and the trail of identically named victims she uncovers, from the instant bestselling author of "I’ll Never Tell" and "The Good Liar".Assumed identities. A con game. Unwitting victims.After being fired from her investigative journalism job for plagiarism, Jessica Williams is looking for a break from the constant press coverage. She decides to escape for a week to a resort in Mexico boasting no connections to the outside world. While waiting at the airport for her flight, she encounters a woman with the exact same name, who she dubs Jessica Two. Drawn together by the coincidence, they play a game of twenty questions to see what other similarities they share, and exchange contact information.A week later, Jessica returns home and discover that large cash withdrawals have been made from her bank account. Security footage from the bank confirms her suspicions—Jessica Two has stolen her money. She goes to the police, only to be told that crime is a low priority. Frustrated, she meets up with a trusted old friend, Liam, who is an investigator. When the two Google “Jessica Williams,” they get thousands of hits—Jessica was the most popular girl’s name in 1990 and Williams is almost as ubiquitous as Smith. Convinced that this isn’t the first time this scam has been run, Jessica is determined to catch the imposter and writes a Facebook post hoping to chase down some of Jessica Two’s other victims. When she gets a number of responses, she sets a plan in motion to catch the thief, encountering a string of identically named victims along the way.Then, the threatening messages start arriving.Filled with incredible twists and turns, You Can’t Catch Me is a tantalizing, character-driven exploration of how far people will go to get revenge. Catherine McKenzie is one of my favourite authors. because she writes a thriller like no other. The story is tight and tense and terse and had me sucked in from the moment I started it. It is a rocket ride of a read: be prepared to inhale it in a rapid manner. The characters are fascinating and you will be thinking about identity theft and preserving your personal information ASAP ... I am securing mine after writing this, for sure!As always, I try to find a reason to not rate with stars as I love emojis (outside of their incessant use by "🙏-ed Social Influencer Millennials/#BachelorNation survivors/Tik-Tok and YouTube Millionaires/etc. " on Instagram and Twitter... Get a real job, people!) so let's give it 🚀 🚀 🚀 🚀 🚀 
    more
  • Carla (Carla's Book Bits)
    January 1, 1970
    If there was another person with your name and birthday... wouldn't it be so easy to take their money?That's the premise this books operates on. It sounded amazing and I expected You Can't Catch Me to fully deliver the twists and turns. I read Catherine McKenzie's previous novel, I'll Never Tell, and really enjoyed it. I'm so sad that this didn't hit the same mark for me.Sometimes a thriller that requires one to suspend a fair bit of disbelief can be fun. In this case, I found it a bit If there was another person with your name and birthday... wouldn't it be so easy to take their money?That's the premise this books operates on. It sounded amazing and I expected You Can't Catch Me to fully deliver the twists and turns. I read Catherine McKenzie's previous novel, I'll Never Tell, and really enjoyed it. I'm so sad that this didn't hit the same mark for me.Sometimes a thriller that requires one to suspend a fair bit of disbelief can be fun. In this case, I found it a bit over-the-top. I found myself wanting so many times, especially since I wanted to know more about this fictional cult (The Land of Todd) that our main character escaped from. I felt like there was too much "story" when it came to that, but also not enough? A strange thing to experience. Another thing I didn't like was the pacing; it was all-over-the-place. Why, in the middle of a tense conversation, would you stop to suddenly take a picture because "[so and so] likes waterfall landscapes"? Strange and jarring.However much I didn't enjoy this one, I'm not finished with Catherine McKenzie's works. I did really enjoy her previous release, so maybe it's just that this particular one isn't for me.Thank you to NetGalley, for providing me with an advance e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kate Rock
    January 1, 1970
    Another FANTASTIC 5 -star thriller from Catherine McKenzie! This one packs a punch and I read it in one sitting. Un-put-down-able and addicting with twists that keep you guessing. Cults, identity theft and fascinating characters oh my! I've read all of McKenzie's books and this one is the best yet.
    more
  • Michael David
    January 1, 1970
    This is an excellent, mostly fast-paced book about a woman named Jessica Williams, who years after escaping a cult, ends up meeting another Jessica Williams in the airport. Jessica 2 ends up stealing the OG Jessicas identity and money. Jessica ends up finding out this has happened to other women named Jessica Williams, and decides to contact them and get a group together to find the bad Jessica and get their money back. I was highly entertained throughout this novel, and Catherine McKenzie (who This is an excellent, mostly fast-paced book about a woman named Jessica Williams, who years after escaping a cult, ends up meeting another Jessica Williams in the airport. Jessica 2 ends up stealing the OG Jessica’s identity and money. Jessica ends up finding out this has happened to other women named Jessica Williams, and decides to contact them and get a group together to find the bad Jessica and get their money back. I was highly entertained throughout this novel, and Catherine McKenzie (who is one of my favorite authors) writes extremely compelling characters with full backgrounds, and plots that are richly developed and thought out. I really cared about Jessica, and absolutely loved her entertaining commentary. There’s a brief point at the 3/4 mark where I thought this would take a turn for the worse, but it didn’t. I was also NOT expecting the ending. It was a great twist that really wrapped everything up. This would make a great movie as well. Thank you to author Catherine McKenzie, Lake Union, and NetGalley for an ARC. I am so looking forward to the next riveting novel from the author!
    more
  • Sara “Girl in Tiny Hat”
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you so much to NetGalley & LakeUnion Publishing for gifted me a free early copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and based off an advanced readers copy and not a final product. After surviving a cult, rebuilding her life and finding a small amount of success Jessica Williams's life falls apart. As a way to get some distance and some perspective she decides to take a vacation to Puerta Vallarta. While at the airport bar she meets a second Jessica Williams and start Thank you so much to NetGalley & LakeUnion Publishing for gifted me a free early copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and based off an advanced readers copy and not a final product. After surviving a cult, rebuilding her life and finding a small amount of success Jessica Williams's life falls apart. As a way to get some distance and some perspective she decides to take a vacation to Puerta Vallarta. While at the airport bar she meets a second Jessica Williams and start chatting a bit playing "Jessica Williams 20 questions." After enjoying the coincidence and each other's company for a bit our heroine, Jessica one, goes on her way to enjoy a much needed vacation totally unplugged. When she arrives home she discovers that she has been robbed, all of her bank accounts have been cleared out. Realizing what happened Jessica decides that since the police won't help she will have to track down this criminal and get her money back herself. So begins this suspenseful tale. I liked a lot of this book the cover, the title, the story idea captured me right away! I thought that this cult, suspense novel sounded absolutely fascinating and I couldn't wait to see how things unfolded. I loved the aspect of many people with the same name. I thought that was such a unique idea for the jumping off point for a story, something I haven't seen before and I really appreciated that uniqueness. It terrified me in a great way cause I have one of the most common names for women so it made me think what if? And I love when a book can get under my skin like that!In general the book wasn't for me, I felt that there was too much story in both areas, the cult aspect and the present day part. I wanted more from each and not in a way of it was so good I need more but more like I got pulled out of the story by the switching back and forth because there were too many questions and not enough answers for me. I also felt that the book was a strangely over descriptive in awkward areas and left me questioning things in others. By the time all the reveals started happening I was a little bored because things had been going on for so long that I honestly wasn't surprised when certain things came to light. All in all this just didn't work for me but I think that the author has a truly fascinating mind and am looking forward to reading more from her to see if I can find a groove with her writing. The book gets three stars from me mainly because of the uniqueness of the idea behind the story.
    more
  • Court
    January 1, 1970
    Jessica Williams has just been fired from her journalism job - for plagiarism. While waiting to board a flight to Mexico (in hopes of escaping the media frenzy it caused) she encounters another woman with her name and birthday who she dubs as Jessica Two. After enjoying a few drinks together and swapping stories, they go their separate ways. Or so Jessica thinks. A week later, Jessica returns home to discover that all her money has been withdrawn for her bank account. Convinced that Jessica Two Jessica Williams has just been fired from her journalism job - for plagiarism. While waiting to board a flight to Mexico (in hopes of escaping the media frenzy it caused) she encounters another woman with her name and birthday who she dubs as Jessica Two. After enjoying a few drinks together and swapping stories, they go their separate ways. Or so Jessica thinks. A week later, Jessica returns home to discover that all her money has been withdrawn for her bank account. Convinced that Jessica Two is behind it all, she sets a plan in motion to catch the thief, encountering a string of identically named victims along the way. That is, until the threatening messages start arriving.You Can’t Catch Me is a tantalizing, character-driven exploration of how far people will go to get revenge....WOW. This book! After being in a massive book slump in February, I wanted to make sure to start off March with a 5 star read - and I wasn't disappointment! I was sucked into this story from the first chapter and finished it in one sitting. I totally thought 100% thought I had figured out 1/4 of the way through, only to realize how WRONG I was when the real twists and turns were revealed! I also enjoyed the flashbacks to Jessica's cult upbringing, as this really helped flesh our her character and motivations for me. What a wild ride!.This was my first book by Catherine McKenzie, but it won't be my last! Highly recommended.Thank you to Netgalley, the author and publisher for my ARC!
    more
  • Krissy
    January 1, 1970
    "You Can't Catch Me." Was an incredibly bland thriller/suspense novel for me. It centers on identity theft. The main character, Jessica Williams, gets conned by a woman with the same name and birth date. The rest of the book is Jessica 'one' trying to find Jessica 'two' that stole all of her money. I felt detached from the characters, and the story didn't seem to go anywhere most of the time. Then, the ending was just "whatever" for me. Unfortunately, It wasn't very exciting or even all that "You Can't Catch Me." Was an incredibly bland thriller/suspense novel for me. It centers on identity theft. The main character, Jessica Williams, gets conned by a woman with the same name and birth date. The rest of the book is Jessica 'one' trying to find Jessica 'two' that stole all of her money. I felt detached from the characters, and the story didn't seem to go anywhere most of the time. Then, the ending was just "whatever" for me. Unfortunately, It wasn't very exciting or even all that interesting in my opinion. 
    more
  • Barbara White
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. What a page-turner that combines the voice and pace of SPIN, McKenzie's debut, with the multi-layered twists and turns of her recent psychological thrillers. I thought I had the story figured out, and boy, was I wrong. This is McKenzie at her best: cults, stolen identities, PTSD, a terrific heroine, a strong supporting cast, and a devious, but heart-wrenching plot that keeps you guessing until the final paragraphs. Loved it!
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    Could not put this book down! It's a perfect thriller where you get so caught up in the plot you can miss what is right in front of you! I loved the twist and it also makes you rethink all your passwords!
  • Hannah
    January 1, 1970
    *I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review*Really enjoyed this un-put-downable thriller from Catherine McKenzie, whom I've never had the pleasure of reading before but definitely will now! I finished this in a day and would recommend it to anybody who loves a well-paced, innovative crime and/or thriller tale.Twenty-nine year old former cult member and current journalist Jessica Williams is horrified to discover that after a chance encounter with a friendly, *I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review*Really enjoyed this un-put-downable thriller from Catherine McKenzie, whom I've never had the pleasure of reading before but definitely will now! I finished this in a day and would recommend it to anybody who loves a well-paced, innovative crime and/or thriller tale.Twenty-nine year old former cult member and current journalist Jessica Williams is horrified to discover that after a chance encounter with a friendly, funny woman at the airport that she has been scammed out of almost her entire life savings. Once she manages to find out who is responsible, she's on a mission to right wrongs both past and present.I won't go into too much detail for fear of spoiling of the many plot twists; but I thoroughly enjoyed the way the author weaved tales past and present and how that helped shape our protagonist, Jessica Williams. She is an intriguing, dark and compelling protagonist and there are not many characters quite like her. I haven't read any novels in which we have a backstory involving living within and escaping a cult, which I thought was refreshing and inventive. I thought the dialogue was realistic and that Jessica and her fellow characters' conversations reflected that of people our age in real life (I am also a 1990 baby, much like many of our characters here!)I look forward to going through Catherine McKenzie's previous work to find more entertaining gems just like Can't Catch Me.
    more
  • Diane
    January 1, 1970
    You Can't Catch Me by Catherine McKenzie delivers a PUNCH! I never saw that coming! Now you have to read the book to understand my reaction to this suspense thriller. This is an intriguing story that has some unexpected twists. Jessica Williams had grown up in a cult commune and was very proud of the life she had made for herself. But now Jessica is on her way to Mexico for a much-needed vacation to try and recover from the humiliation of being fired from her job. While in the airport bar she You Can't Catch Me by Catherine McKenzie delivers a PUNCH! I never saw that coming! Now you have to read the book to understand my reaction to this suspense thriller. This is an intriguing story that has some unexpected twists. Jessica Williams had grown up in a cult commune and was very proud of the life she had made for herself. But now Jessica is on her way to Mexico for a much-needed vacation to try and recover from the humiliation of being fired from her job. While in the airport bar she happens to meet another woman with the name of Jessica Williams who also shares the same birth date. When she returns home from her vacation, she is shocked and upset to learn her bank account has been emptied by the Jessica Williams she had met at the airport. As she starts to research and seeks out others who share her name and birth date, she finds she is not the only Jessica Williams who has been targeted by this con woman. As the story unfolds, the reader will get a glimpse of Jessica's life as she was growing up and her concern for her cousin Kiki, who she could not rescue from the LOT I will not post spoilers, but I read the book from start to finish without stopping. Publication Date: June 9, 2020Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and give an honest review of this book.
    more
  • Angelica
    January 1, 1970
    When I first started reading this book I wasn't exactly sure what to expect because I had never read a book about cults or the type of living environment of a cult. Of course, I had watched many TV shows alluding to people living in cults and sometime in the news cults were mentioned but reading this book really helped open my eyes to the plight of the children in these cults. From start to finish this book had me in its grasp because I couldn't wait to find out whether or not Jessica was going When I first started reading this book I wasn't exactly sure what to expect because I had never read a book about cults or the type of living environment of a cult. Of course, I had watched many TV shows alluding to people living in cults and sometime in the news cults were mentioned but reading this book really helped open my eyes to the plight of the children in these cults. From start to finish this book had me in its grasp because I couldn't wait to find out whether or not Jessica was going to be triumphant in her quest to find justice for herself and for the other Jessicas that she met along the way. The expert writing and the plot twists throughout the book were so well devised that it took me awhile to figure out exactly who the bad “guy” was in this book. The best type of book I must add. The ending is to die for! Literally! I did not see that coming at all! And what I am even more grateful for is that the ending was explained in such a perfect way that I had no questions left to wonder about when I was done reading this fantastic book. I am totally recommending this book to all my friends and it will be our next book featured in our book club!
    more
  • Dee Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    Catherine McKenzie did it again! Definitely a 5+ star read. I couldn't put this down, and the ending?!?! What? I am tempted to re-read this right away to see if I missed any clues. I think this may be her best book yet....even though I say that about all of her books. They just keep getting better and better. Thanks to netgalley for the ARC.
    more
  • Sandra
    January 1, 1970
    I really really enjoyed the first 50% of this book the most, I thought it kept good pacing (it did this throughout) and it was captivating. I was intrigued at finding out what was happening in the present storyline and what had happened to Jessica in her past, so it was good. I cringed so bloody hard at her love interest, not because of who she chose but how it was written. If we keep having these cringe narratives then people really become really weird about liking people instead of enjoying it I really really enjoyed the first 50% of this book the most, I thought it kept good pacing (it did this throughout) and it was captivating. I was intrigued at finding out what was happening in the present storyline and what had happened to Jessica in her past, so it was good. I cringed so bloody hard at her love interest, not because of who she chose but how it was written. If we keep having these cringe narratives then people really become really weird about liking people instead of enjoying it and our character was someone who was too in their head and annoying about the whole relationship. I really enjoyed the search for the girl who stole her money, I could believe it and honestly, it was fun and really well thought out. I hated the first twist though but upon the second twist, I could see why it was necessary so I felt that I hated it less. The second and final twist also made me like the book a lot more because after the first twist the book sort of loses its way, she's done something she can't come back from and you're just not really sure how it's going to end and the book itself and the writing does sort of seem to linger. This was fun to read through and I devoured it in 3 sittings, pretty much read the first 60% in one sitting because it was very captivating. Adding this to the end of my review as mine was an ARC from NetGalley:Also not sure if this is because this is a proof copy but there's one inconsistency when she says Liam makes her dinner (the first time) but then she goes on to describe her making the dinner. Glaringly obvious. Also there's some very descriptive parts sometimes when it adds absolutely nothing.
    more
Write a review