One Little Lie (The Pelican Harbor #1)
It started with one little lie. But Jane Hardy will do everything in her power to uncover the truth. Book one in a gripping new series from USA TODAY bestselling romantic suspense author Colleen Coble.When Jane Hardy is appointed interim sheriff in Pelican Harbor, Alabama, after her father retires, there's no time for an adjustment period. He is arrested for theft and then implicated in a recent murder, and Jane quickly realizes she's facing someone out to destroy her father.They escaped from a cult fifteen years ago, and Jane has searched relentlessly for her mother—who refused to leave—ever since. Could someone from that horrible past have found them?Reid Bechtol is a well-known journalist who makes documentaries, and his sights are currently set on covering Jane's career. Jane has little interest in the attention, but the committee who appointed her loves the idea of the publicity.Jane finds herself depending on Reid's calm manner as he follows her around taping his documentary, and they begin working together to clear her father. But Reid has his own secrets from the past, and the gulf between them may be impossible to cross.It started with one little lie. But Jane Hardy will do everything in her power to uncover the truth. 

One Little Lie (The Pelican Harbor #1) Details

TitleOne Little Lie (The Pelican Harbor #1)
Author
ReleaseMar 3rd, 2020
PublisherThomas Nelson
ISBN-139780785228448
Rating
GenreSuspense, Christian Fiction, Christian, Mystery, Contemporary

One Little Lie (The Pelican Harbor #1) Review

  • Anita
    January 1, 1970
    Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.I've read Christian Fiction and, for the most part, not liked much of it. Not for the positive Christian message these books always have but because they are just not that good. The writing is not up to the standard I am accustomed to and the plots just aren't that interesting. I am pleasantly surprised to say that is not the case here. This is my first Colleen Coble book and, Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.I've read Christian Fiction and, for the most part, not liked much of it. Not for the positive Christian message these books always have but because they are just not that good. The writing is not up to the standard I am accustomed to and the plots just aren't that interesting. I am pleasantly surprised to say that is not the case here. This is my first Colleen Coble book and, as a much published author, she knows how to craft a great plot. The first third of the book had the reader wondering just what was going on, but then it settled down to an past paced suspense and a heartrending romance. Watch out for the cliffhanger.The book opens 15 years ago with a young girl having just given birth when the compound where she lives is attacked. Her father grabs her and tells her the baby boy died and they have to escape. With that in the readers mind the books shifts to the present day.Jane Hardy has always respected her father and wanted nothing more than to follow his footsteps and become a police officer. She worked hard and her father, the Sheriff of Pelican Harbor, Alabama hired her and she proved herself both to him and the community. When he suddenly retired, the job was offered to Jane. A little off balance and a little out of her comfort zone, Jane is thrown into the deep end when the mayor orders her to cooperate with the making of a documentary and decapitated corpse is found and the local librarian is tar and feathered and dead. When the FBI shows up with to arrest her father, Jane is overwhelmed.Reid Bechtol has made several well received documentaries and now is making one that will definitely receive acclaim, but that isn't his primary motive for doing it. As he gets closer to Jane he sees a woman who is in a high stress job, but handles the people she deals with empathy while doing that job. As Jane works to find a murderer and clear her father, Reid makes himself indispensable to her and Jane finds herself drawn to him and trusting him, maybe more that she should. One thing for sure, the frame her father finds himself in is a tight one and the murderer is determined to make the charges against him stick. 4 1/2-Stars
    more
  • Xavier Hugonet
    January 1, 1970
    One Little Lie is the first book in a new series, and the first book I have read from author Colleen Coble. Fifteen years ago, a young girl, Button, gives birth to a boy in a cult. The cult falls under attack and Buttons dad escapes with her, announcing her that her baby has died. Present day, in the small town of Pelican Harbor, Alabama, Jane Hardy is promoted to the position of Chief of Police. A seat formerly held by his recently retired dad. At that point, her only worries are a vigilante One Little Lie is the first book in a new series, and the first book I have read from author Colleen Coble. Fifteen years ago, a young girl, Button, gives birth to a boy in a cult. The cult falls under attack and Button’s dad escapes with her, announcing her that her baby has died. Present day, in the small town of Pelican Harbor, Alabama, Jane Hardy is promoted to the position of Chief of Police. A seat formerly held by his recently retired dad. At that point, her only worries are a vigilante shaming people guilty of petty stuff, such as small theft or adultery, and the detective that was eyeing the same promotion. But, soon enough, part of a body is found by fishermen in their net. The next day, another murder has been committed. Then, case after case seems to rain on Pelican Harbor as if it had been named the new Cabot Cove. This seems a lot for it to be simple coincidence. Almost regretting having accepted her new position, on top of all this, Jane finds herself shadowed by Reid, a renowned documentary maker appointed by the mayor, and his son, serving as interim videographer. We quickly realize Reid has a particular interest in Jane Hardy, and not only as the topic of his movie. Might that have something to do with a documentary he made about cults earlier in his career ?When I picked this book, intrigued by the description, it was in the mystery & thriller category. It’s only afterwards that I realized it was also categorized as romance and Christian lit. Romance is a genre I stay away from. And, in spite of an open mind, I’m not too much into having religion pushed unto me. So, I was somehow wary when I finally opened the book. As it turns, my worries were unwarranted. There is no more romance than necessary in any story where relationships are bound to evolve and, if faith is omnipresent in the book, it mostly serves the story, or remind us of values we all can get behind. The mysteries are convoluted, maybe even a little far fetched, but the quality of the writing pulls you in, giving the requisite amount of suspension of disbelief making it possible to enjoy the unraveling of the multitude of connected events that suddenly plagued Pelican’s harbor, under the stoic eye of its Pelican mascot, Pete. Also, there is a K9 officer in this book. And I’m a sucker for police dogs. I recommend this title. This is a quick read, and I’ve enjoyed it cover to cover. I’ll certainly read the next entry, to be released in September 2020. Thanks to Thomas Nelson and Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for this unbiased review.
    more
  • Cara Putman
    January 1, 1970
    In One Little Lie the repercussions of one lie skids through the town of Pelican Harbor creating ripples of chaos and suspense. Who will survive the questions? One Little Lie is the latest page-turner from Colleen Coble. Set on the Gulf coast of Alabama, Jane Hardy is the new police chief who is fighting to clear her father. Reid Bechtol has secrets of his own as he follows Jane around town for a documentary. Together they must face their secrets and decide when a secret becomes a lie? And when In One Little Lie the repercussions of one lie skids through the town of Pelican Harbor creating ripples of chaos and suspense. Who will survive the questions? One Little Lie is the latest page-turner from Colleen Coble. Set on the Gulf coast of Alabama, Jane Hardy is the new police chief who is fighting to clear her father. Reid Bechtol has secrets of his own as he follows Jane around town for a documentary. Together they must face their secrets and decide when a secret becomes a lie? And when does it become too much to forgive?
    more
  • Melike
    January 1, 1970
    I was hoping for a romantic suspense book and instead got a book heavy on suspense and very light on romance. The story took place in a small town and there were too many murders and illegal activities going on, it was hard to keep it all straight. And it just didn't seem believable to me that an idyllic town by the sea would have so many shady personalities in one place. The cult background of the main character was interesting, but I wish it was delved into more. The romance aspect was pretty I was hoping for a romantic suspense book and instead got a book heavy on suspense and very light on romance. The story took place in a small town and there were too many murders and illegal activities going on, it was hard to keep it all straight. And it just didn't seem believable to me that an idyllic town by the sea would have so many shady personalities in one place. The cult background of the main character was interesting, but I wish it was delved into more. The romance aspect was pretty much non existent for most of the book. It turned out to be a disappointment for me. Thank you to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for providing me with an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    January 1, 1970
    'Faith wasn't something Jane could wrap her head around. How did you trust something you couldn't see?'Jane Hardy fled a cult 15 years ago with her father. Now, living in Pelican Harbor, Alabama, her father has retired as police chief and she has been appointed as his replacement when she is called on to solve a series of vicious murders. But more is going on than these murders.Reid Dixon films documentaries and is good at what he does. He has come to Pelican Harbor to film the chief of police 'Faith wasn't something Jane could wrap her head around. How did you trust something you couldn't see?'Jane Hardy fled a cult 15 years ago with her father. Now, living in Pelican Harbor, Alabama, her father has retired as police chief and she has been appointed as his replacement when she is called on to solve a series of vicious murders. But more is going on than these murders.Reid Dixon films documentaries and is good at what he does. He has come to Pelican Harbor to film the chief of police for a few weeks as she does her job. Jane does not want him to do so, but the mayor does. Reid, however, has some secrets of his own from his past. It all started with one little lie. That lie has the potential to wreak havoc in Jane's life. After her father is arrested for theft, Jane is on a mission to prove his innocence while dealing with her own issues. Colleen Coble has long been a favorite for me, but not since her wonderful Rock Harbor (which I have read several times) series has she done such fine writing! Some of her very best in my opinion. And this is going to be a series! So we have more to look forward to. Coble is at her very best here. I look forward to the next book in Pelican Harbor.*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers through Net Galley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.best here.
    more
  • MJSH
    January 1, 1970
    "The truth is easier to handle than most people think. A lies is a betrayal that hits you where you really live."Colleen Coble knows how to write romantic suspense. I've read many of her books and can confidently say that she knows how to reel her readers in from the prologue and keep us hooked until the very last page. In her latest offering, One Little Lie, the author weaves the lives of a father-daughter duo who escape a cult compound into a small town in Alabama that suddenly sees a "The truth is easier to handle than most people think. A lies is a betrayal that hits you where you really live."Colleen Coble knows how to write romantic suspense. I've read many of her books and can confidently say that she knows how to reel her readers in from the prologue and keep us hooked until the very last page. In her latest offering, One Little Lie, the author weaves the lives of a father-daughter duo who escape a cult compound into a small town in Alabama that suddenly sees a multitude of murders and violence. In her trademark style, the author brings in many secondary characters into the plot to add details that only become clear at the very end of the book and to throw the reader off from the true villain. The villain actually does have a voice in the story as well, which is interesting. The plot moves fast with plenty of adrenaline, action, and unforeseen twists; romance between Jane and Reid is subtle. From one little lie in each of the character's past and/or present, their lives spiral out of control and the lies bring them colliding into each other in one brilliantly plotted story.Jane, our heroine, is the newly appointed police chief in Pelican Harbor who still bears the scars from her childhood in a cult. She's strong, independent, intelligent, and compassionate but tends to hold on to her anger tightly. Reid is a documentary journalist who comes into town to create a documentary on small town police chiefs. He's loyal, passionate, protective, and tender but has a secret and an ulterior motive in being at Pelican Harbor which provides a subplot in the story. Both of the main characters, along with Reid's son Will, are incredibly easy to love.When I first started the book, I didn't realize that this series may turn out to be more like the author's Rock Harbor series where the entire series focuses mostly on the main character(s). I'm so used to her series following different sets of main characters who are loosely related to each other that I was slightly confused when critical key issues were not addressed by the time I got to the last chapter. Then I realized that the second book will likely pick up where the first book left off (on an emotional cliffhanger, of course). Can't wait to read what happens next with Jane, Reid, and Will.If you enjoy romantic suspense, you will thoroughly enjoy this book. I received a copy of the book from Thomas Nelson via Celebrate Lit Tours and was under no obligation to post a positive review. All comments and opinions are solely my own.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    This was a well crafted suspense novel with a splash of romance. This is the first book in Colleen Cobles Pelican Harbor series. A police procedural series with a strong sassy female protagonist. The book kicks off with a young girl in a cult giving birth to a baby boy. The girl is told by her father that the baby has died. Then the book jumps forward to Jane Hardy The newly appointed chief of police in Pelican Harbor. Pelican Harbor is a sleepy little town on the Alabama gulf coast where This was a well crafted suspense novel with a splash of romance. This is the first book in Colleen Coble’s Pelican Harbor series. A police procedural series with a strong sassy female protagonist. The book kicks off with a young girl in a cult giving birth to a baby boy. The girl is told by her father that the baby has died. Then the book jumps forward to Jane Hardy The newly appointed chief of police in Pelican Harbor. Pelican Harbor is a sleepy little town on the Alabama gulf coast where nothing much ever happens. That is until the bodies start dropping. When multiple dead bodies start popping up Jane realizes something sinister is going on. Jane is determined to prove she is up for the job as well as to prove her father the X chief of police innocence. Jane was a great character I loved her fighting spirit. The mystery was compelling and well paced. Where this book falls a little short is in the romance. There really is no romance even though this is classified as romantic suspense. There is a potential love interest Reid, A reporter who is writing an article about small town law enforcement. Jane is pretty much forced into working with him, so their relationship does not start off on a positive note. I’m assuming there will be more to this love connection in future books. In spite of this I really enjoyed this book. It was a great crime thriller with a lot of interesting angles to it. And bonus there is a police dog who you will love!*** Big thank you to Thomas Nelson for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***
    more
  • Kav
    January 1, 1970
    Whoa! What??? Wait....Nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!That was me doing a double take at the end of One Little Lie because well...not everything ends. So, reader beware of the dreaded cliffhanger. I'm not usually a fan of lots of loose story threads BUT I did feel there was enough closure in this one to keep me satisfied until September when Two Reasons to Run releases. Sort of. At least some of my burning questions were answered and the suspense aspect is mostly wrapped up. (I may be a tad paranoid Whoa! What??? Wait....Nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!That was me doing a double take at the end of One Little Lie because well...not everything ends. So, reader beware of the dreaded cliffhanger. I'm not usually a fan of lots of loose story threads BUT I did feel there was enough closure in this one to keep me satisfied until September when Two Reasons to Run releases. Sort of. At least some of my burning questions were answered and the suspense aspect is mostly wrapped up. (I may be a tad paranoid but I think some of it is going carry over into book two.)So, if you can get past that open ended finale you're going to love this romantic suspense! It's Coble at her best. Oodles of tension. A complicated plot with the occasional sinister villain POV just to put a shiver up your spine. An impossible romance between two complex characters with burdensome pasts that are about to collide. Whew! But this is a whole lot of frenzied, page-turning brilliance!I listened to the audible version narrated by Devon O'Day who does a lot of Coble's audio books. I love when I connect with a narrator as much as the story. It's like greeting an old friend once I start listening. I hung on every word with a frantic non-stop fascination. What a great team!
    more
  • Gloria
    January 1, 1970
    One Little Lie is a rich story with so many issues going on and in a lovely setting that adds to the local flavor. As the story begins, Detective Jane Hardy has been offered the job of police chief of small town, Pelican Harbor, on the lovely coast of Alabama near Mobile. Her dad was the former chief and has recently retired. Not everyone is happy about Jane getting the job, including another detective and a councilman. The small town has been thrown into a tailspin with a vigilante attacking One Little Lie is a rich story with so many issues going on and in a lovely setting that adds to the local flavor. As the story begins, Detective Jane Hardy has been offered the job of police chief of small town, Pelican Harbor, on the lovely coast of Alabama near Mobile. Her dad was the former chief and has recently retired. Not everyone is happy about Jane getting the job, including another detective and a councilman. The small town has been thrown into a tailspin with a vigilante attacking people and now two bodies to investigate. Reid Dixon and his son Will are in town renting a house while Will is on spring break. Reid has a company that makes documentaries and is making a documentary about small town police forces. Now there is special interest in Jane becoming a chief of a small town. Jane and her father were once in a cult until they left fifteen years ago. They have quite a history with this. Reid has a secret too. Someone is not only killing and intimating citizens but someone has set the FBI out on Jane's dad. There is an abduction of a senator's daughter. Are all events connected in someway? Why? Who can be trusted? This story is full of mystery, suspense, retribution, revenge, and maybe romance...all sprinkled with faith interwoven. Another winner by Colleen Coble.I received a complimentary ARC from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are mine only.
    more
  • Karen R
    January 1, 1970
    An exciting start to a new series! Set on the Gulf Coast in Alabama, this tightly wound murder mystery had plenty of suspense, action and a plot twist or two to keep it interesting. The romance is understated and not the focus, with promise to develop more in the sequel. The main character is strong, going from a stressful childhood in a cult to become a small town police chief. Her struggles with relationships and faith were understandable given her past. Bonds of family, especially between An exciting start to a new series! Set on the Gulf Coast in Alabama, this tightly wound murder mystery had plenty of suspense, action and a plot twist or two to keep it interesting. The romance is understated and not the focus, with promise to develop more in the sequel. The main character is strong, going from a stressful childhood in a cult to become a small town police chief. Her struggles with relationships and faith were understandable given her past. Bonds of family, especially between parent-child, were an important aspect of the storyline on many levels, especially when trust is broken. It will be interesting to follow these relationships in the next book. I liked the K-9 partner, Palmer, and hope to see him get an active role in the next book too. Recommend this to fans of crime suspense with inspiration and a hint of romance.(I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.)
    more
  • Chautona Havig
    January 1, 1970
    One of the Best Things Is Introducing Mom to Favorite AuthorsSeriously, aside from the fun of sharing things I enjoy, knowing that if my mom liked it I will, too is pretty awesome. Then again, when have I ever not loved a Colleen Coble book? It may happen someday, but so far, it hasnt happened yet. I mean, when I requested and received the review copy of this book, I didnt wonder if Id like it. It was more of a why would I like it.Of course, the moment I thought of that, I knew I was tempting One of the Best Things Is Introducing Mom to Favorite AuthorsSeriously, aside from the fun of sharing things I enjoy, knowing that if my mom liked it I will, too is pretty awesome. Then again, when have I ever not loved a Colleen Coble book? It may happen someday, but so far, it hasn’t happened yet. I mean, when I requested and received the review copy of this book, I didn’t wonder if I’d like it. It was more of a why would I like it.Of course, the moment I thought of that, I knew I was tempting Murphy. Maybe this would be the book–the one that disappointed me and left me wrecked in a puddle of disillusion and despair.Okay, I’ll stop laughing now. Right? Snort.But why did I like it? Was it because Mom did, so I felt I should?Nope. Although, if she had and I hadn’t, I’d have wondered if there was something wrong with me, and I probably would have reread it again. Right then.Maybe it had to do with the fact that Thomas Nelson seems to have reversed its trend of weak Christian content to the curb. WOOHOO! Look, it’s not that there was all kinds of preachiness all over this book. Can’t stand that stuff. However, Colleen Coble placed a few solid nuggets in there and left the next book wide open for a whole goldmine of ’em.Even better than that, she grabbed me and held my attention even with chaos happening around me.No really, I had to call the police while I was reading the book.And not just because I was annoyed at being interrupted while reading a great story.A multi-faceted story glistens and sparkles across the page as you dig deeper and deeper into this story. Well placed twists and turns kept me second-guessing every guess I’d made until the final showdown. Just before proof appeared with the turn of a page, I knew she’d gotten me. She’d convinced me to switch my guess to the obvious choice, and as a result, she tripped me up.Well done, Ms. Coble. Well done.One of the best elements in this novel is how flawed every character is–and all in different but oh, so similar ways. We see true faith in action, fear and uncertainty overriding faith, and the natural fallout of sin in people’s lives. Not once is sin glorified or excused, but in the end, we understand how it got a foothold and see what it does to those who grip it.With a plot that keeps you riveted, pacing that never lags, and characters to root for, One Little Lie has everything you want in an excellent suspense novel and is only missing one thing.The next book in the series.How on earth will I make it until September?Recommended for lovers of suspense. For those of us not dying for a strong romantic element in every book, this is the one for you. While there’s a tiny thread in there, it’s such a minor one, you almost don’t notice it. For those who love that romantic thread, no worries. I see it coming in the next book or two.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 1, 1970
    "She wasn't ready . . . . . Too many people could be hurt by the truth."Jane Hardy's career in law enforcement took a giant leap forward following her appointment as Pelican Harbor's acting Chief of Police. Unfortunately, the crime rate in her normally docile shorefront town escalated in tandem with her new title. Curious, too. One . . . a very brutal murder; the other not particularly brutal but reminiscent of a so-called "vigilante". And what about the new journalist in town, the one who "She wasn't ready . . . . . Too many people could be hurt by the truth."Jane Hardy's career in law enforcement took a giant leap forward following her appointment as Pelican Harbor's acting Chief of Police. Unfortunately, the crime rate in her normally docile shorefront town escalated in tandem with her new title. Curious, too. One . . . a very brutal murder; the other not particularly brutal but reminiscent of a so-called "vigilante". And what about the new journalist in town, the one who managed to convince the mayor to let him follow her around for a supposed documentary on small town police chiefs; Jane cannot quite figure out how Reid Dixon fits into her rapidly changing landscape. As Jane follows the barely visible evidence trail behind one of her victims, coincidences begin to congregate. . . . first Reid, then her father. So much truth has been buried, and so many untruths are swirling to the surface, gnawing their way past her sub-conscious . . . . just like her past, continually hovering like a spector in the very back of Jane's mind.."Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truth fully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body." Does Reid have the courage to speak the truth, once and for all?Quite honestly, I really liked this book. The first few chapters exposed so many unanswered questions that it was difficult to determine whether or not the author was going to lose her readers' attention in all the mayhem, but slowly and intentionally, things began to make sense . . . and best of all, a glorious truth began to shed its layers; a truth with the power to either restore or destroy. A great series opener!
    more
  • Maureen Timerman
    January 1, 1970
    The title of this book is appropriate, but one little lie morphed into many more, and then they were no longer little.As the story begins, Officer Jane Hardy has just made Chief of Police, succeeding her father in the job. We soon see not all are happy about her appointment, and when bodies begin to appear, some think she is not up to the task.Now the City has given the go ahead for a noted journalist to follow here to make a new documentary, but there sure seems to be something else going on? The title of this book is appropriate, but one little lie morphed into many more, and then they were no longer little.As the story begins, Officer Jane Hardy has just made Chief of Police, succeeding her father in the job. We soon see not all are happy about her appointment, and when bodies begin to appear, some think she is not up to the task.Now the City has given the go ahead for a noted journalist to follow here to make a new documentary, but there sure seems to be something else going on?This book is full of secrets, and when they fall, yes, I was surprised by some, but others blew my mind, I never saw them coming.I became so involved in this story, and in the end didn't want it to end, and yes, there is a teaser at the end, another book is coming in the Fall.I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    At what point does a secret become a full blown lie?This is the dilemma facing our main character who is on the hunt for her father's innocence but a journalist may stand in her way.Reid is documenting her new sheriff position after her father retired but he's now facing criminal charges for a theft he may not have committed. In the process of charging him with one crime he's charged with a far more serious crime of MURDER?!YIKES...Is he being framed? Is someone out to destroy him?Is vendetta At what point does a secret become a full blown lie?This is the dilemma facing our main character who is on the hunt for her father's innocence but a journalist may stand in her way.Reid is documenting her new sheriff position after her father retired but he's now facing criminal charges for a theft he may not have committed. In the process of charging him with one crime he's charged with a far more serious crime of MURDER?!YIKES...Is he being framed? Is someone out to destroy him?Is vendetta the answer after escaping a cult all those years ago?Is it someone from her mother's past since she refused to leave the cult?After all Jane was so young only 15yo when she experienced a 'mother's love' like no other but she was under the assumption it was all turned to 'ashes'. With not much more to go on we learn there's a plot to kill and an even bigger shocker in that the webs we weave may be elusive yet exclusive.WOW!... Fast paced, tightly wrapped action, fab characters, all around a joy to read.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Something disturbing was going on in her town, and she wasnt sure how to solve the puzzle.Always on the lookout for well-written Christian suspense books, I couldnt pass up the opportunity to read One Little Lie. This is the first book in the Pelican Harbor series, and I love it when Im able to hop aboard a new series as its releasing. I also realized that this seems to be the first Colleen Coble book that Ive read, and after this experience, it wont be the last. What harm can there be in “Something disturbing was going on in her town, and she wasn’t sure how to solve the puzzle.”Always on the lookout for well-written Christian suspense books, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to read “One Little Lie.” This is the first book in the Pelican Harbor series, and I love it when I’m able to hop aboard a new series as it’s releasing. I also realized that this seems to be the first Colleen Coble book that I’ve read, and after this experience, it won’t be the last. What harm can there be in telling one little lie? The ripple effects are devastating and leave a trail of pain and destruction in their wake. Not only that, but a group of people find their lives inextricably linked by the falsehood, because trials usually cause people to draw apart from the world in general, and especially their faith. During times of difficulty and uncertainty, let us not ever forget that it is on Christ the solid Rock we stand. In “One Little Lie,” relationships play a prominent role in the plot. Father-daughter, father-son, and even that between a mother and her children, as Jane Hardy reflects on her own boy, whom she lost briefly after giving birth to him, and as her relationship with her father becomes challenged as untruths keep piling up. Circumstances threaten her heart against trusting, but she can’t walk this path alone. A fast-paced work of romantic suspense, this book will have you questioning everyone’s motives in the quest for the truth. It does contain some graphic details regarding crime scenes, as well as mentions of domestic violence and abuse, but neither is overdone. My favorite character is, admittedly, Parker the golden retriever because I love dogs and have a great respect for working dogs, which are all heroes in my book.I received a complimentary copy of this book through Celebrate Lit and was not required to post a favorable review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Faye
    January 1, 1970
    Jane Hardy is appointed to be the interim sheriff in Pelican Harbor after her father's retirement, but her first day brings more than she bargained for with a well known journalist filming a documentary about her, and her father being framed in a horrible crime. But she wonders if any of this is connected to her family's past in a cult. Reid is the journalist documenting Jane's life, he is a single dad with secrets of his own. He sees everything that she is going through while filming her life, Jane Hardy is appointed to be the interim sheriff in Pelican Harbor after her father's retirement, but her first day brings more than she bargained for with a well known journalist filming a documentary about her, and her father being framed in a horrible crime. But she wonders if any of this is connected to her family's past in a cult. Reid is the journalist documenting Jane's life, he is a single dad with secrets of his own. He sees everything that she is going through while filming her life, and their growing friendship gives her someone to talk things over with as the danger grows. Will Reid and Jane be able to find the killer and clear her father's name. An action-packed read with an intricate plot, and well developed characters. Jane has been through a lot, and has a lot of pressure on her because of this case and her life under scrutiny with the filming of the documentary. She feels like she has something to prove with her appointment, as well as with the accusations being levelled at her father. I admired her strength, and how she and Reid become friends and he becomes someone she can count on, as she doesn't have many people that she can trust. Reid understands Jane, as he can relate to much of what she has gone through. He has a strong faith, with good discernment, and is a supportive father to his teenage son, Will.An engrossing read with great character development that was realistic, as well as a strong cast of supporting characters that bring this story to life, I loved the emotional depth of this book, and how well it sets up this new series to grow in upcoming installments. Well worth the read, full of action, suspense, and mystery, as well as family drama, faith, and glimmers of hope. I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Donna (More Than a Review)
    January 1, 1970
    One Little Lie by Colleen Coble is a gripping suspense with a sprinkling of romance. The characterization and their relationships pulled me immediately into the story.The story opens with Jane a teenager in the cult with her parents. It gave you a new perspective of what the kids go through. And later as an adult how people would judge her because she had been in cult as a child. She had only shared with one friend her true history. Jane is now sheriff after her dad retires. But not all is easy One Little Lie by Colleen Coble is a gripping suspense with a sprinkling of romance. The characterization and their relationships pulled me immediately into the story.The story opens with Jane a teenager in the cult with her parents. It gave you a new perspective of what the kids go through. And later as an adult how people would judge her because she had been in cult as a child. She had only shared with one friend her true history. Jane is now sheriff after her dad retires. But not all is easy in her small little town. It appears as if she has a vigilante trying to prove a point in the town. And her dad is being framed for something. In addition to all of this, the mayor is making her participate in a documentary. Reid is the journalist for the documentary and you realize he has some of his own secrets. I liked Reid, even though I was worried about what he was up to. He and his relationship with his son was precious. This is book one in a series. Although the main story has closure, there are enough lose ends for Jane to keep us entertained. I received this book from Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review.You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books.
    more
  • Best In Suspense - Kelly Underwood
    January 1, 1970
    One Little Lie plops readers down into the middle of more than a decade old mystery. Jane Harper escapes from a cult with her father and manages to turn her life around and bury her past. She becomes police chief of Pelican Harbor, AL, but everything derails as several murders happen her first day on the job. To make matters worse, her father is the chief suspect, and shes stuck with reporter Reid Betchol shadowing her for a documentary. Id classify this novel as a mystery. The plot is complex, One Little Lie plops readers down into the middle of more than a decade old mystery. Jane Harper escapes from a cult with her father and manages to turn her life around and bury her past. She becomes police chief of Pelican Harbor, AL, but everything derails as several murders happen her first day on the job. To make matters worse, her father is the chief suspect, and she’s stuck with reporter Reid Betchol shadowing her for a documentary. I’d classify this novel as a mystery. The plot is complex, with lots of characters that intertwine throughout the story. I didn’t see the ending coming and enjoyed the process of trying to piece the evidence together along side Jane. The “secret” is pretty obvious early on, and it’s interesting to see Reid deal with lies of omission and coming clean about what he knows and who he is. Also, Colleen Coble always has the best settings, and I loved the New Orleans style vibe of Pelican Harbor. There was plenty of action and suspense to keep the story fast-paced. My only issue was the believability at times. The contrast of Jane from beginning to end didn’t resonate with me. I couldn’t figure out how she went from the past she had in the cult to become the police chief. It seemed like a stretch. The conflict from her past and present didn’t come out as much as I would have wanted. But overall, this is a great mystery and an intriguing read. I definitely recommend to suspense fans. I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    The beginning of this story started out intense. It showed Jane's childhood in a cult. While it was a short moment, it did explain why Jane wanted to protect her father. Reid was introduced in the story maybe as a love interest? I say this as a question because the romance was minimal if lacking. Not that I am complaining as I don't feel like this book needed a romance. Jane has big shoes to fill as a female sheriff. Not to point the obvious that she has a killer on her hands. The killings seem The beginning of this story started out intense. It showed Jane's childhood in a cult. While it was a short moment, it did explain why Jane wanted to protect her father. Reid was introduced in the story maybe as a love interest? I say this as a question because the romance was minimal if lacking. Not that I am complaining as I don't feel like this book needed a romance. Jane has big shoes to fill as a female sheriff. Not to point the obvious that she has a killer on her hands. The killings seem personal as if the killer has something against Jane. With Reid's help; Jane is determined to stop the killer before more lives are lost. I did figure out early on who the killer was. Yet, this did not keep me from stopping reading this book. However, I must admit that there were clues there but to be fair Jane would not have figured out who it was until the reveal. This book is a good start to this series.
    more
  • Aimee (Getting Your Read On)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5, rounding upWow, there was a lot going on in this book! I loved the first chapter of the book which really set the stage for the rest of the story. It gave me an instant connection to emotion and really peaked my interest.From the beginning there is a steady build of information and mystery. There are a LOT of characters in this book and because of that, this book is more plot driven than character driven. I liked the main characters but I didn't really connect with them emotionally aside 3.5, rounding upWow, there was a lot going on in this book! I loved the first chapter of the book which really set the stage for the rest of the story. It gave me an instant connection to emotion and really peaked my interest.From the beginning there is a steady build of information and mystery. There are a LOT of characters in this book and because of that, this book is more plot driven than character driven. I liked the main characters but I didn't really connect with them emotionally aside from the very beginning. I wouldn't call this a romantic suspense because the romance was barely there at all. It was more a mystery/suspense with a toss of awareness/attraction that is mostly not acted upon. This story ends with some mystery resolution, but left most other things hanging. I guess the story continues in the next book which will be great, but I was left feeling a bit let down.The mystery though was on point. I was suspecting many people and trying to work it all out in my head but yeah, I didn't get it right. The intensity ramps up slowly but I could feel it happening. It's exactly what you want to feel when reading this type of book.Content: some gruesome murder scenes, some violence, peril. Christian elements.- I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Sarita
    January 1, 1970
    Colleen Coble again confirmed her position as one of my favourite Christian suspense authors with first book in a new promising series. While the main female character, Jane, with her K-9 partner, Parker, reminder me a lot about Bree and her rescue dog, Samson from the Rock Harbor series, Jane still had her own voice, own baggage and struggles to work through and her own strengths and weaknesses.At the end of the book, the author's note was that Jane was a character with too much to deal with Colleen Coble again confirmed her position as one of my favourite Christian suspense authors with first book in a new promising series. While the main female character, Jane, with her K-9 partner, Parker, reminder me a lot about Bree and her rescue dog, Samson from the Rock Harbor series, Jane still had her own voice, own baggage and struggles to work through and her own strengths and weaknesses.At the end of the book, the author's note was that Jane was a character with too much to deal with that one book is not enough and I completely agree. By the end of the book, there was so much things unanswered for Jane, and if it were to be answered in one book, it would have feel rushed and forced.Reid was such a great male character and though the ending was still incomplete and not at a great place for him, I do hope he will also grow more in the series, will receive closure and a happy ending.The suspense plot was great. The author did a great job of giving clues and develop the story in such a way that I wanted to keep reading to see what happened and who is behind everything. There was moments I was so confused and finally guessed who the mastermind was like a paragraph before he was revealed. And if you are like me where you prefer the suspense to be emphasised more than the romance, this plot you will enjoy.The secondary characters like Olivia and Meghan were also great and hope they will still play a vital role in Jane's life in the books to come.Highly recommended to fans of Christian Susepense and authors like Dani Pettrey, Irene Hannon, Lynette Eason and Susan May Warren"I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
    more
  • Sara Wise
    January 1, 1970
    ** The nightmares scared her too. With her badge attached to her shirt and her gun on her hip, she felt invincible and strong. In the stillness of the night, she faced demons that didnt flee when she aimed her sidearm. They didnt run when she read them their rights. They lurked at the edges of sleep and consciousness and made her doubt who she was and what she could do with her life. **Colleen Coble delivers another incredible suspense thriller with One Little Lie.The books prologue opens with ** “The nightmares scared her too. With her badge attached to her shirt and her gun on her hip, she felt invincible and strong. In the stillness of the night, she faced demons that didn’t flee when she aimed her sidearm. They didn’t run when she read them their rights. They lurked at the edges of sleep and consciousness and made her doubt who she was and what she could do with her life.” **Colleen Coble delivers another incredible suspense thriller with “One Little Lie.”The book’s prologue opens with 15-year-old Button giving birth just before police raid the cult compound where she lives — separating her from her newborn when she escapes with her father.Fifteen years later, Jane Hardy is named as her father’s replacement as Pelican Harbor Police Chief. Thrown into a vigilante case that has developed into murder, she has a tough first case — and in the meantime the mayor has decided that Jane must allow documentarian Reid Dixon to follow her around, filming her every move.As Jane gets to know Reid and his teen-age son, Will, she can’t help feeling there’s more to Reid than meets the eye. But as they work more and more together to solve the vigilante acts and murders occurring in Pelican Harbor, they grow closer.As their pasts, both connected to the cult, come crashing together, Jane must decide if she can trust Reid and save someone very close to herself while solving the recent crimes. And when Jane receives some shocking news, she must decide whether to go down a path of forgiveness, or resentment.Coble always does an incredible job of creating a fast-paced, heart-pounding thriller with incredibly relatable characters. Both Jane and Reid have troubled pasts to overcoming, as well as people in their lives who created drama and trouble. In this story, Coble also does a great job of creating an inviting community — fans of Irene Hannon’s Hope Harbor will enjoy Pelican Harbor, right down to the adorable Pelican Pete (much like some plucky seagulls in Hannon’s series).“One Little Lie” is also filled with great themes, like overcoming fear and one’s past; learning to love one’s self (as Jane’s friend Olivia tells her, “One of these days you’re going to break free from your parents and your past. You’re a strong, beautiful woman. I pray every day that you see yourself the way God sees you.”); retribution; the age-old question of “why does God allow something like this to happen?”; faith and trusting in what you can’t see; we all need to do what we are called to do; God sees us … always; cults and their lingering effects; feeling like you are failing others; the cost of betrayal; rage and anger will consume you; and the masks people wear.Through Jane’s and Reid’s story, Coble reminds us of Micah 6:8 — that we should act justly, love mercy and walk humbly with God.Fans of Lynette Eason, Kelly Irvin, Terri Blackstock and Hannon will love this novel. I can’t wait until September 2020 when the sequel, “Two Reasons to Run,” releases. “One Little Lie” releases March 3, 2020.Five stars out of five. Thomas Nelson provided this complimentary copy through NetGalley for my honest, unbiased review.
    more
  • Dawn Stahl
    January 1, 1970
    This is a "Christian mystery/thriller romance" or "romantic suspense," the first I've read by this author, who comes highly recommended.In the opening scenes, a girl called Button gives birth on her 15th birthday on the commune of the cult that she has begun to lose faith in but that she and her parents still belong to. The commune comes under attack that same night. In the melee, her father informs her that her baby died, her mother refuses to leave, and they have to escape immediately. With no This is a "Christian mystery/thriller romance" or "romantic suspense," the first I've read by this author, who comes highly recommended.In the opening scenes, a girl called Button gives birth on her 15th birthday on the commune of the cult that she has begun to lose faith in but that she and her parents still belong to. The commune comes under attack that same night. In the melee, her father informs her that her baby died, her mother refuses to leave, and they have to escape immediately. With no real relationship with Moose, the baby's father (who she's never even seen clearly), and with no hope for her baby or her obstinately indoctrinated mother, Button leaves with her father. Fifteen years later, a series of vigilante crimes and a gruesome murder take place in Pelican Harbor, Alabama, a small, nascent tourist town on the gulf. Jane Hardy has just been appointed chief of police after her father's retirement. At the mayor's insistence, successful documentary filmmaker Reid Dixon and his son will be shadowing Jane as she works to solve the crimes, prove her worth, clear her father's name, and deal with her own emotional issues and an intersecting web of the secrets and lies of others.A note about genre — I'd consider this a police procedural mystery/thriller, where the mystery and thrills are adequate but the procedural part seems a little loose. It's very light on romance. I suspect there will be more in the rest of the series, but that doesn't quite fulfill the happily-ever-after requirements for this first book. (view spoiler)[ [SPOILERS: Given the delicate situation of the burgeoning relationship and the characters' backstories, I would've been super uncomfortable if it *had* wrapped up into an easy HEA resolution, so I'm not knocking it for being romance-lite. What was there was already borderline disturbing.] (hide spoiler)] It's relatively moderate on Christianity — a couple of Bible verses, invitations to church, a couple of C.S. Lewis quotes, a main character and two minor characters explicitly guided by Christian perspectives.So why only 2 stars? It's a decent story, but not a great book — too many characters introduced in the first few chapters and referred to by too many different names, too many unnecessary subplots, a couple of plot holes and fact-checking issues, and one character's intro to the narrative is jumbled. And I wasn't comfortable with some of the content — unnecessary identical stereotyping of the only two explicitly Black or brown women in the book (both 50-something described as looking like 30-somethings because of their dark skin or their dark eyes and hair), the psychological issues surrounding the cult participation weren't very well examined (though perhaps that, too, will come in future installments), the prepper lifestyle and stockpiling of a private arsenal was justified if not completely normalized, and (view spoiler)[ [SPOILERS: yes, I liked Reid well enough and I understood his dilemma of trying to get to know Jane to find out if it was safe to introduce her into Will's life, but the subterfuge was a big ol' NOPE for me. Controlling, disrespectful, counterproductive to building trust in an already messed up situation nope. Also, and probably most importantly, I understand the urge to "redeem" what happened to Jane (and Reid) in the cult, but it was basically statutory rape — she was FOURTEEN and he was eighteen — and I'm zero percent comfortable with romanticizing that into a sweet "feels like coming home" kiss between them 15 years later and without her informed consent about who he was and how their paths had crossed earlier. Nope. Nope. Nope.] (hide spoiler)]Content warnings: cult, underage sex and pregnancy, vigilante justice, tar and feathering, corrupt police, child abduction, death and dismembermentMy thanks to #NetGalley and #ThomasNelson for an advanced copy of #OneLittleLie in exchange for my honest feedback.
    more
  • Necee
    January 1, 1970
    Micah 6:8 says God wants us to act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with Him. But, what happens when one lie turns into a web of deceptionOh, how I loved this book. Coble did an amazing job in creating a masterful web of deceit all started by one little lie. Then add in more than one persons lies and you have a mystery so riveting, you wont know what is a lie and what is reality! There is a very real feel of what it would be like for those coming out of a cult. The aftermath, the “Micah 6:8 says God wants us to act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with Him.” But, what happens when one lie turns into a web of deception…Oh, how I loved this book. Coble did an amazing job in creating a masterful web of deceit all started by one little lie. Then add in more than one person’s lies and you have a mystery so riveting, you won’t know what is a lie and what is reality! There is a very real feel of what it would be like for those coming out of a cult. The aftermath, the healing, and the ramifications when the sins of others impact us for years to come. Feeling like she has moved on as much as she could, Jane is excited to be appointed the new chief of police. However as lies and deceit are uncovered in the small town, she realizes she really hasn’t overcome the past. Her nightmares return in sleep and in reality. Then as she struggles with her job, family, and friends, she begins to question more and more about her relationship with God. I thought the faith element was very real for someone who’s gone through spiritual abuse. I’m excited to see how her relationship will grow with God as the series continues.As Reid comes to do a documentary about her being police chief, he has his own issues to deal with that made me question who he is. This really kept me guessing. I loved his character, but I wasn’t sure what his story really was. Then as he became closer with Jane, his son and him were put in danger. I ended up loving Reid and could see how hard it would be for him to speak truth. However, my heart for him kept me rooting for a happy ending. It also speaks to how hard a lie of omission can be…that fear can steal our joy when we don’t tell the truth.If you loved The Rock Harbor series, I think you would love One Little Lie. The mystery and deception that comes from one lie and how it can spin into a web of lies is written in a powerful way. It truly speaks to the importance of honesty. While I kept wanting the truth to come out,  I cringed every time I saw one lie build on another. The mystery kept me guessing on multiple levels. A truly inspiring story and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series. I love Jane Hardy and can’t wait for the rest of the story!I was provided a copy of this book through NetGalley by the publisher. All opinions in this review are my own.
    more
  • Cathy Cermele
    January 1, 1970
    In the first book in her Pelican Harbor series, Ms. Coble tells the story of the effects of one little lie and how it impacts the lives of so many people. Jane Hardy will ultimately discover this not only in her personal life but her professional life, too.I felt sorry for Jane, her earlier years were unimaginable to me and honestly I was happy that she was able to escape with her father, but I was saddened by her mother's refusal to leave. I could understand her devotion to her father and I In the first book in her Pelican Harbor series, Ms. Coble tells the story of the effects of one little lie and how it impacts the lives of so many people. Jane Hardy will ultimately discover this not only in her personal life but her professional life, too.I felt sorry for Jane, her earlier years were unimaginable to me and honestly I was happy that she was able to escape with her father, but I was saddened by her mother's refusal to leave. I could understand her devotion to her father and I loved that Jane was promoted to chief of police after her dad recently retired from the position. Now you might think that the small town of Pelican Harbor, Alabama would have a few crimes over a few weeks but nope, that was not the case. There are dead bodies turning up in town and Jane finds herself and her small department working like mad to solve the cases.I will have to say that Reid Bechtol and his son were my favorite characters, I'm kind of drawn to a man who would go to such great lengths to provide his son with a quiet, peaceful life in a small town. I also liked the friendship Reid had with Jane and the time they spend together is sweet and not overly romantic which was a nice change for me. There is a bit of suspense but nor to the point where I was on the edge of my seat which was another nice change for me. There were no big surprises but I enjoyed the slow build up to the conclusion of the novel. I was disappointed that I have to wait to find out what happens in the lives of Jane and Reid but I certainly look forward to the next book in the series. Overall, I thought the premise of the novel is fantastic and unlike in other book I have read. I found the characters fascinating and well developed and I started to care what happens to the them, basically I just want them to have the happiness they so richly deserve. A great book to read in one day or over a weekend.I received an e-copy from the publisher. All opinions are completely my own.
    more
  • LAWonder10
    January 1, 1970
    I've just finished Colleen Coble's book, 'One Little Lie' and it is killing me to face the fact I will have to wait for the next book in the series! It seems like the same scenario I used to experience with the TV episodes of 'Quantum Leap', when one episode ends with an introduction the next, leaving one hanging with the anxiety of having to wait another week before finding out what happens next!This was truly a suspenseful "page-turner" with drama, lots of action, and situations which keeps I've just finished Colleen Coble's book, 'One Little Lie' and it is killing me to face the fact I will have to wait for the next book in the series! It seems like the same scenario I used to experience with the TV episodes of 'Quantum Leap', when one episode ends with an introduction the next, leaving one hanging with the anxiety of having to wait another week before finding out what happens next!This was truly a suspenseful "page-turner" with drama, lots of action, and situations which keeps the reader guessing who the "good guys" and the "bad guys" really are!This book also addresses the fallacy of humans (and even canines) and how "one little lie" can turn into a huge barrier in one's ability to trust anyone. The Christian message of God;s ability to ease pain and burdens of mankind, is also presented.Other subject matters include cults, criminal activities, family relationships, deception, revenge and more.In the story of 'One Little Lie', when chaos occurs in a small cult commune, a man rushes his daughter out, with a false reason, before anyone can stop them. The pain of that reason stays with them for years to come.Following in her beloved father's footsteps, she earns the respect of many. Is the respect of her father and her deserved?The characters are portrayed so well, one will tend to forget this is fiction. Thee reader will certainly feel he/she is in every scene. The Book Title is chosen well but the Book Cover leaves a lot to be desired. It will surely fail to grab "the browser's" attention. Also, the first few pages felt slightly perplexing, yet kept the reader's curiosity strong.Still, it is such a good story and I offer a Four and a Half Stars rating.*This book was gifted me, with no stipulation for a positive review. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Nola
    January 1, 1970
    Jane Hardy has been appointed police chief of the small community of Pelican Harbor even though she's just shy of her 30th birthday. Her father was the retiring chief and she has a lot to live up to. Not everyone thinks she's up for the job, and she starts to doubt herself, especially with a vigilante on the loose and a murder that's linked to her father. When the FBI arrest him for theft, she runs to his defence, but not everything is as it seems. Jane's task is made even trickier when the Jane Hardy has been appointed police chief of the small community of Pelican Harbor even though she's just shy of her 30th birthday. Her father was the retiring chief and she has a lot to live up to. Not everyone thinks she's up for the job, and she starts to doubt herself, especially with a vigilante on the loose and a murder that's linked to her father. When the FBI arrest him for theft, she runs to his defence, but not everything is as it seems. Jane's task is made even trickier when the mayor gives permission for documentary film maker Reid to tag along with her. He'd previously made a documentary on cults and that was a little too close to home. No one in Pelican Harbour knows that Jane and her father escaped from a cult when she was just 15. Still haunted by what happened on that fateful night, the last thing she wants to do is open up to Reid. Can she trust him or does he have his own agenda for getting close to her? I really enjoyed this latest romantic suspense from Colleen Coble. The main characters were likable, and the issues to do with cults and past secrets were compelling. The faith issues were interesting, as Jane had to grapple with whether she could put her trust in any kind of 'religion' after what she experienced in the cult. I liked the way there wasn't a quick fix.It was pretty easy to work out how Reid's son fit into the picture, but that didn't spoil the story. There was plenty of suspense along the way. I knew it was the first book in a new series, but I was expecting it to be all tied up at the end. Some parts are resolved, but it's an ongoing story. So I got to the last page and went 'aarrgghh! You can't make us wait 'til September to find out what happens!' But I'll be tuning in. If you like romantic suspense, with some deeper issues to do with faith, there's a lot to enjoy in this book.Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nora St Laurent
    January 1, 1970
    One little lie changed the course of Jane Hardys life. One lie Reid Bechtol told and the secrets he kept held him in bondage and made him a target for his ex-wife. Their whole relationship was based on a lie. When would it end? He had to get the courage to face his fears and tell the truth no matter the cost. It would be a big price to pay but it would be worth it not to live the way he has. Always on the run!Jane Hardy couldnt shake the lies she lived with and believed before her father rescued One little lie changed the course of Jane Hardy’s life. One lie Reid Bechtol told and the secrets he kept held him in bondage and made him a target for his ex-wife. Their whole relationship was based on a lie. When would it end? He had to get the courage to face his fears and tell the truth no matter the cost. It would be a big price to pay but it would be worth it not to live the way he has. Always on the run!Jane Hardy couldn’t shake the lies she lived with and believed before her father rescued her from the cult compound they lived in until she was fifteen. What was the truth? Who could she trust? Why wouldn’t her father ever talk about the past?In the middle of getting to know these two Reid Bechtol a well-known creator of in-depth documentaries and Jane Hardy newly appointed Pelican Harbor interim sheriff there is a whirlwind of danger and suspense like this small town has never seen before. Could they crack the case before another murder occurs? Could Jane and Reid find the truth that will set their souls free?I enjoyed this first novel in the Pelican Harbor series. I look forward to hanging out in this small town and with these delightful characters. Next up is Two Reasons to Run available Sept 2020 and the last Three Missing Days available June 2021.The author includes discussion questions for this lively, sweet romantic suspense novel. There is so much to discuss.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”Nora St. LaurentTBCN Where Book Fun Begins!The Book Club Network blog www.psalm516.blogspot.com
    more
  • Julia
    January 1, 1970
    One Little Lie by Colleen Coble is a marvellous contemporary Christian murder suspense. It is the first book in the Pelican Harbor series and what a cracking series that promises to be.The readers heart races as the tension rises. Once again I got completely absorbed in the action. As the body count rose, I totally failed in predicting the outcome.When lives are built on lies, sooner or later there will be a fall as the truth must come out. We must face the consequences and answer for our One Little Lie by Colleen Coble is a marvellous contemporary Christian murder suspense. It is the first book in the Pelican Harbor series and what a cracking series that promises to be.The reader’s heart races as the tension rises. Once again I got completely absorbed in the action. As the body count rose, I totally failed in predicting the outcome.When lives are built on lies, sooner or later there will be a fall as the truth must come out. We must face the consequences and answer for our choices.There is the theme of cults and churches. Cults enforce their wills on people, manipulating and controlling others. They can be dangerous. In contrast churches are safe places when they function as God intended. It is in the church community that we build relationships with each other and with God.Life may have been hard and cause disappointments. In our anger we may turn away from God. “He’s [God] never been there when I needed Him. This is a lie planted by the enemy as Jesus promised never to leave us nor forsake us. Quite the opposite, when we walk away from God, He waits, longing for our return. “She’d left God behind long ago, and she doubted he’d care to hear from her now.” Like the father in the prodigal son, when God welcomes us back to His arms, there is much rejoicing.There is the theme of restoration. God will restore to us the years the locusts have taken. When we turn to God, He can and will heal our past hurts.One Little Lie is an exciting read that will consume. The ending is perfectly poised for book two. You will need to read this book before continuing the series.I received this book for free. A favourable review was not required and all views expressed are my own.
    more
  • Becky Lewis
    January 1, 1970
    A green police chief, vigilante justice, and a town full of secrets. Mixing these together with Colleen Cobles compelling suspense and a dollop of romance brings you One Little Lie, a most excellent police adventure.I really loved the storyline and most of the characters. The jury is still out on a few of them, namely the mayor, whom Im trying to figure out. I did enjoy Jane Hardy and Reid and Will Dixon. Will sounds like one very neat teenager. Jane and Reid work together well. I have to wonder A green police chief, vigilante justice, and a town full of secrets. Mixing these together with Colleen Coble’s compelling suspense and a dollop of romance brings you One Little Lie, a “most excellent” police adventure.I really loved the storyline and most of the characters. The jury is still out on a few of them, namely the mayor, whom I’m trying to figure out. I did enjoy Jane Hardy and Reid and Will Dixon. Will sounds like one very neat teenager. Jane and Reid work together well. I have to wonder about how involved Reid was in the cases, as a civilian. Yet, my mind argues back that real life can be hard to separate into separate columns, and this just solidifies that point.The bay seems to be a little murky and so are so many of the relationships in this faith-filled novel. We see true friendship, bad parenting, misguided parenting, great parenting, and arms that lost the child they should have parented. I can just imagine Jane, if she had a theme song, singing “Lies,” from Jonathan Butler eons ago. The question is, who would she be singing it about? Faith, love, forgiveness, deceit, and revenge all surface in Pelican Harbor. Unfortunately for us, the readers, a neat ending does not. I appreciated Coble’s note that explained her reasoning. I appreciated that we had a “soft” ending, with more to come in the next Pelican Harbor installment ( Two Reasons to Run, coming September 2020), rather than a rushed, messy ending. Definitely a book to pick up, but preferably during daylight hours, with plenty of safe people around.I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and publisher through Celebrate Lit via NetGalley. This does not affect my opinions, which are solely my own.
    more
Write a review