Behind Every Lie
If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

Behind Every Lie Details

TitleBehind Every Lie
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 4th, 2020
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501184048
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Mystery, Mystery Thriller

Behind Every Lie Review

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    I hang on to every word she writes. The follow-up to The Night Olivia Fell is just as tense, compelling, and emotional. Eva Hansen has been struck by lightning and wakes up covered in blood. Her mother was murdered, and Eva has no idea what happened, and why is she covered in blood?Behind Every Lie is filled with twists and turns, and it kept me guessing and on my toes throughout. What’s most special about it, though, is the emotional mother-daughter relationship between Eva and Kat. I I hang on to every word she writes. The follow-up to The Night Olivia Fell is just as tense, compelling, and emotional. ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ Eva Hansen has been struck by lightning and wakes up covered in blood. Her mother was murdered, and Eva has no idea what happened, and why is she covered in blood?Behind Every Lie is filled with twists and turns, and it kept me guessing and on my toes throughout. What’s most special about it, though, is the emotional mother-daughter relationship between Eva and Kat. I actually had to put the book aside because of the place I was in emotionally at the time - it was that visceral, powerful, authentic. I picked the book back up when I was ready, and I hugged it at the end. If you haven’t experienced Christina McDonald’s storytelling, you simply have to. Another five stars for her from me.I received a complimentary copy. All opinions are my own.Many of my reviews can also be found on my blog: www.jennifertarheelreader.com and instagram: www.instagram.com/tarheelreader
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Three more confusing, guilt feeling, my head is about to explode because of overthinking stars!I truly confess, when I read “Night Olivia Fell”, I mostly enjoyed the writing style and the author’s approach of mother and daughter relationship. But I considered that book is an emotional fiction and I didn’t find it mysterious and thrilling enough so I gave three stars which I regretted and thought to write an upgraded review because nothing was irritating about the book. Just I wished to read Three more confusing, guilt feeling, my head is about to explode because of overthinking stars!I truly confess, when I read “Night Olivia Fell”, I mostly enjoyed the writing style and the author’s approach of mother and daughter relationship. But I considered that book is an emotional fiction and I didn’t find it mysterious and thrilling enough so I gave three stars which I regretted and thought to write an upgraded review because nothing was irritating about the book. Just I wished to read something more heart throbbing and juicy. And this new book is more than juicy! It is raw, rare, head spinning kind of twisty, full of surprises but those too much sucker punching, back stabbing, you didn’t see it coming did you moron reader, look I am so smart and you just paralyzed with shock, you cannot even move an inch kind of edgy, stunning, sudden twists are TOO MUCH to absorb. There are so many coincidences. ( I don’t want to give spoilers but Kat’s realization about some important pieces of puzzle depending on remembering the suspicious guy’s watch brand! Because her abuser husband preferred the same brand of watch! Oh come on!!!!!)The story starts with celebration dinner!Eva, her mother Kat, brother Andrew and mother’s bestie, her fairy auntie Lily gather together to raise their glasses for Kat’s heroic act to save an innocent child.We catch glimpses about mother and daughter’s problematic relationship. Eva has a secret about her past that no one believes in her. She keeps the police reports secret from her fiancee and she terrifies her mother can spill the beans so she hesitates to introduce him to her family. And then at the next chapter she finds herself at the hospital bed, STRUCK BY THE LIGHTNING ( yes, you read it right, I don’t know why the author found so extreme solution to punish her character. Without any light striking or natural disaster, Eva may still suffer from amnesia. Her brain may naturally rejects the things happened that night because of heavy traumatic experience she endured.) She finds out her mother stabbed several times and brutally murdered. And she is the prime suspect of the killing! So she needs to gather the lost pieces of her memory but to do it effectively, she needs to face the secrets and lies that her family had carried for years. WHAT I LIKE ABOUT THE BOOK:Two POVED story-telling and impeccable, genuine, natural, well-rounded characterization: Both Kat and Eva suffered from different traumas ( abuse, rape, abandonment, violence, rejection) but they are capable to find their own ways to survive and discover who they are. Both of them are not great examples of heroines. They have flaws, obsessions, insecurities but these attributes help us to empathize them and understand their way of thinking, what they did wrong. WHAT I DON’T LIKE ABOUT IT:There are so many coincidences. I had hard time to understand the motives of the probable killer waiting for so long to avenge. (Because his or her motivation had to depend on something sacred and emotional but this person doesn’t have any of them. So this makes let’ s say him or her a caricatured, artificial “bad guy”!And all of those abuse, suicide, schematic runaway plans, disguises, stalker, obsessive characters are too much for one story. All those materials could be used for two different books!!! We didn’t need so much surprises to engage with the story at all. At the revelation part, all those information makes you feel like you’re hungover from consuming at least 100 tequila and 67 Jagermeister shots (I’m talking from experience, this is my regular girls night out consuming, but I guarantee that next day you crawl and cry at least 7 hours!) or hit by a Christmas tree ( another experience but i did it myself, don’t ask me how! I think those things I drank were not only eggnogs!!!)My spider senses guessed most of the surprises but I still kept repeated: “WHAT? WHAT? WHAT? OH ISN’T IT ENOUGH!”Thankfully after the heroine was struck by the lightning, she wasn’t also crushed by the truck and crumbled under the falling piano coming out of nowhere at the very same night. (I don’t suggest her play lottery! She is unluckiest heroine I’ve ever seen and she may also presumed murderer! Poor Eva! (Some parts of the book I gave hysterical laughs because it turned into an over exaggerated B rated thriller movies!)So I gave three stars but I liked the characters, riveting, fast pacing, high tempo and story telling. If there weren’t so many twists and some simpler solution to solve the mystery, I could happily give more points because the author is brilliant and has so much potential.Special thanks to NetGalley and Gallery, Pocket Books for sharing this ARC COPY with me in exchange for my honest review!
    more
  • Kimberly Belle
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald follows up her smashing debut The Night Olivia Fell with another winner. McDonald starts with a bang, then builds the action steadily, a gradual unfolding of secrets and lies that will have you constantly switching alliances. Read it like I did, in one sitting and straight through to The End, because you won't want to put this one down.
    more
  • Dorie - Cats&Books :)
    January 1, 1970
    **NOW AVAILABLE, DON'T MISS THIS ONE***Do you like twisty, turny plots that make your head spin and unreliable narrators? Then this is the book for you!! This is the first book that I have read by this author. Eva is the ultimate unreliable narrator as she has been struck by lightning and can’t remember much, if anything, about the night that her mother was murdered, along with an unnamed man. She was, however, found by the police not very far from her mother’s house, outside in the storm, **NOW AVAILABLE, DON'T MISS THIS ONE***Do you like twisty, turny plots that make your head spin and unreliable narrators? Then this is the book for you!! This is the first book that I have read by this author. Eva is the ultimate unreliable narrator as she has been struck by lightning and can’t remember much, if anything, about the night that her mother was murdered, along with an unnamed man. She was, however, found by the police not very far from her mother’s house, outside in the storm, known to have been struck by lightning. When hospitalized she is unconscious at first, unable to speak and in an incredible amount of pain. She also exhibited red, feathery lines on her arm, defined by Wikipedia as follows “90% of those struck by lightning survive, the electrical discharge scars some of them with a tattoo-like mark, known as the Lichtenberg figure. ... The blistering heat, light, and electricity can also damage your eyes.” Eva can only remember going out to dinner with her mother, Kat, Lily, her mother’s best friend and her brother Andrew, in honor of her mother receiving an award for saving a child’s life.The rest is a blur of flashes in her memory.The police consider Eva a suspect but in her mind she is quite certain she didn’t kill her mother though she has some disturbing flashbacks at times. She leaves the hospital, against the doctor’s advice, with her fiance, Liam, to his secluded home. This novel is told from two points of view, Eva’s, and Kat, her mother. It is also told in two storylines, the past, told through Kat’s voice, and the present, Eva’s voice. This can be confusing at first, but hang in there and all will be explained by the end. Eva also travels to London where she believes there are clues to unravel her history and this murder, so you have two cities where the novel takes place. London was Kat’s home before settling in Seattle. Everyone has secrets, including Eva and her relationship with her mother had at times been rocky, they have very different personalities. Eva felt “I couldn’t trust anything. Not what I remembered, not what I thought I saw, Not myself.”I enjoyed this book because it really kept me guessing until the end. There are a multitude of characters, including; Eva, Kat, Lily, Liam and Jacob, her childhood friend. This is one of those books that would be best read in several consecutive sittings, at least that was the only way that I could keep track of what was going on.This was a 4 ½ star rounded down to a 4 because you really have to suspend some belief because of the large cast of characters and the multitude of puzzle pieces that must come together for a resolution. I would still recommend this book to mystery/thriller readers who like an intricately plotted novel. I look forward to the next novel from this author.I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss.The novel is set to publish on February 4, 2020. This was a Traveling Sisters read.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    Eva Hansen woke up in a hospital after being struck by lightning and was told that her Mother, Katherine had been murdered. Eva was found unconscious on the street and is now being questioned by the police. With no memory of that night, she is determined to learn that truth. This is not the first time in her life, that her memory has failed her. She had another traumatic night in her past and had only a vague memory of that event. Is she an unreliable narrator, or has the lightening affected her Eva Hansen woke up in a hospital after being struck by lightning and was told that her Mother, Katherine had been murdered. Eva was found unconscious on the street and is now being questioned by the police. With no memory of that night, she is determined to learn that truth. This is not the first time in her life, that her memory has failed her. She had another traumatic night in her past and had only a vague memory of that event. Is she an unreliable narrator, or has the lightening affected her memory as her treating physician said it could? If lightning is affecting her memory in the present, what caused her lack of memory in the past?This book is told through both Kat (Katherine) and Eva's POV. We get to learn what each woman is thinking and what/if any her secrets are. As the book progresses, we learn more about each woman's history and learn some family secrets. There are some twists and turns in this book and some coincidences. I had high hopes for this book after reading The Night Olivia Fell and found this one to be enjoyable but it didn't blow me away as The Night Olivia Fell did. Like other reviewers, I felt as if the author threw everything but the kitchen sink at Eva. But what I did enjoy is that I learned some things about the side effects of being struck by lightning and enjoyed the POV's of each woman. I also like that she did have me guessing about whodunit. I changed my mind several times while reading. I also enjoyed the fast pace of this book. It did make for a fast read.*I'm teetering between a 3 and 3.5 starsThank you to Gallery, Pocket books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.**This was a Traveling Sisters Group Read
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister and proud Grandma!!!
    January 1, 1970
    Unsettling, illuminating & wholly absorbing!BEHIND EVERY LIE by CHRISTINA MCDONALD has quite the opening scene and a premise that definitely hooked me and kept me entertained and completely invested in. It was such an emotionally intense, suspenseful, enjoyable, and entertaining mother-daughter domestic thriller. It is packed full of drama and atmosphere. The vivid descriptions added to the tension for me and definitely helped to set the mood.CHRISTINA MCDONALD delivers a complex, Unsettling, illuminating & wholly absorbing!BEHIND EVERY LIE by CHRISTINA MCDONALD has quite the opening scene and a premise that definitely hooked me and kept me entertained and completely invested in. It was such an emotionally intense, suspenseful, enjoyable, and entertaining mother-daughter domestic thriller. It is packed full of drama and atmosphere. The vivid descriptions added to the tension for me and definitely helped to set the mood.CHRISTINA MCDONALD delivers a complex, captivating, dark, character-driven, gripping, intriguing and well-written read here that is told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s after being hit by lightning and Kat’s mysterious past. I thoroughly enjoyed our main character here and it was extremely fun trying to figure out if her memory was affected by being struck by lightning or if there was something else going on here. My absolute favourite is an unreliable character.I absolutely love it when a book starts out with a bang and has plenty of questions for us to ponder but gives me this firm grasp that I know exactly where the story is headed. These types of stories are so satisfying for me as I like it when an author guides us to the conclusion and then throws in a surprising twist ending that totally works then I’m one happy reader. She writes these emotionally-charged stories that taps right into all your emotions as well as this deep sense of foreboding to make it quite the suspenseful storytelling.Norma’s Stats:Cover: Impending doom, ominous, foreboding, haunting, eye-catching and a fitting representation to storyline. Title: Intriguing, suspenseful, affecting and an extremely fitting representation to storyline.Writing/Prose: Engaging, taut, readable, beautiful, and well-written.Plot: Steadily-paced, complex, fascinating, foreboding, vivid, atmospheric, suspenseful, and moving.Ending: A dazzling, clever, and twist ending that was extremely satisfying! There were some aspects to the storyline that I felt were easy to predict but that ending totally took me by surprise!Overall: An emotionally charged & intriguing storyline, realistic & believable familial dynamics, and a well-crafted & intense mystery. Would highly recommend!Expected Publishing Date: February 4, 2020Thank you so much to Christina McDonald for gifting me a copy of your book ! It was an absolute pleasure reading this novel and I LOVED the reading experience!
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction novel. I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut-the I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction novel. I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut-the more realistic dialogue, the anguish....The “GOODBYES” in this book seemed too easy- the characters didn’t seem to feel any loss or pain.This book required the reader to SUSPEND DISBELIEF.I don’t do well with that. At all. But, as you can see from the many 5 star reviews, there are definitely readers who have no problem doing that! Perhaps YOU will be one of those readers?? Many thanks to Netgalley, Gallery Books and Christina McDonald for the digital ARC I received in exchange for a candid review. This title will be released on Feb. 4, 2020.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald pulled my heartstrings every which way with her emotional mystery The Night Olivia Fell. Now she is giving us a suspenseful thriller about a woman who wakes up from having been struck by lightning and finding out that her mother has been murdered. Eva has vague and confusing thoughts about having been with her mother when she was murdered, with blood everywhere, including on Eva's own hands and now a detective is hounding her for the details of that night. But just like the Christina McDonald pulled my heartstrings every which way with her emotional mystery The Night Olivia Fell. Now she is giving us a suspenseful thriller about a woman who wakes up from having been struck by lightning and finding out that her mother has been murdered. Eva has vague and confusing thoughts about having been with her mother when she was murdered, with blood everywhere, including on Eva's own hands and now a detective is hounding her for the details of that night. But just like the time Eva experienced another traumatic event in her life, she can't remember what happened that night. The story is told from the viewpoints of Eva and her mother Kat. There are so many coincidences (or are they coincidences?), shocks, twists, mysteries, piled on, one after another, that I wasn't able to enjoy the ride with this story. So very much happened to Eva (and her mom Kat) that I was waiting for them all to get struck by lightning (twice for Eva), with lightning flashing behind characters at critical moments. But rest assured, even if Eva didn't get struck by lightning twice, about every other bad thing that could happen to a person did happen to her. It all was more than a bit too much for me. Even so, I want to thank the author for taking good care of the cat. Thank you to Gallery, Pocket Books and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Brenda -Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    It’s no secret how much I love Christina McDonald. She is one of the kindest authors out there who loves to share her time with her readers. We had the pleasure of her joining us twice for an author Q & A. She joined us in our Behind the Pages Goodreads group and talked a bit about Behind Every Lie. At that time, I hadn’t read Behind Every Lie. To view the Q & A https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...I loved The Night Olivia Fell and highly recommend if you haven’t read that one to read It’s no secret how much I love Christina McDonald. She is one of the kindest authors out there who loves to share her time with her readers. We had the pleasure of her joining us twice for an author Q & A. She joined us in our Behind the Pages Goodreads group and talked a bit about Behind Every Lie. At that time, I hadn’t read Behind Every Lie. To view the Q & A https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...I loved The Night Olivia Fell and highly recommend if you haven’t read that one to read it. It’s one not to be missed. Behind Every Lie is quite a bit different from The Night Olivia Fell and it’s best going into it knowing that and trying not to compare the two. I found The Night Olivia Fell to have more emotional depth to it and Behind Every Lie to be a twisty and suspenseful mystery with unreliable characters.Behind Every Lie is a domestic thriller with all the elements that make for a readable, fast-paced, intense and suspenseful one. The characters are unreliable and interesting and left me guessing who to trust and not. There is quite of bit of drama here that left my head spinning and I felt like I was doing the twist with those layered twists and turns in all that drama. There are a few things explored here within this mystery and the mother-daughter relationship and there is plenty to unpack here with the secrets and lies that add some tension to the story.I received a copy to read and review from Christina McDonald.Our reviews can be found on a blog https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/2...Our Q & A on our blog https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/2...
    more
  • Barbara
    January 1, 1970
    Eva Hanson, who lives in Whidbey Island, Washington, makes and sells beautiful decorative pottery. Whidbey IslandHowever Eva is reluctant to exhibit her artwork in nearby Seattle, partly because of a terrible trauma she suffered a few years ago, which caused self-doubt and distrust. Eva now relies heavily on her fiancé Liam to take care of the bumps in her life, and Liam - a take charge kind of guy who works as property developer - is happy to do it.Given her nervous disposition, Eva is REALLY Eva Hanson, who lives in Whidbey Island, Washington, makes and sells beautiful decorative pottery. Whidbey IslandHowever Eva is reluctant to exhibit her artwork in nearby Seattle, partly because of a terrible trauma she suffered a few years ago, which caused self-doubt and distrust. Eva now relies heavily on her fiancé Liam to take care of the bumps in her life, and Liam - a take charge kind of guy who works as property developer - is happy to do it.Given her nervous disposition, Eva is REALLY disquieted when she wakes up in a hospital after being struck by lightning. Worse yet, Police Detective Kent Jackson tells Eva that her mother Kat was brutally murdered last night, and he makes it clear that Eva is a suspect.Eva knows she was at her mom's house yesterday evening, but has no memory of what happened beyond flashes of a bloody scene and a knife in her hand, which she (smartly) doesn't mention to the cop.Though Eva is woozy - and has amnesia, a lump on her head, and blistered feathery markings covering her arm (lightning-induced Lichtenberg figures) - she leaves the hospital and makes her way to her mother's house. Lichtenberg figuresThere Eva finds a letter that sends her haring off to London, where her mom Kat lived until she came to the United States.Detective Jackson calls Eva in London, with threats to have her arrested by Interpol, but Eva refuses to return to Washington until she's completed her inquiries. And Eva makes some startling discoveries before she returns home, where she just might have to face a murder charge. The story alternates back and forth between accounts of the past narrated by Kat, and sections about Eva's life now. It turns out that all the main protagonists in the book have big secrets, which are unveiled one by one as the story unfolds. Other characters in the story include Eva's brother Andrew; Eva's fellow artist Melissa; Eva's childhood friend and neighbor Jacob; Kat's British employer Rose; and various men important to the tale.The book is fast moving with plenty of action, but I do have a few quibbles. First, I dislike stories that feature a female who puts up with a man like Liam, who expects her to defer to him about everything. Eva was too weak and submissive for a good part of the book - prattling on about how strong and reliable Liam was - and this irritated me.Second, there are several occasions when characters make stunning discoveries, or make life-changing decisions.....and they don't have a dramatic response. It seems like they think, "Oh really," and calmly go on with their lives. This seems unrealistic.That said, this is an enjoyable mystery/thriller. Recommended to fans of the genre.Thanks to Netgalley, the author (Christina McDonald), and the publisher (Gallery Books) for a copy of the book.You can follow my reviews at https://reviewsbybarbsaffer.blogspot....
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars. I loved the suspense & with so many twists and turns I spent a majority of the book sitting on the edge of my seat! Excited for & moving up next, The Night Olivia Fell Thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Releasing February 2020. 5 stars. I loved the suspense & with so many twists and turns I spent a majority of the book sitting on the edge of my seat! ❥ Excited for & moving up next, The Night Olivia Fell 👍🏻Thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Releasing February 2020.
    more
  • Aga Durka
    January 1, 1970
    Maybe it is unfair to review a book based on the comparison to another book by the same author, but The Night Olivia Fell was such a wonderful and emotional debut novel that there is no way I can’t compare Behind Every Lie to it. As I mentioned above, Christina McDonald’s debut novel made such an impression on me that I was extremely excited to get my hands on an ARC copy of her new book. Unfortunately, Behind Every Lie did not live up to my expectations, which is OK, because it was still a 4 Maybe it is unfair to review a book based on the comparison to another book by the same author, but The Night Olivia Fell was such a wonderful and emotional debut novel that there is no way I can’t compare Behind Every Lie to it. As I mentioned above, Christina McDonald’s debut novel made such an impression on me that I was extremely excited to get my hands on an ARC copy of her new book. Unfortunately, Behind Every Lie did not live up to my expectations, which is OK, because it was still a 4 solid stars read for me. What I missed in this book were the well-developed characters and the emotional connection I felt to them. Yes, I do understand that this book was more of a suspense/thriller read, and maybe that’s why the plot was so twisted, shocking, and required for me to suspend disbelief to fully enjoy it, but the lack of characters’ emotions to what was happening to them was a little off-putting. In the end, this was still an enjoyable read, and I am Christina McDonalds’s fan for life which means I will be impatiently waiting for her new book.Thank you NetGalley, Gallery Books, and the author for providing me with and ARC copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    I'm gonna be honest here.......Behind Every Lie is somewhat like a tossed salad in which you crouch in front of the refrigerator and throw in every ingredient within your reach. Doesn't matter if it's palatable. Just flip it into the bowl and give it a good toss.Christina McDonald introduces us to Eva Hansen, a talented potter who rents space at the Crafted Artisan on Whidbey Island near Seattle. Life seems to be going well as Eva is newly engaged to the handsome Liam Sullivan, a successful I'm gonna be honest here.......Behind Every Lie is somewhat like a tossed salad in which you crouch in front of the refrigerator and throw in every ingredient within your reach. Doesn't matter if it's palatable. Just flip it into the bowl and give it a good toss.Christina McDonald introduces us to Eva Hansen, a talented potter who rents space at the Crafted Artisan on Whidbey Island near Seattle. Life seems to be going well as Eva is newly engaged to the handsome Liam Sullivan, a successful property developer in the Seattle area. As readers, we will soon come to find that bad mojo sticks to Eva like velcro in its grasp. McDonald takes us into an early chapter in which Eva is caught out in a hail storm one evening stumbling in the darkness as she's covered in blood. But whose blood is it and why can't she remember where she's been and what has just transpired? A lightning bolt finds its target on Eva's back and she slams to the sidewalk in a blackout.Next scene is in the hospital where Eva is recovering. She's just been told her mother was murdered that night. Police gonna be givin' ol' Eva the side-eye from now on. Her fiance Liam can't make sense of it either.Then McDonald flips us back twenty-five years earlier to London where we begin to lock in on Eva's mother, Kat. That's where this novel begins to ooze out all those lies mentioned in the title. In fact, the whole book is wallpapered in lies until the ending. Bring a rake.I found McDonald's earlier novel, The Night Olivia Fell, to be quite good. That's why I was so excited to pick this one up. Behind Every Lie seems to suffer from overkill and from the weight of trying to keep the reader at a panting level throughout the read. We trip over too many threads and too many implausible situations that don't mesh well. Hitchcock kept his viewers so engaged and transfixed on a simple thread that the unexpected was exactly that. Too much is just too much.I'd like to see what Christina McDonald has in store for the next one. I received a copy of this book for an honest review. My thanks to Gallery Books (Simon & Schuster) and to Christina McDonald for the opportunity.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 lightning-struck stars This complex thriller kept me guessing! Just when I thought I had some things figured out, there was another twist.It’s a great opening premise, the main character, Eva, is in the hospital after being struck by lightning. Her mother was murdered the same night and Eva can’t remember anything. This frustrates both the police and Eva. All the clues point to Eva being at the house that night, but is she guilty of the crime? Eva sets out to discover the truth, including a 4.5 lightning-struck stars This complex thriller kept me guessing! Just when I thought I had some things figured out, there was another twist.It’s a great opening premise, the main character, Eva, is in the hospital after being struck by lightning. Her mother was murdered the same night and Eva can’t remember anything. This frustrates both the police and Eva. All the clues point to Eva being at the house that night, but is she guilty of the crime? Eva sets out to discover the truth, including a visit to London, her mother’s original hometown.Along the way, the reader isn’t sure if her paranoia and strange behavior are symptoms of the lightning strike or is Eva pretending that she can’t remember? I didn’t quite know who to trust and there was quite the web of deceit! Some secrets are buried very deep for good reason.There is an alternating storyline with Eva’s mother from the past and we start to get some clues that there are secrets in Kat’s life and it seems that someone doesn’t want Eva digging too much into the past. As Eva digs deeper and some memories start to return, the story builds to a stunning conclusion that I did not predict!This is another mother-daughter domestic tale from Christina McDonald that I truly enjoyed. The pacing was excellent, and it is definitely a page-turner.Thank you to Christina McDonald, Gallery/Pocket Books and NetGalley for an early copy of the book to read in return for an honest review. This one is out 2.4.2020
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    Brilliant, tense, addictive, and memorable! Christina McDonald has done it again... this book was as thrilling as her first book was emotional.The Night Olivia Fell sits proudly on my favorites shelf where I will be placing this book as well. Both Olivia and this book focus on the mother daughter relationship. Olivia was a raw emotionally charged story, this book is more of a pulse pounding edge of your seat thriller. Both books were so compelling yet very different. I think this shows the Brilliant, tense, addictive, and memorable! Christina McDonald has done it again... this book was as thrilling as her first book was emotional.The Night Olivia Fell sits proudly on my favorites shelf where I will be placing this book as well. Both Olivia and this book focus on the mother daughter relationship. Olivia was a raw emotionally charged story, this book is more of a pulse pounding edge of your seat thriller. Both books were so compelling yet very different. I think this shows the strength of Christina‘s marvelous storytelling. Eva wakes up in the hospital to find out she has been struck by lightning and that her mother has been murdered. She has no recollection of the night before, no idea how she ended up out on the street without her coat near her mothers house in a rain storm, and how she ended up covered in blood. There is no way she had anything to do with the murder of her mother.... right? Oh boy what a wild ride! The story is told from two alternating perspectives Eva trying to figure out what happened in the present and her mother Katharine in the past. It looks as though Katharine has some explaining to do. Has Katharine’s past caugh up with her? Was it the secrets she’s been trying so hard to hide that led to her murder? This is a fast paced thriller that will have you tearing through the pages needing to know what is going on. Eva is a great unreliable narrator and I loved puzzling this story together with her. The story has so much atmosphere that added to the overall tension of the plot. There were so many times I was so worried about the safety of Eva (The girl was not listening to my warnings, anyone else talk to their books?). Such a captivating tale, cannot wait to see what is next up from Christina McDonald.This book in emojis⚡️ 🔪 🧸 👩‍👧Behind every "Truth" there is always a "Lie", Behind every " Lie" there is always a "Reason", and behind every " Reason" there is always a "Person"....shujoy chowdhury *** Big thank you to Gallery for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***
    more
  • Jamie beauty_andthebook_
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsIf you have read The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald last year, you probably have expectations about Behind Every Lie. BEL is a totally different kind of book - more confused woman can't remember a terrible crime she may have committed and less emotional heartwrenching suspense. Told in alternating perspectives and timelines, we learn whether Eva Hansen is really responsible for her own mother's death and how exactly this came into question in the first place! Behind Every Lie 3.5 StarsIf you have read The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald last year, you probably have expectations about Behind Every Lie. BEL is a totally different kind of book - more confused woman can't remember a terrible crime she may have committed and less emotional heartwrenching suspense. Told in alternating perspectives and timelines, we learn whether Eva Hansen is really responsible for her own mother's death and how exactly this came into question in the first place! Behind Every Lie was fast paced and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. However, a lot of it was just too farfetched for me and took away some of my enjoyment. Overall, still an enjoyable read, but lacking the emotional component I loved in her prior work.Thank you to Gallery books for an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Chris C - A Midlife Wife
    January 1, 1970
    Amazing story of murder, mind tricks, gaslighting, strength, and healing. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~It must be difficult to be an author. You’re often compared to your last work regardless of what you put out. I try not to be a reviewer that compares work to work as each individual novel stands on its own.However, I do tend to go into a story half expecting a similar outcome or a similar story and theme. The story was so much more than I expected.Written with short chapters that flash between past and Amazing story of murder, mind tricks, gaslighting, strength, and healing. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~It must be difficult to be an author. You’re often compared to your last work regardless of what you put out. I try not to be a reviewer that compares work to work as each individual novel stands on its own.However, I do tend to go into a story half expecting a similar outcome or a similar story and theme. The story was so much more than I expected.Written with short chapters that flash between past and present, mother and daughter, we piece together the truth or what we expect is the truth as the story goes along.This is a type of psychological thriller that offers so many possibilities as to how the story could go that you easily get completely caught up. Everyone seems suspect and it’s tough to determine what the real story is and what is the lie.And when those lies start coming to a head, several of them will catch you by surprise.McDonald killed it with Behind Every Lie. Intense, intriguing, and highly illuminating when it comes to what people will do for love. Murder, mind tricks, gaslighting, secrets, trust, strength, and healing. Complex layers of emotion wraps you up tight and does not let up until the end.Fabulous story with so many surprises along the way!* copy received for review considerationFull Review - https://amidlifewife.com/behind-every...
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places. -Ernest Hemingway, A Farewell to Arms 3.5 stars rounded down Christina McDonald has once again weaved together a fast-paced mother/daughter tale which examines those complicated, familial bonds. Behind Every Lie is a good story, but unlike The Night Olivia Fell, it's not a great story. Told from the dual perspectives of Kat and Eva, the reader is submerged into decades of trauma and abuse. While there are some The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places. -Ernest Hemingway, A Farewell to Arms 3.5 stars rounded down Christina McDonald has once again weaved together a fast-paced mother/daughter tale which examines those complicated, familial bonds. Behind Every Lie is a good story, but unlike The Night Olivia Fell, it's not a great story. Told from the dual perspectives of Kat and Eva, the reader is submerged into decades of trauma and abuse. While there are some beautifully done metaphors scattered throughout, the whole of the story felt a little too extreme and contrived (Eva was struck by lightning minutes after her mother was murdered, for Pete's sake). Further, while it's likely due to my unedited copy of the novel, I did find a couple timeline/plot hole errors which bothered me. There was very little character development, and the relationship between the characters seemed glaringly lacking. Those beautiful, meaningful relationships was one of the highlights of The Night Olivia Fell. It's unfortunate they were missing here.While I wasn't able to completely untangle the web of lies and deceit, I did find the antagonist to be fairly obvious very early on. Regardless of my nitpicking, this story is still a helluva ride...and I believe any fan of the suspense genre will find it well worth their time. **Thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    AHHHHHHHH a covvvvvverrrrrrr! it's soooo pretty******************aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh there is a titlee
  • Talon
    January 1, 1970
    I just know Christina McDonald is forever an author that I will always automatically read. So far as I finish up her second book-- Ilove how she creates such dynamic mother / daughter relationship stories. The type of relationships that don't often seem as they appear. The deeper you dig, the more you find out about not just one character but each one.I think my absolute FAVE part of this entire book was the way it was written. I loved the past and present POV's and how it wove the story I just know Christina McDonald is forever an author that I will always automatically read. So far as I finish up her second book-- I love how she creates such dynamic mother / daughter relationship stories. The type of relationships that don't often seem as they appear. The deeper you dig, the more you find out about not just one character but each one.I think my absolute FAVE part of this entire book was the way it was written. I loved the past and present POV's and how it wove the story together. I particularly enjoyed knowing what was going on and then turning around and watching Eva unfold it all. I thought the story-line as a whole was nicely paced. Not too rushed - not too slow.Literally there was twist after twist after twist. Now, it may not blow your mind and you may sit there and say "yeah, I knew that was coming" but you know what? Maybe that is true. But I think if you're like me, you'll still appreciate how believable and real it all seemed. No matter if you're the type of reader who enjoys being surprised or even if you are the reader who can see a story-line coming from two miles away, I think every type of reader will enjoy this book. I enjoy the way Christina McDonald makes us see the things that we do when we read her books. I am most definitely a forever fan.
    more
  • CloudOfThoughts_Books Keirstin
    January 1, 1970
    Behind Every Lie by author Christina McDonald is another thrill of a book! She catches us off guard in the best way possible and throws us through a great thriller novel! Loved this and absolutely recommend! Full review to come closer to release date. Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for an arc copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book.-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction book.I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut., the I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book.-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction book.I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut., the more realistic dialogue, the anguish....The “GOODBYES” in this book seemed too easy. the characters didn’t seem to feel any loss or pain.This book required the reader to SUSPEND DISBELIEF, the entire time. I don’t do well with that. At all. But, as you can see from the many 5 star reviews, there are definitely readers who have no problem doing that! Perhaps YOU will be one of those readers?? Many thanks to Netgalley, Gallery Books and Christina McDonald for the digital ARC I received in exchange for a candid review. This title will be released on Feb. 4, 2020.
    more
  • Monika Sadowski
    January 1, 1970
    This novel was so good. I couldn’t stop reading it. So much action, all the mysteries, lies, complicated past. None of the characters is left without some secret around him. All the pieces of the puzzle were unfolding till the last page. Great job Christina McDonald. I am waiting for more books to be written by you.*I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Ludwig
    January 1, 1970
    In Behind Every Lie, McDonald catches us off guard on the very first page, and throws us into an unexpected moment of perturbation, providing an immediate adrenaline rush with a cinematic, heart-thudding, bloody scene. Eva was struck by lightning, they tell her, but that isn't the worst of it - Eva might've been the one who killed her own mother.The author's writing is taut and focused, writing more for suspenseful depth and atmosphere than speed - still managing to provide a pacy, entertaining In Behind Every Lie, McDonald catches us off guard on the very first page, and throws us into an unexpected moment of perturbation, providing an immediate adrenaline rush with a cinematic, heart-thudding, bloody scene. Eva was struck by lightning, they tell her, but that isn't the worst of it - Eva might've been the one who killed her own mother.The author's writing is taut and focused, writing more for suspenseful depth and atmosphere than speed - still managing to provide a pacy, entertaining storyline as she dares bring dark subject matters to the table (sexual assault, domestic abuse, the intricacies of memory...). She crafts her characters in a way it's easy for us to become familiar with them and their inner psyches, then instantly bond with them. Especially Eva. It's one thing to try and get back an expunged memory but it's another to let that be the inductor of a past trauma that made you struggle with self-trust and self-perception. Eva Hansen's journey makes us feel excitement, intrigue and fury as light and darkness, evil and vulnerability, snake their way into the plot, all the way towards the end where everything is wrapped up in a clever conclusion, like a puzzle coming together with a startling click.Motherhood-related thrillers have known an observable growth over the years, but Behind Every Lie proves to be competently made and more skillful than its predecessors.
    more
  • Basic B's Guide
    January 1, 1970
    McDonald knows the way to a Mamas heart so the fact that #notyomamasbookclub picked this is as their February pick is perfect. Behind Every Lie was a super quick read albeit predictable. Unfortunately, I think there were just too many breadcrumbs left behind in this story and an unreliable narrator is also a tough one being that we’ve seen this played many times before. I’m anxious to see what ya’ll think and if I’m just that good at predicting plot twists . McDonald knows the way to a Mamas heart so the fact that #notyomamasbookclub picked this is as their February pick is perfect. Behind Every Lie was a super quick read albeit predictable. Unfortunately, I think there were just too many breadcrumbs left behind in this story and an unreliable narrator is also a tough one being that we’ve seen this played many times before. I’m anxious to see what ya’ll think and if I’m just that good at predicting plot twists 😉.
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    Eva is determined to clear her name when she is suspected of killing her mother. On the night of her mother's murder, Eva was struck by lightning, and she doesn't remember anything from that night. As Eva tries to discover what happened that night, she learns her mother had secrets.Told with alternating points of view - Eva and Kat, Eva's mother. Eva's story is told in the present day, while Kat's story tells about the past. Eva is an unreliable narrator, since she's been struck by lightning and Eva is determined to clear her name when she is suspected of killing her mother. On the night of her mother's murder, Eva was struck by lightning, and she doesn't remember anything from that night. As Eva tries to discover what happened that night, she learns her mother had secrets.Told with alternating points of view - Eva and Kat, Eva's mother. Eva's story is told in the present day, while Kat's story tells about the past. Eva is an unreliable narrator, since she's been struck by lightning and can't remember what happened the night of her mother's death. Eva does have vague memories of being with her mother, but it's unclear what happened that night.Every person in this book is keeping secrets and telling lies, so Behind Every Lie is an apt title for this book. There is a complicated backstory and a lot of twists and turns. An entertaining read for fans of psychological thrillers. Suspenseful, dramatic, and intense.I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Booksandchinooks (Laurie)
    January 1, 1970
    Last year I read this author’s previous book, The Night Olivia Fell, and it was one of my favourite books of 2019. I was really looking forward to reading the new book by this author. Eva wakes up in the hospital and is told she was struck by lightning. She learns her mother, Kat, was murdered nearby from where Eva is found. Eva quickly becomes a suspect but the night is a blur to her. She starts trying to solve what happened before she is arrested. As she begins to find out more about her Last year I read this author’s previous book, The Night Olivia Fell, and it was one of my favourite books of 2019. I was really looking forward to reading the new book by this author. Eva wakes up in the hospital and is told she was struck by lightning. She learns her mother, Kat, was murdered nearby from where Eva is found. Eva quickly becomes a suspect but the night is a blur to her. She starts trying to solve what happened before she is arrested. As she begins to find out more about her mother’s past she quickly heads to London to discover more information about their life before moving to the US. The story is told by Eva and we also learn details of Kat’s past. Eva begins to see moments from the fateful night that her mother died and wonders if she did in fact kill her mother. As Eva continues to search for clues and to try and remember how her mother died she also finds out many things about her mother and even herself that are a shock. There are some great twists and turns for Eva. This was another book that I thoroughly enjoyed.
    more
  • Jenna Bookish
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Gallery Books and NetGalley for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher.This is yet another review that I must preface by saying I'm in the minority opinion when it comes to this book. At the time of this writing, it has a perfectly respectable 4.16 average on Goodreads, so maybe I was just the wrong reader for this book. I read McDonald's last novel,The Night Olivia Fell,and had a My thanks to Gallery Books and NetGalley for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher. This is yet another review that I must preface by saying I'm in the minority opinion when it comes to this book. At the time of this writing, it has a perfectly respectable 4.16 average on Goodreads, so maybe I was just the wrong reader for this book. I read McDonald's last novel, The Night Olivia Fell, and had a pretty mediocre experience with that book. I thought I'd give her writing a second chance, because a big part of my problem with The Night Olivia Fell was that it bore a pretty stunning similarity to another book I'd already read, leaving the whole book feeling like watching a rerun of a crime drama. After reading Behind Every Lie, however, I think it's clear that this author's work just isn't for me. Soooo, take this review with a grain of salt, I guess. For starters, the novel felt like a bit of a jumble of over-used tropes. I'll omit discussing some of them here to avoid getting into spoiler territory, but I can talk freely about the amnesia as that's discussed in the synopsis. We have a protagonist in a thriller suspected of murder who can't defend herself because she has no memory of the night in question. Familiar tropes like this can be fun and offer a great way to subvert the reader's expectations by doing something new and fresh with it. McDonald really didn't do that (unless you count the novelty of amnesia brought on by a lightning strike, I guess. Bonus points for that?)This is also yet another thriller with a middle class, white, female protagonist whose boyfriend/husband is clearly terrible, hyper-controlling, and suspect from the very beginning of the story. Whether the significant other is actually guilty of anything (and in 90% of these thrillers, he is) this dynamic has just gotten terribly boring. I feel like I've read about the same couple over and over and over, existing in slightly diverging parallel universes. Finally, there is a sub-plot which emerges in the flashback scenes (told from her mother's point of view) which is too predictable to every hold any tension. I really wanted to like this book. If you've read this author's other work and enjoyed it, don't let me dissuade you, but I think it's safe to say this will be my last Christina McDonald novel.You can read all of my reviews on my blog, Jenna Bookish!Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr 
    more
  • booksbikesbooze
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars!WOW, Christina McDonald does it again with the follow up to her debut book The Night Olivia Fell!When I read The Night Olivia Fell earlier in 2019, it was the first time a thriller/mystery made me tear up; I was balling through the last few chapters, and immediately knew I had to give this book to my mom. (A book that will resonate for ANY mother or daughter). When I heard of MacDonald’s 2nd book Behind Every Lie the anticipation began!I was lucky enough to get my hands on an early ARC, 5 stars!WOW, Christina McDonald does it again with the follow up to her debut book The Night Olivia Fell!When I read The Night Olivia Fell earlier in 2019, it was the first time a thriller/mystery made me tear up; I was balling through the last few chapters, and immediately knew I had to give this book to my mom. (A book that will resonate for ANY mother or daughter). When I heard of MacDonald’s 2nd book Behind Every Lie the anticipation began!I was lucky enough to get my hands on an early ARC, and although this won’t be released until February 2020, I couldn’t wait to read it any longer. (Thank you @gallerybooks).MacDonald has a way of writing that captivates her reader and I instantly felt invested and connected to these characters. Her mother/daughter relationships are passionate and deeply thought out. Behind Every Lie was a fast-paced, alternating POV and timeline between Kat (25 yrs ago) and Eva (present time). The short, heart pounding chapters, allowed for me to finish this in just two sittings. The puzzle pieces started fitting together midway through, but still left some very unexpected shocks toward the end!If you were a fan of The Night Olivia Fell, you will NOT be disappointed with her latest. If this isn’t already on your 2020 #tbr list, ADD ASAP!
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    This is the 2nd book by this author. I loved her first book “The Night Olivia Fell” that I was excited when I was approved by NetGalley to get this one ahead of publication. I might be the only one but I was a bit confused throughout the beginning of the book. Flashbacks to 25 years ago, then, now ... you get the picture. I was really wanting to like this book more than I did but it fell flat in certain spots and it didn’t leave a lasting impression. For that reason I’m giving it 3 stars. Thanks This is the 2nd book by this author. I loved her first book “The Night Olivia Fell” that I was excited when I was approved by NetGalley to get this one ahead of publication. I might be the only one but I was a bit confused throughout the beginning of the book. Flashbacks to 25 years ago, then, now ... you get the picture. I was really wanting to like this book more than I did but it fell flat in certain spots and it didn’t leave a lasting impression. For that reason I’m giving it 3 stars. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this book for my honest review.
    more
Write a review