Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It's assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney's ghoulish predictions seriously?

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3) Details

TitleHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
Author
FormatMass Market Paperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 1st, 2004
PublisherScholastic Inc.
ISBN043965548X
ISBN-139780439655484
Number of pages435 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Magic, Childrens, Adventure, Science Fiction Fantasy, Classics, Middle Grade, Audiobook

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3) Review

  • Inge
    September 12, 2011
    This is a Weasley appreciation post.
  • Zoë
    June 9, 2012
    “Don't let the muggles get you down.” Yup yup yup I love this book.
  • Raeleen Lemay
    June 26, 2010
    re-read in February 2016Harry is getting his sass on. I love it. Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas to YouOH MAN. THIS BOOK IS SO MY FAVORITE.The phone conversation at the beginning between Ron and Uncle Vernon was PRICELESS. I wish so much that that scene had been in the movie.I was so into reading this book that I failed to take notes, so I don't have many specifics to add except that I love how Crookshanks was basically Sirius's secret agent spy cat friend and I LOVE THAT.Also, this re-read in February 2016Harry is getting his sass on. I love it. Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas to YouOH MAN. THIS BOOK IS SO MY FAVORITE.The phone conversation at the beginning between Ron and Uncle Vernon was PRICELESS. I wish so much that that scene had been in the movie.I was so into reading this book that I failed to take notes, so I don't have many specifics to add except that I love how Crookshanks was basically Sirius's secret agent spy cat friend and I LOVE THAT.Also, this book demonstrated some very REAL aspects of school. For example, Hermione took on too much work, and she gradually started to go crazy (and consequently distanced herself from her friends, became more moody, and then finally just bitch-slapped Malfoy). I also found Oliver Wood to be hilarious in this book for similar reasons: this was his last year at Hogwarts, and he wanted nothing more than to win the Quidditch Cup so he could have some sort of glory at Hogwarts, and he became so consumed by it (as I'm sure lots of people on sports teams do). The way he was so emotionally invested really cracked me up but also felt so real. Side note: CEDRIC IS SO DAMN NICE. when he realized that Harry fell off his broom during the Quidditch game and Hufflepuff won he called for a rematch, which says a lot about him, and it just makes what happens in the next book that much worse.But of course, all of the Marauders stuff made my inner fangirl go nuts because it has to be my favorite Harry Potter storyline. (I mean, I didn't name my YouTube channel after them or anything...)Also time travel.
    more
  • Khanh (the Grinch)
    November 25, 2012
    I last read this book when I was 14 years old, given that I'm almost 32 now, I have a whole new perspective on it. Despite the fact that I gave this book 5 stars previously, I have to admit that it didn't grow on me until this, my second read. Confession time: I didn't like Remus or Sirius.*Khanh ducks as rotten fruit and eggs are thrown her way*OK, OK, I'M SORRY! I've since changed my mind! Notice that I used the past tense.Obviously, there will be spoilers for the book below, for the 1.5 of yo I last read this book when I was 14 years old, given that I'm almost 32 now, I have a whole new perspective on it. Despite the fact that I gave this book 5 stars previously, I have to admit that it didn't grow on me until this, my second read. Confession time: I didn't like Remus or Sirius.*Khanh ducks as rotten fruit and eggs are thrown her way*OK, OK, I'M SORRY! I've since changed my mind! Notice that I used the past tense.Obviously, there will be spoilers for the book below, for the 1.5 of you who haven't read this yet.I can't even recall why this book wasn't memorable to me. All I remembered was that Sirius - and what happened to him - was terrible, but he's like meh to me; I just never connected with him as a character. Remus was a werewolf and I've never liked werewolves. The Marauders in general were just a bunch of rowdy teenaged boys, and having been the target for teasing from rowdy, rude teenaged boys in my youth, I just didn't care for the way they were portrayed. And I was right, somewhat, James, et al weren't perfect. They bullied Snape, they were little shitheads. Yes, eventually they became productive, admirable members of society, but I just didn't like them at first.I guess this is one of those books that just takes time to grow on you.This is the last Harry Potter book in which Harry is a child. Before his life - and this series - was visited by the spectre of death. I'm not talking about the long-ago deaths of James and Lily, of course Harry has experienced deaths before, but it was distant. I'm talking about the future deaths where Harry lost people he actually remembered, and respected, and loved. That's what I mean when I say that this is the last book in which Harry is a child, because as hard as his life was until now, he still had his innocence.Children believe that their heroes are unerring. One of the rites of passage to adulthood is the realization that heroes fall, like everyone else. Harry stared up into the grave face and felt as though the ground beneath him was falling sharply away. He had grown used to the idea that Dumbledore could solve anything. He had expected Dumbledore to pull some amazing solution out of the air. But no … their last hope was gone. I know that everyone loves Sirius, but for some reason, he didn't click for me when I was 14. This time around, I could understand his character more. I could relate to his desperation, his frustration, and the hope that kept him alive all those excruciating years in Azkaban. ‘I don’t know how I did it,’ he said slowly. ‘I think the only reason I never lost my mind is that I knew I was innocent. That wasn’t a happy thought, so the Dementors couldn’t suck it out of me … but it kept me sane. I think for me, it took maturity and the experience of loss and frustration, well, life itself, in order to appreciate the hardship that Harry and Sirius and Remus went through. Previously, this was a magical Cinderella-like tale about a boy in a room under the stairs. With this book, the story became twisted, and it became something more.Read this review and more @ The Book Eaters
    more
  • Wil Wheaton
    July 5, 2014
    I'm beginning to wonder if there will ever be a Defence Against The Dark Arts teacher who is just a teacher.
  • Chris
    January 31, 2008
    Since pretty much everyone I know has read these books, I figure reviewing them is pretty pointless. But with the new book coming out in a couple of weeks, I have to go through them beginning to end. To make the reviews more entertaining, I will be doing them in a variety of unexpected formats. For this review, I will be writing as Crookshanks fan fiction.Crookshanks swished his tail back and forth as he crept up the stairs to the boys' bedrooms. He knew the rat wasn't what it was pretending to Since pretty much everyone I know has read these books, I figure reviewing them is pretty pointless. But with the new book coming out in a couple of weeks, I have to go through them beginning to end. To make the reviews more entertaining, I will be doing them in a variety of unexpected formats. For this review, I will be writing as Crookshanks fan fiction.Crookshanks swished his tail back and forth as he crept up the stairs to the boys' bedrooms. He knew the rat wasn't what it was pretending to be, but all of his attempts to alert the humans to this fact had failed. "I don't know why I even bother," he muttered to himself. "I could get along fine without any of them. Let the rat do whatever it is it's trying to do. So long as Girl keeps feeding me and scratching my belly, I'll - hello, what's this?"He could smell the rat. Its scent was like nothing Crookshanks had ever smelled, and for all his time living in a magical pet shop, he'd smelled a lot. The rat did smell like a rat, yes, but there was also something else. Something... human. It was just like that big black dog he'd met on the grounds the other day. Every instinct in him had screamed to run away, but there was that smell. And even Crookshanks knew what they said about cats and curiosity. The dog had turned out to be more than just a dog, and it had convinced Crookshanks to help it. First order of business: retrieve a certain rat from the bedroom of the Red-Haired Boy.The Boy wasn't in, but the rat was. Crookshanks circled the bed a few times. This time, maybe, he would be able to get the damn thing. He tensed for a moment and then leapt onto the bed.By luck or skill, he was nearly on top of the thing when he landed. "A-HA!" he yowled. "Gotcha!" He pinned the rat under his sizable paw. "Where you gonna run to now, ratty?" he asked, sneering as best he could.The rat writhed in his grip. "Please," it said. "Just let me go. You don't know what will happen if you eat me, it would be a terrible mistake!""A mistake, eh?" the cat said. "We'll see about that. I have a great big doggie friend who's just aching to get his jaws around you...."He barely had time to finish his sentence when the rat went mad. It squealed and bit and slashed with its paws. And then, against all of Crookshanks' previous experience - it grew! It nearly threw the cat off the bed as it became much more massive - its legs lengthened and its arms stretched until it had reached a human size and shape. Crookshanks goggled. Of all the things he'd expected from this rat, this wasn't it. The human grabbed at him, but Crookshanks was too fast. He jumped off the bed and shimmied under the wardrobe, where he could see but not be seen.The human looked around, breathing heavily. He was pale and thin, and still looked ratty. "Think, Peter, think," he said. "Gotta get out of here, but..." He stopped, glanced at the wardrobe, and grimaced. "You may just have given me my way out, cat," he said. And then he bit the ball of his hand.Blood dripped out, leaving spreading red blotches on the sheets. "They'll think it was you," he said. "They'll leave me for dead and I'll be free to rejoin my Lord." He looked at the recently repaired curtains on Ron's bed. "It's not safe here anymore." He sucked at the wound to stop the bloodflow and then went to the window. Perched on the windowsill, he looked over at Crookshanks' hiding place. "If I were human," he said, "the fall would kill me. But as a rat...." His body rippled and twisted and shrank, and then there was an old grey rat on the sill. Crookshanks was pretty sure it winked at him before leaping off.After a minute or two, Crookshanks wriggled out from under the wardrobe, his thoughts dark. The Red-Haired Boy was going to be angry, and so was the Girl. But more importantly, the Dog was going to be furious. It was barely holding on to its sanity as it was. Crookshanks shook his head. This was going to get worse before it would get better...
    more
  • Navessa
    March 13, 2013
    Still five stars. Love this so much. Can't review. Couldn't even take notes. Watched the movie immediately after finishing. Need next book. Wish I lived in this world. Damn you, Rowling.
  • Kai
    April 2, 2015
    “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”When I finished Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban for the first time, it immediately became my next favourite book. J. K. Rowling outdid herself, and wrote something even bigger and better than before. And she'll keep doing it for another 4 books.There's just nothing to criticise about book 3. Compared to the other books there's not a single scene that makes me uncomfortable, that I'd prefer “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”When I finished Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban for the first time, it immediately became my next favourite book. J. K. Rowling outdid herself, and wrote something even bigger and better than before. And she'll keep doing it for another 4 books.There's just nothing to criticise about book 3. Compared to the other books there's not a single scene that makes me uncomfortable, that I'd prefer to skip rather than experience it again. I particularly admire Hermione, our favourite genius witch. Keeping all those immense secrets, kicking butt, being the best student of her age, suffering Ron's sideswipes and punching Malfoy in the face can't ever be beaten. Hermione seriously managed her mischief.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Saniya
    October 24, 2011
    Of-course, this book was EPIC! =D Its Harry Potter now. It has to be epic! *Rolling eyes but smiling widely* xD
  • Mikee Andrea (ReadWithMikee)
    October 1, 2015
    OKAY. This book was fantastic! I can't get over how everything just fell into place perfectly. Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite of the series so far which is actually a surprise since Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was my least favorite movie growing up.But reading and watching the movie truly is a different experience. Even though I've seen the movies repeatedly year after year, I was still on my toes while I was turning the pages of my book. It was like I was seeing all of this for OKAY. This book was fantastic! I can't get over how everything just fell into place perfectly. Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite of the series so far which is actually a surprise since Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was my least favorite movie growing up.But reading and watching the movie truly is a different experience. Even though I've seen the movies repeatedly year after year, I was still on my toes while I was turning the pages of my book. It was like I was seeing all of this for the first time!I've really developed a deeper love, respect, and understanding for this series and the Wizarding world. I especially loved the fact that we actually got to learn about Remus Lupin and his backstory as a werewolf. I never would've learned any of this if I never decided to pick up these books.This series just gets better and better, and darker and darker. I can slowly see how Harry Potter is moving away from middle grade and into young adult. I'm really looking forward to how that shift becomes more prominent in the later books. Now next up is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, which is my favorite movie of the series growing up! Let's see how this one will go!
    more
  • Brina
    February 21, 2016
    Harry Potter for me is like warm apple pie and vanilla ice cream. It is the ultimate comfort read. This must have been at least the 10th time I've read it but I have lost track. The theme I can take out of this particular book especially after reading it all these times is hope. Harry largely naive for most of the first three books, meets Sirius for the first time and his world changes. For ever so briefly he thinks he can leave the Dursleys for good and live entirely in the wizarding world. Of Harry Potter for me is like warm apple pie and vanilla ice cream. It is the ultimate comfort read. This must have been at least the 10th time I've read it but I have lost track. The theme I can take out of this particular book especially after reading it all these times is hope. Harry largely naive for most of the first three books, meets Sirius for the first time and his world changes. For ever so briefly he thinks he can leave the Dursleys for good and live entirely in the wizarding world. Of course, we know what happens next ;). The last 100 pages of this book for me are my favorite 100 pages of the series aside maybe from the end of Deathly Hallows, especially because (in my opinion) I feel the movie most closely resembles the book. This is usually the time of year when I reread the septology, and I am looking forward to feeling magical again as though it's my first time reading these books. Like that slice of warm apple pie, I am comforted knowing that for a few hours I can enter Harry's world.
    more
  • Kiki
    March 16, 2011
    Literally one of the best books I've ever read. I was chained to it for two days. I cried and laughed and yelled SHIT when all of the action went down.I'm such a peasant for judging this series before I had read it. I read the first two and half of this one when I was about 10, before reading was cool, before I had the attention span that reading requires (I know these are kids' books but I was a particularly distracted child). I did not know, Mother Rowling. Forgive my sin, and all the times wh Literally one of the best books I've ever read. I was chained to it for two days. I cried and laughed and yelled SHIT when all of the action went down.I'm such a peasant for judging this series before I had read it. I read the first two and half of this one when I was about 10, before reading was cool, before I had the attention span that reading requires (I know these are kids' books but I was a particularly distracted child). I did not know, Mother Rowling. Forgive my sin, and all the times when I said, "I don't think Harry Potter is really my thing". Please.This book was incredible and this series is a classic more than any Dickens or Middle Earth or Narnia shit has any right to be. This series isn't up it's own ass; it's so accessible and readable and meaningful.God damn me! How could I have been so blind?Forgive me, because this book changed the game. This book deserves 7 stars and I'm getting the cover art (from my edition) tattooed on my thigh.I'm such a fucking fan.
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    November 2, 2012
    عندما بدأت هذا الجزء كنت متخوفا من أن اجد أحداث مشابهة للجزئين السابقين..ولكني كنت مخطئاكلب اسود غريب يظهر لهاري وحده يسبب له الفزع، إنه نذير الشؤميبدأ هاري عامه الدراسي بأغرب الاحداث..ويقابله وزير السحر ويقدم إستثناء خاص لهاري غير متوقعمجرم وقاتل هارب من ازبكان..له ماض سئ مع عائله هاري بوتر..ينجح في التسلل للمدرسة ويسبب فزعا كبيرالم يستطع احد الامساك به برغم حراسة المدرسة بحراس أفظع من المجرمين نفسهم..يبثون الرعب في التلاميذ..بالاخص هاريمدرس الدفاع ضد السحر الأسود هذه المرة هو الأفضل..إلا إنه ي عندما بدأت هذا الجزء كنت متخوفا من أن اجد أحداث مشابهة للجزئين السابقين..ولكني كنت مخطئاكلب اسود غريب يظهر لهاري وحده يسبب له الفزع، إنه نذير الشؤميبدأ هاري عامه الدراسي بأغرب الاحداث..ويقابله وزير السحر ويقدم إستثناء خاص لهاري غير متوقعمجرم وقاتل هارب من ازبكان..له ماض سئ مع عائله هاري بوتر..ينجح في التسلل للمدرسة ويسبب فزعا كبيرالم يستطع احد الامساك به برغم حراسة المدرسة بحراس أفظع من المجرمين نفسهم..يبثون الرعب في التلاميذ..بالاخص هاريمدرس الدفاع ضد السحر الأسود هذه المرة هو الأفضل..إلا إنه يختفي ويظهر في ظروف غامضة،وسناب يأخذ مكانه إحتياطيا..وإيضا يتصرف بغرابةهيرموني تشتري قط جديد..يتصرف بغرابه, ورون يكرهه خوفا علي فأره الذي يختفي...هيرموني نفسها تتصرف بغرابه هدية مميزة لهاري مجهولة المصدر..عرافة المدرسة تتنبأ بموت هاري بوتر الوشيك بسبب نذير الشؤمبيت مسكون..عواء الذئاب..هاجريد ينتظر حكم الاعدام لحيوانه المفضل بسبب مالفوياشخاص ميتون يظهرون في خريطة المدرسة كأنهم يتجولون في ردهاتها الأن..ولكن لا يمكن تتبعهم او رؤيتهممــجـرم هارب وحــراس رهيــبة عــــرافة ونــبوءة ونـذير شـؤمكـــــلــب، قـــــط وفـــــأرشيئا رهيبا بحق علي وشك الحدوثعندما قرأت الجزء الثاني –بعد ان كنت شاهدت الجزئين كفيلم سينمائي- شعرت ان "وماذا بعد؟" هل سندور في نفس الدائرة؟ندخل المدرسة...روح فولدمورت..نقضي عليها..مدرس الدفاع ضد السحر الأسود نتخلص منه بشكل او باخرتوقعت ان يكون الامر مملا لاحقا..بالرغم من اعجابي الشديد بالعالم والشخصيات الا ان حبكه الجزء الثاني –خاصا قبل معرفه سر الهوركروكس في الجزء السادس- كنت اشعر بخيوط رفيعه متشابهه في تسلسل الاحداث ونهايتهاليجئ الجزء الثالث اكبر,عمق اكثر للشخصيات..نظره اعمق لعالم السحر المخفي بين طيات عالمنا والاهم..احداث وحبكه مختلفه واقوي في تصاعدها وغرابتها وغموضها وحتي "الرعب" فيها عن الجزئين السابقين مجتمعينوفعلا اشعر ان الفصول الاخيره كانت بها كميه احداث تقلب مسار الروايه بالاخص"كلب وقط وفأر"وتتأكد فعلا ان جي كي رولينج بجعبتها الكثير لتقدمهبصعوبه شديده تحاملت علي نفسي لتقسيم قراءه الروايه علي 3 اجزاء وكنت احترق شوقا لمعرفه ما سيحدث بعد ذلك, وكيف ستكون الاجزاء القادمهالروايه اعمق بكثير جدا جدا من الفيلم وهذا احبطني..التغيير في "نغمه"الفيلم من الجزء الثالث بالمقارنه بين اول جزئين له مزايا وعيوب الا ان عيبه الرئيسي بالنسبه لي هو اختصار اجزاء من الروايه ,ربما لانها كانت اول مره اكون قد قرأت الروايه قبل الفيلم ولكني فعلا ارشح مشاهده الجزء الاول "وربما الثاني" قبل البدء في القراءه ثم قراءه السلسله كامله قبل مشاهده باقي الافلاممحمد العربي
    more
  • Delee
    December 10, 2015
    Buddy-read with two of my Great Escape gal pals- Stepheny and Ivonne.[image error]Be on the look out for Stepheny Potthead aka The Book Pusher aka Quick Draw Stepheny aka The Nutty Professor. Last seen running along side the Knight Bus with Harry Potter's invisible cloak. Also Suspected in the kidnapping of fellow Goodreader Jeff and best-selling author Stephen King. Blonde Hair...big green doll eyes, has a frightening maniacal cackle and a tendency to whine when she doesn't get her way. LOUDLY. Buddy-read with two of my Great Escape gal pals- Stepheny and Ivonne.[image error]Be on the look out for Stepheny Potthead aka The Book Pusher aka Quick Draw Stepheny aka The Nutty Professor. Last seen running along side the Knight Bus with Harry Potter's invisible cloak. Also Suspected in the kidnapping of fellow Goodreader Jeff and best-selling author Stephen King. Blonde Hair...big green doll eyes, has a frightening maniacal cackle and a tendency to whine when she doesn't get her way. LOUDLY. Considered armed and dangerous- approach with caution...and Nerds- she likes Nerds.Now back to our regularly scheduled review....I don't listen to a lot of audio-books (I prefer to read) but I was kind of falling behind in my reading commitments...and I had put Ms. Stepheny off again and again for this buddy-read soooooo many times- I couldn't do it again to her (she pouts..and she gets all mopey and it is JUST heartbreaking). I am so happy I listened to this one- Stephen Fry was just perfect. Perfect!..and HARRY POTTER AND THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN was just the thing to put me in the Christmas Spirit. [image error]It's Harry's least favorite time of year- school break spent with the Dursleys...and this visit isn't going well. First: News that Sirius Black has escaped from Azkaban- Second: An unfortunate accident involving mean Aunt Marge...[image error]Harry decides not to stick around- and catches the Knight Bus to Diagon Alley- where instead of getting in trouble for using magic away from Hogwarts, he gets invited to stay until school begins, by Cornelius Fudge-the Minister for Magic.[image error]The night before he is expected to leave- Harry is warned that Sirius may have escaped with murder in mind- and HE may be the target....This is my favorite of the series so far!! I loved that it was still light and fun...but that the darkness is slooooooooowly creeping in.I loved that a lot of it took place during the Christmas Holidays...[image error]I really liked the addition of the Dementors...spoooooky...[image error]...and I adored Buckbeak!![image error]As for the whereabouts of Stepheny? I can almost guarantee...she is up to no good.[image error]
    more
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    December 2, 2016
    It's kind of annoying how last two movies were so on point but not this one. :/Slay, girl, slay!Update:I find movie Harry much more likable than book Harry. WAIT!! THIS IS A THING?!?I am so down! THIS JUST MADE MY DAY.
  • Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★
    September 3, 2016
    REVIEW TO COME ON SATURDAY.4.9 stars " Welcome to the Knight Bus, emergency transport for the stranded witch or wizard. Just stick out your wand, step on board and we can take you anywhere you want to go. " Harry Potter is a 13 year old boy now. He stays at his uncle's and aunt's house like he usually does for the whole summer. But this year is different, he can not control his anger anymore and he leaves his uncle's and aunt's house. There is also a man named Sirius Black, Mass-Murderer and fol REVIEW TO COME ON SATURDAY.4.9 stars " Welcome to the Knight Bus, emergency transport for the stranded witch or wizard. Just stick out your wand, step on board and we can take you anywhere you want to go. " Harry Potter is a 13 year old boy now. He stays at his uncle's and aunt's house like he usually does for the whole summer. But this year is different, he can not control his anger anymore and he leaves his uncle's and aunt's house. There is also a man named Sirius Black, Mass-Murderer and follower of Lord Voldemort escaped from Azkaban. Most prisoners go mad withins weeks in Azkaban but this man doesn't and people say that he is coming after Harry and in Harry's first divination class, Professor Trelawney sees an omen of death in Harry's tea leaves and now, the school grounds are being Patrolled by DEMENTORS.My Opinion The cover of this book is so BEAUTIFUL! and the story was as amazing as the cover.I also found a new favorite character in this book and this person is Professor Lupin!! He is so cool and he is the best Defence Against The Dark Arts teacher I have ever met. because you know, all the Defence Against The Dark Arts teachers from the first book were not nice guys at all including that guy with useless ability. What's his name again?? LOCHART! GILDEROY LOCHART. I just remembered his name. Actually, where is he now? no one mentioned him and I hope I won't see him as a teacher in Hogwarts again. I still can't forgive him for what he was about to do with Ron and Harry in the second book. That guy is pathetic.I loved all the characters in this book and Fred and George weasley were so funny in this book. Percy is the last person I like. I don't hate him but I don't really like him too. He's so stritch about rules and sometimes he annoys me but not much. here is my favorite scene : 'How're we getting to King's Cross tomorrow, Dad?' asked Fred, as they tucked into a sumptuous chocolate pudding.'The Ministry's providing a couple of cars,' said Mr Weasley. everyone looked up at him.'Why?' said Percy curiously.'it's because of you, Perce,' said George seriously. 'And there'll be little flags on the bonnets, with HB on them -''- for humungous Bighead,' said Fred. Everyone except Percy and Mrs Weasley snorted into their pudding. I laughed so hard in the middle of the night because of this. I wish I were there to see Percy's face when Fred and George said that. Oh! and I remembered I laughed so hard too when Ginny said he found out that Percy was kissing Penelope Clearwater, his girlfriend. I mean Percy is so stritch about rules and he always study, study, study, so the thought of Percy's having a girlfriend was never crossed my mind. But he was cool enough to get a girlfriend. *shrugs*I was so shocked when I found out that Sirius was innocent and the bad guy was Peter Pettigrew. how could he betray his own bestfriend?! I think he did it to save his own skin without thinking twice about his bestfriend's life. James and Lily Potter died because of him and how dare he to say that Sirius was the one who betrayed James Potter! this guy is more pathetic than Gilderoy and I was shocked when Harry told Lupin and Sirius not to kill him and put him in Azkaban instead. That moment I realised that Harry was so kind. this guy was the reason his parents died and he didn't want him to be killed. This book also have the best ending. the ending in this book made me grinning but don't get me wrong, the ending in the first and the second book were all great too but this ending was perfect. 'What's that?' he snarled, staring at the envelope Harry was still clutching in his hand. 'if it's another form for me to sign, you've got another -' 'it's not,' said Harry cheerfully. ' it's a letter from my godfather.' 'Godfather?' spluttered Uncle Vernon. 'you haven't got a godfather!.''Yes I hav,' said Harry brightly. 'He was my mum and dad's best friend. He's a convicted murderer, but he's broken out of wizard prison and he's on the run. He likes to keep in touch with me, though... keep up with my news... check I'm happy...'And grinning broadly at the look of horror on Uncle Vernon's face, Harry set off towards the station exit, Hedwig rattling along in front of him, for what looked like a much better summer than the last. Thank you guys for reading and liking my review. Hope you all have a great day!! ❤❤❤
    more
  • Aj the Ravenous Reader
    February 3, 2016
    “You think the dead we love ever truly leave us? You think that we don’t recall them more clearly than ever in times of great trouble?” *Guess which character said the above quote. (view spoiler)[ Dumbledore, duh! (hide spoiler)]The following isn’t really a review, more like random thoughts while and after reading the magical book:1. Aunt Marge deserved it alright. Lol. 2. I’m against hurting kids but could I make a bloody exception with Draco? 3. I enjoyed every class with Prof. Lupin. I agre “You think the dead we love ever truly leave us? You think that we don’t recall them more clearly than ever in times of great trouble?” *Guess which character said the above quote. (view spoiler)[ Dumbledore, duh! (hide spoiler)]The following isn’t really a review, more like random thoughts while and after reading the magical book:1. Aunt Marge deserved it alright. Lol. 2. I’m against hurting kids but could I make a bloody exception with Draco? 3. I enjoyed every class with Prof. Lupin. I agree he’s the best Dark Arts Professor so far but true to my premonition… (view spoiler)[He wouldn’t last more than a year. (hide spoiler)]4. Perhaps I could use a cute “ridikulus” spell on a boss when his gloomy face comes hovering above my desk.^^5. I hate to say it but Hermione is always right. Love her! Lol.6. The movie is awesome but I couldn’t help notice important things missing like the Gryffindor’s match against Ravenclaw and later against Slytherin. 7. In the movie, Firebolt arrived only at the end of the story. 8. Buckbeak and Crookshanks=Their movie versions are so much cuter! <39. Marauder’s map is too cool, like a GPS only so much more fantastic! Love how it was made in the movie.^^10. Ms. Rowling, you have my complete respect and admiration, you amazing woman, you!
    more
  • Brad
    March 25, 2008
    I know that many of you out there haven't gotten around to reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Much like Umberto Eco's Foucault's Pendulum, Germaine Greer's The Female Eunuch and Lucifer's worldwide bestseller The Holy Bible, you own a copy, it gathers dust, but its never been read. You've been thinking about it, though. You see it there on the shelf and you wonder, "Is this book for me?"The following checklist will tell you all you need to know about Harry Potter and the Prisoner I know that many of you out there haven't gotten around to reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Much like Umberto Eco's Foucault's Pendulum, Germaine Greer's The Female Eunuch and Lucifer's worldwide bestseller The Holy Bible, you own a copy, it gathers dust, but its never been read. You've been thinking about it, though. You see it there on the shelf and you wonder, "Is this book for me?"The following checklist will tell you all you need to know about Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban's suitability for you. The more checkmarks you have, the more you need to tackle this wonder of modern literature.1. Do you have Daddy issues? ✓ or ✘2. Has a creepy middle aged man been sleeping with you for years, unbeknownst to you? ✓ or ✘3. Does the full moon make you anxious? ✓ or ✘4. Have you ever gorged on chocolate to combat depression? ✓ or ✘5. Do you find there just isn't enough time in the day? ✓ or ✘6. Are you misunderstood? ✓ or ✘7. Do you have an overactive sense of justice that gets you into trouble? ✓ or ✘8. Do you break rules whenever you can? ✓ or ✘9. Do you scoff at personal danger, especially when it gets in the way of your fun? ✓ or ✘10. Are you a dog lover, or would you like to be one? ✓ or ✘1-2: You'd probably rather be reading Finnegan's Wake, The Book of Mormon or Sally Dick and Jane3-5: Skip it and watch the movie.6-8: Time to dust off that copy and give it a whirl.9-10: Put your existential crisis aside. Shave your moustache. Take a day off work, and read this book. It won't change your life, but it'll be like reading about your dream self.Do as you will.
    more
  • P
    June 10, 2015
    “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” Re-read - Only the Quidditch scenes earned five stars from me. This book is EPIC. Suffice to say that Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the best of the series. The story gets darker and more complex than the previous books. Harry, Ron and Hermiome don't chase the clue this time, they have to find a way to guard their lives from the most horrendous prisoner, Sirius Black. “Harry Potter was a highly unusual boy in many ways.” Harry grows up “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” Re-read - Only the Quidditch scenes earned five stars from me. This book is EPIC. Suffice to say that Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the best of the series. The story gets darker and more complex than the previous books. Harry, Ron and Hermiome don't chase the clue this time, they have to find a way to guard their lives from the most horrendous prisoner, Sirius Black. “Harry Potter was a highly unusual boy in many ways.” Harry grows up through this book, he tries to learn new magic and overcome his fear. Dementors are the symbol Rowling created to stand for your fear in the deepest of your mind, and it quite works for me very well, this creature makes the book gloomy and grey. I loved the scene when (view spoiler)[Harry is fell from his broom. (hide spoiler)], it's everything to me. PERFECTION.And the movie, oh no ! I don't want to talk about the movie on this page but let me. It is very amazing and captivating, I extrememly like about time travel, it's pure magic. For the first time I read this book, I gasped and gasped and gasped and couldn't stop gasping for the ending. It's what I asked for and it's perfect. Trust me, this book is the last book that will leave you feel whole after you finish it. Because in the next one, this feeling will vanish and it's hurt like Avada Kedavra running through your heart ! “I don't go looking for trouble. Trouble usually finds me.” More at http://goo.gl/0s2GmI
    more
  • Etnik
    September 15, 2014
    I don't understand why they use time travel in this one,and not in the other books.That would have made things a lot easier.
  • Jo ★The Book Sloth★
    December 10, 2012
  • Christy
    September 24, 2016
    The third book in the Harry Potter series is by far the best of the first three. We get introduced to Sirius Black early on in the book, and I have to say, he’s my favorite character to date in the series. Getting more answers about Harry’s parents and past, you can tell this book sets up so many things for future books. Sirius and Remus were the best part of the book for me. I could see where THIS would be the book that hooks so many HP fans. Don’t get me wrong, the first two are good, but the The third book in the Harry Potter series is by far the best of the first three. We get introduced to Sirius Black early on in the book, and I have to say, he’s my favorite character to date in the series. Getting more answers about Harry’s parents and past, you can tell this book sets up so many things for future books. Sirius and Remus were the best part of the book for me. I could see where THIS would be the book that hooks so many HP fans. Don’t get me wrong, the first two are good, but there was something special about this book. Something that makes me want to jump into book 4 asap. This world is magical and yes, the books are so much better than the movies (which I’ve seen multiple times) and I’m so happy I’m reading them! 5 stars!
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads
    September 22, 2012
    So I was supposed to buddy read this with BB&B , but then Rickman, so I binge read it in a day, and here we are. Whatever. This is my favorite book in the series. I'll write a full review when I can think about Harry Potter without feeling like I've been sucker punched.
    more
  • (9 3/4) Gerasimos
    August 10, 2012
    Harry Potter changed my life. If I hadn’t read Harry Potter when I did I would not be the same person today. What I am today, in a part is due to Harry. I cannot really say enough to make you understand how much Harry Potter means to me.
  • emma
    January 1, 2017
    this review is now UP at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! it's heavily edited and i'm a lot happier with how this version turned out :D---------------------------------------Review: 4.25/5 starsThis - is my review of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.... It’s a great book - but not without its…problems….D’you get it? It’s because every goddamn sentence of this book contains either a dash or an ellipsis. (That’s one of the...problems….)I’m debating whether to unleash the anti-Snap this review is now UP at https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...! it's heavily edited and i'm a lot happier with how this version turned out :D---------------------------------------Review: 4.25/5 starsThis - is my review of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.... It’s a great book - but not without its…problems….D’you get it? It’s because every goddamn sentence of this book contains either a dash or an ellipsis. (That’s one of the...problems….)I’m debating whether to unleash the anti-Snape rant that’s been building up inside me for a decade now. I think I’ll wait until his supposedly redeeming backstory is revealed. What book is that in? Anyway, just his extensive presence in this book made the whole thing less fun for me.I feel about Snape the way Michael Scott feels about Toby. But I digress. My main thing with this book is that Rowling can be kind of...bad at fitting the parameters of the universe she created. That’s understandable, since it’s immense and so impressive, but there’s also little common sense things that get under my skin. (This would be under “general stupidity” if I hated this book - which I absolutely don’t.) I wanted to be having a great time, but instead I was caught up in the little mistakes.Some examples: There’s just no way McGonagall would have given Hermione the Time Turner. No way. I get the significance of the thing to the plot, and it’s a really creative and entertaining concept, but my girl Minerva would NEVER have handed that over. This is the woman who will shut any student down, take Harry Potter’s broom, deduct points from her own team, throw shade at Trelawney...what I’m saying is she’s a one hundred percent badass. And she’s a badass who exudes said badassery with the well-being of all Hogwarts students in mind. But I’m supposed to believe she put herself out there, petitioned the government, and presumably put in effort to convince her fellow faculty just so Hermione could take a purely overwhelming number of classes? Nah. She would have recognized it as unnecessary (Hermione never even gives a reason beyond "wanting to" for her overloaded schedule) and a huge pressure (workload's making a thirteen year old cry all the time and lose the ability to sleep). In other words, Minerva would have shut that shit down in a hot Texas minute.But wait - I have more examples! Lupin tells us that when he was at Hogwarts, they went through an INSANE amount of work to get him off the grounds when he ~underwent his transformation~. Keep in mind this whole thing is for one. Effing. Student. They put in a magic, violent tree (the infamous Whomping Willow), dig a tunnel that is presumably at least a mile or two long, and mess with (build?) a shack-like shelter. This is way, way, way too much to ensure that a single student can attend the school. But even suspending your disbelief there - why would you put a werewolf inside a WEAK, SHUT UP BUILDING to protect people? One, don’t put a rabid monstrous creature in a house, because two, he can break out of it and now the inhabitants of Hogsmeade are at risk. Also, putting in the Whomping Willow? Are you kidding me? It’s a danger to the students! And so is building a passageway in/out. There are so, so, so many more problems than solutions here.And here’s the most wild, laughable one for me. At the end, Sirius Black reveals that it was him - HIM! - who bought Harry Potter the Firebolt, hundreds-of-Galleons price tag and all. This is INSANE. Since Ron had earlier mentioned that it would have been impossible for Black to buy a broomstick, J.K. is so kind as to reveal how he did it in his letter to Harry. He says he sent Crookshanks (a f*cking cat) to the Owl Post, had him order the broomstick under Harry’s name, and had it charged to his own bank account at Gringotts. HAHAHAHA, WHAT?! You’re telling me a goddamn cat walked into a post office, conveyed the information that Harry Potter was ordering the most expensive broom on the market, and charged it to the most wanted man in Britain’s account without consequence? Like everyone was just like, yeah, okay, we didn’t really want to find him anyway? We won’t bring this up to the Ministry or Potter or anything? Jeeessssuuuuussss. Also, how did my guy have that much money in his account anyway? How is his account even open?Also, I know this is well-discussed, but there is just so much conflicting information about how many people attend Hogwarts. It drives me insane. I’ll never be satisfied with one answer, because there are always a million other pieces of evidence that conflict.The sheer confusion of the story relayed in the Shrieking Shack was also so confusing. Like, I get why there had to be a dozen f*cking pages of Black/Lupin begging the story to be told and Hermione/Ron/Harry essentially covering their ears and singing “Walking on Sunshine,” but they couldn’t at least have told the story with some semblance of organization once they finally got there? I mean, Jesus.On the other hand, characters. Hermione is still killin’ it - Time Turner, baby! And slaying those exams! But she did have less time with the squad (fighting) and a lot of scenes where it was just like, “Oh. Yeah. Hermione. Uh, she’s...doing homework over there.” Plus Neville was not really included, like, at all. But Lupin was introduced, and he’s one of my favorites! But Snape was here as hell and I hate him so much. But no Colin Creevey or Lockhart or Dobby! But Trelawney and Malfoy and Pansy. But Sirius! But mainly he was villain-ing it up. Oh well. It’s a real 50/50 in this one.Still, it was definitely enjoyable. Like, I read it in pretty much one sitting, and I haven’t done that in a whileeee. I missed doing it. And this was so, so much better than the second book. So this is so hard to rate! I am having a really hard time here, you guys. And my absolute favorite aspect of these books - which was missing in the second volume - was one hundred percent present and accounted for. I’m talking a look into the world, baby! We get Hogsmeade, we get an entire fortnight of Diagon Alley, we get a bunch of discussion of the school and the classes. Even the bad parts, like Azkaban. Ugh! I could read a series’ worth of books just on the world, I swear.So, bottom line: In some ways I liked this as much as the first, but it definitely had more problems. I am looking forward to continuing my reread, and hopin’ I find just as much of the world and even more of the good characters. Goblet of Fire, I expect to see you soon!
    more
  • pinkgal
    February 27, 2007
    It was September 1998; the third Harry Potter book had just been released. Pottermania? What's that? It was still unknown except to a vast population of younglings who'd read it... and I fell in love. Oh, how I fell in love. I fell in love with the poor, starved-for-affection, later known to be a twit Harry. I fell in love with the pretentious know-it-all Hermione. I fell in love with the awkward, grew-up-in-his-brother's-shadows Ron... and most of all? I fell in love with the snarky, unplatable It was September 1998; the third Harry Potter book had just been released. Pottermania? What's that? It was still unknown except to a vast population of younglings who'd read it... and I fell in love. Oh, how I fell in love. I fell in love with the poor, starved-for-affection, later known to be a twit Harry. I fell in love with the pretentious know-it-all Hermione. I fell in love with the awkward, grew-up-in-his-brother's-shadows Ron... and most of all? I fell in love with the snarky, unplatable, snarling, rude, hygienically-disinclined professor of potions, Severus Snape. Almost ten years later, I'm still obsessed with it in many ways. I think this is my favorite of all the Harry Potter books thus far. This is the one that introduces Sirius Black, who I sometimes loathe (only sometimes!) and Remus Lupin, who I will always, always love. And of course, this is the book that gave us one piece of Severus Snape's background. And that was the infamous Prank that may or may not have destroyed Snape's trust in Dumbledore. Would you have trusted someone who didn't at least suspend the one who'd tried to kill you? I don't think so. This is also the book where I found myself looking at Dumbledore with a new eye. He's a crafty old fella, I tell you that. He'll do anything to gain his means, regardless of how he may personally feel on the matter. Grandpa Albus, he ain't. And Severus Snape, my heart did bleed for thee.
    more
  • Sofii♡ (A Book. A Thought.)
    August 13, 2016
    “You think the dead we loved truly ever leave us? You think that we don't recall them more clearly in times of great trouble?” This has been INCREDIBLE !This is a of those books that is so well written that just want to read it again, I've enjoyed it alot, but I also had some problems when trying to get involved myself with the plot, and even seems a bit tedious in parts , but half onwards goes gradually improving..The way Harry rebels against his uncles seemed to me wonderful, I thought , F “You think the dead we loved truly ever leave us? You think that we don't recall them more clearly in times of great trouble?” This has been INCREDIBLE !This is a of those books that is so well written that just want to read it again, I've enjoyed it alot, but I also had some problems when trying to get involved myself with the plot, and even seems a bit tedious in parts , but half onwards goes gradually improving..The way Harry rebels against his uncles seemed to me wonderful, I thought , FINALLY !. It's exciting to see our Harry grow that way and face the consequences of his actions, but guys, what could be worse than the Dursleys? ! “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” I've loved the dementers, I think they are a great addition to the plot , I don't know if they reappear later or not, but they have brought a creepy touch to the story. I believe, that like these new villains, like any dark force that attacks Harry manages to make the best of him, I mean ,in terms of magic , those moments where shows his power and his courage, are thanks to this kind of villains who are amazing and are very well described.At first I was somewhat irritated by the absurd fights between Hermione and Ron, I was so angry with them !. I haven't stopped love them, I couldn't , but guys, really?.On the other hand I really liked Hermione's rol in this book, she revealing her secret, helping Harry and everything they spend together, I think their friendship has grown even moreIn fact my favorite chapters of books are about they.The revelations in this book are incredible, everything about Sirius Black and Lupin left me shocked, I did not expect anything like that and I loved it !.one of the things I enjoy the most, is to know more about Harry's parents and how has been the past in Hogwarts! “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” I'm like I said before excited to continue the saga soon, is a, magical incredible story with solid characters and a stunning world, never ceases to amaze me! : D. I want to know more about the secrets that this history hidden , I have the feeling that there are many more to discover.
    more
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    February 21, 2013
    5 Expecto Patronum stars! I grew up with Harry Potter. Yes, I am that generation. I was a little bit younger than 11 when the books were released, and when the final book was published I had just graduated high school. I'm also the same age as Daniel Radcliffe and he's only older than me by less than a month. I also have a deathly hallows bumper sticker on my car. So, I think it's safe to say that this series has had a profound effect on me, to the point where I am still a little bit bitter tha 5 Expecto Patronum stars! I grew up with Harry Potter. Yes, I am that generation. I was a little bit younger than 11 when the books were released, and when the final book was published I had just graduated high school. I'm also the same age as Daniel Radcliffe and he's only older than me by less than a month. I also have a deathly hallows bumper sticker on my car. So, I think it's safe to say that this series has had a profound effect on me, to the point where I am still a little bit bitter that I never got my Hogwarts acceptance letter.A couple years ago I reread the first two books in the series and loved them just as much as when I was a kid. So when I got into a horrible reading slump, I saw my dad watching Harry Potter weekend on ABC Family (as he does for every fucking Harry Potter weekend mind you), I said to myself, what the hell. Time for a reread. So hence, Harry Potter 3 reread. All of us may know the story but I am going to reiterate. In his third year at Hogwarts, Harry Potter learns that a dangerous man named Sirius Black has escaped from the wizard prison Azkaban. Harry then overhears the fact that Black is the reason his parents are dead, as Black sold them out to Voldemort and then killed 13 people in broad daylight. So in a unique part of the review from me, here are all the amazing parts of this book that I forgot because I've been watching the movies instead: -Peeves the Poltergeist: Holy crap how did I forget about this hilarious menacing spirit? He's not as present in this book but he has always had a part in the series and I completely forgot he existed! I know they can't include everything in the movies but I wish Peeves had been included.-Charlie Weasley: Ron had yet ANOTHER sibling that is only mentioned in the films! This one is the cool brother in Egypt.-Cho Chang and Cedric Diggory: there are soooooo many mentions of Cho and Cedric in this book! I never really noticed Cedric until the 4th book where he becomes prominent. And this is the book where Harry's crush on Cho began. Stomach flutters!-More details on Whomping Willow/Shrieking Shack: This may be a spoiler for those of you who haven't read it, but the Whomping Willow was actually planted to hide Lupin's werewolfism as well as the shrieking shack to hide him. I thought this little tidbit was super interesting, along with the details of how Black escaped Azkaban. And just in general, I love JK Rowling's ability to tie things together. There's so much in this book that becomes important later and tiny little details and sharp wit that make me giggle. So in a small factoid, this book is probably my least favorite of the entire series. It's good, obviously, but for some reason I like all the other ones better. The movie, well it's my second to last favorite (just ahead of that godawful Goblet of Fire film which ruined everything but I digress). The movie director added so many unnecessary things that weren't in the book, and I wish he hadn't so he could of kept the good stuff! (And I've heard a rumor that he didn't even read the fucking book until JK kept vetoing all of his weird ideas. Look it up!)If you haven't read these books, do not tell me!!!!! I will smack you!
    more
  • Kristina Horner
    August 17, 2016
    I'd completely forgotten about some of the details of this book. Also it's killing me how often spells Harry hasn't learned yet would easily solve predicaments they get in!!
  • Luke Taylor
    August 26, 2016
    So what is Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban?Well, let me ask you this. What is a Hippogriff?Hippogriffs are magical animals described as Half horse, half eagle creatures, immensely proud and extremely dangerous.And, conveniently so, such is my metaphor for this book.Longer than the last two, and for good reason, Prisoner of Azkaban simmers with a heightened sense of maturity from the very first word, and throughout the book, Harry is peppered with other's view of his father, pelted and b So what is Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban?Well, let me ask you this. What is a Hippogriff?Hippogriffs are magical animals described as Half horse, half eagle creatures, immensely proud and extremely dangerous.And, conveniently so, such is my metaphor for this book.Longer than the last two, and for good reason, Prisoner of Azkaban simmers with a heightened sense of maturity from the very first word, and throughout the book, Harry is peppered with other's view of his father, pelted and bombarded with their words concerning his own flesh and blood, whom he sadly can't remember, though he does look incredibly like. Thus, Prisoner of Azkaban carries a hefty helping of something so terribly thrilling, it nearly pains me to think that too many adults view these as children's books, because Jo dove headfirst into the Gringotts vault and crafted, what? A SPY THRILLER???Hah! Expecto Patronum!Hitchockian to the last word, Jo uses her mastery of psychology to create a false villain in Sirius Black, deepening the story to masterful levels with her careful use of incredibly dangerous ingredients, such as the Marauder's Map and the Time Turner. With her weaving of even more unpredictable elements like Animagi and Snape's jealousy, Prisoner of Azkaban suddenly begins to bubble over, like an experiment gone wrong, exploding with too many wild ingredients.Or not.This Hippogriff of a book doesn't die under the burden of being misunderstood…this Hippogriff takes to the sky, spreads its wings, and flies.Because at the foundation of all the wild, wacky, and fun, lies the deeply disturbing, the dangerous, the dementing, dark and deadly details undergirding the perfectly planned acceleration of magical mystery to spy thriller. Double-crosses and old secrets, misunderstood wizards and life-changing choices on full display under the waxy silver light of a full moon, who is it that saves the day?Expecto Patronum!That's right. Just look at that cover. Because this book is about perception and reality, and about the destiny of realizing what is true within and letting it out.Dementors be damned, this book is Siriusly amazing.Recommended for everyone.
    more
Write a review