Sure Shot (Brooklyn #4)
A new stand-alone hockey romance from USA Today bestseller Sarina Bowen. On the eve of her thirtieth birthday, sports agent Bess Beringer is ready to make some changes. Armed with a five-year plan—indexed and color coded—she’ll tackle her personal life with the same zeal that she brings to her successful agency. A big, tall, ripped hunk of hockey player who’s just been traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers is not a part of that plan. Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz has a lot of baggage. He’s a ride-or-die loner with a bad reputation. He’s on the rebound. He’s also the sexiest thing on two legs, and for some crazy reason it’s Bess that he wants. She knows better. But then she falls stupid in love with him anyway. And for a while it seems like maybe he’ll do the same. Until she asks him for the one thing he can never give her…

Sure Shot (Brooklyn #4) Details

TitleSure Shot (Brooklyn #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 12th, 2020
PublisherTuxbury Publishing LLC
Rating
GenreRomance, Sports, Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance, Contemporary, Hockey

Sure Shot (Brooklyn #4) Review

  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 stars You make me feel alive. You always did. Youre the best thing about Brooklyn, Bess. Im always here for a new Sarina Bowen book. Especially if its a hockey book. I was so excited to get Besss story and I loved it! Bess Beringer is a hockey agent and the sister to Dave Beringer, who we know and love from Bountiful. Shes has her own successful business and has just moved to NYC. She was in the city 10 years ago, and had a short relationship with a man that left quite the impression. 4.25 stars “You make me feel alive. You always did. You’re the best thing about Brooklyn, Bess.” I’m always here for a new Sarina Bowen book. Especially if it’s a hockey book. I was so excited to get Bess’s story and I loved it! Bess Beringer is a hockey agent and the sister to Dave Beringer, who we know and love from Bountiful. She’s has her own successful business and has just moved to NYC. She was in the city 10 years ago, and had a short relationship with a man that left quite the impression. That man is Mark Tankiewick, the newest trade to the Brooklyn team. 
Now that Bess and Tank are in the same city again, they can’t keep away from each other. Bess tried really hard to stay away from Tank (she never gets involved with athletes) but he’s pretty impossible for her to resist. These two had insane chemistry and I loved seeing their past and watching their present relationship grow. There were definitely some heavier issues in this book and it was emotional at times. I loved Tank and my heart hurt for him. I was so glad to see him and Bess get their happy. 
I love the way Sarina writes her sports romances. I always feels so connected to the characters and her writing is strong. If you’re looking for sexy and sweet second chance romance, I recommend picking this one up.
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Always More to The Story Stars* * * * 1/2 Spoiler Free- It's Live!!!I always know when Sarina Bowen decides to write a story, there will be more than what is teased in the blurb. Sure Shot is so much more than a romance novel about a couple who meets, has chemistry, may have a minor hiccup, and then miraculously have their hea. If this was just that, handled by Bowen, it would have heart, humor, sexy times, and readers would be totally satisfied.But Bowen doesn't settle. She looks at plots, 4.5 Always More to The Story Stars* * * * 1/2 Spoiler Free- It's Live!!!I always know when Sarina Bowen decides to write a story, there will be more than what is teased in the blurb. Sure Shot is so much more than a romance novel about a couple who meets, has chemistry, may have a minor hiccup, and then miraculously have their hea. If this was just that, handled by Bowen, it would have heart, humor, sexy times, and readers would be totally satisfied.But Bowen doesn't settle. She looks at plots, personal relationships, today's worries, and other cultural issues and weaves them into a story that will make the readers see and experience more than surface emotions. Her focus and the ways of expressing real-life situations make us take a moment and truly feel what we are experiencing. This ability is SPECIAL. It takes sports romance and takes it to another level. It explains why Bowen has had such an impact on this genre. But to be clear, it not just this genre where Ms. Bowen excels, it is whatever she attempts. So with all of that said, Sure Shot is about two people who have had a past many years ago. Their time together was one of those experiences that make an impact, the kind that is ingrained, and will be remembered over the years. Ten years later, Bess Beringer is now a very successful sports agency owner. She worked as a young woman with the groundbreaking sports agent in NYC and he took her under his wing. She learned from the best and when she had a little personal time with an up and coming athlete, she was warned off, as being a woman in a man's world means appearance is everything. Bess decided she needed to let go of a possible real relationship in order to be believed as capable. This changed her ideas about relationships, whether she could even have one and with who. As the years went by, Bess was devoted to her career, and there never was anyone who measured up to the man she had cut loose so many years ago. Now Bess is at the stage where her career is set, she has figured out what is personally important and has come up with her five-year plan. Her brother is part of the Brooklyn Bruisers and with Mark "Tank" Tankiewick being traded to the team, Bess will be crossing paths with the one man she has never forgotten. This cannot be happening. Mark sees Bess and is hit with every memory he has ever had of her. The good, their incredible time together, the smell of her, the way her lips were so soft, all of the things he has thought about over the years. He also remembers the horrific pain...of being cut out of what could have been something. To be tossed aside almost ghosted before there even was ghosting. Seeing her in front of him makes all of these thoughts come rushing back. Now the story has these two Trying to stay away...of course, they can't. And the times they do spend together are something I would like to experience personally, please...But there is so much more than that in this love story...and it tackles serious issues that people have and from a very different perspective. Something I haven't seen before. Was I surprised...nope, because you see, that is the Sarina Bowen way. She will take a standard concept and digs deep, flips it, turns it, dissects it, and make you look at it with new eyes. Bess and Mark are amazing people. Both have gone through things that would bring others to their knees. There is no doubt they belong together but the deep dark demons Mark has will make him think he hasn't any right to be with Bess. Bess's strength and ability to keep bouncing back is commendable. You rooted for her and wanted him to be able to break through the obstacles they had put up.This book had so much going for it. I liked the people I spent time with, got to see those I already knew, and wanted to be right there in Brooklyn with them. I always do...So take a moment and let Sarina Bowen take you to a place where you will love all the characters, feel the chemistry between two people that jumps off the page, and have life lessons that are worth holding on to. Rookie Move (Brooklyn Bruisers, #1)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2) Pipe Dreams (Brooklyn Bruisers, #3)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Brooklynaire (Brooklyn, #1)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Overnight Sensation (Brooklyn, #2)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Superfan (Brooklyn, #3)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... Sure Shot (Brooklyn, #4)https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...~~~~~ Before Reading ~~~~~Lining up the Pleasure Shot, Starting Right Now!❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕❤️Bess Beringer Knows How to Get Things Done...She Did Not Become the Powerhouse Agent Without a Plan...Now She has Shifted Her Focus...To Her Personal Life...Think Color-Coded...Specific Indexing...A Projected Five Year Plan...All of These Things...Like Control, Anticipating...Having Everything in Hand...Makeups Who Bess Is...What Isn't Working...And Falling Inline for Bess...Is Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz...Yes, a Man Who Is Known as Tank...The Term is NOTHING to Take Loosely...His Sex Appeal, His Rep...All Real...But He Also Has Laser Focus...And He Is Going to Make Bess a... Sure Shot (Brooklyn #4)- May 12, 2020A gifted copy was provided by author/publisher for an honest review.For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    January 1, 1970
    Bess & Tank!Bess is a sports agent and friends/family with lots of Brooklyn hockey players and their wives and Tank is a newly traded Brooklyn player!They had a little fling nine years ago and now they're both single and back in Brooklyn.But Bess is looking for something serious. She wants the whole husband & baby thing.And Tank - he's just got out of a not-so-happy marriage.But why not spend some happy moments together while Bess is looking for her happily ever after, right??LET THE FUN Bess & Tank!Bess is a sports agent and friends/family with lots of Brooklyn hockey players and their wives and Tank is a newly traded Brooklyn player!They had a little fling nine years ago and now they're both single and back in Brooklyn.But Bess is looking for something serious. She wants the whole husband & baby thing.And Tank - he's just got out of a not-so-happy marriage.But why not spend some happy moments together while Bess is looking for her happily ever after, right??LET THE FUN TIMES BEGIN!!!!! ☺ ══════════════════Such an adorable story!I'm not really a hockey fan - but I just adore everything Sarina writes!And this book was just so sweet and fun and Brooklyn-ish and hockey-ish!A really adorable second-chance love story full of sparks and sexy times and friends and family.Of course not everything is all happy-happy-fun-fun. We have some serious parts too. Why did Tank's marriage not work out? Why does he not want something serious with Bess? What will happen with those two??? Ugh. I just wanted to fast-forward to their happy end. But of course I adored every single page of their journey! Great romance!Also ... why hasn't Netflix knocked on Sarina's door yet??Does it already have an amazingly funny and sexy Hockey Romance series? NO, it does not!SURE SHOT was a super adorable + fun + sexy second-chance Hockey Romance!!! Run to your nearest amazon for your own Tank - this one is MINE! 💜 💜
    more
  • Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth
    January 1, 1970
    TITLE: SURE SHOTAUTHOR: Sarina BowenSERIES: Brooklyn #4RELEASE DATE: May 12, 2020GENRE: Sports RomanceTHEMES & TROPES: Second ChanceRATING: 4 StarsCLIFFHANGER: NoREAD MY REVIEW ON THE BLOGI don't know how she does it but every time I read a story by Sarina Bowen I feel completely satisfied. Going back into her world is like a snug, cozy blanket. Sure Shot was exactly the same.Bess Beringer's name may ring a bell - she's Dave Beringer's sister. His story crosses over to Sarina Bowen's TITLE: SURE SHOTAUTHOR: Sarina BowenSERIES: Brooklyn #4RELEASE DATE: May 12, 2020GENRE: Sports RomanceTHEMES & TROPES: Second ChanceRATING: 4 StarsCLIFFHANGER: NoREAD MY REVIEW ON THE BLOGI don't know how she does it but every time I read a story by Sarina Bowen I feel completely satisfied. Going back into her world is like a snug, cozy blanket. Sure Shot was exactly the same.Bess Beringer's name may ring a bell - she's Dave Beringer's sister. His story crosses over to Sarina Bowen's True North series and is portrayed in Bountiful. If you haven't read that...do it!As a sports agent she's determined not to date an athlete when her past fling with a hokey player in the gorgeous form of Mark Tankiewicz walks in. She has never forgotten those months years ago and how he made her feel. But neither has Mark. She has no idea at all what this means to me. I haven’t felt desire like this in years. Haven’t been desired in years. Tank was a complex characters, his denial to re-marry doesn't have a run-of-the-mill reason like how horrible his wife was. There went a lot of thought into this character. He was cocky, a little mischievous and a whole lot of sweet, yet also troubled, sometimes a little grump, thoughtful with a s buttery soft core. Bess's ability to make him feel again, after being in a state of apathy and anger for a long time was thanks to her well rounded mix of sweetness, firecracker and backbone. She was perfect for him. Their chemistry was off the charts and Bess brought out Mark's flirty side. I loved that so much. Bess makes me hungry again. Not for steak and ice cream, but for life. It was satisfying to see Mark bonding with the rest o the team after struggling for a while to win them over. I was super happy to get to hang out with pretty much the whole cast of the Brooklyn Bruisers - watching them living their happy ever afters is always a highlight in Sarina's stories.Sure Shot isn't all sunshine - as per usual, Sarina Bowen weaves serious topics into her stories and puts a twist on it. This doesn't take away from the lighthearted overall tone of the story which makes it a perfect comfort read. I love this series. I love this author. It's always a pleasure to pick up her stories. "This is what winning looks like.” He cups my chin and kisses me.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    GAH!!! Sarina Bowen's Brooklyn Bruisers series has a special place in my heart. All her stories in this incredible series are full of sass, sexy moments and all the swoons. Sure Shot is no exception!! I fell head over heels for Mark. He had so many different facets to who he was: cocky, raw and alpha but also unsure and confused. Likewise Bess was fantastic. She had that little extra sass that I loved while also looking for love. I loved them together!! When I think of Mark Tank Tankiewicz I am GAH!!! Sarina Bowen's Brooklyn Bruisers series has a special place in my heart. All her stories in this incredible series are full of sass, sexy moments and all the swoons. Sure Shot is no exception!! I fell head over heels for Mark. He had so many different facets to who he was: cocky, raw and alpha but also unsure and confused. Likewise Bess was fantastic. She had that little extra sass that I loved while also looking for love. I loved them together!! When I think of Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz I am once again bowled over by the way he won me over. First and foremost, his dirty mouth and alpha smexy style just gave me allll the butterflies, good Lord! But his easy and smooth demeanor and ease in which he wanted to rekindle his romance with Bess just did it for me. He was absolutely delicious. Furthermore, I love how well matched they were. They were both at an impasse in their respective lives and unsure about their future plans. But once their connection was rekindled, their lives revolved around one another.Overall, I LOVED being back in this world and seeing a bunch of old and new favorites. This series and all of its characters feel like a family that I never want to leave. It was emotional and poignant while also full of heat and humor. This story hit all the right notes. Bravo! 5 stars! ~Ratula ***I don't know if I've ever wanted to hug two characters more. Like, there I was - reading this incredible, heartfelt love story - and it was all I could do to keep from squeezing my Kindle tight because Bess and Mark were utterly huggable.I adored them!This story starts with a blast of physical chemistry before that gets set on simmer while the emotions build. And holy emotion explosion -- these two completely rocked my heart. The bond that Bess and Mark formed was a thing of absolute beauty. I loved that they were given room to explore a friendship, peppered with exquisitely tender moments, and a whole lot of sweetness. Theirs was a bumpy road and my heart ached for them - but it was so worth it. SO worth it.With Sure Shot, Sarina Bowen tackles some sensitive subjects. There are issues addressed that I felt on a deeply personal level. However, the perspective she gave was new, thought-provoking, and took the whole story to an emotional place that wholly encompassed my heart. As usual, the writing was smart and snappy, and the storytelling was crazy compelling but done with a delicate touch and a respectful tone. And the things it did to my heart y'all, I can't even... I feel like there is no trope that Sarina Bowen can't master, but there is something special about her hockey romances. Each new one is like falling back into a circle of old friends. I enjoyed catching up with the characters from previous books and - while the romance is front and center here - I also enjoyed watching Tank fumble his way toward friendship with his new teammates. These lovable lunks provided hours of entertainment and I don't think I'll ever get enough of them.There was nothing about this book that wasn't 100% satisfying. The story sparks with chemistry, it set my heart aflutter with swoons, and then made it overflow with emotions as these two insanely huggable characters found their happily ever after. I am so crazy about this book! 1000% recommend! ~ Shelly, 5 Stars
    more
  • Claudia Fosca Stahl
    January 1, 1970
    Sure Shot is most definitely one of my top reads of 2020. Its a hockey romance masterclass. Its beautifully written and it will definitely make you swoon.I love the Brooklyn Bruisers. This series owns my heart. Every single book is a masterpiece, and Sure Shot might be the best one yet. Its not surpring because Sarina Bowen is always outdoing herself. Shes such a talented writer and storyteller. Theres nothing better than reading one of her books, either for the first time or the tenth time.Sure Sure Shot is most definitely one of my top reads of 2020. It’s a hockey romance masterclass. It’s beautifully written and it will definitely make you swoon.I love the Brooklyn Bruisers. This series owns my heart. Every single book is a masterpiece, and Sure Shot might be the best one yet. It’s not surpring because Sarina Bowen is always outdoing herself. She’s such a talented writer and storyteller. There’s nothing better than reading one of her books, either for the first time or the tenth time.Sure Shot is Bess Beringer’s story. She’s stong, smart and determined. She’s a very successful sports agent, and about to turn thirty. She’s making some changes in her personal life. She has moved to Brooklyn to be closer to her family, and wants a family of her own. But she didn’t count on Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz, a former lover who still has the ability to make her swoon, to come back into her life.Mark is a great guy. He’s a bit of a grump, but charming and funny. He’s dreamy and swoonworthy. His reputation precedes him, but he has depth, and you’ll see he’s hiding a wounded soul. He’s definitely book boyfriend material. He’s the new player on the team, traded from Dallas—Brooklyn’s nemesis, and is completely out of his depth. He’s not getting along with his new teammates on and off the ice. He’s getting divorced, and is a regular feature in the gossip blogs, his character constantly in question. Basically, his whole life is falling apart. He’s not looking for a relationship, but he wasn’t expecting to run into Bess again, the girl he had a fling with nine years ago.I loved Bess and Tank together. Their banter is hilarious, and their chemistry off the charts. The intensity of their attraction comes through loud and clear. But more importantly, it’s evident they have a special connection. It’s not about sex, even when they both try to keep their relationship secret and without strings. Bess’s conflict with it is pretty evident, but Tank’s reluctance has deeper roots, and they come to light when he opens up to Bess, showing her his vulnerability.One of the things I love most about this series is that it has a very strong small-town vibe. Brooklyn—and especially DUMBO—are described so vividly and with such attention to detail, that they come alive in the reader’s mind, and they really play a very important role in these stories. It’s part of their DNA.The other thing I love is the characters. I’m in love with each and every one of them. The depth and intensity of the supporting cast is one of Sarina Bowen’s trademarks.I loved seeing Bess bonding with Becca and Georgia, and Tank trying to explain his role on the team to Jason Castro. Heidi steals the show more than once, as only she does, and we get to hang out with Zara, Dave and Nicole for a little while. It was great to see Patrick O’Doul so zen, happiness definitely suits him. Baby Bayer had a couple of magic moments as well, and I loved meeting Henry, such a lovely guy.Sure Shot is a beautiful second chance story about moving on, true love, and trust. About embracing change, and realizing that there’s more than one way to find happiness if only you’re open to the possibilities. It’s witty and hilarious, but just as heartfelt and soulful as you’d expect from Sarina Bowen. It’s the perfect combination of laugh-out-loud fun and very emotional and heartbreaking revelations. It will touch your soul and make it cry a little, both from heartbreak and laughter.Sure Shot is Sarina Bowen at her best, and that alone makes it worth your time. It’s hockey perfection, steamy romance and wonderful characters. I loved everything about this story, and can only hope there are more hunky hockey players coming our way in the near future.
    more
  • maggieandteddy
    January 1, 1970
    Sure Shot by Sarina BowenA stand-alone in the Brooklyn Bruisers worldRelease day: May 12, 2020Bess Beringer is one of my favorite heroines in all of Sarina Bowen's books. She's Dave's sister (Dave/Zara's story is in Bountiful-in the True North Series).Sure Shot is Mark Tankiewicz's nickname. He's recently been traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers from.....Dallas -gasp!-- The Bruiser's #1 opponent!! What a big burden and a major uphill job to gain any credibility and rapport with Tank's (Mark's) new Sure Shot by Sarina BowenA stand-alone in the Brooklyn Bruisers worldRelease day: May 12, 2020Bess Beringer is one of my favorite heroines in all of Sarina Bowen's books. She's Dave's sister (Dave/Zara's story is in Bountiful-in the True North Series).Sure Shot is Mark Tankiewicz's nickname. He's recently been traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers from.....Dallas -gasp!-- The Bruiser's #1 opponent!! What a big burden and a major uphill job to gain any credibility and rapport with Tank's (Mark's) new team.Just before Tank's trade, Tanks wife leaves him. The reason for the split is up for major gossip. Neither Tank nor his ex are giving any details. Tank is painted as the bad guy. Bess is a sports agent who building up her clientele after moving to NYC, and specifically Brooklyn.Bess and Tank have a past. More than 9 years ago, when both were single & much younger, Tank and Bess had a thing. Bess had broken it off with Mark so she could keep her reputation with players and teams' negotiations. This part reminded me a little of Jane Austen's Persuasion. Bess took advice on what it would look like if she was dating a player. She had to make a choice between her career and a casual fling with a hockey player.I love the chemistry between Bess and Tank. They're friends. Nine years went by, but they started to build on a new relationship now that they're in their early 30's Bess is in a man dominated profession, but the players are very respectful to her. I loved that. Meanwhile, Tank is struggling to find his niche on the team. The Bruisers are building up to their game with Dallas. Tank and one of his old teammates have a score to settle. Grrr, I'm team Tank of course.I have no clue about hockey, but I really enjoyed following the team (my pleasure!) The supporting characters played important parts. I especially loved Becca, Heidi and Dave. This is 1st person POV, alternating between Bess and Tank. I loved the ending and the epilogue was built right in. I really want the audio! **Jacob Morgan & Emma Wilder** (perfect casting !) 4.5 STARS All in one link pagehttps://shor.by/SureShotVENDORSAmazonhttps://geni.us/SureShotAmazonApplehttps://geni.us/SureShotAppleKobohttps://geni.us/SureShotKoboNookhttps://geni.us/SureShotNookAudio * Here's the link: https://geni.us/SureShotAudio?fbclid=IwAR2vNnWgFEQCdco2mNv8_w8iqcpDXvJDX1lAWmzCIRFpYvaCpy6fBj6Sm_I
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I just loved this book! I first read Sarina Bowen's work a little more than two years ago when I picked up Bountiful and I haven't looked back. I haven't quite read all of her work yet but I am working on it and I do get excited every time a new book hits the shelves. I still have a soft spot for Dave and Zara, the couple from Bountiful, though so this book was a big winner for me since it features Dave's sister, Bess. I loved This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I just loved this book! I first read Sarina Bowen's work a little more than two years ago when I picked up Bountiful and I haven't looked back. I haven't quite read all of her work yet but I am working on it and I do get excited every time a new book hits the shelves. I still have a soft spot for Dave and Zara, the couple from Bountiful, though so this book was a big winner for me since it features Dave's sister, Bess. I loved getting to know Bess and Tank and I really enjoyed getting to check in on Dave and Zara. Once I picked up this book, I didn't want to put it down and ended up reading it cover to cover in less than a day.Bess Beringer is turning 30 and is ready to make some changes in her life. She is a sports agent and has been very career-focused up to this point but now she is ready to work on her personal life. Mark Tankiewicz, or Tank, has been playing hockey for a long time but now everything seems to be falling apart. His wife has asked for a divorce and he has been traded to a new team. Nobody knows it but Bess and Mark had a short fling when they were both starting their careers nine years ago and now they find themselves single and living in the same city.I loved Bess, Tank, and the entire collected cast of this story. Bess and Tank were both great characters and the chemistry that they shared was off the charts. I really liked the way that they were willing to take a chance with each other. All of the obstacles to their relationship made sense and I liked the way that they worked together to work past them. This book can easily be read as a stand-alone but readers of the series will enjoy seeing many of the characters from previous books stepping in to play a role in this one. I would recommend this book to others. If you enjoy sports romance and you haven't read Sarina Bowen yet, what are you waiting for? This story put a big old smile on my face and I couldn't help but cheer these characters towards their happily ever after. I really appreciated the fact that we get to see how things work out for this pair in the epilogue that jumped forward a bit. I cannot wait to read more of Sarina Bowen's work.I received a digital review copy of this book from the author/publicist.Initial ThoughtsI am somewhere between 4 and 5 stars on this one but I am going to go with 5 for right now since I am leaning that way. I loved Bess and Tank. The first Sarina Bowen book that I was was Bountiful so I have a soft spot for Dave and Zara so I was thrilled to get to see so much of them in this book. Bess and Tank were perfect for each other and their chemistry was off the charts. It was really a lot of fun to watch their relationship develop throughout this book and I was happy that we got a chance to see how things work out for them.
    more
  • Literati Literature Lovers
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars for Sure Shot... it's a MUST READ! As always, when I read a Sarina Bowen book, I get a sense of home. Whether it's reading about the Brooklyn Bruisers or the Shipleys, I am always drawn back into that world and find myself fully immersed. Her latest novel, SURE SHOT takes us back to Brooklyn and has a crossover with my favorite Vermont residents. This is Bess and "Tank's" story and it is one to remember.When we first met Bess in Bountiful, I honestly loved her... her spunk, her 4.5 Stars for Sure Shot... it's a MUST READ! As always, when I read a Sarina Bowen book, I get a sense of home. Whether it's reading about the Brooklyn Bruisers or the Shipleys, I am always drawn back into that world and find myself fully immersed. Her latest novel, SURE SHOT takes us back to Brooklyn and has a crossover with my favorite Vermont residents. This is Bess and "Tank's" story and it is one to remember.When we first met Bess in Bountiful, I honestly loved her... her spunk, her support of her brother Dave, and her overall awesomeness were so endearing and sweet. However, I never imagined that we would re-visit her again, but OMG I was thrilled when her book was announced... surprised, but overjoyed. If anyone deserved a HEA and a good man of her own, it was Bess. With that said, it is totally not necessary to read the book where she was introduced (well it is because the book is awesome, but that's a whole other series). In Sure Shot, Bess is a bad ass sports agent and represents several of the Brooklyn Bruisers... the book starts off at a swanky party where the latest BB acquisition Mark Tankiewicz aka "Tank" is in attendance. From there, their story takes off and you'll want to hang on because it's a delicious one, especially when there is a backstory. Oh how I love history between the main characters. If you know me, you know that I don't spoil books... so here is my sum up... I LOVED Sure Shot! You get your steamy romance, your hockey fix, your strong heroine, and your gorgeous hunk of a hockey player who is always the good guy. You do get a bit of angst and there is a sensitive topic involved, but it certainly doesn't take away from just how good Bess and Mark are together. It is classic Sarina Bowen and it is one of my faves in the series. While this book is a complete standalone, it was so much fun to revisit the Brooklyn Bruisers world and  all of the past couples that I have grown to love. Bess and Mark will capture your heart in more ways than one... Sure Shot is hockey romance at its best and Sarina does not disappoint!
    more
  • ItaPixie
    January 1, 1970
    Bess just turned 30 years old, she is ready to start her 5 years plan to get her life on track, finding a good man who makes her happy and having a baby, but it seems like Tank showed up in her life just to make it more complicated, ruining her plans. Bess is a sports agent, she just trasferred to Brooklyn to make her business grow further. Tank is a hockey player just traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers from Dallas, he doesnt have any friend in the city except for one. He remembers Bess and their Bess just turned 30 years old, she is ready to start her 5 years plan to get her life on track, finding a good man who makes her happy and having a baby, but it seems like Tank showed up in her life just to make it more complicated, ruining her plans. Bess is a sports agent, she just trasferred to Brooklyn to make her business grow further. Tank is a hockey player just traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers from Dallas, he doesn’t have any friend in the city except for one. He remembers Bess and their hot encounters from nine years before quite well, like it was yesterday. She has one rule to not date hockey players. Will Tank charme her making her get over her rule and plans giving him a chance?These two characters were a great match in bed but they had to work harder to make their relationship works outside the bedroom. I really like them and I think they became my favourite characters written by Sarina Bowen. The author did an outstanding job depicting them and their relationship making me feel like the book was too short. I hope to see them again soon maybe in another book. Sure Shot was such a good story, it made me happy and warm inside. I’d throughly recommend it, don’t waste any time go 1 click it maybe it will become your favourite of the year. Copy kindly provided by the Publisher/Author.
    more
  • Angela (Reading Frenzy Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    Sarina Bowen is like my sports romance fairy godmother. Whenever Im feeling down, she is there to wave her fictional magic wand and poof! Im transported to a wonderful place where hockey players have soft hearts and and the women who love them share a tight bond. Sure Shot is exactly the sweet escape I needed.Bess Beringer is a sports agent with a solid reputation and one firm rule: never date athletes. With a successful business well in hand, Bess decides its time to pursue a fulfilling Sarina Bowen is like my sports romance fairy godmother. Whenever I’m feeling down, she is there to wave her fictional magic wand and — poof! — I’m transported to a wonderful place where hockey players have soft hearts and and the women who love them share a tight bond. Sure Shot is exactly the sweet escape I needed.Bess Beringer is a sports agent with a solid reputation and one firm rule: never date athletes. With a successful business well in hand, Bess decides it’s time to pursue a fulfilling personal life. She is on the right path to making her dreams a reality until a blast from her past threatens to derail her plans.Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz is disillusioned with life. Following a sudden trade to a rival hockey team and an acrimonious divorce, Tank finds himself alone in a new city. An encounter with Bess has him finally feeling something other than anger or apathy. Although he’s a hockey player, he is determined to be the exception to Bess’s rule.Bess and Tank have explosive chemistry, but it is clear very early on that their attraction is more than just physical. Bess helps Mark shed his grumpy persona and gives him a sense of optimism. Tank shows Bess what it means to be desired and respected. He is 100% #husbandgoals as far as she is concerned, so it’s heartbreaking for her that he isn’t in the market for a long-term relationship.I was caught up in Tank’s struggles to bond with his new teammates as well as Bess’s efforts to find close girlfriends. I loved their romantic journey and the fact that major conflicts aren’t drawn out or resolved in predictable ways. One resolution seems overly rushed, though, and I would have appreciated lingering on the moment longer. The story, while lighthearted, also touches on the important issues of gender equality and stereotypical masculinity. Sure Shot has the sweet, sexy, and sentimental combination that make it a very refreshing read.Recommended for fans of:HockeySecond chance romanceBreakfast *I received an early copy of this book to voluntarily read.*
    more
  • Geri Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Im a sucker for a romance between a grumpy hero, not looking for love falling for the heroine, with a 5-year life plan. And Sure Shot delivered on this promise in the most delightful and heartwarming way.It was so easy to fall in love with Tank and Bess because Sarina Bowen wrote them so well, its impossible not to like them. I enjoyed their dance, from being FWB to having some serious feelings for each other. They had great chemistry and I loved how their connection deepened throughout the I’m a sucker for a romance between a grumpy hero, not looking for love falling for the heroine, with a 5-year life plan. And Sure Shot delivered on this promise in the most delightful and heartwarming way.It was so easy to fall in love with Tank and Bess because Sarina Bowen wrote them so well, it’s impossible not to like them. I enjoyed their dance, from being FWB to having some serious feelings for each other. They had great chemistry and I loved how their connection deepened throughout the book.The conflict, in my opinion, was the highlight. Tank came into the team bringing a lot of baggage, including a bitter divorce and some really ugly rumors that did not endear him to his new teammates at the very beginning. He struggled and Bess was his one bright spot in a new city where he felt unwelcomed. At first, I thought he was eh, shallow but as the story moved along, I found myself rooting for him. Kudos to Sarina for not resorting to the "evil ex" stereotype when it came to Jordanna, Tank's ex. Bess has some baggage, too. Her bad experiences during childhood explained a lot of her motivations. And it explained why those experiences made her long to have a family of her own, something that Tank couldn’t give her. It was a tautly written conflict and the resolution, while others might say is too neat, fits and was satisfying to me. CW: Infertility, divorce.
    more
  • Susan's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to the author and publisher for an ARC of this outstanding addition to the Brooklyn series!As I tried to summarize my reactions to Sure Shot, I kept coming up with all the superlative "bling bling" descriptors: fabulous, engrossing, passionate, sensational (in every sense of that word!), provocative and heart-stirring! Sarina Bowen worked her usual magic in this latest installment: her emotive writing and strong, appealing characters kept putting a sentimental smile on my face as I My thanks to the author and publisher for an ARC of this outstanding addition to the Brooklyn series!As I tried to summarize my reactions to Sure Shot, I kept coming up with all the superlative "bling bling" descriptors: fabulous, engrossing, passionate, sensational (in every sense of that word!), provocative and heart-stirring! Sarina Bowen worked her usual magic in this latest installment: her emotive writing and strong, appealing characters kept putting a sentimental smile on my face as I read Bess and Tank's second chance at love story. There is lots of sizzling "behind the scenes" action between these two highly competitive characters. What I really loved was the honesty between these two successful, intelligent professionals. When Bess was 23 and new to the sports agency business, Bess "ghosted" Mark (Tank) Tankiewicz when a colleague warned her about how other players would view her if it became known that she was sleeping with one of their clients. As a female in a male-dominated field, Bess had to make the tough decision to step away from her wild relationship with Tank. Years later, she knows she made the right decision at the time, but no one has ever come close to matching the sexual chemistry that she had shared with Tank.Bess is now in her 30's and has a 5 year plan: a committed relationship, with the ultimate goal of having the children she yearns for. She hopes to rewrite her own abusive childhood by finding an outlet for all the love and caring she has bottled up in her. The fates intervene, and Mark Tankiewicz is traded to the Brooklynaires team. Tank is in the middle of a highly publicized divorce. The rags and tabloids hint at cheating as the probable grounds for the divorce, but the actual reason becomes a major theme in this novel.Sarina Bowen can always be relied upon to deal with sensitive subjects such as infertility, adoption and child abuse with the utmost care. As soon as I finished the first chapter, I wanted turn off my computer and silence my phone so that I could binge read the rest of the book in one go, but unfortunately I had to pilfer all of my precious moments of reading time for Sure Shot. My stolen time with Mark and Bess turned out to be the highlight of my day. Spring is always crazy busy for me - a sort of spring madness seems to come over everyone. These two passionate lovers would pull me into their steamy world and I could forget all the deadlines and immediate world issues that were stressing me out. Such sweet oblivion! I highly, highly, highly recommend this book!
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Bess Berringer isn't where she thought she'd be in life when she turns 30. Sure her career is really taking off, but Bess wants more. She wants love. She wants a family. Mark "Tank" Tankiewicz isn't where he thought he'd be in life either. To top it off, he was just traded to a rival hockey team, has to move across the country, oh and his wife wants a divorce. When Bess and Tank run into each other at a party, they are both shocked to see each other again. Yes, again. 9 years earlier, Bess and Bess Berringer isn't where she thought she'd be in life when she turns 30. Sure her career is really taking off, but Bess wants more. She wants love. She wants a family. Mark "Tank" Tankiewicz isn't where he thought he'd be in life either. To top it off, he was just traded to a rival hockey team, has to move across the country, oh and his wife wants a divorce. When Bess and Tank run into each other at a party, they are both shocked to see each other again. Yes, again. 9 years earlier, Bess and Tank how a sizzly hot friends with benefits situation going on. It fizzled out sooner than either of them wanted it to, but Bess was just starting off as a sports agent, and Tank was a hockey player. Those two things don't mix well in a relationship. Soon, Tank and Bess slip into old habits. The sparks between them are just as explosive and just as dangerous. Because Bess now has her own sports agency, and Tank is still, well, a hockey player. But more importantly, Bess wants the happily ever after, and Tank wants the happily no strings attached. Or does he? Ah, I just loved everything about Bess and Tank! I loved their banter, the chemistry, the friendship. I felt for Bess as she struggled between listening to her heart and her head. As she starts to accept she might not get the things she wants most in life. Tank completely surprised me with all his layers. There is so much more to him than meets the eye, and his story tugged on my heart strings a few times. Sarina Bowen has such a gift for creating these incredible worlds filled with love and pain and in credible friendship. Failure and triumph. Growth and forgiveness. Romance and swoons. Strong, intelligent, vulnerable women. Men who love and respect and encourage these women. And of course, some hockey ;) Side Note: Sure Shot is the 4th book in the Brooklyn series. While the books in this series are companion novels, they can still be read as a standalone. You also see characters from her Brooklyn Bruisers series and True North series. Again, you do not have to have read these series before hand, but I highly recommend them.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Another great story from Sarina Bowen! I do love me a good second chance romance and Bess and Mark's was something special, once they were able to move past Bess's initial hesitancy. They had such great chemistry, both in and out of the bedroom. I liked how comfortable they were with each other, thanks to their past relationship. I really enjoyed seeing them reconnect and build a strong foundation- even if they might not have realized that's what they were doing at the time, considering they Another great story from Sarina Bowen! I do love me a good second chance romance and Bess and Mark's was something special, once they were able to move past Bess's initial hesitancy. They had such great chemistry, both in and out of the bedroom. I liked how comfortable they were with each other, thanks to their past relationship. I really enjoyed seeing them reconnect and build a strong foundation- even if they might not have realized that's what they were doing at the time, considering they each had a different end game in mind. Bess was such a strong character. I loved that she knew what she wanted and had goals set for herself. But you know what they say about best laid plans- a Tank will roll right over them. Okay, that's really not what they say, but that's what happened to Bess, when he showed back up in her life. Mark's going through a rough time when he and Bess cross paths years after their short-lived affair. Traded to a rival team, served with a divorce, anything more than a good time is not on his radar. He may want Bess, but he's not willing or ready to be all that she needs.Mark's story really tugged at my heart strings. There's a lot more to him than the grumpy hockey player with the bad reputation. I loved how Bess was able to bring out the best in him and show him what real, true love could be like. In the end I really liked how they fought for each other.
    more
  • Readaholic
    January 1, 1970
    Bess Berringer is a busy woman. She has her own company and is a sports agent. She recently moved to Brooklyn and the last person she expects to run into is a past hookup and a new Brooklyn Brusier - Mark "Tank" Tankiewicz.I love a great second chance romance and Sarina Bowen did such a wonderful job re-introducing us to Bess and Tank. The chemistry is sizzling from the moment that they set eyes on each other again. Bess tries to keep it a one-time deal, but she is drawn to Tank and can't stay Bess Berringer is a busy woman. She has her own company and is a sports agent. She recently moved to Brooklyn and the last person she expects to run into is a past hookup and a new Brooklyn Brusier - Mark "Tank" Tankiewicz.I love a great second chance romance and Sarina Bowen did such a wonderful job re-introducing us to Bess and Tank. The chemistry is sizzling from the moment that they set eyes on each other again. Bess tries to keep it a one-time deal, but she is drawn to Tank and can't stay away. Bess and Tank have different long term goals. Tank has just separated from his wife and the media is having a field day of why he divorced. Bess has a five-year plan that is color-coated and all mapped out. Will Bess and Tank find a way to compromise and settle down together, or are they not meant to be? I loved Bess and Tank together. I have so many parts between the two highlighted (a text chat had a smile on my face). Sure Shot had me laughing out loud, but also moments that had me crying into my pillow. There are some sensitive topics that are discussed in Sure Shot and I feel like Sarina did a wonderful job including the reader into the discussions and decisions that Bess and Tank make. Bess is so strong and I LOVE that about her! The meetings between Bess, Georgia and Rebecca were some of my favorites. It's always so great re-visiting with past characters. As always, I loved the camaraderie between the hockey players. Although Tank was an "outsider," he won the hearts of his teammates eventually. I really enjoyed Sure Shot and hope that Sarina lets us come back to this world! I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author.
    more
  • vivi books haven
    January 1, 1970
    Do you ever feel like everyone around you have their life figure out? if it`s marriage or a family or even at work, somehow you look around and you are the only one who is lost at some way? Then you decide to make a plan, to change what is bothering you. And you are committed to it. But the thing about A plan like this , is that you never know what life will bring you.Bess Beringer had A plan, A really good five year plan, she knew what she wanted and worked hard for it.Then life got in the way, Do you ever feel like everyone around you have their life figure out? if it`s marriage or a family or even at work, somehow you look around and you are the only one who is lost at some way? Then you decide to make a plan, to change what is bothering you. And you are committed to it. But the thing about A plan like this , is that you never know what life will bring you.Bess Beringer had A plan, A really good five year plan, she knew what she wanted and worked hard for it.Then life got in the way, and Bess found herself facing different choices.A big, tall, ripped hunk of hockey player who’s just been traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers is not a part of that plan. Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz has a lot of baggage. what should Bess do? should she risk her five year plan in order to have some fun ? or she will try to keep her distance ?You should to read to find out.The thing about Sarina`s books is you never know what life issue you are going to read about.it`s never just a love story, for me when I read her books I can relate to them. I always find myself wishing I could sit down with the characters and just be best friend with them , because they are that real for me,real life problem, real life hurt. so yeah I love this book, like most of her book.and hey [email protected]! i`m in this book !!!! yey !
    more
  • Garden Of REden
    January 1, 1970
    **OFF THE CHARTS **Cassie's ReviewSure Shot is a book I needed without knowing it. I have been sucked in by many Sarina Bowen books. Actually, I think I have been sucked in each time, but nothing compares to how quickly this book consumed every corner of my soul.Bess Beringer is a color-coded stickler, a good-hearted friend, and the ultimate hockey fan. She is someone I aspire to be everyday.Tank had me from the get-go. As soon as he entered the arena, I was a goner. He is just that type of **OFF THE CHARTS **Cassie's ReviewSure Shot is a book I needed without knowing it. I have been sucked in by many Sarina Bowen books. Actually, I think I have been sucked in each time, but nothing compares to how quickly this book consumed every corner of my soul.Bess Beringer is a color-coded stickler, a good-hearted friend, and the ultimate hockey fan. She is someone I aspire to be everyday.Tank had me from the get-go. As soon as he entered the arena, I was a goner. He is just that type of character. All-encompassing and utterly fascinating.This book touched on a part of my life that needs to be brought up more in romance books. Even better, the vulnerability that the author displayed via Tank was even more unprecedented.This book was phenomenal on all levels. I laughed, I cried, I felt love, and most importantly, sports were involved.
    more
  • Escape into a Booksite
    January 1, 1970
    *4 Stars* ARC kindly received in exchange for an honest review. Another great addition to this series. I enjoyed getting to know Bess and Tank, and go along with them on their ride of getting to know each other in the present day.I wanted to know what had gone wrong in Tanks marriage, and it wasn't what I expected at all. At least not at the start. Bess is well loved and looked up to by the players and her friends, and I love that she knows what she wants and she strives for things. She works *4 Stars* ARC kindly received in exchange for an honest review. Another great addition to this series. I enjoyed getting to know Bess and Tank, and go along with them on their ride of getting to know each other in the present day.I wanted to know what had gone wrong in Tanks marriage, and it wasn't what I expected at all. At least not at the start. Bess is well loved and looked up to by the players and her friends, and I love that she knows what she wants and she strives for things. She works hard and is just a really lovely character.Lots of fun moments in this, and some more serious ones too. Enjoyed this and look forward to more from this series.Review also on my blog - Sure Shot by Sarina Bowen Follow me on:FacebookTwitterInstagram
    more
  • The Romance Book Disciple (Samantha)
    January 1, 1970
    Sure Shot continues the stories of the Brooklyn Bruisers hockey team and I am here for it! I simply adore this series. In this edition, we get new transfer Tank and agent Bess. Its a little bit taboo and a whole lot of baggage for these two.So, Bess and Tank had a fling years ago but now are both in Brooklyn. Bess always had a thing for Tank, aka Sure Shot, but she feared that dating a player would ruin her reputation as an agent (females in a male dominated industry seem to always face these Sure Shot continues the stories of the Brooklyn Bruisers hockey team and I am here for it! I simply adore this series. In this edition, we get new transfer Tank and agent Bess. Its a little bit taboo and a whole lot of baggage for these two.So, Bess and Tank had a fling years ago but now are both in Brooklyn. Bess always had a thing for Tank, aka Sure Shot, but she feared that dating a player would ruin her reputation as an agent (females in a male dominated industry seem to always face these unfair challenges). She ends things with Tank and leaves NYC. Tank never knew why, but they weren't serious or anything, so he moved on, got married, and then got divorced.The sexual tension between these two is intense! Attraction was never their issue. Communication is certainly their issue. For about the first half of the book, Tank acts like a 23 year old instead of a 32 year old. He is just divorced and never planning to repeat the process of marriage. Bess just turned 30 and has a 5 year plan that includes kids (even if she has to go to a sperm bank). They don't actually share their thoughts with each other until the half way point, which is certainly a problem because they obviously have different objectives!While this kind of left me irritated, as Sure Shot unfolds further, you realize that Tank's experience is much deeper and darker than a simple divorce. And Bess's childhood is truly tragic. You can easily see why neither of them wanted to discuss things. I think I had tears slowly streaming down my face for like the whole second half of the book! When the book was complete, I was enraptured by these two and so happy for them.Since Sure Shot is several books into the series, you get lots of peeks at previous couples, including Bess's brother, whose story is part of the True North series. You also get lots of Eric Bayer now that he is working for Bess. If you enjoy intense chemistry, deep family trauma, and sexy hockey players, you need to pick up Sure Shot!    POV: dual 1st   Tears: yes   Trope: athlete, taboo   Triggers: (view spoiler)[Bess was abused as a child; it is not detailed explicitly in the book but does become important in understanding Bess (hide spoiler)]   Series/Standalone: stand alone within and interconnected series   Cliffhanger: (view spoiler)[no (hide spoiler)]   HEA: (view spoiler)[yes, with epilogue (hide spoiler)] other hockey series by Toni Aleo, Elle Kennedy, Helena Hunting...then you will probably like Sure Shot!  Sure Shot  See full review on The Book Disciple
    more
  • FMABookReviews
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars!A woman with a five-year plan and a man who would love to forget the last 5 years, fall in love in this charming and heartwarming story.Besse Beringer spent the last nine years proving herself as a top sports agent in a male-dominated profession. While she was extremely happy with her professional life, she realized her personal life had suffered along the way. During some introspection, a Five-Year Plan was born. Included in that plan was dating - with a caveat to not sleep with 4.5 Stars!A woman with a five-year plan and a man who would love to forget the last 5 years, fall in love in this charming and heartwarming story.Besse Beringer spent the last nine years proving herself as a top sports agent in a male-dominated profession. While she was extremely happy with her professional life, she realized her personal life had suffered along the way. During some introspection, a Five-Year Plan was born. Included in that plan was dating - with a caveat to not sleep with players, getting married, and having kids.At 32, Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz was in a rebuilding year. He was recently traded from Dallas to Brooklyn, and his divorce was being finalized. He was skeptical about his future; gelling with his teammates seemed a stretch, and getting married again and having kids was nothing he could visualize. It was at the annual kick-off-the-season party for Brooklyn Bruisers that Besse and Tank saw each other again for the first time in nine years. Their friends with benefits arrangements was cut short, leaving Tank wondering what happened, and Besse wondering why no other man ever measured up. Seeing Besse again reignited something in Tank that he thought he'd lost, and seeing Tank again brought back  "the urge to scale him like a tree." The question becomes, can Tank fit into Besse's 5-year plan, or is Tank worth giving it all up for?Four years and 22 books later, and I'm still a huge fan of Bowen's writing. Her stories are my happy place. I was provided a review copy by the author; this did not influence my opinion of the book.
    more
  • ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received for an honest reviewI love love love the Brooklyn Bruisers series, and I was absolutely thrilled to get an early copy of Sure Shot.And in fact, except for my Nate, I think this is my favourite story in the Brooklyn/Bruisers series - at least to date!Bess Beringer is a lady whose story I have been wanting since we first met her - you remember, she is Dave's sister from Zara's story in the True North series (if you haven't read that series, get onto it, STAT!)Bess is strong and fiesty ARC received for an honest reviewI love love love the Brooklyn Bruisers series, and I was absolutely thrilled to get an early copy of Sure Shot.And in fact, except for my Nate, I think this is my favourite story in the Brooklyn/Bruisers series - at least to date!Bess Beringer is a lady whose story I have been wanting since we first met her - you remember, she is Dave's sister from Zara's story in the True North series (if you haven't read that series, get onto it, STAT!)Bess is strong and fiesty and successful - and I want to be her friend!Tank is a new trade coming out of a marriage, and not looking for anything more than resurrecting their fling from a decade ago - nothing could go wrong here right?Oh my the longing looks across a crowded room, the sexual tension you could cut with a knife and he fun and flirty interactionsGah, I just love everything about them and this book.I have been mourning the lost of hockey season in 2020, so reading about my hockey hotties has to get me through this trying time, and the Bruisers are getting me there.I loved seeing the other Bruisers and their significant others - though there was so much Becca and not my Nate hahah.I love a second chance story, and absolutely adored Sure Shot.Now, Ms Bowen - give me more.... please.
    more
  • Romance Schmomance (Malia)
    January 1, 1970
    Since I feel like I'm the CEO of reading books in a series out of order, I'll say that I have a bit of perspective if you're truly able to read this book as a standalone. And I say yes, HOWEVER, I think you'll get the full experience by starting from the very beginning, which I'll be doing very soon.Sure Shot jumps right to it in this second chance of sorts and I was here for it. I love that despite both Tank and Bess going their separate paths several years ago, they reunited and the Since I feel like I'm the CEO of reading books in a series out of order, I'll say that I have a bit of perspective if you're truly able to read this book as a standalone. And I say yes, HOWEVER, I think you'll get the full experience by starting from the very beginning, which I'll be doing very soon.Sure Shot jumps right to it in this second chance of sorts and I was here for it. I love that despite both Tank and Bess going their separate paths several years ago, they reunited and the sizzling chemistry is still very much there. With Tank recently coming out of a divorce, I was a little nervous see what possible drama was going to come out of it. But it wasn't like I thought it would be at all.I loved that Tank pushed for what he wanted and even though he couldn't see a long future with Bess, he couldn't stay away from her. And boy, these two tried, but the pull is strong, so I was rooting for them from beginning to end.I was a bit of a mess because some of the their story hit close to home and it just made it very easy to relate to them, not just individually, but a couple as well. More than anything, I loved that they were both willing to work through everything together especially with so many unknowns with the future.I can't recommend this book enough and it's easily added to my faves for 2020!CHECK OUT THE REST OF MY REVIEW | HERE BLOG | INSTAGRAM | AMAZON | BOOKBUB | TWITTER
    more
  • Anne's Corner Book Blog (AC)
    January 1, 1970
    OH MAN! After a few dark reads, Sure Shot was a much needed refresher for me. A nice, low drama, sweet and sexy hockey romance voila! Whats it about?On the eve of her thirtieth birthday, sports agent Bess Beringer is ready to make some changes. Armed with a five-year planindexed and color codedshell tackle her personal life with the same zeal that she brings to her successful agency.A big, tall, ripped hunk of hockey player whos just been traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers is not a part of that OH MAN! After a few dark reads, Sure Shot was a much needed refresher for me. A nice, low drama, sweet and sexy hockey romance – voila! What’s it about?On the eve of her thirtieth birthday, sports agent Bess Beringer is ready to make some changes. Armed with a five-year plan—indexed and color coded—she’ll tackle her personal life with the same zeal that she brings to her successful agency.A big, tall, ripped hunk of hockey player who’s just been traded to the Brooklyn Bruisers is not a part of that plan. Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz has a lot of baggage. He’s a ride-or-die loner with a bad reputation. He’s on the rebound. He’s also the sexiest thing on two legs, and for some crazy reason it’s Bess that he wants.She knows better. But then she falls stupid in love with him anyway. And for a while it seems like maybe he’ll do the same.Until she asks him for the one thing he can never give her….Here is the thing, Bess and Tank just met but not really … They are pretty well-acquainted with each other nine years prior but the romance was short-lived. It wasn’t meant to be back then but unfortunately the prospect still isn’t any brighter this time around. A fling and friends with benefit? Sure! Bring on the heat! Little nuggets and white picket fence? Not in the card for Tank. The timing is sh*t seeing Tank just got served up a divorce from his ex-wife before he joined Brooklyn Bruisers. No matter how much he is attracted to Bess, he is not ready to jump in another serious relationship. Bess understood but she is strong and she stands by what she wants in life. I adore the friendship between Bess and Tank. Amazing chemistry and awesome banters. Tank got a little secret and he buried his baggage and heartache deep inside. Until he can trust and open up his heart, he cannot move on to a more meaningful relationship with Bess. They both got some difficult decisions to make, some healing and soul searching before they can have the happy ever after they both deserved. Overall, this was a heartfelt, fun, sexy, and wonderful second chance romance.
    more
  • Reflections of a Swede
    January 1, 1970
    **** I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review ****I tried to hold off a bit, reading Sure Shot. Because I know that once I start one of Bowen's books, I usually can't put it down until I've finished it. And yes, that's pretty much what happened. So, as per usual, I started out carefully trying to savor every word, but soon I was racing through to the end feeling a whole lot of feels and nursing a book hangover.I loved Sure Shot. I still haven't met a Bowen-book I didn't like, so it's **** I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review ****I tried to hold off a bit, reading Sure Shot. Because I know that once I start one of Bowen's books, I usually can't put it down until I've finished it. And yes, that's pretty much what happened. So, as per usual, I started out carefully trying to savor every word, but soon I was racing through to the end feeling a whole lot of feels and nursing a book hangover.I loved Sure Shot. I still haven't met a Bowen-book I didn't like, so it's no surprise this one was no different. Tank has the ultimate grumpy guy exterior but is the sweetest underneath. And Bess is so strong and independent but vulnerable with lots of unhealed scars. I loved them so much. And I loved them together. Then the story took a very emotional turn. I don't know why that always surprises me, it shouldn't. Even though this series is romance and all the feel-goods, there are still always more depth to them than the genre might imply. And Sure Shot covers a very sensitive and, for those personally affected, painful subject. I won't reveal any spoilers, but I got plenty emotional and probably got some onion in my eye or something.I'm so very impressed about the way Bowen portrayed this oh so difficult issue. Even if I think that almost all women can relate to this kind of grief, it could so easily have been depicted in a clichéd romance-y way, or even worse, in an overly tear-jerking way. But instead, it was such a perfect balance between gravity and strength, acceptance and hope. It was beautifully done. And I was so, so, so bloody happy that they stuck to their plan in the end, despite things.... happening. Wow. Avoiding spoilers is hard.Anyway. This is a lovely read. A lovely romance with great characters. And also with nooky. Hot nooky. Read it!Full review at: https://reflectionsofaswedishgirl.blo...
    more
  • Jill S (Love Affair With Fiction)
    January 1, 1970
    When a Sarina Bowen book lands on my kindle, I get ridiculously excited. I know that I am in for a fantastic read that will make me smile while also tugging on my heartstrings. And Sure Shot did precisely that.I knew that once I started this book, I would want to ignore life, put aside the projects I was working on, and lose myself in the world of the Brooklyn Bruisers. Yup, I was right! Sorry everyone whose work I ditched to lose myself in a bookbut since you are all authors, hopefully, you When a Sarina Bowen book lands on my kindle, I get ridiculously excited. I know that I am in for a fantastic read that will make me smile while also tugging on my heartstrings. And Sure Shot did precisely that.I knew that once I started this book, I would want to ignore life, put aside the projects I was working on, and lose myself in the world of the Brooklyn Bruisers. Yup, I was right! Sorry everyone whose work I ditched to lose myself in a book—but since you are all authors, hopefully, you understand!I loved every single thing about this book. I loved heading back to Brooklyn and visiting old friends… umm, I mean beloved characters! I absolutely adored Tank and Bess. I loved them together, and I loved them apart. Bess was such a kick-ass, strong, and independent woman. I love how she knew she wanted to make some changes in her life, and she set out to do it. No, it wasn't completely smooth sailing, life never is, but made a decision to find new priorities in life, and she went after that! I admire that! Tank is reeling from a disaster of a marriage. He is carrying baggage that he just refuses to share with anyone. When he finally opened up, my heart just bled for him. I wanted to jump through my kindle and just give him a huge hug! The chemistry between Bess and Tank was just explosive. But what was even more beautiful was the deep friendship that develops between the two. The way they learn to turn to each other, trust each other, and ultimately to find happiness together.Sure Shot had it all. It is a steamy, heartfelt, second chance romance that you need to bump to the top of your TBR list!
    more
  • Jenn Amy
    January 1, 1970
    5 STARSEvery time I pick up a book in Sarina Bowens Brooklyn Bruisers Hockey Series I know Im going to love it. These characters, their love interests and families are so deep in my heart. These books have so much humor and heart. I devour every single word and Sure Shot was no different. It exceeded all my expectations and more. Its been 9 years since Tank and Bess had engaged in a friends with benefits sexual relationship. Bess is a sports agent and Tank has just been traded to Brooklyn from 5 STARSEvery time I pick up a book in Sarina Bowen’s Brooklyn Bruisers Hockey Series I know I’m going to love it. These characters, their love interests and families are so deep in my heart. These books have so much humor and heart. I devour every single word and Sure Shot was no different. It exceeded all my expectations and more. It’s been 9 years since Tank and Bess had engaged in a friends with benefits sexual relationship. Bess is a sports agent and Tank has just been traded to Brooklyn from Dallas and are shocked at being thrusted back into each other’s lives. Neither are ready for the other and they have some seriously intense chemistry. Tank is everything I love about a hockey hero. He is a broody, confident and sexy. He goes after what he wants and I immediately loved the connection between him and Bess. The texts back and forth, their witty banter and the way he shows up for her and doesn’t relent in his pursuit of her I loved. On the team Tank has his work cut out for him. He is not so welcomed on the team and is also going through a divorce. Bess, I adored. She is the sister of Dave Beringer who we met in Bountiful. Bess has worked hard. She is focused and career driven. She has made it in a man’s world and I loved her feisty, heartfelt, protective side towards her players.I really loved the emotional side of Sarina’s writing in this book. I didn’t expect it and adored it. Pick this one up ASAP. You won’t be disappointed. *ARC received in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Sandra
    January 1, 1970
    If I were to write the review Ive got in my head its possible it would be longer than the book. It is that good. I loved every single thing about SURE SHOT: the romance that reflects all the good things in the world, so many likable characters, and personal issues many suffer with that was handled with beauty and grace by author Sarina Bowen.Bess Deringer is a heroine for the ages. Shes a successful sports agent in a male-heavy occupation. She loves her job, she has great friends, and she knows If I were to write the review I’ve got in my head it’s possible it would be longer than the book. It is that good. I loved every single thing about SURE SHOT: the romance that reflects all the good things in the world, so many likable characters, and personal issues many suffer with that was handled with beauty and grace by author Sarina Bowen.Bess Deringer is a heroine for the ages. She’s a successful sports agent in a male-heavy occupation. She loves her job, she has great friends, and she knows hockey. She’s the woman I’d love to have as a friend. Not much is missing from her life until the day Mark “Tank” Tankiewicz walks back into it. It was love at first sight for me with Tank and I’m having articulating why. Maybe I saw the brokenness he was hiding or the bitterness that he’s dealing with after being accused of cheating with his teammate’s wife, being handed divorce papers, and then traded to the Bruisers, a team that collectively hates him. To say he’s unhappy is an understatement-until he runs into Bess.I adored these two together. Besides their sizzling chemistry there’s playful banter and the love of hockey. Some of my favorite scenes in SURE SHOT were Bess and Tank hanging out watching hockey. There was something so organic about these scenes as they casually discuss what’s happening in the game. I. Loved. This. It revealed an extra layer to their relationship that already had so many, like the mutual respect they have for each other and the same sense of humor. The depth of emotion in SURE SHOT is riveting. Bowen does justice to the things Tank and Bess face, whether it was Tank’s struggle with the issues that led to his divorce or the terminal illness of a mutual good friend to Bess’s fight to keep her personal and business lives separate. There were moments that I found myself tearing up in a “I’m going to start sobbing” way. These scenes were beautiful and written so well. There were some laugh out loud moments in SURE SHOT as well, including one where Tank “outs” how long he and Bess have been involved to a room full of Bruisers players. I’m sure I startled my husband, but the delivery of his line was so on point. I’m giggling right now just thinking about it. Many of these moments involved the players and their significant others. Fans of the series will be happy to see some of their favorites!5 Stars for SURE SHOT. Heat level: 3I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for honest feedback.
    more
  • Sarah - Musings of the Modern Belle
    January 1, 1970
    ***AVAILABLE NOW - FULL REVIEW***4 CROWNSI really enjoyed this standalone in the hockey world. I found both characters to be relatable and great characters, their journey realistic and authentic, and I love the HEA Sarina Bowen gave this couple.I loved what Sarina did with Mark. I think she tackled an issue (I dont want to give spoilers) that isnt often seen from the male perspective. I sympathized with him and really understood his choices. It made me really love him more.Bess was a great ***AVAILABLE NOW - FULL REVIEW***4 CROWNSI really enjoyed this standalone in the hockey world. I found both characters to be relatable and great characters, their journey realistic and authentic, and I love the HEA Sarina Bowen gave this couple.I loved what Sarina did with Mark. I think she tackled an issue (I don’t want to give spoilers) that isn’t often seen from the male perspective. I sympathized with him and really understood his choices. It made me really love him more.Bess was a great heroine. I loved that she didn’t want to give up on her dreams for a man. She asks for what she knows she needs, but she also isn’t stubborn and is willing to reevaluate what is important to her. She was level headed and mature, and someone I found to be a likable character. As always, Sarina Bowen is a oneclick author of mine. I love her writing style and the story she tells. This one was a slow a steady type of romance. I loved how these two communicated, came together, tackled issues. It was low demand, heart driven, and I was so happy for them to get that HEA. I live for the hockey romance word from Bowen. I first found her books in the NA romance world of the Ivy Years, and I have become a huge fan of the Brooklyn Bruisers, too. ***AUDIOBOOK - great narration and pacing.
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    Out of all the hockey books from Sarina Bowen, I've only read Brooklynnaire........and after reading Sure Shot, I'm asking myself why I haven't read more because this story was absolutely fantastic!! I loved that after so many years that Bess and Tank still had that spark that was between them when they first met! That first night they saw each other again, it was only supposed to be one night; but every time they found themselves around the other, they couldn't keep their hands off each other. Out of all the hockey books from Sarina Bowen, I've only read Brooklynnaire........and after reading Sure Shot, I'm asking myself why I haven't read more because this story was absolutely fantastic!! I loved that after so many years that Bess and Tank still had that spark that was between them when they first met! That first night they saw each other again, it was only supposed to be one night; but every time they found themselves around the other, they couldn't keep their hands off each other. And even though they were in very different places in life and wanting different things - Bess had her five-year plan and Tank recently split from his wife - they found themselves falling deeper for one another and just had to find a way to be together. And of course, with Bess being Dave Beringer's sister, I loved getting to see him and Zara again (as I just love the True North series!).......and now after meeting all these other amazing characters, I can't wait to go back and read the rest of the Brooklyn & Brooklyn Bruisers series!!
    more
Write a review