When Time Stopped
In 1941, the first Neumann family member was taken by the Nazis, arrested in German-occupied Czechoslovakia for bathing in a stretch of river forbidden to Jews. He was transported to Auschwitz. Eighteen days later his prisoner number was entered into the morgue book. Of thirty-four Neumann family members, twenty-five were murdered by the Nazis. One of the survivors was Hans Neumann, who, to escape the German death net, traveled to Berlin and hid in plain sight under the Gestapo’s eyes. What Hans experienced was so unspeakable that, when he built an industrial empire in Venezuela, he couldn’t bring himself to talk about it. All his daughter Ariana knew was that something terrible had happened. When Hans died, he left Ariana a small box filled with letters, diary entries, and other memorabilia. Ten years later Ariana finally summoned the courage to have the letters translated, and she began reading. What she discovered launched her on a worldwide search that would deliver indelible portraits of a family loving, finding meaning, and trying to survive amid the worst that can be imagined. When Time Stopped is a detective story and an epic family memoir, spanning nearly ninety years and crossing oceans. Neumann brings each relative to vivid life. In uncovering her father’s story after all these years, she discovers nuance and depth to her own history and liberates poignant and thought-provoking truths about the threads of humanity that connect us all.

When Time Stopped Details

TitleWhen Time Stopped
Author
ReleaseFeb 4th, 2020
PublisherScribner
ISBN-139781982106379
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir, History, World War II, Holocaust, War, Biography

When Time Stopped Review

  • Angela M
    January 1, 1970
    Today, January 27th is International Holocaust Remembrance Day, marking the day 75 years ago when Auschwitz-Birkenau was liberated. I say this every time I read a book on the Holocaust - it is imperative that we think about and remember those who perished at the hands of such absolutely evil people and also remember those who survived, but not only today. Their stories are of the utmost importance and we have to keep listening to and reading them and hearing them because we cant let this happen Today, January 27th is International Holocaust Remembrance Day, marking the day 75 years ago when Auschwitz-Birkenau was liberated. I say this every time I read a book on the Holocaust - it is imperative that we think about and remember those who perished at the hands of such absolutely evil people and also remember those who survived, but not only today. Their stories are of the utmost importance and we have to keep listening to and reading them and hearing them because we can’t let this happen again. There are so few survivors left, so others will have to carry the torch to tell and tell, again and again. Ariana Neumann writes so eloquently of her father’s past, a hidden past too painful for him to relive, to talk about, but eventually revealed. She writes of her family, many of whom perished at the hands of the Nazis and of those who survived. She reminisces about how as a little girl growing up in Venezuela, she finds a photograph of her father in a box, an identity card with his picture and a stamp of Hitler. While this was the beginning of her awareness that her father had kept his past from her, it wasn’t until many years later when at his death, he leaves her a box of of letters and photos, that she realized that there was so much more to know . There was everything to know about her father and his family who suffered at the hand of the Nazis in their homeland in Czechoslovakia before he came to Venezuela. It was several years later that she was able to bring herself to have the letters translated and years before she could bring herself to read them the memoir he had begun writing . She generously shares them with us. She begins her journey to that past, reaching out to cousins and family friends, piecing together what they knew, tracing the lives of her grandparents in Terezin (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/There...), piecing together her father’s story. Neumann travels to the places where her father did, looking for remnants of her grandparents lives, for the man who helped save her father. It’s gut wrenching as all Holocaust stories are, but it’s filled with love for her father, filled with the love within the family she never knew. In her heartfelt dedication, Ariana Neumann says “This book is dedicated to the memory of those who could not tell their stories. “ We must keep reading the stories that others tell of them. This is one of those books. I received an advanced copy of this book from Scribner through NetGalley and Edelweiss.
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    Adriana Neumann has written the amazing history of her father Hans Neumann and what his family endured during WWll. Ariana grew up in Venezuela daughter of Hans, a wealthy industrialist, and didnt even know about her fathers history. When her father died, she was left a box with all sorts of documents and a picture I.D. of her father, that had a little picture of Hitler on it below his. From here, she did all the investigating to find out her fathers history.. unbelievable!!Hans and his family Adriana Neumann has written the amazing history of her father Hans Neumann and what his family endured during WWll. Ariana grew up in Venezuela daughter of Hans, a wealthy industrialist, and didn’t even know about her fathers history. When her father died, she was left a box with all sorts of documents and a picture I.D. of her father, that had a little picture of Hitler on it below his. From here, she did all the investigating to find out her fathers history.. unbelievable!!Hans and his family were Jews living in Czechoslovakia, they had their own paint company, a country home, were doing well until the Nazi’s took over.This is so different from other stories as we see the lengths the people had to go through to keep out of sight of the Nazi’s .. what a story!Thank you to my Goodreads friend Tammy for bringing this book to my attention!Thank you to Scribner through Netgalley for this ARC Here is a little video by Arianahttps://youtu.be/IKdmasdnpvE
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    This book is dedicated to the memory of those who could not tell their storiesTHANK YOU, *TAMMY*.... for making sure I didnt miss this book! Adriana Neumann grew up in Venezuela. This book is a tribute to her father, Hans Neumann. Part literary family memoir... part mystery detective tale........a search for answers and the truth: a daughters profound love for her father!!!What Hans experienced during the war was horrendous and monstrous.He could never speak about it. It was only after Hans “This book is dedicated to the memory of those who could not tell their stories”THANK YOU, *TAMMY*.... for making sure I didn’t miss this book! Adriana Neumann grew up in Venezuela. This book is a tribute to her father, Hans Neumann. Part literary family memoir... part mystery detective tale........a search for answers and the truth: a daughters profound love for her father!!!What Hans experienced during the war was horrendous and monstrous.He could never speak about it. It was only after Hans died, that he left a box of letters diary entries, photos and beautiful memorabilia, (photos of an old watch gave me chills... along with other wonderful photos), for Adriana....which sent Adriana on a worldwide search to uncover her father’s story...spanning nearly ninety years. Hans was a brilliant man - highly respected in his community. He built an industrial empire in Venezuela.He had a passion for art. Hans compulsively collected watches, books, clocks, medieval objects, paintings, and sculptures....and had an obsession with timekeeping and punctuality. He owned 297 pocket watches. I found Hans to be a fascinating man - handsome -loyal to his family - driven - smart as a whip- And this was even ‘before’ we learn about his ( wonderful) daughter, Ariana, who uncovers the family secrets from the past. In Hans later years before his death, he suffered a massive stroke, which left him wheelchair bound. It was really inspiring to learn how he kept active. His physical limitations didn’t stop himfrom his exercise regime. He was up early swimming laps aided with a float, and traipsed up and down the corridor with a walking frame three times a day. HANS LIVED FULLY - after the war up to the day he died but he didn’t burden his family one iota about the horrors he endured during the Holocaust. After suffering a series of more strokes that left his legs paralyzed completely...he eventually succumbed to his death. Ariana’s father was cremated September 11, 2001. Shortly after Hans died, Ariana gave birth to her first child. A boy. She and her husband were living in London at the time of her father’s death. Adriana shared about her childhood- growing up in Caracas, Venezuela in the 1970’s, and 80’s. Her neighborhood in Venezuela sounded like an oasis with a wonderful garden that had dozens of different palms, mangos, guava, acacia, and eucalyptus trees...and bushes covered with orchards. Adriana said; “The country that I grew up in was filled with promise. There were serious problems— social disparity, corruption, and poverty— but there was also a sense that such issues were being addressed. Social and educational programs were being implemented; government housing, schools, and hospitals were being built”.Venezuela in the 1970s and 80s had a stable democracy, a rising literacy rate, and a flourishing art scene.Migrants where are attracted by the quality of life and the relative safety, climate, and business opportunities. Hans and his older brother, Lotar, migrated to Venezuela because their country had been broken by war. The brothers started a paint factory together that proved to be prosperous. It was fun to read a little bit about the type of girl Adriana was as a child. She wanted to solve mysteries… She knew very young she wanted to be a detective or better yet a spy.As a child she started a spy club with her cousins.Little did Adriana know at the time that she would carry her detective talents into her adult life — associated with her own father. The storytelling - page after page - was engaging- moving and intimate- which became grippingly riveting as Adriana uncovered information- going through his papers, notes, letters, and all those things her father quietly saved - his collections - after his death. So much she didn’t know about his past. While growing up in Ariana’s family, they were allowed to freely discuss politics, religion, sex, drugs, her parents marriage, divorce…any topic except her father’s past. Hans past was a taboo topic. It was clear that for Hans to talk about his parents, or his life growing up in Czechoslovakia, was too painful for him. Growing up, all Ariana knew about her grandparents was that they Czech....who never made it to Venezuela.... and had owned a dull gold watch. I don’t want to spoil the next 90% of this book....Trust me... READ IT....it’s an AMAZING journey.Ariana’s father ‘did’ leave her clues. He even left a puzzle for her in his box. If that wasn’t symbolic, I don’t know what is! “My father left the world of which he seldom spoke as a riddle for me to unlock, the answers perhaps being the key to his complex and hermetic personality”. Once Ariana begins her inquiries, and locating people, attempting to assemble a family tree....I thought of the Russian Nesting doll....( another, another, another clue to discover) Ariana discovers more than she ever expected.I was sooo engrossed in this story ... I simply did not know what Ariana was going to uncover. Fascinating story!!!“Traumatized people often construct defense mechanisms strong enough to deter those closest to them”. “Interspersed amid the horrors were wisps of beauty and love”.
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    This is a marvelously well written memoir of Neumanns father. Hans was a Venezuelan industrialist of Czech descent, understandably scarred by his experiences during WWII which he refused to speak of. After his death he left his daughter a box of photographs and papers about his life in Berlin during WWII as a Jew hiding under the noses of the Nazis. Piecing together her unknown family members experiences (and worse) during the holocaust was a courageous, over decades long undertaking and is as This is a marvelously well written memoir of Neumann’s father. Hans was a Venezuelan industrialist of Czech descent, understandably scarred by his experiences during WWII which he refused to speak of. After his death he left his daughter a box of photographs and papers about his life in Berlin during WWII as a Jew hiding under the noses of the Nazis. Piecing together her unknown family members’ experiences (and worse) during the holocaust was a courageous, over decades long undertaking and is as generous and big-hearted as it is filled with stories of secrets, savagery, and despair. Neumann allows us to become acquainted with her family and to know what they suffered as she unearths their lives. Put aside your historical fiction for the moment and read instead a polished, factual account of a family nearly obliterated by the holocaust.
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    This was such a poignant moving tale and a daughter's gift in writing to an adored father and his family and friends. Ariana Neumann knew her father had secrets. He was a quiet introspective man very fascinated with the concept of time. However, never did she realize growing up in Venezuela, that her father and his family had lived through the worst of times. Being Jewish during the rise of the Nazis was a nightmare and a step into hell on earth. Living in Czechoslovakia, and experiencing the This was such a poignant moving tale and a daughter's gift in writing to an adored father and his family and friends. Ariana Neumann knew her father had secrets. He was a quiet introspective man very fascinated with the concept of time. However, never did she realize growing up in Venezuela, that her father and his family had lived through the worst of times. Being Jewish during the rise of the Nazis was a nightmare and a step into hell on earth. Living in Czechoslovakia, and experiencing the first arrest of many of one of their family members for the crime of bathing in a forbidden river, the family comes to realize the very death hold that the Nazis have on the lives of the Jews. As time moved on, thirty-four Neumann family members were taken and twenty-five of them were exterminated by the Nazis. A family is decimated, parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins gone wiped out, lives lost, hearts broken, and nightmares lived over and over again. Ariana's future father, Hans, lived under the constant threat of being arrested. However, instead of running away from the Nazi strongholds, he went to Berlin, hid right under the Gestapo's noses, and survived. However, the memories were horrible and Hans never could bring himself to reveal to his beloved daughter what had transpired. She knew there was something awful, something that caused such grief in her father that he often retreated into the world of clocks, time pieces, and work.He built a highly successful business in Venezuela, and when he died he left Ariana a box filled with memorabilia. Ten years later, Ariana embarked upon a journey to learn about her father, his family, and what the contents of that box meant. This memoir is a result of that journey. Told with elegant prose, Ariana takes the reader on her journey to find and understand her father, learning along the way the meaning of family and the hell that her ancestors experienced. This memoir is tragic but comes highly recommended to those who read, understand, and weep with the massacre that occurred all those years ago. Thank you to Ariana Neumann, Scribner Publishing, and NetGalley for a copy of this tragic yet inspiring book.
    more
  • Craig Fehrman
    January 1, 1970
    I got to spend some time on the road with Ariana when we were both promoting our books. She's a brilliant and elegant person, and she's written a brilliant and elegant book. I don't want to spoil too much, but the real-life underpinnings for her memoir are incredible. There are mysteries and twists and heart-breaking realities that surpass anything most of us could make up. But what makes this book so special is that Ariana takes that raw material and elevates it with her lyrical writing and I got to spend some time on the road with Ariana when we were both promoting our books. She's a brilliant and elegant person, and she's written a brilliant and elegant book. I don't want to spoil too much, but the real-life underpinnings for her memoir are incredible. There are mysteries and twists and heart-breaking realities that surpass anything most of us could make up. But what makes this book so special is that Ariana takes that raw material and elevates it with her lyrical writing and careful observations. (She also does a great job weaving in the bigger historical contexts.) If you want to know more about World War II, the Holocaust, how to solve family secrets, or just how to be a family, this is a terrific read.
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    I would like to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a copy free of charge. This is my honest and unbiased opinion of it.When Time Stopped by Ariana Neumann is both a puzzle to be solved filled with family secrets from the past and a memoir that acts as a testament to the love of family. Growing up Ariana didn't know anything about her father's past, but once he passes on she finds a box he left for her filled with documents with a picture of her father under another name and I would like to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a copy free of charge. This is my honest and unbiased opinion of it.When Time Stopped by Ariana Neumann is both a puzzle to be solved filled with family secrets from the past and a memoir that acts as a testament to the love of family. Growing up Ariana didn't know anything about her father's past, but once he passes on she finds a box he left for her filled with documents with a picture of her father under another name and a stamp of one of the most evil men in the world's history, Hitler. This is a memoir of how she pieces together the past of her Czechoslovakian Jewidh father and his family. She tracks down distant relarives and asks them questions sometimes finding more questions than answers. This is a wonderful memoir and I loved the mystery to it all. It was like a novel, but it's true.
    more
  • Nadine
    January 1, 1970
    Memoirs are always hard to review since youre not evaluating character development, pacing, etc. So, Ill focus on the writing and the overall picture Ariana Neumann is painting.When Time Stopped is Ariana Neumanns research into her fathers past after finding a box of documents that once belonged to him. After combing through the documents and talking to family members she didnt know were related to her, When Time Stopped paints the picture of a Jewish family doing everything in their power to Memoirs are always hard to review since you’re not evaluating character development, pacing, etc. So, I’ll focus on the writing and the overall picture Ariana Neumann is painting.When Time Stopped is Ariana Neumann’s research into her father’s past after finding a box of documents that once belonged to him. After combing through the documents and talking to family members she didn’t know were related to her, When Time Stopped paints the picture of a Jewish family doing everything in their power to save themselves from the atrocities of the Second World War. I thought When Time Stopped would focus almost solely on Hans Neumann, her father, instead it focuses on his family in general and the bleak picture of Europe leading up to and during World War Two. Sometimes Ariana Neumann paints too broad of a picture and gets lost in the details of names and locations making it difficult to follow at times. I had to refer to the family tree at the beginning of the novel multiple times since the Neumann family is a big one.At around the halfway mark of the novel, Neumann introduces large passages of a memoir her father had started writing before he passed. These are easily the best parts of the memoir. Hans Neumann’s writing rings as authentic in its details of life during the Second World War and his emotional state. It’s truly inspiring and humbling reading his story from his own words. Had he finished his own memoir, I would I have likened it to Night by Elie Wiesel.When Time Stopped is an engaging historical account of World War Two as told through the eyes of a Jewish family doing everything possible to survive. Their incredible strength and resilience will stay with me forever. Through the inclusion of photos and documents, the Neumann family history is brought to light. ***I received an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Suzanne
    January 1, 1970
    If I lived in the Czech Republic, my name would be Zuzana Škývarová. While I'm actually English/Irish, I fell in love with my husband, Zdeněk, and, after getting married in Prague, I have happily adopted some of his Czech traditions and culture. I've learned to make excellent bramborový salát (potato salad) and rohlíčky (sugar cookies). And I love spending time with my large extended Czech family on our biannual visits to Europe. All of which makes it far, far too easy to experience this book If I lived in the Czech Republic, my name would be Zuzana Škývarová. While I'm actually English/Irish, I fell in love with my husband, Zdeněk, and, after getting married in Prague, I have happily adopted some of his Czech traditions and culture. I've learned to make excellent bramborový salát (potato salad) and rohlíčky (sugar cookies). And I love spending time with my large extended Czech family on our biannual visits to Europe. All of which makes it far, far too easy to experience this book not just as an incredible story but as something that feels a whole lot more personal.Ariana Neumann was always a curious child, eager for a mystery to solve. With her memoir, she shares what is a haunting yet beautiful love letter to her father, who kept the biggest mystery of all from her. How, as a young Jewish man in Nazi-occupied Prague, Czechoslovakia, he decided the only way to evade being sent to a concentration camp was to go and work in Berlin. Stop for a second and think about that. Several of your loved ones have already been taken. You can feel the net tightening on you and know you'll be next. And you see a crazy chance to take on a new identity (which is grounds for being executed on the spot), but it means you'll head straight into the belly of the beast. Who would have the guts (driven by desperation) to do that? Neumann's father, Hans, who successfully tricked the Nazis to survive. Hans, who lived to tell the tale, but couldn't bring himself to speak of it."When Time Stopped" is hard to categorize. It fits in between the World War II stories (both fictional and real life) that many of us love to read, inspired by the bravery while secretly questioning "Would I be strong enough to do the same?" and the Maus series by Art Spiegelman sharing his father's story of survival. This is a book with two layers: what happened to Hans and his family, and the detective story of Arianna uncovering the mystery over a decade-long search.There are so many heartbreaking moments in this book, but the one that just keeps coming back to me is Hans relieving the moment when he had to say goodbye to his father. The depth of his pain and the horror of the terror Hans lived under for so many years meant that he could not bear to talk about this period in his life, though he often screamed out in nightmares. We usually focus on the years of terror in our book reading, but "When Time Stopped" forces us to better understand how this must have impacted the survivors for decades.This would be an excellent book club selection, allowing you to explore how quickly freedom can be lost in a society, the extraordinary courage of women trying to protect their families, and relationships between fathers and daughters. Thank you to Nan Graham at Scribner and Ariana Neumann for sharing this ARC with me.
    more
  • Janilyn Kocher
    January 1, 1970
    I adore family mysteries and investigative stories in search of family history. Neumann's book hit the mark. As a girl, growing up in Venezuela, the author was fascinated with her father's watch collection and his obsession with time. She knew next to nothing about his past until after his death. She painstakingly pieced together his story but also his extended family's incredible story, scouring the globe for kernels of knowledge. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, enhanced by the documents and I adore family mysteries and investigative stories in search of family history. Neumann's book hit the mark. As a girl, growing up in Venezuela, the author was fascinated with her father's watch collection and his obsession with time. She knew next to nothing about his past until after his death. She painstakingly pieced together his story but also his extended family's incredible story, scouring the globe for kernels of knowledge. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, enhanced by the documents and pictures. It's a valuable contribution to the expanding bibliography of Holocaust survivors and their descendants. Thanks to Edelweiss, NetGalley and the publisher for the awesome early read.
    more
  • Marcia Biggs
    January 1, 1970
    I received the advance copy and read it in 2 days. I couldnt put it down! What an incredible story, not only of one mans survival of the Holocaust, but also of the journey his daughter takes to piece together his story without him and to come to terms with the revelations she uncovers. Meticulously researched, the details she unearths give the story the richness and texture of a novel. At times devastatingly painful and at other times full of light, beauty, and hope, it was an entrancing read. I received the advance copy and read it in 2 days. I couldn’t put it down! What an incredible story, not only of one man’s survival of the Holocaust, but also of the journey his daughter takes to piece together his story without him and to come to terms with the revelations she uncovers. Meticulously researched, the details she unearths give the story the richness and texture of a novel. At times devastatingly painful and at other times full of light, beauty, and hope, it was an entrancing read.
    more
  • David V.
    January 1, 1970
    Received as an ARC from the publisher. Started 10-13-19. Finished 10-17-19. Excellent memoir of a young Venezuelan woman's search for her father's history of living through WWII in his homeland of Czechoslovakia and through terrors in Germany. Starting with a box of documents, letters and photos, she begins her research into her family's past and discovers the loss and gain of family members. She learns the details of dozens of her relatives, most she didn't know existed. Perseverance kept many Received as an ARC from the publisher. Started 10-13-19. Finished 10-17-19. Excellent memoir of a young Venezuelan woman's search for her father's history of living through WWII in his homeland of Czechoslovakia and through terrors in Germany. Starting with a box of documents, letters and photos, she begins her research into her family's past and discovers the loss and gain of family members. She learns the details of dozens of her relatives, most she didn't know existed. Perseverance kept many of these people alive so that today their descendants live all over the world.
    more
  • Raisa
    January 1, 1970
    Outstanding. I really enjoy the honesty, clarity, and journey itself that Ariana Neumann takes readers on in her novel. In these pages you will find heartbreak, confusion, growth, and so much love. Reading about the Holocaust comes on many styles, and in this novel you will experience the raw, undiluted story of one family, and the things taken from them, over decades of time. I would like to thank Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for my unbiased and honest review.
    more
  • Emma Bleasdale
    January 1, 1970
    One of the most thought provoking memoirs I've ever read, written with descriptive detail of an immensely talented new author. I am looking forward to reading all Ariana Neumann has to write.
  • Gabrielle Belisle
    January 1, 1970
    This book is beautiful, intimate, breathtaking and heart breaking. It reads like a novel and yet gives a better sense of what was happening to Jewish families during the Holocaust than any history book I've read. I feel so invested in the Neumann family and their friends, as if I know them personally. More than anything, my takeaway from this book is the love and hope that was so clearly poured into it.
    more
  • Cosima Carter
    January 1, 1970
    A brilliant memoir. Ariana Neumann's journey to discover her father's history is both a breathtaking tale of intrigue and a devastating memoir of a family decimated by the Nazi regime. A fascinating book.
  • Audrey
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 Stars. Powerful and moving memoir. The author did an incredible job finding long lost relatives and family friends as well as documents to discover her familys history of loss and love especially given the language barriers and time (as well as secrets) passed. But, this was truly a love letter to her father and his family, whose stories had been erased by evil but will soon be told to the world. I received an arc from the publisher but all opinions are my own. Im hoping the finished copy 3.5 Stars. Powerful and moving memoir. The author did an incredible job finding long lost relatives and family friends as well as documents to discover her family’s history of loss and love especially given the language barriers and time (as well as secrets) passed. But, this was truly a love letter to her father and his family, whose stories had been erased by evil but will soon be told to the world. I received an arc from the publisher but all opinions are my own. I’m hoping the finished copy will have a more elaborate family tree bc the beginning of the book was a bit muddled for me. I would try and figure out which relative she was corresponding with but the tree is mostly her father’s generation or above.
    more
  • Bookreporter.com Biography & Memoir
    January 1, 1970
    A daughter with an instinct for investigation uncovers her fathers past in WHEN TIME STOPPED, a moving saga of war and the Holocaust.Ariana Neumann was a lucky child, growing up in Venezuela, the daughter of an ingenious, entrepreneurial father whose professional life brought prosperity. Yet his private life remained mysterious. The girls mother often cautioned her not to ask Hans about his troubled past, and to ignore his sometimes somber, even fearful demeanor. The first real clue, discovered A daughter with an instinct for investigation uncovers her father’s past in WHEN TIME STOPPED, a moving saga of war and the Holocaust.Ariana Neumann was a lucky child, growing up in Venezuela, the daughter of an ingenious, entrepreneurial father whose professional life brought prosperity. Yet his private life remained mysterious. The girl’s mother often cautioned her not to ask Hans about his troubled past, and to ignore his sometimes somber, even fearful demeanor. The first real clue, discovered by a child so interested in detective work that she formed her own spy club, came when she dared to open a cardboard box, finding there a passport with her father’s photo --- but with a different name and a different birthday.Later, as a young woman, Ariana visited a synagogue in Prague where she saw her father’s name written on the wall with many others. His birth year was there, yet there was no record of his death --- indeed, at the time, he was alive and working in Caracas --- but she had never heard mention of any Jewish connection. After his death, the cardboard box was finally opened, and gradually Ariana, by then an established journalist, began to examine every scrap of paper, find translators to aid in the fact-seeking process, and learn, bit by bit, the story of Hans and his harrowing war years in his native Czechoslovakia and in Germany.Ariana unfolds an almost daily account, some of it drawn from her father’s own writings, of what he, his parents and his brother suffered with the rise of the Third Reich. Slowly, small regulations such as where Jews could live, go to school and even swim burgeoned into massive relocations. Hans’ mother was forced to work in the concentration camp at Terezin; many times, the family bolstered her circumstances but ultimately could not keep her and her husband from Auschwitz.As the war ground on, Hans and his brother Lotar, surviving because of their youth and talents in the chemical industry, lost 25 of their family of 34, murdered in Hitler’s “final solution.” Hans took a bold path, first hiding, then --- through the remarkable help of a friend --- assuming a non-Jewish identity and going to work in Berlin, the heart of the killing machine. After the war, Hans and Lotar emigrated to South America where they prospered by reestablishing their chemical business.Reading WHEN TIME STOPPED is painful, yet imbued with a sense of hope about the worst instincts of humanity challenged and overcome with small moments of insight, intelligence and incredible kindness. Family solidarity played a significant role in Hans’ survival and reinvention, and with her book, Ariana Neumann extends that solidarity to her own and future generations. Her efforts in reconstructing the exploits of her father, grandfather, uncle and cousins involved wide travel, determination and deep resolve. The record she brings to light is a unique portrait of the horrors of the Holocaust from the inside --- never to be forgotten as long as such accounts remain.Reviewed by Barbara Bamberger Scott
    more
  • Michelle Kidwell
    January 1, 1970
    When Time StoppedA Memoir of My Father's War and What Remainsby Ariana NeumannScribnerBiographies & MemoirsPub Date 04 Feb 2020I am reviewing a copy of When Time Stopped through Scribner and Netgalley:In 1941, the first member of the Neumann family arrested in the German Occupied Czechoslovakia was taken prisoner by the Nazis, his crime was bathing in a part of the river that the Jews were not allowed to use. He was transported to Auschwitz and eighteen days later his prisoner number was When Time StoppedA Memoir of My Father's War and What Remainsby Ariana NeumannScribnerBiographies & MemoirsPub Date 04 Feb 2020I am reviewing a copy of When Time Stopped through Scribner and Netgalley:In 1941, the first member of the Neumann family arrested in the German Occupied Czechoslovakia was taken prisoner by the Nazis, his crime was bathing in a part of the river that the Jews were not allowed to use. He was transported to Auschwitz and eighteen days later his prisoner number was entered into the Morgue book.Twenty five of the thirty four members were murdered by the Nazis. One of the survivors was Hans Neumann, who in order to escape the German death net, traveled to Berlin and hid in plain sight right under the eyes of the Gestapo. Hans experienced things so unspeakable that even when he built his industrial empire in Venezuela he was unable to bring himself to talk about what he had witnessed. The only thing his daughter Ariana knew was something horrible had happened.After Hans died he left his daughter Ariana left a small box filled with letters, diary entries, and other memorabilia. It took ten years before Ariana found the courage to have the letters translated and she began reading them. The discoveries she made inside that small box launched her on a worldwide search that would deliver indelible portraits of a family loving, finding meaning, and trying to survive amid the worst that can be imagined.When Time Stopped is a powerful story of survival and great loss during the Holocaust and it is a reminder of how that horrific time affected families long after the Holocaust was over.I give When Time Stopped five out of five stars!Happy Reading!
    more
  • Rick Buttafogo
    January 1, 1970
    There are no words that can do justice to this book. My heart hurts at the same time it bursts with joy that Arianna Neumann was able to find so much about her family. The unimaginable tragedy that took place in this world only 75 years ago is something my mind struggles to comprehend. Human beings...said to be the most civilised on the planet, yet something like the Holocaust happened based in the worst kind of hate imaginable. I cant even imagine not having my grandparents nor my great aunts There are no words that can do justice to this book. My heart hurts at the same time it bursts with joy that Arianna Neumann was able to find so much about her family. The unimaginable tragedy that took place in this world only 75 years ago is something my mind struggles to comprehend. Human beings...said to be the most civilised on the planet, yet something like the Holocaust happened based in the worst kind of hate imaginable. I can’t even imagine not having my grandparents nor my great aunts and uncles as they all hold such great loving , vivid memories for me. Yet here is one of over 6 MILLION families that had their family taken away from them. This book is a must read. With such horrific tragedy that will have you cry at the same time put a smile on your face knowing Ariana found her family and now has stories to share about them. Ariana writes about her meeting the daughters of the man, Frank Novák, who saves the life of her father by hiding him from the Nazis. It struck her that she owed her entire families lives to the extraordinary bravery of their father. Without him, her father Hans would not have survived. When she thanked them, his daughter Eva grabbed her hand and said “please stop. Your thanks are not due, because my father did not do anything extraordinary. He only did the correct thing. He did what everyone should have done. We should all, as a country, have behaved like Frank Novák. It is us who apologise to you that we did not”. There are few Holocaust survivors left living. It is up to all of us to continue to share all we know about it, whether it was our family or not, so future generations never forget where hatred leads.
    more
  • Kathleen
    January 1, 1970
    NEUMANN UNCOVERS FATHERS PAST IN STUNNING WW2 MEMOIRAriana Neumanns debut memoir, WHEN TIME STOPPED, delves into the silent past of her father and reveals a vibrant life and family she never knew. While Neumanns father, Hans, grew up in Czechoslovakia, he moved to Venezuela after surviving WW2. Hans built an industrial empire in Venezuela, where Ariana grew up, but was quiet about his past and his family. Hans leaves a box of documents for his daughter after his death. Among the pages is an NEUMANN UNCOVERS FATHER’S PAST IN STUNNING WW2 MEMOIRAriana Neumann’s debut memoir, WHEN TIME STOPPED, delves into the silent past of her father and reveals a vibrant life and family she never knew. While Neumann’s father, Hans, grew up in Czechoslovakia, he moved to Venezuela after surviving WW2. Hans built an industrial empire in Venezuela, where Ariana grew up, but was quiet about his past and his family. Hans leaves a box of documents for his daughter after his death. Among the pages is an identification card with her father’s photograph, a different name, and a stamp of Hitler. Ariana takes these documents as a sign to discover her father’s story — a story that needs to be told and remembered. The story jumps back and forth from Ariana finding details about her family in more recent years and a narrative in the 1930s-40s involving her Jewish ancestors. The perspective of Ariana sprinkled throughout, seeing her reactions to the stories and truths, were my favorite part of the story as they highlighted the importance and impact of revealing the truth. At one point, she says that finding out about her ancestors has as much to do with the future as it does with the past. She holds the stars of David meant for her family, a sign of the evil that wanted to eliminate them, and recognizes it represents the evil that meant to wipe even her and her children away.Part detective story, part moving-tribute — WHEN TIME STOPPED is one of the best memoirs I have ever read. With incredible research and detail, it brings to life real people that shine in all their humanity — their quirks, passions, bravery, and pain are so rich on these pages. Ariana gives a voice to those who lost theirs and those that couldn’t face their pain in retelling; she brings their lives into focus and lets them live once again.All the stars for this one, my friends. It releases next week on 4 February 2020. Thanks for the copy, @scribnerbooks!
    more
  • Megan (readingretriever)
    January 1, 1970
    When Time Stopped Rating: 5/5Simply put - this book is SUPERB.If you are a fan of historical fiction or powerful memiors, When Time Stopped is a must read. As a reader, you follow along as Neumann uncovers letters, documents, and photographs that slowly reveal what her father's family's life was like both before and during WW2 in Czechoslovakia. I especially loved the inclusion of Ella and Otto's letters that were smuggled out of Terezin. And Han's writings about his time in Berlin both When Time Stopped Rating: 5/5Simply put - this book is SUPERB.If you are a fan of historical fiction or powerful memiors, When Time Stopped is a must read. As a reader, you follow along as Neumann uncovers letters, documents, and photographs that slowly reveal what her father's family's life was like both before and during WW2 in Czechoslovakia. I especially loved the inclusion of Ella and Otto's letters that were smuggled out of Terezin. And Han's writings about his time in Berlin both horrific, yet unbelievably insightful to read.Where this memoir excels is that it captures the heartbreak and tragedy of WW2, but also the moments of joy and love that kept her father, brother, and her parents going during the horrible time. Neumann does such a remarkable job piecing together her family's story that by the end, I felt like I personally knew each family member. Thank you to Ariana Neumann for sharing your family's story. It was a joy to read. Thank you to Scribner Books for the gifted copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jade
    January 1, 1970
    Ariana Neumanns story is quite incredible! My own mother has been working on our family tree for years, and I know how many hours, days, years it takes, and how amazing it is to find lost family members, and fascinating it is to learn so much more about our heritage. When she was growing up in Caracas, Venezuela, Arianas father, Hans Neumann, kept a tight lid on his past. Ariana knew that he had grown up in the Czech Republic, and over the years he gave her a few peeks into his childhood, but Ariana Neumann’s story is quite incredible! My own mother has been working on our family tree for years, and I know how many hours, days, years it takes, and how amazing it is to find lost family members, and fascinating it is to learn so much more about our heritage. When she was growing up in Caracas, Venezuela, Ariana’s father, Hans Neumann, kept a tight lid on his past. Ariana knew that he had grown up in the Czech Republic, and over the years he gave her a few peeks into his childhood, but never enough for her to understand anything. When he died he left her a box of papers, most of which dated from WW2. With these few pieces of an enormous puzzle in her hands, Ariana started on a quest to find out the truth about her father’s past, and in return found a whole part of her family that until then had been hidden from her. When Time Stopped is Ariana Neumann’s story of how she managed to put together the story of her father’s childhood and early adulthood, and of how he managed to survive the war literally hidden in plain sight. But it isn’t just that, because during her quest Ariana also discovers her grandparents, who were both interned in Terezin, and then deported to Auschwitz where they perished. These stories are so important for us to read, even more so now as most people who lived through and survived WW2 and the atrocities that took place are now dead. We must carry these stories with us so that they do not become forgotten and/or whitewashed. I have personally visited Terezin, and felt the exact same as Ariana describes during her own visit. We must never forget.This book reads as a memoir, and also partly as a detective novel. I love how Ariana lets us discover information with her along the narrative, it makes the reader feel involved and invested in the story. What a wonderful, but also heartbreaking read. No one can fault Holocaust survivors for wanting to bury the past, which is why it is our job, those of us lucky enough to never have had to experience it, to keep passing the stories along.Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the advance copy in return for an honest review of this book.
    more
  • Terry Scott
    January 1, 1970
    A very moving insight into a jewish family trapped in Nazi occupied Europe
  • Beth Anne
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Scribner for the free review copy of this book.When Time Stopped is a haunting book - the story of a daughter's search for her family's story. It was meticulously researched, beautifully written, lovingly told.
  • Marnie Stetson
    January 1, 1970
    This memoir should be on everyones must read list for 2020. Ariana Neumann tells of her quest to understand the story of her father and his family. As a child in Venezuela, her father never talked about his childhood or his life before emigrating to Venezuela, and Ariana knew not to ask, but a decades-long quest to understand her fathers past unfolds like an artfully-constructed mystery. Despite the sadness and horror of his life during World War II, the book is a tale of courage and love, most This memoir should be on everyone’s “must read” list for 2020. Ariana Neumann tells of her quest to understand the story of her father and his family. As a child in Venezuela, her father never talked about his childhood or his life before emigrating to Venezuela, and Ariana knew not to ask, but a decades-long quest to understand her father’s past unfolds like an artfully-constructed mystery. Despite the sadness and horror of his life during World War II, the book is a tale of courage and love, most importantly love, and the indefatigability of the human spirit. It is a stunning authorial debut.
    more
  • Amber Stewart
    January 1, 1970
    It was a really great and emotional read. I would highly recommend reading this book! It was a powerful read.
  • Ahaaha4
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you NetGalley, Simon & Shuster and Ariana Neumann for an ARC of When Time Stopped in exchange for an honest review. It is hard for me to give feedback on this book. Any book written about the Holocaust and especially a memoir deserves praise. These stories MUST be told. The research that went into this memoir is fascinating and Ariana Neumann must feel so accomplished to finally find out what happened to her family. I found myself struggling to get through this book mainly because of Thank you NetGalley, Simon & Shuster and Ariana Neumann for an ARC of When Time Stopped in exchange for an honest review. It is hard for me to give feedback on this book. Any book written about the Holocaust and especially a memoir deserves praise. These stories MUST be told. The research that went into this memoir is fascinating and Ariana Neumann must feel so accomplished to finally find out what happened to her family. I found myself struggling to get through this book mainly because of all the names and people. I found my mind wandering and desperately trying to piece together who everyone was and how they were related. The author did do an excellent job in giving detailed descriptions making the reader feel as if they were living through the horrific events. Thank you Ariana Neumann for telling your families story. It will now remain a part of history forever, and the more stories written the more difficult it will be for people to forget.
    more
  • Becki
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my. This book is just stunning. It is at once two true stories- the first, the story of a young girl who spends decades sleuthing a mystery, and the second, the amazing story of a Jewish family's love, commitment and perseverance though the second world war and Nazi occupation. The book begins by laying the groundwork of the author's childhood and her father as she knew him. It picks up considerably as the pieces of the mystery of her father's life are revealed- tiny piece by tiny piece. The Oh my. This book is just stunning. It is at once two true stories- the first, the story of a young girl who spends decades sleuthing a mystery, and the second, the amazing story of a Jewish family's love, commitment and perseverance though the second world war and Nazi occupation. The book begins by laying the groundwork of the author's childhood and her father as she knew him. It picks up considerably as the pieces of the mystery of her father's life are revealed- tiny piece by tiny piece. The journey of discovery that the author made is fascinating, surpassed only by the incredible true story of the lives of her father and his brother, their parents, and the courageous women and men who buoyed them through the perilous years with their love and support.Highly recommend. I received this book in exchange for my honest opinion, which I am always happy to give. This book was a pleasure to read, and I'm grateful to the author, publisher, and #NetGalley. #WhenTimeStopped
    more
  • Amanda (THE CAFFEINATED READER)
    January 1, 1970
    So this book isnt out yet, I wont spoil it for anyone. But this is probably the most moving, beautiful memoir I have ever read.The author embarks on a journey to fill in the background of her fathers past during Nazi war time, prompted by the contents of a box of trinkets and letters he left to her.There are photos! The photos and the very personal moments that are mentioned brought me to tears but Im fairly emotional. The subject matter itself was not easy to read so I cannot imagine the So this book isn’t out yet, I won’t spoil it for anyone. But this is probably the most moving, beautiful memoir I have ever read.The author embarks on a journey to fill in the background of her father’s past during Nazi war time, prompted by the contents of a box of trinkets and letters he left to her.There are photos! The photos and the very personal moments that are mentioned brought me to tears but I’m fairly emotional. The subject matter itself was not easy to read so I cannot imagine the authors moments of thought throughout her journey.I’m so happy I won this absolute gem of a book from goodreads. I’m using it as our book club pick when it’s out.
    more
Write a review