The Lost Girls of Devon
One of Travel + Leisure’s most anticipated books of summer 2020.From the Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestselling author of When We Believed in Mermaids comes a story of four generations of women grappling with family betrayals and long-buried secrets.It’s been years since Zoe Fairchild has been to the small Devon village of her birth, but the wounds she suffered there still ache. When she learns that her old friend and grandmother’s caretaker has gone missing, Zoe and her fifteen-year-old daughter return to England to help.Zoe dreads seeing her estranged mother, who left when Zoe was seven to travel the world. As the four generations of women reunite, the emotional pain of the past is awakened. And to complicate matters further, Zoe must also confront the ex-boyfriend she betrayed many years before.Anxieties spike when tragedy befalls another woman in the village. As the mystery turns more sinister, new grief melds with old betrayal. Now the four Fairchild women will be tested in ways they couldn’t imagine as they contend with dangers within and without, desperate to heal themselves and their relationships with each other.

The Lost Girls of Devon Details

TitleThe Lost Girls of Devon
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 14th, 2020
PublisherLake Union Publishing
ISBN-139781542020725
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

The Lost Girls of Devon Review

  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for an egalley in exchange for an honest review In her latest story, Barbara O' Neal introduces us to four generations of women struggling against family betrayals and long-buried secrets. A story of mothers and daughters on the path to redemption, forgiveness, and growing into the person that you are meant to be. At the head of the family is matriarch Lillian whose health is beginning to fail and becomes very upset when her caregiver goes missing Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for an egalley in exchange for an honest review In her latest story, Barbara O' Neal introduces us to four generations of women struggling against family betrayals and long-buried secrets. A story of mothers and daughters on the path to redemption, forgiveness, and growing into the person that you are meant to be. At the head of the family is matriarch Lillian whose health is beginning to fail and becomes very upset when her caregiver goes missing. Her granddaughter Zoe and her great-granddaughter, Isabel return from America to help Lillian. For Zoe, she has to come to terms with the trauma of what may have happened to her best friend, face a ruined relationship, and ultimately decide if she will forgive the mother who abandoned her at age 7. Teenaged Isabel is still trying to figure out how to tell her mother of the humiliation she carries with her every day. Finally, there is Poppy, Zoe's mother who desperately wants her daughter to forgive her and allow a relationship with her granddaughter. But has Poppy really understood how her past actions have hurt the people around her? I thought this was a heartwarming contemporary novel and I felt that each character "shared" the narration well. Although I must say Zoe was perhaps my least liked character because I felt her romance did get in the way of trying to figure out what happened to her friend and speaking with her mother. Another thing that was very confusing was how O' Neal switches from referring to Zoe's love as Cooper for the first half of the novel and then switches to his first name Sage. For a brief moment, I was lost and asking " Wait, there are two men now she is chasing now?" Hahaha! Overall, the characters were well developed, their individual stories were intriguing and there was enough dramatic effect to keep me interested. #TheLostGirlsofDevon #NetGalleyPublication Date 14/07/20Goodreads review 13/07/20
    more
  • ʚϊɞ Shelley's ʚϊɞ Book Nook
    January 1, 1970
    Perfection from the first page...Everything you want in a good book: an intriguing, well-written, thoughtful story with characters of real depth that you fall in love with. This book was charming, heart-warming and deeply satisfying. It was well written and the characters were believable with realistic responses instead of cliches. It was hard to put down and had some twists that I didn't see coming. Overall, I would read more from this author and I definitely recommend this book, as it was so c Perfection from the first page...Everything you want in a good book: an intriguing, well-written, thoughtful story with characters of real depth that you fall in love with. This book was charming, heart-warming and deeply satisfying. It was well written and the characters were believable with realistic responses instead of cliches. It was hard to put down and had some twists that I didn't see coming. Overall, I would read more from this author and I definitely recommend this book, as it was so captivating, Barbara O'Neal is a great story teller. She did an amazing job of drawing me into the story and making all the characters seem real, especially with Lillian. I found myself wishing I could meet her and have a cup of tea. It is rare that I read a book that causes me to have such emotional reactions to the behaviour of the characters.Telling a great story is like baking a cake.. you need the right ingredients - a bit of mystery, a dash of intrigue, a splash of humor, throw in some heart-tugging tears for good measure... and if it’s mixed just right, after baking you end up with a heartwarming piece that goes great with an afternoon cup of tea. This book had all of that and more. Hope, love, second chances. I am looking forward to reading more from Barbara O'Neal, I can't believe I haven't read her books before now.Thank you NetGalley, Lake Union Publishing and Barbara O'Neal for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an impartial review; all opinions are my own.#TheLostGirlsofDevon #NetGalley
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Trying to keep these 4 women’s stories straight was tough. I was wanting to like this more than I did and I found myself struggling through the book. I did enjoy it but I felt like I wasn’t connecting to some of the characters which seemed to make me like it less. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this early release in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Shalini
    January 1, 1970
    Family drama and mystery hit the right spot. When Zoë came to know her friend had disappeared, she packed her bags and came to her family home in Devon to search for her while avoiding the mother who had abandoned her years ago.My first book by this author, I was transported to a new land with the rolling vibrant discussions. Told in multiple POV, I got to know the characters and their situations. It was quite a surprise and delightful read
    more
  • Lesa
    January 1, 1970
    I've been reading and admiring Barbara O'Neal's novels since she wrote them under the name Barbara Samuel. I read her latest, The Lost Girls of Devon, under the guise of a mystery. Yes, there is a disappearance and several murders. But, this is actually a story that examines the relationship between four generations of the Fairchild women. It doesn't have the magical realism focus that some of O'Neal's earlier books do. But, there's a magic and strength in nature and love and family that is the I've been reading and admiring Barbara O'Neal's novels since she wrote them under the name Barbara Samuel. I read her latest, The Lost Girls of Devon, under the guise of a mystery. Yes, there is a disappearance and several murders. But, this is actually a story that examines the relationship between four generations of the Fairchild women. It doesn't have the magical realism focus that some of O'Neal's earlier books do. But, there's a magic and strength in nature and love and family that is the emphasis of this story.Lillian Fairchild may be close to ninety, but the mystery writer is still tuned in to the atmosphere and conversations in the Devon village of Axestowe. Something is going on in the village. She calls her granddaughter, Zoe, to tell her Diana, Lillian's home nurse, once Zoe's best friend, has been missing for two weeks. Zoe, who feels guilty for her year-long argument with Diana, packs up her teen daughter, Isabel, and returns to the one place that was always home, Lillian's Woodhurst Hall.Zoe spent years living with her grandmother after her mother, Poppy, left her there, promising to return. A lonely, needy Zoe wrote to her mother weekly, begging her to return. But, it was only after Zoe moved to New Mexico as an adult, married, and had a daughter, that Poppy returned from her travels in the East. Now, Poppy might have a popular shop, The Kitchen Witch, but Zoe has never forgiven the mother who abandoned her. Instead, Zoe's trapped in her feelings of hate and abandonment, never able to trust that people she loves won't leave her. And, she argued with Diana, feeling betrayed, when Diana befriended Poppy.Zoe even feels as if her first love, Sage Cooper, picked Poppy over her. But, with Lillian's health fading, and Zoe's own daughter, Isabel, struggling with depression as a result of an unknown trauma, there's no choice but to allow Poppy to have a role in the Fairchild relationships. But, Zoe won't do that graciously, or with love.While the community comes together to search for Diana, and, then the police look into the murder of a young woman left on the beach, that's a vehicle the author uses to bring this family, and Sage, back into the same circle. It's those relationships, and that circle that is the heart of the story.Barbara O'Neal specializes in novels featuring broken women who are forced to gather their strength and regroup. They are realistic, believable characters who have been hurt, or, have hurt others. It's O'Neal's role to show women who grow stronger, who heal, who find strength in other women. The Lost Girls of Devon, on the surface, is the story of several women who have gone missing. It's actually a heartbreaking, and heartwarming, story of lost girls who need the support of other women.
    more
  • BookwormishMe
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars / This review will be posted at BookwormishMe.com on 01 July 2020 . This book was phenomenal. I don’t even know where to start to review it. Just a wonderful story from start to finish of four generations of women. Zoe is the mom of Isabel. Isabel has had some sort of tragic bullying episode in high school that has traumatized her and prevented her from going back to school. Zoe is divorced from Martin, a musician, and estranged from Poppy, her mother. Zoe and Isabel live in Santa Fe, Ne 5 stars / This review will be posted at BookwormishMe.com on 01 July 2020 . This book was phenomenal. I don’t even know where to start to review it. Just a wonderful story from start to finish of four generations of women. Zoe is the mom of Isabel. Isabel has had some sort of tragic bullying episode in high school that has traumatized her and prevented her from going back to school. Zoe is divorced from Martin, a musician, and estranged from Poppy, her mother. Zoe and Isabel live in Santa Fe, New Mexico, where Zoe’s father raises sheep and is an artistic weaver.Poppy is a free spirited woman who runs a shop in the town of Axestowe on the Devon coast. Poppy grew up in Devon and fell in love rather young. She raised Zoe in a commune in Devon along with several other children, Sage & Diana. When Zoe was seven, Poppy left to chase her dreams in India, saying she’d be back in a month. Zoe was left with her grandmother Lillian, a prolific mystery author, in a grand old estate in Devon. Each of these four women has had both tragedy and triumph in their lives. From Lillian’s late in life career as a novelist, Poppy’s successful Kitchen Witch shop, Zoe’s career and motherhood, and Isa’s ability to write. Yet there is also tragedy in each of their lives that holds them back from being all they can be. O’Neal so successfully captures these women as whole and real and imperfect. Zoe smothers Isabel because her own mother didn’t. Poppy ran off to chase her dreams because her mother didn’t. And so the cycle continues.Enough good things cannot be said about this novel. I loved it so much that I might have to read it again and again. The sign of a well-written and well-cherished piece of work. There is the human factor, the mystery, romance and reality all rolled into one amazing piece of writing. Definitely a must-read!!!
    more
  • The Bookend Diner
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Lake Union Publishing and TLC Book Tours for gifting me a copy of THE LOST GIRLS OF DEVON by Barbara O’Neal. While this story is placed under the mystery genre, I believe that it’s best suited for women’s fiction. There was the overall mystery surrounding the disappearance of Zoe’s best friend, Diane, but to me, that was not the main plot of the storyline. In reality, this book focused on a family that has spent years holding back the truth from one another. Four generations of wome Thank you to Lake Union Publishing and TLC Book Tours for gifting me a copy of THE LOST GIRLS OF DEVON by Barbara O’Neal. While this story is placed under the mystery genre, I believe that it’s best suited for women’s fiction. There was the overall mystery surrounding the disappearance of Zoe’s best friend, Diane, but to me, that was not the main plot of the storyline. In reality, this book focused on a family that has spent years holding back the truth from one another. Four generations of women, Lillian, Poppy, Zoe, and Isabel; each woman carried with them a bit of their past or their future that they were scared to come to terms with- from lost memories, child abandonment, and an act of such terrible violation. (Trigger warning: sexual assault and sex trafficking).What made THE LOST GIRLS OF DEVON so fascinating to me was how each chapter alternating between the four Fairchild women and offered a different glimpse into each of the lives and the secrets that had been harboring for all of these years. I did enjoy the air of mystery to this story but I didn’t find it to be the sole focus as the synopsis implied. I, also, think that the mystery as to what was happening in Devon was wrapped up a little too quickly. But, overall, I always enjoy a book with a mystery as I find I, too, am trying to solve what was happening. THE LOST GIRLS OF DEVON will be published on July 14, 2020, and is available for pre-order now!
    more
  • Regina Mastrogiacomo
    January 1, 1970
    Fantastic. A great story about four generations of women dealing with the unraveling of deep hurts and finding out who they are and loving who they are and knowing together they are stronger. There is also the mystery of a close friend Diana who has disappeared and discovering just what happen to her. .Lillian, mother to Poppy and grandmother to Zoe, who was a fiction writer who is slowly developing dementia and coming to terms with the disease and also remember her own betrayal of her daughter Fantastic. A great story about four generations of women dealing with the unraveling of deep hurts and finding out who they are and loving who they are and knowing together they are stronger. There is also the mystery of a close friend Diana who has disappeared and discovering just what happen to her. .Lillian, mother to Poppy and grandmother to Zoe, who was a fiction writer who is slowly developing dementia and coming to terms with the disease and also remember her own betrayal of her daughter by not being there when Poppy need her. Poppy, mother to Zoe and daughter to Lillian, who escape marriage because of its constriction and left her seven year old daughter behind to find herself and finding love with a man who was married not thinking of the consequences of that relationship. Zoe, the daughter of Poppy, who keeps people at a distance so she doesn't get hurt again (I understand this one), who is still dealing with being abandonment by her mother.She is also dealing with her own betrayal of her old boyfriend Sage.Isabel, Zoe daughter,Poppy granddaughter and Lillian Great granddaughter, who is dealing with a sexual assault from people who she thought were her best friends and dealing with such a deep hurt that I don't know how she survived it, but she does it with the love of the strong women in her life.The mystery of the friend seems secondary but it helps to tie all the elements together nicely and I kind of figure it out at the beginning.I want to thank Barbara O'Neal, Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley for an Advance copy of this wonderful book
    more
  • Gail
    January 1, 1970
    I love books set in England so that was a positive when deciding to read this book. The setting of the Devon area in western England was everything I could have wanted, The author did an excellent job of describing the beauty of the area and making you feel that you were right there with the characters. The story was told from the point of view of four generations of women in one family. I enjoyed the storylines of all four of these women. Of course, there are conflicts for each of them which ma I love books set in England so that was a positive when deciding to read this book. The setting of the Devon area in western England was everything I could have wanted, The author did an excellent job of describing the beauty of the area and making you feel that you were right there with the characters. The story was told from the point of view of four generations of women in one family. I enjoyed the storylines of all four of these women. Of course, there are conflicts for each of them which maybe were resolved a bit too tidily in a quick wrap up at the end. There was also a mystery involving missing women. Again, this was solved a bit too quickly. I still really enjoyed the story and will definitely read more from this author.
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    January 1, 1970
    The Lost Girls of Devon is an intimate story of four generations of women as they work their way though loss and betrayal. All of the women are wonderfully portrayed—none of them perfect, all with regrets and mistakes, but with a passion to love and connect.
    more
  • Virginia Moore
    January 1, 1970
    Delicious I chose this book after being fed up with mystery and grave digging and at first,I wasn’t sure. Then,there was a bud with color,showing and I couldn’t put it down. I had to mark and even copy segments that I couldn’t let slip away. Don’t miss this beautiful story!
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    This was a wonderful book!
  • Kerry Anne King
    January 1, 1970
    In this intricately and beautifully woven tale of four generations, O’Neale unflinchingly explores the darker side of the love between mother and daughter in all of its complexities—including the covert resentment, jealousy, and frustration so often felt and so seldom talked about. Book Clubs will want to get their hands on this one for sure
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    An estranged mother suffering from dementia. A daughter whose oblivious to her own daughters tragedy. Four women in need of change.What could be worse than having a mother dying (estranged) and not being there for her? Well, try having a daughter who was abused and not knowing about it because you were off having an affair with a married man?Oh, snap!But look, I get it...We all have problems..Zoe daughter of Lillian and mother to Isabel has to overcome more than just shyness as she attempts to l An estranged mother suffering from dementia. A daughter whose oblivious to her own daughters tragedy. Four women in need of change.What could be worse than having a mother dying (estranged) and not being there for her? Well, try having a daughter who was abused and not knowing about it because you were off having an affair with a married man?Oh, snap!But look, I get it...We all have problems..Zoe daughter of Lillian and mother to Isabel has to overcome more than just shyness as she attempts to learn to love, forgive, and tear down walls built for protection.This brings to light a new tunnel that she slowly goes through to reach a new life and love.Meanwhile, all is not roses as we uncover her best friend Diana went missing.A body was found on the beach which was a girl who visited Poppy for palm readings.Now, we learn that a storm is brewing and sadly it's bringing something with it to light...Diana has been found!Life is cruel. Life is hard. Life is not perfect.This is the story of those flawed characters that's beautifully written and magnified in a way that brings too light those imperfections and triumphs over tragedies.Thank you to Barbara, the pub, NetGalley, and Kindle for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Lainey Cameron
    January 1, 1970
    A compelling, heartfelt tale of four generations of women, seeking to find their path and heal their pain; some of which they caused each other.Isabel is fifteen and has been traumatized by an experience with her High School friends that she isn't willing to talk about - even with Zoe, the mother she is so close to. Meanwhile, Zoe's friend in England has disappeared and so the two of them decide to cross the Atlantic to visit Zoe's ailing but proud grandmother in the same town. If you're looking A compelling, heartfelt tale of four generations of women, seeking to find their path and heal their pain; some of which they caused each other.Isabel is fifteen and has been traumatized by an experience with her High School friends that she isn't willing to talk about - even with Zoe, the mother she is so close to. Meanwhile, Zoe's friend in England has disappeared and so the two of them decide to cross the Atlantic to visit Zoe's ailing but proud grandmother in the same town. If you're looking for escapism in these dark times, this book will sweep you away to Devon in the South of England, to a fishing village complete with quaint shops, white cliffs, fish and chips and an annual festival. As always, Barbara O'Neal paints with all the senses, not just the sights, but the smells, sensations, colors, and taste of being there in her story universe, nestled in a village by the sea.With this novel she touches on a universal theme of forgiveness, and how the inability to forgive can prevent us from moving forward and being happy in the now. And asks the question of whether forgiveness can really be an option for Zoe, who has never moved on from her own mother abandoning her as a young child?Lovers of intergenerational stories and those looking for an escape from today's reality, where you can be immersed in a different place and the lives of others, will particularly appreciate this uplifting exploring the bonds between women.
    more
  • Regina
    January 1, 1970
    RR Rating: 3 off-balance starsFormat Ebook*, 351 pgs, pub. 7/14/2020RR Synopsis: Four generations of women reflect on their relationships to one another, past regrets, and current desires, all amidst a missing woman storyline. RR POV: This is my first read by O’Neal, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I found two of the primary characters very compelling but didn’t enjoy the chapters centered around the other two. Ultimately it felt like the balance of the story was just off. The subplot mystery a RR Rating: 3 off-balance starsFormat Ebook*, 351 pgs, pub. 7/14/2020RR Synopsis: Four generations of women reflect on their relationships to one another, past regrets, and current desires, all amidst a missing woman storyline. RR POV: This is my first read by O’Neal, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I found two of the primary characters very compelling but didn’t enjoy the chapters centered around the other two. Ultimately it felt like the balance of the story was just off. The subplot mystery about the whereabouts of one of their missing friends would have made a much more interesting focus in my opinion. Recommended Readers: Women’s fiction fans who love character-driven standalone novels told from multiple points of view. *I received an Advanced Readers Copy from #NetGalley & #LakeUnionPublishing in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rachel Jeffery
    January 1, 1970
    Rating: 5/5
Genre: Domestic fiction/ Thriller
Plot: 
One of Travel + Leisure’s most anticipated books of summer 2020.
From the Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestselling author of When We Believed in Mermaids comes a story of four generations of women grappling with family betrayals and long-buried secrets.
It’s been years since Zoe Fairchild has been to the small Devon village of her birth, but the wounds she suffered there still ache. When she learns that her old friend and grandmother’s ca Rating: 5/5
Genre: Domestic fiction/ Thriller
Plot: 
One of Travel + Leisure’s most anticipated books of summer 2020.
From the Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestselling author of When We Believed in Mermaids comes a story of four generations of women grappling with family betrayals and long-buried secrets.
It’s been years since Zoe Fairchild has been to the small Devon village of her birth, but the wounds she suffered there still ache. When she learns that her old friend and grandmother’s caretaker has gone missing, Zoe and her fifteen-year-old daughter return to England to help.
Zoe dreads seeing her estranged mother, who left when Zoe was seven to travel the world. As the four generations of women reunite, the emotional pain of the past is awakened. And to complicate matters further, Zoe must also confront the ex-boyfriend she betrayed many years before.
Anxieties spike when tragedy befalls another woman in the village. As the mystery turns more sinister, new grief melds with old betrayal. Now the four Fairchild women will be tested in ways they couldn’t imagine as they contend with dangers within and without, desperate to heal themselves and their relationships with each other.
My verdict: First of all thank you to the kind folks at Netgalley who allowed me to read this book prior to its release in July and for introducing me to a new author! I find Ms O’Neale’s writing to be very eloquent almost reminiscent of poetry and even the though plot deals with heavy subjects she strikes the right balance when it comes to gritty realism and emotional impact with a dash of romance and moments of levity for good measure set against the stunning backdrop of the Devonshire coast where her descriptions make me feel as though I am their along side the characters.
This book shows us how bad relationships and good relationships shape us and how it’s natural to become estranged from friends over time but that no bridge is burned beyond repair and how we can turn traumatic experiences into something positive and learn from them.
I particularly enjoyed the Wiccan elements in regards to Poppy’s character and how much we need to remind ourselves to listen to the rhythms of nature and even our own emotions and how they can foreshadow things to come. I particularly enjoyed Isabels rather analogue approach to life aside from her writing and photography especially after what she did experienced and it reminded me that sometimes we need to log off and not be so worried about what others think and instead think of what we want for ourselves. I loved The butterfly analogy used throughout in both Zoe and Isabels art and how it represents the metamorphosis of character, how Zoe went from a happy-go-lucky child to resenting her mother and how Isabel went from a depressed teenager disengaged with life to a brave young woman who managed to find the beauty in anything she saw.
I read this book in a matter of 12 hours and I am so grateful for net galley for introducing me to the wonderful world according to Barbara O’Neale and will most definitely be looking forward to reading and reviewing her next release... this lovely author is one to watch! Fans of Diane Chamberlain, Jodi Picoult and Shalini Boland will love this fabulous family saga.

Click the image to be taken to fantastic fiction so that you may pre-order your copy.
    more
  • Caroline Hedges
    January 1, 1970
    I was feeling homesick for England and my mother who lives in Devon so this felt like the perfect book to read on another hot, humid day in Virginia. It transported me back to quaint seaside villages, the mournful beauty of the moors and the joy of hedgerows, fish and chips and pubs. I loved how Lilian and Poppy called everyone 'love' which is such a Devonshire thing to do.Each of the main characters were nursing traumas, and questioning their path and choices. Poppy was my favorite with such a I was feeling homesick for England and my mother who lives in Devon so this felt like the perfect book to read on another hot, humid day in Virginia. It transported me back to quaint seaside villages, the mournful beauty of the moors and the joy of hedgerows, fish and chips and pubs. I loved how Lilian and Poppy called everyone 'love' which is such a Devonshire thing to do.Each of the main characters were nursing traumas, and questioning their path and choices. Poppy was my favorite with such a wonderfully adventurous life and her 'witchy' abilities. Poor Isabel was the only real victim in this story yet Zoe was the one who played the victim to the max. Call me heartless but her constant inner whining about her mother leaving her so long ago in the care of a loving grandmother grated on me a little. And she was so concerned for her friend Diana but all she talked about was how she wouldn't get to tell Diana stuff and ask her advice! It felt like everything in Zoe's life was take and no give. I also found the whole soul stuff with Sage a bit much, we got it so it didn't need to be covered every time they got together. That was the reason I didn't give it 5 stars.I was amazed to read that the author was American (with a British partner). Her grasp of Englishness was brilliant and was very authentic. Poppy was the me I wish I had been (without abandoning my child!) and I remember Glastonbury and all the hippy stores from my youth.Thank you for helping ease my home sickness. I called my mum straight after, just to hear her call me love.This was an ARC provided by Netgalley and this is my honest review.
    more
  • Alison
    January 1, 1970
    I must say I have always loved stories by this author and was sad to see this one end.This is a story of four generations of women on the maternal side of the family, who come together after Zoe and her daughter Isabel, fly back to England after Zoe's best friend from childhood Diana goes missing. Zoe, divorced and Isabel going through some trauma of her own, decide this would be a good time to help search for her friend and to see her grandmother who raised her from age seven, when her mother P I must say I have always loved stories by this author and was sad to see this one end.This is a story of four generations of women on the maternal side of the family, who come together after Zoe and her daughter Isabel, fly back to England after Zoe's best friend from childhood Diana goes missing. Zoe, divorced and Isabel going through some trauma of her own, decide this would be a good time to help search for her friend and to see her grandmother who raised her from age seven, when her mother Poppy, left to travel the world and find herself.Now decades later, Zoe, her Mother Poppy and her grandmother Lillian, plus her daughter Isabel are all in the same town and years of resentment for her mother are once again coming to the surface for Zoe. Also an old flame of Zoe's, Sage lives there.Zoe is an artist, her daughter Isabel has gotten into photography Lillian the grandmother is a writer and Zoe's Mother Poppy, is still a free spirit, who delves into spiritual practices. This is a book with a mystery to it it, as they all delve into the disappearance of Diana, and another girl who was helping her in her business. It is also a book of healing for all of these characters, whatever their issues are from past and present.I loved the story and the characters. I cannot wait for another of her books, I have read all of them except one, When we Believed in Mermaids, which I luckily have, to read soon.I would like to thank NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for a copy of this book.
    more
  • Jessica Haider
    January 1, 1970
    Zoe Fairchild is living in Santa Fe with her 15 year old daughter Isabel, when she gets a call that her childhood best friend Diana has disappeared. So, Zoe and Isabel pack their bags and travel to Zoe's childhood home town on the Devon sea coast of England. The small village is scenic with thatch roofed buildings and quaint shops and gets lots of tourists. It also holds many memories for Zoe, some happier than others. She remembers running around with her best friends Diana and Sage. When Zoe Zoe Fairchild is living in Santa Fe with her 15 year old daughter Isabel, when she gets a call that her childhood best friend Diana has disappeared. So, Zoe and Isabel pack their bags and travel to Zoe's childhood home town on the Devon sea coast of England. The small village is scenic with thatch roofed buildings and quaint shops and gets lots of tourists. It also holds many memories for Zoe, some happier than others. She remembers running around with her best friends Diana and Sage. When Zoe was just seven, her mother Poppy left Zoe to live with her grandmother, Lillian, in an old manor house. Poppy took off for India and didn't return for over a decade, leaving Zoe feeling abandoned and bitter. Now, Zoe and Isabel are living with Lillian, while Zoe tries to avoid Poppy and look into what happened to Diana. There are many tensions and things left unsaid between the 4 generations of Fairchild women. They all try to work their way through it while also trying to figure out what is going on in town. This novel was a good mix of family drama and mystery. The chapters alternated between the perspective of the 4 lead female characters. The village itself was charming and I could totally picture it in my head after my visit last year to some English villages (though I didn't get to Devon). It made me want to go back to the English countryside. So, good character development and a scenic charming atmosphere made this a satisfying read for me. I received a review copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sherri Lewis
    January 1, 1970
    ***I received an advanced e-copy from Net Galley in exchange for my honest reviewI am usually a fan of this author's books, but this one just didn't do it for me. It was told in alternating chapters between Zoe, Zoe's mom Poppy, and Zoe's daughter Isabel. I had a hard time keeping it straight who everyone was for the first several chapters, but once I really got into it good, I was able to keep them all straight. I really liked Poppy. She was a free spirit. Yes, she walked out on Zoe when she wa ***I received an advanced e-copy from Net Galley in exchange for my honest reviewI am usually a fan of this author's books, but this one just didn't do it for me. It was told in alternating chapters between Zoe, Zoe's mom Poppy, and Zoe's daughter Isabel. I had a hard time keeping it straight who everyone was for the first several chapters, but once I really got into it good, I was able to keep them all straight. I really liked Poppy. She was a free spirit. Yes, she walked out on Zoe when she was seven and left her with her grandmother and didn't come back until after she was grown. However, she does seem to do everything possible to try to redeem herself, and seems genuinely remorseful over what she did. Zoe however, can not seem to move past it. Her bitterness and constant outbursts are wearisome and seem almost immature at times. There was a mystery surrounding Zoe's best childhood friend Diana's disappearance. I wish more of the story had been devoted to that and less to Zoe's hatred of her mother. Also, it really bothered me that Zoe hadn't hardly spoken to Diana for a long time over something childish and now that she was missing, all she could think about was how she wished Diana was there so she could give her advice on something or tell her about something that was going on with her. I am glad I read it, just because I always read her books, but this is definitely not something I will ever want to read again.
    more
  • Vanessa Mozayani
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely loved this book! This book is about four generations of women. Pained by events in the past. The family come together when Zoe’s best friend Diana goes missing. In uncovering the mysterious disappearance the family members heal and come together. The book is set in a quaint small village in the UK and it grabbed me from the beginning. Such beautiful writing, it was sad to leave these characters at the end of the story. Thanks NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to be introduced to Absolutely loved this book! This book is about four generations of women. Pained by events in the past. The family come together when Zoe’s best friend Diana goes missing. In uncovering the mysterious disappearance the family members heal and come together. The book is set in a quaint small village in the UK and it grabbed me from the beginning. Such beautiful writing, it was sad to leave these characters at the end of the story. Thanks NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to be introduced to this author and wonderful story!
    more
  • Elena Geesey
    January 1, 1970
    Full disclosure: I have been reading and LOVING Barbara O’Neal’s books for a couple of decades now, under all of her noms de plume. The Lost Girls of Devon, in particular, touched me deeply, so much so that I finished the book with tears running down my face. This book is for any reader with a mother wound. I was wrecked by the stories of these women, their losses, and how they chose to put themselves back together in the end.
    more
  • Aida Alberto
    January 1, 1970
    Easily one of 2020's best books. Magical and lyrical this book lures you with it's vivid mastery and all of a sudden you realize hours have gone by and when you finally look up your dog is standing in front of you with her legs crossed whining to go outside. An absolute must read. Pick up this gem of a book and prepare to be dazzled. I wish I could give it more than five stars. Happy reading! #TheLostGirlsofDevon #NetGalley
    more
  • Karen Trosterud
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this story and these characters! Highly recommend
  • Yolanda
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this multigenerational drama . I have loved everything She has ever written . She has a way of creating a love story without snappiness and her novels are always atmospheric .
  • Cynthia
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Cindy’s Book Stacks This review was originally posted on Cindy’s Book Stacks
  • Shannon Dyer
    January 1, 1970
    Round up to 4.5 stars. Review to come at AAR.
  • Ellen
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book "The Lost Girls of Devon" from NetGalley and all opinions expressed are my own. There was a lot going on in this story, maybe a bit too much. I liked the characters and the main story line. Zoe was a bit controlling over every little thing and she could have at least listened to Poppy and heard her out. I liked Poppy a lot and she was magical. Overall, the secrets, romance and suspense worked and made it an interesting read.
    more
  • Barbara Schultz
    January 1, 1970
    Story centers on four generations of women.Lilian, who is the Mother of Poppy, Grandmother to Zoe, and is the Great Grandmother to Isobel.Love these ladies.This is not my typical genre but I enjoyed this story! Want to thank NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for this early release granted to me in exchange for an honest professional review. Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own. Publishing Release Date scheduled for July 14, 2020
    more
Write a review