Sweep with Me (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4.5)
A charming, short novella in the Innkeeper Chronicles, from #1 New York Times bestselling author, Ilona Andrews. Thank you for joining us at Gertrude Hunt, the nicest Bed and Breakfast in Red Deer, Texas, during the Treaty Stay. As you know, we are honor-bound to accept all guests during this oldest of innkeeper holidays and we are expecting a dangerous guest. Or several. But have no fear. Your safety and comfort is our first priority. The inn and your hosts, Dina Demille and Sean Evans, will defend you at all costs. [But we hope we don’t have to.] Every winter, Innkeepers look forward to celebrating their own special holiday, which commemorates the ancient treaty that united the very first Inns and established the rules that protect them, their intergalactic guests, and the very unaware/oblivious people of [planet] Earth. By tradition, the Innkeepers welcomed three guests: a warrior, a sage, and a pilgrim, but during the holiday, Innkeepers must open their doors to anyone who seeks lodging. Anyone. All Dina hopes is that the guests and conduct themselves in a polite manner. But what’s a holiday without at least one disaster?

Sweep with Me (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4.5) Details

TitleSweep with Me (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4.5)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 14th, 2020
PublisherNYLA
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Novella, Science Fiction, Magic, Romance

Sweep with Me (Innkeeper Chronicles, #4.5) Review

  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    And the moral of this reread is: I want a Quillonian chef named Orro for my birthday. (Which is coming up in about two months. In case you were wondering. And wanted to gift me a Quillonian chef. Named Orro. You know, for my birthday and stuff.)No idea what the fish this is about? Read the bloody shrimping book. You're welcome and stuff.[Original non-review]Question: How do you know you just finished reading an IA story?Answer #1: Because even though it's only 140 pages long (most outrageous, ➽ And the moral of this reread is: I want a Quillonian chef named Orro for my birthday. (Which is coming up in about two months. In case you were wondering. And wanted to gift me a Quillonian chef. Named Orro. You know, for my birthday and stuff.)No idea what the fish ↑this↑ is about? Read the bloody shrimping book. You're welcome and stuff.[Original non-review]Question: How do you know you just finished reading an IA story?Answer #1: Because even though it's only 140 pages long (most outrageous, that) it packs more punch, creativity, sheer fun, humour and emotion than the last 256 books you read.Answer #2: Because it makes you feel kinda sorta like... Answer #3: Because it makes you want to sing this dreadfully cheerful song at the top of your nefarious little head even though it totally wrecks your nefarious act and completely ruins your nefarious rep. (And you don't give a bloody stinking shrimp about it, either.)Answer #4: Because you want to reread the book the second you finish it.👋 Until next time and stuff.(view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)]· Book 1: Clean Sweep ★★★★· Book 2: Sweep in Peace ★★★★★· Book 3: One Fell Sweep ★★★★★· Book 4: Sweep of the Blade ★★★★➽ January 10, 2020: bloody shrimping hell of the stinking fish, Chapter 8 and the epilogue are already up!!I want to go on a field trip to Baha-char with Dina and Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler (not the character's real name). I want to move into kidnap Gertrude Hunt. I want to be a Drífen when I grow up. I want to chop Spoiler Spoiler Spoiler (not the character's real name, either) into tiny little pieces and feed her/him/they/wouldn't you like to know to my murderous children. Then again I might not have to. Because reasons and stuff. I want Qoros to become a permanent guest at Gertrude Hunt. And to hook up with Caldenia. Because they are just about perfect for each other. I want to expand my nefarious breeding program to Funky Albeit Zany Space Chickens (FAZSC™). (Get along famously with the crustaceans I predict they will.) And I want a Red Cleaver chef Orro for Christmas. Obviously. ➽ January 10, 2020: Chapter 7 is up! Orro surged to his feet and roared, “You are a fraud!” Yeah, that field trip went about as well as expected. Not sure whether I want to laugh my exoskeleton off, hug Orro nefariously, or both. Probably both. yeah, definitely both. ➽ January 8, 2020: Chapter 6 is up! Sean and Orro going on a field trip...Now that should be interesting!➽ January 6, 2020: Chapter 5 is up! Hahahahahahahaha. The ninjas. Hahahahahahahaha. P.S. Caldenia, I 💕lurves💕 thee. Please marry me and stuff. I promise to feed you juicy ninjas, not dreadful hamburgers.➽ January 3, 2020: Chapter 4 is up! Neighborhood pornography + dens of iniquity + Caldenia the wi-fi stalker + the purpose of small tigers = ➽ January 1, 2020: Chapter 3, Part 2 is up! Gertrude Hunt wishes you a Happy New Year and stuff!➽ December 30, 2019: Chapter 3, Part 1 is up! Only IA would come up with Super Extra Funky Space Poultry (SEFSP™). This little koo-ko guy will be a nice little feathery addition to my High Security Harem Zoo, methinks. So poof, gone, kidnapped adopted and stuff! (Keeping my pincers crossed that my murderous children don't mistake him for a juicy turkey and roast him for their belated Christmas dinner.)➽ December 27, 2019: Chapter 2, Part 2 is up!➽ December 24, 2019: Chapter 2, Part 1 is up! Merry Christmas and stuff!➽ December 20, 2019: Chapter 1, Part 2 is up already!!!!➽ December 18, 2019: Here we go again and stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Chapter 1, part 1 is up and stuff!!!!!!!!!!!! Now please excuse me while I celebrate a little much and stuff.What the bloody fish is this you ask? Nothing much, really. Just a free online serial courtesy of the Mostest Awesomest Writing Duo (MAWD™) this side of the shrimpoverse. No big deal, really.(view spoiler)[ Told you it was no big deal. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars 10/1/20The book is completed and will be available to read on their site linked below, for free until the 13th of January. 18/12/19 Free online serial at: https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/2...https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/c...Review updated on every chapter release! For those of you that would rather wait and read it in one go, pre-order is available and the novella will be out on January 14th! My birthday this year is going to be awesome!Chapter 1 Part 1 18/12/19 4.5 stars 10/1/20The book is completed and will be available to read on their site linked below, for free until the 13th of January. 18/12/19 Free online serial at: https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/2...https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/c...Review updated on every chapter release! For those of you that would rather wait and read it in one go, pre-order is available and the novella will be out on January 14th! My birthday this year is going to be awesome!Chapter 1 Part 1 18/12/19https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/2...Dina and Sean! Squeeeeee!!!! So happy to start this one! And it will continue my tradition of ending and beginning the year with Ilona Andrews books. "[..]on January 14th, we would celebrate Treaty Stay, the oldest of the innkeeper holidays." I'm gonna pretend they are celebrating my birthday. Gertrude Hunt, maybe? Chapter 1 Part 2 20/12/19Chapter 2 Part 1 23/12/19 Chapter 2 Part 2 27/12/19Caldenia and plotting! Chapter 3 Part 1 30/12/19Image direct from authors site and credit to the artist Doris Mantair. It is surprisingly not easy to find an image of a dressed up chicken on the net.First Scholar Thek Chapter 3 Part 1&2 1/1/20Happy New Year everyone!!“I’m on a tiny planet, and there is a comet heading my way and I can’t do anything about it.” Chapter 4 3/1/20 Chapter 5 6/1/20 I laughed so hard! Chapter 6 8/1/20Chapter 7 9/1/20 Chapter 8 & Epilogue 10/1/20
    more
  • carol.
    January 1, 1970
    Solid feel-good that reminded me why I enjoyed the world of the Innkeeper. Diana and Sean are asked to host an unusual guest during the annual celebratory Treaty Stay, but other groups want to stay at the Inn as well. Tradition has a visit from a warrior, a sage and a pilgrim, and the guests surprisingly fall into traditional pattern. The eminent guest has an unusual food request, that sends Orro into a tizzy. Loads of fun, with only a couple small hiccups. Of course I bought it, silly.
    more
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    Fun, but way too short - lol.Getting a novella to tide me over is one thing, getting to the end of it and knowing I won't get any more this year is another.I love this series, it's one of my favorite IA series, and this novella was fun, light hearted (compared to others) and even packed a little action.I'm always astonished by the imagination that comes out of IA, every guest to the Inn is completely different, with a unique background and abilities. I'm just amazed by it all.This novella was Fun, but way too short - lol.Getting a novella to tide me over is one thing, getting to the end of it and knowing I won't get any more this year is another.I love this series, it's one of my favorite IA series, and this novella was fun, light hearted (compared to others) and even packed a little action.I'm always astonished by the imagination that comes out of IA, every guest to the Inn is completely different, with a unique background and abilities. I'm just amazed by it all.This novella was perfectly balanced and had everything I come to love about this series. I wished it was longer, but who doesn't, and I'll be rereading the series until a new book is released, hopefully next year.
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT?! An Innkeeper novella by Ilona Andrews that I haven't read? How did I miss this? I'm on it tonight.RTC.
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    Only Ilona Andrews could write a novella featuring philosophical space chickens. Yes, you read that correctly, and no, I am not kidding. I am not even going to write anything else about this. Because space chickens. That's all you need to know.
  • Mariah
    January 1, 1970
    F a smart home, I want an Inn.3.5 for a short and sweet stay at the Gertrude Hunt.
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    A new Innkeeper novella you say? Publishing on the 14th of January you say? HELL YES! I hit that preorder button so fast & hard I almost broke my finger!! Even better is that we don't have to wait until January because Ilona & Gordon are doing what they always do with the Innkeeper books and giving fans the chance to read them for free on their website in advance of publication!! Keep an eye on the Innkeeper website for at least weekly (but probably twice weekly!) instalments between A new Innkeeper novella you say? Publishing on the 14th of January you say? HELL YES! I hit that preorder button so fast & hard I almost broke my finger!! Even better is that we don't have to wait until January because Ilona & Gordon are doing what they always do with the Innkeeper books and giving fans the chance to read them for free on their website in advance of publication!! Keep an eye on the Innkeeper website for at least weekly (but probably twice weekly!) instalments between now and January https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.comChapter One, Part One is already available HERE: https://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/2...
    more
  • Lisazj1
    January 1, 1970
    Well, time for my usual Ilona Andrews fangirling-non-review. Really, I could almost copy/paste everything I say from book to book. Because IT. WAS. FABULOUS!!! Of course. All the humor, ass-kicking, great dialogue, amazing characters *every one of them, IA does do not do "supporting" characters, I love them all*, magic and heart that I always find in these favorite authors' stories.I didn't realize just how very much I've missed Dina, Sean, Gertrude Hunt and all the rest until I started reading. Well, time for my usual Ilona Andrews fangirling-non-review. Really, I could almost copy/paste everything I say from book to book. Because IT. WAS. FABULOUS!!! Of course. All the humor, ass-kicking, great dialogue, amazing characters *every one of them, IA does do not do "supporting" characters, I love them all*, magic and heart that I always find in these favorite authors' stories.I didn't realize just how very much I've missed Dina, Sean, Gertrude Hunt and all the rest until I started reading. This world is genuinely incredible and so damn fun to read. I love how unruffled Dina always appears *whether she is panicking or not* when things get wound up and how severely the bad guys *or bad aliens* underestimate her. The small, blonde innkeeper in her robes hardly looks like a badass but boy, do they invariably get a shock. I devoured this in only the space of a few hours. That's the problem with highly anticipated releases. You waitwaitwait and get it and then *poof*, they're gone. :( So now I'm back to *not-patiently* waiting for the next one. Worth it!!
    more
  • Maia
    January 1, 1970
    I've missed reading about the inn so much!!! It's too bad it was so short but better short than nothing at all I've read this online (published by Ilona Andrews) but I'm definitely going to read it again once I get the book, hopefully there will be some illustrations I've missed reading about the inn so much!!! It's too bad it was so short but better short than nothing at all 😁I've read this online (published by Ilona Andrews) but I'm definitely going to read it again once I get the book, hopefully there will be some illustrations 😊
    more
  • aarya
    January 1, 1970
    I have no objectivity when it comes to IA as I am a fangirl. I read this holiday novella when it was published as a serial on their website.
  • Darcy
    January 1, 1970
    There is so much to love about this series that I always look forward to reading them. I'm a bit odd though in that I don't read them as the author writes it, but wait for the finished product. I love the inn and every time I read a book in the series wished that I had a magic house to remake it's self to my whims. With this book things were a bit different, Dina and Gertrude Hunts relationship was a bit iffy from everything that has happened in the past, but by the end you could see things were There is so much to love about this series that I always look forward to reading them. I'm a bit odd though in that I don't read them as the author writes it, but wait for the finished product. I love the inn and every time I read a book in the series wished that I had a magic house to remake it's self to my whims. With this book things were a bit different, Dina and Gertrude Hunts relationship was a bit iffy from everything that has happened in the past, but by the end you could see things were on the mend. I also loved how Sean is settling in as an Innkeeper, he definitely does things his way.Dina had some challenging guest again, but she handled them all very well, gave them all a little something extra to think about and seemed to secure her future.
    more
  • SheLove2Read
    January 1, 1970
    I love Dina and Sean. I love the Inn. I love the cast of regulars who live in the Inn. I could read in this world every day and never get bored. 5 stars
  • Sometime
    January 1, 1970
    I read this as part of a serial on the author's website. There is something very appealing about reading a book one piece at a time like the old newspaper serials. It's available now on paperback/ebook etc.It was great to check in with Dina and Sean and the cast of amusing characters at the Inn. There were a few plot holes and a few things felt rushed, but overall I really enjoyed the latest in the Innkeeper series. Ilona Andrews books never fail me.
    more
  • Paulina
    January 1, 1970
    I read this online while it was posted free for readers. Ilona and her husband are such great storytellers. They can make a novella feel like a full book. I will definitely buy the book when it comes out, so I can help ensure the series continues! This novella and the series are highly recommended.
    more
  • Gundega (Rouzmary)
    January 1, 1970
    We've got the new Innkeeper, people! And it's back to Dina, Sean & Gertrude Hunt! :DObviously I'm devouring reading every part of the story our dear authors post on their blog and I'm loving every little bit of it! We've got 3 chapters so far and already we've had joy, happiness, excitement, mystery, fun, intrigue. You name, they have it.And the art is gorgeous, as always:Eagerly awaiting each new chapter! ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~UpdateEven though the short story was just few chapters long, thoroughly We've got the new Innkeeper, people! And it's back to Dina, Sean & Gertrude Hunt! :DObviously I'm devouring reading every part of the story our dear authors post on their blog and I'm loving every little bit of it! We've got 3 chapters so far and already we've had joy, happiness, excitement, mystery, fun, intrigue. You name, they have it.And the art is gorgeous, as always:Eagerly awaiting each new chapter! ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~UpdateEven though the short story was just few chapters long, thoroughly enjoyed every little bit of it! :DAnd...hehehehehe, the ninja part was just lovely messing on Dina's part, our girl is awesome!
    more
  • Linda (un)Conventional Bookworms
    January 1, 1970
    Sweep with Me is just the novella I needed to tide me over until the next full novel in the Innkeeper series! I love Dina so much - and there was a lot going on for such a short story! Of course, I still felt fulfilled, because I knew the main characters well already.While Dina was upset and worried about something big - other big things happened that took her mind off things. And it was fantastic!
    more
  • Tina
    January 1, 1970
    AH. Nice. A little amuse-bouche of a novella but a wonderful visit with Dina and Sean. A little funny/absurd in places and serious/badass in others. Great balance and I enjoyed meeting some new alien types and catching up with the two permanent Gertrude Hunt guests. Also, this one really brouight home the magic/symbiotic aspect of Dina and Gertrude Hunt. Reminds me I really need to do a re-read of the series now.
    more
  • G.
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5While I enjoy these books, I'm not as impressed with them as their other series for some reason. Perhaps it's because the plots are more simple. Perhaps it's just a weird personal quirk. That said, it's good stuff.
  • MrsJoseph *grouchy*
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars rounded upOK! So, I waited until the serial was done then I glommed it all. THEN I went back and read the entire series and re-read this one.Because IA.This was FUN! But short. Shorter than most. There was a lot to love and my only issue was the lack of length. I wanted more. In fact, the shortness is what sent me on my glomming spree.
    more
  • Jess
    January 1, 1970
    I MISSED SEAN AND DINA SO MUCH.
  • Maggie ☘ (Wonderland-Reader)
    January 1, 1970
    Great addition to the Inkeeper series. This short story had all the trademarks of IA book (the humour, the characters and plot). We get to see Dina and Sean once again. As well as the not-so-slightly psychopathic Caldenia and overdramatic cook Orro. And of course the sentient inn! It was short and fun. (view spoiler)[What I'm really looking forward to is, hopefully, know more about Dina's parents. I'm hoping that plotline will come to fruition in future books. (hide spoiler)] Hopefully, there Great addition to the Inkeeper series. This short story had all the trademarks of IA book (the humour, the characters and plot). We get to see Dina and Sean once again. As well as the not-so-slightly psychopathic Caldenia and overdramatic cook Orro. And of course the sentient inn! It was short and fun. (view spoiler)[What I'm really looking forward to is, hopefully, know more about Dina's parents. I'm hoping that plotline will come to fruition in future books. (hide spoiler)] Hopefully, there will be more books in this series following Dina, as this story kind of seemed like a bridge between Dina's original trilogy and something more that may come up in the future. I don't think Dina's story is quite over yet. 3.75 stars
    more
  • Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    I LOVE this series Oh, how I love and adore this series and the wide variety of characters. Not often a novella ends up being a 5 star read, but a return to Gertrude Hunt, Dina, Sean and Beast just did it for me. This novella is a fairly quick read, but I was very happy to be able to revisit some of my favourite characters. Gertrude Hunt's other permanent guests add lots of humour to the storyline - Orro with all of his dramatic antics, and Caldenia's love of watching the local neighbourhood and I LOVE this series ❤️Oh, how I love and adore this series and the wide variety of characters. Not often a novella ends up being a 5 star read, but a return to Gertrude Hunt, Dina, Sean and Beast just did it for me. This novella is a fairly quick read, but I was very happy to be able to revisit some of my favourite characters. Gertrude Hunt's other permanent guests add lots of humour to the storyline - Orro with all of his dramatic antics, and Caldenia's love of watching the local neighbourhood and her slightly blood thirsty attitude....." Besides, it's been almost 2 weeks since anyone was brutally murdered. Things were getting a bit dull. We wouldn't want to die of boredom, would we? ". Caldenia - she's such a great character. I adore Dina, Sean and Beast, so I hope the authors just keep coming up with more storylines for them ❤️
    more
  • Jasmine
    January 1, 1970
    I love everybody in this inn, and I love the inn. Also I can DREAM/HOPE that we just met the love interest for the brother we haven’t met yet, eh? Eh?
  • Scratch
    January 1, 1970
    Really only more deserving of 3 stars, but I'm rounding up just because I love this series. Didn't cover a lot of new territory here. Dina used her innkeeper powers in pretty impressive ways to outsiders, but typical for her, given that she always explains to us how she and the inn work together. Some species came to the inn. Some were more violent, some were more humorous, and hijinks ensued. I hope future books in the series go off the beaten path a little more. Maybe delving into the mystery Really only more deserving of 3 stars, but I'm rounding up just because I love this series. Didn't cover a lot of new territory here. Dina used her innkeeper powers in pretty impressive ways to outsiders, but typical for her, given that she always explains to us how she and the inn work together. Some species came to the inn. Some were more violent, some were more humorous, and hijinks ensued. I hope future books in the series go off the beaten path a little more. Maybe delving into the mystery of where Dina's parents went, or introducing her brother, or showcasing a different inn, or detailing what it's like for Dina to be pregnant with a werewolf baby. We just need a little more of a change of pace.
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    My favorite subplot was Orro. I'm glad he's doing well, even if he can't make bad junk food.
  • Isabel
    January 1, 1970
    “Dina, we’re going to host sixty-one space chickens.”I gave up. “Yes.”“And they’re going to argue philosophy.” “Dina, we’re going to host sixty-one space chickens.”I gave up.  “Yes.”“And they’re going to argue philosophy.”
    more
  • Marianne
    January 1, 1970
    Space chickens, huh? Well, if anyone can pull it off, it's Ilona Andrews.
  • Sonia
    January 1, 1970
    I warned them that small children would mistake Orro for Hagrid, which Sean found amusing. In case you forgot - as if that was possible - the ending of One Fell Sweep was bittersweet. Yes, Dina survived the low blow of the inn seed, but, Gertrude Inn, Dina herself and Sean were left recovering from the ordeal, and in a bit of a pickle with the Assembly.Well, this book was the BRILLIANT AND AMAZING resolution of it.Dina is sweet and clever and if needed be, ruthless and powerful. And I am I warned them that small children would mistake Orro for Hagrid, which Sean found amusing. In case you forgot - as if that was possible - the ending of One Fell Sweep was bittersweet. Yes, Dina survived the low blow of the inn seed, but, Gertrude Inn, Dina herself and Sean were left recovering from the ordeal, and in a bit of a pickle with the Assembly.Well, this book was the BRILLIANT AND AMAZING resolution of it.Dina is sweet and clever and if needed be, ruthless and powerful. And I am totally in love with this series. No matter how short the book is, it fills us and it's all kinds of awesome.Plus, the bonus preview of Emerald Blaze doesn't hurt either.
    more
  • Gail Koger
    January 1, 1970
    I love this series. It's action-packed, great characters, a nice love interest and interesting aliens. I highly recommend this book.
Write a review