Brave Girl, Quiet Girl
From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde comes a gripping and emotional novel about friendship, motherhood, and the journey toward finding a place to call home. Brooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing that matters most: her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Then, in a matter of seconds, Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as Etta, still strapped in her seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Miles away, Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen who is all too used to darkness. Thrown away by her parents, and with a future as stable as the wooden crate she calls home, Molly survives day to day by her wits. As unpredictable as her life is, she’s stunned to find Etta, abandoned and alone. Shielding the little girl from more than the elements, Molly must put herself in harm’s way to protect a child as lost as she is. Out of one terrible moment, Brooke’s and Molly’s desperate paths converge and an unlikely friendship across generations and circumstances is formed. With it, Brooke and Molly will come to discover that what’s lost—and what’s found—can change in a heartbeat.

Brave Girl, Quiet Girl Details

TitleBrave Girl, Quiet Girl
Author
ReleaseMay 19th, 2020
PublisherLake Union Publishing
Rating
GenreFiction, Contemporary, Audiobook, Family, Womens Fiction, Drama, Suspense, Mystery, Adult, Adult Fiction

Brave Girl, Quiet Girl Review

  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    This is my third book by Catherine Ryan Hyde and the third that earns 5 stars from me. This author really knows how to push my reading buttons! I am thrilled that I have so many more of her books to read, not to mention she puts out at least one new book every year. I have been slumpish in my reading the last several months, taking 10-17 days to read one book instead of the usual 4-5 days. It seems all the info out there on the Trump impeachment and the COVID-19 pandemic has drawn me in more tha This is my third book by Catherine Ryan Hyde and the third that earns 5 stars from me. This author really knows how to push my reading buttons! I am thrilled that I have so many more of her books to read, not to mention she puts out at least one new book every year. I have been slumpish in my reading the last several months, taking 10-17 days to read one book instead of the usual 4-5 days. It seems all the info out there on the Trump impeachment and the COVID-19 pandemic has drawn me in more than my books, which is a pretty sad statement. This one though took me only 3 days to read. It provided me with a most welcome three-day escape to all of the depressing news out there.I am really tired of the stolen kid theme. When Brave Girl, Quiet Girl became available on Net Galley, I was excited. I then read the blurb and was disappointed to see the plot involved a stolen child. For a second I considered passing, but gosh, this was Catherine Ryan Hyde so I took a chance she would make it good. She succeeded with flying colors. I do want to say for the benefit of readers that are also tired of this theme, the abduction of the child is not the thrust, but just the ignitor of the story.Ms. Hyde’s books (so far in my experience) profile people who are struggling with issues that seem insurmountable. A really strong feature of her writing is that her characters are so realistic. Their speech, their thoughts, their mistakes, their actions. They all seem believable. Unlike some writers, who make use of coincidences or somewhat over the top or implausible events to propel the story, I have seen none of that in Ms. Hyde’s novels. Her books also generally feature only a very few main characters, which is a relief in regard to keeping everyone straight. These few characters also get all the attention, so the reader really gets to know them—a real plus in my book. In my experience she always writes in one timeline, another positive in my opinion.The thing I like most about Ryan books, however, is the way they make me feel. I become ferociously attached to the main players and suffer right along with them until Ms. Ryan leads us all out of the woods, always towards a positive/uplifting ending. It’s the journey that is so captivating. I am never sure where she will lead us next. Brave Girl, Quiet Girl (such a wonderful title, btw) is the story of how strangers sometimes hold the key to the salvation of each other. Things are not always perfect, just like in real life, but one does get the gist that we don’t always have to be alone in our struggles even if we think we are.I strongly recommend this book for all readers of contemporary fiction. As of this writing, the novel is still available as a READ NOW on Net Galley. Publication date is May 19, 2020.Thank you Net Galley, Lake Union Publishing, and Catherine Ryan Hyde for the privilege of an advanced copy. Opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
    more
  • *TUDOR^QUEEN*
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 stars rounded up to 4I pounced on this due to author recognition. One of my favorite books of 2019 was her beautiful story Stay. This offering isn't quite as good as that 5 Star read, but was enjoyable nonetheless.The book takes place in Los Angeles. A divorcee named Brooke has a sweet, intelligent and adorable two year-old daughter named Etta. They are currently living at Brooke's mother's house due to lack of funds in the wake of her divorce. Sadly, Brooke's mother has few redeeming quali 3.75 stars rounded up to 4I pounced on this due to author recognition. One of my favorite books of 2019 was her beautiful story Stay. This offering isn't quite as good as that 5 Star read, but was enjoyable nonetheless.The book takes place in Los Angeles. A divorcee named Brooke has a sweet, intelligent and adorable two year-old daughter named Etta. They are currently living at Brooke's mother's house due to lack of funds in the wake of her divorce. Sadly, Brooke's mother has few redeeming qualities. She's very pointed and judgemental, and if Brooke wasn't so desperate for shelter at this crisis point in her life, she certainly would find other lodgings. One evening as Brooke is playing with Etta in the bedroom that they share, once again suffering the strain of the blaring TV from the living room, her mother criticizes her for not taking Etta outside enough. It's now evening (so Etta won't benefit from sunshine anyway), but Brooke decides to take Etta to a movie. If it wasn't for Brooke's Mom's badgering, she wouldn't have gone out and therefore would have avoided a nightmare scenario for any parent. Immediately following the movie, an incident occurs which separates Etta from her mother. Unbeknownst to Brooke, Etta was discovered by a sixteen year old homeless girl from Utah named Molly. It's nighttime and there are some serious scary characters around, but Molly guards Etta with her life. She has some experience with younger siblings, so employs these skills to keep Etta entertained, and most of all, unafraid. This part of the book was a nail-biter and absolutely riveting. The title of the book is something Molly whispered to little Etta during this time: "Brave girl, Quiet girl". She only knew this little girl for less than 24 hours and found herself in love with her. And it was mutual.The book was narrated in alternating chapters between Brooke and Molly, which provided deep insights into each character. However, I would sometimes forget who was narrating the chapter and although the dialogue had quotations, they were only identifiable by "I said" and "she said". This caused me intermittent confusion. Otherwise, the writing style was comfortable and free flowing, which I love. I don't really want to spell out any more details, although the official blurb advertising the book goes farther than I am. I want future readers to enjoy the unraveling of this story. This author seems to have a secret sauce in her books of underdog characters, living difficult lives but imbued with inner strength to tackle life's challenges. You find your heart expanding, fighting tears with the hope of triumph over adversity. Thank you to Lake Union Publishing for providing an advance reader copy via NetGalley.
    more
  • Suzy
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars, rounded up! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Once again, Catherine Ryan Hyde has knocked it out of the park! I have only read a handful of her books, but I’m obsessed with them. She never disappoints. This story is about two women - strangers - who meet under scary circumstances with one thing in common: their love for a little girl named Etta. What transpires is an unlikely bond between these three people that you will not soon forget.What I love about Hyde’s books are that they always relatable, always ha 4.5 stars, rounded up! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Once again, Catherine Ryan Hyde has knocked it out of the park! I have only read a handful of her books, but I’m obsessed with them. She never disappoints. This story is about two women - strangers - who meet under scary circumstances with one thing in common: their love for a little girl named Etta. What transpires is an unlikely bond between these three people that you will not soon forget.What I love about Hyde’s books are that they always relatable, always have heartbreaking moments and always have a positive, happy ending. You just can’t help but fall in love with all of her characters and are sad to see them go once the book ends. Whenever I see a new book with her name on it, it’s an automatic request because I know I’m in for a seriously wonderful story. Keep up the great work, Ms. Hyde because you have a fan for life! Thank you to NetGalley, Catherine Ryan Hyde and Lake Union Publishing for my advanced copy to read and review.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    This is a really lovely novel about the complex relationships between mothers and daughters, and learning to look beyond your prejudices to see the good in people.Homeless teenager Molly is living in a crate on the streets of LA after being thrown out of home by her religious family in Utah. Her world collides with that of single mother Brooke when she finds Brooke's two year old daughter Etta dumped on the street after Brooke's car was stolen with Etta inside. Brooke is recently divorced and ba This is a really lovely novel about the complex relationships between mothers and daughters, and learning to look beyond your prejudices to see the good in people.Homeless teenager Molly is living in a crate on the streets of LA after being thrown out of home by her religious family in Utah. Her world collides with that of single mother Brooke when she finds Brooke's two year old daughter Etta dumped on the street after Brooke's car was stolen with Etta inside. Brooke is recently divorced and back living with her negative, overly critical mother while she tries to get her life back on track and is totally distraught at the possibility that she may never see Etta alive again. When she first meets Molly all she sees is the dirty, disheveled street kid, not the brave and kind hearted girl underneath.Catherine Ryan Hyde is especially talented at creating realistic characters complete with very human flaws and foibles and also in making us think about how we would react in the same circumstances. Neither Brooke nor Molly's mothers are very nice people, both prejudiced and judgmental about things they don't try to understand. Fortunately Brooke is more compassionate, although she has trouble believing Molly's story of how she became homeless and it takes a while for both Brooke and Molly to trust one another. This was a very engaging read with a hearwarming ending - highly recommended.With many thanks to Lake Union Publishing and Netgalley for a digital ARC to read
    more
  • Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
    January 1, 1970
    EXCERPT: My plan was to put on my seat belt to drive home. I had Etta strapped into her car seat, still snoring like a miniature soprano buzz saw. I was sitting in the driver's seat of my mom's Mercedes, trying to get my own belt done. Sounds easy enough, but I was wearing a big, long sweater, and the folds of it kept getting in the way. I go back to this moment a lot. It wasn't much of a struggle before I gave up. It wasn't that frustrating. Which makes it even harder to explain after the fact. EXCERPT: My plan was to put on my seat belt to drive home. I had Etta strapped into her car seat, still snoring like a miniature soprano buzz saw. I was sitting in the driver's seat of my mom's Mercedes, trying to get my own belt done. Sounds easy enough, but I was wearing a big, long sweater, and the folds of it kept getting in the way. I go back to this moment a lot. It wasn't much of a struggle before I gave up. It wasn't that frustrating. Which makes it even harder to explain after the fact. To myself or anyone else. At best I can figure after the fact, it was this: in that moment I was happy. I was out in the world with my child, enjoying one of those perfect moments made perfect by the simple fact that I had her. I was in a state of joy, which felt increasingly rare. When that moment of slight frustration arose, I didn't want to spoil anything. I drove away with my seat belt undone. ABOUT THIS BOOK: Brooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing that matters most: her two-year-old daughter, Etta. Then, in a matter of seconds, Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as Etta, still strapped in her seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Miles away, Etta is found by Molly, a homeless teen who is all too used to darkness. Thrown away by her parents, and with a future as stable as the wooden crate she calls home, Molly survives day to day by her wits. As unpredictable as her life is, she’s stunned to find Etta, abandoned and alone. Shielding the little girl from more than the elements, Molly must put herself in harm’s way to protect a child as lost as she is.Out of one terrible moment, Brooke’s and Molly’s desperate paths converge and an unlikely friendship across generations and circumstances is formed. With it, Brooke and Molly will come to discover that what’s lost—and what’s found—can change in a heartbeat.MY THOUGHTS: Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is the first book I have read by author Catherine Ryan-Hyde. She has written a compassionate and realistic book about the relationships between mothers and daughters, and our prejudices against the homeless. The story is told from the points of view of Brooke, mother of Etta, and Molly, Etta's rescuer. Brooke is struggling to make ends meet and living with her very judgemental mother since the failure of her marriage. Molly, sixteen and gay, was kicked out of home when she revealed to her very religious parents that she was gay. She was told she could come home when she got rid of the devil that possessed her. Molly is an interesting character. She is very moral, very honest. And she falls in love with the adorable little toddler that she finds strapped into a car seat abandoned on a street corner. I far preferred her character to that of Brooke who, although she despises her mother's judgemental behaviour, initially exhibits the very same characteristics. I liked this story. I didn't love it. There were a few things, mainly concerned with Brooke's actions, that didn't ring true for me. I liked the way the title is taken from the mantra Molly whispers to Etta to calm her. I don't like the cover. If it is meant to be Molly with Etta, she is homeless, unwashed with dirty, disheveled clothing and unbrushed, unkempt hair. A car seat containing a small child alone under a street light would have better portrayed the pathos of this story. Would I read another book by this author? Definitely. 😊😊😊.5#BraveGirlQuietGirl #NetGalley THE AUTHOR: I am the author of more than 30 published and forthcoming books. I'm an avid hiker, traveler, equestrian, and amateur photographer.DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Lake Union Publishing via NetGalley for providing a digital ARC of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl by Catherine Ryan-Hyde for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions. For an explanation of my rating system please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the about page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com This review and others are also published on Twitter, Amazon, Instagram and my webpage
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    A contemporary novel about how a dramatic 24 hours bring a single mother and a homeless teenager together. Single mother, Brooke watches in horror as her mother's car is hijacked with her two year old daughter, Etta, trapped inside. When teen runaway, Molly finds Etta abandoned in a LA alley, she takes the little girl under her protection. Soon Molly is able to make contact with police, but Brooke finds herself unexpectedly taking interest in her daughter's rescuer. It's a tale filled with a fo A contemporary novel about how a dramatic 24 hours bring a single mother and a homeless teenager together. Single mother, Brooke watches in horror as her mother's car is hijacked with her two year old daughter, Etta, trapped inside. When teen runaway, Molly finds Etta abandoned in a LA alley, she takes the little girl under her protection. Soon Molly is able to make contact with police, but Brooke finds herself unexpectedly taking interest in her daughter's rescuer. It's a tale filled with a focus on mother/daughter relationships and what constitutes a family. I am a big fan of Catherine Ryan Hyde's books but this was just a good read, not a great read for me. With chapters alternating between the perspectives of Brooke and Molly, there is a lot of focus on the inner thoughts of the two women that often felt a little repetitive. Albeit, Molly's time on the streets gives her a stronger sense of maturity than Brooke. I felt empathetic to their individual journeys but they didn't connect to me like some of Hyde's other characters have in the past. Goodreads review published 09/05/20 Expected Publication. 19/05/20 Thanks to Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing for an egalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Brenda
    January 1, 1970
    Brooke, divorced for two years and mother of two-year-old Etta was back living with her mother, the criticizing woman who couldn’t say a nice word about her daughter. The night Brooke took Etta to the movies – just to get out of the house – was the night her life shifted on its axis. It was on the way back from the movies that Brooke was carjacked; thrown to the ground by the masked man, she watched in devastated horror as the Mercedes tore away from her – with Etta still inside.Sixteen-year-old Brooke, divorced for two years and mother of two-year-old Etta was back living with her mother, the criticizing woman who couldn’t say a nice word about her daughter. The night Brooke took Etta to the movies – just to get out of the house – was the night her life shifted on its axis. It was on the way back from the movies that Brooke was carjacked; thrown to the ground by the masked man, she watched in devastated horror as the Mercedes tore away from her – with Etta still inside.Sixteen-year-old Molly had been living on the streets of Los Angeles after her mother had thrown her out of the house in Utah. She and her best friend Bodhi stayed together in their camps to watch each other’s backs. When Molly found Etta, she was still sitting in her car seat, but it was dark and the little girl’s eyes were big and round when she looked up at Molly. During that long night in the darkness, and the following day, Molly cared for Etta, comforting her when she was scared, and when they needed to be quiet, Molly softly sang “brave girl, quiet girl” to Etta until she whispered it in return. Would the police find Etta? Would Brooke ever see her baby girl again? And what would happen to Molly and Bodhi?Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a heartwarming and heartbreaking novel by Catherine Ryan Hyde which I loved. I have only recently discovered this author, and Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is my third by her. But her novels are intense and emotional, with this one being about motherhood, love, and finding yourself and your place called home. Another exceptional read by this author which I highly recommend. With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my digital ARC to read in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Terry
    January 1, 1970
    Brooke is a divorced, single mom, doing her best to raise her young daughter, Etta. She is actually living with her own tough-as-nails mother while trying to save up for a better apartment for her daughter and herself. One night, she takes Etta to the movies and on their way back home, they get carjacked. The thief drives off with Etta still strapped into her car seat. Later that night, a homeless teen, Molly, discovers Etta sitting in her car seat and does her best to protect her throughout the Brooke is a divorced, single mom, doing her best to raise her young daughter, Etta. She is actually living with her own tough-as-nails mother while trying to save up for a better apartment for her daughter and herself. One night, she takes Etta to the movies and on their way back home, they get carjacked. The thief drives off with Etta still strapped into her car seat. Later that night, a homeless teen, Molly, discovers Etta sitting in her car seat and does her best to protect her throughout the night, from more than just the elements.. The rest is in the reading...My youngest daughter is only about a year older than Etta in the story is. I can imagine how Brooke must be feeling when she's without her daughter. There's only one thing worse than not knowing where or how my child is, if she's scared, etc... and that one thing is not something I'm even willing to name. This drew me to the book originally, and I'm sure it will draw others as well. I'll just say that Etta and Brooke are so very lucky that it's Molly who finds her and cares for her. All the rest of the story is good. I can tell the author did some research into homelessness and feel a bit more enlightened on it, not that more couldn't have been done. I'm glad some of those facts are brought to light in the book. I loved and hated the ending. Is it what I wanted? Sure. But in the real world, not everything would fit together so nicely.Given that one of the characters is a homeless teen, Los Angeles is one of the best settings the story could have. No complaints at all there.The main characters of Brooke and Molly were very well fleshed out. Neither is perfect, but both are likable enough. I could empathize with both of them and understand the logic behind their thoughts. The minor characters were fleshed out appropriately.That use of words in the book is straightforward, easily understood. It's not lyrical and not really special in any way. It serves its purpose but doesn't go beyond that.I'd recommend this read to many others as it's a plot so many will be able to imagine happening to themselves and be able to put themselves in Brooke's shoes, at least.Many thanks go to Catherine Ryan Hyde for writing this book, Lake Union Publishing for publishing it and NetGalley for connecting us. The above opinions are my own and uninfluenced by the aforementioned in any way.
    more
  • Tahera
    January 1, 1970
    Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is the second book I have read by Catherine Ryan Hyde after Stay and I know now for certain that she is staying on my 'go to' authors list for a satisfying reading experience.Brave Girl, Quiet Girl deals with relationships and how two persons, not blood related and complete strangers to each other, can gradually build a bond of love and respect with each other that turns out to be more stronger and accepting than they ever shared with their own blood family and in the proc Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is the second book I have read by Catherine Ryan Hyde after Stay and I know now for certain that she is staying on my 'go to' authors list for a satisfying reading experience.Brave Girl, Quiet Girl deals with relationships and how two persons, not blood related and complete strangers to each other, can gradually build a bond of love and respect with each other that turns out to be more stronger and accepting than they ever shared with their own blood family and in the process create their own, better version of family . The author also touches on the issue of homelessness among teenagers and youth and how they are normally misjudged and written off by people and the system in general. The writing and pace was smooth, and all the characters were relatable . It was an emotional and satisfying read. My thanks to NetGalley, the publisher Lake Union Publishing and author for providing me with an e-Arc of the book.
    more
  • Krista
    January 1, 1970
    Rating: 3.5 stars rounded reluctantly down to 3 starsI am always excited to read anything that Catherine Ryan Hyde writes. She tackles real-life issues with pathos and charm. She brings her characters to life in relatable ways. Her latest book follows the same vein as prior her books, but sadly, it fell just a tad short of previous books for me. It was a good story, but not as emotionally impactful as some of her other works. Brooke and Molly tell this book in alternating storylines. Brooke is i Rating: 3.5 stars rounded reluctantly down to 3 starsI am always excited to read anything that Catherine Ryan Hyde writes. She tackles real-life issues with pathos and charm. She brings her characters to life in relatable ways. Her latest book follows the same vein as prior her books, but sadly, it fell just a tad short of previous books for me. It was a good story, but not as emotionally impactful as some of her other works. Brooke and Molly tell this book in alternating storylines. Brooke is in her late 30’s and is a single mother to 2-year-old Etta. Brooke is back living at her ultra-judgmental mother’s home due to financial issues. She is unhappy at home. She feels stuck. Little Etta is the bright spot in her life.Molly is a homeless 16-year-old living on the streets in an industrial section of Los Angeles. After being kicked out of her family home in Utah, her new friend Bodhi talked her into going to LA with him. She’s been on the streets for awhile, but at least she’s not alone.One fateful night while driving her Mom’s Mercedes, Brooke is carjacked. The car speeds off with Etta strapped in her car seat in the back. So starts Brooke’s nightmare of trying to recover Etta. Meanwhile Molly stumbles across Etta, still strapped in her car seat, on a deserted stretch of sidewalk. Molly scoops her up, and tries to figure out how to let the police know that she’s found a baby. She doesn’t have money for a phone call. She finds Bodhi, and he agrees to head out to find get someone to call the police.Brooke is ultimately reunited with Etta. However, she cannot let go of her resentment as to how much time it took for Molly to get the little girl back to her. In the 24 hours the Molly had Etta, she kept her calm, kept her fed, kept her dry, and kept her safe. She and Etta formed a strong bond during their time together.The rest of the book explores the following issues; homelessness, the foster care system, mother/daughter relationships, personal integrity, and what it means to be a family. I found Molly’s story to be much more compelling than Brooke’s did. While they both were stuck in situations that were uncomfortable, Molly took a more active role in day-to-day living and moving forward. Brooke seemed caught up in her own head and was unable to figure out how to get unstuck.I think this book did a great job shining a light on the realities and inherent dangers of being a homeless person. The plight of this population is real. Staying clean, safe, and fed is a battle they wage every hour of every day. In the face of that persistent homeless struggle, Molly retained her principles and integrity. She would not eat stolen food even when she was hungry. I admired that about her, but was I was silently urging her to eat the dang food! I liked the ending. (Nope, not giving it away here.) However, the sometime circuitous route it took to arrive there was occasionally frustrating. I am giving this book a rating of 3.5 stars, rounded down to three stars. This is a big-hearted book about what it means to be family with all its inherent pitfalls and potential joys. I would recommend this to readers who enjoy books in the Women’s Fiction genre, and those who enjoy books that tackle social issues with open eyes and compassion. I am glad that I spent some time with Brooke, Molly and Etta, the ‘Brave Girl, Quiet Girl’.‘Thank-You’ to NetGalley; the publisher, Lake Union Publishing; and author, Catherine Ryan Hyde, for providing a free e-ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sharon Metcalf
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI'm rapidly learning there's something truly lovely about Catherine Ryan Hyde's novels, and Brave Girl, Quiet Girl was no exception.    Since discovering her work I've noticed she doesn't shy away from contentious issues but she takes them on in an expert and engaging manner.   Her characters are so very realistic and I love the way she uses them to make me question my own morals and behaviours. The two main characters are Brooke and Molly and their  alternating perspectives bring the s 4.5 starsI'm rapidly learning there's something truly lovely about Catherine Ryan Hyde's novels, and Brave Girl, Quiet Girl was no exception.    Since discovering her work I've noticed she doesn't shy away from contentious issues but she takes them on in an expert and engaging manner.   Her characters are so very realistic and I love the way she uses them to make me question my own morals and behaviours. The two main characters are Brooke and Molly and their  alternating perspectives bring the story to life.   Brooke is in her late 30's and is a divorced single mum who has returned to live with her aging & highly critical mother whilst she gets her finances under control.    Molly is a 16 year old homeless girl living on the streets because she was unwelcome at her parents home.     At first glance these two have nothing in common but their lives are thrust together in the most bizarre of circumstances.     The beauty of the writing is that although I've never been in either of their situations I felt such strong compassion and empathy for each of them.    Brave Girl, Quite Girl focuses heavily on mother/daughter relationships with three such relationships going under the spotlight.   Brooke has a strained relationship with her own mother and because of this she desperately wants the exact opposite for her relationship with 2 year old daughter Etta.   The third is between Molly and her mother as we gradually uncover the reasons she ended up living on the streets. Molly was a beautifully natured character and the author used her homelessness to make readers aware of how easy it is to fall into the trap of judging a person by their appearances.   In one scene Molly was desperately seeking help from passers-by and, as a reader knowing why she needed help, I was aghast it wasn't forthcoming simply because she was so clearly homeless, unkempt and dirty.    How critical of these people I was for their unwillingness to assist but then I tried to place myself in their shoes and wondered if indeed I would have behaved any differently?  I'd like to  think I would have helped but perhaps fear or other factors would have played into my response and I might have fallen short too.      And whilst Molly had proven herself to be completely protective and nurturing of Etta when they were together, Brooke found it difficult to entirely trust her.   Brooke harbored doubts about Molly's version of the story of how and why she's currently living on the streets, imagining she must have done something to contribute to her homelessness, and finding herself all too ready to apportion blame for the situation she found herself in.       Again Hyde cleverly introduced scenarios  forcing readers to evaluate their own hidden prejudices and attitudes. With multiple themes running throughout including love and loss, trust, judgement, family, and homelessness this was a delightful read and I feel Catherine Ryan Hyde just might be my new go-to author when I feel the need for a sensitive and caring novel.Thanks to the author, Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley for the opportunity of reading this digital ARC in exchange for an honest review which it was my absolute pleasure to provide.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A tender and triumphant story of friendships and doing the right thing.SUMMARYBrooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her unhappy and very negative mother. Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as her two year old daughter, Etta, still strapped in her car seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Molly had been kick out of her parents home and has barely surviving on the street of LA She is stunned to find A tender and triumphant story of friendships and doing the right thing.SUMMARYBrooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her unhappy and very negative mother. Brooke’s life is shattered when she’s carjacked. Helpless and terrified, all Brooke can do is watch as her two year old daughter, Etta, still strapped in her car seat, disappears into the Los Angeles night.Molly had been kick out of her parents home and has barely surviving on the street of LA She is stunned to find Etta, abandoned on a sidewalk in her car seat. Shielding the little girl from more than the elements, Molly must put herself in harm’s way to protect the brave and quiet little girl. Out of one terrible moment, Brooke’s and Molly’s desperate paths converge and an unlikely friendship across generations and circumstances is formed.REVIEWBRAVE GIRL, QUIET GIRL is a touching chronicle of a sixteen year old girl living on the streets of LA trying to do the right thing. Molly, thrown out on the streets by her mother, is a courageous, determined and delightful character. The story is thought-provoking as well as entertaining. CATHERINE RYAN HYDE’s has a way of writing with her heart, and particularly making her young characters come alive on the pages of her novels. Hyde’s characters alway rise to the occasion of resolving an untenable situation. In this case, it’s an abandon baby. Despite her own desperate situation, Molly cares for and ultimately is able to safely return Etta to Brooke. The story not only explores teen homelessness, but it’s main focus is of friendships and mother-daughter relationships. Why did Molly‘s mother put her out on the streets in the first place? Why is Brooke’s relationship with her own mother just as difficult as Molly’s? Is there anything Brooke can do to help Molly? My favorite part of the book was that both Molly and Brooke realize that they have no choice but to live through the stressfull situation they find themselves in. Neither had the time nor inclination to just give up or fall apart. Both were strong and determined. Like her other recent novels: STAY and What HAPPENED TO LUIS VELEZ Hyde has given us another tender and triumphant story. Thanks to Netgalley and Lake Union for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.Publisher Lake UnionPublished May 19, 2020Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Wendy
    January 1, 1970
    Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is my first novel by Catherine Ryan Hyde and it won't be my last!The story opens with Etta, a little girl, stolen in a car jacking. She is then abandoned on a street, in a sketchy area, still in her car seat. Found by Molly, a homeless teenager, she protects Etta from harm until it is safe to take her to the police where she is returned to Brooke, Etta's frantic mother. The story focuses on the struggles of living on the street, as well as the relationship between Molly an Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is my first novel by Catherine Ryan Hyde and it won't be my last!The story opens with Etta, a little girl, stolen in a car jacking. She is then abandoned on a street, in a sketchy area, still in her car seat. Found by Molly, a homeless teenager, she protects Etta from harm until it is safe to take her to the police where she is returned to Brooke, Etta's frantic mother. The story focuses on the struggles of living on the street, as well as the relationship between Molly and Brooke. It is one that develops and is the heart of the story.Superb writing and a great storyline!Thank you to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for an arc of this novel in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Marianne
    January 1, 1970
    “A slice of hot pizza almost sounded too good to be true. I didn’t want to look forward to it, because I thought she might be lying about it, because it felt like nothing as good as that could exist in the world anymore, or at least not anywhere near me and my rotten luck.”Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a novel by American author, Catherine Ryan Hyde. It happens in seconds. Brooke is driving home in her mother’s late-model BMW when a balaclava’d man drags her out of the car and drives off with Etta, “A slice of hot pizza almost sounded too good to be true. I didn’t want to look forward to it, because I thought she might be lying about it, because it felt like nothing as good as that could exist in the world anymore, or at least not anywhere near me and my rotten luck.”Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a novel by American author, Catherine Ryan Hyde. It happens in seconds. Brooke is driving home in her mother’s late-model BMW when a balaclava’d man drags her out of the car and drives off with Etta, her two-year-old daughter, in the car seat. Frantic hours follow. Her mother, usually an overflowing font of criticism and negativity, is marginally supportive. Brooke offers up prayers to the sky: “Please be gentle with her. Please don’t hurt her. Please comfort her when she cries. Please don’t let her be too scared. She’s a good girl. She’s totally innocent. She doesn’t deserve anything bad from anybody. Please take good care of her and get her back to me.”Sixteen-year-old Molly has been living on the street for some months. Tonight, she’s managed to pick up enough bottles to nett her $1.42, and is returning from a long walk to the twenty-four-hour market with a banana and an apple when she comes across a child’s car seat, there on the pavement. Thoughts of selling it evaporate, however, when she sees a tearful baby strapped into it. No parents appear when Molly shouts. She can’t leave the baby there.Back at their make-shift shelter, Molly waits for her friend, Bodhi. They need to take the baby to the police, for sure, but subsequent events put them in danger and they go into hiding. Soon, Molly is alone with a baby and a bare minimum of food and drink, determined to protect this child despite the unasked-for responsibility.These events play out in the first third of the book; from there on, it is the interaction between Molly and Brooke that takes centre stage. Amid misunderstandings, incorrect assumptions and unfair judgements, these two eventually find their way through several turns to the ending we are all hoping for. Ryan Hyde has a talent for creating multi-faceted characters and this story is no exception. Molly understandably finds it difficult to trust, given her history, but is wise and perceptive, and often seems like the adult in the situation. And Ryan Hyde certainly knows how to tug at the heartstrings so have the tissues handy and maybe don’t read this in public.As well as examining the bond between mothers and daughters, she explores societal attitudes to homelessness with insight and intelligence: “I know that people like to pretend you got yourself into the trouble you’re in by doing something that they would know better than to do. That way they can pretend that bad stuff like that happens for a reason and they can just stay out of the way of that reason.” Enormously moving and thought-provoking, this is another brilliant read.This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing
    more
  • The Cats’ Mother
    January 1, 1970
    Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is another powerful stand-alone Lovely Book by the Queen of thought-provoking heart-warming contemporary fiction. Once again she has created brilliantly real characters who somehow make the right choices in a tough world. Brooke is a stressed out single mother doing a low wage job, who has been forced to return to her difficult mother’s house to save money. Driving home from a movie, she is car-jacked and thrown from it, watching in despair as her two year old daughter Ett Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is another powerful stand-alone Lovely Book by the Queen of thought-provoking heart-warming contemporary fiction. Once again she has created brilliantly real characters who somehow make the right choices in a tough world. Brooke is a stressed out single mother doing a low wage job, who has been forced to return to her difficult mother’s house to save money. Driving home from a movie, she is car-jacked and thrown from it, watching in despair as her two year old daughter Etta is driven away from her. Molly is sixteen and living on the streets of LA with her best friend Bodhi. When she finds a baby in a car seat by the side of the road in a deserted part of the city, she knows she must care for and protect her even when she has nothing and no way to call for help.Ryan Hyde has a knack for creating sensitive, kind and courageous teenagers who defy all the stereotypes, and then putting them in terrible predicaments. This is told from Brooke and Molly’s alternating viewpoints, which worked well as we follow their stories. Molly is likeable right from the start - despite being homeless, she refuses to steal or litter, and immediately puts little Etta’s needs above her own. The reasons behind her being thrown out of home were heart-breaking but not a huge surprise. Brooke, on the other hand, took half the book to win me over - a victim of her own selfish choices and pride, one of the major themes of the book was how she redeems herself and learns that there are many different ways to be a mother.This books shines a deeply unflattering light on the US welfare system, with children exploited by grasping foster parents, teenagers thrown in jail for stealing food, and police officers unable to help even if they want to. Sure, there’s also a major homelessness problem here, but there is at least a safety net that seems completely lacking there, if this book is based on fact.I’ve now read 7 or 8 books by this author and loved nearly all of them - thankfully she’s got many more for me to acquire. I particularly like that she doesn’t rely on romance to provide a happy ending, focussing instead on the other kinds of love that make the world go round. 4.5 rounded up for all-round great story-telling.My thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC which allowed me to give an honest review. Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is published today.
    more
  • Tonya
    January 1, 1970
    Finally released 5-19-2020!!!!!Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a touching story about two very different, strong women. If I were to classify this novel, I would explain that it is partly a coming of age book combined with a light thriller or suspense novel. Truly though, it is much more than that. Two characters who each share their own point of view that are connected from one senseless night. Brooke is a single mom running an errand with her cute little daughter, Etta. Her car is taken along with h Finally released 5-19-2020!!!!!Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a touching story about two very different, strong women. If I were to classify this novel, I would explain that it is partly a coming of age book combined with a light thriller or suspense novel. Truly though, it is much more than that. Two characters who each share their own point of view that are connected from one senseless night. Brooke is a single mom running an errand with her cute little daughter, Etta. Her car is taken along with her child and her world will never be the same again. Molly is a teenager who also happens to be homeless and she is the one who finds Etta, abandoned on the side of the road in a bad area of town in her car seat. The book begins with the desperation that Brooke feels and the care that Molly takes for someone's little girl but it winds up spotlighting deep issues including how we treat the homeless. There are other issues that author Catherine Ryan Hyde handles with skill and grace as we get to know Molly, Etta, and Brooke better. I will say that Hyde has a way of drawing characters that are visible to the naked eye through the words and paragraphs on the pages of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl. I was not ready for the novel to be over or to say goodbye to these lovely women (and little Etta too). Why? Because somehow I wound up drawn into their imperfect world with all their mistakes and insecurities...into the hearts deep within. Truly a touching book!! So Highly recommend!!!Thank you to NetGalley, Catherine Ryan Hyde, and Lake Union Publishing for this temporary, digital advance review copy for me to read and enjoy. As always, my opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jan Crossen
    January 1, 1970
    I read an ARC of this book and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! I have read all 35+ published books and numerous short stories, by Catherine Ryan Hyde, and this next release is my absolute ALL TIME FAVORITE! Catherine had me holding my breath with suspense, and sitting very still... trying to be a brave girl, quiet girl, too. Catherine's stories always shine a spotlight on important human issues, and the messages in this book are vital! Thank you, Ms Hyde, for your continued efforts towards making our world I read an ARC of this book and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! I have read all 35+ published books and numerous short stories, by Catherine Ryan Hyde, and this next release is my absolute ALL TIME FAVORITE! Catherine had me holding my breath with suspense, and sitting very still... trying to be a brave girl, quiet girl, too. Catherine's stories always shine a spotlight on important human issues, and the messages in this book are vital! Thank you, Ms Hyde, for your continued efforts towards making our world a kinder, better place for ALL people! Brave Girl, Quiet Girl, is available on May 19, 2020. Be sure to grab a copy for yourself and share this story with family and friends.
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Such sadness and heartbreak throughout this book and sadly, this goes on all throughout the world. Whenever Catherine Ryan Hyde comes out with a new book, I gotta read it. They are all great! Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this early release in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    I picked up this book when I saw the author's name. I recently read her book 'Stay' and just loved it and wanted to read more by Catherine Ryan Hyde. I was not disappointed.In this book a single mother, Brooke takes her daughter, Etta, to the movies and she was the victim of a carjacking. Brooke was thrown from the car, but the attacker drove off with Etta still strapped in her carseat. Brooke is shattered as she watches the car drive away with her baby. Molly, a homeless teenager, finds the car I picked up this book when I saw the author's name. I recently read her book 'Stay' and just loved it and wanted to read more by Catherine Ryan Hyde. I was not disappointed.In this book a single mother, Brooke takes her daughter, Etta, to the movies and she was the victim of a carjacking. Brooke was thrown from the car, but the attacker drove off with Etta still strapped in her carseat. Brooke is shattered as she watches the car drive away with her baby. Molly, a homeless teenager, finds the carseat with the baby strapped in, quite a distance away from where the incident happened. Although Molly lives in a crate, her protective instincts kick in and she takes the baby with her to her crate and shelters her while she figures out how to get her home to whoever she belongs to.Thsi is a complex book that is not just about a stolen child, but the relationships between mothers and daughters, overcoming prejudices, doing the right thing, love and loss, and about trust. I found the story touching and developed an emotional attachment to the characters, both Brooke and Molly. The plot was believable and kept my attention. I really like the author's writing style and the themes she wrapped into the story.Thanks to Lake Union Publishing through Netgalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karen R
    January 1, 1970
    Catherine Ryan Hyde has written many books (35+) but manages to keep her topics and characters fresh.This emotional story begins when a car carrying mother and child is hijacked. Brooke, the mother, is thrown out and the car speeds away with Brooke’s toddler Etta still in the back seat. A homeless girl named Molly finds Etta out on the street late the same night still strapped into her car seat. Molly shelters Etta in a makeshift cardboard home which happens to be in the same neighborhood in whi Catherine Ryan Hyde has written many books (35+) but manages to keep her topics and characters fresh.This emotional story begins when a car carrying mother and child is hijacked. Brooke, the mother, is thrown out and the car speeds away with Brooke’s toddler Etta still in the back seat. A homeless girl named Molly finds Etta out on the street late the same night still strapped into her car seat. Molly shelters Etta in a makeshift cardboard home which happens to be in the same neighborhood in which the carjacker lives. She makes several futile attempts to get help from strangers in finding Etta’s mother but a number of them turn away, seeing Molly as just a dirty homeless person not worthy of their attention. Three sets of relationships begin to unfold, highlighting family challenges, finding healing strength and transformation.
    more
  • Joy E Perry
    January 1, 1970
    #NetGalley #LakeUnionPublishing #CatherineRyanHydeI don't want to give away anything so I will just tell you this: Brooke is a single divorced mom, mother of a two year girl named Etta, and living with her mother. Brooke is struggling to get by, while trying to save to get her own place. Molly is a homeless teen, just trying to get through each day on the street. On the way home from a movie with her daughter Brooke is brutally hijacked and the next thing you know she is looking at the taillight #NetGalley #LakeUnionPublishing #CatherineRyanHydeI don't want to give away anything so I will just tell you this: Brooke is a single divorced mom, mother of a two year girl named Etta, and living with her mother. Brooke is struggling to get by, while trying to save to get her own place. Molly is a homeless teen, just trying to get through each day on the street. On the way home from a movie with her daughter Brooke is brutally hijacked and the next thing you know she is looking at the taillights of her mom's car, with her daughter still strapped into the carseat in the back seat. Sometime later, Molly finds Etta on a street corner still strapped into the carseat. Both Brooks and Molly's lives will forever be changed.This book was so good! I loved it! There was so much emotion, suspense, and tense moments included in its pages. The book was heartwarming and also scary. I could not put it down!
    more
  • Bookworm LLC
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I have read by this author and I must say it was not my favorite.It starts out pretty exciting with a child abduction, rescue, and reunion. That is where is starts to just drag. It seems like it takes a really long time for anything to happen and when it does it is very predictable. It was a book that I just wanted to get done with so I could go on to another one.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    4 Unlikely Friendship StarsThings have gone from bad to worse for Brooke, she’s divorced, back living with her awful mother and struggling to make ends meet. Her two-year-old daughter Etta is amazing, and Brooke is trying to get ahead to make a better world for them. One night on the way back from a movie, Brooke’s car is carjacked with Etta in the backseat! I think every parent has worried about this at some point.Brooke’s whole world is turned upside down as time goes by with no word on Etta’s 4 Unlikely Friendship StarsThings have gone from bad to worse for Brooke, she’s divorced, back living with her awful mother and struggling to make ends meet. Her two-year-old daughter Etta is amazing, and Brooke is trying to get ahead to make a better world for them. One night on the way back from a movie, Brooke’s car is carjacked with Etta in the backseat! I think every parent has worried about this at some point.Brooke’s whole world is turned upside down as time goes by with no word on Etta’s whereabouts. I loved the LA cop who is helping Brooke. She’s down to earth and would be the sort of person I would want helping me!The other storyline features a homeless teen, Molly, who happens to find Etta on the street, still strapped into her car seat. There are a series of dangerous events and Molly is forced to hide with Etta. Molly takes great care with the child and forms a strong bond with her. The unlikely friendship that forms later between Molly and Brooke takes some time to develop as both women have some issues to work through. I thought this one had a terrific ending.I really enjoy this author’s writing style and the fact that she’s not afraid to tackle some tough subjects in her books. They are very relatable characters and the damaged relationships seem very real. This is my second book of hers with more to come! This was a fun buddy read with Mary Beth.Thank you to Catherine Ryan Hyde, Lake Union Publishing, and NetGalley for a complimentary copy of this one to read.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: May 19, 2020Brooke is recently divorced, and has moved back in with her mother and her two year old daughter, Etta. Although the relationship with her mother is strained at best, Brooke is doing the best she can to ensure her beloved daughter has a stable life. One day Brooke is carjacked, and she watches the carjacker drive away—with Et Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: May 19, 2020Brooke is recently divorced, and has moved back in with her mother and her two year old daughter, Etta. Although the relationship with her mother is strained at best, Brooke is doing the best she can to ensure her beloved daughter has a stable life. One day Brooke is carjacked, and she watches the carjacker drive away—with Etta in the backseat. Miles away, homeless teen Molly finds the toddler strapped into a carseat and abandoned on the side of the road. Unable to call for help, she takes Etta with her to her homeless camp, where they live together for several days before Molly is finally able to reach out to a policeman who return Etta to an ecstatic Brooke. During the next weeks, Molly and Brooke bond over their broken relationships with their mothers, and their love and adoration of Etta. As their lives continue to intertwine, both women find friendship and forgiveness in the most unexpected of places. Catherine Ryan Hyde is the author of over thirty-five books, and I am embarrassed to say I have only read two (Stay and Have You Seen Luis Velez?) but both of those novels left such an impression on me, that I was thrilled to be able to experience this new story. Hyde has a way of writing novels that uplift you and that renew your faith in humanity and, let’s face it, we all need a little of that these days. Brooke and Molly are from two different worlds, but they both find and bond over similar life experiences, and the love of a little girl. Although tragic in parts, this novel is also full of joy and hope, which is how Hyde portrays life and the human spirit in all of her novels, and it is the part that I feel, everyone can relate to- finding light in any darkness, and finding family in unexpected places.The ending of this novel was predictable, as novels of this genre usually are, but that does not make it any less enjoyable. I loved learning about Brooke and Molly, and enjoyed watching them bond and form a relationship, moving beyond their biases and judgments and growing as people. This novel is easy to read, but the subject matter is deep and thought-provoking. The paths our lives could take as the result of one simple choice, is reflected in Hyde’s newest work. I thoroughly enjoyed “Brave Girl, Quiet Girl” and I will make it a personal mission to read the remainder of Hyde’s novels that I have not yet experienced.
    more
  • Betül
    January 1, 1970
    **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**This book definitely had me on the edge of my seat for a couple of chapters. I could really feel the urgency, fear, and helplessness of Brooke when she lost trace of her child after the carjacking. I can't even imagine how a parent would feel after such a traumatic experience. Etta was very lucky that she was found by Molly, a homeless teen, rather than someone who would hurt or use her in any way. Molly did everything in her power to **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**This book definitely had me on the edge of my seat for a couple of chapters. I could really feel the urgency, fear, and helplessness of Brooke when she lost trace of her child after the carjacking. I can't even imagine how a parent would feel after such a traumatic experience. Etta was very lucky that she was found by Molly, a homeless teen, rather than someone who would hurt or use her in any way. Molly did everything in her power to protect and reunite Etta with Brooke. After mother and child were reunited, Brooke didn't know if she could trust Molly, and acted in a way that wasn't really fair towards Molly. However, overtime she realized that Molly always had Etta's best interest in mind. Also Etta was clearly attached to Molly, which wouldn't be the case if she was bad. Both Molly and Brooke have their own issues and things they have to deal with. But Brooke couldn't in good faith forget about Molly and continue her life. I loved the relationship that grew between these two. I loved when they opened up and could find similarities in each other's lives. Brooke started feeling protective over Molly, and it was just so heartbreaking seeing how much Molly needed to feel that from a grown-up. Her family and the system failed her, and she just wanted to feel safe and cared for by someone. The bond between Molly and Etta was beautiful. They were just so cute together. Brave Girl, Quiet Girl was an emotional and inspiring Women's Fiction. It was a story about motherhood and friendship. It kept me interested until the end, however, I did want to see how Molly and Brooke were faring further into the future. I look forward to reading more books by Catherine Ryan Hyde.
    more
  • ☕️Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    Divorced mother, Brooke, has moved back into her mother’s home with her two-year-old daughter Etta. It isn’t the best situation as the relationship between Brooke and her mother isn’t a healthy one.One night after a spat with her Mom, she takes Etta out, and the unthinkable happens. She finds herself the victim of carjacked at a stoplight. Only before she cries out, the thief takes off with Etta still in her car seat. A sixteen-year-old homeless girl named Molly finds Etta abandoned on the side Divorced mother, Brooke, has moved back into her mother’s home with her two-year-old daughter Etta. It isn’t the best situation as the relationship between Brooke and her mother isn’t a healthy one.One night after a spat with her Mom, she takes Etta out, and the unthinkable happens. She finds herself the victim of carjacked at a stoplight. Only before she cries out, the thief takes off with Etta still in her car seat. A sixteen-year-old homeless girl named Molly finds Etta abandoned on the side of the road and keeps her safe until she can find help.The story that unfolds shares the friendship that develops between Molly and Brooke. How they inadvertently help each other. It was touching and realistic. Hyde shed light on prejudices big and small, on poverty levels, mental abuse and cold hard facts facing many people every day. She does so in a way that you connect with the characters and she shares all sides.Hyde alternates between the perspectives of Brooke and Holly, allowing us to experience their fears, emotions, growth and more. The author captures genuine emotions and harsh realities.I would love for everyone to read this author. Her stories pull you in and shed light on family situations, racisms, prejudices and more. She presents flawed, fleshed out individuals and sets them in situations that allow them to grow, learn, accept and find something more. Maybe not perfect, but to overcome. This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Reviewer
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a masterpiece dealing with some horrific issues but ending on a powerful note of love!As a single mom of 3 teens I know the personal struggles of being on constant watch and never looking away for even a second as it only takes a SECOND!This was the nightmare that happened to this divorced single mom in which her two yo was gone in a flash!Now she spends all her time thinking of ETTA and where she might be and whether or not she's still alive.HOPE is all she's holding on too when a This book is a masterpiece dealing with some horrific issues but ending on a powerful note of love!As a single mom of 3 teens I know the personal struggles of being on constant watch and never looking away for even a second as it only takes a SECOND!This was the nightmare that happened to this divorced single mom in which her two yo was gone in a flash!Now she spends all her time thinking of ETTA and where she might be and whether or not she's still alive.HOPE is all she's holding on too when a break comes in the case with Molly a homeless teen struggling with her own issues.Perhaps if Brooke never listened to her mother whom she shares residency things would've been different. After all a BMW is eye candy for these types of carjackers...However, in hardships we find strengths and this may have actually been an eye opener for both ladies.Loving something bigger than oneself...tending to the needs of a child...being a mother is more than just blood it's dedication, sacrifice, love...There is so much I love about this book that I don't think my words can ever do it justice yet I'm proud that this author showed the depths of despair and how we can all rise above.An amazing read through and through!
    more
  • Stacey B
    January 1, 1970
    I finished this book a few days ago having no opportunity to enter the rating. Having a bit of difficulty rating the book as a whole, I gave it *5 star * for only "Subject/ Topic then I dismissed it.Out of nowhere this morning, the book flew back in my head, prodding me to dissect it a little more to finish my rating.The synopsis of the book is very telling; no need to repeat it. Within each book Catherine Ryan Hyde authors, I recognize a sensitivity through underlying words speaking messages w I finished this book a few days ago having no opportunity to enter the rating. Having a bit of difficulty rating the book as a whole, I gave it *5 star * for only "Subject/ Topic then I dismissed it.Out of nowhere this morning, the book flew back in my head, prodding me to dissect it a little more to finish my rating.The synopsis of the book is very telling; no need to repeat it. Within each book Catherine Ryan Hyde authors, I recognize a sensitivity through underlying words speaking messages which reflect on the many judgement calls we make; be it a moment, a day, or over a lifetime. One character in the story is a 16 yr old homeless girl "Molly" -living on the streets in LA.Why?We met Brooke and her two yr. old daughter Etta first, who live with Brooke's mother in her large home.Why?What do they have in common that will determine trust in a relationship and longing for a role model?Two desperate characters looking for some semblance of what they believe is family. I must say, on the QT- :) as a reader, what I really wanted to do was jump inside this book to grab Brooke's mother and simply smack her across the face-until I was sure she could feel the sting. The author got me there,The issue I was grappling with is that while reading the book, I felt most of the conversations between Molly and Brooke were too wordy with immature vocabulary- and so- I found myself skipping through some , though still understanding the gist .But... that could very well be the author imitating her characters to drive a her points home. I decided not to put the additional rating on this book- but rather, let the reader be the judge.
    more
  • Zoe
    January 1, 1970
    Emotive, raw, and heartwarming!Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a pensive, heart-tugging novel about a divorced mother of a two-year-old, Brooke and a homeless, sixteen-year-old, molly as their worlds inadvertently collide when a carjacking leaves an infant stranded, alone, and in desperate need of protection.The prose is clear and direct. The characters are flawed, troubled, and genuine. And the plot told from alternating POVs is a gripping tale of family drama, unlikely friendships, poverty, homeless Emotive, raw, and heartwarming!Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is a pensive, heart-tugging novel about a divorced mother of a two-year-old, Brooke and a homeless, sixteen-year-old, molly as their worlds inadvertently collide when a carjacking leaves an infant stranded, alone, and in desperate need of protection.The prose is clear and direct. The characters are flawed, troubled, and genuine. And the plot told from alternating POVs is a gripping tale of family drama, unlikely friendships, poverty, homelessness, motherhood, compassion, honesty, survival, mental illness, and the often harsh realities of life.Overall, Brave Girl, Quiet Girl is an astute, touching, compelling tale by Hyde that does a beautiful job of reminding us that family is not always those related by blood, but rather those that love, care, support, and accept us.Thank you to Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bambi Rathman
    January 1, 1970
    Relationships: the way in which two or more people regard and behave toward each other. Relationships can be so difficult and complicated. Relationships can be the best things ever or ones that hurt more than words. This is a story that delves mainly into the realm of mother/daughter relationships. Ms. Hyde wrote a very sensitive and compassionate story about how this relationship can be flawed and leave a daughter rejected. Not just one daughter/mother relationship, but two. "We either grow up Relationships: the way in which two or more people regard and behave toward each other. Relationships can be so difficult and complicated. Relationships can be the best things ever or ones that hurt more than words. This is a story that delves mainly into the realm of mother/daughter relationships. Ms. Hyde wrote a very sensitive and compassionate story about how this relationship can be flawed and leave a daughter rejected. Not just one daughter/mother relationship, but two. "We either grow up to be our mother or we make a solemn vow to the universe to be her polar opposite." This is also about a relationship between two people who become connected through unimaginable circumstances and the love they share for a little girl named Etta. This is an emotionally packed book that tugged my heart all across the feelings spectrum. The characters Ms. Hyde created in this story were ones I became instantly attached to.Brooke is Etta's mother. She loves Etta more than anything else in the world and she wants to be the best mom to her she can possibly be. Nothing like her own mother is to her. But an unthinkable thing happens and Etta becomes a missing child! Molly is a homeless teen living on the streets in L.A. She's just trying to survive after her mother kicks her out of the house. She connects with a guy, Bodhi, and together they are living on the streets when Molly finds a little toddler girl, Etta. Molly's heart goes out to this little one and her protective instincts kick in. This is the setup to an in-depth story that is told from alternating points-of-view between Brooke and Molly. The heart wrenching pain I felt when Brooke is desperate to find her sweet child, Etta, is intense. I've had a missing child and the minutes, hours, days are agonizing. The turmoil Brooke went through was gut wrenchingly written. As are all the emotions with the characters. It is especially evident in the connection between Molly and Etta. It was an instant bond and trust between the two. Not so much between Brooke and Molly to begin with but Ms. Hyde nurtured that relationship with care and timeliness that made me pull for them to become trusting and bonded. I loved the internal dialogue each character has with herself. It's like a story telling dialogue from their minds. The thoughts of Molly were especially good in the teenager lingo that fits so well in how they think and express themselves. ".....I heard the baby girl in the back seat, and she was calling my name, too. It was a little bit quiet, but I could hear her saying "Molly, Molly, Molly," and it melted all my mad away. I could just feel it turn to water and pour out of me, like I was all leaky and full of holes." The emotions the characters experience were genuine and so true to what happens in life. No one is perfect but love can make the imperfectness be the "perfect" someone else needs. The settings were vividly described throughout the book. In my mind I could see the homeless camps and shelters vividly. The shelters made out of cardboard and old tarps or crates. Ms. Hyde made me feel I was experiencing the very real issue of homeless people and what it is like. The secret "code" they have between them. The way they are avoided or treated as inferior people. It made me sad. But the other settings, the foster home, the homes of the mothers of Brooke and Molly, the desert travel...all are just as vivid as if I were there, too. Word pictures brought to life. This is a story that I stepped into the pages and forgot about my own surroundings. From the first word to the last, it took me on a journey that sometimes things happen for the better and that bad things can lead to good, if given a chance. "It was like what was happening, or at least what I thought was happening, was so big it made my heart stretch until it hurt." I want to thank Ms. Hyde, Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing for the ARC copy of Brave Girl, Quiet Girl. It was an honor to read it. All opinions and thoughts in this review are my heartfelt own.
    more
Write a review