Alpha Night (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #4; Psy-Changeling, #19)
New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her breathtaking Psy-Changeling Trinity series with a mating that shouldn’t exist… Alpha wolf Selenka Durev’s devotion to her pack is equaled only by her anger at anyone who would harm those under her care. That currently includes the empaths who’ve flowed into her city for a symposium that is a security nightmare, a powder keg just waiting for a match. Ethan Night is an Arrow who isn’t an Arrow. Numb and disengaged from the world, he’s loyal only to himself. Assigned as part of the security force at a world-first symposium, he carries a dark agenda tied to the power-hungry and murderous Consortium. Then violence erupts and Ethan finds himself crashing into the heart and soul of an alpha wolf. Mating at first sight is a myth, a fairytale. Yet Selenka’s wolf is resolute: Ethan Night, broken Arrow and a man capable of obsessive devotion, is the mate it has chosen. Even if the mating bond is full of static and not quite as it should be. Because Selenka’s new mate has a terrible secret, his mind surging with a power that is a creature of madness and death…

Alpha Night (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #4; Psy-Changeling, #19) Details

TitleAlpha Night (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #4; Psy-Changeling, #19)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 9th, 2020
PublisherBerkley
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Shapeshifters, Urban Fantasy

Alpha Night (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #4; Psy-Changeling, #19) Review

  • Val ⚓️ Shameless Non-Snowflake ⚓️
    January 1, 1970
    4 StarsI am just going to be up front here and remind everyone that I am completely unable to be objective when it comes to this author and this series. I have been reading this series since the beginning - and no, I don't mean "the beginning" in the sense that I've read everything since book one. I mean, "THE beginning," as in, I read these books as they were released, before goodreads was even a thing. You know, in that simpler, less-stressful, pre-social media crazed time.But as I was saying 4 StarsI am just going to be up front here and remind everyone that I am completely unable to be objective when it comes to this author and this series. I have been reading this series since the beginning - and no, I don't mean "the beginning" in the sense that I've read everything since book one. I mean, "THE beginning," as in, I read these books as they were released, before goodreads was even a thing. You know, in that simpler, less-stressful, pre-social media crazed time.But as I was saying...I have read and re-read them ALL numerous times and consider myself a true fangirlwoman when it comes to this and Singh's other paranormal series (the Guild Hunter series). So, yes, I am completely subjective in many areas when reading news books in this series...but I can also be a harsher critic in many ways too. Because when reading anything new in this series, I am holding it up against some of my ALL-time favorites books in the series, and in paranormal romance in general. And let me just tell you, this one does a damned fine job of it. This installment takes us back to Russia with the BlackEdge wolf pack, which is the changeling neighbor pack of the StoneWater bear pack (the focus of Silver Silence). Here we focus on Selenka Durev, the Alpha of the BlackEdge pack. Thus, this was a book of two major firsts in this series: 1) A female alpha changeling as a main character, and 2) A mating at first sight. Yep, you read that right...a MATING AT FIRST SIGHT. Like many fans, I was pretty excited about that prospect...albeit a little nervous that a Psy male wouldn't be able to give me the dominance and push/pull I crave in my male leads. After all, they can't all be a Kaleb. (Looking at you and you).That said, I truly enjoyed every second of this book, although I am hesitant to say more so not to include any spoilers. So why not 5 stars, you ask?It's simple. As much as I enjoyed it, it wasn't a Slave to Sensation, Mine to Possess, Kiss of Snow, or Heart of Obsidian AKA my favorites of the series (especially those last two). But few things do.Still. I truly enjoyed this one and I have faith that other fans of the series will too. ***ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • aarya
    January 1, 1970
    March 5, 2020:Some non-spoilery and incoherent post-reading thoughts:1) I'm a major fangirl and incapable of being objective. I've 5-starred every single book in this series, so just know that this is the fangirl/nostalgia status that I'm operating from. I love critiquing it and arguing about what works/doesn't work, but that doesn't take away my unmitigated love/squeeing. 2) Fascinating relationship dynamic that is new to the series. Of course we've seen Dominant Changeling + Arrow/Dangerous Ps March 5, 2020:Some non-spoilery and incoherent post-reading thoughts:1) I'm a major fangirl and incapable of being objective. I've 5-starred every single book in this series, so just know that this is the fangirl/nostalgia status that I'm operating from. I love critiquing it and arguing about what works/doesn't work, but that doesn't take away my unmitigated love/squeeing. 2) Fascinating relationship dynamic that is new to the series. Of course we've seen Dominant Changeling + Arrow/Dangerous Psy before, but it's usually accompanied by "Oh, we can't be together because xyz. I'm not capable of love. I don't deserve you because I'm too dangerous and I've done irredeemable things in the past." None of that here. Of course Ethan has major fears about his power and believes that he's broken by his trauma, but at no point does he push away Selenka because of it. The mating-at-first-sight dynamic is super intriguing; they're all in on the relationship, they just need to navigate falling in love and helping Ethan manage his psychic problems. So even though it's not a new pairing type to the series, I found the new iteration of the dynamic to be refreshing. 3) I have wanted an alpha heroine for so long and IT IS SO FREAKING GOOD. I love you, Selenka Durev. You have my heart forever and ever. Not that I had any doubt, since I stan for all changeling wolves, but it was nice to know I was right. “If you are a true threat to me or mine, I will tear out your throat and walk away with your blood on my claws—and in my mouth.” She brushed one claw over his lips. “But if you’re not . . . well, zaichik, then we’ll play.”4) Can we talk about Selenka and Valentin grumbling together about how difficult their Psy mates are?!!! And how Selenka is slowly suckered into liking Valentin even though she claims he's a nuisance?!! I have no real observation here, I'm just very much here for wolf and bear antics. 5) So the entire novel takes place in three/four days. It's a short time span and nonstop; most scenes are chronologically set immediately after the end of the previous scene. The pacing feels different than other books. I love it, but I recognize that some readers won't like it because it's unique. I think the pace works but I also never released a breath the entire time I was reading. It felt like I was on a roller-coaster; I need to reread now that I've calmed down and can appreciate the book without panicking about Ethan's psychic issues. 6) This book is really smart about The Architect. I wasn't sure if Nalini would reveal the identity this soon (and she doesn't). BUT she does leave enough tantalizing clues that an eagle-eyed reader could figure it out. I was stuck between a few choices in the beginning and finished the book with 100% certainty about the Architect's identity (keep in mind that I've read the series a million times and can remember obscure details about certain people). 7) I have long held a conspiracy theory about Nikita. ALPHA NIGHT not only solidified my evidence but added so many more facets to it! I love being right about things. 😂 I desperately need a Nikita book and I think we're getting one eventually. Not sure when, but hopefully it'll be in the next decade. 😭8) Okay, if Berkley ever publishes supplementary materials to the text, I need the following: the Arrow Sex Education Manual, Wild Woman magazine (Aunt Rita's column!), and a script for that soap opera HOURGLASS LIVES. I need it all. The little snippets in the beginning of each chapter are so good!9) This is a selfish complaint but let me be unreasonable for a moment. I love Sascha; I really do. But we see her in almost every book and I wish we saw the Laurens/Sienna more often. 😭 This is extremely irrational considering we just saw Sienna in WOLF RAIN. That being said, my other faves get screen-time: Ivy, Aden, Kaleb, Silver/Valentin, and Alexei/Memory. 10) I am fascinated by the evolution of consent/skin privileges in the 20+ book series. If you go back to the earlier books, there is never any dub-con but there is possessive/alphahole behavior around touching/sex. I don't have any trouble reading the early books but I recognize that sex was written very differently fifteen years ago. Flash forward to 2020. There is a scene in ALPHA NIGHT that lays out consent in such a wonderful and explicit way. I'm intrigued by how the portrayal of consent/skin privileges has evolved in the past decade. Each book is a product of the time it was published in. I tolerate behavior in VISIONS OF HEAT (2007) that I wouldn't tolerate in a book published today. Someone smarter than me should write about it because the Psy/Changeling series is an excellent microcosm of changes in the romance publishing industry re: sex. 11) I am honestly amused by how many people need to get behind Sienna in line to murder Ming LeBon. My girl deserves to do it, but she has stiff competition! Has there ever been a more villainous character? 12) Random aside that has zero relevance to the plot: I am also amused by the confirmation that billionaire changelings don't exist (they're talking about a soap opera!). No wonder I love changelings; they're smart enough to know that being a billionaire isn't ethical! New theory: changelings are socialist if you think about their pack structure and how resources are divided. Don't yell at me; it's a working theory! “You two realize a billionaire alpha wolf is an oxymoron?” Selenka muttered, rolling her eyes. “Alphas are about pack, not—”13) My biggest critique of the Psy-Changeling-Trinity arc continues in this book. I love these books, I really do. But it's also more difficult to feel at ease from the very beginning. This is because we are introduced to a new pack and setting (StoneWater in SILVER SILENCE, BlackSea in OCEAN LIGHT, and now BlackEdge in ALPHA NIGHT). Everything is new. We have to learn the lieutenants' names, the dynamics between every pack member and the alpha, pack structure, pack history, past trauma, etc. Every pack feels different and it takes a while to settle in. There's also a danger of not being fully invested in that pack's members if you don't know who they are. The sad events (injury/attack) don't hit as hard as, say, Eli (a minor character in the SnowDancer Pack) getting injured in KISS OF SNOW. Whereas the Silence Arc (first fifteen books) built on each other and focused on characters/packs that we were already super invested in, the Trinity Arc is more scattershot and moves from place to place. WOLF RAIN escaped this problem because it returned to SnowDancer territory. I love the scattershot approach because I love learning about new packs/cultures, but I won't deny that it takes getting used to. I've also realized that my rereads of the Trinity Arc are a far superior experience because I don't have to focus on learning new names/dynamics. Now that I'm already invested in the new secondary characters, the reread often yields stronger emotional punches. While I adore BlackEdge and the new faces, I only became 100% invested in them a third of the way through (and now I'll be invested from the very start in a reread). I only noticed this disparity because the simultaneous PsyNet storyline ("How can we help save the PsyNet before it destroys us all?!)" is easy to sink into because it's a continuation of the past eighteen books. In conclusion: love the Trinity arc, love the new packs and faces, not fully invested from chapter 1, always get won over eventually, and the rereads are EVEN BETTER than the first read. I could go on for a while so I'll stop here. Loved the book, but I fully acknowledge that I'm biased as hell. This series is my happy place and I'm sad to wait another year for a new installment.Disclaimer: I received a free e-ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.***March 2, 2020:An arc of ALPHA NIGHT is on my kindle and my happiness is indescribable. I don't know if I'll read it right away or wait. A little patience might make the experience more enjoyable! And maybe I should categorize it as a Break-Emergency-Glass-If-Necessary book (aka "I need to retreat to my happy place after bad news"). We'll see. In the meantime, I'm ecstatic for Selenka's book!***December 16, 2019 (announcement of couple/book title):As longtime president of the Selenka Durev fanclub, I just want to say that I FREAKING CALLED THIS BOOK. ALPHA HEROINE. BROKEN ARROW. WOLVES. NO, I WILL NOT STOP SCREAMING. This is already my favorite book of 2020 and it hasn't even been written yet.
    more
  • ✨ A ✨
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come___I just got an e-arc and I'm starting it immediately! Even though I'm in the middle of a readathon and this is ruining my whole tbr I had planned. Still can't believe this is book 19 and I'm still so invested in this series. Nalini Singh really be working magic in her writing ___I have been waiting for a book with the Russian wolf pack ever since Silver Silence. A moment of silence please for my wish finally coming true 🙌Also y'all, is Ethan in any of the previous books? I can't Review to come___I just got an e-arc and I'm starting it immediately! Even though I'm in the middle of a readathon and this is ruining my whole tbr I had planned. Still can't believe this is book 19 and I'm still so invested in this series. Nalini Singh really be working magic in her writing ___I have been waiting for a book with the Russian wolf pack ever since Silver Silence. A moment of silence please for my wish finally coming true 🙌Also y'all, is Ethan in any of the previous books? I can't remember lol
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    4 STARS This was really good, I loved the romance a lot from the beginning!It has a great plot and the characters were unique!The romance was one of the best I have read so far from Nalini Singh!The characters have a great chemistry, they were intense and I loved every minute they have together!I adored them and I wanted to hug them!They make me swoon!This is a great book, it's fast paced and captivating!     4 STARS This was really good, I loved the romance a lot from the beginning!It has a great plot and the characters were unique!The romance was one of the best I have read so far from Nalini Singh!The characters have a great chemistry, they were intense and I loved every minute they have together!I adored them and I wanted to hug them!They make me swoon!This is a great book, it's fast paced and captivating!    
    more
  • NAT.orious reads ☽
    January 1, 1970
    Y'all, we got a cover! yippieeh. I need this book in my life like right the fuck now.
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    Release DayThis review was originally posted on Books of My HeartReview copy was received from Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.4.5 heartsAlpha Night was everything I’ve come to expect from Nalini Singh in her series set in a world with Humans, Changelings and Pys (Humans tapped into a mental web plain). The Psy-Changeling Trinity series is side step from the main Psy-Changeling series, meaning it is a good entry point for new re Release DayThis review was originally posted on Books of My HeartReview copy was received from Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.4.5 heartsAlpha Night was everything I’ve come to expect from Nalini Singh in her series set in a world with Humans, Changelings and Pys (Humans tapped into a mental web plain). The Psy-Changeling Trinity series is side step from the main Psy-Changeling series, meaning it is a good entry point for new readers who didn’t want to commit to the 15 other books in the series that cover one overlapping arc. Each book is written as a self-contained romance and so you can read them out of order or miss one or two and be okay. But I still recommend reading the series in order to get the full impact.Ethan is part of an elite force called the Arrows. As a child raised in a world without emotion, he was kept separated and exposed to horrors and tortured under the old regime. Now he is a broken man on the verge of cracking, he knows he is broken and will probably not be able to live much longer if his mental state keeps deteriorating.Selenka is the Alpha of a wolf pack. No one was more surprised than she was when her wolf decided on the spot that Ethan was her mate and shoved the mating bond on him. She wonders what it is about this man that made her wolf identify with him so quickly and why the bond feels like there is some static in the way. She will not let her mate go easily, even if he thinks it will be for the best if he spirals.Selenka and Ethan will have to figure out their bond while also trying to get to whoever is trying to sow discord between the wolves and bears and is also trying to kill off members of Selenka’s pack. There is something not quite right in the net and Ethan is one of the only people in the world that can see it. He is going to need to hold it together if the Psy-Net is going to make it through the strange new attacks being placed on it.I always get so drawn into these stories. They are like m&m’s and I just want to eat them all up by the handfuls. I was so happy to see some of my favorite characters from the past make cameo appearances. I loved how well Selenka and Ethan really fit together with things that they could bond on from their pasts. By the end it was clear to see why the two belonged together and how Ethan fit in her life. Narration: Angela Dawe has voiced all of the Psy-Changeling books and is the voice of the series for me.  I had a great time with her yet again and really liked the Russian accent she provided for Selenka.  Angela did a wonderful job yet again and I can't imagine anyone else narrating the series.  I listened at my usual 1.5x speed.Listen to a clip:  HERE 
    more
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    January 1, 1970
    OMGOMGOMG. A female alpha wolf and an Arrow!!!
  • Mara
    January 1, 1970
    Ah, I'm so torn between a 4 and 4.5 star, only because I think the pacing at the beginning and end are a bit off, but aside from that, Nalini Singh kills it again. This was a great entry for my money, probably because I am an absolute sucker for these sweet Psy men learning to love through their changeling mates. I loved seeing an example where there's "mating at first sight" -- we've not seen that in the universe before, but I'd always kind of wondered why there's always this mating dance neede Ah, I'm so torn between a 4 and 4.5 star, only because I think the pacing at the beginning and end are a bit off, but aside from that, Nalini Singh kills it again. This was a great entry for my money, probably because I am an absolute sucker for these sweet Psy men learning to love through their changeling mates. I loved seeing an example where there's "mating at first sight" -- we've not seen that in the universe before, but I'd always kind of wondered why there's always this mating dance needed, so I appreciated her finding a new kind of story to tell that expanded what we know about the way her magic system works. I also loved seeing what a pack with a female alpha was like, and thought the dynamic between Ethan as such a powerful Psy & Selenka was very interesting. She totally sold me on the whys/hows of Ethan being so devoted & supportive right out the gate, and again, it created a fresh type of conflict in the series. All in all, this was super satisfying for me and one of the books that worked best in the series.
    more
  • Beth ~ Panda & Boodle
    January 1, 1970
    “Skin privileges with you might be delicious, but this attraction won’t protect you if you’re a danger to those I’ve sworn to protect.” She dug her claws in deeper. “Will you come as sweetly if I’m about to rip out your throat?” I love a badass heroine, and I love that I can rely on Nalini Singh to give me one. And Selenka Durev isn’t just a badass—she’s an Alpha boss, in control and in charge, and not afraid to throw her power around when the moment calls for it. It might be an unpopular op “Skin privileges with you might be delicious, but this attraction won’t protect you if you’re a danger to those I’ve sworn to protect.” She dug her claws in deeper. “Will you come as sweetly if I’m about to rip out your throat?” I love a badass heroine, and I love that I can rely on Nalini Singh to give me one. And Selenka Durev isn’t just a badass—she’s an Alpha boss, in control and in charge, and not afraid to throw her power around when the moment calls for it. It might be an unpopular opinion but I’ve never not loved a Nalini heroine, even those who are less beloved by the readers of this series—Tally is a good example here—but wow, is a Selenka my favorite? Maybe. Just maybe. (Real talk: my favorites change with every re-read I do of this series, and I re-read it a whole hell of a lot. Selenka today, Adria tomorrow? Maybe Annie? The always awesome Sienna? *shrugs* I don’t know.) Right, well, with that said, let me say this next: with a powerful female Alpha leading this book, it was always going to be a challenging read in terms of who she was paired with. Please know I never doubted Nalini was more than up to the challenge. Ethan Night, there are so many things to love about you and only one of them is the description of you in nothing but black boxer briefs that I’mma surely take to my grave as a beloved memory. I can’t say too much because spoilers are a no no but I will note that he is nuanced and unique. Perfect. The dynamics of Alpha Night are incomparable and, really, just plain excellent. It makes this story different to all the others before it—and when added to the new pack setting, the unusual mating type, and the growth of the storylines around the Psy Net, the Architect, and the Consortium, it becomes something akin to book crack. (Or book Jax if you want a little in-joke.) Anyway, just call me an addict. I’m not ashamed to be on the hook with this series—I have been for years, and have a tattoo to showcase my love for it (and the Guild Hunter series)—because it’s incredibly smart, fast-paced, and has epic world-building. Not only that, it always honors the idea of family, of pack, of the strength in love and acceptance, and if that’s not a message we all need to hear then I’m not obsessed with Matthias. (I am 100% obsessed with Matthias, just to be clear. Also Malachai.) Anyway, all of this is to say something pretty obvious and very simple: Alpha Night is a marvel. Taking this series forward, it still manages to call back to all the important things that the Psy-Changeling series stands for, and it does it by highlighting a strong woman with a wolf’s heart and a damaged Arrow who hides depth behind a grey fog. I cannot WAIT to re-read this book. At least three times before I start the entire series again.
    more
  • Somia
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsThis book takes us back to Russia with the BlackEdge wolf pack, a pack which neighbours the boisterous StoneWater bear pack. Here the focus is on Selenka Durev, the Alpha of the BlackEdge pack and Arrow Ethan Night.Enjoyed the scenes with the pack kids in this. Selenka's dad made my teeth grind.The memories/thoughts Ethan had of what he had endured as a child made my heart ache.I enjoyed this, staying up super late reading it but I don't know it didn't have me bouncing insanely in my se 3.5 StarsThis book takes us back to Russia with the BlackEdge wolf pack, a pack which neighbours the boisterous StoneWater bear pack. Here the focus is on Selenka Durev, the Alpha of the BlackEdge pack and Arrow Ethan Night.Enjoyed the scenes with the pack kids in this. Selenka's dad made my teeth grind.The memories/thoughts Ethan had of what he had endured as a child made my heart ache.I enjoyed this, staying up super late reading it but I don't know it didn't have me bouncing insanely in my seat as I read and finished it, possibly one of the books in the series I may enjoy more and more as I re-read like with Silver of Silence. There's a thread of intensity I was expecting that didn't manifest.
    more
  • Jen Davis
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsInstalove is a huge turn off for me. I slam it in just about every book I encounter. But I can accept it a bit more with a mating scenario in PNR than I can anywhere else. This book features a mating at first sight, which even in the confines of the world building is rare, and while the love isn't instant--let's be real--it only takes a few days to build.The super-fast love aside, the instant mating thing actually worked for me. Something in Selenka's wolf recognizes Ethan as its mate a 4.5 starsInstalove is a huge turn off for me. I slam it in just about every book I encounter. But I can accept it a bit more with a mating scenario in PNR than I can anywhere else. This book features a mating at first sight, which even in the confines of the world building is rare, and while the love isn't instant--let's be real--it only takes a few days to build.The super-fast love aside, the instant mating thing actually worked for me. Something in Selenka's wolf recognizes Ethan as its mate and doesn't hesitate to grab on and refuse to let go. Ethan is a damaged Arrow (aren't they all?) and in a refreshing twist, doesn't shy away. Unlike, say, Judd, he was never conditioned to feel pain in contact or emotion. He's been empty and grayed out his entire life and with Selenka, glories in someone claiming him.I flat out loved the way he was hers from the get-go. He never hesitated or prevaricated. He was knight to her queen--her weapon and shield and I was there for it. At the same time, it was awesome to see an Alpha heroine who wasn't a bitch. She never apologized for her strength, but she used it to take care of her pack. Nalini Singh painted her with nuance and I believed she'd shred anyone who hurt her man.Though some people will always want books set among the original characters, I like the characters introduced with Silver Silence. The bears are a huge hit with me and though this is a wolf book, I'd be content for more stories set in this area. We still get lots of familiar faces visiting, and frankly, I applaud how Singh is keeping the series fresh. Overall, I really liked this book. Singh is a great writer and this world is so well drawn, it's as familiar as an old friend. The couple was great and despite the speed, I felt their devotion and commitment 100%. The sex was good too. (My only small niggle was that I had a little trouble connecting all the dots with the Scarab storyline, but I got there eventually.)
    more
  • Linden
    January 1, 1970
    Nalini Singh is a master at building Other Worlds, and I definitely needed another world to escape into. Selenka is an Alpha wolf changeling (what other authors call shifters, Singh calls changelings), and when Ethan saves her life, she decides on a mating-at-first-sight, which is as unlikely in her world as in ours. Ethan is damaged, and much of the book is spent (between erotic encounters) trying to figure out exactly what is amiss with him due to previous cruel abuse. Thanks to Netgalley and Nalini Singh is a master at building Other Worlds, and I definitely needed another world to escape into. Selenka is an Alpha wolf changeling (what other authors call shifters, Singh calls changelings), and when Ethan saves her life, she decides on a mating-at-first-sight, which is as unlikely in her world as in ours. Ethan is damaged, and much of the book is spent (between erotic encounters) trying to figure out exactly what is amiss with him due to previous cruel abuse. Thanks to Netgalley and to the publisher for this ARC.
    more
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    Alpha Night is a book that is action packed, and barely lets you breath. From beginning to end there wasn’t a boring minuted in this novel.I loved that we finally got a female alpha, with her own wolf pack. Selenka was tough, strong, smart, and that she mated on first sight was the most unconventional and unique part of the book. Different. Intriguing. Fascinating. Her relationship with Ethan was something refreshingly new, which long standing series sometimes are lacking. The combination of Alp Alpha Night is a book that is action packed, and barely lets you breath. From beginning to end there wasn’t a boring minuted in this novel.I loved that we finally got a female alpha, with her own wolf pack. Selenka was tough, strong, smart, and that she mated on first sight was the most unconventional and unique part of the book. Different. Intriguing. Fascinating. Her relationship with Ethan was something refreshingly new, which long standing series sometimes are lacking. The combination of Alpha wolf and Arrow Psy was a love-story that this series hasn’t seen yet, and I loved it.I loved Ethan and Selenka together. The mating at first sight was bringing out the possessiveness, the togetherness between them, and I absolutely adored it. I’m also becoming more and more a fan of the bears. There is just something so charming about them, and I wouldn’t say no to a future wolf/bear pairing.Alpha Night was as entertaining as all the other books in this series. And I don’t think I could ever get tired of them. Nevertheless I’m not yet as invested in the new characters as I am with the characters from the older books. Only more books will tell.But besides that, a Nalini Singh book will always be on the very top of my tbr. I’ll drop everything to read it, and most often than not, it’s a one-sitting kind of read – as it was with Alpha Night.Also I thought I would mention this, I found this fantastic review, that says it all so much better than I ever could.ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Brie
    January 1, 1970
    I really liked this one, mostly because it feels like an answer and course correction to every complaint I had about gender roles in this series. I don't think this hero is necessarily less powerful than the heroine, but the gender roles here feel reversed in ways that I never thought this series would actually commit to, not only that, but the stuff around consent in this book seems to be in direct conversation with the earlier entries in the series and the book is worth reading for that alone. I really liked this one, mostly because it feels like an answer and course correction to every complaint I had about gender roles in this series. I don't think this hero is necessarily less powerful than the heroine, but the gender roles here feel reversed in ways that I never thought this series would actually commit to, not only that, but the stuff around consent in this book seems to be in direct conversation with the earlier entries in the series and the book is worth reading for that alone. I found the romance delightful despite the fact that there is no romantic tension whatsoever and the relationship is straight out of the nightmares of people who hate insta-love and fated mates. So, I don't know what to say! The book has a ton of flaws, but its shining moments are outstanding, and both main characters are really nice!Review copy provided by the publisher.
    more
  • Sammy Loves Books
    January 1, 1970
    OMG, So excited!! I love this series!!! OMG, So excited!! I love this series!!!
  • ♥Rachel♥
    January 1, 1970
    Since the old constructs of Silence have crumbled and the divisions between the Psy, Changelings and humans have become less solid, everything is in flux. There is a secret faction that would like to ruin all the progress made toward unity and a desire to rule all three species. This is the overreaching story arc at play in the series, but at the heart of each installment is a romance and is sort of a standalone story. I do think a reader would benefit from reading in order to understand the con Since the old constructs of Silence have crumbled and the divisions between the Psy, Changelings and humans have become less solid, everything is in flux. There is a secret faction that would like to ruin all the progress made toward unity and a desire to rule all three species. This is the overreaching story arc at play in the series, but at the heart of each installment is a romance and is sort of a standalone story. I do think a reader would benefit from reading in order to understand the continuing story behind all the attacks and dangers these groups face. Alpha Night offers up an unlikely pair: Ethan, an Arrow and and Selenka, the Alpha of the Black Edge Wolf Pack. They’re thrown together after an attack on a joint symposium has them crossing paths and discovering they’re Mates. As in mating-at-first-sight…The intense bond they share by mating, however, is shadowed by a force within Ethan that he keeps carefully reigned in; its forces ready to explode out at every turn. Being in a mating bond makes it difficult to keep this a secret, thank goodness, because Ethan needs help and Selenka is just the person to fight for her mate. Loved the concept of a mating-at-first-sight, and with such an unlikely pair! Ethan’s a cold, efficient, deadly Arrow, and Selenka is a passionate fiery wolf-shifter. Both a strong power on their own. Sounds like an odd match, but I do love me an intense opposites-attract romance! I! was so fun watching them navigate the complexities of a mating while trying to get to know each other; admiring each other, their strength and conviction, more and more as they do. Ethan’s past broke my heart and I was happy he had Selenka in his corner. He needed unconditional devotion and love after what he went through. His devotion to Selenka and her Pack was also touching. He naturally fit in, despite coming from the cold, emotionless Silence protocol.Selenka and Ethan were passionate and protective with each other. I’m happy that Selenka’s dominant nature didn’t scare Ethan or make him cower. He was a man confident enough to let his mate shine and take point when needed. He didn’t need to assert his own will or diminish Selenka in any way to feel more of a man, and it was lovely! Nalini Singh has been nailing it with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series! I read a couple of the original series and enjoyed them, but there’s something about this new series I just love!A copy was kindly provided by Berkley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Linda (un)Conventional Bookworms
    January 1, 1970
    *I received a free copy of Alpha Night. This has in no way influenced my voluntary review which is honest and unbiased.**growls* I don't know how Singh does it, but she captures this readers heart, mind and interest from the first to the last word with all her books. Alpha Night was a very strong story in the Psy-Changeling universe, and I adored both Ethan and Selenka. They were both alphas in their own right, and the way they were so understanding, giving, and loyal made my feels very strong.
    more
  • Lover of Romance
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Addicted To RomanceI received this book for free from Berkley Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Alpha Night is the newest release of the Psy Changeling Trinity series which is also connected to the Psy Changeling series and I deeply adored this book....it was quite different of course and I won't lie that I was worried in the beginning in the aspects of the character of t This review was originally posted on Addicted To RomanceI received this book for free from Berkley Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Alpha Night is the newest release of the Psy Changeling Trinity series which is also connected to the Psy Changeling series and I deeply adored this book....it was quite different of course and I won't lie that I was worried in the beginning in the aspects of the character of the heroine. Many times alpha females don't work for me especially in the type of personality she had but WHEW no worries, Nalini Singh never lets me down and she definitely didn't let me down in this book. And YAY for Russian language and culture ....we just don't see enough of it in romance in my opinion and so thrilled that Singh really did so well on this portrayal. We do have a brilliant and heartbreaking story that out author has written and I fell deeply in love with it.An alpha's greatest strength is their heart....Trust yoursAlpha Night begins with an attack, Selenka is the alpha of her pack and quite protective of each and every one of them. But then something unexpected and surreal happens she meets her mate at FIRSt SIGHT which is practically unheard of even among changelings ....that type of connection takes time and work and patience. But Selenka, of course, is shocked by the course of this new turn of events. But she is fiercely protective of her new mate. Ethan Night is an Arrow but has some shattered pieces in his psyche and is more damaged than the others of his group. But there is a bond he feels with Selenka one that is forged quickly and he is in unknown territory with Selenka but is willing to be the Knight to his Queen. But soon Ethan will have to face up to the realism that his life is in danger and he and Selenka will have to face up to the possibility there might be no point of return but Selenka won't give up her mate without a fight.He would far rather live in this world of primal compulsion and need than in the numb gray where he'd felt nothing.WOWZERS....Nalini Singh doesn't pull any punches and she certainly doesn't pull any with this book here. I simply adored seeing how she really pulled this book off and made me FALL in love with this couple but yes I adored the heroine in every way and this is coming from someone that doesn't prefer alpha females for her heroines. They normally come off too strong and emotionally abusive of the hero at times. But NOPE .....Singh, of course, has a magical Midas touch with her characters and I couldn't get enough of Selenka. She is so fierce, protective, and has such a tender big heart. That is what I loved the most, seeing her tenderness and caring for not just Ethan but everyone in her pack. Ethan is just as much Alpha as she is but is one of the most unique heroes' I have EVER seen in a romance but most especially this world that Singh has created. And boy does the man know how to court his mate. He may not be changeling but he reads and does his research and love how treats lovely strong Selenka. He understands her and knows what she needs in the relationship and respects her position in the pack and what she needs to do and just gives his unwavering loving support.My heart is unlikely to be normal either." Gut cold with anger all over again for how his view of himself had been twisted, Selenka ran her claws over his jaw "Then show me your jagged edges and your fractured pieces, your obsessions, and your need. Show me you.The way this book is built is so beautiful and in many respects, it actually reminded me much of "Kiss of Snow". I couldn't help but fall for Selenka and Ethan but also the surrounding character we get to know. I especially loved Selenka's grandparents, they were just adorable. And of course, we get some great times with the bears ---boy they are fun. We also get some old favorites such as Nikita, Sasha, and Aden.Overall you just can't go wrong with Alpha Night.....its a story that will delight you from heart to deepest recesses of your soul, its vibrant, real and unwavering in its intensity of love and loyalty.
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    review to come
  • The Romance Book Disciple (Samantha)
    January 1, 1970
    Alpha Night delivers readers a new Russian wolf pack (yay, back to Russia!) and a broken arrow. Singh's writing is so brilliant, you will be swept into a world you never want to leave.The "alpha" of Alpha Night is Selenka Durev, alpha of the Blackedge wolves and the Night is Ethan Night, Arrow who was raised and torture by Ming Labon to be a weapon. These two have a mate at first sight meet cute! Ethan is broken in so many ways. First, he was isolated and tortured by Ming throughout his ch Alpha Night delivers readers a new Russian wolf pack (yay, back to Russia!) and a broken arrow. Singh's writing is so brilliant, you will be swept into a world you never want to leave.The "alpha" of Alpha Night is Selenka Durev, alpha of the Blackedge wolves and the Night is Ethan Night, Arrow who was raised and torture by Ming Labon to be a weapon. These two have a mate at first sight meet cute! Ethan is broken in so many ways. First, he was isolated and tortured by Ming throughout his childhood, and now he is living a gray life with no purpose, no connections. However confusing it is to him, he is devoted to Selenka from the start. But a darkness in Ethan is causing a damage to their bond and both are determined to figure out why. Both of these characters were amazing and perfect for each other. With Selenka being an alpha, Ethan has to be tough enough to stand beside her. As he says, "I'm the knight to your queen" and its so true!Like all of Singh's books, there are so many layers to Alpha Night. Selenka's pack has some trouble, Ethan has a dangerous power in his brain, and The Architect is still trying to bring down Trinity. All of these events weave together and build upon one another.I love each and every story in the Psy-Changling world, and Selenka's and Ethan's story was no exception. The characters stole my heart and the world continues to enrapture. I must mention that Angela Dawe's narration continues to be flawless! She does a wonderful Russian accent that really keeps you in the story.    POV: 3rd   Tears: no   Trope: fated mates, shifters   Triggers: (view spoiler)[spoiler (hide spoiler)]   Series/Standalone: series (while each book is about a different couple, there is an overarching story woven into every book)   Cliffhanger: (view spoiler)[spoiler (hide spoiler)]   HEA: (view spoiler)[yes (hide spoiler)] The Carpathian series by Christine Feehan, The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by JR Ward,  ...then you will probably like Alpha Night!  Alpha Night  See full review on The Book Disciple
    more
  • Tales Of A Bookbug
    January 1, 1970
    [25-04-2020] I'm ready! *screams*[27-04-2020] I was nowhere close to ready to read this book y'all! Alpha Night killed me! I'm giddy with happiness. What do I do with my life now that I've finished reading this? *prepares to re-read all 19 books for the hundredth time*Gah! I'm trying my best to compose myself so that I'll be able to type out a proper review without sounding like an incoherent mess!Nalini Singh is one of my all time favorites in PNR so it's a guarantee that I'd love everything sh [25-04-2020] I'm ready! *screams*[27-04-2020] I was nowhere close to ready to read this book y'all! Alpha Night killed me! I'm giddy with happiness. What do I do with my life now that I've finished reading this? *prepares to re-read all 19 books for the hundredth time*Gah! I'm trying my best to compose myself so that I'll be able to type out a proper review without sounding like an incoherent mess!Nalini Singh is one of my all time favorites in PNR so it's a guarantee that I'd love everything she writes(yeah I'm biased, sue me), but why do I still feel surprised everytime I read a new book of hers? Because she blows all of my expectations out of the water EVERY. SINGLE. TIME.I went in expecting a romance between a changeling and a psy(my favorite pairing) with the premise of a mating at first sight, but this one was so much more than just that!What non–soap opera alpha mated to a man she’d only just met? A man about whom she knew next to nothing?Govno! She’d done an even more impulsive thing than a bear.Selenka was everything I loved in my protagonists! A kick-ass female alpha, she was strong as steel when needed but also the perfect alpha for her pack! Always there to comfort them and lend a shoulder to lean on, she put her pack first just like a good alpha should. She meets Ethan at an empath symposium where he saves her from an attack, and her wolf recognises something in him.Ethan is an Arrow and he considers himself broken. He had never met Aden or his squadmates before he escaped from a bunker where he was kept for years by Ming and his subordinates. All he wants is something that would make him feel alive again, when he meets Selenka and feels a connection to her. This becomes the only tether that's holding him back from self-annihilation.He was a monster, trained and raised. But he was now Selenka’s monster.I loved the mating-at-first-sight dynamic in this one! It made for a refreshing change from the usual mating dance and accepting the bond plot. Ethan kind of reminded me of Zaira from Shards of Hope at times, but what I loved the most was the fact that he wasn't reluctant to be in a relationship with someone like she was. He was all in from the get-go! ;)What was even better was the slow development of the relationship between them! Though the mating bond is instant, it's basically just a foundation for a beautiful relationship here! I also loved the fact that Ethan was completely open and didn't keep any secrets from Selenka! He told her everything right at the start and that helped build the initial trust that took them a step further together.It was also fun meeting the BlackEdge pack and Selenka's lieutenants! Her father is a grade-A asshole though! The friendly rivalry between the wolves and the bears was another highlight for me. Selenka went from being disgruntled with Valentin, to competing with him and then complaining with him about their Psy mates lol! Totally loved that!Selenka would find it insufferable if her wolf wasn’t posturing back as hard. “My mate is an Arrow.”“Silver could take him.”“In your dreams.”The overarching plot focused on the breakdown of the PsyNet continues further in this one and we get to find more about the Architect's motivations and actions. Ethan has a role to play in all of this and Memory from Wolf Rain comes back to help him with it.What I did find a little repititive was the fact that Ethan had powers which were causing him trouble and the he's-a-ticking-timebomb scenario. We've seen this in the previous books and it gives me so much anxiety even though I know logically that they're going to survive of course. Please, can the Psy catch a break and develop normal relationships without fear of dying?In conclusion, this was one of the best reads of the year(so far) for me and I'm really invested in this storyline at this point. I need to find out who the architect is, and I need to read more about the changelings in BlackSea and find their traitors. I need more sweet but lethal virgin Arrows like Ethan and Judd in my life.*sighs dramatically* I guess I'll just wait for all of it.Also, when are we going to get to see the downfall of Ming? I've been waiting for this for such a longtime for this!Sidenote : I'd like a copy of the Arrow manual please. The men here on earth could definitely use it.🤷🏻‍♀️*I was provided with an ARC via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]
    January 1, 1970
    OH MY GOD YOU GUYS I HAVE NEVER GOTTEN A NALINI SINGH ARC BEFORE THIS IS MY FIRST NALINI SINGH ARC I won't lie, if there had to be a global lockdown then this was sort of a pretty good time book-wise for it to happen, because I have a TON of the most gorgeous ARCs lined up and I'm actually not in a book slump at all, I've just been tearing through them. The world is a scary scary place right now and of course I'm terrified that we're about to fall into a huge recession, and when I graduate th OH MY GOD YOU GUYS I HAVE NEVER GOTTEN A NALINI SINGH ARC BEFORE THIS IS MY FIRST NALINI SINGH ARC I won't lie, if there had to be a global lockdown then this was sort of a pretty good time book-wise for it to happen, because I have a TON of the most gorgeous ARCs lined up and I'm actually not in a book slump at all, I've just been tearing through them. The world is a scary scary place right now and of course I'm terrified that we're about to fall into a huge recession, and when I graduate the way things are looking I'll be lucky if I get employment as a shelf stacker, but just in this moment it makes things a little better that one of the things I have to worry about is whether I should start my Naomi Novik ARC first or my Nalini Singh one.(Think I'm going to go with Novik, but watch this space.)[Blog] - [Bookstagram]
    more
  • Jess
    January 1, 1970
    This was very good and I very much liked it despite being so fucking bored about the psy-net collapsing, but here is what I really want to say.1. NIKITA IS A FUCKING EMPATH2. EMPATH-ARROW, EMPATH-ARROW!!!!!!Read for The Ripped Bodice Bingo 2020 square: Psychics/Telekinesis
    more
  • Sapir Englard
    January 1, 1970
    3 stars. Contains spoilers.I am a Psy/Changeling trash and I'm not afraid to admit it. That being said, it's rare for me to not give any book in this series less than 4 stars, because Nalini Singh knows how to world-build and create tension like no other in this genre.HOWEVER, while I liked the two main leads in this one fair enough, I'm so, so, so, so tired of reading about empaths. I was excited to read about Selenka and the BlackEdge wolves, and Ethan was pretty decent, yet it was sooooo obvi 3 stars. Contains spoilers.I am a Psy/Changeling trash and I'm not afraid to admit it. That being said, it's rare for me to not give any book in this series less than 4 stars, because Nalini Singh knows how to world-build and create tension like no other in this genre.HOWEVER, while I liked the two main leads in this one fair enough, I'm so, so, so, so tired of reading about empaths. I was excited to read about Selenka and the BlackEdge wolves, and Ethan was pretty decent, yet it was sooooo obvious what his "dark power" was from the beginning that I just felt like this was a rushed, fast recap of the previous book in the series, and while it was nice seeing a male empath - and an Arrow at that - it was, well, kind of frustrating.This is the only fantasy/sci-fi/romance series where I don't mind the characters are carbon copies of each other. I will say that, though, Selenka read too much like Indigo to me, and while I like Indigo well enough, this was a little too close to my liking. Ethan was a breath of fresh air, though, and I did like that we didn't have to go through the whole torment of will they/won't they mate routine that has been the base of more than enough books in this series.So I liked it (I devoured it in less than 24 hours) but I also feel a little let down. It just feels to me like Nalini Singh is not 100% behind writing more books in the series lately and she's just doing it because she doesn't want to leave loose ends, which I can totally respect, but it shows. Just my opinion, though; Nalini Singh will always be one of my favorite authors, if not the most favorite.I'm curious about which couple the next book will focus on, and what is going to happen main-plot-wise, since this book ended on a small cliffhanger. I guess we'll find out in one more year per usual.Thoughts before reading:Okay, thank you fucking God. I've been wanting to read about Selenka ever since she was first introduced!June can't come fast enough!!!
    more
  • thepokebook
    January 1, 1970
    *I RECEIVED AN EARLY COPY*4,75 ⭐️He killed with light but she lived in it.Still can't get over the fact that I won an early copy giveaway.Ever since Silver Silence, I was so eager to know more about Selenka Durev, not only because she's a female but THE alpha of the Moscow BlackEdge wolves pack who is mated to a PSY!!! I love strong females so an alpha will, of course, be strong. And Selenka didn't disappoint me. She was strong but selfless since she is the heart of her pack. She can be cold-hea *I RECEIVED AN EARLY COPY*4,75 ⭐️He killed with light but she lived in it.Still can't get over the fact that I won an early copy giveaway.Ever since Silver Silence, I was so eager to know more about Selenka Durev, not only because she's a female but THE alpha of the Moscow BlackEdge wolves pack who is mated to a PSY!!! I love strong females so an alpha will, of course, be strong. And Selenka didn't disappoint me. She was strong but selfless since she is the heart of her pack. She can be cold-hearted but also as gentle as a puppy. Her relationship with her pack was so heartwarming that I often wish I was part of it.Ethan Night. He was surprisingly the sweetest and adorable arrow I've ever seen. Even under Silence, Ethan knows how to treat people, he knows kindness even if he never felt it. The way he was with Selenka and her pack?! I'm sorry but y heart couldn't handle it. I was literally in the recovery position. The dangerous man had done horrible things because he was forced to but could carry a pup with so much possessiveness. He was so devoted to the Arrow Squad, to Selenka and Aden despite everything he went through.I was so happy when we got to see other characters such as Silver and Valentin. *Sigh* Ah, bears! You cannot not love them. Kaleb fucking Krychek (my favorite cardinal), my fierce Memory, and my sweet and devoted Aden. I was also so happy to see Nikki Duncan, damn I love that woman.Unfortunately, even if I wanted to, I can't give 5 stars to this book because there were lingered moments of inner thoughts that kind of annoyed me, it was just dragging the story and I had to skip some paragraphs. But for sure I will continue this series!!!IG - thepokebook
    more
  • Elodie
    January 1, 1970
    Alpha Night Psy-Changeling Trinity Series #4Nalini Singhhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorNalini...Release date 06/09/2020Publisher BerkleyBlurb :Alpha wolf Selenka Durev’s devotion to her pack is equaled only by her anger at anyone who would harm those under her care. That currently includes the empaths who’ve flowed into her city for a symposium that is a security nightmare, a powder keg just waiting for a match. Ethan Night is an Arrow who isn’t an Arrow. Numb and disengaged from the world, he’s Alpha Night Psy-Changeling Trinity Series #4Nalini Singhhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorNalini...Release date 06/09/2020Publisher BerkleyBlurb :Alpha wolf Selenka Durev’s devotion to her pack is equaled only by her anger at anyone who would harm those under her care. That currently includes the empaths who’ve flowed into her city for a symposium that is a security nightmare, a powder keg just waiting for a match. Ethan Night is an Arrow who isn’t an Arrow. Numb and disengaged from the world, he’s loyal only to himself. Assigned as part of the security force at a world-first symposium, he carries a dark agenda tied to the power-hungry and murderous Consortium. Then violence erupts and Ethan finds himself crashing into the heart and soul of an alpha wolf. Mating at first sight is a myth, a fairytale. Yet Selenka’s wolf is resolute: Ethan Night, broken Arrow and a man capable of obsessive devotion, is the mate it has chosen. Even if the mating bond is full of static and not quite as it should be. Because Selenka’s new mate has a terrible secret, his mind surging with a power that is a creature of madness and death…My review :When an instant attraction bonds them forever, do they have a forever awaiting them ...I know I have other books to read before this one but when a new Psy-changeling book finds its way in my kindle, I am like a kid on Christmas Day, I have no patience. And I tried, I waited 3 whole days before reading it.Well, I needed a rest day so ...It is always difficult to review a book when you are a fan girl, I know I am absolutely not objective, but be it that way.While it is in some way a standalone, as the couple found their HEA, I do not see how someone could enter this series without having read the other books, this said, with Silver Silence, as they both are set in a new place with two new packs, so a whole bunch of new characters, it was like being back in Slave in Sensation or Caressed by Ice when I discovered the Darkriver and Snowdancer clans.And WoW!Firstly I loved the dynamic between the two tribes, how the bears plays with the wolves and vis versa. Then the span set is for once on a very short time, a matter of a few days, no more. And last the mating at first sight, a first in this series. There is not back and forth, it is as it must be and both party agrees with it.And by the end, the urgency of their mating finds its purpose.So now it is established, we set foot in a new pack, what about the main characters.Ethan, oh my, Ethan. After Judd, Kaleb, Vasic and Aden, there is now Ethan. An other Arrow, one more broken damaged psy to an extend impossible to comprehend. And worst when his true nature will be finally revealed.How I adore Mrs Nalini for her talent to bring to life awesome characters with each a past like no other. I thought I had read all the unbelievable cruelty some psy were able, especially Ming Bon, but Ethan is another trophy to his hunting board. He is a survivor, and how he was able too, a dedication to his resilience and his iron will.Thus, from his first interaction with Selenka, he shows his inner tumult and once he is claimed, she becomes the center of his attention. Even his need for revenge becomes secondary. She inhabits him and for her, her only, he will do anything.At no moment he doubts their link, he stays true to himself and never lie to her, the good and the bad. He knows the value of their bond and refuses to tarnish it with anything even omissions.Selenka, I had a glimpse of her in the previous books, a badass of a woman, one of the few alphas, head of clans. She is a woman on a mission but also one with so much love, which she shares with anyone needing it. It is so fun and moving at the same time to watch an alpha interacting with his fellows, they hug, cry, play or even fight but all with one purpose, the good of the pack.She is a soldier with a heart of gold, and with Ethan, she has found her perfect counterpart. Where he can harm with a single thought, he can also sooth the most vulnerable. Her fierce affection is what drove Ethan to her, she saved him once, and from this moment, he shifted all his determination to be her arm, her heart, her all and always.So it is no surprise, this new addition in this series is a 5 stars. I loved my day spent among the Blackedge pack, getting to know the youngsters, the elders, their dominants and their leader.A wonderful way to pass the time, I have now plenty of new friends with a mix of a few bears.I was granted an advance copy of this book and had also preordered mine. Here is my true and not too much unbiased opinion.https://www.facebook.com/429830134272...
    more
  • GigiReads
    January 1, 1970
    My favorite pairings are Psy and Changeling so I was predisposed to like this book. But add the fact that the Alpha was the heroine and the hero was an Arrow and I was pretty much trash for this book. I loved Ethan and his befuddlement with emotional cues, his raw honesty, and reading about his emotional awakening. I think that's one of my favorite things about this series, seeing the Psy characters become emotionally fluent. I was also loving the bonding at first sight twist that Singh brought My favorite pairings are Psy and Changeling so I was predisposed to like this book. But add the fact that the Alpha was the heroine and the hero was an Arrow and I was pretty much trash for this book. I loved Ethan and his befuddlement with emotional cues, his raw honesty, and reading about his emotional awakening. I think that's one of my favorite things about this series, seeing the Psy characters become emotionally fluent. I was also loving the bonding at first sight twist that Singh brought to this story (Had that ever happened before in other books?) That being said, I found the book had problems with pacing, especially in the first half. Also, all the pack business took up too much time and made me impatient to get back to Ethan and Selenka. I felt like their relationship development suffered and the author relied on the bonding at first sight to skimp on actual development. There was too much "he's mine, she's mine" repetitiveness and a little too much telling and not enough showing. Still, I really enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to figuring out who The Architect is as well as what's up with Pax. All in all, this was a solid entry to the series.Thanks to Edelweiss and the publisher for a review copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Michele
    January 1, 1970
    An HJ Top Pick!!See the full review at HarlequinJunkieAbsolutely Epic. That’s the only way to describe Alpha Night. Nalini Singh never ceases to amaze me with her heartfelt, thrilling novels, but the pairing of alpha wolf Selenka Durev and Arrow Ethan Night was utter perfection.Alpha Night. Wow! If you’ve been following the original Psy-Changeling series and/or the new season of it, Trinity, then you know things have been evolving from book to book since the fall of Silence. This latest installm An HJ Top Pick!!See the full review at HarlequinJunkieAbsolutely Epic. That’s the only way to describe Alpha Night. Nalini Singh never ceases to amaze me with her heartfelt, thrilling novels, but the pairing of alpha wolf Selenka Durev and Arrow Ethan Night was utter perfection.Alpha Night. Wow! If you’ve been following the original Psy-Changeling series and/or the new season of it, Trinity, then you know things have been evolving from book to book since the fall of Silence. This latest installment showed the next sneaky steps the Architect and the Consortium took to further their cause. That was a huge, exciting part of the plot. What was also great was this pulled in a bunch of familiar faces... Read More
    more
  • Shay
    January 1, 1970
    Love, Love, Love this series! As always I am sucked in from the get go. With this series you cannot read this book on its own, you must start from the very beginning, there are a lot but well worth it. It’s imaginative, yet intricate but oh so exceptional. Truly one of a kind series. Selenka had me from the start! I love how she is alpha of her pack, she is the heart of it and needs a mate that can handle everything that comes it. Ethan, loved him so much! He complimented her and her pack so wel Love, Love, Love this series! As always I am sucked in from the get go. With this series you cannot read this book on its own, you must start from the very beginning, there are a lot but well worth it. It’s imaginative, yet intricate but oh so exceptional. Truly one of a kind series. Selenka had me from the start! I love how she is alpha of her pack, she is the heart of it and needs a mate that can handle everything that comes it. Ethan, loved him so much! He complimented her and her pack so well. He is her knight and she is his queen! Loved that the most!Can’t wait to continue this series. Reviewed by Shay from Mommys a Book WhoreProvided by Netgalley
    more
  • Blynn
    January 1, 1970
    Ok so I’m a huge Nalini Singh fan- love her GH, love psy changeling, love her contemporary romance and personally think she’s a GENIUS with novellas- which are always kinda an afterthought with other authors. But I won’t be buying this book OR borrowing from the library because:The continuation of the psy changeling series (to be clear I’m talking about after allegiance of honor) has completely ruined the whole thing for me. I mean allegiance of honor was such a perfect way to end the series- I Ok so I’m a huge Nalini Singh fan- love her GH, love psy changeling, love her contemporary romance and personally think she’s a GENIUS with novellas- which are always kinda an afterthought with other authors. But I won’t be buying this book OR borrowing from the library because:The continuation of the psy changeling series (to be clear I’m talking about after allegiance of honor) has completely ruined the whole thing for me. I mean allegiance of honor was such a perfect way to end the series- I loved it, such a beautiful idea to go through the book roster and give everyone a nice ending... but then she didn’t stop there. Now it’s so so sad when a series ends, I know all us readers dread that moment, and up until now I thought there was nothing worse (in the book world) than that feeling... but I found it- watching a beloved series fall from graceHere’s the things that bother me most. It’s like she’s choosing the B team characters that weren’t interesting enough the first time around and just tweaking the original storylines a wee bit. I mean let’s look at this in perspective: we went from Kaleb (the most of powerful psy in prob history) to.... his assistant? There’s was a lot of psy changeling books and storylines, SOME duplication is always going to happen and up til now she’s done a pretty good job with this. But not the ones in trinity. I quite literally wasn’t able to finish 2 out of the three last books bc I got so frustrated and felt my reading soul dying. That’s a big deal for me- I finish almost everything, I’m the type of reader that slogs through 400+ pages of monotony to find out what happens. But I’m so tired of it. Even Alexai’s book which had a whisper of the old magic about it didnt cut it for me- I spent the part of the book I read feeling like I’d already read that book before. Particularly the silent psy storyline (But I admit I was pretty much done with it after book 7 so my tolerance was low) I mean Singh is ultra talented but there’s limits to how many ways to describe a pretty simple concept:non psy lover: I love you, please break silence Silent psy: I can’t, it’s impossible because of X*comes up with a magical solution that fixes the problem or allows them to be together sans silence* The whole thing has just soured me on her books altogether. I still haven’t read the last two GH bc I’M SO FRIGHTENED! Anyways that’s my plea for the book future- please, please Nalini, use you powers for good (for both yourself and your readers). You are worth so much more than this.
    more
Write a review