Emerald Blaze (Hidden Legacy, #5)
Ilona Andrews, #1 New York Times bestselling author, continues her spellbinding series set in the Hidden Legacy world where magic controls everything…except the hearts of those who wield it.As Prime magic users, Catalina Baylor and her sisters have extraordinary powers—powers their ruthless grandmother would love to control. Catalina can earn her family some protection working as deputy to the Warden of Texas, overseeing breaches of magic law in the state, but that has risks as well. When House Baylor is under attack and monsters haunt her every step, Catalina is forced to rely on handsome, dangerous Alessandro Sagredo, the Prime who crushed her heart. The nightmare that Alessandro has fought since childhood has come roaring back to life, but now Catalina is under threat. Not even his lifelong quest for revenge will stop him from keeping her safe, even if every battle could be his last. Because Catalina won't rest until she stops the use of the illicit, power-granting serum that's tearing their world apart. 

Emerald Blaze (Hidden Legacy, #5) Details

TitleEmerald Blaze (Hidden Legacy, #5)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 25th, 2020
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780062878366
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Adult, Paranormal Romance, Magic, Fiction, Paranormal Urban Fantasy, Contemporary

Emerald Blaze (Hidden Legacy, #5) Review

  • Nenia ⚡ Aspiring Evil Overlord ⚡ Campbell
    January 1, 1970
    Me: NOBODY WILL EVER REPLACE ROGAN IN MY HEARTAlessandro: *exists*Me: ROGAN WHO
  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    [August 31, 2019]Bloody shrimping hell of the stinking shrimp, a NEVADA SIGHTING!!!!! Here!!!!!!!![August 29, 2019]We got our little selves a spoilery snippet, my Little Barnacles!· Book 1: Burn for Me · Book 2: White Hot · Book 3: Wildfire · Book 3.5: Diamond Fire · Book 4: Untitled Catalina Novel · Book 6: Untitled Catalina Novel - to be released 2021? [August 31, 2019]Bloody shrimping hell of the stinking shrimp, a NEVADA SIGHTING!!!!! Here!!!!!!!![August 29, 2019]We got our little selves a spoilery snippet, my Little Barnacles!· Book 1: Burn for Me ★★★★★· Book 2: White Hot ★★★★★· Book 3: Wildfire ★★★★★· Book 3.5: Diamond Fire ★★★★· Book 4: Untitled Catalina Novel ★★★· Book 6: Untitled Catalina Novel - to be released 2021?
    more
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    The first pages of Hidden Legacy #5 are here! https://bit.ly/2ZFt3f9(EDIT: Here's another long snippet of Catalina coming home after a hard day to a kitchen filled with family including the 8,5 months pregnant Nevada. There's also a glimpse of Rogan... https://ilona-andrews.com/snippet-bri... ) ...which is awesome, but now I'm not sure anymore about the rest of this book. I really want to love this new trilogy, because the world-building is incredible, IA is my favorite writing duo, I adore The first pages of Hidden Legacy #5 are here! https://bit.ly/2ZFt3f9(EDIT: Here's another long snippet of Catalina coming home after a hard day to a kitchen filled with family including the 8,5 months pregnant Nevada. There's also a glimpse of Rogan... https://ilona-andrews.com/snippet-bri... ) ...which is awesome, but now I'm not sure anymore about the rest of this book. I really want to love this new trilogy, because the world-building is incredible, IA is my favorite writing duo, I adore Catalina and there are a couple of cool developments in Sapphire Flames, except-but-only here's the thing: Sapphire Flames also felt like a major Nevada & Rogan character assassination fest. So I hoped, nay, fiercely believed, that in the rest of the series the oversight would magically fade away. But it seems that instead, book 5 will rely heavily on the mess Nevada left when she went away. In this first chapter, Catalina is struggling more than ever to clean it up. Even though the writing itself is brilliant and vibrant and textured like a Rembrandt painting, and I should be dancing and shimmying and humming Ba Ba Black Sheep for the rest of the day, I just feel like yelling: 'Turn around! You're going the wrong way!' Most of the storyline will probably be great, but not this: Book 5 relies even more on the 'financial problems'-angle. I'm so hung up on this. Not only is it hard to believe, but because it basically amounts to some harsh Nevada-shaming, it's also hard to enjoy. Chapter 1 starts six months after Sapphire Flames with a battered and bruised Catalina. The poor girl is damaged because she's desperate for money and risking her life to get (relatively small amounts of) it. The reasons for this problem include:- Nevada (who formerly kept the whole family afloat almost single-handedly) didn't make any real money during the 3-year Grace Period for the Baylor agency. - Nevada mostly took pro-bono cases. - Nevada worked for Rogan's company the rest of the time, apparently without him compensating the Baylor agency for her time and service, so more working for free. (Which would also a bad point for Rogan there). - Nevada wore herself out to still try and make some money for the Baylor agency as well, and she stopped taking care of herself in the process. (Which is another strike in the Rogan column.) - Nevada got all childish and hurt when she found herself in the Baylor family version of rehab, failed to recognize that her family loves her and subsequently quit as Head of House Baylor. - Nevada's sudden lack of entrepreneurship (even though she could have earned her weight in gold many times over as a Truthseeker) and all her working for free seems to have forced Catalina to pick up the slack while she was still getting trained by Arossa.The current direction of the second Hidden Legacy trilogy doesn't do Nevada & Rogan from books 1-3 justice. It seems to me that smart girl Catalina would have wanted to go to college to get a degree just like Bern, Rogan and Augustine, had her circumstances been different. Remember when Arabella and Catalina pranked Nevada with a picture of a wedding dress and a 'please marry him, we need college money!' Well guess what, their brother-in-law is one of the richest men in Texas, the CEO of the family business is the most powerful Truthseeker of her generation, the girls have amazing magic that should have kicked their own hourly rates into the stratosphere and STILL they're not in college because they don't have time or money for it. They need to work. (And in Catalina's case, take a crash course in all things society and weapons that other magically gifted kids would have received when much younger.) This seems like a type of poverty that shouldn't exist for them. I understand the need for hurdles that Catalina has to overcome as a character, but there are many ways to create those. If financial issues are absolutely necessary for her story to work, it would have been a little more believable for me if the source of the problem came from outside the family. The idea that Nevada turns into this incompetent CEO that starts running a non-profit/charity even though House Baylor's safety is a ticking time bomb, feels really out-of-character for her. And the idea that the Baylors are simply too proud to take money they really need from their wealthy new son who happens to also have a lot of enemies just sounds dumb. I have trouble imagining a Rogan who wouldn't immediately realize that weak in-laws left him, or more specifically his wife, vulnerable to extortion. Whether it'd be for money, or someone wanting to force Nevada to use her powers on an innocent person; if lack of funds left House Baylor without sufficient security, Rogan would simply fix the problem. It really wouldn't do in Rogan's eyes for Nevada's younger sisters and cousins to get kidnapped or be forced to take silly risks to earn the money they need to potentially protect themselves from his enemies. If the Baylors didn't want to take his charity, then he'd be happy to have them work jobs for him, or do favors for him in the future of give them a long-term loan. The Baylor talents are invaluable anyway, what's the issue here? Resorting to incompetence and pride to force these financial issues for House Baylor seems unnatural for everyone involved. After Wildfire, I had expected Nevada to do everything and anything within moral reason to use the grace period to make sure her family was safe (and armed to the teeth) by the time the 3 years were over. I sort of assumed she would start building a financial reserve ASAP, because they might need millions for House Warfare later. She could have done it alone, with Bern, or all of the Baylor kids could have spent 3 years working jobs on the side for House Montgomery and House Rogan. The Agency as a whole could also have gained lucrative contracts through their well-connected advisor Linus Duncan. Seeing as how Victoria Tremaine was in prison during the grace period, her clientele would have at least partially turned to Nevada. There shouldn't have been a shortage of lucrative opportunities for them. So maybe Nevada was advised to hire an accountant to gain interest on the money pile, but then he invested the money badly and took off because he was scared of being lobotomized by Tremaine's granddaughter, which then left the money unsupervised, which exacerbated the problem. And only after Catalina became Head of the House (because for instance Nevada got hurt, or there were pregnancy complications or both, and Catalina offered) did she figure out they had lost a big chunk of it. Their insurance dumping the Baylors in SF was brilliant, but if Catalina's character really needed desperate financial circumstances for House Baylor, why stop there? Maybe the warehouse was attacked the minute the Grace Period ended, they battled for a week, then they got buried in bullshit legal fees, dwindling the remains of the money pile much faster than Catalina could have foreseen, and to top it all off, a powerful House had smeared their reputation in that same legal battle, which got the Baylors dumped from some lucrative contracts they'd painstakingly acquired during the Grace Period, and simultaneously made it hard for Catalina to find new well-paying jobs to hold off quickly approaching bankruptcy. A multi-faceted attack like that might be an established and effective way for rival Houses to take out the competition and/or make a small potatoes new House all desperate and pliable, and therefore much more likely to become a nice money-making vassal for one of the old powerful Houses. Catalina could have gotten very anxious about the money and her position, but because Nevada is pregnant or hurt or at a funeral overseas or in a coma, she hides how bad it is (also effectively making sure Rogan can't step in to correct the situation, because he'd be oblivious to the depth of the problem). Maybe that's all a bit out there, but there are plenty of ways to give Catalina the money hurdle without forcing Nevada & Rogan into a plotline that feels out-of-character for them and almost as if they care considerably less for the Baylor family than they used to. In a baffling turn of events in SF, the feverish doomsday prepping doesn't happen at all. There's no earning money, no making alliances, no (properly) securing the castle and no listening to advisors. It almost seems as if the Baylors sat around twiddling their thumbs for 3 years, living in the moment, smoking weed and not worrying too much about those pesky House Warfare battles that were sure to hit their doorsteps as soon as the grace period was up. Curiously though, nothing happened on D-day. Nothing happened the day after that either. Even though the depressing survival statistics of emerging houses would suggest otherwise, the Houston elite apparently didn't care after all. Good thing too, because the Baylors collectively made so little money in 3 years time, they couldn't even spare for fresh batteries in the security sensors. Even with 5 Baylors working for the agency AND Grandma Frida's armored vehicle business AND being attacked zero times, they were still broke 3 years later. Broke! That must've been some expensive weed. Really though, what's the point of all those Average magic users marrying for genetics in hopes of breeding a puny Notable if even a one-of-a-kind Prime like Catalina (who has both truthseeker powers and the ability to singlehandedly hold off an army) can't make some serious money? Come on. Anyway, back to the next episode of Idiots-R-Us chapter 1 of book #5, in which it's revealed that a whole warehouse of uniquely skilled Primes & Significants working full-time once again failed to make any real money in the last 6 months, only now it's even worse: this time they're also homeless and deeper in the hole than ever. Head? Meet wall. The second snippet paints much the same story. Everything hinges on these financial issues. Even a supposedly funny joke about Rogan & Nevada asking for a mere penance in rent isn't funny in the context that Rogan is ultra-rich and his completely broke in-laws lost their house when a professional hitman tried to murder his 21-year old sister-in-law. I'm starting to have this sinking feeling that I won't be able to get with the program on this one. I was so excited for the release of book 4 that I took the day off, just like I did for books 2 & 3 (it's a necessary thing, I wouldn't be able to concentrate knowing there was a fresh Hidden Legacy novel out there and I wasn't reading it). When SF unexpectedly disappointed, I quickly decided that the next book in the series would be much better, but now that the first pages of #5 are published, I find myself wondering how far the Baylors are going to have to bend over backwards this time to keep Catalina worrying about money and taking risks as a result. It's not yet time for writing the series off by any stretch of the imagination, but I have a hard time enjoying it. It's as if there's an alarm blaring in my head every time I stumble over something, like a sadistic parrot jarring me out of the story with shrill commentary. Fake problem! Missing logic! Insta-love! Out-of-character! Peanut Butter Jelly Time! I've never had it before with an IA book, but here I am; new day, new book, new snippet, same sadistic parrot. Hopefully, by 2020, I'll have found a way to smother Polly. To be continued. At least Iron Covenant #2 will be out in December. Iron&Magic was an incredible 13 out of 10 hot crepes fresh from the oven, so not all is lost. I should re-read it again in the meantime. Just thinking about it cheers me up.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Update 2: We have a title Emerald Blaze and a release date 25th August 2020 AND it's now available to preorder on Amazon (so yes I have preordered both the paperback and kindle editions LOL) Update: We now have two snippets for this book on the House Andrews website. Both contain spoilers for Sapphire Flames so avoid clicking these links unless you're up to date with the series!Snippet 1: https://ilona-andrews.com/austin-toni...Snippet 2: https://ilona-andrews.com/snippet-bri...Snippet 3: Update 2: We have a title Emerald Blaze and a release date 25th August 2020 AND it's now available to preorder on Amazon (so yes I have preordered both the paperback and kindle editions LOL) 🎉🎉🎉🎉Update: We now have two snippets for this book on the House Andrews website. Both contain spoilers for Sapphire Flames so avoid clicking these links unless you're up to date with the series!Snippet 1: https://ilona-andrews.com/austin-toni...Snippet 2: https://ilona-andrews.com/snippet-bri...Snippet 3: https://ilona-andrews.com/dreams-and-...________In case you missed it there is all kinds of extra info about the new Hidden Legacy series in this Entertainment Weekly interview with Ilona and Gordon. I am so bloody excited about this spin off!
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    4/2/20Tiny Snippet!https://ilona-andrews.com/tiny-snippe...28/1/20Snippet!I thought I had added this one on my list and posted a snippet too.. So either I dreamed that or did it meticulously in my head and forgot to actually do it. Who knows?Anyways, here's a missing snippet from the authors site:https://ilona-andrews.com/missing-sni...P.S. Apparently pickles with honey and smetana(sour cream) are an actual thing. Who knew???
    more
  • Sana
    January 1, 1970
    EMERALD BLAAAAAZE. I'M SO READY FOR THIS TO DESTROY MY EMOTIONS
  • booksneedcaffeinetoo
    January 1, 1970
    i want to inject this series into my veinsi need more Alessandro and Catalina in my lifeplus that fucking epilogue from SAPPHIRE FLAMES!!!!!!!!!!
  • Thenia
    January 1, 1970
  • shre ♡
    January 1, 1970
    the things i would do to have this in my hands
  • Ade
    January 1, 1970
    Sapphire Flames was a huge letdown but I’ll still read this one because it’s Ilona Andrews. Their worst is still miles better that most fantasy romance out there. I’ll give bland Catalina and the James Bond wannabe another chance but honestly I can’t wait for feisty Arabella and her love interest whoever he might be. I won’t mind if he looks like this:
    more
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    I am really hoping this one won't be as stupid and insipid as the last one, fingers crossed.
  • Miss OP
    January 1, 1970
    I hate everyone who reads this book before me. 9/2/19
  • Zohra Nazyalenski
    January 1, 1970
    PERCHÉ ALESSANDRO PERCHÉ
  • Diane
    January 1, 1970
    Aaaaaaand ...we have another hideous cover. I continue to feel deep gratitude for my kindle. Aaaaaaand ...we have another hideous cover. 🙈I continue to feel deep gratitude for my kindle.
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Cannot wait!
Write a review