Everything My Mother Taught Me
In this haunting short story of loyalty and betrayal, a young woman in early 1900s Massachusetts discovers that in navigating her treacherous coming-of-age, she must find her voice first.For fatefully observant Adeline, growing up carries an ominous warning from her adulterous mother: don’t say a word. Adeline vows to never speak again. But that’s not her only secret. After her mother takes a housekeeping job at a lighthouse off the tip of Cape Ann, a local woman vanishes. The key to the mystery lies with Adeline, the silent witness. New York Times bestselling author of The Rules of Magic Alice Hoffman crafts a beautiful, heart-wrenching short story.Alice Hoffman’s Everything My Mother Taught Me is part of Inheritance, a collection of five stories about secrets, unspoken desires, and dangerous revelations between loved ones. Each piece can be read or listened to in a single setting. By yourself, behind closed doors, or shared with someone you trust.

Everything My Mother Taught Me Details

TitleEverything My Mother Taught Me
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 19th, 2019
PublisherAmazon Original Stories
Rating
GenreShort Stories, Historical, Historical Fiction, Fiction, Mystery, Audiobook, Young Adult, Coming Of Age, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery Thriller

Everything My Mother Taught Me Review

  • Angela M
    January 1, 1970
    I immediately loved twelve year Adeline and was broken hearted for her from the first sentence. “There are those who insist that mothers are born with love for their children and place them before all other things, including their own needs and desires. This was not the case with us.” This is a short and beautifully written story about a young girl in the early 1900’s New England trying to find her way in a world given what she knows. A self imposed mute, since her beloved father died, Adeline I immediately loved twelve year Adeline and was broken hearted for her from the first sentence. “There are those who insist that mothers are born with love for their children and place them before all other things, including their own needs and desires. This was not the case with us.” This is a short and beautifully written story about a young girl in the early 1900’s New England trying to find her way in a world given what she knows. A self imposed mute, since her beloved father died, Adeline is wise though she speaks no words. I don’t want to say much about the plot since the story is only 28 pages. Instead, I’ll say what I knew for sure when I finished it. Alice Hoffman is a prolific writer and while I’ve only read a few of her novels, she is firmly cemented on my list of favorite writers. I also know that one of my reading goals in the coming year will be to read some of her books that I have been meaning to get to. I also know that I won’t soon forget Adeline.I was fortunate to obtain an advanced copy of this from Amazon Original through NetGalley. It’s part of the Amazon Original Inheritance Collection. If you are a NetGalley member, I recommend you go and request it. If not, preorder it from Amazon kindle . It’s being released 12/19/19 . It’s worth so much more than the $1.99 that it will cost you.
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    Everything my Mother Taught Me by Alice Hoffman is a 2019 Amazon original collections story- Inheritance Collection #1 First, I would like to thank all my Goodreads friends for recommending this story to me. A special shout out to Angela M., whose heartfelt review of this short story first caught my attention.As noted by many reviewers before me, this is a poignant story, featuring twelve-year-old Adeline, who is at the mercy of her abusive, selfish, and neglectful mother. After her father dies, Everything my Mother Taught Me by Alice Hoffman is a 2019 Amazon original collections story- Inheritance Collection #1 First, I would like to thank all my Goodreads friends for recommending this story to me. A special shout out to Angela M., whose heartfelt review of this short story first caught my attention.As noted by many reviewers before me, this is a poignant story, featuring twelve-year-old Adeline, who is at the mercy of her abusive, selfish, and neglectful mother. After her father dies, Adeline deliberately becomes mute, refusing to speak. As her mother manipulates and schemes, Adeline finds an unlikely ally and makes a loyal friend, giving her the courage to break the chain, and carve out a more stable future for herself, despite all the odds. For such a short story, this one really packs a punch. Strong emotions build quickly, and real feeling of compassion, righteous indignation, and pride for and on behalf of Adeline. She is a truly memorable character and this story is one that will stay with me for a long time to come.4.5 stars
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    A brilliant and atmospheric short story from Alice Hoffman, about a young girl who is little more than an encumbrance to her mother, Nora Ivie. Adeline, named after a soap, adores her father, once a sailor, but then a cobbler until he becomes seriously ill. After his death, she chooses to not talk, taking delight in thwarting her mother. Her mother becomes a housekeeper on a lighthouse on the Essex County Thacer Island. Despite expecting to hate it, Adeline grows to love it, getting close to the A brilliant and atmospheric short story from Alice Hoffman, about a young girl who is little more than an encumbrance to her mother, Nora Ivie. Adeline, named after a soap, adores her father, once a sailor, but then a cobbler until he becomes seriously ill. After his death, she chooses to not talk, taking delight in thwarting her mother. Her mother becomes a housekeeper on a lighthouse on the Essex County Thacer Island. Despite expecting to hate it, Adeline grows to love it, getting close to the kind Julia. Her mother proves to be a problematic presence until Adeline decides to takes matters into her own hands. This is a well written tale of a mother-daughter relationship that is compulsive reading and so gripping. My only problem was that it was short! Otherwise, highly recommended! Many thanks to Amazon Original Stories for an ARC.
    more
  • Dorie - Cats&Books :)
    January 1, 1970
    This short story is just under 30 pages long but carries a strong message. In simple terms I think it basically comes down to “the love you give is the love you get back”. There are so many mother-daughter books out there and being the mother of four, sometimes I feel somewhat under attack. This book, however, gets it all right.Adeline Ivy adored her father, he gave her so much love and attention. Her mother, Nora, would rather spend her time down the street at the local tavern, loving all of This short story is just under 30 pages long but carries a strong message. In simple terms I think it basically comes down to “the love you give is the love you get back”. There are so many mother-daughter books out there and being the mother of four, sometimes I feel somewhat under attack. This book, however, gets it all right.Adeline Ivy adored her father, he gave her so much love and attention. Her mother, Nora, would rather spend her time down the street at the local tavern, loving all of the attention that she can get because of her good looks and flirty attitude. Often Adeline would have to go looking for her mother who always made her swear not to tell her father.Sadly her father passes away when she is very young. Now her mother’s looks aren’t going to get her a job to support the two of them, at least not one that she wants. When she sees a job for a housekeeper at the lighthouse on Thacher Island on Cape Ann she thinks it sounds like the best option. This turns out to be a much harder job than she envisioned, having to cook and do the laundry for the three families that live on the island. Meanwhile Adeline thrives in this new environment. In spite of having to look after the numerous children on the island she adores the views of the sea and being surrounded by happy, boisterous children. Many years ago one of the lighthouse keepers brought many plants from the mainland which actually flourished on the island and so there is still lots to explore on this rocky island. She also finds care and love from some of the other adults.Since this is such a short book, I will stop my review here. This is a book well worth the read from the prolific and extremely talented Ms. Hoffman. I can’t wait to read another story in what is described as “Inheritance, a collection of five stories about secrets, unspoken desires, and dangerous revelations between loved ones. Each piece can be read or listened to in a single setting. By yourself, behind closed doors, or shared with someone you trust. "I received this ARC from the publisher through NetGalley. It is set to publish in December 2019.
    more
  • Beata
    January 1, 1970
    This was my second read by Ms Hoffman, and she has definitely become the author I will follow.This short story had all my attention and engagement as a reader. The premise, a rocky island off Massachusetts, with its tragic history and two lighthouses, provides perfect background for the plot, set in the beginning of the 20th century, which introduces us to a young girl, Adeline, who decides to become mute after her mother's remark. The mother-daughter bond is non-existent and the little girl has This was my second read by Ms Hoffman, and she has definitely become the author I will follow.This short story had all my attention and engagement as a reader. The premise, a rocky island off Massachusetts, with its tragic history and two lighthouses, provides perfect background for the plot, set in the beginning of the 20th century, which introduces us to a young girl, Adeline, who decides to become mute after her mother's remark. The mother-daughter bond is non-existent and the little girl has to survive in the small community, and she does so thanks to being intelligent and observant.The writing and narration are excellent.*Many thanks to Alice Hoffman, Amazon Original Stories and NetGalley for arc in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Paige
    January 1, 1970
    More than a tale about mother and daughter, this short story dives into questions of nature vs. nurture. Having grown up with shameless and unethical mother, the main character, 12 year old Adeline, comes to face the reality of her inheritance: an inheritance of genetics. Revenge falls into her hands, and Adeline must then confront her own principles.The story begins shortly after Adeline's caring father passes away. She is left under the care of her nefarious mother, who continues a pattern of More than a tale about mother and daughter, this short story dives into questions of nature vs. nurture. Having grown up with shameless and unethical mother, the main character, 12 year old Adeline, comes to face the reality of her inheritance: an inheritance of genetics. Revenge falls into her hands, and Adeline must then confront her own principles.The story begins shortly after Adeline's caring father passes away. She is left under the care of her nefarious mother, who continues a pattern of dishonorable behavior. In 1908 her mother then moves her to a lighthouse, where her mother begins working as a housekeeper for the lighthouse keepers. Adeline is treated poorly and wickedly by her mother during this time. Not long after beginning work, her mom begins an affair with one of the lighthouse keepers. Then, Adeline decides to take things into her own hands. But, will extracting revenge make her any better than her mom?This short story is 28 pages. It is appropriate for the secondary classroom and post-secondary classroom, and would serve a meaningful purpose since it has many literary elements and tools. There is no foul language and there are no vulgar details about the mother's affair. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and setting created by the author.I think this creates great discussion and would make a good buddy/group read. GR friend Elyse saw a different perspective on this than I. To read our discussion, see the comments in her review. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an advanced copy. Opinions are my own.
    more
  • Peter
    January 1, 1970
    CircumspectEverything My Mother Taught Me (Inheritance Collection #1) is a poignant story of a mother’s relationship with her daughter, husband, and neighbours. Some women should never be married, some women should never have children, meet Nora Ivie, mother to Adeline. Only a mother that is so narcissistic and devoid of caring for her daughter, could furnish so little love and personal development with her child. While Nora openly cheated on Adeline’s father, he remained devoted to his family CircumspectEverything My Mother Taught Me (Inheritance Collection #1) is a poignant story of a mother’s relationship with her daughter, husband, and neighbours. Some women should never be married, some women should never have children, meet Nora Ivie, mother to Adeline. Only a mother that is so narcissistic and devoid of caring for her daughter, could furnish so little love and personal development with her child. While Nora openly cheated on Adeline’s father, he remained devoted to his family right up to his death when Adeline was twelve. Suddenly as a widow with a child, the male interests subside, “… after all, they had wives of their own.” Adeline decides to stop speaking in response to a remark from her mother, and in memory of her late father. Adeline and her mother move to a small group of families responsible for the upkeep of two lighthouses on Thacher Island, off Cape Ann. It isn’t too long before Nora has adulterous plans for one of the other married men, and they record in a notebook their amusement at how feckless and unattractive the deceived wife Julie is. Meanwhile, Julie becomes much more maternal towards Adeline and they develop a close bond. Alice Hoffman does a superb job creating the silent witness in Adeline, a young girl who is acutely observant and now driven to feel more obligation towards someone other than her mother. I didn’t feel the characters were fully formed but there is enough to experience the emotional impact of neglect, deceit and loss. At the outset I considered the title and wondered how a title of such scope could be validated in a short story, but therein lies the moral of the story. What if everything you learnt from your mother was so negligible that your only wish was to be as different as possible. As part of the Inheritance series, it is fascinating how traits or personalities are either impulsively followed or are moulded in a reaction to reprehensible behaviours.I would recommend reading this book and it is a good addition to the Inheritance Collection from Amazon Original Stories.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Alice Hoffman has just gained a fan with this story of twelve year old Adeline, who loves her kind, compassionate father with all her heart. Adeline's despises her cheating mother and after Adeline's beloved father dies, she and her mother go live on an island so her mom can work as a servant for the lighthouse keepers' families and Adeline can tend to the the children of the families. From the time Adeline's father died, she's chosen to not speak. She loves life on the island and finds a true Alice Hoffman has just gained a fan with this story of twelve year old Adeline, who loves her kind, compassionate father with all her heart. Adeline's despises her cheating mother and after Adeline's beloved father dies, she and her mother go live on an island so her mom can work as a servant for the lighthouse keepers' families and Adeline can tend to the the children of the families. From the time Adeline's father died, she's chosen to not speak. She loves life on the island and finds a true friend in lightkeeper number three's wife, Julia. Adeline feels the same loyalty to Julia as she felt for her father and she finds the strength to give Julia the help she needs to escape the cruelty of her husband and Adeline's mother. This is a story of a very strong girl, made strong by the love her her late father and by witnessing the wanton and mean ways of her mother. I want to read the other stories in the Inheritance collection (by different authors) after enjoying this story so much. Thank you to Amazon Original Stories and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Shruti
    January 1, 1970
    Rating: 4.5 rounded up.Back when I was in school there was a girl named Karen who wouldn't talk. It wasn't that she couldn't—she could, but she just wouldn't. As kids we would try to get her to talk, like it was a game of who-could-get-Karen-to-talk-first and she would just smile at us. It was big news when a girl claimed she'd seen Karen talking to someone outside of school. We knew that she did talk when she wasn't attending school but we just couldn't figure out why she didn't talk to us. Rating: 4.5 rounded up.Back when I was in school there was a girl named Karen who wouldn't talk. It wasn't that she couldn't—she could, but she just wouldn't. As kids we would try to get her to talk, like it was a game of who-could-get-Karen-to-talk-first and she would just smile at us. It was big news when a girl claimed she'd seen Karen talking to someone outside of school. We knew that she did talk when she wasn't attending school but we just couldn't figure out why she didn't talk to us.Once, when we were preparing for a carol singing contest, her mother volunteered to help us with our costumes. That time, I'd asked her why Karen didn't speak and she said she didn't know. To her mother, Karen was a completely different girl—shy, probably, but not someone who wouldn't speak. When I was older, I understood that Karen must have had a reason for her silence. I wondered if a teacher had berated her for talking when she was younger and it was why she'd stopped talking in class altogether. Her silence will always remain a mystery to me and I have no idea what became of her—if she continued to keep quiet or she started talking to everyone. But I hope that she, like the main character of this story, found herself at some point, ready to speak. [As Ceecee pointed out, Karen most probably had what is called selective mutism.]Everything My Mother Taught Me is a short story by Alice Hoffman which is a part of the Inheritance series. It follows the life of a twelve-year-old girl, Adeline, who has the worst mother one could possibly imagine—she is selfish, uncaring, and always finds fault with Adeline. After her beloved father dies, Adeline stops talking. Her terrible mother gets hired as a housekeeper for a lighthouse and the two relocate to a small cottage on the island. There, Adeline grows fond of Julia, the wife of one of the lighthouse keepers who looks out for her and saves her from her mother a number of times. All this while, Julia is unaware that her husband is committing adultery with Adeline's mother. Adeline finds herself reconnect with her dead father who loved the sea, as she spends her days admiring the water and the view from the lighthouse. Circumstances compel her to make tough decisions and while she is tempted to make her mother pay for all the years of torment, she comes to a reassuring conclusion—she might resemble her mother in appearance but on the inside, she has inherited her father's kindness and morality.Alice Hoffman has managed to weave a compelling story filled with hope, in just twenty-eight pages. It depicts the journey of a child who has never been the subject of motherly love until she finally gets an opportunity to experience it. This is a story I would definitely recommend.[I'd like to thank NetGalley, Amazon Original Stories and Alice Hoffman for this ARC.]The Inheritance Series:Can You Feel This?The Lion's DenZenith ManThe Weddings
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    Alice Hoffman is a great author and here she’s written an amazing story in just 28 pages! I’ll remember 12 yr old Adeline. This was a heart wrenching and atmospheric story. Just read it!Available December 19thThank you to Netgalley and Amazon Original Stories!
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    Alice Hoffman has done it again!!!! In 28 pages she has written a gripping tale about loyalty, betrayal, love, secrets, friendship, and what drives one to silence. Twelve-year-old Adeline hasn't spoken since her father's death, but she sees all and finds a way to communicate without saying a word. I won’t say more about the plot as the short story is only twenty-eight pages, but in those twenty-eight pages, Hoffman gives her characters distinct personalities, struggles, desires, and pain. Alice Hoffman has done it again!!!! In 28 pages she has written a gripping tale about loyalty, betrayal, love, secrets, friendship, and what drives one to silence. Twelve-year-old Adeline hasn't spoken since her father's death, but she sees all and finds a way to communicate without saying a word. I won’t say more about the plot as the short story is only twenty-eight pages, but in those twenty-eight pages, Hoffman gives her characters distinct personalities, struggles, desires, and pain. Wonderfully written, this book is atmospheric, compelling and chilling. Hoffman has proven time and time to be an excellent storyteller and this short story is no exception. This short story is part of a collection of stories called Inheritance.Not a fan of short stories? This one WILL change your mind! Fans of Hoffman's novels will love this short gem of a book! Thank you to Amazon Original Stories and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this short story in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Phrynne
    January 1, 1970
    For me, to date, Alice Hoffman's novels have been a bit hit or miss, but she sure can write a short story! 'Everything my Mother Taught Me' is short but perfect and leaves the reader wanting more.The main character is Adeline, a twelve year old girl who has the misfortune to have a mother who loves no one but herself. Fortunately Adeline is smart and strong and she has a way of solving problems. The setting is a New England light house, beautifully described and very appropriate for the events For me, to date, Alice Hoffman's novels have been a bit hit or miss, but she sure can write a short story! 'Everything my Mother Taught Me' is short but perfect and leaves the reader wanting more.The main character is Adeline, a twelve year old girl who has the misfortune to have a mother who loves no one but herself. Fortunately Adeline is smart and strong and she has a way of solving problems. The setting is a New England light house, beautifully described and very appropriate for the events which occur.It takes a clever author to pack so much into a short story. I must read some more of her novels! My thanks to Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this ebook.
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first short story I’ve received from netgalley. I’m not a fan of short stories, but I’ll read anything by Alice Hoffman. The story has an almost fairy tale quality to it. Hoffman’s stories often contain a bit of magic realism. This one is pure historic fiction, but maybe because of the setting and an evil mother, I still felt the fairy tale atmosphere.The story takes place in 1907. Adeline’s mother is a total narcissist. After the death of her husband, she’s forced to take a job as a This is the first short story I’ve received from netgalley. I’m not a fan of short stories, but I’ll read anything by Alice Hoffman. The story has an almost fairy tale quality to it. Hoffman’s stories often contain a bit of magic realism. This one is pure historic fiction, but maybe because of the setting and an evil mother, I still felt the fairy tale atmosphere.The story takes place in 1907. Adeline’s mother is a total narcissist. After the death of her husband, she’s forced to take a job as a cleaner for two lighthouses on a remote island. Adeline stopped speaking after the death of her father. This is a conscious choice, a rebellion against her mother. Her mother might not care about her, but that doesn’t mean no one does. This was a wonderful tale. It’s the first in a series of five short stories Hoffman is writing and I look forward to the rest. My thanks to netgalley and Amazon Publishing for an advance copy.
    more
  • Dem
    January 1, 1970
    A nice short story from Alice Hoffman which is well written and gets the readers attention from the very beginning. Inheritance is a collection of five stories about secrets, unspoken desires, and dangerous revelations between loved ones. Each piece can be read or listened to in a single setting and Everything my mother taught me is my first story of the collection. I listened to this one on audible and at 50 minutes it really is quite short. The narration was good and it passed an hour for me A nice short story from Alice Hoffman which is well written and gets the readers attention from the very beginning. Inheritance is a collection of five stories about secrets, unspoken desires, and dangerous revelations between loved ones. Each piece can be read or listened to in a single setting and Everything my mother taught me is my first story of the collection. I listened to this one on audible and at 50 minutes it really is quite short. The narration was good and it passed an hour for me but I wasn’t blown away by it, a nice read but Not one for my favorites shelf.
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    The year was 1908 when Adeline’s father died. She was 12. She and her mother, Nora Ivie, left their home in Boston -forty miles away, to live on island in Essex County... at the tip of Cape Ann. Thacher Island - a remote and desolate place - was named after Anthony Thacher where there had been many shipwrecks, in 1635. What happens on this island....doesn’t stay on the island...This is my very favorite short story - of ‘ALL GREAT’ stories by very talented authors....part of the Amazon 5 book The year was 1908 when Adeline’s father died. She was 12. She and her mother, Nora Ivie, left their home in Boston -forty miles away, to live on island in Essex County... at the tip of Cape Ann. Thacher Island - a remote and desolate place - was named after Anthony Thacher where there had been many shipwrecks, in 1635. What happens on this island....doesn’t stay on the island...This is my very favorite short story - of ‘ALL GREAT’ stories by very talented authors....part of the Amazon 5 book Inheritance series ...We’ve had stories about mothers and daughters since the beginning of time...Yet...after finishing Alice Hoffman’s story.. [GOD I LOVE ALICE HOFFMAN]....it was as if all other stories about mum & daughter were shades of gray compared to Alice’s gut wrenching tale...,I cried at the end. Adeline is my new favorite young heroine of any story I’ve read this year!!!A very personal heartfelt story to me!!!!!Overflowing with 5 stars.
    more
  • Brenda -Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Everything My Mother Taught Me is now the fourth short story I have read to the in the Amazon Original Short Stories Inheritance Collection. It is my favourite one so far. Each has given me so much to think about and now, after reading four of them, I am starting to see the beauty here is that each has something different you can take from it and really think about. Now at only 28 pages, you have to do a little bit of work here but I am in awe with how little needs to be said to provoke such Everything My Mother Taught Me is now the fourth short story I have read to the in the Amazon Original Short Stories Inheritance Collection. It is my favourite one so far. Each has given me so much to think about and now, after reading four of them, I am starting to see the beauty here is that each has something different you can take from it and really think about. Now at only 28 pages, you have to do a little bit of work here but I am in awe with how little needs to be said to provoke such dept to the stories. I think the best part of these short stories is what you take from the story and how it makes you feel. Everything My Mother Taught Me is an interesting beautiful, haunting and heartfelt story that explores the power of observing and listening and finding your voice. Talk can be cheap and listening can be enlightening and empowering. Alice Hoffman delivers an enlightening and empowering story here. I highly recommend it.I received a copy from the publisher on NetGalley
    more
  • Zoeytron
    January 1, 1970
    Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.Narcissists make lousy mothers. A little girl chooses silence over speech after a devastating loss. Alice Hoffman is a magician, turning a mere 28 pages into a meaningful full-bodied story. Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.Narcissists make lousy mothers.  A little girl chooses silence over speech after a devastating loss.  Alice Hoffman is a magician, turning a mere 28 pages into a meaningful full-bodied story.
    more
  • PattyMacDotComma
    January 1, 1970
    4“She was the sort of person who saw only herself and her shadow, and the rest of us disappeared in the bright sunlight.”Adeline begins her story in 1908, when her mother is widowed and finds work on an island with a lighthouse tended by two families. It is a decided step down for a woman who fancies herself the centre of attention. “My mother’s name was Nora Ivie, and mine was Adeline. I had been named after a soap she’d once seen in a fancy shop, Adeline Lilac Soap, made in Paris. My mother 4★“She was the sort of person who saw only herself and her shadow, and the rest of us disappeared in the bright sunlight.”Adeline begins her story in 1908, when her mother is widowed and finds work on an island with a lighthouse tended by two families. It is a decided step down for a woman who fancies herself the centre of attention. “My mother’s name was Nora Ivie, and mine was Adeline. I had been named after a soap she’d once seen in a fancy shop, Adeline Lilac Soap, made in Paris. My mother said naming me so had been a mistake because now I thought I was better than she.”Mother is a gorgeous head-turner, so dropping her into a closed social group on an island was bound to stir things up. She resents the burden of a daughter, and added to that is Adeline’s refusal to speak since her father died. There are two other families, complete with children and animals, so mother’s job as housekeeper is much more onerous than anything she ever intended for her future. I assumed this would just be some wistful, heart-string-tugging tale of a grieving, mistreated young girl (12) angry with her selfish mother, but it became much more dramatic than that. “We were all in close quarters, in the dining room and on the island. An argument could mean many things to many people and affect us all.”It’s an interesting combination of place and characters and an ultimately satisfying read.Thanks to NetGalley and Amazon for the preview copy from which I’ve quoted. This is one of five (so far?) stories from the collection called ‘Inheritance’ from Amazon Original Stories. They are still available on NetGalley until 2 January 2020.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    There are givers in this world and then there are the takers.In her brief twelve years, Adeline has had a front row seat in observing which category her mother falls into. Nora Ivie would take the last drop of milk from a newborn if it would suit her purpose. But it is Adeline's father, the dreamer, who holds her heart. He's given up the sea as a sailor for the love of Nora Ivie. A love that is never quite returned even at his early death.It's 1908 and with few options for a young widow and her There are givers in this world and then there are the takers.In her brief twelve years, Adeline has had a front row seat in observing which category her mother falls into. Nora Ivie would take the last drop of milk from a newborn if it would suit her purpose. But it is Adeline's father, the dreamer, who holds her heart. He's given up the sea as a sailor for the love of Nora Ivie. A love that is never quite returned even at his early death.It's 1908 and with few options for a young widow and her daughter, Nora takes a job as a housekeeper on Thacher Island on the tip of Cape Ann. Nora connives her way into the household of the three lighthouse keepers with very dubious results. Adeline must try to adjust to life on the island where she is exposed to others with far higher standards than Nora. Adeline, sadly, has great difficulty in recognizing happiness.Everything My Mother Taught Me is a snippet of a short story packed to the brim with the uneven avenues of human nature. Alice Hoffman works her magic here in a limited piece, but with profound results. She showcases characters that are as smooth as glass while others wound with their sharpness of intent.Beautifully written by Hoffman and a personal longing for her to return to Adeline with a hefty novel in the making. Absolutely loved it.I received a copy through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Amazon Original Stories and to Alice Hoffman for the oportunity.
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    EVERYTHING MY MOTHER TAUGHT ME. Its been way too long since my last Alice Hoffman novel, and although this is a shortie, it is so full of substance. Circa 1900's New England. A now mute young twelve year old Adeline had such a wonderful loving father, but now only has her wretched floozy of a mother as they move to an old lighthouse where mother dear now works....and plays....and keeps secrets. But even in her silence, Adeline is a smart little cookie....as readers will see. Sign me up to EVERYTHING MY MOTHER TAUGHT ME. Its been way too long since my last Alice Hoffman novel, and although this is a shortie, it is so full of substance. Circa 1900's New England. A now mute young twelve year old Adeline had such a wonderful loving father, but now only has her wretched floozy of a mother as they move to an old lighthouse where mother dear now works....and plays....and keeps secrets. But even in her silence, Adeline is a smart little cookie....as readers will see. Sign me up to complete the upcoming Inheritance Collection and many thanks to Amazon Original Stories and NetGalley for the arc in exchange for review.
    more
  • Diane S ☔
    January 1, 1970
    Never knew Hoffman wrote short stories, but I thought this one was well done. Plus, always a draw for me, it was partially set in a lighthouse, though not too detailed a setting. Liked the premise, liked the execution and enjoyed the ending. Gives credence to the adage, revenge is sweet, or maybe, revenge is a dish better served cold. Both could apply.ARC from Netgalley.
    more
  • Andy Marr
    January 1, 1970
    I really wanted to like this a great deal better than I did. I loved the 12-year-old Adeline, and the other characters were well drawn, but the change of setting from Boston to the lighthouse and back to Boston again was too jarring for such a short story. I really think it would have worked better had it been set in a single location, with more time given to the story itself.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 StarsAdeline is twelve years old and all alone in this world. She lost a father whom she loved with all of her might and is little lost herself. Her mother, ignores her day in day out and Adeline has no hope of ever having a relationship with her. Cold and uncaring, her mother’s only concerns are her own. Obtaining a housekeeping job at an old Lighthouse, her mother makes Adeline leave the life she one knew for the unknown.Never uttering a word again, Adeline, sees and hears more than anyone 4 StarsAdeline is twelve years old and all alone in this world. She lost a father whom she loved with all of her might and is little lost herself. Her mother, ignores her day in day out and Adeline has no hope of ever having a relationship with her. Cold and uncaring, her mother’s only concerns are her own. Obtaining a housekeeping job at an old Lighthouse, her mother makes Adeline leave the life she one knew for the unknown.Never uttering a word again, Adeline, sees and hears more than anyone else ever could and helps those who help her. Tragic in some ways and beautiful in others, “Everything My Mother Taught Me” by Alice Hoffman is a lovely short story. The only thing I wish is that it had evoked a little more feeling in me or that perhaps it was longer and therefore I felt more for the characters. Sometimes I think it’s hard for short stories to give me everything I’m hoping for simply because they are in fact so short and I think that was the case here. That said, I loved how the story transpired between Adeline and another character and look forward to more novels by the incredible Ms. Hoffman.Thank you to NetGalley, Amazon Original Stories and Alice Hoffman for the arc.Published on Goodreads and NetGalley on 1.4.20.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    What a good writer Alice Hoffman is! It's really impressive that she has managed to convey so much in this 28 page short story of a young girl, ill treated and unloved by her adulterous mother in early 1900s Massachusetts. Her characters are fully formed with the tensions and drama between them clearly outlined and the young girl's thoughts and actions informing the narrative so well. Set in a small community of lighthouse keepers and their families on an island, it's very atmospheric with the What a good writer Alice Hoffman is! It's really impressive that she has managed to convey so much in this 28 page short story of a young girl, ill treated and unloved by her adulterous mother in early 1900s Massachusetts. Her characters are fully formed with the tensions and drama between them clearly outlined and the young girl's thoughts and actions informing the narrative so well. Set in a small community of lighthouse keepers and their families on an island, it's very atmospheric with the sounds of the sea, and the children's games on the beach in summer. Highly recommended!Part of a series of short stories, the Amazon Original Inheritence Collection, to be released on 19th Dec 2019. I received an advance digital copy, with thanks to Netgalley and Amazon.
    more
  • Cheri
    January 1, 1970
    !! NOW AVAILABLE !!This short story by Alice Hoffman is part of a collection of five short stories by different authors under the title of Inheritance, and if the other four are as good as this one, it will prove to be worth your time to check them all out. In twenty-eight pages, Hoffman shares an unforgettable story of a young woman living in the early 1900s with her parents in Boston whose life changes dramatically the year she turned twelve. First, her father becomes ill, and her mother is !! NOW AVAILABLE !!This short story by Alice Hoffman is part of a collection of five short stories by different authors under the title of Inheritance, and if the other four are as good as this one, it will prove to be worth your time to check them all out. In twenty-eight pages, Hoffman shares an unforgettable story of a young woman living in the early 1900s with her parents in Boston whose life changes dramatically the year she turned twelve. First, her father becomes ill, and her mother is fond of spending her time in a local tavern in the company of men. A tavern where Adeline often has to find her and bring her home. Adeline is warned by her mother not to tell her father what she’s seen, telling her to keep her mouth shut. And so she does, making a vow to remain silent.Twin lighthouses on the rocky coast of Cape Ann is where the later part of this story takes place, which adds a sense of isolation in the setting, prompting Adeline’s desire to create a different path for herself. A story with a haunting atmosphere that pulled me in from the first sentence about secrets, the ones we keep from others and the ones we keep from ourselves, as well. Pub Date: 19 Dec 2019Many thanks for the ARC provided by Amazon Original Stories through NetGalley
    more
  • Bianca
    January 1, 1970
    Everything My Mother Taught Me was different from what I expected, as it's about a bad mother, someone who had had a child too young and was too selfish to care about anyone.Edeline, the narrator of this short story, is twelve and grieving her father's death. Her unfaithful mother has to take a job as a cleaner in a lighthouse complex off the tip of Cape Ann, Massachusets.Only three families live there, Edeline, who's become a selective mute, most helps with chores and looks after the children. Everything My Mother Taught Me was different from what I expected, as it's about a bad mother, someone who had had a child too young and was too selfish to care about anyone.Edeline, the narrator of this short story, is twelve and grieving her father's death. Her unfaithful mother has to take a job as a cleaner in a lighthouse complex off the tip of Cape Ann, Massachusets.Only three families live there, Edeline, who's become a selective mute, most helps with chores and looks after the children.She may not talk but she's very observant.Another excellent short story from the Amazon Originals collection.I've received this via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely brilliant short story in the Amazon Original Stories series. Nora Ivie is a nightmare of a mother, in fact, the term is loose and in her case ,very loose. She drinks, sleeps around and couldn’t give a fig about her daughter Adeline. When her beloved father dies Adeline becomes a selective mute. With no income Nora takes a job as housekeeper on a remote lighthouse on Thacher Island, near Cape Ann. What unfolds is a story in which Nora gets her just desserts. Although this is an Absolutely brilliant short story in the Amazon Original Stories series. Nora Ivie is a nightmare of a mother, in fact, the term is loose and in her case ,very loose. She drinks, sleeps around and couldn’t give a fig about her daughter Adeline. When her beloved father dies Adeline becomes a selective mute. With no income Nora takes a job as housekeeper on a remote lighthouse on Thacher Island, near Cape Ann. What unfolds is a story in which Nora gets her just desserts. Although this is an extremely short story (30 minutes??) it is packed with atmosphere and some beautiful descriptions of the island and it’s wild weather. It’s amazing too, how in so few words you can so easily picture the characters and who is likeable and who isn’t. This fantastic story is about revenge, and joyous freedom and is one I highly recommend as the storytelling while brief, is masterful.
    more
  • Lori Lamothe
    January 1, 1970
    I adore Alice Hoffman. And though I love her novels, it's her story collections I find myself pulling off the shelf to reread. Like the stories in Blackbird House and The Red Garden, “Everything My Mother Taught Me” takes place in remote New England. With its twin lighthouses, luminous snowdrifts and acres of rocks, Thacher Island in the early 1900s is just as brutally beautiful as the locations in those two books. I can say the same for the story, which centers on the relationship between I adore Alice Hoffman. And though I love her novels, it's her story collections I find myself pulling off the shelf to reread. Like the stories in Blackbird House and The Red Garden, “Everything My Mother Taught Me” takes place in remote New England. With its twin lighthouses, luminous snowdrifts and acres of rocks, Thacher Island in the early 1900s is just as brutally beautiful as the locations in those two books. I can say the same for the story, which centers on the relationship between 12-year-old Adeline Cutler and her mother Nora. Because of his early death, Adeline's father is mostly absent from the tale but like her vow of silence he exerts a quiet power over the narrative.As always, Hoffman's writing is gorgeous and multi-layered and more ambiguous than it seems on the surface. The parallel between the sea – “calm as glass, deep-black glass that liked to take a life or two” -- and the events described is flawless. I'm tempted to say more but will keep this brief in keeping with the tale itself.“Everything My Mother Taught Me” is part of Inheritance, a story collection forthcoming later this year. Though the remaining four pieces are written by other authors, Anthony Marra's “The Lion's Den” is currently available for request on Netgalley. I'm also going to use this opportunity to say I hope Hoffman will write another interlinked story collection set in New England – or to be more specific, to write one set on Thacher Island.Much thanks to Amazon and NetGalley for providing me an ARC in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    Don’t let the title fool you…The title was a turn-off, as I assumed this short story would be a mom and daughter chummy-chummy love fest. 1, I’ve had enough of those Hallmark-y stories, and 2, I can’t relate. But boy was I wrong. This is a story about a nice girl with a bad mom. Mom and 12-year-old Adeline (named after a bar of soap) live on an isolated island off Massachusetts in the early 1900s. The story seemed like it could be set in any time period; not sure why it was the old days.I’m not Don’t let the title fool you…The title was a turn-off, as I assumed this short story would be a mom and daughter chummy-chummy love fest. 1, I’ve had enough of those Hallmark-y stories, and 2, I can’t relate. But boy was I wrong. This is a story about a nice girl with a bad mom. Mom and 12-year-old Adeline (named after a bar of soap) live on an isolated island off Massachusetts in the early 1900s. The story seemed like it could be set in any time period; not sure why it was the old days.I’m not going to reveal anything about the story, other than to say we all wished mom would behave herself.I’ve read earlier Hoffman, and I like her writing. Sometimes you know a writer by her style, but honestly, I couldn’t recognize this story as being written by her. Regardless, this is a well-written story with a clever and endearing character. I didn’t want it to end. Great ending, too. I’d love it if Hoffman would write a novel with Adeline as its star.There were a few duplicate sentences; I’m assuming the errors were fixed before publication. Check it out. It’s only $1.99 on Kindle (free with Prime). It’s money well spent. Thanks to NetGalley for an advance copy.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    “Inheritance is a collection of five Amazon Original short stories about secrets, unspoken desires, and dangerous revelations between loved ones...”“Did you want something?” She would ask. Yes, I felt like saying. A mother.” A young girl stops speaking when her beloved father dies...This is a story, set in the 1900’s about how she finds her voice again. Just 28 pages, and the first story from the collection that I have read.it was touching...but, I don’t think I was as moved by it as many of the “Inheritance is a collection of five Amazon Original short stories about secrets, unspoken desires, and dangerous revelations between loved ones...”“Did you want something?” She would ask. Yes, I felt like saying. A mother.” A young girl stops speaking when her beloved father dies...This is a story, set in the 1900’s about how she finds her voice again. Just 28 pages, and the first story from the collection that I have read.it was touching...but, I don’t think I was as moved by it as many of the other reviewers were...Thank you to Netgalley, Amazon Originals and Alice Hoffman for providing a digital ARC in exchange for a candid review!Available Dec. 19, 2019
    more
Write a review