Hurry Home
From the bestselling author of Our Little Secret comes a suspenseful new thriller featuring two estranged sisters desperate to keep their deepest and darkest secret where it belongs--in the past.Blood is thicker than water... And it could cost you everything.Alexandra Van Ness has the perfect life. She lives in an idyllic resort town tucked away in the Rocky Mountains, shares a designer loft with her handsome boyfriend, Chase, and has her dream job working in child protection. Every day, Alex goes above and beyond to save children at risk. But when her long-lost sister, Ruth, unexpectedly shows up at her door, Alex's perfect life is upended. Growing up, Ruth was always the troublemaker, pulling Alex into her messes, and this time will be no different. Still, Alex will help Ruth under one condition: we will never, ever, talk about the past. But when a local child goes missing, both women are forced to confront the secrets they've promised to keep buried.Utterly engrossing and claustrophobic, Hurry Home is a tantalizing reflection of the chain-and-shackles relationship between sisters that asks: what lines wouldn't you cross for your own?

Hurry Home Details

TitleHurry Home
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 7th, 2020
PublisherCrooked Lane Books
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction

Hurry Home Review

  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    This is my first completed book of 2020 and Roz Nay nailed it. Before this book I used to wish I had a sister. Not anymore. Alex Van Ness is leading a wonderful life. She has a job with CPS and her model boyfriend is about as perfect as they come. Until one day there is a knock at her door. Ruth. Ruth is her older sister and all around troublemaker. They have been estranged for many years and Alex can't help but wonder why she has come to look for her now. She claims she wants to make amends and This is my first completed book of 2020 and Roz Nay nailed it. Before this book I used to wish I had a sister. Not anymore. Alex Van Ness is leading a wonderful life. She has a job with CPS and her model boyfriend is about as perfect as they come. Until one day there is a knock at her door. Ruth. Ruth is her older sister and all around troublemaker. They have been estranged for many years and Alex can't help but wonder why she has come to look for her now. She claims she wants to make amends and become sisters again but Alex is wary and perhaps she should be. I really can't discuss the plot too much because you will be so much better off going into this blind. I really didn't have high expectations for this book, not sure why as I loved her debut, but this turned out to be much more satisfying than I could have ever expected so much so that I'm kicking myself for not picking this up sooner. And you know what? Since this is my first book of 2020 I'm going to go ahead and give this one ALL THE STARS!!! May it set the bar for my future reads this year. Thank you to NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsMy first book by Roz Nay and I can say I enjoyed her writing and story building.The story involves two sisters- Alexandra and Ruth, trust, and their back history. When Ruth shows up unexpectedly at Alex's apartment the drama begins, the secrets from their childhood stir emotions and you just know something is not quite right.This read more like a mystery for me than a thriller. There are pieces of the puzzles to put together, but I was able to predict the ending. Still an enjoyable 3.5 StarsMy first book by Roz Nay and I can say I enjoyed her writing and story building.The story involves two sisters- Alexandra and Ruth, trust, and their back history. When Ruth shows up unexpectedly at Alex's apartment the drama begins, the secrets from their childhood stir emotions and you just know something is not quite right.This read more like a mystery for me than a thriller. There are pieces of the puzzles to put together, but I was able to predict the ending. Still an enjoyable mystery and a quick read with some twists that may surprise you.Thanks to the Publisher and NG for my review copy. OUT July 7, 2020
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    As someone who is an only child, but has two daughters, the relationship between sisters fascinates me to no end. That's truly the focus of Hurry Home, which is less a thriller and more a character study draped in elements of domestic drama. While I was able to predict the ending, I think the strongest aspects of this story are the claustrophobic atmosphere and growing sense of dread that something is not right between these sisters. If you enjoy slow burning mysteries, I recommend giving this As someone who is an only child, but has two daughters, the relationship between sisters fascinates me to no end. That's truly the focus of Hurry Home, which is less a thriller and more a character study draped in elements of domestic drama. While I was able to predict the ending, I think the strongest aspects of this story are the claustrophobic atmosphere and growing sense of dread that something is not right between these sisters. If you enjoy slow burning mysteries, I recommend giving this one a try for yourself. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Publication date: July 7, 2020Alex Van Ness is a social worker who dedicates her life to saving children. Living in the mountains with her model boyfriend, Chase, Alex prides herself on the fact that she has been able to start over, rebuilding her life after the tragic death of her brother as a child. When Alexs sister, Ruth, shows up on her doorstep one day, Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Publication date: July 7, 2020Alex Van Ness is a social worker who dedicates her life to saving children. Living in the mountains with her model boyfriend, Chase, Alex prides herself on the fact that she has been able to start over, rebuilding her life after the tragic death of her brother as a child. When Alex’s sister, Ruth, shows up on her doorstep one day, desperate and pregnant, Alex is forced to face those horrifying memories once again. As the family secrets slowly reveal themselves, Alex and Ruth are forced to uncover the lies, memories and secrets of their past before one, or both, of their lives are destroyed forever. “Hurry Home” is the first novel I’ve read by author Roz Nay. Her previous novel, “Our Little Secret” has been identified as a psychological suspense but I’m not sure if this one first this same mould. “Hurry Home” is more of a mystery, or family drama, full of family secrets and the consequences that come from keeping them hidden. Right from the beginning, this novel leaves you guessing. When you are first introduced to Alex, there is an instant bond, and you root for her, happy that she has been able to start her life over again after the tragedy. When Ruth is introduced, doubts start springing up like roots through cement. Is Alex who she says she is? Could Ruth really be the person Alex has told everyone she is? Although some parts of this novel are predictable if you are familiar with this genre (or just an over-zealous reader, like myself), the novel is a great read. The suspense picks up right at the beginning and doesn’t slow down. As the story unfolds, I wanted to know how it would end, even though I had a pretty good idea. This novel is taut and high-paced, and it has definitely brought Roz Nay onto my radar.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    Is it possible for a book to be a super quick read, while also being super slow-burning? The book sped by on my Kindle, reaching the 10% mark after only a few pages, yet the story was rather slow and, dare I say, kind of "meh." This isn't a suspense/thriller, it's a domestic drama...one which is very easy to figure out. My biggest gripe was the dialogue, which was not good. At the end of the day, this wasn't a bad book, but neither was it a great book. It falls somewhere into the average Is it possible for a book to be a super quick read, while also being super slow-burning? The book sped by on my Kindle, reaching the 10% mark after only a few pages, yet the story was rather slow and, dare I say, kind of "meh." This isn't a suspense/thriller, it's a domestic drama...one which is very easy to figure out. My biggest gripe was the dialogue, which was not good. At the end of the day, this wasn't a bad book, but neither was it a great book. It falls somewhere into the average category, bringing absolutely nothing new to the table. Hurry Home is available for sale in the US on July 7th.Many thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    This book drug like a dead husband's body on an episode of Snapped.I wouldn't call this story a thriller so if you're going into it (as I did) expecting anything more than a family drama, you may be disappointed. Two sisters, one or both may or may not be reliable. Secrets. They have lots of secrets. One more than the other. "... even when sisterhood is a prison, like it has been for me, its always, always a vault."Repeat aforementioned synopsis over and over and over and you have the book.Flat. This book drug like a dead husband's body on an episode of Snapped.I wouldn't call this story a thriller so if you're going into it (as I did) expecting anything more than a family drama, you may be disappointed. Two sisters, one or both may or may not be reliable. Secrets. They have lots of secrets. One more than the other. "... even when sisterhood is a prison, like it has been for me, it’s always, always a vault."Repeat aforementioned synopsis over and over and over and you have the book.Flat. That's the best word I have to describe this story. As of the posting of this review, EVERYBODY loves this book. Please don't take my word as gospel, it just wasn't for me. I hope you like it better than I did. ** Thank you to the publisher for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Tahera
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes words aren't enough, or they just don't matter. And even when sisterhood is a prison, like it has been for me, it's always, always a vault. The above line seems to sum up the entire plot of this book. It took me a while to finish this book; not because it wasn't a good book (it is!) but because I was wary to know how the story was going to end. There was something very unnerving about Alex and Ruth and their relationship with each other, despite both of them being sisters. What I Sometimes words aren't enough, or they just don't matter. And even when sisterhood is a prison, like it has been for me, it's always, always a vault. The above line seems to sum up the entire plot of this book. It took me a while to finish this book; not because it wasn't a good book (it is!) but because I was wary to know how the story was going to end. There was something very unnerving about Alex and Ruth and their relationship with each other, despite both of them being sisters. What I really liked is that the author didn't drag the book with any sort of melodrama. My thanks to NetGalley, the publisher Crooked Lane Books and the author for an e-Arc of the book.
    more
  • Lars (theatretenor) Skaar
    January 1, 1970
    Im so sad my second Roz Nay novel is over. I WANT MORE!She has done it again, folks. Holy cow. What a thrill ride. I was fully engrossed from the beginning.The characters are so REAL. So real. I didnt even feel like I was reading a novel at all. I honestly was so into it that I had to stop and tell myself it wasnt real. When certain things happened that I can say here I was in tears. And other times flabbergasted, and other times cheering.What a plot too. Are there twists? You bet there are! God I’m so sad my second Roz Nay novel is over. I WANT MORE!She has done it again, folks. Holy cow. What a thrill ride. I was fully engrossed from the beginning.The characters are so REAL. So real. I didn’t even feel like I was reading a novel at all. I honestly was so into it that I had to stop and tell myself it wasn’t real. When certain things happened that I can say here I was in tears. And other times flabbergasted, and other times cheering.What a plot too. Are there twists? You bet there are! God damn, one of my favorite twists ever in a book. And I didn’t see it coming, I really didn’t! It was so seamless and so well pulled off that I was shocked.I wish I could go into details, but I want you to experience it all for yourself!Get lost in this amazing thriller. Should I call it a domestic thriller? I’m not good with labels, but I’d say it is.And once more for the people in the cheap seats — I WANT MORE! 😫 I don’t want it to be over. Genuinely.Five massive stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ genius level writing, in my humble opinion.Thank you to Netgalley and Crooked Lane books and Roz Nay for making this available to download and read. Go get it!
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    Full review coming soon.
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Thank to NetGalley for ARC. Pub DateJuly 7, 2020Let me just get this out there. To some it mite be predictable but for me, I'm slow in finding out things even if they are right in front of me 😅 So the whole book surprised me. I was just gasping with all the secrets busting out from every freaking corner. This was a good family drama and I'm not a fan of those because it's so predictable, so this blew me away. The beginning you start off with Alex. She's hunted by her past but seems to have her Thank to NetGalley for ARC. Pub DateJuly 7, 2020Let me just get this out there. To some it mite be predictable but for me, I'm slow in finding out things even if they are right in front of me 😅 So the whole book surprised me. I was just gasping with all the secrets busting out from every freaking corner. This was a good family drama and I'm not a fan of those because it's so predictable, so this blew me away. The beginning you start off with Alex. She's hunted by her past but seems to have her life together. Then her sister, Ruth, comes to the picture and shit hits the fan for Alex. This books is told by Alex and Ruth. You begin to make your own opinions of them, who's telling the truth, who's good and bad, what's their intentions? EVIIIIL!!! There were many times that I freaking gasped!!! I just didn't know who to believe. Like I said, EVIIIL!!!!! I highly recommend it. As soon as it comes out, get it What I didn't like was the begining, kind of slow, and the characters Sully. I didn't know who he was, only that he was attractive and a cop.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    More than Santa Claus, your sister knows when you've been bad and good.But which one gets the candy canes in her stocking and which one gets the coal and wood?Alexandra Van Ness seems to have settled into a cozy life with her athletic ski model of a boyfriend in Moses River surrounded by the Rocky Mountains. Chase has a loft apartment where they both live in near perfect harmony.But outside the walls of that beautiful loft, Alex has a highly stressful job as a social worker with Child Protective More than Santa Claus, your sister knows when you've been bad and good.But which one gets the candy canes in her stocking and which one gets the coal and wood?Alexandra Van Ness seems to have settled into a cozy life with her athletic ski model of a boyfriend in Moses River surrounded by the Rocky Mountains. Chase has a loft apartment where they both live in near perfect harmony.But outside the walls of that beautiful loft, Alex has a highly stressful job as a social worker with Child Protective Services. She tries not to bring the weight of her daily encounters home to Chase. For some time, Alex has been meeting up with Sully, a law enforcement officer, who lives not too far from Alex and Chase. Over coffee in the mornings, they discuss anonymous situations that have been plaguing Alex in her line of work. Sully has been great at pulling Alex back from the edge of frustration.Soon they'll be a situation that even Sully won't be able to sort through for Alex. There's a knock at the door one day and Alex stares hard into the face of her older sister, Ruth. She hasn't seen Ruth in over ten years. Ruth brings with her a load of baggage that is electrically charged. How does she explain Ruth to Chase? Ruth is expecting to crash at her sister's one bedroom loft. Alex makes her promise not to bring up their past family life. Somehow secrets seep under the floor boards.......Roz Nay brings us to the outskirts of Twisted Sisters, Inc.. Each chapter will flow in the voice of separate sisters. And what is the true truth? The Sherlocks out there may see which path this is taking through those Rocky Mountains. Yet, Hurry Home is quite enough to make the reader squirm in all the right places. A quick read that takes us to the dark side of the mind.I received a copy of Hurry Home through the publisher: Crooked Lane Books. My thanks to them and to Roz Nay for the opportunity.
    more
  • Kimberly Belle
    January 1, 1970
    A gripping story of two estranged sisters, both broken by a tragic event in their past. I flew through this one, where each twist turned the story upside down and had me constantly switching alliances. A psychological thriller that will mess with your mind.
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    Just finished reading Hurry Home by Roz NayThis was a good thriller with lots of twists and turns. A quick book to read. A little predictable but none the less a good bookIt flows well, and kept my interest throughout the storyline Thanks to NetGalley and Crooked Lane for an early copy to read for my honest review
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    I loved Roz Nay's debut novel, Our Little Secret, so I was very excited to pick up her upcoming novel, Hurry Home . Sadly, this book was more of a familiar family drama story and didn't hit it out of the park for me. I felt like I've read this story over and over again. 2020 Dennis promises to not decimate books in unfavorable reviews, so I will leave it at that. Roz Nay is a fabulous writer and I know many will enjoy this story.
    more
  • Indieflower
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this tale, part family drama, part psychological thriller. Entertaining and twisty, I zipped through it in no time. Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the ARC, I'll definitely be looking for more by Roz Nay.
  • Venla
    January 1, 1970
    2,5 starsHurry Home by Roz Nay is about two sisters, Alexandra and Ruth, who reunite again after not being in contact with eachother for many years. When Ruth enters Alexandra's life again, things start to build up and drama begins to take place around them.I don't want to draw anymore attention to the plot because this book will be better if you don't know too much about it before hand. To me, this was once again one of those books that I struggled with a lot and hardly finished it in the end. 2,5 starsHurry Home by Roz Nay is about two sisters, Alexandra and Ruth, who reunite again after not being in contact with eachother for many years. When Ruth enters Alexandra's life again, things start to build up and drama begins to take place around them.I don't want to draw anymore attention to the plot because this book will be better if you don't know too much about it before hand. To me, this was once again one of those books that I struggled with a lot and hardly finished it in the end. I feel like Alexandra is not a very likeable character and that was one of the things that annoyed me the most. The other characters felt also very distant from the reader and threw my attention away from the actual plot. In addition, I wouldn't categorise this as a thriller, it seems like a mystery and nothing more.
    more
  • Christine Mott
    January 1, 1970
    Hurry HomeBy: Roz Nay4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐This is the story of two sisters who have been torn apart after a family tragedy. Alexandra, or Alex is a social worker working for child protective services. She lives with her boyfriend Chase in the Rocky Mountains.⛰ One day Alex gets a knock on her door from her sister Ruth. She has not had contact with her in many years. Ruth is running away from her sorted past and is pregnant. She seemingly tries to repair her relationship with her sister.⛰They both have a past Hurry HomeBy: Roz Nay4 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This is the story of two sisters who have been torn apart after a family tragedy. Alexandra, or Alex is a social worker working for child protective services. She lives with her boyfriend Chase in the Rocky Mountains.⛰ One day Alex gets a knock on her door from her sister Ruth. She has not had contact with her in many years. Ruth is running away from her sorted past and is pregnant. She seemingly tries to repair her relationship with her sister.⛰They both have a past they would like to forget and it becomes apparent that their past catches up with them. This story took me a while to get into, but once I felt invested in their relationship, I continued. I am glad I did. Family is not always easy, but love and communication can be key. Thank you NetGalley, Roz Nay and Crooked Lane publishing for the advanced copy.#roznay, #hurryhome, #psychologicalthriller, #reading, #crookedlanepublishing, #netgalley, #bookstagram, #bookreview, #stamperlady50
    more
  • Sonica
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Simon & Schuster Canada and Roz Nay for my advanced copy of Hurry Home, in exchange for my honest review. This title publishes July 7, 2020.I dont normally read galleys this far in advance but when this one landed in my mailbox in December, I couldnt dive in fast enough. I inhaled it in one sitting; to say I loved it would be an understatement.Spoiler alert: this book was DYNAMITE. Roz Nay, you knocked it way out of the park with Book 2 and just so its clear I LOVED Book 1.Told Thank you Simon & Schuster Canada and Roz Nay for my advanced copy of Hurry Home, in exchange for my honest review. This title publishes July 7, 2020.I don’t normally read galleys this far in advance but when this one landed in my mailbox in December, I couldn’t dive in fast enough. I inhaled it in one sitting; to say I loved it would be an understatement.Spoiler alert: this book was DYNAMITE. Roz Nay, you knocked it way out of the park with Book 2 – and just so it’s clear – I LOVED Book 1.Told in alternating POVs of two sisters, Alex and Ruth, this was a well-executed family drama at the best I have read in a long time. The ability to take a family drama storyline and turn into a stick of dynamite is sheer talent and that is exactly what happened here.This story was executed perfectly and the characters well-developed; two strong female protagonists, who were also very unreliable narrators telling their own versions of the same story, I found myself very torn about who I liked better and whose story I believed more. I kept flip flopping between the two until the big reveal, which I DID NOT SEE COMING DAMMIT! It was seamlessly dropped and will have you gasping. I’m still shocked I had it all wrong!I won’t give anything more away because I think this is one book you’ll want to discover on your own but I will say that this is a MUST READ – a Run, Don’t Walk to grab your copy when it becomes available on July 7. In true Roz Nay fashion, this book delivers on all fronts: suspense, thrill and shock value. A story where nothing and NO ONE is what it seems, you’ll be gasping with the reveals.High on my 2020 top reads list, this is surely going to be a hot read this summer.
    more
  • Amy (TheSouthernGirlReads)
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for my review copy Roz Nay became a favorite with her debut Our Little Secret. OLS came out of nowhere for me in 2018. Sincerely....amazing read. Needless to say when I saw Hurry Home I was all gimme, gimme now. Lets talk about Hurry Home though. I picked it up one morning...I finished the same night. Another compulsive read 🙌. This story focuses on two sisters. Alex has the perfect life. Good looking boyfriend, job as a social worker, fantastic friend Thank you NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for my review copy Roz Nay became a favorite with her debut Our Little Secret. OLS came out of nowhere for me in 2018. Sincerely....amazing read. Needless to say when I saw Hurry Home I was all gimme, gimme now. Let’s talk about Hurry Home though. I picked it up one morning...I finished the same night. Another compulsive read 🙌🏻. This story focuses on two sisters. Alex has the perfect life. Good looking boyfriend, job as a social worker, fantastic friend and sounding board in police officer Sully....but then, her wayward sister Ruth shows up and turns everything upside down. I’m not going to say more as this is absolutely a book you need to read going in blind. Y’all I could not put it down. From the setting, the characters to the plot line...Roz does such a great job keeping the reader invested. Roz’s sophomore novel cements it. She is an author to keep on your shelf. Can I tell you a secret? Come closer...a smidge closer....I get a Ruth Ware vibe 😍. No wasted words (thank you Roz 🙌🏻), atmospheric; I’m transported to the setting, fantastic character story telling, and well developed characters . I will be highly recommending Hurry Home.I’m ending with 4 1/2 stars 🤗.Grab it July 2020
    more
  • Indieflower
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this tale, part family drama, part psychological thriller. Entertaining and twisty, I zipped through it in no time. Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the ARC, I will be looking for more by Roz Nay.
  • Chelsea | Thriller Book Babe 🔎
    January 1, 1970
    Hurry Home has been on my TBR for a while now, and Im so happy I finally got around to reading it. Crooked Lane books always puts out amazing stories, and this one is no different! Thank you so much to them, along with Roz Nay and netgalley for this dramatic piece of fiction.Hurry home is about Alex, a girl living her perfect life when her long-lost sister Ruth shows up pregnant and in trouble. Alex has been doing her best to forget her past and hasnt let her boyfriend Chase in on anything. Now, Hurry Home has been on my TBR for a while now, and I’m so happy I finally got around to reading it. Crooked Lane books always puts out amazing stories, and this one is no different! Thank you so much to them, along with Roz Nay and netgalley for this dramatic piece of fiction.Hurry home is about Alex, a girl living her perfect life when her long-lost sister Ruth shows up pregnant and in trouble. Alex has been doing her best to forget her past and hasn’t let her boyfriend Chase in on anything. Now, she comes face to face with who she was and what she was trying to escape from. Ruth has always been a troublemaker, and Alex has always tried to avoid the trouble Ruth brought into their lives, but now she won’t be able to escape from her past.Thoughts: I had no idea what this book was going to be about and I was intrigued from the start. I knew going in this was more of a family drama than thriller, which made me not want to give up on it from the start. The premise was interesting and I found all the characters to be interesting. There wasn’t much that could happen in the plot, and it ended just like I thought it was going to. It was a fun story to follow, but predictable. I was hoping for new elements to be introduced, but in the end it was a quick and enjoyable read. 4-stars from me.
    more
  • ʚϊɞ Shelley ʚϊɞ
    January 1, 1970
    Gripping, disturbing, emotional and heart wrenching. Hurry home is an outstanding story about dark and disturbing secrets. This is a subtle story, where little is actually spelled out, but much is inferred. The author does a masterful job of slowly revealing the background and secrets of the sisters. Tragic subject matter but the author did a great job with the main characters point of view. Short chapters and wonderful writing kept me reading and looking forward to what was next. Roz Nay has Gripping, disturbing, emotional and heart wrenching. Hurry home is an outstanding story about dark and disturbing secrets. This is a subtle story, where little is actually spelled out, but much is inferred. The author does a masterful job of slowly revealing the background and secrets of the sisters. Tragic subject matter but the author did a great job with the main characters point of view. Short chapters and wonderful writing kept me reading and looking forward to what was next. Roz Nay has another winner here.
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    When it is snowy and cold outside, superspeed readers like me can read 150 - 200+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book and many more today. LOLI received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸.From the bestselling author of Our Little Secret comes a suspenseful new When it is snowy and cold outside, superspeed readers like me can read 150 - 200+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOLI received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸.From the bestselling author of Our Little Secret comes a suspenseful new thriller featuring two estranged sisters desperate to keep their deepest and darkest secret where it belongs--in the past.Blood is thicker than water... And it could cost you everything.Alexandra Van Ness has a perfect life. She lives in an idyllic resort town tucked away in the Rocky Mountains, shares a designer loft with her handsome boyfriend, Chase, and has her dream job working in child protection. Every day, Alex goes above and beyond to save children at risk.But when her long-lost sister, Ruth, unexpectedly shows up at her door, Alex's perfect life is upended. Growing up, Ruth was always the troublemaker, pulling Alex into her messes, and this time will be no different. Still, Alex will help Ruth under one condition: we will never, ever, talk about the past. But when a local child goes missing, both women are forced to confront the secrets they've promised to keep buried.Utterly engrossing and claustrophobic, Hurry Home is a tantalizing reflection of the chain-and-shackles relationship between sisters that asks: what lines wouldn't you cross for your own?Having adored Miss Nay's last book "Our Little Secret" I dove headfirst into this book with the expectations that my socks would be blown off.-- they were! Family secrets can ruin the most idyllic life and this book proves it. The characters are intriguing and the plot masterfully crafted and I would not do 1% of what Alexandra did for hers. (looooooong story). If you want a read that will entice you in and keep you glued to the page, this is it: and if you have not read her previous book, then go back and read that one, too and SOON! Be jealous of the fact that I got to read it eight months before you did ... take this one to the beach with you: it is not fluffy but it readable in all locations, inside and out! As always, I try to find a reason to not rate with stars as I love emojis (outside of their incessant use by "🙏-ed Social Influencer Millennials/#BachelorNation survivors/etc. " on Instagram and Twitter... Get a real job, people!) so let's give it 🧦🧦🧦🧦🧦 (not lost in the wash, blown off!)
    more
  • Hannah Mary McKinnon
    January 1, 1970
    In Hurry Home Roz Nay expertly creates real and deeply flawed characters who pull you in and hold you close, only to make you question and shift your allegiances as the story unfolds. This tale about two sisters who loveand love to hateis as dark as it is twisty, emotional and suspenseful. Its one that should be at the top of your to read list right now. In Hurry Home Roz Nay expertly creates real and deeply flawed characters who pull you in and hold you close, only to make you question and shift your allegiances as the story unfolds. This tale about two sisters who love—and love to hate—is as dark as it is twisty, emotional and suspenseful. It’s one that should be at the top of your “to read” list right now.
    more
  • Jannelies
    January 1, 1970
    I find it hard to classify this book. It is not a thriller but more a drama. A family drama in more than one way. Alexandra and Ruth share the memory of their own family drama, which goes back to the death of their little brother. Alexandra chose to get a job in child protection so she deals with family dramas every day. And sometimes she uses unorthodox ways to help those families. When Ruth, after a long time of no contact at all, suddenly turns up at Alexandras door, it all comes together I find it hard to classify this book. It is not a thriller but more a drama. A family drama in more than one way. Alexandra and Ruth share the memory of their own family drama, which goes back to the death of their little brother. Alexandra chose to get a job in child protection so she deals with family dramas every day. And sometimes she uses unorthodox ways to help those families. When Ruth, after a long time of no contact at all, suddenly turns up at Alexandra’s door, it all comes together – who is telling the truth?It was a nice read but very predictable in places. The handsome boyfriend, the even more handsome police officer, the grumpy boss, the colleague who makes ‘the wrong decisions’ every time, and last but not least the sister, the wild child, who run away as a young teenager with a boy with a bad background, who now returns with a whole different story to tell. I must admit I found the main characters a bit flat with an exception to the colleague. For me, she stood out. Maybe not in a good way, but I could see who she was and where she came from. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for this digital ARC.
    more
  • Wendy Walker
    January 1, 1970
    Hurry Home is one of those intimate thrillers that pulls you into the world of two possibly unreliable narrators, each telling a different version of the same story - a tragic childhood event with devastating consequences. These two estranged sisters are reunited after many years, and each of them tells us her side of both past and present. The unfolding of the truth happens so slowly and methodically, you don't notice it until it's snuck right up on you. Well crafted and superbly executed!
    more
  • Melanie Johnson
    January 1, 1970
    Alex works for child protective services and live with her super hot boyfriend, Chase. One day her sister, Ruth, shows up on her doorstep. She hasnt seen her sister in over 10 years. Ruth is pregnant and needs help, so Alex lets her live with her and Chase so she can get on her feet. However, Alex begins to think that Ruths baby might be in trouble. This one was so freaking good. I loved it so much and almost finished an entire pack of cookies while stress eating. Thanks to NetGalley for the Alex works for child protective services and live with her super hot boyfriend, Chase. One day her sister, Ruth, shows up on her doorstep. She hasn’t seen her sister in over 10 years. Ruth is pregnant and needs help, so Alex lets her live with her and Chase so she can get on her feet. However, Alex begins to think that Ruth’s baby might be in trouble. This one was so freaking good. I loved it so much and almost finished an entire pack of cookies while stress eating. Thanks to NetGalley for the advanced copy!
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    I just couldnt stop reading this! The drama the characters! I thought I had it figured out but omg was I wrong! This book was fantastic! Loved the depth of the characters and one minute I loved Ruth the next I loved Alexis. Thanks to Netgalley for an advanced ebook copy of this that isnt out until July of 202 but add this to your TBR pile for sure! I just couldn’t stop reading this! The drama the characters! I thought I had it figured out but omg was I wrong! This book was fantastic! Loved the depth of the characters and one minute I loved Ruth the next I loved Alexis. Thanks to Netgalley for an advanced ebook copy of this that isn’t out until July of 202 but add this to your TBR pile for sure!
    more
  • Sunshyne
    January 1, 1970
    Holy Shirts!!! Omg!!! This book was every freaking thing. I was totally invested in this story. Soon as I was rooting for one character boom, things change an Im caught up in the web of lies and deceit of another character. This story was amazing and very well written. Im ready to read more from this author!! Holy Shirts!!! Omg!!! This book was every freaking thing. I was totally invested in this story. Soon as I was rooting for one character boom, things change an I’m caught up in the web of lies and deceit of another character. This story was amazing and very well written. I’m ready to read more from this author!!
    more
  • Cyndi
    January 1, 1970
    Alex and Ruth are estranged sisters who meet up again when Ruth shows up on Alexs doorstep pregnant. Soon, their very complicated past catches up with both of them and dark secrets are exposed.I loved and flew threw the first 75% of this. The Rocky Mountain setting, the scenario and the multiple povs all worked well in creating suspense and intrigue. After that, everything quickly went downhill for me. The characters actions became completely implausible, showing no depth or realness, but Alex and Ruth are estranged sisters who meet up again when Ruth shows up on Alex’s doorstep pregnant. Soon, their very complicated past catches up with both of them and dark secrets are exposed.I loved and flew threw the first 75% of this. The Rocky Mountain setting, the scenario and the multiple povs all worked well in creating suspense and intrigue. After that, everything quickly went downhill for me. The characters’ actions became completely implausible, showing no depth or realness, but completely succumbing to black or white thinking. I really did not care for the book after that and was relieved to be finished. 2.5 disappointing stars rounded up to 3.Many thanks to Netgalley, Crooked Lane Books and Roz Nay for my complimentary e-copy ARC in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
    more
Write a review