Naked in Death (In Death #1)
Here is the novel that started it all- the first book in J.D. Robb's number-one New York Times-bestselling In Death series, featuring New York homicide detective Lieutenant Eve Dallas and Roarke. It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing: passion. When a senator's daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she'd been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washington politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve's growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome... and the leading suspect in the investigation.

Naked in Death (In Death #1) Details

TitleNaked in Death (In Death #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 1st, 1995
PublisherBerkley Publishing Group
ISBN-139780425148297
Rating
GenreMystery, Romance, Crime, Fiction, Romantic Suspense

Naked in Death (In Death #1) Review

  • Tatiana
    January 1, 1970
    ... and I was enjoying it up until too swift of a turn into Romancelandia.The popularity of Naked in Death is completely understandable to me. The attraction here is the same as in the most of urban fantasy IMO. Mystery-solving, some world-building (in this case, futuristic instead of paranormal) - it all is only background noise. What you are actually anticipating is the heroine's hookup with some handsome hunk. (That's what I read urban fantasy for anyway.) And the hunk here is something speci ... and I was enjoying it up until too swift of a turn into Romancelandia.The popularity of Naked in Death is completely understandable to me. The attraction here is the same as in the most of urban fantasy IMO. Mystery-solving, some world-building (in this case, futuristic instead of paranormal) - it all is only background noise. What you are actually anticipating is the heroine's hookup with some handsome hunk. (That's what I read urban fantasy for anyway.) And the hunk here is something special - (1) he is drowning in money; (2) super hot; (3) has morals; (4) buys the heroine stuff; (5) feeds her; (6) he adores everything about the heroine from the get-go; (7), (8), (9) and (10) HE SPEAKS WITH AN IRISH ACCENT. What's not to like, right?Unfortunately, Roarke never managed to work his magic on me. I thought he was controlling, patronizing, stalkerish even, always forcing Eve out of her comfort zone and himself on her (in that signature way - I am going to make you have the most intense orgasm you've ever had, no matter if you want it or not, because I know what you need better than you ). Plus, as I've noted above, the switch from mystery to romance was too early in the book. Quarter in, second meeting, and already "her small, firm breast weighed gloriously in his palm" and "he wanted to forget the patience and control he'd taught himself to live by, and just ravage." This bodice-ripperish language totally killed my mood. At that point, I already knew how it would unfold, with "throbbing," "wetness," "I want you but I can't" and so on.Sorry ladies, but romance is not quite my thing.
    more
  • Val ⚓️ Shameless, Skanky & Bitchy ⚓️
    January 1, 1970
    4 StarsThis was solid.Fast paced.Sexy.Fun.And old.Seriously though, there are, what, only 40 thousand books in the series after this one? LolRegardless, I see why - I have not a damn thing to add to the multitude of reviews on this - and I look forward to the next one.
    more
  • ~Anna's ƦªϻƁℓℹռg$~
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsI’d been postponing reading this series for a long time and I’m so glad I finally caved because it was right up my alley. The thing is, I love murder mysteries and crime-solving books with a touch of romance but the futuristic aspect? Sorry, not my jam. I don’t like anything futuristic/sci-fi/fantasy related. I never connect to such stories. I don’t know why. Maybe I’m unimaginative and dull. Maybe they scare me.It’s stupid, I know, but look at it this way. How much older am I than Roar 3.5 StarsI’d been postponing reading this series for a long time and I’m so glad I finally caved because it was right up my alley. The thing is, I love murder mysteries and crime-solving books with a touch of romance but the futuristic aspect? Sorry, not my jam. I don’t like anything futuristic/sci-fi/fantasy related. I never connect to such stories. I don’t know why. Maybe I’m unimaginative and dull. Maybe they scare me.It’s stupid, I know, but look at it this way. How much older am I than Roarke? Let’s see. If the story is set in 2058 and he was born in 2023, then I’m… Right.The good news is, I didn’t need to worry. It wasn’t so bad. The futuristic aspect, I mean. There were a few mentions of badass vehicles and gadgets, strange laws (sin tax, seriously?) and funny global issues but that was pretty much it.The bad news is, I had a problem with some of the events. For instance, there are mentions of some major global events that happened in 2016 (the book was written in 1995) which obviously did not happen. Because of that, the story seemed a bit implausible.Honestly, I’m worried about mankind and our children’s children. The future world sounds so artificial, cold and impersonal. The only good thing are gadgets and tools like domestic droids that clean your house for you. Now that... You’ve heard of Roarke, right? Yes, his reputation is well deserved. He’s really that hot. And Eve… I loved her. She's a badass chick. Strong, smart, independent. I loved the story, too. I’ve always wanted to be a badass cop like Eve. Or a crime scene investigator. Collecting evidence at crime scenes, working in a crime lab wearing safety glasses and gloves... Awesome, right?It’s a good thing my dreams will never come true, believe me. Let's just say the world is a lot safer with me not becoming what I’ve always wanted to become.Anyhow, now I need to read 45 books to catch up on this series. I just hope I won’t binge read the whole series for half of 2018 and then fall into a reading slump of epic proportions.QUICK REVIEW:Enjoyment: 3.5/5Writing style: 4/5Storyline: 4/5 Hero: 3/5Heroine: 5/5Secondary characters: 4/5 Hotness/steam: 3/5 Romance: 3/5 Angst: 2/5Darkness level: 2/5Humor: 1/5Depth of the book: 3/5POV: multiple (mostly heroine’s), third personTriggers: (view spoiler)[series of murders (on page), child abuse and rape (off page) (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Shawna
    January 1, 1970
    Re-read/listened to the audiobook version Jan'18 :Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb is such a prolific author, and the In Death series is exceptional and incomparable and one of my all-time favorites. After reading all 47 books and eagerly awaiting the 48th book, Connections in Death, I decided to revisit the beginning. It's still a great crime/mystery/suspense read and Eve and Roarke will forever remain one of the absolute best romantic pairings there is. Original read/review :5+ stars – Crime/Mystery/R Re-read/listened to the audiobook version Jan'18 :Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb is such a prolific author, and the In Death series is exceptional and incomparable and one of my all-time favorites. After reading all 47 books and eagerly awaiting the 48th book, Connections in Death, I decided to revisit the beginning. It's still a great crime/mystery/suspense read and Eve and Roarke will forever remain one of the absolute best romantic pairings there is. Original read/review :5+ stars – Crime/Mystery/Romantic Suspense/Futuristic/ThrillerYes! I've finally read the first book in J.D. Robb's, aka Nora Roberts', vastly popular In Death series, and now I understand why there's 30 books and counting...'cause it's an awesome romantic suspense/futuristic mystery thriller and very addictive. In fact, it's a good thing that I brought the first three books with me on my trip since I wanted to immediately jump into the second book after finishing this. I loved it! And all the flattering Roarke talk is totally justified because he's such a mysteriously delicious, sexy alpha hero! I wasn't convinced that a series could stay interesting and fresh enough with the same characters for 30+ books, but I don't think there could ever be enough of Roarke...he's that yummy!I'm not sure if I need to recommend this since it seems that just about everyone else has already read it, but if you like romantic suspense and/or mystery thrillers and haven't yet read Naked in Death, then I highly suggest it. But be prepared to get hooked on the series! Big 5 stars!
    more
  • Mo
    January 1, 1970
    I started this series with a bit of trepidation back in 2015. I knew that JD Robb also wrote as Nora Roberts and I had read another book by Ms Roberts and hated it ... so I was a bit wary about starting the In Death books. But I had heard great things about Roarke. Another reason that put me off reading this series is because he is Irish and, being Irish, if it is not done right, it drives me nuts. But she pulled it off. He is perfection. I am already up to book 19 but decided to head back to bo I started this series with a bit of trepidation back in 2015. I knew that JD Robb also wrote as Nora Roberts and I had read another book by Ms Roberts and hated it ... so I was a bit wary about starting the In Death books. But I had heard great things about Roarke. Another reason that put me off reading this series is because he is Irish and, being Irish, if it is not done right, it drives me nuts. But she pulled it off. He is perfection. I am already up to book 19 but decided to head back to book 1 and do a quick recap of how they met and their initial reactions to each other. OMG. I loved it. ... he turned his head, looked five pews back across the aisle and directly into Eve's eyes. It was surprise that had her fighting not to jolt at that sudden and unexpected punch of power. It was will that kept her from blinking or shifting her gaze. For one humming minute they stared at each other ... "You fascinate me, Lieutenant Dallas." We meet Mavis, Feeney, Whitney ... Summerset. Yes, I can see now how they started off on the wrong foot. Bit of a poker up his arse alright, Eve. But you take no shit from him. Galahad, she thought. Her white knight. I highly recommend this series. MY ORIGINAL REVIEW - DECEMBER 2105 ... ****************************************Well, they say "practice makes perfect" - would love to know who THEY are. Read Nora Roberts years ago and thought it was the greatest load of shite I had ever read - an Irish themed book - I am Irish so a bit sensitive. So totally avoided her forever. Read some forums on Amazon and GRs about Roarke and Eve and thought who are they - In Death - J. D Robb aka Nora Roberts - NO THANK YOU. But then again I saw that a lot of my GR friends are fans of JD so decided to bite the bullet and jump on the bandwagon.... OKAAAAAY - Naked in Death- freaking loved it. Was this the same woman who wrote about and Irish girl who trained a horse for the Kentucky Derby - cannot even remember the storyline now cos it totally pissed me off. Irish people are not like Darby O'Gill and the Little People or like Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman in Far and Away or whatever it was ... OK, we see our kids progress through school and improve over the years and definitely Ms Roberts did this. Will I go back and read a Nora Roberts book after this/ Not sure, maybe, probably as I can see a definite improvement in her writing style.... so do not understand how many of you gave Irish Hearts such high ratings - us Irish coleens are not as dimwitted or innocent as she was ,,,, Deliver us lord from every evil!!! Now I am totally depressed cos I realise that if I have to read the whole IN DEATH series it is going to cost me a feckin' fortune. Goodnight. 23.20 here in Belgium so time for bed! ..... and if I had known it was set in the future I definitely would not have read it but it totally blends in and you do not notice it.
    more
  • Hulya Kara Yuksel
    January 1, 1970
    2nd read : 31th December,2018And still sooooo good! ;)----------------------1st read : 4th May,2015ROARKE!!! OMG I'm melting in here... Ladies, don't you ever forget this name!!! He's hot, he's smart, he's funny but the most important thing is he's so freaking HOT! I Loved him a lot. :D You have to meet with him ASAP! :DAnd Eve Dallas... Damn, what a strong lady. I loved her too... :)I will definitely continue to read their story...:)Whenever I read Roarke's words... This is exactly me. :D------ 2nd read : 31th December,2018And still sooooo good! ;)----------------------1st read : 4th May,2015ROARKE!!! OMG I'm melting in here... Ladies, don't you ever forget this name!!! He's hot, he's smart, he's funny but the most important thing is he's so freaking HOT! I Loved him a lot. :D You have to meet with him ASAP! :DAnd Eve Dallas... Damn, what a strong lady. I loved her too... :)I will definitely continue to read their story...:)Whenever I read Roarke's words... This is exactly me. :D------------------My favorites quotes! And yesss,I have a lot of them... 😍😍😍 “I can't tell you how aroused it makes me when you quote codes, lieutenant.” "I don't like the idea of you shivering unless I cause it. Stay warm."“I like your style, Lieutenant Dallas," he said when they'd fought their way to the car. "I like it a lot. And by the way, I don't think I'm in love with you anymore. I know I am."-Roarke” “I want to see you again." He stopped, took her face in his hands. "I need to see you again."Her pulse jumped, as if it had nothing to do with the rest of her. "Roarke, what's going on here?""Lieutenant." He leaned forward, touched his lips to hers. "indications are we're having a romance.” “You--Roarke." Eyes watering, she reached for more tissue. "Jesus, Eve. Jesus Christ, you never sleep with anybody. And you're telling me you slept with Roarke?" "That's not precisely accurate. We didn't sleep.” “You sleep here?” “I don’t intend to sleep tonight.” He interrupted her gawking by pulling her up the two stairs to the platform and tumbling her onto the bed. “I have to check in by oh seven hundred.” “Shut up, lieutenant.”“Okay.” With a half laugh, she rolled on top of him and fastened her mouth to his. Wild, reckless energy was bursting inside her. She couldn’t move quickly enough, her hands weren’t fast enough to satisfy the craving.” “Roarke, you've got to know I've got some bad stuff inside. It's like a virus that sneaks around the system, pops out when your resistance is low. I'm not a good bet." - Eve Dallas"I like long odds." He lifted her hand, kissed it. "Why don't we see it through? Find out if we can both win." - Roarke” “I'm not afraid of you, Roarke.""Aren't you?" He moved closer, curling his hands on the lapels of her shirt. "What do you think will happen if you step over the line?""Too much," she murmured.” “Assaulting an officer will earn you one to five, Roarke. That's in a cage, not cushy home detention.""You're not wearing your badge. Or anything else, for that matter." He gave her a friendly nip on the chin. "Be sure to put that in your report.”“He took her hand, lifted it to his lips. Nothing could have pleased him more than the quick suspicion on her face. "You won't forget me, Eve. You'll think of me, perhaps not fondly, but you'll think of me.""I'm in the middle of a murder investigation. You're part of it. Sure, I'll think of you.""Darling," he began, and watched with amusement as his use of the endearment knitted her brow. "You'll be thinking of what I can do to you. "Gold winked at his wrist as he pressed his choice for two coffees on the AutoChef built into the side panel. "Cream?""Black.""A woman after my own heart." Moments later, he opened the protective door and offered her a china cup in a delicate saucer. "We have more of a selection on the plane," he said, then settled back with his coffee."I bet." The steam rising from her cup smelled like heaven. Eve took a tentative sip -- and nearly moaned.It was real. No simulation made from vegetable concentrate so usual since the depletion of the rain forests in the late twentieth. This was the real thing, ground from rich Columbian beans, singing with caffeine.She sipped again, and could have wept."Problem?" He enjoyed her reaction immensely, the flutter of the lashes, the faint flush, the darkening of the eyes -- a similar response, he noted, to a woman purring under a man's hands."Do you know how long it's been since I had real coffee?"He smiled. "No.""Neither do I." Unashamed, she closed her eyes as she lifted the cup again. "You'll have to excuse me, this is a private moment. We'll talk on the plane.”
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed by: Rabid Reads3.5 starsFor those of you who don't already know, J.D. Robb is an alternate pen name for Nora Roberts. I only read my first Nora Roberts' book about a year ago, and was--to put it mildly--pleasantly surprised. I'd always assumed that Roberts wrote cornball Walmart-paperback-romances for-your-grandmother, and when I saw a new book with "Witch" in the title, I figured she had jumped on the paranormal train, but was curious enough to check it out.It was kind of amazing.And w Reviewed by: Rabid Reads3.5 starsFor those of you who don't already know, J.D. Robb is an alternate pen name for Nora Roberts. I only read my first Nora Roberts' book about a year ago, and was--to put it mildly--pleasantly surprised. I'd always assumed that Roberts wrote cornball Walmart-paperback-romances for-your-grandmother, and when I saw a new book with "Witch" in the title, I figured she had jumped on the paranormal train, but was curious enough to check it out.It was kind of amazing.And with about 30 seconds of research I discovered that rather than "jumping on the paranormal train," it was more likely that Roberts could be held responsible for making books with paranormal elements marketable in the first place. (<------assumptions make you look stoopid. FYI.)I really liked this book. BUT. The too forceful, borderline abusive love interest whose aggression is attributed to his sheer maleness that I was expecting in my first Roberts' book (b/c '70s - '90s bodice rippers you stole from your grandma's stash when you were a teenager) . . . Well, he was hiding out here all along.Roarke Nolastname (*rolls eyes*) is a smoking hot Irish self-made bazillionaire. Say that three times fast. Go ahead. Do it. He's also a textbook example of a male with abusive tendencies. I know this for FACT, b/c I volunteered at a battered women's shelter while I was in college, and before a place like that will turn you loose in the facility, they educate you. Based on that education, Roarke is one giant Red Flag: he has zero respect for personal space, he makes unilateral decisions about things any rational person understands are not decisions to be made unilaterally, he has fits of temper that involve grabbing, shoving, and shaking . . . Red flags . . . Red flags everywhere . . .And maybe that's the difference between a book written a couple of years ago and a book written a couple decades ago. B/c NAKED IN DEATH was written nearly twenty years ago . . . BUT it takes place in the only slightly distant future (2058, I think). So there's this sometimes interesting/sometimes uncomfortable combination of modern/future ideals and innovations coupled with surprisingly old-fashioned tropes.Like how our heroine Eve Dallas is as hard core and strong a female character as I'd expect to find in any recently published SFF or UF novel, who lives in a world with legalized prostitution (gov't regulated and taxed, naturally), but who also falls prey to Red Flag b/c hot DAMN.No, seriously. Hot DAMN.I fell prey too. Like . . . completely. And part of the reason for that is b/c Roberts does such a good job of developing Eve and Roarke that you understand why he's a Red Flag, but know that he'd never actually cross that line (even though your brain and statistics tell you otherwise). They're both damaged, victims of horrific childhoods who were made stronger in the crucible rather than broken. They understand each other better than anyone else ever could. For real. You can see it, feel it.Eve is the one woman who can change Roarke's playboy emotional detachment, and the fact that she has no intention of doing so only makes it more plausible.And that kind of masterful manipulation is what makes the other stuff easier to swallow.B/c there is lots of other stuff. LOTS: All of the secondaries are flat, stock characters. Instalust, which is believable, crosses the line into instalove, which is not. Eve's a cop; Roarke is a "reformed" criminal mastermind. I could put together a very strong argument that Roarke is the main inspiration for Christian Grey (I considered writing a nontraditional review on that vein, but didn't have the patience to follow through). And there's CORN. Cheesy '90s I'm-too-sexy-for-my-shirt corn: “I thought this vintage would suit you. What it lacks in subtlety . . .” He turned back, offering her a glass. “It makes up for in sensuality.” Ugh. Also, if you are particularly sensitive to sexual violation, especially the sexual violation of children, NAKED IN DEATH is not for you. I say particularly b/c pretty much everyone finds the notion upsetting, but as far as this kind of thing goes, it's not too bad. There is only one scene that I would label as graphic and it takes place in the context of an adult remembering past abuse, so if you aren't particularly sensitive, it's not any more unpleasant than any other mystery/thriller with psychos or whack jobs doing psycho/whack job things. There are other things as well, but you get the idea. Not that it matters, b/c I LOVED it. If I was making a purely emotional decision about this book, I would be giving it at least four stars. Instead, I'm forcing myself to be rational (b/c the handful of times I've gone with my gut, it's come back to haunt me). It's worth mentioning that I'm nearly finished with #6 after starting the series four and half days ago, and that speaks for itself, but I can also say that while IN DEATH remains a series with flaws, there are marked improvements, especially in the area of secondary characters. SO. Definitely worth a shot in my humble opinion. If you're intimidated by sci-fi, this is just sci-fi enough to have interesting gadgets and speculative changes in federal laws (like the aforementioned legalized prostitution). ALSO, if you're into audiobooks, definitely, definitely worth a try, especially if you can pick them up from your library, and I'd imagine most would have them considering how popular and long-running this series is. I'm notoriously anti-audiobook (b/c ADD), but I started listening to NAKED IN DEATH while roadtripping, and it easily held my attention b/c just that good.
    more
  •  Lady Jayne *~*The Beach Bandida*~*
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars - Also reviewed at: Lady Jayne's Reading DenOkay, here’s the quick and dirty... well, sort of. Naked In Death is the first book in the daunting (almost 40 books!!... and still growing) “In Death” series by Nora Roberts, writing as J.D. Robb. I kept putting off reading it, for that very reason. Though, after recent reviews by Goodreads friends who have joined the growing legion of “Roarke Groupies”, I was most curious to read this book to find out for myself what the fuss is over Roarke 4 Stars - Also reviewed at: Lady Jayne's Reading DenOkay, here’s the quick and dirty... well, sort of. Naked In Death is the first book in the daunting (almost 40 books!!... and still growing) “In Death” series by Nora Roberts, writing as J.D. Robb. I kept putting off reading it, for that very reason. Though, after recent reviews by Goodreads friends who have joined the growing legion of “Roarke Groupies”, I was most curious to read this book to find out for myself what the fuss is over Roarke. While I do not feel I have reached full “Groupie” status, I think perhaps a badge of “Rookie Groupie” is in order. ^_^What is it about Roarke? Well, it’s not just that he is a mysterious, tall, dark and stunningly handsome “bad-boy”, or that he owns like…WHOA! … 20-something % of the world in 2058. It is his intelligence, confidence, drive and determination in getting what he wants - and he wants Eve. And who could resist his oh-so-sweet moments, like with the button and the coffee? *sighs* I won’t say anymore so as not to spoil it for those who have not yet read this book, but fans of the series will know what I’m talking about. ^_~I seem to recall, prior to reading this book, people expressing that they didn’t really like Eve. Lt. Eve Dallas reminded me of the character of Charlotte King in the TV series, Private Practice. She is prickly, with a hard shell, and I just knew this had to have been developed as a defence mechanism against some trauma she had suffered previously. What Eve needs is the right touch, à la Roarke. I actually really liked Eve, the tough chick.I really liked Eve’s friend, Mavis. She was funny and provided the comic relief in the story, like for example, in the scenes below where Mavis and Eve are discussing Roarke: ‘"Is he good? Stupid question," she said quickly. "You wouldn't have stayed otherwise. Wow, Eve, what got into you? Besides his incredibly energetic c**k?"’ ‘"Okay, but can you tell me if he looks as good in person as he does in pictures." "Better," Eve muttered. "Jesus, really?" Mavis moaned and let herself fall onto the sofa. "I think I just had an orgasm."’Yes, that is the kind of effect that Roarke has. ^_^One of the issues I did have with the book was with the futuristic elements. For the most part, I did not actually feel immersed in the “future”, but rather, I very much felt like was reading a contemporary novel with bits of unexpanded and unexplained futuristic things dropped in, eg. references to “AutoChef”, “Glida-Grill” etc. without a bit more of a description of it. I mean, you can guess that this “AutoChef” prepares the food in the future, but do we buy the ingredients and put it in there and then a cooked Spaghetti Bolognese comes out? The “Glida-Grill” I assume is a futuristic New York hot dog stand that glides from place to place rather than being set up on a particular corner? While I didn't want an "info dump", I do wish the author hadn’t just dropped names like that, as it took me out of the story, at times.Very briefly, ...speaking of "briefs", if you keep reading you will be rewarded further on... ahem... Right, as I was saying, very briefly, the plot involves Lt. Eve Dallas investigating a series of murders committed in the “old way” using “antique” guns. These are the guns of today, ie. revolvers, magnums, etc. Roarke is one of her suspects and this is how they meet. "Up against the wall, Roarke, spread 'em!" Well, it actually didn't happen like that... LOL Overall, I really enjoyed my first “In Death” book and will certainly be reading more - Hey, I want to upgrade to full "Roarke Groupie" status! ^_^ - though I will most definitely be pacing myself. My Eve (Morena Baccarin):My Roarke (David Gandy) – Even though Roarke is supposed to have longer hair, I think David Gandy is certainly gorgeous enough and has that teasing “rich bad-boy” look about him to suit Roarke’s personality. Special thanks to Quinn for mentioning him! David was a delicious image to have whilst reading. ^_^And since this is NAKED in Death, the following images of Roarke are...*coughs*...well, a must, obviously. LOL Images kindly supplied by Rane. Special thank you, Rane! ^_^**WARNING: NOT SAFE FOR WORK!**Roarke - Naked in BedThe Reward, as promised....This is Roarke, on his travels, and he can't stop thinking about Eve. He might own a lot of the world ... but what he really wants is ... Eve. OMG, Eve, you lucky, lucky woman!Video footage: Roarke missing EveOf course, one of the richest men in the world would only wear Dolce and Gabbana briefs.(Special thanks to my friend, Dina, for the above YUMMYLICIOUS video today!)COPYRIGHT DISCLAIMER: I do not hold the copyright to any of the images used in this review. They are posted to add visuals to the review and for fun. If any of these images are yours and you would like me to remove them, please let me know, and I will do so as soon as possible. If I can identify the copyright, I will do so.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts book I have read. I have read glowing reviews about the series, but I was a bit hesitant to start a commitment to it. Then, I have come upon a verse from one of the books:"Oh, but it is you, darling Eve. Just as that taste is you, the smell, the look, the sound. You've undone me." - "Glory in Death"I think it was devastatingly beautiful! The object of Eve's undoing piqued my interest, so I went on and borrowed the first 2 books."Naked in Death" is about a This is the first J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts book I have read. I have read glowing reviews about the series, but I was a bit hesitant to start a commitment to it. Then, I have come upon a verse from one of the books:"Oh, but it is you, darling Eve. Just as that taste is you, the smell, the look, the sound. You've undone me." - "Glory in Death"I think it was devastatingly beautiful! The object of Eve's undoing piqued my interest, so I went on and borrowed the first 2 books."Naked in Death" is about a tough and emotionally closed-off cop called Eve Dallas, and an enigmatic billionaire called Roarke (just like "Madonna"!). In the year 2053, Eve seeks a murderer who kills prostitutes with vintage hand guns. The only lead is the last person to see the first victim alive: the aforementioned Roarke, who also owns the building she lived in, and who also has a collection of antique guns. Whom Eve shared an instant and unexplainable attraction with the moment they met. Roarke, who crumpled my expectations into a ball, and hurled it at my face! Now you'll have a sense of where I'm going with this...I really wanted to like him, since his dialogue is the reason I've picked up the series in the first place. Unfortunately, all this book did was make me hate him with a burning passion. He’s over-privileged, controlling and manipulative. He constantly undermines Eve’s decisions under the guise of “wanting what’s best for her”. He breaks into her apartment and invades her personal space just because he can. He throws a giant hissy fit when Eve brings him in for questioning because he’s pissed that she doesn’t trust him (even though they’ve known each other for less than a month and have only interacted a handful of times). But we’re supposed to be ok with all of his actions because he’s rich and sexy and will do anything for Eve. It’s flattering to imagine an Adonis, who can take away all your troubles, being so enamored with you. However, this doesn’t justify his actions or make him a particularly interesting character in his own right. If Eve wasn't attracted to him, she would have slapped him with a restraining order for being a creep!Consequently, I found Roarke so difficult and so overpowering, I didn’t really get much of a sense of Eve as a character. I appreciate that this is a series, so it takes a bit more time with character development, but I just couldn’t get a handle on her. I understood that she was sort of into order and justice pretty much on principle, and that she was totally hot for Roarke, but I didn’t get much sense of her beyond that. Even more of a problem for me was that I also didn’t get much of a sense of her being good at her job. I’m just about willing to give her a pass on having sex with the guy who is basically her only suspect (although I think it's grossly unprofessional!), but what I’m less able to reconcile is the fact that she basically doesn’t actually solve the murders at all. (view spoiler)[She finally works out who the killer is only when somebody literally calls her up and tells her. An event which could perfectly well have happened at any time. (hide spoiler)]I apologize for the lengthy character analyses. Let me make up for them with these curt plot criticisms (I'm tired!): As a thriller, it's kinda lackluster. As a romance, it's kinda underdeveloped. As smut, it's blazingly hot! As is so often the case, I do wonder how much of my trouble here is to do with this being the first book in a series. There’s clearly a lot to establish and despite my issues, I plan to continue reading these books to see how the characters develop and to enjoy the gritty futuristic world Robb has built.
    more
  • Sh3lly (GrumpyBookGrrrl.com)
    January 1, 1970
    I finally get to cross this one off my TBR shelf - and I quite enjoyed it!! :)For being written in the 90s, this holds up pretty darn well. In a way, there may not be a whole lot of uniqueness going on - it's a cop murder mystery - but it flows quite well and kept my interest. I grew to like Eve, the police lieutenant, and Roarke, the roguish millionaire (billionaire?) who is more complicated and interesting than he first appears.I am definitely interested in continuing the series. It's only a t I finally get to cross this one off my TBR shelf - and I quite enjoyed it!! :)For being written in the 90s, this holds up pretty darn well. In a way, there may not be a whole lot of uniqueness going on - it's a cop murder mystery - but it flows quite well and kept my interest. I grew to like Eve, the police lieutenant, and Roarke, the roguish millionaire (billionaire?) who is more complicated and interesting than he first appears.I am definitely interested in continuing the series. It's only a tiny bit "sci-fi," as it takes place in the near-future (maybe 50 years from now). There isn't any techno babble and it's all on-planet. I would barely consider this sci-fi, actually. But it was an enjoyable read. Roarke is a sexy male lead and Eve grew on me. The subject matter of this one is pretty dark (sexual murders), but it isn't too graphic. The sex was steamy enough for me, but not smutty. I think this was an *excellent* example of a strong female character who wasn't written into a damsel in distress role. I appreciate that. Buddy read with the MacHalo group.
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    This is a book that was written over 20 years ago, but is set in the future. And, you can tell. I don't know why, but it just feels like it was written a while back.great prediction, Jetsons. It's called a "roomba" and doesn't wear an apron..But, I still liked all of the futuristic stuff in the story - it was fun! There was the "AutoChef" that made you food, a floating mattress - I'm thinking that would be soft and comfy, flying cars - I've been waiting forever for one of these!, tubes of Pepsi This is a book that was written over 20 years ago, but is set in the future. And, you can tell. I don't know why, but it just feels like it was written a while back.great prediction, Jetsons. It's called a "roomba" and doesn't wear an apron..But, I still liked all of the futuristic stuff in the story - it was fun! There was the "AutoChef" that made you food, a floating mattress - I'm thinking that would be soft and comfy, flying cars - I've been waiting forever for one of these!, tubes of Pepsi - I don't know why tube-form is better but I want one, and "people movers" like elevators that move horizontally -appealing to my lazy side. Just tons of fun gadgets.gimme, gimme, gimme!The story itself is about a female cop named Eve who is trying to find a serial killer. Most of the mystery is pretty good, even though I thought the bad-guy was obvious. I think it's all of the futuristic stuff that makes it more interesting. Eve was a pretty good character, but a little on the boring side. Which brings me to the romance.Why? Why would a gorgeous billionaire fall for Eve? It happens all of the time in books. We have a dowdy, boring female who is suddenly thought to be the most desirable female on Earth to a guy who would never look at someone like her twice. Is it that authors assume us bookworms must be dowdy and boring ourselves so we are all aflutter with the idea that we could get a man like that? Cuz, dowdy and boring doesn't describe me or any of my friends here. We are are exciting and hot-stuff that a billionaire model would be LUCKY to meet!But, our amazingly alpha hot guy falls so fast for Eve that it's mind-boggling. He finds her lack of a sense of humor charming and the fact that she only thinks about her job adorable.When she asks him for a favor by hacking into someone's bank account so that she can solve the crime, it rubs her rule-abiding self the wrong way: "A nonregistered system is in violation of Code four fifty-three-B, section thirty five.""I can't tell you how aroused it makes me when you quote codes, lieutenant.""It's not funny. And, what I'm going to ask you to do is illegal...""You could arrest both of us afterward.""This is serious, Roarke..." See? Isn't she delightful? He makes jokes and she keeps telling him it's not funny. As a person who makes jokes, married to the king of jokers, and with kids who are constantly joking, I can safely say that we just love people with no sense of humor that tell us we aren't funny when we are messing around. Yeah, they're great...But, other than the fact that I found the romance hard to believe, I still enjoyed this book. I like a good stabby-murder book, and I like future stuff - like my friends who live in Australia, so it was a win.
    more
  • UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish
    January 1, 1970
    Spectacular!!!5 stars! No, wait! 5+++++ Amazing, Thrilling, Provocative Stars!The Story - Naked in Death is the first book in J.D. Robb’s insanely popular In Death series. It’s a fantastic mystery thriller and once I started, I couldn't put it down...errr...turn it off! It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion. When a senator's daught Spectacular!!!5 stars! No, wait! 5+++++ Amazing, Thrilling, Provocative Stars!The Story - Naked in Death is the first book in J.D. Robb’s insanely popular In Death series. It’s a fantastic mystery thriller and once I started, I couldn't put it down...errr...turn it off! It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion. When a senator's daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she'd been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washington politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve's growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome... and the leading suspect in the investigation.I’m not usually a fan of the Mystery/Thriller genre, but my daughter has been raving about these books for years. While at the public library perusing their audio book collection I came across Naked in Death, and with 4.12 stars after 57,000 ratings, I decided to give it a try. WOW! I am so, so very glad I did! The world Ms. Robb has created is just futuristic enough to be compelling and believable, but not so complex as to intimidate or turn off those amongst us who are not fans of SciFi. The cast of characters, especially - be still my heart - Roarke, and Eve, are so well developed, so fully fleshed out, that I felt as if I knew them. As if they were people who were somehow part of my life. I wasn't just listening to a story, I was there as the story unfolded!The Audio - I’ll admit that I’m fairly new to audio books, but I know what I like and what I don’t. I didn’t like this - I. Loved. It!!! Susan Ericksen does a phenomenal job of bringing the cast to life. She’s an incredible talent and gives each player a distinctive voice and personality. Honestly, only one word describes her narrative skills. BRILLIANT! I need to mention, though, that while there is some romance and relationship building between the mysterious, sexy, drool-worthy Roarke, and Eve, this is first and foremost a murder mystery.Updated here: I've changed my mind! This is an amazing romance! Maybe it was because I'm not used to reading stories with so much genuinely plausible violence, that essence of the story stood out more than the romance. But now that I'm doing a re-listen while waiting for book 2, and focusing more on Roarke and Eve, there's no way there is just "some romance and relationship building." It's off the charts!The Bottom Line - If you’re a fan of whodunits, you need to get this book. If you enjoy stories that have a futuristic element without space wars with little green men, you need to get this book. If you’re looking for something different from your usual reads, something to get you out of a reading slump, you need to get this book! You know what? Just get this book. Whether you're going to read or listen, JUST. GET. THIS. BOOK!!! There are not enough words to describe how outstanding and entertaining this book is. Intriguing, exciting, captivating, sexy… absolutely incredible!
    more
  • Jo ★The Book Sloth★
    January 1, 1970
    5 I Should Have Read This Sooner StarsSo, I started this book 4 days ago and now I'm already reading book 4 so you can guess that I loved this, the book and the series so far.The first book was great. It had everything, a kick-ass heroine with a bad past, a powerful, slightly shady and richer than Midas hero, a great mystery and a serial killer, all that set in a futuristic world which was surprisingly well thought and realistic for a book written 20 years ago when even cell phones were a rarity 5 I Should Have Read This Sooner StarsSo, I started this book 4 days ago and now I'm already reading book 4 so you can guess that I loved this, the book and the series so far.The first book was great. It had everything, a kick-ass heroine with a bad past, a powerful, slightly shady and richer than Midas hero, a great mystery and a serial killer, all that set in a futuristic world which was surprisingly well thought and realistic for a book written 20 years ago when even cell phones were a rarity. Also, despite the Sci-fi setting JD Robb does not make the mistake of overwhelming the reader with too much information about the discoveries and changes over the years. The world-building is smooth, with just enough details for the reader to coprehend what everything that's mentioned is but not enough to get fed up with info.The mystery aspect of the novel was quite good. I had a new suspect every few pages, and still managed to be surprised when I found out who it was. I also loved how the author managed to write a book who was basically full of investigative work and not make it boring. To be honest, I've gotten used to UF where you have plenty of fights and magic to make the book more interesting so I wasn't sure if a good old suspense would do the trick. No fear there anymore.My one tiny objection was on the romance side. Although I do love Roarke and Eve together, I thought the romance progressed way too fast. The series already has 40 books and no end in sight, so it could afford to prolong the "falling in love" a little. A little more tension and reluctance would have made it more believable and less mushy. Still, that wasn't enough to make me reduce the rating.******************************************************This book comes highly recommended from plenty of friends and my only GR friend who didn't like it was daddy, which really is more of a recommendation than anything else *bats eyes innocently*, so...book you better be good!
    more
  • Warda
    January 1, 1970
    This book has been on my shelf for years. Then I decided to unhaul it. But before I got rid of the books, I looked through the stacks again and this book called out to me. (Marie Kondo was right!) So I listened and saved this book. And I’m so glad I did because I’m about to marathon the shit out of the 40+ books that are in this series.The main female character, Eve, was badass. The male character is super alpha, 1950s style - this book did come out over 10 years ago - but Eve stands her ground! This book has been on my shelf for years. Then I decided to unhaul it. But before I got rid of the books, I looked through the stacks again and this book called out to me. (Marie Kondo was right!) So I listened and saved this book. And I’m so glad I did because I’m about to marathon the shit out of the 40+ books that are in this series.The main female character, Eve, was badass. The male character is super alpha, 1950s style - this book did come out over 10 years ago - but Eve stands her ground! Solid, incredibly intelligent, bad-ass cop who fights for justice, because of the shit she’s faced in her past. The plot was thrilling and I loved how it all ended but left me wanting more, hence the binge-read of this series that will be happening. Once my book-buying ban is lifted that is. [OWLs Readathon, Book Two. Taking my Divination exam, which is to read a book set in the future.]
    more
  •  Danielle The Book Huntress (Back to the Books)
    January 1, 1970
    I liked this as a mystery just as much as I liked it as a romance. Love a good mystery that keeps me guessing. I had my ideas about who the culprit was, and I was more or less right, although I had that kernel of doubt. I liked how this was a very well-plotted mystery. I think that it helped that the underlying aspects were so dark that I didn't think the story would go there. Eve is a great protagonist. She's tough, intelligent, but vulnerable in some ways. She's a very good cop, and she goes a I liked this as a mystery just as much as I liked it as a romance. Love a good mystery that keeps me guessing. I had my ideas about who the culprit was, and I was more or less right, although I had that kernel of doubt. I liked how this was a very well-plotted mystery. I think that it helped that the underlying aspects were so dark that I didn't think the story would go there. Eve is a great protagonist. She's tough, intelligent, but vulnerable in some ways. She's a very good cop, and she goes after justice, and she's refreshingly down-to-earth. I can identify with the fact that she lets work take over her life, and I'm glad that Rourke is there to make that harder for her to do that. Speaking of Rourke....He was nice...real nice. Of course, I'm understating the case. I like that he didn't let Eve's issues stand in the way of their relationship, but he wasn't out to change her or remake her into a more manageable woman for his life. What attracted him to her was what he continued to admire about her. I love a guy who isn't afraid of a strong woman. I like how he's very supportive and caring for her, and he can get tough with her emotionally when it's necessary. If he wasn't able to, he never would have made it past the titanium barriers she keeps up. He gave up off a good future husband vibe loud and clear. It cracked me up that every time they would look up information on a company, Rourke owned it. I think his net worth should be more than 3.8 billion, since he owns pretty much everything. He's like a Harlequin Presents hero, the billionaire businessman who is too hot to resist. Rourke's larger than life personality and his developing relationship with Eve made an appreciated counterbalance to the mystery involving horrible misogyny and violence against women. Even in the future, things didn't change that much. The same forces at work in the present world are involved, hiding their ugliness behind a squeaky clean facade.I liked the futuristic elements. They were well-written and believable, but they weren't distracting to the mystery elements. Used very well to give me a good visual of the setting. And since I love noir mixed with most genres, the future noir in this book went over great for me.I can't say I'm a big Nora Roberts fan, but I definitely like this series, and I want to read more of them. I won't commit to almost forty books/stories, just yet, but I think I can agree to the next several. :)
    more
  • ♥Sharon♥
    January 1, 1970
    Even better the second time around! LOVED LOVED LOVED it. ❤❤❤I’ve been missing these two. Going back to the beginning of a series that I LOVE. ❤❤************I loved Naked in Death which is book #1 in the In Death Series by J.D. Robb. As I write this I can say I loved book #2 as well (I’ll be writing a short review soon). And I am on to book #3 and loving it already. A lot of love going on here but rightfully so. I sure hope it continues through the 40 or so books within this series. YES I said 4 Even better the second time around! LOVED LOVED LOVED it. ❤️❤️❤️I’ve been missing these two. Going back to the beginning of a series that I LOVE. ❤️❤️************I loved Naked in Death which is book #1 in the In Death Series by J.D. Robb. As I write this I can say I loved book #2 as well (I’ll be writing a short review soon). And I am on to book #3 and loving it already. A lot of love going on here but rightfully so. I sure hope it continues through the 40 or so books within this series. YES I said 40!! I am anxious to see how J.D. Robb will pull off keeping her readers engaged. I will say the writing is fantastic. The characters are intriguing and fascinating. The plot had depth and she kept me guessing almost to the end. I found that I enjoyed the fact that it is set in the future. Very clever. I’m also interested in the side characters as well. A butler of sorts, a friend and a co-worker are all subtle threads adding in peculiarities of their own. In a lengthy series like this I think it is so important the surround he H & h with such characters.I instantly fell in love with Lieutenant Eve Dallas our heroine. She is a woman of many layers. Eve is very tough on the exterior and maybe even a little tougher on the interior. But there are the moments where we see the slightest crack in her armor and get a glimpse at someone a little softer and with a sense of humor. Eve very rarely lets anything or anyone come between her and the case she is working on. It would be a first for her when she finds herself succumbing to a man. This man I mention is Roarke. When he becomes a suspect in the murder case she is working on we find Eve in a bit of a predicament. Being a wealthy, sexy and handsome man doesn’t make her job easy. She would never do anything to compromise the job she has to do but the attraction she feels for him becomes almost too much to fight. The murders are a bit gruesome and a tad creepy. I was completely enthralled with everything that was going on. From the suspects to the weapon to what was driving this person to kill. It was crazy!This one was definitely a winner for me. As I said I have moved on and I am still enjoying this series. For all of you that enjoy RS get to this series soon.
    more
  • Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘
    January 1, 1970
    Huh. I guess I *might* have been able to get behind the instalove and other corny quotes if the love interest's MO hadn't been following some kind of Abuser 101 Guide : indeed Roarke repeatedly uses both physical force and psychological harassment to manipulate the heroine into thinking that what they share is a love story. Oh hell no dude, red flags everywhere. I have no patience for Christian Grey's duplicates (or, rather : inspiration?? Naked in Death was published years before and the simila Huh. I guess I *might* have been able to get behind the instalove and other corny quotes if the love interest's MO hadn't been following some kind of Abuser 101 Guide : indeed Roarke repeatedly uses both physical force and psychological harassment to manipulate the heroine into thinking that what they share is a love story. Oh hell no dude, red flags everywhere. I have no patience for Christian Grey's duplicates (or, rather : inspiration?? Naked in Death was published years before and the similarities in behavior AND characterization are quite upsetting) and.... Well, that's just it : I have no patience for this shit. Not to mention the lack of any 'wow factor', given how lousy and predictable the murder investigation was. As much as I'd have wanted to ignore the ridiculous amount of clues pointing to the truth, I'd have hurt my eyes squinting to avoid seeing them. Bleh. It was a quick read, I'll give it that. As are annoying chain emails, though, and I don't see anyone listing them in the pantheon of greatest reads ever.Considering that's the first of a 40+ books series, I'd say I dodged quite a bullet here. Pun intended. TW for graphic violence, child abuse, rape, pedophilia
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    I had never read a single book in this series. Fans know there are a great many of them now. I read the synopis on the back of the book and was instantly put off by the futuristic setting. I really don't like Science fiction and anything set in the future. History is my big thing. But, I kept hearing how good these books were, so I picked up a used copy of the first one and could not put it down. Now, if you have read Nora Roberts and think this is some extension of her other stuff, think again. I had never read a single book in this series. Fans know there are a great many of them now. I read the synopis on the back of the book and was instantly put off by the futuristic setting. I really don't like Science fiction and anything set in the future. History is my big thing. But, I kept hearing how good these books were, so I picked up a used copy of the first one and could not put it down. Now, if you have read Nora Roberts and think this is some extension of her other stuff, think again. I was shocked by the language and the just little bit of kink thrown in there. I couldn't believe this was the same author. ( It wasn't over done, just not her style when writing as Nora Roberts.) But, when you stripped it bare, it was a detective/crime drama set in the future with a little romance thrown in for good measure. I hear maybe Roarke makes a return in her next installment. I sure hope so. Eve Dallas is a take no prisoners detective. She can't remember anything before her eighth birthday. But, has memory flashes that hint at abuse. Eve would rather not remember. When a "paid companion" is murdered, her prominent family wants Eve to investigate. One of her first suspects is a billionare that was seen having dinner with the victim. Then two more women are killed. Corruption within the force,politics, lies, blackmail and murder. It's all there. Plus, Eve is finally able to start dealing with her own troubled past.If you haven't read these books, I highly recommend giving them a try.
    more
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    January 1, 1970
    2 stars Unfortunately this book just wasn't for me. It started out strong, but by the last 100 pages I no longer cared what happened to the characters. I've never been a huge Nora Robert's fan, I find her romance too cheesy/formulaic for my taste. But I wanted to give this series a chance.I happen to be in a reading/reviewing slump, it's hard for me to review book that were just "meh" for me. So I'm going to break this down.What didn't work:-the plot: it was all over the place, half romance hal 2 stars Unfortunately this book just wasn't for me. It started out strong, but by the last 100 pages I no longer cared what happened to the characters. I've never been a huge Nora Robert's fan, I find her romance too cheesy/formulaic for my taste. But I wanted to give this series a chance.I happen to be in a reading/reviewing slump, it's hard for me to review book that were just "meh" for me. So I'm going to break this down.What didn't work:-the plot: it was all over the place, half romance half murder mystery. It never really settled-INSTALOVE-poorly written sex scenes -poorly written "romantic scenes"-murder mystery pushed into subplot in 2nd half of bookAND (don't kill me ladies)...I didn't like Roarke.Maybe I just was anticipating too much from him? All he had going was he was rich, hot and into Eve. That was about it...........................................................................What I liked about the book:-Eve: a very complex, strong female character that is well written. I just wish she was in a better book. Maybe one day I'll pick up another one in this series as there are like 47 of them.So this was just an okay read for me, but I'm glad I read it. I can totally see the appeal but it doesn't appeal to me.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    I am addicted to this series, I absolutely love it, and it gets better as it goes along (I'm on book 5 now).It's romance/mystery, so if you like a splash of sex with your serial killers, this is the series for you!!
  • Lady Gabriella of Awesomeness (On Hiatus)
    January 1, 1970
    ★★★★★ 5 Suspense-Filled stars ★★★★★Its true in all my reading time,I've never really picked up a Nora Robert so far.Its true in this case I did judge the book by its cover.Every time I passed a book store to pick up my reads I always tended to shy away from the Pure Romance section,and chose Mystery-Romance Or Erotica-Romance or another combination over Chic-lite or Angst.After all there was always next month.And when I heard J.D Robb was an Alias of Nora Robert.I was quite excited to give this ★★★★★ 5 Suspense-Filled stars ★★★★★Its true in all my reading time,I've never really picked up a Nora Robert so far.Its true in this case I did judge the book by its cover.Every time I passed a book store to pick up my reads I always tended to shy away from the Pure Romance section,and chose Mystery-Romance Or Erotica-Romance or another combination over Chic-lite or Angst.After all there was always next month.And when I heard J.D Robb was an Alias of Nora Robert.I was quite excited to give this author a try. To see if I could grow comfortable with her writing style and connect to her characters.And boy didn't I ? Naked in Death is an amazing book. With descriptive characters and a well thought out plot.To be honest I really didn't see the twist coming at the end.The writing and the descriptions were just so damn good !!And the hero Roarke ? *Sign* Just no words <3 Its been so long since a hero charmed his way into my exclusive Swoon -Worthy hero shelf.Even though he hardly appears throughout in comparison to other characters.His charm...His words.They just make him impossible to forget.Would I recommend it ?A definite Yes ! Can't wait to dive into the rest of series soon !! Heard her 2016 release was the #43 ! Will be trying my best not to read the series in a stretch and give my self a book migraine. :D
    more
  • Phrynne
    January 1, 1970
    This is a reread for me but the last time I read it was probably 1998 or thereabouts. It was such a delight to read it again. When J.D. Robb wrote this first book in what was then going to be just a trilogy I wonder if she had any idea of what she had created. 40 or so books later we all feel we own a little bit of Eve and Roarke and their amazing world and we are always waiting for more!I love Naked in Death. It introduces us to our two most important characters, begins their delightful relatio This is a reread for me but the last time I read it was probably 1998 or thereabouts. It was such a delight to read it again. When J.D. Robb wrote this first book in what was then going to be just a trilogy I wonder if she had any idea of what she had created. 40 or so books later we all feel we own a little bit of Eve and Roarke and their amazing world and we are always waiting for more!I love Naked in Death. It introduces us to our two most important characters, begins their delightful relationship and sets the scene in a fascinating futuristic world. Some of the side characters also appear in this first book and we begin to discover the awful past which is Eve's driving force. I know the story well but still reached for the tissues when Eve disclosed some of her history to Roarke. Must not forget the fact that this is a crime novel and as well as romance there is a great story line and a mystery to be solved. I loved every minute of it the first time round and I loved it again this time.
    more
  • Alex ♈
    January 1, 1970
    Suspense – 5 stars / Romance – 3 starsWhat could I say about this book to sound fancy?Nothing. You said it all.Why did I wait so long to start this series? -> How original?..I can’t believe this book was written more than 20 years ago! -> Never heard it before?Blah blah blahI liked it. Crime and suspense were written brilliantly. I cracked the secret/suspense at approx.. 60% *pat myself on the back* As to the romance part – I’m not sure. I expected the heroine being bigger badass, and I im Suspense – 5 stars / Romance – 3 starsWhat could I say about this book to sound fancy?Nothing. You said it all.Why did I wait so long to start this series? -> How original?..I can’t believe this book was written more than 20 years ago! -> Never heard it before?Blah blah blahI liked it. Crime and suspense were written brilliantly. I cracked the secret/suspense at approx.. 60% *pat myself on the back* As to the romance part – I’m not sure. I expected the heroine being bigger badass, and I imagined the hero to be different. I didn’t like Roarke. Maybe because I got almost none deep information about his personality and his past. He was enigma, slightly annoying enigma. I hope he’ll come around.Blah blah blahGotta go… I have another 18745 books in this series… Or was it more?
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    I feel slightly embarrassed to admit I absolutely loved this. A great combination of romance and crime. I really liked the fact that Roarke was completely into Eve from the first time he met her. I really enjoyed the slight sci fi elements too. So pleased to see there are many in the series as they are perfect as a light read. I just hope they don't become too formulaic.Recommended.
    more
  • Catherine
    January 1, 1970
    *Originally read 12/10/10 - 12/11/10*I've known about this series for quite a while, and I'm a big Nora Roberts fan, but I hadn't really wanted to pick this series up. There's about a billion books out in the series. What if I ended up loving it? Then I have to commit myself to buying those billion books just to catch up! But after hearing such glowing things about this series from most of my Goodreads friends--especially about Roarke--I had to finally bight the bullet and get the first book. No *Originally read 12/10/10 - 12/11/10*I've known about this series for quite a while, and I'm a big Nora Roberts fan, but I hadn't really wanted to pick this series up. There's about a billion books out in the series. What if I ended up loving it? Then I have to commit myself to buying those billion books just to catch up! But after hearing such glowing things about this series from most of my Goodreads friends--especially about Roarke--I had to finally bight the bullet and get the first book. Now that I've finished it I don't know whether to cheer or comfort my wallet. I think I'm going to have to run to the bookstore and swoop up a bunch of the next books in the series so I can get my glom on.I didn't connect with Roarke the way that most readers seem to, but I expect it comes with time. The relationship and attraction in this book develops pretty quickly--faster than I expected or wanted--but I can't say I expected any different seeing as this isn't actually a Romance series. Most of the focus was on the case with the romance as the side story. Luckily, I know there's plenty of time in this series for the author to develop their relationship. It's no hardship for me to watch their relationship develop over the course of the books since I know that they are together and the author didn't throw any retarded love triangles in there. So I'm willing to be patient and won't complain about the lack of a lot of depth to the relationship and characters yet.It was odd for me to read a book so similar, yet different, from Nora Roberts's usual style. The characterization, interactions, feel to the developing relationship, and writing felt the same, but the focus wasn't on the romance. I liked it. It's nice to find a new series by this author that I can glut myself on. I was a little nervous that her style would be completely different under the pseudonym, but it wasn't where it counted.The details about all the little futuristic gizmos weren't really explained in depth. Everything was mentioned matter-of-factly like talking to someone already familiar with the technology and world. I think some will dislike that, but I honestly preferred it. I don't mind if authors want to explain, but a detailed explanation about how the spray that seals in oils and fingerprints works is not something I personally need to know. The way it was all presented worked for me.The case (and Eve's background) really tugged at my heartstrings. I thought it was handled well by the author, but I still feel helplessly enraged to know stuff like that happens constantly.I really enjoyed seeing our timeframe discussed and researched for the case. It was fun to see the differences between that time and this one and it provided a nice opportunity for me to see where their culture differed without huge infodumps.Now to go get my hands on Glory in Death...
    more
  • Bark (2 Dumb 2 Read Blurbs)
    January 1, 1970
    Reread on audio. I read this book back when it was first released and as I started the audio I quickly realized my memory is not at all good! I wonder if it'll live up to my painfully vague memories of it?Later:I read this when was it first released in 1995 and decided to give it a reread on audio hoping it would hold up so many, many years later. 23 years later, actually! How did that happen? This book is older than my kids. Older, probably, than a few of my friends here too! Obviously, I remem Reread on audio. I read this book back when it was first released and as I started the audio I quickly realized my memory is not at all good! I wonder if it'll live up to my painfully vague memories of it?Later:I read this when was it first released in 1995 and decided to give it a reread on audio hoping it would hold up so many, many years later. 23 years later, actually! How did that happen? This book is older than my kids. Older, probably, than a few of my friends here too! Obviously, I remembered nothing about it except that I loved it, that it was set in the future, had a damaged heroine named Eve and that her lover was named Roarke and his past was shady. I was all into characters with dubious pasts back then, still am, I guess. I read a few more in the series before getting side-tracked by life and forgetting about it which is pretty much the story of my reading life with any series be they short or eternal like this one.I feared Naked In Death might not be nearly as great as I had remembered but miraculously that wasn’t the case. It’s gritty from the get-go and very murder mystery/crime procedural-ish in the most interesting of ways. I think any reader picking this up so late in the game can still enjoy it. It doesn’t feel dated and is so much better than some of the more recent Nora Roberts book I’ve read more recently. I was thinking maybe my tastes had changed but now I’m thinking Nora Robert’s has just written a few duds. Vision in White & Shadow Spell? I’m talking about YOU.There’s no sense in rehashing the plot of this old book. I’ll just leave you with the good and the not-so-good. The chemistry and dialogue are great, there are the beginnings of some amazing character development which will continue into at least the next few books and I enjoyed reliving Eve and Rourke’s early days. The downside? There is insta-lust and it takes over Eve’s common sense. I won’t say anything else because its spoiler territory but if you read it you’ll see what I mean. There are also some brutal as hell death scenes, all of a sexual nature, and flashbacks of child abuse by a sexual predator. Lots of death and lots of awful sexual stuff. Be careful if these scenarios haunt you because Robb doesn’t pull any punches here.I’d give this book a four and ½. It’s not quite the five I remembered but I’m old and crabby now.
    more
  • Karla
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars!So this a 40 plus book series with the same couple! Yup! I think I lost my mind since I rarely even finish a trilogy! But I can’t help myself it seems since, it’s Nora Roberts we’re talking about. Anyway as far as book one goes I loved it! In till I started reading this one I hadn’t realize that this is a futuristic series which for me made it even better. We have detective Eve Dallas, who is investigating the death of the senator daughter’s. During the investigation she meets the gorgeo 4 stars!So this a 40 plus book series with the same couple! Yup! I think I lost my mind since I rarely even finish a trilogy! But I can’t help myself it seems since, it’s Nora Roberts we’re talking about. Anyway as far as book one goes I loved it! In till I started reading this one I hadn’t realize that this is a futuristic series which for me made it even better. We have detective Eve Dallas, who is investigating the death of the senator daughter’s. During the investigation she meets the gorgeous billionaire and mysterious Roarke, too bad his also a suspect or is he?! I really liked how the plot played out, the suspense, the romance as far as h goes I don’t have a favorite kind as long as she goes well with story I really don’t care much. But Eve, she was amazing tough, (considering her past) independent who took her detective job as the most important thing in her life. My man Rourke of course was the perfect match for Eve he definitely brought out her vulnerable side. I like that he pushed and she pulled it wasn’t anything frustrating or OTT I say it was just right for their personalities. Their relationship wasn’t rushed.As for the suspense it definitely was a shocker and kinda of disturbing. Overall a solid read let’s see what book two brings. ♥️
    more
  • edge of bubble
    January 1, 1970
    There are a lot of great reviews for this book so I'll be short. Considering the year it was written, the futuristic aspects were good. Murder mystery was okay. What I didn't like was the romance part. I am very easy to sell on couples and love stories. Just gimme some steam and sappy thoughts, and put the couple together in an okay way and I'm rooting for them. Here, I just couldn't root for the romance. Heroine was too robotic or too indistinct in that setting. Still, I enjoyed the book and wi There are a lot of great reviews for this book so I'll be short. Considering the year it was written, the futuristic aspects were good. Murder mystery was okay. What I didn't like was the romance part. I am very easy to sell on couples and love stories. Just gimme some steam and sappy thoughts, and put the couple together in an okay way and I'm rooting for them. Here, I just couldn't root for the romance. Heroine was too robotic or too indistinct in that setting. Still, I enjoyed the book and will read the rest of the series. I think the world building could turn out great!
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    There's something discombobulating about reading a book set in the future that was written 23 years ago - because some of the future "technology" described does in fact already exist (books on 'disc' for example). There was also some interesting conversations about guns and gun violence in this book, which is very applicable right now with all the gun violence legislation being discussed in Florida and nationally right now. So all that together kind of kept me from being immersed in the book ful There's something discombobulating about reading a book set in the future that was written 23 years ago - because some of the future "technology" described does in fact already exist (books on 'disc' for example). There was also some interesting conversations about guns and gun violence in this book, which is very applicable right now with all the gun violence legislation being discussed in Florida and nationally right now. So all that together kind of kept me from being immersed in the book fully if I am being honest.But ignoring that, I did like this book but I just didn't love it. The L-bomb gets dropped way too soon, the main detective almost solves nothing herself really, and the villain is pretty darn obvious all along. BUT....I like the setup of the world and the romantic relationship and the insight into her past, so I'm interested enough to continue to read on. I mean, the books in this series probably get better considering there are FORTY-SIX books already published in this series. Crazy!! 1 down, 45 to go...
    more
  • Maja (The Nocturnal Library)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI’ve done with this series something I’ve never done before, jumped right in with the latest installment and skipped everything that came before. I soon realized my mistake, though. While each book can easily function as a standalone, missing even a word of this enchanting series is a crime. So here I am, going back to the beginning, meeting Eve and Roarke in their early days and sharing their journey from the start. Naked in Death was first released in 1995, but it’s still fresh and in 4.5 starsI’ve done with this series something I’ve never done before, jumped right in with the latest installment and skipped everything that came before. I soon realized my mistake, though. While each book can easily function as a standalone, missing even a word of this enchanting series is a crime. So here I am, going back to the beginning, meeting Eve and Roarke in their early days and sharing their journey from the start. Naked in Death was first released in 1995, but it’s still fresh and innovative today, which tells you everything you need to know about it. It’s set in a futuristic version of New York, 2058 to be precise, but the reality isn’t so different from today. Yes, people have expanded their activities and moved some of them to various other planets, and technological developments have moved forward just enough to make them interesting even 20 years later, but human nature has more or less remained the same.Enter Lieutenant Eve Dallas, a competent homicide detective. She handles the most complicated cases with unwavering dedication and a strong sense of justice. Her own past is incredibly painful, which left her emotionally closed off, but when it comes to her victims, Eve has all the compassion in the world. In Naked in Death, Eve investigates the murders of three prostitutes. Cold, vicious, calculated crimes, all videotaped and left for her to find. Her investigation takes straight to one of the richest men in the world – Roarke – but as hard as she tries, Eve just can’t see the honest, competent man as her killer. Naked in Death has a strong romance, yes, but it’s so much more than that. The case Eve investigates isn’t just something to fill the pages between romantic encounters. If anything, it’s the other way around. These murders are painful, well planned and with a huge emotional impact for both Eve and the reader. In addition, Robb gives us splendid characterization on multiple fronts. It’s obvious even in this first installment that she’s building her characters to last. This series is up to its 40th installment now, and each one is better than the last. There is no noticeable decline in quality or intensity, which is not only rare, but absolutely brilliant as well. The descriptions can be a bit wordy at times, but they only add to the impression that we’re dealing with much more than a simple murder mystery/romantic suspense. After all, this is Nora Roberts we’re talking about. She can do so much more than that.
    more
Write a review