The Honey-Don't List
Carey Douglas has worked for home remodeling and design gurus Melissa and Rusty Tripp for nearly a decade. A country girl at heart, Carey started in their first store at sixteen, and—more than anyone would suspect—has helped them build an empire. With a new show and a book about to launch, the Tripps are on the verge of superstardom. There’s only one problem: America’s favorite couple can’t stand each other. James McCann, MIT graduate and engineering genius, was originally hired as a structural engineer, but the job isn’t all he thought it’d be. The last straw? Both he and Carey must go on book tour with the Tripps and keep the wheels from falling off the proverbial bus. Unfortunately, neither of them is in any position to quit. Carey needs health insurance, and James has been promised the role of a lifetime if he can just keep the couple on track for a few more weeks. While road-tripping with the Tripps up the West Coast, Carey and James vow to work together to keep their bosses’ secrets hidden, and their own jobs secure. But if they stop playing along—and start playing for keeps—they may have the chance to build something beautiful together… From the “hilariously zany and heartfelt” (Booklist) Christina Lauren comes a romantic comedy that proves if it’s broke, you might as well fix it.From the New York Times bestselling author behind the “joyful, warm, touching” (Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author) The Unhoneymooners comes a delightfully charming love story about what happens when two assistants tasked with keeping a rocky relationship from explosion start to feel sparks of their own.

The Honey-Don't List Details

TitleThe Honey-Don't List
Author
ReleaseMar 24th, 2020
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781982123918
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Adult, Contemporary Romance

The Honey-Don't List Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Oh yesssss. I got one of my favorite romance duo’s books and celebrating with happy dance (I made a change and forced my mother in law and husband dance for me this time which was pathetic experience. They don’t know what the meaning of rhythm is!!!) but well, I got a little disappointed from my read. This is definitely not what I was invested for….FACTS ABOUT THE BOOK:You want to send friend requests to those beautiful characters and wear BFF bracelets:Lately I read “Twice in a Blue Moon” and I Oh yesssss. I got one of my favorite romance duo’s books and celebrating with happy dance (I made a change and forced my mother in law and husband dance for me this time which was pathetic experience. They don’t know what the meaning of rhythm is!!!) but well, I got a little disappointed from my read. This is definitely not what I was invested for….FACTS ABOUT THE BOOK:You want to send friend requests to those beautiful characters and wear BFF bracelets:Lately I read “Twice in a Blue Moon” and I think so far that was the worst book of the duo. I couldn’t believe that was the work of this incredible couple. Thankfully this book is not a big disappointment like that one because we have likable hero and heroine and their back stories are perfectly developed. It’s impossible not to feel for Carey, a small town girl, started to work for couple when she was only 16, they slowly replace the place of her family. They became partly her mother and father, uncle and aunt, close friends etc. So she formed an emotional bound with them. She has her own insecurities, secrets and she needs this job so bad because of her personal reasons but after 10 years, the relationship balances changed between her and the couple. They turned into spoiled kids meet dictatorial narcissistic maniacs and she is trapped with the couple who hate each other passionately. And James: nerd hottie engineer of your dreams is also trapped in this job (he wasn’t even hired for engineering skills, they wanted him to babysit Rusty- flirty, adventurous, childish man who needs to be controlled 24/7-) because the previous company he worked for got involved into a scandal so he didn’t have too much job choices. He just dived into this one and made the mistake of his life. So many resemblances with Netflix’s “Set it up” movie: At “Set it up” two corporate executive assistants suffered from their exploiter, workaholic, selfish bosses’ never ending demands and they decide matchmaking them to get their lives back. In this story, those selfish assholes are already married and two young assistants are stuck with their childish, illogical demands, doing their best to make them not choke each other for the sake of their work. I think if Jen Aniston and Brad Pitt would stay married, they could turn into real versions of Rusty and Melissa. Their character development matched so good with them. Romance parts are failed for me because they were haphazard, sudden: They never attracted each other but after spending only few days, they were smitten and I couldn’t process how they fell in love and of course something James did (I’m not gonna spill the beans) wasn’t so forgivable for me. We wasted so much time about their work environments and this asshole couple’s non-stop spoiled brat acting. When we finish the first half of the book, we barely see the attraction of James and Carey.OVERALL: I gave 3.25 stars so it is solid 3 stars read for me. The resemblances of the Netflix movie (I’m sorry to say but movie was better rom-com, at least asshole bosses are more likable. Oh, please! We’re talking about Lucy Liu and charming Taye Diggs!), lack of hot chemistry and emotional parts shaped my decision about this quick read. As a humorous fiction, this book worked for me with its satisfyingly fair ending but romance parts failed for me. I love this duo so so so so much. If I have a time, I still want to reread some of their works including “Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating” but this is not as good as their previous works and I expected more and more!Special thanks to NetGalley and Galley Books to share one of my favorite duo’s book’s ARC COPY in exchange my honest review.
    more
  • jessica
    January 1, 1970
    okay. so. this isnt quite like any other CL novel ive read before. when picking up a CL book, ive come to except either a really funny story or a really touching story. and this is neither. this is pleasant enough, but its missing that classic CL charm that i have come to know and love.and although i didnt quite fall in love with this, there is still much that i enjoyed. the writing is nice, the story is well paced, and the plot is unique (perfect for fans of chip and joanna gaines!). its also okay. so. this isnt quite like any other CL novel ive read before. when picking up a CL book, ive come to except either a really funny story or a really touching story. and this is neither. this is pleasant enough, but its missing that classic CL charm that i have come to know and love.and although i didnt quite fall in love with this, there is still much that i enjoyed. the writing is nice, the story is well paced, and the plot is unique (perfect for fans of chip and joanna gaines!). its also really refreshing to read some of the story from the guys POV, as well. i thought it was a breath of fresh air when (view spoiler)[james is the one who develops a crush first, as its usually the female MC who does. (hide spoiler)]overall, this isnt bad. its probably more accurately a really good 3 star book, but im rounding up because im such a fan of CL. massive thanks to gallery books for the ARC!↠ 3.5 stars
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    [10/17/19] - this cover is not as creative as i hoped it would be***************[9/15/19] - I really hope this one ends up being better than Twice In A Blue Moon***************just kidding. keep 'em coming. i've already gotten myself placed on the mailing list***************SLOW DOWNI HAVEN'T EVEN READ Twice in a Blue Moon YETI NEED MORE TIME| Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | LinkedIn | YouTube | Instagram
    more
  • Warda
    January 1, 1970
    They’re back at it again. This’ll be an easy preorder. Get in me basket you!
  • ✨ A ✨
    January 1, 1970
    “... a delightfully charming love story about what happens when two assistants tasked with keeping a rocky relationship from explosion start to feel sparks of their own.”Yes, thank you very much. This is exactly the content I need!!
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    What I picture Christina + Lauren looking like every time they turn in a new manuscript:*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    (view spoiler)[The Honey-Don’t List had so much potential, but unfortunately there were quite a lot of missed opportunities.On the one hand I loved the topic. I’m a big fan of remodeling shows, and I can spend hours on Pinterest going through interior design boards. And I definitely love the assistant co-worker trope. Usually it comes with forced proximity, which makes for fun times.But I must admit, this book will be the one CL book that I didn’t connect with at all. I would also say, that if (view spoiler)[The Honey-Don’t List had so much potential, but unfortunately there were quite a lot of missed opportunities.On the one hand I loved the topic. I’m a big fan of remodeling shows, and I can spend hours on Pinterest going through interior design boards. And I definitely love the assistant co-worker trope. Usually it comes with forced proximity, which makes for fun times.But I must admit, this book will be the one CL book that I didn’t connect with at all. I would also say, that if you’d asked me in six month what the story was all about, I couldn’t even tell you.For me, the main issue was that the plot didn’t spent enough time on the main couple Carey and James. Instead it was all about the mess that their employers Melissa and Rusty Tripp brought with them. Because of that I didn’t feel the chemistry, connection or sexual attraction that I would have hoped to get from a couple falling in love. The I love you‘s at the end of the novel came out of the blue for me. Because IMO their relationship never grew out of the budding romance stage.I also felt that the book was a bit all over the place. There were some elements of interview style, tweets (about the Tripps), and excerpts of a book that had nothing to do with Carey and James (again the Tripps). There was too much behind the scenes of a TV series and book tour that concentrated on the Tripps and took the focus away from the main couple.So yes, it hurts me to say, but The Honey-Don’t List didn’t work for me as much as I hoped it would.Now, good news, as soon as I’ve read a new book by CL I’m already excited about the next one. Let the waiting begin. (hide spoiler)]ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • SHIRLEY ♡
    January 1, 1970
    I really hope these two women never stop writting!This book was really sweet, light and funny. The characters were so cute and hillarious that it was imposible not to fall in love in love with them or at least like them. When I started this book, I thought that it was gonna similar to the movie called ‘set it up’ but the only thing that they have in common is that the main characters are assistant. Overall, this a good book. I really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to read more books by these women I really hope these two women never stop writting!This book was really sweet, light and funny. The characters were so cute and hillarious that it was imposible not to fall in love in love with them or at least like them. When I started this book, I thought that it was gonna similar to the movie called ‘set it up’ but the only thing that they have in common is that the main characters are assistant. Overall, this a good book. I really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to read more books by these women in the future! *ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bonnie
    January 1, 1970
    DNF @ 23%I’ve read a ton of Christina Lauren books and my ratings have gone steadily down with each new release, however, this is my first official DNF. I just couldn’t do it. This one rubbed me the wrong way right from the beginning with how similar the plot was to Chip and Joanna Gaines and their home improvement show, Fixer Upper. In The Honey-Don’t List, they’re Rusty and Melissa, with their home improvement show and their perfect life… except it’s all a lie. I don’t know, for me, it felt DNF @ 23%I’ve read a ton of Christina Lauren books and my ratings have gone steadily down with each new release, however, this is my first official DNF. I just couldn’t do it. This one rubbed me the wrong way right from the beginning with how similar the plot was to Chip and Joanna Gaines and their home improvement show, Fixer Upper. In The Honey-Don’t List, they’re Rusty and Melissa, with their home improvement show and their perfect life… except it’s all a lie. I don’t know, for me, it felt like they were just taking something good and wholesome and ruining it. But I kept reading. Until I got to this quote which is referencing Rusty’s extra-marital affairs: “I know her well enough to get that she doesn’t like my intrusion, but we’re all in this awkwardness together, and there’s no one to blame but Rusty. And to be fair, probably Melly, too.” Oh, I’m sorry, what was that? We’re blaming Melissa for being the reason Rusty cheated on her?
    more
  • ☆ sana ☆
    January 1, 1970
    this was so sweet, soft, and light with a perfect ending and has definitely become one of my favorite reads from christina lauren! i can’t wait to talk more about it.
  • Arielle ⭐ Cursebreaker ⭐
    January 1, 1970
    So.This was a solid romance with a solid storyline and solid characters. That being said, I didn’t LOVE it. I am SO bummed out to be saying that and it’s another reason why I wanted to put this review off until later. The last few Christina Lauren books have not left me obsessed and it breaks my heart. I feel like their actual writing is so solid and still has me laughing and shivering with all the ~feels~ so often but there’s just something missing that I can’t quite put my finger on.This book So.This was a solid romance with a solid storyline and solid characters. That being said, I didn’t LOVE it. I am SO bummed out to be saying that and it’s another reason why I wanted to put this review off until later. The last few Christina Lauren books have not left me obsessed and it breaks my heart. I feel like their actual writing is so solid and still has me laughing and shivering with all the ~feels~ so often but there’s just something missing that I can’t quite put my finger on.This book is about Carey, who at first is seemingly just an assistant to the HGTV-esque couple, Melissa and Rusty Tripp. Think Chip and Joanna Gaines but with a super fucked up and toxic relationship that is hidden from the general public. Carey is Melissa’s go-to for everything while our main guy/ grump, James, has become the equivalent to Rusty. Carey and James haven’t interacted a whole lot before now but all of those interactions have been a bit stilted. James thinks he’s above it all because he was originally hired under the impression that he’d be in an engineering position so he’s been kind of a know-it-all to Carey.When certain things come to light RIGHT before the couple is supposed to go on a book tour for their brand new book on their “successful marriage,” Carey and James are forced to come along. As with any group of people who is forced together under shitty situations, the two begin to get to know each other better and commiserate with one another and well….you can really guess where their relationship goes from there.I think the something that didn’t quite appeal to me was that so much of the book was about how shitty Melissa and Rusty’s relationship was and how abusive their relationship was to Carey. I mean, on one hand, that’s a HUGE part of Carey’s life and why certain parts of her are like they are but…..I guess I would have just like more James and Carey??? I don’t know, I really don’t lol. One thing I *did* like was seeing Carey’s life with focal dystonia. I had honestly never heard of that before and having books include characters with issues like these just really opens my eyes to how many things different people struggle with on a daily basis that you might not know anything about! With Carey, it impacted something that she loved doing, something that was part of her job. Other than a VERY mild case of anxiety SOMETIMES, I really have no problems to worry about on a daily basis. I definitely take that for granted (as I’m sure a lot of other people do too) so seeing these characters is really important for everyone.Overall I DID enjoy this and I will always and forever read anything these ladies put out. I know there will be plenty of people that fall madly in love with this book and these characters—especially James’s grumpy ass, lol.Huge thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for allowing me to read an eARC of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.♥For more of my reviews, please visit:
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    The Honey-Don't List was one of my most anticipated reads of early 2020. So I was beyond excited to get to read it. This book is sort of a combination of Chick Lit, contemporary romance and romantic comedy.The book alternates between two first person narrators: Carey (female- 26) and James (studied to be an engineer).The book has two interesting narrators. But much of the story is focused on another couple: Melissa/Melly and Rusty Tripp. They are the co-owners of a home decor store/brand Comb + The Honey-Don't List was one of my most anticipated reads of early 2020. So I was beyond excited to get to read it. This book is sort of a combination of Chick Lit, contemporary romance and romantic comedy.The book alternates between two first person narrators: Carey (female- 26) and James (studied to be an engineer).The book has two interesting narrators. But much of the story is focused on another couple: Melissa/Melly and Rusty Tripp. They are the co-owners of a home decor store/brand Comb + Honey. They are a power couple that do home renovations on tv. They also wrote a book.Something happens in the present that has Carey and James talking to the police. So the book then goes back a bit to tell us the full story from the beginning. But interspersed in that story are some interview transcripts, some excerpts from the new book and some social media posts.Carey has been Melly's assistant for ten years. James has been working with Rusty for two months. Melly and Rusty are a handful. And much of this book is about them (their careers, their problems...). This was a bit unusual to have two supporting characters be such a big focal point of the book. There were things that I liked and disliked about this. It did make for an interesting story. However IMO it took quite a bit of the focus (especially in the first half) away from the narrators.I really enjoy this writing duo and have read their last eight contemporary romances/Women's Fiction/romantic comedy books. They are such enjoyable books. The Honey-Don't List was entertaining. It was funny at times and it was a good read. However, I was able to put it down.But overall it was an enjoyable read. I think that maybe I was expecting something a bit different because the book started in the present with police interviews. But I did like the story and the characters. And the romance was good and definitely picked up in the second half.Thanks to netgalley and Simon & Schuster Canada for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    January 1, 1970
    Their last past books have not been my ultimate favorite, but this synopsis sounds like a winner and I am so excited to finally start it... ARC galley kindly provided by Gallery Books in exchange for an honest review, coming closer to release date...Follow Me On:Instagram Facebook Twitter Their last past books have not been my ultimate favorite, but this synopsis sounds like a winner and I am so excited to finally start it... ARC galley kindly provided by Gallery Books in exchange for an honest review, coming closer to release date...Follow Me On:Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Jamie beauty_andthebook_
    January 1, 1970
    The Dynamic Duo is BACK!!! Christina Lauren returns in 2020 with a romance on set of a reality TV fixer upper show - a la Chip & Joanna Gaines - but the catch here? The stars are not the romance pairing, it's their assistants! Carey & James are trying to get by and make names for themselves, despite their respective bosses behaving very badly and somewhere along the way, sparks begin to fly. The Honey Don't List is more of a contemporary romance than a romantic comedy, it has heart, The Dynamic Duo is BACK!!! Christina Lauren returns in 2020 with a romance on set of a reality TV fixer upper show - a la Chip & Joanna Gaines - but the catch here? The stars are not the romance pairing, it's their assistants! Carey & James are trying to get by and make names for themselves, despite their respective bosses behaving very badly and somewhere along the way, sparks begin to fly. The Honey Don't List is more of a contemporary romance than a romantic comedy, it has heart, tension & drama.and all the things I've come to love from CL novels. While this one didn't take over the top spot on my list of their novels, I still enjoyed every single world and will eagerly be awaiting their next!I received an advance copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Amy (TheSouthernGirlReads)
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Gallery and Netgalley for my review copy .What do you say about the dynamic duo that hasn’t already been said? Seriously what?I loved The Honey Don’t-List. When I need a vehicle to dive out of my life and into another...CL is always the way. Their characters become real people to me. I loved that this time with THD-L...we were introduced to some truly unlikeable characters.This book brings us a different format all together. The assistants of the most famous DIY reality tv couples Thank you Gallery and Netgalley for my review copy 😘.What do you say about the dynamic duo that hasn’t already been said? Seriously what?I loved The Honey Don’t-List. When I need a vehicle to dive out of my life and into another...CL is always the way. Their characters become real people to me. I loved that this time with THD-L...we were introduced to some truly unlikeable characters.This book brings us a different format all together. The assistants of the most famous DIY reality tv couples (think Chip & Joanna Gaines) are thrown together for a book tour...as expected. Sparks fly. It really reminded me of the Netflix movie Step it Up?!? It was exactly the same...but completely different 😉. Anyway...the format is an interview with a policeman and Carey and James’ varying recollections of the crime?....incident?....bottom line. It was a fantastic way to tell a story!If I am being honest this one still did not beat Josh and Hazels Guide to Dating or Love & Other Words. But at the end of the day...I mean that literally btw....this was read in a day....it was a fun read. I will always recommend Christina Lauren for contemporary romance. Plain and simple, in my opinion, they do no wrong. I’m ending with 4 1/2 🌟Put it on your radar for March 2020
    more
  • Sana
    January 1, 1970
    Not the biggest fan of the cover since it's pretty underwhelming, BUT I HAVE THE ARC EEEEEE---------------------This sounds kinda like a reverse Set It Up (not that I've watched the movie yet) so all here for it! (Also, I just love that Gallery Books bought three titles from the duo because auto approved on Edelweiss, eeee)
    more
  • AC Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Co-workers-turn-lovers romance 3.5 starsCarey (a long-term employee) and James (MIT graduate and engineering genius) are both working for Melissa and Rusty Tripp. They have been working hard to help the bosses launch a new relationship book and a TV show. Carey and James are overworked, tired and at the end of their rope. Just when Carey and James thought they have a little break once the bosses get on the road, they were told they needed to accompany them. Let the roller coaster trip begins … Co-workers-turn-lovers romance 3.5 starsCarey (a long-term employee) and James (MIT graduate and engineering genius) are both working for Melissa and Rusty Tripp. They have been working hard to help the bosses launch a new relationship book and a TV show. Carey and James are overworked, tired and at the end of their rope. Just when Carey and James thought they have a little break once the bosses get on the road, they were told they needed to accompany them. Let the roller coaster trip begins … Rusty was cheating on his wife Melissa and let just say they have a very dysfunctional relationship. Carey and James have a tough job of babysitting the bosses and keeping the peace. What I don’t like is the whole Melissa and Rusty living a lie and all the drama that comes with them being famous. What a hot mess! However, the romance between Carey and James was cute and sweet. Honestly, this story is not my favorite of CL. It drags a bit but if you are looking for a fun, lighthearted love story between co-workers – this is for you.
    more
  •  Vanessa B. ☽♡
    January 1, 1970
    I have come to realise that Christina Lauren books are always great fun. Personally, I have read most of their stand-alone and honestly, I always have a good time reading them. They are solid good books with funny stories, cute romances and most of the times nice characters. This was once again very entertaining and the story really nice. I really liked James and Carey, but I got very angry with Melissa and how she treated everyone.
    more
  • Kristi
    January 1, 1970
    I’m a little embarrassed to admit that this is my first book by the authors Christina Lauren! I’m also kicking myself because I enjoyed it so much! Christina Lauren will be on my auto-read list from here on out! The Honey-Don’t List is quirky and compelling with an exceptional writing style. Starting in the present with a police interview alternating between the two narrators of the book, James and Carey, it moves on to past history that brought me to the present. James and Carey work for a I’m a little embarrassed to admit that this is my first book by the authors Christina Lauren! I’m also kicking myself because I enjoyed it so much! Christina Lauren will be on my auto-read list from here on out! The Honey-Don’t List is quirky and compelling with an exceptional writing style. Starting in the present with a police interview alternating between the two narrators of the book, James and Carey, it moves on to past history that brought me to the present. James and Carey work for a married couple, Melissa (Melly) and Rusty, that host a home renovation show, own a very popular home décor store, and are authors of a new book. Carey works for Melly and has for a while and James is fairly new to assisting Rusty. Melly and Rusty are not the easiest of people to work for and maybe their perfect on-camera marriage and personas aren’t so perfect? Throw in a bus tour with them all - what could go wrong?The characters are well written and believable in their roles, Carey is snarky and so bright, I really loved her. The rest of the characters are equally enjoyable in their roles. This was an extremely quick read for me, mostly because I had a hard time putting it down. There is romance, comedy, a little mystery, and heart-felt emotion in The Honey-Don’t List, making this such an enjoyable read. A big thank you to NetGalley, Gallery Books, and Christina Lauren for providing me with a copy of The Honey-Don’t List in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • julie
    January 1, 1970
    I was hoping to love this, since CL books lately haven't been my favorites of them but *sigh* not really? idk?? it was cute but nothing special they wrote so much better stories I feel like they’re focusing more on the plot than the actual love story (which wouldn’t be so bad but it is bad because the romance feels flat and not really great?) i will still keep reading their books forever because they’re autobuy authors for me but not gonna lie i didn’t love this.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Review closer to pub day!
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    okay....so.... this isn't quite like any CL book that I've picked up (insert hands up emoji here). I've come to expect either extremely sweet touching story or something with humor at it's finest. The Honey-Don't List was a huge disappointment for me and is missing the special CL touch I love!Carey has worked for Melissa and Rusty Tripp for 10 years, frequently having her design and remodeling work go uncredited by her employer. James is a newly hire that is an engineer who is supposed to help okay....so.... this isn't quite like any CL book that I've picked up (insert hands up emoji here). I've come to expect either extremely sweet touching story or something with humor at it's finest. The Honey-Don't List was a huge disappointment for me and is missing the special CL touch I love!Carey has worked for Melissa and Rusty Tripp for 10 years, frequently having her design and remodeling work go uncredited by her employer. James is a newly hire that is an engineer who is supposed to help Carey accompany the Tripps on their upcoming tour. They're supposed to keep everything running smoothly along with trying to keep the Tripp's marriage from crumbling in the spotlight. To tell you the truth... the Tripp's were an absolute nightmare. Their relationship was dysfunctional!! Now, the romance? I felt this was lacking completely in this novel. I found myself not rooting for James and Carey because there was zero buildup or hardly any chemistry with them. IT was like CL randomly put in a scene with James and Carey beside all the drama surrounding the Tripps and their rich money/rich problems business. I felt like The Honey-Don't List was all over the place? I'm not even sure what genre to call this? There was police interviews throughout the novel.. that reminded me of a mystery/thriller aspect and was expecting someone to die? Yeah.... I'm sad to say but this is the first book that I haven't really enjoyed by this dynamic duo. I STIll am a huge fan of this talented duo and will read anything by them. I appreciate their willingness to write, write, and write!! ;).3 stars for this one. I'm sad about this three stars believe me!!! Huge thank you to Gallery Scout Press and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Publication date: 3/24/20Published to GR: 1/10/20
    more
  • Ky Baeza
    January 1, 1970
    My favorite romance duo is back and I cannot wait to read this!!!
  • Nina
    January 1, 1970
    overall this was a soft, cute, fast read.the only thing i wished was different about this book was that the emotional abuse and manipulation which carey had suffered through was dealt with or explained in a better way.
  • Tuddi
    January 1, 1970
    This CL book is different then all of the other CL's I've read and if anything, I think I love it even more! This story is unique to the contemporary/romance genre and the world they've created is wonderful! The Chip and Joanna nods will make this book an easy recommendation for friends and a definite preorder!I loved that this story was focused around the people, around their relationship with others and that the backbone wasn't just about the physical. It made you take a deeper look at the This CL book is different then all of the other CL's I've read and if anything, I think I love it even more! This story is unique to the contemporary/romance genre and the world they've created is wonderful! The Chip and Joanna nods will make this book an easy recommendation for friends and a definite preorder!I loved that this story was focused around the people, around their relationship with others and that the backbone wasn't just about the physical. It made you take a deeper look at the true meaning of friendship and family without undermining the importance of looking after yourself. I'm sure this story will hit home with many.The Honey'Don't List contains all of CL's signature style. Beautifully wonderful characters, laugh out loud moments, and the odd cringe of awkwardness. Well done CL, well done, this book is already in my cart, and I can't wait to gift it to friends and family when it releases. Also, can I just say, love this cover! (cue heart eyes) Thank you for being bold and individual! To anyone reading this review, I would highly recommend picking this book up if you're looking for something to warm your heart and keep you smiling for days.Thank you NetGalley and Simon and Shuster Canada for the e-arc. The Honey-Don't List releases March 2020.
    more
  • .
    January 1, 1970
    — review on my blog "I want to make her life better by being the best thing in it." I’ve read every single adult romance release from Christina Lauren, and this is the first time I’ve disliked one since Beautiful Bastard (which is understandable since it was fanfiction and their first book). I probably won’t even be able to articulate why I didn’t enjoy this, but it’s fundamentally not a book meant for me.Carey has worked for Melissa and Rusty Tripp for ten years, often having her design and — review on my blog ✧ "I want to make her life better by being the best thing in it." I’ve read every single adult romance release from Christina Lauren, and this is the first time I’ve disliked one since Beautiful Bastard (which is understandable since it was fanfiction and their first book). I probably won’t even be able to articulate why I didn’t enjoy this, but it’s fundamentally not a book meant for me.Carey has worked for Melissa and Rusty Tripp for ten years, often having her design and remodelling work go uncredited by her employers. James is new on the scene, supposedly hired as an engineer, who is enlisted with Carey to accompany the Tripps on their upcoming book tour. Not only are they forced to ensure everything runs smoothly, but they must keep the Tripp’s crumbling marriage from the spotlight. This proves to be a difficult task with the emerging animosity between the two.To avoid complete negativity, you’ll like this book if you find the exploration of non-romantic emotionally abusive relationships interesting. Carey constantly forgives and excuses Melissa’s actions despite her exhibitions of textbook emotionally behaviour and manipulation. I’m not sure who would appreciate that, but it’s one of the only positives I can think about. In addition, if you like novels following rich people in the media industry accompanied by multimedia – such as blogs, magazines, forums, and interviews – then you might enjoy this. Christina Lauren is renowned for their ability to write romance, and the relationship in this was undeniably well-developed and adorable. Nothing about James and Carey’s romance is underwhelming.Side note: if you thought this was like Set It Up because the two main characters are assistants to difficult bosses, that’s the extent of their similarities. They literally have nothing else in common.The main theme and writing style of The Honey-Don’t List are things I inherently don’t like reading about: rich people, rich people’s problems, rich people dealing with the media, discussions of Twitter and other social media, gossip forums, magazines, interviews, and copious popular culture references. Melissa and Rusty are home-life gurus. All they did was renovate homes with stolen, uncredited ideas. Why were they popular? Why was there gossip about them on Twitter? Why were there forums dedicated to speculating about their marriage? Why did they have paparazzi chasing them everywhere? Why were their faces on the side of a bus? WHY? Why do Americans make these types of people famous? This is the main reason I didn’t like this: I don’t understand why they were famous, and I hated the discussions of their excessive media attention. However, I want to make it evident that if you like those elements, you might enjoy this book yourself. I don’t want people to take my dismayed reaction as “this is a bad book”, but some will inevitably think that.As I stated, the romance was well-developed and established on a believable level. However, I found it difficult to care about Carey and James together. I wasn’t rooting for them to end up together. I didn’t care if they finally found their happily ever after in the end. Though, there was an excellent build-up to their realisation of feelings. James slowly begins to notice new things about Carey, rolling into a mini-crush. Meanwhile, the closed-off Carey finds herself opening up to James about things she hasn’t spoken to another person about.The main thing I appreciated was the inclusion of Carey’s focal dystonia, which I didn’t notice until she admitted she had it. I think it’s admirable that it wasn’t made into an over-encompassing character trait, enough that it’s too subtle to notice. Additionally, it’s mentioned in the author’s note that one of the authors has multiple family members with the same condition and based Carey’s experiences on theirs, which I appreciated.The Honey-Don’t List’s genre was all over the place. It can’t decide whether it wants to be a romance, a Lifetime movie, or a true crime story. There are police interviews throughout that convince you someone will die by the end, but the outcome is incredibly underwhelming. When you finally get to that moment, you’re left wondering “that’s it?” Moreover, there wasn’t enough resolution at the end, especially with the lack of an epilogue. It feels like the huge complication occurs and then… nothing. Especially with Melissa – someone who’s been emotionally abusive the entire time – is forgiven and redeemed in one go.Consequently, this book wasn’t for me, but from my complaints, you might see something you personally enjoy. It’s sad I disliked a Christina Lauren book for the first time in a while, but I still appreciate their writing and appreciate their willingness to include diversity in a neglectful genre.rep: mc with focal dystonia, minor lesbian coupletw: emotional abuse
    more
  • Melissa Borsey
    January 1, 1970
    Melissa and Rusty Tripp are the IT couple of reality television where they have their own design show and now they are on tour because of their new book which is about their marriage and how they keep their love alive. The problem is, the Tripp's are no longer in love with each other and they are having a hard time "playing nice " with eachother. Enter Carey and James, the two employees charged with keeping this reality couple in check. I enjoyed this highly entertaining book immensely, the Melissa and Rusty Tripp are the IT couple of reality television where they have their own design show and now they are on tour because of their new book which is about their marriage and how they keep their love alive. The problem is, the Tripp's are no longer in love with each other and they are having a hard time "playing nice " with eachother. Enter Carey and James, the two employees charged with keeping this reality couple in check. I enjoyed this highly entertaining book immensely, the story and the characters are alot of fun and the chapters just flew by. I thank Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book
    more
  • sanna ♡
    January 1, 1970
    1) Autoboyography 2) Hazel and Josh guide to not dating 3) The Unhoneymooners **********15 October 2019 So it now has a cover... I’m not the biggest fan BUT don’t judge a book by its cover. ********** 7 October 2019 so this book does not have a cover currently. It has a release date actually, 24 March 2020. It also has an description which caught my attention. I really like Christina Lauren’s books. I REALLY liked The Honeymooners. That book was both cute and funny. I love Ethan. 1) Autoboyography ★★★☆☆2) Hazel and Josh guide to not dating ★★★☆☆3) The Unhoneymooners ★★★★★**********15 October 2019 So it now has a cover... I’m not the biggest fan BUT don’t judge a book by its cover. ********** 7 October 2019 so this book does not have a cover currently. It has a release date actually, 24 March 2020. It also has an description which caught my attention. I really like Christina Lauren’s books. I REALLY liked The Honeymooners. That book was both cute and funny. I love Ethan.
    more
  • Octavia (ReadsWithDogs)
    January 1, 1970
    I don't usually read romance, but I need to reset my brain sometimes and then I pick it up.This was a very cute meet cute story of co-worker to lovers along with a healthy amount of TV show drama and some light sex.I wanted it to end in revenge or murder, but alas it's too cute for that. 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    These authors are an amazing discovery. It was my first read from Christina+Lauren and I loved their style. This novel was pretty addictive with a great conclusion. Books from these authors are now on my to-read list.
Write a review