My Name is Eva
You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise… Evelyn Taylor-Clarke sits in her chair at Forest Lawns Care Home in the heart of the English countryside, surrounded by residents with minds not as sharp as hers. It would be easy to dismiss Evelyn as a muddled old woman, but her lipstick is applied perfectly, and her buttons done up correctly. Because Evelyn is a woman with secrets and Evelyn remembers everything. She can never forget the promise she made to the love of her life, to discover the truth about the mission that led to his death, no matter what it cost her… When Evelyn’s niece Pat opens an old biscuit tin to find a photo of a small girl with a red ball entitled ‘Liese, 1951’ and a passport in another name, she has some questions for her aunt. And Evelyn is transported back to a place in Germany known as ‘The Forbidden Village,’ where a woman who called herself Eva went where no one else dared, amongst shivering prisoners, to find the man who gambled with her husband’s life… A gripping, haunting and compelling read about love, courage and betrayal set in the war-battered landscape of Germany. Fans of The Letter, The Alice Network and The Nightingale will be hooked. Readers are hooked on My Name is Eva: ‘Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading !!…I absolutely loved this book !…I laughed, I cried, I cheered , I sympathized all because of Evelyn…I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone, I thought you go girl !!...I don't want to say anything else but what a fantastic read…My first, not my last book by Suzanne Goldring. I can't recommend this book enough !!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘A phenomenal story of courage, love, murder and all the atrocities that go with war.Eva is an extraordinary character, strong, loyal, smart, funny, loving, and brave.A phenomenal read!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘This may be my new favorite book!!!! I absolutely love the premise of the heroine faking dementia in her retirement home to cover up her knowledge of questionable activities centering around WWII events. The tempo of this novel was perfect--kept me wondering until the very last page!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘Absolutely loved this book and its riveting plot!... The author has successfully penned a debut novel that I would highly recommend without any hesitation. An excellent debut novel from Suzanne Goldring and I look forward to reading more of her work. Historical fiction is my favourite genre to read and this book was every bit as good as some of the well-known WW2-themed titles published in recent years.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars ‘A poignant and evocative story of love, betrayal and bravery that kept me page turning and completely engrossed from start to finish. Loved it and would definitely recommend.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars ‘This book was excellent! Totally kept my attention and I wanted to find out what would become of the main characters. Highly recommended.

My Name is Eva Details

TitleMy Name is Eva
Author
ReleaseSep 11th, 2019
PublisherBookouture
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, War, World War II, Fiction, Mystery

My Name is Eva Review

  • Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
    January 1, 1970
    EXCERPT: 'What I'd like to do this time,' says Inspector Williams on his second visit, is ask you a bit about your time in the forces. I believe you joined up after you lost your husband, when he was killed in action. In 1943, wasn't it?''Is that when it was? I can't remember dates. Hugh wasn't at all keen for me to join. He wanted me to wait for him, but I so wanted to do something useful.' She looks across the room at Pat, who is sitting with her arms crossed looking irritated. 'Can you EXCERPT: 'What I'd like to do this time,' says Inspector Williams on his second visit, is ask you a bit about your time in the forces. I believe you joined up after you lost your husband, when he was killed in action. In 1943, wasn't it?''Is that when it was? I can't remember dates. Hugh wasn't at all keen for me to join. He wanted me to wait for him, but I so wanted to do something useful.' She looks across the room at Pat, who is sitting with her arms crossed looking irritated. 'Can you remember, dear? When my poor Hugh was killed?'ABOUT THIS BOOK: You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise…Evelyn Taylor-Clarke sits in her chair at Forest Lawns Care Home in the heart of the English countryside, surrounded by residents with minds not as sharp as hers. It would be easy to dismiss Evelyn as a muddled old woman, but her lipstick is applied perfectly, and her buttons done up correctly. Because Evelyn is a woman with secrets and Evelyn remembers everything. She can never forget the promise she made to the love of her life, to discover the truth about the mission that led to his death, no matter what it cost her…When Evelyn’s niece Pat opens an old biscuit tin to find a photo of a small girl with a red ball entitled ‘Liese, 1951’ and a passport in another name, she has some questions for her aunt. And Evelyn is transported back to a place in Germany known as ‘The Forbidden Village,’ where a woman who called herself Eva went where no one else dared, amongst shivering prisoners, to find the man who gambled with her husband’s life…MY THOUGHTS: Right off, I have to say that I loved the character of Evelyn. She is perceptive, clever and oh so manipulative! She runs rings around everyone else. I hope that if I make it into my nineties, I shall be as sharp as she is.While I loved the story of Eva/Evie/Evelyn/Hildebrand, and applauded her and rooted for her throughout, I did have a few issues with the writing. I felt that the author repeated herself a little to often, and that the moving backwards and forwards between the war days and afterwards, and the present (2016) could have been handled a little better. It didn't flow in parts and a few times I wondered when and where I was.... I felt that Evie's letters to her husband added little to the plot, and were often a cause of the repetition.But overall I enjoyed the story (enjoyed it enough to read it in one sitting) and plan to read more by this author. ****THE AUTHOR: This is the debut novel for Suzanne Goldring, who has previously published Powerless - The Year the Lights Went Out.DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Bookouture vis NetGalley for providing a digital ARC of My Name is Eva by Suzanne Goldring for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own opinions.For an explanation of my rating system, please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the about page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.comThis review and others are also published on Twitter, Amazon and my webpage https://sandysbookaday.wordpress.com/...
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Evelyn is an old lady in a nursing home and her niece Pat is clearing out Evelyn's home so that it can be sold. Pat finds a couple of suitcase with World War Two photographs and other memorabilia and when Evelyn sees these her memory takes her back to wartime Germany and a secret that she has kept for many years. A slow burning story about love and betrayal.Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karren Sandercock
    January 1, 1970
    Evelyn Taylor-Clarke is in her 90's, she falls at home and breaks her hip. Mrs T-C is recovering and living at Forest Lawns Care Home.Her only relative is her niece Pat, she's helping her Aunt by looking after the families crumbling manor house called Kingsley and sorting through generations of the families clutter. I believe she's really helping her Aunt as a way of keeping track of what and how much she will inherit when Evelyn passes away? Pat discovers some old photographs in a biscuit tin, Evelyn Taylor-Clarke is in her 90's, she falls at home and breaks her hip. Mrs T-C is recovering and living at Forest Lawns Care Home.Her only relative is her niece Pat, she's helping her Aunt by looking after the families crumbling manor house called Kingsley and sorting through generations of the families clutter. I believe she's really helping her Aunt as a way of keeping track of what and how much she will inherit when Evelyn passes away? Pat discovers some old photographs in a biscuit tin, blood stained clothes and guns stashed in a couple of suitcase?Evelyn is a war widow, her husband Hugh died during WW II, she has no children and lives alone. Pat asks her Aunt about the things she has found, Evelyn is old, senile and can't remember a thing?WPC Thomas interviews Evelyn about the old military weapons found at her house and soon discovers it's not going to be easy!This is all an act, Evelyn might be over 90 but she's pretending to be a dippy old lady who's more interested in what biscuit she's having with her cup of tea than answering questions about her past, what happened during WW II and the contents of the old suitcases.The book is about Evelyn's experiences during WW II, lost love, secrets, betrayal, danger and most of all revenge. I did enjoy reading about Evelyn's antics at the nursing home, her relationship with her personal care assistant Mary and how she had her niece Pat totally confused.I didn't like how the timeline of the story jumped around so much, Evelyn writing endless letters to her dead husband became rather tedious and why rape needed to be included in the story?My Name Is Eva is very different to other WW II Historical Fiction books I have read and I gave it 3 stars.Thanks to NetGalley, Bookouture and Suzanne Goldring for giving me the opportunity to read her first book.I shared my review on Goodreads, Twitter, Australian Amazon, Barnes & Noble and my blog.https://karrenreadsbooks.blogspot.com/
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book as a ARC from NetGalley and the publisher for my honest review. My Name is Eva is laugh out loud funny, sad in parts and had me glued to the pages in the beginning but I got lost somewhere a little before the middle. Fast forward to around 50% and wham! It picks upSpeed and i did not see “that” coming. Oh the secrets Evelyn has!!! Overall, i enjoyed this book. Thanks to NetGalley for this book.
    more
  • ☕️Hélène⚜️
    January 1, 1970
    This was a different WWII read for me it was a point of view after the was ended with the fall of Germany in the hands of the Allies. The life story of Evelyn “Eva”. The pathway she went through to seek revenge on the death of her husband Hugh at the hands of the Colonel.She got her revenge finally years after. But, after being violated and becoming pregnant she knew she’d have to leave her child that was painful decision to make.She never saw her once she left Germany and the child never knew This was a different WWII read for me it was a point of view after the was ended with the fall of Germany in the hands of the Allies. The life story of Evelyn “Eva”. The pathway she went through to seek revenge on the death of her husband Hugh at the hands of the Colonel.She got her revenge finally years after. But, after being violated and becoming pregnant she knew she’d have to leave her child that was painful decision to make.She never saw her once she left Germany and the child never knew her.Evelyn joined her husband.I enjoyed this book but skipping the years that wasn’t fun. I gave it 3 1/2 stars.I would like to thank NetGalley, Bookouture and Suzanne Goldring for an early copy in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Robin Loves Reading
    January 1, 1970
    My Rating: 4.5 StarsShe had many names. Evelyn Taylor-Clarke. Mrs. T-C to the caring home staff. Aunt Evelyn to her niece Pat, and Eva during her years of service during World War II. All of these names represent various sides to Evelyn that she manages to hide from many, during various stages of her life.Presently, her niece Pat is helping her clear her home, as Evelyn is now in her nineties and, after breaking a hip, is unlikely to ever live there again. Pat is continually bringing different My Rating: 4.5 StarsShe had many names. Evelyn Taylor-Clarke. Mrs. T-C to the caring home staff. Aunt Evelyn to her niece Pat, and Eva during her years of service during World War II. All of these names represent various sides to Evelyn that she manages to hide from many, during various stages of her life.Presently, her niece Pat is helping her clear her home, as Evelyn is now in her nineties and, after breaking a hip, is unlikely to ever live there again. Pat is continually bringing different items to her aunt because she has many questions. Some the things include a photo of a little girl from 1951, a cache of weapons and odd clothing. It is the weapons found that drastically change things for Evelyn. Pat is soon often accompanied by a detective at the Care Home. He has many questions about the things that were found, and even about a man who when missing years previously. However, as far as Pat, the staff and now the detective are concerned, Evelyn is all but senile, and her memory is unreliable.Evelyn has a secret. Actually she has many, many secrets. For starters, her mind is as sharp as a tack, and she is simply play-acting. Furthermore, the story is told in varying timelines and readers are clued in to Evelyn's duplicitous nature and some of the activities she was engaged in during and after the war.What a tangled web she wove! Young or old, Evelyn set out a path. During the war she had an objective. She never, ever lost sight of it and carried out her plans with exact precision. This book was equally startling and compelling. Kudos to Suzanne Goldring for writing such an impressive debut novel.Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Bev Walkling
    January 1, 1970
    I was drawn to this book initially by the beautiful artwork on the cover which immediately let me know that this was a historical novel with a focus on World War 2. There was also a statement on the cover “You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise” which had an air of mystery to it that set me to wondering what it would all be about. I have read many books that deal with the history of the times, but this one is quite unique and different from most in how it unfolds. I felt held in I was drawn to this book initially by the beautiful artwork on the cover which immediately let me know that this was a historical novel with a focus on World War 2. There was also a statement on the cover “You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise” which had an air of mystery to it that set me to wondering what it would all be about. I have read many books that deal with the history of the times, but this one is quite unique and different from most in how it unfolds. I felt held in suspense as I was reading through it with more clues coming as time went on and I read the book in very short order whenever I could grab some time. For those who like puzzles, the author drops clues throughout the book and it is very important that you read to the very last page beyond the author’s notes. She certainly caught me by surprise!As the story begins, we meet Mrs. Evelyn Taylor Clarke aka Evie, Eva and Hilda (short for Hildegarde). The setting is a retirement home where she has been living for some time. She is in her 90’s and after a fall it was made clear to her that she could no longer live on her own at her beloved Kingsley Manor. The reader quickly learns that in spite of her age, Eva (I will use that name throughout to avoid confusion) has not lost any of her mental capacity and is in fact more likely to remember things and be able to manipulate those around her than many who are much younger than her including her only niece Pat. Neither Eva nor Pat have ever had very much use for each other but as Eva’s only living relative the job has fallen on her shoulders to empty out her aunt’s house. I can identify with how difficult this must have been having had to do the same with my mother’s home after she had lived in it for over fifty years.Eva was at one time married to her love Hugh who was involved in the military in some never clearly defined way though one is led to suspect he was serving in some undercover capacity. Sadly, he died in service to his country but though he is gone, Eva continues to write to him sharing her thoughts and feelings which the reader becomes privy to as the novel progresses. When Eva learns that he was likely sent unawares on a suicide mission, she promises that the man responsible will be held to pay.The story skips back and forth through the years, and not always in a consecutive fashion, but as a reader I felt that the information in the flashbacks came out in a timely way.Based on her desire for revenge, Eva makes choices that will guide her entire life, preventing her from ever moving on to form any other romantic attachments. As readers we get to see this slowly unfold. It leads her into danger and there are some scenes that include violence and rape which may be triggering for some readers. One thing that becomes very clear is that Eva is a master manipulator who is controlling all those around her without their having any awareness of it.I think this book would make a wonderful choice for a book club with lots of food for discussion in terms of ethics and the difference between right and wrong. The author clearly knows how to write and made the story fascinating. When I finished reading the book one of my main thoughts was that it left me wondering just how many unique and different true stories there are for all the individuals involved or living in wartime conditions. I felt the book was very well researched and sadly, some of what happened makes it clear that to some the end always justifies the means. Each reader will have to answer that question for themselves.Thank you to #NetGalley and Bookouture for allowing me to read an advance reader’s copy of this novel My Name Is Eva which is due to be published September 11th, 2019. The above is my unbiased review.
    more
  • Lady Delacour
    January 1, 1970
    Fell in love with Eva.Laughed with Eva.Cried with Eva.Felt with Eva.4 Heart Happy Stars.Listened with TTS.Almost Clean but not.Mild Foul Language.
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    There seems to be such a slew of WW2 books out there at the moment, and while I think it's so important to keep the memories alive, and ensure we never forget, some of these novels can be quite samey. Not so much this one.This is an alternate timeline novel, and I am not always appreciative of this tool if it causes confusion for my tiny little brain. However, for me at least, the author has done a wonderful job here, you are never in doubt which era you are dealing with, and quickly come to There seems to be such a slew of WW2 books out there at the moment, and while I think it's so important to keep the memories alive, and ensure we never forget, some of these novels can be quite samey.  Not so much this one.This is an alternate timeline novel, and I am not always appreciative of this tool if it causes confusion for my tiny little brain.  However, for me at least, the author has done a wonderful job here, you are never in doubt which era you are dealing with, and quickly come to realise why her use of the time flip is important to the storyline.  Evelyn is an intriguing character, though at first I couldn't understand her little "games", as the story progresses it all starts to make sense.  There are some major twists in this tale, including one that I seriously didn't see coming and which really quite shocked me, and another I kind of guessed at but still didn't really expect.  All along I could not work out how it would end, and the way it did was certainly not on my radar!I found the authors writing style very enjoyable to read, very clear, and the narrative flowed really well even with the split timelines.  At first the characters of the old and new Eva/Evelyn seem very different but as the book progresses she starts to blend into one. I can't say I was particularly fond of her, but I understood to a degree why she became the person she did, and her motivations, if not her actions.There was for me a bit of a lull about 70% of the way through but it didn't last too long and other than that, this book kept me interested, and I will definitely look out for more from this author.My reviews are my opinions and thoughts on my reading experience, not book reports, so if you want to know more details about the storyline, please read the blurb, or the long reviews that break down the storyline.  I hate spoilers myself so aim to make my reviews spoiler free zones as much as possible. I received an eArc from the publisher via Netgalley, but this review is entirely unbiased and the words are my own.
    more
  • Bethany Swafford
    January 1, 1970
    Evelyn Taylor-Clarke-Mrs. T-C to the staff at Forrest Lawn Care Home-is as clever in her nineties as she was as a young woman. She has a secret, a promise she kept for years. The niece looking after matters for Mrs. T-C has no ideas of the lie her aunt has lived or the game Evelyn is playing.The premise for this book was interesting: years after World War 2, an elderly lady fakes dementia to keep her secrets safe. Evelyn cleverly convinces those around her that she is losing her mind. The back Evelyn Taylor-Clarke-Mrs. T-C to the staff at Forrest Lawn Care Home-is as clever in her nineties as she was as a young woman. She has a secret, a promise she kept for years. The niece looking after matters for Mrs. T-C has no ideas of the lie her aunt has lived or the game Evelyn is playing.The premise for this book was interesting: years after World War 2, an elderly lady fakes dementia to keep her secrets safe. Evelyn cleverly convinces those around her that she is losing her mind. The back and forth through time keeps the tension high, keeping the reader wondering what she did that needs to be protected.I would have rated this a four if it werent' for the rape scene, which is closely followed by murder. There are scenes showing tortured prisoners. This is not a book to be read lightly. The author delves into the not so moral choices made after the war. And, of course, Evelyn has her revenge.For readers who don't mind the darker aspects of the time period, I would recommend this to historical fiction readers. I received a free copy from NetGalley and all opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Judy Odom
    January 1, 1970
    Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading !! I absolutely loved this book !I laughed, I cried, I cheered , I sympathized all because of Evelyn.The book takes place between the past and the present, the present being Evelyn is a resident in an assisted living facility. I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone , I thought you go girl !!The past takes place during World War 2 as Evelyn enlists after the death of her husband. Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading !! I absolutely loved this book !I laughed, I cried, I cheered , I sympathized all because of Evelyn.The book takes place between the past and the present, the present being Evelyn is a resident in an assisted living facility. I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone , I thought you go girl !!The past takes place during World War 2 as Evelyn enlists after the death of her husband. A secret is about to be revealed after her niece uncovers some photographs from the War and that is one secret Evelyn wont have revealed.Evelyn is brass, very clever and plots very well. I don't want to say anything else but what a fantastic read.My first , not my last book by Suzanne Goldring. I can't recommend this book enough !! A big thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to laugh, cry and cheer Evelyn on !!!
    more
  • Mina Vucicevic
    January 1, 1970
    Before I start, I would like to thank NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me with a free copy of My Name is Eva in exchange for an honest review.In all honesty, I didn’t like this novel for several reasons. The greatest problem with it is the structure of the story, or more precisely, the lack of it. The story jumps from 2016 to 1940s, then 1980s, 2016 again, 1950s, 1980s again, etc. This made the story less captivating and there was no mystery as to what would happen. Now, I generally don’t Before I start, I would like to thank NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me with a free copy of My Name is Eva in exchange for an honest review.In all honesty, I didn’t like this novel for several reasons. The greatest problem with it is the structure of the story, or more precisely, the lack of it. The story jumps from 2016 to 1940s, then 1980s, 2016 again, 1950s, 1980s again, etc. This made the story less captivating and there was no mystery as to what would happen. Now, I generally don’t mind flashbacks when they’re done properly. I think that the story would have been much more interesting if the flashbacks were in the chronological order.Another issue is the fact that Goldring spent too many pages on describing Evelyn’s days at Forest Lawns Care Home. These parts are uneventful and annoyingly repetitive. On the other hand, events that took place during and in the aftermath of WWII are not developed enough. However, there are some things that I liked. First, I think that the idea is really good. There are not so many stories that revolve around the brutalities that happened after the war. Also, I like that Eva is more of an anti-heroine than a true hero. After all, she’s not much better than the people she hates so much.You can find my full review here: https://stacked-reviews.com/my-name-i...
    more
  • Jade - theelderbooks
    January 1, 1970
    World War II is an era that fascinates me. This is mostly why I picked up "My name is Eva". It did not feature as much of the war as I thought it would, but I wasn't too disappointed. We follow Evelyn, who also calls herself Eva or Evie depending on the contexts, whose husband has been killed during the war. We meet her as an old woman in a retirement home, with many secrets threatened to be revealed when her niece digs a little in her property, now empty. Throughout the book, we discover who World War II is an era that fascinates me. This is mostly why I picked up "My name is Eva". It did not feature as much of the war as I thought it would, but I wasn't too disappointed. We follow Evelyn, who also calls herself Eva or Evie depending on the contexts, whose husband has been killed during the war. We meet her as an old woman in a retirement home, with many secrets threatened to be revealed when her niece digs a little in her property, now empty. Throughout the book, we discover who Evelyn is, the things she's done and the secrets she hides.I felt a sense of peace reading this book. It just flows nicely, mixing letters with regular narration, so we get a glimpse of Evelyn's relationship with Hugh, her husband. I liked getting to know this little lady, who doesn't seem like much, but has done a great amount of things in her life, and uncovering her secrets, one page at a time. It made me want to see my grand parents more often and ask them about their life before kids (and I did go there afterwards !)The reason I'm not giving it a better rating is that it was a little too uneventful for me. Don't get me wrong, there is some action, but I didn't feel too captivated by it, and it didn't make me feel anything in particular. Things happened and I just read them to get to the next part.Another 'issue' for me was how deconstructed in time the narration was. You can go from a tale set in 2016, then 1945, then 1980, then 2016 again, then 1950, etc... I have no problems with the flashbacks, they're the entire point of the book, but I would have liked the flashbacks to follow the previous one. Like 1945, 2016, 1950,2016, 1980, and so on, instead of jumping back and forth decades.Besides Evelyn, who was a good enough character, I couldn't feel much for the rest of the cast. They're here, but they don't convey much emotion, especially Pat, Evelyn's niece, who's a little cliché of the kid that doesn't want to be around old people too long.I would have loved to read more about Hugh, getting to know who he was before being sent to war, how he met Evelyn, how they fell in love, and so on ! Maybe this can be another book ? I think I'd really like that !Thank you Netgalley and Bookouture for providing me with an e-arc !
    more
  • Susan Hampson
    January 1, 1970
    Evelyn Tayor-Clark is well into her nineties, with a mind as sharp as it was 60 years ago but with a body that gets more brittle as every year passes. After a fall at home, Evelyn had broken her hip and had become a permanent resident at Forest Lawns Care Home. Evelyn’s estate has been left in the hands of her niece Pat to sort out but this huge mansion set in its own grounds holds some deadly secrets.Evelyn has had to lead a double life more than once in the past and now she takes on the role Evelyn Tayor-Clark is well into her nineties, with a mind as sharp as it was 60 years ago but with a body that gets more brittle as every year passes. After a fall at home, Evelyn had broken her hip and had become a permanent resident at Forest Lawns Care Home. Evelyn’s estate has been left in the hands of her niece Pat to sort out but this huge mansion set in its own grounds holds some deadly secrets.Evelyn has had to lead a double life more than once in the past and now she takes on the role again. Evelyn plays the part of an old lady with dementia readying herself for questions that are bound to be asked but can’t be answered. The story then jumps back to various timelines throughout her life both during the war years and her continuing service after the war ends too.This is a huge love story for a man she was only with a very short time but a man that was the love of her life. I loved that she wrote to him, I loved that she sent her ‘letters’ through her thoughts when she had to and I loved that it felt he was still with her in so many ways. Most of all I liked that it portrayed some of the characters as being in the war for the glory not the good. The twisted ones, on both sides, that took too much pleasure interrogating their prisoners and the heartless sacrifices of men’s lives they made.Evelyn was a patient woman, cleverly planning and being a chameleon when she needed to be. What an amazing story and what terrible secrets she kept. I so felt for this lady who only had her special letters to be able to share her feelings with. I don’t think I have ever felt like a character was so lonely surrounded by people as she was. Beautifully written I felt instantly connected to Evelyn. Very powerful! Loved this story.Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for an e-copy of this book, which I have reviewed honestly.
    more
  • J_Mc 251
    January 1, 1970
    Make no mistake; this is a stellar read! From the thoroughly realistic characters (including the mysterious main character and her real jerk of a niece) to the intricate plot, I loved everything about it. I especially liked how Evelyn (Evie/Eva) was a master of manipulation. She was one of the most intriguing characters I have ever “met.” Do yourself a huge favor and pick this one up. For a full review, please visit my blog at Fireflies and Free Kicks Fiction Reviews. Thank you to NetGalley, Make no mistake; this is a stellar read! From the thoroughly realistic characters (including the mysterious main character and her real jerk of a niece) to the intricate plot, I loved everything about it. I especially liked how Evelyn (Evie/Eva) was a master of manipulation. She was one of the most intriguing characters I have ever “met.” Do yourself a huge favor and pick this one up. For a full review, please visit my blog at Fireflies and Free Kicks Fiction Reviews. Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture, and the author for a complimentary, pre-release digital ARC of the book.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I was looking forward to reading this because the description sounded interesting. Unfortunately, I didn't connect with the story. I blame this on Eva/Evelyn/Evie/Hilda. The woman with a dozen names and a very convoluted history. The book was confusing with all the flashbacks. I usually love flashbacks, but this jumped from the present(2016) to 1980s, 1940s, 1950s and was never in chronological order. Eva's life just didn't seem believable. She had every imaginable thing happen to her. I hated I was looking forward to reading this because the description sounded interesting. Unfortunately, I didn't connect with the story. I blame this on Eva/Evelyn/Evie/Hilda. The woman with a dozen names and a very convoluted history. The book was confusing with all the flashbacks. I usually love flashbacks, but this jumped from the present(2016) to 1980s, 1940s, 1950s and was never in chronological order. Eva's life just didn't seem believable. She had every imaginable thing happen to her. I hated the dementia game she was playing. I didn't find it funny, but rather annoying. I was waiting for them to put her in some time of special place due to all her "acting." So much happened to Eva over the years, but would have liked to read more about it. Everything felt glossed over. What exactly happened to her husband? She doesn't really know the missions that he was sent on but takes revenge for his death. There was just too much going on and never loved any of the characters. Does Pat even love her aunt? She seems bothered that she inherits a house full of valuables and loads of land. I found parts of the story interesting. I enjoyed reading about Eva in the past rather than when she was in the nursing home. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bookouture through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Lee Husemann
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved this book! This is really different from the usual WWII Historical Fiction books that I love to read. The story starts out with Evelyn Taylor-Clark who is in her 90s and in an assisted living facility being visited by her Power of Attorney niece, Pat. Pat is in the process of disposing Evelyn's possessions and comes across some pictures in a biscuit container that she does not recognize. Evelyn seems to have dementia, or does she??? The book proceeds in a then and now format I absolutely loved this book! This is really different from the usual WWII Historical Fiction books that I love to read. The story starts out with Evelyn Taylor-Clark who is in her 90s and in an assisted living facility being visited by her Power of Attorney niece, Pat. Pat is in the process of disposing Evelyn's possessions and comes across some pictures in a biscuit container that she does not recognize. Evelyn seems to have dementia, or does she??? The book proceeds in a then and now format where it takes us back to Evelyn's early life when she is married to Hugh who is in the service in 1939. There are lots of twists and turns in this truly fascinating book and it definitely is a page turner. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this great book that I highly recommend to anyone who loves Historical Fiction.
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    You can’t pretend you don’t know anything about the guns,’ hisses Pat. ‘I’ve looked all through those cases. They’re full of your stuff. There’s clothes, documents, and passports. You’ve got to tell the police where the guns came from.’ ‘Well, dear, I would if I could remember.’ Evelyn Taylor-Clarke, is a surprising woman. On the surface, she seems like an even-tempered and respectable ninety-something-year-old woman who does crossword puzzles in the Forest Lawns Care Home, but her past holds You can’t pretend you don’t know anything about the guns,’ hisses Pat. ‘I’ve looked all through those cases. They’re full of your stuff. There’s clothes, documents, and passports. You’ve got to tell the police where the guns came from.’ ‘Well, dear, I would if I could remember.’ Evelyn Taylor-Clarke, is a surprising woman. On the surface, she seems like an even-tempered and respectable ninety-something-year-old woman who does crossword puzzles in the Forest Lawns Care Home, but her past holds unsettling secrets.Evelyn, or Eva, as she called herself when working in Germany after the war, lost her husband under unimaginable circumstances and sets out to avenge his death. The events told in present and past unfold into a heartbreaking and remarkable story about courage, heartbreak and what a woman will do for the love of her life. This startling read will transport you into the harsh reality of post-war Europe and throw you back to the present with secrets kept for 70+ years.  Recommend highly.Thank you to Ms. Goldring for giving me the opportunity to read this book with no expectation of a positive review.
    more
  • Jean Blankenship
    January 1, 1970
    My Name is Eva by Suzan GoldringEva, (Evelyn) is in her nineties and has been in the nursing home for some time. She has many secrets. Her niece Pat is trying to settle her estate and clean the house from years of things pilling up. Eva’s husband was killed at a young age. This set off all the events in Eva life. I think this act somehow caused Eva to have a lot of hate and she wanted revenge. Colonial Stephen Robinson consumed her for most of her life with her hate for him. I love following her My Name is Eva by Suzan GoldringEva, (Evelyn) is in her nineties and has been in the nursing home for some time. She has many secrets. Her niece Pat is trying to settle her estate and clean the house from years of things pilling up. Eva’s husband was killed at a young age. This set off all the events in Eva life. I think this act somehow caused Eva to have a lot of hate and she wanted revenge. Colonial Stephen Robinson consumed her for most of her life with her hate for him. I love following her life from a young woman to an old lady. Romance, Secrets, rape, murder. This story has it all. I loved it from beginning to end. The author has done a fantastic job of telling the story of a young woman’s life, all the things that she had to endure and her ending up in a nursing home with so many secrets, all because of a promise made. Thank you to #NetGalley and Bookouture for allowing me to read an advance reader’s copy of My Name is Eva. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Gloria Arthur
    January 1, 1970
    My name is Eva is a historical fiction novel. The story is centered around a woman named Evelyn Taylor-Clarke, who is known as Evie to her loved ones. Evie has just recently had to move out of her London home at Kingsley Manor and is currently residing at the Forest Lawns Care Home where we learn of her extraordinary past life and work with the ATS, post World War II. Evie cleverly puts on an award winning performance of losing her memory and hides how sharp and exceptional her mind really is My name is Eva is a historical fiction novel. The story is centered around a woman named Evelyn Taylor-Clarke, who is known as Evie to her loved ones. Evie has just recently had to move out of her London home at Kingsley Manor and is currently residing at the Forest Lawns Care Home where we learn of her extraordinary past life and work with the ATS, post World War II. Evie cleverly puts on an award winning performance of losing her memory and hides how sharp and exceptional her mind really is to those in the nursing home and her niece Pat. Her complaining niece Pat has power of attorney and has the onerous task of sorting through Evie’s belongings and valuables and getting everything in order for the sale of the estate. This is a shocking story of revenge, courage, secrets and a promise Evie made to the love of her life that she would fulfil no matter what the consequences. My name is Eva was inspired by the author Suzanne Goldring's family diaries from post war Germany.One of my favourite genre’s is historical fiction, I was drawn to this story, it was an easy read and had an interesting storyline. Thank you to Netgalley & Bookouture for an ARC in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Nancy
    January 1, 1970
    The subject matter had me at hello, but for me, it just wasn't riveting. The back and forth from past to present seemed a little disjointed. I think at one point the story was not linear and it was confusing. I also failed to really understand why the "old" Eva (a very smart, sharp old woman) would have no other choice but to put on a very involved, extended act trying to show that she is mentally incompetent. Those parts were not amusing for me and were just cringe worthy. I don't like to give The subject matter had me at hello, but for me, it just wasn't riveting. The back and forth from past to present seemed a little disjointed. I think at one point the story was not linear and it was confusing. I also failed to really understand why the "old" Eva (a very smart, sharp old woman) would have no other choice but to put on a very involved, extended act trying to show that she is mentally incompetent. Those parts were not amusing for me and were just cringe worthy. I don't like to give reviews that are not very positive, especially when the book has been so kindly given to me at no charge, but I promised an honest review in return for the book. Others may have a much better reaction, and I hope they do.
    more
  • Emma Crowley
    January 1, 1970
    A seemingly unremarkable old woman named Evelyn Taylor Clarke has now reached the stage in life where she needs to live in a care home. She doesn't appear to be anything out of the ordinary having spent most of her life living at the family home - Kingsley Manor in Surrey. But scratch beneath the surface and Evelyn/ Evie or Eva, as she is called depending on the circumstances you are reading about, has an awful lot to hide. She has kept so many secrets for years and now she knows her time is A seemingly unremarkable old woman named Evelyn Taylor Clarke has now reached the stage in life where she needs to live in a care home. She doesn't appear to be anything out of the ordinary having spent most of her life living at the family home - Kingsley Manor in Surrey. But scratch beneath the surface and Evelyn/ Evie or Eva, as she is called depending on the circumstances you are reading about, has an awful lot to hide. She has kept so many secrets for years and now she knows her time is drawing near and that some of those secrets will come spilling out whether she likes it or not. But she is still in control of her destiny and would like a say as to the terms of these reveals.So begins the impressive début novel from Suzanne Goldring – My Name is Eva.The reader is instantly lulled into a false sense of security thinking Evelyn is a harmless old woman who is going a bit funny and experiencing memory loss. Well her niece Pat who is currently sorting out Evelyn's estate certainly thinks so and pays scant attention to some of the things Evelyn says. But look a little closer and you will soon find that Evelyn very much has all of her senses even if physically her body may be letting her down. Now she understands the final piece of her game or puzzle is about to slot into place and she is very much looking forward to being the main operator and having control as to how the final curtain may fall.Immediately within the first chapter Suzanne Goldring has the reader in the palm of her hands and this grip is not relinquished until you reach the very last sentence. This was not your typical war time historical fiction novel instead I felt as if the author had breathed fresh air into a genre I don't hesitate to call my favourite. Yes there is a dual timeline of sorts but it all focuses on one woman and the different names she has gone under in her life for different reasons. We observe the many personas of Evelyn and although she is one person I felt we truly got to know the many layers and depths to her. As we progress through the book we come to understand what has driven and motivated her since World War Two and that she is not all sweetness and light and if people truly understand the depths to which she plunged and the tactics she used they would certainly in for the surprise of their lives.Evelyn in her old age pretends she is elusive and doesn't understand what is being asked of her or where she truly is but she is one clever cookie and there are so many questions raised within the first few chapters that the reader is desperate for answers. They will come with time but allowing the story to unfold and to follow the many strands of Eva's life are more than worth the pay off as you race towards the deeply satisfying and surprising conclusion. What is Eva hiding? Why is she letting on that she can't remember important things when questioned and why is there a photo hidden in her bedside locker that she takes out every night?I loved how letters were interspersed between each chapter as they really helped the pace of the story and aided the reader in learning more about Evie and her situation. The letters written by Evie are to her husband Hugh who alongside the group he was with were betrayed by someone important in the war which led to their subsequent death. Evie is fuelled by anger once she learns the true cause of Hugh's death she wants revenge through any means possible. Through the letters we get a deep insight into her mind and heart and they are written in such a conversational style to Hugh. I would have loved to have had a little bit more about how Evelyn met Hugh and what their life was like before it was torn apart by war but on reflection this book is more about the aftermath of a major event in Evie's early life which directs the course of the remainder of her years.The hatred Evie has for the man who took her beloved Hugh away from her only intensifies with time not lessens and the way she sets about seeking vengeance is truly remarkable. Never would one have thought Evie could be so sly, cunning and manipulative. The plans she weaves and the circumstances she brings about are riveting and horrifying in equal measure and her cool, calm and collected nature really belies how conniving and calculating she truly is. I don't think Evie is a character whom you are meant to fall in love with and root for all the way. I liked her as an older woman and I thought those scenes in the care home and the conversations she engages in with people who are questioning her upon the discovery of something best kept hidden were fantastically written. But in her earlier years working in Germany towards the end of the war and for several years following its conclusion well there was a totally different side to her where she became known as Eva and at times there I didn't like her and even more so when it became clear what she did.Yet everything happens for a reason and she is spurred on to fight for the many injustices she has seen taken place but also there is something hidden even deeper that motivates her. This particular scene upon its revelation was difficult to read but I felt it was very much necessary to include it in the book as it helped me understand Eva even better. If Eva is ever to find peace in this life her mission needs to be fulfilled at whatever cost. One questions throughout and this is what would make this book a great selection for a book club is that can her actions when all the strands merge together ever be condoned? As a reader you go back and forth and your opinion is swayed more than once and in the end I remained firmly stuck in the middle torn between moral beliefs and obligations whilst thinking of a woman who was just so brutally affected and changed by one event.Eva will go to any length to achieve her objective and all the plotting and planning is expertly revealed at just the right time. The line on the front cover says – you pay a terrible price for keeping a promise and this could not be more true the further you delve deeper into Eva's story. Eva's actions will prove divisive to many readers. Some are wrong, some are right but her agile and watchful mind has been playing a game for so many years that as she draws nearer to its conclusion she is maintaining a balancing act. She has carefully curated every strand of her life since the war and kept so many things close to her chest. Is she willing to reveal all and relinquish the control she always had over her carefully constructed life?My Name is Eva is a haunting and brilliant read and a stand out book in the historical fiction genre. Some may find the going back and forth across the various timelines slightly confusing but I found it worked wonderfully and was written in such an ingenious way that you are constantly left wanting to read more of a particular time period as the time-line does not run concurrently. This is a cleverly constructed, well paced and plotted novel that strikes up many tones and perceptions of Eva depending on the point of her life that you are reading about. As for those crossword clues, well that angle was just brilliant and I'll say no more. The ending was simply sublime and it could not have ended in any other way. Suzane Goldring is definitely a real talent and I will certainly be looking out for more books from her in the future. My Name is Eva was an exceptional read with a main character you will not forget in a hurry.
    more
  • Pamela Rae Stewart
    January 1, 1970
    Wow!! Great Story!I really enjoyed this book. I was anxious to finish and have to say that I did struggle a few times to have the patience to read parts that were lengthy in details. I did scan through many parts. It is beautifully written and must have been tedious. At least it would have been for me. Miss Evelyn, Eva, Evie has many voices throughout her life. The prim and proper English, especially of the elderly Evelyn, wise and confident and the youthful happy voice of the newly married and Wow!! Great Story!I really enjoyed this book. I was anxious to finish and have to say that I did struggle a few times to have the patience to read parts that were lengthy in details. I did scan through many parts. It is beautifully written and must have been tedious. At least it would have been for me. Miss Evelyn, Eva, Evie has many voices throughout her life. The prim and proper English, especially of the elderly Evelyn, wise and confident and the youthful happy voice of the newly married and also the young woman learning to be an operative, strong, in control, and helping many and surviving much as she beheld the sorrow and suffering. The author is outstanding, I feel, in her ability to portray so many sides to this woman!! Especially in the care home, as she had to act demented and truly was not. Such a brilliant concept for this story. I don’t want to give away anything-but there are some hidden plots that may surprise you and if you do feel somewhat bogged down, I want to encourage you to press on to the end. You wouldn’t want to miss anything!! It is excellently written and the author is amazingly talented!! Even though I was impatient with some of the lengthy chatter, some readers may really enjoy that. I felt the book still was very worthy of 5 stars!! pamarellaPRCS
    more
  • Shirley Miller
    January 1, 1970
    This is a really good and entertaining read. The story goes back and forth between Eve’s younger years in the 40’s and present day as a 91 y/o lady in a nursing home. She is telling her story. The problem is, no one can tell what is true or not true. Eva likes to play games with people’s minds, pretending to have dementia when actually she is extremely sharp and never forgets anything. When she quickly does the daily crossword puzzle with her sharpest pencils, before anyone can see, she uses an This is a really good and entertaining read. The story goes back and forth between Eve’s younger years in the 40’s and present day as a 91 y/o lady in a nursing home. She is telling her story. The problem is, no one can tell what is true or not true. Eva likes to play games with people’s minds, pretending to have dementia when actually she is extremely sharp and never forgets anything. When she quickly does the daily crossword puzzle with her sharpest pencils, before anyone can see, she uses an ink pen to cover her answers with nonsense unrelated words. She particularly dislikes her messy and unkept niece who checks on her and Eve keeps her flustered and irritated as the niece tries to sort through contents of Eve’s magnificent manor, asking questions about the history and importance of various items. Eve isn’t about to help her out. I don’t know which I enjoyed more, her highly intelligent younger years or her twilight years. This is a must read.
    more
  • Rachel Roetman
    January 1, 1970
    My Name is Eva is, for me, a new approach to this period of history both in style and timing. I found the constant breaks in the storyline to read the letters to Hugh a little tiresome but, overall, I found the book very informative and descriptive. In my naïveté, I had imagined the Allies to have been more humane, even if coldly punishing, but not brutal physically in their treatment of prisoners - which of course reduces them to the level of the Nazis! On the other hand, having grown up in the My Name is Eva is, for me, a new approach to this period of history both in style and timing. I found the constant breaks in the storyline to read the letters to Hugh a little tiresome but, overall, I found the book very informative and descriptive. In my naïveté, I had imagined the Allies to have been more humane, even if coldly punishing, but not brutal physically in their treatment of prisoners - which of course reduces them to the level of the Nazis! On the other hand, having grown up in the 1940’s in a large family, it was our favorite game to think up brutal and disgusting punishments for Hitler - the more disgusting and cruel the better! (Which only goes to show that most individuals have this innate ability for cruelty at heart). The description of life at Wildflecken was really interesting and inspires me to read more about the resettlement of Polish refugees, in particular Now in my late-seventies, I was amused by and empathetic with Evelyn, and a little nervous! Her niece, Pat, hopefully is not representative of my children!
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    First, I love the cover of My Name is Eva which gives you the feeling of the story. Evelyn (Eva) is telling her story through flashbacks to WWII and her role during the war and after the war. I read a lot of WWII fiction historical fiction, and I find that each book fulfills information about this time period. One interesting section that personally affected me was about her efforts in helping Polish prisoners enter back into life either by obtaining visas to the U.S., finding relatives, or First, I love the cover of My Name is Eva which gives you the feeling of the story. Evelyn (Eva) is telling her story through flashbacks to WWII and her role during the war and after the war. I read a lot of WWII fiction historical fiction, and I find that each book fulfills information about this time period. One interesting section that personally affected me was about her efforts in helping Polish prisoners enter back into life either by obtaining visas to the U.S., finding relatives, or getting them ready to go back to Poland. My sister-in-law’s parents might have been one of these couples. I know they were in labor camps as teenagers, married at the end of the war, and were in Germany before they were granted visas to come to the U.S. in 1949. They were very hard workers and raised a family of seven children. The author provides intrigue, need for revenge, loss of love for a husband during the war, a child she could not keep. This book will stay with me for a long time. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Tama Fortner
    January 1, 1970
    Amidst the heartache and devastation of World War II, Evelyn Taylor-Clarke makes a promise to her husband and to herself. Decades later, she keeps it. By all appearances, Evelyn is just another nonagenarian, slowly fading into the shadows of dementia. No one knows or even suspects that her mind is as sharp as the pencils she keeps ever by her side . . . pencils she was trained to use for much more than crossword puzzles. When her niece uncovers a passport in another name, mysterious photographs, Amidst the heartache and devastation of World War II, Evelyn Taylor-Clarke makes a promise to her husband and to herself. Decades later, she keeps it. By all appearances, Evelyn is just another nonagenarian, slowly fading into the shadows of dementia. No one knows or even suspects that her mind is as sharp as the pencils she keeps ever by her side . . . pencils she was trained to use for much more than crossword puzzles. When her niece uncovers a passport in another name, mysterious photographs, and a collection of guns, Evelyn must call upon her wartime training to keep hidden the secrets she has kept for so long.Unfolding in split time, Evelyn’s—Eva’s—story alternates between the war years and present day. I love the interspersing of letters to her husband, giving readers a unique glimpse into her motives and motivations.Suzanne Goldring introduces readers to the lesser-known aftermath of World War II in Germany, a time when perhaps everything wasn’t quite so black-and-white as we would like to believe. My Name Is Eva will challenge you to look past the gray hair and the wrinkles and wonder at the lives of those we too often so easily dismiss. A fabulous read!*I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Diane Secchiaroli
    January 1, 1970
    Evelyn/EvaI love historical novels and this one did have information about organizations for women during WW2 in England that I was not familiar with. The novel jumps from the war era to present day and back again with the use of letters to Evelyn’s dead husband. I liked the format but thought matters were sometimes repeated too often. I also found some parts unbelievable (girls dressed in costumes at the train center dancing-these we’re referees who couldn’t possibly have costumes readily Evelyn/EvaI love historical novels and this one did have information about organizations for women during WW2 in England that I was not familiar with. The novel jumps from the war era to present day and back again with the use of letters to Evelyn’s dead husband. I liked the format but thought matters were sometimes repeated too often. I also found some parts unbelievable (girls dressed in costumes at the train center dancing-these we’re referees who couldn’t possibly have costumes readily available). It is a fast read and was based on found letters and overheard conversations, thus the research into WW2.
    more
  • Trick Wiley
    January 1, 1970
    Member ReviewMy Name is EvabySuzanne GoldringPub Date:11 Sep 2019Review byTrick W, ReviewerLast updated on 18 Aug 2019My RecommendationWhat a way to start out this dark historic fiction book! Took me a few to figure out what's going on,didn't know if I would finish the book,but I did and enjoyed it! It was different about her life turning the war! Received from Net Gallery. Will look for more books from this author. Loved the cover of the book! You must read tho find out how it ends!! You will Member ReviewMy Name is Evaby Suzanne GoldringPub Date: 11 Sep 2019Review byTrick W, ReviewerLast updated on 18 Aug 2019My Recommendation     What a way to start out this dark historic fiction book! Took me a few to figure out what's going on,didn't know if I would finish the book,but I did and enjoyed it! It was different about her life turning the war! Received from Net Gallery. Will look for more books from this author. Loved the cover of the book! You must read tho find out how it ends!! You will like it!!Publish your review!We’ve already copied it to your clipboard. 
    more
  • Linda Joyce
    January 1, 1970
    Very difficult to relate to the main character Evelyn. She seems like a psychologically ill person who did not care too much about others outside of her long dead husband and only child. However I did finish reading the book and it did hold some surprises. onI would not recommend this book. There is nothing uplifting about the story that makes me want to pass it along
    more
Write a review