Behind Every Lie
If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets

Behind Every Lie Details

TitleBehind Every Lie
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 4th, 2020
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501184048
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller

Behind Every Lie Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Three more confusing, guilt feeling, my head is about to explode because of overthinking stars!I truly confess, when I read “Night Olivia Fell”, I mostly enjoyed the writing style and the author’s approach of mother and daughter relationship. But I considered that book is an emotional fiction and I didn’t find it mysterious and thrilling enough so I gave three stars which I regretted and thought to write an upgraded review because nothing was irritating about the book. Just I wished to read Three more confusing, guilt feeling, my head is about to explode because of overthinking stars!I truly confess, when I read “Night Olivia Fell”, I mostly enjoyed the writing style and the author’s approach of mother and daughter relationship. But I considered that book is an emotional fiction and I didn’t find it mysterious and thrilling enough so I gave three stars which I regretted and thought to write an upgraded review because nothing was irritating about the book. Just I wished to read something more heart throbbing and juicy. And this new book is more than juicy! It is raw, rare, head spinning kind of twisty, full of surprises but those too much sucker punching, back stabbing, you didn’t see it coming did you moron reader, look I am so smart and you just paralyzed with shock, you cannot even move an inch kind of edgy, stunning, sudden twists are TOO MUCH to absorb. There are so many coincidences. ( I don’t want to give spoilers but Kat’s realization about some important pieces of puzzle depending on remembering the suspicious guy’s watch brand! Because her abuser husband preferred the same brand of watch! Oh come on!!!!!)The story starts with celebration dinner!Eva, her mother Kat, brother Andrew and mother’s bestie, her fairy auntie Lily gather together to raise their glasses for Kat’s heroic act to save an innocent child.We catch glimpses about mother and daughter’s problematic relationship. Eva has a secret about her past that no one believes in her. She keeps the police reports secret from her fiancee and she terrifies her mother can spill the beans so she hesitates to introduce him to her family. And then at the next chapter she finds herself at the hospital bed, STRUCK BY THE LIGHTNING ( yes, you read it right, I don’t know why the author found so extreme solution to punish her character. Without any light striking or natural disaster, Eva may still suffer from amnesia. Her brain may naturally rejects the things happened that night because of heavy traumatic experience she endured.) She finds out her mother stabbed several times and brutally murdered. And she is the prime suspect of the killing! So she needs to gather the lost pieces of her memory but to do it effectively, she needs to face the secrets and lies that her family had carried for years. WHAT I LIKE ABOUT THE BOOK:Two POVED story-telling and impeccable, genuine, natural, well-rounded characterization: Both Kat and Eva suffered from different traumas ( abuse, rape, abandonment, violence, rejection) but they are capable to find their own ways to survive and discover who they are. Both of them are not great examples of heroines. They have flaws, obsessions, insecurities but these attributes help us to empathize them and understand their way of thinking, what they did wrong. WHAT I DON’T LIKE ABOUT IT:There are so many coincidences. I had hard time to understand the motives of the probable killer waiting for so long to avenge. (Because his or her motivation had to depend on something sacred and emotional but this person doesn’t have any of them. So this makes let’ s say him or her a caricatured, artificial “bad guy”!And all of those abuse, suicide, schematic runaway plans, disguises, stalker, obsessive characters are too much for one story. All those materials could be used for two different books!!! We didn’t need so much surprises to engage with the story at all. At the revelation part, all those information makes you feel like you’re hungover from consuming at least 100 tequila and 67 Jagermeister shots (I’m talking from experience, this is my regular girls night out consuming, but I guarantee that next day you crawl and cry at least 7 hours!) or hit by a Christmas tree ( another experience but i did it myself, don’t ask me how! I think those things I drank were not only eggnogs!!!)My spider senses guessed most of the surprises but I still kept repeated: “WHAT? WHAT? WHAT? OH ISN’T IT ENOUGH!”Thankfully after the heroine was struck by the lightning, she wasn’t also crushed by the truck and crumbled under the falling piano coming out of nowhere at the very same night. (I don’t suggest her play lottery! She is unluckiest heroine I’ve ever seen and she may also presumed murderer! Poor Eva! (Some parts of the book I gave hysterical laughs because it turned into an over exaggerated B rated thriller movies!)So I gave three stars but I liked the characters, riveting, fast pacing, high tempo and story telling. If there weren’t so many twists and some simpler solution to solve the mystery, I could happily give more points because the author is brilliant and has so much potential.Special thanks to NetGalley and Gallery, Pocket Books for sharing this ARC COPY with me in exchange for my honest review!
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction novel. I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut-the I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction novel. I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut-the more realistic dialogue, the anguish....The “GOODBYES” in this book seemed too easy- the characters didn’t seem to feel any loss or pain.This book required the reader to SUSPEND DISBELIEF.I don’t do well with that. At all. But, as you can see from the many 5 star reviews, there are definitely readers who have no problem doing that! Perhaps YOU will be one of those readers?? Many thanks to Netgalley, Gallery Books and Christina McDonald for the digital ARC I received in exchange for a candid review. This title will be released on Feb. 4, 2020.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald pulled my heartstrings every which way with her emotional mystery The Night Olivia Fell. Now she is giving us a suspenseful thriller about a woman who wakes up from having been struck by lightning and finding out that her mother has been murdered. Eva has vague and confusing thoughts about having been with her mother when she was murdered, with blood everywhere, including on Eva's own hands and now a detective is hounding her for the details of that night. But just like the Christina McDonald pulled my heartstrings every which way with her emotional mystery The Night Olivia Fell. Now she is giving us a suspenseful thriller about a woman who wakes up from having been struck by lightning and finding out that her mother has been murdered. Eva has vague and confusing thoughts about having been with her mother when she was murdered, with blood everywhere, including on Eva's own hands and now a detective is hounding her for the details of that night. But just like the time Eva experienced another traumatic event in her life, she can't remember what happened that night. The story is told from the viewpoints of Eva and her mother Kat. There are so many coincidences (or are they coincidences?), shocks, twists, mysteries, piled on, one after another, that I wasn't able to enjoy the ride with this story. So very much happened to Eva (and her mom Kat) that I was waiting for them all to get struck by lightning (twice for Eva), with lightning flashing behind characters at critical moments. But rest assured, even if Eva didn't get struck by lightning twice, about every other bad thing that could happen to a person did happen to her. It all was more than a bit too much for me. Even so, I want to thank the author for taking good care of the cat. Thank you to Gallery, Pocket Books and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Brenda -Traveling Sister host of The Traveling Friends
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald joined us for a fun evening in the Q & A in the Behind The Pages Group. She gave us a spoiler-free sneak-peek into Behind Every Lie and some insight to The Night Olivia Fell. We are now even more excited to read Behind Every Lie To view the Q & A You can find it herehttps://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister * On hiatus due to health
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald will be joining us for a Q & A in the Behind The Pages with The Traveling Friends Group. She will be giving us a sneak peek into BEHIND EVERY LIE, some spoiler free insight to THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL and talk about her writing process!Join us September 21 @ 5:00pm EST for a live Q & A with Christina. If you would like to ask her a question or share some love please add any comments.To join us you can find the group here:https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/... Christina McDonald will be joining us for a Q & A in the Behind The Pages with The Traveling Friends Group. She will be giving us a sneak peek into BEHIND EVERY LIE, some spoiler free insight to THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL and talk about her writing process!Join us September 21 @ 5:00pm EST for a live Q & A with Christina. If you would like to ask her a question or share some love please add any comments.To join us you can find the group here:https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/...~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 lightning-struck stars This thrill-a-minute tale kept me guessing the whole time.Full review to come closer to publication in February 2020. I recommend putting it on your radar!
  • Kimberly Belle
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald follows up her smashing debut The Night Olivia Fell with another winner. McDonald starts with a bang, then builds the action steadily, a gradual unfolding of secrets and lies that will have you constantly switching alliances. Read it like I did, in one sitting and straight through to The End, because you won't want to put this one down.
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    AHHHHHHHH a covvvvvverrrrrrr! it's soooo pretty******************aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh there is a titlee
  • Talon
    January 1, 1970
    I just know Christina McDonald is forever an author that I will always automatically read. So far as I finish up her second book-- Ilove how she creates such dynamic mother / daughter relationship stories. The type of relationships that don't often seem as they appear. The deeper you dig, the more you find out about not just one character but each one.I think my absolute FAVE part of this entire book was the way it was written. I loved the past and present POV's and how it wove the story I just know Christina McDonald is forever an author that I will always automatically read. So far as I finish up her second book-- I love how she creates such dynamic mother / daughter relationship stories. The type of relationships that don't often seem as they appear. The deeper you dig, the more you find out about not just one character but each one.I think my absolute FAVE part of this entire book was the way it was written. I loved the past and present POV's and how it wove the story together. I particularly enjoyed knowing what was going on and then turning around and watching Eva unfold it all. I thought the story-line as a whole was nicely paced. Not too rushed - not too slow.Literally there was twist after twist after twist. Now, it may not blow your mind and you may sit there and say "yeah, I knew that was coming" but you know what? Maybe that is true. But I think if you're like me, you'll still appreciate how believable and real it all seemed. No matter if you're the type of reader who enjoys being surprised or even if you are the reader who can see a story-line coming from two miles away, I think every type of reader will enjoy this book. I enjoy the way Christina McDonald makes us see the things that we do when we read her books. I am most definitely a forever fan.
    more
  • CloudOfThoughts_Books Keirstin
    January 1, 1970
    Behind Every Lie by author Christina McDonald is another thrill of a book! She catches us off guard in the best way possible and throws us through a great thriller novel! Loved this and absolutely recommend! Full review to come closer to release date. Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for an arc copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book.-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction book.I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut., the I loved “The Night Olivia Fell” and when I reviewed it, I described it as “emotional and suspenseful”. The relationship between Mother and Daughter felt so authentic and having to say “GOODBYE” was “heartbreaking”!In this book, I am guessing that the author was going for more of a “thriller with twists you won’t see coming” story.But, I preferred the style of her first book.-more of a suspenseful, women’s fiction book.I missed the well developed characters and relationships of her debut., the more realistic dialogue, the anguish....The “GOODBYES” in this book seemed too easy. the characters didn’t seem to feel any loss or pain.This book required the reader to SUSPEND DISBELIEF, the entire time. I don’t do well with that. At all. But, as you can see from the many 5 star reviews, there are definitely readers who have no problem doing that! Perhaps YOU will be one of those readers?? Many thanks to Netgalley, Gallery Books and Christina McDonald for the digital ARC I received in exchange for a candid review. This title will be released on Feb. 4, 2020.
    more
  • Ludwig
    January 1, 1970
    In Behind Every Lie, McDonald catches us off guard on the very first page, and throws us into an unexpected moment of perturbation, providing an immediate adrenaline rush with a cinematic, heart-thudding, bloody scene. Eva was struck by lightning, they tell her, but that isn't the worst of it - Eva might've been the one who killed her own mother.The author's writing is taut and focused, writing more for suspenseful depth and atmosphere than speed - still managing to provide a pacy, entertaining In Behind Every Lie, McDonald catches us off guard on the very first page, and throws us into an unexpected moment of perturbation, providing an immediate adrenaline rush with a cinematic, heart-thudding, bloody scene. Eva was struck by lightning, they tell her, but that isn't the worst of it - Eva might've been the one who killed her own mother.The author's writing is taut and focused, writing more for suspenseful depth and atmosphere than speed - still managing to provide a pacy, entertaining storyline as she dares bring dark subject matters to the table (sexual assault, domestic abuse, the intricacies of memory...). She crafts her characters in a way it's easy for us to become familiar with them and their inner psyches, then instantly bond with them. Especially Eva. It's one thing to try and get back an expunged memory but it's another to let that be the inductor of a past trauma that made you struggle with self-trust and self-perception. Eva Hansen's journey makes us feel excitement, intrigue and fury as light and darkness, evil and vulnerability, snake their way into the plot, all the way towards the end where everything is wrapped up in a clever conclusion, like a puzzle coming together with a startling click.Motherhood-related thrillers have known an observable growth over the years, but Behind Every Lie proves to be competently made and more skillful than its predecessors.
    more
  • Megan Collins
    January 1, 1970
    I had the pleasure of reading an advance copy of BEHIND EVERY LIE by Christina McDonald. If you’re a fan of her debut, THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL (which you absolutely should be), you’re going to love her sophomore novel! Eva wakes up from being struck by lightning only to discover that her mother has been murdered—and she’s a suspect. She has no memory of her mother’s death, but police have evidence that she was with her mother when she was killed. In trying to clear her own name, Eva stumbles upon I had the pleasure of reading an advance copy of BEHIND EVERY LIE by Christina McDonald. If you’re a fan of her debut, THE NIGHT OLIVIA FELL (which you absolutely should be), you’re going to love her sophomore novel! Eva wakes up from being struck by lightning only to discover that her mother has been murdered—and she’s a suspect. She has no memory of her mother’s death, but police have evidence that she was with her mother when she was killed. In trying to clear her own name, Eva stumbles upon decades of secrets that will change everything she thinks she knows about her family and herself. Told from Eva’s perspective, as well as that of her mother in the years leading up to her own murder, this story has so many surprises that you won’t be able to stop reading. What I really love about Christina’s books is how she pairs propulsive suspense with deep, complicated, heartfelt relationships between her characters. It’s difficult to finish one of her books without shedding a few tears, and in this novel in particular, I found the themes of strength coming from brokenness to be particularly poignant. Be sure to add this book to your winter TBR—it’s out February 4!
    more
  • Valerie Dryer
    January 1, 1970
    There should be a title "can't wait to read!"
  • booksbikesbooze
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars!WOW, Christina McDonald does it again with the follow up to her debut book The Night Olivia Fell!When I read The Night Olivia Fell earlier in 2019, it was the first time a thriller/mystery made me tear up; I was balling through the last few chapters, and immediately knew I had to give this book to my mom. (A book that will resonate for ANY mother or daughter). When I heard of MacDonald’s 2nd book Behind Every Lie the anticipation began!I was lucky enough to get my hands on an early ARC, 5 stars!WOW, Christina McDonald does it again with the follow up to her debut book The Night Olivia Fell!When I read The Night Olivia Fell earlier in 2019, it was the first time a thriller/mystery made me tear up; I was balling through the last few chapters, and immediately knew I had to give this book to my mom. (A book that will resonate for ANY mother or daughter). When I heard of MacDonald’s 2nd book Behind Every Lie the anticipation began!I was lucky enough to get my hands on an early ARC, and although this won’t be released until February 2020, I couldn’t wait to read it any longer. (Thank you @gallerybooks).MacDonald has a way of writing that captivates her reader and I instantly felt invested and connected to these characters. Her mother/daughter relationships are passionate and deeply thought out. Behind Every Lie was a fast-paced, alternating POV and timeline between Kat (25 yrs ago) and Eva (present time). The short, heart pounding chapters, allowed for me to finish this in just two sittings. The puzzle pieces started fitting together midway through, but still left some very unexpected shocks toward the end!If you were a fan of The Night Olivia Fell, you will NOT be disappointed with her latest. If this isn’t already on your 2020 #tbr list, ADD ASAP!
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    This is the 2nd book by this author. I loved her first book “The Night Olivia Fell” that I was excited when I was approved by NetGalley to get this one ahead of publication. I might be the only one but I was a bit confused throughout the beginning of the book. Flashbacks to 25 years ago, then, now ... you get the picture. I was really wanting to like this book more than I did but it fell flat in certain spots and it didn’t leave a lasting impression. For that reason I’m giving it 3 stars. Thanks This is the 2nd book by this author. I loved her first book “The Night Olivia Fell” that I was excited when I was approved by NetGalley to get this one ahead of publication. I might be the only one but I was a bit confused throughout the beginning of the book. Flashbacks to 25 years ago, then, now ... you get the picture. I was really wanting to like this book more than I did but it fell flat in certain spots and it didn’t leave a lasting impression. For that reason I’m giving it 3 stars. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this book for my honest review.
    more
  • Reads a Latte Thrillers
    January 1, 1970
    Having recently read The Night Olivia Fell, I was beaming about the opportunity to read and review Behind Every Lie. I admit, I was guarded going into this book. After all, my personal bar had been set pretty high after The Night Olivia Fell and I wondered, could lightening really strike twice with the same author (you’ll understand this pun a little better when you read the book) Fortunately, luck has nothing to do with it. When you can write a deep story as compelling as Behind Every Lie, you Having recently read The Night Olivia Fell, I was beaming about the opportunity to read and review Behind Every Lie. I admit, I was guarded going into this book. After all, my personal bar had been set pretty high after The Night Olivia Fell and I wondered, could lightening really strike twice with the same author (you’ll understand this pun a little better when you read the book) Fortunately, luck has nothing to do with it. When you can write a deep story as compelling as Behind Every Lie, you don’t need luck, you just have a gift for writing. The way Christina McDonald builds the characters throughout the story and describes places is like taking a master class in creative writing. You can’t put this book down and your heart breaks as the story unfolds. If you needed a tissue for The Night Olivia Fell, I recommend keeping a few handy for Behind Every Lie. The story begins with a cloudy reflection of a grisly crime scene. Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her. Eva, not suffering from the effects of memory loss, tries to figure out what happened during the period her mother was murdered. Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.This book will be released February 2020 and I definitely recommend adding it to your TBR. It will be thinking about this one for the next few days, for sure!
    more
  • Kristi
    January 1, 1970
    First Gripping Sentence:What have I done?Christina McDonald is quickly becoming one of my favorite thriller/suspense/mystery writers. I couldn’t put down the first novel I read by this fabulous author, The Night Olivia Fell, and it’s been the same experience with Behind Every Lie.Eva wakes up in the hospital after being struck by lightning just a few blocks from her mother’s house. She has no recollection of events or how she came to be there but her mother has been murdered and Eva is the main First Gripping Sentence:What have I done?Christina McDonald is quickly becoming one of my favorite thriller/suspense/mystery writers. I couldn’t put down the first novel I read by this fabulous author, The Night Olivia Fell, and it’s been the same experience with Behind Every Lie.Eva wakes up in the hospital after being struck by lightning just a few blocks from her mother’s house. She has no recollection of events or how she came to be there but her mother has been murdered and Eva is the main suspect. Eva is a wonderful main character, she is flawed, traumatized and insecure. The plot moves quickly and alternates between past and present effortlessly. I must admit, I had a pretty good idea that a certain someone in Eva’s life was there for nefarious reasons but I wasn’t *entirely* sure until the end. The twist is there with just enough red herrings to make me question myself. Love a book that keeps me turning pages to see if I’m right! Such a great book and I would recommend this to any fan of the genre!Thank you to NetGalley and Pocket books for providing Behind Every Lie for me to read and review.
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    January 1, 1970
    Christina McDonald has followed up her debut novel, The Night Olivia Fell, with another fabulous book. Christina has taken psychological suspense to a whole new level with Behind Every Lie. The story was riveting and shocking, with scenes that had me catching my breath, my heart racing. There were lies upon lies, startling revelations, intricate details that kept me turning pages. But there was so much more to this book than a compelling story—there is a depth and beauty to this story that was Christina McDonald has followed up her debut novel, The Night Olivia Fell, with another fabulous book. Christina has taken psychological suspense to a whole new level with Behind Every Lie. The story was riveting and shocking, with scenes that had me catching my breath, my heart racing. There were lies upon lies, startling revelations, intricate details that kept me turning pages. But there was so much more to this book than a compelling story—there is a depth and beauty to this story that was astonishing. Part of me wanted to read quickly to reach the end, but I’d slow down to appreciate the raw emotion that embodies the story and its broken, complex characters. I slowed down to savor so many beautiful lines, sentences I read several times to etch the feelings in my heart. “We can be strong and brave and broken and whole all at the same time.” ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️😮😮😮😮😮❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! Every twist every turn! I thought I had it figured out but I still didn’t! Loved the characters, can’t imagine being in their position. Wow! This book isn’t out until February 2020 so thank you to Netgalley for my advanced ebook! I couldn’t put this down!
    more
  • Wendy Walker
    January 1, 1970
    A family forced into a world of lies and deception after a harrowing turn of events drive this emotionally charged thriller. Thoroughly enjoyable!
  • Lana
    January 1, 1970
    This is my second McDonald book and I read both of them in a day. This one was just as thrilling as the first. I didn’t really know what had happened the night Eva’s mom was murdered until the very end. When the main character can’t remember the night herself, you don’t know whether she is innocent or guilty through the whole story. It was a fast read with the chapters alternating between Eva now and her mom Kat years leading up to the night she died. Thank you to NetGalley and Gallery Books for This is my second McDonald book and I read both of them in a day. This one was just as thrilling as the first. I didn’t really know what had happened the night Eva’s mom was murdered until the very end. When the main character can’t remember the night herself, you don’t know whether she is innocent or guilty through the whole story. It was a fast read with the chapters alternating between Eva now and her mom Kat years leading up to the night she died. Thank you to NetGalley and Gallery Books for this advanced reader copy.
    more
  • Stephani Beltran
    January 1, 1970
    Loved her debut so I absolutely can’t wait to read this one!
  • Laura Peden
    January 1, 1970
    Gimme gimme
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    "We can be strong and brave and broken and whole all at the same time."Eva has just woken up from a nightmare and is seeking more than just answers as she deserves the TRUTH!Was it really a lighting strike or was is something more and what about her mysterious past and her new found information pertaining to her mom.To make a long story short she travels from Seattle to London in search of answers about her mom and her past.Meanwhile violent memories emerge and new recollections persist to be "We can be strong and brave and broken and whole all at the same time."Eva has just woken up from a nightmare and is seeking more than just answers as she deserves the TRUTH!Was it really a lighting strike or was is something more and what about her mysterious past and her new found information pertaining to her mom.To make a long story short she travels from Seattle to London in search of answers about her mom and her past.Meanwhile violent memories emerge and new recollections persist to be brought to light about her mom Kat who worked for Rose Ashford.But their story doesn't end with just tending to children as it's much more complex and quite elusive on both ends.I won't go into much else but safe to say that topics such as abortions, rapes, and kidnapping are not to be taken lightly in Behind Every Lie.With each new lie comes new information as it's all just the tip of the iceberg with much more to come.Those you thought you knew aren't really who they claim to be and the story takes on a wild twisty and forever altered reality. Paternal questions arise and someone(s) may just be in tremendous danger ...You know you should always watch your back as you may be followed and never take someone's word for it.Never let your past define your present is the best motto!Even broken crayons color and this was quite colorful...LOVE IT!
    more
  • Book Smeller Jessica Prien
    January 1, 1970
    Behind Every LieWritten by Christina McDonaldRating – 4.5/5Genre – Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological ThrillerExpected February 4, 2020I would like to start by saying I have truly come to appreciate Christina McDonald as an author. Her debut novel, “The Night Olivia Fell” is one I often recommend and “Behind Every Lie” will be as highly recommended as the first, it did not fail. Full review to come closer to the review date. LOOKOUT FOR THIS BOOK!Christina McDonald has a talent of weaving Behind Every LieWritten by Christina McDonaldRating – 4.5/5Genre – Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological ThrillerExpected February 4, 2020I would like to start by saying I have truly come to appreciate Christina McDonald as an author. Her debut novel, “The Night Olivia Fell” is one I often recommend and “Behind Every Lie” will be as highly recommended as the first, it did not fail. Full review to come closer to the review date. LOOKOUT FOR THIS BOOK!Christina McDonald has a talent of weaving in-depth and detailed stories. Her books are in-depth, entertaining and suspenseful. Her characters are memorable and relatable. She is a go to author and one I highly recommend!
    more
  • Samantha Downing
    January 1, 1970
    Behind Every Lie is a deep, suspenseful novel packed with family secrets. Christina McDonald has a true gift for creating characters that are so well-developed, it feels like you know them. An outstanding achievement!
  • Allison
    January 1, 1970
    I received an e-copy of this through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Eva Hansen wakes up in a hospital room with no memory of what happened. She's told she was struck by lightening. She's also informed that her mother, Kat, has been found dead. The police are highly suspicious of Eva as they found her just down the street from her mother's house not long after the murder.Looking to find the truth and clear her name, Eva goes back to her mother's former home of London to get to the I received an e-copy of this through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Eva Hansen wakes up in a hospital room with no memory of what happened. She's told she was struck by lightening. She's also informed that her mother, Kat, has been found dead. The police are highly suspicious of Eva as they found her just down the street from her mother's house not long after the murder.Looking to find the truth and clear her name, Eva goes back to her mother's former home of London to get to the bottom of things. The more she learns, the more she feels there is someone who doesn't want her to know all this information. Between this and resurfacing of memories from the night of the murder, Eva doesn't know who, or what, she can trust.This book flips between Eva in the present and Kat past to present. Kat and Eva have both survived many challenges and difficult lives but nothing is what it seems....Kat has a lot of secrets and Eva is having to figure them all out on her own, with additional pressure from the police watching her every move. This book was fantastic as I had a feeling it would be after reading The Night Olivia Fell. I definitely recommend this book when it publishes February 4, 2020!
    more
  • ROBIN RUIZ
    January 1, 1970
    Behind Every Lie is a mystery on top of a mystery and when you begin to uncover every lie it leads to another and another !Eva Hansen wakes up in the hospital after being struck by lightning with no memory of the night before , the night her mother was murdered!The police are questioning Eva as she is their prime suspect.Told in the past and present from Eva and her Moms point of view!Christina McDonald has become my go to author for everything that seems like something!Just when you think you Behind Every Lie is a mystery on top of a mystery and when you begin to uncover every lie it leads to another and another !Eva Hansen wakes up in the hospital after being struck by lightning with no memory of the night before , the night her mother was murdered!The police are questioning Eva as she is their prime suspect.Told in the past and present from Eva and her Moms point of view!Christina McDonald has become my go to author for everything that seems like something!Just when you think you have it all figured out, the only thing you know for sure, is that you know nothing !Such a great book, with all the twists and turns that will keep you up all night reading!
    more
  • Samantha Bailey
    January 1, 1970
    In BEHIND EVERY LIE, Christina McDonald proves once again she's a master at creating a dark, chilling, emotional tale of love, loss, and obsession. With a killer premise, extremely well-developed mother-daughter POVs, and a twisty plot that kept me guessing until the end, it's an absolute must-read. I was completely captivated and on the edge of my seat through every page. Highly recommend!
    more
Write a review