Alone in the Wild (Rockton, #5)
In #1 New York Times bestseller Kelley Armstrong's latest thriller, the hidden town of Rockton is about to face a challenge none of them saw coming: a baby. Every season in Rockton seems to bring a new challenge. At least that's what Detective Casey Duncan has felt since she decided to call this place home. Between all the secretive residents, the sometimes-hostile settlers outside, and the surrounding wilderness, there's always something to worry about. While on a much needed camping vacation with her boyfriend, Sheriff Eric Dalton, Casey hears a baby crying in the woods. The sound leads them to a tragic scene: a woman buried under the snow, murdered, a baby still alive in her arms. A town that doesn’t let anyone in under the age of eighteen, Rockton must take care of its youngest resident yet while solving another murder and finding out where the baby came from - and whether she's better off where she is. #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong again delivers an engaging, tense thriller set in perhaps the most interesting town in all of contemporary crime fiction.

Alone in the Wild (Rockton, #5) Details

TitleAlone in the Wild (Rockton, #5)
Author
ReleaseFeb 4th, 2020
PublisherMinotaur Books
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Adult, Mystery Thriller, Contemporary, Fiction

Alone in the Wild (Rockton, #5) Review

  • Diane S ☔
    January 1, 1970
    Sixth in this series, another to which I always look forward. Rockton, is a unique community and the setting of the Yukon is one to which I'm drawn. Enjoy seeing what these community members are up to, and what the new storyline will be. There have been some doozies.In this outing Casey finds a dead woman, sheltering a very alive baby. Who the baby belongs to and who the dead women is, as well as who killer will set Eric, Casey and Storm on the hunt. We will see much more of the settlers, inside Sixth in this series, another to which I always look forward. Rockton, is a unique community and the setting of the Yukon is one to which I'm drawn. Enjoy seeing what these community members are up to, and what the new storyline will be. There have been some doozies.In this outing Casey finds a dead woman, sheltering a very alive baby. Who the baby belongs to and who the dead women is, as well as who killer will set Eric, Casey and Storm on the hunt. We will see much more of the settlers, inside their settlements and some of their members will play an important part. We will also get a closer look at some of the hostiles, never a safe bet. This series is an original one and the characters are a strange, mix, all have interesting backstories, though some are still not revealed. The storyline moves at a fast pace and the tension ratchets up as the story progresses. I eagerly await the next.ARC from Netgalley.
    more
  • Maureen Carden
    January 1, 1970
    There are three stars in the Rockton series, the impossible non-existing town of Rockton, the irascible (such a mild term) Sheriff Eric Dalton and his detective Casey Duncan, and the Yukon forest surrounding Rockton. All are always present in the series, but in Alone in the Wild the Yukon forest takes center stageRockton is the very small, extremely off the grid little town somewhere in the Yukon. It is protected from detection by advanced technology and from the impossibility that it actually There are three stars in the Rockton series, the impossible non-existing town of Rockton, the irascible (such a mild term) Sheriff Eric Dalton and his detective Casey Duncan, and the Yukon forest surrounding Rockton. All are always present in the series, but in Alone in the Wild the Yukon forest takes center stageRockton is the very small, extremely off the grid little town somewhere in the Yukon. It is protected from detection by advanced technology and from the impossibility that it actually exists. It was started over sixty years ago to provide sanctuary from those wrong accused, convicted, or pursued by government gone crazy. It then morphed into a sanctuary for other victims. Recently the ruling outside council realized it could make some big bucks by accepting white collar criminals; and then a few serious crazies with very big bucks. Life in Rockton is fairly primitive, but somewhat sophisticated too. It’s also a place where people can reinvent themselves. The 90 pound weakling is now a hunky carpenter. The demure grade school teacher is now a foul-mouthed witch; and the respected psychologist has turned madam. But she still accepts an occasional patient.Then there is the Yukon boreal forest. Life in the forest is mad, bad and dangerous; also extremely gorgeous and rewarding if you pay attention.In Rockton there are certain immutable laws. Do not ever leave the confines of Rockton unless you are in a guided group. If you are in the forest always treat the settlers with respect and do not purposely trespass on their hunting grounds. Avoid any contact with the hostiles and good luck surviving if contact is made. They kill first, eat later. Okay that last was only a nasty, probably unfounded rumor. Another rule, no one under eighteen is allowed in Rockton. Eric has been the only exception in almost 70 years as a well meaning Rockton couple kidnapped/rescued him from the forest. A serious matter of perspective still having repercussions.On a quick camping trip for some down time and for training the young dogs Storm and Raoul, Casey discovers the body of a murdered woman and a baby sheltered by the woman’s body. Eric and Casey's puppy Storm reigns supreme in Rockton. Imagine how a newborn electrifies Rockton; with most of its residents not having seen a baby in years. The baby also results in Eric and Casey confronting some difficult issues in their deepening relationship.All those rules I mentioned earlier, Eric, Casey and Will are the only ones who can usually safely break them as they forced to do in their search for the woman’s killer and the baby’s parents. Eric and Casey are forced deeper into the woods with more and more contact with settlers, hostiles, and the nomads who survive in the world between. Their contact with these inhabitants has been a fascinating study of the realpolitik of the world in a virtually unknown world. I have been fascinated by intricate, fascinating Rockton world building from the very first book, City of the Lost. Alone in the Wild has continued tradition, this time encompassing the forest, the settlers, and providing some unexpected answers concerning the hostiles.The problem with the forest taking center stage, there is not near enough time spent in Rockton or with the people who live there.As always in a Rockton book there is the fine writing, inventive story-lines, characters you want to invite into your life. There is also that lovely mysterious world, the impossible non-existing small town set in one of the most stunning hostile environments on earth. Most of all there is the compassion and tenderness underlying it all. This is what will stay with the reader the longest.Thank you to NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Nenia ⚡ Aspiring Evil Overlord ⚡ Campbell
    January 1, 1970
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestI'm all for the trend of paranormal romance authors switching to mysteries and thrillers. Rachel Caine's Stillhouse Lake series was amazing and Kelley Armstrong's Rockton series manages to be just as gritty and fun. My greatest wish is that the Ilona Andrews duo jumps on this bandwagon next... Can you imagine?Anyway, ALONE IN THE WILD is the fifth book in the series and I didn't read the first four. #YOLO. Don't worry, though. They work as Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestI'm all for the trend of paranormal romance authors switching to mysteries and thrillers. Rachel Caine's Stillhouse Lake series was amazing and Kelley Armstrong's Rockton series manages to be just as gritty and fun. My greatest wish is that the Ilona Andrews duo jumps on this bandwagon next... Can you imagine?Anyway, ALONE IN THE WILD is the fifth book in the series and I didn't read the first four. #YOLO. Don't worry, though. They work as standalones-- or at least this one does-- because the author does a really good job filling you in on the backstories of all the characters in the narrative. I never once felt lost, which I feel like is the hallmark of an author who knows their stuff.Rockton is a town up north, near the Yukon, where people come to disappear. You can only stay for two years, and you have to be eighteen-and-up. For most of the year, it's a frozen wasteland and people have to be entirely self-sufficient without technology. If you think this leads to a pretty chilling and claustrophobic setting, you would be right. Especially since a lot of Rockton's residents aren't exactly what you might call "savory." They're all there to run from something, after all.The main character, Casey, is a woman of Scottish, Filipino, and Chinese decent, who had to run away for her own reasons. Now she's a detective and shacking up with the local sheriff, a hottie named Dalton. They're camping in the woods when Casey hears a strange sound: a baby screaming, half-frozen, in the arms of a dead woman. Whoa. You know things are ramping up when there is literally a dead body in the first chapter. Don't worry, the baby is OK though. But her presence indicates that something is not right, as children are 100% not allowed, and taking care of her is hard, since Rockton really isn't equipped to be baby friendly.Plus, it's pretty clear that the baby doesn't belong to the dead woman holding her, which begs the question as to who the baby really belonged to and why the woman was running. Cue nefarious interviews with the other people living in the woods. Nomadic travelers who treat women like chattel, and communes that are like the Manson Family, only a little less psychotic. Neither of those groups is particularly willing to talk, though, and the baby's presence suddenly takes a more similar turn as the reasons behind the woman's murder slowly begin to come to light.Is this premise a bit far-fetched? Yes, of course. Did I have fun reading it anyway? Also yes, of course. I'm a sucker for a strong female character and a good whodunnit story. Maybe this wasn't as whodunnity as I might have liked, but the icy setting really added a lot of oomph and I liked how the author had fleshed out the town of Rockton and its surrounding communes. It's a pretty original idea and I got into it pretty quickly. Even though I haven't read the other books in the series, I intend to rectify that pretty quickly, as I sped through this so quickly-- it's just such simple, addictive fun.Anyone who enjoys cheesy mysteries with dark themes is going to love this.Thanks to the publisher for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review! 3 to 3.5 stars
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    You know what sounds like the best part of living out in the woods, off the grid? Nothing. Nothing about this sounds remotely attractive. Not the dirt, wild animals, lack of electricity, lack of toilets, lack of internet, lack of cell phones, lack of grocery stores and restaurants and cars and Netflix.... again - nothing sounds fun about living in this environment. And, they are in the Yukon so it is also constantly snowing and they have that whole thing where it's sunny all the time half the You know what sounds like the best part of living out in the woods, off the grid? Nothing. Nothing about this sounds remotely attractive. Not the dirt, wild animals, lack of electricity, lack of toilets, lack of internet, lack of cell phones, lack of grocery stores and restaurants and cars and Netflix.... again - nothing sounds fun about living in this environment. And, they are in the Yukon so it is also constantly snowing and they have that whole thing where it's sunny all the time half the year and dark all the time the other. I mean, if I had to live like this I would hope that I just immediately get killed by a bear.Because bears will kill ya. First chance they get.Consider it done. I'll just play dead until a bear finds me if I ever get stuck off the grid.So this series is narrated by Casey, a homicide detective who ended up moving to this place in the Yukon that is a combination of Witness Protection and jail. They will keep you safe from the people who were trying to kill you in your old life, only to put you in danger from new people who may or may not want to kill you in your new one. You might be living next door to a mob snitch, or an abused wife, or a serial killer. It's like a game. Guess which neighbor will kill you and eat you if they get the chance? The answer might surprise you!Oh, except for the bear neighbors. You don't need to guess where their heads are at.This is why the town needed a homicide detective. Lots of murders for some reason. I mean, who'd have guessed that putting a bunch of victims and psychopaths together in a close environment without any comforts or basic distractions would result in killing?But, for Casey, this has been a good thing. She found her own mountain man husband and is living the good life. Well, as good as it could be considering. I mean, again, I can't emphasize enough how disgusting and boring their lives are. I mean, are they pooping in buckets? It's not mentioned, but there are no flushing toilets. Something is happening in the situation, and whatever it is is not good. So in this one Casey finds a baby that is in the woods next to a dead woman's body. The woman has been murdered and the baby left to die. Oh, I should mention that she and her man were out further in the woods, camping, when they found the baby. Yeah. Camping in the snow. As a vacation from... what? All the distractions of no internet or cell phones? These people's only luxury in life is that they have a roof over their heads and they need to get away from all of that for a while? Or, maybe they are just looking for bears. That would make more sense.It's better than their current entertainment. Which is nothing.The book is spent looking for the murderer and the baby's family. It is complicated because although they live in a "town", there are many crazies ... no "crazies" is the right word... in the woods. It's teaming with them. Like a giant bear buffet. And, these crazies are not exactly... sane... as you can guess... so, tough witnesses.The craziness adds a little spice to the tacos.Things move at a pretty slow pace sometimes in this book. Like when there are conversations or tasks being done that get a little boring. But, it's probably like a whirlwind to them. 'Wow, you're making coffee? Can I watch? Best reality show ever!"There are other things that make up for that occasional slowness, though. This series is truly unique and so it's fun and unexpected most of the time. The H and h are also very likable characters. They are smart and sensible. (Wait, did I just say "smart and sensible" as good points? I should be a salesman. I'm missing my calling here.) The mystery unravels at a good pace and is twisty while being believable. Overall, I will read as many books as she puts out in this thing.See? I can change lanes.
    more
  • Pat
    January 1, 1970
    I was going to give this 4.5-4.75 stars, then I thought what the hell, just round up to 5. This book was very Rockton, in other words - addictive, frantic and so gripping. Casey and Dalton are finally having a well earned break, a weekend camping trip, when Casey hears a scream. After discarding all the other options it dawn on her that it sounded like a small human. So she has no choice but to investigate. She finds a young woman dead, in a pool of blood and the sounds are coming from inside I was going to give this 4.5-4.75 stars, then I thought what the hell, just round up to 5. This book was very ‘Rockton’, in other words - addictive, frantic and so gripping. Casey and Dalton are finally having a well earned break, a weekend camping trip, when Casey hears a scream. After discarding all the other options it dawn on her that it sounded like a small human. So she has no choice but to investigate. She finds a young woman dead, in a pool of blood and the sounds are coming from inside her coat. There is a baby hidden within. What? How? Why? Who? All good questions but with no immediate opportunity for answers all she and Dalton can do is take them both back to Rockton.The woman, it seems was shot. She looks like a hostile but that doesn’t compute with having a baby. Casey’s sister conducts an autopsy and informs them that the dead woman is not the mother, she has never had a child. Who does the baby belong to?This conundrum is what takes up the rest of the book and Casey and Dalton trek from settlement 1 then go to find some traders then to settlement 2 all the while being lied to. The tension builds as the net tightens. The Rockton officers just want to find the child’s parents and return her but self interest, intrigue, greed and lust make that undertaking harder and much more dangerous than it should have been. A tragic story all round. But Ms Armstrong PLEASE put us out of our misery soon and tell us - is that the end or should we expect another instalment? I can handle it, really 🤪😖😖😫, I just need to know.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    I adore this series! Full review to come closer to release date.*EDITED TO ADD REVIEW*4.5 Stars!I adore this quirky little town with all it's quirky residents and most of all, the weird relationships and settlements that just simply work.This might be a quiet little backwoods town but the residents themselves are anything but sleepy and still and the danger literally lurks around every corner. You just never know what you will get, who will show up next or even worse, who will be dead next.This I adore this series! Full review to come closer to release date.*EDITED TO ADD REVIEW*4.5 Stars!I adore this quirky little town with all it's quirky residents and most of all, the weird relationships and settlements that just simply work.This might be a quiet little backwoods town but the residents themselves are anything but sleepy and still and the danger literally lurks around every corner. You just never know what you will get, who will show up next or even worse, who will be dead next.This series is just so much fun. The mystery always keeps me on my toes and Armstrong never disappoints with what craziness can happen next. I love that this installment delved deeper into not only Casey and Eric's relationship and past but the past of Rockton as well. We finally get more information about the Settlements and the Hostiles. It was fascinating, enthralling, and I just wanted more. And even with all the information we received, Armstrong still left just enough unsaid and undone to leave us wanting more and forming more questions and theories about it all.This series just keeps being entertaining, delightful and truly unlike anything I have ever encountered before. A stand out, town full of stand out characters that demand attention, respect, and so much more. I once again, will be eagerly awaiting the next release. *ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    I'm sad about this low rating because I had hoped book four was a fluke and this new book would recapture the magic of the first three installments. This is such a unique premise, with interesting characters, who have plenty of unlikeable and challenging personalities to bounce off of, along with the complicated situation of their living conditions, and it all just makes for fun and exciting and thrilling stories. But these last two..This series is about an off-the-grid town in the Yukon, called I'm sad about this “low” rating because I had hoped book four was a fluke and this new book would recapture the magic of the first three installments. This is such a unique premise, with interesting characters, who have plenty of unlikeable and challenging personalities to bounce off of, along with the complicated situation of their living conditions, and it all just makes for fun and exciting and thrilling stories. But these last two..This series is about an off-the-grid town in the Yukon, called Rockton. Rockton being a town populated by people who have escaped horrors, are on the run from something in their pasts, and have found a place where they can disappear for a few years. Sometimes, too, they are the ones who caused the horrors and just paid enough to a particular group in order to be admitted in order to lay low. Our lead protagonist is Casey Duncan, who arrived to this town to help her friend escape her ex, and has become one of the three detectives who help to police the outlaw-esque locals and keep the peace.In this particular story, Casey discovers a baby in the woods, along with the body of a dead woman.. and discovers she was not the baby's mother. It's through communicating with the two local settlements, plus in speaking with a recluse, and a former hostile (someone who was once part of one of the nomad-esque tribes of.. well, hostile people), to track down who this woman is, where the baby's parents are, and.. well, lots of that, really. There's the politics of dealing with the settlements, trade negotiations, and just general complexities in navigating all that plus the wildlife and plus the harsh weather.What I like about this series continues to be the characters, though some are forever a frustration, and again the setting is just so different. It's great to read a contemporary where detectives can't just google shit, there's no conveniences of the kind we're used to living with, and it's a very hard life but not without lots of positive things, too. This particular mystery forced Casey and her Sheriff pseudo-husband to talk about the possibility of children, and the complications therein, and it got a little emotional there at the end. But while I also appreciate that Armstrong uses her cast of characters, most who have never lived within a modern society or any place other than the wilderness, to explore particular discussions, ie, bias, prejudice, toxic masculinity, etc, this one felt really.. preachy. I don't know. Sometimes people who are too self-aware just get side eye from me.So, yeah. Not my favourite. But the series itself is still one I enjoy. I do wonder if the particulars of some of what was brought up in this one means there's an end date coming for the series but who knows. This is the same author who had a thirteen book series, so. Anything goes.I'll definitely read on! But this was not a favourite.** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **---This review can also be found at A Take From Two Cities.
    more
  • Robin Loves Reading
    January 1, 1970
    When this book showed up at NetGalley months ago, I read it that same day. I am rather lazy about writing reviews, however, and am penning this just a week before publication. However, not only do I have good recall when it comes to whatever I read, but this book, and this series, well, it has taken a special place in my heart. I love this series and will be heartbroken when it comes to an end.Rockton is a very unusual town. You go there if you need an escape. You may be a criminal. You may be When this book showed up at NetGalley months ago, I read it that same day. I am rather lazy about writing reviews, however, and am penning this just a week before publication. However, not only do I have good recall when it comes to whatever I read, but this book, and this series, well, it has taken a special place in my heart. I love this series and will be heartbroken when it comes to an end.Rockton is a very unusual town. You go there if you need an escape. You may be a criminal. You may be an ex-con. You may be running from an abusive spouse. So, the town is a haven of sorts. You aren't moving there forever; it is just a respite. There are no cell phones, internet, ordinary mail even. No electricity. The town's council lets you in and the town council lets you out.All of that was to familiarize anyone jumping into this series with this book, Alone in the Wild. I have read all of the books in the series thus far, City of the Lost. A Darkness Absolute, This Fallen Prey and Watcher in the Woods. It is an undeniable fact that I am enamored with it. Oh, I think I said that already.Our main players are Detective Casey Duncan and Sheriff Eric Dalton. In this book, Casey and Eric are out on a rare camping vacation and Casey hears a baby crying. It takes them a while to locate the sound, and when they do, they find the mother dead, but the squealing baby is lying in her arms.Not only must residents in this unique town figure out how to care for the baby , Casey and Eric must try and figure out who the woman was. In so doing, they unearth another group of people and the danger escalates at a rapid pace. I literally could not put this book down. Whether the scenes were involving Casey and Eric's relationship as a couple making decisions about their future, or what the fate of the baby would be, or other town's members and the state of the town itself, it was all captivating. And, then the fact of the mystery itself lending a lot of weight in this book, well, it was another winner for me. I have now read six books by Kelley Armstrong, and realize this is nothing. She is quite prolific and has written quite a few series. For me, however, I want more of Rockton.Many thanks Minotaur Books and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.This was fantastic! I have been a big fan of Kelley Armstrong's Rockton series for quite some time so I was pretty eager to get my grubby hands on this newest installment. I went into this book with extremely high expectations and I was not disappointed. This book grabbed my interest in the first few pages and never let go. I had an incredibly hard time setting the book down anytime life got in the way. I enjoyed every moment that I This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.This was fantastic! I have been a big fan of Kelley Armstrong's Rockton series for quite some time so I was pretty eager to get my grubby hands on this newest installment. I went into this book with extremely high expectations and I was not disappointed. This book grabbed my interest in the first few pages and never let go. I had an incredibly hard time setting the book down anytime life got in the way. I enjoyed every moment that I spent reading this book.This is the fifth book in the Rockton series which I think is best read in order. Casey and Eric want some time alone together so they take a quick camping trip. While Eric is off hunting, Casey hears a noise and discovers an infant in the arms of a dead woman buried in the snow. Casey needs to not only solve the murder of the dead woman but find out if someone is looking for the baby all while trying to care for the infant.This was a wonderful and complex mystery. There were so many pieces of the puzzle that needed to be found in order to really see the big picture. I liked getting the chance to go along with Eric and Casey as they visited some of the other groups that live near Rockton. There were a lot of twists and turns in this story and I was never quite sure what would happen next. At times, it almost felt like the more I learned the less I knew as a new piece of information would negate everything I thought I had figured out.The story was exciting and there were a few times that I was rather worried about how things might turn out. I love the fact that their dog, Storm, is a constant companion and a rather large part of the story who gets some excitement of her own. We also get the chance to learn a few things about some of the residents of Rockton and it was entertaining to see how a baby could shake things up.I would highly recommend this series to others. This is a very well done and original series with likable yet flawed characters. I cannot wait to read more of this wonderful series!I received a digital review copy of this book from St. Martin's Press - Minotaur Books via NetGalley.Initial ThoughtsThis is probably somewhere between a 4 and 5 star read for me. I am going to go with 4 for now but may bump it up after I have some time to think about it. Obviously, I liked the book quite a bit which isn't a huge surprise since I have been a fan of the series since the start. Casey and Eric go on a camping trip together with their dog, Storm, and find an infant under a layer of snow in the arms of a dead woman. I knew from the start that Casey would have quite the mystery to solve in this book. Much of this story takes place in the wilderness outside of Rockton and I enjoyed getting to know more about the other groups sharing the area. I thought that the mystery was well done and it was fun to see both Casey and Eric dealing with an infant. I thought that this was a very well done addition to the series.
    more
  • Fiona
    January 1, 1970
    Somehow we're five books in (where exactly did all those years go?), and the Rockton series continues as strong as the day it first started.Casey and Eric are finally enjoying some down time, when of course trouble finds them - in the form of a dead woman in the snow, holding a baby. It's a new challenge for the pair, and for Rockton, and the search for the baby's mother quickly proves that the Yukon hasn't run out of problems to throw at them yet.We get a lot of exposure to the other Somehow we're five books in (where exactly did all those years go?), and the Rockton series continues as strong as the day it first started.Casey and Eric are finally enjoying some down time, when of course trouble finds them - in the form of a dead woman in the snow, holding a baby. It's a new challenge for the pair, and for Rockton, and the search for the baby's mother quickly proves that the Yukon hasn't run out of problems to throw at them yet.We get a lot of exposure to the other communities in this book, and though there's some time spent in Rockton itself, I missed it a little. But I did appreciate the widening scope too - it feels like these characters are beginning to find their place in a wider whole, and that leaves a lot of room for future stories. The gentle spanner the baby throws into Casey and Eric's relationship was extremely well-handled, too - their relationship never takes over, but there are definitely questions they didn't think they'd need to face, and their emergence is given the attention it deserved.These books always start with minor recaps, too, and as I get more forgetful (it's either aging or reading too much) I appreciate that a lot. This is one series that I don't mind rereading, and I haven't had any problem remembering the major plot points, but minor characters and their names? The bits of info dropped into the earlier chapters of these books are invaluable.A strong series, and this is one of the better entries (though honestly, I'd say that about all five books, just for different reasons) - and it does stand alone, but if this sounds like something you'd enjoy, trust me and read the lot.
    more
  • Juli
    January 1, 1970
    The Rockton series is one of my favorites! I eagerly await each new book in this series. Alone in the Wild is the 5th book set in Rockton, a town absent from any maps where people go to get away from their problems. Far, far away. Rockton is in the Canadian wilderness and camouflaged so even airplanes flying over head can't see the town unless the pilots know it's there. No electricity. No internet. No contact with the outside world except for resupply trips. Rockton residents pay a lot of money The Rockton series is one of my favorites! I eagerly await each new book in this series. Alone in the Wild is the 5th book set in Rockton, a town absent from any maps where people go to get away from their problems. Far, far away. Rockton is in the Canadian wilderness and camouflaged so even airplanes flying over head can't see the town unless the pilots know it's there. No electricity. No internet. No contact with the outside world except for resupply trips. Rockton residents pay a lot of money for the privilege of disappearing. Some are running from danger. Others are criminals hiding from law enforcement. It makes Casey Duncan's job as local detective difficult at times. Her boyfriend Dalton is Rockton's sheriff. It's up to them to keep the residents safe. Sometimes that can be difficult and incredibly dangerous.In this newest book, Casey and Dalton take a much needed rest. Things have been quiet in Rockton for months and residents are busy preparing for Christmas. So, they take a two day camping trip to get a break. When Casey discovers a baby in the forest buried in the snow with a dead woman, she and Dalton realize they need to discover the identity of the woman in order to find the child's family. Their main goal is to return the baby to its people, and to discover what happened. This series is best read in order to fully understand the setting and the characters. Plus the plot refers to events from previous books a few times. Definite spoilers if a reader hasn't read the earlier books first. Great read! I thoroughly enjoyed this story. The plot is engaging, well-written and suspenseful. Another great visit to Rockton! I can't wait for the next book! **I voluntarily read a review copy of this book from St. Martin's Press. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.**
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsRockton is unknown to the general population, set up in the Yukon, off-the-grid, and a place formed for those on the run from danger. An abusive husband, a stalker, unfair conviction? Rockton is your place to hide until the dust settles. Supposedly inhabitants are vetted so that no violent criminals are allowed in, but in the past books weve learned that this isnt true. Eric, the Sherriff of Rockton and Casey, the towns Homicide Detective are a close team working together to keep order, 4.5 StarsRockton is unknown to the general population, set up in the Yukon, off-the-grid, and a place formed for those on the run from danger. An abusive husband, a stalker, unfair conviction? Rockton is your place to hide until the dust settles. Supposedly inhabitants are vetted so that no violent criminals are allowed in, but in the past books we’ve learned that this isn’t true. Eric, the Sherriff of Rockton and Casey, the town’s Homicide Detective are a close team working together to keep order, their residents safe, and to solve whatever crimes. However, they’re more than that, and have been almost from the start, and part of the big draw to this series for me is their romance. There’s no drama stemming from unnecessary relationship conflict, rather the drama is from the danger they face daily from residents, the Hostiles, or from the outside Settlements. In Alone in the Wild Casey and Eric find a very young baby, clutched in the arms of a murdered woman. Was this baby taken from her family, and if so why? They need to find a killer as well, so they set off to find answers from the two Settlements, and Tyrone Cypher the former Sherriff of Rockton. I’ve been eagerly looking forward to Alone in the Wild and was pleased to finally get answers about the Hostiles, and a glimpse into the lives of the Settlers, people who chose to stay in the area rather than go back home after their five years at Rockton were up. Were introduced to a few new, interesting characters and a couple that sent shivers done my spine, anticipating the threats and danger they may pose in the future. I think this installment really set things up for future dealings with the Settlements and maybe some interventions with the Hostiles? Eric and Casey, as usual, make a phenomenal team, although there was a scene where I wanted to shake Casey for being reckless, but it was a minor annoyance. With being stuck with a baby, Casey and Eric faced some fears and made a plan for the future, whatever it may bring. I loved their approach! Rockton is one of my all-time favorite series’ and Alone in the Wild was another riveting installment fans won’t want to miss! If you haven’t tried this series yet, I highly recommend it! For audio book junkies (like myself) the audios of Rockton are amazing! The talented Therese Plummer narrates, and I’ll be buying a copy to start on Thursday with the hubby (he’s a huge fan of the series, too!).A copy was kindly provided by Minotaur Books via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mackey
    January 1, 1970
    Rockton - secluded, secretive and always full of surprises. A tiny town in the Yukon where the most desperate people go to hide. Now the Yukon forest has another hidden surprise for Casey Duncan: a baby.Alone in the Wild is the fifth in the Rockton series by author Kelley Armstrong. Centering around the town of Rockton, a secret fortress hidden in the vast Yukon forest, it is a place for those who need or can afford extreme hiding. Some of its residents are victims, some are those who have Rockton - secluded, secretive and always full of surprises. A tiny town in the Yukon where the most desperate people go to hide. Now the Yukon forest has another hidden surprise for Casey Duncan: a baby.Alone in the Wild is the fifth in the Rockton series by author Kelley Armstrong. Centering around the town of Rockton, a secret fortress hidden in the vast Yukon forest, it is a place for those who need or can afford extreme hiding. Some of its residents are victims, some are those who have committed the crime but all of the Rockton residents are colorful, interesting nd not always law abiding. Casey Duncan and her life partner, the hard-assed sheriff, do their best to keep everyone safe - from one another, "the settlers" who have chosen to live outside of Rockton and from the "hostiles," those who have de-evolved while living in the wild.When Casey discovers the baby under the coat of a dead "hostile" woman, she begins to search for the murderer and the baby's parents. Moral questions arise about the capability of the parents, whoever they may be, of caring for a baby through the Yukon winter. Casey's search takes her directly into the "hostile" camps, to the trailers of those who sell and trade with the "hostiles" and the "settlers" and the "settler" camps themselves. Those who have followed this series finally get a full picture of the life these outcast groups live, how they interact with one another and a deeper look into some of the Rockton residents themselves.As an avid follower of Kelley Armstrong and the town of Rockton, I found Alone in the Wild to be one of the best written books in this series. Questions that we have had from the beginning are answered and the people, themselves, became fuller and more fleshed out. While it has been suggested that Alone in the Wild could be read as a stand-alone, I heartily disagree. Each book in this series picks up where the previous book left off and, if you are not familiar with the characters, the town and the back-story, you will be more confused than necessary than if you start at the beginning. The characters grow and change, as does the town of Rockton itself. I highly recommend Alone in the Wild for those who like improbable locations and quirky characters.
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    Looking once again to create all the fun and intrigue of the past four books in this series, I was very happy to receive an advanced copy of this book. Once again, I was not disappointed as I followed the adventures of Casey and Dalton, as they root out evil from a faraway place called Rockton. It was to be another exciting ride into the wilds of the Yukon and one in which many of the strange but somehow alluring characters reappear.How could one hear a baby's cry in the woods of the Looking once again to create all the fun and intrigue of the past four books in this series, I was very happy to receive an advanced copy of this book. Once again, I was not disappointed as I followed the adventures of Casey and Dalton, as they root out evil from a faraway place called Rockton. It was to be another exciting ride into the wilds of the Yukon and one in which many of the strange but somehow alluring characters reappear.How could one hear a baby's cry in the woods of the inhospitable Yukon? As Casey and Dalton were away for a bit of a vacation from the frantic pace of Rockton and its many nefarious residents, Casey hears something. It couldn't be a baby, it must be an animal. However, upon tracking the sound Casey not only finds a baby, but also a dead woman covering the infant as a last attempt to keep it safe. The mystery begins as both Casey and Dalton wonder where this child came from, who are the parents, and how could anyone leave an infant to such a fate? As they search and delve into this event, more about the outer settlements from Rockton are revealed and we begin to understand the way of life in the frozen wild is indeed very different from the world we know.Once again, Kelley Armstrong has written an intriguing story that keeps the momentum going in this series. Her characters, many of which were definitely odious in their past lives, are seen in a light that, while not always complimentary, makes them people that we come to know and perhaps even like. She reveals more and more of her main characters's personalities, and the love story between Casey and Dalton adds a bit of spice to the tale.If you have read the other four books, you definitely need to set time aside for this one, as you will not be disappointed. It is a riveting gripping tale that grabs you from the onset to the very last page. If you are looking for a terrific captivating series then this series is definitely recommended. Thank you to Kelley Armstrong, St Martin's Press, and NetGalley for a copy of this absorbing tale. This book is due out February 4, 2020My review and an interview with the author about this series can be seen here: http://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpress...
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    When I read "City of the Lost" when it was first published in 2016, I was immediately intrigued by the story concept and the characters involved. I did not think it was possible after reading that first book, but each successive book not only gripped me from the first page, but held me captive. There is always a complex puzzle, where pieces come in, do not quite fit, but build the story line at the same time. It isn't until the very end where it all comes together and always in unexpected, and When I read "City of the Lost" when it was first published in 2016, I was immediately intrigued by the story concept and the characters involved. I did not think it was possible after reading that first book, but each successive book not only gripped me from the first page, but held me captive. There is always a complex puzzle, where pieces come in, do not quite fit, but build the story line at the same time. It isn't until the very end where it all comes together and always in unexpected, and sometimes shocking, ways. I love the main characters, Casey (a Detective from the outside world now living in Rockton) and Dalton (the Sheriff of Dalton), and how their relationship and understanding of each other has changed and grown. All the secondary characters are fascinating, have equal depth and add so much to each overall story. Little bits of the secondary characters lives are revealed with each book as well. But, the real stars of the stories still remain our main characters, Casey and Dalton. They are constantly working through their separate past lives, working through their past mistakes, and finding and strengthening their personal and professional partnership. All of this is happening while facing the challenges of their unique living situation in a town that is like no other, with residents that are fugitives, psychopaths, people fleeing life and death situations, or just hiding. Tip of the iceberg to what is really going on in the background. Of course that is just a little of what they face in the small, off the grid "settlement," and does not even cover the different types of "groups of people" who live in the woods surrounding them and how they affect the "residents" of Rockton. Oh yeah, and did I mention the murders they have to solve with no "expert" help of any kind using primitive methods? These books are so fabulous on so many levels. They truly are not be missed. The Rockton Series by Kelley Armstrong quickly became one of the best series in murder/mysteries that I have ever read. As with all the books in this outstanding series, this latest book kept me glued to my Kindle non-stop until I finished it. Damn, that was good! Now, I have to wait, once again, for the next book in this mind-blowingly great series. Sigh. ;)
    more
  • Brenda
    January 1, 1970
    Im a big fan of this series, but I felt let down by this book. I hope I can explain why.We learn a lot more about the groups of people who live in the woods. That can be a boost in the development of the story, but knowledge belays fear. Is there still something to fear from these people now?There was a lot of sex in this book, including an old man from the woods coming to Rockton for that specific purpose and including Storm coming into heat. I understand the reasoning for presenting this. Its I’m a big fan of this series, but I felt let down by this book. I hope I can explain why.We learn a lot more about the groups of people who live in the woods. That can be a boost in the development of the story, but knowledge belays fear. Is there still something to fear from these people now?There was a lot of sex in this book, including an old man from the woods coming to Rockton for that specific purpose and including Storm coming into heat. I understand the reasoning for presenting this. It’s to bring about a discussion of family, procreation. It’s looked at from several angles, like a couple with a child and a couple who might want one, and whether children are welcome or prohibited or wanted or thrown away. My problem is that this subject provides none of the tension or suspense that Rockton is known for.Most of the story takes place outside of Rockton. Casey, Dalton, and Storm hold the focus for the majority of the book. There were appearances by many Rockton residents, but there just wasn’t enough time to spend with them. After I looked back over my reviews of the previous books, I have to give this just 3 stars. I think it’s the weakest book in the series, and I wasn’t as engaged as before. I’m still hopeful for the next book!
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    I have fought this and struggled... I cannot deny that i.love this damned series! I've been obnoxious about it, and still. Yukon.
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Alone in the Wild is book 5 in the Rockton/Casey Duncan series. This is a series. However the mysteries are self-contained to each book.The books take place in a remote part of the Yukon. The narrator is 32 year old detective Casey (1st person POV).This book takes place six months after the end of the last book.Kelley Armstrong is one of my most favorite authors. I love this series so much. So I was beyond excited to get to read Alone in the Wild.The beginning of this book was so good. Casey and Alone in the Wild is book 5 in the Rockton/Casey Duncan series. This is a series. However the mysteries are self-contained to each book.The books take place in a remote part of the Yukon. The narrator is 32 year old detective Casey (1st person POV).This book takes place six months after the end of the last book.Kelley Armstrong is one of my most favorite authors. I love this series so much. So I was beyond excited to get to read Alone in the Wild.The beginning of this book was so good. Casey and Dalton are on a camping trip in the woods. She comes across something. What she finds is the main mystery in this book.There are three groups of people that live around Rockton. There are the townspeople who actually live in Rockton. There are the settlers who live in the forest in organized communities. And there are the hostiles who are wild and live in the forest. These groups definitely all come into play in this book.I love Rockton so much and enjoy seeing it in each book. However in Alone in the Wild much of the story takes place outside of Rockton in the forest. Although we still get to see all of our favorite characters. Plus a few new ones. I do wish that more of this book would have taken place in Rockton. But the story definitely dictated this development. And the book was still immensely enjoyable.I am completely obsessed with Casey and Dalton. They are such an amazing duo. I love how they work together solving cases. But they are also a romantic couple. They go through some interesting things in Alone in the Wild. What fantastic and complex characters.I love these characters. I love this town. And the mystery was so fascinating. The end was satisfying. There were a lot of amazing twists throughout the book. I really was not sure where the story was headed until the very end! What a great book!I just saw that Kelley Armstrong said that she is currently working on Rockton 6. I could not be more excited about this news!Thank you to netgalley and Minotaur books for allowing me to read this book! Kelley Armstrong is one of my absolute favorite authors. And I love this series so much. I am so excited to read this book!
    more
  • ☕️Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    In Alone in the Wild a murder-mystery and an infant soon have Casey and Eric searching for answers. This provides readers insight into the different factions and our main characters.The town of Rockton doesnt allow anyone under the age of eighteen, so caring for an infant had its issues. Meanwhile, Casey and Eric need to find out what happened. Does this child have a family? Who killed the woman they found murdered?The case takes them away from Rockton with only clues from the womans body. Aside In Alone in the Wild a murder-mystery and an infant soon have Casey and Eric searching for answers. This provides readers insight into the different factions and our main characters.The town of Rockton doesn’t allow anyone under the age of eighteen, so caring for an infant had its issues. Meanwhile, Casey and Eric need to find out what happened. Does this child have a family? Who killed the woman they found murdered?The case takes them away from Rockton with only clues from the woman’s body. Aside from the folks who live in Rockton, the other inhabitants of the area are the Settlers, who broke off and established their own communities or the Hostiles who live wild and are nomads.It was interesting coming across these groups. We saw characters we knew and helped a few, we also met new characters and gained greater insight. It was exciting to see the world beyond Rockton, but make no mistake this was intense with plenty of danger and nail-biting suspense.I adored seeing Casey and Eric with a small child as Armstrong peeled layers back exposing their thoughts, fears, and histories. She isn’t afraid to expose their flaws and I like that about her writing. The author was very good at helping the reader connect with and understand the others.While each book in the series has a case with a beginning and an end, I think the reader would cheat themselves regarding character development, relationships and the town if they read this series out of order. This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Reviewer
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    January 1, 1970
    I straight up love this series.I do think that, if you're unfamiliar with it, you should start with book one. There's a ton of explanation needed in order to truly understand our characters and our town.That being said, if you're already a fan, you should love this.The author does a good job of slightly expanding our world - we understand so much more about the settlements outside the town and very unusual people who live in them.Also, I love Sebastian. I mean...eventually something crazy is I straight up love this series.I do think that, if you're unfamiliar with it, you should start with book one. There's a ton of explanation needed in order to truly understand our characters and our town.That being said, if you're already a fan, you should love this.The author does a good job of slightly expanding our world - we understand so much more about the settlements outside the town and very unusual people who live in them.Also, I love Sebastian. I mean...eventually something crazy is going to happen with him a future book, but I'm going to enjoy him for the time being.Good book and a really solid entry in the series!
    more
  • Janet Newport
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for this arc.Another shiver inducing and fast paced read from the Rockton Series. While many of the regular Rockton residents are in this book, it mostly takes place outside of Rockton. Casey and Eric have left town for a camping trip somewhere in the Yukon wild when Casey finds a murdered Wild Woman and a barely live baby. Camping trip cut short, they hustle back to town to figure this mess out.And the search begins and takes them all through the wild Thank you NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for this arc.Another shiver inducing and fast paced read from the Rockton Series. While many of the regular Rockton residents are in this book, it mostly takes place outside of Rockton. Casey and Eric have left town for a camping trip somewhere in the Yukon wild when Casey finds a murdered Wild Woman and a barely live baby. Camping trip cut short, they hustle back to town to figure this mess out.And the search begins and takes them all through the wild territory, meeting all sorts of wild folks. Throughout, Casey is questioning herself and her motivations for keeping the baby safe in Rockton. The rest of the cast of characters felt as real and fully fleshed out. The resolution of the story, while satisfying, left me with more questions that I hope to find answers for in future books.4.5 stars rounded up.
    more
  • Zoe
    January 1, 1970
    Unique, mysterious, and incredibly atmospheric!In this latest novel by Armstrong, Alone in the Wild, she transports us back to Rockton, Yukon, a small community of fugitives and victims who suddenly find themselves discombobulated by the sudden presence of a newborn baby discovered outside their village in the arms of a murdered stranger.The writing is descriptive and tight. The plot is tense, action-packed and full of exploration, community, surprises, suspects, hostility, savagery, deduction, Unique, mysterious, and incredibly atmospheric!In this latest novel by Armstrong, Alone in the Wild, she transports us back to Rockton, Yukon, a small community of fugitives and victims who suddenly find themselves discombobulated by the sudden presence of a newborn baby discovered outside their village in the arms of a murdered stranger.The writing is descriptive and tight. The plot is tense, action-packed and full of exploration, community, surprises, suspects, hostility, savagery, deduction, desperation, parenthood, and a little romance. And the characters are damaged, multi-layered, and quirky, with the setting being a character itself with its barren remoteness and isolation. Overall, Alone in the Wild is the creative, intriguing, suspenseful fifth novel in the Rockton series and even though it can be enjoyed as a standalone story, I highly recommend reading the first four novels in the series to truly appreciate the ingenuity of the storyline.Thank you to Minotaur Books for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kate
    January 1, 1970
    Its never boring in the Yukon and there is plenty for Eric & Casey to do and if not? Well they drum up their own work!This author has truly created a unique world with different factions battling to be top dog in the Yukon or at least to not look weak. We have the hostiles (wild people), the first settlement, the second settlement, various trappers and traders and Rockton.We get to see and explore more of the outside world of the Yukon and there are characters added and they are given a lot It’s never boring in the Yukon and there is plenty for Eric & Casey to do and if not? Well they drum up their own work!This author has truly created a unique world with different factions battling to be top dog in the Yukon or at least to not look weak. We have the hostiles (wild people), the first settlement, the second settlement, various trappers and traders and Rockton.We get to see and explore more of the outside world of the Yukon and there are characters added and they are given a lot more depth and it was refreshing to see something new and for the world to develop.Casey and Eric are out camping to recharge their batteries when Casey hears something in the woods that sounds like a baby. It is the middle of winter and Casey does find a baby wrapped up and being protected by a dead woman.Casey & Eric have baggage that they still need to deal with but the one thing ideally the ending would have been different and in a way, I get why it isn’t but I wonder how that avenue shall be tackled. The only right thing to do is take the baby back to Rockton, to solve the murder and to find the baby’s parents. Not easy when you don’t have a lot of evidence to go on. I don’t want to give too much away so I’ll leave it at that. Because the population of the Yukon is so small it is astounding how many crazy people live there or they just stick out more. Not the best start to 2020 but all in all, I really enjoy this series but a very important aspect how many more books can you write before you get stuck in a rut or that the ideas run out? Personally, I think we are getting to that point but heck I shall still read the next book of the series. Alas, I can only give it three stars though.
    more
  • Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey)
    January 1, 1970
    Simply perfect. I love this world. I love this series. I want to live in this authors mind so the story never ends. I cant say enough good things. Then again, I wouldnt expect less. Kelley Armstrong is simply an amazing storyteller. This has to be one of my favorite series ever. (Side note- Bitten has to be the best shifter book ever written and Ive read a lot. The series is awesome too).Back to this series. Three of my one click series released today. I had to choice between Casey Duncan, Eve Simply perfect. I love this world. I love this series. I want to live in this author’s mind so the story never ends. I can’t say enough good things. Then again, I wouldn’t expect less. Kelley Armstrong is simply an amazing storyteller. This has to be one of my favorite series ever. (Side note- Bitten has to be the best shifter book ever written and I’ve read a lot. The series is awesome too).Back to this series. Three of my one click series released today. I had to choice between Casey Duncan, Eve Dallas and Pendergast and I chose Casey. That’s saying a lot!!! My only complaint is the story ended. I wanted to see ;) Eric’s face when he saw the hot tub. The narrator is simple spot on.
    more
  • Maria Zuppardi
    January 1, 1970
    3.5Although I haven't read any of the previous novels in this series, I didn't find myself missing out on too much here - anything that had happened in a previous book was explained in enough context so the reader can just pick up on everything they may have forgotten or missed out on, like me. The writing is really great, I love the style and the way Kelley brought us along on this journey to find who did it, and why. The pacing was well, and kept my interest piqued throughout the story!I will 3.5Although I haven't read any of the previous novels in this series, I didn't find myself missing out on too much here - anything that had happened in a previous book was explained in enough context so the reader can just pick up on everything they may have forgotten or missed out on, like me. The writing is really great, I love the style and the way Kelley brought us along on this journey to find who did it, and why. The pacing was well, and kept my interest piqued throughout the story!I will say though, I didn't exactly care for the content as much, but maybe this has to do with the fact that I missed out on a whole previous 4 books that would've had me more connected to Casey and the town of Rockton. I truly just didn't exactly find the whole angle of finding missing parents and a killer as exciting as I thought it would be. This novel is definitely more about the character development of Casey and Eric than anything, and again, I probably would've appreciated it more had I already been connected on a personal level with the characters.I do think this book is great otherwise, and I wouldn't want you to miss out on it! A quick read, awesome characters, and a nice thriller that I truly enjoyed!
    more
  • The Captain
    January 1, 1970
    Ahoy there me mateys!  I received an eArc of this thriller through NetGalley in exchange for me honest musings.  Though this logs focus is on sci-fi, fantasy, and young adult, this Captain does have broader reading tastes. So occasionally I will share some novels that I enjoyed that are off the charts (a non sci-fi, fantasy, or young adult novel), as it were. This be the fifth book of a series.  If ye havent read the other four, then ye might want to skip this post and go get caught up.  While I Ahoy there me mateys!  I received an eArc of this thriller through NetGalley in exchange for me honest musings.  Though this log’s focus is on sci-fi, fantasy, and young adult, this Captain does have broader reading tastes. So occasionally I will share some novels that I enjoyed that are off the charts (a non sci-fi, fantasy, or young adult novel), as it were. This be the fifth book of a series.  If ye haven’t read the other four, then ye might want to skip this post and go get caught up.  While I try to post no spoilers, if ye keep reading this log then ye have been forewarned and continue at yer own peril . . .I love Kelley Armstrong!  I discovered her through her young adult book, sea of shadows, and she became me most read author of 2016. I have really been enjoying this series and I didn't even read the blurb before I requested this.This novel continues the adventures of Rockton's detective, Casey Duncan.  For those who be adventurous and are readin' this post having not read the previous books, Rockton is an off-the-grid town in the Yukon.  People pay a council to spend time in this town to hide from their pasts.  Some flee domestic abuse.  Some flee other more unsavory problems.  Suffice to say, the town is not an idyllic wonderland.I loved that, unlike in the previous books, all the important action in this mystery takes place in the forest and the communities outside of Rockton.  Rockton has been weirdly well-behaved and is focused on the preparation for December's holidays.  Casey is supposed to be enjoying a mini vacation but that goes out the window when she hears a baby cry while out in the middle of the woods.  Aye, a baby.  But with that baby is a dead body that clearly shows signs of murder.  Casey be determined to find the babies relatives.  She just has to figure out who they are first.This case involves visiting the other settlements in the forest who don't like outsiders.  I really enjoyed getting insight into how the other Yukon groups choose to live.  Also some questions about hostiles are answered which of course lead to bigger questions for Casey to eventually solve.  Ye get more answers (and questions) about Dalton's past too.  I can't wait to see where those plot lines go in future books.The first three books were more self-contained.  Books four and five hint at a larger picture and have had interwoven threads.  The nice part is that each book's problems are solved even while the ramifications of Rockton's existence are getting more tricky.  I did miss not having much time with Rockton residents but got a ton of fun in exchange.  I read this book in one sitting and time flew by.  If ye haven't visited Rockton yet, ye should!So lastly . . .Thank ye kindly St. Martin's Press!
    more
  • Cynthia
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsWhile on a camping trip, Casey, a detective from the elusive Canadian town of Rockton, hears a distinct sound in the woods while her husband, the towns sheriff, is off hunting. An animals shriek? No, its a baby crying. Casey finds the baby bundled up in the coat of a woman who was clearly murdered. She bundles the child and brings her back to camp and, later, Rockton, with two mysteries to solve. Who murdered the woman who was holding this infant girl and, since the victim is clearly 4.5 starsWhile on a camping trip, Casey, a detective from the elusive Canadian town of Rockton, hears a distinct sound in the woods while her husband, the town’s sheriff, is off hunting. An animal’s shriek? No, it’s a baby crying. Casey finds the baby bundled up in the coat of a woman who was clearly murdered. She bundles the child and brings her back to camp and, later, Rockton, with two mysteries to solve. Who murdered the woman who was holding this infant girl and, since the victim is clearly not the child’s mother, where are the baby’s parents?I do believe I managed to gloss over the fact that this was part of a series when I requested the book. Upon realizing that I had book number five, I was a bit intimidated. Let me set your mind at ease if this premise appeals to you: Alone in the Wild can easily be read as a standalone. The author gives enough background information to help the reader comprehend the characters and previous storylines. It’s unlikely that you will be confused but, if you are like me, you might find yourself incredibly intrigued by Rockton and you’ll realize that you want to read the rest of the books in the series. This detective story is unlike anything I’ve read before, as Rockton is not an ordinary town. While I still have much to learn about this fictional place, it’s off the grid, a place where people with shady pasts must apply to in order to take up residence, and occupied by individuals who are all over the age of 18. Caring for a baby unexpectedly while searching for her parents is more than slightly out of their realm of expertise.The story is intense from start to finish, with numerous intriguing developments surfacing along the way. The characters are interesting and continuously developing throughout the book. I enjoyed following the mystery, along with its false leads and climatic resolution. I felt the emotional impact of it all at the end of the book. The writing is fantastic and fits the setting and perspective incredibly well. I highly recommend this book. I really enjoyed it and am eager to learn more about the secret town of Rockton, with its unique standards that offer the perfect atmosphere for a creative detective series.I received this book from Minotaur Books in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    Another hit in the Rockton series and actually this one was out of the ballpark! The author gives us our usual suspense, murder, intrigue, and even some light comedy. As usual, this book was well written and it has the characters of Eric Dalton and Casey growing even more - especially with a baby involved! We don't deal as much with the townspeople as we usually do, we deal and learn more about, the outsiders and the more wild people and these groups can be a little frightening. Kelly has Another hit in the Rockton series and actually this one was out of the ballpark! The author gives us our usual suspense, murder, intrigue, and even some light comedy. As usual, this book was well written and it has the characters of Eric Dalton and Casey growing even more - especially with a baby involved! We don't deal as much with the townspeople as we usually do, we deal and learn more about, the outsiders and the more wild people and these groups can be a little frightening. Kelly has brought in new characters that I hope are better fleshed out and used more in later books.*ARC supplied by the publisher.
    more
  • Dana Stabenow
    January 1, 1970
    The best one in the series since the first one. The first chapter, when Casey deals with the baby, is terrifyingly hilarious. Hilariously terrifying? Armstrong is really thinking hard about what happens when people retreat into the wilderness for whatever reason, and what happens after that, and we finally get to meet the other groups out there and get a better handle on the hostiles. Good read.
    more
  • Karma♥Bites ^.~
    January 1, 1970
    READ 11 Feb 2020 (★★★½ rounded up)**ARC provided by Minotaur Books via NetGalley**As Jilly baldly stated in her review: You know what sounds like the best part of living out in the woods, off the grid?Nothing. Nothing about this sounds remotely attractive. I wholeheartedly concur b/c I have scars from accompanying ex-BF on a few camping trips. He was a great guy/BF, but I still d/n get it (whole sleeping-in-tent/cooking-over-fire bit, not annual bonding w/ buddies). And that particular joy is READ 11 Feb 2020 (★★★½ rounded up)**ARC provided by Minotaur Books via NetGalley**As Jilly baldly stated in her review: ‘You know what sounds like the best part of living out in the woods, off the grid?Nothing. Nothing about this sounds remotely attractive.’ I wholeheartedly concur b/c I have scars from accompanying ex-BF on a few camping trips. He was a great guy/BF, but I still d/n get it (whole sleeping-in-tent/cooking-over-fire bit, not annual bonding w/ buddies). And that particular joy is nowhere comparable to Rockton/Yukon Territory b/c we camped at a civilised site w/ wash facilities ‘nearby’. 😑That is one reason why the Rockton/Casey Duncan series intrigues city-bred-me so much. B/c it’s one thing to live off-grid, yet quite another to live waaaaaayyy off-grid w/ dubious natures of some Rockton residents. Not everyone’s a prepper, survivalist, ex-military or otherwise experienced/trained, right?Delayed by series re-read/catch-up & ARC for another Minotaur/SMP book, I blazed thru ALONE IN THE WILD in nearly one sitting. Armstrong’s tight, snappy writing = effortless reading = very happy me. 👍👍Then email alert = #2 in line for audio. So yeah, I sat on review and waited… and waited… Srsly, this book is the *one time* that Patron #1 d/n return w/in 2-3 days?So OK, first thing: can ALONE IN THE WILD be read as stand-alone? Yes and no, for all the usual reasons. 😄I d/n review #1-4 so briefly, Rockton was established in 1950s as temporary safe haven. Some (most?) residents return to ‘real world’ (aka go South) when their 2yr-term expires, but some intrepid souls voluntarily(?!) settle elsewhere in Yukon wilderness. More problematic is that, unbeknownst to most residents, some not-so-innocent folks have paid mucho bucks to hide out live in Rockton (b/c per council, gotta cover ever-increasing operating costs somehow).Ex-Rockton folks and their descendants living in the forest/wilds surrounding the town are generally divided into 2 groups: (1) ‘settlers’ who chose to live in wilderness, whether as community or by themselves, and (2) ‘hostiles’ who devolved into Lord of the Flies-like mentality/behaviour.When ALONE IN THE WILD opens, 32yo Casey Duncan has been in Rockton for @ 16mos. Now married to Sheriff Eric Dalton (wait, when did *that* happen?), navigating a do-over w/ older sister April, and training adorable Storm (Newfoundland pup), Casey has never been happier. And it must be true love for her to go on freakin’ weekend getaway camping trip—in freakin’ December in the Yukon.Alas, finding a dead woman clutching a barely-alive newborn puts a kibosh on Casey’s idyllic weekend.Unlike previous books, ALONE IN THE WILD is rather ‘quiet’ in mystery & tone. Yes, there are chases, shootings, etc. But for me, there was a distinct lack of urgency once care/feeding of Baby Jane Doe was addressed. Casey and Eric consider their options, contact available sources, and then head out into surrounding environs to uncover and/or follow up on leads re: dead woman and baby. (Sounds pretty mundane, but it’s basic, straight-forward investigative work, right?) More important is that each trip out serves as vehicle to advance series arc and further expand its ‘footprint’ & cast of players to include the Second Settlement, as well as an…interesting trader family group. (Alright, they are downright skeevy/ruthless. Expect to see more of them—or at least, particular couple—in future.)Alongside the murder mystery, we get more insights into the hostiles via Maryanne (former hostile who is slowly recovering sense of self) and certain residents from Second Settlement. Info re: how hostiles came to be is plausible, but think there’s something more. It’s definitely something to consider for future books.Lastly, adding to quieter tone are moments of introspection and discussions re: certain personal issues during course of murder investigation. In particular, Baby Jane brings up Eric’s own past as ‘rescued’ kid, whilst triggering unexpected thoughts in Casey. Uncomfortable all around, as evidence by this: “I’m still afraid,” he says, “of doing something to scare you off. I’m mostly past it, but I worry that if I dive into this, and I can’t deal with it, you’ll decide I’m just too fucked up to be with.”“Pretty sure my baggage is as heavy as yours.”“Yeah, but what’s in your baggage has been sorted and arranged, and you open it up for a look now and then. Mine’s stuffed in a suitcase full to bursting, held by triple locks, and I don’t even peek inside. You shouldn’t feel like I’d go ballistic if you even jangle the lock. Especially when I’m throwing yours open, riffling through it, tossing shit everywhere so I can see what you’ve got in there.” Even tho I grumped about how quickly these two got together in #1, *love* that they aren’t afraid (or TSTL) to speak up and tackle an issue sooner rather than later.For me, ALONE IN THE WILD felt almost like a ‘bridge book’. Nws its quieter moments, I enjoyed the little twists/red herrings and movement re: certain plot threads (hence bump up in rating). The final reveal/resolution worked for me. Also, given that much of this installment takes place outside Rockton, I appreciated that Armstrong inserted scenes (however short) so to touch base w/ certain residents.My major peeve/con? WTH happened to Cypher? Getting soft in old age or by thoughts of provisions from Rockton & periodic visits to the Roc? 😉The best? Storm’s out-of-blue suitor. 😂😂 LOL, c/n wait to see if he’s a repeat in next book.~ 28 Feb 2020 ~Series: #5 in Rockton/Casey DuncanPublication Date: 4 Feb 2020Publisher: Minotaur Books (St. Martin’s Press)Narrator: Thérèse Plummer__________8 Nov 2019 Clearly, I had no willpower re: this installment. Post-Turkey Day line-up, in you go!__________B/c of guilt & holidays, avoiding most ARCs but...Good grief, I'm antsy for this installment.*wrings fingers*
    more
Write a review