Chasing Midnight (Once Upon A Curse, #3)
This faerie godmother has an agenda of her own… Don't miss CHASING MIDNIGHT, a fantasy romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Cinderella.“I could redeem myself if I wanted to. I could help them. But I won’t. I’m the villain of their story, because it’s the only way to be the hero of mine.”Hundreds of years ago, humans learned the secret to sealing magic beneath their skin and stole it from the world. Faeries reverted back to flowers. Shifters remained trapped in their animal forms. Mermaids turned to foam. And the magical creatures who survived vowed revenge.Nymia is one of those survivors, a faerie brought back to life by the return of her magic. When she finds a human girl named Ella with her sister’s power trapped beneath her skin, she’ll do anything to get her back, including kill. There’s only one problem. This isn’t the world she remembers. Humans here have a power all their own — technology. And when a human prince sees her using magic, he’ll use every invention at his disposal to track her down. The countdown is on, and time is running out. Nymia needs to find Ella, take back her sister’s magic, and escape the determined prince before the clock strikes twelve, or she might not make it out of his city alive… *This is the third book in Once Upon a Curse, a series of interconnected stand-alone novels all set in the same fantasy universe.

Chasing Midnight (Once Upon A Curse, #3) Details

TitleChasing Midnight (Once Upon A Curse, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 26th, 2019
Rating
GenreFantasy, Retellings, Romance, Young Adult

Chasing Midnight (Once Upon A Curse, #3) Review

  • Hadya
    January 1, 1970
    update 5/26/18 will this even come out at some point in my life~~~~~~~~~~Aaaaaaahhhhhhhggggg when will this book come out
  • Kaitlyn Davis
    January 1, 1970
    7/29/19 Update!In case you missed it, I announced a pre-order giveaway campaign on my blog! Anyone who lives in the US who pre-orders a copy is eligible to receive these three exclusive Once Upon a Curse bookmarks! Check out the official announcement for all the details: https://www.kaitlyndavisbooks.com/2019/07/chasing-midnight-pre-order-giveaway.htmlHere's a preview of the bookmarks! I also posted a few more teasers! The first chapter reveal will be coming up next Tuesday, so stay tuned :)~~~6 7/29/19 Update!In case you missed it, I announced a pre-order giveaway campaign on my blog! Anyone who lives in the US who pre-orders a copy is eligible to receive these three exclusive Once Upon a Curse bookmarks! Check out the official announcement for all the details: https://www.kaitlyndavisbooks.com/2019/07/chasing-midnight-pre-order-giveaway.htmlHere's a preview of the bookmarks! I also posted a few more teasers! The first chapter reveal will be coming up next Tuesday, so stay tuned :)~~~6/4/19 Update!The cover reveal was today! I hope you love it :) Chasing Midnight is also now available to pre-order!! It's all happening! Here are some links:Amazon | iBooks | Google Play | B&N | Kobo | Smashwords~~~To everyone who has been waiting so long for this book, THANK YOU!!! The time for an update reel is finally here :) Woohoo! Chasing Midnight will be going on sale in August 2019, and I will have pre-order links available in the next few weeks. The cover reveal will be in early June, so for now, here's a quick teaser to hopefully get you all excited!! I can't wait to share more!! Stay tuned :)
    more
  • Paula Phillips
    January 1, 1970
    I have to admit at first I was very excited to read this book as I had read the previous two in the series a while back and loved them. Gathering Frost in February 2015 and Withering Rose in May 2016. I'm not sure if it's the fact that it has been at least 3.5 years since I read the last book and my reading tastes have changed but I didn't enjoy this one as much as I had hoped I would as the last couple of years I have focused my reading on more contemporary NA romances rather than fantasy novel I have to admit at first I was very excited to read this book as I had read the previous two in the series a while back and loved them. Gathering Frost in February 2015 and Withering Rose in May 2016. I'm not sure if it's the fact that it has been at least 3.5 years since I read the last book and my reading tastes have changed but I didn't enjoy this one as much as I had hoped I would as the last couple of years I have focused my reading on more contemporary NA romances rather than fantasy novels . Chasing Midnight is a Cinderella rendition as well which is why I thought I would love it but to me it was a borderline three-star read. In this book we meet Nymia who is a faerie with magical powers when the big earthquake happened and the world of magic got sucked to the human world and entered their spirits, her sister's faerie magic ended up in Omorose whom we know from the previous two books. In Chasing Midnight, Nymia has rescued her sister's power or so she thinks, but when things go awry she must now navigate herself in the human world along with Prince Cole to find Omorose's sister who now holds the power of the faeries. Can they do that or at least find a spell to turn back the clock before it's too late and Nymia would have failed for good? One of the things I have loved about this series is that each book has the most amazing cover and if you do love YA fairytale renditions and fantasy then you will enjoy the Once Upon A Curse series by Kaitlyn Davis.
    more
  • Sophia (Bookwyrming Thoughts)
    January 1, 1970
    I was kind of hoping this would be out by now but obviously, that hasn't happened.I'm going to go cry in my corner, brb.Update 5/12/19: Hi I just checked my email and omg is that a cover reveal host sign up for Chasing Midnight???AYE, SIGN ME UP PLS.THE REVIEW The author/publisher provided a free copy of the book for review purposes - thank you! Receiving a review copy does not guarantee a positive review and therefore do not affect the opinion or content of the review. Going into Chasing Midnig I was kind of hoping this would be out by now but obviously, that hasn't happened.I'm going to go cry in my corner, brb.Update 5/12/19: Hi I just checked my email and omg is that a cover reveal host sign up for Chasing Midnight???AYE, SIGN ME UP PLS.THE REVIEW The author/publisher provided a free copy of the book for review purposes - thank you! Receiving a review copy does not guarantee a positive review and therefore do not affect the opinion or content of the review. Going into Chasing Midnight and into the fantasy world Davis created in Gathering Frost and Withering Rose two years later felt as awkward as me in any social situation, only with a smol memory. So I kind of spent some time wondering when the Cinderella vibes would come in when in reality I forgot about the synopsis. 😂 The third book in the Once Upon a Curse series has got to be my favorite book. It almost made me cry at the end. If I had the ability to cry from reading.Chasing Midnight connects both of the previous books together, with appearances or mentions of the past mains. It's exciting to see all of the stories come together (especially since we're nearing the end of the series).But what makes this book top the previous books isn't just how neatly all three books connect. The story follows a faerie named Nymia, and she's like all of my favorite villain stories. She's full of evil and stabby vibes, but secretly soft and precious because she's been through a lot. We learn her magic is stolen and returns centuries later. She wants revenge for her fellow magical creatures and she spills blood mercilessly. She wakes up again to an entirely different world years later. Oh, and she'll do whatever it takes to get her sister back when she finds out her sister's magic is trapped under a girl named Ella. Ella and Frederick are a delight. Other than Nymia, who is soft and precious and must be Protected™, her companions who join her for most of the journey were a delight. Much of Chasing Midnight focuses on Nymia's struggle and building more backstory to the series. While it's interesting to read, having Ella and Frederick were fun to have in the story and made the retelling more enjoyable. They also play a huge role in Nymia's character development. Chasing Midnight is Nymia's constant battle as she is forced to return Ella back to her sister. As Nymia gets to know Ella and learns to navigate the world she finds herself in, she's deciding if she should mercilessly continue her revenge, or if there's another way around it. This book is about two people who lose their sisters in different ways but the universe decides to force their stories together. It's also how different communities can come together. I just love seeing this happen throughout Chasing Midnight through character interactions and their various stories that bring them together.And it's so seamlessly put together maybe I'll actually cry because it's beautiful. I'm excited for the release of Parting Worlds and seeing the final piece of the story come together. 😍This review was originally posted on Bookwyrming Thoughts
    more
  • Ashley Martinez (ilovebooksandstuffblog)
    January 1, 1970
    A great addition to the series! I loved hearing about the fairies and what happened with the worlds. I enjoyed the characters and the twisted fairy tale retelling through curses, magic and love.
  • Colleen's Conclusions
    January 1, 1970
    A review will be on my blog August 26th as part of a blog tour.
  • Nancy (The Avid Reader)
    January 1, 1970
    Many, many, many years humans found out about magic and wanted it for themselves. Humans wanted magic so bad that they were willing to do anything to have it and do anything they did. Humans finally got their hands on magic by stealing it but it came at a price it came with a curse attached to it. When humans stole magic for themselves it took away magic from all magical creatures killing them. One of the survivors was a faerie Nymia who was brought back to life when her magic was restored to he Many, many, many years humans found out about magic and wanted it for themselves. Humans wanted magic so bad that they were willing to do anything to have it and do anything they did. Humans finally got their hands on magic by stealing it but it came at a price it came with a curse attached to it. When humans stole magic for themselves it took away magic from all magical creatures killing them. One of the survivors was a faerie Nymia who was brought back to life when her magic was restored to her. Nymia goal now is to find her sister Aerewyn and bring her back to life but for her to do this she will have to find the girl Ella who has her sister’s magic and take it from so she can return it to Aerewyn. Nymia will do whatever it takes to bring her sister back even if it means she will have to kill for it.Chasing Midnight is a fast paced read that had me hooked from the first page with one minute rooting for Nymia to find her sister and bring her back to life and then the next rooting for Ella that somehow she would be kept safe. Once I picked up Chasing Midnight I was racing through the pages rooting for both Nymia and Ella at the same time wanting to know how it all turns out in the end. All the characters are very loveable people whom you can’t help but like. Each character has their own personality and you find yourself caring for them in different ways for different reasons.I really like how each character’s story from the first two books, Gathering Frost book #1 and Withering Rose book #2 was woven into Nymia and Ella’s story and each being from different fairy tells so cool. I have really and truly loved reading all of the books in the Once Upon a Curse series and can’t wait for the next book Parting Worlds book #4. This is one series that I highly recommend to anyone who has ever read a fairy tale. One click yourself a copy of each book today and begin the wonderful adventure that is waiting in each. My suggest: begin with Gathering Frost book #1 and then on to Withering Rose book #2 and last but not least Chasing Midnight book #3.
    more
  • Bonnie (A Backwards Story)
    January 1, 1970
    “I'm the villain of their story.Because it's the only way to be the hero of mine.” CHASING MIDNIGHTHappy Release Week to CHASING MIDNIGHT by Kaitlyn Davis! I feel like I've been waiting forever to read this book, and now it's finally in my hands. Do you ever get that bittersweet feeling where you finally have something and you're so excited, but then you realize it means you're one step closer to the end? Yeah, it's like that. The next book, PARTING WORLDS, comes out this November, and it's the “I'm the villain of their story.Because it's the only way to be the hero of mine.” CHASING MIDNIGHTHappy Release Week to CHASING MIDNIGHT by Kaitlyn Davis! I feel like I've been waiting forever to read this book, and now it's finally in my hands. Do you ever get that bittersweet feeling where you finally have something and you're so excited, but then you realize it means you're one step closer to the end? Yeah, it's like that. The next book, PARTING WORLDS, comes out this November, and it's the end of the world I've come to know and love over the last couple of years.If you have yet to read the series, I will tell you upfront that CHASING MIDNIGHT doesn't read as well as a stand-alone as the other two books in the series. You CAN read it on its own, but you'll likely be confused at times. If you haven't already, check out my reviews for the first book in the series, GATHERING FROST, and its sequel, WITHERING ROSE! (I'll try to do this with as few world spoilers as possible, which means I can't talk quite as much about this book because it is so enmeshed in the world-building of the other two, if that makes sense!) The first book opens on a scene where our reality collides with a fairy tale -esque reality, causing an earthquake that merged the two worlds together. Our world is terrified of magic and the iron hand of many rulers from that world. In the second book, we learn more about how the rulers and heirs came into their powers, how their ancestors had stolen it from magical beings such as fairies, mermaids, naiads, etc. The third book, CHASING MIDNIGHT, is centered around a fairy bent on revenge. The magical humans of her world are nothing but murdering thieves. They've taken everything from her kind, every little bit of magic. As one of the last remaining beings born with magic, Nymia has sworn to avenge her kind by bringing destruction and death to all royalty so that their magic will return to its proper host and bring her friends and family back to life. Things get complicated when she awakens from an enchanted sleep to find that her world has collided with another. She must work together with those she has spent a lifetime hating in order to achieve the ultimate prize and reclaim the life of her loved ones still trapped without magic. She doesn't want to care about these people she must betray, but everything she knows and believes is about to be put to the test...CHASING MIDNIGHT is more original story than it is fairy tale (which is needed to tell this tale!), though it has refrains of Cinderella coursing through its veins. Only this time around, it is the fairy godmother at the center of the tale, though there is also a young displaced princess now living in an orphanage who is very much in rags, and there is still a very handsome prince who is extremely curious about magic...I really like how this book dives into the past and gives us more information about the magical world. I like how all three books have such a completely different viewpoint: One from a human of our world caught up in a curse, one from a princess with magic who doesn't know the truth behind her deadly magic, and one from a magical being whose life had been forever altered by the greed of humans. Each book offers a new perspective and adds to the reader's knowledge of this world. While I'm beyond sad that the series is about to come to a close because the world is so interesting, especially the way curses and magic play out in our reality, it also feels like it is coming full circle and will be the natural finish to bring everything together.If you're already a fan of the series like myself -- or about to be! -- make sure you also check out the interview I did with Kaitlyn Davis earlier this week, because we chat a bit about CHASING MIDNIGHT and you can even get a sneak peek at the final book in the series, PARTING WORLDS, which is centered around the tale of The Little Mermaid!
    more
  • Billie
    January 1, 1970
    "I could redeem myself if I wanted to. I could help them. But I won't. I'm the villain of their story, because it's the only way to be the hero of mine."Hundreds of years ago, humans learned the secret to sealing magic beneath their skin and stole it from the world. Faeries reverted back to flowers. Shifters remained trapped in their animal forms. Mermaids turned to foam. And the magical creatures who survived vowed revenge.Nymia is one of those survivors, a faerie brought back to life by the re "I could redeem myself if I wanted to. I could help them. But I won't. I'm the villain of their story, because it's the only way to be the hero of mine."Hundreds of years ago, humans learned the secret to sealing magic beneath their skin and stole it from the world. Faeries reverted back to flowers. Shifters remained trapped in their animal forms. Mermaids turned to foam. And the magical creatures who survived vowed revenge.Nymia is one of those survivors, a faerie brought back to life by the return of her magic. When she finds a human girl named Ella with her sister's power trapped beneath her skin, she'll do anything to get her back, including kill.There's only one problem.This isn't the world she remembers. Humans here have a power all their own--technology. And when a human prince sees her using magic, he'll use every invention at his disposal to track her down. The countdown is on, and time is running out. Nymia needs to find Ella, take back her sister's magic, and escape the determined prince before the clock strikes twelve, or she might not make it out of his city alive...This is such a magnificent retelling of this fairy tale. This one just completely blew me away.Wonderful story line and plot that has a mystery in this one.Love the characters that have been created and loved reading about them.This author really knows how to take fairy tales to another level with her writing.Really enjoyed reading and recommend this one and the whole series.I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
    more
  • Lene Blackthorn
    January 1, 1970
    If you think this is a new Cinderella.. think twice. In a twisted way, for sure, you can see the fairytale retelling in the book.But this is not the story of the poor orphaned girl (or not the main one, at least). This is the story of the fairy godmother.With villainous intentions. On a killing spree. Nymia lost everything she believed in, everyone she loved, and saw the disaster of humans stealing magic with her immortal eyes. That was enough to send her on a quest to free the magic. Only now, If you think this is a new Cinderella.. think twice. In a twisted way, for sure, you can see the fairytale retelling in the book.But this is not the story of the poor orphaned girl (or not the main one, at least). This is the story of the fairy godmother.With villainous intentions. On a killing spree. Nymia lost everything she believed in, everyone she loved, and saw the disaster of humans stealing magic with her immortal eyes. That was enough to send her on a quest to free the magic. Only now, awoken by Omorose, she is bound by blood oath to bring her sister Ella back safely. The one who inherited the magic running in Omorose's family line. The magic of Nymia's sister Aerewyn. Now, faced with the reality, accompanied by cheerful teenager and a charming prince, would Nymia be able to go through her original plans until the end? I very much enjoyed this twisted retelling, seeing Nymia the same way prince Frederick described her almost at the end. Yet the conflict in her is noticeable, and I quite enjoyed what the modern world and two stubborn humans could do to the delicate faerie. The ending hints that the faerie part of these fairy tale retellings is not over, and I am very much curious what the story of the long lost faerie will be in the next book.
    more
  • Olivia Wolfertz
    January 1, 1970
    Adventure, magic, mystery, sisterly bond and romance--all you need sometimes. Like the other books before, this book had me completely glued to my kindle! But what I loved about this one in particular was the different types of love that were featured, between sisters and especially between Nymia and Ella. I love seeing how all the characters have become connected and continue to help one another break their curses. All I can say now is that I can't wait to hear more about Aerewyn's story and ge Adventure, magic, mystery, sisterly bond and romance--all you need sometimes. Like the other books before, this book had me completely glued to my kindle! But what I loved about this one in particular was the different types of love that were featured, between sisters and especially between Nymia and Ella. I love seeing how all the characters have become connected and continue to help one another break their curses. All I can say now is that I can't wait to hear more about Aerewyn's story and get some mermaid action!
    more
  • Shauna Joesten
    January 1, 1970
    This is a fantastic read. Of a fairytale. Shes in a fight to get her sister back and runs into other obstacles as well. This is a fast paced action packed read that will have you on the edge of your seat, with this page turner. I definitely recommend this read.Shauna Joesten
    more
Write a review