His & Hers
There are two sides to every story: yours and mine, ours and theirs, His & Hers. Which means someone is always lying.Anna Andrews finally has what she wants. Almost. She’s worked hard to become the main TV presenter of the BBC’s lunchtime news, putting work before friends, family, and her now ex-husband. So, when someone threatens to take her dream job away, she’ll do almost anything to keep it.When asked to cover a murder in Blackdown―the sleepy countryside village where she grew up―Anna is reluctant to go. But when the victim turns out to be one of her childhood friends, she can’t leave. It soon becomes clear that Anna isn’t just covering the story, she’s at the heart of it.DCI Jack Harper left London for a reason, but never thought he’d end up working in a place like Blackdown. When the body of a young woman is discovered, Jack decides not to tell anyone that he knew the victim, until he begins to realise he is a suspect in his own murder investigation.One of them knows more than they are letting on. Someone isn’t telling the truth. Alternating between Anna's and Jack's points of view, His & Hers is a fast-paced, complex, and dark puzzle that will keep readers guessing until the very end.

His & Hers Details

TitleHis & Hers
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 28th, 2020
PublisherFlatiron Books
ISBN-139781250266071
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Fiction, Audiobook, Suspense, Adult, Contemporary, Psychological Thriller, Crime

His & Hers Review

  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    I am so bored that I am actually jealous of Rachel for getting killed.DNF at 39%.
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    There are three sides of stories: His, hers and truth! A TV presenter of BBC ‘s lunchtime news and a chief police officer/let’s rephrase as “DCI” find themselves tangled with brutal murders of women who shared a common past, graduated from same high school, living their different lives in Blackwood. A friendship bracelet positioned with their corpses. What are the connections of these two persons with the victims? DCI Jack Harper was with the first victim at the night of her murder, having sex There are three sides of stories: His, hers and truth! A TV presenter of BBC ‘s lunchtime news and a chief police officer/let’s rephrase as “DCI” find themselves tangled with brutal murders of women who shared a common past, graduated from same high school, living their different lives in Blackwood. A friendship bracelet positioned with their corpses. What are the connections of these two persons with the victims? DCI Jack Harper was with the first victim at the night of her murder, having sex with her. There are so many clues point at him including his 10 sized shoes and the cell phone of the victim he carries with him. Was he framed or did he involve with her death? What about Anna Andrews, who suffers from her baby’s sudden death two years ago and loneliness, alcoholism after her divorce. Now she loses her dream job because an ambitious reporter comes back from her maternal leave and takes her seat. She was all these victims’ school friend and as we read to her narration about the past, we find out she doesn’t have a quite satisfying relationship with them. And what about the new recruited police office Priya? Why she is trying so hard to please Jack? Why she is hiding things from him? Does she have a secret agenda? Jack tells his story, Anna tells her own one and of course we also read the killer’s POV! Interestingly killer’s POV carries similar expressions with both Jack and Anna’s way of telling things. Does author confuse the hell of us by playing mind tricks? Absolutely because she is smarter than us! I imagined her laugh so hard when I was biting my nails and hitting my forehead to the wall to find out who is the murderer!Which one tells the truth? Do we have deceitful narrators? It could be but at least the killer always tells the truth!!! You know there are some books make you hooked up, glued to your hands and occupied your mind and soul so you barely breathe and function till you finish it. But in the meantime you wish it never finishes because you’re having so much fun and adrenaline, excitement, endorphin make you high! You want more! And you start to punch the walls because there is only one chapter left and you’re getting closer to finish it and you’re gonna love it so much and you start to compare the other books with it and you see that most of your reads turn into meaningless, boring experiences. Yes: That’s how I felt after my reading and I’m telling you this is one of my special reads of this year. I know I gave nearly 10 thrillers to 5 stars but if I give this book 6 stars to differentiate it from my other reads I couldn’t think a second to do it!I’m not giving more clues to ruin your read! Last time I gave big spoilers to my buddyreaders and I found it somebody stole some of my unique Chardonnay bottles and replace them with apple cider! I don’t know how to manage to do that in quarantine but I don’t want to risk anything! I need my booze and more books at these horrible days. I’m just sending my witchy powers to you for getting your ARC copies but if you don’t get, please pre-order online or connect with your local library or befriend Amazon Prime crew, do whatever it takes to read this sooner! It’s absolutely worth it! I already read three of Alice Feeney’s three books. And so far this is my favorite novel of hers!Special thanks to NetGalley and Flatiron Books for sharing one of the best ARCS I’ve ever read this year an exchange my honest review!bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • Dorie - Cats&Books :)
    January 1, 1970
    Trigger Warning: I deducted 1* for descriptive animal crueltyThis a mind blowing psychological thriller in every sense of the word!! If you are looking for a book that will keep you guessing at the “killer” until the very end, this is the one for you. I was convinced I knew what was going on until the very end, and I was very wrong!! The ending was great and tied up the novel brilliantly!The first POV is that of Anna Andrews, a news journalist that has finally been working in her dream job. She Trigger Warning: I deducted 1* for descriptive animal crueltyThis a mind blowing psychological thriller in every sense of the word!! If you are looking for a book that will keep you guessing at the “killer” until the very end, this is the one for you. I was convinced I knew what was going on until the very end, and I was very wrong!! The ending was great and tied up the novel brilliantly!The first POV is that of Anna Andrews, a news journalist that has finally been working in her dream job. She is anchoring a noon hour broadcast on BBC. She has given up a lot to get here, started from the very bottom rung of the ladder, even sacrificing her relationship with her husband which ended in divorce. She is never really happy with herself though, is an alcoholic and eats almost nothing to maintain the look that she wants. She thought her job was secure, until the woman who had this job previously, comes back. After a maternity leave for two children, Cat Jones has come back to claim what she feels is her rightful place. “I picture her sitting in what, only yesterday, was my chair. . . . .The mental image doesn’t make me feel sick, it makes me feel thirsty. My fingers come to the rescue, and automatically start to search inside my bag for a miniature whiskey.”Anna is demoted back to a correspondent. She is assigned to cover a murder in sleepy Blackdown Woods, a place that she never wanted to return to. This assignment will open up everything you need to know about Anna, and the cult of friends that she was a part of in high school. This group of girls did some pretty horrible things to be included in Rachel’s exclusive group. You have never known a group of girls like this one!!!The second POV is that of DCI Jack Harper, he is the inspector who is assigned to the murder in Blackdown Woods. He is shocked when he sees the victim, he knows her, intimately. He has his own problems. He has a 2 y/o toddler with a woman whom he isn’t married to and still holds a flame for Anna, his first wife. He is generally bored with his job until the first girl is found murdered in Blackdown Woods! He will have lots of action to keep him busy for the next weeks and he will never be the same again.There is a third POV, that of the killer. I paid attention to every word and still didn’t guess the outcome! Everyone is a suspect, everyone has motives.You won’t be able to stop reading this one, clear your day and your night! This author is a master of psychological fiction, I just wish that she hadn’t chosen to include animal cruelty in her last book as well as this one.Addendum: Since many people have asked, the animal cruelty is at about 82% on my Kindle.I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    This is going to be a super short review, because you need to just go into this one blind and let it take you on a wild ride. If you, like me, really disliked the author's previous novel, please know that this one is MUCH more on par with her first book. If you enjoy audiobooks, I cannot recommend that format for this book highly enough! The narrators are fantastic, including a mysterious third voice that becomes revealed toward the end. Content warnings for sexual assault and grooming, but over This is going to be a super short review, because you need to just go into this one blind and let it take you on a wild ride. If you, like me, really disliked the author's previous novel, please know that this one is MUCH more on par with her first book. If you enjoy audiobooks, I cannot recommend that format for this book highly enough! The narrators are fantastic, including a mysterious third voice that becomes revealed toward the end. Content warnings for sexual assault and grooming, but overall not as gory as many other thrillers today. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    CRA-Z-Y!!!First, can I just say that the voice of the unknown male narrator CREEPED me the F - OUT!? Alright folks, so let’s get to it:What a Wild Ride “His & Hers” is! A Pulse Pounding, Character Driven, Psychological Thriller sure to make you double check that you’ve locked your doors and windows, tight tight tight! The Scoop: His: Jack Harper: DCI, assigned to investigate a murder in Blackdown.Her: Anna Andrews: News Correspondent, assigned to investigate and report the murder. Blackdown: A CRA-Z-Y!!!First, can I just say that the voice of the unknown male narrator CREEPED me the F - OUT!? Alright folks, so let’s get to it:What a Wild Ride “His & Hers” is! A Pulse Pounding, Character Driven, Psychological Thriller sure to make you double check that you’ve locked your doors and windows, tight tight tight! The Scoop: His: Jack Harper: DCI, assigned to investigate a murder in Blackdown.Her: Anna Andrews: News Correspondent, assigned to investigate and report the murder. Blackdown: A village on the outskirts of London, full of bad memories for “His & Her.”Jack and Anna each have a different stake in the case and loads of secrets to keep. The two also have history that keeps getting in the way. Then there is the unknown male narrator (a/k/a the creepy AF voice). Way to give me the heebie jeebies dude!In short, No One and I mean, no one can be trusted. Gotta Love Alice Feeney, she sure knows how to keep us on our toes! What we don’t know.. Well, Baaah! Alice Feeney sure fooled me. That’s all I have to say about that.Kudos to Alice Feeney for bringing it yet again! “His & Hers” was a buddy listen with Kaceey which I almost quit listening to in order to switch to the paperback version because I couldn’t handle the chilling voice of the creepy narrator. Thankfully, Kaceey virtually held my hand throughout while also finding my inability to handle it quite amusing. Thanks Kaceey!Thank you to Alice Feeney, Macmillan Audio, Libro.fm. for the alc and book depository for the paperback.Published on Goodreads on 7.26.20.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    This is my first audio book from NetGalley Shelf. Twenty years ago I listened to an audio book, in my truck, and then listened to the nonfiction, How Not to Diet, recently so I'm a very novice audiobook listener. I had some difficulty with the app because it didn't start with the first chapter and then skipped chapters. I tried to go back and listen to anything I missed but the glitch made for a choppy listening experience. For this reason, I would have very much preferred reading the book but t This is my first audio book from NetGalley Shelf. Twenty years ago I listened to an audio book, in my truck, and then listened to the nonfiction, How Not to Diet, recently so I'm a very novice audiobook listener. I had some difficulty with the app because it didn't start with the first chapter and then skipped chapters. I tried to go back and listen to anything I missed but the glitch made for a choppy listening experience. For this reason, I would have very much preferred reading the book but thus far have not been able to get my hands on the digital version. Still, I certainly got the gist of things and enjoyed the story. The book is chock full of unlikeable characters and almost every one of them could be a red herring for the murderer, until they weren't anymore...not telling why though. We have three narrators and nobody is reliable whether because they outright lie or because the truth is hard to face. One narrator is "her", Anna Andrews, a newsreader/reporter, another is "him", Jack Harper, Anna's detective ex-husband, and the third narrator is the murderer. In the audio version, the murderer's voice is distorted so we don't know if it is a male or female, leaving us not knowing if the murderer is "him", "her", or anyone else. The book starts right before the first murder and then things happen fast, with bodies piling up. Anna is sent to report on the murder/murders and Jack is the lead investigator and quickly also a suspect in the murders. Is Jack guilty or is someone setting him up? We just don't know because we can't be sure who is telling us the truth and who is lying to us, as the book progresses. I might go back and read the printed version of the book at some time since I think I'd bet a better idea of things by reading the book in order (rather than getting the audio chapters out of order, as happened to me with my first use of this new app). Warning - animal abusePublished July 28th 2020Thank you to Macmillan Audio and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    Alice Feeney does it again! She draws you into the story with a superb start and then takes you on a jaw dropping journey until the end. In fact, I think my jaw fell open so many times it’s fixed in the gaping mouth position! I might have uttered the odd expletive as another shocker clobbers you! The story as the title implies is told from two perspectives. ‘His’ is DCI Jack Harper, head of MCT in Blackdown, Surrey a quintessential, sleepy and beautiful English town in the stockbroker belt. He’s Alice Feeney does it again! She draws you into the story with a superb start and then takes you on a jaw dropping journey until the end. In fact, I think my jaw fell open so many times it’s fixed in the gaping mouth position! I might have uttered the odd expletive as another shocker clobbers you! The story as the title implies is told from two perspectives. ‘His’ is DCI Jack Harper, head of MCT in Blackdown, Surrey a quintessential, sleepy and beautiful English town in the stockbroker belt. He’s a bit crumpled, not living his best life having retreated to Blackdown from the Met following a tragedy. ‘Her’ is Anna Andrews a temporary BBC news presenter filling in for Cat Jones who has been on maternity leave. Anna has plenty of secrets and there are several versions of ‘her’. When a Jane Doe is discovered stabbed multiple times in Blackdown Woods what follows is a tale of the unexpected as you would expect (!) from Alice Feeney. The novel is well written and has a lot of excellent descriptions and metaphors of what it’s like inside His and Her heads. The plot is good and you think you have the truth sorted and then you realise you so haven’t as both perspectives are contradictory. It has more twists than a corkscrew and at times it’s so dark you can barely see a hand in front of your face. It’s mysterious, tense, creepy and spooky. The setting especially of Blackdown Woods adds an extra dimension of atmosphere as even the most benign woods at night can feel scary. There are revelations and shocking events to keep you wanting to read on and on. Although I did work out the big reveal it in no way spoils the enjoyment. Overall, is a terrific read and highly recommended for fans of the genre. Special thanks to NetGalley and HQ stories for the Arc.
    more
  • Arini
    January 1, 1970
    This book takes the phrase ‘knock me over with a feather’ to a whole nother level cause . . .I AM SHOOKETH!!!I have never been played by an unreliable narrator quite like the way His & Hers did me. I must say I’m impressed—even though I also feel like I need to suspend my disbelief. Everything makes perfect sense in the end, but . . .HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE??Newsreader Anna Andrews is tasked to cover a murder case that her ex husband, DCI Jack Harper, is investigating in Blackdown village, the plac This book takes the phrase ‘knock me over with a feather’ to a whole nother level cause . . .I AM SHOOKETH!!!I have never been played by an unreliable narrator quite like the way His & Hers did me. I must say I’m impressed—even though I also feel like I need to suspend my disbelief. Everything makes perfect sense in the end, but . . .HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE??Newsreader Anna Andrews is tasked to cover a murder case that her ex husband, DCI Jack Harper, is investigating in Blackdown village, the place where she grew up that holds so many memories she’d rather forget.This book is a tough nut to crack. I kept trying and it kept throwing me off at every turn. It’s full of red herrings that will confuse and possibly drive you mad. Everyone has a motive, but who would you believe?I don’t think I’ve ever seen a detective/journalist pairing, and that’s what intrigued me when I read the blurb. Jack and Anna have their fair share of shortcomings which make them liable, and I held my distrust towards them.There’s not a single moment wasted in this book. I was drawn to the brutal murders as much as I was to all the short bursts of flashbacks from Anna’s tragic past. They’re so horrid, it’s best you keep in mind every triggering subject matter you can think of.The story becomes complex, twisted, and freaky overtime. Add to that the small town setting surrounded by dark creepy woods, the feeling of urgency to get to the bottom of things, the constant second guessing, and the shocking ending . . .Gah, you won’t be able to put it down!If you like this book, try these next:↠ The Kind Worth Killing↠ Jar of Hearts
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 STARSI'm not sure I read the same book that so many others loved. I enjoyed her debut novel, but felt this one had too many coincidences in the plot. I loved the way the author told the story with the his/her narrative, although at times it confused me (the ending twist). The back and forth kept me guessing and putting pieces together. I just never became invested in the characters, who were all very unlikable and even despicable in my opinion.I would say it was pacy, but I didn't care for t 2.5 STARSI'm not sure I read the same book that so many others loved. I enjoyed her debut novel, but felt this one had too many coincidences in the plot. I loved the way the author told the story with the his/her narrative, although at times it confused me (the ending twist). The back and forth kept me guessing and putting pieces together. I just never became invested in the characters, who were all very unlikable and even despicable in my opinion.I would say it was pacy, but I didn't care for the "shockers" along the way. The final twist was the breaking point because it was too over the top and unbelievable.It is twisted, outrageous, and bizarre, which can work, but in this case, not for me. I had many, many issues including (view spoiler)[the cat abuse.Thanks to NG and the publisher for my advanced copy. OUT on July 28, 2020  (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • daph_pink
    January 1, 1970
    3.75✡ I have a rather weird way of rating mystery books . If by the end of revelation I say " WTF! JUST HAPPENED", it's a 5 star for me .After I completed this book last night I was shook for like 15 mins and I decided to rate it 5 stars but upon closure inspection I realized that there are some problem with this book! Why this is a good read?• The main theme that there are three sides of a story mine , yours and the truth.• The whole setting and creepiness of small town blackwood.• Sacrifices o 3.75✡ I have a rather weird way of rating mystery books . If by the end of revelation I say " WTF! JUST HAPPENED", it's a 5 star for me .After I completed this book last night I was shook for like 15 mins and I decided to rate it 5 stars but upon closure inspection I realized that there are some problem with this book! Why this is a good read?• The main theme that there are three sides of a story mine , yours and the truth.• The whole setting and creepiness of small town blackwood.• Sacrifices of one family member for the love of the other. Why I deducted one star? • I bet you can't guess the murderer by the end if the book because author didn't gave any clue to suggest who is the killer. By the end you will feel like the author is genius to think of something like that but when you analyse it the turn of events will feel off the nook.• By the end of revelation you will get the answer of Who? and Why? but you will be confused to answer how?• This book is full of coincidences a d chance events...like literally there are hell lot of coincidences.Recommended it for everyone who love mystery books set in small town , it's a page turner and definitely a good readEnjoy!!Happy reading!!
    more
  • jessica
    January 1, 1970
    you know what they say - third times the charm! AFs first two books failed to impress me, but we finally have a winner!i had a lot of fun with this one. i love that there is not only one, but two unreliable narrators. it makes for a very interesting story of ‘he said, she said.’ both were equally convincing, so i was left guessing right up until the very end. there are a lot of red herrings, mixed with subtle clues that i was so upset i didnt catch sooner. the only reason i didnt give this 5 sta you know what they say - third times the charm! AFs first two books failed to impress me, but we finally have a winner!i had a lot of fun with this one. i love that there is not only one, but two unreliable narrators. it makes for a very interesting story of ‘he said, she said.’ both were equally convincing, so i was left guessing right up until the very end. there are a lot of red herrings, mixed with subtle clues that i was so upset i didnt catch sooner. the only reason i didnt give this 5 stars was because the ending is a little… unsatisfying. i mean, i get it. but its a big pet peeve of mine when the guilty person is (view spoiler)[someone who is less than a side character. (hide spoiler)] a little lame, in my opinion. but overall, this story is extremely fast paced and easy to become obsessed with!↠ 4 stars
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    I listened to this entire audiobook in two sittings. Usually when I listen to audiobooks I listen to them over a week long time of commuting to work, but this audiobook hooked me from the start and I listened to the whole thing within 24 hours. This is probably my favorite thriller from Alice Feeney so far, I'm super impressed with this one. The mystery is so great, we are following Anna and Jack and they have this mysterious past together, and she works in the news and he is a detective. There I listened to this entire audiobook in two sittings. Usually when I listen to audiobooks I listen to them over a week long time of commuting to work, but this audiobook hooked me from the start and I listened to the whole thing within 24 hours. This is probably my favorite thriller from Alice Feeney so far, I'm super impressed with this one. The mystery is so great, we are following Anna and Jack and they have this mysterious past together, and she works in the news and he is a detective. There is a really creepy third narrator on this audiobook which made it so much fun to read and actually pretty creepy to listen to. I normally don't listen to thrillers as audiobooks, but this one was so freaking good and it had my attention the entire time. It's about this woman Rachel who is murdered and and Anna gets the opportunity to cover the story in her hometown. Jack is working on the murder case when he realizes it's Rachel and that he knew her and he soon becomes a suspect in his own murder investigation. This book is full of twists and turns and it actually got a lot darker than I was expecting. And the ending was very surprising and I did not come close to predicting it so that is always a bonus. I'll read anything Alice Feeney writes, I've enjoyed her other books too but this one is definitely my favorite from her. Thanks to libro.fm for sending me an early copy of this audiobook!
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    “Sometimes I think I am the unreliable narrator of my own life.Sometimes I think we all are.”Isn’t that the truth? His and Hers is a murder mystery, but it’s also so much more. Anna had her dream job for two years, until the rug was pulled out from under her. So she accepts a news assignment back in her hometown, reporting on a murder.Jack is the DI assigned to the case. Turns out, they have history. And both have history with the murder victims as well. The chapters alternate between them. They “Sometimes I think I am the unreliable narrator of my own life.Sometimes I think we all are.”Isn’t that the truth? His and Hers is a murder mystery, but it’s also so much more. Anna had her dream job for two years, until the rug was pulled out from under her. So she accepts a news assignment back in her hometown, reporting on a murder.Jack is the DI assigned to the case. Turns out, they have history. And both have history with the murder victims as well. The chapters alternate between them. They both have a lot they’re trying to hide. We also hear from the killer. “All I want is for people to get what’s coming to them.”Feeley does a good job of keeping the reader off balance. the book starts off a little slow, but there’s a lovely tension to it throughout And there’s a big twist at the end, one that I didn't see coming. This is a fun, fast, entertaining read, perfect for the beach. My thanks to Flatiron Books for a paper ARC.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Oh Alice! Your prose is so enticing...making a cup of tea sounds so irresistible! The musings of your characters so honest and thought provoking-like when Anna tucked money into the food she gave the homeless girl, saying she didn’t mind if she spent the money on alcohol-after all-that is what she spent her money on too...Your misdirection flawless, with plenty of plausible red herrings for us to suspect and then reject along the way! So, please realize that the animal abuse you insist on includ Oh Alice! Your prose is so enticing...making a cup of tea sounds so irresistible! The musings of your characters so honest and thought provoking-like when Anna tucked money into the food she gave the homeless girl, saying she didn’t mind if she spent the money on alcohol-after all-that is what she spent her money on too...Your misdirection flawless, with plenty of plausible red herrings for us to suspect and then reject along the way! So, please realize that the animal abuse you insist on including in your books is gratuitous-it isn’t needed for shock value, when you have the talent that you do, and SO many of your readers do NOT want to read it! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️-minus one star for making me ENDURE THAT!!There are always two sides to every story-meaning someone is always lyingIn this case, we have three:Anna Andrews-BBC presenter covering a murder in Blackdown, the sleepy, countryside village she grew up in. DCI Jack Harper, the lead investigator who doesn’t confess that he knew the murder Victim, until he realizes he is becoming a suspect. And-the murderer-a distorted VOICE on the audio, who could be male or female, and who explains the motive and murder to YOU, the reader, beginning in Chapter One.All lead messy and imperfect lives, but where other reviewers disliked them-I actually felt sorry for them and was hoping they would eventually find their way...I found this to be a SLOW burn, as the back stories of the characters, and the clues to the crime, are revealed in a TANTALIZING manner, alternating between ALL three perspectives until the final reveal in the end.All of your questions are answered and again, it’s a book that BEGS you to reread the first chapter after the last, so you can see the clues you missed. “Loose threads should be tied up-they can be SO messy!”“Sometimes I lie” was a 5 star read for me.“I know Who You Are” only earned two stars“His and Hers” returns to form-again 1 star deducted for gratuitous CAT abuse.Thank You to NetGalley, and Macmillan for providing an Audio ARC, in exchange for a candid review! Available July 28, 2020!HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY!!
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    What can I say ..... Alice Feeney has done it again. You have completely blown my mind with another amazing, addictive, keep me on the edge of my sofa, my head is spinning book ( Take a deep breathe) The story of “His And Her” has 2 main characters. We have Detective Chief Inspector Jack Harper head of major crime in Blackdown in Surrey. He left the MET after a tragedy and is now investigating a murder in sleepy Blackdown. The victim is a woman he recognises and knows very well, this is a secret What can I say ..... Alice Feeney has done it again. You have completely blown my mind with another amazing, addictive, keep me on the edge of my sofa, my head is spinning book ( Take a deep breathe) The story of “His And Her” has 2 main characters. We have Detective Chief Inspector Jack Harper head of major crime in Blackdown in Surrey. He left the MET after a tragedy and is now investigating a murder in sleepy Blackdown. The victim is a woman he recognises and knows very well, this is a secret he will have to keep or he will end up being a suspect.Anna Andrews has eventually got her dream job of presenting the BBC news but now her job is at risk and she doesn’t want to give it up that easily. She reluctantly returns to her childhood village Blackdown to report the murder. The victim is one of Anna’s childhood friends!!This is a fast paced addictive read that kept me glued to my kindle. With everyone a suspect, who can be trusted? You are kept guessing until the end with its many twists and turns along this simply amazing journey.If you have never read an Alice Feeney book then you are in for a treat.Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Previously, I've heard a lot of positive buzz surrounding author, Alice Feeney. Having now completed my first novel by her, His & Hers, I can definitely see what all the fuss is about.This gripping, Adult Thriller, follows three perspectives: his, hers and a mystery individual, that could be him, it could be her, or it could be someone else entirely.Intrigued yet?Here is what I can tell you, the her of this equation is BBC-television reporter, Anna Andrews.Anna was such an interesting character. Previously, I've heard a lot of positive buzz surrounding author, Alice Feeney. Having now completed my first novel by her, His & Hers, I can definitely see what all the fuss is about.This gripping, Adult Thriller, follows three perspectives: his, hers and a mystery individual, that could be him, it could be her, or it could be someone else entirely.Intrigued yet?Here is what I can tell you, the her of this equation is BBC-television reporter, Anna Andrews.Anna was such an interesting character. I loved reading from her perspective. She's far from perfect and she's pretty honest about all of that with the Reader.The him is none other than Anna's ex-husband, intrepid-Blackdown DCI, Jack Harper.Jack also was a great perspective to read from. You can tell he is a man with a lot of wounds just trying to do his best anyway he can. You can also tell he still carries a spark for Anna.When Anna gets sent to Blackdown to report on a recent homicide, Jack is surprised to spot her on his crime scene.Until very recently, Anna had been working in-studio, reporting the mid-day news, not trotting around in the field. Unfortunately for Anna, that cushy position was nabbed back by her colleague returning from maternity leave.Their brief reunion doesn't go well. Jack is much closer to this case than he's letting on and the last thing he needs is his ex digging around.Thinking this is an isolated incident, Jack is hoping Anna will just return to London, but the killer has other plans. Soon, more bodies are dropping and Anna seems to have a connection with all of the victims. Could she be next?The alternating perspectives were such a great way to watch this story unfold. My mind was spinning trying to piece together what was happening and who the mystery perspective was.I thought that was super clever. There were moments when I thought that mystery perspective was every single character I had met thus far.My earliest inclination of who it was, was incorrect and I was glad. Feeney played me and I love that!There were a couple of plot points I found to be slightly confusing and one of the red herrings I thought was implausible and unnecessary, but a lot of other readers may disagree with me.My slight criticisms are totally personal preference and nothing to do with the author, or her skill at weaving an intriguing tale.As you learn more about the victims, and their connections with Anna, that was my favorite part.Some truly terrible things had happened in Anna's village and I definitely think she was in the right to leave it far behind. Regrettably, we all know buried secrets seldom stay buried.If you are looking for an intense, fast-paced read to pick up this summer, you should definitely give His & Hers a shot! I doubt you'll be disappointed.Thank you so much to the publisher, Flatiron Books, for providing me with a copy of this to read and review. I had a blast and really appreciate getting to it early.
    more
  • Arna
    January 1, 1970
    If this isn’t on your TBR list yet you need to add it right now! Anna, a BBC reporter is asked to cover a murder in her home town, though she is reluctant to go but when the victim turns out to be one of her childhood friends she can’t leave. Jack is a detective working the case and has decided not to tell anyone he knows the victim... one of them knows more than they're letting on. Someone isn’t telling the truth... Alice Feeney does it again! She is hands down my favourite author and this one If this isn’t on your TBR list yet you need to add it right now! Anna, a BBC reporter is asked to cover a murder in her home town, though she is reluctant to go but when the victim turns out to be one of her childhood friends she can’t leave. Jack is a detective working the case and has decided not to tell anyone he knows the victim... one of them knows more than they're letting on. Someone isn’t telling the truth... Alice Feeney does it again! She is hands down my favourite author and this one did not disappoint! This book is full of everything you love to hate, unreliable narrators, messy characters with messier pasts and creepy woods. 🌲🍂I was second guessing everything the whole way through as the story unravelled. Just when I thought I had everything figured another twist would take me in a new direction. As mentioned, the characters aren’t the most likeable and I know some won’t enjoy a book like that but if you do or if you’ve read and loved another of Alice Feeney’s books then you will love this one. 🥰🤍
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    **AVAILABLE NOW** We all hide behind the version of ourselves we let the rest of the world see. So, I've been sitting here debating, contemplating, letting this twisty, loopy, roller-coaster of a story marinate in my brain...yet I'm still not entirely sure how I feel.There is not an author, currently writing, who can plot such devilishly good misdirection as Alice Feeney. She's the master. I'm always giddy to read her books because it's like diving into the deep...you never quite know what you **AVAILABLE NOW** We all hide behind the version of ourselves we let the rest of the world see. So, I've been sitting here debating, contemplating, letting this twisty, loopy, roller-coaster of a story marinate in my brain...yet I'm still not entirely sure how I feel.There is not an author, currently writing, who can plot such devilishly good misdirection as Alice Feeney. She's the master. I'm always giddy to read her books because it's like diving into the deep...you never quite know what you're going to see, or what slimy creature is going to wrap around your ankle and pull you down, down, down...Having said that, I also find her twists a little over the top--not left-field, mind you. That's something very different. Feeney's twists are always plausible, just never probable. Does that make sense? His & Hers falls into that same vein. I liked the ending. In fact, I liked it quite a lot. But it wasn't probable. Feeney has always been incredibly daring...diving into the dark underbelly of the world, a place most authors would never dare. I appreciate that. What I don't appreciate is the animal mutilation she seems so keen to add into her novels, and a star was deducted in response. I also felt there were a couple plot holes and found myself a bit confused about one thing in particular...maybe you can help me figure it out? (view spoiler)[Who was Anna's mother making the friendship bracelet for in the final pages of the novel? (hide spoiler)] Message me your ideas. Bottom line...if you're looking to be blindsided, look no further. I can pretty much guarantee you're never going to figure this one out. Have fun! Available July 28, 2020**My sincere appreciation to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Brenda - Traveling Sisters Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    My first audiobook from the publisher on NetGalley! I wasn't planning on reading His & Hers but couldn't resist downloading the audiobook, and I am so glad I did. I enjoyed listening to Richard Armitage & Stephanie Racine narrate the story, and they drew me into the story right from the start. I usually only listen while I am doing chores around the house, or I find myself too tired to read however, I found myself wanting to sit down and just listen to the story. The story is cleverly told throu My first audiobook from the publisher on NetGalley! I wasn't planning on reading His & Hers but couldn't resist downloading the audiobook, and I am so glad I did. I enjoyed listening to Richard Armitage & Stephanie Racine narrate the story, and they drew me into the story right from the start. I usually only listen while I am doing chores around the house, or I find myself too tired to read however, I found myself wanting to sit down and just listen to the story. The story is cleverly told through divorce couple Anna and Jack's POV in his and her alternating chapters as the story unfolds. The story is easy to listen to with the different sides to it, and if my focus wandered to something else, it was easy to get back into the flow of the story. The her chapters start with the time of the day, and that kept things on track for me. I thought both narrators fit the characters, were convincing and worked well together. Well, I didn't find the story all that suspenseful they added some tension to the story with their voices. The story starts off lighter with a murder, and I started to get comfortable with the pace and then as secrets are revealed things turned darker than I expected. After reading Alice Feeney's last book, I am not sure why I didn't except a darker turn to the story. I think listening makes it sound a bit more disturbing for me than reading it. And then some animal scenes came up, and I wished I wasn't paying attention then, however, I did practice some selected hearing there.The story is a twisty and entertaining one to listen to and I am not sure if I would have enjoyed reading it as much as listening to it. It did keep me guessing, and I went back and forth with my suspicious until I thought again I had things figured out just to find out I didn't. I enjoyed that final reveal that I did not see coming and everything wrapped up well for me. I highly recommend the audiobook.I received a copy from the publisher on NetGalley.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    I had such a good time reading this one and I definitely recommend checking it out especially if you have enjoyed other books by the author. This one was fun because the author didn't write herself into a corner as there were multiple options up until the big reveal. The writer kept me on my toes as I kept floating around in my head different theories as to what was going on.Anna Andrews is a tv anchor on a BBC news program and she has been assigned to cover a murder in the countryside village s I had such a good time reading this one and I definitely recommend checking it out especially if you have enjoyed other books by the author. This one was fun because the author didn't write herself into a corner as there were multiple options up until the big reveal. The writer kept me on my toes as I kept floating around in my head different theories as to what was going on.Anna Andrews is a tv anchor on a BBC news program and she has been assigned to cover a murder in the countryside village she grew up in, Blackdown. DCI Jack Harper is investigating the case and he doesn't want others to find out he knew the victim. The story alternates between the perspectives of Anna and Jack.First of all, Anna and Jack are pretty miserable characters so if that isn't your thing, you might want to steer clear of this book. However, as you learn more about them it's not difficult to see why they are just kinda floating thru life at the moment and not super upbeat type people. And to be honest, when I'm reading a thriller or mystery like this, I think it actually enhances the story when the characters' lives are messy. There is one reason I decided to give this one 4 stars rather than a perfect 5 stars. As I mentioned before, I did have a few theories going on while reading and one of them turned out to be true in the end. Basically I threw a bunch of ideas at a wall and one actually stuck. So I can't say my mind was blown when it came to the ending. In a perfect thriller or mystery, I am caught completely off guard at the end which wasn't the case here. I did enjoy seeing it play out though and I do think it will manage to surprise quite a few readers.If you are looking for a good distraction from real life type read, this is a good one that should hold your interest.I received a free arc of His & Hers by Alice Feeney from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...3.5 StarsDark, thrilling, and VERY creepy!! Anna Andrews loves her job anchoring the noon hour news. She's less than thrilled when she's reassigned to cover a murder in Blackdown Woods, a place Anna wishes she could forget. Luckily, she has a couple of things in her purse that might help her get through the day.DCI Jack Harper is investigating the murder in Blackdown. Jack is shocked when he sees who the victim is.Then there My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...3.5 StarsDark, thrilling, and VERY creepy!! Anna Andrews loves her job anchoring the noon hour news. She's less than thrilled when she's reassigned to cover a murder in Blackdown Woods, a place Anna wishes she could forget. Luckily, she has a couple of things in her purse that might help her get through the day.DCI Jack Harper is investigating the murder in Blackdown. Jack is shocked when he sees who the victim is.Then there’s another murder….It’s like a game of cat and mouse.This was a fast-paced and intense summer read! I listened to this audiobook in just a couple of days. Right from the start, there's twists and turns that pull readers deeper into the story.The story alternates between the past and present. There are three perspectives, Anna, Jack, and a third unknown individual (whose voice was SO disturbing!!!). With dark secrets and troubling shared pasts, it’s hard to know who to trust."All I want is for people to get what's coming to them."One thing I didn't like was the descriptions of animal cruelty. I understand that authors use this to make a point, but I really feel it’s unnecessary. That being said, I found the rest of this dark and unsettling tale gripping and entertaining.A creepy thrill ride with an ending that I did NOT see coming.
    more
  • preoccupiedbybooks
    January 1, 1970
    An extremely dark and tense murder mystery with many shocks, twists and red herrings to keep you guessing!One story,Two sides; Yours and mine, ours and theirs, his and hers,Someone is lying...Anna, a BBC news reporter/presenter and DCI Jack Harper both narrate this unsettling and creepy story of murder, secrets, lies and betrayal.Everyone is telling their own version of the story, but who is telling the truth?His and Hers was a bit slow to get started, but once it got going, wow! It was dramatic An extremely dark and tense murder mystery with many shocks, twists and red herrings to keep you guessing!One story,Two sides; Yours and mine, ours and theirs, his and hers,Someone is lying...Anna, a BBC news reporter/presenter and DCI Jack Harper both narrate this unsettling and creepy story of murder, secrets, lies and betrayal.Everyone is telling their own version of the story, but who is telling the truth?His and Hers was a bit slow to get started, but once it got going, wow! It was dramatic, addictive, and had an element of horror with it's disturbing plot! The writing was excellent, slowly revealing shocks and twists all the way through, rather than just at the end, but that ending!!!The ending was a little unbelievable, in a dramatic and crazy way, but I didn't see it coming, really enjoyed it, and found it satisfying! I couldn't figure it out, and had to reread the last few pages again. I think I had my mouth open for about 5 minutes after, saying wait whaaaat?!! LolThis book had so many tropes that I like:🔪 A hardened detective, and a woman with a tragic past and a drinking problem,🔪 Unreliable narrators,🔪 Flashbacks to an all girls school,🔪 Quintessential English town with secrets, 🔪 Creepy woodsIt was dark, gritty, and could be quite horrific, so there are a whole slew of trigger warnings that I could list, but just expect them all because there was everything from bullying, to rape and animal cruelty! I liked the different POVs of Anna and Jack, with some of the murderer's thoughts thrown in, but it was a bit confusing in this copy, hopefully that will be ironed out in the final edit! I loved the short chapters, which kept me turning the pages, and I enjoyed the suspense, as Alice Feeney took us down different paths, wondering who the killer was, and what their motives were! It was twisted, and I couldn't trust anyone!I loved the setting in a small town surrounded by creepy woods, and I felt that the main characters were very well written. Sometimes I hated them both, sometimes I pitied them, sometimes I found them weak, and sometimes I sympathised with them. They were both complex characters, who were both likeable, and unlikeable in their flaws.This was my first Alice Feeney book, but I own Sometimes I Lie, and need to get to it!If you are after a dark, gritty thriller with many unlikeable and unreliable characters, are not afraid of violence, and need a bit of a crazy read to take your mind off things, then I would definitely recommend this!Published in the UK May 28th,and in the US on July 28th.Many thanks to NetGalley and HQ @ HarperCollins UK for the ARC, in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • EmBibliophile
    January 1, 1970
    I don’t like getting played like that! While reading from the POV of the most unreliable characters ever I was thinking the whole time that “no that’s not cool. No stop playing me like that!” The book was written from three POVs, Jake who was a DCI, his ex wife who was a journalist, and the killer. I both loved and hated listening to the killer’s chapters. I loved them because they were so interesting and hated them because they were messing with my head so bad. I was driving myself crazy trying I don’t like getting played like that! While reading from the POV of the most unreliable characters ever I was thinking the whole time that “no that’s not cool. No stop playing me like that!” The book was written from three POVs, Jake who was a DCI, his ex wife who was a journalist, and the killer. I both loved and hated listening to the killer’s chapters. I loved them because they were so interesting and hated them because they were messing with my head so bad. I was driving myself crazy trying to figure everything out by myself. How naive of me! The writing was so freakin clever that made me suspect my own mother! There were these little tiny details that literally made everyone a suspect. I listened to the audiobook for this one and what a lovely experience it was! The narrators did such a perfect job. This was a dark creepy thriller with an ending that was truly crazy!Special thanks to NetGalley and Macmillan audio for providing this audiobook.
    more
  • Frank Phillips
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 wonderful Stars rounded up! I believe this is Feeney's best book yet! Definitely her darkest book, although all three have been fairly dark, and I've LOVED every single one of them! Feeney just knows exactly how to write the type of thriller I crave, and I can't believe I have to wait another year for more! This is the type of book you don't really want to know much about before starting it. There are three perspectives told in alternating chapters - his, hers and an unnamed perspective...Th 4.5 wonderful Stars rounded up! I believe this is Feeney's best book yet! Definitely her darkest book, although all three have been fairly dark, and I've LOVED every single one of them! Feeney just knows exactly how to write the type of thriller I crave, and I can't believe I have to wait another year for more! This is the type of book you don't really want to know much about before starting it. There are three perspectives told in alternating chapters - his, hers and an unnamed perspective...There is a killer taking out a group of 5 high school girls and somehow it's connected to our protagonists, who are deeply flawed, yet likable. I was at the edge of my seat and thought i knew who dunnit, but of course i was wrong!! Anyone that hasn't read this one yet, go out and get it, just prepare to lose some time once you start reading it!!
    more
  • Catherine Woodward
    January 1, 1970
    *MANY thanks to NetGalley, Flatiron Books, and the incredible Alice Feeney for an ARC of this book! FINALLY available in the US as of 7/28!*Anna Andrews has the chance of a lifetime: to step into her dream role as lead TV presenter at the BBC. When she's asked to cover a murder, the victim is familiar...uncomfortably familiar. Enter Jack, DCI assigned to the case who realizes he not only knows the victim as well, but is dangerously linked to her too...but how? A battle of wits begins. Whose stor *MANY thanks to NetGalley, Flatiron Books, and the incredible Alice Feeney for an ARC of this book! FINALLY available in the US as of 7/28!*Anna Andrews has the chance of a lifetime: to step into her dream role as lead TV presenter at the BBC. When she's asked to cover a murder, the victim is familiar...uncomfortably familiar. Enter Jack, DCI assigned to the case who realizes he not only knows the victim as well, but is dangerously linked to her too...but how? A battle of wits begins. Whose story do you trust....His, or Hers?Feeney is the perfect example of the thriller writer whose books have it all, and I really cannot stress that enough. I knew picking up this book I would be engrossed, terrified, and desperate to know more! The dueling perspectives of His vs. Hers (and the extra added bonus of a 'secret' narrator) kept the story tumbling, twisting, and untangling until the very last page. I think of Alice Feeney's writing as nesting dolls: she slowly unearths one layer at a time, leading you to a different conclusion and a deeper understanding of each character as the story progresses. The pacing is always spot-on, which is so important to me in these types of books. I'm always impressed how she is able to work in such astute observations about the human condition and the good and evil in all of us in all of her novels. Her thrillers make you THINK, and I love that!Feeney could also teach a master class on how to end a chapter...WOW. This is how reading can keep you up all night!! I had to force myself to slow down and savor this book because I've been waiting so long to read it and I was so sad to see it end. The last killer twist was just the icing on the cake, and trust me when I say you will NOT see it coming!This book has reaffirmed everything I love about Alice Feeney and her beautifully twisted writing. I will continue to highly recommend her to ANYONE who wants a fantastic thriller and could easily see this in my top 20 thrillers of 2020! 5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    more
  • Julie (JuJu)
    January 1, 1970
    Darkly twisted, chilling, fast-paced, and unpredictable. Exactly what you want from a thriller! ”When you grow up sitting in life’s cheap seats, it’s too easy to see behind the puppets dancing on its stage.” “His & Hers” delivers two sides of a story. One side from Anna, the sophisticated TV presenter of the BBC’s lunchtime news. The other from DCI Jack Harper, the investigator in a series of murders in Blackdown. The small village they both grew up in. Anna and Jack have a complex relationshi Darkly twisted, chilling, fast-paced, and unpredictable. Exactly what you want from a thriller! ”When you grow up sitting in life’s cheap seats, it’s too easy to see behind the puppets dancing on its stage.” “His & Hers” delivers two sides of a story. One side from Anna, the sophisticated TV presenter of the BBC’s lunchtime news. The other from DCI Jack Harper, the investigator in a series of murders in Blackdown. The small village they both grew up in. Anna and Jack have a complex relationship, that is further complicated by their links to each other and the victims. “Success is like love-it’s not something everyone can appreciate, even when they have it.” Is one of them lying...or perhaps both? The author keeps you hanging until the very end! What a crazy and exceptional final twist, when the murderer is finally revealed. Alice Feeney is a remarkable author, that I can’t praise enough!Thank you Macmillan Publishers!! I received a free ARC of “His & Hers” by Alice Feeney from Macmillan, in exchange for my honest review!My Rating: 5 ⭐️’sPublished: July 28th 2020 by Flatiron BooksPages: 304Recommend: [email protected]#readinginsiderclub #His&Hers #MustReadThriller #psychologicalthriller #NoRulesJustThrills #InExchangeForReviewMy review can be found on: Goodreads, Twitter, Amazon, BN.com, Pinterest and BookBub.
    more
  • Oscar
    January 1, 1970
    "It's a terrible thing to admit, even to myself, but as I look at Cat Jones with her perfect hair and perfect children, standing there chatting and laughing with my team, I wish she was dead." tw: rape, animal mutilation, graphic violence. These adult thrillers are getting crazier and crazier! So please read with caution!His & Hers is a brand new mystery/thriller from Alice Feeney. This story involves the alternating point of views of Anne Andrews, former tv presenter and now correspondent, a "It's a terrible thing to admit, even to myself, but as I look at Cat Jones with her perfect hair and perfect children, standing there chatting and laughing with my team, I wish she was dead." tw: rape, animal mutilation, graphic violence. These adult thrillers are getting crazier and crazier! So please read with caution!His & Hers is a brand new mystery/thriller from Alice Feeney. This story involves the alternating point of views of Anne Andrews, former tv presenter and now correspondent, and DCI Jack Harper. Because of their own responsibilities, both of them are thrown back to Blackdown, their hometown. Fast-paced, dark, and twisted. This book will keep you up all night!Unfortunately, the magic didn't worked out for me. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed(?) this book but I found myself not really invested in it. I was entertained when I was reading it. When I put it down, there was no urgency on my part to pick it up and read it again. It took me ages to finish this. It just didn't hold fully my attention. Another, I think the biggest issue would be the characters themselves. They were unreliable and unlikable. There are the type of people you wouldn't root for. Lies, deceit, and manipulation over and over again. I told myself after the first chapters, if something unfortunate happened to either Anne or Jack, I just wouldn't care. The ending, however, was actually good. I liked it even though it was (kind of) unbelievable for my liking. I couldn't look away in the last chapters.This is my second novel from Alice Feeney. Didn't enjoyed Sometimes I Lie. Heard not so good things for I Know Who You Are. This one, her latest, was barely hanging by the thread for me. "You have to understand that I have witnessed some terrible things. Human beings are capable of inflicting unspeakable misery - on themselves as well as others - and there are so many things I wish I could unsee." The inner monologues here are A+!!!This book comes out May 28, 2020!
    more
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    January 1, 1970
    Maybe might have possibly snuck ahead on the Libro.fm Audiobook Club for August and maybe might have finished this a little early and MAYBE MIGHT BE EXTREMELY SHOOK BY THAT ENDING?!?! Full review to come towards the end of the month when the book club wraps up!TW: As this is a thriller, I have hidden my list of trigger warnings behind a spoiler tag. Click 'VIEW SPOILER' if you'd like to see them: (view spoiler)[dementia, loss of a child, infidelity, self harm, alcoholism, sexual assault, rape, p Maybe might have possibly snuck ahead on the Libro.fm Audiobook Club for August and maybe might have finished this a little early and MAYBE MIGHT BE EXTREMELY SHOOK BY THAT ENDING?!?! Full review to come towards the end of the month when the book club wraps up!TW: As this is a thriller, I have hidden my list of trigger warnings behind a spoiler tag. Click 'VIEW SPOILER' if you'd like to see them: (view spoiler)[dementia, loss of a child, infidelity, self harm, alcoholism, sexual assault, rape, pedophilia, suicide, animal abuse, black mail (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    So, I'm confused? Did I read the same book that everyone else loved and gave 4/5 stars to?Once again Kendall is on her outlier island. I have a really hard time figuring out Alice Feeney's books. On the one hand, her writing is addicting and grabs you in from the get go... but OH NO... that ending?! OH god... that was pretty horrible folks. Yikes.... double yikes. I enjoyed the way that Alice had the dual POV between His and Hers and the back and forth kept me guessing putting all the pieces tog So, I'm confused? Did I read the same book that everyone else loved and gave 4/5 stars to?Once again Kendall is on her outlier island. I have a really hard time figuring out Alice Feeney's books. On the one hand, her writing is addicting and grabs you in from the get go... but OH NO... that ending?! OH god... that was pretty horrible folks. Yikes.... double yikes. I enjoyed the way that Alice had the dual POV between His and Hers and the back and forth kept me guessing putting all the pieces together. But, the shocks along the way just didn't do it for me and to be honest just kept rolling my eyes... eeeeeek.... Honestly, that final twist and ending was completely ridiculous in my opinion. It was wayyy over the top and just didn't make sense to me???? It was ridiculous... too bizarre for me. Which don't get me wrong this can definitely work for some readers but I just couldn't get past it. I unfortunately cannot recommend this one. 2.5/5 stars.Thank you to Netgalley and Flatiron for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Pub date: 7/28/20Published to GR: 6/14/20
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    BRAVO Alice Feeney! What a WILD and CRAZY ride! Twisted and tense. Dark and desperate. Disturbing and delicious. And can I just say the audio ramped all thes things up... way UP! Richard Armitage and Stephanie Racine definitely elevated the creep factor with their spot on narration. The story is told from three perspectives his, hers, and that of the killers. On the audio the voice of the killer was downright spine chilling! Not even going to touch on the plot of this one, it is best gone into w BRAVO Alice Feeney! What a WILD and CRAZY ride! Twisted and tense. Dark and desperate. Disturbing and delicious. And can I just say the audio ramped all thes things up... way UP! Richard Armitage and Stephanie Racine definitely elevated the creep factor with their spot on narration. The story is told from three perspectives his, hers, and that of the killers. On the audio the voice of the killer was downright spine chilling! Not even going to touch on the plot of this one, it is best gone into without knowing much of anything. Just know it’s an electric page turner with an unexpected ending. there are three sides to every story. His side. Her side. And the TRUTH!*** Big thank you to Flatiron, Macmillan Audio, and Libro FM for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***
    more
Write a review