No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
The history-making, ground-breaking speeches of Greta Thunberg, the young activist who has become the voice of a generation 'Everything needs to change. And it has to start today' In August 2018 a fifteen-year-old Swedish girl, Greta Thunberg, decided not to go to school one day. Her actions ended up sparking a global movement for action against the climate crisis, inspiring millions of pupils to go on strike for our planet, forcing governments to listen, and earning her a Nobel Peace Prize nomination.This book brings you Greta in her own words, for the first time. Collecting her speeches that have made history across Europe, from the UN to mass street protests, No One Is Too Small to Make A Difference is a rallying cry for why we must all wake up and fight to protect the living planet, no matter how powerless we feel. Our future depends upon it.

No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference Details

TitleNo One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
Author
ReleaseMay 30th, 2019
PublisherPenguin
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Politics, Environment, Writing, Essays

No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference Review

  • Sean Barrs the Bookdragon
    January 1, 1970
    My review got posted on Plant Based News - the world's leading website for vegan news, exciting times! “Homo Sapiens have not yet failed. Yes, we are failing, but there is still time to turn everything around. We can still fix this. We still have everything in our own hands.” It’s been a long time since I felt any hope. Year in year out we seem to only get worse as a species. More and more incompetent leaders are elected into positions of power and we push the planet further and further to co My review got posted on Plant Based News - the world's leading website for vegan news, exciting times! “Homo Sapiens have not yet failed. Yes, we are failing, but there is still time to turn everything around. We can still fix this. We still have everything in our own hands.” It’s been a long time since I felt any hope. Year in year out we seem to only get worse as a species. More and more incompetent leaders are elected into positions of power and we push the planet further and further to collapse and nothing seems to give; yet, these words give me hope. Greta Thunberg gives me hope. And that’s important. The future has not yet been written and there is time enough to prevent the chaos that is coming our way. Greta Thunberg is an inspiring activist, a leader and a voice the world so desperately needs. This book collects her speeches to date, and they are all very powerful and convincing. She wants us to panic more than she wants us to feel hope; she wants us to recognise what is happening so we can act and prevent anymore destruction. We need to wise up and take greater responsibility for our actions. We need to become vegans and minimise our environmental impact. We need to start caring. Language is so important, calling what we face by its true name is the key. This is the strongest element of her rhetoric; her simple and mature ability to rationalise and address the problem at hand: the environmental crisis. Because that’s exactly what we face. She has called adults out on their irresponsibility and complete lack of foresight at the European Economic Social Committee earlier on this year, calling those in attendance irresponsible children. Her words work towards shaming our so-called leaders and governments that are tasked with protecting the welfare of their nations. But what’s the point if none of these nations have a future? It takes the words of a child (the words of the future generation) to get people to listen and they certainly have had a rippling effect on an international level. She’s been nominated for the noble peace prize this year and if she won, she’d be the first vegan to do so which would be a tremendous victory for the movement. I think she really deserves it for the interest and attention her words have given the environmental crisis we face. She has a striking ability to get to the heart of the matter and is without a doubt one of the most influential people of the 21st century. I also love how she embraces her Asperger’s and celebrates the strengths it has granted her, calling it a gift rather than a hindrance. In my experience, autistics are always remarkable people. So, this is a great little book full of encouraging words and hope, hope that this planet will one day have a future if the world listens and starts caring. Greta Thunberg does, indeed, prove the sentiment her book title evokes: No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference.
    more
  • Rebecca McNutt
    January 1, 1970
    Well, my dad was starting up a backyard summer bonfire tonight, anyway. If this book weren't an eBook I'd throw it on the fire. It's the product of a hypocritical, holier-than-thou teenager whose big contribution to climate change was to have kids ditch school. Now, if you've ever seen the extensive amounts of litter left in the wake of protests from Greta Thunberg's political movement, you would find the entire effort pretty laughable. Here in my hometown the kids get driven in mom and dad's mi Well, my dad was starting up a backyard summer bonfire tonight, anyway. If this book weren't an eBook I'd throw it on the fire. It's the product of a hypocritical, holier-than-thou teenager whose big contribution to climate change was to have kids ditch school. Now, if you've ever seen the extensive amounts of litter left in the wake of protests from Greta Thunberg's political movement, you would find the entire effort pretty laughable. Here in my hometown the kids get driven in mom and dad's minivans to the climate protests, and I can assure you those minivans are not powered by love and sunshine, but by petroleum fuel - and this book has nothing to really say about climate more than one kid's anecdotal preaching, reflecting how exploited she has become as a political tool. If you're looking to hear anything compelling about saving the planet, unless you want to be told by a kid who travels by pollutant train everywhere she goes how horrible a species the human race is, I suggest looking elsewhere for something to read. This book is mildly humorous both in its doomsday predictions and its blind radicalism, but it's overdramatic, shallow and unbelievably boring, to boot.
    more
  • Mimi
    January 1, 1970
    In August 2018, 15-year-old Greta Thunberg skipped school, instead she headed to the Swedish Parliament site to stage a one-person strike to highlight climate crisis; that seemingly futile gesture has since inspired millions of schoolchildren, globally, to replicate her actions. This is a slender collection of Thunberg’s speeches, these will never be hailed for their rhetorical force, they’re too pared down, and the pieces themselves echo each other, as Thunberg strives to push key points home t In August 2018, 15-year-old Greta Thunberg skipped school, instead she headed to the Swedish Parliament site to stage a one-person strike to highlight climate crisis; that seemingly futile gesture has since inspired millions of schoolchildren, globally, to replicate her actions. This is a slender collection of Thunberg’s speeches, these will never be hailed for their rhetorical force, they’re too pared down, and the pieces themselves echo each other, as Thunberg strives to push key points home to her various audiences. But elegance is not the point here, the strength of these transcripts is in the truth that they represent, and in Thunberg’s direct, almost blunt, delivery which I found incredibly moving. I find it impossible not to admire her conviction, her determination, and her unswerving commitment to environmental causes despite repeated attempts by sneering detractors and climate change deniers to smear her on a personal level. She’s also been very canny in referencing these opposing voices to her own advantage. If you haven’t encountered her before then her TED talk is an excellent introduction:https://www.ted.com/talks/greta_thunb...My only issue is that this would be a more useful volume if it included links to sites that outline ways to participate in promoting Thunberg’s, beyond-urgent, message; and perhaps a reading list that directs readers to sources of further information – such as the Extinction Rebellion site https://rebellion.earth/act-now/resou...And work by Naomi Klein or Elizabeth Kolbert.
    more
  • André Oliveira
    January 1, 1970
    The only complaint is: some speeches seemed repetitive.
  • Kate Wyver
    January 1, 1970
    What a feat. Bit repetitive but then so is governments' continuation of ignorance and dismissal.
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    This small book is a collection of Greta Thunberg's speeches regarding the climate crisis. There's some repetition of some points across the 11 collected speeches but I still found each one incredibly impactful nonetheless. I should imagine it would be a great little book to give to those who may be feeling apathetic towards the issue of our warming climate. It also offers a very effectual image of what is facing the younger generations, and the fear many of them feel regarding the poor decision This small book is a collection of Greta Thunberg's speeches regarding the climate crisis. There's some repetition of some points across the 11 collected speeches but I still found each one incredibly impactful nonetheless. I should imagine it would be a great little book to give to those who may be feeling apathetic towards the issue of our warming climate. It also offers a very effectual image of what is facing the younger generations, and the fear many of them feel regarding the poor decisions that continue to be made by our global governments. Would definitely recommend picking this up if you've heard one or two of her speeches and enjoyed them.
    more
  • Kirsty Stanley
    January 1, 1970
    Yes there is repetition in her speeches but that doesn’t mean we don’t need to listen. We do and we need to act. I’m trying and taking small steps but industry needs to take large ones. Now.
  • Lucy
    January 1, 1970
    I applaud Greta Thunberg. A short, sobering, necessary read.
  • Marina
    January 1, 1970
    ** Books 57 - 2019 **This books to accomplish Tsundoku Books Challenge 20194 of 5 stars! I am curious when three of my Goodreads Friends (Hestia, Melmarian and Mide) bought this books. Hesti's review in goodreads also trigger me to buy this books. She said it only $ 3.50 and it only contains 40 pages.. okay when Ied Mubarak's day and i found in google play books with voucher that I've got only IDR 16,2K i just directly bought it :DIf Pakistan have Malala for Education Empowerment and now Sweden ** Books 57 - 2019 **This books to accomplish Tsundoku Books Challenge 20194 of 5 stars! I am curious when three of my Goodreads Friends (Hestia, Melmarian and Mide) bought this books. Hesti's review in goodreads also trigger me to buy this books. She said it only $ 3.50 and it only contains 40 pages.. okay when Ied Mubarak's day and i found in google play books with voucher that I've got only IDR 16,2K i just directly bought it :DIf Pakistan have Malala for Education Empowerment and now Sweden have Greta for speak up about Climate change and global warming issues. This books is about her speech in UN, World Economic Forum to reminds them that we should do action more about how global warming issues is. There are repetitive speech is almost every chapter but i know we have to always remember that PUR HOUSE IS ALREADY ON FIRE. We have to do something if we doesn't want to lose our earthEspecially in Indonesia We will have the direct impacts such as in 2030 International Scientists said we will lose our 2000 island because the high level of water surfaces. But for me I can feel the temperature is getting higher than before especially in sunny day. A few years ago when i'm walking under the sun i will be allright but nowadays i've got headache easily when i'm walking under the sun.. I know there is something wrong about that. The temperature is rising and it cannot be liesThankyou Google Playstore!
    more
  • Lizzie
    January 1, 1970
    "I don't want you to be hopeful. I want you to panic.I want you to feel the fear I feel every day.And then I want you to act.I want you to act as you would in a crisis. I want you to act as if our house is on fire.Because it is."By doing a Masters degree in Climate Change, I find myself in a bubble where I am surrounded by scientists and my peers who all care deeply about the crisis we face. Reading these speeches has been a stark reminder that this issue is not at the forefront of everyone's mi "I don't want you to be hopeful. I want you to panic.I want you to feel the fear I feel every day.And then I want you to act.I want you to act as you would in a crisis. I want you to act as if our house is on fire.Because it is."By doing a Masters degree in Climate Change, I find myself in a bubble where I am surrounded by scientists and my peers who all care deeply about the crisis we face. Reading these speeches has been a stark reminder that this issue is not at the forefront of everyone's minds when it should be. Greta herself is an inspiration. To take it upon herself to go on strike from school, cause a global movement and go on to speak in front of parliaments at just 16 is astounding.
    more
  • Martyn Sanderson
    January 1, 1970
    like, okay, wonderfully important message and i’m hugely in support of her cause, but was there any need for this book to just be like 10 of her identical speeches? pretty sure i read the word permafrost more times in this 68 page book than i have heard it the other 25 and a half years of my life
    more
  • Sofia
    January 1, 1970
    Super important and crucial to raise awareness. 5 stars for that, as a book though wasn't something special. A collection of Greta's speeches. Good for beginners to the subject
  • GroovyGrapefruit
    January 1, 1970
    (4.25 🌟)This book was powerful and harrowing. Yes, some of the speeches may have been repetitive (I haven’t heard the word ‘equity’ so many times in my life), but if repetition is the only thing that will make us take action, then it’s what we need. Thunberg’s speeches are hard hitting, with excellent metaphors and methods of explanation (the burning house was a personal favourite) so even someone like me who has absolutely no clue about climate change can understand. We need to take action, and (4.25 🌟)This book was powerful and harrowing. Yes, some of the speeches may have been repetitive (I haven’t heard the word ‘equity’ so many times in my life), but if repetition is the only thing that will make us take action, then it’s what we need. Thunberg’s speeches are hard hitting, with excellent metaphors and methods of explanation (the burning house was a personal favourite) so even someone like me who has absolutely no clue about climate change can understand. We need to take action, and it’s people like Greta who will lead movements for a better world.
    more
  • Chloë
    January 1, 1970
    This honestly just made me sad because I truly don't believe that enough will be done to stop global warming and climate change.
  • Helma Jongsma
    January 1, 1970
    "We are about to sacrifice our civilization for the opportunity of a very small number of people to continue to make enormous amounts of money. We are about to sacrifice the biosphere so that rich people in countries like mine can live in luxury. But it is the sufferings of many which pay for the luxuries of a few"
    more
  • Zulekha Saqib
    January 1, 1970
    ❝ The bigger your carbon footprint - the bigger your moral duty.The bigger your platform - the bigger your responsibility.Adults keep saying: ‘We owe it to the young people to give them hope’But I don’t want your hope.I don’t want you to be hopeful.I want you to panic.I want you to feel the fear I feel everyday.And then I want you to act.I want you to act as you would in a crisis.I want you to act as if our house is on fire.Because it is. ❞do yourself and our planet a favor, pick this tiny book ❝ The bigger your carbon footprint - the bigger your moral duty.The bigger your platform - the bigger your responsibility.Adults keep saying: ‘We owe it to the young people to give them hope’But I don’t want your hope.I don’t want you to be hopeful.I want you to panic.I want you to feel the fear I feel everyday.And then I want you to act.I want you to act as you would in a crisis.I want you to act as if our house is on fire.Because it is. ❞do yourself and our planet a favor, pick this tiny book up - be inspired and start caring! #NoOneIsTooSmallToMakeADifference
    more
  • Imogen
    January 1, 1970
    I will forever be in awe of Greta Thunberg. Essential reading for absolutely everyone.
  • Neil Fulwood
    January 1, 1970
    A transcript of eleven speeches given by the climate activist between September 2018 and April 2019. Every politician on the planet should read this book, spend a short but reflective period of time feeling thoroughly ashamed - and then fucking *act*.
    more
  • Carrie Morrison
    January 1, 1970
    I found it incredibly inspiring, to the point I have decided to go vegetarian and transition to veganism in the near future. It is repetitive, but that is probably due to the fact that these speeches will need to have these similar points reinforced to different politicians and audiences. Plus, it really made me remember the key facts Thunberg wanted me to remember. It's a short book and £2.99 from Waterstones so I would recommend.I can imagine Thunberg becoming a figure in history that people w I found it incredibly inspiring, to the point I have decided to go vegetarian and transition to veganism in the near future. It is repetitive, but that is probably due to the fact that these speeches will need to have these similar points reinforced to different politicians and audiences. Plus, it really made me remember the key facts Thunberg wanted me to remember. It's a short book and £2.99 from Waterstones so I would recommend.I can imagine Thunberg becoming a figure in history that people will learn about in the future.
    more
  • Tomas
    January 1, 1970
    I STAN
  • Tammam Aloudat
    January 1, 1970
    There is a certain level of idealism and faith in one's ability to change the world that slips away from us as we enter into the darkness of adulthood. What seemed once like logical, even inevitable, propositions become unreasonable and unrealistic. Realpolitik takes over and we are suddenly, well, adults. This doesn't seem catastrophic most of the time. After all, we are surrounded by other complacent adults who have similarly lost their spirits. We lack the imagination and the flare that made There is a certain level of idealism and faith in one's ability to change the world that slips away from us as we enter into the darkness of adulthood. What seemed once like logical, even inevitable, propositions become unreasonable and unrealistic. Realpolitik takes over and we are suddenly, well, adults. This doesn't seem catastrophic most of the time. After all, we are surrounded by other complacent adults who have similarly lost their spirits. We lack the imagination and the flare that made us be able to believe in our ability to change the world and to stay up playing a video game until the sun comes out.Greta Thunberg still has that flair. She is a Swedish schoolgirl that has gone on a school strike because politicians weren't doing anything about the climate emergency. She became one of the faces of activism and has spoken numerous times. Some of what she has said and written are in this little booklet. Like only a young person can do, she speaks clearly, sees the world in black and white, and has no qualms about telling adults, no matter how powerful they think they are, that they are absolutely wrong, complacent, and shameful.Greta is my new hero... I have once decided to never have living heroes, they always do something stupid and disappoint you. I only had dead heroes for the longest time. I have just made an adjustment to my hero-selection-criteria... dead people and young people. Adults often do not deserve admiration, Greta and her generation do... they might save our collective ass.
    more
  • Claire (Book Blog Bird)
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a clear case of the publisher making a buck. It’s a tiny book and gives a transcript of the public speeches Greta Thunberg has given. She’s not given that many and each speech is pretty much the same. It’s a good speech and I agree with the message, but I should have just looked up her speeches on YouTube.
    more
  • Megan
    January 1, 1970
    Brilliant and terrifying - collection of her speeches over 2018 and 2019. So much respect.
  • Eleanor
    January 1, 1970
    Inspirational and terrifying. A reality check and rallying cry for the absolute necessity of addressing climate change.
  • Sanjay L
    January 1, 1970
    A great short read and yep, so true as we definitely do need to get the people at the top to wake up and see the reality of climate change and the harms of it!
  • Izzie
    January 1, 1970
    Short but absolutely necessary.
  • Colin
    January 1, 1970
    Getting straight to the point... 3 stars only because its a collection of existing speeches most of which are more effective as videos since you can hear it in her own voice.
  • David
    January 1, 1970
    Short powerful and to the point. Inspiring as it is angering. Why do we entrust our children to fight our battles. My favourite line is regarding Greta’s autism:“I have Asperger’s sydrome, and to me, almost is black and white. I think in many ways that we autistic are the normal ones and the rest of the people are pretty strange”.
    more
  • mayday
    January 1, 1970
    I reckon I was nine or something when I had this phase when I cried out of sudden and lost my appetite because I kept thinking about 20 years from that year, the north pole would melt and Java would sink.Several years later I had come to conclusions, if we were doomed then so be it, right? Let's sink with this ship. In God's eyes, whatever will happen has already happened anyway....But WHEN our house is on fire, should WE just do nothing?
    more
  • Don
    January 1, 1970
    This small book consists largely of 10 short speeches by the author, made between September 2018 in Stockholm (when she was about 15 years old) and April 2019, in the Houses of Parliament, London, when she met leaders of most UK political parties and Michael Gove, Minister for the Environment. There is also a lengthy Facebook posting from February 2019, in which she explains the origins of her ‘school-strike’ (starting in August 2018) and responds to questions and criticisms levelled at her acti This small book consists largely of 10 short speeches by the author, made between September 2018 in Stockholm (when she was about 15½ years old) and April 2019, in the Houses of Parliament, London, when she met leaders of most UK political parties and Michael Gove, Minister for the Environment. There is also a lengthy Facebook posting from February 2019, in which she explains the origins of her ‘school-strike’ (starting in August 2018) and responds to questions and criticisms levelled at her actions and motivation.Thunberg’s message is simple: there is a climate crisis, and we need to take urgent action, so why are our leaders not doing so? If global temperatures increase by more than about 1.5°C, the consequences will be so dire that nothing else will matter, so why are we bothering to argue about Brexit, for example? Why is this not in the news headlines every day? She realises that solutions will not be found in the present political and economic systems, and appeals to the powers-that-be to find ways to change them.This could be naïve, but it is not: it is a well-thought-out recognition of what is important and what is not. Thunberg speaks and writes in a very direct way, stripping the arguments to their basic elements. She recognises that she should not have to say what she does, and that some will not accept being told what to do by a Swedish teenage girl: she says ‘If you don’t want to listen to me, that’s fine, but do listen to the scientists, and then I can go back to school.’ All the time, she stresses the urgency of the situation: she says ‘act now, please find a way not to do business as usual.’ Thunberg is clearly very well-informed, smart and (in her own way) witty. ‘We are school-striking,’ she says, ‘because we have done our homework’. This book is a short, easy read and (unlike many others on this topic) could change peoples’ minds. ‘Is my microphone on,’ she asks, ‘can you hear me?’ I urge you to read this book, and listen to Thunberg’s words, soon.
    more
Write a review