Felix Ever After
From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy for everyone but him to find someone. What’s worse is that, even though he is proud of his identity, Felix also secretly fears that he’s one marginalization too many—Black, queer, and transgender—to ever get his own happily-ever-after.When an anonymous student begins sending him transphobic messages—after publicly posting Felix’s deadname alongside images of him before he transitioned—Felix comes up with a plan for revenge. What he didn’t count on: his catfish scenario landing him in a quasi–love triangle....But as he navigates his complicated feelings, Felix begins a journey of questioning and self-discovery that helps redefine his most important relationship: how he feels about himself.Felix Ever After is an honest and layered story about identity, falling in love, and recognizing the love you deserve.

Felix Ever After Details

TitleFelix Ever After
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 5th, 2020
PublisherHarperCollins
ISBN-139780062820273
Rating
GenreContemporary, LGBT, Young Adult, Romance, GLBT, Queer, Fiction, Young Adult Contemporary, Transgender, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult Romance

Felix Ever After Review

  • chai ♡
    January 1, 1970
    Me, flirting with this cover: Hey, have I seen you from somewhere? You remind me of a book....that I should get to know (ᴗ-)✧ Me, flirting with this cover: Hey, have I seen you from somewhere? You remind me of a book....that I should get to know ‎(。•̀ᴗ-)✧
    more
  • Cece (ProblemsOfaBookNerd)
    January 1, 1970
    So overwhelmed with love for this cover with a queer poc main character with top surgery scars. It's so visible and incredible I can't handle it.
  • Lea ♞ That_Bookdragon
    January 1, 1970
    I will write a proper review ASAP but all you need to know is that this book is out next Tuesday and you HAVE to get a copy of it
  • Nenia ❤️️ I hate everything you love ❤️️ Campbell
    January 1, 1970
    I have really enjoyed Kacen Callender's works in the past and this looks especially awesome
  • rachel ☾
    January 1, 1970
    absolutely stunning◯ Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Blog Twitter Instagram The Book Depository absolutely stunning◯ Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Blog • Twitter • Instagram • The Book Depository
    more
  • L.C. Perry
    January 1, 1970
    *SPOILER-FREE REVIEW* The worst part about this book is that its too short. Im feeling so many emotions right now. So many. As soon as I read the blurb for this book, I just knew I needed to read this. I had never wanted to read a book so badly in my life, I kid you not, and the fact I got approved to review an early copy of this feels like a dream come true. As soon as I finished this novel, I was in tears. I justIm so happy this book exists. Im happy I got to read Felixs story. The story was *SPOILER-FREE REVIEW* The worst part about this book is that it’s too short. I’m feeling so many emotions right now. So many. As soon as I read the blurb for this book, I just knew I needed to read this. I had never wanted to read a book so badly in my life, I kid you not, and the fact I got approved to review an early copy of this feels like a dream come true. As soon as I finished this novel, I was in tears. I just…I’m so happy this book exists. I’m happy I got to read Felix’s story. The story was delivered beautifully because Felix’s voice throughout it is just so raw and real and genuine. Felix made mistakes. Many of them. And he was uncertain throughout the novel and it was just so incredibly realistic. He felt like a teenager in every sense of the word—the questions and the pain and the struggles and the uncertainty…every person can relate to that to some degree. When I came into this book, I knew the transphobia would be covered, but I was so pleasantly surprised that the bigotry WITHIN the LGBTQIA+ community was called out as well. Felix is Black, trans, and queer. People tend to forget that queer trans people of color have it the hardest, that they receive way more hate than others in the community. Now, that’s not to say that white LGBTQIA+ people don’t have it tough, of course they do, but they still have privileges that POCs don’t have and there are people within the community that are prejudiced themselves. The fact that this was covered in the book made me elated because it’s a topic that is often overlooked and it is so, so, SO important to talk about it. I’m a black woman who literally found out I was aro/greysexual a couple years ago. To this very day, I question whether I’m even a part of the community, so this was a part of the story I didn’t even expect I’d be relating to. The issues that Felix had to deal with, the obstacles he had to overcome, the realization that what he truly needed was closer than he knew…I couldn’t have asked for a better story. Everything I wanted to happen, happened. The people who needed to be told off were told off and don’t even get me started on the transphobe. OMG. Let me tell you, I did NOT see that coming. And heck, no matter who Felix picked in that love triangle mess, I was going to be happy either way because all three of them are just amazing and I love them so much. Also, huge shoutout to Leah because she’s the most amazing precious bean in the history of beans.This novel is powerful. It’s an emotional ride—there are times where I was trembling with rage because of what some of these characters, especially Felix, had to go through. I cheered when Felix found out more about his identity. My heart broke for Felix whenever he was at his low. It’s a lot. But it’s so worth experiencing it all and I can’t recommend this book enough. This book needs to be read by everyone because it’s a physical representation of saying, “Hey. I see you. You belong. You are enough. You are loved. It’s okay to question yourself. You deserve to exist. Let yourself exist.” I got so much more than I expected from Felix’s story and I want to shout out from the rooftops for everyone to read this story. Please read it. Thank you so much Edelweiss and the publisher for giving me an advanced copy of this book! Pre-Review: My New Year's resolution includes having this book in my hands. I NEED IT.
    more
  • Dahlia
    January 1, 1970
    Hello yes this was really wonderful and well-drawn and so full of warmth amid the hate, and drew such good examples of how nuanced relationships can be, how they can be both supportive and toxic at the same time, loving and confusing, exciting but brief. I also did not realize going in that this wasn't 100% a trans boy novel, but one of the best parts is seeing Felix juggle with the fact that even after being confident enough to medically transition, he's still not sure if he feels fully male. Hello yes this was really wonderful and well-drawn and so full of warmth amid the hate, and drew such good examples of how nuanced relationships can be, how they can be both supportive and toxic at the same time, loving and confusing, exciting but brief. I also did not realize going in that this wasn't 100% a trans boy novel, but one of the best parts is seeing Felix juggle with the fact that even after being confident enough to medically transition, he's still not sure if he feels fully male. (And thus trad-pub YA gets its first on-page demiboy character - YAY.) I really just cannot say enough good things about this book or about Callender's contributions to queer lit and kidlit in general. (CW: transphobia, off-page deadnaming, harassment)
    more
  • Tyler J Gray
    January 1, 1970
    I found out about this book here https://lgbtqreads.com/2019/12/23/lgb... and it says "Callender is having a monster of a publication year, having released both an adult fantasy (Queen of the Conquered) and a queer Middle Grade contemporary (King and the Dragonflies) in the last six months. Now theyre capping it off with this extraordinary trans YA about a boy (usually, which is another part of the story, and one that I will happily spoil results in trad-pubbed YA having its first on-page I found out about this book here https://lgbtqreads.com/2019/12/23/lgb... and it says "Callender is having a monster of a publication year, having released both an adult fantasy (Queen of the Conquered) and a queer Middle Grade contemporary (King and the Dragonflies) in the last six months. Now they’re capping it off with this extraordinary trans YA about a boy (usually, which is another part of the story, and one that I will happily spoil results in trad-pubbed YA having it’s first on-page demiboy) named Felix who’s hell-bent on getting revenge against a transphobe at school, only to find the person he assumed was the culprit might actually be the exact person he needed in his life."DEMIBOY. Like me. I've only recently came out about it, this year (2019). "Trad-pubbed YA having it's first on-page Demiboy." I NEED THIS BOOK IN MY LIFE!
    more
  • Mimi
    January 1, 1970
    Stunning. Spectacular. Makes your heart race. One of a kind. A masterpiece. *insert more words so I don't just SCREAM INTO THE VOID THAT IS MY HEART FOR THE REST OF ETERNITY BECAUSE I NEED FIVE HUNDRED MORE BOOKS ABOUT FELIX LOVE*I will bully each and every one of my friends to read this book, so look forward to that, I guess.Review:Im not flaunting anything. Im just existing. This is me. I cant hide myself. I cant disappear. And even if I could, I dont fucking want to. I have the same right to Stunning. Spectacular. Makes your heart race. One of a kind. A masterpiece. *insert more words so I don't just SCREAM INTO THE VOID THAT IS MY HEART FOR THE REST OF ETERNITY BECAUSE I NEED FIVE HUNDRED MORE BOOKS ABOUT FELIX LOVE*I will bully each and every one of my friends to read this book, so look forward to that, I guess.Review:“I’m not flaunting anything. I’m just existing. This is me. I can’t hide myself. I can’t disappear. And even if I could, I don’t fucking want to. I have the same right to be here. I have the same right to exist.”Have you ever felt angry at yourself while reading a book because you cannot believe that there exists an alternative universe in which you didn’t pick up this particular story, that there is a you out there who will never experience the glory of these words that have forever changed you? Yeah, this is what happened when I read this book. And honestly, writing a review for this one is hard. Why is writing reviews for books that I feel have taken up permanent space in my soul so difficult? I cannot contain my emotions so I am giving you a bullet points- style review:Felix. How do I talk about Felix? Have you ever read a book and felt like the protagonist could be your best friend? That is Felix to me. There is just something so raw and genuine about Felix questioning his identity, questioning whether he is worthy of love, questioning what feelings are valid and what may just be what he thinks he should feel because of society’s expectations of him. Felix is funny and self-deprecating but above all, he loves. He gives second chances even when he’s resentful, he is kind even when people are hurting him but he also stands his ground. Felix is scared to put himself out there but all he wants is to love and be loved, a universal theme that transcends time and space. Felix contains multitudes.Ezra. My man. My one true love. The best BEST friend anyone could hope for. He protects Felix, is always there with an open ear and a shoulder to cry on, he’s eccentric and sarcastic and he will forever be on Felix’s side. I just. The loyalty. Ezra is such a Hufflepuff, you guys.The discussion of gender identity. There is a humongous amount of discussions about gender identity in the book but the perhaps most important takeaway that Callender gives us is this: gender and sexuality are a spectrum. It is completely okay for you to still question who you are even when you have “chosen” something to identify with. Felix is trans and though he is pretty sure he is a boy, there are moments when he questions his feelings, his validity. Some days, he’d like to identify with no label in existence and just – be. There are moments when he doesn’t feel like either a boy or a girl. And it terrifies and frustrates him. Besides just wanting to hug him, I just felt so relieved that this book explores the aspect I think is often overlooked when it comes to social media and gender politics: we are so quick to choose an identity, to find ourselves in word that represents what we feel that we sometimes get boxed in by that word and are scared to further explore what it means to be part of that identifying group. I loved how Callender tackled Felix’s journey and gave readers the hope and the acceptance that they might search for and haven’t found yet represented in books.The discussion of discrimination within the LGBTQ+ community. THIS. I was freaking out while reading this. So often, we are led to believe that it is only outside forces that discriminate against the LGBTQ+ community when there are even dissenting opinions within the community and above that, we are often pitted against each other, especially when it comes to intersectionality. All of a sudden, you have to be just the right amount of black, or queer, or trans to be accepted. And then there is this sort of unspoken agreement that a certain minority within the minority group has suffered way more and whether that means that the suffering of the other minority group isn’t as valid. I loved that discussion to pieces because it just drives home all the insecurities and fears we in the LGBTQ+ community face and that sometimes, we are our own worst enemy by believing that we are not queer enough, not 100% what is expected of the label society gives us. Callender comments on intersectionality, on the systematic erasure of certain groups and it was. Everything.The big driving force is love. What it means to love others, what it means to give parts of yourself to others, to be vulnerable and ready for commitment, to be fearless and also scared when it comes to putting your heart out there. And while that is fantastic and so well-done in this book, the thing that it focuses most on is loving yourself. Felix struggles with a lot – from the people who deadname him accidentally (and on purpose) to the inner fears he has that he might not be capable of love or not worthy of receiving it – it all comes down to Felix having to learn how to love himself, how to put himself first. It was so refreshing to read a book that is about love and is driven by a romantic plot that still focuses on self-love first. Felix gets his happily ever after – but more than that, he is happy by himself. And that is the most beautiful thing to read about.Above all, Felix Ever After is an empowering tale of romance and self-discovery; it is a love letter to being yourself even when people try to take that inalienable right away from you. It’s about finding the things that make you great and working for what you believe in. It’s heartfelt and validating and exactly what this generation needs. I am just so glad this book exists and that people will get to read it and identify with Felix. There are some game-changing novels out there in this world, chronicling your life in before you read them and after and this is certainly one of them. An ode to growing up, a reminder of all the possibilities you have to define who you are, an homage to being yourself and loving yourself, Felix Ever After is not to be missed.
    more
  • Anniek
    January 1, 1970
    First off, this cover is so beautiful, and knowing the book is about an artist who starts making self portraits, it really hits differently.This is such a special book, and it really resonated with me. There was a lot of transphobia, but there was also a lot of hope and a lot of self exploration, which was amazing to read. I expected this book to be about a trans guy, but I didn't know he would also be questioning his gender identity and figuring out where he falls on the non-binary spectrum. First off, this cover is so beautiful, and knowing the book is about an artist who starts making self portraits, it really hits differently.This is such a special book, and it really resonated with me. There was a lot of transphobia, but there was also a lot of hope and a lot of self exploration, which was amazing to read. I expected this book to be about a trans guy, but I didn't know he would also be questioning his gender identity and figuring out where he falls on the non-binary spectrum.Without a doubt, this is one of the most important YA releases of the year.Rep: bisexual trans questioning demiguy Black MC, queer Black Bengali love interest, Afrolatinx side character, queer side characters & side characters of colourCWs: racism, homophobia, (internalized) transphobia, absent parent, weed
    more
  • Caidyn (BW Reviews; he/him/his)
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review!CW: outing, transphobia, TERF character, homophobia, being kicked out for being gay (minor character), deceiving someone online about who you are, and parental abandonment (MC and minor character)When I saw this book on Edelweiss, I got so excited. I need more books featuring trans characters in my life! Especially since this is written by someone on the spectrum. This is the kind of queer content that we need in 2020.This I received an ARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review!CW: outing, transphobia, TERF character, homophobia, being kicked out for being gay (minor character), deceiving someone online about who you are, and parental abandonment (MC and minor character)When I saw this book on Edelweiss, I got so excited. I need more books featuring trans characters in my life! Especially since this is written by someone on the spectrum. This is the kind of queer content that we need in 2020.This isn't exactly a light read, although I will say that, overall, it is pretty light and it's got a happy ending, which Kacen tweeted about. I just loved that this book shows the fluidity of gender identity and how even though we have 10x the language that older generations have, there is still a language gap to define how one is. And that as one gets more language, their identity can change.I'm 24. I've identified as a transman since I was 15 and been out to family/friends for that long. I've been on hormones since I was 18. I loved how Felix was able to explore his identity more and realize that he's somewhere on the non-binary spectrum. (And, anyone, please correct me with Felix's pronouns because I don't think they changed at the end, but I could be wrong! I do miss things when I read.) I think that I connected with that sub-plot because I totally get that questioning. It's almost been 10 years for me at the time of writing this review, but sometimes I still wonder if "transman" is the term that fits me best! I always come back to transman fitting, although I'd never rule out demi-man or non-binary since I'm still learning more about it.So, this book was good. It was damn good. The characters were so rich and I loved the different perspective of a queer, trans, and black MC. Again, I want more queer diversity and I got this so much in this book! There were so many different voices in this book besides Felix that it was lovely. Absolutely gorgeous.I think the only "con" is the revenge/outing plot. It is dark, but I feel like it got buried by the other things in the book, like Felix figuring out his identity and navigating romance at the same time. I also come at it from an adult mindset, one that is informed by my privilege of being white. I kept thinking to myself about how Felix should do x, y, and z to stop this person -- like, delete his Instagram account and create a new one, talk to the police or someone with greater authority about the harassment, block and stop responding to that transphobic asshole in his DMs, etc. But then I had to check myself because what Felix did is such a teenage thing to do. And I'm sure that his reluctance to bring in authority figures is somewhat related to racism, homophobia, and transphobia that exists in the powers that are set up to help people... so long as they're white, cis, and straight.Overall, a fantastic book. I highly recommend this! I feel so blessed and lucky that I was able to get an ARC and I can't wait until it's out in the world for everyone else to read.
    more
  • L.C. Perry
    January 1, 1970
    *SPOILER-FREE REVIEW* The worst part about this book is that its too short. Im feeling so many emotions right now. So many. As soon as I read the blurb for this book, I just knew I needed to read this. I had never wanted to read a book so badly in my life, I kid you not, and the fact I got approved to review an early copy of this feels like a dream come true. As soon as I finished this novel, I was in tears. I justIm so happy this book exists. Im happy I got to read Felixs story. The story was *SPOILER-FREE REVIEW* The worst part about this book is that it’s too short. I’m feeling so many emotions right now. So many. As soon as I read the blurb for this book, I just knew I needed to read this. I had never wanted to read a book so badly in my life, I kid you not, and the fact I got approved to review an early copy of this feels like a dream come true. As soon as I finished this novel, I was in tears. I just…I’m so happy this book exists. I’m happy I got to read Felix’s story. The story was delivered beautifully because Felix’s voice throughout it is just so raw and real and genuine. Felix made mistakes. Many of them. And he was uncertain throughout the novel and it was just so incredibly realistic. He felt like a teenager in every sense of the word—the questions and the pain and the struggles and the uncertainty…every person can relate to that to some degree. When I came into this book, I knew the transphobia would be covered, but I was so pleasantly surprised that the bigotry WITHIN the LGBTQIA+ community was called out as well. Felix is Black, trans, and queer. People tend to forget that queer trans people of color have it the hardest, that they receive way more hate than others in the community. Now, that’s not to say that white LGBTQIA+ people don’t have it tough, of course they do, but they still have privileges that POCs don’t have and there are people within the community that are prejudiced themselves. The fact that this was covered in the book made me elated because it’s a topic that is often overlooked and it is so, so, SO important to talk about it. I’m a black woman who literally found out I was aro/greysexual a couple years ago. To this very day, I question whether I’m even a part of the community, so this was a part of the story I didn’t even expect I’d be relating to. The issues that Felix had to deal with, the obstacles he had to overcome, the realization that what he truly needed was closer than he knew…I couldn’t have asked for a better story. Everything I wanted to happen, happened. The people who needed to be told off were told off and don’t even get me started on the transphobe. OMG. Let me tell you, I did NOT see that coming. And heck, no matter who Felix picked in that love triangle mess, I was going to be happy either way because all three of them are just amazing and I love them so much. Also, huge shoutout to Leah because she’s the most amazing precious bean in the history of beans.This novel is powerful. It’s an emotional ride—there are times where I was trembling with rage because of what some of these characters, especially Felix, had to go through. I cheered when Felix found out more about his identity. My heart broke for Felix whenever he was at his low. It’s a lot. But it’s so worth experiencing it all and I can’t recommend this book enough. This book needs to be read by everyone because it’s a physical representation of saying, “Hey. I see you. You belong. You are enough. You are loved. It’s okay to question yourself. You deserve to exist. Let yourself exist.” I got so much more than I expected from Felix’s story and I want to shout out from the rooftops for everyone to read this story. Please read it. Thank you so much Edelweiss and the publisher for giving me an advanced copy of this book! Pre-Review: My New Year's resolution includes having this book in my hands. I NEED IT.
    more
  • noah
    January 1, 1970
    this is without a doubt my absolute favourite book with a trans dude MC (he's a demiboy).the trans rep was so authentic and beautiful. powerful stuff.i think probably a lot of trans people worry that no one will ever love them, that they aren't worthy of love, so the exploration of someone's worth when they're black+queer+trans was ultimately very heart-warming.the transphobia was a little hard to read, especially when felix engaged the anonymous transphobe in conversation, i was like BLOCK this is without a doubt my absolute favourite book with a trans dude MC (he's a demiboy).the trans rep was so authentic and beautiful. powerful stuff.i think probably a lot of trans people worry that no one will ever love them, that they aren't worthy of love, so the exploration of someone's worth when they're black+queer+trans was ultimately very heart-warming.the transphobia was a little hard to read, especially when felix engaged the anonymous transphobe in conversation, i was like BLOCK THEIR ASS! MOVE ON! but it was all part of felix's journey of self love and discovery.ezra was an absolute angel. i love him so much and want him to be happy forever and ever.leah was a surprise sweetheart and i'm her number one fan.i was very much not into the love triangle aspect, but that's just because i automatically hate that trope. if i think about it objectively it really wasn't bad.but felix! felix!felix!felix!!!! he isn't just an artist. he is art! full stop! periodt!
    more
  • Camryn
    January 1, 1970
    God, what a MOOD.Felix was really relatable with all of his self-doubt and denying himself love and also *wanting* to be loved at the same time. He was messy. Really messy. But I've read Kacen's other YA and I think they are really good at creating messy teenagers who seem real and accurate. Like, this is maybe a small thing, but Felix and his best friend, hang out and smoke weed all the time, and I don't think I've really seen that in YA, even though it's all I ever see people this age (and my God, what a MOOD.Felix was really relatable with all of his self-doubt and denying himself love and also *wanting* to be loved at the same time. He was messy. Really messy. But I've read Kacen's other YA and I think they are really good at creating messy teenagers who seem real and accurate. Like, this is maybe a small thing, but Felix and his best friend, hang out and smoke weed all the time, and I don't think I've really seen that in YA, even though it's all I ever see people this age (and my age) do, at least in New York. I was like, "Save your lungs!" but it also was super realistic.I think this captured the amazing parts of New York so well, but also did a great job of exploring privilege and dynamics of identities; what I mean by that is Felix is trans, Black, and gay/queer and there's discussion about how his experiences are different from those of his white cis peers, even if they are gay. That was really great.I kept thinking about how important this will be to trans teens. Just Felix being loved and being told he deserves it and also questioning his identity and dealing with a weird relationship with his dad... I'm glad Kacen is writing.And, this may sound kind of annoying, but this reminds me of my book and I honestly think they could be comp titles. Similarities include a mystery element with an asshole leaving anonymous messages based on the main character's identity (although it went much further here, making me very angry), a speech at the end, young, first love, Black queer MCs... and beautiful covers :)
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    [The ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.]- CNs for this book: transmisia, off-page deadnaming, misgendering, harassment- Felix is a great and relatable main character. Hes emotional and insecure and makes mistakes hes so real that it almost hurts.- Ezra is such an angel! He is the perfect friend and everyone should have someone like him in their life.- The story was very emotional and adressed a lot of important topics.- Felix is [The ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.]- CNs for this book: transmisia, off-page deadnaming, misgendering, harassment- Felix is a great and relatable main character. He’s emotional and insecure and makes mistakes… he’s so real that it almost hurts.- Ezra is such an angel! He is the perfect friend and everyone should have someone like him in their life.- The story was very emotional and adressed a lot of important topics.- Felix is questioning his gender identity again after already coming out as a trans boy. For me, this part of the story was incredibly important.- (view spoiler)[After struggling with his gender identity for a while, Felix ends up identifying as a demiboy!!! Demigender representation is so important to me, and I almost cried when Felix discovered that label for himself. (hide spoiler)]- A lot of transmisia is mentioned in this book. Although those parts were very hard to read, I liked the fact that the transmisia was always adressed and called out and the characters stood up for each other and themselves.- This book is so full of pride and queerness and love! It was really validating.- The ending was so cute! Seriously, I couldn’t stop smiling because it was so adorable!- I can‘t put my love for this book into words! „Felix Ever After“ is already my favorite book of 2020 and everyone should read it at least once.
    more
  • AJ
    January 1, 1970
    There is so much to love about this book. I love Felix as a character, and how open and vulnerable he comes across to me, as the reader, even if he isn't quite like that with the other characters in the book. I also love that this openness and vulnerability is something that you feel in the book itself, so much so that it's difficult to not be totally charmed by it. It's such an honest and authentic book, filled with so many wonderful things, including tackling difficult subjects like There is so much to love about this book. I love Felix as a character, and how open and vulnerable he comes across to me, as the reader, even if he isn't quite like that with the other characters in the book. I also love that this openness and vulnerability is something that you feel in the book itself, so much so that it's difficult to not be totally charmed by it. It's such an honest and authentic book, filled with so many wonderful things, including tackling difficult subjects like transphobia, very relatable topics like wanting to find love, and many great conversations about queerness. The reason why this is a four-star and not a five-star is because some of the writing was a little bit repetitive. Some things would be reiterated over and over again, in the same way, in quite close proximity to each other. It seemed like maybe it just needed another pass in edits, so hopefully this won't be the case in the final copy, as I read an ARC. I was also not 100% sold into the main romantic relationship. There were a few things that I wish had been handled differently there but ultimately, it was still pretty good. This book was honestly really fantastic, and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.
    more
  • Karen (idleutopia_reads)
    January 1, 1970
    Its summer in Brooklyn when we first meet Felix Love. Hes a teenager, taking summer courses at the prestigious art high school, St. Catherines, and splitting his time between living in Harlem with his single father and living with Ezra in Brooklyn, in an apartment paid for by his parents. Felix is surrounded by privilege, constantly jarred by the way people take their opportunities for granted, while hes constantly burdened by the guilt of the sacrifices his father has made, and the prejudice he It’s summer in Brooklyn when we first meet Felix Love. He’s a teenager, taking summer courses at the prestigious art high school, St. Catherine’s, and splitting his time between living in Harlem with his single father and living with Ezra in Brooklyn, in an apartment paid for by his parents. Felix is surrounded by privilege, constantly jarred by the way people take their opportunities for granted, while he’s constantly burdened by the guilt of the sacrifices his father has made, and the prejudice he faces for being Brown, queer, and trans. Felix faced so many questions while he’s preparing his art portfolio for his Brown University application. He wants to prove to himself and to those around him that he can get into this Ivy League university. He wants to prove that he exists when so many people around him, from his peers, to his father (who takes to dead naming him despite supporting his transition), from a mother who abandoned him when he was young (and who he’s drafted 477 unsent emails), to trolls on the internet that amplify so many of the doubts and feelings that he’s already experiencing. I loved the questions of identity when so many labels exist (which is amazing) but not any of them seem to fit. I loved the calling out of white, gay, cis men who despite being part of the LGBTQIA+ community can still be racist, misogynistic, and transphobic. This opens the discussion of feeling excluded from the very community that’s supposed to accept you. Felix is truly amazing, and I loved following his character development. There was so much growth and self-acceptance that occurred in this book. There was also a lot of trauma as I mentioned before. I cringed every time someone made an ignorant comment against Felix and everything he had to put up with was maddening. I learned a lot through this book and I cried because this is a book that a teenager will get to read, that might help them with so many questions they have about identity and their experiences. I was so thankful that this book will be put out them for them. This was actually the first book I’ve ever read by Kacen Callender but you can count me down as a fan. I truly encourage you to pre-order this book before its publication date, May 5th, 2020. Thank you to @harpercollins for the advanced e-ARC of this book. I highlighted so many quotes that I unfortunately can’t share but seriously so many words resonated with me. I loved the love story that we followed in this book. It made my heart swell with so many emotions, especially with one character that the reader gets to see is so in love with Felix, even if he’s oblivious to it. The greatest thing of all is the acceptance and love that Felix finds within himself. Seriously, it’s heartwarming!
    more
  • Nannette Matthews
    January 1, 1970
    I finished this advanced reader copy within the span of a few hours. SO GOOD. SO WHOLESOME. SO VALIDATING. SO FULL OF LOVE. I'll try to process more and come back but UGH SO GOOD
  • Carolina
    January 1, 1970
    I JUST WANT A PHYSICAL COPY OF THIS BEAUTY SO I CAN HUG IT FOR THE REST OF ETERNITY
  • Fanna
    January 1, 1970
    - black, queer, transgender MC- ownvoices rep- exploring gender identity issues- love triangle, romantic conclusion
  • Jae
    January 1, 1970
    I have been waiting and waiting for a book about a trans character that wasnt a coming out story with social and/or physical transition as the resolution and Kacen Callender has finally delivered. Felix is already out and has already taken all the steps toward physical transition he seems interested in taking; and there is actually more to his life than his gender identity though he still has some questions. An incident of transphobic harassment is a central conflict in the story, but so is a I have been waiting and waiting for a book about a trans character that wasn’t a coming out story with social and/or physical transition as the resolution and Kacen Callender has finally delivered. Felix is already out and has already taken all the steps toward physical transition he seems interested in taking; and there is actually more to his life than his gender identity though he still has some questions. An incident of transphobic harassment is a central conflict in the story, but so is a classic teen love triangle, worry about getting into college, and grappling with feeling unworthy of love. I also adore a literary environment where most of the characters are queer and brown. I received an ARC from the publisher and look forward to the book’s official launch in May 2020!
    more
  • Richelle Delgado
    January 1, 1970
    I kind of feel indifferent with this book! I didnt like Felix as a character, didnt like the plot, the romance was meh and the writing was just ok. It was a good representation of trans community and the battle they have everyday! Just that! #ARC I kind of feel indifferent with this book! I didn’t like Felix as a character, didn’t like the plot, the romance was meh and the writing was just ok. It was a good representation of trans community and the battle they have everyday! Just that! #ARC
    more
  • The Artisan Geek
    January 1, 1970
    27/11/19Lmao this premise, I used to watch a lot of catfish back in the day, can't wait for this to come out!! And we now also have a cover and it's so stunning!! So excited :DYou can find me onYoutube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Website
  • Sophie_The_Jedi_Knight
    January 1, 1970
    10/20/19:That cover is the most adorable thing I've ever seen of course I'm reading this
  • Karen (idleutopia_reads)
    January 1, 1970
    Its summer in Brooklyn when we first meet Felix Love. Hes a teenager, taking summer courses at the prestigious art high school, St. Catherines, and splitting his time between living in Harlem with his single father and living with Ezra in Brooklyn, in an apartment paid for by his parents. Felix is surrounded by privilege, constantly jarred by the way people take their opportunities for granted, while hes constantly burdened by the guilt of the sacrifices his father has made, and the prejudice he It’s summer in Brooklyn when we first meet Felix Love. He’s a teenager, taking summer courses at the prestigious art high school, St. Catherine’s, and splitting his time between living in Harlem with his single father and living with Ezra in Brooklyn, in an apartment paid for by his parents. Felix is surrounded by privilege, constantly jarred by the way people take their opportunities for granted, while he’s constantly burdened by the guilt of the sacrifices his father has made, and the prejudice he faces for being Black, queer, and trans. Felix faced so many questions while he’s preparing his art portfolio for his Brown University application. He wants to prove to himself and to those around him that he can get into this Ivy League university. He wants to prove that he exists when so many people around him, from his peers, to his father (who takes to dead naming him despite supporting his transition), from a mother who abandoned him when he was young (and who he’s drafted 477 unsent emails), to trolls on the internet that amplify so many of the doubts and feelings that he’s already experiencing. I loved the questions of identity when so many labels exist (which is amazing) but not any of them seem to fit. I loved the calling out of white, gay, cis men who despite being part of the LGBTQIA+ community can still be racist, misogynistic, and transphobic. This opens the discussion of feeling excluded from the very community that’s supposed to accept you. Felix is truly amazing, and I loved following his character development. There was so much growth and self-acceptance that occurred in this book. There was also a lot of trauma as I mentioned before. I cringed every time someone made an ignorant comment against Felix and everything he had to put up with was maddening. I learned a lot through this book and I cried because this is a book that a teenager will get to read, that might help them with so many questions they have about identity and their experiences. I was so thankful that this book will be put out them for them. This was actually the first book I’ve ever read by Kacen Callender but you can count me down as a fan. I truly encourage you to pre-order this book before its publication date, May 5th, 2020. Thank you to @harpercollins for the advanced e-ARC of this book. I highlighted so many quotes that I unfortunately can’t share but seriously so many words resonated with me. I loved the love story that we followed in this book. It made my heart swell with so many emotions, especially with one character that the reader gets to see is so in love with Felix, even if he’s oblivious to it. The greatest thing of all is the acceptance and love that Felix finds within himself. Seriously, it’s heartwarming!
    more
  • Shelly
    January 1, 1970
    what a book. Callender is great at writing characters with strong voices and their writing for Felix Ever After is no different. I will say that I was admittedly too stressed reading this book because I just wanted to protect Felix and make sure he was okay so I will add spoiler tags at the bottom of this review so any people who are similarly worried as they read can have some answers.Felix is not a perfect character so if you like YA with messy (but understably relatable) characters, I what a book. Callender is great at writing characters with strong voices and their writing for Felix Ever After is no different. I will say that I was admittedly too stressed reading this book because I just wanted to protect Felix and make sure he was okay so I will add spoiler tags at the bottom of this review so any people who are similarly worried as they read can have some answers.Felix is not a perfect character so if you like YA with messy (but understably relatable) characters, I recommend this one. Very fast-paced (or at least for me since I rushed to get to the ending) and adorable at times. Ending spoiler tags: (view spoiler)[ Felix ends up happy and all right!!! I didn't have doubts but also I was stressed while reading, i've been burned too many times haha (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Adiba Jaigirdar
    January 1, 1970
    This was such a wonderful book. I loved that it was about a lot of things - transphobia both inside and outside the queer community, toxic friendships, different privileges within the queer community, love, identity - but ultimately, it was really just about Felix. It so powerfully portrays Felix' growth as a character, him trying to figure out who he is and finding his happiness. It resonated with me so much, and I know it'll resonate with so many others too.
    more
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Edelweiss for the eArc! 4.5 stars. This is a definite happy-sad book. Felixs growth throughout the course of the novel will make you route for him even as he makes mistakes, searches for love in the wrong places, and sells himself short. This book does a great job of showing that love, relationships, identity, and growing up are all messy and riddled with missteps, yet it doesnt mean they arent worthy, fulfilling pursuits. Felix and his friends are so achingly endearing, and the ending Thank you Edelweiss for the eArc! 4.5 stars. This is a definite happy-sad book. Felix’s growth throughout the course of the novel will make you route for him even as he makes mistakes, searches for love in the wrong places, and sells himself short. This book does a great job of showing that love, relationships, identity, and growing up are all messy and riddled with missteps, yet it doesn’t mean they aren’t worthy, fulfilling pursuits. Felix and his friends are so achingly endearing, and the ending left me so filled with hope.
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    *Spoiler free*A book with a trans main character who wants to fall in love. That's basically all I needed to know to be sold. Then the cover was released. A POC, with top surgery scars so visible, and it's so bright and so full of life, it's just really something to behold. Trigger warnings: transphobia, racism, misgenderingI don't think I've ever fallen in love with a character as fast as I fell in love with Felix. I usually have to get to know a character to really feel a deep connection with *Spoiler free*A book with a trans main character who wants to fall in love. That's basically all I needed to know to be sold. Then the cover was released. A POC, with top surgery scars so visible, and it's so bright and so full of life, it's just really something to behold. Trigger warnings: transphobia, racism, misgenderingI don't think I've ever fallen in love with a character as fast as I fell in love with Felix. I usually have to get to know a character to really feel a deep connection with them, even if they're awesome. But Felix seems to pop into life, fully formed, and such a full character from the first page. I loved loving a character so much so fast and then falling even more in love as I got to know him.Since Felix was so bright from the start, it was kind of hard for me to picture the side characters. They were sort of just there for awhile. Even when I got to know them and even really like them, I had a hard time picturing them. Ezra and Declan were easy to picture for me, though I would classify them as main characters even though they don't have POVs. Despite this, I really did enjoy all the characters! Well, the ones that didn't turn out to be completely horrible and make me want to punch them in the face. Ezra was a bit of a hot mess, but was completely lovable. Declan was complicated and guarded, though I think he has a heart of gold. Leah was so sweet, but was willing to fight anybody who was a jerk.Emotions were so, so messy in this book. So, so complicated. Usually, this is such a great thing for me! I think it's realistic and I love seeing characters try to move through life and everything that comes along with it. Though, I feel like this messiness verged on the line of confusing. I haven't quite decided yet. I really loved all the confusing, sometimes messed up emotions Felix felt, all the things he was trying to sort through. His feelings about gender, his feelings about love, how he struggled with self love and worth. He makes mistakes, all the characters do, but that's life. There's apologies, sometimes they're accepted and sometimes they're not, but they have room to learn and grow. On the other hand, sometimes it felt like it was just one thing after another. It felt like it was one hot mess after another sometimes and not in a real life way, but a way that was just confusing.The romance also followed the same lines as the emotional development. There's a chance for best friends-to-lovers and a chance for enemies-to-lovers. I usually pick out the endgame couple pretty early on and I usually like the endgame couple the most. But with this one, I was so back and forth. I liked both of them and I thought both of them could work out. It's like I was feeling what Felix was feeling, like I was going through it with him. Everything was so muddled and I couldn't see what was going to happen next. Which I think I liked! I think I liked the back and forth and I think I liked the not knowing what was going to happen. I think it allowed me to understand Felix better and to really get a sense what he was going through. It made everything seem more real.Felix seriously questions his identity throughout the book. While his feelings aren't exactly the same as mine, they fall in the same realm. I just feel so grateful to be reading multiple books with trans main characters. They hold a special place in my heart.This book felt a lot more NA than I thought it was going to. For a bit, I thought it would work better if it was an Adult book, but I don't think it's quite there. But, I feel like it doesn't firmly fit into the YA category either. While the characters are 17, they seem older and the writing seems more mature. NA seriously needs to become a serious category.Felix and his friends are artists and I wasn't expecting to love that aspect as much as I did. I feel like it added more depth to the book. It added color and I kind of want to scream about the cover even more now haha (but that's all I'm saying because kind of spoilers?).I feel like when I'm finally able to hold this book in my hands, it's going to burn. Not in a bad painful way, but in a way where this book is so full of life and so full of fire. That's the best way I can think of to describe it. It blazes.
    more
  • Brianna Carrasco
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. As for the none-spoilers part of this review... This book was so good. I realized nearly half-way through the story that while I have read a few stories about transmasculine individuals, this was the first story from an ownvoices author. It really made a difference and made everything much more real and authentic. The story sort of reads as a Simon Vs mashed with a trans POC main character, The Best Tropes like ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. As for the none-spoilers part of this review... This book was so good. I realized nearly half-way through the story that while I have read a few stories about transmasculine individuals, this was the first story from an ownvoices author. It really made a difference and made everything much more real and authentic. The story sort of reads as a Simon Vs mashed with a trans POC main character, The Best Tropes like enemies-to-lovers and mutual pining, and best of all: art school in the summer of New York City. (view spoiler)[ As for the more spoiler part... I loved nearly everything about this book. All of the main characters were so fleshed out. I loved the characters we were supposed to love and hated the characters we were supposed to hate. And above all, I loved the relationship between Felix and Ezra. Their relationship is one that readers won't doubt will last forever. Even Declan was a character that I loved and wish we had more time with. I loved the characters' relationships with their guardians, specifically Declan's relationship with his grandfather and Felix's relationship with his father. I didn't realize until the end of the story that there were not many female parental figures, and the father figures in the story were all so pure and understanding. You can truly see that they're trying to understand their children's identity in the best way possible. It was so heartwarming.I'd never read anything from Kacen Callender before, but their writing is amazing and the emotions and thoughts that Felix feels/thinks are so authentic, and we can thank the ownvoices representation for that. By the end of the story, Felix identifies as trans demiboy, and it was the first time I'd ever seen a demiboy in a book before. Felix struggles with real issues that I imagine many trans people deal with. For example, Felix knows he's not cis, but he constantly worries about if he's a "fraud" or not a "real" trans person because he's still questioning his identity. In the time of "you're not a real trans person" discourse, this is a very common struggle that I don't think cis authors would have the capacity to explain in the way Kacen did. They also dived deep into the ways that members of the queer community could be just as transphobic as straight cis people. In this story, straight/cis people weren't the antagonist, but rather other queer people who don't understand the intersection of identities and completely write off the experiences of trans people were. It was really hard as a cis reader to hear about other queer people excluding Felix because of his trans identity, so he doesn't even feel safe in queer spaces. I can't even imagine the difficulties that many trans individuals face daily. As a bi woc, the discussion of different levels of privileges in the queer community was so relevant.Before I finish the spoiler part, I just want to dive a bit back in into how much I love Felix. He was so realistic, with human emotions and feelings and thoughts and reactions. He's a complex individual. When someone wrongs him he wants revenge. He cries when he's overwhelmed. He doesn't take bullshit from people. He feels like he can't be a good artist if he hasn't experienced love. He's a complete introvert who likes to smoke weed on a balcony in NYC and be with Ezra and make art. He's such a cool dude and I love him. (hide spoiler)]My only critisizm was that the book was so short and everything seemed to go so fast. I just wish everything was stretched out a bit longer. Maybe it was because I loved it so much that I wanted to spend more time in the story. I am definitely going to read more of Kaden's work now!
    more
Write a review